About Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge

175 North Jackson Street
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Jackson's only AAA 4-diamond awarded restaurant (9 consecutive years) and chosen as a “Top Mountain Restaurant” by Mountain Living Magazine, which praised its “ambiance and over-the-top food,” the Rusty Parrot Lodge’s Wild Sage restaurant provides an intimate and relaxing experience of fine Jackson Hole cuisine. Dinner in the intimate Wild Sage is served with a view of an exhibition-style kitchen complemented with a massive river rock fireplace. Private dining for up to 10 people is also available in the Rusty Parrot Lodge's den with advanced notice. A menu of creative American offerings features organically-grown produce, local game and meats, sustainable fish and seafood, and freshly-prepared desserts. The restaurant offers an extensive wine list and a reserve wine list with awards from Wine Spectator Magazine and wines-by-the-glass carefully chosen to complement menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday: 7:00am- 10:30am (Rusty Parrot Lodge guest priority)
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Gill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-2000

Website:
http://www.rustyparrot.com/dining/dinner

Parking Details:
Private lot and street parking available.

Public Transit:
START Bus public transit stops 2 blocks from hotel/restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Travis Catanzaro

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room of up to 10 people is available with advanced booking. Please call 307 733 2000 to make reserve Private Dining Room

Restaurant can be booked for private parties with buyout and advanced booking.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Harrison: (307) 733-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fireplace (12)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Super relaxed meal with a view of the fireplace. Great waitstaff--attentive, knowledgeable about the food and offered superb guidance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As usual, it was spectacular !

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Totally fantastic! We always try to eat there when we're in Jackson, WY.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding culinary experience in Jackson. Service was great. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great dinning experience. My wife and I ate there twice while visiting JH. Just what we were seeking. Perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We greatly enjoyed Wild Sage. It was quiet in a beautiful setting with an open clean kitchen. The wait staff was exceedingly attentive and the cuisine was excellent. I would highly recommend it as a special meal while staying in Jackson, WY. It was by far the best meal we had during our stay. Breakfast service was also extremely good.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful 8 table restaurant. Open kitchen with food artistically prepared and very good. Great find on vacation in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Wild Sage was recommended to us by a local - we were in town for a ski vacation - and It far exceeded our expectations. The food was beyond delicious! The bolognese appetizer was mouth watering. This restaurant is as good as anything we've experienced in NYC or our travels - outstanding! Our server Wayne was helpful and charismatic. We wish we could have brought the Wild Sage home with us.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

this is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere and a real delight in Jackson Hole. Highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This is definitely what you would call a "fancy pants" place. VERY limited seating so a reservation is highly recommended. Started with crab cake which was small but extremely tasty. My friend started with the special which was some sort homemade pasta dish and he said it was just ok and wouldn't order it again. Entree was the short ribs which were delicious and well paired. Friend had the rabbit and he also said it was delicious. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner here with several friends. Service was excellent, food was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I'm so glad that we decided to change our reservations and go to Wild Sage. The foie gras alone was worth the trip! This team takes great care in plating as well as the overall quality of the dishes, which makes the entire experience better. The bison Short Ribs were exceptional. In a small town with great dining options, this restaurant is not to be missed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This restaurant is excellent!! The food is delicious and on point (unlike other fussy restaurants with average food). The service is excellent as well. It's a very small and cozy dining room with open kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding presentation. Excellent taste. The menu is a little weak and hard for kids. Since it is a hotel they should have something less exotic for children. We loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Beautiful food. Really lovely service. Felt the price should have included one more course or pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food here is outstanding! We visit Jackson once a year and always make sure we have dinner at the Wild Sage. The food is incredible and the service is outstanding. We had the venison and lamb; both dishes were phenomenal. If you are considering Wild Sage or Snake River you should pick Wild Sage. We have eaten all over Jackson and this is our favorite restaurant. Will be back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

One of the best meals we had while in Jackson Hole. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Yum... Yum... Yum! Food was outstanding... fresh and local. Waitstaff was knowledgeable and friendly and the atmosphere was cozy and warm... highly recommend for a great night in Jackson!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered the crab cake for a starter to share and the bison short ribs and salmon entrees. This was the most amazing crab cake we have ever eaten. Full of crab (not breading) and a large piece of crab claw on top. If you plan to share this, realize that it is small, but worth the bite! The entrees were good, but not memorable. The service and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Wild Sage restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant is very quaint and cozy with about 10 tables total. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet dinner with locally influenced cuisine such as bison.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our dinner at the Wild Sage was nice. Our waiter was very attentive and the food was good, but not great. We appreciated the creativity of the dishes we had but felt they were overpriced, especially for the portion size.

Ambiance was wonderful; we loved sitting by the fireplace.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food, beautifully presented and served by an informed, professional and friendly staff.

