About Wild Olive

2867 Maybank Highway
Johns Island, SC 29455
View Larger Map

Bringing a hint of rustic Italy to Johns Island, Wild Olive focuses on simple and comforting Italian fare with ingredients sourced from the Lowcountry’s choice farmers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Maybank Hwy & River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-4177

Website:
http://www.wildoliverestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacques Larson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charred Octopus
Seared Sea Scallops
Risotto Fritters
Clammer Dave Clams
Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli
Bread And Olive Oil
Baked Penne With Sweet Sausage
Roasted brussels sprouts
Brown Butter Gnocchi
Beef Carpaccio
Agnolotti
Sweet Tea
Grilled Quail
Fried Softshell Crab
Salumi Misti
Strawberry Almond Bowl
Meatball
Grilled Octopus
Tiramisu
Shrimp Linguine
Gnocchi
Tagliatelle
Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese With Ground Pork And Veal, Parmesan, White Wine, Milk, Tomato

Wild Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
9 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Johns Island ›

fit for foodies (314)
special occasion (250)
neighborhood gem (240)
See All
romantic (168)
notable wine list (159)
good for groups (136)
hot spot (89)
vibrant bar scene (57)
kid-friendly (29)
late-night find (28)
great for brunch (23)
great for lunch (18)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone in our party of 6 loved their m ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everyone in our party of 6 loved their meals from apps to desserts. Great food, reasonably priced and decent lower priced wines.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always consistently good food. Service ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always consistently good food. Service is commensurate with the crowds, but overall pretty good. Bar smelled a little like a dirty bar rag but, the bar was hideously busy. I booked for a 7:45 Resi, BUT when I arrived they said it was actually for 8:45....not real helpful but we ended up at the bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I stopped for dinner on o ...

Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I stopped for dinner on our way to kiawah. This was our first official meal of our honeymoon and I have to say it could not have been more perfect. Impeccable food, amazing service and an overall unforgettable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great to go to. Friendly staff, a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Always great to go to. Friendly staff, attentive . Had asked for a patio seating, because in past the dining room near the kitchen is so loud we couldn't hear our own conversation. We had a small, 15 min.,wait and seated. Kim our server was prompt ,polite, knowledgeable ,and friendly. Food choices always changing and delicious. I would always stay with any of the pastas. Our group of four all ordered the same entree .The gnocchi were delicious . Lively atmosphere, great food, just off beaten path but worthy .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Wild Olive twice on our s ...

Dined 4 days ago

We've eaten at Wild Olive twice on our son's recommendation (he's a real foodie!). The meal was spectacular both times. The calamari is the best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit pricey, but definitely worth every ...

Dined 5 days ago

A bit pricey, but definitely worth every penny. Everything was so fresh and tasty. Even the Cesar Salad was the best one I've ever had, the croutons and the dressing just made something simple really pop. The handmade pasta was so incredible, from the small plate to the Mac N' Cheese, definitely recommend any of them. I had the chicken parmesan, and it was spectacular. My wife had the seared scallops, and she described it as a "Giant pillow of deliciousness!" And the gelato just helped to add to the fantastic experience. Awesome place!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was scumptious. Atmosphere was fun. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was scumptious. Atmosphere was fun. Drinks were delicious. Must try the bruschetta.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. My boyfriend loved it too!

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious. My boyfriend loved it too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't our first time to wild olive ...

Dined 7 days ago

This wasn't our first time to wild olive and it definitely won't be the last. The bruschetta is ever changing and always delicious, the Gnocci is literally what I would choose for my last meal on this earth and the tiramisu is a delicacy fit for the most "pinky out" of royalty. In other words, yum.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Fabulous!! The food is divine. This pl ...

Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous!! The food is divine. This place does pasta right. We came in for our first visit after seeing it listed as one of the top 10 restaurants in the Charleston Area and were not disappointed. We ordered 1/2 portions of the Tagliatelle alla Bolognese, Pappardelle with guanciale, Ricotta gnocchi with marinara and a side of Smashed fried potatoes with truffled aioli, scallion, parmesan. The pasta had a wonderful texture and all the sauces were quite flavorful. On the menu, the gnocchi had goat cheese listed (so a ricotta and goat cheese gnocchi) but we could not taste any of this. The potatoes were amazing. My husband, who does not like anything "truffled" could not get over how wonderful this was. I'm so glad when I brought it up with the server she insisted we get it. She was so good about suggestions and letting us fix our "courses" so that we wouldn't overwhelm our 2-top (or stomachs) with too many dishes at once. The Pappardelle was delicious, but if you are not familiar with guanciale, you would have to search for it in this dish. We only "found" it when we tasted bits of "burnt bacon." Still a tasty dish. We also had the Hazelnut Blondie, brown sugar bourbon gelato, bourbon caramel sauce which was fantastic, super flavorful, and rich. It was so close to a 5-star experience, but the service was slow and we felt a bit ignored. This was a first time and I felt like they could've given a better first impression. We made a reservation on OpenTable (and even mentioned it was our first visit) but we were still sat 10 minutes after our reservation (on a Thursday evening) which is understandable. But there were several times where we'd be finished with food and it would take 5-10 minutes before someone would check on us or we'd be noticed. I ordered dessert and my husband ordered coffee when the server brought the dessert plates and spoons, but the coffee was forgotten about until I was almost done with my dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful server, Melanie. She ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful server, Melanie. She was very attentive and a joy to talk with!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food, darling interior and ser ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very good food, darling interior and service was wonderful! Just a little heavy on the salt on most items, but the appetizers were lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great meal while staying at Kia ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a great meal while staying at Kiawah!! Our dinner was very good and the service was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wild Olive has become one of our favorit ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Wild Olive has become one of our favorite restaurants in the Charleston/Kiawah/Seabrook area. The cuisine is always imaginative, well conceived and presented. The wine list is fairly complete with Italian wines well represented with some French, and California vintages. The service is good with a competent, well trained wait staff. Unfortunately, others have also discovered the delights of dining here so reservations are recommended, especially for peak dining hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was a LOT saltier than past din ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was a LOT saltier than past dining experiences

