About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning newly renovated restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast (Buffet until 10:30 a.m. and à la carte):
Monday to Friday - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Sunday - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday Tuesday - 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. an 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

- Indoor valet parking: $43 CAD/night with unlimited access
- Indoor self parking: $30 CAD/night with unlimited access

Prices do not include taxes and are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
6 More
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (65)
great for brunch (42)
scenic view (41)
See All
romantic (35)
fit for foodies (22)
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (14)
notable wine list (10)
kid-friendly (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing breakfast buffet experience! Wil ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing breakfast buffet experience! Will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our occasion was a girls get-away weeken ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our occasion was a girls get-away weekend - mother, daughters, granddaughter. It was a highlight of our visit to Ottawa to go out for breakfast in such a historic building and beautiful location. My granddaughter (13) was especially delighted - her first time at such an elegant restaurant. It came recommended to me by a friend who lives in Ottawa and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting our capital.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our friends from the UK were truly impre ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our friends from the UK were truly impressed by the elegance of the hotel and the cuisine, particularly the food presentation.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

So-So

Dined on May 8, 2016

Total paid $180 for Wilfrid. I was expecting something as better for Mothers' Brunch. It wasn't worth $180 + $12 for my mimosa. We might go back for a normal brunch à la carte. Total paid $240 in the ballroom for a previous Easter Brunch, that was worth $240. That we would try again. That was special. So this time it was so-so. I was disappointed for the price paid, the so-so food and the traffic around the tables. And I was disappointed to be billed in advance, more than before, after our disappointment.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mother's day/birthday spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the service here. Our waitress was so nice and accommodating. I told her that it was my mother's birthday and she later came out with a special dessert plate for her. The food was delicious - especially the crepes. The chef was also super kid-friendly and interactive. He does a build-your-own crepe and omelette bar during the buffet breakfast. Would definitely come back again and recommend it to others!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Breakfast Buffet

Dined on May 7, 2016

8 of us went for the breakfast buffet this past weekend. It was amazing! So many sweet and savoury options. Probably the best breakfast buffet in town. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Important occasion marred by attitude of greeter

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I went to Wilfrid's to celebrate our relationship in advance of most of a month during which we would be travelling separately. Unfortunately, the person acting as hostess had the approach of a security guard trying to keep the riff-raff out, both upon our arrival and at departure. It significantly dampened what would otherwise have been a pleasantly memorable occasion. We are not sure whether this approach is based on instructions she received, or was something she assumed on her own initiative. In either case, customer service training and supervision are called for... Our waitress was wonderful and attentive. She almost rescued the situation for us, but we still left feeling hurt by the overall experience.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Start

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there for breakfast before an event downtown and it proved to be a wonderful prelude for the day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the Chateau: a special place

Dined on April 25, 2016

When we walk into Wilfred's on our once a year anniversary dinner, we are greeted by long term staff who remembet us year to year. seated by the windows with the Parliamant just beyond, we sip our cocktails and chat with caring staff about our year. this year saw a marvelous soup followed by filet of beef and prime rib. both served with excellent sauces and vegetables. Being now an age where only coffee is advisable, we relaxed thereafter but were presented with a small celebratory pastry platter unrequested. Fairmont hotels have greeted us in a similar manner wherever we have gone. San Fransisco, Bermuda, Napa, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, all have been wonderful experiences. In September the Manoir Richelieu in Charlevoix will find us with them on the beautiful St Lawrence river. We have alteady experienced superior help from reservation staff to enhance the stay of our handicapped friend. Wilfred's may find us there this summer on their flowered deck for brunch. It is not cheap but it is a satisfying change from many other expensive restaurants which hustle one through an equally expensive meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was very slow but food was unparalleled.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Decor appears more relaxed than it used to be. Last time we came (a couple of years ago), the tables had white tablecloths and the service was flawless. Nowhere I've been was the service so impeccable. This was where you took someone to have the finest dining experience in Ottawa. It would truly impress. Now the decor and service was average for a nice restaurant but the food was still exceptional. We would all recommend the filet mignon. But I'm afraid the decor and service would now put this restaurant in a class of several nice restaurants around Ottawa from which I would choose.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spoil That Special Someone in Your Life

Dined on April 19, 2016

If an efficient Administrative assistant is worth their weight in gold, then I hit the jackpot with mine. I wanted to demonstrate, in a meaningful way, how much I appreciate their 'beyond call of duty' support. This winter, we went together to check out the Christmas Tree Display. At that time I promised we would be back...and true to my word, we did: For Lunch at Wilfred's, my treat! It was amazing. Thank you for helping me to spoil my right hand.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Elite level of service, delicious food w ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Elite level of service, delicious food with pleasing presentation in a very pleasant ambience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worth Checking Out

