Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Wine Cask - Santa Barbara

The Wine Cask Restaurant
Intermezzo Bar Café
Private Dining
MWC Tasting Room

813 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, French American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am to 2:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Restaurant “Gold Room”
Saturday 12:00pm to 4:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Intermezzo

DINING ROOM DINNER
Closed Sundays & Mondays
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm to 9:00pm (Last seating)
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm to 10:00pm (Last seating)

INTERMEZZO BAR CAFE
Daily from 4pm (walk-in basis only, no reservation)

Cross Street:
Canon Perdido

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 966-9463

Website:
http://www.winecask.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking (free) OR several nearby Santa Barbara Parking Structures ($1.50/hr after first 75 minutes) OR adjoining Valet Parking Lot (NOT complimentary)

Executive Chef:
Brandon Cogan

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cask offers several areas to host your event. There is no fee to enjoy the exclusive use of the restaurant, instead there is a food and beverage minimum expenditure (varies by room and date.)

A credit card hold is required. This deposit is non-refundable unless the reservation is cancelled at least 30 days prior to the date reserved.

A service charge of 20% and CA tax of 8% are additional.

The Special Event Menu is a streamlined version of our dinner menu; designed to provide a restaurant-quality experience. Guests do not have to “pre-order” their meal, instead they are presented with a personalized menu from which to choose. Please understand dishes and ingredients may change.

Vegetarian requests are welcome and certain substitutions are available with prior notice.

We have an award winning extensive wine list. Outside wine is not permitted for groups over ten.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Brodt: (805) 966-9463 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All groups are welcome at Wine Cask. You will have an intimate experience. We offer warm, inviting service featuring sophisticated yet familar cuisine. We offer indoor and outdoor seating, with various options for private events. We can accommodate private groups of 10-150 guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Wine Cask - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Had lunch in the courtyard. Very pleasant, service was attentive but not too pushy. Nice selection for lunch. Great wine list. Very enjoyable and will return on our next visit to SB.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2017

It was an outstanding evening. The food was great and the service impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wine Cask is a favorite whenever we are in Santa Barbara. We have had some amazing meals and some very good meals. The menu is always changing but can be counted on for quality.
They also have a very good selection of wine as you would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Have eaten here several times over past couple of years with much better results. Was a big disappointment this time around. Salad was basically way under-dressed and tasteless. Octopus was tough and nearly non eatable. They comped us on it when we gave our critic, which was very fair. The Branzino was good, but not over the top and very small portion. Have had much better at other SB restaurants. The Shrimp/Gnocchi dish was nothing special and couldn't finish it . Service was very good from moment we arrived and throughout the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good food. Foi gras was disappointing. The rest was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

In the 1990s the Wine Cask was considered one of the top two or three restaurants in SB. The bread only good thing to eat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The restaurant was practically empty and we were seated next to a couple that had a loud argument that lasted our entire meal. The waiter should have moved us with out us asking. We should have left. Food was good but the loud argument ruined our experience. Also, this was during the annual Spanish Fiesta and the town was packed but the restaurant was nearly empty?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Terrific menu. Creative fresh foods with a broad group of offerings

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Having a very good dinner out in the courtyard is reason enough to come to the Wine Cask. But if you are going to the Lobero, as we were, it is SO convenient. For a $5 parking ticket you can leave your car there while you enjoy the concert (or whatever)after your terrific dinner at the Wine Cask. Then when it is over, you walk across the street and there your car is waiting for you! It's really slick. Plus the food and service at the Wine Cask are excellent .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I used to live in Santa Barbara and now reside in LA. I'd come up with a friend and I wanted to show off my old stomping grounds. Wine Cask is and always has been over the top for food, wine, and service. It's fantastic location in the historical setting is a tremendous Santa Barbara feature. The food? Had the 5 course, chef selected dinner with the Sommelier selected wine pairing. Incredible. The wait staff was wonderful. The food, perfect. The ambiance, more than could be asked for. Went across the street to the Lobero for a show when done. A perfect evening.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, beautiful ambiance. Perfect for a date with a friend or special someone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful place for our small wedding dinner of 15, including small children. Staff was so helpful in making reservations, and even made us a wedding cake. Service was very excellent, so welcoming and accommodating. Perfect place for a large party. We had plenty of space to move around without disturbing other patrons. Thank you Wine Cask!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We ate at the Wine Cask as we were considering it for a private function. It was great and our waiter was very excited about many of the wines by the glass. We let him select a few to do with our food and he did not disappoint. Try this gem before it's too full to get in!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The ambiance was great! The wait staff was wonderful, being alert, but not intrusive.

Unfortunately, all six of us had 'tepid' meals! There was really no excuse for this, as we did not have appetizers, so we did not hold up the serving of the main course.

