About Westport Cafe & Bar

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 1:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chicken Liver Pâté - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
polenta and eggs - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Bacon - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Biscuits and Gravy - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Bloody Mary - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Eggs Norwegian - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Oysters on the Half Shell - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Fried Chicken With Sausage Gravy And Brioche French Toast - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Croque Madame - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Mimosa - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Mussels With Bleu Cheese And Bacon - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Egg White Omelette With Fries - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Sardines On Brioche Toast - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Moscow Mule - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Norweigan Benedict - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Trout - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Mussels Steamed In Tomato And Fennel Broth - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Scallops - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Shrimp and Grits - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
brioche french toast - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Egg Florentine Benedict - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Mussels in Tomato Sauce - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Fries - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Arctic Char - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Scallops With Black Truffle Risotto - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Blue Point Oysters - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Pimm's Cup - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Meridian - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Ahi Tuna Burger - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Escargot - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Fennel Soup - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Eggs Benedict With Chicken Hash  - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Steak Frittes - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
seared ahi sandwich - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Pound Cake with Mixed Berries and Lavender Syrup - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Strawberry Hill - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Happy Hour Shrimp - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Espresso Pot De Creme - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Profiteroles - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Potage Saint Germain - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Profiterol - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Arugala Salad - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO
Rhubarb Cocktail - Westport Cafe & Bar, Kansas City, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in 39th St / Westport / Midtown ›

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Cozy (13)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Historic (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my daughter for her 30th birthday w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Took my daughter for her 30th birthday with friends for brunch. We had a party of 8 and they seated us in the back which gave us a nice private atmosphere. We have been here several times in the past and each time was exceptional. Great place in Westport!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Westport Cafe has great ambiance, amazin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Westport Cafe has great ambiance, amazing food, great service, and a solid bar. Be sure to make reservations so you don't have to play the waiting game.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A favorite. Wonderful for a special date ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A favorite. Wonderful for a special date night or great for just drinks & small plates. Love the European vibe of this place. Also: Brunch is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I visited Westport Cafe for a special oc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I visited Westport Cafe for a special occasion. My dinner companion and I arrived while happy hour was still going on and were able to order a couple delicious appetizers. We eventually ordered entrees and dessert as well. Everything was cooked to perfection. The service was exceptional and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant was great. We had specialty cocktails that were outstanding as well. Good price point for the food. It's the perfect place to go for a special occasion or night out with friends. It's a nice, swanky place that won't break the bank. Five stars! I will be going back.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to take a Sunday drive and find ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Decided to take a Sunday drive and find a place for brunch.

Found the Westport Cafe on a newspaper write up and decided to try it.

Long story short, it is a great find!

Wonderful French inspired food, good ambiance, perfect Mimosas and Bellinis plus attentive staff. I had the sweet crepes and eggs and they were to die for!

Had a wonderful time and will probably return even though it is an hour away from home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved the menu; I loved the food; I lo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I loved the menu; I loved the food; I loved the atmosphere; I loved the service; I loved the fact that it was lively but not so much that you could not enjoy conversations; I loved the fact that it is not a chain nor is the restaurant trying to be something it is not; I simply loved the Westport Cafe & Bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we arrived 15 minutes prior to ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although we arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservation time, we were seated right away. Our waiter was attentive and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second happy hour here. The food an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our second happy hour here. The food and service are consistently good. Prices are pretty average. A good place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place! Always is great. I've b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love this place! Always is great. I've been four or five times and always wonder why I don't come more often. Brunch is when everyone clamors to come here, but evenings are fantastic. Sexy space in a Georgetown kinda way.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food portions were smaller than we h ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food portions were smaller than we had last time we visited. That said, their prices are fair. Their homemade English Muffin was so tough we had to request a steak knife to cut through the eggs benedict.

