Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About White Barn Inn

Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $125 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $165 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.

37 Beach Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2321

Website:
http://www.whitebarninn.com/dining/

Entertainment:
Talented Jazz Pianist plays every evening.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet service as well as self parking available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Derek Bissonnette

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are offered in the White Barn Inn Wine Cellar and The White Barn Bistro.
The Wine Cellar seats up to 15 guests, and The White Barn Bistro seats up to 40. Offered year round.

Private Party Contact:
Hugo Aguirre: (207) 361-8458

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

White Barn Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Live Music (4)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were overwhelmed with the beauty, the welcome, the service, the view from our special table [which I requested when reserving online], the food, the presentation the speed of which things were served or rather the pace.

The extra little touches put a smile on our faces.

It was clear from the moment we walked in and were told that they did in fact put us at the most beautiful table in the house until the moment that we left when we were wished a happy anniversary, that they read the notes we left when reserving and took them seriously

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It gets no better than the White Barn Inn! We recently dined for Mother's Day Brunch. I would highly recommend going to the WBI for any occasion; even a Tuesday Night dinner. We'll certainly be back soon. Everything was incredible! Thank you for making my wife's 1st Mother's Day a very special one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is typically outstanding but this time it was disappointing. The carrot ginger soup and the chocolate sorbet were to die for. The rest was somewhat blah. The halibut was dry and not flavorful. The foi gras was also lacking. My husband had the fettuccine with lobster. The pasta was all clumped together. The tuna appetizer also had no flavor. This is definitely not of the caliber that would be expected at this type of fine dining establishment. The service and atmosphere were exceptional as usual. The chef needs some feedback and an opportunity for improvement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent overall. More relaxed and comfortable than it used to be. Still expensive, obviously, but reasonable and fair, with very few supplemental charges, a complete wine list including many moderately-priced gems and plenty of extras.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I made a reservation here for my father's 70th birthday dinner and was not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The food is top notch and the ambiance makes for a truly wonderful experience. I can't recommend it enough. I just wish it was closer to NJ.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Outstanding creative food preparations with high marks for plate presentation in every case. The ambiance continues to be wonderful, with the perfect blend of rustic and elegant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was fantastic and perfect end for our special night! I can't say enough about how the staff, atmosphere and food were absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant's design and service are absolutely top-notch. The minute you walk into this place you have to marvel at the decore. The open rafters of the barn, well-placed artifacts, the ornate table ornaments made of old cutlery are fantastic. No detail is missed. The service is also outstanding. Could easily get a Michelin star.

Having said that the food was disappointing. I had such high hopes's given the experience of walking in, sitting down and being so well taken care of but it wasn't meant to be. We were there for Sunday brunch and there is nothing good I can say here.

The eggs were flat, lacking texture and savoriness. The lobster eggs Benedict bland, pancakes lacking fluffiness and flavor. We ordered four different dishes and all four failed to stimulate any taste buds. It kills me to write this because I love the feel of this place. I would equate it to sitting behind the wheel of a perfect 1960 Mercedes 220 S only to find out there's no engine.

Mind you this was brunch so I can't equate it to how their dinners are but regardless, if you're going to serve a meal, and charge $55 a person, do it right. It breaks my heart to write this but I want them to do better. I really do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We love this place! Everything is impeccable. Worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love the White Barn for very special occasions. Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food. Very pricey thus can't afford too often.
Service is outstanding and friendly and not intrusive. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

From the greeting upon arrival through the meal and dessert, we felt welcomed and
special. The staff was attentive and the food excellent. The setting is picturesque and unique.
It is expensive, but a wonderful experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First class without pretense. Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here. Service was excellent. All the servers were very attentive. and food was very creative and inventive. I had the 9 course tasting menu and it was plenty of food. My husband had the regular prixe fix menu and was very satisfied. They were very generous with the desserts and gave us a box of treats for our anniversary. It was definitely very memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is our 4 time to White Barn and we have never been disappointed. As always food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating her 70th birthday, and our visit to the White Barn Inn was our fourth and regrettably will be our last. We were there on a Wednesday during off season. Service was excellent but the food was disappointing. My scallop appetizer was over-cooked, as was my wife's venison entrée, and her appetizer of oysters had an odd flavor. With only three tables occupied, there was certainly no burden on the kitchen staff. We fully understood that our bill would be substantial. However, given the cost and quality, the value simply wasn't there. A cocktail of Lagavulin scotch at $25 is just a bit much when you can buy a bottle for $69.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Rarely does a restaurant live up to its billing on a second visit, but the White Barn Inn certainly did! We had a memorable dinner last February and couldn't wait to go back - and it was even better this time!!! The food is to die-for, the service is impeccable, and, overall, it's what a fine dining experience should be. Kudos, White Barn Inn!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and the ambience is romantic. The only complaint i have is the tables are so close together that it's hard to have an intimate conversation, other than that.... lovely experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Hugo made it possible for me to actually "propose" to my wife publicly...to give her a new diamond ring and to ask her to be by my side for at least another 25 years. The pianist played my selected song and my wife and I danced to the applause of all of the patrons. This is an example of the exemplary service that you will find at the White Barn Inn...in addition to the outstanding food and wine. We had the tasting menu which was incredible

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful food and service. I will recommend the White Barn to all who enjoy fine dinning.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Exquisite!! The food, the cocktails, the ambiance and the service are just spectacular. WBI is a category of its own. We love it!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Attentive service, high quality food and wine list to serve all budgets. Warm atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

