Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

4.4
414 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Special Occasion
Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 241-1414
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Louis Simard
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mackenzie and Rideau
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Fairmont Château Laurier's on-site parking garage is closed.
Valet Parking is available to all registered guests at a daily rate.
Alternate parking is available within walking distance for non-registered guests.
Additional
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 414 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

When we did the booking for 10am, we were not told that the breakfast buffet finished at 10:30 and lunch buffet starts at 11am. We showed u and settled down at 10:10 and it was an odd time to start breakfast buffet. So we decided to wait with hunger until 11am to have lunch. I think if we were told when we called to reserve, then we would have picked a different time slot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We held a university graduation family dinner. The service was excellent, and they accommodated all our needs.
We ordered a gluten and dairy free dessert for one and they made her a lovely assortment of treats.
The meal was incredibly tasty and if a meal is done well you don't need a lot of food to feel satisfied.
Highly recommended, make sure you reserve in advance otherwise you will be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent service from Fabiola who greeted us and from all the servers who were very attentive throughout the evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Food above average. Very expensive. Nice quiet place for a business lunch. But expect to pay alot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I usually go with my daughter and get girlfriends for Sunday brunch. Amazing food, amazing staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our party of nine was well taken care of. The prime rib orders were cooked exactly to each person's preferred doneness. Desserts were fabulous and inventive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Fantastic food, peaceful and calm environment and excellent service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We booked this restaurant for our marriage anniversary dinner. Our experience did not start well or at least what you would expect when you choose an expensive place at a 5 stars hotel. We arrived there to find out that there is no valet parking for our reservation not even a paid parking at the facility. This was not communicated to us before hand, so had to drive around the place for 20 minutes to find a public parking then walk all the way to the restaurant which put us out of mode already.
We booked online and one of the services was to request special accommodation for our occasion. We requested a table by the window with some red flowers. However, we arrived there to find that there was no table prepared for us and we were seated at a small table almost in the passage.
However, the whole experience changed when we expressed our frustration to our table server Ms. Nausicaa M, who dealt with our complaint very professionally. She apologised and promised to do all what she could to change our impression, and she indeed did! She moved us to a table by the window in a quiet spot, and made sure to get us some complementary desserts for our special occasion. Thanks to Ms. Nausiccaa for making up for the disappointments we felt.
Please inform people in advance about the parking issue and check the special requests when people make a reservation and let them know whether you can accommodate them or not to avoid disappointed guests.

P.S. the food was amazing and the atmosphere of the restaurant is lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

A superb brunch experience for when you want to splurge. Top notch food and service, and a nice quiet atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent service! The buffet was great, with all kinds of options. Everything was delicious. I am looking forward to come back when in Ottawa again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The starters were just ok. My scallops were too cook as the duck serve as a main course was overcook, well done.
Desert: crème brûlée was ok not outstanding.
Overall it was not to the level of a fine cuisine restaurant and definitively not as it should for thé prince.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Day and my wife’s birthday requiring a special place. The staff was amazing and careful to help out with everything I asked for. It made for a special night out with the family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

I took my sister to Wilfrid's for her 87th birthday and it was a fabulous evening. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding - the hostesses, the servers and the front door staff who helped my sister and her walker to/from our car. Thank you for making the evening special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Delightful Sunday morning breakfast. We came as a family for the buffet. Jimmy was handling the crepe and omelette station. He was charming, engaging and fun. We left with smiles not just because of the good food but due to this man’s attention to detail and customer focus. Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Lives up to its historical renown. Beautiful, opulent and fine food to boot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Had a great brunch and service was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We enjoyed the buffet brunch, particularly the dessert table and breakfast items. However we were disappointed that 2 out of the three baked/pastry items we tried were stale. It’s really not what you expect for that price point.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Really expected more. Maybe we arrived too late but we all found the food a bit cold, dull, or as if it had been left out for too long. Our reservation was for 9:45 but figured fresh food would have been made for the latter half of the serving time. Wasn't the case. Really wanted some good waffles, they were pretty soggy.

That being said, Our waiter was pleasant and the room is beautiful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food was underwhelming. The service passable and the setting to be desired

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I went with a friend for the buffet breakfast. The atmosphere and service were out of this world. We talked long after we were done and did not feel pressured to leave. It was thoroughly pleasant.

