Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Wine Country Bistro

Wine Country Bistro is a reflection of our passion for food, wine & people, all of which in no particular order are integral parts of the experience. An experience we feel is fresh, wholesome and good for the soul. Taste life to the fullest, fill up on the journey and make it a great day!!

4800 Line Ave
Shreveport, LA 71106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
All Day Bar Menu: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am - 2pm; Dinner 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Pierremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(318) 629-9463

Website:
http://www.jasonbradyrestaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Anthony Felan

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Wine Country Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Business Meals (8)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We started out with the "Grandma's deviled eggs" with prosciutto, and they were outstanding. I was unsure about ordering Duck, but since the appetizer was so good, I decided to take the plunge. I'm so glad I did! The mean was delicious and the wine we had with dinner was great. Definitely a recommended place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Salmon is one of my favorite foods, and while I'm not qualified as a foodie, I know when salmon is stale and when it's overcooked. So hooray for Wine Country Bistro - fresh-tasting salmon cooked just right. I'll be back, and I'll count on always finding really good salmon. Many thanks.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Waiter not with it. Food average to boring. Menu never varied. Presentation predictable, dated: like eating a stackables kids meal meant for adults. Felt like an alternative lifestyle hangout in the setting of a chateau style European fine dining restaurant: the 'bistro' part seems lost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I got the hand cut 14 oz NY strip. It was not trimmed, slightly under cooked and seasoned. A good cut of meat though. Wife got a main entre. Petite fillet with smashed potatoes and asparagus. For $26, that was a good deal. They overcooked the first fillet so the delay earned a free dessert. Frenchman salad to start was good, with granny smith apples and candied pecans. Dessert we had cream brulle and bread pudding topped with vanilla ice cream. Cream brulle was good, as was the bread pudding, but the ice cream topping stole that show. The major disappoint was I had been looking forward to the vanilla cheesecake, but the server returned and informed me they were out of it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our party of 7 were celebrating a birthday. Our food was delicious and the staff was very welcoming! We enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had an awful time with your wine list. All the wines we asked for were not in their proper spot in your wine cellar. It would help if you could keep that updated as well as the wines you actually have as opposed to the list you are giving us. A knowledgeable wine sommelier would have been nice too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very good just wish there were more lunch entrees to use from than breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

the food was not prepared as requested.tje server was nice and attentive. we were there for lunch .

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had it not been for the fact that the steak that my husband order got sent back not once but twice... our night would have been great. staff was friendly, wine was delicious, my cedar salmon was fantastic. my husbands rib eye was ordered as medium well, it came back WELL DONE and dry, got sent back. he had it redone only for it to come back mooing the second time. he did not want to wait even longer. I had already finished eating at this point. SO, rather than risking a third failed attempt, he went with the same thing I order, the cedar plank salmon. and they didn't even compensate or anything on the ticket for his steak, all they did was deduct 5$. pretty petty for a restaurant at this caliber. 5$ did not cover the time wasted waiting for an order to get done right. We might give wine country bistro a second chance in the future, but not anytime soon. left a bad impression unfortunately. our second anniversary dinner date at wine bistro was not what we wanted it or expected it to be.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Good not great. Food was ok but not great. Service was slow at first until they figured out who our wait person was. Then he was attentive. The place is huge. So if you want intimate this is not it. Decent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a large group of friends. Unfortunately, the restaurant seemed quite short handed that evening. Our servers were excellent, but only when they were at our tables...which is not their fault. Our wait time for food and drinks was an unexpected downer.

Food and drinks were good. Just get some more staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I love the convenience of booking a reservation with Open Table and have never been disappointed with the service or food and drink at Wine Country! Our experience was delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Quiet atmosphere in dining room great service and food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We love wine country. This is our first time at the new location tho. The cheese tray is substantially smaller and my meal was not very good. My wife enjoyed hers. Our waiter was over booked and not very attentive to our table. The new location is very big and very nice. I'm hoping our next visit will be better. This was one of my favorite places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Worse rib eye I've ever eaten. Thin cut and tough. Won't make that mistake again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 11, 2017

Awesome spot for special occasions and date nights. Romantic atmosphere and awesome customer service. Food was well prepared and served in a timely manner.

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Quiet, elegant atmosphere, good menu choices but would really like more vegetarian options, desert was sinfull, good wine and drink selection, a very nice dining experience that was worth the time and money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The meal and service were good but can't help feelings no they made a big mistake moving to this location. Nothing like the atmosphere of the original location. Too cavernous and cold feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were regulars at the old location, but this was our first time at the new location trying the new menu.

We had the fried green tomatoes to start, and didn't really enjoy them. They were visually unappealing, and the flavors just seemed to not compliment one another.

I then had the $10 caesar salad, which I failed to notice had shrimp in it. I love shrimp, and I LOVE caesar, but the two together were horrible in my opinion. The shrimp were kind of mushy and I didn't see how their addition complimented the caesar at all. I took them all off and the caesar was pretty good afterwards.

