About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charred Octopus
Seared Sea Scallops
Risotto Fritters
Clammer Dave Clams
Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli
Bread And Olive Oil
Baked Penne With Sweet Sausage
Roasted brussels sprouts
Brown Butter Gnocchi
Beef Carpaccio
Agnolotti
Sweet Tea
Grilled Quail
Fried Softshell Crab
Salumi Misti
Strawberry Almond Bowl
Meatball
Grilled Octopus
Tiramisu
Shrimp Linguine
Gnocchi
Tagliatelle
Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese With Ground Pork And Veal, Parmesan, White Wine, Milk, Tomato

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
7 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Johns Island ›

fit for foodies (313)
special occasion (257)
neighborhood gem (240)
See All
romantic (159)
notable wine list (150)
good for groups (121)
hot spot (86)
vibrant bar scene (49)
kid-friendly (31)
late-night find (22)
great for brunch (21)
great for lunch (17)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were anxious to try Wild Olive after ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 2 days ago

We were anxious to try Wild Olive after reading the reviews, we are glad we did however it's wasn't good enough to go back. The service was excellent and the ambience was charming. Unfortunately our meals weren't spectacular. My husband had the fish special (grouper) and it was just ok. Same with the chicken parm and the scallops. Too many great dining options in the area for "just ok".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

our favorite Charleston place to eat. al ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

our favorite Charleston place to eat. all around excellence. outstanding service personnel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really looking forward to having d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was really looking forward to having dinner there my friend said she thought it was great and they go there. I was extremely disappointed i. My meal, which was Lasagna. Maybe had I ordered something else, I might feel be a differently about the restaurant . Our bill came to over $100 and I hate to leave a restaurant feeling this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Words do not describe the love my wife a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Words do not describe the love my wife and I have for Wild

Olive. In my humble opinion, they're the best service and restaurant in Charleston. A consistent, perennial team. Strong leadership and some new twists always make this our favorite place to be. Try the peach and prosciutto ravioli!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place to dine at! We love wild o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome place to dine at! We love wild olive and will be regulars from now on!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Wild Olive will alway ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints! Wild Olive will always be on our go-to list when visiting Charleston. Very good service, reasonably priced and everything is delicious with sauces that taste remarkably & expertly layered. Well worth the drive to John's Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife anfantastic. We had a great ni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife anfantastic. We had a great night and would both recommend to others and definitely visit again soond I were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed the overall experience at the Wild Olive restaurant. The service was exceptional, the food, mouth watering delicious and the ambience .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wild Olive is my go-to for special occas ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wild Olive is my go-to for special occasions, business dinners and dinner with the family. My favorite restaurant in the Charleston, SC area for years.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Wild Olive at least 20 t ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been to Wild Olive at least 20 times and it has been consistently excellent. A great place for Italian in the Charleston area, especially if you want to avoid downtown parking issues.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always awesome food and service!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Servers are as great as the food! Top no ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Servers are as great as the food! Top notch! Whole dining experience couldn't be better

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!! Service and food wer ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Awesome as always!! Service and food were superb! Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and delicious food. On ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great restaurant and delicious food. Only issue is the noise level: wooden floors + bare walls + no acoustic ceiling = nothing to absorb sound and echoes, which makes it more difficult for some (especially males age 55 y/o and older) to carry on conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service, we basically ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent meal and service, we basically had all the specials and they were phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive is one of the best restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wild Olive is one of the best restaurants that I have eaten at in charleston!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was impressed by the farm-to-table asp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was impressed by the farm-to-table aspect of this restaurant, as well as the exquisite quality of the items we selected. The beef carpaccio appetizer was delectable, and the olive medley was wonderful! The wine list is great, the service was attentive, and the menu had plenty of variety. I would highly recommend Wild Olive (and I will be going back myself--soon I hope)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have tried several times to get a res ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have tried several times to get a reservation as we live quite close by but they are always booked. It was nice to get in even if it was Sunday night. The food was great - good portions - nice and fresh.

Not an inexpensive night but quite nice.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

BEST restaurant in charleston...awesome ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

BEST restaurant in charleston...awesome wine selection...great service! And desserts are to die for!

