Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar

Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar is a celebration of Mexican flavors featuring authentic food and beverages that showcases the culinary diversity of Mexico. Our menu features artisanal tacos, seafood, hand-made tamales, wood-fired chili rellenos and much more. The menu is complimented by an energetic, fun atmosphere and bold decor. We offer a full bar including specialty margaritas, house-crafted cocktails, beer, wine and over 100 tequilas.

445 East Market St.
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-7482

Website:
http://www.wildritas.com/

Entertainment:
Check our website, www.wildritas.com

Catering:
Please contact us for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar has a parking lot directly across Market St from the restaurant. After 6PM we have additional parking on site. Street parking is also available as well.

Public Transit:
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar is located at the corner of Market and Jackson streets and has direct access to public transit stops.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Buntain

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (10)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Romantic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great. Food and tequila were both very good. Would recommend this to anyone

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Salsa and Quac were great. I enjoyed the special daily bbq tacos but the meat had some fat and gristle that wasn't great. Server was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fun atmosphere, good food
Don't miss the flaming Wild Rita!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A most excellent dinner! Wild Rita's never disappoints. Great frozen margarita, guacamole, and the taco trio is fantastic! Al Pastor by far the best! On the higher end of tabs we pay on a month-in month-out basis, but worth it. Parking is easy too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere, met friends here for dinner and drinks. Couldn't have asked for anything better, service was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

One of our favorites! We highly recommend it and we tell people about Wild Rita's all the time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was good, food was was good but super overpriced. My drink was strong, and not worth $9. Externally loud, I could barely hear the waiter or my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I decided to give Wild Rita's another try after finding a hair in my taco about four months ago. This time was worse. Our server who had been serving there for two and a half years did not inform us of any drink specials or anything that we should try on the menu. He was also very flippant in his remarks. The food was ok. My friend's taco was dry so she added some sour cream to add moisture to it. When our server came back to check on us she mentioned that she didn't really care for that one taco without asking her what was wrong he said "well you put sour cream on it..it's meant to be eaten how it comes" ...what?! She ended up ordering another taco. The dessert I had for my birthday was over fried and not really that pleasant and to top it all off I got sick around 2 in the morning. So I will not be returning to Wild Rita's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Far too loud for an enjoyable evening. Food and service were good, but we almost had to yell to hear ourselves. It was a Thursday; can't imagine a Friday or Saturday evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Server was great. This was my first visit Had avoided it do to mixed reviews. I love Mexican food. Not this food. The red sauce is so hot, I couldn't even eat it. The worst part was that it had zero flavor. It was hot for the sake of being hot. I had cheese enchiladas. The actual enchiladas had no flavor. The beans were okay. The rice was not good. I find it hard to mess up Mexican, yet Wild Rita's does a grand job of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The happy hour deals were decent and the chips, guacamole and salsa were all tasty. The issue was we never got our food. We ordered two taco plates and were told after an hour that they had been picked up but the server "couldn't find our table." They did offer to get us our tacos in two minutes but we had to leave due to timing. The manager did cover our drinks and appetizers but the overall experience was disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were disappointed in this experience. The food was so-so, the service wasn't great, and it didn't have that fun Nulu feel (it was just outside the area).

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Guacamole was wonderful. Seasoned perfectly with out being over "onioned". I had salmon and Brussel sprouts that were cooked perfectly. Chicken mole was delicious. The vegetarian at our table was given the option of substituting any protein for tofu. Additionally there were meatless options. My only complaint, and it's not a big one, was that the room is very live. It would be nice to have a bit less noise. But the overall vibe is one of a fun celebration so the noise is forgivable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great tequila selection! The al pastor & carne asada tacos are a little dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our server, Kelsey, was wonderful. She gave great service and awesome recommendations on drinks and food. However, it was difficult to hear my friends talking, as it was super loud in the restaurant. The food was a bit overpriced for the value of it. We also told the host that we were celebrating a birthday, and I guess the message didn't get to our server, as she didn't do anything for the birthday. The best part of the meal (besides the service) was the margaritas- they were really good and well priced. Overall, it was too noisy to enjoy time with friends, and the food was nothing special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The drinks are good and so is the food, but it is really not a good value in my opinion. Service was ok, but not exceptional by any means. I probably won't go back for anything other than a margarita.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

