About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
6 More
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Johns Island ›

fit for foodies (294)
special occasion (228)
neighborhood gem (224)
See All
romantic (156)
notable wine list (144)
good for groups (139)
hot spot (78)
vibrant bar scene (51)
kid-friendly (25)
late-night find (24)
great for brunch (21)
great for lunch (12)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

By far one of the best meals we've had i ...

vip
Dined 8 hours ago

By far one of the best meals we've had in the 2 years we've lived here! The clams were the best item we've had...hands down...ever...anywhere. A little noisy, but busy and bustling. We LOVED it! 😍😍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined a day ago

We love Wild Olive! Not only is the food divine, but they have great wine and dessert. Try a side of their smashed fried potatoes because they are amazing. When friends come to town, they are eager to visit a downtown restaurant, but our favorite thing to do is surprise them with this hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gnocchi with short Rib Ragù. Perfect! As ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Gnocchi with short Rib Ragù. Perfect! As Always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit. Everything I tr ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was my first visit. Everything I tried was delicious. If you like pistachio gelato, skip the profiterole and just get it plain, or ask for some chocolate sauce on top. Good service, nice atmosphere. Looks small from the outside but was not at all on the inside. I'll go again wen I am in the area.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wild Olive ALWAYS a must when visiting t ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Wild Olive ALWAYS a must when visiting the Kiawah area! My wreck fish special with local veggies and tiny pasta was exceptional and my friends' veal was (still) the best I've ever tasted, another's fresh pasta was wonderful... Fresh baked bread-yum! We lucked out and were seated on the "porch"- great ambiance , rustic Italian ... Service was perfect... Would definitely have reservations..would definitely not miss this one!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great waitress m... and service

Dined 5 days ago

Great waitress m... and service

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wild Olive is my favorite Italian restau ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wild Olive is my favorite Italian restaurant in all of Charleston! The food and service never disappoint, and there's not a thing on the menu I wouldn't order. We are moving to New England at the end of next week--we shall miss Wild Olive terribly! I guess we will have to wait until next May when we plan a visit back to Charleston...but we shall return one more time before we leave next weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This dining experience was well worth th ...

Dined 6 days ago

This dining experience was well worth the drive from Mount Pleasant. I had been hearing all the hype about the amazing Italian food, and after indulging in numerous appetizers and shared entrees, I agree. Excellent! The ambiance is soft and romantic with just the right amount of background noise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Fave!

Dined 6 days ago

I love the Wild Olive! I go every chance I get and tell everybody about it and/or bring them here to eat. The only draw back is it is difficult to get in (which is a good sign) so you have to make reservations (and more than just a day ahead if you want a decent eating time). Also the noise level can be a bit loud (not really sure what can be done about that), but the décor is so pleasant. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food - well I have never had a bad dish and they give you plenty along with the option to order half portions on a lot of their pasta dishes. This is downtown dining without the downtown hassle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fine meal

Dined on May 20, 2016

Jacques really treated us well. Our server was excellent, food was awesome. Always a treat!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food with knowledgable wait staff .

Dined on May 20, 2016

We are from New Orleans and love Charleston. My wife's family was in the Italian restaurant business for over 30 years. Our food was equal to if not better than any Italian food we have ever eaten. This place is about the food ans service!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

They were more than willing to hold my t ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

They were more than willing to hold my table when I called to say we were stuck in traffic. 20 mins later we were taken to our table as soon as we arrived and wine arrived within two minutes! Food was amazing as usual....the truffle fries are to die for!!

food5
ambience4
service5

All our food was outstanding, this is th ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

All our food was outstanding, this is the best restaurant on John's Island.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding on every level- YOU MUST EAT HERE!!

Dined on May 19, 2016

I am an amateur chef for about 20 years now, and Italian food is a real passion of mine. My wife and I visited this area specifically to give me a break from cooking and to sample some of the fine restaurants. We hit several restaurants that had potential, but failed to deliver. Pretty dissapointing. But then we ate at Wild Olive. It was like getting saved at food church. I cannot begin to describe the absolute beauty and love that is in every layer of the dining experience here. The wait staff seem to be very aware of the quality of food they serve and are rightly proud of it. The ambience is fitting for this food, comfortable, at home feeling. The special cocktails were sublime- I had the Italian mohito the first night. Oh yes, before I forget, we ditched our plans for another restaurant and ate at Wild Olive the last 2 nights of our stay. We talked about our next visit being an exclusive Wild Olive excursion. This might sound a little over the top, but I assure you it is not. I won't bore you with the details of the actual dishes- it just simply wouldn't do it any justice. The marinara and cheese sauces were spectacular. The proteins were perfectly seasoned and prepared. The pasta was a thing of beauty. Desserts were fabulous. All to say- do yourself a favor and eat at this restaurant! It will be the food experience you measure all others against for a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience and our server, John Pa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great experience and our server, John Paul, was excellent. We had the pasta special and it was excellent. Will definitely return.

food4
ambience1
service5
value1

Food was good, service was great. But ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Cramp dining room with a high noise noise level. For the comfort level the prices are to high.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Creative, healthy and delici ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food. Creative, healthy and delicious. Understands GF needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit the Wild Olive frequently and h ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We visit the Wild Olive frequently and have never been disappointed. Service and food are always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing from start to finish!

