About Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar

6240 S Main St L115
(behind Mcalister's Deli)
Aurora, CO 80016
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, we are a contemporary dining establishment featuring food with an international flair. Thee great chefs that are known for creating exciting wine friendly cuisine that change with the seasons. Owner Eldon Larson has over 30 years experience and has traveled extensively to the world’s greatest wine regions. Relax in our comfortable curved couch area or enjoy several courses in our softly lit dining room. Wine Experience Café boasts an elegant fabric ceiling, contemporary lighting, bay fire place and exciting colors. After dinner you can step into the World Cellar Fine Wine Shop to purchase the wines enjoyed at Wine Experience Café.
**Highlights:
szechuan pork belly, calamari, beef tenderloin fillet, seared sea scallops, veal osso bucco, fresh fish, roasted beet salad, cured meats and artisan cheese. Full Bar, 35 wines by the glass, wine flights, amazing wine list

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 12:00 - 4:00pm


Dinner Every Day : 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
State Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 690-1025

Website:
http://www.wineexperiencecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Wine, Beer and Spirits tasting dinners with special guest speakers conducted several times per month. These dinner are usually five courses paired with six different wines, beers or spirits. Please call us for our monthly schedule.

Catering:
We provide a very nice tapas option with wine pairing for parties. We are next to World Cellar fine wine and spirits shop that will assist us in the wine tasting portion for your catering. Chef Jason can also prepare full entree catering for groups up to twenty-five.

Parking Details:
We have sixty plus parking spaces located directly in front of our entrance. Parking is free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Chef Zachary Stillwell

Private Party Facilities:
We conduct parties for up to 70 guests in our establishment. We will close the restaurant to the public in order to accommodate large parties. Parties of 20-40 would be located in the main part of the restaurant while other guest would be seated in the opposite half.

Private Party Contact:
Eldon Larson: 3036901025x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We have wine tasting events 4 or 5 times per year. We also prepare Wine, Beer and Spirits tasting dinners with special guest speakers conducted several times per month. These dinner are usually five courses paired with six different wines, beers or spirits. Please call us for our monthly schedule.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Notable Wine List
Denver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Aurora ›

notable wine list (25)
special occasion (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (13)
romantic (12)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous night of old jazz vocal standar ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous night of old jazz vocal standards, food, and vintage drinks. The Wine Experience has done it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

So happy to have Wine Experience here... ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

So happy to have Wine Experience here...a great retreat from the typical 'burb schlock.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Great Wine Experience!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal and a wonderful bottle of wine recently when we dined at the Wine Experience Cafe. This little gem is tucked away in the Southlands Shopping Complex and is well worth the trip. Our servers were very helpful with the entree and dinner selections. The quality of the food is outstanding and the wine list is impressive. We plan on attending one of their frequent wine tasting/pairings in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening with great service!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had the cheese plate and wine tasting - absolutely wonderful!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

FaIr, but not overly impressed.

Dined on March 20, 2016

The service was very good; however, the wine/beer offerings were very simplistic and not inspired. The mussels appetizer was sufficiently large to serve as an entrée. The Calamari appetizer was over breaded, which hid the potential flavor of the dish. The scallops were a treat served over a risotto base with a pink hue due to the beets.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun evening

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visited this restaurant during Denver Restaurant Week. The food was excellent and a great value at Restaurant Week prices. Service was a little uneven but that is something that we have come to expect during the extra busy Restaurant Week event.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very Disappointing

Dined on March 6, 2016

My husband and I ate here during restaurant week. The restaurant had decided that in addition to the packed dining room for restaurant week, they would also book a 20 top. They squeezed us into a tiny table away from the large party (their idea) and sat us and two other couples at the same time. We all ordered at the same time as the others, and the first dish was slapped down (literally) in front of us. This was described as a "cheese course" and was delivered without any description of what we were eating. This was two of the tiniest pieces of cheese I have ever seen. Microscopic. It was meant to be some sort of "bonus" to the meal, but it was just laughable. Our appetizers appeared within seconds, and before we could eat our tiny cheese, and before we had made a wine order. The pork belly was cold, very dry, and not flavorful. We were waiting for wine to drink with the appetizer, when, within 5 minutes of receiving our appetizer, our main course appeared. We asked them to hold it until our wine came and we could eat the appetizer. Big mistake. Fast forward to 40 minutes later when our main course had still not come out, despite the fact that we asked three different people for it. No one had asked us if we wanted more wine or water during those 40 minutes, and both tables seated next to us had finished dessert, paid, and left. Grrr...Now, I get how restaurant week works, that the restaurant is usually crowded, and service might be affected, however, the service we received was so terrible that we dropped cash on the table and left. Did anyone even notice? Nope. We drove to Parker and had a great cheese plate and glass of wine at our local (familiar) spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Restaurant Week.

