About White Barn Inn

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $125 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/dining/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist plays every evening.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet service as well as self parking available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are offered in the White Barn Inn Wine Cellar and The White Barn Bistro.
The Wine Cellar seats up to 15 guests, and The White Barn Bistro seats up to 40. Offered year round.

Private Party Contact:
Hugo Aguirre: (207) 361-8458

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Open Faced Raviolo Of Braised Rabbit - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Beef Tenderloin And Braised Short Rib - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Lemon And Poppy Seed Doughnuts - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Veal Filet With Sweetbread Ravioli - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Mixed Berry Soufflé - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Pumpkin Pie - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Bacon Couscous - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Beef Carpaccio And Truffle Chicken Terrine - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Beef Tartare w/ Gelee' of Tomato & Horseradish Ice Cream  - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Smoked Salmon And Shrimp Salad - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Lamb - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Beef - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Foie Gras - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Scalop - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
White Chocolate Creme Brulee  - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Cherry martini - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Truffles - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Lobster - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME
Fish - White Barn Inn, Kennebunk, ME

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Historic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Attentive service, high quality food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Attentive service, high quality food and wine list to serve all budgets. Warm atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd time here. Unlike the 1st time years ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

2nd time here. Unlike the 1st time years ago, this time extremely disappointed. Food quality and service has gone downhill. Lobster spring roll appetizer excellent but lobster main course with fettuccine and cognac sauce undercooked and temp was not hot. Service was not good as our waiter basically ignored us after a party of ten arrived and all his attention went to them. We were celebrating our anniversary and at these exhorbitant prices we deserved better and one would expect to be wowed. We were underwhelmed and left highly disappointed. Will not be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Food, service and atmosphere is over the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere is over the top..great wine selection.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is wonderful and the food ev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service is wonderful and the food even better. Christmas Day specialties -- duck and chestnut soup - a special treat. The restaurant is just as good as under the previous executive chef.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The White Barn Inn never lets us down. I ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The White Barn Inn never lets us down. It was a beautiful holiday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

4th year celebrating my birthday w frien ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

4th year celebrating my birthday w friends at the White Barn Inn. Delicious and varied tasting menu and a wonderful Barolo. The service was attentive but not overbearing. Thank you Peter for making this a special evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The White Barn Inn never disappoints. F ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The White Barn Inn never disappoints. Fabulous atmosphere, food, service in the most intimate barn setting. We were there for Kennebunkport Prelude weekend and there were carolers and holiday music playing on the grand piano. The food is authentic and changes weekly according to what is available to the chef and the season.

Definitely a special occasion restaurant - the bistro menu is more suited to a fabulous more casual dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The White Barn Inn and we visit ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We love The White Barn Inn and we visit at least 4 times a year mainly birthdays and anniversaries. It is the most creative cuisine and wonderful ambiance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

While the setting was beautiful and the ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

While the setting was beautiful and the music and ambience festive for the holiday - the dining experience was not what I expected at this restaurant caliber. The lobster appetizer was greasy; bread service was scant & the main course of pasta with lobster was served luke-warm and the sauce was cold. Despite this, the lobster portion was impressive! Dinner service was leisurely - 2 1/2 hours - perhaps a tad too long for even nicely paced dining. I would love to say I'll return; however, dinner at this price point should be a "WOW!!" in my book before doing it twice. So sad...I waited a long time to go to White Barn Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We ate here the first weekend of Christm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We ate here the first weekend of Christmas Prelude. It was our first time here. Fine dining at it's best. There were carolers in the restaurant and our waiter was very knowledgable. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Amazing food. Great service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding! Amazing food. Great service. Wonderful atmosphere. Never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second Thanksgiving dinner a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was my second Thanksgiving dinner at the White Barn Inn and the quality of the food was good but not great. The starter portion of the oysters trio was very small yet imaginative. It is unlikely that I would visit again specifically for the food. I enjoy the extra space between tables which makes it a good place for a romantic dinner or when a private conversation is preferred.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We visited the restaurant fourteen year ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We visited the restaurant fourteen years ago and had a truly wonderful experience but left very disappointed after this visit. The waiter was pleasant but often inattentive and obviously had too many tables. The bus staff seemed very inexperienced and even piled dirty dishes on top of the remaining meal we had asked to take home. We were seated next to a very noisy table even though there were many empty tables in other parts of the restaurant. The menu selection was fine as was the wine list but the portions were much smaller than we remember and not particularly memorable. Desert was very good though and they did bring additional samples of sweets at the end of the meal.

