About White Barn Inn

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $109 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/dining/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist plays every evening.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet service as well as self parking available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are offered in the White Barn Inn Wine Cellar and The White Barn Bistro.
The Wine Cellar seats up to 15 guests, and The White Barn Bistro seats up to 40. Offered year round.

Private Party Contact:
Hugo Aguirre: 207-361-8458x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Open Faced Raviolo Of Braised Rabbit
Beef Tenderloin And Braised Short Rib
Lemon And Poppy Seed Doughnuts
Veal Filet With Sweetbread Ravioli
Mixed Berry Soufflé
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Couscous
Beef Carpaccio And Truffle Chicken Terrine
Beef Tartare w/ Gelee' of Tomato & Horseradish Ice Cream
Smoked Salmon And Shrimp Salad
Lamb
Beef
Foie Gras
Scalop
White Chocolate Creme Brulee
Cherry martini
Truffles
Lobster
Fish

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Maine
5 More
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Notable Wine List
Maine
Romantic
Maine
American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (39)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service with Ricardo was superbđź‘Ť

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service with Ricardo was superbđź‘Ť

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dining experience with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my first dining experience with the white barn. The food was exceptional and the atmosphere was amazingly..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated in a very poor location o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were seated in a very poor location on a two top with a glass wall obstructing our view. I assumed all of the other open prime tables were reserved however most sat empty all evening. We were bot VERY disappointed in the quality of the Halibut we ordered it was over cooked dry and tasteless. I would never recommend this restaurant at half the price and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Best meal I have ever had! Love the plac ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best meal I have ever had! Love the place and its spirit. Service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The nine course tasting menu was superb. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The nine course tasting menu was superb. The four course one was one of the best meals we have ever had. a great overall dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional dining experience. The f ...

vip
·Dined on September 9, 2016

An exceptional dining experience. The food was superb, the service was impeccable, the ambiance extraordinary. The White Barn is truly special. If there is one complaint, I ordered a vodka on the rocks, and received about two fingers of vodka in a very small cocktail glass. I felt it was rather chintzy when you are spending about $500 per couple for dinner. They could have at least poured a decent drink. That aside, it was about the best restaurant I've been to since the French Laundry.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for sure!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a wonderful experience, food, ser ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

It was a wonderful experience, food, service and ambiance...perfect.

Rachel Taillon

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at the WBI yearly for a de ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We have dined at the WBI yearly for a decade as we live 2500 miles away. It is one of our "go to" restaurants that we always look forward to. This time we were seated next to a woman who was intoxicated and talked loudly to her table mate the entire team. I believe the WBI management should have known better since she was sitting at the bar and talking and laughing (screaming) very loudly. She should never have been seated next to other guests. It ruined our evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Since the White Barn Inn is supposed to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Since the White Barn Inn is supposed to provide (according to some reviews) the finest dining experience in Maine, we were optimistic about our chances of getting a decent Sunday lunch and came out thoroughly disappointed and significantly poorer....

When we showed up at the reservation time, we were "welcomed" (greeted would be excessive) by a young lady who seemed disinterested and slightly surprised to see us, but nevertheless showed us to a nice table on the empty porch, after we crossed the empty dining room.

Our request of a Kir for a cocktail was received with complete bafflement and perplexity and we were informed 10 minutes later that the establishment didn't carry the ingredients to make a Kir (white wine and blackcurrant.....)

The lunch menu is totally bizarre for a Maine establishment (OK I will concede that Kennebunk is not really Maine, more like Greenwich, CT, crossed with St Tropez....) with such Maine fresh dishes as chicken Parmesan (?) and Pizza Margherita.... That left me wondering where the chicken fingers were....

There is a lobster roll on the menu, but providing one bite of lobster for $26 is taking your patrons for idiots when you can get a whole fresh lobster at Reds Eats or Shaws for a fraction of the cost.

Worse, the food itself was totally uninspired (rather like the young lady who "greets" the guests). The lobster salad was competently dressed but rather bland and way overpriced for the 2 small bites of lobster tail that were hidden in the greens..... The chicken parm was greasy on the outside and chewy (as in overcooked) on the inside, and served with spaghetti swimming in a canned tomato sauce. My wife's clam chowder had been microwaved so hot as to be inedible.

