Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Taste of Belgium RookwoodTaste of Belgium Rookwood
(88)
Belgian | Norwood, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill - CincinnatiJ. Alexander's - Redlands Grill - Cincinnati
(612)
Contemporary American | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
E+O KitchenE+O Kitchen
(200)
Contemporary Asian | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Seasons 52 - CincinnatiSeasons 52 - Cincinnati
(2048)
American | Norwood, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Alfio's buon ciboAlfio's buon cibo
(755)
Italian | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Teller's of Hyde ParkTeller's of Hyde Park
(38)
American | Hyde Park, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
The Capital Grille - CincinnatiThe Capital Grille - Cincinnati
(850)
Steakhouse | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
The Red FeatherThe Red Feather
(641)
Contemporary American | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Oriental Wok - CincinnatiOriental Wok - Cincinnati
(149)
Chinese | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Forno Osteria & BarForno Osteria & Bar
(221)
Italian | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Buca di Beppo - CincinnatiBuca di Beppo - Cincinnati
(885)
Italian | Norwood, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Cafe Mediterranean - Hyde ParkCafe Mediterranean - Hyde Park
(105)
Mediterranean | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
China GourmetChina Gourmet
(288)
Chinese | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Reserve Now
Nectar Restaurant - CincinnatiNectar Restaurant - Cincinnati
(49)
Contemporary American | Hyde Park, Cincinnati
Reserve Now

About W.G. Kitchen and Bar Rookwood

2692 Madison Rd Ste K1
Cincinnati, OH 45208
View Larger Map

Permanently Closed - WG Kitchen & Bar is a full service restaurant and bar featuring a 1500 label retail wine shop. Guests will enjoy our bistro style menu ranging from small plate appetizers (charcuterie, assorted cheeses, our family recipe meatballs and more) to full entrees (seafood, pasta, steak, lamb). We have 40+ wines available by the glass or, for the adventurous, by the flight, which is an individual wine tasting comprised of 4 wines in a specific category. We also carry 12+ craft/import/domestic bottled beers. And, finally, guests can enjoy one of our specialty cocktails or their preferred drink from our full bar.



Guests can enjoy excellent, full service at our bar or on our beautiful patio on a first come, first serve basis. OR you can make your reservation for our dining room now.
Either way, we can't wait to see you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Seasonal

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Sunday: Seasonal

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: Seasonal

Cross Street:
Madison & Edwards

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 834-5712

Website:
http://www.wgkitchen.com/

Catering:
Beginning March 1, 2016 the W.G. Rookwood will be offering catering options to parties of 40 or less. These orders can be placed through the OrderUp platform.

Parking Details:
There is a shared parking lot in front of the restaurant. However, the easiest place to park is in the garage directly behind the restaurant. The second level is ground level and exits to a walkway that leads you to our patio.

Executive Chef:
Richard McCollum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food..quick service... beautiful re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food..quick service... beautiful restaurant! Awesome for a first date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hauser

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We eat there often. I have never been disappointed. The food is different than you find anywhere else but is spectacular. The wine flights are always very good with your meal. It always seems easier to get in there on a busy night than most other restaurants. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got seated right away and our server ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We got seated right away and our server was very nice. The food was great and lots of choices for wine. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great wine deal on Mondays.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Awesome spot. The food was really great. Waiter was very good and friendly, also made great food suggestions. Has a wonderful wine deal on Monday with no corking fee. Dinner tasted amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easy Dining

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Great food and fun wine. Easy place have good meal and drink.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you can deal with the parking on a bu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

If you can deal with the parking on a busy weekend, you'll really like the dining experience. Great staff, great food...a little noisy, but a wonderful date night place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Love the atmosphere! Husband was unhappy with the Over done Lambchops told they would be Medium Rare Which the chef recommends???

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Wine

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We had great service, great wine, and mediocre food with difficult parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My biggest problem with a place if its i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My biggest problem with a place if its it too quite, and not filled. If a place isn't crowded its no popular in my opinion. I expected more people there on valentines day. That being said my waitress was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great service, food and a good wi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had great service, food and a good wine selection. I would recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Hubby and I had our VD dinner here. Overall it was a great experience. How often do you find Beef Wellington on the menu?! Yummy! I asked that it be rare but it came out medium, but it was still delicious. It was great fun buying the wine flights and sampling each other's wines. The chocolate chip bread pudding was oh so good and HUGE; we could only get through half of it and enjoyed the rest the next day. Our server was slow but friendly so that was ok. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and wine is always great. I've neve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food and wine is always great. I've never had a bad experience. I would highly recommend the Napa Chicken and the lobster bisque

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner Saturday night

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and wine selections were excellent. This is the third time I've eaten there within the past six months and the food is still very good. The associates are always very friendly and helpful with wine selections. I'm not a wine person, so helpful hints and small samples lets you decide what kind you like with your meal. So good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Date Night Spot

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here for Valentine's Day. The food was fantastic and the service was great. This is our favorite place to come for date nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

This restaurant is simply great. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, and our server was very knowledgeable and helpful with the wine list/menus. The atmosphere is very modern, but still maintains a level of dark, rustic charm and relaxing ambiance. There are tons of wines available, and the wine list includes flights that are well-matched and priced well. We started with the mussels - I had the filet and my girlfriend had the Chilean sea bass - and we both finished with creme brulee. The food was nothing short of outstanding. I highly recommend this place to anybody as we had a perfect experience and will certainly be back. It's a wonderful place for a relaxing date night. However, it seems pretty versatile, and a great place to go for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Lobster Bisque and Blackened Tilapia wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Lobster Bisque and Blackened Tilapia were excellent! Waiter was prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wines and food

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We always enjoy dining here. A great wine selection and exceptional food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a fun experience at WG Kitchen. W ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Always a fun experience at WG Kitchen. We love the wine flights. Food is mixed. Menu items are never very consistent- one visit served with potatoes the next with pasta. The wine flights are the reason we keep coming back. Always a fun date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wine Guys

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We enjoyed our , wine and service on a busy Saturday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why haven't you tried it?

