About White Barn Inn

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $109 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist entertains evenings.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet and self parking in private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are offered in the White Barn Inn Wine Cellar and second dining room. The Cellar seats 10-15 guests, and the second barn room up to 40. Offered year round.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Lucas: 207-967-2321x1174

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Open Faced Raviolo Of Braised Rabbit
Beef Tenderloin And Braised Short Rib
Lemon And Poppy Seed Doughnuts
Veal Filet With Sweetbread Ravioli
Mixed Berry Soufflé
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Couscous
Beef Carpaccio And Truffle Chicken Terrine
Beef Tartare w/ Gelee' of Tomato & Horseradish Ice Cream
Smoked Salmon And Shrimp Salad
Lamb
Beef
Foie Gras
Scalop
White Chocolate Creme Brulee
Cherry martini
Truffles
Lobster
Fish

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
5 More
Best Overall
Maine
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Romantic
Maine
American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (44)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The White Barn Inn is one of the last Fi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The White Barn Inn is one of the last Fine Dining locations in Maine. The food and wine is excellent and the Service is top notch. The menu choices are extensive and Everything we tried was cooked to perfection. Wine choices by the glass and bottle were varied and reasonably priced for a Fine Dining Experience. The 4 course fixed price menu is extensive and varied and worth the price. Sounds Great doesn't it? One Big problem - they advertise as Fine Dining and request a dress code of Jackets for men. They say they will also accept collared shirts if jacket not available. We were dressed for fine dining as was most of the tables around us - for a while.

Then they allowed diners wearing Shorts, T-Shirts and even Jeans, and it was a COOL Saturday evening! They have a Bistro in an attached room, why not ask those dressed for BBQ dining to sit in there?

We were upset as well as the 2 tables next to us. Either you have a dress code or you don't!!!

We will be back at the White Barn Inn but probably skip the Restaurant next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One word-awesome.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

One word-awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food artfully presented with u ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food artfully presented with unparalleled service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The White Barn Inn is Maine's most elega ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The White Barn Inn is Maine's most elegant restaurant. The setting in the barn is gorgeous! The chairs are comfortable, and the tables are beautifully arranged. The service is impeccable. The food is magnificent! On this location, my husband ordered a scallop appetizer and a halibut entrée with pea soup as an intermezzo course. We got a welcome taste of salmon and a chocolate pre-desert followed by a berry soufflé. I ordered a foie gras appetizer, the same pea soup intermezzo, And the signature entreé of the restaurant which is lobster nestled on a bed of homemade fettuccine. It is memorable! The only negative thing I have to say about this outstanding restaurant is the fact that they changed their bread offerings, and they are not as good nor as varied as they used to be.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I both had halibut. The pres ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife and I both had halibut. The presentation was nice but the fish was way over cooked and dry. I can think of 50 places twice as good for half the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

The White Barn Inn is an elegant restaur ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The White Barn Inn is an elegant restaurant that offers beautifully prepared, delicious food and impeccable service. On this occasion, we ordered the tasting menu which consisted of 9 courses: smoked salmon, a lobster trio, cauliflower moose, marrow bone, foie gras, lamb chop, cheese course, mango mousse, and a peach crumble soufflé. The setting is gorgeous. We highly recommend this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The White Barn continues to have outstan ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The White Barn continues to have outstanding service, outstanding food, outstanding ambiance. They certainly are customer oriented. All this combines to produce a most effective and highly enjoyable time. We'll return certainly once again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

25th Anniversary Dinner with a group of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

25th Anniversary Dinner with a group of family. Definitely a step up in complexity and nuance of tastes from my last visit. Waitstaff was generally excellent, but there were a few minor hiccups that probably would have gone unnoticed in a lesser restaurant. This is an absolute once-in-a-lifetime dining experience that I've been fortunate to experience once a year for the last 20 years. The White Barn Inn remains an absolutely indulgent treat that I look forward to experiencing for years to come. It definitely pays to study the wine list in advance, as there are several quality bottles that won't break the bank. It will never be an economical night, but I always walk out the door feeling that the experience was well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful food, service and ambiance! ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambiance! Well worth it he price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Kennybunkport for a week with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were in Kennybunkport for a week with our two teenage girls and decided that this would be our 'big night out'. The food was excellent and waiter (Riccardo) was formal yet friendly. We all loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is great.....unfortunately the ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The staff is great.....unfortunately the food wasn't.....the prices they charge are way out of line with the quality of food they serve

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We try to dine at the White Barn Inn at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We try to dine at the White Barn Inn at least once per year , usually for my wife's birthday - and when we do we partake of the fixed price menus plus a cocktail, some wine and later a cheese plate for dessert accompanied by dessert wine. Always a lovely evening, though quite expensive.

The only new item that we did not enjoy is the frosted glass that divides the room from front to back. From our seats we could not longer see the beautiful window at the rear of the restaurant. Suggest they take that new glass down. As is, it alters the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not our first time dining at Wh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was not our first time dining at White Barn Inn; but whenever we go to Maine for a getaway weekend we always book this restaurant for dining. You cannot beat the atmosphere, the attention of the staff and the quality of the food. We had Peter as our waiter and have had him before. He is top notch. I highly recommend and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had a lovely evening at T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Once again, we had a lovely evening at The White Barn! The food was delightful, although the entree options not as creative as in past years. Nonetheless, such a special place and well worth the cost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a formal restaurant-very "old sc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a formal restaurant-very "old school" and as elegant as a barn can be. However, the food is inventive, seasonally inspired and delicious. There's nothing fussy or old about the menu or the ingredients.

