About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charred Octopus
Seared Sea Scallops
Risotto Fritters
Clammer Dave Clams
Baked Penne With Sweet Sausage
Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli
Bread And Olive Oil
Brown Butter Gnocchi
Beef Carpaccio
Agnolotti
Roasted brussels sprouts
Sweet Tea
Grilled Quail
Fried Softshell Crab
Salumi Misti
Gnocchi
Strawberry Almond Bowl
Tiramisu
Meatball
Shrimp Linguine
Tagliatelle
Grilled Octopus
Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese With Ground Pork And Veal, Parmesan, White Wine, Milk, Tomato

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
10 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Johns Island ›

Fit for Foodies (240)
Special Occasion (207)
Neighborhood Gem (199)
See All
Romantic (115)
Notable Wine List (102)
Good for Groups (87)
Hot Spot (61)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Kid-friendly (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Fun (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Casual (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Authentic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Family Style (9)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Scenic View (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were great as usual ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were great as usual, but we were sat at the community table even though I had made reservations weeks ago. If I had wanted to sit at the community table, I wouldn't have bothered making reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent menu and food - layered flavor ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent menu and food - layered flavored! Good service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service ... Our fi ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food, great service ... Our first time friends loved it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I always enjoy a night at Wild Olive whe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

I always enjoy a night at Wild Olive whether it is for a special occasion or just in the mood for a fantastic meal. The food is fantastic and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. My wife had mushroom sou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. My wife had mushroom soup & braized short ribs. I had meatball appetizer & chicken parmesan. Our dessert, vanilla blondie gelato, was delicious. A perfect restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another very enjoyable meal Wild Olive! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Another very enjoyable meal Wild Olive! We have a vacation home in the area and we don't consider our trip complete without a visit to Wid Olive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one our most favorite places to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is one our most favorite places to dine. The food is always fresh and delicious. Our favorite server is Mel and we always enjoy our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great appetizers and the grouper dish wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great appetizers and the grouper dish was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great meal with our friends at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a great meal with our friends at Wild Olive! I wished I had the waitress with the short brown hair. Oh well. I loved the calamari for the appetizer and I love the steak with potatoes for the entire. I also loved my house Cabernet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been to Kiawah Island last 8 years and h ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Been to Kiawah Island last 8 years and had never been to the Wild Olive before. We as a group went twice last week and will be a regular stop from now on

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is our go to. The specials ar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This place is our go to. The specials are exceptional, great drink menu, wine selection from heaven, and all the servers are very talented. Do yourself a favor and get the bruschetta.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent. Food was great and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Server was excellent. Food was great and reasonable. Our server presented the menu with flair and personality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly yet professional servers knew t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Friendly yet professional servers knew the menu and were able to answer all questions and offer suggestions that were helpful but not intrusive. The chef offers really truly delicious food using fresh local ingredients in creative (but not crazy - in the way that some chefs seem to be going lately) ways. Comfortable with the right touch of upscale.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We usually get the specials, but this ev ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We usually get the specials, but this evening the standard menu items were much better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

As always a great meal with nice atmosph ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always a great meal with nice atmosphere. One of the best Italian places in the Charleston area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service are are fantastic! Staf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service are are fantastic! Staff are always professional friendly! Always look forward to dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was a treat for the palate. Very f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was a treat for the palate. Very fresh and portions were good size.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The octopus and calamari were excellent ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The octopus and calamari were excellent appetizers! The Bolognese was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner at the Wild Olive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at the Wild Olive very much. The warm olive appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed with The Wild Ol ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I am never disappointed with The Wild Olive. I always bring my out of town guests here. Love the menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing all the way around! The best res ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing all the way around! The best restaurant in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just moved toCharleston andthiswas an ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Just moved toCharleston andthiswas an excellent find. Great service and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals in the Charleston ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best meals in the Charleston area. Food and service were superb. So many great items on the menu, it motivates you to keep coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great! Food and service! We loved our ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

So great! Food and service! We loved our server. I think her name was sarah . A++++

