About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning newly renovated restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast (Buffet until 10:30 a.m. and à la carte):
Monday to Friday - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Sunday - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday Tuesday - 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. an 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

- Indoor valet parking: $43 CAD/night with unlimited access
- Indoor self parking: $30 CAD/night with unlimited access

Prices do not include taxes and are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meatloaf And Seafood Chowder - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
  • Afternoon Tea/High Tea - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
  • Off The Menu/One Off - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
  • strawberry shortcake - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Meatloaf And Seafood Chowder - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Afternoon Tea/High Tea - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Off The Menu/One Off - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
strawberry shortcake - Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa

Special Occasion (41)
Scenic View (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Romantic (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Historic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

historic atmosphere...and wonderful view ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 5 days ago

historic atmosphere...and wonderful views....a must see location in Ottawa

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband Michel and I went to the Wilf ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My husband Michel and I went to the Wilfrid's for our wedding anniversary lunch and were most pleased with our choice of venue as well as the quality of the food, service and low noise level. Many thanks to all and especially our server Nicole who was most pleasant and attentive.

Michel C.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch - loved hosting clients in R ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great lunch - loved hosting clients in Rideau 1 for a private luncheon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service!! Had breakfast buffet ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent service!! Had breakfast buffet which was very good. Too bad food was not a bit hotter though. Thanks!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was professional and all courses ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Service was professional and all courses were well timed. Cocktail was made to order. My one complaint is; it would be better if tables were clad in crisp white tablecloths. A place mat is appropriate for a bistro or café but not high end dining. When I pay $190 per person I expect the full gamut.

Food was good except a tad too much heat on the scallops, maybe lighten up on the jalapeno and the panna cotta bordered on flavourless with a crust even Barney Rubble would have difficulty breaking into.

Wine selection by the glass was okay.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

my best overall experiences have been at ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

my best overall experiences have been at Wilfred's

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved our waiter. He couldn't be more ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I loved our waiter. He couldn't be more professional and attentive to our needs.

I had such a wonderful time with my mother. I am so grateful for this experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect was fabulous. What a wonde ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Every aspect was fabulous. What a wonderful place and what fantastic food! Highly recommend Sunday brunch at Wilfred's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the exquisite breakfast buffet with ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had the exquisite breakfast buffet with almost everything from juices, eggs benedict, sausages, bacon, cheeses and four different types of butter to pastries, on-demand banana-chocolate pancakes and waffles. Only thing missing was fresh bread rather than the pre-cut supermarket toast - which actually caught fire in the toaster at one point but the fire was handled quickly and efficiently by staff.

Waiters were extremely busy getting ready for the Sunday brunch at 11 and missed a few things in the hurry but otherwise very professional and accomodating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice experience! Excellent fish di ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very nice experience! Excellent fish dinner and vegetarian plate.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Class wine and food in a cozy quie ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

First Class wine and food in a cozy quiet classy ambience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening and the food was supurb ho ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great evening and the food was supurb however I found the portions to small. I had the duck and left hungry but admittedly satisfied.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gazpacho was good but $14 was way too ex ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Gazpacho was good but $14 was way too expensive for a soup. Venison was tender but Rosti was hard. Chocolate Pave was tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is overpriced and rides ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant is overpriced and rides on the reputation of the hotel's history. Menu for lunch is limited and not especially imaginative. Not much flair. A missed opportunity to show-case Canadian cuisine and local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food very good and excellent service and ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food very good and excellent service and of course the hotel is magnificent!

However the food price was way over the top. $38 for a small pice of fish and veg and no potatoes or rice!

Deserts were good value!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very friendly and courteous server and g ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very friendly and courteous server and great view on the Rideau Canal. Nice to watch sunset through the windows on a hot summer day in an air-conditioned dining room with calm atmosphere.

I had an excellent duck breast for dinner.

To sum up: great and elegant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was more than pleasantly surprised fir ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was more than pleasantly surprised first by the number of reminders about the reservation, then by the service from the a staff. The food was exquisite. I always judge by what I might be able to prepare at home and this was superior. I was convinced to choose the special of the day (fish) by the mouth watering description from the waiter. I would definitely recommend this for special occasions. The prices although reasonable for the quality of establishment, is a bit high for everyday dining. Although we didn't have room for desert, the waiter brought us a selection of chocolates with "Congratulations" written on the plate. A wonderful touch and great send-off for my retiring friend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found for the price of the breakfast b ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I found for the price of the breakfast buffet that there was not a good selection of foods,

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This was a very poor experience for us. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was a very poor experience for us. I had notified Wilfrids this was for our 15th wedding anniversary. The waiter we had was curt bordering on rude and the table we were assigned was between window staring at a wall while 90% of the restaurant stood empty. Based on this experience I would not return nor recommend their establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

We were celebrating the 50th anniversary ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were celebrating the 50th anniversary of our guests. I was pleased the restaurant accommodated my request for a table with a view of the Parliament buildings - quite a treat for our guests. There are few restaurants these days where the acoustics for hearing impaired people are this good. Very attractively appointed room, as well.

The rainbow trout and the venison were excellent, and to be recommended.

