About Wine Cask - Santa Barbara

813 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Wine Cask Restaurant
Intermezzo Bar Café
Private Dining
MWC Tasting Room

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am to 2:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Restaurant “Gold Room”
Saturday 12:00pm to 4:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Intermezzo

DINNER
Closed Sundays & Mondays
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm to 9:00pm (Last seating)
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm to 10:00pm (Last seating)

Cross Street:
Canon Perdido

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 966-9463

Website:
http://www.winecask.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking (free) OR several nearby Santa Barbara Parking Structures ($1.50/hr after first 75 minutes) OR adjoining Valet Parking Lot (NOT complimentary)

Executive Chef:
David Rosner

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cask offers several areas to host your event. There is no fee to enjoy the exclusive use of the restaurant, instead there is a food and beverage minimum expenditure (varies by room and date.)

A credit card hold is required. This deposit is non-refundable unless the reservation is cancelled at least 30 days prior to the date reserved.

A service charge of 20% and CA tax of 8% are additional.

The Special Event Menu is a streamlined version of our dinner menu; designed to provide a restaurant-quality experience. Guests do not have to “pre-order” their meal, instead they are presented with a personalized menu from which to choose. Please understand dishes and ingredients may change.

Vegetarian requests are welcome and certain substitutions are available with prior notice.

We have an award winning extensive wine list. Outside wine is not permitted for groups over ten.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Brodt: 8059669463x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
All groups are welcome at Wine Cask. You will have an intimate experience. We offer warm, inviting service featuring sophisticated yet familar cuisine. We offer indoor and outdoor seating, with various options for private events. We can accommodate private groups of 10-150 guests.

Restaurant Photos

Wine Cask - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

romantic (29)
special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
notable wine list (24)
great for lunch (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (13)
great for outdoor dining (13)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Restaurant find of the holiday

Dined on May 18, 2016

Fantastic restaurant from the moment you enter to leaving. People very friendly and were able to answer all our questions on the food and wine. Great ambience for all occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everybody was very friendly and accommod ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everybody was very friendly and accommodating. Our server was exceptional and offered great suggestions when we asked. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

food1
ambience5
service3
value3

food came out cold twice

Dined on May 15, 2016

was compensated for cold food and given a free drink. the wait staff was great, the kitchen was not paying attention to the quick delivery of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Give this one a mess.

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice ambience A and very good service but the food, which is why you go to a restaurant, just wasn't up to the hype or the prices. If you want to spend as much as it takes to have a meal at the one cast go to EL Encanto.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Over priced for quality of food

Dined on April 23, 2016

My ribeye steak was over cooked and tough. Cudos to the restaurant for taking if off my bill. The staff were awesome. Portions are very small for the price paid.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, kind people nice wine pour! ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food, kind people nice wine pour! Helpful perfect location, walk to wine tasting rooms, watch the world go by while you enjoy a sip of wine. Both outdoor and indoor seating. Parking close to location. Closed Monday's but open all other days. Nice place forlunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVED Wine Cask! The atmosphere was ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We LOVED Wine Cask! The atmosphere was beautiful, the food was amazing, and our service was unparalleled. Joseph and Brandon were terrific. Everything was spot on. We had such a great time we closed the place down. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasting menu is outstanding, must try if ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Tasting menu is outstanding, must try if you want something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food; very attentive service; romantic!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Staff paid great attention to us since we are there for a special anniversary. It was really a lovely evening and very thoughtful of the hostess, wait staff, etc., to make us feel so special. From the welcome to the complimentary champagne, to the quiet and elegant service... I highly recommend the Wine Cask.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Expected more

Dined on March 19, 2016

We ordered the chefs tasting menu and the food tasted fine, the portions were VERY SMALL.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Somewhat disappointed

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Ate here a few months ago and was really impressed with everything. Ate there Friday night and was disappointed. My wife and I shared an appetizer, it was awsome! Shared a salad, awsome! Wife ordered salmon and it was awsome! My scallops were extremely boring. No pop like the other items we ate, just very bland, boring entree. Server did offer to make something else, but that doesn't work for me. Wife winds up finishing her meal ahead of me then has to sit and watch me eat. Spent well over $200, so i was hoping for a visit like I had the last time. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing.

food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Lunch time

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Not impressed after visiting the sister restaurant the evening before. Very LIMITED offerings for lunch with a so called wine focus. Ratatouili should be a ratatouille, not some baby vegetables in resembalce of..... Beautiful setting in a historic setting, just does not live up tobwhat the standard should/could be for SB. Merci Chef Dean

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Wine Cask!

