About Whiskey Cake - OKC

1845 Northwest Expressway
Penn Square Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

We serve up tasty farm-to-kitchen dishes and cocktails, all made from scratch with ingredients sourced from local and regional farms and markets. We use slow-cooking methods on our wood grill and spit and in our smoker because it tastes better that way. Come dine with us at our communal tables, in one of our booths, on our sofas or rocking chairs, or perhaps on the porch next to the fireplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Bell Isle Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 582-2253

Website:
http://www.whiskeycakeokc.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Hardiman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Whiskey Cake - OKC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Bar Seating (22)
See All
Casual (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Organic (15)
Healthy (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Cozy (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fun (12)
Great Beer (12)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Family Style (9)
People Watching (9)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fireplace (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Live Sports (5)
Vegan (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and friendly service. We will ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and friendly service. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The vibe is unique, inviting and warm. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The vibe is unique, inviting and warm. The restaurant has cozy lighting, local ingredients, and friendly service. We got an appetizer, split two main courses and had the whiskey cake for dessert. Each dish was out-of-this-world-delightful and the wait time to receive our food seemed perfectly timed. I am so happy we decided to have date night here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burger was great, deviled eggs and grits ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Burger was great, deviled eggs and grits were very good! Whiskey cake was fantastic! Our waitress was very attentive as well. Overall very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our brunch was delicious. However, the l ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our brunch was delicious. However, the large group of college girls sitting beside us was annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best places to bring friends ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the best places to bring friends and family to enjoy a good brunch. Lacey, our waitress took exceptional care of us from the moment we sat down. She kept our drinks full and table well maintained at all times. The chili is superb, as is, the chicken and waffles. As always, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is always changing with new and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The menu is always changing with new and exciting items. The food is consistently great and the staff is outstanding!!!!! I love this place.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful time once again! Staff was fri ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful time once again! Staff was friendly and pleasant. Food, as always, was delicious. Only regret is that we were having such a good time that we left without grabbing the to-go box. Looking forward to the next visit!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The OMG burger is incredible. Get the c ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The OMG burger is incredible. Get the caramelized onion dip for an appetizer, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed ourselves as always. Wait sta ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves as always. Wait staff is exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! Amazing food, Great servise ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved it! Amazing food, Great servise! A memorable NYE!! ❤️❤️

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Organic, Late-night Find, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is intentionally decorate ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant is intentionally decorated in a Warehouse Style. That particular style, when not authentically in a warehouse, is vaguely annoying to me. The noise level is not conducive to conversation but somewhat expected for a restaurant that is attempting to cater to yuppies. The menu is very limited and the food is adequate. The wait staff, however, is exceptional. Not good enough to make up for the menu, but exceptional none the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Service was very good. Food was delicio ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was very good. Food was delicious with extra high marks for the hamburger. The quality of meat and seasoning were exceptional!! And, who can leave without indulging in the whiskey cake. We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Portion size had decreased from previous ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Portion size had decreased from previous visits but food quality and taste was still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was very cool in the restaurant Foo ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was very cool in the restaurant Food, service & ambiance were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere, but it was co ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, but it was cold in the restaurant. Had to eat with my coat on. Husband thought it was a little cool as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a reservation for our dinner at ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made a reservation for our dinner at Whiskey Cake. They had our table ready when we walked in with no wait time. Our waitress, Olivia, was amazing. Very knowledgeable about the drink and dinner menu, great sense of humor and not pushy. Our food choices were unique and very tasty!!! Large drink menu as well. Make sure you save room for the Whiskey Cake. It is well worth the calories.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went with 5 people on Christmas Eve. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went with 5 people on Christmas Eve. They had our table ready when we arrived. The wait staff was very attentive and encouraged us to try new things and if we did not like them they would replace the meal. That was the good part. The food was just Meh.. I got the OMG and it had a very sour taste to it. I was expecting a more traditional style cheesy mushroom burger. The mushrooms might have been picked but the burger just did not blend well and was disappointing. I also got chips and a side of grits. The chips were also just ok. The Garage burgers and beer does them much better. The grits however were just bad. They were very thick and did not have a good taste. I am from Louisiana and doing grits right is a must. I was so excited and was let down about the grits. Two other members got the Ramon soup and found the pork much to fatty and there was a lack of noodles, but the taste of the soup was good. The COD sandwich another party member got looked good. We got the fondue which was done right and delicious. We would recommend. I saw many good reviews on the local plate. I think the price of this item was way to high. Couple of local cheeses that were ok and a good pimento spread but the pickled jar was worthless along with the small piece of prosciutto. Only worth ~ $6 IMO. Overall the food did not live up to the hype and with the price of the check, I will be hard pressed to come back and try this place again. We do at least 4 higher priced meals during the month but the food has to match the price and it just does not at Whisky Cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our waitress was knowledgeable on all me ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our waitress was knowledgeable on all menu items, wines & beers, etc. She and the kitchen were happy to accommodate modifications due to some food allergies in our family. The food was great and we will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good chicken and waffles, really li ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very good chicken and waffles, really liked the breakfast of champions drink!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Family Style, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique menu but we loved everything we o ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Unique menu but we loved everything we ordered. Highly recommend it. French press coffee with the whiskey cake was the highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I often frequent Whiskey Cak ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My wife and I often frequent Whiskey Cake at the end of a date night. They have an unique drink selection and their whiskey cake is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for our Christmas luncheon w ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great place for our Christmas luncheon with a few coworkers. Service and food was great and all of us plan another visit soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