Dined on April 9, 2016

We ate breakfast (not brunch) and decided to take in the buffet instead of eating a la carte. Overall, the selection of both hot and cold offerings was plentiful. It was a slow morning and some of the hot entries were a little tired but Chef Jimmy was quick to offer us fresh eggs benedict and maple crepes, both of which were fabulous. Fresh cinnamon buns, banana bread and muffins were a real treat, along with the full complement of chopped fruit.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was excellent except

Dined on March 2, 2016

the wait for the food which took long. Good thing the food was so yummy. All plates licked clean

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine Dining at its Best

Dined on February 28, 2016

A beautiful, historic hotel like the Chateau Laurier needs a special restaurant to complement the setting. The dining experience must add to the whole experience and Wilfred's certainly did that! The food was excellent, interesting and beautifully presented, the ambience was relaxed yet elegant and the staff were attentive and friendly. Dinner at Wilfred's was the perfect cap to our lovely, historic weekend in the nation's capital.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ballet night out

Dined on February 27, 2016

we regularly go to Wilfred's before going to the ballet. It is a lovely evening out and we are completely spoiled by the staff and chefs at Wilfred's.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Dinner!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had an eight o'clock reservation and our table was very elegant. It was quiet all around us. There were other guests enjoying their dinners but the ambience was very soft & mellow. I ordered the caprese salad and it was absolutely delicious!!!! Fresh succulent tomatoes and the cheese melted in your mouth. My husband shared it with me. The selection of bread which came in a basket was plenty and very fresh. The butter was soft and not hard and easy to spread. My main meal was the 6 oz prime rib, with au jus sauce, mashed potatoes and herb roasted carrots, it was delicious! My husband ordered the milk fed veal chop with gorgonzola sauce, mashed potatoes, and green beans almadine. He said it was the best veal chop he has ever tasted. The portions were very proportionate and I ended up taking some of my prime rib home. I would love to come back and try a few other things. We were too full to order dessert but I would have tried the pumpkin cheesecake.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

pricey for an old tired menu

Dined on February 16, 2016

The ambience is nice in that its in a beautiful old building. The portions are very small for the price. eg. $18.00 for 2 scallops. I'm ok with smaller portions however the price should reflect that. Would it kill them to add another scallop instead of looking like they cheaped out.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

VALENTINE DISAPPOINTMENT

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I attended Wilfrid's on Valentine's Day and ended up somewhat disappointed with our experience. The food was fair, as I say in my review, but given the cost the meal was sub par. The staff on hand were very helpful, we enjoyed them and the surroundings are quite pleasant. But the reason for going to Wilfrid's, the food, was nothing too special at all. I am quite sure we will not hurry back for what was a very average food experience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

another guest impressed!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took a long time friend who lost her husband last year, to Wilfred's for brunch on Sunday. It was Valentine's Day and as I'd also recently lost my husband, thought we could celebrate the day together as we'd had over one hundred incredible years of marriage between us. My friend told me that she ate more at brunch on Sunday than she had eaten since her husband passed away. I know it was because everything available at the buffet was so appealing to look at, so creative with ingredients and wonderful to taste. Instead of feeling sad as I'd expected to, we left laughing and deciding to return in the near future. Thank you for turning what was to be a lonely day into a wonderfully happy experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my mother's 80th birthday and we ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was my mother's 80th birthday and we wanted something special for her. Wilfrid's delivered a special evening of amazing food, nice atmosphere and a beautiful view of the Parliament Buildings. We were all very pleased with our experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Weekend at Wilfred's

Dined on February 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience. The booking was very easy to do. I enjoyed the ability to share the booking with others in my party. Our table was ready and our coats were taken. The waiter was very attentive. We absolutely enjoyed the variety of food. The food was delectable. To quote my husband "It was beautiful." The selection of alcohol was great. I was very pleased to get Inniskillin Ice Wine with my dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining defined

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

What a perfectly pleasant evening. Chowder that is served into a hot bowl, but not overheated, which would scald the milk - nobody does that... Perfectly prepared meal overall.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another successful get together.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Wilfred's has quickly become one of our favourite places for Sunday brunches. Aside from wonderful food featuring seasonal local ingredients, the atmosphere and ambiance are what make this place so special. It's like dining in your own home with wonderfully comfortable chairs and tables and servers who are continually catering to your needs without being in any way intrusive. The fact that you are able to have conversations without having to shout over blaring background music/noise means it's a good place to go when you want to 'catch up' with friends over a meal. Exactly all of this holds true for lunches and evening meals as well. Simply put, Wilfred's is friendly elegance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

High end dining

Dined on February 6, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food very good. My spouse had the chicken masala, which was very tasty and served in a cast iron frying pan, which was funky. I had the short ribs main as part of the table d'hote and it was excellent. The wine pairings also worked extremely well with each course. The ambience of the Wilfred Restaurant is nicely updated and chic, but not quite the classy, white table cloth experience we had expected. The table we were placed in was right beside the collection area for after-dinner cleanup, which made the ambience and noise level more problematic than it would likely be in the rest of the restaurant. The rest of the hotel is more an example of the old world elegance and charm we had expected to find in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very dissapointed as this was not our first visit

Dined on February 6, 2016

the service was poor, waitress was not pleasant. My steak was not cooked properly. Waited far too long for our food. We have dined here several times but this visit was not satisfactory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Romantic. Part of Canadian history . Landmark .

