Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

Overnight self-parking is available at a rate of $30 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Valet parking is available at a rate of $43 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Please note: parking facility clearance (Height) is 1.74m (5’8’’), limited oversize parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (13)
Scenic View (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent but I found the service not that good. Waited quite some time for our main course. Waiter never came back to refill our water. Took time to get our bill and also for waiter to come back so I can pay. For such a grand hotel I expected top notch service but did not receive that. I would still try this restaurant again just in case it was a flux or off day for the restaurant as the food and drinks were excellent

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 6 days ago

It is always excellent but the prices have risen more than I expected

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good location, surprisingly good food. Service was good when it happened but there were delays.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Each time we dine at Wilfrid's, we enjoy our meal and have never been disappointed. Fine dining at its best.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service in a quiet and comfortable setting. What more can you ask?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I did my research for my wife's birthday, which needs to be kid friendly, parking in door, good food/service and romantic all together. I was glad and my family are happy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Chateau Laurier is historic and beautiful and Wilfrid's is tucked inside. We booked it for Sunday brunch at 11:00, arriving just before the crowd. The buffet was sumptuous, with a chef for omelettes and a fabulous dessert table with lots of chocolate. I saved two chocolate lollipops in my purse. Our service was outstanding - friendly and courteous, always ready but not officious. Our table for four had comfortable stuffed chairs on the outside wall for viewing the river. It was perfect for a memorable experience of Ottawa.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our experience here was for a special family birthday lunch. The food was very good and we had the great view and ambiance to be able to have a great chat. Karl our server was great and allowed us to take our time and provided excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a special occasion and what better way to dine than in the famous Chateau Laurier overlooking the Parliament buildings. The room was elegant and the service was top notch. The lunch had a good selection of meals to choose from and we both had the prime rib sandwich. It was delicious and generous in size. My sister never really dined in a place like this before so she was thrilled!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The ribeye steak was tough and chewy, also felt it was very overpriced at $68.00.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

the atmosphere was good the steaks and service was excellent.we will return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We chose this restaurant for the view of Parliament and were very pleased with the food, ambiance and great service. It's not an inexpensive restaurant but it is well worth its price.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing service, food and ambiance! For sure will go back from Sunday morning brunch

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

very special ambience, good wine list and great food not rushed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic food. This restaurant is great! really enjoyed the meal & their seafood chowder was exceptional, highly recommend it. The glassware could have been fancier & the wait between each course was somewhat long however in all fairness the quality of the food made us forget all that. Nice place to go to for a relaxing dinner time over great food especially when with great company!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The dining room is tastefully decorated and the lighting is very intimate for dinner. We were given a fabulous table looking out at the Parliament buildings. The service was excellent from start to finish. Very friendly and always there when needed. The food was outstanding. One mains was the lamb. It has be one of the most tender servings ever. I have no idea how it can be so flavourful and tender. The second main was foie gras stuffed quail. Simply wonderful. Nice selection of wines and a great recommendation by the server. A wonderful meal and experience overall.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

what a lovely surprise.. I live in Ottawa and have been to Zoes (the lounge at the Fairmont) many times but never realized that just around the corner from there was a beautiful ambience and dining experience at Wilfreds. Will definitely go back.. and hope to try out the brunch one day soon !

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wilfred's is amazing every time. Food is top quality and served beautifully. You can dress up or come as you are and you will be treated exactly the same. Yes, it's a bit pricey, but so worth it and no more than many other restaurants in the area. The article char is so good I find myself ordering it every time. The prime rib, or duck or quale are also just perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ambiance and service were very good. The food was plated well and tasty but although the main entrees (fish) were served hot, the sides on the same plate were only warm. The appetizer should have been served hot and it was only like warm as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was good. Nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Lovely old world elegance, food solidly good (not amazing but very good). Great place for a breakfast buffet for co-workers. We had a great time

