Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Wine Kitchen

4.5
39 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Bar Seating
Wine Kitchen is a neighborhood wine bar and small plates restaurant. It is built around the age old idea that wine and food taste better when enjoyed together. We believe food and wine are capable of speaking for themselves. Thus, our atmosphere is casual and fun, our service warm and relaxed. Whether you just want a glass of wine and a snack, or a full meal with several pairings, we welcome you and your friends and family to Wine Kitchen. Wine Kitchen is the vision of Greg Faucette and Jason Limburg. They share over a decade of culinary experience, having worked together at Commonwealth, Contigo, and Bar Tartine, as well as at Per Se and Spruce. With their fine dining background comes a dedication to quality and consistency. With their ongoing working relationship comes a desire to create a lively and friendly environment.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Dining Bar, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 525-3485
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Limburg and Greg Faucette
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fell St
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 39 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on January 2, 2018

I made a reservation through open table on Saturday for my wife’s birthday. We arrived at the restaurant and it was closed! We received a confirmation of my reservation through email! My wife and I were devastated. We braved the cold to go to one of our favorite restaurants and to see the lights off and doors locked was upsetting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Great service, small pours and overpriced food/wine. Ambiance was fairly basic, with TV/football in the background. It has become expensive to have decent meal with a bottle of wine these days.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Great wine. Interesting food. Good times.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Unbearably hot as we were there during heat wave. No a/c. Yuck. But food and drink and service were fab. Warm, marinated olives were tasty. The JB bread was delicious as were the fried oysters. Wine was smooth and cool. Highly recommend Wine Kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Love this place - worth the difficulty in finding parking - am always surprised by great vegetarian options for us - menu changes with the seasons - never disappointed -

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere fun. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food and service. Recommend the Lamb Ragu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was pretty good, the wine was surprisingly disappointing. Overall, I thought it was too expensive for what it was.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Great location for small groups -- highly recommend sharing the range of impressive small dishes, particularly the gnocchi and brussel sprouts. Friendly but very "casual" service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2017

The wine is well chosen for the food, or perhaps the food is well chosen for the wine. After two glasses who can tell?! It's a great local spot with good service despite that.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great, wine list was very good, vibe was good, but service was medium poor. The bar staff was friendly and knowledgeable, but it took forever for them to check back with us when we wanted to order other items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed the dinner we had recently here. One friend can't hear well so it was perfect because they don't have music blasting so loud that you can't hear anything. The food was wonderful! We had curry dip with bread, lamb, and squash alfredo. Good portions meaning not too small and not too hearty. Wine choices were pretty decent as well. Would come back! Casual, simple, but enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2016

We could have lived without the large plates. They were fine, just overpriced. Go for the wine and apps. Yum.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was very tasty, server seemed to forget about us towards the end of the meal (was going to order desert, but wait for server was too long). Really wanted to enjoy the place as it is cozy and decor is nice, was hoping it would be a neighborhood gem, but noise level was excrutiating. My friends and I could barely hear each other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, great wine shared with great friends!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and menu of Wine Kitchen. The portions were well sized--not too big or small--and service was great. We started off with a "snack" which is aptly named, since the sizing is not as large as an appetizer. This was perfect in that we were left with enough room to enjoy our main entree and order dessert. I enjoyed the crepes while my partner had the steak, and we finished off with a delicious bread pudding. I highly recommend stopping by before a concert over at the Independent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2016

We were there on a very rainy Friday night and it wasn't super busy, but it should be. Right across the street from Nopa and the food is just as good. Great interesting wine pairings and varietals that are a bit different which is fun. Excellent price/performance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

We went to Wine Kitchen after we couldn't get a table at Nopa, and we were really impressed. The staff is super friendly and really knowledgable about the wine list and all the food was delicious. Not sure why this place isn't busier.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2016