Dined on March 11, 2016

The Wine Cask is one of our favorite Santa Barbara restaurants. We've celebrated many special occasions there and the food, service and ambience are always amazing. We recently took an out of town guest there for dinner and she absolutely raved about her dinner, a mushroom risotto and thought it was one of the best she's ever had. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic service and food

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server was very kind and attentive. The food was delicious and perfectly portioned. The wine list was impressive. I truly enjoyed the experience and look forward to coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

INCREDIBLE FOOD!!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Best rib eye I've ever had! Even the little dinner salad was to die for. Love this place! Top notch! The bread, the butter, everything. Fine dining at it's best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Wine Cask just ain't what it use to be. ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Wine Cask just ain't what it use to be. There food would amaze me. Now it is average. Paid $200 for 2 glasses of wine a 2 starter, 2 main course and 2 desert. For that kind of money I want to be amazed. Unfortunately walked away saying that was ok and not worth the money. I so wish they were what they use to be before they sold years ago. They have not recovered.

food3
ambience4
service3

Unfortunately we were terribly disappoin ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Unfortunately we were terribly disappointed. We had the chefs tasting and the dishes were too unique to be enjoyed together. The wine pairing that accompanied the courses was sub par. Our daughter ordered off the menu and had a glass of Pinot Nior from the wine menu. She had a much better experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, exemplary service, ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, exemplary service, excellent fare.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy a peaceful lunch here. Ser ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Always enjoy a peaceful lunch here. Service can be spotty on some days but we had Britney who is a gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming spot

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

We had a weekday late lunch and it was fairly quiet in the dining room. We had excellent, personalized service. Highly recommend and we will return again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Wine Service

Dined on January 3, 2016

The sommelier was attentive and had many nice things to say about the wine we brought. He decanted it and poured often. Waitress was very pleasant and let us eat and talk.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely place for a quiet, top-notch dinner.

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We sat by the fireplace, had a very nice, quiet dinner. The service was very good and the food was also very good. The ambiance here is hard to beat for a special occasion dinner and they have an excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A night at the Wine Cask.

Dined on January 3, 2016

Not to be missed if your in Santa Barbara and enjoy great food and have a taste for fine wines. The service was over the top as far as personal service.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Year's Eve experience.

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I went their for New Year's Eve. We were greeted by a courteous hostess. The waiter,David, was pleasant. He explained the menu to us. It was a three course meal. He assisted us in picking a good wine with our meal. He ensured that we had a good dining experience. The food was excellently prepared. The restaurant was nicely decorated. We would definitely go back for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Marvelous Marc

Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good food creatively prepared and with very good service. The ambiance was relaxing and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great variety of tastes, unique dishes, ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Great variety of tastes, unique dishes, in an elegant but comfortable setting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic meal at Wine Cask on our short trip to Santa Barbara. The chef's tasting menu was delicious, and the pairings were wonderfully paired with each course. To top it off, the sommelier, Branden, was a fantastic host and lead us to the most wonderful (Wine Cask-only) Hilt Pinot noir. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about this place from t ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Loved everything about this place from the food to the ambiance!!! The Rib Eye was absolutely Devine!

food3
ambience4
service5

The Christmas dinner offered a number of ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

The Christmas dinner offered a number of choices. The service was top notch, the sea bass and lamb shank were both a bit overdone. We would go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Dinner!

