Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

Overnight self-parking is available at a rate of $30 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Valet parking is available at a rate of $43 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Please note: parking facility clearance (Height) is 1.74m (5’8’’), limited oversize parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Scenic View (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We have booked to have supper twice a year once on my birthday December and one in June for our anniversary. We were married at the chateau Laurier Year’s who. We have time and again asked for table by the window. I cannot count the number of times this was not fulfilled. Very sad and disappointing. Many wonderful restaurants in Ottawa. And to repeatedly not get a table by the window when it was requested at time of booking.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Very quiet and the food was excellent a place to take business clients or special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance. Service excellent, felt taken care of and special.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a christmas brunch with my team from work. Everyone took the buffet option. The food was really good. There was lots of choice! We received good service from the hostess, the cook, and the waitress. Everyone was satisfied with the brunch. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Both our waitress and the food were just perfect. Thx

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Service was a little slow for us, despite the restaurant being mostly empty. Rack of lamb was good but expected more for my money and could have been hotter. Premium liquor selection limited. Soup was good but garlic was very strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Crepes station was really good and Carl provided a fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2017

For the high prices I would expect better quality food. The French onion soup had no flavor and tasted like onions and water. The burger was so well done it was hard as a puck. Very disappointed a Fairmont property, served such substandard food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2017

My husband and I went back "to where it all began" to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Wilfrid's this year. Everything was as expected. The food was delicious, the ambiance was lovely, and the service was friendly and professional. The dessert our server surprised us with at the end of our meal, with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate, was the cherry on top. Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

service was exceptional , our waited asked what was going on after the meal (prior to taking our orders) and made sure we had time to get to our next venue.
The Birthday dessert was awesome, appreciated and very much enjoyed!
thanks for a memorable evening

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

We were very disappointed when looking around us at brunch. People in the jeans, workout wear, sweatpants, ball caps. This is one of the nicest, if not the nicest hotel in the downtown Ottawa area. There should be a dress code and it should be enforced by the host.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Beautifully presented, delicious food. Friendly, polite service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We were there for a birthday celebration and I could not ask for the perfect placve. Our server was amazing and if I could only pick one bad thing, was it was noisy for a while as people were standing over us and talking really loud. I asked them to move, got a weird look from them but...they did and all was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The Wilfrid is a beautiful restaurant. We got seated near the windows where the sun was shinning and warming us up on a cold November day. It was a busy Sunday afternoon for the restaurant. The waiting staff was professional and apologetic for the unusual delays. Some mistakes were made in our order but promptly addressed. But I believe the biggest disappointment was the food. It was overall underwhelming. Nothing bad but nothing to rave about. It left us with the feeling that we could of done a better job ourselves.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Horrible experience. Ordered breakfast and waited over 45 minutes for it to be served. It arrived very cold and had it sent back - was told that it would be rushed out. After waiting for an additional 15 minutes I asked to speak with the manager who said that she would look into it. When it arrived the second time, the food was even colder than it was the first time around. I asked the manager t touch the food and she was also quite disappointed in it as well. I would not expect this from a “mom and pop” shop, let alone a 5 star establishment. Highly disappointed and appalled- I would not recommend it

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We were @ Wilfrid's for a surprise wedding proposal Friday night dinner. Faviola did a wonderful job helping coordinate the surprise and making sure we had a wonderful ambiance with piano bar in background. The server, Breanna (I think)was wonderful and sensitive to our privacy and eager to share in the joy once my fiancé said yes. Faviola shared warm wishes and a heartfelt hug from both of us after dinner. The serving staff made Wilfrid's an interval part of the event and a focus for future celebrations. The prime rib was primo too, as was the special desert.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great food, awesome service and delightful atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Sister’s Bonding after surviving Breast Cancer ... Such a miracle and a great blessing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We needed a relatively quiet location with excellent food and service. This fit the bill 100% Easy to get to as we came from both ends of the city, and convenient parking as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Unfortunately, our latest experience in Wilfrid was not as perfect as usual. First, after a long time waiting while sitting at the table, bread plates were put on our table but never bread. Second, the Chicken Piccata was very tough - as if it had been heated in a microwave oven. When we reserved the table, we had indicated that we were celebrating a birthday. In the past, this was acknowledged with a small sweet on a plate with the decorative words "Happy Birthday!" None of this occurred this time.
Apart from this, we would suggest higher chairs. Although we are average height, we felt that we were uncomfortably low for eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2017

