About Westport Cafe & Bar

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 1:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in 39th St / Westport / Midtown ›

fit for foodies (40)
great for brunch (34)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
romantic (20)
special occasion (16)
hot spot (15)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (9)
good for groups (5)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Westport Cafe and Bar is always a wonder ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Westport Cafe and Bar is always a wonderful experience all around - great food, service and ambiance - hence why we keep going back! Highly recommended.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Musty smell noticed upon entering. Musi ...

Dined 7 days ago

Musty smell noticed upon entering. Music too loud for people in their 60's. Chairs uncomfortable- small and hard and some wobbled. Nice waitress and good service. The four of us enjoyed our meals. It would have been nice to be served bread while we waited. Excellent coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

The brunch menu was great and the compli ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch menu was great and the complimentary drink was a nice perk. The wait staff was very friendly and was quick to seat people immediately after opening.

food2
ambience5
service5

Very nice quaint ambience and service. H ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Very nice quaint ambience and service. However, the snap pea ravioli had too much lemon and caused the cream sauce to curdle. I lost my appetite after that. I wish that was better, I might have ordered more if not for that first plate.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy food

Dined on May 4, 2016

Everything was very good but we went earlier in the evening and to be honest, the last time it was about 8pm and there seemed to be more attention paid to food, service etc. Understand, the difference was from very good to excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good find in westport

Dined on May 3, 2016

If you are looking for good food , great service and a nice place to sit and enjoy someone's company on a Monday night go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I was very impressed. I came here for br ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was very impressed. I came here for brunch with a friend, and had quite possibly the best biscuits and gravy I have ever had. My friend got the chicken hash and it was very good, also. Service was quick, but the server was not pushy. The seating is a little crowded, but that is my only complaint. Definitely make a reservation. I will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious brunch & delectable cocktails!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

My friend ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes and I ordered the crepes and we share each. Both were amazing - especially the pancakes! We each tried three cocktails & each one of them was delicious! Our waitress had a very cool, relaxed vibe but was perfectly attentive. We had such a good time that we went back later in the day after shopping for one more cocktail. :) Highly recommended

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on April 17, 2016

If you're looking for a place to make you feel like you're not in the midwest, this place is for you. It definitely carries a Euro-Bistro feel and the food is ALWAYS on point! Delicious and reasonably priced. Their happy hour is even better but their main entrees were fantastic! Their appetizers could easily be meals as well (the mussels!). I got their scallop & risotto dish and it was superb and a good portion. Their staff is attractive as well as attentive. I always have great service, and their bartender is knowledgeable and makes delicious drinks! I highly recommend this establishment!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I get the steak frites every time and am never disappointed. I love this restaurant and their servie is very personable. Recommended if you have not been here before!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I wasn't blown away, but it was enjoyable overall.

Dined on April 13, 2016

I wasn't blown away by the food, although it was still tasty. The lamb pappardelle was a bit heavy on the cinnamon for my tastes, and wasn't much to look at one the plate. The roasted beet and goat cheese salad was delicious if a bit lightly dressed, but I felt it could've used an element of crunch. We also had the mussels with corn and cilantro, which was quite delicious. In hindsight, I was a bit disappointed that the server didn't suggest a half carafe of wine, or a bottle, when both my date and I ordered the exact same glass of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy Hour

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Good happy hour menu, food was tasty. The mussels were very good.

food2
ambience5
service2
value4

mistreatment of foie gras

Dined on April 3, 2016

I had high hopes for the foie gras and chicken liver terrine. alas, no. There was an inordinate amount of black pepper in the terrine, to the point of being extremely unpleasant. we also ordered the cheese plate which was traditional and a fine thing in general however the waiter landed the plate with zero explanation of what we we about to eat, the bread was also very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was a last minute choice, it was wonderful! The food was amazing and they were very nice in accommodating our group. A great beginning to my 25th.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Awesome happy hour

Dined on March 19, 2016

Decent French wines for $5. Deal of the week is an awesome steak frites for $11. We had a fresh pea ravioli that rocked. Cheese plate had nice selections, but some kind of aioli was overkill, especially for a nice fresh chevre and a ricotta that never stood a chance. Overall, excellent food and vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

They were very accommodating of my group ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

They were very accommodating of my group's dietary restrictions. The good was great and it's definitely a cool hidden gem.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, slow service

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

This was our first adventure at the Westport Cafe & Bar. While the food was good, I wish it had been better described on the menu. I wouldn't have ordered the Crepe Madame if I had known it would include mustard. Nonetheless, my husband enjoyed his omelet. The single waitress struggled to keep up with the busy brunch crowd.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great service. Excellent recommendations ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great service. Excellent recommendations from waiter. Would go back tomorrow if I was in KC!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Brunch

Dined on March 12, 2016

I made a reservation, and was very glad I did. Me and a few friends planned on coming here to try the brunch specials and forgot it was also Snake Saturday, with the parade having just ended and crowds dressed in green flocking to Westport. We waited for a couple minutes before someone greeted us, 3 tables worth of people waiting ahead of us. As soon as they confirmed my reservation we were seated and brought menus and water. We all ordered brunch w/ a cocktail and enjoyed every bite and sip. I would definitely come here again and loved the beautiful detail of the old building. Exposed brick and tile walls, the ambiance was as good as the food. The waiters don't seem very down to earth, but they were all also super busy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Birthday Brunch

