About Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge

175 North Jackson Street
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Jackson's only AAA 4-diamond awarded restaurant (9 consecutive years) and chosen as a “Top Mountain Restaurant” by Mountain Living Magazine, which praised its “ambiance and over-the-top food,” the Rusty Parrot Lodge’s Wild Sage restaurant provides an intimate and relaxing experience of fine Jackson Hole cuisine. Dinner in the intimate Wild Sage is served with a view of an exhibition-style kitchen complemented with a massive river rock fireplace. Private dining for up to 10 people is also available in the Rusty Parrot Lodge's den with advanced notice. A menu of creative American offerings features organically-grown produce, local game and meats, sustainable fish and seafood, and freshly-prepared desserts. The restaurant offers an extensive wine list and a reserve wine list with awards from Wine Spectator Magazine and wines-by-the-glass carefully chosen to complement menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday: 7:00am- 10:30am (Rusty Parrot Lodge guest priority)
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Gill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-2000

Website:
http://www.rustyparrot.com/dining/dinner

Parking Details:
Private lot and street parking available.

Public Transit:
START Bus public transit stops 2 blocks from hotel/restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Travis Catanzaro

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room of up to 10 people is available with advanced booking. Please call 307 733 2000 to make reserve Private Dining Room

Restaurant can be booked for private parties with buyout and advanced booking.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Harrison: 3077332000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
11 More
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
American
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole
American
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

special occasion (15)
fit for foodies (15)
romantic (13)
See All
notable wine list (12)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and service. Every dish is ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and service. Every dish is executed to the finest detail. Perfect spot for a special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic dinner at Wild Sage d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at Wild Sage during a four-night stay at the Rusty Parrot. Our server/sommelier, Jason, was exceptional--very knowledgeable about both the food and the wine and exceedingly personable and helpful. We had a second "dinner" at Wild Sage during an hours-long power failure over the entire town of Jackson. The staff was incredibly dedicated and creative in preparing what food they could for the guests, including importing a propane grill and cooking via headlamp.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wild Sage is a small, intimate dining ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wild Sage is a small, intimate dining experience. Entire staff was attentive and professional. You should put this on the list of places to eat when in Jackson Hole.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Good was great. Walki ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was great. Good was great. Walking distance to square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our Birthday meal with relati ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed our Birthday meal with relatives very much. The food each of us ordered was cooked to perfection, however my sister-in-law was not fond of the eggplant that was placed under her fantastic lamb dish. (I wouldn't have either!)

We were seated next to a very loud table and unfortunately had a difficult time hearing our own conversations. This is a problem in this restaurant, due to the fact the few tables that are available are situated very close to one another.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great wine selection very fresh high qua ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great wine selection very fresh high quality ingredients. I enjoyed being able to see the chefs prepare our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, menu choices were intere ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, menu choices were interesting. Waitstaff described fine details of food preparation. Highly recommended for diners needing a vacation from burgers and fries and plain meal selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is some great food in Jackson WY b ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

There is some great food in Jackson WY but Wild Sage has got to be the best. Service, presentation and the meal was absolutely the best--we try to eat at the very best and this is one. Hats of to the chef who might be hidden in Jackson--the lodge is a few blocks from the main square but worth a trek or drive to find. Right at the base of the mountains, it's a retreat from the crowds! Reservations are a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our last night in Jackson Hole ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our last night in Jackson Hole and we enjoyed this restaurant very much. The Bison Short Ribs were awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great in all respects.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great in all respects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, service not so great

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We were travelling through Jackson and had been advised to go here. The menu is not extensive but doesn't need to be as all items are innovative and interesting. It was hard to make a choice, a nice dilemma to have. Both our entrees, pheasant and ribs, were exceptional and the wines by the glass were a very good match. One slightly disappointing note was that the server did not engage with us well. He wasn't exactly unfriendly but was certainly not welcoming. After we had ordered, we heard other tables being informed about the daily special by their server but our server didn't tell us. Service was adequate but not outstanding.