Dined on May 15, 2016

As seems to always be the case, every aspect was perfect from start to finish.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

There were 4 of us dining. All of our fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

There were 4 of us dining. All of our food was delicious. The service was excellent. We would dine there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gets better and better each time, which ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Gets better and better each time, which is saying a lot, as the food has been perfect each time we have come (and we have been many times!) Just when you think you've had the best dish ever, the next meal you have here is taken to an ever higher level. Don't know how that is possible, but it is. Best food on the planet, not joking. If I could, I would eat here every day of the week. The food is beyond delicious, and the service is impeccable. Love everything about this restaurant. It does not matter what you order, every single dish is just as good as the next. Don't know how they do it, in all honesty. We drive 4 hours to eat here when we are able to leave Charlotte to do so. We don't even venture beyond this place, even though Charleston is known for many wonderful eateries. This is perfection, so why go anywhere else?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding, as always

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding, as always

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service. Excellent food.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful service. Excellent food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! Will definit ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Italian restaurant in Charlesto ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Favorite Italian restaurant in Charleston! Always great service and delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Seriously one of the best dining experie ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Seriously one of the best dining experiences of my life. Definitely some of the best Italian food I've ever had. I've been to a lot of high end Italian restaurants and this food is up there. I went for my anniversary and we were greeted with two glasses of sparkling wine. The waitress was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere was really homey and comfortable. To start we got the calamari which was the best ive ever had! Calamari is one of my favorite dishes. It was cooked to perfection, the breading was great and the squid was so tender! I really loved the aioli. I got the short rib gnocchi and the Agnolotti with spring lamb, ricotta, orange sugo, mint, pecorino. Both were incredible they reminded me of all my favorite comfort foods wrapped around little clouds of pasta. My boyfriend got Bucatini "arrabbiata" with shrimp which he loved and the short rib gnocchi as well. The gnocchi was definitely our favorite! We got strawberry basil mojitos which were super tasty. Overall it was a great experience and we will absolutely be coming back often.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to Wild Olive an ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This was my first visit to Wild Olive and I'm already planning my next one!! Absolute perfection! Delicious food and excellent staff (Thanks Mel!). So glad I decided to go to Wild Olive for my birthday!!! Wonderful memories!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & Very creative flair

Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our first time at the Wild Olive. We loved it. It is rather pricey but they deliver. The service is rather casual but friendly. The only suggestion I might offer is to raise the light at the corner table. After some wine I surely did not remember that I needed to duck. So much for a graceful exit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Wild Olive is always a favorite! The food is fresh, service is excellent, and GM Jason always goes out of his way to make diners feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had not been there for about 5 years. H ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Had not been there for about 5 years. Heard good things and went with wife on 52nd anniversary. Greatly enjoyed! Service excellent, waiter was friendly and knowledgeable and our meals were great! Our new favorite on John's Island.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and the food was prepa ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was great and the food was prepared as ordered. We enjoyed our first time there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is amazing at Wild Olive!! It is not your same old Itallian food. Everything was cooked perfectly and was delish!! Go here if you want an amazing meal!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here several times and is always ou ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here several times and is always outstanding. Food is delicious and staff is first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wild Olive isn't often open for brunch and I am so glad when they are! The meal and the service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch was a winner!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our second time dining at Wild Olive and the Mother's Day brunch was just as wonderful as dinner. We were more than pleased that we followed our servers recommendation for the risotto dish with the house-made sausage, it was exceptionally delicious! Service was excellent. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch was wonderful! Food and service was fantastic. They even had a flower for all the ladies as we left. Special touches make a difference! Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time visitors.Plenty of great selections on the menu. Our waiter Marco explained the menu, answered all our questions. Will visit again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive-Johns Island

Dined on May 8, 2016

WO continues to be our favorite restaurant in Charleston. The food is always uncommonly delicious with imaginative combinations and seasonings. We always feel welcome and missed if its been awhile. The staff is terrific; everyone seems happy to be there, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu, its options and all things are possible. Prices are reasonable make dining there a good value too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Local favorite!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wild Olive is one of our "go to" spots. Family tradition has become Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Highly Recommend

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was seriously amazing, great staff! Some of the best Italian I've ever tasted! The chicken parm was tender and the side of potato gnocchi was SO good! There's a reason this place was voted the best Italian restaurant in Charleston. I would highly recommend eating here and I am definitely returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.