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went to Westport Cafe & Bar for my birthday brunch after a recommendation from a friend who had gone for enjoyed their late night menu. We had a reservation for 4, but grew to 6 without meaning to. The staff was wonderful and accommodating about it though. Never making us feel like an imposition. We did have one person whose meal wasn't delivered until everyone else had finished due to a problem in the kitchen. Not the end of the world though, as we made a little plate for our friend so she wouldn't have to sit and watch us eat. The french toast was fantastic, but the fried chicken could've used some seasoning. Terrific drink menu - I loved the Pink Peppercorn. Really nice the way they've included a selection of drinks into brunch menu purchases too. We ordered many extra though as it was a celebration and wanted to try them all. Everyone had a wonderful time and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Norwegian Benedict!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Loved the brunch food and the bellinis were great too. Nice that a drink is included with the brunch entree we chose. Love getting down to Westport occasionally and going for brunch helped us avoid the late night mayhem. I was glad we had a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food - interesting menu - fun atmosphere

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was delicious. It was a surprising and nice touch that the price of the traditional brunch items on the menu included coffee, soda, or a brunch drink like a mimosa - and that the wait staff was happy to point this out. The service was superb. This is a place we want to return to - a lot!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

WE have been here many times before but won't go again. The service was very slow (we were told when we asked that it was a shift change at 5:30), We had the same food we always order (steak and frites and ravioli and peas). The steak was tough and the sauce on the pasta was not what I was used to getting. All in all, not a wonderful Valentine's Day Dinner for us. The restaurant was not full at all.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Slow and cold

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our first visit was very disappointing. Won't return. Service was very slow at brunch Feb. 14. Had to ask for a menu and water. Food was cold.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

PERFECT SUNDAY BRUNCH

Dined on February 14, 2016

I booked a 10:30 brunch Valentine's Day reservation a month prior to Feb 14. It was PERFECT!!! No wait time Prompt service and the FOOD was amazing .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Salt with a side of Scallops

Dined on February 14, 2016

Beet salad was great! Scallops and risotto maybe would have been good if someone in the kitchen had not dumped or spilled the entire supply of salt in it. I could eat about 1/3 of the meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Brunch with my "Galentines" . ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent Brunch with my "Galentines" . Great good and great ambience. Very "French bistro in NYC". Only wish they had cloth napkins

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great place. Small and quaint bu ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

What a great place. Small and quaint but with an up beat vibe. We had the fixed menu with the wine pairing and it was fantastic. The escargot was amazing. The duck and the lamb pasta were also fantastic. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the whole experience!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Loved the whole experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great French toast! And you get a free d ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great French toast! And you get a free drink with your meal :)

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Decided to have brunch here based on other great reviews we had read. Unfortunately, we did not have the same experience as other reviewers. The restaurant was very loud. The staff kept turning up music (pop), so people kept raising their conversation level until we couldn't even hear each other without screaming. The cost of brunch entrees was very reasonable and included one drink. The service was efficient, but the food was a bland. Probably will not return here due to the noise level and food quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

Westport excels in every way, our server ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Westport excels in every way, our server fabulous, the bar on its game, and the kitchen . . . best Pomme Frites in KC, Pork Shoulder/Polenta perfect and the lamb terrine sublime decadence. Thank you all at WC&B.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Westport bar and cafe

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great atmosphere and absolutely wonderful chicken hash. A must in KC.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent spot in Wesport, great french cuisine

Dined on January 24, 2016

We were really impressed by the high quality of the dishes in this little spot in Wesport, the casual french cuisine is excellent, even more so because leading the kitchen there is a young Chef. We will follow him for sure. The wine list is excellent too and the Somelier very knowledgable and Willing to help you with your choice without breaking the bank. We had the dinner menu with wine pairing and the wine choices were very adequate making the dining experience even better. The only con, to mention one, is the noise level, a little bit too much for us, but not far from what you may experience in a real french bistro, so, no big deal. Great ambience and great service, overall a very satisfactory experience that we will repeat for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Went restaurant weekend. Food was medioc ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Went restaurant weekend. Food was mediocre had to send steak back twice and didn't even eat it after the second round. Trout was over garlicked. Are it but not great. Old Fashioned cocktail was great.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was Great and the Service was very good.

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We had very good time. Enjoyed the restaurant. Services was good and the food was very good. It was nice evening and the other couple felt the same

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere! Terrific ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere! Terrific waitress!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Place

Dined on January 23, 2016

Cocktail list is a must see and taste. The candied ginger garnish was perfect. All the food is wonderful. I have yet to try something that was not delicious. Try the escargot too. YUM! Also a must, the profiteroles. You will not regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went back for restaurant, everything was ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Went back for restaurant, everything was perfect. Best escargot in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish!

Dined on January 18, 2016

Westport Cafe and Bar is hands down the best little bistro in KC! Love the atmosphere, service, and the food is delish! Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.