Dined on March 1, 2016

Food was excellent, selection very nice, great wine list. Nice quiet place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

While the food was good, it seems like t ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

While the food was good, it seems like the kitchen had trouble coordinating delivering the food quickly after it was prepared. Many of our dishes were lukewarm.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience!!!

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Excellent experience!!!

food3
ambience1
service1

One of the worst service experiences, I' ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the worst service experiences, I've had. Very poor. This was a Valentine's Day dinner with my wife and we were seated in a cramped table next to a loud, rowdy foursome of ladies. Our waiter was beyond slow. In the 50 minutes we were there, my water was never re-filled nor was our our entree order taken. We got a round of drinks and mussels for an appetizer. The mussels were very good to their credit. But that was the highlight. We asked for more bread - it never came. My wine, water glass and mussel bowl were empty for over 15 minutes when we decided to end the night. The waiter seemed unaffected by our frustration offering a half- hearted apology and then brought the check. The Wine Experience has a great marketing campaign where they paint themselves to be a "high end" option in a land full of chain restaurants. But at the end of the day, they just charge more while offering the same level of service you would get at the local Chili's. I emailed my feedback to the manager, no response... Sent from my iPhone

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just OK

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was fairly disappointed. The tables were so close together, we felt like we were being included in the conversation two tables over. The wait staff was even having trouble getting through the tables. Waitress spilled wine on the table twice and did not even come back to clean it up. Thought the food was overpriced. The bottle of wine was $30 more in the restaurant than what you could buy it for in the retail area. Probably won't go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inviting scene

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had great service, wonderful food (the mussels we ordered were the largest I have ever seen) and the owner was very welcoming. There was a jazz band that was so good!!! I wish the restaurant would do this more often. I would be sure to go each and every time!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true jewel

Dined on February 7, 2016

I've visited Wine Experience Café several times and am always pleased and impressed with my experience. This place is truly the hidden gem of the Denver-metro area. The restaurant is small, intimate and inviting, the food is creative and delicious, the wine selection is grand and internationally-inspired, and the service is wonderful. I can always tell that the service team, kitchen staff and owners really care about their customers. Visit on the weekends for a lively vibe or during the week for something a little more quiet. Be sure to check out one of their wine dinners or special music events - There's nothing like it in Aurora and it's always a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value5

Gone downhill

Dined on February 6, 2016

This was our 7th time here. Our friend Foster introduced us. We brought friends to introduce them to it. Turned into a 3 hour excrutiating dinner of begging for service. My bottom line is that if I am paying $250 for a meal, I expect decent service. In addition, scallops were cold and the salmon was too well done. Cheese plate was explained to our guests just as they were finishing. Asked for bread, none came. Since our waiter never came by, we never had a chance to complain. We would have enjoyed Old Chicago much more. Too bad, we used to love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for Two!!

Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife and I have gone here for our date night several times over the past few years (we have 5 children so our dates are very precious!). Each visit has been fantastic! The ambiance, food and service are remarkable and we highly recommend The Wine Experience for a romantic dinner. My wife is from the East Coast and a fish lover. She had the buttered halibut and was smiling the whole way through. I always get the duck and although the portion isn't as large as it was 4 years ago, it's still just as delicious as ever. You will be very pleased if you give them a try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place, each time we have gone ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Love this place, each time we have gone has been a treat.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Saturday night- Live Music Night

