Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
8:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

4.4
394 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Quiet Conversation
Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 241-1414
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Louis Simard
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mackenzie and Rideau
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Fairmont Château Laurier's on-site parking garage is closed.
Valet Parking is available to all registered guests at a daily rate.
Alternate parking is available within walking distance for non-registered guests.
Additional
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 394 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

I went with a friend for the buffet breakfast. The atmosphere and service were out of this world. We talked long after we were done and did not feel pressured to leave. It was thoroughly pleasant.

For the price, I was expecting fancier fare on the buffet table. It was very average; in fact, the beans were cold. Didn’t think the food was worth the price.

Since the Chateau parking lot is closed, we had to use a nearby one. Had a $75 parking ticket when I came out. Definitely a deterrent to going back.

I did appreciate the special plate of fancy pastries they had made for my friend. It was her birthday and they did a fabulous job making it special. Thanks to the kitchen staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great service, very professional and warm. The food was amazing , I had a succulent prime rib. I would recommend for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Unfortunately not ...
Asked for a table by the window. Visited the restaurant 1 day before to ask them the same think and I was assured that I would have it. Unfortunately in an empty restaurant on a Saturday night I was offered the only one table that wasn't by the window. On the other hand, food has to be improved. The wine service and culture is below medium level. What can I say about th wine glass? Cafes in Ottawa have better wine glasses. We asked information a waiter about the breads they offered us and they knew nothing about them. At the end we went to pick our overcoats and the concierge was missing. Unacceptable! We went to the reception and they started looking for a responsible person. In a 10 minutes they found someone. Never again. I feel sorry for the money I have given. It's a pity that such a historic hotel has a restaurant that on a Saturday night didn't achieve to welcome more than 20 customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Wilfred's is our go-place for special occasions. The food is wonderful and the ambiance is historic, romantic and quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

we were all delighted with the choices on the menu, we all had different dishes, all were greatly enjoyed. Highlight was the care for the presentation of food for our 9-yr. old that accompanied us. She was thrilled

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Went here for the first time today.

Food was average nothing special.

Was expecting a bigger selection.

Staff was above average.

$33.90 including HST.

Will probably not come back.

Too expensive for what it is.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Highly recommend, great food and very cosy and nice restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

A lovely venue for intimate conversation, serenity and a scrumptious dinner. I was pleased to find a wonderful chardonnay from Prince Edward County on the wine list; enjoyed two! The hosts were pleasant, informed and inconspicuous.
First time Wilfrid's guest; looking forward to many happy returns.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Everything was great, however, the parking was a real issue. I think the Valet regulations should be amended during this construction. Food for thought.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Very good , friendly staff. Very comfortable ambience. Salad bar and hot food excellent. Some dessert not too fresh eg layer cake coffee? Cream puffs, the rest very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Sunday brunch was very good, if expensive. The buffet had a wide array of hot and cold foods, and a good mix among breakfast, lunch, and dessert items. Our particular server was a lot less attentive than I would expect from a fine-dining restaurant: it was generally hard to flag him down for water/coffee/juice replenishment, as well settling at the end; he seemed disinterested in our table. Overall, though, the experience (food plus ambiance) was good enough that we would go again at some point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Both my husband and I are intolerant to garlic; we were disappointed of the amount of garlic in many of the food items in the brunch menu. A high end restaurant such as Wilfrid's would have cooks who do not need to rely on garlic to create amazing tasting food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

It was our view that Wilfred's has undergone some significant changes and not for the better. The Wilfred's of yesterday is gone. The food was mediocre at best although our wait staff tried hard. This was especially disappointing since it was a special occasion. We thought it odd that for a Friday night there were so few patrons. We cannot be sure whether this had to do with just normal seasonal patterns or that our notion about deterioration in quality is shared among others. This is too bad. It used to be one of our favorite places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Wilfrid's offer a fairly decent fine dining experience in Ottawa. Food is fresh and creative and service is well above average

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

I was visiting my daughter who is attending university and meeting her boyfriend for the first time. Wilfred’s was a perfect location as it was quiet so we could actually have conversations and it felt like a treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion. Great food, direct views of Parliament Hill, and just blocks from the National Gallery of Canada.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

J'ai toujours une préférence pour ce restaurant pour les repas d'affaires.
Ambiance, choix du menu et le service impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our Valentine’s dinner was completely delicious, both for the entree I had and the vegetarian option created for my wife. The wine pairings were generous, to put it mildly. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The deserts were over the top and a great finish to a special meal. Bravo.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Simply superb. My wife and I went on Valentines Day; it was memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was creative and excellent. All of the servers were very good but, Shayla was outstanding.
We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Relax chic great for bussiness and other friendly meeting.
Excellent cuisine!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2018

