Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About White Barn Inn

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $125 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/dining/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist plays every evening.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet service as well as self parking available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were on holiday and happy to have an opportunity to go to a R&C restaurant. The experience was fabulous and the wine pairings superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

As always the White Barn staff, and food were amazing

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

NOT FOR FOODIES
Bad sign number one - valet parking. Bad sign number two - poor bread. Bad signs 3 and so on - Tasting menu, the black garlic fritter (explained as black truffle when served) could have been anything, as the melted Parmesan overwhelmed everything else. The beef consommé was insipid. The beef was cooked past submission and the vegetable was flavorless. The sweetbreads were overcooked and underseasoned. The rhubarb flower pot featured an inedible garnish, but was a change of pace, as it accomplished its purpose of refreshing the palate. The lamb was unevenly cooked, some at perfect temp, others overdone, and inconsistently crusted. The cheeses were all high quality, and the cart was handled appropriately. The soufflé was adequate but the apricot flavor was lost in the chocolate sauce. The petit fours were numerous, but did not make an impression, the gelee was the best of the lot.

Service was good, but not up to premier restaurant standards. When a tasting menu lacks flavor, it fails. Very bad value for money on the food side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful dinner, and exceptional service. Highly recommended and looking forward to experiencing this hidden jewel again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Prix Fixe Menu, Impeccable Service, Outstanding Food, Special Occasion Destination. Highly Recommend for Foodies

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our annual visit to White Barn In was outstanding as always. As the menu changes weekly, it doesn't make sense to address individual dishes. The portions are small, but they are packed with complexity and layers of flavor. The extra tastes throughout the meal always leave me satisfied. Service is impeccable. There is an extensive wine list and a good selection of craft beers, including several from Maine Beer Company. Ask for the bar menu for some interesting signature cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Unbeatable for service, ambiance and dinner quality. A must try for anyone looking for a romantic, quiet evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great for special occasions! Prefix menu is reasonable. Wines are expensive, but there are several options at a lower price point. Peter was an excellent server and the full staff truly made dinner a memorable experience. Several staff made sure to congratulate us on our anniversary and there were special surprises throughout our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A real dining experience, excellent service & food. A great ending for our Maine vacation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We have visited White Barn Inn on previous summer trips . We always come away with this description of our experience Outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Strives for high end and achieves it. Food was prepared superbly presented in elagant fashion delivered with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great event

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It is indeed a very special restaurant. The service is absolutely perfect and the menu is as diverse as you could ever want.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding! Service impeccable-our server Chris was attentive, knowledgeable and spectacular! The food was delicious! Looking forward to returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Snooty atmosphere, and extremely expensive for sub par food. We've been to very nice Michelin star restaurants and had amazing tasting menu experiences before and this was a huge let down. Our waiter was good but the food and atmosphere was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing service. Waiter(s) were very accommodating to three children

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The ambiance was second to none. Upon arriving, we were greeted by multiple staff who were very welcoming. There were many choices for each course. I ordered the halibut. It was much too salty for my taste and I did not like the pairing with pork. The flavors did not mesh. My husband had the beef tenderloin, which he said was delicious. We both finished with a soufflé for dessert. I had apricot with chocolate sauce- it was fabulous. My husband had strawberry shortcake. You truly feel special at the White Barn Inn. It is worth the cost for the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The restaurant perfection. The Inn old and tired. Needs complete Reno.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It was Dad's Day and we wanted a special occasion dinner. White Barn did not disappoint. From appetizer to dessert every course was delicious and beautifully presented. Service from all was just as you'd expect from such a lovely place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We took our son to this beautiful place, on the occasion of his deployment. It was his wish to dine at The White Barn, as we have celebrated several anniversaries and graduations here. As always, the management, staff and chef treated us like kings. Alex made sure we had the finest table, and from the champagne to the port, it was a superb evening. Magical! The special touches (my son received many congratulations from fellow diners and management, for example) made this another unforgettable evening at The White Barn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had the most romantic evening with incredible food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Two years ago my husband and I went to the White Barn Inn for a special occasion. We had
Such a great experience and had been wanting to return. Recently we went there to celebrate a special occasion again and left very disapointed. Despite the hefty price (the final bill being $450) they have cut back on portions and complimentary services. The once complimentary sorbet in-between courses to freshen your palate is now one of the selections you make off the menu, the carrot cake desert is not carrot cake, but a 4 inch circle confection of mousse and a wafer thin layer of carrot cake on the bottom. My husband ordered beef tenderloin and was served two thin medallions of beef with 3 small carrot pieces. Throughout we felt we being rushed because of the next table seating coming in after us. We will not return and will not recommend this restaurant. A rip-off and huge disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We have had the privilege of dining at White Barn Inn numerous times... And it has never disappointed. The restaurant is stunning and the food is so good! Always a treat!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Highly deserving of its five star rating, and certainly holding the high quality of Relois & Chateaux establishment.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were overwhelmed with the beauty, the welcome, the service, the view from our special table [which I requested when reserving online], the food, the presentation the speed of which things were served or rather the pace.

