Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.00mi
  3. Distance: 0.00mi
  4. Distance: 0.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.00mi
  3. Distance: 0.00mi
  4. Distance: 0.00mi

About Whitebark

Located just off the lobby, our in-house restaurant, Whitebark features innovative dining options. A contemporary ambiance and great views of Mammoth’s soothing surroundings set the atmosphere for any occasion. A welcoming fire burns warmly in the center of the open, airy space inspired by our country’s national parks. Enjoy a full meal from the innovative menu, or simply stop by for evening drinks at the lounge.

50 Hillside Drive
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Steakhouse, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am-11am Daily
Happy Hour: 4pm-6pm Daily
Dinner: 5pm-10pm Daily
Sushi Monday: 1/2 off selected sushi 5pm-10pm
Taco Tuesday: $2 street tacos 4pm-10pm
Wednesday: All night Happy Hour 4pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Canyon Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0460

Website:
http://www.westinmammoth.com/Whitebark

Entertainment:
The Westin's signature 'Unwind' ritual, where guests meet for a refreshing experience to journey from day to night.

Catering:
Planning a party or special event? Please contact Whitebark for information on planning weddings, parties, retreats and all other catering needs.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for all Whitebark guests.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Bessette

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Whitebark offers several private dining options. Whether you choose our cozy Gallery featuring a fireplace and private balcony or our larger banquet rooms, our chef is sure to delight your guests palates with tantalizing dishes.

Whitebark Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

61% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Menu has fewer choices than before and, unfortunately, no Asian-inspired selections. The waitress was useless: delivered a bottle of water and disappeared, even though there were few diners in the room. Has to flag down another waiter to get a wine list. She cleared the knives with the appetizer dishes and did not replace them for the main course; again another waiter had to solve the problem. She was uninterested in the fact the white wine was not chilled enough to last until the food arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This review is for when we were there April 15 at night. We went there somewhat spontaneously as a party of 11 and the food was wonderful. Service was fine.

We had a reservation just for our family of 4 for the next morning at 11 am, and it seemed redundant to come back within 14 hours, so early the next morning I tried to cancel through the Open Table app, but it would not let me. I then called the restaurant several times to cancel, and they never answered the phone. I finally left a message asking to cancel, and asking for a return call, and they did not. This is a hotel restaurant that was open and serving breakfast when I called. I had tried calling the restaurant several times prior to that to see if Easter Sunday had a particular brunch, or just their regular lunch menu, and never reached anyone and never got a call back. So, I would have to say that their phone/communication customer skills are lacking.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The menu listed on Open Table is not current so we were disappointed in the current changes made to the menu. You can't order sushi during "peak" hours unless seated at the sushi bar. This is very odd. The Caesar salad was unexceptional and the croutons appeared to come from a bag. Not worth $12. The steaks however, were cooked perfectly and were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One of our party ordered soup as an appetizer and a salad as dinner - salad arrived before appetizers were finished. Another ordered a steak medium rare - it arrived rare, when we pointed it out the server argued it WAS medium rare - had to be convinced to return and cook longer.
At initial order we ordered a side dish - long after the dinners arrived, no side dish. When we pointed it out the server blamed the kitchen, but when we paid the check the side dish had clearly been added d after all the other items.
Food wwas very good, but the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Good food and cocktails, only moan is that the portions are not sufficient, particularly the pats so after skiing for a day you are not sated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Nice bar area. Great place for breakfast and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The absolute best New York Steak we have ever had. Tender, cooked to perfection, great sauselito with mushrooms, we were amazed. Aptmosphere was awesome also.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Whitebark had excellent food and ambiance. It stands out from the other restaraunts in Mammoth because of the quiet atmosphere and very helpful servers who had excellent drink and entree recommendations. Even though this place is a little more expensive, I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The service was good. Food was just ok, a little over priced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We ate there because we were staying there and had just drove in from Los Angeles and had quite a snowstorm. Food was not very good. Steak was tough, fish lacked flavor. Very overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Saving grace for the restaurant was the service. He was very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We typically avoid hotel restaurants as they have generally boring menu options and the service is mediocre, but thought this was in the Village in Mammoth and should be different. We were wrong. We waited 15 minutes for a server to stop by after being seated although there were several people, included our eventual server milling about around us. And then, no apologies for the lack of attention. My wife had the pork loin and I had the chicken. Both were good, but not memorable. There are quite a few other options in the area. Next time we'll avoid this one.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a delicious and festive family dinner here--best meal I've had in Mammoth in years. The tenderloin was fabulous, as was the duck, and the mac-and-cheese did not disappoint. We look forward to returning next time we're in town. A little more expensive than most restaurants in town, but very much worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Don't take the kids!!!! The kids menu was unique, but not good. The quesadilla was deep fried and full of grease. The chicken soup was spicy, full of herbs, and super salty. Not a kid's soup. We had gone in expecting to order sushi cut rolls for the kids, but the kitchen and waitress would not serve sushi cut roles in the dinning room. The waitress said the only way you could order a cut roll is to get if for the kids and make it an avocado roll - no sushi. It was rude and they definitely did not have the customer in mind. Meanwhile the sushi bar was half empty on a Saturday night at 6pm and they were serving cut rolls in the bar area. My pasta was good, not made how it was described on the menu and loaded with salt. We won't be going back here unless they change their customer service and chef!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent service with amazing food and a great bar selection

