Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (39)
Good for a Date (31)
Casual (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great Beer (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Authentic (14)
Healthy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Organic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Business Meals (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Ian was a great server. He helped us order the proper cocktail and entree for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Very creative. Very fresh. Interesting options. Emily was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good service, food was delicious, and the atmosphere was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Would definitely return when I’m back in OKC!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The Deviled eggs are always amazing, the BELT sandwich is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Went for brunch. Had the Chicken and Waffles which were really good. The waiter was friendly, enthusiastic, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food is great. A little pricey though. Trying to make 50 characters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Hayley the hostess was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything was very nice, the attentive service and the care. Our table was ready right away when we showed up at designated time. The only hangup was with the desert. One person from our party ordered the whiskey cake and we waited for it for a very long time, close to 30 minutes. When they brought it out, they apologized and said there was a large party in front of us that ordered that same desert and that's what the delay was. If they told it to us right away, we would have chosen something else, and if they touched base with us at least after a reasonable time when desert is supposed to be served and said the same thing, we would have forgone the desert. When it arrived made in a hurry, it was not great. The other comment we have is the loud music: we had to lean into each other and raise our voices. For a neighborhood place that is suitable for reunions, friends' get-togethers and a place to meet new people, the noise level is pretty high.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I made the reservation here because my friend whom is pregnant wanted to go here. I made the reservation for 2 people for normal seating. So first off, we were seated at a high top. I asked her if she was okay with it because I requested a normal table. She didn't want to make a fuss, and so we stayed. Then our server, Cameron greeted us. I don't know if he is this socially awkward, hungover, drunk or on drugs, but we felt uncomfortable with his service. He was extremely pushy with trying to upsell us, and his verbage was just off-putting. A girl ran the food to it table, dropped off, and walked away. She didn't ask us if there was anything else that we needed. Then, I was hoping he would come back by and do a quality check so that I could ask for ketchup. I ate as slow as I could hoping he would come by. My friend and I were catching up, so this gave him a good 20-30 minutes to see if we were okay. By the time he finally came by, I was done. Then once he cleared our food, he asked us about dessert. We turned it down, and he pushed us for Togo dessert. Then walked away, and came back five minutes later and asked if we wanted anything else. No, we just wanted our checks. It was also surprising that with such a large staff, and a manager frequently walking around, we sat for so long without anyone checking on us. I've been here before and enjoyed it, but I'm not sure I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant everything is delicious and our server Olivia did outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Whiskey Cake is a great restaurant that's locally owned and sourced

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice and the decor was unique and inviting. However, the food was not to my liking. My daughter ordered the ramen bowl and it was awful smelling and tasting. The biscuits that we ordered for a side dish were very dry with zero taste. I ordered the farmer's breakfast and the bacon was delicious, but the eggs, & potatoes were just average. My husband ordered the mushroom Swiss burger (I believe that's what it was) and it tasted great. Overall, I would give this place a 3 out of 5 stars. I would definitely come back for another try, but only for the burger.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love going to Whiskey Cake before we see a movie at Penn Square!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I listed through OpenTable that we were celebrating an anniversary so I assumed that the reason the question was asked was so that there would be something different about the experience at the restaurant but there wasn't. I guess it was just for OpenTable purposes only. The salad I ordered did not come at all and come to find out that the waitress didn't even ring it up. That was fine but I was really wanting to try whiskey cake salads but my main meal had already come. Maybe another time. I'm not mad about it. :) She did comp the salad that I would have had so that was good. The food was great though. Overall I'm ok with the experience and food. I will be going again to try other things.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Love the creative take on their food and the fact that they seek the freshest, closest ingredients without sacrificing quality. Their cocktail menu is innovative and really delicious. Try the Wabbit Smash or Bee Sting. Our waitress was fun, helpful, and informed. All was great as usual. The only missing piece this time was a plate or bowl in which to put the discarded shells from the mesquite grilled mussels. Small price to pay for a great meal!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

All the staff from the greeter to the waitstaff where friendly and very helpful in all our questions for a 1st time visit. We had a great time with great food and drink.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We always love this place. Thanks for being so great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We absolutely loved the deviled eggs and whiskey cake! Our meals were delicious as well and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food, great drinks and awesome service! Love this place, we celebrated my wife's birthday and they were really low key about it, just what she wanted!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Organic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This place is amazing! Great ambiance paired with great food!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing place with amazing food! All local sourced ive never been to a place with such a great selection before!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We started with green tomatoes. Very tasty. Then we selected OMG (onions, mushrooms, and goodness) and regular burgers. They were small in circumference but piled high with a variety of interesting flavors. For dessert, what other than whiskey cake. All were very good and just right for an early evening dinner. The service was very attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was an excellent experience from cocktails to dessert. Everything we ordered was delicious and the whiskey cake is phenomenal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The smells were great as soon as you walked in the door. Our business luncheon group appreciated being able to make a reservation, walk in and be seated immediately. The table was nicely set, the ambience was nice, and the service was excellent. The menu offers a variety of different options, all made from scratch. The food was very good. The Whiskey Cake with fresh whipped cream is the "cherry on top" and the "go back for" item enjoyed by all of us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The pork belly ramen was absolutely delicious!! Our waiter was very attentive

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was very good. The atmosphere and service were also very good. Then you get the big negative. My glass of wine was only $1 less than my dinner. I know that's where restaurants make a lot of their profit but that was ridiculous. $12 for a glass of the house chardonnay? Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Second time dining here and not a disappointment. The Cheese Fondue and Whiskey Cake are a must.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

My only problem with the food was we took home leftovers and found a piece of china in it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very disappointed with my experience. Server made multiple mistakes in order as well as the actual ticket charges. The quality of the food was great, but the prices were ridiculous. Very little choice on the menu for dinner. The whiskey cake is inconsistent. Overall, not pleased and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good food, pleasant ambiance & good company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We ate in the patio. Nice & quieter than inside, 'til more flies visited when the food arrived. (Not sure how to remedy that... how does one stop flies at a picnic?) Besides that food is great! Favorite dish is the ramen! & love the Whiskey cake dessert - YUM!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Second time at the restaurant and it was just as good as the first visit! I love the menu options and how they include local ingredients. Whiskey cake is great!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Loved the deviled egg appetizers, our waiter was great. Enjoyed the salmon and of course whiskey cake!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were playing in a tennis tournament and had 16 mostly women and some men. Everyone seemed to like their food and especially the whiskey cake for dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The Salmon was very good; the service was attentive without being disruptive. Indoor seating does not facilitate conversation; however, I think this is the atmosphere that appeals to many young guests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Whiskey Cake never disappoints. The food is always top notch and the service is always impeccable. I love coming here after yoga on Saturdays and relaxing on their patio with friends. Drinks are great, too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was great and unique! Service was great and we really enjoyed

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good food always! This time my salad was not as great as most times we go. Best when the apples are crisp and the chicken is hot. But over all it was a good meal.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great as always! Love the whiskey cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.