By for the worst bartenders EVER! Did not take our drink order for quite a while, didn't know much about any of the tequilas we were asking questions about (this is a Mexican restaurant and bar... known for their tequila), screwed up a tequila, soda w/splash sour mix. When at our table, our superb server Dallas recommended one of the special margaritas and the bartender couldn't get that right so I waited 30 mins for another tequila soda that he almost screwed up.
Food was very slow to come out for the restaurant not being that busy. And it was just ok. Nothing special.
We probably won't come back. Too many other great Mexican restaurants closer to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our waiter was slow, rude and uninterested in our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It was my own fault for going, but I still want to forewarn others. My husband and I had been hearing conflicting reviews over the quality of this restaurant. The negative reviews win! Two of us spent over 70 dollars on 2 entrees and 3 cocktails (total, not each). The margaritas were good, but not worth 11 dollars for tiny (6oz?) portions. Food service was slow, but friendly. The entrees were hearty, but lukewarm and flavorless. I'd rather go to an El Nopal or Los Aztecas any day and spend 1/3 of the price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We have been there several times in the past. Pros: delicious flavors. Cons: extremely noisy to the point you can't hold a normal conversation! Service was slow. Kitchen very backed up. Food came out at different times and with wrong order. Offer to make it right but there would be a wait. Reserved a table but was given a community table and told there was a wait for a private table. We don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were very accomodating when we had to change our reservation time and party number. The food was fine....decent portions and the flavors were fine. The drinks were slow to arrive for both the first round and second round. That was odd since it wasn't busy at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very attentive service and the food is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The margarita was very good and so was the service. We were a party of 6 and those that had chicken, said it was dry and those why had steak in their dish, complained that it was fatty meat. Very small menu too.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Third time there and continues to be my favorite Mexican restaurant in Louisville! Good service, great food and excellent cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The best Mexican food I've had outside of LA. The salsas, chips and guacamole are all hand made. Tacos and pork shoulder were delicious main dishes. The starter salads are huge and could be main dishes. The roasted corn and plantains sides are a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always great drinks...wait staff is efficient and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was good but my entree had been sitting under a heat lamp or something because my red sauce and my enchiladas were a rock hard mess. I avoided sending it back because I didn't want to spoil my wife's experience. Our waitress, Lauren, was professional, nevertheless and the other items we ordered were great. My advice? Get the food out when it is ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was amazing and food was great! Excellent hospitality and fresh ingredients. Great start to our weekend in Louisville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and service was good. Best margaritas I have ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wild Rita's was fantastic! My first time visiting and I will certainly be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Spicy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Appreciated chef, Andrew, coming to the table and saying hello. I work with his brother, Taylor. Great Food and fun place to eat!

Sara Sneed

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We had been in Louisville for 3 days for my son's VEx robotics world championship, and these were 2 grueling full day events, so to get away and gnosh some superb Tex-Mex in a modern settings. Thanks open table for the suggestion!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great good, fun ambiance, quick and friendly service. Can't go wrong with a trip to Wild Rita's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was just so so. Service slow. Ordered second drink and had to remind waiter.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Was great waiter had great suggestions food and drink wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great time with family and friends before the LCFC match. We received great service and food with plenty of time to spare to walk over for the match. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was a wonderful experience, our server was flawless and the food was superb!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Overall my experience was a good one. I was however a bit disappointed that after stressing to the waiter that I wanted "no cheese, no sour cream, no dairy on anything" he didn't think to tell me that the hominy grits had cheese in them until after the food was delivered (I had even requested to hold the cheese on my burrito which the waiter was successful at doing). I traded sides with my husband so all worked out well in the end. Just beware that the menu doesn't indicate vegan/vegetarian options and the waitstaff may not be completely aware of what ingredients are in the menu items. Both of our cocktails were excellent, definitely go for a drink if not for food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by all aspects of the evening. Good food, fun place!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.