Having visited the restaurant over the years, it's a reminder of old Kennebunkport but in no way outdated. When you dine there you know the food will be wonderful, the service warm while very professional and the atmosphere won't be compromised by having to see something like a man's hairy foot in a flip-flop anywhere in sight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a good trip but not our best at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a good trip but not our best at this particular restaurant. We were a later reservation and were definitely rushed out. They were setting up breakfast while we were eating our main course. Were not told about dessert at the beginning of meal. Bread offered only once and no butter. My wife got coffee but had to ask for sugar. All of this stuff is minor at most places but not what I had come to expect from WBI. We drove 2 hours back and forth and have for the past 12 years for our anniversary. Seems very different than from when Jonathan Cartwright was running it. Too bad actually. Menton in Boston served a better meal as of late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This is the 2nd time my Wife and I eat a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the 2nd time my Wife and I eat at The White Barn Inn, our first was Sept. 29, 1985 for our first anniversary, our 2nd was this past Saturday night, July 16, 2016 for a surprise romantic date for my Wife. The service was excellent by Angela and Danica our Waitresses. They were both the best. The food was very good but the portions were too small and the price was way...too expensive. We also miss the old classy dining area. The barn is no where as nice as your old dining area. The live piano was nice, but not as nice as the Classical Guitar that played John Michael Talbit for us on our first Anniversary. All in all we were disappointed, not as Romantic and nice and much....more expensive than it was back in 1985.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Wonderful food and service at a place th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and service at a place that makes you feel special. Don't forget your wallet though, it is not cheap.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food overall was impeccable with a w ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food overall was impeccable with a wait staff constantly 'on watch'. The White Barn Inn is indeed among those unique opportunities to dine in utter elegance with breathtaking course presentations. I make a point of going here a minimum of once a year (when in the area) and many times twice. Mark this as a very special dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A super start to our holiday...it was ve ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A super start to our holiday...it was very special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was inconsistent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was inconsistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A fabulous place!! Beautiful and charmin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A fabulous place!! Beautiful and charming. My husbands birthday lunch..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Very romantic and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent experience. Very romantic and the food was a combination of wonderful gourmet flavor s. The waitstaff was very attentive but not overbearing. It was an excellent experience and I definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at the White Barn Inn is much mor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dining at the White Barn Inn is much more than a superb dinner. It's an experience, which begins with the spectacular original post and beam barn, faithfully restored and tastefully brought to life with fine art and lighting. The menu is incomparable and the quality and service rival any restaurant anywhere. Rustic elegance and absolutely divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our 4-course dinner at White ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We enjoyed our 4-course dinner at White Barn, and were impressed by the staff and their attention to detail. At almost $250/person, however, we wont' likely return or recommend it to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

A beautiful restaurant with outstanding ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with outstanding food.

A gem in Kennebunk.

Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience from start t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful dining experience from start to finish. A true gem!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the tasting menu with wine. An ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I had the tasting menu with wine. An experience I will never forget

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always excellent. The major difference w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always excellent. The major difference we noticed since Chef Cartwright's retirement was the lack of subtlety in some of the dishes and a little more distance from his consistent perfection. Still the best, and we are sure it will improve with time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This has always been a very special plac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This has always been a very special place for us. Food, wine pairings, ambience, and service are all 5 star. We can't wait for a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable! Everything was perfect!! Ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Impeccable! Everything was perfect!! Service was out of this world and the food was outstanding, very memorable night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue I had with my meal is tha ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The only issue I had with my meal is that my salmon fillet was to be cooked medium rare but came out medium. It was acceptable so I did not ask for another, but it should have been cooked less.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner while staying at the Inn 20 ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had dinner while staying at the Inn 20 or so years ago. Decided to try it again while traveling with friends. Everyone in the group could not say enough about their meal, the service and the ambiance. Belongs on every foodie's "bucket list".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stopped there for the lunch and OMG ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We stopped there for the lunch and OMG what a lunch ... Lobster roll with warm stuffing served with pickles tempura , and the lobster salad with its light vinaigrette without the god damned Mayo ..... simply marvelous. And the final touch, their homemade cookies brought us back to our younger years.... Once again, what a lunch !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to the White Barn Inn for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We love to go to the White Barn Inn for my husband's birthday. It is just a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need to get back to 5-star

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Although everything was good- it is hard not to compare the quality of cuisine to what we experienced in 2011. Every forkful sang and made a lasting impression. The signature lobster dish was cool and lacked seasoning and sweetness.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Absolutely fabulous experience all aroun ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Absolutely fabulous experience all around. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen had a poor night?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was very attentive and the atmosphere lovely, but I was disappointed by the meal. My goat cheese souffle was dry and rubbery and the only real flavor with the rest of the dish was salt. The leek soup was strange with cold crab centerpiece and too much heavy cream. The best dish was the grapefruit and tarragon sorbet. The starter amuse-bouche (duck) was fair; the dessert (cream cheese mousse, yuck!) one was awful. I don't know what happened in the kitchen but things just really were off with the timing too. The wait time between the starter course and main entree was way too long.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our 2nd visit to the White Barn Inn and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our 2nd visit to the White Barn Inn and it definitely did not disappoint! The food was absolutely stellar, and although I was very full after 4 courses, it left me wanting more!! Chef Derek is tremendously talented. The service was lovely and the ambiance was nice (besides a table of 5 women who were quite loud and disruptive to the rest of the dining room - no fault of the restaurant's, of course). We can't wait to visit KPT again next year so we can dine at the White Barn Inn once more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.