About Wine Cellar

1314 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Wine Cellar has "all the right ingredients": award winning cuisine, international wines, attentive service, relaxing atmosphere.

This distinctive restaurant is located on Jacksonville's Southbank. With its French Country atmosphere, Wine Cellar is loaded with charm. An outdoor brick paved garden set beneath a majestic oak tree is the perfect place for a romantic luncheon or dinner.

While constantly evolving with eclectic new world dishes, Classic Continental Cuisine excels here. To add regional flavor, local produce and indigenous fresh seafood have become integral elements of the recipes.

Wine Cellar is consistently rated as one of "Florida's Top 500 Restaurants"; as one of "Jacksonville's Top 25 Restaurants" and the wine list perennially wins the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence".

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:15pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-8989

Website:
http://www.winecellarjax.com/

Parking Details:
A private lot is available 1/4 block across from restaurant on the corner of Kipp and Home Street. Evening parking is also available in the Synovus Bank parking lot which is adjacent to Wine Cellar.

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cellar offers two private dining rooms. One will accommodate up to 16 guests - the other up to 28 guests and also has direct access to our lovely outdoor garden. We will customize your menu to suit your budget and your function - be it a business presentation, family and friends get together, wedding rehearsal dinner or reception. Screen and AV equipment may be set up.

Private Party Contact:
Gary Gebert: 9043988989x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Cellar features a Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Thursday, Friday and Saturday each week. The menu changes bi-weekly. The price ranges from $30 - $36. First course offers a choice of at least four appetizers, including a special soup and salad. Second course feature choices of four or five entrees with great proteins including fresh fish, shellfish, foul and beef. Third course highlights a choice of two desserts. See the menu weekly on our website - www.winecellarjax.com.

Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4:30PM - 7:00PM. Half off all glasses of house wine and well brand cocktails. Selection of Bar Bites $6.00 each. Menu posted on website.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Go to our website at www.winecellarjax.com to see the complete Prix Fixe Menu. Special valid Dec 1, 2016 - Dec 17, 2016 on Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
8 More
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (26)
Notable Wine List (22)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Healthy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Exceptional as always! Highly recommend ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

Exceptional as always! Highly recommend the Wine Cellar for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good wine selection. Food, while fa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good wine selection. Food, while fairly good, is vastly overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

your list was too trendy- left off most ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

your list was too trendy- left off most important reason for choosing Wine Cellar - its excellent food ; salmon was beautifully cooked !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, atmosphere - A+, as usual ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere - A+, as usual. Thank you for honoring my table request.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wine Cellar never fails to satisfy . ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Wine Cellar never fails to satisfy ... it is my go=to place for special dinners with family and it's the first place I take my out-of-town guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal AGAIN. The Wine Cellar has b ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great meal AGAIN. The Wine Cellar has become a favorite anytime that we are attending the theater in Jacksonville. The food is always very good as well as being made from very fresh ingredients. The service is a highlight. All of the servers are really good at what they do and they are more than helpful in getting you through a meal without being over filled. The wines are reasonably priced and there is a selection for anything that you choose on the menu. THe deserts are great but the portions are small enough to asuage guilt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner. Had moved away from ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Had moved away from JAX for about twenty years, this is where we used to go back then for special occasions, nothing has changed, it's still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Held an important business dinner at the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Held an important business dinner at the restaurant and very pleased with the food and the service. One of my new favorites in Jacksonville!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Our waiter was K ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service was excellent. Our waiter was Kevin and he very efficient as well as friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wait here for my anniversary dinner. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I wait here for my anniversary dinner. The staff was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The food was absolutely fabulous and I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great guy list and great food.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Great night ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent service and food. Great night out for anniversary dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious fish lunch., prepared "Mediter ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delicious fish lunch., prepared "Mediterranean Style" with capers and olives, over a bed of spinach. The only thing that was not perfect was the fact that we had to ask for rolls. They were poppyseed and very tasty. Full bar, wine list, after dinner liquors. Quiet elegant dining in separated private rooms. Reminds me of a small "Euporean Cafe" on Worth Avenue in Palm Beach. Service is always prompt and professional. A perfect place for conversation and great food! By the way, 16% tip is added regardless of the no. in "your party".

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always my favorite. Never disappointed. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Always my favorite. Never disappointed. I would recommend for superb dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very friendly and the ste ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The waiter was very friendly and the steak was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fantastic

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I come here for each anniver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My wife and I come here for each anniversary (only 3 so far). The food is always a given for its freshness, quality and taste. But, as good as the food was, Wayne, our server, was even better. Very attentive, polite and on time with refills.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always delicious, the prix fixe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food is always delicious, the prix fixe menu is a good option. Service is always spot on.

Normally Wine Cellar is quiet, this time is was loud.

Branzino, scallops and lamb chops are good choices. Lately menu has been more inventive and that is a welcome change.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Fabulous food and very creative. There w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fabulous food and very creative. There were so many choices I want to go back soon. The fried lobster was excellent and the lamb chops were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my wife there for lunch and the foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Took my wife there for lunch and the food and Service was excellent, the decor is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were In Jacksonville visiting my Daug ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were In Jacksonville visiting my Daughter at University of North Florida and celebrating hers and my husband's birthday. I chose wine cellar because the menu had something that would appeal to everyone. The food, ambience and service exceeded my expectations. We will not hesitate to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious Our server was am ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was delicious Our server was amazing he went above and beyond to make my wife birthday special. From the beginning we told him we would take our time for everything and not once he try to rush us with our selection. Very knowledgeable and the food and wine suggestions he recommended were an A+. Can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place and the food felt a dated.

