Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Casual (20)
Fun (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Cozy (14)
Organic (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Great Beer (13)
Healthy (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Fireplace (10)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy eating at Whiskey Cakes. It is one of our favorite places for brunch, lunch and dinner. I always enjoy the cocktails and my husband enjoys the selection of beer.
We were disappointed in our waiter this go-around. He was not friendly. He over talked and had a very sarcastic attitude that turned us off. We asked for butter and got the reply "what do you think this is a salvation army?" He was joking, but I thought it was unnecessary as he works in the service industry. But.. he forgot the butter!! We had to keep reminding him. He came to the table 3 times without the butter!! Finally at the end of the meal we received the butter. Then he asked "how will we be handling our finances?" Our whole table thought that was unprofessional wording for a restaurant waiter. The food was delicious, but he ruined our overall experience and we couldn't wait to get out of there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was open bar like atmosphere. Really loud and difficult to have conversation with others at the table.I had the chicken dinner, it was a little dry but the veggies were outstanding. The burgers ordered by others at the table were given thumbs up. Drinks took a l o ng time to get. The whiskey cake is absolutely to die for.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great and friendly service. Food well prepared

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was ok, but nothing stood out as exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The experience was great! I also left my phone and they were so kind about it and had it waiting for me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the entire experience. The drinks were unique and amazing . The food was delicious. We only wish there was a location in Tulsa Great concept farm to table and local. Highly recommend

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Sports, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous meal and service. LEAVE ROOM FOR THE WHISKEY CAKE!!! A must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

WC still has an interesting and creative menu. The service is consistently good and the food well prepared. There were 6 in our group and most of us were hoarse when we left. It's so noisy in there, you have to shout to be heard and lean in to hear. It's one thing to have "energetic" acoustics that give a good vibe. But WC mgmt should know to turn the music way down once the place starts to get full. By that time, the noise level is high enough that the music is just that much more competition.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We went for girls night! It was fantastic. Everything from the local board to the whiskey cake was spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had a terrific time: great food, super service. My only suggestion: turn down the music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Whiskey Cake was such a pleasant surprise!! I have never been there, but had heard great things. We went to try our Sunday Brunch and I was very impressed! The atmosphere was fun and the food was amazing!! French Press Coffee, great service--great experience!!

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Over the food and setting was good. The issue was waitress must have been somewhere else in her mind besides work. We had to ask for everything from our water, silverware, creamer and sugar. If not for that, I'd give the place a 100% today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

YUM! The only problem I have when going to Whiskey Cake is that there are too many delicious options that it's hard for me to choose just one! Today I got the chicken & waffles for lunch. It did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and AMAZING whiskey cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food was wonderful. Service was a little odd. Everything came to our table one thing at a time except for entrees. We would get one drink, then 5 minutes later get another, etc. Just an odd service, but the server was very friendly and the food was wonderful. Was a little slow, but we were having a fun evening visiting, so it wasn't really an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was delicious, the Bloody Mary bar was awesome and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Tremendous whiskey list and good fresh food. A lot
To choose from whether it's brunch, lunch, or dinner. A lot of other drink options too if whiskey isn't your thing.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a good experience at Whiskey Cake! We went last sunday for our adult children's birthdays and Sunday brunch was great, as usual.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing service from our waiter. The atmosphere was uppity. Loud music, but still able to have a conversation. It is pricey, but you are paying for better food than most other restaurants. I probably would not bring my younger kids there at least for dinner when we went. Their fried green tomatoes are amazing!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. One of our favorites in OKC. We really enjoy the atmosphere and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We frequent Whiskey Cake and have never been disappointed. Everything we have tried has been a smash hit!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and food. Waitress brought my granddaughter who was hungry since it was getting late very quickly. I have never had that happen before. Very personal service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We choose to go here for Valentine's Day since it was our first time and was recommended to us. The ambiance was nice and the staff were friendly thru the entire meal. Both of our meals were delicious and good on presentation. To me, it's a little pricey for casual dining but is a good place to take a date or for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Eclectic and delicious! The burgers are always incredible and the namesake dessert is decadent and wonderful! The service, for us, has always been top-notch and we love the ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service were great! The wine was very good, but pricey. And of course the "whiskey cake" was TO DIE FOR!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyable evening, good food, good service. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Third time to visit. Once for a late lunch, once for a family dinner. On both the previous occasions, the service, drinks & food were spot-on. This time, I'm sad to say, it was pretty terrible overall. Not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved it all, but too noisy to have a good conversation!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my favorite brunch spot in OKC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went on a early Valentine's date and everything we had was amazing! I had duck for the 1st time and now I'm obsessed. It is a bit pricey but it is definitely worth it. And our waiter was just as good as the food! (At serving. We didn't eat the waiter)

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We eat at Whiskey Cake quite a lot and my only complaint is that the bar seems to be awfully slow. How long does it take to get two glasses of wine? The food is always good. We start with deviled eggs, which are different every week. This week they were topped with salmon and we thought they were the best yet. Of three guests, we all really liked our meals. The Whiskey Cake for dessert is to die for. You can't pass it up. We took 1/2 home, but we weren't going to miss it.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I have been to Whiskey Cake several times now, and each experience has left me with the same impression: the concept is nice, the food is good . . . but on the pricier side for what it is and the service feels a bit pushy; the waitstaff is always on the move for an up-scale on drinks, appetizers and dessert. I feels a bit awkward at times. Given this along with the selection of similar quality restaurants in OKC, I prefer to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to eat! I love the food and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. I had eaten at the restaurant a few times and enjoyed it but this time it was even better. The Whiskey Cake was insanely addictive, as always. We got Fried Green Tomatoes as an apatizer and I was amazed. I had never had fried green tomatoes so delicious before this brunch. We had a great time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food, great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very different experience than what I'm used to. Original drinks but quite strong. But enjoyed them. Food was very unique and fresh. Definitely thought the food seemed fresh off the farm. A place you could dress in anyway you saw fit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We loved it (as always)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Lunch date with an old friend brought me to this place again. Beautiful day prompted a patio seat and it was worth it! My friend had the chicken and cheese melt and crispy chicken salad and I had the brisket cut wood grilled pork steak over poblano cheese grits with an apple and tomatillo salsa. Amazing! Plus a build your own flights of beer. It was a great day!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.