Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

Overnight self-parking is available at a rate of $30 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Valet parking is available at a rate of $43 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Please note: parking facility clearance (Height) is 1.74m (5’8’’), limited oversize parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Scenic View (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

food was great (and not very large plates but way sufficient and i eat quite a bit!). our exact table was a bit annoyingly under a spot, but overall the mood is excellent (and it was still nice - just cast a whiter light than the rest.
not cheap, but it was our anniversary, and for the setting, mood, services, food, excellent wine, totally worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent service when we’ve come for the breakfast buffet and the chef behind the omelette station has always been extremely helpful and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Online I mentioned it was special occasion when I booked. But know one followed up. It was my wedding breakfast celebration. I'm not sure what was the purpose of asking if nothing is being followed through.
Our waitress was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 13, 2017

With all due respect, chefs need to get out to compare their offering against surrounding area kitchens

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Less good than the last time. The piano was very load. It was not pleasant to talk, not very quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and they prepared a special desert wishing us happy anniversary . Very classy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Dining at Wilfrid's never fails as a foodie's quest to discovery with none of the usual hardships. Food, service, comfort, view and quiet ambiance are outstanding. The bill usually breaks the bank, but that's mainly because I pull out all the stops to enjoying a memorable experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ce fût une expérience agréable pour ma nièce et moi.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Beautiful space, great view, polite and friendly staff.
Phenomenal food with great flavors!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food , good service and clean beautiful surroundings...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Desserts vraiment décevants. Tapis et chaises auraient eu besoin d'être aspirés (miettes de nourriture... et cela au début de la soirée). Le repas était bon, mais rien avoir avec Fairmont Château Montebello et le Château était moins cher.

La serveuse était très sympathique et nous avons apprécié le geste des petits desserts pour notre anniversaire de mariage. Nous étions, par contre, plutôt déçu dans l'ensemble. J'irais plutôt au Château Montebello la prochaine fois.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

An absolutely lovey experience.
Fantastic ambiance, food, and of course I had great company.
Thank you for making my birthday so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Hostess and server were very kind and attentive to very elderly patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Being vegetarian, we would have liked to see more veggie options on the menu. However, they were so accommodating that we had several additional options through their willingness to be flexible. The meals were great, the wine list was also great. Very nice, quiet, classy place with impeccable service. The staff were top notch.
We highly recommend for a lovely evening meal in this special Chateau Laurier venue. I assume all occasions and meal types would be lovely at Wilfrid's but we have not yet had the pleasure. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service and food was outstanding. Great experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

love the old world feel of the hotel and convenient location. Room was large, bathroom nice. Food and service in the dining room was excellent and we enjoyed drinks in the bar. The piano player was wonderful. We found the staff in general to be very helpful, polite including the valet parking people who were contending with a lot of confusion because of the sudden rain storm on Sun. Look forward to staying with you again. Judi and Derek Knowles

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

A stately and elegant hotel, magnificent building with marvelous views. Our room was opulent and tasteful decor that made you feel special being there. All staff extremely friendly and obliging. My choice of food at Wilfred's was divine. However the issue of basic organization needs addressing. Nowhere to sip a wine or have a cafe whilst waiting for the room. Food and wine area closed creating a crowded lobby and irritation. Told that bookings essential very busy but many empty tables seemed odd. Overall some management issues but recommend a most enjoyable stay.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were unfortunately seated at the very back of the restaurant, right next to the bussing station - despite the fact that the place was empty (and didn't fill up to more than 25% in the three hours that we were there). Thanks to our less than desirable location, we had a pair of flies accompany us through every course. The menu is out-dated (the dishes are very rich and heavy), and while most of the preparations were technically (very) well executed, the spinach fettucine was far both undercooked and too thick to be enjoyable - we were not surprised to notice that a neighbouring table also left the entire portion of the fettucine on their plate. On the bright side, our server was pleasant and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were having lunch celebrating our wedding day. The ambiance, food and service was excellent. Dave, our waiter, was kind, prompt and made the day very special for us with surprise champagne and dessert. It will always be special for us to remember celebrating here with our family.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 3, 2017

David our server made thecwholecevening most enjoyable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

We loved all of the soups particularly...delicious to the point of exquisite!
Service was wonderful
Steak was cooked medium as requested on the outside but was rare on the inside. All seafood was golorious but for one funky shrimp.
Thank you...we plan on celebrating all of our anniversaries at the Chateau Laurier. Xoxo

