About Wine Cask - Santa Barbara

813 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Wine Cask Restaurant
Intermezzo Bar Café
Private Dining
MWC Tasting Room

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, French American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am to 2:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Restaurant “Gold Room”
Saturday 12:00pm to 4:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Intermezzo

DINING ROOM DINNER
Closed Sundays & Mondays
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm to 9:00pm (Last seating)
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm to 10:00pm (Last seating)

INTERMEZZO BAR CAFE
Daily from 4pm (walk-in basis only, no reservation)

Cross Street:
Canon Perdido

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 966-9463

Website:
http://www.winecask.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking (free) OR several nearby Santa Barbara Parking Structures ($1.50/hr after first 75 minutes) OR adjoining Valet Parking Lot (NOT complimentary)

Executive Chef:
David Rosner

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cask offers several areas to host your event. There is no fee to enjoy the exclusive use of the restaurant, instead there is a food and beverage minimum expenditure (varies by room and date.)

A credit card hold is required. This deposit is non-refundable unless the reservation is cancelled at least 30 days prior to the date reserved.

A service charge of 20% and CA tax of 8% are additional.

The Special Event Menu is a streamlined version of our dinner menu; designed to provide a restaurant-quality experience. Guests do not have to “pre-order” their meal, instead they are presented with a personalized menu from which to choose. Please understand dishes and ingredients may change.

Vegetarian requests are welcome and certain substitutions are available with prior notice.

We have an award winning extensive wine list. Outside wine is not permitted for groups over ten.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Brodt: 8059669463x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
All groups are welcome at Wine Cask. You will have an intimate experience. We offer warm, inviting service featuring sophisticated yet familar cuisine. We offer indoor and outdoor seating, with various options for private events. We can accommodate private groups of 10-150 guests.

Restaurant Photos

Heirloom Tomato Salad
The Mission Flatbread
Kale Salad
Kale salad with toasted sunflower seeds, avocado, blackberries and plum-balsamic vinaigrette
Chocolate-chevre doughnuts with cappuccino ice cream
Bleu Burger
Roasted Double-Cut Pork Chop
Black Fig  And Burrata Salad
Crispy Skin Chicken
Market Flatbread
Thai Chicken

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Wine Cask - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
Best Service
Santa Barbara
3 More
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (28)
notable wine list (27)
romantic (26)
See All
special occasion (23)
good for groups (12)
great for lunch (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous atmosphere tucked behind wine t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous atmosphere tucked behind wine tasting rooms. Great wines and fresh farm to table food. If you are in SB this is a must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was slow and the desserts we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was slow and the desserts weren't great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

As always, a delightful lunch, great ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always, a delightful lunch, great service and beautiful setting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love dining and think I could rightful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love dining and think I could rightfully call myself a bit of a foodie. The Wine Cask is my very favorite restaurant of all time. I'm not saying this lightly. Every detail---the menu, the food, the environment, service, design, presentation of food, wine list, wine glasses---everything is perfect. You will never ever ever be disappointed if you are coming to the Wine Cask.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions were very small. My duck's bre ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Portions were very small. My duck's breast was very tough. Dessert was delicious - molten chocolate cake.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was very plain and small servings a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was very plain and small servings at high prices.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

My wife and I had dinner at Wine Cask to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Wine Cask to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and we're delighted with our experience. The host congratulated us on our anniversary upon arrival and we had a handwritten note from the manager waiting for us on the table. It was a very nice touch. The food cold not have been better prepared and we ended up sharing 2 desserts because we couldn't decide from the selection. Everything was delicious and we recommend the restaurant to anyone looking to enjoy a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great dining experience. The food is e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A great dining experience. The food is excellent, service very good, and one of the best wine lists in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tasting menu was innovative and supe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The tasting menu was innovative and superb. The service was excellent, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice menu with some unique dishes a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice menu with some unique dishes and a bunch good number of daily specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening, Service, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening, Service, the wine pairings and course preparations made it delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had the chef's choice tasting menu. The food was interesting and awesome. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our food was great. The wine list is good but fairly expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant find of the holiday

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Fantastic restaurant from the moment you enter to leaving.

People very friendly and were able to answer all our questions on the food and wine.

Great ambience for all occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everybody was very friendly and accommod ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everybody was very friendly and accommodating. Our server was exceptional and offered great suggestions when we asked. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food came out cold twice

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

was compensated for cold food and given a free drink. the wait staff was great, the kitchen was not paying attention to the quick delivery of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Give this one a mess.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice ambience A

and very good service but the food, which is why you go to a restaurant, just wasn't up to the hype or the prices. If you want to spend as much as it takes to have a meal at the one cast go to EL Encanto.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Over priced for quality of food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My ribeye steak was over cooked and tough. Cudos to the restaurant for taking if off my bill.

