About Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier

1 Rideau St
Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
View Larger Map

Wilfrid’s Restaurant offers diners a vibrant seasonal menu featuring local and regional ingredients. The culinary flavors are rich, the presentation is clean and the service is exceptional. A complete selection of wines is also available to compliment the Chef’s creations.

Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch - this stunning newly renovated restaurant is more than just a restaurant; it’s a complete culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast (Buffet until 10:30 a.m. and à la carte):
Monday to Friday - 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Saturday - 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Sunday - 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Lunch:
Monday to Saturday Tuesday - 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (à la carte only)

Dinner:
Monday to Saturday - 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Brunch:
Sunday - Seatings between 11:00 a.m. an 12:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Mackenzie and Rideau

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 241-1414

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/laurier-ottawa/dining/wilfrids/

Catering:
With four elegant ballrooms and 12 meeting rooms, Fairmont Château Laurier can help you plan your special event, wedding, meeting or conference. For more information call 613-241-1414 or visit us at www.fairmont.com/laurier

Parking Details:
The hotel's parking is accessible from Rideau Street (front of the hotel) or MacKenzie Street (back of the hotel).

- Indoor valet parking: $43 CAD/night with unlimited access
- Indoor self parking: $30 CAD/night with unlimited access

Prices do not include taxes and are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
Louis Simard

Private Party Facilities:
Tucked just off from the main restaurant is Rideau 1 - Wilfrid's private dining room. This space is perfect for a small wedding, meeting or family gathering.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meatloaf And Seafood Chowder
  • Afternoon Tea/High Tea
  • Off The Menu/One Off
  • strawberry shortcake
Meatloaf And Seafood Chowder
Afternoon Tea/High Tea
Off The Menu/One Off
strawberry shortcake

Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
10 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
Most Booked
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (48)
great for brunch (30)
scenic view (28)
See All
romantic (19)
great for lunch (16)
fit for foodies (15)
good for groups (15)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wilfrid has been my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wilfrid has been my favorite restaurant forever. Experienced on different types of occasions - casual as well as formal: and my rating... Always ... as Dun & Bradstreet might say... AAAAA-1 - on all counts. I will eat at Wilfrid's as often as I can. Expensive - NO - Worth every penny of whatever cost involved.

I only wish some patrons would dress a little better. Sunday Brunch - shorts and baseball caps... not suitable in my book. The Château has more class than that - and the dress issue is not a code - it's simply respect.

Love the place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Wilfred a few times - will ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I've been to Wilfred a few times - will recommend this restaurant to anyone. Excellent breakfast buffet selection, great ambiance and outstanding service. def will come back!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a nice brunch but not great. If yo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is a nice brunch but not great. If you want a nice quiet lunch and a visit of a historic place which is the Chateau Laurier , then it's fine , otherwise you will easily find better at a better price elsewhere.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We spent a lovely evening celebrating ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We spent a lovely evening celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary back at the same hotel where we held our wedding reception. The ambiance remains fresh and current. And more importantly, the service was excellent … the tempo of service, interaction with server, presentation and taste of each plate … all wonderful. Special thank you goes out to our server, Jacinthe.

We choose to celebrate this special occasion at Wilfrid’s based on an expectation. Great food, great service, in a wonderful setting. We were not disappointed.

We will be back soon, especially for an opportunity to sit out on the terrace.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

we were told our food was over cooked in ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we were told our food was over cooked in the kitchen, had to wait another 30 minutes. I paid for everything, and when I checked out there was a mystery 250 dollar charge to my room from restaurant. unacceptable.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

My fiancee and I had a romantic and memo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiancee and I had a romantic and memorable Canada Day dinner together at Wilfrid's this year, and we hope to be back next year for Canada's 150th.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for the Canada Day Buffet. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were there for the Canada Day Buffet. $65 each and quite average. Very disappointing. Good service but the food was not up to our standard. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

We live within walking distance and enjo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We live within walking distance and enjoy Wilfrid's quiet ambiance and excellent service. We did find the new summer menu a bit limited but our choice of Prime Rib was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Excellent ambian ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and service. Excellent ambiance. One of the best fine dining spots in Ottawa.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fabulous, food was amazing, ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was fabulous, food was amazing, atmosphere was perfect. Will be back again and again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The standard of service and food quality ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The standard of service and food quality is always predictable, very good. Food choices on this occasion (and my family has been many times ) was the Duck (tender and flavourful according to the two who chose this main course), and the other person had the Pickerel, served with a lovely bean accompaniment (very good - would have again). Appetizers; salad, crab cakes, and an interesting cod dish (ceviche) were great choices to interest all palates.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unpretentious but elegant with wonderful ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unpretentious but elegant with wonderful quality food and a view to die for. Always a special, memorable experience. The attentive and skilled servers considerably enhance the already exceptional experience. A world class experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our meal was very enjoyable because of t ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our meal was very enjoyable because of the great service and the food being so good. We would gladly go back in the future

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Made a special night even more special

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellence is the word used to describe this restaurant. Not only is it a superb fine dining establishment, it has a very comfortable feel to it. Well done, everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Failed to live up to expectations

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here while in Ottawa celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The Chateau Laurier is a beautiful building in the heart of Ottawa. The location and aesthetics cannot be beat. I was perplexed why, on one of the busiest nights in Ottawa, the restaurant was largely vacant.

