Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Simms Steakhouse
1785 reviews
Steak | Lakewood, Denver Suburbs
Reserve Now
Mellow Mushroom - Denver
2 reviews
Pizzeria | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Red Square Euro Bistro
928 reviews
European | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
TAG
2227 reviews
Continental | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Rioja
5305 reviews
Mediterranean | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Ocean Prime - Denver
2552 reviews
Seafood | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Osteria Marco
3248 reviews
Italian | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Russell's Smokehouse
394 reviews
Barbecue | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Tom's Urban
483 reviews
American | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Bistro Vendome
3811 reviews
French | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Palm Restaurant - Denver
1490 reviews
Steak | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Reunion Gastropub
12 reviews
Steakhouse | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Rialto Cafe
1310 reviews
American | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
EDGE Restaurant & Bar
1216 reviews
Steakhouse | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now
Tamayo Restaurant
1953 reviews
Mexican / Southwestern | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Reserve Now

About Willie G's - Denver

1585 Lawrence Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Known for serving fresh seafood specialties & recognized nationally as one of the top upscale seafood restaurants, Willie G’s is situated right on the 16th Street Mall in downtown Denver, in close proximity to the Performing Arts Complex, Convention Center & Pepsi Center. The extensive menu boasts such time-honored favorites as Oysters Rockefeller, Red Snapper Melissa, Crab Cakes & the ultimate Fried Seafood Platter. Willie G’s is also celebrated for perfectly prepared, tender & juicy steaks served in our signature style. Willie G’s offers a distinguished yet comfortable dining experience. Guests dine in a handsome atmosphere of rich, dark woods & granite, adorned with beautiful artwork & décor. For lunch or dinner, Willie G’s upscale cuisine, elegant atmosphere & superior service are always made to order. Join us for Happy Hour Monday through Friday!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 575-9000

Website:
http://www.williegs.com/denver/index.asp

Parking Details:
Parking Garage below building. Enter at Lawrence Street entrance.

Public Transit:
Public Bus stop 16th and Lawrence.
Light Rail 4-blocks away at 16th & California.

Executive Chef:
Cory Treadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Willie G's - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (45)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful experience. The food was de ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

A wonderful experience. The food was delicious. Server was friendly and well trained. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, my salmon was cooked perfect ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food, my salmon was cooked perfectly

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 16, 2016

This place is good n I highly recommend "red snapper Melissa" it's yummy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Steak

Dined on April 6, 2016

my wife had the prime rib, I had the top sirloin with grilled shrimp. everything was cooked just the way we ordered it and was very tasty. the wine was excellent. all in all worth the price. nice place inside and the staff was very attentive without being in your space too much. definitely recommend this restaurant!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

food

Dined on April 3, 2016

Service was just ok. I ordered fish and it was not completely cooked.

food2
ambience3
service5

Food was not that great. Just spend a li ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was not that great. Just spend a little more and go elsewhere.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place!

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have been to Willie G's several times and thoroughly enjoy it! The manager, Mark, is really great and makes a point of talking to all of the guests. He visits with us each times we eat there. The food is good. We usually eat there before going to Lannie's. This combination makes for a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience. The staff is above a ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing experience. The staff is above and beyond!!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Old friends

Dined on March 13, 2016

We met old friends at Willie G's for dinner. The staff treated us very well and the management made it a point to ensure that everything was just right. We especially enjoyed the calamari. I like to get it as an appetizer and Willie G's was the best we've ever had, bar none!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The Oyster Bar Trash was a Great appetizer, the Prime Rib and Red Fish was Awesome but the most amazing thing took the lead... The Asparagus were AMAZING!!! Can't wait till next time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

too loud and nothing was done about it

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our experience was awful we were seated next to a table who had a gentleman was very very loud and obnoxious and who was screaming political remarks it ruined our romantic dinner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I wasn't blown away like I expected.