The staff were awesome. Portions are very small for the price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food, kind people nice wine pour! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food, kind people nice wine pour! Helpful perfect location, walk to wine tasting rooms, watch the world go by while you enjoy a sip of wine. Both outdoor and indoor seating. Parking close to location. Closed Monday's but open all other days. Nice place forlunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVED Wine Cask! The atmosphere was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We LOVED Wine Cask! The atmosphere was beautiful, the food was amazing, and our service was unparalleled. Joseph and Brandon were terrific. Everything was spot on. We had such a great time we closed the place down. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu is outstanding, must try if ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Tasting menu is outstanding, must try if you want something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food; very attentive service; romantic!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Staff paid great attention to us since we are there for a special anniversary. It was really a lovely evening and very thoughtful of the hostess, wait staff, etc., to make us feel so special. From the welcome to the complimentary champagne, to the quiet and elegant service... I highly recommend the Wine Cask.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected more

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We ordered the chefs tasting menu and the food tasted fine, the portions were VERY SMALL.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Somewhat disappointed

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Ate here a few months ago and was really impressed with everything. Ate there Friday night and was disappointed. My wife and I shared an appetizer, it was awsome! Shared a salad, awsome! Wife ordered salmon and it was awsome! My scallops were extremely boring. No pop like the other items we ate, just very bland, boring entree. Server did offer to make something else, but that doesn't work for me. Wife winds up finishing her meal ahead of me then has to sit and watch me eat. Spent well over $200, so i was hoping for a visit like I had the last time. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch time

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Not impressed after visiting the sister restaurant the evening before. Very LIMITED offerings for lunch with a so called wine focus. Ratatouili should be a ratatouille, not some baby vegetables in resembalce of.....

Beautiful setting in a historic setting, just does not live up tobwhat the standard should/could be for SB.

Merci Chef Dean

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Love the Wine Cask!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The Wine Cask is one of our favorite Santa Barbara restaurants. We've celebrated many special occasions there and the food, service and ambience are always amazing. We recently took an out of town guest there for dinner and she absolutely raved about her dinner, a mushroom risotto and thought it was one of the best she's ever had. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server was very kind and attentive. The food was delicious and perfectly portioned. The wine list was impressive. I truly enjoyed the experience and look forward to coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

INCREDIBLE FOOD!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Best rib eye I've ever had! Even the little dinner salad was to die for. Love this place! Top notch!

The bread, the butter, everything. Fine dining at it's best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cask just ain't what it use to be. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Wine Cask just ain't what it use to be. There food would amaze me. Now it is average. Paid $200 for 2 glasses of wine a 2 starter, 2 main course and 2 desert. For that kind of money I want to be amazed. Unfortunately walked away saying that was ok and not worth the money.

I so wish they were what they use to be before they sold years ago. They have not recovered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately we were terribly disappoin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Unfortunately we were terribly disappointed. We had the chefs tasting and the dishes were too unique to be enjoyed together. The wine pairing that accompanied the courses was sub par. Our daughter ordered off the menu and had a glass of Pinot Nior from the wine menu. She had a much better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Wonderful atmosphere, exemplary service, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, exemplary service, excellent fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy a peaceful lunch here. Ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Always enjoy a peaceful lunch here. Service can be spotty on some days but we had

Britney who is a gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

We had a weekday late lunch and it was fairly quiet in the dining room. We had excellent, personalized service. Highly recommend and we will return again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wine Service

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The sommelier was attentive and had many nice things to say about the wine we brought. He decanted it and poured often.

Waitress was very pleasant and let us eat and talk.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place for a quiet, top-notch dinner.

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We sat by the fireplace, had a very nice, quiet dinner. The service was very good and the food was also very good. The ambiance here is hard to beat for a special occasion dinner and they have an excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A night at the Wine Cask.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Not to be missed if your in Santa Barbara and enjoy great food and have a taste for fine wines. The service was over the top as far as personal service.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great New Year's Eve experience.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I went their for New Year's Eve. We were greeted by a courteous hostess. The waiter,David, was pleasant. He explained the menu to us. It was a three course meal. He assisted us in picking a good wine with our meal. He ensured that we had a good dining experience. The food was excellently prepared. The restaurant was nicely decorated. We would definitely go back for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous Marc

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good food creatively prepared and with very good service. The ambiance was relaxing and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great variety of tastes, unique dishes, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Great variety of tastes, unique dishes, in an elegant but comfortable setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic meal at Wine Cask on our short trip to Santa Barbara. The chef's tasting menu was delicious, and the pairings were wonderfully paired with each course. To top it off, the sommelier, Branden, was a fantastic host and lead us to the most wonderful (Wine Cask-only) Hilt Pinot noir. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.