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Bar, dining, and sushi seem to operate as 3 separate venues with not much coordination. For example, the night I visited cut sushi could be ordered only if seated at the sushi bar. After reserving and sitting in the dining room I was informed that the ceviche on the menu is available only at the main bar. So, we apologized to our server and moved to the main bar for dinner. However after the move and attempt to order we were informed they were out of ceviche! Horrid communication and coordination, and unapologetically I might add. Just very little regard for customer service / satisfaction right down to having to seek someone out to get our car out of valet to leave. It's almost as if the entire operation is new to the staff. Not only would I hesitate to dine here again, it would very much make me question staying at the Westin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Messed up orders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Slow service even though the restaurant was half empty. The menu was eclectic (not in a good way). The food was not particularly memorable. This gets a solid "meh".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I got sick, stomach problems. I don't want to say it was the Restarant but I did not eat anything since the morning. Also the website menu was not the same as the one that was provided. The waitress was very very very good at her job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great spot for dinner if your staying at the hotel.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Quality of meat is remarkable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Awesome food and great ambience. I had the duck and my wife had the sushi. We shared the mac n cheese. Always great.

But bring back the sliders!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

They no longer serve the crab cakes or scallops listed on their online menu. And their chef should not be allowed anywhere near a duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One word: overpriced

I had the cheapest entree on the menu since I was in the mood for pasta. For $22, I was expecting more in terms of flavor, and how they complement each other. Unfortunately, the pappardelle was the only thing I could taste - the other ingredients couldn't stand up to the broad pasta. My wife had the duck, which was too dry. For both entrees, I just tasted the ingredients lumped together. I would have expected this at a restaurant at half the price point.

Final point, if you're staying in the Village and plan to walk there for the first time, there are many steps (I'm guessing sixty-something), and they could get icy. If you haven't acclimated to the high altitude, it could be a tiring climb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Above average food, especially for mammoth
A bit loud
Decent sushi, not as good as in LA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had my wife's birthday dinner at whitebark. The location was fantastic inside the restaurant but they placed us directly in front of a fireplace. We asked they lower the flames as half the table was burning up. They didn't have the proper amount of seats at the table and my buddies wife had to stand for 5 minutes until they brought a chair over. I purchased two bottles of sake in advance about $75 per bottle. The waitress poured half the wine glass for half the table? The amount was crazy. Never asked if anyone wanted it. We then asked for a shot glasses and transferred the half filled wine glass. The food was below average. Three of us ordered filet. My buddies across from me was twice the size as everyone else's. Explains why he and his wife asked it to be fired up again. My other friends wife ordered the omakase and returned it bc there was a hair on the sushi. The sushi around the table was very thick cuts and everyone took notice. The calamari was very greasy. My steak was bland and a big goop of butter laid on top of it when it was served to me. They did follow through on a cake I had them Arrange for my wife's birthday. Overall was not good at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Small portions, bad service. Food was good but not good value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Healthy kids menu and very fresh ingredients. Lovely view too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They confirmed our reservation the day off and then didn't have us down when we got there?????

Very expensive for what you get. Will not go back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food!!! Beautiful Westin Resort...amazing service. We will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went for 1/2 price sushi and were told we had to sit in the bar area or lounge. Nothing on their advertising says this nor does it say it on the special 1/2 price menu. Big disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a family dinner for three people. The spacious booth was comfortable and quiet. It was nice not to be eating elbow to elbow with strangers at tiny tables. The food was expensive by our standards, but delicious. I was disappointed when I saw the menu, as it looked too limited. Choice of salmon, steak, duck, pork or pasta. However each person was thrilled with how tender their meat was, how good the sauce, and the excellent veg & starch sides. One person thought their filet mignon was the best he ever had. Portions were generous. We split the large serving of pineapple-bread pudding three ways. There were different choices on the bar menu that looked good, and of course the sushi, so we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was slow, our waitress took a long time and didn't check in much. Getting a glass of water and placing an order took about 20 minutes. We were staying in the hotel so it was convenient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service. Great food, especially for a hotel. Nice ambiance. High prices for the food, but that's any hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The view and location is amazing however the chef needs to improve a lot, the side was borned and the pork meat had no favor.

The desert was amazing.

Regards

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Muscovy duck was a little dry. Otherwise the food was good, as was the service. The variety of menu items was very good in the lounge, as you got the bar and restaurant menus. In the restaurant, you only get the restaurant menu. There's also a kids menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great happy hour and excellent menu for dinner. We went twice during our stay in Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous cheese plate. Great service. Steak au poivre was really good as was the duck! Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The hotel is fantastic so was the staff but the food is very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and very good food. We had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.