Dined on February 29, 2016

We went for 5280 week and was never given a 5280 menu. I felt like we overpaid for a halfway decent meal. I've wanted to go to Willie G's for a long time but again I wasn't blow away. I had higher expectations. I don't think I would return. The service was good but not on par to other restaurants in the same category.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3

Sat for 15 minutes before the waitstaff ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Sat for 15 minutes before the waitstaff came to get drink orders. The bread didn't come until dinnercame and the salad was done. The steak that we ordered medium rare came out medium well done. Weer ordered the pumpkin creme Brule but they ran out ( only second night of restaurant week)

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Terrible customer service

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a 6 pm reservation and waited until 6:30 for a table that was sitting empty right next to us at the entrance that was empty. The table was set for six, and we were a party of three. Hard to hold a conversation with the seating arrangement and the loud noise level in the restaurant. I wondered why it was easy to get a 6pm reservation during restaurant week in Denver, and now I know why. This would not be a restaurant I would go back to. Service was average, the food was not spectacular, the ambiance was drab and the restaurant was noisy.

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Deceived

Dined on February 28, 2016

We ordered then later realized we weren't given the restaurant week special s. She said later they are only given if the customers request them. Would have been nice to have the opportunity to see them up front! Not a fan of the ala carte menu.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great Food/Poor Service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Although I had reservations, I was seated in the bar. There were 2 bartenders that were also the servers. This is why I gave the service such a low score. We were not checked on very often, it took a long time to get everything and I was not too happy to be sitting in the loud bar as opposed to the dining area. The food was very good and that is why I gave the overall score of good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Willie G's-A major disappointment!

Dined on February 28, 2016

During the opening weekend of restaurant week, we made a reservation at Willie G's prior to going to the Buell Theater. We made it early, so we could have a leisurely dinner without being rushed to get to the theater. We were seated at 5:45. Our entrees were brought to us at 7:00. Do the math! It took one hour and fifteen minutes to get served. We hurriedly ate our dinners and had to take our desserts in a doggie bag to get to the theater by the 7:30 curtain. Although we have been to Willie G's a number of times, this last visit was in fact our actual "last" visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and consistent

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Always a place you can go and have a good lunch, nothing too unique on the menu, but good salads and seafood entrees. Ask for bread when you first get there, for some reason takes them forever to bring bread, they say it is still cooking, not sure why it isn't ready when they know lunch crowd comes in around 11:30 to noon Very good service!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites

Dined on February 22, 2016

My sisters and I (4 in all) have eaten there several times before we go to the theater. It is one of our favorite places. We all loved our meal and our drinks. The service is always outstanding. We will be back again and again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was fine, but the service was i ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was fine, but the service was impersonal and mediocre. It seemed as though they didn't have enough servers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went here for an early dinner. I loved the prime rib appetizer and the mac and cheese. Zach was our waiter and he was awesome. He was very good about making sure we had everything we needed and checked on us often. I never had to ask for a refill and he kept us up to date on when our food would be out. He was funny and courteous! Great service here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We started with an order of the Oyster Boat Trash. The lump crab and shrimp were Cajun seasoned and came with a wonderful hollandaise sauce for dipping. It was delicious! for dinner we had the Red Snapper Melissa and 8oz Sirloin Oscar. The Red Snapper was perfectly seasoned and cooked. It came smothered in shrimp, scallops, and sautéed mushrooms with an amazing sauce drizzled over it. So good! The Sirloin Oscar was prepared perfectly medium rare, well seasoned and the bernaise sauce was rich and lemony. We split a side order of mashed potatoes and they were suspiciously "instant" and lacked flavor/texture. We will opt for the mini-bakers or rice pilaf next time. Overall our service was outstanding and our food well timed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT DATE NIGHT FIND

Dined on February 20, 2016

Being from Greeley and wanting to try something new Willie G's was the answer to all our needs. Now that Date Nights are becoming such a great idea for couples I think everyone should try Willie G's. Besides the Good food and the Great Staff there is no need to dress to impress But it helps. Dinner and a show you can't go wrong. Now that baseball season is getting closer I'm sure you will find us on the patio at Willie G's see you there. They also have Great Willie G's Margaritas there a MUST TRY......

