Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (39)
Good for a Date (34)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Fun (25)
Casual (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Great Beer (15)
Organic (15)
Healthy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (11)
Fireplace (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Private Room (5)
Romantic (5)
People Watching (5)
Vegan (5)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 hours ago

Delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Always enjoy this place. Great and unique menu. Duck wings are amazing.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Taylor and Kiyle were awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous! I had the pork steak and it was cooked perfectly. The whiskey cake is also out of this world delicious!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Father's Day dinner, our waitress ( Alyssa maybe? ) was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and food. Ru

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good options for new teenage granddaughter's birthday. She was able to order individual sides that suited her appetite. We all loved the on-site mixed Dr. Pepper. I like that the restaurant is different in a good way.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great vibe - great service - great food! This is now on our list of places to go regularly - and the Whiskey Cake is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent. We were visiting for the WCWS and wound up dining 3 times plus carry out. Friendly staff , great ambiance. Will try to find a location near home

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The fried green tomatoes are the best I've ever had. Great restaurant with unique offerings and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Austin is a phenomenal server! We had such a wonderful visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We LOVE Whiskey Cakes. It is one of our favorite places. We ALWAYS have the deviled eggs and the are always different and delicious. Our one complaint is that the bar is very slow getting the drinks delivered to the tables. They have two bartenders and are not busy. How long does it take to pour a glass of wine? This is always a problem. I can understand if they were busy, but we generally go in the non-busy times. I still love Whiskey Cakes, just wish they could fix this one little irritant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a fantastic brunch experience. The mimosa flights were fun. The chicken and waffles are a must try dish !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were put at a table on the patio. Music TOO LOUD. SUN TOO BRIGHT. KIDS ALLOWED TO BE LOUD AND SWING VERY FAST. WHERE WERE THe PARENTS???? Where was the staff to request that they be courteous to other diners? This was not appropriate. Get rid of the swings or make sure that patents are controlling their children. It was impossible to talk and enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I gladly make the 1 hour drive from Elgin, Ok to enjoy this great restaurant!

Tags: Organic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Modern yet grounded/earthy ambiance. Excellent range of food....healthy/tasty salad choices....great steaks/burgers. Awesome bar....you have a winning blend/concept. Let me know if you want to bring it to Canada!

Tags: Business Meals, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Whiskey cake was very good & rich & a generous portion (enough for at least 3). Decor was Clever & out of the ordinary. The food was ok, but not WOW!, small portions, and sandwiches were so thick they were hard to eat. The music was soooo loud it was very difficult to hear the server much less carry on a conversation at the table. When asked it volume could be adjusted, server said it could not be. All in all, it's not somewhere we will return unless it's just for dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We have been to Whiskey Cake several times, but this visit wasn't all that great. The service was slow and patchy. It took 10 minutes to get an extra basket of bread. And the New York Strip on special that we ordered was not a great cut of meat. Not very tender. We usually love it, but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good as ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our server was a little overzealous...meaning he checked on us a little too much. It was hard to have a meaningful conversation. Also, the tables near the kitchen are really awkward. I much prefer the booth seating. But our food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I have been a Whiskey Cake customer for some time; leisure and business occasions. For my husband and I it was one of our top 3 date night or brunch spots.

This past Sunday we opted to skip "adulting" and spend the day with just each other. This started with brunch at Whiskey Cake.

To our dismay there was a very limited brunch/breakfast menu in comparison to what we had experienced in the past. We noticed changes in the dining area and even in the bathrooms that took away from the eccentric ambiance and it felt more like your everyday chain restaurant. When the food was served the recipes for some of the signature items were subpar.

Due to this and more we left and went to another local restaurant where we had a wonderful experience and the brunch in and of itself was elevated in taste!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This used to be our "go to" date restaurant but after this visit I'm not too sure. We we stuck at this tiny table wedged between 2 larger tables, even though there were regular tables available. It was literally like we were sitting right with random people, one table was obviously on a date & the other had small children, one of which was very energetic and didn't want to stay seated...which is super awesome when you're basically stuck. Our waiter was super nice & the food was good, but they have changed their portion size...my husbands salmon was about the length and size of two fingers and there was a smear of mashed potatoes on his plate as the side. It took him maybe 5 minutes to finish his plate. They need to go back to the normal portion size or lower their prices. There was no way he has $20 worth of food on his plate. Just very disappointed with this trip and I'm not sure if we will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing brunch menu. We had excellent service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place just keeps getting better and has grown on me a lot since I first dined there. We had our Mother's Day lunch there. Total of 10. Service was outstanding and the food was very good. This place should appeal to all ages.

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is always amazing!! This place never disappoints. Cocktails are a must. They are fun and delicious.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing!!!! Especially the whiskey cake!!!!! The sampler style appetizer was sooo good, but needs to be served with extra toasted bread.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Whiskey Cake is always a great place for a fun and tasty lunch of evening. The emphasis on local foods is great. fantastic burgers, bear selection and handcrafted cocktails. And the whiskey cake itself is yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Love this place, great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We tried Whisky Cakes when it first opened, and were not impressed. We gave it another visit after some friends tried it. There were changes to the interior, which greatly improved the flow of things. The food was outstanding and very creative, as were the drinks. The service was attentive and friendly. Based on this great experience, we will definitely return soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always consistent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The restaurant was extremely busy and people waiting to be seated were surrounding the high top bar tables where people were eating at the entrance. Music was way too loud. The waitress even had to speak loudly to welcome us and tell us about the menu. We made our reservation on open table 43 minutes before and asked for a standard table. We were seated at a high top table and could not put our child in a high chair. The waitress was friendly and the food was ok. Not the experience and ambiance we enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in OKC! The food is amazing, and the atmosphere is wonderful. This is the perfect place for any girls night out, or date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our waiter Sam was outstanding. We had a reservation but had to wait a bit on our table, not a huge deal. We were going to wait at the bar but there was no place other than the service station to get to the bartender. That was really disappointing. The farm bird was delicious but the vegetables had far more flavor than the chicken.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a group of six, service was exceptional and very fast, despite how busy the restaurant was. Several of us are regular restaurant goers and all commented on how clearly well run the restaurant is.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice place. Good food and great service! We didn't have to wait long for our table. Great menu choices. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Brunch was great and was pretty quick!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent! Food is always tasty and the drinks are as well. It's a real plus that they source locally!!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was great, cake was overcooked and tasted burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was my first time and it was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.