A suggestion would be to include prices on the brandy and cognac list, so that diners don't have to ask. All other wines and spirits have prices next to them, so it's not clear why the omission. Overall, we are happy we took the advice to eat there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We love this place, but this night the $ ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We love this place, but this night the $50 filet was overcooked and the salmon was not as good as Blue Apron. Presentation was spectacular, and service superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My favorite place to dine in Jackson Hole. Great for a get together with dear friends, as it's quiet enough for conversation. Always top-notch in the food and wine department, and love the intimate atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and service! Very intimate ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing food and service! Very intimate - perfect for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful & Memorable!!!!!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Amazing food Terrific wait staff and fabulous food. Fresh, well-prepared, great attention to detail. Flavor combinations were perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The setting was wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was amazing!

The setting was warm and cozy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Special night

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Each of us had an appetiser, main course and dessert. Delicious with impecable service. Worth it for a special occaission.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food, service and atmospher ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Really great food, service and atmosphere - highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wild Sage Review

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The Wild Sage was clearly the best restaurant during our seven day ski trip that we ate at. The food was spectacular. The atmosphere is perfect for any special occasion and the noise level was very low. There are only about eight tables so it is a very quaint dining experience. The Wild Sage would be my first recommendation to anyone visiting Jackson, WY

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable people, remarkable food

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Chef Travis' sublime creations were served impeccably by Cody. I dine there two of three nights; each night was different, yet each was excellent. Intimate setting, with all food preparations in view. I've dined at Chef's Tables before, but none surpassed this experience.

This is the fourth year I've vacationed in Jackson. The second reservation I've made each year (after flights) is at least one night at Wild Sage.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

buffalo on the lamb!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great Buffalo braised short ribs and perfect service. The chefs are artists who present the food items with class and style. I would highly recommend them for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

This is our third time at Wild Sage and it never disappoints! A definite dining must for Jackson Hole!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tries too hard to be foodie in a non foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Tries too hard to be foodie in a non foodie town. Has a great ambiance should just concentrate on great food and lose the attitude. Trendy and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Need more meatless dishes

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

There was only one appetizer/salad that didn't have meat and only one fish entree. Need to offer some pasta, orzo etc.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome show of cooking talent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

You can sit and watch them cook and plate your meal! What a great spot. Only 8 tables. A little pricy though...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

One of Jackson's Finest

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

There are many excellent restaurants in Jackson Hole and this one rates in the top handful.

With Jackson being so remote the food for the best restaurants comes of the SYSCO truck. Most of it is well prepared but rarely fresh.

The Wild Sage stands out for a limited selection of the freshest offerings. We began with the house beer and cheddar soup and the foie gras. Both were presented with the restaurant special "twists". The soup with apple and bacon and the foie gras with a chestnut butter and crepe.

For main courses we had the venison and the pheasant. Both were exceptional. Serving sizes are small to moderate. This is unusual in Jackson where most main courses are enormous and make you feel stuffed.

Service was impeccable. This is rare in Jackson where seasonal staff come and go. The wine list was very good, if not a bit pricey but better than some rip-off wines lists like the Snake River Grill and the Westbank Grill.

Two courses each with a moderately priced bottle of wine, tax and tip came to ~$165. With dessert it would be ~$200 which is typical for a high end Jackson restaurant. The Wild Sage rates highly with me and is comparable to The Couloir and The Jenny Lake Lodge (Summer only).

Definitely on my list for a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buffalo Short Ribs

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

All around great place. The service was great. We arrived early and they took us up to the library and fire to hang out until they opened. After they opened they asked if we would like to be seated early, which was nice as we were starving from skiing all day. The Foie gras was excellent. I had the buffalo short ribs and they were great. My wife had the filet and it melted in your mouth. Outstanding! Food, wine & service were second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

About the best crab cakes ever. Cozy old west decor/atmosphere, nice service, decent wine list (good champagne by the glass), comfortable furnishings. Pheasant sounded great, but needed better seasoning, and wasn't that tender. Decent venison, nice green salad, bland pear cobbler. Worth going for the crab cakes.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Jackson gem at Wild Sage

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Excellent setting for a gourmet romantic meal. The pork belly strudel was superb as was the smk goose beet salad. Entrees of pheasant and bison short ribs echoed the call of the Teton mountains !! Great knowledgeable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Have been going to this great restaurant, particularly for special occasions like anniversaries, small groups of friends, etc.. for years ... and it continues to offer wonderful food, great service and very quiet, elegant atmosphere ... highly recommended!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real find!

