About White Barn Inn

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $109 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist entertains evenings.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet and self parking in private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are offered in the White Barn Inn Wine Cellar and second dining room. The Cellar seats 10-15 guests, and the second barn room up to 40. Offered year round.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Lucas: 207-967-2321x1174

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Open Faced Raviolo Of Braised Rabbit
Mixed Berry Soufflé
Lemon And Poppy Seed Doughnuts
Beef Tenderloin And Braised Short Rib
Veal Filet With Sweetbread Ravioli
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Couscous
Beef Carpaccio And Truffle Chicken Terrine
Beef Tartare w/ Gelee' of Tomato & Horseradish Ice Cream
Smoked Salmon And Shrimp Salad
Lobster
Lamb
Fish
Truffles
Beef
Cherry martini
White Chocolate Creme Brulee
Scalop
Foie Gras

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Romantic
Boston / New England
7 More
American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Maine
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Notable Wine List
Maine
Romantic
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

romantic (42)
special occasion (41)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
notable wine list (26)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (3)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (3)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again, we had a lovely evening at T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Once again, we had a lovely evening at The White Barn! The food was delightful, although the entree options not as creative as in past years. Nonetheless, such a special place and well worth the cost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a formal restaurant-very "old sc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a formal restaurant-very "old school" and as elegant as a barn can be. However, the food is inventive, seasonally inspired and delicious. There's nothing fussy or old about the menu or the ingredients.

Having visited the restaurant over the years, it's a reminder of old Kennebunkport but in no way outdated. When you dine there you know the food will be wonderful, the service warm while very professional and the atmosphere won't be compromised by having to see something like a man's hairy foot in a flip-flop anywhere in sight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a good trip but not our best at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a good trip but not our best at this particular restaurant. We were a later reservation and were definitely rushed out. They were setting up breakfast while we were eating our main course. Were not told about dessert at the beginning of meal. Bread offered only once and no butter. My wife got coffee but had to ask for sugar. All of this stuff is minor at most places but not what I had come to expect from WBI. We drove 2 hours back and forth and have for the past 12 years for our anniversary. Seems very different than from when Jonathan Cartwright was running it. Too bad actually. Menton in Boston served a better meal as of late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This is the 2nd time my Wife and I eat a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the 2nd time my Wife and I eat at The White Barn Inn, our first was Sept. 29, 1985 for our first anniversary, our 2nd was this past Saturday night, July 16, 2016 for a surprise romantic date for my Wife. The service was excellent by Angela and Danica our Waitresses. They were both the best. The food was very good but the portions were too small and the price was way...too expensive. We also miss the old classy dining area. The barn is no where as nice as your old dining area. The live piano was nice, but not as nice as the Classical Guitar that played John Michael Talbit for us on our first Anniversary. All in all we were disappointed, not as Romantic and nice and much....more expensive than it was back in 1985.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Wonderful food and service at a place th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and service at a place that makes you feel special. Don't forget your wallet though, it is not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food overall was impeccable with a w ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food overall was impeccable with a wait staff constantly 'on watch'. The White Barn Inn is indeed among those unique opportunities to dine in utter elegance with breathtaking course presentations. I make a point of going here a minimum of once a year (when in the area) and many times twice. Mark this as a very special dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A super start to our holiday...it was ve ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A super start to our holiday...it was very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was inconsistent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was inconsistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A fabulous place!! Beautiful and charmin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A fabulous place!! Beautiful and charming. My husbands birthday lunch..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Very romantic and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent experience. Very romantic and the food was a combination of wonderful gourmet flavor s. The waitstaff was very attentive but not overbearing. It was an excellent experience and I definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at the White Barn Inn is much mor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dining at the White Barn Inn is much more than a superb dinner. It's an experience, which begins with the spectacular original post and beam barn, faithfully restored and tastefully brought to life with fine art and lighting. The menu is incomparable and the quality and service rival any restaurant anywhere. Rustic elegance and absolutely divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our 4-course dinner at White ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We enjoyed our 4-course dinner at White Barn, and were impressed by the staff and their attention to detail. At almost $250/person, however, we wont' likely return or recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

A beautiful restaurant with outstanding ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with outstanding food.

A gem in Kennebunk.

Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience from start t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful dining experience from start to finish. A true gem!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the tasting menu with wine. An ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I had the tasting menu with wine. An experience I will never forget

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always excellent. The major difference w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always excellent. The major difference we noticed since Chef Cartwright's retirement was the lack of subtlety in some of the dishes and a little more distance from his consistent perfection. Still the best, and we are sure it will improve with time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This has always been a very special plac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This has always been a very special place for us. Food, wine pairings, ambience, and service are all 5 star. We can't wait for a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable! Everything was perfect!! Ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Impeccable! Everything was perfect!! Service was out of this world and the food was outstanding, very memorable night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue I had with my meal is tha ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The only issue I had with my meal is that my salmon fillet was to be cooked medium rare but came out medium. It was acceptable so I did not ask for another, but it should have been cooked less.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner while staying at the Inn 20 ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had dinner while staying at the Inn 20 or so years ago. Decided to try it again while traveling with friends. Everyone in the group could not say enough about their meal, the service and the ambiance. Belongs on every foodie's "bucket list".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stopped there for the lunch and OMG ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We stopped there for the lunch and OMG what a lunch ... Lobster roll with warm stuffing served with pickles tempura , and the lobster salad with its light vinaigrette without the god damned Mayo ..... simply marvelous. And the final touch, their homemade cookies brought us back to our younger years.... Once again, what a lunch !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to the White Barn Inn for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We love to go to the White Barn Inn for my husband's birthday. It is just a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need to get back to 5-star