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We switched our reservation to 10;30 so we could enjoy brunch. The food was amazing. Jimmy at the omlet, crepe station made a special crepe for my birthday. Service was impeccable and the experience set just the right tone for a Birthday celebration.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beautiful ambiance and great décor... very formal but also intimate. The menu was slightly limited, but the food quality was very good. Service as OK but passed muster. Wine selection was above average.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We enjoyed our food immensely however we found the prime rib option to be on the thin side for the price. Also for just under $50 we would expect more than 5 green beans and a ladle of very mashed potatoes. Combined with the rather thin slice of beef, it did not seem to measure up for the price. Not that what we had wasn't good, just perhaps not the best value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I hold business meetings there weekly with my clients a great way to Impress.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Waterfront, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I decided to reserve a table at Wilfred's for a triple birthday with three friends. We usually meet at different restaurants in Ottawa, but I had not been to Wilfred's in about 15 years...
We loved the quietness of the restaurant ...we find that in most restaurants it is difficult to have a conversation as the noise levels are so high...
The waitress was lovely and attentive, the food delicious and we will come back again in the future.
Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday brunch at Wilfrid's is a must for anyone visiting Ottawa. There is a wide selection of exceptional food that is sure to satisfy the most finicky palates. The service is excellent, with staff being attentive but not intrusive. Definitely, recommend adding the Sunday brunch to your travel itinerary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good food. Very good value for your money. Excellent service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Everything was excellent.
Felt sorry for the struggling Junior Chef who had to cover for a senior 'no-show'

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Made Brunch reservation for 2 for 12:30pm seating for Sun July 2 2017. This was reserved directly on Wilfred's web site on Apr 3, 2017, the price was $44 dollars per person.
Received Email Confirmation # 805313171 Apr 3 2017 for 12:30pm Brunch seating on July 2 2017.
Received Reservation Reminder on July 1 for Brunch for 2 at 12:30pm on July 2 2017.
My wife checked Wilfreds web site for pricing on July 1 2017 and Brunch was listed for $44 per person.
Arrived 12:10pm on July 2nd with reservation in hand and Reservation Reminder on cell phone and was told there was NO 12:30 seating and my reservation did not exist.
The Hostess said they could accommodate us, there was limited seating available and we were placed directly beside a group of 9 adults. This table of 9 were very loud and noisey. They received good service while I had to ask to get a glass of water refilled.
When we received the bill we were completely shocked when the charge was $72 dollars per person.
We have been to the Chateau Laurier many time for vacations, brunch and Afternoon Tea.
This was by far the one of the worst experiences we have had at this Excellent Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic food. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We found the service excellent and little wait time. The mussels were delicious as was the rest of our meal. Very pleased with this location.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I had the good fortune to take my mother, her good friend and my partner to Wilfred's for lunch on June 26 and was delighted with the ambiance, the excellent quality of the food and the attention to detail, as well as the excellent, friendly service.

My mother is tough to feed (her palate is a bit old school British) so I really appreciated that the offerings were classic but very high quality - which meant that my mother could feel the comfort that she needed from her meal (prime rib sandwich and stellar kettle chips) and my partner and I could enjoy the creative touches (pickled carrot on the salmon gravlax was excellent).

The highlight for me though was the visit to the table from chef John. It was most appreciated that on the day the patio opened, he took the time to come and greet us.

What a special meal - and one that none of us are soon to forget!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was excellent but I found the service not that good. Waited quite some time for our main course. Waiter never came back to refill our water. Took time to get our bill and also for waiter to come back so I can pay. For such a grand hotel I expected top notch service but did not receive that. I would still try this restaurant again just in case it was a flux or off day for the restaurant as the food and drinks were excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It is always excellent but the prices have risen more than I expected

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good location, surprisingly good food. Service was good when it happened but there were delays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Each time we dine at Wilfrid's, we enjoy our meal and have never been disappointed. Fine dining at its best.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service in a quiet and comfortable setting. What more can you ask?

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I did my research for my wife's birthday, which needs to be kid friendly, parking in door, good food/service and romantic all together. I was glad and my family are happy!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Chateau Laurier is historic and beautiful and Wilfrid's is tucked inside. We booked it for Sunday brunch at 11:00, arriving just before the crowd. The buffet was sumptuous, with a chef for omelettes and a fabulous dessert table with lots of chocolate. I saved two chocolate lollipops in my purse. Our service was outstanding - friendly and courteous, always ready but not officious. Our table for four had comfortable stuffed chairs on the outside wall for viewing the river. It was perfect for a memorable experience of Ottawa.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.