About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charred Octopus
Seared Sea Scallops
Risotto Fritters
Clammer Dave Clams
Baked Penne With Sweet Sausage
Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli
Bread And Olive Oil
Brown Butter Gnocchi
Beef Carpaccio
Agnolotti
Roasted brussels sprouts
Sweet Tea
Grilled Quail
Fried Softshell Crab
Salumi Misti
Gnocchi
Strawberry Almond Bowl
Tiramisu
Meatball
Shrimp Linguine
Tagliatelle
Grilled Octopus
Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese With Ground Pork And Veal, Parmesan, White Wine, Milk, Tomato

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
7 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Johns Island ›

Fit for Foodies (290)
Special Occasion (253)
Neighborhood Gem (240)
See All
Romantic (150)
Notable Wine List (137)
Good for Groups (114)
Hot Spot (84)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Kid-friendly (36)
Great for Brunch (21)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service. Homemade papa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 17 hours ago

Great food, great service. Homemade paparadelle with guanciale and mushrooms is a must-order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Year after year, our family comes away w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 2 days ago

Year after year, our family comes away well-satisfied and eager to return on our next vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were surprised to be welcomed with "H ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were surprised to be welcomed with "Happy Anniversary" (our 51st) from the first 3 people we met. We really didn't understand how they knew, until our waiter said that our daughter Chris Dukes had called earlier to pay for our wine. The gift of a glass of Prosecco was very nice indeed. Our salad and entrees were timely. Except for the noise, I thought our first time visit went well and the food delicious. We will try again when the beach traffic goes home. However, maybe it never does which is to your benefit. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancee and I celebrated our birthday ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

My fiancee and I celebrated our birthdays here. Service was just right and the food was excellent, especially the appetizer special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing! Every time I go here ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing! Every time I go here I am reminded why this is my favorite restaurant in Charleston!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy our visits to Wild Olive ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy our visits to Wild Olive. The food is perfectly prepared and offered at very reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kim was a wonderful, knowledgeable serve ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Kim was a wonderful, knowledgeable server! The food was delicious and memorable. We will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favourite restaurant to visi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is our favourite restaurant to visit when we go to Kiawah. Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had delicious food for our anniversar ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had delicious food for our anniversary. We've never been disappointed here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had dinner 2x as loved the first experie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had dinner 2x as loved the first experience so much! Our server Mel was amazing. She remembered everything we liked or allergies which made our experience that much better! Highly recommend!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The calamari was the best, however, the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The calamari was the best, however, the food was laden with salt. Could not finish my pasta dish because of the amount of salt. Sad because the food has a high enough quality that the flavors should not be masked with sodium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our Server Mikey was knowledgeable, frie ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our Server Mikey was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. I had the ribeye cooked to my temp I asked for and Igot aside of knocci which was heavenly and just melted in my mouth. Myfriend got the veal with no complaints. Oh andthe bruschetta app was on point with lots flavor in every bite! I definitely recommend this cozy, authentic Italian little gem on Johns island to anyone looking for a casual night out with friends, a date night or to celebrate a special occasion. Two thumbs up :).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my wife's birthday and had a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and had a great time . The food was great the service super and i had the ravioli special and my wife a great salmon dish. We have gone twice this month and loved it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants when we visit the Charleston area. The food is always well prepared and the service is always above average. It is a great place for anyone staying on the islands around Charleston. Whenever we visit the area we make it a point to stop at the Wild Olive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third visit to Wild Olive, and the se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My third visit to Wild Olive, and the service and food has been the same every time….impeccable! Friendly, fast, laid back, and excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I adore Wild Olive, and this meal was no ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I adore Wild Olive, and this meal was no exception. Every bite was bliss - from the bruschetta (arugula, eggplant, tomatoes) to the spagetti & meatballs, the brussel sprouts (you HAVE to order these if you are a sprout fan! Lemony, spicy...oh my), to the delicious dessert, which was (my Italian is failing me), but it was almost like a shortbread crust, and a creamy, decadent filling...angels sang. Perfect for a romantic dinner or for dinner with family & friends - enjoy every single bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wild Olive is one of our favorite date n ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wild Olive is one of our favorite date night locations. The food is to die for, and the service is always impeccable. Bring an appetite because you'll want to fit in as many courses as you can! Don't skip the tiramisu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive is always a great choice. Fre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wild Olive is always a great choice. Fresh ingredients, good ambiance and a creative menu make this one of the best restaurants in Charleston - not just Johns Island.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was as good an Italian eating exper ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was as good an Italian eating experience as we've ever had. It served to make our 39th wedding anniversary as good as it gets.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Perfect in every way!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious baked penne with freshly made ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Delicious baked penne with freshly made Italian sausage. Hubby devoured his rib eye with truffled potatoes. One hint. Make a reservation! They fill up fast!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I moved to John's Island just this year ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I moved to John's Island just this year in June. I'm so happy to of found wild Olive. Service was wonderful. The food was superior. And the smashed fried truffle potatoes are a side dish that nobody should miss! Make sure and listen to the specials, you won't be sorry!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best Italian restaurants I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants I've ever been to. Food was amazing! Above and beyond, you could really tell everything was cooked in house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are visiting Folly beach from out of ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We are visiting Folly beach from out of town and went to Wild Olive on a recommendation from a waiter we had for lunch in Charleston. The hostess greeted us pleasantly and we were seated quickly. Water was poured immediately and our waiter, Jonathan, was on the spot promptly. He was very engaging and knowledgeable about the cocktail, beer and wine list. He shared local history and helped us select our beverages. Jonathan had an extensive knowledge of all details of the menu. He explained all the ingredients (local farms products) and methods of preparation to help us make informed decisions. Our meals arrived at just the right time and were plated beautifully. All 5 entrees were absolutely delicious. We shared tastes around the table since we were all so impressed with them. Our conversation turned to how wonderful our meal was. To top it off, we shared two superb deserts. Throughout, Jonathan and the staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive. I must say that we all had a marvelous meal and it was the best dining experience I've had in years. One of the best parts is we all enjoyed left overs for lunch the next day. As I type this, my daughter just placed a take out order for two gnocchi entrees for dinner tonight (and we're 25 minutes away). Remarkable experience and I highly recommend Wild Onion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is excellent with a great selec ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food is excellent with a great selection plus imaginative specials. We always look forward to discovering what new spacial combinations are being offered. The service is first-rate, our wait-person (there has to be a better gender-neutral word) was attentive - there when needed but not hovering.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food not hot enough including soup twice ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food not hot enough including soup twice. Mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wild Olive never disappoints! Appetizer ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wild Olive never disappoints! Appetizers and entrees are always good size, pasta is always al dente, and the desserts are killer. It is really nice that almost all pastas come in two sizes--gives lots of options. Its also great that they are open on Sunday nights, and they seat their diners with reservations on time. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there several times on vacation. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Been there several times on vacation. Great service, delicious creative food. Wish it were much closer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time and the food was gre ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time and the food was great but the service was outstanding. Would recommend Wild Olive for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