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

food was under whelming. Poor execution

Dined on February 17, 2016

The clam chowder was not a chowder. It was a thin broth that was lacking in flavor. The calamari was poorly executed. The oil was not hot enough so the breaking was soggy. When I sent it back their resolution was to over cook it and the calamari was tough and rubbery. They had no apologies for the poor quality. It was a waste of money.

food3
ambience5
service5

Service was very good, Food was acceptab ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was very good, Food was acceptable nothing special

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty good for a very busy night.

Dined on February 14, 2016

By some miracle I was able to find a reservation for a decent time (like, earlier than 10 pm), for the Saturday night right before Valentine's Day, the DAY OF. We'd never been to Willie G's, and the menu looked promising, so we were excited to try it. The food did not disappoint. It was delicious. Large portions, but not obscenely large. The wine list was extensive, and our server was attentive but not hovering. The only complaint I had was that everything we ordered, either from the kitchen or the bar, seemed to take forever to get to our table. Granted, it was the Saturday night right before Valentine's Day and it was pretty crowded, but it seemed like our wait for food and drinks was way longer than it should have been. Luckily, the food was so good that it was worth the wait. It was also nice to be able to linger a bit over the meal. Overall, we really enjoyed our evening, and will plan to return again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service and food need improvement

Dined on February 14, 2016

Steak way over cooked and servers never came around to see how anything was. Will never go back

food4
ambience4
service5

Good service. Friendly staff.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good service. Friendly staff.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

On the hunt for Oysters Rockefeller

Dined on February 13, 2016

Have tried Oysters Rockefeller many places, and these were some of the best ever had! With bacon, yum! Sea Bass was cooked perfectly, and just the right amount of attentive service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Crab Legs!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had an enjoyable evening with a great bottle of wine and fabulous crab legs. I'll be so lucky to get to go back again sometime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner before theatre

Dined on January 31, 2016

Delicious food, this place got busy fast. We will be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Find!

Dined on January 21, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel where we were staying . Willy G's definitely lived up to the raves of the hotel staff! There were five of us and everyone's meal was delicious. The waiter was very attentive and patient with us. Will definitely return when back in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful Restaurant

Dined on January 2, 2016

The service was outstanding. The restaurant was beautiful. The food, where good, was not outstanding - as I expected it to be. The iced seafood appetizer was very disappointing. The server, however, was so amazing that it truly negated the lack luster cuisine.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We were very disappointed and we won't return.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Looking forward to having dinner here and was sadly disappointed. Food was good not amazing.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

I was not impressed with the crab cake. The cake itself appeared to be made out of cornmeal and spices, it was too big and mushy on the inside and very little crab (if any) was incorporated into the crab cake itself. Fresh crab was spooned on top of the "crab cake" which was a nice touch. The crab on top was very fresh and the flavor and consistency were excellent. But a true crab cakes should be packed with fresh crab and very little filler, so to me these were not made correctly and I was disappointed. The calamari was good. The Blue Cheese Wedge Salad was very good and it was my favorite dish during this lunch.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food !

Dined on December 20, 2015

Great food !

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! Service was outstan ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Food was excellent! Service was outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5

amazing server; however, for having a re ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

amazing server; however, for having a reservation far in advance, did not get a great table..was on a date and sat right by the revolving door and in the area where people wait to be seated. not romantic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Just Average

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

Willie G's is a hit or miss restaurant. We have eaten there and the food and service has been great. This time, it wasn't so much. My wife ordered the Bass and it came out cold. They did reserve it and discount the meal. So, that was very nice. The kitchen was very slow. It was a good thing that we had time before our show. Otherwise, we would have been late. We only go to Willie G's if other restaurants are not available for a reservation.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak!

Dined on December 12, 2015

I haven't been to Willie G's in years and it was as good as I'd remembered it to be. My husband had a filet and I had a sirloin. My sirloin was so tender you'd swear it was a filet, and his filet was remarkably tender and flavorful. It was a bit noisy, but aside from that, the restaurant was great all the way around. We will return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.