We were a little concerned going into the entrees, but they were so good that we completely forgot about the starters. I had the short ribs, and they were delicious. I would come back again just to have it. My wife had the southern ramen, and it was as delicious as it was creative. We've never seen anything like it, but it sure was good.

We'll definitely be back, but we'll probably skip the green tomatoes and caesar next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Outstanding duck dish with collards, great wine, prompt seating. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was delicious​. We got tomato soup and grouper with root vegetables. There was a good wine selection.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Restaurant was listed as elegant casual. I would lean more towards elegant than casual. The food was great, but the service was not optimal. There were some shining moments, but I believe there was only one server working the entire room that we were located. That was off to me because my group was large itself. I was under the impression that larger groups were usually give at least two servers. However, the overall atmosphere was great and I wouldn't mind visiting again in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was good and priced in our range. It was quiet which we appreciated and the staff was efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lunch was very nice. My business group of four were comfortable in the ambiance. We talked over business, enjoyed the dishes, felt like the waiter was helping us enjoy our get-together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We celebrated Mother's Day on the Saturday evening before & enjoyed our quiet dinner very much. Conversation was easy. Food was delicious. I know my mother enjoyed it. Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food served in a quiet environment with courteous service. Cheese tray was well served with good choices and both the pasta dish and mussels were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time in the new location. We have dined at Wine Country before, and loved it. The new location isn't very romantic or intimate like the old location. Not a bad location or restaurant, but it just wasn't what we were expecting after dining here before at the other location across the street. Numerous waiters approached our table, and then when we ordered, the menu selection we made was not available--an 8 oz. filet. So on the menu with "hand-cut steaks", it wasn't being prepared that evening. That's what we wanted, so we chose to go elsewhere to eat. Wait staff was introduced, but few and far between at the table (probably why we were approached by numerous waiters), and don't put something on the menu provided if the item isn't available. Cover the item with a label or something to show it isn't available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great dinner. Loved it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and were disappointed. The food choices were scarce, especially for the price. The temperature of the items was luke warm to cold. This is the second time we have dined at this new location. We thought the food was decent but expensive the first time so we decided to try it for a holiday meal. The shrimp and grits were hardly seasoned. The sausage was probably purchased at the local grocery and the scrambled eggs were runny. I've had better eggs and sausage at IHOP for a lot less money. It was certainly nothing special. We are not going to return after this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was quiet disappointed. I had made the reservation for my wife's birthday with 9 guests. They had a lot of open tables, and they have big shoes to fill because of the previous restaurant. Issues were:
- They ran out of mashed potatoes and did not want to make another batch.
- When the meals came, they would ask everyone what they ordered, they did not know who ordered what. Which made for misplaced plates and switching
- No candle or anything special for my wife.

The was fine, but considering the price, I doubt I will return. Unfortunately, I was under impressed.

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was my first trip to Wine Country. I liked the atmosphere, the service was very good and the food was excellent. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very disappointing, this place is just not what we're used to when we come to SHREVEPORT but when your used to the now closed Village Grill you cannot call this anything close. The restauart itself looks nice so maybe someone will be able to do something with it one day but this place won't be around very long. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Seated immediately. Service was very good. Foood was wonderful. Would definately return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our waiter, Creighton Butler was the most attentive, charming and efficient I have had in a long time. He did an awesome job.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious Sunday brunch. Charming, efficient waiter. Prompt service. Elegant, understated decor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent value! I'm glad my client wanted to go. I will definitely try this one again when I'm back in Shreveport.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our waiter was especially wonderful. Everyone at our table enjoyed their food, and the ambience can't be beat.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Incredibly average.
I had heard the Wine Country restaurants were a select group. So, when Wine Country Bistro bought Giuseppe's it seemed as if it might be something interesting. The decor is pretty much the same, if not a little institutional looking--except the bar. The bar appears a little more contemporary. The drinks and the service at the bar were excellent.

The dinner service was fine. Not extraordinary. The table captain (?) was okay but the different servers who brought out the salads, entrees seemed to be distracted and out of it.

The entree was a "hand made noodle deal with sausage, peppers.
The entree was plopped down in front of me in a bowl. The presentation was non-existent. It looked and tasted like a meal out of the freezer section of Sams. Very plain. Very nothing.

I would say to anyone who was considering dining at Wine Country Bistro, "Go to Outback".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our dinner was a disaster. It took over an hour to get our food once we ordered. I had had 3 good meals prior to our visit so I was excited to take our friends to the "new" wine country. I had the angel hair pasta and added grilled salmon. The pasta was undercooked and clumped together. The salmon was charred on the skin side and imparted a terrible burned fish flavor to the pasta. I sent it back and asked for a bowl of gumbo. I was then brought a bowl of brown water with smoked duck in it. I think they forgot the roux! My wife's steak was good but was room temperature as was my friend's pasta.
Chef Jason is an excellent chef but a chef is only as good as his line cooks. Clearly they were unable to execute his dishes. I think he needs to spend more time in his kitchen. Like many chefs do, he needs to see EVERY dish that comes out for a while.
It will be a long while before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.