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The place and the food felt a dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A must for fabulous food and relaxing at ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

A must for fabulous food and relaxing atmosphere in Jacksonville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than one loud mouth at the next ta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Other than one loud mouth at the next table our evening was idyllic.

The food and staff superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we brought dear friends wh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Unfortunately we brought dear friends who had never been to wine cellar and while the back room is still a beautiful setting for dinner the restaurant has clearly passed its prime. Service was excellent - we have had Kevin many times over the years. The food was just a huge disappointment. We did the sip & savor jax menu. The Parmesan soup, lamb and mouse dessert all were very good. In fact the lamb was cooked perfectly. However the salmon rillettes had no flavor. The black and blue rib eye steak - no flavor, over cooked, blue cheese in cold globs on top. The bread pudding - good but Hob Nob's and Orsay's is so much better. As I said we were excited to share an old favorite with dear friends and left hugely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable.. Awesome for a first dat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very enjoyable.. Awesome for a first date... Service and food was point on!! Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at The Wine Cellar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at The Wine Cellar early on a Saturday night prior to a concert. The ambience was lovely, service excellent and the food was very good. My only criticism is that my rack of lamb could have been more tender. The party next to us also had the lamb and they were perfectly happy with it. Perhaps I got an inferior piece of meat. Luck of the draw.

We were surprised by a 3 course prize fixe offering which was priced very reasonably. Also had an excellent bottle of wine which we felt was a good value. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Celebrating our anniversary. Food was de ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary. Food was delicious. Service was great and ambiance was impeccable. I highly recommend the Wine Cellar.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, great food, and nice ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful service, great food, and nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend for anniversaries.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Wine Cellar. It is a serene ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the Wine Cellar. It is a serene island in the midst of restaurant mayhem. The food is always outstanding, the service cannot be beat and the ambiance is perfect. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar is a long establish yet litt ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wine Cellar is a long establish yet little known restaurant. It is by far my favorite Jacksonville dining experience. Have recommended to many people (not just my close friends) and have always gotten greatfull thanks for the suggestion. Highly suggest The Wine Cellar for their food, wines, ambience, friendliness and overall enjoyment.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jacksonville's oldest restaurant remains ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Jacksonville's oldest restaurant remains its best restaurant!

Tags: Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Il en vaut le détour, La perle du quartier, Chaleureux, Une carte des vins remarquable, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Idéal pour les fêtes, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Une occasion spéciale, Repas d’affaires, Cuisine créative, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Historique, Environnement paisible, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I select Wine Cellar often for business ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I select Wine Cellar often for business lunches because of the elegant, sophisticated ambiance, excellent service, and reliable and creative food offerings. The four of us were not disappointed in this visit. Two got the salmon with field greens, another the tuna burger and the fourth the salmon entree plus side salad. All were pleased with our choices and the attentiveness of our server, until the end. We had to wait longer than expected to have our checks brought to the table, picked up, and our credit cards returned. Still, it was overall a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ok. So this restaurant has been in Jack ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ok. So this restaurant has been in Jacksonville as long as I have lived here. But the food has never disappointed. And now the young chef has surpassed any past culinary experience I have had. Our dinner was the fixed priced menu. My appetizer was coconut shrimp-not the frozen variety usually served-but fresh large shrimp served beautifully with a orange sauce. My husband had a melon salad arranged artistically with mint leaves Very light but tasty. We had mains -a fettuccine and crab dish and the trout almondine Both were delicious. We couldn't decide whose dish was the better For dessert I had a version of taramisu that was so light and airy but rich at the same time My husband had the banana pudding- different in that the custard was topped with sliced bananas We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I received the Open Table reminder, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2016

When I received the Open Table reminder, there was a link to the menu and to the directions. The menu provided in the link listed the December specials. Staff that I was bringing to lunch reviewed the menu and picked out what they wanted to have, only to find that the selections were not available, which was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

This was the third time visiting. The fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was the third time visiting. The food wasn't as good this time. I'm guessing the chef was different. I'll still give them another shot, but the food was a bit of a letdown this time. The service is always top notch. Everyone deserves to have an off night, I guess.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been to Wine Cellar many times but ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've been to Wine Cellar many times but this is the first time my date and I had the entire restaurant to ourselves! Probably due to Donald Trump being in town. Great food, wine and service...as usual. I recommend for date night and special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were well treated, as always, by Wayn ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were well treated, as always, by Wayne. This is our favorite go-place for special celebrations and one place we always bring out-of-town guests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, excellent menu options ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent menu options and extraordinary food quality

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food excellant. Only proble ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service and food excellant. Only problem, my husband ,strictly meat and potatoes man, had looked at menu and decided on a special pork chop, it had been taken off menu. Thankfully the special was a ribeye, he said was delicious. We had a side order of the gnocci to share, wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.