About Whiskey Cake - OKC

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Great for Lunch
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Great for Lunch
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City

Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Brunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little pricey for an everyday restaura ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A little pricey for an everyday restaurant but food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A must meal when we visit OKC ! Great s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A must meal when we visit OKC ! Great service and food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and Great service! Never had ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and Great service! Never had an empty drink, our server was always on top of our table. The manager on duty came by and asked how everything was as well. Food is great and always try the whiskey cake! Again get the Whiskey Cake!!! It is amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Whiskey Cake Kitchen is one of my favori ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Whiskey Cake Kitchen is one of my favorite spots for lunch or dinner. I love the Pork Belly Ramen, it's not exactly a traditional Ramen, but the rich Beef Broth, the presentation, and the overall flavor are great! Their monthly picks are usually great and the night I went was more of the same: Flavorful, delicious, and a fresh treat. The switch up desert is a pleasant surprise every time, and almost worth getting instead of a Whiskey Cake...almost.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always happy with the quality of food an ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Always happy with the quality of food and the professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whiskey Cake dessert is to die for. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Whiskey Cake dessert is to die for. I could have just ordered this and been a happy camper.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat at the patio and the ambience was ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We sat at the patio and the ambience was great, nice beginning of Fall weather. Dylan took care of us with a lot of energy. The caipirinhas were amazing (hands down to the bartender).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I really liked the fact the veggies were ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I really liked the fact the veggies were local grown 😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing server , Sterling! He ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had an amazing server , Sterling! He was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time I had ever been; a little too ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First time I had ever been; a little too urban for me. Although we had a reservation (for a birthday), it took a moment to get seated and then we were at a table near the area where the servers roll silverware & the cooks are in the kitchen. Made for a rather busy, loud seat. In addition, I think our server had either a hard time hearing us or she was double/triple sat. All in all, not what I had expected from what I had "heard" about Whiskey Cake. I don't think I'll return unless for a drink/apps with friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed the Devils eggs, the basic bu ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We enjoyed the Devils eggs, the basic burger, and the duck. It was absolutely amazing and I love that everything is fresh and made locally. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food comes out too quickly. Before w ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food comes out too quickly. Before we were finished with one course, the next was already out. The cocktails are mostly ice.

But, the food is delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food, as usual, was incredible. Our ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food, as usual, was incredible. Our waitress, Victoria, however, never smiled or asked us if our food was good. I asked her to sneak a whiskey cake with a candle to our table as a surprise for my friend's daughter's 18th b-day, but at the end of the meal, she asked in front of her if we were ready for our birthday cake. That aside, we felt as if we were a bother to our waitress, as we saw other servers interacting with their tables and smiling. We'll be back, but would prefer a different waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Everything was good, but it was freezing ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was good, but it was freezing in the restaurant. I had on jeans and took my cardigan in and was still very cold. I understand the staff is working and gets hot, but very uncomfortable to have to sit and freeze while you are eating.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience. Duck is amazing. Burge ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great experience. Duck is amazing. Burgers are great- if even in OKC- will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love their salad options and the prese ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love their salad options and the presentation of these salads is so fresh. They change up with the seasons. So healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was great

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a standout. Food was bland and fairl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not a standout. Food was bland and fairly pricey for serving size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The environment was great, the staff fri ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The environment was great, the staff friendly and knowledgeable, and the food amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was new but very friendly. We had ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Server was new but very friendly. We had some miscommunication, but the manager was very courteous in reconciling our experience with a free dessert. We enjoy this location for the outdoor patio and the cake.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very Good Restaurant and would recommend ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very Good Restaurant and would recommend to anyone. We have been here before and it is just as good as it was last time.

Enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was amazing. Wil ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the appetizers!!!!! This time we ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We love the appetizers!!!!! This time we tried the goat cheese fondue!!!!! It was believable ..... Wow really great. We will have it again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music was a little too loud for conversa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Music was a little too loud for conversation with others at the table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great burgers and pork sliders. Salmon.. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great burgers and pork sliders. Salmon.....not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place!! Food is always fantastic. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place!! Food is always fantastic. The staff pays attention to your questions and makes appropriate suggestions!!

This is my favorite restaurant!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love eating here, but make sure y ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always love eating here, but make sure you bring a coat or sweater, always very cold in restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been to this location many times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to this location many times since it opened a few years ago. Never have I had bad service or food I did not enjoy. Brunch, lunch, dinner, it doesn't matter what you are stopping in for it is always amazing. This most recent visit we had Olivia as our server and she was phenomenal. Very attentive, and made sure we had anything we desired.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service! Super accomodating and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing service! Super accomodating and fantastic food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beers, great food, great server. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great beers, great food, great server.

So we obviously had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Local Board and Deviled Eggs were am ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The Local Board and Deviled Eggs were amazing tonight!! Our service was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all ordered the grilled salmon with p ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We all ordered the grilled salmon with pesto risotto. We come here a lot and for some reason they changed the recipe on the risotto and was awful.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, very unique ambiance and ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food, very unique ambiance and excellent service. My wife's ramen was overcooked, we let the waitress know and she took care of it immediately. Then the manager stopped by to explain what happened and then offered to make it right. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday within ou ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday within our diverse group of beautiful women and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Whiskey Cake

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was our second time to visit Whiskey Cake. This trip was better than the first. The service is fantastic due to the outstanding wait staff. The food is varied and excellent. Save room for dessert, the whiskey cake is a must! I would eat here often if I lived in Oklahoma City. I will definitely eat here again next time I visit OKC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always the food was amazing and serve ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

As always the food was amazing and served perfectly. Our server Dylan was friendly and answered all our questions and made several suggestions that worked well. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good, the cake was the s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was pretty good, the cake was the star of the show though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing Restaurant

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! Their food is the best because it is so fresh! They always have great service and the menu is constantly changing to accommodate seasonal options. It is THE BEST!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome place, wish they had one in Denver!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were in Oklahoma City for my niece's college graduation. She suggested this place for dinner while we were there and I am so happy she did. To start, the decor and ambiance was awesome. The food I have to say was some of the best I have ever had. Every one of us enjoyed our entrees and the deviled eggs we had for an appetizer were phenomenal! Now let's talk about the service. Sylvester was absolutely wonderful, he laughed and joked with us and helped to make our dining experience so enjoyable. I am holding him to what he said about seeing me in Denver when they finally open a Whiskey Cake here! I am hoping he was correct when he said they are hoping to open one here within the next few years.....

One last thing that I can't forget to mention.....the whiskey cake, OMG hands down the best dessert I have every had the pleasure of enjoying!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our niece selected this restaurant for h ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Our niece selected this restaurant for her university graduation dinner. The wide range of foods offered a choice for everyone. The duck breast was exceptional. No one wanted to share their whiskey cake so we ordered our own huge piece of cake. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.