About Wine Bar - Toronto

9 Church St.
Toronto, ON M5E 1M2
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Wine Bar at 9 Church Street!

Have a seat at our lively open kitchen and watch our chefs prepare your very own tasting menu. Or tuck into a cozy, intimate table for two. Choose from one of the finest wine lists in Canada - with many exclusive vintages and a wide selection of reserve wines available by the glass using Coravin technology.

But you haven’t taken in the full experience until you have watched your meal being prepared right in front of you by leading Toronto Chef Bryan Burke.
You can expect Bryan to inform and entertain you while he expertly cooks your meal using local and sustainably sourced ingredients produced by Ontario farmers and artisans. Dining at The Wine Bar means you are able to sample and share several fabulous menu selections, prepared in the Tapas style and perfectly paired with a selection from one of the finest wine lists in Canada.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Global, International, French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 5pm - 10pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Front St East

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-9463

Website:
http://www.9church.com/

Entertainment:
The Wine Bar experience
You have to visit The Wine Bar to truly understand why there is really nothing quite like our dining experience.
Until that happy day arrives, you can do the next best thing: click on the image below to view a video shot in The Wine Bar. It shows Executive Chef Bryan Burke cooking up one of our fabulous menu selections.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5smUodmZ7mc

Catering:
From a small office lunch to a full blown cocktail party, we offer a wide and affordable variety of options to suit your taste and budget.
Please contact us and we will be happy to organize the perfect event for you.

Parking Details:
Lots of great parking lots wihtin 1 min walk. Perfect place to park before a show, have dinner, walk or a short cheap cab ride to all downtown theaters. (Save money by parking near by, instead of beside the theatre)

Public Transit:
Union, King/ Church. King/ Yonge

Executive Chef:
Bryan Burke

Private Party Facilities:
For all your Private events we cater to your needs, whether your event is sit down or cocktail style. Serving from 25 - 250 guests, we can accommodate large or small group celebrations. Wedding, birthday, holiday, whatever the occasion may be we are good by any celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandria Olejnik: 8775785258

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Why the Wine Bar is the perfect location for your next special event, holiday season party or business meeting
Choosing The Wine Bar for your next group booking means you want something beyond the usual bland meeting room and predictable menu offerings.
We can accept lunch or dinner bookings for groups of up to 150 people.
Call now to book your special event, celebration or Holiday Season Party. Another great idea is to take advantage of our downtown location to book a business lunch meeting.
Get started now by telling us about your event. You can trust we will provide a menu and dining experience your guests will not soon forget.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Free Corkage

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Free Corkage

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Free Corkage. Special valid Feb 3, 2016 - Jun 3, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Bar - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

notable wine list (19)
romantic (14)
fit for foodies (13)
See All
special occasion (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Why is it called Wine Bar?

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was good and the service was outstanding but the wine list was limited, there few a few bottles in the $60 range and a ton in the $200 range but nothing inbetween. Not sure why the place is called "Wine" bar. There was no wine steward to talk us through the selections, no wine flights, wine pairings or tasting menus. No need for a reservation - only 3 tables occupied at 8pm, never did get busy. Felt more like a "tourist" spot.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food and wine

Dined on April 21, 2016

A little pricey for the amount of food- no vegetables with the main course, otherwise great food! Wine choices lovely! Had to call waiter to remind about a few requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Sent cold food back 3 times!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Took 20 minutes just to get the waiter to give us a wine list, sent three separate dishes back because they were cold and we were never offered dessert at the end of the meal. We told the waiter that we would never return and left him a ZERO tip! We went down the street to Jack Astors, had more drinks, a fabulous dressert and left the waiter a $60 tip! I will never return to The Wine Bar again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Toronto Find

