About Wine Cellar

1314 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Wine Cellar has "all the right ingredients": award winning cuisine, international wines, attentive service, relaxing atmosphere.

This distinctive restaurant is located on Jacksonville's Southbank. With its French Country atmosphere, Wine Cellar is loaded with charm. An outdoor brick paved garden set beneath a majestic oak tree is the perfect place for a romantic luncheon or dinner.

While constantly evolving with eclectic new world dishes, Classic Continental Cuisine excels here. To add regional flavor, local produce and indigenous fresh seafood have become integral elements of the recipes.

Wine Cellar is consistently rated as one of "Florida's Top 500 Restaurants"; as one of "Jacksonville's Top 25 Restaurants" and the wine list perennially wins the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence".

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:15pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-8989

Website:
http://www.winecellarjax.com/

Parking Details:
A private lot is available 1/4 block across from restaurant on the corner of Kipp and Home Street. Evening parking is also available in the Synovus Bank parking lot which is adjacent to Wine Cellar.

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cellar offers two private dining rooms. One will accommodate up to 16 guests - the other up to 28 guests and also has direct access to our lovely outdoor garden. We will customize your menu to suit your budget and your function - be it a business presentation, family and friends get together, wedding rehearsal dinner or reception. Screen and AV equipment may be set up.

Private Party Contact:
Gary Gebert: 9043988989x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Cellar features a Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Thursday, Friday and Saturday each week. The menu changes bi-weekly. The price ranges from $30 - $36. First course offers a choice of at least four appetizers, including a special soup and salad. Second course feature choices of four or five entrees with great proteins including fresh fish, shellfish, foul and beef. Third course highlights a choice of two desserts. See the menu weekly on our website - www.winecellarjax.com.

Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4:30PM - 7:00PM. Half off all glasses of house wine and well brand cocktails. Selection of Bar Bites $6.00 each. Menu posted on website.

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $42.00

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $42.00

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $42.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. 42nd Anniversary Special Menu-a $62 Value. See Prix Fixe Menu on our website. Special valid Jun 6, 2016 - Jul 2, 2016 on Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
5 More
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (31)
notable wine list (27)
romantic (23)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been several times! It's one of ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been several times! It's one of our favorite restaurants!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great as well as service! T ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was great as well as service! The lamb appetizer was delicious.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice dinner excellent service

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Small restaurant with great service and food. The grouper was superb. Key lime pie, excellent. Fantastic service. I was by myself and really enjoyed my meal. Do watch out though, they add 18% gratuity and I failed to see this and discovered I double tipped after I'd left. I thought this was I unusual for a party if one. Otherwise excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service were very good. At ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food and service were very good. Attention to detail seems to be the name of the game. However, I much prefer to apply my own gratuity [if and when I see fit].

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar succeeds again

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent dinner at the Wine Cellar. We hope to come again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Anniversary Spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I went here for our wedding anniversary and left with great memories. It was some of the best food that we have ever eaten and have not had such a great meal for five or six years. Also the ambiance there was fantastic and very romantic. We will definitely be coming back for another round and would recommend to anyone looking for great food for a special event and make fantastic memories.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong

Dined on April 23, 2016

Its so nice to be able to carry on a quiet conversation with your friends while enjoying delicious food and beverages. There are too many noisy restaurants in Jacksonville. Always a pleasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rediscovered

Dined on April 15, 2016

We hadn't been here in several years and after our wonderful dinner wondered why. We will be returning more often. Everything was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just absolutely beautiful restaurant and romantic

Dined on April 15, 2016

absolutely beautiful restaurant very sweet and romantic. seems like every time we go there we have Wayne as our waiter. A very friendly and personable gentleman. I think she said he has been there since 1983 maybe ! Great guy and great service !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. Food and service was ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great restaurant. Food and service was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely,quiet dinner for my husbands birt ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Lovely,quiet dinner for my husbands birthday. Nick was very attentive but not overbearing. Food absolutely delicious !! Will definitely return!

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Birthday Lunch

Dined on March 25, 2016

I enjoyed my dining experience at Wine Cellar the food was delectable. We were celebrating a birthday. it is a very romantic restaurant. I will return with my husband to enjoy. The waiter could have use a little more personality. But the overall experience was AWESOME! We will return!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

Dined on March 24, 2016

Had a lovely evening! Great service, amazing food as usual. Best scallops I have ever had! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Board Dinner at Wine Cellar

Dined on March 19, 2016

My group was in Jacksonville, at the Hyatt Riverfront, for a board meeting. We were able to walk across the Main St. Bridge to this restaurant in about 15 minutes. It's location is sort of weird (right next to a gas station), but you forget that as soon as you get inside. The ambiance is great, with the restaurant subdivided into smaller, grottoe-like sections, some for smaller tables, some for larger. The service was amazing, the waiter was very helpful in his recommendations, and all of the food was excellent. One of our board members is strictly vegan, and though there weren't obvious options on the menu, the chef was able to custom craft something that our member said was delicious. Pricing was about average for a restaurant of this caliber, maybe slightly less than you'd pay at a chain gourmet restaurant like Ruth's Chris. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great, as usual.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Everything was great, as usual.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Supper before concert

