Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (48)
Good for a Date (35)
Casual (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great Beer (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Organic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Business Meals (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointed with my experience. Server made multiple mistakes in order as well as the actual ticket charges. The quality of the food was great, but the prices were ridiculous. Very little choice on the menu for dinner. The whiskey cake is inconsistent. Overall, not pleased and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, pleasant ambiance & good company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate in the patio. Nice & quieter than inside, 'til more flies visited when the food arrived. (Not sure how to remedy that... how does one stop flies at a picnic?) Besides that food is great! Favorite dish is the ramen! & love the Whiskey cake dessert - YUM!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Second time at the restaurant and it was just as good as the first visit! I love the menu options and how they include local ingredients. Whiskey cake is great!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Loved the deviled egg appetizers, our waiter was great. Enjoyed the salmon and of course whiskey cake!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were playing in a tennis tournament and had 16 mostly women and some men. Everyone seemed to like their food and especially the whiskey cake for dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The Salmon was very good; the service was attentive without being disruptive. Indoor seating does not facilitate conversation; however, I think this is the atmosphere that appeals to many young guests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Whiskey Cake never disappoints. The food is always top notch and the service is always impeccable. I love coming here after yoga on Saturdays and relaxing on their patio with friends. Drinks are great, too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was great and unique! Service was great and we really enjoyed

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good food always! This time my salad was not as great as most times we go. Best when the apples are crisp and the chicken is hot. But over all it was a good meal.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great as always! Love the whiskey cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food, and a regularly updated menu.

Waitstaff needs to be taught that personal space is a desired trait, and many patrons don't like to be touched even on the shoulders or back.

Waitstaff also needs to be taught that some people chose to be sober, and don't like to be chastised/"joked" with for not ordering an alcoholic beverage. Water is fine, I don't need your commentary on my life choices because "it's five o'clock somewhere, and everyone needs a drink or two...".

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Fantastic food with very generous portions and service was outstanding

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The whiskey cake is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Whiskey Cake never disappoints us. Fantastic cocktails, fried green tomatoes, and goat cheese fondue. And then there's the whiskey cake, you can not leave without having a piece of this! Can't wait to go back. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a burger and salad with a few drinks. The salad was great, and the burger was very good. The menu selection was not great.

At $6+ for a draft beer, it is a little overpriced for the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

As usual, the food and service was great. Had the sirloin steak and salmon! Drink and deviled eggs were great- just right! Waitress checked on us just right- didn't feel harassed, but well taken care of! The Whiskey Cake desert was as usual, unbelievable!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was great and our waiter Cameron was on it! Good times with friends.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was my second time to eat at Whiskey Cakes, and I was thouroughly inpressed. The food was amazing, and the service was good. There is such a wide variety of food styles to order there, not to mention their fantastic list of cocktails, wine and beer. However, we both ordered the iced tea, and it was very refreshing, not too strong, just right.
To top it all off was the famous Whiskey Cake dessert with whipped topping to add as much as you'd like...can you say "HEAVEN"!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This place is amazing. The staff was great. Our waitress was very attentive and had great recommendations. The food was delicious. Every time we come here, we try something different and we're never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was great and atmosphere is very pleasant.
I will be going back.
The only thing I will mention is they don't have great Rum options, but hey it is a whiskey place!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A co-worker and I decided to check this place out while in town for work. Everything from the atmosphere, to the food and our waiter were great. From my seat I could see in to the kitchen and loved seeing all of the different dishes come out of it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Love the local food and the whiskey cake dessert is the best!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

found via Open table app while passing through the state. I tried the wabbit smash cocktail which had a wonderful flavor palette but seemed a bit lean on gin. I do like my drinks strong but I also feel as though expensive craft cocktails should highlight the liquor not the mixers. We loved the goat cheese Appetizer which was brought to our table bubbling hot - something I absolutely love! Nothing better than food served piping hot! That says staff is paying attention! I had the Thai pork baguette which had a wonderful flavor combination, though could have been a more generous with the actual pork - I only found a few tiny pieces in my sandwich. The veggie portions of the sandwich were delicious though. Spicy and sour and the bread was very good. Hubby had a burger which he thought was delicious - cooked exactly as ordered. We both had the fries which were delicious and served with a fantastic chili ketchup. I think the restaurant just needs to beware of not shorting portions of the main ingredient.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had the chicken and waffles and I had never had it before ANYWHERE. Its was SOOOO good!
My boyfriend had the hangover burger and he is a very picky eater but he said he LOVED that burger. The Whiskey Cake was really good too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful as always! One of my most fav places to eat and the Mimosa Flight is YUM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great first experience at Whiskey Cake OKC. Great craft coctails, extensive local menu. Well-informer staff, and excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome experience! Food was interesting but TASTY! My husband and I also participated in the Bourbon & Scotch flights which were awesome! I wish more places did this. The pork belly ramen is my usual, but the OMG Burger was just as it's named, OMG!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband and I had lunch here after reading reviews. They have a large beer selection and an interesting menu. I had a kale salad (can't recall the exact name). It was just ok. The dressing needed more citrus or acid to cut through the bitterness of the kale. The cashews got lost in all of the greens. I asked for more dressing hoping that would help, but it was mostly oil. I had the salad served with salmon, which was cooked well except for way too much salt. My husband had the pork sliders which he loved. The French fries served with the sliders were average. We took the whiskey cake to go and enjoyed it later. It was delicious! The service was the best part of our experience. The waitress was one of the best servers I've ever met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We had a business dinner and I thought we were going to a quiter restaurant when I made the reservations. While it was a bit noisy, it was not overwhelming and we were able to have a relaxed and productive dinner. Food was very good. Service was exceptional!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always a good bet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

At Whiskey Cake the food is always fresh and seasoned perfectly. My husband really enjoy our chicken & waffles and wood grill pork brisket.
Thanks Melinda

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Perfect birthday brunch with my wife and Mom. Mimosa flight was a really fun touch and the best chicken and waffles I have ever had! All at an affordable price and great service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food and service was absolutely amazing! We love it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We want here for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Organic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

There were 8 in our party. 6 from China and only one of them. spoke English. 2 were very rambunctious little boys. Our server could not have been more wonderful. The food was great. I was anxious about going out to eat and it was the best in all areas.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I absolutely love Whiskey Cakes. It's my favorite place in OKC.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I always order the duck and last night was the best duck I've ever had there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food is fantastic and a great value ! The lunch menu isn't much more expensive than applebees but the food is 1000x better!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was fabulous as always. Got the duck appetizer, very good, but a touch spicy for me. My dining partner and I split two burgers and they plated them split for us, it was great. Love their cocktails, so got the special, something like 'slow smash' -- it had gin and berry muddle in it. Very tasty. The pièce de résistance was the whiskey cake. It is just so delicious! Many thanks to Mary, our server, who provided excellent service and made us feel welcome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.