Dined on January 24, 2016

My friend an I went to this restaurant primarily to hear the musicians playing that night - Walker and Shellist - blues harmonica and guitar. We arrived about 7:30 - as the music was to start at 8pm. The place was nearly full and very lively with lots of conversations. We decided not to sit in the main eating area as it was too loud to carry on a conversation. We took the last two seats at the bar - the end of the bar - and it was perfect for talking...We ordered the spinach salad and their fish and chips (fresh halibut). The salad was fresh but had few ingredients and the salad dressing was limited in taste too. But, the fish and chips were perfect...the fish was fresh, the batter light and crispy. The fries were also delicious. I hope they keep serving this - as it was a high point of our visit. The wine list was varied and the least expensive cabernet was delicious and a very good price - $6.00. My friend and I asked to split both dishes and the bartender and kitchen were exceptionally agreeable and did exactly as we requested. Thanks! Given that there were only 2 musicians...it was very hard to hear the music from the opposite side of the room...and it was evident that all but a few of the diners even noticed there was any music at all. As soon as seats became available close to the music we moved and totally enjoyed being able to actually hear these exceptional musicians. I felt the music was so underappreciated - not sure why the restaurant owners even went to the trouble to have music. I probably won't return to this restaurant - mainly because it is so very geographically distant and it is hard to hear the music when the diners are loudly immersed in their conversations. ...but for those who live in the area I can see why they would want to return....but not for the music...probably. Given that we came primarily for the music and given that the food and wine were both above average...or better...it was a very fun and memorable evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

We live nearby so we have been there a f ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

We live nearby so we have been there a few times. I have to say the food or service never disappoints. So glad to have a nice dining establishment on this side of town with food that competes with the greats of Denver.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overpriced and a little slow

Dined on January 16, 2016

We recently had dinner here on a Friday night. The tenderloin served Oscar style was priced at 45 00 which compared to Del Friscos seems like a great deal however the filet was maybe 4 once possibly even smaller. It did take quite some time for water, drinks, bread etc. I doubt we would go back.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great atmosphere. Due to the holiday, a ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Due to the holiday, and the business, we didn't get our main course all together. Half our party was finished before the rest of us got our meal.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent reunion

Dined on December 29, 2015

Having Eldon share his knowledge with us during our wine pairing event was wonderful. The chefs and wait staff are fantastic. Love this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service

Dined on December 25, 2015

The service by Victoria was first rate and she ensured we had everything we wanted. The Sea Bass plate was very good with the bass cook to perfection. The white aspargrass was a nice pairing with the wild rice and peppers. This plate was not part of the regular menu but should be. The selection of wines was adequate and reasonably priced.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Special gem

Dined on October 31, 2015

A fabulous, yet intimate place for a vibrant wine bar. Wine dinners and great food make this a special place. Not too big, and not too small, yet feels exclusive and the staff is very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food

Dined on October 11, 2015

We made 12:30 reservations. What is not to like, we had the entire restaurant to ourselves, our own personal chef, wine steward/server. The duck breast was to die for and the wife said that those were the best steak fries she has ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service3

Great Date Night Adventure

Dined on October 3, 2015

Great place for a date night or gathering of a group of friends. The place is small so arrive early or make sure you have reservations. The atmosphere is great, low lighting, fireplace, good selection of table varieties. They even have a great selection of wines and beer in their small side store. You can't go wrong with their wine flights, they have a huge selection of pairings. They also have cheese flights that are very nice however crackers cost extra, which is a little odd. Food selections aren't huge but what they do have they do it great. Haven't had a bad meal here yet. My favorite is the seafood cioppino which has a great variety of calamari, mussels, shrimp and fish. Entrée orders can be a little slow to come out so order early and enjoy an appetizer. Definitely recommend this place, I'm confident you will find it as appealing as we do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot!!

Dined on September 20, 2015

We went for a birthday dinner with friends. Everything was great!! Great atmosphere, wine list and food! The Brassfield Eruption was an amazing Red Blend!! The Duck was very flavorful as was the Chicken Dijon. The Carmel Bread pudding and the Cheesecake Brownie were great! We had a later reservation and were the last ones remaining at the end of the night. We never felt rushed or pressured by any of the staff! Great place overall! Would highly recommend!!! We will definitely be going back!!

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Not bad but not awesome.

Dined on August 29, 2015

Stick with the wine... The food wasn't worth the high price.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining experience!

