About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning newly renovated restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast (Buffet until 10:30 a.m. and à la carte):
Monday to Friday - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Sunday - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday Tuesday - 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. an 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

- Indoor valet parking: $43 CAD/night with unlimited access
- Indoor self parking: $30 CAD/night with unlimited access

Prices do not include taxes and are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meatloaf And Seafood Chowder
  • Afternoon Tea/High Tea
  • Off The Menu/One Off
  • strawberry shortcake
Meatloaf And Seafood Chowder
Afternoon Tea/High Tea
Off The Menu/One Off
strawberry shortcake

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
1 More
Most Booked
Ottawa / Gatineau

Special Occasion (49)
Great for Brunch (31)
Scenic View (27)
See All
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Gazpacho was good but $14 was way too ex ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Gazpacho was good but $14 was way too expensive for a soup. Venison was tender but Rosti was hard. Chocolate Pave was tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is overpriced and rides ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant is overpriced and rides on the reputation of the hotel's history. Menu for lunch is limited and not especially imaginative. Not much flair. A missed opportunity to show-case Canadian cuisine and local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food very good and excellent service and ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food very good and excellent service and of course the hotel is magnificent!

However the food price was way over the top. $38 for a small pice of fish and veg and no potatoes or rice!

Deserts were good value!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very friendly and courteous server and g ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very friendly and courteous server and great view on the Rideau Canal. Nice to watch sunset through the windows on a hot summer day in an air-conditioned dining room with calm atmosphere.

I had an excellent duck breast for dinner.

To sum up: great and elegant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was more than pleasantly surprised fir ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was more than pleasantly surprised first by the number of reminders about the reservation, then by the service from the a staff. The food was exquisite. I always judge by what I might be able to prepare at home and this was superior. I was convinced to choose the special of the day (fish) by the mouth watering description from the waiter. I would definitely recommend this for special occasions. The prices although reasonable for the quality of establishment, is a bit high for everyday dining. Although we didn't have room for desert, the waiter brought us a selection of chocolates with "Congratulations" written on the plate. A wonderful touch and great send-off for my retiring friend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found for the price of the breakfast b ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I found for the price of the breakfast buffet that there was not a good selection of foods,

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This was a very poor experience for us. ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was a very poor experience for us. I had notified Wilfrids this was for our 15th wedding anniversary. The waiter we had was curt bordering on rude and the table we were assigned was between window staring at a wall while 90% of the restaurant stood empty. Based on this experience I would not return nor recommend their establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

We were celebrating the 50th anniversary ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were celebrating the 50th anniversary of our guests. I was pleased the restaurant accommodated my request for a table with a view of the Parliament buildings - quite a treat for our guests. There are few restaurants these days where the acoustics for hearing impaired people are this good. Very attractively appointed room, as well.

The rainbow trout and the venison were excellent, and to be recommended.

The restaurant is pricey but worth it for such a special occasion. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food did not justify the price by an ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food did not justify the price by any means. A discouraging scent preceding an absolutely dreadful taste accompanied the food. The food came in a substantially small serving size, yet again failing to justify its price. Noise quality was a hinderance to our enjoyment as well, seeing as how there were loud guests surrounding us, conversing over topics not suitable for our children to hear. An overall bad experience that was marred by the points discussed and one that I would not recommend to my friends or even my worst enemies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Ambience and service excellent. I found ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Ambience and service excellent. I found the clam chowder saltier than I like but still good. My rare roast beef was medium+ and my guest's medium steak was closer to well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service a little spotty - soup brought o ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service a little spotty - soup brought out, no soup spoons until asked. Tried ordering two different half bottles of wine, both were out. Food very good, even if menu seemed a little heavy for mid-summer dining. Comfortable seating, lots of space, quiet music. Great location, enjoyed a nice walk on Parliament Hill afterwards.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Just a very special place that we will a ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Just a very special place that we will always remember, for our vacation to Ottawa.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wilfrid has been my favorite restaurant ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wilfrid has been my favorite restaurant forever. Experienced on different types of occasions - casual as well as formal: and my rating... Always ... as Dun & Bradstreet might say... AAAAA-1 - on all counts. I will eat at Wilfrid's as often as I can. Expensive - NO - Worth every penny of whatever cost involved.

I only wish some patrons would dress a little better. Sunday Brunch - shorts and baseball caps... not suitable in my book. The Château has more class than that - and the dress issue is not a code - it's simply respect.

Love the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Wilfred a few times - will ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I've been to Wilfred a few times - will recommend this restaurant to anyone. Excellent breakfast buffet selection, great ambiance and outstanding service. def will come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a nice brunch but not great. If yo ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is a nice brunch but not great. If you want a nice quiet lunch and a visit of a historic place which is the Chateau Laurier , then it's fine , otherwise you will easily find better at a better price elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We spent a lovely evening celebrating ou ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We spent a lovely evening celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary back at the same hotel where we held our wedding reception. The ambiance remains fresh and current. And more importantly, the service was excellent … the tempo of service, interaction with server, presentation and taste of each plate … all wonderful. Special thank you goes out to our server, Jacinthe.

We choose to celebrate this special occasion at Wilfrid’s based on an expectation. Great food, great service, in a wonderful setting. We were not disappointed.