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Family Style, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful and the service impecca ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always wonderful and the service impeccable. After several visits we know we won't be disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every year for my husband's birthday we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Every year for my husband's birthday we visit Wild Olive to celebrate. In accordance with past years, Wild Olive did not disappoint! Also, just like every other year, we plan what we "think" we want, but we always choose one of the specials. We have yet to make a wrong choice! Everything was delicious, the couple next to us shared in pleasant conversation and the waitstaff helped me to surprise my hubby with a special dessert. All around a perfect night! We are planning on bringing our out of town family to Wild Olive on their next visit!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THe food was exceptional. flavor was gre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

THe food was exceptional. flavor was great. PResntation was good. SErvice was excellent. FRindly but not intrusive. THe only problem was the excessive noise level. I noticed there was very little sound absorbing material in the dining room we were in. IN many Michigan good restaurants,they have short curtains hanging about a foot from the ceiling which does a good job of reducing the sound level. IT made me very uncomfortable until the loud couples two tables away left. On the whole a superior dining establishment.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was lovely. Would recommend ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our dinner was lovely. Would recommend asking for a table on the closed in front porch. We had the section to our selves for a while which was really nice and much quieter. Our server was Ray - he was fantastic - very knowledgeable and personable. Earlier in the day the tropical storm skirted Charleston, so we didn't know if the restaurant would be open - but they were with no issues.

Amazing food!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great food, great service. My ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

As always, great food, great service. My favorite, most reliable restaurant in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too bad a restaurant with such a great c ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Too bad a restaurant with such a great chef starts it dining experience with the most untrained hostess I've ever encountered. The conversation from confirmation call the day before our reservation, left me bewildered if they really wanted our business, which was totally confirmed when we arrived. A totally disinterested greeting after standing in front of 2 hostesses talking to each other for a long time. They tried to give us the table directly in front of the busy kitchen , when there were numerous tables available. When we asked to be moved I assumed they were expecting a lot more diners, as they moved us to a small cramped table in their bar room. we had a relatively late time, and as I was amazed at how many empty tables they did not fill up. Want to make a customer uncomfortable , well they did.

Our waitress was pleasant and the food was good, , but I will never go back, when there are so many other good restaurants to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

This was an anniversary dinner; we had e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner; we had eaten here once before and liked it so we thought we'd give it a shot for the evening. Also, it was convenient to the Kiawah/Seabrook area (about as convenient as anything can be there). My wife's veal was excellent, and they substituted pasta for mashed potatoes at our request. I had the grouper special. The fish wasn't remarkable but it was served over an excellent mixture of zipper peas, barley, diced parsnips and a couple of other things that made it a lot of fun. Warm olives for an appetizer is the thing to do.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service. Very cool ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and great service. Very cool bar with friendly bartenders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We have dined here many times and always ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have dined here many times and always have an outstanding experience. I am gluten free and they really know what to do. Their lamb or pork ragu is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always a great time! We lo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This place is always a great time! We love coming here as the service is always on point and the food is delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

OMG, this is the 2nd visit within a wee ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

OMG, this is the 2nd visit within a week, and the food is phenomenal, service outstanding, ambience is charming. Our waiter, John, navigated us through a menu packed with special and creative appetizers and entrees, not to mention the chef's specials highlighting a delicious grouper. We started off the meal with the charred octopus, which melted in our mouths. I had the lasagna with lamb sausage & goat cheese and my dinner companion had the pappardelle with guinciale and mushrooms, both perhaps the best we have ever had! We both travel extensively internationally, and cannot remember a better meal that we have had in an Italian restaurant within Italy. We followed the dinner with chocolate cake with a heavenly light coconut frosting and the delicious fresh peach cobbler with ice cream...a perfect end to a perfect meal. Again, a special thank you to our waiter, John, and chef Brad Goznis....PERFECTION!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wild Olive has quickly become one of my ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wild Olive has quickly become one of my favorite restaurants in (outside of) Charleston. The food is consistently good, as is the service. My only complaint with my last visit was my drink wasn't as good as I hoped it would be, but that's no reason to fault the restaurant overall. Go. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ray our server and asst manager was grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Ray our server and asst manager was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The calamari starter was delicious, ligh ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The calamari starter was delicious, lightly breaded with a phenomenal marinara and both the veal and the short rib were exceptional as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wild Olive never disappoints! Food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wild Olive never disappoints! Food was delicious and the service was top notch. I would recommend them to everyone but I'm a little selfish. Ha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of all the restaurants in Charleston, th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Of all the restaurants in Charleston, this is our favorite!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.