About Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge

175 North Jackson Street
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Jackson's only AAA 4-diamond awarded restaurant (9 consecutive years) and chosen as a “Top Mountain Restaurant” by Mountain Living Magazine, which praised its “ambiance and over-the-top food,” the Rusty Parrot Lodge’s Wild Sage restaurant provides an intimate and relaxing experience of fine Jackson Hole cuisine. Dinner in the intimate Wild Sage is served with a view of an exhibition-style kitchen complemented with a massive river rock fireplace. Private dining for up to 10 people is also available in the Rusty Parrot Lodge's den with advanced notice. A menu of creative American offerings features organically-grown produce, local game and meats, sustainable fish and seafood, and freshly-prepared desserts. The restaurant offers an extensive wine list and a reserve wine list with awards from Wine Spectator Magazine and wines-by-the-glass carefully chosen to complement menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday: 7:00am- 10:30am (Rusty Parrot Lodge guest priority)
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Gill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-2000

Website:
http://www.rustyparrot.com/dining/dinner

Parking Details:
Private lot and street parking available.

Public Transit:
START Bus public transit stops 2 blocks from hotel/restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Travis Catanzaro

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room of up to 10 people is available with advanced booking. Please call 307 733 2000 to make reserve Private Dining Room

Restaurant can be booked for private parties with buyout and advanced booking.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Harrison: 3077332000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
13 More
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Value
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
American
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole
Best Value
Jackson Hole
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole
American
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Fit for Foodies (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambience, wonderful entree selecti ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambience, wonderful entree selections (we loved the salmon), and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner Chef creates meals with ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous dinner Chef creates meals with amazing twists and tastes!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, felt like we were being s ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great service, felt like we were being served in a private home.

Food was expertly prepared!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has been a top restauran ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This restaurant has been a top restaurant location in Jackson Hole Wyoming for some time. It is expensive, fine dining with a creative menu. I read many good reviews so I made a reservation for my husband and my anniversary. We talked with a Local Art Gallery owner in town who said Wild Sage was his wife's favorite restaurant but, they had eaten there just two days before and everyone in their party was not pleased with the food. He thought they were understaffed both in the front and in the kitchen. We decided to give the restaurant a shot anyway. Service was a bit cold/indifferent although when asked, the waiter was knowledgeable about the food and the wine list. My meal, Veal Chop was excellent. My husband's meal (Short Ribs) was inedible. It was so tough you couldn't chew the mean. We send it back and I shared my meal with my husband as it was getting late. So, I would recommend this restaurant, only with limitations, until the kitchen gets its act back together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Really enjoyed everything about the Wild ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoyed everything about the Wild Sage and will go there again. We ate in Jackson three nights and the Wild Sage was by far the best. Started with the beet, cheese and fresh peach plate. Exquisitely presented and all flavors were a treat. Husband got the Endive Caesar Salad which he really enjoyed. Our dinners were phenomenal. Husband got the Bison Short Ribs and said they were the best he'd ever had. I went for the Lamb Loin and devoured every bite. Sooo good. Highly recommend. Will go back every time we are in Jackson, maybe twice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fine dining restaurant. We come t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great fine dining restaurant. We come to Jackson 2 to 3 times per year and always try and get here for an intimate dinner. Food, the specials are fantastic, and service is excellent. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my favorite dinner in Jackson H ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my favorite dinner in Jackson Hole!! Everything was perfect from start to finish! The service was amazing! The owner stopped by our table to check on us and made us laugh. The atmosphere is romantic without being fussy. I LOVED the open kitchen and watching the chefs work! You can tell that take great pride in what they are creating! The quality of the dishes was top notch. We started with the Caesar and tomato salads, perfect. The bread was Aaaaaamazing!!! I had the elk chop and my husband had the bison ribs! We highly recommend both. We also got two desserts, the flourless chocolate cake and peach tart!!! Omg. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!!! Eight tables in the place, 3 wai ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wow!!! Eight tables in the place, 3 waiters, 4 chefs excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited to celebrate a special occasi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We visited to celebrate a special occasion and were very impressed by the quaint atmosphere. With less than 10 tables the service was always quick and personalized. We were especially impressed that we could sit so close to the kitchen and watch the chefs prepare our delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything was outstanding! presentation ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

everything was outstanding!

presentation, quality-taste-preparation all top notch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very intimate space. Well prepared food ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very intimate space. Well prepared food and good presentation. Wait staff was very attentive; however, our particular server was a bit stuffy. I prefer good service without the snob appeal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food. Have eaten here before ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very good food. Have eaten here before when on vacation in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite meal while in Jackson,WY, h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our favorite meal while in Jackson,WY, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. I would r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend the Wagyu tenderloin, venison chop, and bison ribs. Although it's worth noting that we were a table of 8 and everyone loved their selections.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food , ambience and service. Outst ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food , ambience and service. Outstanding. Not many tables and very quiet. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices have gotten very, very expensive ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Prices have gotten very, very expensive over past few years. Service is a bit slow. Waiters not very attentive or friendly in this very small hotel restaurant. They need to tone down the snob appeal. This is Jackson Hole, not Aspen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place to take out of town guests a ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place to take out of town guests after a day in the Tetons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were here to celebrate our 35th weddi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were here to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We were more than pleased. The dining room was beautiful and only had 8 or so tables so the setting was very intimate. The chef started our meal with freshly baked sourdough bread and a small plate. We had the crab cake as an appetizer and it was delicious. We also both had the cucumber and avocado salad. My husband had the halibut and I had the tenderloin. All tasted amazing and the presentation was superb! Dessert was flourless chocolate cake and the frozen chocolate soufflé. Amazing!! My husband had wine and I had a giddy up margarita that featured a splash of Tabasco sauce to complete the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service. Every dish is ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing food and service. Every dish is executed to the finest detail. Perfect spot for a special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impecable as always; outstanding service ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Impecable as always; outstanding service and exquisite food makes the Wild Sage THE best restaurant in Jackson, Wyoming and the mountain states!!

