Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Whiskey Cake - OKC

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (45)
Good for a Date (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
See All
Fun (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Casual (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Organic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Healthy (16)
Great Beer (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Fireplace (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Family Style (9)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (7)
Private Room (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (4)
Live Sports (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined a day ago

Our server was a little overzealous...meaning he checked on us a little too much. It was hard to have a meaningful conversation. Also, the tables near the kitchen are really awkward. I much prefer the booth seating. But our food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been a Whiskey Cake customer for some time; leisure and business occasions. For my husband and I it was one of our top 3 date night or brunch spots.

This past Sunday we opted to skip "adulting" and spend the day with just each other. This started with brunch at Whiskey Cake.

To our dismay there was a very limited brunch/breakfast menu in comparison to what we had experienced in the past. We noticed changes in the dining area and even in the bathrooms that took away from the eccentric ambiance and it felt more like your everyday chain restaurant. When the food was served the recipes for some of the signature items were subpar.

Due to this and more we left and went to another local restaurant where we had a wonderful experience and the brunch in and of itself was elevated in taste!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

This used to be our "go to" date restaurant but after this visit I'm not too sure. We we stuck at this tiny table wedged between 2 larger tables, even though there were regular tables available. It was literally like we were sitting right with random people, one table was obviously on a date & the other had small children, one of which was very energetic and didn't want to stay seated...which is super awesome when you're basically stuck. Our waiter was super nice & the food was good, but they have changed their portion size...my husbands salmon was about the length and size of two fingers and there was a smear of mashed potatoes on his plate as the side. It took him maybe 5 minutes to finish his plate. They need to go back to the normal portion size or lower their prices. There was no way he has $20 worth of food on his plate. Just very disappointed with this trip and I'm not sure if we will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing brunch menu. We had excellent service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place just keeps getting better and has grown on me a lot since I first dined there. We had our Mother's Day lunch there. Total of 10. Service was outstanding and the food was very good. This place should appeal to all ages.

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is always amazing!! This place never disappoints. Cocktails are a must. They are fun and delicious.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing!!!! Especially the whiskey cake!!!!! The sampler style appetizer was sooo good, but needs to be served with extra toasted bread.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Whiskey Cake is always a great place for a fun and tasty lunch of evening. The emphasis on local foods is great. fantastic burgers, bear selection and handcrafted cocktails. And the whiskey cake itself is yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We tried Whisky Cakes when it first opened, and were not impressed. We gave it another visit after some friends tried it. There were changes to the interior, which greatly improved the flow of things. The food was outstanding and very creative, as were the drinks. The service was attentive and friendly. Based on this great experience, we will definitely return soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always consistent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The restaurant was extremely busy and people waiting to be seated were surrounding the high top bar tables where people were eating at the entrance. Music was way too loud. The waitress even had to speak loudly to welcome us and tell us about the menu. We made our reservation on open table 43 minutes before and asked for a standard table. We were seated at a high top table and could not put our child in a high chair. The waitress was friendly and the food was ok. Not the experience and ambiance we enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in OKC! The food is amazing, and the atmosphere is wonderful. This is the perfect place for any girls night out, or date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our waiter Sam was outstanding. We had a reservation but had to wait a bit on our table, not a huge deal. We were going to wait at the bar but there was no place other than the service station to get to the bartender. That was really disappointing. The farm bird was delicious but the vegetables had far more flavor than the chicken.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a group of six, service was exceptional and very fast, despite how busy the restaurant was. Several of us are regular restaurant goers and all commented on how clearly well run the restaurant is.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice place. Good food and great service! We didn't have to wait long for our table. Great menu choices. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Brunch was great and was pretty quick!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent! Food is always tasty and the drinks are as well. It's a real plus that they source locally!!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was great, cake was overcooked and tasted burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was my first time and it was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

They have the best French press coffee and Whiskey cake. I always love the deviled egg appetizers and the salads are amazing!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our server, Logan, was helpful knowledgeable and really kind! We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Waiter was great. The local board was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My wife liked her pork, egg and grits but my Monte Cristo French toast was awful, chewy to the point of being almost inedible and lacking of flavor. Pretty sure the ham used was processed lunch meat. The service was good but the noise level with a mostly empty house was excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Dinner was delicious! Nice staff. Quick service. Interesting place!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Loved it! Good bourbon selection and nice mesquite smoked entes.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We arrived at 2:45; brunch ended at 3:00. Were told that by the time we ordered it would be too late for bru. After we ordered lunch, which was shortly thereafter, a manager sat down near our table with his breakfast/brunch plate. We were disappointed but the lunch menu was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Family Easter Brunch. Excellent, attentive service, great food, nice atmosphere, a little loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fun, Healthy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was great as always and the ambiance fun but service was lacking. We felt quite rushed and hurried from the moment we sat down while feeling like we had somehow inconvenienced our server by not automatically knowing what we wanted to eat or drink. Our main dish came out before we had even finished our appetizer that had been with us no more than 5-10 minutes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my first visit but it won't be my last! My server was informative and had a great personality. I went off a friend's recommendation. My food and drinks were more than expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food! Wonderful flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a fairly large party - they did an amazing job of seating, serving and keeping us happy! Great food - Great Service ! And amazing Whiskey Cake!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Whiskey Cake never disappoints! My sister and I both got the French Toast Monte Cristo and it was delicious. Our server was attentive and helpful. Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waitress was OUTSTANDING! I'm on a very healthy lifestyle change in eating, your selection was superb and afforded me many options. Each of us had different entrees. The shrimp & kale salad, the "Tower Sandwich", the Rotisserie chicken (sides --adult mac, brussel sprouts and butternut squash AND the appetizing appetizers..Deviled Eggs (YUM) were all delicious!! We finished with Brandy Cake & Irish Coffee
Great Meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We made a reservation earlier that day and they had our table right up front ready for us upon our arrival. We have previously been for Brunch on the weekends, but had not tried dinner yet and we were not disappointed in the slightest. The appetizers and cocktails came out quickly which was a pleasant surprise since the party included 9 people and 8 of us got either beer or a cocktail. The appetizers (goat cheese fondue and the fried green tomatoes) were fantastic. After ordering, the food arrived within a reasonable amount of time and everything was very well done! Our waitress did an absolute fantastic job keeping up with a larger group and making sure everyone's orders were correct. And the Whiskey Cake was delicious as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Vegan, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The name says a lot... WHISKEY CAKE! Only one of the best desserts ever! Don't want dessert after dinner, then get a piece to go and have it for breakfast the next morning with coffee!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The goat cheese fondue was excellent! Creamy and piping hot with plenty of toast. The wait staff was attentive, informative and pleasant but not intrusive. Will most likely go back tonight for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Sat out on the patio, perfect weather, nice covered area with giant swings and a fireplace. Stayed for a few hours and could have stayed longer. Food was incredible, service was on point. Highly recommend. You HAVE to try the Whiskey Cake for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food and drinks were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I always go to Whiskey Cake when I'm in OKC. My entire family enjoys the food and especially the whiskey cake. We usually order one or two and share.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.