Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Sweeney'sSweeney's
(158)
$$$$
American | Johns Island, Charleston
Booked 6 times today
Toast of Charleston-West AshleyToast of Charleston-West Ashley
(20)
$$$$
Southern | West Ashley, Charleston
Booked 2 times today
Al Di LaAl Di La
(923)
$$$$
Italian | West Ashley, Charleston
Booked 3 times today
CURECURE
(50)
$$$$
Steakhouse | James Island, Charleston
Booked 3 times today
The Med Eatery & BarThe Med Eatery & Bar
(3)
$$$$
American | West Ashley, Charleston
Saffire RestaurantSaffire Restaurant
(66)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Ichiban Steak House & Asian FusionIchiban Steak House & Asian Fusion
(9)
$$$$
Sushi | West Ashley, Charleston
Booked 2 times today
Manny's Neighborhood GrillManny's Neighborhood Grill
(67)
$$$$
Mediterranean | West Ashley, Charleston
Booked 2 times today
Ms. Rose'sMs. Rose's
(278)
$$$$
Southern | West Ashley, Charleston
Booked 7 times today
Lana Restaurant & BarLana Restaurant & Bar
(728)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 4 times today
Circa 1886Circa 1886
(2100)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 21 times today
Cannon GreenCannon Green
(306)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 7 times today
ProhibitionProhibition
(389)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 16 times today
Husk RestaurantHusk Restaurant
(6992)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 129 times today
The MacintoshThe Macintosh
(1452)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 28 times today

About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charred Octopus - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Seared Sea Scallops - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Risotto Fritters - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Clammer Dave Clams - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Baked Penne With Sweet Sausage  - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Bread And Olive Oil - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Brown Butter Gnocchi - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Beef Carpaccio - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Agnolotti - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Roasted brussels sprouts - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Sweet Tea - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Grilled Quail - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Fried Softshell Crab - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Salumi Misti - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Gnocchi - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Strawberry Almond Bowl - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Tiramisu - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Meatball - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Shrimp Linguine - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Tagliatelle - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Grilled Octopus - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC
Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese With Ground Pork And Veal, Parmesan, White Wine, Milk, Tomato - Wild Olive, Johns Island, SC

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (60)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Worth the Drive (47)
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Casual (23)
Fun (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Family Style (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (9)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were in Charleston for a 4 day celebr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Reviewed on October 5, 2016

We were in Charleston for a 4 day celebration of birthdays and an anniversary. Ate at several highly rated restaurants in town and found Wild Olive to be the BEST by far! We had several pastas (love the small portion option, perfect for sharing/tasting), the octopus w/fingerling potatoes, duck foie gras app...ALL DELICIOUS!!! Our waitress, Mel, was attentive, knowledgeable, and FUN...when you go ask for her, you won't be disappointed!!!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Wild Olive is a changing and yet constan ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wild Olive is a changing and yet constant presence on Johns Island. WE are lucky to have such a gourmet Italian restaurant so close to James Island and Kiawah etc. The special soup on October 3 a mushroom mix was unique. We are always to come back as we are locals.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fish special (grouper) was outstanding. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fish special (grouper) was outstanding. Be sure to try the chocolate cake. The only downside is the noise level.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not traditional Italian but good. For a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Not traditional Italian but good. For a neighborhood restaurant a step above the norm.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great experience and everyone was great! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great experience and everyone was great! Food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy Wild Olive. They have exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always enjoy Wild Olive. They have excellent food and equally awesome service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive was recommended by a co-worke ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wild Olive was recommended by a co-worker as a great Italian restaurant. Always looking for a good Italian food source, we had dinner their. Calamari is the base test for all of our new finds and it was excellent; some of the best we have had. Dinner selections of pasta and fish were very good. The honey flavored dessert pudding was one of the best restaurant desserts I've tasted. Service(Mel) was quick and excellent. Well worth the trip and is on our go to places list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great!! Ice cream was even bett ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was great!! Ice cream was even better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an amazing place all together!!! My ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Just an amazing place all together!!! My aunt recommended this place, and was blown away. Our service was impeccable along with everything else. It was our anniversary and they had champagne waiting for us. I recommend this to EVERYONE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our very favorite places to eat. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 27, 2016

One of our very favorite places to eat. We enjoy going with friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice for dinner. Creati ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always a great choice for dinner. Creative specials and a wonderful standard menu.