Dined on February 5, 2016

We were seated on time . Coats stored safely away . Lead to your requested table . Beside the window looking outward toward parliament. Bar drinks were made to perfection along with your main dishes! Outstanding menu ! And casuine! Wait staff could have been better with time management. Had periods where we were waiting for service , unsual waits.... By far the best place I've ever dined at. As far as my dinning experience goes thus far. Well done wilfed's Mr. Buehler

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Expensive Acceptable

Dined on February 2, 2016

We have frequented Wilfrieds for over a decade. The luxury, special attributes have been replaced with adequate and expensive. I looked forward to the wine features, but they were absent. Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc at $64 a bottle is a stretch. The food used to be Canadian exceptional now it is more like Milestones on the Rideau. The top level restaurants in the villages around Ottawa are our destination and your competition.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Go For the Scenery Not Necessarily The Food

Dined on January 31, 2016

If you're going for the scenery and you're lucky enough to get a window seat, then great. If you're going for the food then you may be disappointed. The experience worked for us as we were staying in the hotel and it was a sloppy rainy night out. All four of us had the Winterlude Menu which came highly recommended. Two of us had the short ribs and two the Arctic Char. We all agreed it was 'ok'. Nothing to really complain about but nothing special. We would have expected better from a high end hotel.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wilfred's and the NAC Ballet

Dined on January 28, 2016

I love Wilfred's - my daughter and I have been going there on our way to the NAC Ballet for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely breakfast view to start the day.

Dined on January 26, 2016

Had a wonderful quiet breakfast here with my wife. Enjoyed a wide range of fresh items at the buffet and enjoyed excellent crepes made right in front of us to our liking.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Ottawa gem

Dined on January 24, 2016

We chose this restaurant for it's special location for a milestone birthday, and were not disappointed. It was very memorable, made more so by the fact that the staff presented the man having the birthday with a plate of beautifully decorated dessert, with Happy Birthday scrawled on the plate in chocolate.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on January 23, 2016

We have eaten here several times and it never fells to impress us. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

great brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

The brunch was great. Delicious food, good variety and excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch @ Wilfred's Restaurant

Dined on January 17, 2016

We have enjoyed several delightful, delicious, champagne brunches @ Wilfred's Restaurant @ Chateau Laurier celebrating birthdays and anniversaries. The service, food, décor and ambiance is such a special treat where we can relax and enjoy a leisurely visit with family and friends while enjoying a superb assortment of delicious menu items including Eggs Benedict, maple crepes, custom made omelettes, roast beef and Yorkshire puddings, and an extensive variety of salads and assorted hot vegetable and meat/seafood dishes. It is absolutely beautiful during the Christmas holidays with all the gorgeously decorated Christmas trees in the Foyer to admire as well as the Christmas lights all around the downtown areas in Ottawa.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on January 17, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 65th Bday on the 16 of Jan. There was a total of 8 for dinner. The Service was excellent, our food was done to perfection and a very special touch the Staff presented my husband with a Birthday card signed by them. I had pre ordered a Birthday cake through the restaurant in advance and it was amazing. Once again a fantastic evening at Wilfrid's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Westin is superior and better value

Dined on January 16, 2016

Wilfred's was disappointing compared to Epic at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto. Menu is more limited and not as interesting, and food quality, taste and presentation were below expectations. For the same price, we dined at The Shoreclub at the Westin across the road, which was far superior in every way.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view, okay food

Dined on January 9, 2016

I took my young daughter to Wilfrid's for a special lunch at a "fancy restaurant" before we went to the NAC. The location is beautiful and the service is impeccable. From beginning to end, we were treated like royalty, and my daughter felt incredibly special. The children's menu initially disappointed me due to being composed exclusively lackluster options like hotdog, hamburger, chicken fingers and mac & cheese (I had expected something a little more original or innovative). But, I was pleasantly surprised when my daughter's meal arrived and in addition to the hotdog/fries, there was also a beautiful dish of steamed broccoli and a nice fresh fruit salad. I was slightly less thrilled with my own meal (salmon niçoise) - I found it underseasoned, and the dressing lacked acidity and balance - it was very oily. While I don't know if I would personally go back for the food, it was a wonderful place to treat my daughter to a fancy meal, with fantastic service and beautiful views of Parliament.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Dinner

Dined on December 23, 2015

For the price we paid I expected fabulous food, service and atmosphere. The food was fine but not outstanding and I felt like it was expensive just for the sake of being expensive. The service was very nice until it came to coffee and dessert time and then we waited 30 mins from the time we asked for coffee to the time it showed up. I won't rush back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.