We were celebrating a milestone birthday and our wedding anniversary and were so looking forward to our dinner but all in all it was a very disappointing experience and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

After a slight dip from our most recent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

After a slight dip from our most recent visit, the WBI has rebounded from that unfortunate and unexpected disappointment. The service was fantastic (thank you Peter!); the food was very good (the bread offerings were slightly dry and hard). The unexpected rise in price to $125/pp was something to be questioned. I'm not sure if the new price pp was needed; one can understand the argument if it was said that it's not worth it. Nonetheless, we had a very nice wedding anniversary dinner and would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Given the high end menu - we expected ne ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Given the high end menu - we expected near perfection...and were very disappointed. My wife ordered her salmon rare and it was completely overcooked to the point of nearly uneatable, most was left on the plate. Most of the plates were served warm but not hot. Given the total was $$$$, and having eaten at some amazing restaurants - we would not return. The ambiance was very nice - it was a quiet room and most people were dressed (men wearing ties and jackets, women nicely dressed), this is definitely a special occasion place but again, there are better.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mu husband and I had our 25th wedding an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Mu husband and I had our 25th wedding anniversary dinner here, with our 11-year-old son. It was a virtually perfect evening. Attentive, friendly staff, immaculate service, outstanding cuisine and wine. I spoke personally to the pastry chef about a week before the dinner and she produced a delicious and beautiful chocolate/raspberry cake which was presented at the end of yhe meal. I'm glad we also ordered desserts from the menu, though; my husband said that one of the items in his "Textures of Chocolate" plate was, "probably the best thing I have ever eaten." And my passionfruit souffle with coconut ice cream was so light and fragrant it almost made me dizzy. My son loved the whole experience and I appreciated the staff's friendly and welcoming attitude towards him. The whole experience couldn't have been improved upon! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is superb, the service flawless ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is superb, the service flawless, the ambiance beautiful. Whenever we are in Maine we make it a point to dine here. I have never had anything short of an outstanding experience. It is expensive to be sure but from first course through dessert you will experience a truly outstanding meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last couple of years have not been up to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Last couple of years have not been up to par but this year everything was outstanding. We come for our anniversary each year and look forward to this special treat!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was incredible, fro ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The whole experience was incredible, from the moment we parked until the time we got back into the car!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE picked the White Barn INN to celebrat ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

WE picked the White Barn INN to celebrate our 50 years of Marriage,we were not disappointed .The service, food, and atmosphere were outstanding. Our table for four was situated in front of the DI-Rama in the main dinning room. From the valet parking, to the luscious dessert it was a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding restaurant, excellent foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An outstanding restaurant, excellent foor, courteous staff and pleasant ambience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The White Barn Inn was more than I thoug ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The White Barn Inn was more than I thought it would be. I certainly enjoy great food but my husband is a super foodie so I was a little nervous that I wouldn't appreciate the food. I was so wrong..it was amazing. It is not cheap but you are paying for the unbelievable service and the beautiful ambiance. Plus I love a piano player and the overall experience is worth every penny. The only thing I though was a little over the top was the amount charged for the bottles of wine.

As far as the meal both my husband and I did the 4 course prix fix. for my appetizer I had the lobster spring roll (to die for) then my intermezzo I had the ginger and carrot soup with crab meat, amazing. For my main course I had the lobster over fettuccini -I cannot even stop thinking about it, it was so good. For dessert I had the chocolate 3 ways which was good but my least favorite of the 4 courses.

Awesome place to celebrate a special occasion and we will be going back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a most memorable place to eat. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This is a most memorable place to eat. The food is superb and the servers are fantastic! This is a MUST DO on your restaurant list.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special restaurant in a beaut ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This was a special restaurant in a beautiful setting. We ate there at the end of September and It was decorated for fall. I love that!

The main waiter was friendly and helpful. It is a Prix Fixe menu so my husband and I try to each pick different items. Each of us had several options and were pleased with our choices.

Cocktails, wine and food - all excellent.

