About Wine Cellar

1314 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Wine Cellar has "all the right ingredients": award winning cuisine, international wines, attentive service, relaxing atmosphere.

This distinctive restaurant is located on Jacksonville's Southbank. With its French Country atmosphere, Wine Cellar is loaded with charm. An outdoor brick paved garden set beneath a majestic oak tree is the perfect place for a romantic luncheon or dinner.

While constantly evolving with eclectic new world dishes, Classic Continental Cuisine excels here. To add regional flavor, local produce and indigenous fresh seafood have become integral elements of the recipes.

Wine Cellar is consistently rated as one of "Florida's Top 500 Restaurants"; as one of "Jacksonville's Top 25 Restaurants" and the wine list perennially wins the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence".

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:15pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-8989

Website:
http://www.winecellarjax.com/

Parking Details:
A private lot is available 1/4 block across from restaurant on the corner of Kipp and Home Street. Evening parking is also available in the Synovus Bank parking lot which is adjacent to Wine Cellar.

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cellar offers two private dining rooms. One will accommodate up to 16 guests - the other up to 28 guests and also has direct access to our lovely outdoor garden. We will customize your menu to suit your budget and your function - be it a business presentation, family and friends get together, wedding rehearsal dinner or reception. Screen and AV equipment may be set up.

Private Party Contact:
Gary Gebert: 9043988989x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Cellar features a Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Thursday, Friday and Saturday each week. The menu changes bi-weekly. The price ranges from $30 - $36. First course offers a choice of at least four appetizers, including a special soup and salad. Second course feature choices of four or five entrees with great proteins including fresh fish, shellfish, foul and beef. Third course highlights a choice of two desserts. See the menu weekly on our website - www.winecellarjax.com.

Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4:30PM - 7:00PM. Half off all glasses of house wine and well brand cocktails. Selection of Bar Bites $6.00 each. Menu posted on website.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $42.00

Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $42.00

Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $42.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Celebrating French Bistro Dining. Go to www.winecellarjax.com for complete menu. Special valid Oct 6, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 on Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Great for Lunch
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
7 More
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Great for Lunch
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (37)
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Other than one loud mouth at the next ta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Other than one loud mouth at the next table our evening was idyllic.

The food and staff superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we brought dear friends wh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Unfortunately we brought dear friends who had never been to wine cellar and while the back room is still a beautiful setting for dinner the restaurant has clearly passed its prime. Service was excellent - we have had Kevin many times over the years. The food was just a huge disappointment. We did the sip & savor jax menu. The Parmesan soup, lamb and mouse dessert all were very good. In fact the lamb was cooked perfectly. However the salmon rillettes had no flavor. The black and blue rib eye steak - no flavor, over cooked, blue cheese in cold globs on top. The bread pudding - good but Hob Nob's and Orsay's is so much better. As I said we were excited to share an old favorite with dear friends and left hugely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable.. Awesome for a first dat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very enjoyable.. Awesome for a first date... Service and food was point on!! Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at The Wine Cellar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at The Wine Cellar early on a Saturday night prior to a concert. The ambience was lovely, service excellent and the food was very good. My only criticism is that my rack of lamb could have been more tender. The party next to us also had the lamb and they were perfectly happy with it. Perhaps I got an inferior piece of meat. Luck of the draw.

We were surprised by a 3 course prize fixe offering which was priced very reasonably. Also had an excellent bottle of wine which we felt was a good value. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Celebrating our anniversary. Food was de ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary. Food was delicious. Service was great and ambiance was impeccable. I highly recommend the Wine Cellar.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, great food, and nice ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful service, great food, and nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend for anniversaries.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Wine Cellar. It is a serene ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the Wine Cellar. It is a serene island in the midst of restaurant mayhem. The food is always outstanding, the service cannot be beat and the ambiance is perfect. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar is a long establish yet litt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wine Cellar is a long establish yet little known restaurant. It is by far my favorite Jacksonville dining experience. Have recommended to many people (not just my close friends) and have always gotten greatfull thanks for the suggestion. Highly suggest The Wine Cellar for their food, wines, ambience, friendliness and overall enjoyment.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I select Wine Cellar often for business ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I select Wine Cellar often for business lunches because of the elegant, sophisticated ambiance, excellent service, and reliable and creative food offerings. The four of us were not disappointed in this visit. Two got the salmon with field greens, another the tuna burger and the fourth the salmon entree plus side salad. All were pleased with our choices and the attentiveness of our server, until the end. We had to wait longer than expected to have our checks brought to the table, picked up, and our credit cards returned. Still, it was overall a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ok. So this restaurant has been in Jack ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ok. So this restaurant has been in Jacksonville as long as I have lived here. But the food has never disappointed. And now the young chef has surpassed any past culinary experience I have had. Our dinner was the fixed priced menu. My appetizer was coconut shrimp-not the frozen variety usually served-but fresh large shrimp served beautifully with a orange sauce. My husband had a melon salad arranged artistically with mint leaves Very light but tasty. We had mains -a fettuccine and crab dish and the trout almondine Both were delicious. We couldn't decide whose dish was the better For dessert I had a version of taramisu that was so light and airy but rich at the same time My husband had the banana pudding- different in that the custard was topped with sliced bananas We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I received the Open Table reminder, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

