About Westport Cafe & Bar

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm to 1:00 am
Sunday: 4:00 to Midnight

Brunch:
Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Romain Monnoyeur

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (10)
Casual (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Love it, love it, love it. We are regulars for a reason - we LOVE Westport Café & Bar. Our meals are consistently outstanding. Friendly, appropriately attentive service. Try the mussels (you'll want a straw to slurp up the broth). We love the salad - something about the dressing just screams "FRESH." Steak Frites always a winner. Save room for the bread pudding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food is incredible. Very good deal with brunch entrees being filling and including one free drink. Lovely space. This spot will become a regular for me.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food and the service were outstanding. One small hiccup was a piece of plastic found in one of our dishes, but they apologized and remedied the situation immediately, so we weren't too upset about it. We'll continue to come here when we're in town because it's always wonderful. Definitely recommend the pommes frites and the croque madame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Love this place. Smart, sophisticated food, but not at all fussy. OUTSTANDING cocktails, and overall great ambiance. Perfect place for a date or meeting friends.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had an excellent meal. The wine selection pared well with the dishes. We were there on a slow Monday, and the food was expertly prepared (not left over from the weekend). Menu could have had a bit more vegetables on offer, but it was authentic French Bistro fare.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a reservation for 4, seated promptly and had a quick and attentive server.

I had the fried chicken and a Bloody Mary, delicious. I had similar feedback from my dining partners.

We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I am usually not a fan of French cuisine, but maybe that's because I haven't eaten at French restaurants often. However, my opinion is forever changed by our dining experience at W C & B. We arrived for happy hour and had wine and the cheese plate. All five cheese options danced exotically on our palates. For entrees, we had the snapper and the braised beef. The beef was broken apart and mixed with bacon and then put back together and braised. Fabulous! The snapper was delicious as well. For dessert we had massive chocolate profiteroles. Fabulous meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 24, 2017

An absolute favorite of ours - special occasion, random Monday night out or pre or post dinner drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We always enjoy Westport Cafe & Bar! Delicious food in a lovely atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice happy hour menu, interesting cocktails. When busy, it gets pretty noisy. Service was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We went about 3:30pm so it was quiet and happy hour was on. We had an assortment of the happy hour small plates and was very pleased with the flavor and quality of each one. Also, the pomme frites order is plenty enough to share. It reminded us of little Parisian cafes we would go to in Paris, but was not at all pretentious. The flavors were exquisite and with happy hour, the prices very reasonable. First time being there but we will be back. It is one of our favorites now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I can't believe I've never been here before. Wonderful food, great service, cool place. On Tuesday they have a great steak and fries special. We also shared a cheese plate and every bite was amazing. I will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was as good as ever but the atmosphere and service were sub-par as compared to the many other times we have eaten there. One thing is for certain, the tables for two in the front of the cafe are too small!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Spectacular Heirloom Gazpacho from the starter menu was superb and a meal in itself! I'm already having cravings for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great place to have dinner or brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Came for brunch with a friend visiting out of town...great food, great drinks and the music choice was on point too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was great, as was the service, but the noise level was severely problematic for conversation. Ambience was not really very French. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Tuesday night is the streak special with unlimited frittes. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Enjoyed dinner the meal was delightful and service attentive

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I could hear my guests talking....How refreshing! The well rounded menu gave us plenty if choice. My burger was delicious and the Tuesday Steak and Fritz were enjoyable. The proteins were cooked a little bit more than we ordered, but the food was still enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We are regulars - menus not needed. WCB consistently delivers. We tried the coconut curry mussels for the first time. Be sure to ask for a straw to sip every last drop of the broth! I'm kidding, but only slightly kidding. The broth is so good as to justify putting good manors to the side.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and drinks are delicious! I always enjoy eating at Westport Cafe - whatever the occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had brunch on saturday for mother's day. Both of our meals were very good and very appealing. The bellini's and bloody mary's were very good also!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We felt a little old here, but the food was good and so was the service.
A great stop if yo want to experience the Westport scene

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was great despite being brunch time on Sunday. The chicken hash, although yummy, didn't sit well in my stomach. The Bloody Mary may have needed some Tabasco to give it more of a kick as well. Other than that, we might come back to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome ricotta pancakes and good coffee. Attentive service without being overbearing. Grateful for the patient waitresses who dealt with our un-caffeinated ramblings.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this restaurant! The food is always great and they don't rush you. I love the mussels and the pome frittes are delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went for brunch. The free mimosas with brunch was a nice surprise. The food was good, the service was great. A nice place to spend a little time on a rainy Saturday morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great menu. Slightly shorter than in the past. But still a nice selection. Good selection of specialty cocktails. Often the bar and restaurant are crowded and loud-ish. But on this visit it was less crowded and quieter overall. Really nice experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great menu selection, food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent food.
Service just a bit slow considering it was't very busy when we were there.
Biggest negative was noise, especially the high volume of the music which prevented easy
conversation. Also, the tile walls not good for the acoustics.
Staff was very welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great atmosphere and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love brunch there!! Staff very friendly. Great place for any occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Steak Soirée Night every Tuesday $15 - Signature Steak & frites served with the most amazing bearnaise sauce, did I mention the bottomless frites? Overall Great Service, Value and Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Yeah Sarah. So knowledgeable and accommodating. Really nice menu and affordable wine list with nice selections. We will come back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great happy hour value. Mussels are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. The presentation was beautiful. The sliced steak and egg dish and chicken hash were both superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is my 3rd time here. I love everything that I have had here and so have the people that have gone with me. The service is great! It is a cute little spot, I just wish there was more room. It is a bit cramped. They are always crowded so you better make a reservation. It is a great place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Creative cuisine and exceptional quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.