About Westport Cafe & Bar

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 1:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chicken Liver Pâté
polenta and eggs
Bacon
Biscuits and Gravy
Bloody Mary
Eggs Norwegian
Oysters on the Half Shell
Fried Chicken With Sausage Gravy And Brioche French Toast
Croque Madame
Mimosa
Mussels With Bleu Cheese And Bacon
Egg White Omelette With Fries
Grilled Sardines On Brioche Toast
Moscow Mule
Norweigan Benedict
Trout
Mussels Steamed In Tomato And Fennel Broth
Scallops
Shrimp and Grits
brioche french toast
Egg Florentine Benedict
Mussels in Tomato Sauce
Fries
Grilled Arctic Char
Scallops With Black Truffle Risotto
Blue Point Oysters
Pimm's Cup
Meridian
Ahi Tuna Burger
Escargot
Roasted Fennel Soup
Eggs Benedict With Chicken Hash
Steak Frittes
seared ahi sandwich
Pound Cake with Mixed Berries and Lavender Syrup
Strawberry Hill
Happy Hour Shrimp
Espresso Pot De Creme
Profiteroles
Potage Saint Germain
Profiterol
Arugala Salad
Rhubarb Cocktail

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in 39th St / Westport / Midtown ›

Fit for Foodies (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Brunch (29)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not a huge selection, but always wonderf ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Not a huge selection, but always wonderful food - french casual classics with a KC twist. Always surprised when the restaurant isn't packed.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Kevin, the owner, is the most welcoming ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Kevin, the owner, is the most welcoming and caring restaurant owner we've met! He really cares for how your experience is and what you think about the food. Food is delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy myself at Wesrport Cafe. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy myself at Wesrport Cafe. Food is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I came to Westport Café be ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My friend and I came to Westport Café because we had not been there for a while. The service was great. The food was very good and the wine was great. I definitely would suggest this as a great place to have drinks, appetizer and dinner. We really enjoyed ourselves and plan to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for Sunday Brunch. Signature ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place for Sunday Brunch. Signature dishes included a free Mimosa, Bloody Mary or hot drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and the service are outstanding ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and the service are outstanding! With as many options as there are in the city, we can't wait to go back to Westport Café even as we finish eating!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved. Great service, food and drinks! W ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved. Great service, food and drinks! Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed the e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed the experience. Where can you go where free coffee is offered along with alcoholic breakfast drinks? Nowhere except there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I invited my adult kids to brunch to get ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I invited my adult kids to brunch to get together and have a leisurely brunch to visit and catch up with each other. Everyone order something different and we all enjoyed the complimentary Mimosa or Bloody Mary's with brunch items. Everyone enjoyed their meal. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good. Menu was a bit l ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very good. Menu was a bit limited but the items on it were well done. Service was mediocre. Our waitress was a bit slow especially considering she had only 2 tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was fantastic but the service w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was fantastic but the service was terrible. Our waitress was very inattentive and never checked back with us, even after one of our friends arrived 30 minutes later than the rest of our group. She had to flag down a random server to take her order. And our waitress took our water, I assumed to refill, and never returned it. We had to ask for it back with more water. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Ordered the crab cake and braised beef a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ordered the crab cake and braised beef and the food was excellent. The staff was helpful and recommended their Sangiovese which turned out to be lovely and a great pairing with both dishes. It was just really loud. By the end of the meal at 8pm we were shouting to hear each other and had to leave to continue our conversation. Fantastic otherwise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mussels and sauce was outstanding. Love ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Mussels and sauce was outstanding. Loved the cucumber soup too. Ravioli and pasta with lamb both very good. Very cool temp in back of restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Normally this is my favorite place for b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Normally this is my favorite place for brunch, but was very disappointed in the food as I ordered the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. They tasted bad and were very small for paying $13.00 for them. Next time I will order my usual favorite, the Brioch French Toast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

You would never know by the name but thi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

You would never know by the name but this place is off the charts delicious!!! The timing between the appetizer, salad and entrée was perfect and our waiter was very professional and accommodating! Can't say enough about this place!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely .. Great service Delicious brunc ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Lovely .. Great service

Delicious brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was phenomenal. I had the steak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was phenomenal. I had the steak and eggs and my sister had the crepes. Both were exceptionally prepared with deliciously complex flavor and gorgeously prepared.