local board is dope, the people are nice ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

local board is dope, the people are nice, seating is alright, basketball on tv, YEP

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband & I don't eat out as often as ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My husband & I don't eat out as often as we used to, due to his kidney disease. When I called Whiskey Cake to make reservations, I asked if any of the food could be prepared sans salt. I was assured that my husband's dietary needs could be met. When we arrived and were seated, Austin, our server, informed my husband that he would go through the menu with him and let my husband know what foods would be best salt-free. Gotta tell ya: for this alone we would return to Whiskey Cake, and we would request Austin as our server in a heartbeat. The rest of our party of six also had very good food (and a lot of it), and said they would return. KUDOS to Whiskey Cake for being adaptable and accommodating!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a favorite spot!!!! We love eatin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Always a favorite spot!!!! We love eating here because of the interesting food and the warm friendly staff!!! An OKC highlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant consistently delivers on ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This restaurant consistently delivers on excellent service, scrumptious food, outstanding beer lists and a cozy atmosphere (with our without children)! We love to go here for special occasions (birthdays are a must here!) or just because...thank you Whiskey Cake!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a great restaurant! The bri ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is such a great restaurant! The brisket burger is definitely my favorite thing there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is good..a bit on the expensive ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food is good..a bit on the expensive side though. The waiters are quite pushy; he was trying to tell me how to get my food cooked. I know how I like my food guy..lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Have been to Whiskey Cake many times and ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Have been to Whiskey Cake many times and the food never disappoints. Our server, however, was pushy and uninformative to the point of annoyance and even disappeared for 30 minutes after we got our drinks to well after we received our food. This was made for by the other servers being very attentive and the food being very good. Would highly recommend this place, just not our waitress.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing burgers. Our waitress also made ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing burgers. Our waitress also made excellent beer and cocktail recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, excellent service & alwa ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service & always a treat to try the special drinks & chef's seasonal creations. Must try their signature dessert, Whiskey Cake. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great as always and the s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great as always and the service were excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food. Good service. My husband ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful food. Good service. My husband and I both had the black snapper which was fantastic. Everything is fresh and even the kids meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us met to celebrate a birthday. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Four of us met to celebrate a birthday. We started with the deviled eggs with cranberry topping (not a favorite) and fried green tomatoes (wonderful). One person had the cod sandwich (too much bread, she thought); one person had the salmon (very good); one person had the pork steak (great but too much food for lunch); and one person had the ramen bowl (would have again). Service was wonderful and the celebratory whiskey cake the hit dish of the meal.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Whiskey Cake was great as usual. I go t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Whiskey Cake was great as usual. I go there at least twice a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We just loved the fried green tomatoes! ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We just loved the fried green tomatoes! Everything was delicious, can't go wrong ordering anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very happy that I got a call 4 hou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I was very happy that I got a call 4 hour before my visit regarding my upcoming reservation.

I have used open tables many times that is the first time that happened.

It was personal and meaningful. Great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FRIKIN GREAT frikin great. Freaking grea ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

FRIKIN GREAT frikin great. Freaking great. Honestly just needed 50 characters..

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the ambiance was ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was delicious and the ambiance was very cool...service was excellent! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for different taste ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a good choice for different tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.