I cannot knock the service, our waiter Alex was superb and very attentive. The food was acceptable but it seemed to lack that extra oomph I would expect from a fine restaurant, especially one in such a fine location in such a wonderful city.

I can't say the food was bad. In fact it was quite good, but I had higher expectations than just good.

We chose the Table d'hote offered for the evening. I chose the chicken while my wife chose the pickerel. The opening beet salad was the most memorable part of the meal. The presentation of this dish was very well done.

The entrees were adequate with little to remarkable in the way of presentation one way or the other.

The dessert was a disjointed collection of banana flavors and chocolate. Presentation was lacking. The flavors were delicious on their own but did not combine well in the final dish.

The next day's lunch, stumbled across in a far more rustic setting, turned out to be the memorable meal of the trip.

I had difficulty with picking something to specifically recommend about this restaurant.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We went to Wilfrid's for my husband's 60 ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to Wilfrid's for my husband's 60th birthday. We were a group of 7 who went for the buffet breakfast on Saturday morning. All 7 loved the food and the ambiance and everyone want to return in the near future. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a large bus load of US Seniors ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

There was a large bus load of US Seniors in for the weekend, the decor seemed to fit this group. The food was good but not great for a Fairmont Property. With all the terrific restaurants in Ottawa it might be a long time until I visit this one again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing breakfast buffet experience! Wil ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing breakfast buffet experience! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our occasion was a girls get-away weeken ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our occasion was a girls get-away weekend - mother, daughters, granddaughter. It was a highlight of our visit to Ottawa to go out for breakfast in such a historic building and beautiful location. My granddaughter (13) was especially delighted - her first time at such an elegant restaurant. It came recommended to me by a friend who lives in Ottawa and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting our capital.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friends from the UK were truly impre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our friends from the UK were truly impressed by the elegance of the hotel and the cuisine, particularly the food presentation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So-So

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Total paid $180 for Wilfrid. I was expecting something as better for Mothers' Brunch. It wasn't worth $180 + $12 for my mimosa. We might go back for a normal brunch à la carte.

Total paid $240 in the ballroom for a previous Easter Brunch, that was worth $240. That we would try again. That was special.

So this time it was so-so. I was disappointed for the price paid, the so-so food and the traffic around the tables. And I was disappointed to be billed in advance, more than before, after our disappointment.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great mother's day/birthday spot

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the service here. Our waitress was so nice and accommodating. I told her that it was my mother's birthday and she later came out with a special dessert plate for her. The food was delicious - especially the crepes. The chef was also super kid-friendly and interactive. He does a build-your-own crepe and omelette bar during the buffet breakfast. Would definitely come back again and recommend it to others!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Breakfast Buffet

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

8 of us went for the breakfast buffet this past weekend. It was amazing! So many sweet and savoury options. Probably the best breakfast buffet in town. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Important occasion marred by attitude of greeter

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I went to Wilfrid's to celebrate our relationship in advance of most of a month during which we would be travelling separately.

Unfortunately, the person acting as hostess had the approach of a security guard trying to keep the riff-raff out, both upon our arrival and at departure. It significantly dampened what would otherwise have been a pleasantly memorable occasion.

We are not sure whether this approach is based on instructions she received, or was something she assumed on her own initiative. In either case, customer service training and supervision are called for...

Our waitress was wonderful and attentive. She almost rescued the situation for us, but we still left feeling hurt by the overall experience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Start

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there for breakfast before an event downtown and it proved to be a wonderful prelude for the day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the Chateau: a special place

