Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Wine Cask - Santa Barbara

The Wine Cask Restaurant
Intermezzo Bar Café
Private Dining
MWC Tasting Room

813 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, French American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am to 2:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Restaurant “Gold Room”
Saturday 12:00pm to 4:00pm - Served in the Courtyard and Intermezzo

DINING ROOM DINNER
Closed Sundays & Mondays
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm to 9:00pm (Last seating)
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm to 10:00pm (Last seating)

INTERMEZZO BAR CAFE
Daily from 4pm (walk-in basis only, no reservation)

Cross Street:
Canon Perdido

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 966-9463

Website:
http://www.winecask.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking (free) OR several nearby Santa Barbara Parking Structures ($1.50/hr after first 75 minutes) OR adjoining Valet Parking Lot (NOT complimentary)

Executive Chef:
Brandon Cogan

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cask offers several areas to host your event. There is no fee to enjoy the exclusive use of the restaurant, instead there is a food and beverage minimum expenditure (varies by room and date.)

A credit card hold is required. This deposit is non-refundable unless the reservation is cancelled at least 30 days prior to the date reserved.

A service charge of 20% and CA tax of 8% are additional.

The Special Event Menu is a streamlined version of our dinner menu; designed to provide a restaurant-quality experience. Guests do not have to “pre-order” their meal, instead they are presented with a personalized menu from which to choose. Please understand dishes and ingredients may change.

Vegetarian requests are welcome and certain substitutions are available with prior notice.

We have an award winning extensive wine list. Outside wine is not permitted for groups over ten.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Brodt: (805) 966-9463 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All groups are welcome at Wine Cask. You will have an intimate experience. We offer warm, inviting service featuring sophisticated yet familar cuisine. We offer indoor and outdoor seating, with various options for private events. We can accommodate private groups of 10-150 guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Wine Cask - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Business Meals (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fireplace (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food service. A must visit when I'm in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my husband's before so we had the tasting menu. We have been to the Wine Cask before but never had the tasting menu. It was excellent and we did the wine pairing. The only hiccup was a wedding party out in the courtyard that slowed down the service. As usual the quality of the food is excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service from one server was mediocre, second server saved the day. Food was great. Because of service my experience is a 3 overall. Great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food! Terrific service! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Wine Cask. The service was impeccable and the food was incredible,. We will be dining here again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was friendly; nice wine list. Cozy & quiet but there were hardly any people for a Saturday night; maybe they got the memo about the food, which was very, very mediocre. We will not go back. There are other restaurants around are so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at the Wine Cask. The food is uniformly good, the people always pleasant. They have a robust wine list. The main dining room is one of the most beautiful in Santa Barbara. Get a table in front of the fireplace for a truly elegant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything from top to bottom was excellent! We were informed that there was a newer chef and his flavors were perfect! The waitress was knowledgeable and unobtrusive. She made all the "right" suggestions

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were with three girls and went for lunch here. It was very quiet. There is a nice outdoor patio to eat at but the weather did not allow that so we went inside. The wine list was great and our food delicious. We will come back when the weather is nice.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were entertaining friends, one of whom is fighting cancer. The staff was so accommodating and generous. We truly appreciated it and the food was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was excellent and the decor was beautiful. Nice and quiet, as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Ambiance was great, food, not so much. I don't understand how an upscale restaurant could send out food that isn't hot, very disappointing. Took 'forever' to get our drinks and it wasn't busy. The server even commented on it and apologized. My husband and I have dined here several times and this time was not up to par. Dessert was good, but I was the only one who had it, everybody else was 'done'. 😔 Will stick with Bouchon for a nice dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had lunch at Intermezzo, which is the more casual restaurant connected to Wine Cask. Wine Cask is only open for dinner (at least on the weekend). Excellent burgers, french fries, onion rings and artichoke heart flatbread (so very, very, good!). Cute place and service was excellent. We live in Los Angeles but, the next time we're in Santa Barbara, we would definitely return for lunch. We also really want to go back to Wine Cask for dinner. It has such a beautiful room and the menu (and photos) look(s) incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A very good meal. The dishes had original touches, some of which worked better than others. The ambiance was lovely, with a roaring fire on a chilly night. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We have been dining at Wine Cask for years. It is simply an outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved our entire experience! Staff was friendly and helpful. Cocktails exceeded expectations and food was delicious.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food great service! Good for any occasion! The 3 course meal was delicious. My steak came out just how I expected and arrived promptly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. For over $240 for 2 people I would have wanted to be overwhelmed by the meal. It was bland and less than average . We left feeling like we could have cooked a better meal at home . Very disappointed with the entire evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great meal, great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok. Our server was clearly depressed- and although efficient not very service oriented.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Pros: Elegant dining in downtown St Barbara
In/outdoor seating in a secluded and clean backyard
Relatively inexpensive and for the most part good food
Large wine list
Excellent coffee