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Although everything was good- it is hard not to compare the quality of cuisine to what we experienced in 2011. Every forkful sang and made a lasting impression. The signature lobster dish was cool and lacked seasoning and sweetness.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Absolutely fabulous experience all aroun ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Absolutely fabulous experience all around. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen had a poor night?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was very attentive and the atmosphere lovely, but I was disappointed by the meal. My goat cheese souffle was dry and rubbery and the only real flavor with the rest of the dish was salt. The leek soup was strange with cold crab centerpiece and too much heavy cream. The best dish was the grapefruit and tarragon sorbet. The starter amuse-bouche (duck) was fair; the dessert (cream cheese mousse, yuck!) one was awful. I don't know what happened in the kitchen but things just really were off with the timing too. The wait time between the starter course and main entree was way too long.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our 2nd visit to the White Barn Inn and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our 2nd visit to the White Barn Inn and it definitely did not disappoint! The food was absolutely stellar, and although I was very full after 4 courses, it left me wanting more!! Chef Derek is tremendously talented. The service was lovely and the ambiance was nice (besides a table of 5 women who were quite loud and disruptive to the rest of the dining room - no fault of the restaurant's, of course). We can't wait to visit KPT again next year so we can dine at the White Barn Inn once more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Service and food was quite remarkable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating our son's high school graduation

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our 5th visit over the past 13 years so we are selective when it comes to special occasions. While the chef may have changed, the food, service, and experience has not. If we lived closer, we would come more often. This restaurant always dazzles us with their dishes and never has an "okay" moment. The teenagers were wowed and our 5-year old was very comfortable, which says a lot to those who might be hesitant in bringing a child. There is a toned down menu for children. If you're going to splurge on a meal, this is the place to do it. A dining experience must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice ambiance, excellent service, beautiful food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

everything was lovely, and the service impeccable, but the prices are a bit steep for lunch. nice spot for a special occassion. would love to try the dinner sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The White Barn is an institution and a f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The White Barn is an institution and a fabulous one at that. The service was impeccable and the regular and tasting menus were both incredible. We did the wine pairings and that certainly made it pricey but I would say worth it. I had eaten there more than 15 years before for a special occasion and had been dreaming of the lobster in cognac butter sauce ever since. It didn't quite live up to my memory of it but was still wonderful. It is a great place for celebrating something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Four course meal ample. Pricey but not t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Four course meal ample. Pricey but not too bad considering quality of food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the gourmet diner!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

As always, the WBI is fabulous! A very special dining experience! The food is beyond exceptional! Service and waitstaff exceptional! Our special place for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A landmark restaurant deserving of its reputation

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The White Barn Inn did not disappoint on our visit. The service was impeccable, the ambiance warm and rich, and the food was exceptional. Several members of our party enjoyed an outstanding lobster entree while several of us had haddock that was a bit dry, but all the other courses were truly memorable. A wonderful highlight of our visit to the Kennebunks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch and my wife couldn't ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers Day Brunch and my wife couldn't have been happier. Great food and incredible service. Look forward to dining here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day at White Barn Inn

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a revisit to the White Barn Inn after 25 years and it is still an elegant restaurant with superb wait staff, excellent food and high prices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a special restaurant. In my opinion ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

What a special restaurant. In my opinion this is probably the best restaurant in the state of Maine so I recommend it highly. I think it would be particularly good for a special occasion. Although I think it's a little bit expensive I think it's terrific value for the price. The other thing that I really enjoyed about the restaurant was it's fixed price menu. It is well worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try this place for a really memorable experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for a wknd get away. Amazing time! Great food! Great ambiance. Service was impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and dined at the White Barn I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband and dined at the White Barn Inn 15 years ago on our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience and fabulous food. Let's just say the 15 years have not been kind to the restaurant. Although lovely, the lighting is too bright. It was like sitting under a spotlight (and when we asked if they could turn them down, we were told they were on timers and they couldn't touch it). The food was sub par and the portions ridiculously small. The menu was pretentious in that they were more concerned with presentation, than flavor. We later learned that it went from a family owned establishment to a corporate owner. It's such a shame that such a magical place has lost its magic. For $400 for two It was not worth it and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Not just dinner...it was an experience...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The experience from start to finish was nothing short of perfect. The staff was attentive and listened to our specific wine pairing requests. Our server, Jason meticulously selected the best wine suiting our taste to pair with each course of our meal. I would recommend anyone to have dinner here for a special occasion and/or romantic evening. It is more than just going out for dinner. It is an experience. Worth every dollar spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.