Dined on December 26, 2015

This was the perfect romantic, Christmas dinner after a hectic day of family celebration. We sat next to the fireplace all warm and toasty. The staff was very attentive and the food came out fast and hot. I have been here several times for lunch and it's never been disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've dined at The Wine Cask numerous ti ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We've dined at The Wine Cask numerous times, and decided to have our Christmas Eve dinner with family there. We were hesitant to even go out to a restaurant that night, as we have had bad experiences at several other Santa Barbara restaurants before on Christmas Eve. But it was the perfect choice, lovely ambiance, excellent food and service, and a cozy fire to boot! The staff were certainly at the top of their game. We couldn't have asked for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Santa Barbara Wine Find

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Visited this restaurant and wine shop many times over many years. We had our dog with us this time and sat outside in a heated and covered environment so it worked well. Service was excellent - food was good - better a year ago - don't know why.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Lovely Romantic Spot

Dined on November 29, 2015

Beautiful restaurant with great service. The salmon was fishy tasting, but everything else was flawless.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine Cask - What a Gem!

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

My husband and I love the Wine Cask. We enjoy the farm to table approach to their food and wine. You can definitely taste the difference when you eat produce and meat/seafood that is local and paired properly with the wines of the same area. Our server, David, took excellent care of us. My husband enjoyed the local greens salad with a super tender rib-eye steak. I had the mushroom bisque and mushroom risotto. We ended with the cheese-trio plate. David helped us pair the perfect wines with our selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

A cozy dinner

Dined on November 27, 2015

I brought our Family for Thanksgiving and we had very high expectations, based on reviews and prices. It has a nice, cozy atmosphere, and our food server, Vienna, was fabulous. I started with a very yummy and refreshing cucumber martini! But then the food was a bit of a let down, nothing notable, and it all came out so fast, it seemed it was pre-made and they were rushing people through, because of the holiday. I would not come on a holiday again, as I sure that played a role, and the food was good, it just seemed more like banquet food. I will say, the bread pudding was lovely.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving dinner

Dined on November 27, 2015

On short notice I was pleased to get a table for my husband and I for dinner out on Thanksgiving. The room is beautiful and the service was very, very good. Our only quibble in the 3-course meal was the entree. My husband and I both chose the seared scallops with a pumpkin seed topping and a black garlic sauce. I'm not sure if they ran out of seeded pumpkin seeds but what we got clearly had the hull in place and were beyond chewy. Our first courses were terrific...I got the steak tartare and my husband chose the octopus salad. The tartare came with one crostini...which was silly. I asked for more and our waiter obliged. The dessert we both chose was the bread pudding. Not too sweet/not to wet. Just right. The main course was okay, just not very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

elegant dining

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

consistently great... good service, great atmosphere, superb inventive food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Surprise

Dined on October 24, 2015

We booked our table for Saturday lunch. The lunch was to be a very special celebration. Imagine our disappointment when we discovered the Wine Cask was closed for a wedding party and we were shown into the bar. It's nice enough, but we certainly would have gone elsewhere had we known we wouldn't have your lovely ambiance. The sea bass was really delicious, and it was all OK, just not the "wonderful" experience we have always previously had and had imagined for our guests. Our server was excellent and very attentive.

food1
ambience2
service1

Wine Cask dinner

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We have eaten at the Wine Cask several times and enjoyed our meals each time. Our recent experience, however, was terrible. The service was very slow (over an hour to be served), the sea bass was overcooked and the duck (recommended by the waiter) was poor. We were entertaining out of town guests and were frankly embarrassed. We will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite place in Santa Barbara

Dined on October 11, 2015

I absolutely love coming to Wine Cask. I brought my very picky boyfriend here over a year ago while on a mini vacation and he loved it. We came back for another weekend getaway and had to stop by for dinner. It's now one of our favorite places to eat. Subtle and elegant decor, delightful and friendly staff, and perfectly prepared food. The duo that my boyfriend ordered was melt in your mouth delicious. The crispy chicken I ordered was so juicy and tender I almost felt guilty eating it. I'm not good at wine at all, but they have a great selection and helped me pick what is now my favorite riesling. Always an amazing meal here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.