About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charred Octopus
Seared Sea Scallops
Risotto Fritters
Clammer Dave Clams
Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli
Bread And Olive Oil
Baked Penne With Sweet Sausage
Roasted brussels sprouts
Brown Butter Gnocchi
Beef Carpaccio
Agnolotti
Sweet Tea
Grilled Quail
Fried Softshell Crab
Salumi Misti
Strawberry Almond Bowl
Meatball
Grilled Octopus
Tiramisu
Shrimp Linguine
Gnocchi
Tagliatelle
Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese With Ground Pork And Veal, Parmesan, White Wine, Milk, Tomato

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
9 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Johns Island ›

fit for foodies (307)
special occasion (244)
neighborhood gem (237)
See All
romantic (164)
notable wine list (158)
good for groups (136)
hot spot (86)
vibrant bar scene (56)
kid-friendly (28)
late-night find (25)
great for brunch (22)
great for lunch (18)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Wild Olive is one of our "go to rest ...

Dined 4 days ago

The Wild Olive is one of our "go to restaurants"..Have never been disappointed. My husband orders the lasagna ever time..It is consistantly delicious. It used to be offered in 2 portions, but now only one. He takes half home and eates it for lunch the next day. I had the fish special, a bit pricey but excellent. We had a 13 year old with us who only wanted buttered noodles for which he was accomodated at the lowly cost of $3.00. That was greatly appreciated! Waitstaff very attentive and the manager was everywhere making sure things were running smoothly..for us a sign of a great restaurant..Kudos to the Wld Olive! No wonder it is always packed!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond Delicious!

Dined 4 days ago

Beyond Delicious!

food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Great restaurant! Great food and service ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant! Great food and service! Love their specials

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild olive has bold and fresh flavors. I ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wild olive has bold and fresh flavors. I love the atmosphere and the servers are professional, friendly, and very attentive. So glad to live only 5 minutes away as my family will be regulars.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have heard nothing but good things abo ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have heard nothing but good things about Wild Olive, so I decided to check it out for myself... and I was not disappointed! All fresh and seasonal ingredients from local farmers, and the prices were unbelievable. Best Italian food I have had in a long time, did not walk away hungry or disappointed. I will definitely be visiting again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server (Melanie?) was great. So chee ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our server (Melanie?) was great. So cheerful and knowledgable. We started with the risotto fritters (recommended by the guests at next table). They were delicious! My husband had the ribeye, which he said was delicious and perfectly cooked. I had the baked penne with the homemade Italian sausage. Wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best bread and Chicken Parm ever! Wo ...

Dined 6 days ago

The best bread and Chicken Parm ever! Would go back just for that.

food5
ambience5
service3

Delicious food as always, not our best s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious food as always, not our best service experience, but not bad enough to take away from the food. Will continue to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of six all thoroughly enjoyed ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our group of six all thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and evening at the restaurant. The food was wonderful and our waiter, Alex, was outstanding. He provided excellent advice when we were selecting food and beverages and his service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a surprise! Delicious, creative Ita ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

What a surprise! Delicious, creative Italian fare. Not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a pleasure eating at Wild Olive! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a pleasure eating at Wild Olive! Great menu options in a low-key environment with mostly local diners. One of our favorite places...and we eat out a lot.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Olive Garden never fails to deliver ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Olive Garden never fails to deliver a warm and friendly atmosphere with wonderful food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food on the island. Great service!

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Best food on the island. Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent! Veal is amazing,

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Food is excellent! Veal is amazing,

food5
ambience5
service5

If you favor Italian cuisine, this shoul ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

If you favor Italian cuisine, this should be on your must list when in the Charleston area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive is an overall great experienc ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Wild Olive is an overall great experience. They had a wine bottle special for only 19$ and the food was amazing to match. Great for a special occasion but not too stuffy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time at Wild Olive and we were eq ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Second time at Wild Olive and we were equally as impressed. The waiter, Alex, was very courteous and knowledgable about the menu and wine list. He made some food suggestions and recommended wines to pair with our final choices. He was there when we needed him and no more, a sign of a good waiter. I love that the menu is seasonal and reflects what the local farms are putting out. Just go try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is still on my top 5 list whe ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is still on my top 5 list when in the area. They are super-great in their creativity and I usually recommend the specials on the main course and the appetizers. They do a great job hosting your party and the prices are comfortable and even low compared to the quality of the food and overall experience. I recommend this establishment highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought every item was first-rate. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We thought every item was first-rate. The rest of this write-up is put down for all eternity because the machine demanded I write at least 50 characters. So here is more stuff. Not really anything about the food or service, but hey, what ....?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! The food and staff are re ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always great! The food and staff are remarkable. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken parm is our go-to dish, it n ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The chicken parm is our go-to dish, it never disappoints. Love the staff, the food, and everything about Wild Olive!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive never disappoints. It's one o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wild Olive never disappoints. It's one of our favorite spots for family dinners, this past dinner celebrating my birthday. The menu always is interesting, featuring seasonal and local specials. My husband loves octopus, and it's outstanding here. Most of our party ordered the special wreckfish, which was cooked perfectly. The gelato desserts are yummy. Every time we have been, the service has been extraordinary, and we're not an easy party, with four adults, two rambunctious boys and a baby. Our waiter could not have been more accommodating. It's nice, too, to find this quality of food and service without having to go downtown and worry about parking.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Ask for a quiet table

