About Westport Cafe & Bar

In Paris, the café serves as the center for social interaction. It’s a place where writers, artists, businessmen, and people of all stripes congregate-- to talk, entertain each other, or simply pass the time while enjoying a basic meal, tea, or coffee. In the same tradition, the American tavern serves as the location for the interchange of news and opinions among townspeople, for the sale of solacing liquors, or perhaps for the incidental sociability. Westport Café & Bar is where Parisian café meets classic American Tavern.

Westport Café & Bar offers an American menu with classic French inspiration and preparations. Simple, quality ingredients are braised, grilled, poached, confit, or cured in the same old-world technique that has been practiced by the masters for years. Filet of branzino a la mueniere, pommes frites, sauce béarnaise, roasted chicken grand mere, sauce béchamel, croque monsieur, salads nicoise and lyonnaise.

We look forward to your visit.

419 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 1:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-4740

Website:
http://westportcafeandbar.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 9:30PM

Westport Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Cozy (22)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the Westport Cafe is an exceptional place to spend time with friends while getting an amazing hand-crafted cocktails and a delicious meal. If you come to Westport and don't at least stop in for a drink you are missing out; it a gem. Its also LOCAL, not a chain like KC Bier Kitchen, Char Bar, Foundry, or McCoys. And though those restaurants are very good, Westport Cafe aims higher and delivers on that every time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was terrific, but a little surprised that they had paper napkins instead of cloth, considering the price point of the entrees. Fabulous food and great atmosphere -- fun French bistro vibe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service, delicious food though a bit pricey for brunch items. Loved their drink selection, the pink peppercorn was amazing! Cute spot, but seating was quite tight. We and the table behind us kept bumping into each others' chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful brunch! Apple fritters are a must. Crepes are great! Lemon ricotta pancakes are the best! Shrimp and polenta is new and it is the bomb! Free drinks with brunch. Super friendly. Make reservations for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the vibe, great atmosphere. Had the scallops which looked wonderful but were over salted.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had an amazing experience here. The food was phenomenal, and the service was amazing. I had last-minute changes to a reservation, and they were able to accommodate me. Very authentic French food, and the restaurant had great atmosphere, as well. My friends also really loved it. I will definitely be coming back here every time I visit Kansas City.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great Happy Hour!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant was small and quaint. The food and service was excellent. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was very disappointing. We had reservations for 7:30 and didnt get seated till 8:15. Plus there was nowhere to wait so waiters and people were constantly trying to get through as we were stuck in the aisle. The food was okay once we got seated but it took forever to get it. it was after 9 when we got our meal. We dont plan on going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We visited for Restaurant Week and were very pleased with our meal and the service! I tried on of their signature cocktails and loved it! It is a very cozy place and was very busy on the night we went. I love their traditional french cooking...sooooo good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Westport Cafe was as always, really good. The only complaint I and my friends had is that it was far too warm in the building. I don't know if they had broken a/c, but it slightly diminished the overall experience. having said that, certainly not enough to keep from recommending! It's definitely a place worth checking out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food. Service was a little slow and we got stuck at a table next to the bathrooms which isn't ideal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Best place in KC hands down!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service. My wife and I knew everyone that worked there as a friend by the time we left.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the best happy hours in town and consistently good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my first time dining here. I was very impressed with the brunch. I had the Norwegian

Eggs Benedict and it was amazing. Love that you get a complimentary cocktail with brunch. That made it a great value as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is my "go to" restaurant when meeting up with friends for a cozy dinner. I love this place for its well executed menu. It doesn't matter what you order from the hamburger (No kidding it's amazing) to something much more complicated these guys execute. The food keeps me loyal here and the menu changes enough to keep things interesting. It's warm, cozy, friendly and delicious with an exceptionally good bar. A definite yes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My wife and I went to Westport Cafe and Bar to celebrate our anniversary. We had a great experience. We went for brunch and had the eggs Florentine and ricotta pancake. Both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

