About Westport Cafe & Bar

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 1:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Great for Brunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it!! The prairie wood drink is incredible and I so enjoyed the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great, portions big, salade nicoise had real seared tuna- amazing. Ambiance is great unless you are seated in front of the kitchen door.
Service was almost non existant : it took us 40 min to get a drink, one of the cocktails we had to send back- I specifically asked for " no sugar, no sweetness / health issues "- that was ignored . It took the restaurant 7 more minutes to bring me a glass of wine instead.
It took 55 min to get the food: hamburger and salade nicoise- wow- they even apologized for the delay- but didn't even offer anything to sweeten the deal- spoiled date. Will not be back until they fix their service. Such a shame, this place could be great!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Westport cafe is a good French style restaurant with a menu including several fish options and good pommes frites which could have been a little crisper. A nice wine selection and pleasant ambience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything was great!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was a 2nd first date, and the outside appearance was very nice for a rainy, hailing evening. The bartender was very nice, substituted my drink I wanted for an even better beverage since they were out. Was very patient, didn't try to sell you, just laid back. Good good, food! It was my first time and it won't be my last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic breakfast restaurant! Outstanding service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Couldn't resist trying the Steak Soiree before lent. I love the instagram post every Tuesday, so I couldn't resist giving it a try. Perfect temp on the flank steak and endless pommes frites...it doesn't get much better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Can't go wrong with Westport Cafe. I'm a plain Jane and always order the same breakfast no matter where I go, but I have to say this is by far the best. Eggs and hash browns are cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place to eat and drink. Just dont sit by the door when its cold out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

great atmosphere, rich red walls made me feel like I was transported to France. The wine was terrific, the cheese plate and salmon appetizer wonderful. The duck breast sublime and the chocolate mousse with accompaniments just put me over the edge. The servers were helpful and friendly and at our request to compliment the chef, he came to the table to meet us and we had a lovely conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always, the Westport Cafe is an exceptional place to spend time with friends while getting an amazing hand-crafted cocktails and a delicious meal. If you come to Westport and don't at least stop in for a drink you are missing out; it a gem. Its also LOCAL, not a chain like KC Bier Kitchen, Char Bar, Foundry, or McCoys. And though those restaurants are very good, Westport Cafe aims higher and delivers on that every time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was terrific, but a little surprised that they had paper napkins instead of cloth, considering the price point of the entrees. Fabulous food and great atmosphere -- fun French bistro vibe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service, delicious food though a bit pricey for brunch items. Loved their drink selection, the pink peppercorn was amazing! Cute spot, but seating was quite tight. We and the table behind us kept bumping into each others' chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful brunch! Apple fritters are a must. Crepes are great! Lemon ricotta pancakes are the best! Shrimp and polenta is new and it is the bomb! Free drinks with brunch. Super friendly. Make reservations for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the vibe, great atmosphere. Had the scallops which looked wonderful but were over salted.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had an amazing experience here. The food was phenomenal, and the service was amazing. I had last-minute changes to a reservation, and they were able to accommodate me. Very authentic French food, and the restaurant had great atmosphere, as well. My friends also really loved it. I will definitely be coming back here every time I visit Kansas City.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great Happy Hour!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant was small and quaint. The food and service was excellent. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was very disappointing. We had reservations for 7:30 and didnt get seated till 8:15. Plus there was nowhere to wait so waiters and people were constantly trying to get through as we were stuck in the aisle. The food was okay once we got seated but it took forever to get it. it was after 9 when we got our meal. We dont plan on going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We visited for Restaurant Week and were very pleased with our meal and the service! I tried on of their signature cocktails and loved it! It is a very cozy place and was very busy on the night we went. I love their traditional french cooking...sooooo good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Westport Cafe was as always, really good. The only complaint I and my friends had is that it was far too warm in the building. I don't know if they had broken a/c, but it slightly diminished the overall experience. having said that, certainly not enough to keep from recommending! It's definitely a place worth checking out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food. Service was a little slow and we got stuck at a table next to the bathrooms which isn't ideal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Best place in KC hands down!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service. My wife and I knew everyone that worked there as a friend by the time we left.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the best happy hours in town and consistently good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my first time dining here. I was very impressed with the brunch. I had the Norwegian
Eggs Benedict and it was amazing. Love that you get a complimentary cocktail with brunch. That made it a great value as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is my "go to" restaurant when meeting up with friends for a cozy dinner. I love this place for its well executed menu. It doesn't matter what you order from the hamburger (No kidding it's amazing) to something much more complicated these guys execute. The food keeps me loyal here and the menu changes enough to keep things interesting. It's warm, cozy, friendly and delicious with an exceptionally good bar. A definite yes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My wife and I went to Westport Cafe and Bar to celebrate our anniversary. We had a great experience. We went for brunch and had the eggs Florentine and ricotta pancake. Both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

One of our favorite spots to go! We very much like the atmosphere and the food!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our New Year's Day brunch at Westport Cafe. My friend had the chicken hash and it was very tasty. The potatoes were shredded and crisp, just as he likes. I had the omelet with herbs and subbed a biscuit for the fries. Food was yummy, we'd eaten there once before a long time ago, and would certainly go again.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about Westport Cafe & Bar. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall a very good dining experience. Restaurant seemed a little crowded, but the food was excellent. Between a table of 4, we had the scallops, the duck, then raised beef, and the burger. All were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite for mussels (with a carafe of Little James Basket), steak frites, salmon and, of course, bread pudding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited on New Year's Eve. Fantastic prix fixe menu, although we did order off their regular menu. Good portion sizes, fantastic cocktails, and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great fixed menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nothing good or bad. Won't go back unless someone else WANTS to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I will definitely go back to Westport Cafe and Bar. French cuisine in a non-pretentious setting. Food was exceptional. Service was not the best, but our server was kind and brought us everything we needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Good environment and great place to hang

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable atmosphere, food and wine. Great escargot and risotto.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.