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

We have been to WB's several times now and everyone in the group (5-8) likes to go there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good Food, Sub Par Service.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I went here with my fiance for her birthday dinner. We both had been several time before to this restaurant (although my last visit may have been 4 or 5 years ago). I would say the food overall was very good, especially the short rib poutine appetizer. However, I felt the service was sub par. The waitress was not overly attentive. Our table was not cleared promptly when we were done with the appetizer so when our dinner came our tiny 2 top table was overly cluttered.

Additionally, my fiance really liked an entree they no longer had on the menu; she asked if they could make it and the waitress never even inquired, instead stating simply that's been off the menu 3-4 menus ago. I used to work in a restaurant so I know from my own work experience as well as being a patron at other restaurants that if you ask a restaurant if they can make something even if it is no longer on the menu, more times than not they can oblige. Moreover, when asking about the specials the specials menu we were given indicated the restaurant had, we were informed by the waitress they did not have a couple of the specials and had been out of them for at least a month. Lastly, when I ordered the bison burger for dinner and asked what their 'medium' was like, the waitress informed me that with this kitchen you can never tell, and it's going to come out however it comes out. Sure enough, what I would think of medium came out with not a hint of pinkness to the meat.

Again, I'd like to emphasize that the food was good, but can't say too much about the service we received or the overall quality of the restaurant. When WG charges the prices they do, there are plenty of other great restaurants in Cincinnati to choose from that offer great food AND great service. When we left I was full, but unfortunately not satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Dinner with Friends

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere especially with friends that love wine! The restaurant can be a bit noisy when really crowded which makes it difficult to hear conversation. Third time here and actually sat in the same place all three times? Food is excellent and would of given it a 5 star rating, however, this last trip my mashed sweet potato was cold and salmon was hot, unlike a time before the same dish was hot. All in all, still love the food and flights of wine. Service is always attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My first lunch experience here. It was g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

My first lunch experience here. It was great. They made menu accommodations for my vegetarian palate. We were in the curtained off area that was a little chilly at first, but once we closed window curtains and had a fabulous glass of wine we were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fun evening. The wine was excellent and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Fun evening. The wine was excellent and the food was delicious. Our waitress did a nice job but was very busy and missed a couple of minor details. Overall, very nice night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, service, food and an wine. I would recommend Wine Guy for any occasion. I am a frequent customer and will continue to be!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy atmosphere, perfect lighting,very c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Cozy atmosphere, perfect lighting,very classy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Awesome Service - Celiac Friendly

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Our server was outstanding... knowledgeable, friendly, good advice, attentive without being annoying. Food was very good, we all liked our dishes. Great for celiacs as my son is and he loved his meal! Lots of gluten free choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Low Key Evening

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

At the last minute Friday evening we decided to go out so I looked on Open Table to find a reservation. There weren't too many options so we opted for WG Kitchen. When we arrived, the place was pleasantly busy despite reservations being open. There were 3 of us and we opted to do shared plates instead of individual entrees. Our server Melissa was helpful in guiding us in what would be enough to order without overdoing it. Wine and food were served at just the right pace and we left feeling very satisfied. It was a really nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

great place to meet friends!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

We've been here three times in the last three weeks. It's a great place to meet friends and share a bottle of wine and some small plates. The wine selection is good, and they also have cocktails for those who don't drink wine. The small plates/appetizer s are perfect to share at the table instead of separate meals .I love the tables, and the proportions of them. Elegant and rustic both. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. They don't bother you too much. And there's not a big screen tv or loud music to compete with the conversations you're trying to have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatly pleased!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Hubby had the pork chop which I thought was too pink while I had the Napa Chicken...what a treat both dishes were. We are foodies and hard to impress but WGB certainly did that. Cud-dos the the Chef and our waitress who was knowledgeable and attentive. The noise level was higher than we prefer but not to the point that we had to walk out as we have done at other places. Who wants to eat where it is sooo hard to converse with your dinner partner(s). We loved the attention to details of each meal that attributed to the quality of each dish. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Won't be back

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The cheese pizza was overcooked and at the end of our meal they brought out a second one - but didn't refund us any money for the one that was overcooked. She would have liked to eat with us. The steak on the bruschetta was rare not medium rare - the blood was dripping down the cheese and bread. Only one bite was eaten with 9 people at the table - seems like someone should have noticed. The 2 pieces of the steak on my salad was burnt - hence why it wasn't eaten or taken home. We came to a restaurant to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Always Good

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We've been coming to W.G. for years and have never been disappointed by the food, service or wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

W.G. Kitchen is the perfect location for a lunch get-together with a friend or a romantic dinner with your hubby/wife/partner...

Consistently delicious food and wonderful ambience. And if you like wine, a perfect choice for you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional menu. Very well prepared

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Very interesting menu, well prepared. Some of the best food in town. The wine flights are interesting, although I would pretty quickly zoom in to the wines I like best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Never disappointed!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

As always we had a wonderful experience along with a delicious dinner. Our server, Nick, was one of the best! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FoodieAmbassador516

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

When to WG for lunch with a party of 6. Waitress was rude and pushy. Too to long to get our food. Food was bland and uneventful

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was excellent. They have done a ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The food was excellent. They have done a great job with noise management and ambient lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service and great food but res ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Excellent service and great food but restaurant was way too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Waiter, wine, and flatbread pizza

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Waiter, wine, and flatbread pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.