You have to go to Wine Kitchen and Monday nights' half-price wine bottles mean that you can try the fanciest wine on the list without breaking the bank. The small plates are always inventive and delicious. This week we tried the olives - very good, fennel roasted almonds - amazing, fries with chorizo -- a little too rich but very tasty, flash fried Brussels sprouts - amazing, little gems salad - ok but could have used more grapefruit, beet salad - delicious, mushroom crepes - great, roasted lamb - delicious, flank steak -- perfect. There were 4 of us which enabled us to try a large variety and drink 2 bottles of wine. All for less than $200.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 29, 2016

My wife and I wanted to get out of the rain for a snack and wine. We were seated at a great window table and the service was very attentive for a small wine bar. Wine was suggested and it was outstanding. The food was average. We had two appetizers which ranged from good to just ok. The lamb was bland and accompanied by a strange combination of sauce and vegetables. Will return for wine and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2015

Great happy hour. Food was great though a bit pricey. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 22, 2015

Delicious - the menu is seasonal but we enjoyed the brussel sprouts and short rigs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 25, 2015

The food here is always delicious. Always a sure-fire date night option. They switch up the menu so it's always seasonal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2015

The Monday night half price wine bottle lets you order that special bottle of Barolo guilt free -- which we did. The food at WK is absolutely delicious. The small plates are great for sharing. There were three of us and we tried almost all of them and they were all delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 18, 2015

The steak is great, and the pork belly grits are like climbing stairs. Started low, but working it's way up to new heights. The service was adequate, but we were not made to feel special. Would come back however.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2015

The wine list was plenty, the food list was limiting for a tapas place, but overall quaint and nice place to unwind late night or after work.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2015

Hard to believe this survives in a happening corridor. Our waiter knew little about the wine ("this one definitely has terroir, if you like that"?!) and we had three different glasses, all of which were disappointing. Food mediocre at best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2015

The wine choices were excellent. I mainly went there for the social aspect and the Vino. Both of those two aspects were excellent the night that I went there. Also, the folks at that Wine Kitchen were very accommodating for having such a large group show up all at once.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2014

Food is decent except for the fried chicken cutlet

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2014

A wine bar with a classy kitchen -- not just the usual cheese board but some very delicious and imaginative plates. Very nice wine selection to boot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2014

I got the lamb sausage and risotto. It was yummy! The prices were very reasonable and good wine selection. Our waitress was very helpful. Only downside is the acoustics in the restaurant. It was very loud and I couldn't hear myself or others at my table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 14, 2014

A cute wine bar. Wine choices were good, and food was really delicious. We had to order a second serving of brussel sprouts they were sooooo good. The place is quite loud so it was hard to be there with a group.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 17, 2014

Nice food, great service, very noisy and energetic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2014

Had a very enjoyable dining experience at Wine Kitchen! I will be back and telling all my friends. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 25, 2014

Had an 830PM reservation on a Saturday night and they had a table waiting for us(2). The server did pretty good paying attention to us, but drinks did take a bit for just draft beer and wine. The food was the low point: the heirloom tomato salad was fresh but overdressed, the mac and cheese sliders were dry and the beef bland, and the mushrooms with the gnocchi were under-cooked and bland overall as well. Would maybe go again on a week night and see if that brings any improvements.

The wine list is probably the highlight.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 18, 2014

The server was pleasant but did not write down our order. So our order got mixed up with that of another table - appetizers arrived after mains. Olives not pleasant - lots of small bitter ones. Weird mac n cheese slider (breaded and deep fried). Decor nothing special - I remember how special a similar place (CAV) used to be. Servings of wine not generous: we choose the most expensive by the glass to see if they had a "wow" factor - they didn't. Food otherwise OK but at $80+ for two would not consider this place again unless it sorts itself out.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 11, 2014

I love Wine Kitchen, and most of my experiences there have been perfect. But recently on a Friday night I brought 5 friends and the service was incredibly slow. I don't know if this is typical of a busy evening, or just a particularly bad night. I'm banking on the latter, and will try it again, because when our food finally arrived it was DELICIOUS.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2014

Great Service- our waitress anticipated our every need. She was so sweet. Interesting, delicious food options. And many choices gluten free.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 20, 2014

I never have trouble getting in- I just give them a quick call an hour or two before and then we're guaranteed a spot. Great menu that changes and a fantastic wine list.

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Wine Kitchen