Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Wine Cask - Santa Barbara

The Wine Cask Restaurant
Intermezzo Bar Café
Private Dining
MWC Tasting Room

813 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, French American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am to 2:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Restaurant “Gold Room”
Saturday 12:00pm to 4:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Intermezzo

DINING ROOM DINNER
Closed Sundays & Mondays
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm to 9:00pm (Last seating)
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm to 10:00pm (Last seating)

INTERMEZZO BAR CAFE
Daily from 4pm (walk-in basis only, no reservation)

Cross Street:
Canon Perdido

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 966-9463

Website:
http://www.winecask.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking (free) OR several nearby Santa Barbara Parking Structures ($1.50/hr after first 75 minutes) OR adjoining Valet Parking Lot (NOT complimentary)

Executive Chef:
Brandon Cogan

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cask offers several areas to host your event. There is no fee to enjoy the exclusive use of the restaurant, instead there is a food and beverage minimum expenditure (varies by room and date.)

A credit card hold is required. This deposit is non-refundable unless the reservation is cancelled at least 30 days prior to the date reserved.

A service charge of 20% and CA tax of 8% are additional.

The Special Event Menu is a streamlined version of our dinner menu; designed to provide a restaurant-quality experience. Guests do not have to “pre-order” their meal, instead they are presented with a personalized menu from which to choose. Please understand dishes and ingredients may change.

Vegetarian requests are welcome and certain substitutions are available with prior notice.

We have an award winning extensive wine list. Outside wine is not permitted for groups over ten.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Brodt: (805) 966-9463 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All groups are welcome at Wine Cask. You will have an intimate experience. We offer warm, inviting service featuring sophisticated yet familar cuisine. We offer indoor and outdoor seating, with various options for private events. We can accommodate private groups of 10-150 guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Wine Cask - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate at the Wine Cask as we were considering it for a private function. It was great and our waiter was very excited about many of the wines by the glass. We let him select a few to do with our food and he did not disappoint. Try this gem before it's too full to get in!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The ambiance was great! The wait staff was wonderful, being alert, but not intrusive.

Unfortunately, all six of us had 'tepid' meals! There was really no excuse for this, as we did not have appetizers, so we did not hold up the serving of the main course.

Such a shame. It's a lovely restaurant with lovely staff and ambiance, but I can see that they may go out of business if they don't correct this major problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was fantastic and the wine pairings with each course were perfect. Kicked off the meal with champagne and ended the night with a 40 year old Port wine. Highly recommend. Started with the cold tomato soup, then the gnocchi appetizer, my filet was delicious, she loved her salomon. Staff was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable in recommending the wines that went with each course.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We're SB locals and have been here a few times. Pretty disappointed in the food, which was surprising. Service was great but atmosp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A classy experience in a beautiful historic setting. The indoor space is lovely with stenciled beams; patio dining is also available. The food was fantastic: inventive, fresh, and absolutely delicious. Our waiter was well informed about the food and wine. Overall an A+

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food and wine was amazing, but it was our anniversary and we did not get any dessert or anything. Everyone was really good, just a little overpriced for the quality and portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Wine Cask is a very reliable, fine dining restaurant in Santa Barbara. Generally very consistent in all aspects. I have been there several times for business dinners. It has an upscale feel, and in my mind, one of only 4 or 5 REAL fine dining establishments in Santa Barbara. My dinner there this week was pretty spot on with the exception of one disappointment, where the server had described one of their specials as having been sourced from a specific location. After getting the dish and tasting it, she later came and informed me that the items were actually sourced from a completely different place. And it was one of those items that if you were told came from Place A, and you look at it, you'll know right off the bat if it was from Place A or not. Otherwise, it was a great dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I reserved a table for 11 to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. They had a bouquet of roses on the table and custom menus with my daughter's name - that was a nice, unexpected touch. The service and food were outstanding! The wine was outstanding. I don't think it could have been better

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Hardly anyone in the restaurant. Great for us bu not so great for wine cask on a Friday night. Better get out to wine cask soon just in case.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

As ALWAYS a terrific meal!
Scott, the waiter, could not have been kinder and solicitous!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Used to be my fav restaurant in SB. Great wine list still, but the food wasn't nearly as exceptional as in the past, sadly. Octopus appetizer was very tough, chewy.
Scallops and salmon entrees very mediocre.
Disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

As always a delightful place for lunch. Good service, food, and setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The place is very nice and the ambiance very classy. We had lunch and I had the best flatbread I've ever tasted. The rest of the table were equally pleased with their choices. The creme brûlée infused with lavender was heavenly. It is on the formal side but you can also seat on the patio area, which is very pleasant, for a more casual atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Returning to this restaurant after many years, such a disappointment.
The staff is lovely. The service very good......the food, really mediocre. Not good quality, not creative and interesting, as we remembered from past visits.
The place was nearly empty, so maybe the word is out among locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

There were 6 of us. We all had an excellent meal. We have eaten many times at The Wine Cask and would come again. I would recommend the Wine Cask to anyone.