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Historic, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for brunch buffet, it was so good! Great atmosphere, Great views, great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited Wilfred's for our very first time. It was Valentine's Day, so we were celebrating a special occasion. All of the staff, host, waiter, and everyone else did an amazing job. Great service for sure. The food was phenomenal! I actually couldn't get enough. The ambiance of the restaurant was really nice, too. Our table had a great view of the peace tower on Parliament Hill. I thought eh restaurant would be super busy since it was Feb 14. Even though all the tables were full, it was still realistically quiet and service was still fantastic. Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a special night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The overall experience was positive, however there is room for improvement. As expected the price for a lunch meal is very high given the locale. The service was helpful but infrequent. The quality of the food was not outstanding and the temperature of the two main course meal showed that one item had been sitting around for a while during the time the other order was being prepared. The dish was far too cool to appreciate it and the steak frites was a dissappointment. This is not satisfactory for a location that prides itself on a high-end dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Every visit to Wilfrid's is a memorable occasion. The food is always top notch and the servers, Karl and Josée, are the best. We look forward to our next visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Historic and superlative in ambiance and service. This is where you take those you care the most about. Tales and bow ties optional.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Husband's fish dinner good. My prime rib was on the tough side .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I brought my friend to Wilfrid's for her birthday. It was her first visit for the Sat. Morning brunch, and she loved it. The food was great, the service was great and she was blessed. Keep up the good work!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. Classy, elegant atmosphere. Impeccable, caring service. Food is always great and one of the best places in Ottawa. Perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion or a special date.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place. Only downside was my juice glass was dirty. They replaced it right away.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was second to none. Staff went out of their way to make a specially requested beverage. Kept our beverages topped up without us even having to ask. Fabulous wait staff and outstanding variety of food for the brunch buffet.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place to go for Sunday brunch. You have plenty of food, including delicious traditional English bread and butter pudding and live cooking experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our service from taking our coats to giving them back was uniformly excellent. Not sure how it could be improved upon. The setting is something of a tradition for our family. Excellent table with a view of Parliament.

i would normally rate the food outstanding. But on this visit the eggs benedict were a little tired from being under the heat too long and the desert table had been devastated when we went to serve ourselves.

Very small criticisms for your benefit. We will be back for Sunday brunch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We did the Breakfast Buffet on New Year's Day. The food was lovely and the service was excellent. The Maple Crèpes are a must try! We were reserved at 10 a.m. and the buffet closed at 10:30 a.m. If we had known this ahead of time we would have booked earlier in order to get the best value for our money. The buffet is about $30 each, thus we had wished we had eaten more for the cost. But the food was delicious and we did enjoy ourselves.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An excellent lunch with varied menu. Superb cuisine, expertly prepared. Relaxed atmosphere, not rushed. Beautiful view on a snowy afternoon. Fabulous, attentive service by our server, who effortlessly carried on her duties while amiably chatting with members of our party. She seems to genuinely love her work. A wonderful afternoon for us and for family members visiting from out of town. We felt at ease lingering over coffee and dessert. There was no rush to encourage us to exit quickly. Would highly recommend Wilfrid's Restaurant for a leisurely lunch or dinner with an excellent menu of perfectly-prepared dishes. Lovely quiet atmosphere conducive to easy conversation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server , Patricia ? was pleasant , friendly and did an excellent job, however ,perhaps out of her control, service was slow. Funny thing, we thought we were going for brunch. We had it before and our family totally had enjoyed that experience. Thank you and wishing you all the best for 2017!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Highly recommend for a special occasion. Excellent service, quiet, and delicious food. Would have enjoyed some subtle background music. Prime rib was served exactly to my taste and could almost be cut with a fork it was so tender. My only negative was that I found the creme Brule, although delicious tasting, to be overly sweet for my taste. Overall a wonderful evening, thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Les prix demandés sont exagérés compte tenu de la qualité de la nourriture. Présentations originales mais la fraîcheur n'est pas toujours au rendez vous (au niveau des fruits de mer , congelés, et poissons notamment). Desserts décevants également. On s'attend à des prix élevés dans un hôtel 5 étoiles mais la qualité de la prestation culinaire devrait être au rendez vous.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A real gem. Always top notch service and superior food. Our waiter went above and beyond!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

During Christmas I always go with different friends. This year I went twice. First visit was great as was the second one. Both were Christmas lunches but I ordered a la carte. The buffet is too expensive for the little bit that I can eat. First visit I had the Lobster Cobb salad and it was offered to me 1/2 the size...and boy was it good. Today I had the salmon burger. MmmMmm....both friends I went with enjoyed their buffets.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.