About Whiskey Cake - OKC

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City

Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (19)
See All
Bar Seating (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Healthy (12)
Organic (12)
Authentic (12)
Fun (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great Beer (10)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Romantic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fireplace (5)
Live Sports (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is such a great restaurant! The bri ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

This is such a great restaurant! The brisket burger is definitely my favorite thing there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is good..a bit on the expensive ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is good..a bit on the expensive side though. The waiters are quite pushy; he was trying to tell me how to get my food cooked. I know how I like my food guy..lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Have been to Whiskey Cake many times and ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Have been to Whiskey Cake many times and the food never disappoints. Our server, however, was pushy and uninformative to the point of annoyance and even disappeared for 30 minutes after we got our drinks to well after we received our food. This was made for by the other servers being very attentive and the food being very good. Would highly recommend this place, just not our waitress.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing burgers. Our waitress also made ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing burgers. Our waitress also made excellent beer and cocktail recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great as always and the s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great as always and the service were excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food. Good service. My husband ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful food. Good service. My husband and I both had the black snapper which was fantastic. Everything is fresh and even the kids meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us met to celebrate a birthday. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Four of us met to celebrate a birthday. We started with the deviled eggs with cranberry topping (not a favorite) and fried green tomatoes (wonderful). One person had the cod sandwich (too much bread, she thought); one person had the salmon (very good); one person had the pork steak (great but too much food for lunch); and one person had the ramen bowl (would have again). Service was wonderful and the celebratory whiskey cake the hit dish of the meal.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Whiskey Cake was great as usual. I go t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Whiskey Cake was great as usual. I go there at least twice a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We just loved the fried green tomatoes! ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We just loved the fried green tomatoes! Everything was delicious, can't go wrong ordering anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very happy that I got a call 4 hou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I was very happy that I got a call 4 hour before my visit regarding my upcoming reservation.

I have used open tables many times that is the first time that happened.

It was personal and meaningful. Great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FRIKIN GREAT frikin great. Freaking grea ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

FRIKIN GREAT frikin great. Freaking great. Honestly just needed 50 characters..

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the ambiance was ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was delicious and the ambiance was very cool...service was excellent! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for different taste ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a good choice for different tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time trying whiskey c ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was our first time trying whiskey cake kitchen and my husband and I were on our date night. This place was fabulous all around! The food choices were so unique for the usual restaurant scene and we really enjoyed that. It was so delicious and healthy. The food was great quality which makes a huge difference. Our server was named Austin and he was amazing! So knowledgeable and helpful. You could tell he knew his stuff and loved his job! He make the experience very enjoyable. We also had a couple of the handcrafted cocktails and they were to die for! They would seem a little pricy if it weren't for the fact that everything was so fresh and b made in house. Worth the price for sure! I will be coming back again and I'll recommend this place to all our loved ones! Thanks for helping to make our date night so memorable and wonderfully delicious!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Organic, People Watching, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday whiskey cake was delicious, lov ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Birthday whiskey cake was delicious, loved the 3 Little pigs

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. You must order t ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great food and service. You must order the Whiskey Cake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is always good. The service is ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food is always good. The service is excellent albeit very casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good and service were exceptional.

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good and service were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the rustic-industrial decor, and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Enjoyed the rustic-industrial decor, and this theme carried throughout. Creative spin on southern comfort food. Bar offerings were extensive. Fun, comfortable atmosphere to just hang out and enjoy. Will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great Beer, People Watching, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fireplace, Vegan, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great time, music was a little ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It was a great time, music was a little loud though. Will definitely be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I took a friend from out of state there ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I took a friend from out of state there for her birthday. She had been here last year and we ate there and she really liked it, so that was our choice this year. Our server was very personable and attentive. The food was delicious and of course the Whiskey Cake is over the top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The chicken and waffl ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I love this place! The chicken and waffles are my favorite!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an AMAZING experience. My wife an ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had an AMAZING experience. My wife and I, two of our friends, and our 2 sons were visiting from out of town and we were blown away by their amazing food and the AWESOME server!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience. Our waiter w ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a great experience. Our waiter was awesome. You can usually tell when someone enjoys their work. This guy did. That carries over to the entire dining experience - when you know they care. We will definitely return again - hopefully very soon!! Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whiskey Cakes is one of my favorite plac ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Whiskey Cakes is one of my favorite places to eat. The deviled eggs are always different and always delicious. Sam, our waitress, was very attentive and had great suggestions. And the Whiskey Cake really tops off the meal.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is ridiculous how good the food here ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It is ridiculous how good the food here is. Every single time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food was fantastic, a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent service, food was fantastic, and the drinks were unique.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Family Style, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food wasn't that great this visit, u ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food wasn't that great this visit, usually it is really good. But you can always count it being REALLY COLD in the restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We greatly enjoyed it! We told all of ou ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We greatly enjoyed it! We told all of our family about it, and look forward to coming back! Out waitress was also wonderful, and she really cared about our visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey for an everyday restaura ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A little pricey for an everyday restaurant but food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A must meal when we visit OKC ! Great s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A must meal when we visit OKC ! Great service and food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and Great service! Never had ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and Great service! Never had an empty drink, our server was always on top of our table. The manager on duty came by and asked how everything was as well. Food is great and always try the whiskey cake! Again get the Whiskey Cake!!! It is amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Whiskey Cake Kitchen is one of my favori ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Whiskey Cake Kitchen is one of my favorite spots for lunch or dinner. I love the Pork Belly Ramen, it's not exactly a traditional Ramen, but the rich Beef Broth, the presentation, and the overall flavor are great! Their monthly picks are usually great and the night I went was more of the same: Flavorful, delicious, and a fresh treat. The switch up desert is a pleasant surprise every time, and almost worth getting instead of a Whiskey Cake...almost.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always happy with the quality of food an ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Always happy with the quality of food and the professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whiskey Cake dessert is to die for. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Whiskey Cake dessert is to die for. I could have just ordered this and been a happy camper.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat at the patio and the ambience was ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We sat at the patio and the ambience was great, nice beginning of Fall weather. Dylan took care of us with a lot of energy. The caipirinhas were amazing (hands down to the bartender).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I really liked the fact the veggies were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I really liked the fact the veggies were local grown 😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing server , Sterling! He ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had an amazing server , Sterling! He was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time I had ever been; a little too ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 16, 2016

First time I had ever been; a little too urban for me. Although we had a reservation (for a birthday), it took a moment to get seated and then we were at a table near the area where the servers roll silverware & the cooks are in the kitchen. Made for a rather busy, loud seat. In addition, I think our server had either a hard time hearing us or she was double/triple sat. All in all, not what I had expected from what I had "heard" about Whiskey Cake. I don't think I'll return unless for a drink/apps with friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed the Devils eggs, the basic bu ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We enjoyed the Devils eggs, the basic burger, and the duck. It was absolutely amazing and I love that everything is fresh and made locally. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.