Would recommend for a special evening. Go hungry because we were "stuffed" at the end of the meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was superb but the food and i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our waiter was superb but the food and its description were poorly paired. The flavors simply weren't there. I expected small portions and wasn't disappointed but the peach with the veal was a single piece at one end of the serving. The flavor never reached the other end. The wine pairings were good and the waiter was excellent at explaining them. The kitchen let down the waiter and this restaurant's reputation, at least on the night we dined there, was overblown.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The level of service was not as good as ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The level of service was not as good as we had found it to be upon previous visits.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Possibly the finest dining experience we ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Possibly the finest dining experience we will ever have. Kudos!

White Barn Inn is beyond expectations, so if you truly appreciate FINE dining, White Barn Inn sets the bar in every category. Just excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service with Ricardo was superb👍

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service with Ricardo was superb👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dining experience with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my first dining experience with the white barn. The food was exceptional and the atmosphere was amazingly..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated in a very poor location o ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were seated in a very poor location on a two top with a glass wall obstructing our view. I assumed all of the other open prime tables were reserved however most sat empty all evening. We were bot VERY disappointed in the quality of the Halibut we ordered it was over cooked dry and tasteless. I would never recommend this restaurant at half the price and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Best meal I have ever had! Love the plac ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best meal I have ever had! Love the place and its spirit. Service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The nine course tasting menu was superb. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The nine course tasting menu was superb. The four course one was one of the best meals we have ever had. a great overall dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional dining experience. The f ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 9, 2016

An exceptional dining experience. The food was superb, the service was impeccable, the ambiance extraordinary. The White Barn is truly special. If there is one complaint, I ordered a vodka on the rocks, and received about two fingers of vodka in a very small cocktail glass. I felt it was rather chintzy when you are spending about $500 per couple for dinner. They could have at least poured a decent drink. That aside, it was about the best restaurant I've been to since the French Laundry.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for sure!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a wonderful experience, food, ser ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 7, 2016

It was a wonderful experience, food, service and ambiance...perfect.

Rachel Taillon

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at the WBI yearly for a de ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We have dined at the WBI yearly for a decade as we live 2500 miles away. It is one of our "go to" restaurants that we always look forward to. This time we were seated next to a woman who was intoxicated and talked loudly to her table mate the entire team. I believe the WBI management should have known better since she was sitting at the bar and talking and laughing (screaming) very loudly. She should never have been seated next to other guests. It ruined our evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Since the White Barn Inn is supposed to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Since the White Barn Inn is supposed to provide (according to some reviews) the finest dining experience in Maine, we were optimistic about our chances of getting a decent Sunday lunch and came out thoroughly disappointed and significantly poorer....

When we showed up at the reservation time, we were "welcomed" (greeted would be excessive) by a young lady who seemed disinterested and slightly surprised to see us, but nevertheless showed us to a nice table on the empty porch, after we crossed the empty dining room.

Our request of a Kir for a cocktail was received with complete bafflement and perplexity and we were informed 10 minutes later that the establishment didn't carry the ingredients to make a Kir (white wine and blackcurrant.....)

The lunch menu is totally bizarre for a Maine establishment (OK I will concede that Kennebunk is not really Maine, more like Greenwich, CT, crossed with St Tropez....) with such Maine fresh dishes as chicken Parmesan (?) and Pizza Margherita.... That left me wondering where the chicken fingers were....

There is a lobster roll on the menu, but providing one bite of lobster for $26 is taking your patrons for idiots when you can get a whole fresh lobster at Reds Eats or Shaws for a fraction of the cost.

Worse, the food itself was totally uninspired (rather like the young lady who "greets" the guests). The lobster salad was competently dressed but rather bland and way overpriced for the 2 small bites of lobster tail that were hidden in the greens..... The chicken parm was greasy on the outside and chewy (as in overcooked) on the inside, and served with spaghetti swimming in a canned tomato sauce. My wife's clam chowder had been microwaved so hot as to be inedible.

Positive side, the server that took care of us was very nice and attentive!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Our impression of the White Barn dining ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our impression of the White Barn dining experience is: "too much of a good thing." Each of the seven courses taken individually was good to excellent. Taken as a whole, it was too much alimentary stimulus dragged out over too many stages for our taste. We noted that the White Barn has added a bistro area with a different menu. Perhaps, that is what we would try on our next trip to Kennebunkport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Second visit. Very creative cuisine. Exc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Second visit. Very creative cuisine. Excellent cocktails and perfect service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been to some of the best restauran ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been to some of the best restaurants in the USA, including French Laundry in Napa. The White Barn Inn is the best by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.