Definitely one of the best in the greater Charleston area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good - Lots of homemade pa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was very good - Lots of homemade pasta! Waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Staff very f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Staff very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service. Can't wai ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was magnificent and so was our ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was magnificent and so was our waitress. They have a very good menu with lots of selections from appetizers to desserts. The entrees were amazing.you should make a reservation its awsome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything ever tasted there good. Ser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything ever tasted there good. Server was a little 'short' at first but got better. Like the small quantity choice. It'd be nice if it were a little quieter. Conversation is impossible b/c everyone there is yelling to talk over the crowd.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The food and service were great as usual ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food and service were great as usual, but we were sat at the community table even though I had made reservations weeks ago. If I had wanted to sit at the community table, I wouldn't have bothered making reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service... could not have ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and service... could not have been better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rarely write reviews but Wild Olive is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I rarely write reviews but Wild Olive is noteworthy. We sat in the bar and received excellent attention from the barkeep along with a very nice bruschetta and warm olives.

The pan seared Sea Bass with local vegetables in a tomato broth was flawless and worth the $30 price, especially compared to prices at resort restaurants.

Attentive and pleasant service made for a memorable meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu and food - layered flavor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent menu and food - layered flavored! Good service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service ... Our fi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Delicious food, great service ... Our first time friends loved it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I always enjoy a night at Wild Olive whe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I always enjoy a night at Wild Olive whether it is for a special occasion or just in the mood for a fantastic meal. The food is fantastic and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. My wife had mushroom sou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent food. My wife had mushroom soup & braized short ribs. I had meatball appetizer & chicken parmesan. Our dessert, vanilla blondie gelato, was delicious. A perfect restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another very enjoyable meal Wild Olive! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Another very enjoyable meal Wild Olive! We have a vacation home in the area and we don't consider our trip complete without a visit to Wid Olive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one our most favorite places to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is one our most favorite places to dine. The food is always fresh and delicious. Our favorite server is Mel and we always enjoy our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great appetizers and the grouper dish wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great appetizers and the grouper dish was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great meal with our friends at ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a great meal with our friends at Wild Olive! I wished I had the waitress with the short brown hair. Oh well. I loved the calamari for the appetizer and I love the steak with potatoes for the entire. I also loved my house Cabernet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been to Kiawah Island last 8 years and h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Been to Kiawah Island last 8 years and had never been to the Wild Olive before. We as a group went twice last week and will be a regular stop from now on

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is our go to. The specials ar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This place is our go to. The specials are exceptional, great drink menu, wine selection from heaven, and all the servers are very talented. Do yourself a favor and get the bruschetta.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent. Food was great and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Server was excellent. Food was great and reasonable. Our server presented the menu with flair and personality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly yet professional servers knew t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Friendly yet professional servers knew the menu and were able to answer all questions and offer suggestions that were helpful but not intrusive. The chef offers really truly delicious food using fresh local ingredients in creative (but not crazy - in the way that some chefs seem to be going lately) ways. Comfortable with the right touch of upscale.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We usually get the specials, but this ev ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We usually get the specials, but this evening the standard menu items were much better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

As always a great meal with nice atmosph ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always a great meal with nice atmosphere. One of the best Italian places in the Charleston area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service are are fantastic! Staf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service are are fantastic! Staff are always professional friendly! Always look forward to dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was a treat for the palate. Very f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was a treat for the palate. Very fresh and portions were good size.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The octopus and calamari were excellent ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The octopus and calamari were excellent appetizers! The Bolognese was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner at the Wild Olive ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at the Wild Olive very much. The warm olive appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed with The Wild Ol ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I am never disappointed with The Wild Olive. I always bring my out of town guests here. Love the menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing all the way around! The best res ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing all the way around! The best restaurant in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just moved toCharleston andthiswas an ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Just moved toCharleston andthiswas an excellent find. Great service and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.