We haven't been to the brunch at Wilfried's in a while and I must say that we were a bit disappointed. Being a couple that does not eat red meat, our choices of hot meals were very limited. At least a hot fish dish would have been appropriate instead of all the pork and beef. I overheard other people asking the chef what their options were given that they were vegetarian. While the staff were all super nice and helpful, we couldn't help but notice that there used to be nice table cloths in the past whereas this time we ate from a bare table (at least paper place mats could have been used).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Nous avons été très déçu. Nous avons attendu 25 minutes avant que quelqu'un vienne nous voir pour nous donner un verre d'eau, en précisant que notre serveur va venir nous voir bientôt...!!!! La soupe à l'oignon était trop sucrée et manquait de goüt. Les moules étaient parfaite, mon filet mignon était tiède et les frites vraiment pas attirante. Notre serveur nous a remis la facture sur le coin de la table, sans même nous remercier, nous regarder ou autre, car il était très pressé de discuter avec la table devant nous qui était un groupe, et visiblement connu de tous, car vos serveurs venaient un après l'autre pour discuter avec eux.....Nous aurions apprécié recevoir le mëme traitement à notre arrivée....et non malheureusement nous ne retournerons pas, et de plus nous fêtions l'anniversaire de mon époux...donc pas un grand succès...Merci de prendre en considération....

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The service was very poor. The waitress was rough in her manner, had too many tables and unable to provide adequate service.

We waited a long time to put our order in, and a very long time between appetizer and main course.

This place is a disappointment for a Fairmont. I see now why it is not rated as a top restaurant by Wine Spectator or American Express.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Service was great and so was the view. The food was excellent, but you may want to reconsider the height of your tables. Both my wife and I found them too high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Raving reviews from all my guests that attended Sunday brunch. We will all be going back very soon. Relaxing, Comfortable, Amazing food and variety.
The only minus is parking.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Disappointing quality of food. Extremely slow service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

We went for the Sunday brunch to celebrate an 18th birthday. We were given the window table requested, the food selection and quality was excellent, as was the friendly service. The birthday dessert plate was a nice touch. This is a fairly expensive brunch, but well worth it for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

They brought us super nice birthday dessert plate, which made our day special!
Only thing was that table was really shaky and every time we use knife, it shakes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Booked the restaurant through the Open Table App. Specifically added that it was a very special occasion, my wife’s birthday, and that we wanted a table with a view of the parliament. None of these were known by the restaurant.

Overall we enjoyed our lunch. Karl our waiter was beyond excellent; friendly, helpful, attentive, knowledgeable and informative. He was there when required but not overbearing, just right. When I told him it was my wife’s birthday Karl prepared a lovely surprise.

Comfortable surroundings and reasonably good good but not outstanding.

At the end of the lunch we were not able to order another drink and we were advised to bar called Zoe’s. We did go ther but it was cold and impersonal and we did not stay.

I asked for coffee at the end of the meal and it was served from a flask. My view test in a restaurant if this calibre my coffee would have been fresh.

I would go back for lunch but not necessarily rush there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Good and service were excellent. Decor was not bad, but for the price range and class of hotel I do expect table cloth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

We came here for my mom's 70th birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff treated us like royalty and the food was amazing! Great experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

We love going to Wilfred's because the food is terrific and the ambience is great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We have booked to have supper twice a year once on my birthday December and one in June for our anniversary. We were married at the chateau Laurier Year’s who. We have time and again asked for table by the window. I cannot count the number of times this was not fulfilled. Very sad and disappointing. Many wonderful restaurants in Ottawa. And to repeatedly not get a table by the window when it was requested at time of booking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Very quiet and the food was excellent a place to take business clients or special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Great ambiance. Service excellent, felt taken care of and special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

It was a christmas brunch with my team from work. Everyone took the buffet option. The food was really good. There was lots of choice! We received good service from the hostess, the cook, and the waitress. Everyone was satisfied with the brunch. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Both our waitress and the food were just perfect. Thx

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Service was a little slow for us, despite the restaurant being mostly empty. Rack of lamb was good but expected more for my money and could have been hotter. Premium liquor selection limited. Soup was good but garlic was very strong.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Crepes station was really good and Carl provided a fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10

Tweets by Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier