About Westend Bistro DC

1190 22nd Street NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Discover Westend Bistro, an award-winning casual American bistro located in Washington, D.C.’s trendy West End.
Our dedicated culinary team presents updated bistro classics, infusing modern and traditional techniques inspired by the seasons.
The focus is on the ingredients, culled from fresh, quality produce from the farms and fields of Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday, 11:30a.m. to 2:30p.m.
Brunch
Sunday 11am-2:30pm
Westend Bistro is closed Saturday and Sunday for Lunch.


Dinner
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:30p.m. to 10 p.m.
Friday - Saturday, 5:30p.m. to 11 p.m.
Westend Bistro is closed Sunday and Monday for Dinner.

Cross Street:
22nd and M

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 974-4900

Website:
http://www.westendbistrodc.com/

Parking Details:
$7 with Validation

Public Transit:
Foggy Bottom Metro

Executive Chef:
Chef Alvin Dela Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
Westend Bistro introduces casual seasonal menus that are simple to understand, yet boast vibrant personality and contemporary twists on local ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Salley Gillespie: 2029745560x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please send event inquiries to info@westendbistrodc.com

Restaurant Photos

Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Watermelom Shrub - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Assorted Oysters - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Seabream - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Corn Soup - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Doughnuts - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Truffled Popcorn - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Pretzel Crusted Chicken - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Ensalada De Quinoa Tabbouleh - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Pan-Seared Red Snapper - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Peach Panna Cotta - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Grilled Trout - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
"Root Beer Float" - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Brownie a la mode - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Gazpacho - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Fried Brussel Sprouts W Garlic Aioli - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Calamari - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Grilled Peach Salad - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Fish Burger - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Seabass - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Bibb Salad - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Baby Spinach Salad With Strawberries, Pecans And Cranberries - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
barbeque brisket sandwich - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Seared Ultra Rare Tuna - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Swordfish - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Pistachio Cake - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Snapper - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Banana Tart - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
White Truffle Fries - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Boston Bibb Lettuce  - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Chicken with Israeli Cous Cous - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Bleu Martini - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Shrimp and Grits - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Milky Way and 20 year old Taylor Port - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Cambria Chardonnay And Candy Corn - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Pan Seared Duck - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Chamomile Cake - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Roasted Chicken Au Jus - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Truffled French Fries - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Cheeseburger - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Fried Pork Belly - Westend Bistro DC, Washington, DC

Westend Bistro DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
1473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ate here for thanksgiving with family. R ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ate here for thanksgiving with family. Really good food and well done. All six kids are the food without too much complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here on our last three tri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have eaten here on our last three trips to DC (thanksgiving each years). I t is a first class restaurant with excellent food and a pleasant environment. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a 90th birthday celebration wit ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a 90th birthday celebration with a good friend. The restaurant was so nice with their complimentary dessert. I especially appreciate that this is not a noisy place, since our friend is hard of hearing. We could converse and have a lovely meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here because we were staying in t ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We ate here because we were staying in the hotel that surrounds it. Like many captive restaurants, the prices were a bit high. But the service was good, the food was tasty, and it was very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful service and good quality food. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful service and good quality food. We will definitely return for brunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed everything about our experienc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I enjoyed everything about our experience except the restaurant was basically empty at 5:30 but we were stuck at a weird table on the edge of the dining area. Our service was very good, and the food and wine were wonderful, top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great location, friendly service. Nice ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great location, friendly service. Nice people watching for DC crowd.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and excellent service.

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Fried Brussels sprouts were incredible. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fried Brussels sprouts were incredible. Celery root soup was delicious. Post belly appetizer should not be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like to go to this restaurant when I w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I like to go to this restaurant when I want to have a serious discussion with my guest. The waiter was a little rushed, but the hostess was totally charming and welcoming. The food was good but not as good as it was expensive. Nevertheless, I'd go again for the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Everyone should dine more often at the R ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Everyone should dine more often at the Ritz Carlton - I am in such a good mood after eating lunch there that I can tackle anything at work for the rest of the afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Westend Bistro and could not have been happier. From the warm greeting upon entering to the complimentary glasses of Prosecco to the incredible service from our waiter Benyimin to the fantastic meal and great drinks to the complimentary dessert with happy anniversary written on the plate the experience was truly wonderful. We were very pleased and grateful for such a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

menu was way too limited and all main en ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2016

menu was way too limited and all main entree offerings were overpriced. gnocchi entree was the size of an appetizer portion. For a place that called itself a "bistro", very few simple offerings. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great menu, wonderful service and ambian ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great menu, wonderful service and ambiance... Will recommend, will return...thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was elegant and delicious; the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was elegant and delicious; the service outstanding; the setting was sophisticated and low key. I highly recommend the Westend Bistro for a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pathetic and Pedestrian When WEB first o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Pathetic and Pedestrian

