About Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge

175 North Jackson Street
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Jackson's only AAA 4-diamond awarded restaurant (9 consecutive years) and chosen as a “Top Mountain Restaurant” by Mountain Living Magazine, which praised its “ambiance and over-the-top food,” the Rusty Parrot Lodge’s Wild Sage restaurant provides an intimate and relaxing experience of fine Jackson Hole cuisine. Dinner in the intimate Wild Sage is served with a view of an exhibition-style kitchen complemented with a massive river rock fireplace. Private dining for up to 10 people is also available in the Rusty Parrot Lodge's den with advanced notice. A menu of creative American offerings features organically-grown produce, local game and meats, sustainable fish and seafood, and freshly-prepared desserts. The restaurant offers an extensive wine list and a reserve wine list with awards from Wine Spectator Magazine and wines-by-the-glass carefully chosen to complement menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday: 7:00am- 10:30am (Rusty Parrot Lodge guest priority)
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Gill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-2000

Website:
http://www.rustyparrot.com/dining/dinner

Parking Details:
Private lot and street parking available.

Public Transit:
START Bus public transit stops 2 blocks from hotel/restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Travis Catanzaro

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room of up to 10 people is available with advanced booking. Please call 307 733 2000 to make reserve Private Dining Room

Restaurant can be booked for private parties with buyout and advanced booking.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Harrison: 3077332000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Wild Sage @ The Rusty Parrot Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
7 More
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Value
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole
Best Value
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Yum... Yum... Yum! Food was outstanding ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Yum... Yum... Yum! Food was outstanding... fresh and local. Waitstaff was knowledgeable and friendly and the atmosphere was cozy and warm... highly recommend for a great night in Jackson!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the crab cake for a starter t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered the crab cake for a starter to share and the bison short ribs and salmon entrees. This was the most amazing crab cake we have ever eaten. Full of crab (not breading) and a large piece of crab claw on top. If you plan to share this, realize that it is small, but worth the bite! The entrees were good, but not memorable. The service and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Wild Sage restaurant was a pleasant ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Wild Sage restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant is very quaint and cozy with about 10 tables total. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet dinner with locally influenced cuisine such as bison.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner at the Wild Sage was nice. Ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our dinner at the Wild Sage was nice. Our waiter was very attentive and the food was good, but not great. We appreciated the creativity of the dishes we had but felt they were overpriced, especially for the portion size.

Ambiance was wonderful; we loved sitting by the fireplace.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent food, beautifully presented an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food, beautifully presented and served by an informed, professional and friendly staff.

We had the table by the fireplace which they lit for us as requested. Highly recommend, we will definitely be

back on our next visit to Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Repeat visit to a gem of restaurant diff ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Repeat visit to a gem of restaurant difficult to find in today's culinary environment

Megan, our server made the otherwise notable experience more exquisite and friendly

The food was outstanding as was the ambience and beverages

Definitely a KEEPER!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My girlfriend and I went there to celebr ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My girlfriend and I went there to celebrate my 40th birthday. The wait staff was very helpful and friendly. The custom-made drinks were amazing! I ordered the braised bison short ribs, and they were fantastic! I We had a very Enjoyable meal, and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Jackson gourmet dining experie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful Jackson gourmet dining experience. Wild Sage does everything well. It is a total pleasure. Creative and classic recipes, prepared deliciously. Able servers who are knowledgeable and attentive. Well curated wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience at Wild Sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Wild Sage. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely, but what made the evening was the excellent service we were given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as usual, you will not be disa ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent as usual, you will not be disappointed !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most delicious and memorable meal ev ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The most delicious and memorable meal ever. Every detail of this dining experience was perfect. The chefs and wait staff put their hearts into making our dinners there outstanding. Creative dishes with the perfect combination of ingredients. Already planning to go back

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the atmosphere here. The small ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We loved the atmosphere here. The small bar area was a great beginning to our evening. The service was well timed and very accommodating. The ingredients seemed to be harvested locally. Their "deconstructed" tomato soup was delicious, however the portion was too much for me as a starter making it difficult to enjoy the incredible Bison short ribs. The wagyu filet was divine and cooked to perfection! It seems to be a perfect selection for Jackson Hole!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yet again, high quality, exceptional ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Yet again, high quality, exceptional service, well executed dining experience. Worthy of a Michelin 2 or 3 star designation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience, wonderful entree selecti ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great ambience, wonderful entree selections (we loved the salmon), and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner Chef creates meals with ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fabulous dinner Chef creates meals with amazing twists and tastes!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, felt like we were being s ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great service, felt like we were being served in a private home.

