Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar

Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar is a celebration of Mexican flavors featuring authentic food and beverages that showcases the culinary diversity of Mexico. Our menu features artisanal tacos, seafood, hand-made tamales, wood-fired chili rellenos and much more. The menu is complimented by an energetic, fun atmosphere and bold decor. We offer a full bar including specialty margaritas, house-crafted cocktails, beer, wine and over 100 tequilas.

445 East Market St.
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-7482

Website:
http://www.wildritas.com/

Entertainment:
Check our website, www.wildritas.com

Catering:
Please contact us for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar has a parking lot directly across Market St from the restaurant. After 6PM we have additional parking on site. Street parking is also available as well.

Public Transit:
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar is located at the corner of Market and Jackson streets and has direct access to public transit stops.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Buntain

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Spicy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great, food was very good and hot on arrival and margaritas were excellent! We'll be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

They had a great happy hour and the service was friendly and prompt. The drinks were fabulous and at $4 each it was a steal!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food, drinks, and service. It is a very loud place when busy, which makes it tough to have conversations with others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food and even better margaritas! Service was above average and quick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Salsa recipe has changed. Too salty. Queso ood. Salmon and Brussels sprouts just ok.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Not bad food and drinks average certainly nothing bad but nothing special either, pricey and very noisy. Close proximity to Slugger field is their biggest asset.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

My son and I were passing through Louisville on our way back home from Nashville to Michigan, and chose Wild Rita's to satisfy our craving for Mexican food. The service was excellent from the moment we walked through the door. The chicken mole dish and the chile relleno were very flavorful and the margaritas were fresh and delicious. I will definitely make this my Louisville destination in the future, and would strongly recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Seasonal, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Being fairly new to Louisville (just under two years), we have been steadily trying out new restaurants each weekend. Wild Rita's had last minute reservation availability for party of five and hadn't been before so we went for it. We arrived and were greeted warmly. They had our table set up with water already waiting. I found it to be cramped for seating with the fifth chair pulled up on the side of what probably should have been a four top. Lively atmosphere. Pretty loud overall. Service was very good. I had the salmon served with Brussels sprouts. It was served with a tiny bit of sweet potato purée on top of the salmon. Very tasty but way too small an amount to qualify as a sauce IMO. My husband had the fajitas which he liked fine. Other dishes tried included a salad with chicken taquitos and the generously sized carne y papas (sparerib). Margaritas were good. I've had better mojitos in other local restaurants. Bottom line is that although it was a good experience overall, we are not in a big hurry to go back with so many other options.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our service was outstanding for having a large group. Trey was our waiter and made the experience really enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Last minute dining option. Food was good and the guacamole is outstanding! Large bridal parties so it was extremely loud, but overall experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Out with friends from out of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good, quick food. Fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great drinks, the tacos do lack flavor and the meat in two of them was very dry. I prefer El Taco Luchador tacos and they are cheaper and have more variety of taste. Queso and guacamole is very good. I like the added onions to the queso.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Happy hour drink prices where great and food , service was very Good. Every thing was very clean looking including the restrooms. Parking across the street was easy to access as well. Tumble Weed not even close to this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great Wild Margarita. Salsa and queso are awesome! Service is great. Main courses are always just okay. Fatty meat. Noise level is quite loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

so noisy that no one could hear anyone!!! do something about the noise!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was great. Food and tequila were both very good. Would recommend this to anyone

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Salsa and Quac were great. I enjoyed the special daily bbq tacos but the meat had some fat and gristle that wasn't great. Server was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fun atmosphere, good food
Don't miss the flaming Wild Rita!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A most excellent dinner! Wild Rita's never disappoints. Great frozen margarita, guacamole, and the taco trio is fantastic! Al Pastor by far the best! On the higher end of tabs we pay on a month-in month-out basis, but worth it. Parking is easy too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere, met friends here for dinner and drinks. Couldn't have asked for anything better, service was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