We will be back soon, especially for an opportunity to sit out on the terrace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

we were told our food was over cooked in ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we were told our food was over cooked in the kitchen, had to wait another 30 minutes. I paid for everything, and when I checked out there was a mystery 250 dollar charge to my room from restaurant. unacceptable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

My fiancee and I had a romantic and memo ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiancee and I had a romantic and memorable Canada Day dinner together at Wilfrid's this year, and we hope to be back next year for Canada's 150th.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for the Canada Day Buffet. ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were there for the Canada Day Buffet. $65 each and quite average. Very disappointing. Good service but the food was not up to our standard. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

We live within walking distance and enjo ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We live within walking distance and enjoy Wilfrid's quiet ambiance and excellent service. We did find the new summer menu a bit limited but our choice of Prime Rib was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Excellent ambian ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and service. Excellent ambiance. One of the best fine dining spots in Ottawa.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fabulous, food was amazing, ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was fabulous, food was amazing, atmosphere was perfect. Will be back again and again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The standard of service and food quality ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The standard of service and food quality is always predictable, very good. Food choices on this occasion (and my family has been many times ) was the Duck (tender and flavourful according to the two who chose this main course), and the other person had the Pickerel, served with a lovely bean accompaniment (very good - would have again). Appetizers; salad, crab cakes, and an interesting cod dish (ceviche) were great choices to interest all palates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unpretentious but elegant with wonderful ...

 
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unpretentious but elegant with wonderful quality food and a view to die for. Always a special, memorable experience. The attentive and skilled servers considerably enhance the already exceptional experience. A world class experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our meal was very enjoyable because of t ...

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our meal was very enjoyable because of the great service and the food being so good. We would gladly go back in the future

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Made a special night even more special

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellence is the word used to describe this restaurant. Not only is it a superb fine dining establishment, it has a very comfortable feel to it. Well done, everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Failed to live up to expectations

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here while in Ottawa celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The Chateau Laurier is a beautiful building in the heart of Ottawa. The location and aesthetics cannot be beat. I was perplexed why, on one of the busiest nights in Ottawa, the restaurant was largely vacant.

I cannot knock the service, our waiter Alex was superb and very attentive. The food was acceptable but it seemed to lack that extra oomph I would expect from a fine restaurant, especially one in such a fine location in such a wonderful city.

I can't say the food was bad. In fact it was quite good, but I had higher expectations than just good.

We chose the Table d'hote offered for the evening. I chose the chicken while my wife chose the pickerel. The opening beet salad was the most memorable part of the meal. The presentation of this dish was very well done.

The entrees were adequate with little to remarkable in the way of presentation one way or the other.

The dessert was a disjointed collection of banana flavors and chocolate. Presentation was lacking. The flavors were delicious on their own but did not combine well in the final dish.

The next day's lunch, stumbled across in a far more rustic setting, turned out to be the memorable meal of the trip.

I had difficulty with picking something to specifically recommend about this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We went to Wilfrid's for my husband's 60 ...

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to Wilfrid's for my husband's 60th birthday. We were a group of 7 who went for the buffet breakfast on Saturday morning. All 7 loved the food and the ambiance and everyone want to return in the near future. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a large bus load of US Seniors ...

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

There was a large bus load of US Seniors in for the weekend, the decor seemed to fit this group. The food was good but not great for a Fairmont Property. With all the terrific restaurants in Ottawa it might be a long time until I visit this one again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing breakfast buffet experience! Wil ...

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing breakfast buffet experience! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our occasion was a girls get-away weeken ...

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our occasion was a girls get-away weekend - mother, daughters, granddaughter. It was a highlight of our visit to Ottawa to go out for breakfast in such a historic building and beautiful location. My granddaughter (13) was especially delighted - her first time at such an elegant restaurant. It came recommended to me by a friend who lives in Ottawa and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting our capital.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friends from the UK were truly impre ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our friends from the UK were truly impressed by the elegance of the hotel and the cuisine, particularly the food presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent spot overlooking the Rideau Ca ...

 
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent spot overlooking the Rideau Canal and Parliament in Ottawa. Food was amazing, absolutely recommend the Dry Aged Tenderloin! Quiet, calm and a perfect place to hammer out an excellent close to a long-day of meetings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So-So

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Total paid $180 for Wilfrid. I was expecting something as better for Mothers' Brunch. It wasn't worth $180 + $12 for my mimosa. We might go back for a normal brunch à la carte.

Total paid $240 in the ballroom for a previous Easter Brunch, that was worth $240. That we would try again. That was special.

So this time it was so-so. I was disappointed for the price paid, the so-so food and the traffic around the tables. And I was disappointed to be billed in advance, more than before, after our disappointment.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great mother's day/birthday spot

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the service here. Our waitress was so nice and accommodating. I told her that it was my mother's birthday and she later came out with a special dessert plate for her. The food was delicious - especially the crepes. The chef was also super kid-friendly and interactive. He does a build-your-own crepe and omelette bar during the buffet breakfast. Would definitely come back again and recommend it to others!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Breakfast Buffet

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

8 of us went for the breakfast buffet this past weekend. It was amazing! So many sweet and savoury options. Probably the best breakfast buffet in town. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

 
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Important occasion marred by attitude of greeter

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I went to Wilfrid's to celebrate our relationship in advance of most of a month during which we would be travelling separately.

Unfortunately, the person acting as hostess had the approach of a security guard trying to keep the riff-raff out, both upon our arrival and at departure. It significantly dampened what would otherwise have been a pleasantly memorable occasion.

We are not sure whether this approach is based on instructions she received, or was something she assumed on her own initiative. In either case, customer service training and supervision are called for...

Our waitress was wonderful and attentive. She almost rescued the situation for us, but we still left feeling hurt by the overall experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Start

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there for breakfast before an event downtown and it proved to be a wonderful prelude for the day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.