All of our dishes were outstanding and t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

All of our dishes were outstanding and the service was incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing. Easily one of the best ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is amazing. Easily one of the best restaurants in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal just wish the service we rece ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great meal just wish the service we received was better. Ambiance is nice and reminded us of the Obstinate Daugter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Wild Olive is our favorite dining venue. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wild Olive is our favorite dining venue. The service is always outstanding. We are impressed by the training that the servers have experienced which is demonstrated by all of the employees. Each person is knowledgeable on wine , menu selections, and special requests. We know that we can always count on having an excellent mea land don't hesitate to bring our guests there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only problem we had was the noise level. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Only problem we had was the noise level. Good for us with kids but difficult for conversations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really delicious food and even better se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Really delicious food and even better service. Had the chicken parm and lasagna, and both were great. They have $19 bottles of wine, which are awesome. The service was top notch, would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superbly delicious. Wait staff extremely ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Superbly delicious. Wait staff extremely attentive, accommodating and gracious. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service & food was very good- beet s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service & food was very good- beet salad pricey- very small Cabernet Sauvignon list to choose from.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, great service, great ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Delicious food, great service, great service, great atmosphere. Easily one of the best restaurants we have been to in the Charleston area. Highly, highly recommend! From appetizers todesserts, everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service was outstanding. Somewhat ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food & service was outstanding. Somewhat pricey but very professionally done. Get what u pay for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wild Olive remains my favorite restauran ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wild Olive remains my favorite restaurant in the Charleston area. I only wish it were a little quieter, but the food and service is outstanding. The grilled Octopus alone is worth driving out to Johns Island, but their specials are always really fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.