One of our favorite spots to go! We very much like the atmosphere and the food!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our New Year's Day brunch at Westport Cafe. My friend had the chicken hash and it was very tasty. The potatoes were shredded and crisp, just as he likes. I had the omelet with herbs and subbed a biscuit for the fries. Food was yummy, we'd eaten there once before a long time ago, and would certainly go again.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about Westport Cafe & Bar. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall a very good dining experience. Restaurant seemed a little crowded, but the food was excellent. Between a table of 4, we had the scallops, the duck, then raised beef, and the burger. All were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite for mussels (with a carafe of Little James Basket), steak frites, salmon and, of course, bread pudding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited on New Year's Eve. Fantastic prix fixe menu, although we did order off their regular menu. Good portion sizes, fantastic cocktails, and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great fixed menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nothing good or bad. Won't go back unless someone else WANTS to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I will definitely go back to Westport Cafe and Bar. French cuisine in a non-pretentious setting. Food was exceptional. Service was not the best, but our server was kind and brought us everything we needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Good environment and great place to hang

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable atmosphere, food and wine. Great escargot and risotto.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Took my daughter for her 30th birthday with friends for brunch. We had a party of 8 and they seated us in the back which gave us a nice private atmosphere. We have been here several times in the past and each time was exceptional. Great place in Westport!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A favorite. Wonderful for a special date night or great for just drinks & small plates. Love the European vibe of this place. Also: Brunch is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Westport Cafe has great ambiance, amazing food, great service, and a solid bar. Be sure to make reservations so you don't have to play the waiting game.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I visited Westport Cafe for a special occasion. My dinner companion and I arrived while happy hour was still going on and were able to order a couple delicious appetizers. We eventually ordered entrees and dessert as well. Everything was cooked to perfection. The service was exceptional and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant was great. We had specialty cocktails that were outstanding as well. Good price point for the food. It's the perfect place to go for a special occasion or night out with friends. It's a nice, swanky place that won't break the bank. Five stars! I will be going back.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Decided to take a Sunday drive and find a place for brunch.

Found the Westport Cafe on a newspaper write up and decided to try it.

Long story short, it is a great find!

Wonderful French inspired food, good ambiance, perfect Mimosas and Bellinis plus attentive staff. I had the sweet crepes and eggs and they were to die for!

Had a wonderful time and will probably return even though it is an hour away from home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Delicious small plates, cocktails and solid service in a subtle, somewhat romantic setting. Feels like European café.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I loved the menu; I loved the food; I loved the atmosphere; I loved the service; I loved the fact that it was lively but not so much that you could not enjoy conversations; I loved the fact that it is not a chain nor is the restaurant trying to be something it is not; I simply loved the Westport Cafe & Bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although we arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservation time, we were seated right away. Our waiter was attentive and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our second happy hour here. The food and service are consistently good. Prices are pretty average. A good place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love this place! Always is great. I've been four or five times and always wonder why I don't come more often. Brunch is when everyone clamors to come here, but evenings are fantastic. Sexy space in a Georgetown kinda way.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food portions were smaller than we had last time we visited. That said, their prices are fair. Their homemade English Muffin was so tough we had to request a steak knife to cut through the eggs benedict.

The atmosphere - super loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Busy night there but food came in reasonable time. Helpful with drink selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My husband's burger was the best burger either of us have ever tasted! I made fun of him for ordering a burger at a French restaurant, he had the last laugh on that. My ravioli were delicious as well. We have been back since this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good place for a Sunday brunch. Excellent chicken hash. All meals were good.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was good. We began with apple fritters. They were disappointingly dry. Our server was Nate, We needed to remind him we were his table. The servers and bartender appeared to be nursing their personal hangovers from the night before. Their personal appearance was abysmal, as if they just rolled out. If their service even pre red to care, it would have been better. If there was a manager.. We didn't see one. We had to beg for more coffee and basic attention! We actually went there Bc one of us was writing an article, which will not happen now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Amazing food! Scallops with truffle risotto and steak frites are our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was really good. We had the lemon ricotta pancakes and they were delicious. The place is pretty loud, but it's also a pretty cute location. Good location in Westport.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The ravioli was fantastic as was the steak tartare overall friendly people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I haven't written a review in quite a while, but the Westport Cafe & Bar is so special that it warranted attention. Starting with the chilled cucumber soup, through the extraordinary crab cake, on to chicken thighs and ending with chocolate mousse, every bite was a party in your mouth! Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was a fun dining experience. The atmosphere is French bistro, close and cozy, with an excellent bar. Service outstanding and unhurried. Only criticism is entree might be served with salad or bread, at the price. Definitely would return.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We simply love WCB and come here at least once a month. Arugula salad, mussels, steak frites, salmon, and bread pudding are part of our essentials ... oh, and a carafe of Little James Basket. WCB is a real gem!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.