Steve Schmidt

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were looking forward to dining at the Wine Cask for our son's graduation from college. My overall impression was good, initially. But, I got the distinct impression that once we ordered two moderately priced bottles of wine, the waitress lost interest in us. The wine sommelier was pleasant and helpful. We saw very little of the waitress from that point forward. The scallops were so salty that I could not eat them. Braised short rib was excellent. The gazpacho was nondescript. It was just a mixed bag for what we hoped would be an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Well, not that good. The Wine Cask has been around for a long time and so have I. We had a 22 people client appreciation dinner a few weeks ago and got charged for 25. Okay, maybe it was in the contract I didn't read carefully enough. So be it. But the biggest problem was that everyone who ordered the NY Steak found it not very good. In fact, many didn't finish it and a few took home what they didn't eat literally for their dog. Then, this other evening Friday, June 26, I took another client who couldn't make that group dinner. All was pretty good, he and I ordered the lamb ... and it was cold. Okay, not refrigerator cold but cool, point is, not piping hot as it should be. So what can I say. Beautiful place to be, for sure, and I don't mind the price because the real definition of cost is not price but rather not getting what you expect (or hope for or deserve for being there). Needless to say, we've quietly removed Wine Cask from our Contacts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Anytime that my wife and I travel to Santa Barbara area, we always plan on dining at the Wine Cask. The menu tends to have many pleasing options with excellent service and atmosphere. The location in the Paseo area makes it very convenient to all that Santa Barbara has to offer. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good food service. A must visit when I'm in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was my husband's before so we had the tasting menu. We have been to the Wine Cask before but never had the tasting menu. It was excellent and we did the wine pairing. The only hiccup was a wedding party out in the courtyard that slowed down the service. As usual the quality of the food is excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service from one server was mediocre, second server saved the day. Food was great. Because of service my experience is a 3 overall. Great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food! Terrific service! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Wine Cask. The service was impeccable and the food was incredible,. We will be dining here again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was friendly; nice wine list. Cozy & quiet but there were hardly any people for a Saturday night; maybe they got the memo about the food, which was very, very mediocre. We will not go back. There are other restaurants around are so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at the Wine Cask. The food is uniformly good, the people always pleasant. They have a robust wine list. The main dining room is one of the most beautiful in Santa Barbara. Get a table in front of the fireplace for a truly elegant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything from top to bottom was excellent! We were informed that there was a newer chef and his flavors were perfect! The waitress was knowledgeable and unobtrusive. She made all the "right" suggestions

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were with three girls and went for lunch here. It was very quiet. There is a nice outdoor patio to eat at but the weather did not allow that so we went inside. The wine list was great and our food delicious. We will come back when the weather is nice.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were entertaining friends, one of whom is fighting cancer. The staff was so accommodating and generous. We truly appreciated it and the food was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was excellent and the decor was beautiful. Nice and quiet, as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Ambiance was great, food, not so much. I don't understand how an upscale restaurant could send out food that isn't hot, very disappointing. Took 'forever' to get our drinks and it wasn't busy. The server even commented on it and apologized. My husband and I have dined here several times and this time was not up to par. Dessert was good, but I was the only one who had it, everybody else was 'done'. 😔 Will stick with Bouchon for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had lunch at Intermezzo, which is the more casual restaurant connected to Wine Cask. Wine Cask is only open for dinner (at least on the weekend). Excellent burgers, french fries, onion rings and artichoke heart flatbread (so very, very, good!). Cute place and service was excellent. We live in Los Angeles but, the next time we're in Santa Barbara, we would definitely return for lunch. We also really want to go back to Wine Cask for dinner. It has such a beautiful room and the menu (and photos) look(s) incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 22, 2017

A very good meal. The dishes had original touches, some of which worked better than others. The ambiance was lovely, with a roaring fire on a chilly night. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We have been dining at Wine Cask for years. It is simply an outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Loved our entire experience! Staff was friendly and helpful. Cocktails exceeded expectations and food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food great service! Good for any occasion! The 3 course meal was delicious. My steak came out just how I expected and arrived promptly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. For over $240 for 2 people I would have wanted to be overwhelmed by the meal. It was bland and less than average . We left feeling like we could have cooked a better meal at home . Very disappointed with the entire evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great meal, great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was ok. Our server was clearly depressed- and although efficient not very service oriented.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Pros: Elegant dining in downtown St Barbara
In/outdoor seating in a secluded and clean backyard
Relatively inexpensive and for the most part good food
Large wine list
Excellent coffee

Cons: Incorrectly defined address - visitors note that restaurant is in one of the many backyards and not at the street address listed
Only two waiters for a large dining room
Our waiter was not a sommelier though this is a primary a wine restaurant
Shrimp dish used frozen food which were re-thawed and then partially fried
Rest rooms are tiny and for one person only

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was wonderful and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about fine wines.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.