Positive side, the server that took care of us was very nice and attentive!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Our impression of the White Barn dining ...

vip
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our impression of the White Barn dining experience is: "too much of a good thing." Each of the seven courses taken individually was good to excellent. Taken as a whole, it was too much alimentary stimulus dragged out over too many stages for our taste. We noted that the White Barn has added a bistro area with a different menu. Perhaps, that is what we would try on our next trip to Kennebunkport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Second visit. Very creative cuisine. Exc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Second visit. Very creative cuisine. Excellent cocktails and perfect service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been to some of the best restauran ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been to some of the best restaurants in the USA, including French Laundry in Napa. The White Barn Inn is the best by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a special place that always deli ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

this is a special place that always delights . the entire experience is memorable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience ! We had friends in f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Amazing experience ! We had friends in from out of town. They all said it was the best meal of their lives! we had an amazing waiter, great food, wonderful dining experience. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The White Barn Inn is one of the last Fi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The White Barn Inn is one of the last Fine Dining locations in Maine. The food and wine is excellent and the Service is top notch. The menu choices are extensive and Everything we tried was cooked to perfection. Wine choices by the glass and bottle were varied and reasonably priced for a Fine Dining Experience. The 4 course fixed price menu is extensive and varied and worth the price. Sounds Great doesn't it? One Big problem - they advertise as Fine Dining and request a dress code of Jackets for men. They say they will also accept collared shirts if jacket not available. We were dressed for fine dining as was most of the tables around us - for a while.

Then they allowed diners wearing Shorts, T-Shirts and even Jeans, and it was a COOL Saturday evening! They have a Bistro in an attached room, why not ask those dressed for BBQ dining to sit in there?

We were upset as well as the 2 tables next to us. Either you have a dress code or you don't!!!

We will be back at the White Barn Inn but probably skip the Restaurant next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superlatives can't describe the extraord ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Superlatives can't describe the extraordinary dinner we had at the White Barn Inn! It was our first time dining here. Even though we had heard the food was great, our dinner exceeded our expectations. The food was delicious; the presentation was exquisite; and the service was impeccable. I had a lobster-theme dinner with lobster bisque, lobster spring rolls, and a whole reconstructed lobster (sans shell) over pasta--Lobster Nirvana! We will surely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One word-awesome.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One word-awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food artfully presented with u ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Delicious food artfully presented with unparalleled service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The White Barn Inn is Maine's most elega ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The White Barn Inn is Maine's most elegant restaurant. The setting in the barn is gorgeous! The chairs are comfortable, and the tables are beautifully arranged. The service is impeccable. The food is magnificent! On this location, my husband ordered a scallop appetizer and a halibut entrée with pea soup as an intermezzo course. We got a welcome taste of salmon and a chocolate pre-desert followed by a berry soufflé. I ordered a foie gras appetizer, the same pea soup intermezzo, And the signature entreé of the restaurant which is lobster nestled on a bed of homemade fettuccine. It is memorable! The only negative thing I have to say about this outstanding restaurant is the fact that they changed their bread offerings, and they are not as good nor as varied as they used to be.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I both had halibut. The pres ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife and I both had halibut. The presentation was nice but the fish was way over cooked and dry. I can think of 50 places twice as good for half the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

The White Barn Inn is an elegant restaur ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The White Barn Inn is an elegant restaurant that offers beautifully prepared, delicious food and impeccable service. On this occasion, we ordered the tasting menu which consisted of 9 courses: smoked salmon, a lobster trio, cauliflower moose, marrow bone, foie gras, lamb chop, cheese course, mango mousse, and a peach crumble soufflé. The setting is gorgeous. We highly recommend this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The White Barn continues to have outstan ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The White Barn continues to have outstanding service, outstanding food, outstanding ambiance. They certainly are customer oriented. All this combines to produce a most effective and highly enjoyable time. We'll return certainly once again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

25th Anniversary Dinner with a group of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

