About Whiskey Cake - OKC

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
1 More
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City

fit for foodies (55)
good for groups (38)
great for lunch (37)
See All
special occasion (37)
great for brunch (34)
hot spot (25)
great for outdoor dining (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (13)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was new but very friendly. We had ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 2 days ago

Server was new but very friendly. We had some miscommunication, but the manager was very courteous in reconciling our experience with a free dessert. We enjoy this location for the outdoor patio and the cake.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very Good Restaurant and would recommend ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very Good Restaurant and would recommend to anyone. We have been here before and it is just as good as it was last time.

Enjoyed it very much!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was amazing. Wil ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the appetizers!!!!! This time we ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We love the appetizers!!!!! This time we tried the goat cheese fondue!!!!! It was believable ..... Wow really great. We will have it again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music was a little too loud for conversa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Music was a little too loud for conversation with others at the table.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great burgers and pork sliders. Salmon.. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great burgers and pork sliders. Salmon.....not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place!! Food is always fantastic. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place!! Food is always fantastic. The staff pays attention to your questions and makes appropriate suggestions!!

This is my favorite restaurant!!!!!

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this location many times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to this location many times since it opened a few years ago. Never have I had bad service or food I did not enjoy. Brunch, lunch, dinner, it doesn't matter what you are stopping in for it is always amazing. This most recent visit we had Olivia as our server and she was phenomenal. Very attentive, and made sure we had anything we desired.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service! Super accomodating and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing service! Super accomodating and fantastic food!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beers, great food, great server. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great beers, great food, great server.

So we obviously had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Local Board and Deviled Eggs were am ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The Local Board and Deviled Eggs were amazing tonight!! Our service was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all ordered the grilled salmon with p ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We all ordered the grilled salmon with pesto risotto. We come here a lot and for some reason they changed the recipe on the risotto and was awful.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, very unique ambiance and ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food, very unique ambiance and excellent service. My wife's ramen was overcooked, we let the waitress know and she took care of it immediately. Then the manager stopped by to explain what happened and then offered to make it right. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday within ou ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday within our diverse group of beautiful women and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Whiskey Cake

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was our second time to visit Whiskey Cake. This trip was better than the first. The service is fantastic due to the outstanding wait staff. The food is varied and excellent. Save room for dessert, the whiskey cake is a must! I would eat here often if I lived in Oklahoma City. I will definitely eat here again next time I visit OKC.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always the food was amazing and serve ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

As always the food was amazing and served perfectly. Our server Dylan was friendly and answered all our questions and made several suggestions that worked well. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good, the cake was the s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was pretty good, the cake was the star of the show though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing Restaurant

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! Their food is the best because it is so fresh! They always have great service and the menu is constantly changing to accommodate seasonal options. It is THE BEST!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome place, wish they had one in Denver!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were in Oklahoma City for my niece's college graduation. She suggested this place for dinner while we were there and I am so happy she did. To start, the decor and ambiance was awesome. The food I have to say was some of the best I have ever had. Every one of us enjoyed our entrees and the deviled eggs we had for an appetizer were phenomenal! Now let's talk about the service. Sylvester was absolutely wonderful, he laughed and joked with us and helped to make our dining experience so enjoyable. I am holding him to what he said about seeing me in Denver when they finally open a Whiskey Cake here! I am hoping he was correct when he said they are hoping to open one here within the next few years.....

One last thing that I can't forget to mention.....the whiskey cake, OMG hands down the best dessert I have every had the pleasure of enjoying!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our niece selected this restaurant for h ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Our niece selected this restaurant for her university graduation dinner. The wide range of foods offered a choice for everyone. The duck breast was exceptional. No one wanted to share their whiskey cake so we ordered our own huge piece of cake. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disppoints

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Whiskey Cake never disappoints me. I started off with the amazing deviled eggs that happened to be topped with oyster mushrooms and goat cheese. The Atlantic Cod sandwich was delicious yet very hard to eat. My server Ian was very attentive. I will definitely return on my next business trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great healthful options