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Food & service were excellent! The steak was pricey. We will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here, excellent service and excellent food. Very well presented.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10yr anniversary dinner

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Staff was great along w the food. Soup was incredible after a long cold day. Really enjoyed the quiet table. Free ice cream and champagne was a nice touch to help us celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Christmas Dinner!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We don't know if their dining is always this amazing, or if they really made it special for Christmas Eve, but this was one of the most memorable dining experiences we have ever had, and we travel and dine often! We had the wild venison chops and the Wagyu Beef Tenderloin~ pure perfection! We didn't expect anything exciting from a mixed green salad, but exciting to our buds, it was~ and topped with crispy ginger! We started with the crab cakes from the starter menu~ have never had better and doubt we ever will! The wine menu was nice~ and they paired every item on the menu with a wine suggestion! The intimate ambiance with the river stone fireplace was gorgeous! We highly recommend the Wild Sage Restaurant for any special occasion! And we'll always remember this Christmas Eve! Oh, and the service, our server from Poland was such a pleasure~ and very knowledgeable as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience! The food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Exceptional dining experience! The food was absolutely delicious!!! We loved every bite! Can't wait to

Go back on our next trip! Bonus the kitchen is open so you get to see the Chef in action!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alexandra was awesome. We came a day ear ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

Alexandra was awesome. We came a day early and was accommodated. We had the Vinson, which was great. The crab cake was good and the frisbee salad was awesome! Would come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Evening

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

Our second time and they again made it a perfect dining experience. Amazing food and wonderful service. A must when staying in Jackson Hole.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Increase in corkage a killer for me

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

We have eaten at The Wild Sage for years and have and still do consider it to overall be in the top 2-3 restaurants in Jackson. We know the waiters by name and appreciate the inventiveness and overall perfection that Chef Travis puts into each and every dish that he serves. We have our own wine cellar so have always enjoyed bringing our own wines to wherver we dine in Jackson. Of course we expect to pay a corkage fee and as recently as 2 months ago the corkage at the WS was $25.00 which is reasonable but honestly on the high end of similarly competitive restaurants. Our latest meal there was wonderful as usual but then I noticed that they had increased their corkage to $35.00. While a$10.00 increase may seem overly picky to most, I know of only one other high end restaurant in JH that charges more. I am principaled enough to make this minor change a deal breaker for my wife and me. So we have cancelled our further reservations based purely on principal. So now the Wild Sage has not only lost a reasonable corkage but also the cost of drinks, meals, desserts, and tips to a wonderful group of their wait staff. Was a $10.00 increase in corkage worth it in the long run.?Possibly because there will always be a group that will continue to dine there principal or not. The Wild Sage is a terrific restaurant that unfortunately, and based on my principals alone, we will not be frequenting again if ever. Very sad!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

10th year Anniversary as perfect as the first

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

I asked my wife to marry me at the Wild Sage 10 years ago this past weekend, and each year since, we have traveled to Jackson Hole to commemorate this important date. As part of that tradition, we always book Saturday night at the Wild Sage and we are never disappointed.

There's only about six tables total, so the ambience is very cozy in a rustic cabin type of way including the fireplace. Service is great. The kitchen is open so you can watch your entree's being cooked and plated. Any special requests are accommodated to make your evening one of a kind. The menu is always top of the line with unique and traditional choices.

We'll be back next year, of course, and the year after that...and the year after that...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

The Wild Sage is fine dining experience worth the cost. I would have given 5 stars but my dish, Bison Short Ribs was a little overdone for my taste. My wife's Lamb was perfect, just as ordered. Service was attentive and the meal was well paced. The martini's before dinner were excellent. It was a fine dining experience. Next time in Jackson will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.