Dined on March 24, 2016

Looks like an ordinary hole in the wall neighborhood place but once inside...... Very cool, modern and comfortable. The service is excellent. The food is an experience. Recommend ordering several dishes to share. The wines are new and different and very good. Not your everyday wine list. They are very accommodating for food allergies.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

needs to be more

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The location is great, the look and feel is great. The drinks were nice, the wine list for glasses is poor and expensive. My wife and the gnocchi - salty as heck, they offered a free dessert for that, good gesture. My steak - well - it was ok - nothing great, nothing bad, I could make the same at home. Too many other great options in Toronto - I would not go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

I went here before a concert at the Sony Centre. The service was great and the food was good too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The mussels were some of the best I have ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The mussels were some of the best I have ever had. Duck sliders were sliders nothing special there. Steak was great, lobster pretty good and dessert was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to go here with a friend usin ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

First time to go here with a friend using a coupon as we were not sure what to expect in this restaurant. They have very limited selection of menu to choose from. Our appetizers were good (mushroom soup and mussel) but we were both surprised with our lobster entree. We didn't expect it to be with a pasta, which makes it more filling. It was very delicious and there were a lot of lobster pieces to enjoy (unlike from other restaurants that are being cheap on it). Lastly, their churros are to die for. Our server was very helpful in all our questions on wine and was able to assist us with all our needs. Serving time may take quite a bit long as they really cook everything from scratch but overall, this is a great restaurant to try and have a wonderful time with friends.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wine Bar - Highlights

Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant did a fantastic job with the Valentines Day menu. They had a great app to start that consisted of cured meats and a variety of cheeses. For the main I had the lobster which did not disappoint. The dessert was very rich in chocolate and at that point I was already stuffed and was not able to finish it. Our server was most delightful and he kept the right amount of time in between courses.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The night was rather very slow and it to ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The night was rather very slow and it took 30 mins to serve charcuterie app and a full hour and 15 mins for the mushroom soup and mussels.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Would try it again...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Went for winterlicious... Apps were great. Mains came out cold and all of them were WAY over salted. No quality check was done, but found the server texting in a corner and let him know. Steaks weren't replaced but accompaniments were. Desserts were mediocre. Enjoyed the table, wine and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Portion size was good however I found th ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Portion size was good however I found the food overly salty

food1
ambience4
service2
value3

I wouldn't go back

Dined on February 5, 2016

The best part of the meal was the simple appetizer - panko crusted brie. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy the duck confit. I had been very much looking forward to it and, though the texture was perfect (crispy yet tender), the flavour was predominantly salty. It lacked depth and nuance. It was just a salty piece of meat on a bed of salty beans. My friend's steak frites was served cold and the meat was served on top of the sweet potatoes, so they were soggy. We both had the pot au creme for dessert. We liked that it was dark chocolate but the dessert was more like a pudding than a mousse, which is what I've come to expect from a pot au creme. We left the restaurant with upset stomach that we had to take a long walk to settle. Thankfully it was a mild night. Food aside, the service was just okay. The waiter forgot our selections more than once and had to come and double check. I also saw him get confused about which wines belonged to which tables. The wine was nice and reasonably priced and the atmosphere was relaxing. These were the only redeeming factors in our experience.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We went for dinner and ordered the Winte ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

We went for dinner and ordered the Winterlicious menu. The food was spectacular and I would especially recommend the brie appetizer and the cheesecake for dessert. The entrees are excellent - try the gnocchi if you love goat's cheese. The atmosphere is very nice and cozy while feeling upscale and special. I will definitely be returning!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wine bar

Dined on January 31, 2016

Vey slow service, staff was not knowledgable on the wine selection, mixed up our orders twice, duck was too salty, but the newyork style cheesecake was amazing!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Perfect spot for a glass (or three) of wine

Dined on January 27, 2016

Very awesome spot. The atmosphere is cozy and nicely lit with candles and mood lighting. The wine list is absolutely fantastic and the service is prompt. Because of these two factors, our glasses were never empty for long. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

Really not impressed with the food. Firs ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Really not impressed with the food. Firstly - Scallops weren't seared, chickpeas underneath were not cooked - that was a $30 plate! Second plate was a steak with mashed potato and sauce. The rib eye, only good part of the meal, was covered in this cream sauce - and the potatoes below the dish were gummy. Also and plate not worth the money. I was incredibly disappointed - my boyfriend and I agreed that it was the worst meal we have ever had in the city. Will not be returning.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious and wine was exquisit ...

