HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

4.3
378 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (24)
  • Good for a Date (15)
  • Quiet Conversation (14)
Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 241-1414
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Louis Simard
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mackenzie and Rideau
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

Overnight self-parking is available at a rate of $30 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Valet parking is available at a rate of $43 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Please note: parking facility clearance (Height) is 1.74m (5’8’’), limited oversize parking is also available.
Additional
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 378 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner 
4.0  Dined 2 days ago

I was visiting my daughter who is attending university and meeting her boyfriend for the first time. Wilfred’s was a perfect location as it was quiet so we could actually have conversations and it felt like a treat.

Report
Helpful
TimothyR (New England)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion. Great food, direct views of Parliament Hill, and just blocks from the National Gallery of Canada.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Our Valentine’s dinner was completely delicious, both for the entree I had and the vegetarian option created for my wife. The wine pairings were generous, to put it mildly. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The deserts were over the top and a great finish to a special meal. Bravo.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Simply superb. My wife and I went on Valentines Day; it was memorable.

Report
Helpful
StephenM (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was creative and excellent. All of the servers were very good but, Shayla was outstanding.
We will be back.

Report
Helpful
GeorgesB (Montreal)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Relax chic great for bussiness and other friendly meeting.
Excellent cuisine!

Report
Helpful
Cappuccino (Ottawa)
3.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

We haven't been to the brunch at Wilfried's in a while and I must say that we were a bit disappointed. Being a couple that does not eat red meat, our choices of hot meals were very limited. At least a hot fish dish would have been appropriate instead of all the pork and beef. I overheard other people asking the chef what their options were given that they were vegetarian. While the staff were all super nice and helpful, we couldn't help but notice that there used to be nice table cloths in the past whereas this time we ate from a bare table (at least paper place mats could have been used).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
2.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Nous avons été très déçu. Nous avons attendu 25 minutes avant que quelqu'un vienne nous voir pour nous donner un verre d'eau, en précisant que notre serveur va venir nous voir bientôt...!!!! La soupe à l'oignon était trop sucrée et manquait de goüt. Les moules étaient parfaite, mon filet mignon était tiède et les frites vraiment pas attirante. Notre serveur nous a remis la facture sur le coin de la table, sans même nous remercier, nous regarder ou autre, car il était très pressé de discuter avec la table devant nous qui était un groupe, et visiblement connu de tous, car vos serveurs venaient un après l'autre pour discuter avec eux.....Nous aurions apprécié recevoir le mëme traitement à notre arrivée....et non malheureusement nous ne retournerons pas, et de plus nous fêtions l'anniversaire de mon époux...donc pas un grand succès...Merci de prendre en considération....

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
2.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

The service was very poor. The waitress was rough in her manner, had too many tables and unable to provide adequate service.

We waited a long time to put our order in, and a very long time between appetizer and main course.

This place is a disappointment for a Fairmont. I see now why it is not rated as a top restaurant by Wine Spectator or American Express.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
3.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Service was great and so was the view. The food was excellent, but you may want to reconsider the height of your tables. Both my wife and I found them too high.

Report
Helpful
Julie (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Raving reviews from all my guests that attended Sunday brunch. We will all be going back very soon. Relaxing, Comfortable, Amazing food and variety.
The only minus is parking.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Disappointing quality of food. Extremely slow service.

Report
Helpful
RHTJ (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

We went for the Sunday brunch to celebrate an 18th birthday. We were given the window table requested, the food selection and quality was excellent, as was the friendly service. The birthday dessert plate was a nice touch. This is a fairly expensive brunch, but well worth it for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

They brought us super nice birthday dessert plate, which made our day special!
Only thing was that table was really shaky and every time we use knife, it shakes.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (London)
4.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

Booked the restaurant through the Open Table App. Specifically added that it was a very special occasion, my wife’s birthday, and that we wanted a table with a view of the parliament. None of these were known by the restaurant.

Overall we enjoyed our lunch. Karl our waiter was beyond excellent; friendly, helpful, attentive, knowledgeable and informative. He was there when required but not overbearing, just right. When I told him it was my wife’s birthday Karl prepared a lovely surprise.

Comfortable surroundings and reasonably good good but not outstanding.

At the end of the lunch we were not able to order another drink and we were advised to bar called Zoe’s. We did go ther but it was cold and impersonal and we did not stay.

I asked for coffee at the end of the meal and it was served from a flask. My view test in a restaurant if this calibre my coffee would have been fresh.

I would go back for lunch but not necessarily rush there.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Good and service were excellent. Decor was not bad, but for the price range and class of hotel I do expect table cloth.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

We came here for my mom's 70th birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff treated us like royalty and the food was amazing! Great experience!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

We love going to Wilfred's because the food is terrific and the ambience is great.

Report
Helpful
Rose (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

We have booked to have supper twice a year once on my birthday December and one in June for our anniversary. We were married at the chateau Laurier Year’s who. We have time and again asked for table by the window. I cannot count the number of times this was not fulfilled. Very sad and disappointing. Many wonderful restaurants in Ottawa. And to repeatedly not get a table by the window when it was requested at time of booking.

Report
Helpful
vipEdJack (Miami)
4.0  Dined on December 8, 2017

Very quiet and the food was excellent a place to take business clients or special occasion

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

Great ambiance. Service excellent, felt taken care of and special.

Report
Helpful
Natasha (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

It was a christmas brunch with my team from work. Everyone took the buffet option. The food was really good. There was lots of choice! We received good service from the hostess, the cook, and the waitress. Everyone was satisfied with the brunch. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Both our waitress and the food were just perfect. Thx

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
4.0  Dined on December 1, 2017

Service was a little slow for us, despite the restaurant being mostly empty. Rack of lamb was good but expected more for my money and could have been hotter. Premium liquor selection limited. Soup was good but garlic was very strong.

Report
Helpful
vipKayab783 (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on November 30, 2017

Crepes station was really good and Carl provided a fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Calgary)
3.0  Dined on November 27, 2017

For the high prices I would expect better quality food. The French onion soup had no flavor and tasted like onions and water. The burger was so well done it was hard as a puck. Very disappointed a Fairmont property, served such substandard food.

Report
Helpful
NicoleF (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

My husband and I went back "to where it all began" to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Wilfrid's this year. Everything was as expected. The food was delicious, the ambiance was lovely, and the service was friendly and professional. The dessert our server surprised us with at the end of our meal, with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate, was the cherry on top. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

service was exceptional , our waited asked what was going on after the meal (prior to taking our orders) and made sure we had time to get to our next venue.
The Birthday dessert was awesome, appreciated and very much enjoyed!
thanks for a memorable evening

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
3.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

We were very disappointed when looking around us at brunch. People in the jeans, workout wear, sweatpants, ball caps. This is one of the nicest, if not the nicest hotel in the downtown Ottawa area. There should be a dress code and it should be enforced by the host.

Report
Helpful
Cath (Ottawa)
5.0  Dined on November 22, 2017

Beautifully presented, delicious food. Friendly, polite service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13