Fresh and from local farmers 👍👍

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You can't go wrong because everything is ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

You can't go wrong because everything is delicious! The short rib is to die for and the carpaccio keeps me coming back. Try the smashed potatoes and gnocchi for the table and the blondie for dessert. Woah. Shout out to Alex for expertly pairing my glass of wine with the wreck fish. Love. Love. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not sure why the service was unusually s ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Not sure why the service was unusually slow on this visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We don't have too much to brag about on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We don't have too much to brag about on Johns Island, but Wild Olive definitely is one thing we can be proud of. It's consistently good, as well as a good value. I live close and hadn't been in awhile...shame on me!!! I've been twice in the last 6 weeks and both times I was reminded just how good it is. I will be back on a more regular basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of the best places in Charle ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is one of the best places in Charleston....and it's on John's Island. I've been numerous times and the food and service is ALWAYS top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Wild Olive is outstanding! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food at Wild Olive is outstanding! It is always packed because of the quality of the food. The service is also well done. The servers are warm and friendly, and the manager has great attention to detail. There is a bit of a wait between courses, which is my only minor complaint, but it's probably because the food is so good we eat it so fast and the kitchen is bombarded with orders at this popular spot. The pasta texture is divine and the sauces are intricate and delicious. Even dessert is a great. From start to finish, a wonderful meal and dining experience. And as other diners have mentioned, the potatoes are a MUST HAVE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our experience at Wild Olive. T ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We loved our experience at Wild Olive. The octopus appetizer was phenomenal. The shrimp bucatini was our favorite pasta - it was a bit spicy, which was a huge hit at our table. There was a short rib pasta on special that was good, but I would try something different next time. Our server was excellent, he was knowledgeable about all of the menu items and took time to make sure we were having fun on what was surely a very busy evening. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant that happens to be clos ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great restaurant that happens to be close. Never a disappointment!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entering from parking lot is a beautiful ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Entering from parking lot is a beautiful Tuscan garden experience. The interior decor I would call shabby chic. The menus seemed worn but acceptable, the sound level extremely loud,. The service was perfunctory, with the server speaking in a low voice - difficult to understand amid the noise - and seemingly the first night on the job. But the FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING, overshadowing any other incongruity between the lovely landscaping and inside factors. The chicken parm was excellent, warmed olives a delight, and the ricotta gnocchi was perfect. Will definitely return, knowing the food will make everything worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great dining is dependent on food and yo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great dining is dependent on food and your server. Mel was exceptional and so was my swordfish. I have lived and fished the SC coast my whole life and NEVER had such a great dish. I highly recommend the swordfish, hot olives and have Mel serve you! Thanks Wild Olive for another great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The food is so amazing that we went back ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is so amazing that we went back two days later. We ate at the bar because we couldn't get a table. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was great. The wait ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As usual, the food was great. The wait staff appeared to be a bit stretched and was a bit slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Really good food. We've been dining at ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really good food. We've been dining at the Wild Olive during our vacations at Kiawah for several years. Always a grand experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Another perfect dining experience! Greet ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another perfect dining experience! Greeting, service, and our meals all reconfirmed that when asked "favorite restaurant around" we say Wild Olive without a doubt.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was as outstanding as the food. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was as outstanding as the food. Every bite was sensational! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never had a bad meal at Wild Oli ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have never had a bad meal at Wild Olive and the services is beyond exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service -2nd time at wild olive si ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service -2nd time at wild olive since moving to johns island - need better selection of cab wines 2nd best restaurant on island

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I would like to give this restaurant a b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I would like to give this restaurant a bad review, just to make more room, but of course I cannot. Wild Olive is a top restaurant is city with some of the best in the world. The service is top notch as is the food itself. You like Italian beyond the spaghetti and meatballs, then this is your place. We had an outstanding gnocchi with braised beef and the tomato and mozzarella salad that was the evening special, all washed down with a nice red wine. It was a memorable experience well worth repeating on a very regular basis. The food is ample too and perfect if you are a couple that like to share a dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great, made a few things for ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Server was great, made a few things for our table of 5 not on the menu. Olives are a must. We eat a lot in Charleston especially on King Street. Absolute best Italian in the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great sign of a great place is that yo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A great sign of a great place is that you don't even remember the waiter.

Plenty of easy parking.

The food of course was no less than outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

John was a fantastic server who went abo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

John was a fantastic server who went above and beyond to ensure we had a great dining experience. Our meals were fantastic as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we live downtown Charleston where ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Since we live downtown Charleston where there's 9 million fabulous restaurants and we rarely leave the peninsula, this was a big deal to make a reservation, get in the car and drive to Johns Island to The Wild Olive. After so many foodie friends had recommended this restaurant, we were super excited to try it. Let me just say, it did not disappoint and will stand up against any restaurant on the peninsula! The Wild Olive is now on our list of favorites even if we do have to drive there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was really good. Our server wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was really good. Our server was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.