We requested a table by the window with view on Parliament Hill; we got the table at the window but our view was mostly blocked by a pillar/wall and it also felt cool in the restaurant.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Decided to celebrate my wedding with a lunch at Wilfrid's. It was fantastic. Staff were very courteous. Food was delicious. I had the pasta and my wife had the maple samon. Chef came by the table to congratulate us and send us a plate of fruits. Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 25, 2017

My wife and I chose Wilfrid’s for dinner, to celebrate our actual wedding ceremony earlier in the day. The restaurant was absolutely beautiful, and the food was quite possibly the best I’ve ever eaten (buffalo tartar & crab cakes for our appetizers, and shrimp and mussel spinach fettuccine & spice brined duck breast for our entrees). What was most impressive was that they actually read and reacted to my request (made though OpenTable) about a table further away from other tables so we could have a more private meal. We were shown around the restaurant and asked which area would most suit our needs, and after picking an area, were congratulated on our wedding. Add to that, two more members of the staff also stopped by to congratulate us. It was very thoughtful and will be another great memory of the day, aside from the wonderful food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2017

food was great (and not very large plates but way sufficient and i eat quite a bit!). our exact table was a bit annoyingly under a spot, but overall the mood is excellent (and it was still nice - just cast a whiter light than the rest.
not cheap, but it was our anniversary, and for the setting, mood, services, food, excellent wine, totally worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Always excellent service when we’ve come for the breakfast buffet and the chef behind the omelette station has always been extremely helpful and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Online I mentioned it was special occasion when I booked. But know one followed up. It was my wedding breakfast celebration. I'm not sure what was the purpose of asking if nothing is being followed through.
Our waitress was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 13, 2017

With all due respect, chefs need to get out to compare their offering against surrounding area kitchens

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Less good than the last time. The piano was very load. It was not pleasant to talk, not very quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and they prepared a special desert wishing us happy anniversary . Very classy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Dining at Wilfrid's never fails as a foodie's quest to discovery with none of the usual hardships. Food, service, comfort, view and quiet ambiance are outstanding. The bill usually breaks the bank, but that's mainly because I pull out all the stops to enjoying a memorable experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ce fût une expérience agréable pour ma nièce et moi.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Beautiful space, great view, polite and friendly staff.
Phenomenal food with great flavors!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food , good service and clean beautiful surroundings...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Desserts vraiment décevants. Tapis et chaises auraient eu besoin d'être aspirés (miettes de nourriture... et cela au début de la soirée). Le repas était bon, mais rien avoir avec Fairmont Château Montebello et le Château était moins cher.

La serveuse était très sympathique et nous avons apprécié le geste des petits desserts pour notre anniversaire de mariage. Nous étions, par contre, plutôt déçu dans l'ensemble. J'irais plutôt au Château Montebello la prochaine fois.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

An absolutely lovey experience.
Fantastic ambiance, food, and of course I had great company.
Thank you for making my birthday so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Hostess and server were very kind and attentive to very elderly patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Being vegetarian, we would have liked to see more veggie options on the menu. However, they were so accommodating that we had several additional options through their willingness to be flexible. The meals were great, the wine list was also great. Very nice, quiet, classy place with impeccable service. The staff were top notch.
We highly recommend for a lovely evening meal in this special Chateau Laurier venue. I assume all occasions and meal types would be lovely at Wilfrid's but we have not yet had the pleasure. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service and food was outstanding. Great experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

love the old world feel of the hotel and convenient location. Room was large, bathroom nice. Food and service in the dining room was excellent and we enjoyed drinks in the bar. The piano player was wonderful. We found the staff in general to be very helpful, polite including the valet parking people who were contending with a lot of confusion because of the sudden rain storm on Sun. Look forward to staying with you again. Judi and Derek Knowles

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

A stately and elegant hotel, magnificent building with marvelous views. Our room was opulent and tasteful decor that made you feel special being there. All staff extremely friendly and obliging. My choice of food at Wilfred's was divine. However the issue of basic organization needs addressing. Nowhere to sip a wine or have a cafe whilst waiting for the room. Food and wine area closed creating a crowded lobby and irritation. Told that bookings essential very busy but many empty tables seemed odd. Overall some management issues but recommend a most enjoyable stay.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.