For the price, I was expecting fancier fare on the buffet table. It was very average; in fact, the beans were cold. Didn’t think the food was worth the price.

Since the Chateau parking lot is closed, we had to use a nearby one. Had a $75 parking ticket when I came out. Definitely a deterrent to going back.

I did appreciate the special plate of fancy pastries they had made for my friend. It was her birthday and they did a fabulous job making it special. Thanks to the kitchen staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great service, very professional and warm. The food was amazing , I had a succulent prime rib. I would recommend for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Unfortunately not ...
Asked for a table by the window. Visited the restaurant 1 day before to ask them the same think and I was assured that I would have it. Unfortunately in an empty restaurant on a Saturday night I was offered the only one table that wasn't by the window. On the other hand, food has to be improved. The wine service and culture is below medium level. What can I say about th wine glass? Cafes in Ottawa have better wine glasses. We asked information a waiter about the breads they offered us and they knew nothing about them. At the end we went to pick our overcoats and the concierge was missing. Unacceptable! We went to the reception and they started looking for a responsible person. In a 10 minutes they found someone. Never again. I feel sorry for the money I have given. It's a pity that such a historic hotel has a restaurant that on a Saturday night didn't achieve to welcome more than 20 customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Wilfred's is our go-place for special occasions. The food is wonderful and the ambiance is historic, romantic and quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

we were all delighted with the choices on the menu, we all had different dishes, all were greatly enjoyed. Highlight was the care for the presentation of food for our 9-yr. old that accompanied us. She was thrilled

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Went here for the first time today.

Food was average nothing special.

Was expecting a bigger selection.

Staff was above average.

$33.90 including HST.

Will probably not come back.

Too expensive for what it is.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Highly recommend, great food and very cosy and nice restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

A lovely venue for intimate conversation, serenity and a scrumptious dinner. I was pleased to find a wonderful chardonnay from Prince Edward County on the wine list; enjoyed two! The hosts were pleasant, informed and inconspicuous.
First time Wilfrid's guest; looking forward to many happy returns.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Everything was great, however, the parking was a real issue. I think the Valet regulations should be amended during this construction. Food for thought.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Very good , friendly staff. Very comfortable ambience. Salad bar and hot food excellent. Some dessert not too fresh eg layer cake coffee? Cream puffs, the rest very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Sunday brunch was very good, if expensive. The buffet had a wide array of hot and cold foods, and a good mix among breakfast, lunch, and dessert items. Our particular server was a lot less attentive than I would expect from a fine-dining restaurant: it was generally hard to flag him down for water/coffee/juice replenishment, as well settling at the end; he seemed disinterested in our table. Overall, though, the experience (food plus ambiance) was good enough that we would go again at some point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Both my husband and I are intolerant to garlic; we were disappointed of the amount of garlic in many of the food items in the brunch menu. A high end restaurant such as Wilfrid's would have cooks who do not need to rely on garlic to create amazing tasting food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

It was our view that Wilfred's has undergone some significant changes and not for the better. The Wilfred's of yesterday is gone. The food was mediocre at best although our wait staff tried hard. This was especially disappointing since it was a special occasion. We thought it odd that for a Friday night there were so few patrons. We cannot be sure whether this had to do with just normal seasonal patterns or that our notion about deterioration in quality is shared among others. This is too bad. It used to be one of our favorite places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Wilfrid's offer a fairly decent fine dining experience in Ottawa. Food is fresh and creative and service is well above average

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

I was visiting my daughter who is attending university and meeting her boyfriend for the first time. Wilfred’s was a perfect location as it was quiet so we could actually have conversations and it felt like a treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion. Great food, direct views of Parliament Hill, and just blocks from the National Gallery of Canada.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

J'ai toujours une préférence pour ce restaurant pour les repas d'affaires.
Ambiance, choix du menu et le service impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our Valentine’s dinner was completely delicious, both for the entree I had and the vegetarian option created for my wife. The wine pairings were generous, to put it mildly. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The deserts were over the top and a great finish to a special meal. Bravo.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Simply superb. My wife and I went on Valentines Day; it was memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was creative and excellent. All of the servers were very good but, Shayla was outstanding.
We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Relax chic great for bussiness and other friendly meeting.
Excellent cuisine!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier