About Whitebark

50 Hillside Drive
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Located just off the lobby, our in-house restaurant, Whitebark features innovative dining options. A contemporary ambiance and great views of Mammoth’s soothing surroundings set the atmosphere for any occasion. A welcoming fire burns warmly in the center of the open, airy space inspired by our country’s national parks. Enjoy a full meal from the innovative menu, or simply stop by for evening drinks at the lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Steakhouse, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am-11am Daily
Happy Hour: 4pm-6pm Daily
Dinner: 5pm-10pm Daily
Sushi Monday: 1/2 off selected sushi 5pm-10pm
Taco Tuesday: $2 street tacos 4pm-10pm
Wednesday: All night Happy Hour 4pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Canyon Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0460

Website:
http://www.westinmammoth.com/Whitebark

Entertainment:
The Westin's signature 'Unwind' ritual, where guests meet for a refreshing experience to journey from day to night.

Catering:
Planning a party or special event? Please contact Whitebark for information on planning weddings, parties, retreats and all other catering needs.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for all Whitebark guests.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Bessette

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Whitebark offers several private dining options. Whether you choose our cozy Gallery featuring a fireplace and private balcony or our larger banquet rooms, our chef is sure to delight your guests palates with tantalizing dishes.

Whitebark Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Modern Decor (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Small portions, bad service. Food was go ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Small portions, bad service. Food was good but not good value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Healthy kids menu and very fresh ingredi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Healthy kids menu and very fresh ingredients. Lovely view too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!!! Beautiful Westin Resort.. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food!!! Beautiful Westin Resort...amazing service. We will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for 1/2 price sushi and were tol ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went for 1/2 price sushi and were told we had to sit in the bar area or lounge. Nothing on their advertising says this nor does it say it on the special 1/2 price menu. Big disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We had a family dinner for three people. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a family dinner for three people. The spacious booth was comfortable and quiet. It was nice not to be eating elbow to elbow with strangers at tiny tables. The food was expensive by our standards, but delicious. I was disappointed when I saw the menu, as it looked too limited. Choice of salmon, steak, duck, pork or pasta. However each person was thrilled with how tender their meat was, how good the sauce, and the excellent veg & starch sides. One person thought their filet mignon was the best he ever had. Portions were generous. We split the large serving of pineapple-bread pudding three ways. There were different choices on the bar menu that looked good, and of course the sushi, so we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow, our waitress took a lo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was slow, our waitress took a long time and didn't check in much. Getting a glass of water and placing an order took about 20 minutes. We were staying in the hotel so it was convenient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great service. Great food, especially fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service. Great food, especially for a hotel. Nice ambiance. High prices for the food, but that's any hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The view and location is amazing however ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The view and location is amazing however the chef needs to improve a lot, the side was borned and the pork meat had no favor.

The desert was amazing.

Regards

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

The Muscovy duck was a little dry. Othe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Muscovy duck was a little dry. Otherwise the food was good, as was the service. The variety of menu items was very good in the lounge, as you got the bar and restaurant menus. In the restaurant, you only get the restaurant menu. There's also a kids menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great happy hour and excellent menu for ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great happy hour and excellent menu for dinner. We went twice during our stay in Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous cheese plate. Great service. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous cheese plate. Great service. Steak au poivre was really good as was the duck! Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The hotel is fantastic so was the staff ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The hotel is fantastic so was the staff but the food is very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very good food. We ha ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and very good food. We had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place for families

vip
 (México)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, good location, great filet mignon

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, one of the best dining experien ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Overall, one of the best dining experiences in Mammoth. Salmon was perfectly cooked, hand tools were fresh and delicious, pasta dish was tasty, although a bit too creamy.

Server was relaxed yet efficient, a ambiance was pleasant for a hotel restaurant.

All in all a very fun dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice setting, however the food was avera ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Nice setting, however the food was average, Caesar without taste, kids salmon with some sauce from grocery store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food is good, my only complaint is t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is good, my only complaint is that they will mot serve sushi rolls in the main restaurant only sushi pieces or sashimi. That makes no sense!!!! Will not go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great and a nice dining experie ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Food was great and a nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Find

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I ate here for the first time and we absolutely enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere, food, and service was great. Mike was our waiter and he is the best. He was attentive and gave us his opinion of different food items, and was a great waiter. The food was amazing! This restaurant is one that we will definitely visit whenever in Mammoth.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Refined

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Whitebark offered so many tempting appetizers and sides we had a hard time choosing, and the entrees included something for everyone from the chicken-eaters to the more adventurous palates in our party. Lovely, refined experience after a fabulous day on the slopes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Service

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were seated promptly by the hostess. This was appreciated because there are many restaurants that will keep you waiting despite a reservation. Our waitress was friendly and welcoming and provided excellent service. The appetizer, entrees, and dessert were all quite good. We appreciate this ability for consistently good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food great, management not great

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food & servers are great considering the average food in town.

Sushi was Americanized and decent if you're looking for a menu in Mammoth with variety (other than typical burgers & pizza). If you want more traditional sushi, this is not the place.

However, we had quite a lengthy wait (sat 1 hour after our reservation time) on the holiday weekend and the hostess continued to make excuses to stall us instead of telling us the truth about our delay. Although the manager rectified the situation, she wasn't apologetic in the least.

Overall, the food ended up being worth the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The lamb shank was really tender and moi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The lamb shank was really tender and moist. The wine and beer menu was really big. Try the local microbrewery beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always one of the most pleasant environm ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 8, 2016

Always one of the most pleasant environments in Mammoth, super-staff, nice plating and preparation, but miss a more diverse and creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ok for Mammoth

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2016

White Bark was perfectly fine...not terrible, not great. Good food in Mammoth is limited, so given the choices, this one is definitely on the higher end. Appetizers were better than the entrees. Nice view of snow covered trees with lights, and good bar scene.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great wine list, and the menu had a litt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great wine list, and the menu had a little something for everyone.

The kids menu is printed in SUPER TINY font and made it almost impossible to read. It was also very faded.

It was a busy night and service was consistent. Food came out quickly and was not very hot. It was acceptable, but my boyfriends potatoes were on the verge of being cold.

We'll come back, as we'd like to try the sushi bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

White bark review

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2016

My family and friends eat at Whitebark each year when we visit Mammouth and the food and service is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Dinner

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 26, 2015

A warm refuge on a bitingly cold Christmas night. Excellent wine and appetizer. The presentation of the entrees was excellent. My wide's salmon was perfect, but the vegetable one of the accompanying veggies (brocollini?) was almost ice cold. My son's pork tenderloin was very good. I had the prime rib, which was very tasty but not very warm, as were the potatoes.

While it took quite some time to get dessert, the cookie sandwich was exceptional and worth the wait.

I'd go back again but probably just sit in the bar and order from that menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Waiter was very inexperienced, but nice ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Waiter was very inexperienced, but nice enough. Second glass of wine was corked--very obvious, should have never been served. Pasta dish with mushrooms was incredible(but rich!), filet mignon was way undercooked and not very flavorful, scallop special was good , not great. Overall good, not great and way too expensive for the quality of the food and the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

2015 Christmas Eve

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We came from Palermo (Italy) to spend Christmas at Mammoth Lakes and we had our Eve at this Restaurant. We enjoied a lot and we had very good food and wine. We hope to come back before or later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just perfect

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2015

We had a delightful time. It was Sunday night, post-Thanksgiving, so a blissfully quiet evening in the restaurant! Food, service, ambiance, view of snowy surroundings just right. The Pappardelle w/duck confit was out of this world. The best we've ever had and not to be missed. Excellent service, good wine list, aesthetically pleasing and innovative decor. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2015

As it turns out, Whitebark only serves lunch in the summer, in spite of what Opentable reservation system says. They were nice enough to open the restaurant for us at lunch time. Great service, excellent food, we hope to come back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Inexperienced wait staff, slow bar servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Inexperienced wait staff, slow bar service. Server decided to interact with her friends instead of waiting on her tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great Hotel Dining

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2015

This is an interesting hotel dining experience. There is a sushi bar (empty on our visit, but table service includes a somewhat varied menu. The salads were huge but not quite as advertised on the menu. Both were good but not as we had expected. Our entrees - salmon and duck were well done and nicely presented, but were not seasoned as much as we would have liked. Adding salt and pepper helped, but more attention in the kitchen would have made for a better dining experience. The sorbets were good and the cheesecake outstanding. Our server was excellent. She found the last bottle of the wine that we had ordered. Very friendly,but professional. This is very good place,especially when you want a quiet dinner with good food and don't want to leave the hotel. Especially inviting in winter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Undercooked food.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Crab cakes were served cold and had not been cooked. Vegetables on the chicken dish were cold and chicken was luke warm.

Waiter, Mike, was very good but could not make up for the lousy food.

We had been here many times before and were embarrassed in front of our guests after raving about the restaurant. It will be awhile before we try it again, if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

My wife and I enjoyed a nice, leisurely meal.

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 6, 2015

The ambience is quite wonderful and the menu provides delicious options for vegetarians. There is a comfortable modern design that was a nice change from all the log cabins. Delicious food, but my steak was not quite on the mark as requested. All in all, I recommend White Bark for a good meal in Mammoth Lakes. 👍🏻

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent. Had not been for a couple of ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Excellent. Had not been for a couple of years. They really cater to people with dietary needs. Sunday brunch was delious.have already been back for sushi. Excellent tooo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lic

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2015

They did´t had our table ready when we arrived. They didn´t had any table at all. They sat us down at the lounge (which had low tables and chairs) not at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Convenient location

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 5, 2015

We were staying at the Westin and made reservations for dinner on the 4th of July. My prime rib was delicious and the vegetables and horseradish sauce were very good. My husband ordered the macaroni and cheese. It would have been perfect for a child but was much too bland for an adult! His salmon was beautifully prepared but the couscous was flavorless and the shaved vegetables added to the presentation but not to the taste.

The wine list and the service were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server Mike was awesome and knowledg ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2015

Our server Mike was awesome and knowledgable. We enjoyed the special which was a prime rib. They also have an amazing Pinot noir there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.