25th Anniversary Dinner with a group of family. Definitely a step up in complexity and nuance of tastes from my last visit. Waitstaff was generally excellent, but there were a few minor hiccups that probably would have gone unnoticed in a lesser restaurant. This is an absolute once-in-a-lifetime dining experience that I've been fortunate to experience once a year for the last 20 years. The White Barn Inn remains an absolutely indulgent treat that I look forward to experiencing for years to come. It definitely pays to study the wine list in advance, as there are several quality bottles that won't break the bank. It will never be an economical night, but I always walk out the door feeling that the experience was well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful food, service and ambiance! ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambiance! Well worth it he price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Kennybunkport for a week with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were in Kennybunkport for a week with our two teenage girls and decided that this would be our 'big night out'. The food was excellent and waiter (Riccardo) was formal yet friendly. We all loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is great.....unfortunately the ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The staff is great.....unfortunately the food wasn't.....the prices they charge are way out of line with the quality of food they serve

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We try to dine at the White Barn Inn at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We try to dine at the White Barn Inn at least once per year , usually for my wife's birthday - and when we do we partake of the fixed price menus plus a cocktail, some wine and later a cheese plate for dessert accompanied by dessert wine. Always a lovely evening, though quite expensive.

The only new item that we did not enjoy is the frosted glass that divides the room from front to back. From our seats we could not longer see the beautiful window at the rear of the restaurant. Suggest they take that new glass down. As is, it alters the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not our first time dining at Wh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was not our first time dining at White Barn Inn; but whenever we go to Maine for a getaway weekend we always book this restaurant for dining. You cannot beat the atmosphere, the attention of the staff and the quality of the food. We had Peter as our waiter and have had him before. He is top notch. I highly recommend and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had a lovely evening at T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Once again, we had a lovely evening at The White Barn! The food was delightful, although the entree options not as creative as in past years. Nonetheless, such a special place and well worth the cost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a formal restaurant-very "old sc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a formal restaurant-very "old school" and as elegant as a barn can be. However, the food is inventive, seasonally inspired and delicious. There's nothing fussy or old about the menu or the ingredients.

Having visited the restaurant over the years, it's a reminder of old Kennebunkport but in no way outdated. When you dine there you know the food will be wonderful, the service warm while very professional and the atmosphere won't be compromised by having to see something like a man's hairy foot in a flip-flop anywhere in sight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a good trip but not our best at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a good trip but not our best at this particular restaurant. We were a later reservation and were definitely rushed out. They were setting up breakfast while we were eating our main course. Were not told about dessert at the beginning of meal. Bread offered only once and no butter. My wife got coffee but had to ask for sugar. All of this stuff is minor at most places but not what I had come to expect from WBI. We drove 2 hours back and forth and have for the past 12 years for our anniversary. Seems very different than from when Jonathan Cartwright was running it. Too bad actually. Menton in Boston served a better meal as of late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This is the 2nd time my Wife and I eat a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the 2nd time my Wife and I eat at The White Barn Inn, our first was Sept. 29, 1985 for our first anniversary, our 2nd was this past Saturday night, July 16, 2016 for a surprise romantic date for my Wife. The service was excellent by Angela and Danica our Waitresses. They were both the best. The food was very good but the portions were too small and the price was way...too expensive. We also miss the old classy dining area. The barn is no where as nice as your old dining area. The live piano was nice, but not as nice as the Classical Guitar that played John Michael Talbit for us on our first Anniversary. All in all we were disappointed, not as Romantic and nice and much....more expensive than it was back in 1985.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Wonderful food and service at a place th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and service at a place that makes you feel special. Don't forget your wallet though, it is not cheap.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food overall was impeccable with a w ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food overall was impeccable with a wait staff constantly 'on watch'. The White Barn Inn is indeed among those unique opportunities to dine in utter elegance with breathtaking course presentations. I make a point of going here a minimum of once a year (when in the area) and many times twice. Mark this as a very special dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A super start to our holiday...it was ve ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A super start to our holiday...it was very special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was inconsistent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was inconsistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A fabulous place!! Beautiful and charmin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A fabulous place!! Beautiful and charming. My husbands birthday lunch..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Very romantic and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent experience. Very romantic and the food was a combination of wonderful gourmet flavor s. The waitstaff was very attentive but not overbearing. It was an excellent experience and I definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.