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Food was delicious and wine was exquisite

food1
ambience1
service1

Horrible food and service

Dined on November 29, 2015

The halibut was so salty. We hardly touched it. They didn't even ask "wow, you didn't eat your food". Our reservation was for 8pm. We were eating our main at 9:40 after ordering a salad! OMG. The need a new chef! Also, the lights were dimmed so low, we actually couldn't see our food. It's like they turned off the lights in the back half of the restaurant. The front half was properly lit. We literally had to ask them to turn up the lights. So super slow.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always happy with my trip to Wine Bar. M ...

Dined on November 16, 2015

Always happy with my trip to Wine Bar. Menu always changes and has a modest selection that fits all tastes.

food5
ambience3
service4

Always a treat

Dined on November 7, 2015

Wine Bar is one of those local spots that never disappoints. What I really like (other than the food of course) is that they are really happy that you are there. Sounds stupid, but it is getting harder to find places that are so welcoming. They really have a great group of people there. Makes for a great relaxing place to spend the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Intimate but very noisy!

vip
Dined on November 6, 2015

Wine Bar has a very intimate and sophisticated atmosphere. But it gets very noisy even with a couple of tables filled. Tough to hear what your partner is saying. Food and wine line up is fantastic. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Wine Bat

Dined on October 23, 2015

We have been several times and once again as we walked away from the restaurant, we said how much we enjoyed "The Wine Bar". It really is a lovely place to enjoy a meal. We usually sit at the bar and the conversation with Matt the chef is always a highlight. Great food and a very friendly comfortable atmosphere. Second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4

The food was average at best.

Dined on October 10, 2015

The only saving grace was the service. Worse short ribs I've ever tasted. They were tough and bland as was the accompaniment they were served with. Halibut was dry and the spaetzle that were served with it had so much garlic I couldn't taste anything else. Our server brought us two new dishes. My friend opted for a different dish - butternut squash ravioli which was tasty and I had a new piece of halibut that was cooked better and had less garlic in the spaetzle. While the good service saved our meal it still wasn't what I have come to expect at Toronto restaurants. I will not be going back.

food2
ambience4
service3

This had been a Toronto favorite of ours ...

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

This had been a Toronto favorite of ours, but this visit was a disappointment. In the past this has been a tapas and small plate centric wine bar. The last two times we were there they had wine pairing suggestions with each one of the small plates. Not so this visit. Now it appears that the focus is on traditional portion sizing of a very limited variety, and the wine selections were much reduced and mediocre. Sadly it seems that this place has lost its niche and as a result not nearly as charming. We probably won't be back.

food5
ambience4
service3

Impressive!

vip
Dined on September 24, 2015

I always love a restaurant that places a lot of focus on local Ontario food. Wine Bar has done just that. We ordered the phyllo baked brie, Tempura BC Snapper and the grilled pork chops. The brie needed a little more time to get more gooey. Nonetheless, the flavours of all the items (apple, chutney, cheese, honey, crostini) worked together beautifully. The snapper was their take on fish and chips and they executed that well! It was the highlight of the night. I'm not a fan of pork chops only because they are often dry by the time it gets to the table. With this one, the coleslaw and the apple sauce really brought it together. I'll be back here very soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place!