The service was outstanding; our waiter - Jason, made our evening an event to rem,ember for a long, long time. His perfect yet personalized service was truly outstanding

The food, whether an appetizer or main meal, were an unbelievable tour through Fr cuisine, and their presentations were spectacular!

Definitely a KEEPER!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic dinner at Wild Sage d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at Wild Sage during a four-night stay at the Rusty Parrot. Our server/sommelier, Jason, was exceptional--very knowledgeable about both the food and the wine and exceedingly personable and helpful. We had a second "dinner" at Wild Sage during an hours-long power failure over the entire town of Jackson. The staff was incredibly dedicated and creative in preparing what food they could for the guests, including importing a propane grill and cooking via headlamp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wild Sage is a small, intimate dining ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wild Sage is a small, intimate dining experience. Entire staff was attentive and professional. You should put this on the list of places to eat when in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Good was great. Walki ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was great. Good was great. Walking distance to square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our Birthday meal with relati ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed our Birthday meal with relatives very much. The food each of us ordered was cooked to perfection, however my sister-in-law was not fond of the eggplant that was placed under her fantastic lamb dish. (I wouldn't have either!)

We were seated next to a very loud table and unfortunately had a difficult time hearing our own conversations. This is a problem in this restaurant, due to the fact the few tables that are available are situated very close to one another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great wine selection very fresh high qua ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great wine selection very fresh high quality ingredients. I enjoyed being able to see the chefs prepare our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, menu choices were intere ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, menu choices were interesting. Waitstaff described fine details of food preparation. Highly recommended for diners needing a vacation from burgers and fries and plain meal selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is some great food in Jackson WY b ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

There is some great food in Jackson WY but Wild Sage has got to be the best. Service, presentation and the meal was absolutely the best--we try to eat at the very best and this is one. Hats of to the chef who might be hidden in Jackson--the lodge is a few blocks from the main square but worth a trek or drive to find. Right at the base of the mountains, it's a retreat from the crowds! Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our last night in Jackson Hole ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our last night in Jackson Hole and we enjoyed this restaurant very much. The Bison Short Ribs were awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great in all respects.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great in all respects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, service not so great

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We were travelling through Jackson and had been advised to go here. The menu is not extensive but doesn't need to be as all items are innovative and interesting. It was hard to make a choice, a nice dilemma to have. Both our entrees, pheasant and ribs, were exceptional and the wines by the glass were a very good match. One slightly disappointing note was that the server did not engage with us well. He wasn't exactly unfriendly but was certainly not welcoming. After we had ordered, we heard other tables being informed about the daily special by their server but our server didn't tell us. Service was adequate but not outstanding.

A suggestion would be to include prices on the brandy and cognac list, so that diners don't have to ask. All other wines and spirits have prices next to them, so it's not clear why the omission. Overall, we are happy we took the advice to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We love this place, but this night the $ ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We love this place, but this night the $50 filet was overcooked and the salmon was not as good as Blue Apron. Presentation was spectacular, and service superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My favorite place to dine in Jackson Hole. Great for a get together with dear friends, as it's quiet enough for conversation. Always top-notch in the food and wine department, and love the intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and service! Very intimate ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing food and service! Very intimate - perfect for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful & Memorable!!!!!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Amazing food Terrific wait staff and fabulous food. Fresh, well-prepared, great attention to detail. Flavor combinations were perfect!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The setting was wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was amazing!

The setting was warm and cozy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Special night

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Each of us had an appetiser, main course and dessert. Delicious with impecable service. Worth it for a special occaission.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food, service and atmospher ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Really great food, service and atmosphere - highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wild Sage Review

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The Wild Sage was clearly the best restaurant during our seven day ski trip that we ate at. The food was spectacular. The atmosphere is perfect for any special occasion and the noise level was very low. There are only about eight tables so it is a very quaint dining experience. The Wild Sage would be my first recommendation to anyone visiting Jackson, WY

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable people, remarkable food

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Chef Travis' sublime creations were served impeccably by Cody. I dine there two of three nights; each night was different, yet each was excellent. Intimate setting, with all food preparations in view. I've dined at Chef's Tables before, but none surpassed this experience.

This is the fourth year I've vacationed in Jackson. The second reservation I've made each year (after flights) is at least one night at Wild Sage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

buffalo on the lamb!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great Buffalo braised short ribs and perfect service. The chefs are artists who present the food items with class and style. I would highly recommend them for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.