The extra little touches put a smile on our faces.

It was clear from the moment we walked in and were told that they did in fact put us at the most beautiful table in the house until the moment that we left when we were wished a happy anniversary, that they read the notes we left when reserving and took them seriously

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It gets no better than the White Barn Inn! We recently dined for Mother's Day Brunch. I would highly recommend going to the WBI for any occasion; even a Tuesday Night dinner. We'll certainly be back soon. Everything was incredible! Thank you for making my wife's 1st Mother's Day a very special one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is typically outstanding but this time it was disappointing. The carrot ginger soup and the chocolate sorbet were to die for. The rest was somewhat blah. The halibut was dry and not flavorful. The foi gras was also lacking. My husband had the fettuccine with lobster. The pasta was all clumped together. The tuna appetizer also had no flavor. This is definitely not of the caliber that would be expected at this type of fine dining establishment. The service and atmosphere were exceptional as usual. The chef needs some feedback and an opportunity for improvement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent overall. More relaxed and comfortable than it used to be. Still expensive, obviously, but reasonable and fair, with very few supplemental charges, a complete wine list including many moderately-priced gems and plenty of extras.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I made a reservation here for my father's 70th birthday dinner and was not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The food is top notch and the ambiance makes for a truly wonderful experience. I can't recommend it enough. I just wish it was closer to NJ.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Outstanding creative food preparations with high marks for plate presentation in every case. The ambiance continues to be wonderful, with the perfect blend of rustic and elegant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was fantastic and perfect end for our special night! I can't say enough about how the staff, atmosphere and food were absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant's design and service are absolutely top-notch. The minute you walk into this place you have to marvel at the decore. The open rafters of the barn, well-placed artifacts, the ornate table ornaments made of old cutlery are fantastic. No detail is missed. The service is also outstanding. Could easily get a Michelin star.

Having said that the food was disappointing. I had such high hopes's given the experience of walking in, sitting down and being so well taken care of but it wasn't meant to be. We were there for Sunday brunch and there is nothing good I can say here.

The eggs were flat, lacking texture and savoriness. The lobster eggs Benedict bland, pancakes lacking fluffiness and flavor. We ordered four different dishes and all four failed to stimulate any taste buds. It kills me to write this because I love the feel of this place. I would equate it to sitting behind the wheel of a perfect 1960 Mercedes 220 S only to find out there's no engine.

Mind you this was brunch so I can't equate it to how their dinners are but regardless, if you're going to serve a meal, and charge $55 a person, do it right. It breaks my heart to write this but I want them to do better. I really do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We love this place! Everything is impeccable. Worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love the White Barn for very special occasions. Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food. Very pricey thus can't afford too often.
Service is outstanding and friendly and not intrusive. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

From the greeting upon arrival through the meal and dessert, we felt welcomed and
special. The staff was attentive and the food excellent. The setting is picturesque and unique.
It is expensive, but a wonderful experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First class without pretense. Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here. Service was excellent. All the servers were very attentive. and food was very creative and inventive. I had the 9 course tasting menu and it was plenty of food. My husband had the regular prixe fix menu and was very satisfied. They were very generous with the desserts and gave us a box of treats for our anniversary. It was definitely very memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is our 4 time to White Barn and we have never been disappointed. As always food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating her 70th birthday, and our visit to the White Barn Inn was our fourth and regrettably will be our last. We were there on a Wednesday during off season. Service was excellent but the food was disappointing. My scallop appetizer was over-cooked, as was my wife's venison entrée, and her appetizer of oysters had an odd flavor. With only three tables occupied, there was certainly no burden on the kitchen staff. We fully understood that our bill would be substantial. However, given the cost and quality, the value simply wasn't there. A cocktail of Lagavulin scotch at $25 is just a bit much when you can buy a bottle for $69.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.