About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

Overnight self-parking is available at a rate of $30 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Valet parking is available at a rate of $43 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Please note: parking facility clearance (Height) is 1.74m (5’8’’), limited oversize parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Scenic View (18)
See All
Historic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Cozy (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (10)
Healthy (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Waterfront (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was good. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely old world elegance, food solidly good (not amazing but very good). Great place for a breakfast buffet for co-workers. We had a great time

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for brunch buffet, it was so good! Great atmosphere, Great views, great service!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited Wilfred's for our very first time. It was Valentine's Day, so we were celebrating a special occasion. All of the staff, host, waiter, and everyone else did an amazing job. Great service for sure. The food was phenomenal! I actually couldn't get enough. The ambiance of the restaurant was really nice, too. Our table had a great view of the peace tower on Parliament Hill. I thought eh restaurant would be super busy since it was Feb 14. Even though all the tables were full, it was still realistically quiet and service was still fantastic. Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The overall experience was positive, however there is room for improvement. As expected the price for a lunch meal is very high given the locale. The service was helpful but infrequent. The quality of the food was not outstanding and the temperature of the two main course meal showed that one item had been sitting around for a while during the time the other order was being prepared. The dish was far too cool to appreciate it and the steak frites was a dissappointment. This is not satisfactory for a location that prides itself on a high-end dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Every visit to Wilfrid's is a memorable occasion. The food is always top notch and the servers, Karl and Josée, are the best. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Historic and superlative in ambiance and service. This is where you take those you care the most about. Tales and bow ties optional.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Husband's fish dinner good. My prime rib was on the tough side .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I brought my friend to Wilfrid's for her birthday. It was her first visit for the Sat. Morning brunch, and she loved it. The food was great, the service was great and she was blessed. Keep up the good work!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. Classy, elegant atmosphere. Impeccable, caring service. Food is always great and one of the best places in Ottawa. Perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion or a special date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place. Only downside was my juice glass was dirty. They replaced it right away.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was second to none. Staff went out of their way to make a specially requested beverage. Kept our beverages topped up without us even having to ask. Fabulous wait staff and outstanding variety of food for the brunch buffet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place to go for Sunday brunch. You have plenty of food, including delicious traditional English bread and butter pudding and live cooking experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our service from taking our coats to giving them back was uniformly excellent. Not sure how it could be improved upon. The setting is something of a tradition for our family. Excellent table with a view of Parliament.

i would normally rate the food outstanding. But on this visit the eggs benedict were a little tired from being under the heat too long and the desert table had been devastated when we went to serve ourselves.

Very small criticisms for your benefit. We will be back for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We did the Breakfast Buffet on New Year's Day. The food was lovely and the service was excellent. The Maple Crèpes are a must try! We were reserved at 10 a.m. and the buffet closed at 10:30 a.m. If we had known this ahead of time we would have booked earlier in order to get the best value for our money. The buffet is about $30 each, thus we had wished we had eaten more for the cost. But the food was delicious and we did enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An excellent lunch with varied menu. Superb cuisine, expertly prepared. Relaxed atmosphere, not rushed. Beautiful view on a snowy afternoon. Fabulous, attentive service by our server, who effortlessly carried on her duties while amiably chatting with members of our party. She seems to genuinely love her work. A wonderful afternoon for us and for family members visiting from out of town. We felt at ease lingering over coffee and dessert. There was no rush to encourage us to exit quickly. Would highly recommend Wilfrid's Restaurant for a leisurely lunch or dinner with an excellent menu of perfectly-prepared dishes. Lovely quiet atmosphere conducive to easy conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server , Patricia ? was pleasant , friendly and did an excellent job, however ,perhaps out of her control, service was slow. Funny thing, we thought we were going for brunch. We had it before and our family totally had enjoyed that experience. Thank you and wishing you all the best for 2017!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Highly recommend for a special occasion. Excellent service, quiet, and delicious food. Would have enjoyed some subtle background music. Prime rib was served exactly to my taste and could almost be cut with a fork it was so tender. My only negative was that I found the creme Brule, although delicious tasting, to be overly sweet for my taste. Overall a wonderful evening, thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Les prix demandés sont exagérés compte tenu de la qualité de la nourriture. Présentations originales mais la fraîcheur n'est pas toujours au rendez vous (au niveau des fruits de mer , congelés, et poissons notamment). Desserts décevants également. On s'attend à des prix élevés dans un hôtel 5 étoiles mais la qualité de la prestation culinaire devrait être au rendez vous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A real gem. Always top notch service and superior food. Our waiter went above and beyond!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