The atmosphere - super loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

Busy night there but food came in reason ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Busy night there but food came in reasonable time. Helpful with drink selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband's burger was the best burger ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My husband's burger was the best burger either of us have ever tasted! I made fun of him for ordering a burger at a French restaurant, he had the last laugh on that. My ravioli were delicious as well. We have been back since this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good place for a Sunday brunch. Excellen ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good place for a Sunday brunch. Excellent chicken hash. All meals were good.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good. We began with apple ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was good. We began with apple fritters. They were disappointingly dry. Our server was Nate, We needed to remind him we were his table. The servers and bartender appeared to be nursing their personal hangovers from the night before. Their personal appearance was abysmal, as if they just rolled out. If their service even pre red to care, it would have been better. If there was a manager.. We didn't see one. We had to beg for more coffee and basic attention! We actually went there Bc one of us was writing an article, which will not happen now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Amazing food! Scallops with truffle ris ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Amazing food! Scallops with truffle risotto and steak frites are our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. We had the lem ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was really good. We had the lemon ricotta pancakes and they were delicious. The place is pretty loud, but it's also a pretty cute location. Good location in Westport.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The ravioli was fantastic as was the ste ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The ravioli was fantastic as was the steak tartare overall friendly people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I haven't written a review in quite a wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I haven't written a review in quite a while, but the Westport Cafe & Bar is so special that it warranted attention. Starting with the chilled cucumber soup, through the extraordinary crab cake, on to chicken thighs and ending with chocolate mousse, every bite was a party in your mouth! Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a fun dining experience. The a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was a fun dining experience. The atmosphere is French bistro, close and cozy, with an excellent bar. Service outstanding and unhurried. Only criticism is entree might be served with salad or bread, at the price. Definitely would return.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We simply love WCB and come here at leas ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We simply love WCB and come here at least once a month. Arugula salad, mussels, steak frites, salmon, and bread pudding are part of our essentials ... oh, and a carafe of Little James Basket. WCB is a real gem!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing special. Bloody Mary was extreme ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Nothing special. Bloody Mary was extremely spicy Bellini was just okay..flat. English muffin was burnt on bottom and hash browns very dry.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Drinks took too long. Came after food wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Drinks took too long.

Came after food was delivered

Too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was ok. Not the greatest for brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was ok. Not the greatest for brunch-have eaten better elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Excellent experience. People were nice a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent experience. People were nice and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of us went for brunch. We all ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

A group of us went for brunch. We all had the Eggs Benedict. A friend of mine made a special request to have firmer poached eggs and they came perfectly to get looking. The Eggs Benedict was delicious! Perfectly poached eggs, creamy hollandaise sauce and crispy hash potatoes. The Mimosas are more champagne than juice which is more to my liking. The service was great. Food excellent. All in all, a lovely place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food with great prices. Everythin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food with great prices. Everything was fresh and delicious. Had cheese plate, mussels, pasta and salad. Very nice and we will be back. Service was friendly and good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This dreamy petit French restaurant only ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This dreamy petit French restaurant only has 10 tables . The food is classic and delicious. For a French foodie this is a little piece of heaven ! Bravo !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Rose wine tasting cart! Fabulo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Loved the Rose wine tasting cart! Fabulous!

One of our favorite restaurants!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable. Had the diver sea scall ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always reliable. Had the diver sea scallop, served over truffle risotto. It was delicious. The bartender made a variety of great cocktails for the table, and all were first rate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not a huge selection, but always wonderf ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Not a huge selection, but always wonderful food - french casual classics with a KC twist. Always surprised when the restaurant isn't packed.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Kevin, the owner, is the most welcoming ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Kevin, the owner, is the most welcoming and caring restaurant owner we've met! He really cares for how your experience is and what you think about the food. Food is delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy myself at Wesrport Cafe. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always enjoy myself at Wesrport Cafe. Food is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I came to Westport Café be ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2016

My friend and I came to Westport Café because we had not been there for a while. The service was great. The food was very good and the wine was great. I definitely would suggest this as a great place to have drinks, appetizer and dinner. We really enjoyed ourselves and plan to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for Sunday Brunch. Signature ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place for Sunday Brunch. Signature dishes included a free Mimosa, Bloody Mary or hot drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and the service are outstanding ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and the service are outstanding! With as many options as there are in the city, we can't wait to go back to Westport Café even as we finish eating!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved. Great service, food and drinks! W ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved. Great service, food and drinks! Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed the e ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed the experience. Where can you go where free coffee is offered along with alcoholic breakfast drinks? Nowhere except there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I invited my adult kids to brunch to get ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I invited my adult kids to brunch to get together and have a leisurely brunch to visit and catch up with each other. Everyone order something different and we all enjoyed the complimentary Mimosa or Bloody Mary's with brunch items. Everyone enjoyed their meal. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good. Menu was a bit l ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very good. Menu was a bit limited but the items on it were well done. Service was mediocre. Our waitress was a bit slow especially considering she had only 2 tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was fantastic but the service w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was fantastic but the service was terrible. Our waitress was very inattentive and never checked back with us, even after one of our friends arrived 30 minutes later than the rest of our group. She had to flag down a random server to take her order. And our waitress took our water, I assumed to refill, and never returned it. We had to ask for it back with more water. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.