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Had dinner at the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere, service and excellent food tasting. Went for a couple of starters and each of each were delicious (we saw it being prepared:-)) and explained in detail by the chefs. Highly recommended : the scallops and the lamb starter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great for Sharing and service was good.

vip
Dined on September 15, 2015

The food was great for sharing and most of all the service was great. Ok, so we went on a Monday and like most restaurants, it is the slowest time of the week. It didn't help that it was about 8:30 when we made the reservation due to work constraints. When we arrive we were warmly greeted and then seated promptly. I immediately noticed the open kitchen concept ( one of my favorite things). Service was good as well as well as the food. Was a great monday night date night spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here numerous times and have a ...

Dined on August 17, 2015

I've been here numerous times and have always enjoyed the food and wine. Great shareable plates and wine you typcially don't find at the LCBO.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Summerlicious

Dined on July 24, 2015

Came here with a friend to try out the summerlicious menu. The good was good, service was quick & the waiter have us just the right amount of attention. The only down side was we arrived at 510pm & the doors were still locked & we can see the staff still setting up the tables for the dinner service (their sign states they are open at 5pm)

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

I feel that my stars may have been too generous.

Dined on July 18, 2015

This place was way overpriced for what you get. The food was simply not worth it - extremely small portions, decent tasting (but not for the price), overall a disappointment. Luckily we were not out for a special occasion or I would have felt pretty ripped off. This is the place you go when you want to drink and not the place you go when you want to eat. We ordered several items, but afterwards still felt the need to eat elsewhere (Beer Bistro, which was scales better in almost every respect). Still, I liked the decor and the service was attentive for the first half of our visit.

food2
ambience1
service3

Disappointment

Dined on July 10, 2015

The whole dining experience was disappointing and a complete let down, except for the bottle of (expensive) wine. We had to move tables 3 times. Although I made a reservation, and the restaurant was pretty empty when we got there we were seated at the very back in a dark corner. We asked to move but we're still seated at the back, the table near us had a group of very loud vocal ladies. Finally we were moved near the front, where at least it wasn't dark but the inappropriate rock music was over powering and made conversation difficult. The food was the real disappointment however, had it been better it would have made up for the lack of ambience. The duck tacos were way too salty and dry. The fritters and meat board were bland. While the occasion was to celebrate, the experience put a damper on the mood.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5

Delicious but deafening

Dined on June 28, 2015

Great, delicious small plates and excellent service, but stay away after 8pm. Music from the co-owned club next door is so loud that you can't hear yourself think.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2

Not as we remembered it...disappointing

vip
Dined on June 18, 2015

not as we remember it - now fast food; can only be called tapas; orders 'dropped off', do description; will not return

food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and staff knowled ...

Dined on June 2, 2015

The food was very good and staff knowledgeable.

food4
ambience3
service4

Prices have gone up!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2015

Six months ago I was recommending this place to everyone I met. I took some friends the other night and as usual, the food was fantastic and the service was great. The big change however, was that the prices really felt like they had increased significantly since the last time I was here. I know tapas style menus are notorious for being pricey for small plates, but many of the smaller more individual-bite options had disappeared and Servings weren't sized to be able to share for more than two people per dish, which meant that for a larger group (5) we were sometimes ordering Multiples of orders for example, We spent $18 on french fries and I think we all could have eaten more (3 very small portions). Although I would certainly go again, it won't be one of my first choice options any longer because the value simply isn't there as it used to be.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Unique

Dined on April 30, 2015

This is where I bring folks from out of town - it's different, convenient to TTC, service is excellent, and everyone I've taken there has enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed The Wine Bar

vip
Dined on April 27, 2015

Some very interesting items on their menu. We enjoyed our dinner at The Wine Bar and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

a disappointing experience

vip
Dined on April 27, 2015

I love sharing plates but I really couldn't divvy up any dish with gusto, the quality just wasn't there. The food was basic, without any great flavor or finesse.

food4
ambience3
service1

Good food, Poor service

Dined on April 25, 2015

Food was good, but the service we received was terrible. Our waiter did not even check once on us. We had to flag him down every time we need something. He had no recommendations on plate size and how many we would need for a party of our size. His response was: "depends how hungry you are" ..Really!!! I was actually disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.