About White Barn Inn

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $109 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist entertains evenings.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet and self parking in private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are offered in the White Barn Inn Wine Cellar and second dining room. The Cellar seats 10-15 guests, and the second barn room up to 40. Offered year round.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Lucas: 207-967-2321x1174

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Open Faced Raviolo Of Braised Rabbit
Mixed Berry Soufflé
Lemon And Poppy Seed Doughnuts
Beef Tenderloin And Braised Short Rib
Veal Filet With Sweetbread Ravioli
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Couscous
Beef Carpaccio And Truffle Chicken Terrine
Beef Tartare w/ Gelee' of Tomato & Horseradish Ice Cream
Smoked Salmon And Shrimp Salad
Lobster
Lamb
Fish
Truffles
Beef
Cherry martini
White Chocolate Creme Brulee
Scalop
Foie Gras

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
6 More
Best Overall
Maine
Best Food
Maine
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Notable Wine List
Maine
Romantic
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

romantic (34)
special occasion (34)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
notable wine list (20)
scenic view (3)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful restaurant with outstanding ...

Dined 4 days ago

A beautiful restaurant with outstanding food. A gem in Kennebunk. Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the tasting menu with wine. An ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I had the tasting menu with wine. An experience I will never forget

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always excellent. The major difference w ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Always excellent. The major difference we noticed since Chef Cartwright's retirement was the lack of subtlety in some of the dishes and a little more distance from his consistent perfection. Still the best, and we are sure it will improve with time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been a very special plac ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This has always been a very special place for us. Food, wine pairings, ambience, and service are all 5 star. We can't wait for a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable! Everything was perfect!! Ser ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Impeccable! Everything was perfect!! Service was out of this world and the food was outstanding, very memorable night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue I had with my meal is tha ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The only issue I had with my meal is that my salmon fillet was to be cooked medium rare but came out medium. It was acceptable so I did not ask for another, but it should have been cooked less.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had dinner while staying at the Inn 20 ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I had dinner while staying at the Inn 20 or so years ago. Decided to try it again while traveling with friends. Everyone in the group could not say enough about their meal, the service and the ambiance. Belongs on every foodie's "bucket list".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped there for the lunch and OMG ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We stopped there for the lunch and OMG what a lunch ... Lobster roll with warm stuffing served with pickles tempura , and the lobster salad with its light vinaigrette without the god damned Mayo ..... simply marvelous. And the final touch, their homemade cookies brought us back to our younger years.... Once again, what a lunch !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to the White Barn Inn for ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We love to go to the White Barn Inn for my husband's birthday. It is just a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Need to get back to 5-star

Dined on June 7, 2016

Although everything was good- it is hard not to compare the quality of cuisine to what we experienced in 2011. Every forkful sang and made a lasting impression. The signature lobster dish was cool and lacked seasoning and sweetness.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous experience all aroun ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Absolutely fabulous experience all around. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Kitchen had a poor night?

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was very attentive and the atmosphere lovely, but I was disappointed by the meal. My goat cheese souffle was dry and rubbery and the only real flavor with the rest of the dish was salt. The leek soup was strange with cold crab centerpiece and too much heavy cream. The best dish was the grapefruit and tarragon sorbet. The starter amuse-bouche (duck) was fair; the dessert (cream cheese mousse, yuck!) one was awful. I don't know what happened in the kitchen but things just really were off with the timing too. The wait time between the starter course and main entree was way too long.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 2nd visit to the White Barn Inn and ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our 2nd visit to the White Barn Inn and it definitely did not disappoint! The food was absolutely stellar, and although I was very full after 4 courses, it left me wanting more!! Chef Derek is tremendously talented. The service was lovely and the ambiance was nice (besides a table of 5 women who were quite loud and disruptive to the rest of the dining room - no fault of the restaurant's, of course). We can't wait to visit KPT again next year so we can dine at the White Barn Inn once more.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Service and food was quite remarkable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our son's high school graduation

