Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Wine Kitchen

Wine Kitchen is a neighborhood wine bar and small plates restaurant. It is built around the age old idea that wine and food taste better when enjoyed together. We believe food and wine are capable of speaking for themselves. Thus, our atmosphere is casual and fun, our service warm and relaxed. Whether you just want a glass of wine and a snack, or a full meal with several pairings, we welcome you and your friends and family to Wine Kitchen. Wine Kitchen is the vision of Greg Faucette and Jason Limburg. They share over a decade of culinary experience, having worked together at Commonwealth, Contigo, and Bar Tartine, as well as at Per Se and Spruce. With their fine dining background comes a dedication to quality and consistency. With their ongoing working relationship comes a desire to create a lively and friendly environment.

507 Divisadero Street
San Francisco, CA 94117
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Fell St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 525-3485

Website:
http://www.winekitchensf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jason Limburg and Greg Faucette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wine Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
See All
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
36 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Unbearably hot as we were there during heat wave. No a/c. Yuck. But food and drink and service were fab. Warm, marinated olives were tasty. The JB bread was delicious as were the fried oysters. Wine was smooth and cool. Highly recommend Wine Kitchen.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Love this place - worth the difficulty in finding parking - am always surprised by great vegetarian options for us - menu changes with the seasons - never disappointed -

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere fun. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food and service. Recommend the Lamb Ragu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was pretty good, the wine was surprisingly disappointing. Overall, I thought it was too expensive for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great location for small groups -- highly recommend sharing the range of impressive small dishes, particularly the gnocchi and brussel sprouts. Friendly but very "casual" service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The wine is well chosen for the food, or perhaps the food is well chosen for the wine. After two glasses who can tell?! It's a great local spot with good service despite that.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great, wine list was very good, vibe was good, but service was medium poor. The bar staff was friendly and knowledgeable, but it took forever for them to check back with us when we wanted to order other items.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed the dinner we had recently here. One friend can't hear well so it was perfect because they don't have music blasting so loud that you can't hear anything. The food was wonderful! We had curry dip with bread, lamb, and squash alfredo. Good portions meaning not too small and not too hearty. Wine choices were pretty decent as well. Would come back! Casual, simple, but enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We could have lived without the large plates. They were fine, just overpriced. Go for the wine and apps. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was very tasty, server seemed to forget about us towards the end of the meal (was going to order desert, but wait for server was too long). Really wanted to enjoy the place as it is cozy and decor is nice, was hoping it would be a neighborhood gem, but noise level was excrutiating. My friends and I could barely hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, great wine shared with great friends!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and menu of Wine Kitchen. The portions were well sized--not too big or small--and service was great. We started off with a "snack" which is aptly named, since the sizing is not as large as an appetizer. This was perfect in that we were left with enough room to enjoy our main entree and order dessert. I enjoyed the crepes while my partner had the steak, and we finished off with a delicious bread pudding. I highly recommend stopping by before a concert over at the Independent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We were there on a very rainy Friday night and it wasn't super busy, but it should be. Right across the street from Nopa and the food is just as good. Great interesting wine pairings and varietals that are a bit different which is fun. Excellent price/performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

We went to Wine Kitchen after we couldn't get a table at Nopa, and we were really impressed. The staff is super friendly and really knowledgable about the wine list and all the food was delicious. Not sure why this place isn't busier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

You have to go to Wine Kitchen and Monday nights' half-price wine bottles mean that you can try the fanciest wine on the list without breaking the bank. The small plates are always inventive and delicious. This week we tried the olives - very good, fennel roasted almonds - amazing, fries with chorizo -- a little too rich but very tasty, flash fried Brussels sprouts - amazing, little gems salad - ok but could have used more grapefruit, beet salad - delicious, mushroom crepes - great, roasted lamb - delicious, flank steak -- perfect. There were 4 of us which enabled us to try a large variety and drink 2 bottles of wine. All for less than $200.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2016

My wife and I wanted to get out of the rain for a snack and wine. We were seated at a great window table and the service was very attentive for a small wine bar. Wine was suggested and it was outstanding. The food was average. We had two appetizers which ranged from good to just ok. The lamb was bland and accompanied by a strange combination of sauce and vegetables. Will return for wine and ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great happy hour. Food was great though a bit pricey. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Delicious - the menu is seasonal but we enjoyed the brussel sprouts and short rigs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2015

The food here is always delicious. Always a sure-fire date night option. They switch up the menu so it's always seasonal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2015

The Monday night half price wine bottle lets you order that special bottle of Barolo guilt free -- which we did. The food at WK is absolutely delicious. The small plates are great for sharing. There were three of us and we tried almost all of them and they were all delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2015

The steak is great, and the pork belly grits are like climbing stairs. Started low, but working it's way up to new heights. The service was adequate, but we were not made to feel special. Would come back however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2015

The wine list was plenty, the food list was limiting for a tapas place, but overall quaint and nice place to unwind late night or after work.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2015

Hard to believe this survives in a happening corridor. Our waiter knew little about the wine ("this one definitely has terroir, if you like that"?!) and we had three different glasses, all of which were disappointing. Food mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 14, 2015

The wine choices were excellent. I mainly went there for the social aspect and the Vino. Both of those two aspects were excellent the night that I went there. Also, the folks at that Wine Kitchen were very accommodating for having such a large group show up all at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2014

Food is decent except for the fried chicken cutlet

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2014

A wine bar with a classy kitchen -- not just the usual cheese board but some very delicious and imaginative plates. Very nice wine selection to boot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2014

I got the lamb sausage and risotto. It was yummy! The prices were very reasonable and good wine selection. Our waitress was very helpful. Only downside is the acoustics in the restaurant. It was very loud and I couldn't hear myself or others at my table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2014

A cute wine bar. Wine choices were good, and food was really delicious. We had to order a second serving of brussel sprouts they were sooooo good. The place is quite loud so it was hard to be there with a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2014

Nice food, great service, very noisy and energetic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2014

Had a very enjoyable dining experience at Wine Kitchen! I will be back and telling all my friends. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2014

Had an 830PM reservation on a Saturday night and they had a table waiting for us(2). The server did pretty good paying attention to us, but drinks did take a bit for just draft beer and wine. The food was the low point: the heirloom tomato salad was fresh but overdressed, the mac and cheese sliders were dry and the beef bland, and the mushrooms with the gnocchi were under-cooked and bland overall as well. Would maybe go again on a week night and see if that brings any improvements.

The wine list is probably the highlight.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2014

The server was pleasant but did not write down our order. So our order got mixed up with that of another table - appetizers arrived after mains. Olives not pleasant - lots of small bitter ones. Weird mac n cheese slider (breaded and deep fried). Decor nothing special - I remember how special a similar place (CAV) used to be. Servings of wine not generous: we choose the most expensive by the glass to see if they had a "wow" factor - they didn't. Food otherwise OK but at $80+ for two would not consider this place again unless it sorts itself out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2014

I love Wine Kitchen, and most of my experiences there have been perfect. But recently on a Friday night I brought 5 friends and the service was incredibly slow. I don't know if this is typical of a busy evening, or just a particularly bad night. I'm banking on the latter, and will try it again, because when our food finally arrived it was DELICIOUS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2014

Great Service- our waitress anticipated our every need. She was so sweet. Interesting, delicious food options. And many choices gluten free.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2014

I never have trouble getting in- I just give them a quick call an hour or two before and then we're guaranteed a spot. Great menu that changes and a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.