2nd time here. Unlike the 1st time years ago, this time extremely disappointed. Food quality and service has gone downhill. Lobster spring roll appetizer excellent but lobster main course with fettuccine and cognac sauce undercooked and temp was not hot. Service was not good as our waiter basically ignored us after a party of ten arrived and all his attention went to them. We were celebrating our anniversary and at these exhorbitant prices we deserved better and one would expect to be wowed. We were underwhelmed and left highly disappointed. Will not be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere is over the top..great wine selection.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service is wonderful and the food even better. Christmas Day specialties -- duck and chestnut soup - a special treat. The restaurant is just as good as under the previous executive chef.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The White Barn Inn never lets us down. It was a beautiful holiday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

4th year celebrating my birthday w friends at the White Barn Inn. Delicious and varied tasting menu and a wonderful Barolo. The service was attentive but not overbearing. Thank you Peter for making this a special evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The White Barn Inn never disappoints. Fabulous atmosphere, food, service in the most intimate barn setting. We were there for Kennebunkport Prelude weekend and there were carolers and holiday music playing on the grand piano. The food is authentic and changes weekly according to what is available to the chef and the season.
Definitely a special occasion restaurant - the bistro menu is more suited to a fabulous more casual dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We love The White Barn Inn and we visit at least 4 times a year mainly birthdays and anniversaries. It is the most creative cuisine and wonderful ambiance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

While the setting was beautiful and the music and ambience festive for the holiday - the dining experience was not what I expected at this restaurant caliber. The lobster appetizer was greasy; bread service was scant & the main course of pasta with lobster was served luke-warm and the sauce was cold. Despite this, the lobster portion was impressive! Dinner service was leisurely - 2 1/2 hours - perhaps a tad too long for even nicely paced dining. I would love to say I'll return; however, dinner at this price point should be a "WOW!!" in my book before doing it twice. So sad...I waited a long time to go to White Barn Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We ate here the first weekend of Christmas Prelude. It was our first time here. Fine dining at it's best. There were carolers in the restaurant and our waiter was very knowledgable. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding! Amazing food. Great service. Wonderful atmosphere. Never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was my second Thanksgiving dinner at the White Barn Inn and the quality of the food was good but not great. The starter portion of the oysters trio was very small yet imaginative. It is unlikely that I would visit again specifically for the food. I enjoy the extra space between tables which makes it a good place for a romantic dinner or when a private conversation is preferred.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We visited the restaurant fourteen years ago and had a truly wonderful experience but left very disappointed after this visit. The waiter was pleasant but often inattentive and obviously had too many tables. The bus staff seemed very inexperienced and even piled dirty dishes on top of the remaining meal we had asked to take home. We were seated next to a very noisy table even though there were many empty tables in other parts of the restaurant. The menu selection was fine as was the wine list but the portions were much smaller than we remember and not particularly memorable. Desert was very good though and they did bring additional samples of sweets at the end of the meal.
We were celebrating a milestone birthday and our wedding anniversary and were so looking forward to our dinner but all in all it was a very disappointing experience and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

After a slight dip from our most recent visit, the WBI has rebounded from that unfortunate and unexpected disappointment. The service was fantastic (thank you Peter!); the food was very good (the bread offerings were slightly dry and hard). The unexpected rise in price to $125/pp was something to be questioned. I'm not sure if the new price pp was needed; one can understand the argument if it was said that it's not worth it. Nonetheless, we had a very nice wedding anniversary dinner and would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Given the high end menu - we expected near perfection...and were very disappointed. My wife ordered her salmon rare and it was completely overcooked to the point of nearly uneatable, most was left on the plate. Most of the plates were served warm but not hot. Given the total was $$$$, and having eaten at some amazing restaurants - we would not return. The ambiance was very nice - it was a quiet room and most people were dressed (men wearing ties and jackets, women nicely dressed), this is definitely a special occasion place but again, there are better.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Mu husband and I had our 25th wedding anniversary dinner here, with our 11-year-old son. It was a virtually perfect evening. Attentive, friendly staff, immaculate service, outstanding cuisine and wine. I spoke personally to the pastry chef about a week before the dinner and she produced a delicious and beautiful chocolate/raspberry cake which was presented at the end of yhe meal. I'm glad we also ordered desserts from the menu, though; my husband said that one of the items in his "Textures of Chocolate" plate was, "probably the best thing I have ever eaten." And my passionfruit souffle with coconut ice cream was so light and fragrant it almost made me dizzy. My son loved the whole experience and I appreciated the staff's friendly and welcoming attitude towards him. The whole experience couldn't have been improved upon! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is superb, the service flawless, the ambiance beautiful. Whenever we are in Maine we make it a point to dine here. I have never had anything short of an outstanding experience. It is expensive to be sure but from first course through dessert you will experience a truly outstanding meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Last couple of years have not been up to par but this year everything was outstanding. We come for our anniversary each year and look forward to this special treat!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The whole experience was incredible, from the moment we parked until the time we got back into the car!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

WE picked the White Barn INN to celebrate our 50 years of Marriage,we were not disappointed .The service, food, and atmosphere were outstanding. Our table for four was situated in front of the DI-Rama in the main dinning room. From the valet parking, to the luscious dessert it was a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.