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our 5th visit over the past 13 years so we are selective when it comes to special occasions. While the chef may have changed, the food, service, and experience has not. If we lived closer, we would come more often. This restaurant always dazzles us with their dishes and never has an "okay" moment. The teenagers were wowed and our 5-year old was very comfortable, which says a lot to those who might be hesitant in bringing a child. There is a toned down menu for children. If you're going to splurge on a meal, this is the place to do it. A dining experience must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

nice ambiance, excellent service, beautiful food

Dined on May 28, 2016

everything was lovely, and the service impeccable, but the prices are a bit steep for lunch. nice spot for a special occassion. would love to try the dinner sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The White Barn is an institution and a f ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The White Barn is an institution and a fabulous one at that. The service was impeccable and the regular and tasting menus were both incredible. We did the wine pairings and that certainly made it pricey but I would say worth it. I had eaten there more than 15 years before for a special occasion and had been dreaming of the lobster in cognac butter sauce ever since. It didn't quite live up to my memory of it but was still wonderful. It is a great place for celebrating something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Four course meal ample. Pricey but not t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Four course meal ample. Pricey but not too bad considering quality of food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the gourmet diner!

Dined on May 13, 2016

As always, the WBI is fabulous! A very special dining experience! The food is beyond exceptional! Service and waitstaff exceptional! Our special place for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A landmark restaurant deserving of its reputation

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The White Barn Inn did not disappoint on our visit. The service was impeccable, the ambiance warm and rich, and the food was exceptional. Several members of our party enjoyed an outstanding lobster entree while several of us had haddock that was a bit dry, but all the other courses were truly memorable. A wonderful highlight of our visit to the Kennebunks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch and my wife couldn't ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers Day Brunch and my wife couldn't have been happier. Great food and incredible service. Look forward to dining here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mother's Day at White Barn Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a revisit to the White Barn Inn after 25 years and it is still an elegant restaurant with superb wait staff, excellent food and high prices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a special restaurant. In my opinion ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

What a special restaurant. In my opinion this is probably the best restaurant in the state of Maine so I recommend it highly. I think it would be particularly good for a special occasion. Although I think it's a little bit expensive I think it's terrific value for the price. The other thing that I really enjoyed about the restaurant was it's fixed price menu. It is well worth the trip.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Try this place for a really memorable experience!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for a wknd get away. Amazing time! Great food! Great ambiance. Service was impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

My husband and dined at the White Barn I ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband and dined at the White Barn Inn 15 years ago on our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience and fabulous food. Let's just say the 15 years have not been kind to the restaurant. Although lovely, the lighting is too bright. It was like sitting under a spotlight (and when we asked if they could turn them down, we were told they were on timers and they couldn't touch it). The food was sub par and the portions ridiculously small. The menu was pretentious in that they were more concerned with presentation, than flavor. We later learned that it went from a family owned establishment to a corporate owner. It's such a shame that such a magical place has lost its magic. For $400 for two It was not worth it and we will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not just dinner...it was an experience...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The experience from start to finish was nothing short of perfect. The staff was attentive and listened to our specific wine pairing requests. Our server, Jason meticulously selected the best wine suiting our taste to pair with each course of our meal. I would recommend anyone to have dinner here for a special occasion and/or romantic evening. It is more than just going out for dinner. It is an experience. Worth every dollar spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Add the White Barn Inn to your Foodie Bucket List

Dined on February 13, 2016

We highly suggest adding the White Barn Inn to your “Foodie Bucket List”! I must admit as I put in my recent reservation we were worried the White Barn restaurant my have changes since the departure this past summer of chef Jonathan Cartwright, a long time fixture on the Maine food scene, but new Chef Bissonnette and his team not only didn’t miss a beat but they hit it out of the park! From the wonderful food, menu and plate presentation to the 5 star professionalism but still not losing the warm and friendly interaction with staff to the cozy and romantic ambiance, as the piano place softly in the background. Thank You WBI we’ll see you soon! TJ Ranch Newton NH

