Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar

Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar is a celebration of Mexican flavors featuring authentic food and beverages that showcases the culinary diversity of Mexico. Our menu features artisanal tacos, seafood, hand-made tamales, wood-fired chili rellenos and much more. The menu is complimented by an energetic, fun atmosphere and bold decor. We offer a full bar including specialty margaritas, house-crafted cocktails, beer, wine and over 100 tequilas.

445 East Market St.
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-7482

Website:
http://www.wildritas.com/

Entertainment:
Check our website, www.wildritas.com

Catering:
Please contact us for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar has a parking lot directly across Market St from the restaurant. After 6PM we have additional parking on site. Street parking is also available as well.

Public Transit:
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar is located at the corner of Market and Jackson streets and has direct access to public transit stops.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Buntain

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Casual (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Spicy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were very accomodating when we had to change our reservation time and party number. The food was fine....decent portions and the flavors were fine. The drinks were slow to arrive for both the first round and second round. That was odd since it wasn't busy at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very attentive service and the food is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The margarita was very good and so was the service. We were a party of 6 and those that had chicken, said it was dry and those why had steak in their dish, complained that it was fatty meat. Very small menu too.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Third time there and continues to be my favorite Mexican restaurant in Louisville! Good service, great food and excellent cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The best Mexican food I've had outside of LA. The salsas, chips and guacamole are all hand made. Tacos and pork shoulder were delicious main dishes. The starter salads are huge and could be main dishes. The roasted corn and plantains sides are a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always great drinks...wait staff is efficient and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was good but my entree had been sitting under a heat lamp or something because my red sauce and my enchiladas were a rock hard mess. I avoided sending it back because I didn't want to spoil my wife's experience. Our waitress, Lauren, was professional, nevertheless and the other items we ordered were great. My advice? Get the food out when it is ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service was amazing and food was great! Excellent hospitality and fresh ingredients. Great start to our weekend in Louisville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and service was good. Best margaritas I have ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wild Rita's was fantastic! My first time visiting and I will certainly be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Spicy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Appreciated chef, Andrew, coming to the table and saying hello. I work with his brother, Taylor. Great Food and fun place to eat!

Sara Sneed

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had been in Louisville for 3 days for my son's VEx robotics world championship, and these were 2 grueling full day events, so to get away and gnosh some superb Tex-Mex in a modern settings. Thanks open table for the suggestion!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great good, fun ambiance, quick and friendly service. Can't go wrong with a trip to Wild Rita's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was just so so. Service slow. Ordered second drink and had to remind waiter.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Was great waiter had great suggestions food and drink wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great time with family and friends before the LCFC match. We received great service and food with plenty of time to spare to walk over for the match. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was a wonderful experience, our server was flawless and the food was superb!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall my experience was a good one. I was however a bit disappointed that after stressing to the waiter that I wanted "no cheese, no sour cream, no dairy on anything" he didn't think to tell me that the hominy grits had cheese in them until after the food was delivered (I had even requested to hold the cheese on my burrito which the waiter was successful at doing). I traded sides with my husband so all worked out well in the end. Just beware that the menu doesn't indicate vegan/vegetarian options and the waitstaff may not be completely aware of what ingredients are in the menu items. Both of our cocktails were excellent, definitely go for a drink if not for food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by all aspects of the evening. Good food, fun place!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Really liked the decor. Best salsa I've had in awhile. The lunch entries where okay.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great experience. My husband's dinner was not what he ordered (beef instead of chicken). He told them but said it was fine with him and it was delicious. His meal was switched with someone else's. Even though he said it was fine, they still comped his dinner and sent us home with dessert. The food and margaritas are fresh. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was very good , however , the waitress did not get order accurate (ies ordered without certain toppings , had to remove them myself) . Was on time limit was not able to re-order so settled for what we got. Order was rather pricey to be inaccurate.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Don't tell anybody but this is a great place for 1/2 price appetizers during happy hour. Not crowded either.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing chips and salsa, great fajitas, and a fun variety of street tacos. The service was excellent as well. The blown glass light fixtures and skulls were beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fun, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was great! Shrimp fajitas were wonderful. We were seated right next to the kitchen so it was really loud, which detracted from the overall experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great spot.
Clean, lively, great food and priced well. Pleasant service

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The atmosphere was loud, my queso already hard that layer on too when it came out, I asked if they could heat it up, and she said she could bring me a side to mix w it, I was charged for it!
I wasn't really impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Really enjoyed food, service and atmosphere. Loved it so much took a large group to Wild Ritas the next week.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall the food was really good but one in our party had a fairly skimpy serving and had to send it back. Pretty noisy and the service was on the slow side of things

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It is very noise you. So much so you are almost yelling. Other than that it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I had a great experience at Wild Ritas. The service was great and the food was delicious. Our food came to us quickly and hot. Our server was attentive and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The decor is awesome, service was great and they have a great selection of drinks and tequilas, however, the food is marginal especially for the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the drink selection was vast. The margaritas were excellent with varying tales on the classic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I visited on a business trip to Louisville. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. I will visit here again when I am in town. I will also consider bringing clients here for a meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was good. Started with good salsa and white quest. (Per the menu, they do charge $2 for chips and salsa.) I would definitely recommend the Al Pastor tacos, which is what I had, to a friend. My margarita was excellent. My only complaint was that the restaurant was loud. At times, I had a hard time hearing my tablemates and the waiter. I would not recommend for large groups because it would be difficult to hear at a larger table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Ordered the chef's special, chicken enchiladas. They were dreadful. As dry as cardboard. We have eaten at WR's several times, but we will not be returning. Too many better options such as Guacamole. Dined Sat evening 2/4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great and our server was wonderful! I had called earlier in the day to let them know it was my daughter's birthday and the hostess said she would let the server know. She must have forgotten because our server was great. He was very polite and attentive. The food was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Took our family of seven to celebrate our adult daughter's birthday so we ranged in age from 10 to 72. We all enjoyed the evening. The food and drinks were great and staff seemed to enjoy serving us and made sure our grandsons were enjoying themselves.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We did reservations for 7:00 p.m. We got there around 6:45 and did not get seated until 7:15. We were not happy, but did not say anything to anyone about it. When we finally got our table, the Manager advised us that they would provide us with two free guacamole's (WHICH TASTED ABSOLUTEY FABULOUS!!!!) since we had to wait so long! EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE RIGHT THERE!
The margarita's were phenomenal and needless to say, we all wobbled out after a full belly and relaxation from the drinks!
we will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.