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at Wild Olive is delicious. The ambience has a lot to be desired . Simply put, it's way too noisy. Maybe there should be a 'seniors' room for people over 60??

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Good meal, great service, VERY loud setting

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and service very much. The food was good, and we loved the 1/2 portion option so that we could try several things. Our server (Mel) was fantastic. The only thing I would change if I could is the noise level. We were there on a Friday evening at 7:30 (and we are in our 40's - so we don't mind some noise) - we couldn't hear ourselves across our own 4-top table. All-in-all a good experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything. Absolutely everything

Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything. Absolutely everything

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on June 9, 2016

We stumbled on Wild Olive while searching for a place for dinner. Since we couldn't agree on what we wanted to eat we settled on Italian. Best decision ever. I had the chicken parmesan, my friend had the Brussels sprouts ravioli. We split some parmesan gnocci and calamari. Everything was very good. I'll definitely go back. Best part? It wasn't very expensive, all things considered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wild olive is simply amazing. The fo ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The wild olive is simply amazing. The food is hands down the best Italian around! The service is impeccable. And the ambiance is second to none!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is AMAZING!!! The pork Ragu p ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

This place is AMAZING!!! The pork Ragu pasta dish was one of the best things I ever ate!! Outstanding service too! We were in Kiawah for the week and were so glad we left the island to come here!! Thanks for a great last night!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebration Worthy

Dined on June 6, 2016

Celebrated out 35th anniversary at the Wild Olive. This was our 4th time dining there and never a disappointment. Husband had the swordfish special and I had the veal with the truffled veggies. Everything was prepared well and delish. Enjoyed the chocolate tart with sea salt and caramel and the profiteroles with pistachio gelato and chocolate sauce. Celebration worthy meal for sure. We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on June 4, 2016

I had the Chicken Parmesan was prefect and the side of Cavatelli was super delicious. We also had the Meatball and Fried Mashed Potatoes that were very good side options. Great place for Italian Cuisine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and food options. Venu ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service and food options. Venue can get noisy especially near bar and kitchen

food5
ambience3
service5

Love this place and eat there every time ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Love this place and eat there every time we are in the Charleston area. This time we were seated in the tiny area at the front of the building off the bar area and for a third of our time there we could not carry on a conversation with each other due to the noise level. We asked our server if we could be moved and we could not. Will not keep me from coming back but i will from now on request we not be seated there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful as always

Dined on June 3, 2016

We love Wild Olive! It is always a special treat to go there even though they are around the corner from our house. It never disappoints. Food is wonderful and staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

Dined on June 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service, good for dinner with friends or date, I recommend reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NEVER DISAPPOINTS!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We have been to Wild olive multiple times and have never had a bad bite of food. This place is better than any Italian restaurant downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Favorite Place to Eat

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service is excellent. We never want for anything, the waiters and waitresses are on top of it. We always spoil ourselves with a visit to this place, for occasions and just pleasure. The specials keep us coming back, they always have great ones and the menu is fantastic as well... Always leave with a smile and a full stomach, oh, dont forget dessert..They are wonderfully delicious... Keep up the excellent work, just wonderful. Gransurfer743

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New fave

Dined on June 2, 2016

First time fining here! Melanie, our server was wonderful! Loved everything! 😊

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Wild Olive for our anniversar ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We went to Wild Olive for our anniversary and we couldn't be more pleased. The food and service were excellent. We live an hour and a half away but we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

We have been coming to the Wild Olive no ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been coming to the Wild Olive now for at least five years. Every time we come has been consistently great. But I must say our last experience was exceptional. The service we get from Nicole is amazing and the food, well let's just say "the Wild Olive" has really outdone themselves ! Fabulous !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.