We had the table by the fireplace which they lit for us as requested. Highly recommend, we will definitely be

back on our next visit to Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Repeat visit to a gem of restaurant difficult to find in today's culinary environment

Megan, our server made the otherwise notable experience more exquisite and friendly

The food was outstanding as was the ambience and beverages

Definitely a KEEPER!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My girlfriend and I went there to celebrate my 40th birthday. The wait staff was very helpful and friendly. The custom-made drinks were amazing! I ordered the braised bison short ribs, and they were fantastic! I We had a very Enjoyable meal, and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful Jackson gourmet dining experience. Wild Sage does everything well. It is a total pleasure. Creative and classic recipes, prepared deliciously. Able servers who are knowledgeable and attentive. Well curated wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Wild Sage. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely, but what made the evening was the excellent service we were given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent as usual, you will not be disappointed !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The most delicious and memorable meal ever. Every detail of this dining experience was perfect. The chefs and wait staff put their hearts into making our dinners there outstanding. Creative dishes with the perfect combination of ingredients. Already planning to go back

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We loved the atmosphere here. The small bar area was a great beginning to our evening. The service was well timed and very accommodating. The ingredients seemed to be harvested locally. Their "deconstructed" tomato soup was delicious, however the portion was too much for me as a starter making it difficult to enjoy the incredible Bison short ribs. The wagyu filet was divine and cooked to perfection! It seems to be a perfect selection for Jackson Hole!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Yet again, high quality, exceptional service, well executed dining experience. Worthy of a Michelin 2 or 3 star designation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great ambience, wonderful entree selections (we loved the salmon), and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fabulous dinner Chef creates meals with amazing twists and tastes!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great service, felt like we were being served in a private home.

Food was expertly prepared!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This restaurant has been a top restaurant location in Jackson Hole Wyoming for some time. It is expensive, fine dining with a creative menu. I read many good reviews so I made a reservation for my husband and my anniversary. We talked with a Local Art Gallery owner in town who said Wild Sage was his wife's favorite restaurant but, they had eaten there just two days before and everyone in their party was not pleased with the food. He thought they were understaffed both in the front and in the kitchen. We decided to give the restaurant a shot anyway. Service was a bit cold/indifferent although when asked, the waiter was knowledgeable about the food and the wine list. My meal, Veal Chop was excellent. My husband's meal (Short Ribs) was inedible. It was so tough you couldn't chew the mean. We send it back and I shared my meal with my husband as it was getting late. So, I would recommend this restaurant, only with limitations, until the kitchen gets its act back together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoyed everything about the Wild Sage and will go there again. We ate in Jackson three nights and the Wild Sage was by far the best. Started with the beet, cheese and fresh peach plate. Exquisitely presented and all flavors were a treat. Husband got the Endive Caesar Salad which he really enjoyed. Our dinners were phenomenal. Husband got the Bison Short Ribs and said they were the best he'd ever had. I went for the Lamb Loin and devoured every bite. Sooo good. Highly recommend. Will go back every time we are in Jackson, maybe twice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great fine dining restaurant. We come to Jackson 2 to 3 times per year and always try and get here for an intimate dinner. Food, the specials are fantastic, and service is excellent. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my favorite dinner in Jackson Hole!! Everything was perfect from start to finish! The service was amazing! The owner stopped by our table to check on us and made us laugh. The atmosphere is romantic without being fussy. I LOVED the open kitchen and watching the chefs work! You can tell that take great pride in what they are creating! The quality of the dishes was top notch. We started with the Caesar and tomato salads, perfect. The bread was Aaaaaamazing!!! I had the elk chop and my husband had the bison ribs! We highly recommend both. We also got two desserts, the flourless chocolate cake and peach tart!!! Omg. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wow!!! Eight tables in the place, 3 waiters, 4 chefs excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We visited to celebrate a special occasion and were very impressed by the quaint atmosphere. With less than 10 tables the service was always quick and personalized. We were especially impressed that we could sit so close to the kitchen and watch the chefs prepare our delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

everything was outstanding!

presentation, quality-taste-preparation all top notch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very intimate space. Well prepared food and good presentation. Wait staff was very attentive; however, our particular server was a bit stuffy. I prefer good service without the snob appeal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very good food. Have eaten here before when on vacation in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our favorite meal while in Jackson,WY, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend the Wagyu tenderloin, venison chop, and bison ribs. Although it's worth noting that we were a table of 8 and everyone loved their selections.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food , ambience and service. Outstanding. Not many tables and very quiet. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Prices have gotten very, very expensive over past few years. Service is a bit slow. Waiters not very attentive or friendly in this very small hotel restaurant. They need to tone down the snob appeal. This is Jackson Hole, not Aspen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place to take out of town guests after a day in the Tetons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were here to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We were more than pleased. The dining room was beautiful and only had 8 or so tables so the setting was very intimate. The chef started our meal with freshly baked sourdough bread and a small plate. We had the crab cake as an appetizer and it was delicious. We also both had the cucumber and avocado salad. My husband had the halibut and I had the tenderloin. All tasted amazing and the presentation was superb! Dessert was flourless chocolate cake and the frozen chocolate soufflé. Amazing!! My husband had wine and I had a giddy up margarita that featured a splash of Tabasco sauce to complete the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing food and service. Every dish is executed to the finest detail. Perfect spot for a special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.