About Wine Cask - Santa Barbara

813 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Wine Cask Restaurant
Intermezzo Bar Café
Private Dining
MWC Tasting Room

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, French American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am to 2:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Restaurant “Gold Room”
Saturday 12:00pm to 4:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Intermezzo

DINING ROOM DINNER
Closed Sundays & Mondays
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm to 9:00pm (Last seating)
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm to 10:00pm (Last seating)

INTERMEZZO BAR CAFE
Daily from 4pm (walk-in basis only, no reservation)

Cross Street:
Canon Perdido

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 966-9463

Website:
http://www.winecask.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking (free) OR several nearby Santa Barbara Parking Structures ($1.50/hr after first 75 minutes) OR adjoining Valet Parking Lot (NOT complimentary)

Executive Chef:
David Rosner

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cask offers several areas to host your event. There is no fee to enjoy the exclusive use of the restaurant, instead there is a food and beverage minimum expenditure (varies by room and date.)

A credit card hold is required. This deposit is non-refundable unless the reservation is cancelled at least 30 days prior to the date reserved.

A service charge of 20% and CA tax of 8% are additional.

The Special Event Menu is a streamlined version of our dinner menu; designed to provide a restaurant-quality experience. Guests do not have to “pre-order” their meal, instead they are presented with a personalized menu from which to choose. Please understand dishes and ingredients may change.

Vegetarian requests are welcome and certain substitutions are available with prior notice.

We have an award winning extensive wine list. Outside wine is not permitted for groups over ten.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Brodt: 8059669463x3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All groups are welcome at Wine Cask. You will have an intimate experience. We offer warm, inviting service featuring sophisticated yet familar cuisine. We offer indoor and outdoor seating, with various options for private events. We can accommodate private groups of 10-150 guests.

Restaurant Photos

Heirloom Tomato Salad - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Kale Salad - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Mission Flatbread - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Kale salad with toasted sunflower seeds, avocado, blackberries and plum-balsamic vinaigrette - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Chocolate-chevre doughnuts with cappuccino ice cream - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Bleu Burger - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Roasted Double-Cut Pork Chop - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Black Fig  And Burrata Salad - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Crispy Skin Chicken - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Market Flatbread - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Thai Chicken - Wine Cask - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Enjoy Christmas Eve dinner at WINE CASK with your loved ones. Featuring seasonal favorites as well as dinner menu classics in three-course, à la carte format, guests get to choose a first course, entrée course and dessert course. Let us do the cooking!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Enjoy Christmas Day dinner at WINE CASK with your loved ones. Featuring seasonal favorites as well as dinner menu classics in three-course, à la carte format, guests get to choose a first course, entrée course and dessert course. Let us do the cooking!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Enjoy a very special New Year's Eve dinner at WINE CASK! Featuring Chef Rosner's delicious New Year's Eve three-course, à la carte format menu, guests choose a first course, entrée course and dessert course to ring in the new year. Let us do the cooking, while you celebrate with loved ones!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Wine Cask - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fireplace (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food. So delicious. Honestly t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food. So delicious. Honestly the food was outstanding and not easily forgotten. We had dinner on our wedding night and now will absolutely be our go to anniversary place. Truly amazing food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cask is definitely a Santa Barbara ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wine Cask is definitely a Santa Barbara tradition! The service & food is impeccable. And if you're into wine-it is THE PLACE!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"We love the smooth feel of this place, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

"We love the smooth feel of this place, the lights and the decoration: elegant with clean lines, an a sophisticated touch, like the mirrors. We returned to the Wine Cask, and we will when visiting Santa Barbara. The salad was fresh and delicious, and we both chose New York strip, just perfect! mine medium, the other medium well, both of us got exactly the point we like. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As residents, we so appreciate one of th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

As residents, we so appreciate one of the few truly delicious restaurants in the city. Our Thanksgiving was fantastic, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We go back to the Wine Cask nearly every ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We go back to the Wine Cask nearly every time we go to Santa Barbara; this time was for Thanksgiving and the ambiance, the food and the service were all exemplary. A very pleasant evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited the restaurant for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We visited the restaurant for Thanksgiving and found it totally enjoyable. The food was nicely prepared and presented well and we appreciated the non-traditional (not Thanksgiving) items included on the menu. The bread pudding and the fig gelato were fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was decent enough but I must sa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was decent enough but I must say the service was mediocre. The waiter was decent but the hostess and managers were so stiff, unfriendly and we felt tolerated.