One of our favorites! We highly recommend it and we tell people about Wild Rita's all the time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was good, food was was good but super overpriced. My drink was strong, and not worth $9. Externally loud, I could barely hear the waiter or my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I decided to give Wild Rita's another try after finding a hair in my taco about four months ago. This time was worse. Our server who had been serving there for two and a half years did not inform us of any drink specials or anything that we should try on the menu. He was also very flippant in his remarks. The food was ok. My friend's taco was dry so she added some sour cream to add moisture to it. When our server came back to check on us she mentioned that she didn't really care for that one taco without asking her what was wrong he said "well you put sour cream on it..it's meant to be eaten how it comes" ...what?! She ended up ordering another taco. The dessert I had for my birthday was over fried and not really that pleasant and to top it all off I got sick around 2 in the morning. So I will not be returning to Wild Rita's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Far too loud for an enjoyable evening. Food and service were good, but we almost had to yell to hear ourselves. It was a Thursday; can't imagine a Friday or Saturday evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Server was great. This was my first visit Had avoided it do to mixed reviews. I love Mexican food. Not this food. The red sauce is so hot, I couldn't even eat it. The worst part was that it had zero flavor. It was hot for the sake of being hot. I had cheese enchiladas. The actual enchiladas had no flavor. The beans were okay. The rice was not good. I find it hard to mess up Mexican, yet Wild Rita's does a grand job of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The happy hour deals were decent and the chips, guacamole and salsa were all tasty. The issue was we never got our food. We ordered two taco plates and were told after an hour that they had been picked up but the server "couldn't find our table." They did offer to get us our tacos in two minutes but we had to leave due to timing. The manager did cover our drinks and appetizers but the overall experience was disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were disappointed in this experience. The food was so-so, the service wasn't great, and it didn't have that fun Nulu feel (it was just outside the area).

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Guacamole was wonderful. Seasoned perfectly with out being over "onioned". I had salmon and Brussel sprouts that were cooked perfectly. Chicken mole was delicious. The vegetarian at our table was given the option of substituting any protein for tofu. Additionally there were meatless options. My only complaint, and it's not a big one, was that the room is very live. It would be nice to have a bit less noise. But the overall vibe is one of a fun celebration so the noise is forgivable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great tequila selection! The al pastor & carne asada tacos are a little dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our server, Kelsey, was wonderful. She gave great service and awesome recommendations on drinks and food. However, it was difficult to hear my friends talking, as it was super loud in the restaurant. The food was a bit overpriced for the value of it. We also told the host that we were celebrating a birthday, and I guess the message didn't get to our server, as she didn't do anything for the birthday. The best part of the meal (besides the service) was the margaritas- they were really good and well priced. Overall, it was too noisy to enjoy time with friends, and the food was nothing special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The drinks are good and so is the food, but it is really not a good value in my opinion. Service was ok, but not exceptional by any means. I probably won't go back for anything other than a margarita.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

By for the worst bartenders EVER! Did not take our drink order for quite a while, didn't know much about any of the tequilas we were asking questions about (this is a Mexican restaurant and bar... known for their tequila), screwed up a tequila, soda w/splash sour mix. When at our table, our superb server Dallas recommended one of the special margaritas and the bartender couldn't get that right so I waited 30 mins for another tequila soda that he almost screwed up.
Food was very slow to come out for the restaurant not being that busy. And it was just ok. Nothing special.
We probably won't come back. Too many other great Mexican restaurants closer to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our waiter was slow, rude and uninterested in our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It was my own fault for going, but I still want to forewarn others. My husband and I had been hearing conflicting reviews over the quality of this restaurant. The negative reviews win! Two of us spent over 70 dollars on 2 entrees and 3 cocktails (total, not each). The margaritas were good, but not worth 11 dollars for tiny (6oz?) portions. Food service was slow, but friendly. The entrees were hearty, but lukewarm and flavorless. I'd rather go to an El Nopal or Los Aztecas any day and spend 1/3 of the price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We have been there several times in the past. Pros: delicious flavors. Cons: extremely noisy to the point you can't hold a normal conversation! Service was slow. Kitchen very backed up. Food came out at different times and with wrong order. Offer to make it right but there would be a wait. Reserved a table but was given a community table and told there was a wait for a private table. We don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were very accomodating when we had to change our reservation time and party number. The food was fine....decent portions and the flavors were fine. The drinks were slow to arrive for both the first round and second round. That was odd since it wasn't busy at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very attentive service and the food is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.