Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Local Ingredients (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Fun (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great Beer (18)
Organic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Healthy (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Cozy (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Authentic (14)
Fireplace (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Family Style (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
People Watching (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Vegan (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Live Sports (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved it! Good bourbon selection and nice mesquite smoked entes.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived at 2:45; brunch ended at 3:00. Were told that by the time we ordered it would be too late for bru. After we ordered lunch, which was shortly thereafter, a manager sat down near our table with his breakfast/brunch plate. We were disappointed but the lunch menu was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Family Easter Brunch. Excellent, attentive service, great food, nice atmosphere, a little loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fun, Healthy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was great as always and the ambiance fun but service was lacking. We felt quite rushed and hurried from the moment we sat down while feeling like we had somehow inconvenienced our server by not automatically knowing what we wanted to eat or drink. Our main dish came out before we had even finished our appetizer that had been with us no more than 5-10 minutes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my first visit but it won't be my last! My server was informative and had a great personality. I went off a friend's recommendation. My food and drinks were more than expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food! Wonderful flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a fairly large party - they did an amazing job of seating, serving and keeping us happy! Great food - Great Service ! And amazing Whiskey Cake!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Whiskey Cake never disappoints! My sister and I both got the French Toast Monte Cristo and it was delicious. Our server was attentive and helpful. Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waitress was OUTSTANDING! I'm on a very healthy lifestyle change in eating, your selection was superb and afforded me many options. Each of us had different entrees. The shrimp & kale salad, the "Tower Sandwich", the Rotisserie chicken (sides --adult mac, brussel sprouts and butternut squash AND the appetizing appetizers..Deviled Eggs (YUM) were all delicious!! We finished with Brandy Cake & Irish Coffee
Great Meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We made a reservation earlier that day and they had our table right up front ready for us upon our arrival. We have previously been for Brunch on the weekends, but had not tried dinner yet and we were not disappointed in the slightest. The appetizers and cocktails came out quickly which was a pleasant surprise since the party included 9 people and 8 of us got either beer or a cocktail. The appetizers (goat cheese fondue and the fried green tomatoes) were fantastic. After ordering, the food arrived within a reasonable amount of time and everything was very well done! Our waitress did an absolute fantastic job keeping up with a larger group and making sure everyone's orders were correct. And the Whiskey Cake was delicious as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Vegan, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The name says a lot... WHISKEY CAKE! Only one of the best desserts ever! Don't want dessert after dinner, then get a piece to go and have it for breakfast the next morning with coffee!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The goat cheese fondue was excellent! Creamy and piping hot with plenty of toast. The wait staff was attentive, informative and pleasant but not intrusive. Will most likely go back tonight for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Sat out on the patio, perfect weather, nice covered area with giant swings and a fireplace. Stayed for a few hours and could have stayed longer. Food was incredible, service was on point. Highly recommend. You HAVE to try the Whiskey Cake for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food and drinks were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I always go to Whiskey Cake when I'm in OKC. My entire family enjoys the food and especially the whiskey cake. We usually order one or two and share.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had the best waiter! Knowledgeable, attentive, fun! Food was great, too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Pretty disappointed this time. Food was ok. Mimosa was too strong so I asked to dilute it, so they charged me an extra $3.00. Then, no spoon with coffee. Table beside us had to borrow our sugars as they were given none. Nope, won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food and drinks were great but it was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Although the food was great, having been for lunch and dinner, the Menu was the same for both. And although the options are good, I think it would be good to have a more extensive dinner Menu, and vice versa for lunch. Also given the uniqueness of the edibles, I really felt that the dinner atmosphere could have used more romantic/quieting/calming ambiance, it was as though the younger wait staff and maybe management are trying to hard to make it a fancy BAR and Restaurant (emphasis on Bar), when it was quite evident by most the clientele that most were 30 plus and a few families and there were a lot of couples. Perhaps maybe toning down the atmosphere a bit for dinner service would help. Plus think about it this way that older clientele is who can really afford this restaurant on a regular basis, it cost us $200 for the meal (including drinks), how man of the younger below 30 single crowd are going to be able to afford that kind of dinner bill on a regular basis?

Tags: Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We so enjoyed our meal - staff, food, and setting were all excellent! Easy to recommend this restaurant. Don't miss out on the whiskeycake dessert!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Yum in the tum

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We always enjoy eating at Whiskey Cakes. It is one of our favorite places for brunch, lunch and dinner. I always enjoy the cocktails and my husband enjoys the selection of beer.
We were disappointed in our waiter this go-around. He was not friendly. He over talked and had a very sarcastic attitude that turned us off. We asked for butter and got the reply "what do you think this is a salvation army?" He was joking, but I thought it was unnecessary as he works in the service industry. But.. he forgot the butter!! We had to keep reminding him. He came to the table 3 times without the butter!! Finally at the end of the meal we received the butter. Then he asked "how will we be handling our finances?" Our whole table thought that was unprofessional wording for a restaurant waiter. The food was delicious, but he ruined our overall experience and we couldn't wait to get out of there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Love this place..

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The restaurant was open bar like atmosphere. Really loud and difficult to have conversation with others at the table.I had the chicken dinner, it was a little dry but the veggies were outstanding. The burgers ordered by others at the table were given thumbs up. Drinks took a l o ng time to get. The whiskey cake is absolutely to die for.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great and friendly service. Food well prepared

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was ok, but nothing stood out as exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The experience was great! I also left my phone and they were so kind about it and had it waiting for me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the entire experience. The drinks were unique and amazing . The food was delicious. We only wish there was a location in Tulsa Great concept farm to table and local. Highly recommend

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Sports, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous meal and service. LEAVE ROOM FOR THE WHISKEY CAKE!!! A must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

WC still has an interesting and creative menu. The service is consistently good and the food well prepared. There were 6 in our group and most of us were hoarse when we left. It's so noisy in there, you have to shout to be heard and lean in to hear. It's one thing to have "energetic" acoustics that give a good vibe. But WC mgmt should know to turn the music way down once the place starts to get full. By that time, the noise level is high enough that the music is just that much more competition.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We went for girls night! It was fantastic. Everything from the local board to the whiskey cake was spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had a terrific time: great food, super service. My only suggestion: turn down the music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Whiskey Cake was such a pleasant surprise!! I have never been there, but had heard great things. We went to try our Sunday Brunch and I was very impressed! The atmosphere was fun and the food was amazing!! French Press Coffee, great service--great experience!!

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Over the food and setting was good. The issue was waitress must have been somewhere else in her mind besides work. We had to ask for everything from our water, silverware, creamer and sugar. If not for that, I'd give the place a 100% today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

YUM! The only problem I have when going to Whiskey Cake is that there are too many delicious options that it's hard for me to choose just one! Today I got the chicken & waffles for lunch. It did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and AMAZING whiskey cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food was wonderful. Service was a little odd. Everything came to our table one thing at a time except for entrees. We would get one drink, then 5 minutes later get another, etc. Just an odd service, but the server was very friendly and the food was wonderful. Was a little slow, but we were having a fun evening visiting, so it wasn't really an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was delicious, the Bloody Mary bar was awesome and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Tremendous whiskey list and good fresh food. A lot
To choose from whether it's brunch, lunch, or dinner. A lot of other drink options too if whiskey isn't your thing.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.