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

When we walk into Wilfred's on our once a year anniversary dinner, we are greeted by long term staff who remembet us year to year. seated by the windows with the Parliamant just beyond, we sip our cocktails and chat with caring staff about our year. this year saw a marvelous soup followed by filet of beef and prime rib. both served with excellent sauces and vegetables. Being now an age where only coffee is advisable, we relaxed thereafter but were presented with a small celebratory pastry platter unrequested. Fairmont hotels have greeted us in a similar manner wherever we have gone. San Fransisco, Bermuda, Napa, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, all have been wonderful experiences. In September the Manoir Richelieu in Charlevoix will find us with them on the beautiful St Lawrence river. We have alteady experienced superior help from reservation staff to enhance the stay of our handicapped friend. Wilfred's may find us there this summer on their flowered deck for brunch. It is not cheap but it is a satisfying change from many other expensive restaurants which hustle one through an equally expensive meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow but food was unparalleled.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Decor appears more relaxed than it used to be. Last time we came (a couple of years ago), the tables had white tablecloths and the service was flawless. Nowhere I've been was the service so impeccable. This was where you took someone to have the finest dining experience in Ottawa. It would truly impress. Now the decor and service was average for a nice restaurant but the food was still exceptional. We would all recommend the filet mignon. But I'm afraid the decor and service would now put this restaurant in a class of several nice restaurants around Ottawa from which I would choose.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Spoil That Special Someone in Your Life

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

If an efficient Administrative assistant is worth their weight in gold, then I hit the jackpot with mine. I wanted to demonstrate, in a meaningful way, how much I appreciate their 'beyond call of duty' support. This winter, we went together to check out the Christmas Tree Display. At that time I promised we would be back...and true to my word, we did: For Lunch at Wilfred's, my treat! It was amazing. Thank you for helping me to spoil my right hand.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elite level of service, delicious food w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Elite level of service, delicious food with pleasing presentation in a very pleasant ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth Checking Out

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We ate breakfast (not brunch) and decided to take in the buffet instead of eating a la carte. Overall, the selection of both hot and cold offerings was plentiful. It was a slow morning and some of the hot entries were a little tired but Chef Jimmy was quick to offer us fresh eggs benedict and maple crepes, both of which were fabulous. Fresh cinnamon buns, banana bread and muffins were a real treat, along with the full complement of chopped fruit.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was excellent except

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

the wait for the food which took long. Good thing the food was so yummy. All plates licked clean

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fine Dining at its Best

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

A beautiful, historic hotel like the Chateau Laurier needs a special restaurant to complement the setting. The dining experience must add to the whole experience and Wilfred's certainly did that! The food was excellent, interesting and beautifully presented, the ambience was relaxed yet elegant and the staff were attentive and friendly. Dinner at Wilfred's was the perfect cap to our lovely, historic weekend in the nation's capital.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ballet night out

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

we regularly go to Wilfred's before going to the ballet. It is a lovely evening out and we are completely spoiled by the staff and chefs at Wilfred's.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had an eight o'clock reservation and our table was very elegant. It was quiet all around us. There were other guests enjoying their dinners but the ambience was very soft & mellow.

I ordered the caprese salad and it was absolutely delicious!!!! Fresh succulent tomatoes and the cheese melted in your mouth. My husband shared it with me. The selection of bread which came in a basket was plenty and very fresh. The butter was soft and not hard and easy to spread.

My main meal was the 6 oz prime rib, with au jus sauce, mashed potatoes and herb roasted carrots, it was delicious! My husband ordered the milk fed veal chop with gorgonzola sauce, mashed potatoes, and green beans almadine. He said it was the best veal chop he has ever tasted.

The portions were very proportionate and I ended up taking some of my prime rib home.

I would love to come back and try a few other things. We were too full to order dessert but I would have tried the pumpkin cheesecake.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

pricey for an old tired menu

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The ambience is nice in that its in a beautiful old building. The portions are very small for the price. eg. $18.00 for 2 scallops. I'm ok with smaller portions however the price should reflect that. Would it kill them to add another scallop instead of looking like they cheaped out.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

VALENTINE DISAPPOINTMENT

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I attended Wilfrid's on Valentine's Day and ended up somewhat disappointed with our experience. The food was fair, as I say in my review, but given the cost the meal was sub par. The staff on hand were very helpful, we enjoyed them and the surroundings are quite pleasant. But the reason for going to Wilfrid's, the food, was nothing too special at all. I am quite sure we will not hurry back for what was a very average food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

another guest impressed!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took a long time friend who lost her husband last year,

to Wilfred's for brunch on Sunday. It was Valentine's Day and as I'd also recently lost my husband, thought we could celebrate the day together as we'd had over one hundred incredible years of marriage between us. My friend told me that she ate more at brunch on Sunday than she had eaten since her husband passed away. I know it was because everything available at the buffet was so appealing to look at, so creative with ingredients and wonderful to taste. Instead of feeling sad as I'd expected to, we left laughing and deciding to return in the near future. Thank you for turning what was to be a lonely day into a wonderfully happy experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was my mother's 80th birthday and we ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was my mother's 80th birthday and we wanted something special for her. Wilfrid's delivered a special evening of amazing food, nice atmosphere and a beautiful view of the Parliament Buildings. We were all very pleased with our experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.