Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday to Friday
Buffet - 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Sunday
Buffet - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
À la carte - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

Overnight self-parking is available at a rate of $30 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Valet parking is available at a rate of $43 CAD, plus applicable tax, per day.

Please note: parking facility clearance (Height) is 1.74m (5’8’’), limited oversize parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

QuietConversation (13)
ScenicView (13)
SpecialOccasions (12)
See All
Anniversaries (12)
Romance (8)
SundayLunch (7)
Birthdays (6)
Historic (6)
Brunch (6)
GoodForDates (6)
BusinessMeals (6)
Cozy (6)
PrePostTheatre (5)
Lunch (5)
AfternoonTea (4)
CreativeCuisine (4)
NotableWineList (3)
Healthy (3)
WorthTheDrive (3)
AfternoonCoffee (3)
Seasonal (3)
DisabledAccess (3)
Foodies (3)
TastingMenu (2)
Authentic (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
Casual (2)
Groups (2)
ComfortFood (2)
HotSpot (1)
OutdoorDining (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
NeighborhoodGem (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
Organic (1)
GlutenFree (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent but I found the service not that good. Waited quite some time for our main course. Waiter never came back to refill our water. Took time to get our bill and also for waiter to come back so I can pay. For such a grand hotel I expected top notch service but did not receive that. I would still try this restaurant again just in case it was a flux or off day for the restaurant as the food and drinks were excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good location, surprisingly good food. Service was good when it happened but there were delays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Each time we dine at Wilfrid's, we enjoy our meal and have never been disappointed. Fine dining at its best.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service in a quiet and comfortable setting. What more can you ask?

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I did my research for my wife's birthday, which needs to be kid friendly, parking in door, good food/service and romantic all together. I was glad and my family are happy!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Chateau Laurier is historic and beautiful and Wilfrid's is tucked inside. We booked it for Sunday brunch at 11:00, arriving just before the crowd. The buffet was sumptuous, with a chef for omelettes and a fabulous dessert table with lots of chocolate. I saved two chocolate lollipops in my purse. Our service was outstanding - friendly and courteous, always ready but not officious. Our table for four had comfortable stuffed chairs on the outside wall for viewing the river. It was perfect for a memorable experience of Ottawa.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our experience here was for a special family birthday lunch. The food was very good and we had the great view and ambiance to be able to have a great chat. Karl our server was great and allowed us to take our time and provided excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a special occasion and what better way to dine than in the famous Chateau Laurier overlooking the Parliament buildings. The room was elegant and the service was top notch. The lunch had a good selection of meals to choose from and we both had the prime rib sandwich. It was delicious and generous in size. My sister never really dined in a place like this before so she was thrilled!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The ribeye steak was tough and chewy, also felt it was very overpriced at $68.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

the atmosphere was good the steaks and service was excellent.we will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We chose this restaurant for the view of Parliament and were very pleased with the food, ambiance and great service. It's not an inexpensive restaurant but it is well worth its price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing service, food and ambiance! For sure will go back from Sunday morning brunch

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

very special ambience, good wine list and great food not rushed.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The dining room is tastefully decorated and the lighting is very intimate for dinner. We were given a fabulous table looking out at the Parliament buildings. The service was excellent from start to finish. Very friendly and always there when needed. The food was outstanding. One mains was the lamb. It has be one of the most tender servings ever. I have no idea how it can be so flavourful and tender. The second main was foie gras stuffed quail. Simply wonderful. Nice selection of wines and a great recommendation by the server. A wonderful meal and experience overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

what a lovely surprise.. I live in Ottawa and have been to Zoes (the lounge at the Fairmont) many times but never realized that just around the corner from there was a beautiful ambience and dining experience at Wilfreds. Will definitely go back.. and hope to try out the brunch one day soon !