Food was expertly prepared!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has been a top restauran ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This restaurant has been a top restaurant location in Jackson Hole Wyoming for some time. It is expensive, fine dining with a creative menu. I read many good reviews so I made a reservation for my husband and my anniversary. We talked with a Local Art Gallery owner in town who said Wild Sage was his wife's favorite restaurant but, they had eaten there just two days before and everyone in their party was not pleased with the food. He thought they were understaffed both in the front and in the kitchen. We decided to give the restaurant a shot anyway. Service was a bit cold/indifferent although when asked, the waiter was knowledgeable about the food and the wine list. My meal, Veal Chop was excellent. My husband's meal (Short Ribs) was inedible. It was so tough you couldn't chew the mean. We send it back and I shared my meal with my husband as it was getting late. So, I would recommend this restaurant, only with limitations, until the kitchen gets its act back together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Really enjoyed everything about the Wild ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoyed everything about the Wild Sage and will go there again. We ate in Jackson three nights and the Wild Sage was by far the best. Started with the beet, cheese and fresh peach plate. Exquisitely presented and all flavors were a treat. Husband got the Endive Caesar Salad which he really enjoyed. Our dinners were phenomenal. Husband got the Bison Short Ribs and said they were the best he'd ever had. I went for the Lamb Loin and devoured every bite. Sooo good. Highly recommend. Will go back every time we are in Jackson, maybe twice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fine dining restaurant. We come t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great fine dining restaurant. We come to Jackson 2 to 3 times per year and always try and get here for an intimate dinner. Food, the specials are fantastic, and service is excellent. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my favorite dinner in Jackson H ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my favorite dinner in Jackson Hole!! Everything was perfect from start to finish! The service was amazing! The owner stopped by our table to check on us and made us laugh. The atmosphere is romantic without being fussy. I LOVED the open kitchen and watching the chefs work! You can tell that take great pride in what they are creating! The quality of the dishes was top notch. We started with the Caesar and tomato salads, perfect. The bread was Aaaaaamazing!!! I had the elk chop and my husband had the bison ribs! We highly recommend both. We also got two desserts, the flourless chocolate cake and peach tart!!! Omg. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!!! Eight tables in the place, 3 wai ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wow!!! Eight tables in the place, 3 waiters, 4 chefs excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited to celebrate a special occasi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We visited to celebrate a special occasion and were very impressed by the quaint atmosphere. With less than 10 tables the service was always quick and personalized. We were especially impressed that we could sit so close to the kitchen and watch the chefs prepare our delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything was outstanding! presentation ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

everything was outstanding!

presentation, quality-taste-preparation all top notch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very intimate space. Well prepared food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very intimate space. Well prepared food and good presentation. Wait staff was very attentive; however, our particular server was a bit stuffy. I prefer good service without the snob appeal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food. Have eaten here before ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very good food. Have eaten here before when on vacation in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite meal while in Jackson,WY, h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our favorite meal while in Jackson,WY, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. I would r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend the Wagyu tenderloin, venison chop, and bison ribs. Although it's worth noting that we were a table of 8 and everyone loved their selections.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food , ambience and service. Outst ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food , ambience and service. Outstanding. Not many tables and very quiet. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices have gotten very, very expensive ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Prices have gotten very, very expensive over past few years. Service is a bit slow. Waiters not very attentive or friendly in this very small hotel restaurant. They need to tone down the snob appeal. This is Jackson Hole, not Aspen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place to take out of town guests a ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place to take out of town guests after a day in the Tetons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were here to celebrate our 35th weddi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were here to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We were more than pleased. The dining room was beautiful and only had 8 or so tables so the setting was very intimate. The chef started our meal with freshly baked sourdough bread and a small plate. We had the crab cake as an appetizer and it was delicious. We also both had the cucumber and avocado salad. My husband had the halibut and I had the tenderloin. All tasted amazing and the presentation was superb! Dessert was flourless chocolate cake and the frozen chocolate soufflé. Amazing!! My husband had wine and I had a giddy up margarita that featured a splash of Tabasco sauce to complete the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service. Every dish is ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing food and service. Every dish is executed to the finest detail. Perfect spot for a special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impecable as always; outstanding service ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Impecable as always; outstanding service and exquisite food makes the Wild Sage THE best restaurant in Jackson, Wyoming and the mountain states!!

The service was outstanding; our waiter - Jason, made our evening an event to rem,ember for a long, long time. His perfect yet personalized service was truly outstanding

The food, whether an appetizer or main meal, were an unbelievable tour through Fr cuisine, and their presentations were spectacular!

Definitely a KEEPER!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic dinner at Wild Sage d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at Wild Sage during a four-night stay at the Rusty Parrot. Our server/sommelier, Jason, was exceptional--very knowledgeable about both the food and the wine and exceedingly personable and helpful. We had a second "dinner" at Wild Sage during an hours-long power failure over the entire town of Jackson. The staff was incredibly dedicated and creative in preparing what food they could for the guests, including importing a propane grill and cooking via headlamp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wild Sage is a small, intimate dining ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wild Sage is a small, intimate dining experience. Entire staff was attentive and professional. You should put this on the list of places to eat when in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Good was great. Walki ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was great. Good was great. Walking distance to square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our Birthday meal with relati ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed our Birthday meal with relatives very much. The food each of us ordered was cooked to perfection, however my sister-in-law was not fond of the eggplant that was placed under her fantastic lamb dish. (I wouldn't have either!)

We were seated next to a very loud table and unfortunately had a difficult time hearing our own conversations. This is a problem in this restaurant, due to the fact the few tables that are available are situated very close to one another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great wine selection very fresh high qua ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great wine selection very fresh high quality ingredients. I enjoyed being able to see the chefs prepare our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, menu choices were intere ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, menu choices were interesting. Waitstaff described fine details of food preparation. Highly recommended for diners needing a vacation from burgers and fries and plain meal selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is some great food in Jackson WY b ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 21, 2016

There is some great food in Jackson WY but Wild Sage has got to be the best. Service, presentation and the meal was absolutely the best--we try to eat at the very best and this is one. Hats of to the chef who might be hidden in Jackson--the lodge is a few blocks from the main square but worth a trek or drive to find. Right at the base of the mountains, it's a retreat from the crowds! Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.