About Wine Kitchen

507 Divisadero Street
San Francisco, CA 94117
View Larger Map

Wine Kitchen is a neighborhood wine bar and small plates restaurant. It is built around the age old idea that wine and food taste better when enjoyed together. We believe food and wine are capable of speaking for themselves. Thus, our atmosphere is casual and fun, our service warm and relaxed. Whether you just want a glass of wine and a snack, or a full meal with several pairings, we welcome you and your friends and family to Wine Kitchen. Wine Kitchen is the vision of Greg Faucette and Jason Limburg. They share over a decade of culinary experience, having worked together at Commonwealth, Contigo, and Bar Tartine, as well as at Per Se and Spruce. With their fine dining background comes a dedication to quality and consistency. With their ongoing working relationship comes a desire to create a lively and friendly environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - close (reservations not accepted on Sunday, bar menu only)

Cross Street:
Fell St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 525-3485

Website:
http://www.winekitchensf.com/

Entertainment:
Acoustical jazz and blues on Tuesday evenings.

Parking Details:
After hours parking lot at the DMV at Fell St and Baker St

Executive Chef:
Jason Limburg and Greg Faucette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wine Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (1)
See All
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friends and I really enjoyed the dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed the dinner we had recently here. One friend can't hear well so it was perfect because they don't have music blasting so loud that you can't hear anything. The food was wonderful! We had curry dip with bread, lamb, and squash alfredo. Good portions meaning not too small and not too hearty. Wine choices were pretty decent as well. Would come back! Casual, simple, but enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We could have lived without the large pl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We could have lived without the large plates. They were fine, just overpriced. Go for the wine and apps. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Food was very tasty, server seemed to fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was very tasty, server seemed to forget about us towards the end of the meal (was going to order desert, but wait for server was too long). Really wanted to enjoy the place as it is cozy and decor is nice, was hoping it would be a neighborhood gem, but noise level was excrutiating. My friends and I could barely hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food, great wine shared with great ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food, great wine shared with great friends!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, quiet little restaurant.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and menu of Wine Kitchen. The portions were well sized--not too big or small--and service was great. We started off with a "snack" which is aptly named, since the sizing is not as large as an appetizer. This was perfect in that we were left with enough room to enjoy our main entree and order dessert. I enjoyed the crepes while my partner had the steak, and we finished off with a delicious bread pudding. I highly recommend stopping by before a concert over at the Independent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really a great spot

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We were there on a very rainy Friday night and it wasn't super busy, but it should be. Right across the street from Nopa and the food is just as good. Great interesting wine pairings and varietals that are a bit different which is fun. Excellent price/performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way better than I expected

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We went to Wine Kitchen after we couldn't get a table at Nopa, and we were really impressed. The staff is super friendly and really knowledgable about the wine list and all the food was delicious. Not sure why this place isn't busier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2016

You have to go to Wine Kitchen and Monday nights' half-price wine bottles mean that you can try the fanciest wine on the list without breaking the bank. The small plates are always inventive and delicious. This week we tried the olives - very good, fennel roasted almonds - amazing, fries with chorizo -- a little too rich but very tasty, flash fried Brussels sprouts - amazing, little gems salad - ok but could have used more grapefruit, beet salad - delicious, mushroom crepes - great, roasted lamb - delicious, flank steak -- perfect. There were 4 of us which enabled us to try a large variety and drink 2 bottles of wine. All for less than $200.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

rainy night in the city

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and I wanted to get out of the rain for a snack and wine. We were seated at a great window table and the service was very attentive for a small wine bar. Wine was suggested and it was outstanding. The food was average. We had two appetizers which ranged from good to just ok. The lamb was bland and accompanied by a strange combination of sauce and vegetables. Will return for wine and ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great happy hour. Food was great though ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Great happy hour. Food was great though a bit pricey. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious - the menu is seasonal but we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Delicious - the menu is seasonal but we enjoyed the brussel sprouts and short rigs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food here is always delicious. Alway ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 26, 2015

The food here is always delicious. Always a sure-fire date night option. They switch up the menu so it's always seasonal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Monday night wine is half price

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2015

The Monday night half price wine bottle lets you order that special bottle of Barolo guilt free -- which we did. The food at WK is absolutely delicious. The small plates are great for sharing. There were three of us and we tried almost all of them and they were all delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak is great, and the pork belly g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2015

The steak is great, and the pork belly grits are like climbing stairs. Started low, but working it's way up to new heights. The service was adequate, but we were not made to feel special. Would come back however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Cute neighborhood find

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2015

The wine list was plenty, the food list was limiting for a tapas place, but overall quaint and nice place to unwind late night or after work.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Hard to believe this survives in a happe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Hard to believe this survives in a happening corridor. Our waiter knew little about the wine ("this one definitely has terroir, if you like that"?!) and we had three different glasses, all of which were disappointing. Food mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

The wine choices were excellent. I main ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 15, 2015

The wine choices were excellent. I mainly went there for the social aspect and the Vino. Both of those two aspects were excellent the night that I went there. Also, the folks at that Wine Kitchen were very accommodating for having such a large group show up all at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food is decent except for the fried chic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2014

Food is decent except for the fried chicken cutlet

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent Food and Wine

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2014

A wine bar with a classy kitchen -- not just the usual cheese board but some very delicious and imaginative plates. Very nice wine selection to boot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and wine selection

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2014

I got the lamb sausage and risotto. It was yummy! The prices were very reasonable and good wine selection. Our waitress was very helpful. Only downside is the acoustics in the restaurant. It was very loud and I couldn't hear myself or others at my table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous food! Fun spot.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2014

A cute wine bar. Wine choices were good, and food was really delicious. We had to order a second serving of brussel sprouts they were sooooo good. The place is quite loud so it was hard to be there with a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice neighborhood gem

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Nice food, great service, very noisy and energetic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Outstanding

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2014

Had a very enjoyable dining experience at Wine Kitchen! I will be back and telling all my friends. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meh...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2014

Had an 830PM reservation on a Saturday night and they had a table waiting for us(2). The server did pretty good paying attention to us, but drinks did take a bit for just draft beer and wine. The food was the low point: the heirloom tomato salad was fresh but overdressed, the mac and cheese sliders were dry and the beef bland, and the mushrooms with the gnocchi were under-cooked and bland overall as well. Would maybe go again on a week night and see if that brings any improvements.

The wine list is probably the highlight.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Food OK, service disorganized

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2014

The server was pleasant but did not write down our order. So our order got mixed up with that of another table - appetizers arrived after mains. Olives not pleasant - lots of small bitter ones. Weird mac n cheese slider (breaded and deep fried). Decor nothing special - I remember how special a similar place (CAV) used to be. Servings of wine not generous: we choose the most expensive by the glass to see if they had a "wow" factor - they didn't. Food otherwise OK but at $80+ for two would not consider this place again unless it sorts itself out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great offerings/Not great service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2014

I love Wine Kitchen, and most of my experiences there have been perfect. But recently on a Friday night I brought 5 friends and the service was incredibly slow. I don't know if this is typical of a busy evening, or just a particularly bad night. I'm banking on the latter, and will try it again, because when our food finally arrived it was DELICIOUS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Unique food, great service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2014

Great Service- our waitress anticipated our every need. She was so sweet. Interesting, delicious food options. And many choices gluten free.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My go-to place!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2014

I never have trouble getting in- I just give them a quick call an hour or two before and then we're guaranteed a spot. Great menu that changes and a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.