Such a shame. It's a lovely restaurant with lovely staff and ambiance, but I can see that they may go out of business if they don't correct this major problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was fantastic and the wine pairings with each course were perfect. Kicked off the meal with champagne and ended the night with a 40 year old Port wine. Highly recommend. Started with the cold tomato soup, then the gnocchi appetizer, my filet was delicious, she loved her salomon. Staff was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable in recommending the wines that went with each course.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We're SB locals and have been here a few times. Pretty disappointed in the food, which was surprising. Service was great but atmosp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A classy experience in a beautiful historic setting. The indoor space is lovely with stenciled beams; patio dining is also available. The food was fantastic: inventive, fresh, and absolutely delicious. Our waiter was well informed about the food and wine. Overall an A+

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food and wine was amazing, but it was our anniversary and we did not get any dessert or anything. Everyone was really good, just a little overpriced for the quality and portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Wine Cask is a very reliable, fine dining restaurant in Santa Barbara. Generally very consistent in all aspects. I have been there several times for business dinners. It has an upscale feel, and in my mind, one of only 4 or 5 REAL fine dining establishments in Santa Barbara. My dinner there this week was pretty spot on with the exception of one disappointment, where the server had described one of their specials as having been sourced from a specific location. After getting the dish and tasting it, she later came and informed me that the items were actually sourced from a completely different place. And it was one of those items that if you were told came from Place A, and you look at it, you'll know right off the bat if it was from Place A or not. Otherwise, it was a great dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I reserved a table for 11 to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. They had a bouquet of roses on the table and custom menus with my daughter's name - that was a nice, unexpected touch. The service and food were outstanding! The wine was outstanding. I don't think it could have been better

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Hardly anyone in the restaurant. Great for us bu not so great for wine cask on a Friday night. Better get out to wine cask soon just in case.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

As ALWAYS a terrific meal!
Scott, the waiter, could not have been kinder and solicitous!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Used to be my fav restaurant in SB. Great wine list still, but the food wasn't nearly as exceptional as in the past, sadly. Octopus appetizer was very tough, chewy.
Scallops and salmon entrees very mediocre.
Disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

As always a delightful place for lunch. Good service, food, and setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The place is very nice and the ambiance very classy. We had lunch and I had the best flatbread I've ever tasted. The rest of the table were equally pleased with their choices. The creme brûlée infused with lavender was heavenly. It is on the formal side but you can also seat on the patio area, which is very pleasant, for a more casual atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Returning to this restaurant after many years, such a disappointment.
The staff is lovely. The service very good......the food, really mediocre. Not good quality, not creative and interesting, as we remembered from past visits.
The place was nearly empty, so maybe the word is out among locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

There were 6 of us. We all had an excellent meal. We have eaten many times at The Wine Cask and would come again. I would recommend the Wine Cask to anyone.

Steve Schmidt

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were looking forward to dining at the Wine Cask for our son's graduation from college. My overall impression was good, initially. But, I got the distinct impression that once we ordered two moderately priced bottles of wine, the waitress lost interest in us. The wine sommelier was pleasant and helpful. We saw very little of the waitress from that point forward. The scallops were so salty that I could not eat them. Braised short rib was excellent. The gazpacho was nondescript. It was just a mixed bag for what we hoped would be an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Well, not that good. The Wine Cask has been around for a long time and so have I. We had a 22 people client appreciation dinner a few weeks ago and got charged for 25. Okay, maybe it was in the contract I didn't read carefully enough. So be it. But the biggest problem was that everyone who ordered the NY Steak found it not very good. In fact, many didn't finish it and a few took home what they didn't eat literally for their dog. Then, this other evening Friday, June 26, I took another client who couldn't make that group dinner. All was pretty good, he and I ordered the lamb ... and it was cold. Okay, not refrigerator cold but cool, point is, not piping hot as it should be. So what can I say. Beautiful place to be, for sure, and I don't mind the price because the real definition of cost is not price but rather not getting what you expect (or hope for or deserve for being there). Needless to say, we've quietly removed Wine Cask from our Contacts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Anytime that my wife and I travel to Santa Barbara area, we always plan on dining at the Wine Cask. The menu tends to have many pleasing options with excellent service and atmosphere. The location in the Paseo area makes it very convenient to all that Santa Barbara has to offer. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good food service. A must visit when I'm in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was my husband's before so we had the tasting menu. We have been to the Wine Cask before but never had the tasting menu. It was excellent and we did the wine pairing. The only hiccup was a wedding party out in the courtyard that slowed down the service. As usual the quality of the food is excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service from one server was mediocre, second server saved the day. Food was great. Because of service my experience is a 3 overall. Great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food! Terrific service! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Wine Cask. The service was impeccable and the food was incredible,. We will be dining here again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was friendly; nice wine list. Cozy & quiet but there were hardly any people for a Saturday night; maybe they got the memo about the food, which was very, very mediocre. We will not go back. There are other restaurants around are so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at the Wine Cask. The food is uniformly good, the people always pleasant. They have a robust wine list. The main dining room is one of the most beautiful in Santa Barbara. Get a table in front of the fireplace for a truly elegant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything from top to bottom was excellent! We were informed that there was a newer chef and his flavors were perfect! The waitress was knowledgeable and unobtrusive. She made all the "right" suggestions

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were with three girls and went for lunch here. It was very quiet. There is a nice outdoor patio to eat at but the weather did not allow that so we went inside. The wine list was great and our food delicious. We will come back when the weather is nice.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were entertaining friends, one of whom is fighting cancer. The staff was so accommodating and generous. We truly appreciated it and the food was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.