About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Casual (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Organic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Healthy (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fun (15)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great Beer (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Romantic (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Fireplace (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Business Meals (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Family Style (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Live Sports (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tremendous whiskey list and good fresh f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined a day ago

Tremendous whiskey list and good fresh food. A lot

To choose from whether it's brunch, lunch, or dinner. A lot of other drink options too if whiskey isn't your thing.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience at Whiskey Cake ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a good experience at Whiskey Cake! We went last sunday for our adult children's birthdays and Sunday brunch was great, as usual.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service from our waiter. The atm ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing service from our waiter. The atmosphere was uppity. Loud music, but still able to have a conversation. It is pricey, but you are paying for better food than most other restaurants. I probably would not bring my younger kids there at least for dinner when we went. Their fried green tomatoes are amazing!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant. One of our favorit ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful restaurant. One of our favorites in OKC. We really enjoy the atmosphere and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent Whiskey Cake and have never ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

We frequent Whiskey Cake and have never been disappointed. Everything we have tried has been a smash hit!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Waitress brough ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food. Waitress brought my granddaughter who was hungry since it was getting late very quickly. I have never had that happen before. Very personal service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eclectic and delicious! The burgers are ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Eclectic and delicious! The burgers are always incredible and the namesake dessert is decadent and wonderful! The service, for us, has always been top-notch and we love the ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great! The wine w ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were great! The wine was very good, but pricey. And of course the "whiskey cake" was TO DIE FOR!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening, good food, good servi ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyable evening, good food, good service. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time to visit. Once for a late lun ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Third time to visit. Once for a late lunch, once for a family dinner. On both the previous occasions, the service, drinks & food were spot-on. This time, I'm sad to say, it was pretty terrible overall. Not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Loved it all, but too noisy to have a go ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved it all, but too noisy to have a good conversation!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my favorite brunch spot in OKC!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my favorite brunch spot in OKC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went on a early Valentine's date and e ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went on a early Valentine's date and everything we had was amazing! I had duck for the 1st time and now I'm obsessed. It is a bit pricey but it is definitely worth it. And our waiter was just as good as the food! (At serving. We didn't eat the waiter)

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Whiskey Cake quite a lot and m ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We eat at Whiskey Cake quite a lot and my only complaint is that the bar seems to be awfully slow. How long does it take to get two glasses of wine? The food is always good. We start with deviled eggs, which are different every week. This week they were topped with salmon and we thought they were the best yet. Of three guests, we all really liked our meals. The Whiskey Cake for dessert is to die for. You can't pass it up. We took 1/2 home, but we weren't going to miss it.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to Whiskey Ca ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I have been to Whiskey Cake several times now, and each experience has left me with the same impression: the concept is nice, the food is good . . . but on the pricier side for what it is and the service feels a bit pushy; the waitstaff is always on the move for an up-scale on drinks, appetizers and dessert. I feels a bit awkward at times. Given this along with the selection of similar quality restaurants in OKC, I prefer to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Love this place!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Saturday brunch to celebrate ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. I had eaten at the restaurant a few times and enjoyed it but this time it was even better. The Whiskey Cake was insanely addictive, as always. We got Fried Green Tomatoes as an apatizer and I was amazed. I had never had fried green tomatoes so delicious before this brunch. We had a great time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food, great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very different experience than what I'm ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very different experience than what I'm used to. Original drinks but quite strong. But enjoyed them. Food was very unique and fresh. Definitely thought the food seemed fresh off the farm. A place you could dress in anyway you saw fit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved it (as always)!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We loved it (as always)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch date with an old friend brought me ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Lunch date with an old friend brought me to this place again. Beautiful day prompted a patio seat and it was worth it! My friend had the chicken and cheese melt and crispy chicken salad and I had the brisket cut wood grilled pork steak over poblano cheese grits with an apple and tomatillo salsa. Amazing! Plus a build your own flights of beer. It was a great day!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Austin's service was great, as was the f ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Austin's service was great, as was the food. Perfect before the movie at Penn Square.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience! We will definitely ret ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience! We will definitely return in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and presentation was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was delicious and presentation was perfect. Meal portions are more than adequate for price. Loved every bit of it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Whiskey Cakes t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My husband and I went to Whiskey Cakes this weekend; the special occasion was to open an envelope from our doctor that contained an ultrasound telling us whether we were having a little boy or girl in June (it's a girl!) Whitney (I believe was her name) was our server, she was super friendly and sweet and provided great service. Our food was delivered without much wait and was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly service. We will ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food and friendly service. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The vibe is unique, inviting and warm. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The vibe is unique, inviting and warm. The restaurant has cozy lighting, local ingredients, and friendly service. We got an appetizer, split two main courses and had the whiskey cake for dessert. Each dish was out-of-this-world-delightful and the wait time to receive our food seemed perfectly timed. I am so happy we decided to have date night here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burger was great, deviled eggs and grits ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Burger was great, deviled eggs and grits were very good! Whiskey cake was fantastic! Our waitress was very attentive as well. Overall very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our brunch was delicious. However, the l ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our brunch was delicious. However, the large group of college girls sitting beside us was annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best places to bring friends ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the best places to bring friends and family to enjoy a good brunch. Lacey, our waitress took exceptional care of us from the moment we sat down. She kept our drinks full and table well maintained at all times. The chili is superb, as is, the chicken and waffles. As always, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is always changing with new and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The menu is always changing with new and exciting items. The food is consistently great and the staff is outstanding!!!!! I love this place.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful time once again! Staff was fri ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful time once again! Staff was friendly and pleasant. Food, as always, was delicious. Only regret is that we were having such a good time that we left without grabbing the to-go box. Looking forward to the next visit!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The OMG burger is incredible. Get the c ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The OMG burger is incredible. Get the caramelized onion dip for an appetizer, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed ourselves as always. Wait sta ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves as always. Wait staff is exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! Amazing food, Great servise ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved it! Amazing food, Great servise! A memorable NYE!! ❤️❤️

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Organic, Late-night Find, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is intentionally decorate ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant is intentionally decorated in a Warehouse Style. That particular style, when not authentically in a warehouse, is vaguely annoying to me. The noise level is not conducive to conversation but somewhat expected for a restaurant that is attempting to cater to yuppies. The menu is very limited and the food is adequate. The wait staff, however, is exceptional. Not good enough to make up for the menu, but exceptional none the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Service was very good. Food was delicio ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was very good. Food was delicious with extra high marks for the hamburger. The quality of meat and seasoning were exceptional!! And, who can leave without indulging in the whiskey cake. We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Portion size had decreased from previous ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Portion size had decreased from previous visits but food quality and taste was still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was very cool in the restaurant Foo ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was very cool in the restaurant Food, service & ambiance were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere, but it was co ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, but it was cold in the restaurant. Had to eat with my coat on. Husband thought it was a little cool as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.