Dined on February 27, 2016

We always enjoy our evenings there, always memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food. Our server was really good b ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Great food. Our server was really good but everyone else was very rude. Not sure I would go back

food4
ambience5
service3

Delightful food, attentive service. Lei ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Delightful food, attentive service. Leisurely meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered off the main menu, two differ ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We ordered off the main menu, two different entrées. My lamb chops were perfectly cooked and served, my guest's steak was cooked to her specifications was both tender and tasty. The wine served went well with both entrées.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

worth the trip

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

we were traveling and found this restaurant on open table. it was the best meal we had eaten on our trip. Family owned and very friendly place. $38 prix fixe is a real bargain. go and enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

Consistently great food, service and ambiance. Great selection of wine and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An enjoyable and friendly restaurant

Dined on February 12, 2016

1st time visit to the Wine Cellar. Loved the table set up in individual rooms. Excellent food and the server was knowledgable and very helpful. Will return again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits were great.

Dined on February 4, 2016

Shrimp and grits were great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special lunch for a very special lady.

Dined on February 2, 2016

My dear friend, who turned 93 years young on on February 2nd, had some very special memories of the Wine Cellar from years ago. I thought it would be extra special to take her there for lunch and made the reservation. I requested a little extra special attention for her as she is quite frail, but with a remarkable mind, memory and sense of humor. Wow, did we ever get it. From the minute we arrived the service was outstanding. The waiter opened the car door, assisted her to our table and was the absolute epitome of service and grace. The food was outstanding and was topped off with a Bailey's Irish cream cheese slice with a candle (said he didn't sing) on the house. I sincerely thank you, it was a truly wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar Delivers!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Very satisfying overall gastronomic experience at all levels. Have been a customer for more than 25 years. The standards have not only been maintained but have been enhanced. The changes in the menu reflect creativity & balance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

An Often Overlooked Gem

Dined on January 31, 2016

The Wine Cellar has been a part of the Jacksonville restaurant scene for decades, and as such it is often overlooked when discussing the finest food in North Florida. That is a shame, because it has an excellent menu, with great variety and expert preparation. It is hard to recommend any one item, as you literally can't go wrong. Add to that a professional yet friendly service staff, and you have the perfect spot for a special occasion. If you are more interested in the food that the gimmicks, this restaurant is for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine.

Dined on January 30, 2016

In all the years we have been dining at the Wine Celler, we have never had a bad meal. Great food and Wine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner 1/30/16

Dined on January 30, 2016

Outstanding service! All three courses of the Prix Fix Menu were wonderful with exception of NY Strip steak was a bit tough. Regardless, the meal was exceptional and our dining experience was very enjoyable. Romantic, quiet setting perfect for anniversary dinners or other special occasions. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had not ben to the Wine Cellar in a wh ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

I had not ben to the Wine Cellar in a while. The food was good and so was the atmosphere. The service was also good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The classic remains

Dined on January 24, 2016

This place has been here for 40 years and there is a reason. New places have come and gone throughout the city and the Wine Cellar remains a strong choice for a romantic dinner. Excellent food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Great service

Dined on January 17, 2016

The server we had named Gary was perfect for this type of restaurant. The food was presented in a relaxing atmosphere with a casual timeframe. The timing between each course was adequate so we could enjoy our wine selection. will definitely bring friends here to enjoy a great meal with some exceptional wines to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on January 16, 2016

never been disappointed with food or service. Small rooms make for easy conversation...a contrast to many local restaurants with high ceilings and concrete floors.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal

Dined on January 16, 2016

Such a beautiful restaurant with exquisite food & service. I loved the entire dining experience and will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant, great service

Dined on January 15, 2016

I had not been to this restaurant in about 10 years and was delighted to find that it was as good as I remembered it. A different menu, also a prixe fixe menu for those that are interested. Waiter was superb, informative but not pushy. We are from Boston, and won't be back soon, but very much enjoyed our night at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre-Musical meal

Dined on January 13, 2016

went here (again) before attending a play downtown> food,service ambiance, all good, and really convenient to our venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I think adding the 18% gratuity automati ...

Dined on January 12, 2016

I think adding the 18% gratuity automatically on any size party changes the level of service that is given. The focus turns to up selling food and wine to make the check higher instead of giving the guest a great experience and for the price of the food we deserve a great experience. The place is beautiful in the inside, but the parking area that's across the street is dark and scary

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gianni

Dined on January 9, 2016

Great atmosphere, we had very good service and the food was outstanding. All of our dishes were perfectly prepared and arrived at the table at the same time and the food was hot and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful server

Dined on January 4, 2016

Our server, Gary, was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. He was personable and added a lot to our enjoyment of the meal. Food was fabulous and we especially loved all three desserts that we sampled.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant with a great menu.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Our experience was excellent the second time around for us. Service was attentive, not bothersome. Wine selection was very good and we enjoyed our leisurely dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food but watch the check

Dined on December 30, 2015

The Cherry Marsala Filet and the Lamb were excellent and cooked to temp perfectly. While they seemed short on wait staff (1 person for all the tables) we didn't feel neglected. My only complaint was the way the check was presented. The gratuity is already included at 18% regardless of party size and this is clearly disclosed. However the waiter turned the check over, wrote the total and a little note. I found this to be a bit deceptive as the implied intent is that you forget the tip is already in the total when you get the credit card slip. This may be a personal impression, but otherwise would def recommend.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.