food5
ambience5
service5

Good menu selection. Excellent service. ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Good menu selection. Excellent service. Reasonably priced.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

outstanding food at very reasonable pric ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

outstanding food at very reasonable prices. Service was great. Bar Tender was polite and very good at preparing my drink, in spite of a very busy, noisy crowd! I would not hesitate to recommend. We tried to reserve 2 days later, unfortunately the earliest time available was too late for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Wild Olive is one of our "go to rest ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The Wild Olive is one of our "go to restaurants"..Have never been disappointed. My husband orders the lasagna ever time..It is consistantly delicious. It used to be offered in 2 portions, but now only one. He takes half home and eates it for lunch the next day. I had the fish special, a bit pricey but excellent. We had a 13 year old with us who only wanted buttered noodles for which he was accomodated at the lowly cost of $3.00. That was greatly appreciated! Waitstaff very attentive and the manager was everywhere making sure things were running smoothly..for us a sign of a great restaurant..Kudos to the Wld Olive! No wonder it is always packed!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond Delicious!

Dined on June 20, 2016

Beyond Delicious!

food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Great restaurant! Great food and service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant! Great food and service! Love their specials

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Never disappoints, food is great and ser ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Never disappoints, food is great and service always excellent. Just a bit noisy this last time because of Fathers Day, crying babies and noisy children, loud. Thats not the restaurant's fault, just children arent taught to behave in public anymore. Babies are that, babies, but the older children were allowed to roam and disturb other guests. This will not stop us from coming, it was the first time it was so crowded, like I said it was Father's Day. No worries we will be back to our favorite restuarant and all is good . Thank you for deciding to open your restaurant on Johns Island, a gem. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Made a very special Father's Day occasio ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Made a very special Father's Day occasion for me and my parents.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild olive has bold and fresh flavors. I ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wild olive has bold and fresh flavors. I love the atmosphere and the servers are professional, friendly, and very attentive. So glad to live only 5 minutes away as my family will be regulars.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have heard nothing but good things abo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have heard nothing but good things about Wild Olive, so I decided to check it out for myself... and I was not disappointed! All fresh and seasonal ingredients from local farmers, and the prices were unbelievable. Best Italian food I have had in a long time, did not walk away hungry or disappointed. I will definitely be visiting again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server (Melanie?) was great. So chee ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server (Melanie?) was great. So cheerful and knowledgable. We started with the risotto fritters (recommended by the guests at next table). They were delicious! My husband had the ribeye, which he said was delicious and perfectly cooked. I had the baked penne with the homemade Italian sausage. Wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best bread and Chicken Parm ever! Wo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The best bread and Chicken Parm ever! Would go back just for that.

food5
ambience5
service3

Delicious food as always, not our best s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious food as always, not our best service experience, but not bad enough to take away from the food. Will continue to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of six all thoroughly enjoyed ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our group of six all thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and evening at the restaurant. The food was wonderful and our waiter, Alex, was outstanding. He provided excellent advice when we were selecting food and beverages and his service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a surprise! Delicious, creative Ita ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

What a surprise! Delicious, creative Italian fare. Not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a pleasure eating at Wild Olive! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a pleasure eating at Wild Olive! Great menu options in a low-key environment with mostly local diners. One of our favorite places...and we eat out a lot.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Olive Garden never fails to deliver ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Olive Garden never fails to deliver a warm and friendly atmosphere with wonderful food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food on the island. Great service!

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Best food on the island. Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent! Veal is amazing,

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Food is excellent! Veal is amazing,

food5
ambience5
service5

If you favor Italian cuisine, this shoul ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

If you favor Italian cuisine, this should be on your must list when in the Charleston area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wild Olive is an overall great experienc ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Wild Olive is an overall great experience. They had a wine bottle special for only 19$ and the food was amazing to match. Great for a special occasion but not too stuffy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time at Wild Olive and we were eq ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Second time at Wild Olive and we were equally as impressed. The waiter, Alex, was very courteous and knowledgable about the menu and wine list. He made some food suggestions and recommended wines to pair with our final choices. He was there when we needed him and no more, a sign of a good waiter. I love that the menu is seasonal and reflects what the local farms are putting out. Just go try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is still on my top 5 list whe ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is still on my top 5 list when in the area. They are super-great in their creativity and I usually recommend the specials on the main course and the appetizers. They do a great job hosting your party and the prices are comfortable and even low compared to the quality of the food and overall experience. I recommend this establishment highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought every item was first-rate. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We thought every item was first-rate. The rest of this write-up is put down for all eternity because the machine demanded I write at least 50 characters. So here is more stuff. Not really anything about the food or service, but hey, what ....?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! The food and staff are re ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always great! The food and staff are remarkable. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken parm is our go-to dish, it n ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The chicken parm is our go-to dish, it never disappoints. Love the staff, the food, and everything about Wild Olive!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.