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a Valentine's Day dinner las ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We went for a Valentine's Day dinner last weekend. It was, as alway, magnificent. My daughter and I got beautiful red rose on the way to our table. Our server was well versed on each dish and she really cared that we experienced each course in all its perfect glory. My husband had the lobster which was cooked to perfection as was my filet and my daughter's salmon. The beauty of the evening is that it is not just the chef's perfectly exquisite dishes, it is an intimate setting where each table feels like they are the only ones dining. There is just the right balance of background music, seating arrangement and excellent service that allows you to enjoy precious down time with the special people in your life. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food, service - impeccable! Temperature chilly

Dined on February 6, 2016

Excellent, as always. A dining experience like no other. However, I retrieved my coat from the bell area to cover my legs as the temperature inside was very uncomfortable. The wine warmed me up, but the cool base board draft kept my limbs chilly. Summertime is best! Always fresh, exquisite service...will return and return again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful experience. Pricey ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience. Pricey but worth every penny.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining

Dined on January 23, 2016

Dining at the White Barn Inn is equivalent to an orchestra with many beautiful instruments. Starting with the rolls from their bakery to little chocolates after my coffee at the end of the meal, each course was delicious and beautifully presented. We took my daughter for her 17th birthday. Our family are definite foodies and we enjoyed every course. The piano musician played our favorite show tunes during the meal and we laughed and teared at Les Mis and the other great pieces. My husband was not able to join at the last minute and they changed the reservation without any problems. I highly recommend the the White Barn Inn both for little celebrations and a treat with the special people in your life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious but cold

Dined on January 22, 2016

In every way the restaurant was superb, except for the temperature of the room. Very, Very cold. If the barn is that difficult to heat they should have small individual heaters placed around. Very hard to enjoy a terrific meal with a winter coat on.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb

Dined on January 1, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful, as always. We treat ourselves to the White Barn Inn once a year. We are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It Was Amazing

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We have had The White Barn Inn on our bucket list for years but due to life we just not got there. We were not disappointed. My husband and I normally babysit on NYE but decided to take the year off. We stayed for three nights in the Blue Suite. It was so relaxing and just what we needed after the holidays. The food was exceptional and the group they brought in for entertainment was excellent. It will be a NYE to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Christmas dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

We had our Christmas dinner here again this year and, as always, the food was superb and the staff wonderful, not just in terms of excellent service but also making a welcoming and celebratory atmosphere. The special Christmas items on the menu -- pheasant and chestnut soup, roast goose, etc. - are a festive touch and also delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A romantic Christmas Eve dinner :)

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Love the WBI!! It was the perfect place to have a quiet, romantic Christmas Eve dinner. The food was superb and the service impeccable!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Ambiance/Atmosphere

Dined on December 23, 2015

the change in dress code that allows very informal and casual attire from jacket and tie detracts from the experience of very special occasion

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A Very Nice Evening

Dined on December 20, 2015

Our visit to the White Barn Inn was a very very nice evening. The table was located almost directly in front of the large window so we had a great view of the lit up Christmas tree in the courtyard outside. The meal was delicious and the attention to presentation for each course delivered was also extremely well done. They were out of the wine chosen for the dinner, but replaced it with a comparable quality/price. The meal was expensive, but you know that going in to the evening so very difficult to complain about price and every other aspect of the evening was well done. The service and demeanor of the wait staff was outstanding...... A very special place for a very special occasion.....and the Christmas decorations were well done! Finally, the piano player was excellent........ A very very fine evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

Dined on December 12, 2015

We have been to The White Barn many times over the years. Always a special occasion and never disappointed. However, the last 2 times I have noticed the quality of the food has suffered. I took my daughter there for her 30th birthday, her first time, and I left feeling sad that her experience was not as special as I would have liked. Dry, tasteless fish. Sent it back and they did only slightly better the second time. I ate while she waited. Ugh. A $350 evening for the 2 of us and leaving sad is how I envisioned our celebration would conclude. Time for us to explore a special occasion option in Portland or Boston. I fear I will not be back to this beautiful place again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Splurge

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Once a year four friends splurge on dinner at the White Barn Inn. The service, food ans wine are exemplary Every course from the smoked lobster, foie gras to the tenderloin were outstanding. Cannot wait til next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.