Service was friendly & quick. Our server was helpful with recommendations and incredibly pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good for neighborhood drop ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good for neighborhood drop in. Helped work us in despite no reservation. Servers knew the menu. Inexpensive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to WCB before, but this time ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have been to WCB before, but this time my experience wasn't as great. Specifically the food, the Norwegian eggs Benedict is usually what I ordered and this time it was drenched in hollandaise and one of the muffin was hard (overcooked/baked) and the other was uncooked ( could taste the moist dough). The hors d'oeuvres ordered though were great! (pea ravioli and beet salad).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch. Loved the French ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch. Loved the French Bistro look.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This French restaurant has been open for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This French restaurant has been open for several years, but it wasn't until this year that they actually had French ownership. Delicious, authentic recipes that will take you back to Paris in just a bite. Our group enjoyed the steak, truffle risotto and a Croque Madame. Pommes frites? Oui, s'il vous plaît! Profiteroles for dessert. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint was the hostess. The h ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My only complaint was the hostess. The hostess offers the first impression of a place and this one needs an attitude adjustment. She tried to seat us by the bathrooms in the back and we declined preferring to sit closer to front. She very reluctantly agreed, no smiles, no pleasantries., border line rude.The food was delicious and our server fantastic, so other than the hostess, an enjoyable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dinner with a French feel. Ver ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent dinner with a French feel. Very friendly staff and fun drink and food choices. Highly recommend this establishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Each of us (4) had something different, ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Each of us (4) had something different, and we all tried each dish. Everything was well prepared and presented. Very glad we opted for the profiteroles at the end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best brunch in KC

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best brunch in KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was all wonderful a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service was all wonderful and very enjoyable. My only complaint was the chicken and french toast I ordered was served to me with bone-in chicken. I'm sure if I had thought to ask the server, she would have informed me of such, but it is unusual for such a dish to be served that way and I assumed incorrectly about what I would be receiving. I have been here before and ordered the eggs benedict, which was perfect. I was also slightly sad that I couldn't indulge in a small side of pommes frites, as they only came in the large bowl size. I would go again and I will continue to recommend it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are regulars. She always gets the s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We are regulars. She always gets the steak frites and I always get the fish (originally Artic char, then salmon replaced the char but with the same mustard sauce, and now salmon with a pesto sauce). A carafe of Little James Basket and some bread pudding and we are in our happy place. We love WCB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a small place. The menu has a defin ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It's a small place. The menu has a definite French influence. Casual atmosphere. Good food. We had a nice time with a group of eight. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service . My only iss ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and service .

My only issues is the tables re too small for the meal

Plates. Other then that, everything is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, a bit pricey.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The Food was great, our waitress was also very knowledgeable and friendly. Was a great experience. I felt it was a bit pricey but it was for a special occasion. Not somewhere we would eat frequently because of the prices but again the food was very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Westport Cafe and Bar is always a wonder ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Westport Cafe and Bar is always a wonderful experience all around - great food, service and ambiance - hence why we keep going back! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GO TO BRUNCH!!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This brunch spot is so wonderful! The meals were unique, delicious, and the location was ideal. Loved all of our menu items, and the brunch items come with your choice of a variety of cocktails, coffee, tea, juices, etc. AMAZING and highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good, not great. View at back is r ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food good, not great. View at back is restrooms and construction site. The service was terrible. Food overpriced for what it was. Way too much competition for such poor results. See Yelp review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Musty smell noticed upon entering. Musi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Musty smell noticed upon entering. Music too loud for people in their 60's. Chairs uncomfortable- small and hard and some wobbled. Nice waitress and good service. The four of us enjoyed our meals. It would have been nice to be served bread while we waited. Excellent coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The brunch menu was great and the compli ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch menu was great and the complimentary drink was a nice perk. The wait staff was very friendly and was quick to seat people immediately after opening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice quaint ambience and service. H ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Very nice quaint ambience and service. However, the snap pea ravioli had too much lemon and caused the cream sauce to curdle. I lost my appetite after that. I wish that was better, I might have ordered more if not for that first plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Yummy food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Everything was very good but we went earlier in the evening and to be honest, the last time it was about 8pm and there seemed to be more attention paid to food, service etc. Understand, the difference was from very good to excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good find in westport

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

If you are looking for good food , great service and a nice place to sit and enjoy someone's company on a Monday night go here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very impressed. I came here for br ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I was very impressed. I came here for brunch with a friend, and had quite possibly the best biscuits and gravy I have ever had. My friend got the chicken hash and it was very good, also. Service was quick, but the server was not pushy. The seating is a little crowded, but that is my only complaint. Definitely make a reservation. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious brunch & delectable cocktails!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My friend ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes and I ordered the crepes and we share each. Both were amazing - especially the pancakes! We each tried three cocktails & each one of them was delicious! Our waitress had a very cool, relaxed vibe but was perfectly attentive. We had such a good time that we went back later in the day after shopping for one more cocktail. :)

Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.