About Westport Cafe & Bar

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 1:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Cozy (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Historic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
652 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was as good as ever but the atmosphere and service were sub-par as compared to the many other times we have eaten there. One thing is for certain, the tables for two in the front of the cafe are too small!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Spectacular Heirloom Gazpacho from the starter menu was superb and a meal in itself! I'm already having cravings for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great place to have dinner or brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was great, as was the service, but the noise level was severely problematic for conversation. Ambience was not really very French. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Tuesday night is the streak special with unlimited frittes. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Enjoyed dinner the meal was delightful and service attentive

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I could hear my guests talking....How refreshing! The well rounded menu gave us plenty if choice. My burger was delicious and the Tuesday Steak and Fritz were enjoyable. The proteins were cooked a little bit more than we ordered, but the food was still enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We are regulars - menus not needed. WCB consistently delivers. We tried the coconut curry mussels for the first time. Be sure to ask for a straw to sip every last drop of the broth! I'm kidding, but only slightly kidding. The broth is so good as to justify putting good manors to the side.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and drinks are delicious! I always enjoy eating at Westport Cafe - whatever the occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had brunch on saturday for mother's day. Both of our meals were very good and very appealing. The bellini's and bloody mary's were very good also!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We felt a little old here, but the food was good and so was the service.
A great stop if yo want to experience the Westport scene

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was great despite being brunch time on Sunday. The chicken hash, although yummy, didn't sit well in my stomach. The Bloody Mary may have needed some Tabasco to give it more of a kick as well. Other than that, we might come back to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome ricotta pancakes and good coffee. Attentive service without being overbearing. Grateful for the patient waitresses who dealt with our un-caffeinated ramblings.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this restaurant! The food is always great and they don't rush you. I love the mussels and the pome frittes are delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went for brunch. The free mimosas with brunch was a nice surprise. The food was good, the service was great. A nice place to spend a little time on a rainy Saturday morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great menu. Slightly shorter than in the past. But still a nice selection. Good selection of specialty cocktails. Often the bar and restaurant are crowded and loud-ish. But on this visit it was less crowded and quieter overall. Really nice experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great menu selection, food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent food.
Service just a bit slow considering it was't very busy when we were there.
Biggest negative was noise, especially the high volume of the music which prevented easy
conversation. Also, the tile walls not good for the acoustics.
Staff was very welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great atmosphere and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love brunch there!! Staff very friendly. Great place for any occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Yeah Sarah. So knowledgeable and accommodating. Really nice menu and affordable wine list with nice selections. We will come back

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great happy hour value. Mussels are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. The presentation was beautiful. The sliced steak and egg dish and chicken hash were both superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is my 3rd time here. I love everything that I have had here and so have the people that have gone with me. The service is great! It is a cute little spot, I just wish there was more room. It is a bit cramped. They are always crowded so you better make a reservation. It is a great place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Creative cuisine and exceptional quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Loved it!! The prairie wood drink is incredible and I so enjoyed the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great, portions big, salade nicoise had real seared tuna- amazing. Ambiance is great unless you are seated in front of the kitchen door.
Service was almost non existant : it took us 40 min to get a drink, one of the cocktails we had to send back- I specifically asked for " no sugar, no sweetness / health issues "- that was ignored . It took the restaurant 7 more minutes to bring me a glass of wine instead.
It took 55 min to get the food: hamburger and salade nicoise- wow- they even apologized for the delay- but didn't even offer anything to sweeten the deal- spoiled date. Will not be back until they fix their service. Such a shame, this place could be great!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Westport cafe is a good French style restaurant with a menu including several fish options and good pommes frites which could have been a little crisper. A nice wine selection and pleasant ambience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything was great!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was a 2nd first date, and the outside appearance was very nice for a rainy, hailing evening. The bartender was very nice, substituted my drink I wanted for an even better beverage since they were out. Was very patient, didn't try to sell you, just laid back. Good good, food! It was my first time and it won't be my last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic breakfast restaurant! Outstanding service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Couldn't resist trying the Steak Soiree before lent. I love the instagram post every Tuesday, so I couldn't resist giving it a try. Perfect temp on the flank steak and endless pommes frites...it doesn't get much better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Can't go wrong with Westport Cafe. I'm a plain Jane and always order the same breakfast no matter where I go, but I have to say this is by far the best. Eggs and hash browns are cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place to eat and drink. Just dont sit by the door when its cold out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

great atmosphere, rich red walls made me feel like I was transported to France. The wine was terrific, the cheese plate and salmon appetizer wonderful. The duck breast sublime and the chocolate mousse with accompaniments just put me over the edge. The servers were helpful and friendly and at our request to compliment the chef, he came to the table to meet us and we had a lovely conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always, the Westport Cafe is an exceptional place to spend time with friends while getting an amazing hand-crafted cocktails and a delicious meal. If you come to Westport and don't at least stop in for a drink you are missing out; it a gem. Its also LOCAL, not a chain like KC Bier Kitchen, Char Bar, Foundry, or McCoys. And though those restaurants are very good, Westport Cafe aims higher and delivers on that every time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was terrific, but a little surprised that they had paper napkins instead of cloth, considering the price point of the entrees. Fabulous food and great atmosphere -- fun French bistro vibe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service, delicious food though a bit pricey for brunch items. Loved their drink selection, the pink peppercorn was amazing! Cute spot, but seating was quite tight. We and the table behind us kept bumping into each others' chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.