Cons: Incorrectly defined address - visitors note that restaurant is in one of the many backyards and not at the street address listed
Only two waiters for a large dining room
Our waiter was not a sommelier though this is a primary a wine restaurant
Shrimp dish used frozen food which were re-thawed and then partially fried
Rest rooms are tiny and for one person only

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was wonderful and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about fine wines.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Staff was lovely. The bar/restaurant adjacent was far more lively. If you are looking for quiet dining in a muted environment this would be a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The wine list and service are excellent, as is the ambiance. The stuffed calamari appetizer was outstanding, but my main course fish was a bit overcooked and my partner's fish was a bit undercooked.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love the courtyard and the seafood is exquisite. On this particular lunchtime the waiter seemed in a great hurry to take our order, bring our check and get us out though. No opportunity to look at possible desserts or coffee which is a shame as otherwise I have always enjoyed the food and overall appeal of Wine Cask.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We chose Wine & Cask for our wedding night dinner for our parents and ourselves. We arranged in advance for a 5-course tasting menu with wine pairings. Each course was amazingly beautiful and delicious. And the wine pairings were both interesting and complementary of food with which it was paired. We had a mixed group of foodies and those that like their meats cooked well done, so I was nervous that the food may be a too "fancy" for some in our group. However, everyone was blown away by each course. One of the highlights of the night was the sommelier bringing wines out from the library for us to try (since we were a large group). It was a perfect wedding night dinner. Special, delicious and fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Every element was outstanding. The staff was attentive, knowledgeable and the cuisine superb. An excellent evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A beautiful restaurant , great food and service ! Great wine selections !! Close to the Old town and several wine tasting place ! A great place to have lunch and dinner !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been going to theWine Cask for over 3 years now, specifically for New Year's Eve dinner. The food is very good and we have always had a festive experience. This year was an exception. Our server was surly and inattentive. We refused to let her poor attitude ruin our evening However, she also misquoted wine prices and gave us an incorrect bill. As much as we like the food and ambience of the Wine Cask, I do not think we will return or recommend to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good service, fantastic steak, impressive wine list, although they did not have the Pauillac that I ordered but the sommelier came with a good alternative. Would certainly recommend a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was New Year's Eve, so our experience may not be typical. Rather tight, so overall experience did not demand the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Subpar this time. Usually one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara, but this was a subpar event from start to finish. Indifferent front of restaurant, entrees brought out at different times, one entree was not as ordered and another fish entree way under-cooked. And it's not as if it were terribly busy. I will be back, but if this was my first time, I doubt I would have.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Presentation of food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great ambiance. Starters of salad, prawn, and Gnocchi were very good. Entrees not so much. Lamb was gamey and just not good. Sea bass was not good either. Waiter was MIA all night. Would not return to pour any of the champagne or wine we ordered. One entree was wrong and correct one came out very late when the rest of my party was almost done. No checking to see if all was good; no notice of uneaten entrees; no adjustment of bill. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The waiter staff was extremely attentive. The truly understand the motto that the customer is always right! Unfortunately each dish, while creative and tasty, could be improved. The gnocchi seemed fried without much sauce, although tasty. I was not used to gnocchi with crunch! The kale salad, although tasty with a lovely dressing and beers, was not massaged nor "baby" kale and was unnecessarily crunchy and "rough"! With a little "massage", could be greatly improved. The "nutella" ice cream was good, but just tasted like chocolate I cream without a hint of hazelnut or Nutella. However the staff removed the charge for the kale salad. I would definitely try again, but hope that the chef is open to a few tips from another chef!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. We'd been numerous times, but never taken family. My inlaws loved the ambiance and felt it was the perfect choice for Christmas Eve dinner. All of the desserts were incredible, especially the bread pudding and lavender creme brûlée. Thank you for making our holiday special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great as always. My second Christmas eve dinner and hopefully not my last at my favorite SB restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Elegant room with service and food to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Just a great Foodie (wine lover) place, run do not walk there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I always make an effort to dine at this special restaurant whenever I am in Santa Barbara. The wine list is outstanding, the food is amazing, and its in a lovely location. Save room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.