When I received the Open Table reminder, there was a link to the menu and to the directions. The menu provided in the link listed the December specials. Staff that I was bringing to lunch reviewed the menu and picked out what they wanted to have, only to find that the selections were not available, which was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

This was the third time visiting. The fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was the third time visiting. The food wasn't as good this time. I'm guessing the chef was different. I'll still give them another shot, but the food was a bit of a letdown this time. The service is always top notch. Everyone deserves to have an off night, I guess.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been to Wine Cellar many times but ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've been to Wine Cellar many times but this is the first time my date and I had the entire restaurant to ourselves! Probably due to Donald Trump being in town. Great food, wine and service...as usual. I recommend for date night and special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were well treated, as always, by Wayn ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were well treated, as always, by Wayne. This is our favorite go-place for special celebrations and one place we always bring out-of-town guests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, excellent menu options ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent menu options and extraordinary food quality

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food excellant. Only proble ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service and food excellant. Only problem, my husband ,strictly meat and potatoes man, had looked at menu and decided on a special pork chop, it had been taken off menu. Thankfully the special was a ribeye, he said was delicious. We had a side order of the gnocci to share, wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was miserably mediocre. Service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was miserably mediocre. Service was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Amazing quality of food and drinks. Fres ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing quality of food and drinks. Fresh and friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Topnotch! our waitress was great and fu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Topnotch! our waitress was great and fun. Very cordial and observant to our needs. Our 47th anniversey.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Fish that me ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and food. Fish that melted in your mouth. Best wine selection in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another delightful visit to Wine Cellar. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Another delightful visit to Wine Cellar...delicious food, fantastic server (Wayne) and lovely ambiance. The champagne to toast our anniversary was a welcomed special touch. We plan to come back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck was very good, rest of meal ord ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The duck was very good, rest of meal ordinary. Service felt rushed. Overall, too expensive for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good food & good value for lunch. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very good food & good value for lunch. The dining room is pretty loud, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been several times! It's one of ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been several times! It's one of our favorite restaurants!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as well as service! T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was great as well as service! The lamb appetizer was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice dinner excellent service

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Small restaurant with great service and food. The grouper was superb. Key lime pie, excellent. Fantastic service. I was by myself and really enjoyed my meal. Do watch out though, they add 18% gratuity and I failed to see this and discovered I double tipped after I'd left. I thought this was I unusual for a party if one. Otherwise excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and service were very good. At ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food and service were very good. Attention to detail seems to be the name of the game. However, I much prefer to apply my own gratuity [if and when I see fit].

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine Cellar succeeds again

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent dinner at the Wine Cellar. We hope to come again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Anniversary Spot

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I went here for our wedding anniversary and left with great memories. It was some of the best food that we have ever eaten and have not had such a great meal for five or six years. Also the ambiance there was fantastic and very romantic. We will definitely be coming back for another round and would recommend to anyone looking for great food for a special event and make fantastic memories.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Its so nice to be able to carry on a quiet conversation with your friends while enjoying delicious food and beverages. There are too many noisy restaurants in Jacksonville. Always a pleasure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rediscovered

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We hadn't been here in several years and after our wonderful dinner wondered why. We will be returning more often. Everything was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just absolutely beautiful restaurant and romantic

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

absolutely beautiful restaurant very sweet and romantic.

seems like every time we go there we have Wayne as our waiter. A very friendly and personable gentleman. I think she said he has been there since 1983 maybe ! Great guy and great service !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant. Food and service was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great restaurant. Food and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely,quiet dinner for my husbands birt ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Lovely,quiet dinner for my husbands birthday. Nick was very attentive but not overbearing. Food absolutely delicious !! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Lunch

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I enjoyed my dining experience at Wine Cellar the food was delectable. We were celebrating a birthday. it is a very romantic restaurant. I will return with my husband to enjoy. The waiter could have use a little more personality. But the overall experience was AWESOME! We will return!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing Food

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Had a lovely evening! Great service, amazing food as usual. Best scallops I have ever had! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Board Dinner at Wine Cellar

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My group was in Jacksonville, at the Hyatt Riverfront, for a board meeting. We were able to walk across the Main St. Bridge to this restaurant in about 15 minutes. It's location is sort of weird (right next to a gas station), but you forget that as soon as you get inside. The ambiance is great, with the restaurant subdivided into smaller, grottoe-like sections, some for smaller tables, some for larger.

The service was amazing, the waiter was very helpful in his recommendations, and all of the food was excellent. One of our board members is strictly vegan, and though there weren't obvious options on the menu, the chef was able to custom craft something that our member said was delicious.

Pricing was about average for a restaurant of this caliber, maybe slightly less than you'd pay at a chain gourmet restaurant like Ruth's Chris.

I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great, as usual.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Everything was great, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Supper before concert

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We always enjoy our evenings there, always memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Our server was really good b ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Great food. Our server was really good but everyone else was very rude. Not sure I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.