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wilfred's is amazing every time. Food is top quality and served beautifully. You can dress up or come as you are and you will be treated exactly the same. Yes, it's a bit pricey, but so worth it and no more than many other restaurants in the area. The article char is so good I find myself ordering it every time. The prime rib, or duck or quale are also just perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ambiance and service were very good. The food was plated well and tasty but although the main entrees (fish) were served hot, the sides on the same plate were only warm. The appetizer should have been served hot and it was only like warm as well.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was good. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for brunch buffet, it was so good! Great atmosphere, Great views, great service!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited Wilfred's for our very first time. It was Valentine's Day, so we were celebrating a special occasion. All of the staff, host, waiter, and everyone else did an amazing job. Great service for sure. The food was phenomenal! I actually couldn't get enough. The ambiance of the restaurant was really nice, too. Our table had a great view of the peace tower on Parliament Hill. I thought eh restaurant would be super busy since it was Feb 14. Even though all the tables were full, it was still realistically quiet and service was still fantastic. Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The overall experience was positive, however there is room for improvement. As expected the price for a lunch meal is very high given the locale. The service was helpful but infrequent. The quality of the food was not outstanding and the temperature of the two main course meal showed that one item had been sitting around for a while during the time the other order was being prepared. The dish was far too cool to appreciate it and the steak frites was a dissappointment. This is not satisfactory for a location that prides itself on a high-end dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Historic and superlative in ambiance and service. This is where you take those you care the most about. Tales and bow ties optional.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Husband's fish dinner good. My prime rib was on the tough side .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I brought my friend to Wilfrid's for her birthday. It was her first visit for the Sat. Morning brunch, and she loved it. The food was great, the service was great and she was blessed. Keep up the good work!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. Classy, elegant atmosphere. Impeccable, caring service. Food is always great and one of the best places in Ottawa. Perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion or a special date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place. Only downside was my juice glass was dirty. They replaced it right away.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our service from taking our coats to giving them back was uniformly excellent. Not sure how it could be improved upon. The setting is something of a tradition for our family. Excellent table with a view of Parliament.

i would normally rate the food outstanding. But on this visit the eggs benedict were a little tired from being under the heat too long and the desert table had been devastated when we went to serve ourselves.

Very small criticisms for your benefit. We will be back for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We did the Breakfast Buffet on New Year's Day. The food was lovely and the service was excellent. The Maple Crèpes are a must try! We were reserved at 10 a.m. and the buffet closed at 10:30 a.m. If we had known this ahead of time we would have booked earlier in order to get the best value for our money. The buffet is about $30 each, thus we had wished we had eaten more for the cost. But the food was delicious and we did enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An excellent lunch with varied menu. Superb cuisine, expertly prepared. Relaxed atmosphere, not rushed. Beautiful view on a snowy afternoon. Fabulous, attentive service by our server, who effortlessly carried on her duties while amiably chatting with members of our party. She seems to genuinely love her work. A wonderful afternoon for us and for family members visiting from out of town. We felt at ease lingering over coffee and dessert. There was no rush to encourage us to exit quickly. Would highly recommend Wilfrid's Restaurant for a leisurely lunch or dinner with an excellent menu of perfectly-prepared dishes. Lovely quiet atmosphere conducive to easy conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server , Patricia ? was pleasant , friendly and did an excellent job, however ,perhaps out of her control, service was slow. Funny thing, we thought we were going for brunch. We had it before and our family totally had enjoyed that experience. Thank you and wishing you all the best for 2017!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A real gem. Always top notch service and superior food. Our waiter went above and beyond!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

During Christmas I always go with different friends. This year I went twice. First visit was great as was the second one. Both were Christmas lunches but I ordered a la carte. The buffet is too expensive for the little bit that I can eat. First visit I had the Lobster Cobb salad and it was offered to me 1/2 the size...and boy was it good. Today I had the salmon burger. MmmMmm....both friends I went with enjoyed their buffets.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A nice welcome at our arrival! Thank you for your great service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Nous avons apprécié les attentions de notre serveuse et le petit gâteau spécial pour l'anniversaire de naissance de mon épouse.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food, ambiance and the service was impeccable! We were a group of 7 local women gathering for a pre-Christmas special get-together. Chose Wilfred's for it's location, Christmas tree display and proximity to the Parliament Buildings to see the special Christmas light display.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Brought my friend out for Christmas before she took off for the holidays and it was an unforgettable experience. The food and service were simply amazing and was reasonably priced for the quality of the experience. Beautifully decorated for the holiday season!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The crabcake were luke warm and tasteless and the vegetables served with the arctic char were cold (potatoes). I was very disappointed in the lacklustre Christmas décor in the room and on the exterior of the Chateau. You really need to up your game. I would not return and would not recommend. The positive was the staff were wonderful and attentive and very pleasant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A surprise to see the lunch brunch on the menu on Saturday. It was wonderful! Service was exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Very attentive and knowledgeable serving staff. Great food and beautiful building and location. Thumbs up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Four friends meeting 3 times per year for the last four years for brunch.
The last 2 visits were disappointing : very basic salads and soup. Hot dishes not appealing : presentation and taste.
I feel that quality is really lacking

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.