Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Casual (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great Beer (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Organic (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Sports (4)
Quick Bite (4)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

LOVE this place! We don't live in OKC, but every time we pass through, we make sure Whiskey Cake fits into our plans. It was delicious as always. We were driving through, so couldn't enjoy cocktails on this trip, bit normally we love the unique and delicious cocktails. The food was amazing, the iced tea was fabulous, and the service was fantastic. The only thing I would have changed was to turn down the music just a little. It was hard to hear the folks sitting at my table.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Worth the Drive, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, great food. Farmer's Breakfast and Strawberry Shortcake were exceptional good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

That WHISKY CAKE!!! WOW!!!!!! I have never eaten anything more delicious. I will most definitely be coming back!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Organic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been here a few times and the food has always been very good and so has the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I also love this place. And I love the farm to table concept and it leaves options for people trying to eat healthy or that have diet restrictions! Thanks

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Vegan, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This is my new favorite restaurant. Great made from scratch food. Quick service. Great selection of micro brews.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

Excellent cocktails and incredible food! The sliders are on point and the short rib and potato hash satisfies the hardiest appetite! Huge portions and great flavors!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Best brunch in OKC! The food is packed with flavor and the staff is super attentive!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Overall our food and service was mediocre. A couple items were good and a few were not. Service was ok. Atmosphere is cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

The food was pretty good but the service was lacking. Maybe it was due to where we were seated. We felt like we were sitting in the kitchen and the table next to ours was entirely too close. We were constantly getting bumped by the people sitting in the chairs behind us. Those tables need to go. Other than that, it was an average experience. I would recommend it for the food, but for comfort and exceptional service, go somewhere else.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2018

I have never had a bad experience at Whiskey Cake. Our party of 6 ordered three apps: Roasted Garlic Hummus, deviled eggs & Local Board. All three were eaten quickly. The Local Board is one of my favorite. I especially love the spicy jerky and honeycomb. The Chicken & Cheese Melt is my go to. I usually share this. The best is the adult mac & cheese. We will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

I’ve been to Whiskey Cake twice for dinner but this was my first time for lunch. The goat cheese fondue and onion dip was delicious. I didn’t feel like taking my 3 year old was disturbing anyone. Highly recommend it for lunch or dinner and any occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Good late night restaurant, nice atmosphere, & fresh food.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 1, 2018

This restaurant is a perfect place to eat. The menu is versatile with fantastic food. The desserts are made in house and are wonderful. I love this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 1, 2018

When in OKC we love to stop at Whiskey Cake for a meal. The atmosphere is fun and the food is amazing. The servers are always smart and know their food and are more than willing to give you their opinion on what to order. Cocktails are amazing as well.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

I love Whiskey Cake brunch! The pork and grits is incredible as well as the deviled eggs. Perfectly prepared. Parking was nightmare but only due to busyness at the mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We love the consistency of this place. The deviled eggs are always on my husband's to-get list. Prepared differently each time, they raise the bar considerably on what a deviled egg should look and taste like. The scottish salmon was fantastic. Our server, Ian, was such fun and so informed. Just the right mix of friendly, helpful, and courteous. My only regret this time was that we were too full for the Whiskey Cake! We'll be back for that and more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vegan, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Good food, great dessert!
If I'm in the area again, I'll go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Food was very good, being vegan, I appreciate I can easily find food to order that tastes good, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We love Whiskey Cake and usually have good service, but there was definitely a staffing issue this evening. It was surprisingly not busy but there wasn’t sufficient staff to accommodate the patrons they did have. Drinks came late, added ganrnishments had to be asked for multiple times and food took longer than usual to receive. We will still eat at Whiskey Cake, it was just disappointing.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great as always!!!! Don’t forget to save room for cake!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Always great food and great service! Will return soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Took my dad just so he could try something different and he loved it. My short ribs were soft and didn't need a knife. We enjoyed the goat cheese dip, but it was gone before we thought about taking pics.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 23, 2017

The food was amazing! We got an option to choose from the brunch menu or the lunch menu. We got seated at a regular four top table, but wanted to move to booth. The server was very friendly and happily moved us to a booth. The server was very attentive and he also gave us enough space to where he wasn’t bothering us. Our table was pre-bussed by other team members of the restaurant. Everyone was working as a team. The food temperature, presentation and taste was perfect. We went during lunch and had a really good experience. I’ll definitely come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Our waiter, Austin, was extremely kind and provided wonderful service. He was patient and very helpful and I would definitely request him next time I dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Always great food. Server wasn’t as attentive as he should have been. On his phone visibly while he could have been taking our order.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 16, 2017

It was a great time with great food and amazing company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Meh experience. Wish they had better vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

I got the chicken salad. What little chicken in it was very good. It's overpriced for the amount of meat in it. My friend ordered chicken noodle soup. There were no noodles in it and no chicken in it, but whatever it was, it tasted great. I ordered a margarita and it was very small, but it actually did have alcohol in it, so that was nice. We called ahead and reserved a table and were seated immediately when we came in the door. That was great. I would come back, but order a burger probably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The food was amazing! Wait staff very friendly and knowledgeable, yet laid back. Great fort most any occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great food, great service and great experience every time!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great experience started before we even arrived at the restaurant. I made a reservation on OpenTable and soon got a call from hostess just confirm details - nice touch. Once we were seated our server was very attentive and helpful. We tried several brunch drinks and were quite happy with server's recommendations. We also very pleased with our brunch food choices - chicken and waffles, farmer's breakfast and eggs Benedict. To finish the meal we ordered the whiskey cake - OMG, awesome!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The pork brisket is delicious. It is presented well and was ample. My friend had the falfala wrap and she was a little disappointed in it. The mule drink with blackberry and tequila was delicious. The music is ridiculously loud.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Live Sports, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was really great. The service was exceptional. Everything was fantastic. I am from out of town, but will definitely be back on my next trip.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Organic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great service, good food with lots of variety, and excellent cocktails!

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

This is a place with a very hipster vibe, from decor to server attire. Fresh local ingredients are the draw for this restaurant. It was easy to get a table reservation ahead of time, but we still had to wait for our table upon arrival. The food options seemed overpriced for what was in them: I ordered the shrimp and grain salad, which seemed to be mostly bitters with a few cut-up shrimp scattered throughout. The basic burger was good, as was the fried chicken featured in both salad and chicken & waffles. The waiter was able to recommend a good beer flight. However, he took a long time between visits to the table, so we were at the restaurant longer than planned. Music was also on the loud side, making it somewhat difficult to talk. In the end, I felt somewhat guilty for having recommended my group try this place, as we could have had similar food elsewhere with a lower bill.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Great ! Everything was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Loved the food, the service and the atmosphere. I thought the music was too loud to accommodate a meaningful conversation. The Chicken and Waffles were the best I've ever had and last but NOT least, the Whiskey Cake was shared by 3 of us and it was absolutely outstanding, delicious and I'm going to order a whole cake for the holidays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great food & drinks way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Lunch was very good and the menu offerings appealing. Service and hospitality were also very good. I needed to change tables due to noise level, and the hostess graciously accommodated my request to move to quieter table more conducive to business conversation. I would definitely recommend for casual dining.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.