The restaurant is pricey but worth it for such a special occasion. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food did not justify the price by an ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food did not justify the price by any means. A discouraging scent preceding an absolutely dreadful taste accompanied the food. The food came in a substantially small serving size, yet again failing to justify its price. Noise quality was a hinderance to our enjoyment as well, seeing as how there were loud guests surrounding us, conversing over topics not suitable for our children to hear. An overall bad experience that was marred by the points discussed and one that I would not recommend to my friends or even my worst enemies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Ambience and service excellent. I found ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Ambience and service excellent. I found the clam chowder saltier than I like but still good. My rare roast beef was medium+ and my guest's medium steak was closer to well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service a little spotty - soup brought o ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service a little spotty - soup brought out, no soup spoons until asked. Tried ordering two different half bottles of wine, both were out. Food very good, even if menu seemed a little heavy for mid-summer dining. Comfortable seating, lots of space, quiet music. Great location, enjoyed a nice walk on Parliament Hill afterwards.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Just a very special place that we will a ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Just a very special place that we will always remember, for our vacation to Ottawa.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wilfrid has been my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wilfrid has been my favorite restaurant forever. Experienced on different types of occasions - casual as well as formal: and my rating... Always ... as Dun & Bradstreet might say... AAAAA-1 - on all counts. I will eat at Wilfrid's as often as I can. Expensive - NO - Worth every penny of whatever cost involved.

I only wish some patrons would dress a little better. Sunday Brunch - shorts and baseball caps... not suitable in my book. The Château has more class than that - and the dress issue is not a code - it's simply respect.

Love the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Wilfred a few times - will ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I've been to Wilfred a few times - will recommend this restaurant to anyone. Excellent breakfast buffet selection, great ambiance and outstanding service. def will come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a nice brunch but not great. If yo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is a nice brunch but not great. If you want a nice quiet lunch and a visit of a historic place which is the Chateau Laurier , then it's fine , otherwise you will easily find better at a better price elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We spent a lovely evening celebrating ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We spent a lovely evening celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary back at the same hotel where we held our wedding reception. The ambiance remains fresh and current. And more importantly, the service was excellent … the tempo of service, interaction with server, presentation and taste of each plate … all wonderful. Special thank you goes out to our server, Jacinthe.

We choose to celebrate this special occasion at Wilfrid’s based on an expectation. Great food, great service, in a wonderful setting. We were not disappointed.

We will be back soon, especially for an opportunity to sit out on the terrace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

we were told our food was over cooked in ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we were told our food was over cooked in the kitchen, had to wait another 30 minutes. I paid for everything, and when I checked out there was a mystery 250 dollar charge to my room from restaurant. unacceptable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

My fiancee and I had a romantic and memo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiancee and I had a romantic and memorable Canada Day dinner together at Wilfrid's this year, and we hope to be back next year for Canada's 150th.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for the Canada Day Buffet. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were there for the Canada Day Buffet. $65 each and quite average. Very disappointing. Good service but the food was not up to our standard. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

We live within walking distance and enjo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We live within walking distance and enjoy Wilfrid's quiet ambiance and excellent service. We did find the new summer menu a bit limited but our choice of Prime Rib was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Excellent ambian ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and service. Excellent ambiance. One of the best fine dining spots in Ottawa.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fabulous, food was amazing, ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was fabulous, food was amazing, atmosphere was perfect. Will be back again and again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The standard of service and food quality ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The standard of service and food quality is always predictable, very good. Food choices on this occasion (and my family has been many times ) was the Duck (tender and flavourful according to the two who chose this main course), and the other person had the Pickerel, served with a lovely bean accompaniment (very good - would have again). Appetizers; salad, crab cakes, and an interesting cod dish (ceviche) were great choices to interest all palates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unpretentious but elegant with wonderful ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unpretentious but elegant with wonderful quality food and a view to die for. Always a special, memorable experience. The attentive and skilled servers considerably enhance the already exceptional experience. A world class experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our meal was very enjoyable because of t ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our meal was very enjoyable because of the great service and the food being so good. We would gladly go back in the future

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Made a special night even more special

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellence is the word used to describe this restaurant. Not only is it a superb fine dining establishment, it has a very comfortable feel to it. Well done, everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Failed to live up to expectations

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here while in Ottawa celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The Chateau Laurier is a beautiful building in the heart of Ottawa. The location and aesthetics cannot be beat. I was perplexed why, on one of the busiest nights in Ottawa, the restaurant was largely vacant.

I cannot knock the service, our waiter Alex was superb and very attentive. The food was acceptable but it seemed to lack that extra oomph I would expect from a fine restaurant, especially one in such a fine location in such a wonderful city.

I can't say the food was bad. In fact it was quite good, but I had higher expectations than just good.

We chose the Table d'hote offered for the evening. I chose the chicken while my wife chose the pickerel. The opening beet salad was the most memorable part of the meal. The presentation of this dish was very well done.

The entrees were adequate with little to remarkable in the way of presentation one way or the other.

The dessert was a disjointed collection of banana flavors and chocolate. Presentation was lacking. The flavors were delicious on their own but did not combine well in the final dish.

The next day's lunch, stumbled across in a far more rustic setting, turned out to be the memorable meal of the trip.

I had difficulty with picking something to specifically recommend about this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.