During Christmas I always go with different friends. This year I went twice. First visit was great as was the second one. Both were Christmas lunches but I ordered a la carte. The buffet is too expensive for the little bit that I can eat. First visit I had the Lobster Cobb salad and it was offered to me 1/2 the size...and boy was it good. Today I had the salmon burger. MmmMmm....both friends I went with enjoyed their buffets.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Loud couple at the table next to me using a cell phone with speaker when I first arrived. Not sure how such terrible and inconsiderate behaviour should be managed but fortunately they didn't stay long. Otherwise, it was a wonderful occasion. Staff at front desk upon arrival were marvelous and our server was equally as nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Historic, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A nice welcome at our arrival! Thank you for your great service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were there for both breakfast and dinner and the food and service during both meals were excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Nous avons apprécié les attentions de notre serveuse et le petit gâteau spécial pour l'anniversaire de naissance de mon épouse.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food, ambiance and the service was impeccable! We were a group of 7 local women gathering for a pre-Christmas special get-together. Chose Wilfred's for it's location, Christmas tree display and proximity to the Parliament Buildings to see the special Christmas light display.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Brought my friend out for Christmas before she took off for the holidays and it was an unforgettable experience. The food and service were simply amazing and was reasonably priced for the quality of the experience. Beautifully decorated for the holiday season!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The crabcake were luke warm and tasteless and the vegetables served with the arctic char were cold (potatoes). I was very disappointed in the lacklustre Christmas décor in the room and on the exterior of the Chateau. You really need to up your game. I would not return and would not recommend. The positive was the staff were wonderful and attentive and very pleasant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A surprise to see the lunch brunch on the menu on Saturday. It was wonderful! Service was exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Very attentive and knowledgeable serving staff. Great food and beautiful building and location. Thumbs up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Four friends meeting 3 times per year for the last four years for brunch.

The last 2 visits were disappointing : very basic salads and soup. Hot dishes not appealing : presentation and taste.

I feel that quality is really lacking

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lovely setting. Very attentive service. The special of the day was outstanding.

Not an inexpensive lunch, but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful evening -- great service, friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service, great meal presentation, delicious. Plus make a terrific martini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic food quality. The bison steak was perfect. Very knowledgeable wait staff who know their wine and their food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good but not terribly memorable. The desserts were delicious! The service and ambiance and mood made the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Three of us had the prime rib - it was poor. More what I would have expected at a diner than a fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance: we had the scallops and the crab cake to start and then both of us had the Arctic Char. Finished off with a cheese board. Food was delicious, quantities were good and the presentation was outstanding. Only criticism was that the second bottle of wine could have been a little cooler.

Overall an outstanding meal. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent Brunch on a Saturday! Lots of delicious items, including yummy maple butter crepes. Plenty of fruit, cheeses, cold meats, smoothies, and hot items like scrambled eggs, ready made omelets, bacon, sausage, cinnamon buns, you name it, they had it and it was all delicious!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We both liked our meal. The Melody, if I remember well the name of the dish, not on Internet as of yesterday: it was a medley of fish and shellfish in a delicious creamy broth not too rich and very tasty. I am planning more visits very soon and I will certainly ask again for this lovely meal for lunch. As for dessert, why not offering some sorbet as well, a lighter choice to finish a superb lunch.

Thank you to the chef and our excellent and helpful waiter, Carl I believe.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Atmosphere was excellent as was the service. Food arrived promptly and was presented artfully. The roast beef was pretty dry and the reduction not to our taste. Still, a very pleasant evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday Brunch- food and service was wonderful. So many choices to choose from. The wait staff are always so friendly. Looking foreword to my next Sunday Brunch in three weeks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We loved everything!! Service / food / views and ambiance is beyond exceptional

We celebrated a birthday, but atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. As world travellers we can say with confidence that our server and hostess where some of the best we have ever experienced. The chef prepared an incredible, creative and exceptional meal. We don't typically leave feedback but this experience was so outstanding that we just had to say something and would highly recommend a visit to Wilfrid's restaurant on your next visit to Ottawa. 5 star superb we thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food , great service wonderful ambiance. The view of the Rideau canal locks , parliament buildings make for a wonderful backdrop. Great for special occasions. The menu was compact but varied and the wine selection quite extensive. The service is personalized , professional and staff are very courteous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great service, food, just a wonderful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was impressive in presentation, taste and flavour. Our server was excellent. I did find the noise level from the table next to us detracted from our dining experience overall.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely incredible! A bit pricey so we can't afford to go there regularly, but its worth every penny. The decor is calm. The service just friendly enough to make you comfortable. And the food is amazing. Every bite is perfect. Its classy but not snooty so everyone feels welcome. Love it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Married at the CL in Sep 2007. Been coming back every year to celebrate our anniversary. Sometimes dinner, sometimes brunch with the kids, never been disappointed. This year our server David was exceptional - very friendly, accommodating, fluently bilingual (important to my Francophone spouse) and made an effort with the little details (putting my kids chocolate milk in champagne flutes, packing a small dessert to go box, etc.). My only complaint relates to the state of the restrooms - they were not as clean as they should have been. Brunch was busy however there was a mess under the gentleman's urinal which should have been cleaned up much quicker than it was. Again, David took care of that as soon as we notified him.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I attended Wilfrid's with a date for the Sunday Brunch buffet, and have been there often for this meal. The restaurant was unusually warm and the noise level was exceptional on the day I attended, but the staff were excellent, attentive, and beautifully professional as always. The buffet is always sumptuous with wide arrays of salads, cold appetizers, cheeses, baked items, fish and cold cuts. There is an omelette station run by a gentleman who is legendary amongst locals. The hot food section always includes eggs (scrambled, Benedict), bacon, sausages, and roast beef, as well as other items. On the day we were there, there was also pork, trout almandine, braised veal cheek, a variety of roasted vegetables and other items. The desserts were not as fancy as on some occasions, but this may have been due to the late seating towards the end of service. I will continue to come here, and it's a family favourite for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had a wonderful evening however we found that the parking cost was excessive" $20.00 for two hours.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.