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I love how many healthful options are available at Whiskey Cakes. Great salads, great options for fish. I'm also always impressed with the wait staff. They seem to be extremely well trained and enthusiastic about the restaurant. It's a great option for dining in OKC.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it is a nice place. I had a good ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Overall it is a nice place. I had a good experience. Sat inside & ordered the 3 Little Pigs. The outdoor area looks really nice! I will sit out there next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy Whiskey Cakes, because t ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We always enjoy Whiskey Cakes, because they are one of the only restaurant in OKC that can make a proper Sazerac. The food is always great and the service is superior!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They don't take Discover card. I use it ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

They don't take Discover card. I use it for the cash back rewards but they don't take it because they have to absorb part of that cost. Never had that happen at any other restaurant. 🤔

Also the waiter was too chatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Love the chicken and waffles!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Love the chicken and waffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We were seated immediately and greeted promptly by our server. He told us about the specials such as the deviled eggs and soup of the day. Everything came out as ordered and was delicious! Would recommend whiskey cake for lunch or dinner. Staff is consistently knowledgeable, friendly and competent! Fun to sit at the bar and watch the master bartenders at work too!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whiskey cake was amazing

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The whiskey cake was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the dessert more than anything... G ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Love the dessert more than anything... Great place to go to get a great healthy...organic meal! Love it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always amazing!!!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food is always amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Pesto cous cous was too salty, waiter wa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Pesto cous cous was too salty, waiter was snoody when we were able to see her, and my bland oyster juice "Bloody Mary" was over priced.

I went there at 10. They stop serving at 12 and there was no reason the waitress should have been rude to us.

Left too bad of a taste in my mouth and wallet to be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Always a wonderful meal at Whiskey Cake. ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Always a wonderful meal at Whiskey Cake. And then there's cake!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PC Restautant

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food is overpriced for what you get. The servers give you the whole spiel about their sustainable food sources. I came for a meal and received a lecture in political correctness. No thanks, won't be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely Wonderful

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I have visited few places in which the service, food quality and beer quality were this top tier. The server was educated and experienced in the food and drinks- especially the whiskey- he was selling. While the food was of highest quality and taste, the burger I got was small and the whole experiences seemed to try to get you to spend more money. (Fries were an extra $3.25 in addition to a small handful of chips) Not a bad thing, but I would have liked maybe a little more food with what I was paying for.. However this burger, I partook in was the most tasty, luscious blend of flavors and texture I was so sad to finish it. One of the things I especially appreciated was their commitment to fresh food (none of their meats are ever frozen)- something rare in the food industry. Overall I felt like for an expensive meal, I was very well satisfied. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My sons macaroni and cheese is always pe ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

My sons macaroni and cheese is always perfect, he enjoys their fries, my salmon was cooked perfectly medium, and have rarely had a bad experience here. Love this place! Make sure o try the fried green tomatoes, so yummy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The appetizers, soups and salads, and the salmon main course were all five stars. We highly recommend Whiskey Cake

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very high bar was set

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

I'd eaten at Whiskey Cake in San Antonio recently, and everything was amazing. I ordered the Texas Striped Bass for lunch in OKC, and while it was good enough, it was not great. My client did seem to enjoy her lunch, the service was wonderful, and the ambiance is very nice and low key, but not necessarily casual--which is a good thing. Whiskey Cake's food is certainly much better than a 'regular' lunch place, and my previous experience set the bar very high. Was a little disappointed, but will definitely come back and try it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So good we went back the next night!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

I was with a group traveling on business. A local contact recommended Whiskey Cake so we tried it. And then went back again the next night. Great ambiance. Huge selection of craft beers. Over 50 whiskeys and bourbons. And great food from fresh Scottish salmon to Texas striped bass to pressed pork brisket and more. And the stone ground white cheddar cheesy grits were the best ever. The portion sizes are appropriate, not small and not huge. A big eater used to giant portions will leave a bit hungry, but healthier! But do not misunderstand, these are tapas sized meals either. Plus then you have room for their namesake...whiskey cake. Yum.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server definitely went above and beyond ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Server definitely went above and beyond to ensure we knew what food we're getting and beer. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place to eat!!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Went to Wiskey Cake Restaurant on just a recommendation from a co-worker and was blown away on the quality of the food and the food options. Love the the farm to table concept and loved everything we ate. The appetizer pulled pork sliders were surprisingly delicious!! Don't think anything you eat there would be bad. Highly recommend it to anyone. The only negative thing is that it is loud and difficult to communicate across the table.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.