Dined on August 22, 2015

The food is amazing and the service is second to none. If you are looking for an upscale dining experience in an unpretentious and friendly atmosphere, then The Wine Experience is for you. The owners are down to earth and visited our table to make sure we were having a great experience. This was our 3rd visit, but we were loyal customers after the 1st visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious

Dined on August 6, 2015

I had the scallops and they were delicious! The food was great, and the wine they recommended was very good. We had dessert, and the chocolate mousse with caramel was a bit sweet, but the crème brulee was amazing! Nice place to relax outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Another good experience

vip
Dined on August 3, 2015

This was our second visit in four months, but first with out-of-town guests. Our server, Chris M. was outstanding--helpful, knowledgeable, and engaging. Although we were dining rather late and the last table on a Sunday night, we did not feel at all rushed. The tempura calamari and jalapeno appetizer was very tasty and the four of us enjoyed the "Chris' selection" cheese flight. The entrees (steak frites x 2, veal Marsala, and Waldorf salad w/ grilled chicken) were prepared as requested and nicely presented. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Group Dinner

Dined on July 12, 2015

Tbe food was delicious and the portions were large. Server was friendly and very attentive. The chef and owner both came to the table and introduced themselves . They were very appreciative of our business

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience!

Dined on June 21, 2015

It was a quiet evening and we had a wonderful dinner - the special, Beef Wellington, was to die for! Hubby had the Fish and Chips - his favorite!! Our server, Brad was very helpful and attentive making the experience really pleasant. We really enjoy this neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Early Dinner Spot!

Dined on June 9, 2015

Needed a place for quick dinner after work that this one was on the way home. I setup a reservation in OpenTable but really didn't need it at all! To my delight there were only a few other people there at 5:30 so the restaurant was very quiet. It is a bit of a cement box so if there's a crowd, the atmosphere would be 'energetic'. Our server was prompt and attentive but not intrusive. The wine list was amazing and the suggestion from the server was fantastic. I had the burger and fries and wow - actual real cut potatoes! Very flavorful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

Wine Experience is sliding down the slope

Dined on June 7, 2015

This once spectacular dining spot has slid into mediocrity. The location is quaint and has its charm, but the stained chairs and silverware sticking to the table put a dent in the ambiance. The menu is seasonal and narrowly focused, so make sure you check the menu online first if you have a picky eater in your group. Execution is varied on the dishes. Two of our foursome ordered the flat iron steak and the beef was very good, but the braised lentils were overcooked to a mush. The other two went with the burger and pork belly. The burger was underseasoned and overcooked (they only cook it one way, theirs). The pork belly, which should be fatty, was virtually nothing but a slab of fat and the fat wasn't fully rendered. Be careful what you order from the bar. If you are vague, you will pay for it. My wife wanted a house white and the waiter made a suggestion that cost as much as her burger. My father ordered a bourbon and diet and was served poured top-shelf. Our table was vague with the drink order, so that is on us, but it leaves us feeling taken advantage of. Overall service was mediocre beyond the drink service. It will be quite awhile before we visit again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great find

Dined on April 4, 2015

Excellent food, great service & wine for days. Can't beat that combo!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great relaxing experience

Dined on March 15, 2015

Wonderful cheese and meat plate served in a very relaxing atmosphere. Ordered additional appetizers and bread and all were very good. Wine tasting experience provided a good selection of wines. All were very good and enjoyed with our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on March 7, 2015

Great wine bar/restaurant. Food, service and wine was great. Sorry we haven't been there earlier. It's our new go to place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Wine & Food

Dined on March 2, 2015

I love the elegant yet cozy feel of this place. I have eaten many fabulous dishes here. The menu changes periodically and never disappoints. The wine list is extensive and the wait staff is ready to help you find just the right wine to suit your taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointed

Dined on February 28, 2015

We went to dinner for 5280 after seeing the menu. The appetizer was delicious but the sea bass was a huge disappointment. The Pea puree was too sweet with the already sweetened Quinoa. The fish was good but rather bland. It was rather disconcerting to go out into the "wine shop" and find the same bottle for $10.00 when we had just paid $24.00 for the exact sane wine . The waiter was pleasant but seemed misinformed about the dishes and was not helpful with my choice. Overall for a $100.00 plus dinner, not where I will go again.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.