The wine "expert" was also fairly uninformed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food, good bar and wine, nice serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, good bar and wine, nice service, friendly people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to Celebrate my Birthday. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were there to Celebrate my Birthday. The waitress was really sweet, but our food;

soup, salmon, and duck were cold. The Halibut too salty. My daughther did reorder, (again), a steak and it was perfect. Service was slow, may acount for the cold food. Three of us had to send our meal back....I went home hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very quiet, romantic ambiance on their p ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very quiet, romantic ambiance on their patio. Great service, excellent wine and cocktails. Knowledgeable staff - very helpful in describing the dishes. Pacing of the dinner was perfect, never felt rushed or neglected. Highly recommend for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal in a very authentic Santa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious meal in a very authentic Santa Barbara setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal! Better than we've experie ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing meal! Better than we've experienced at some Michelin star restaurants. We ordered the pre fixe, which was chef's choice and every dish was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, service and ambiance. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent meal, service and ambiance. Always very consistent. Love that!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. Our steaks we ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. The Branzino was delicate and a perfect pairing with the grilled corn accompaniment. The servers were knowledgeable about food and wine, making very good recommendations. We enjoyed a lovely evening. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite for us! We love the am ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always a favorite for us! We love the ambiance and the great selections on the menu! Fabulous foods and wines!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took my daughter here for her 21st bir ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I took my daughter here for her 21st birthday lunch. Our salads and wine were great, but the service was rather slow. I've eaten here several times before and this was the first time I experienced this, so I'm hoping this was just an off-day. The Wine Cask is a great restaurant and I recommend it to friends and out-of-town visitors often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This is a truly excellent restaurant. Fr ...

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is a truly excellent restaurant. Friendly and efficient service great choice of wine and delicious food. Tables are well spaced and noise levels are low . We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You really need to know what to order. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

You really need to know what to order. Some items are not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We really enjoyed our dining experience ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our dining experience at the Wine Cask. It had been a little while since we dined there last and during the meal we wondered why we are not dining here more often. The food was delicious and the wine list is outstanding. Our server, Joseph was very attentive and helpful in selecting our entrees. We are looking forward to returning to the Wine Cask soon.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a lovely place to spend a speci ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was a lovely place to spend a special birthday evening with family and friends. Food was very good and served with a beautiful presentation. Noise level was moderate and we were able to have a nice conversation. We were not rushed. Food options were very gourmet and we tried a variety of new options. Our only disappointments were with the pork and the spinach. The watermelon salad, New York Rib Eye Steak and lavender creme brulee were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good and we will be back a lot! Gre ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very Good and we will be back a lot! Great atmosphere and the food was great

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classy place for a lunch. Quiet and roma ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Classy place for a lunch. Quiet and romantic. Great wine list and well made mixed drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entree came not long after we got ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The entree came not long after we got our drinks. The wine we ordered with our entree didn't come until we were halfway done with our entree. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Great place to eat, enjoyed the staff in ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great place to eat, enjoyed the staff input for the menu

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Server did not have our open table reser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Server did not have our open table reservation. Forgot our water. Ran out of wine. Brought salad not requested Food tasteless and then found hair in salad. Would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Always have a great lunch, good service ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always have a great lunch, good service and lovely setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful special occasion place. It's a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful special occasion place. It's always a treat. We tried the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings, this time. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. It was like eating little works of art :-)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed it very much. Food always good a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Enjoyed it very much. Food always good as is the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ahhhhh, the fountained courtyard...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Ahhhhh, the fountained courtyard...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Haven't been here in a while. Was reall ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Haven't been here in a while. Was really pleasantly surprised by the service and the quality of the food. Went with spouse and a good friend for a bite after seeing a movie over on State Street. Service was friendly and very efficient. Food was great. Watermelon Salad was much better than I anticipated and the Halibut main course was perfectly cooked. We also had the Chicken and Hamachi both were also very good.

Will def come back again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous atmosphere tucked behind wine t ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere tucked behind wine tasting rooms. Great wines and fresh farm to table food. If you are in SB this is a must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was slow and the desserts we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was slow and the desserts weren't great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

As always, a delightful lunch, great ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always, a delightful lunch, great service and beautiful setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love dining and think I could rightful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love dining and think I could rightfully call myself a bit of a foodie. The Wine Cask is my very favorite restaurant of all time. I'm not saying this lightly. Every detail---the menu, the food, the environment, service, design, presentation of food, wine list, wine glasses---everything is perfect. You will never ever ever be disappointed if you are coming to the Wine Cask.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions were very small. My duck's bre ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Portions were very small. My duck's breast was very tough. Dessert was delicious - molten chocolate cake.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was very plain and small servings a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was very plain and small servings at high prices.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

My wife and I had dinner at Wine Cask to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Wine Cask to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and we're delighted with our experience. The host congratulated us on our anniversary upon arrival and we had a handwritten note from the manager waiting for us on the table. It was a very nice touch. The food cold not have been better prepared and we ended up sharing 2 desserts because we couldn't decide from the selection. Everything was delicious and we recommend the restaurant to anyone looking to enjoy a special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great dining experience. The food is e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

A great dining experience. The food is excellent, service very good, and one of the best wine lists in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tasting menu was innovative and supe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The tasting menu was innovative and superb. The service was excellent, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice menu with some unique dishes a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice menu with some unique dishes and a bunch good number of daily specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.