When WEB first opened, it actually was a destination restaurant with a great chef and good food. Now with its "new chef," the transformation to a "white-bread", boring, unchallenging, pedestrian HOTEL restaurant is complete. We live in "the hood," and would eat here frequently, but after dinner this weekend, our visits only will be when we are desperate. Anything interesting or different -- such as the char with a great braised endive side, or the lamb shank -- are gone, leaving mediocre and everyday salmon and lamb chops in their place. Also the starters are few, strange, and overpriced, and over-seasoned mussels which were a starter now are an entrée. Very mixed up. Dine here only if you must, but calling one of our many home delivery food services will probably serve you better and be better value for the $$s. There is now no mistake that this is just another run-of-the-mill HOTEL restaurant

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The customer service at this Ritz restau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The customer service at this Ritz restaurant was excellent, and we dined here for a business lunch on a nearly empty Tuesday afternoon. I started with the corn soup appetizer, which was beautiful, and tasted wonderfully with the "caviar". Sadly, it was about the amount of a cup of soup, not a bowl. My next course was the mussels, which were a tiny bit undercooked, but edible. My companions meals looked better than mine - the shrimp appetizer, more corn soup, a kale salad with shrimp, and fish. My colleagues were very happy with the taste of their meals, but for $158 for lunch for three (and we only drank water), we all left a little bit hungry still. I won't dine here again simply due to the tiny portion sizes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Super food and serviceq

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our party of four absolutely loved our dinner here. The only problem was the frigid temp in the dining room which the staff tried hard to adjust. Otherwise the food was really beautifully done with great flavors and combinations. Our waiter was attentive and very helpful as were the junior wait staff. All in all a very enjoyable experience and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Mother's Day

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful food and good service. But INCREDIBLY overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We come to Westend for one dish and now ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We come to Westend for one dish and now it's gone!My father has requested to come to this restaurant every time he's in town for one reason: the tuna carpaccio. It's an addicting dish: lightly sliced raw tuna that's so delicate it melts in your mouth. The other food is fine, but nothing special, especially in DC's competitive restaurant scene. Last night was probably the last time we go there unless they return the carpaccio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Delicious Upscale Menu with Variety of Choices

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Four of us dined here on a weeknight and we were all impressed. The menu offers a wide variety of choices and everyone in our party was delighted with their meals. A nice wine list, full bar and excellent service rounded out our great experience. The Roast Salmon on Lentils was especially tasty. Nice atmosphere - we lingered over dinner for 3-1/2 hours and everything was perfectly paced and we were never rushed. I recommend it without hesitation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small portions

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Service and ambiance are fine, but portions are very small and expensive for the size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Welcome menu change

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We live across the street so admittedly we get tired of dining here, but the partial new menu is a welcome change. The char is terrific -- the side is as good as the fish. I would go just to eat this. Salmon, which my husband has was excellent too. Not to take anything away from the meat on the menu, but someone here knows how to cook fish with just the right touches and not too much unnecessary embellishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food/Friendly Service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Always nice to stop in at Westend Bistro especially after work. The menu varies and is usually more adventuresome than most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

OK not great

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Had a business lunch here. The atmosphere was good because we could talk and discuss things. The service was very slow and not great. No refills on water or soft drinks. Lunch servings (salads) were very small and seemed more inclined to a diner than a fancy restaurant. Would eat here again only because of convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice mom/daughter dinner

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I went to the bistro with my mom and toddlers.

It was not be first time and as usual the food was very good.

I had the carbonara pasta and my mom one of the fish.

The service was great and Ted, the server, very helpful to handle my toddlers.

My mom, who was on vacation from France and very picky, loved the fish and the wine.

Overall, a very nice dinner.

I will definitely go back there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unremarkable, unmemorable; that's just fine

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Lunch was fine. No complaints. Every meal need not be a peak experience. I had the salmon croquette starter and duck confit w/collard greens as main course. Well executed but no real flair for either course. The point of the meal was to catch up with an old friend I'd almost lost touch with. I know that among hard-core foodies, that's heresy, but the food was secondary.

Service was fine. The dining room was quiet and compatible with a normal conversation. I'd go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, fantastic service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Westend has delicious food. The famed Brussels sprouts are very generous-- enough to feed at least four people! We enjoyed the light apple napoleon for dessert. We had a great server, Juan, and the manager, Ian, is absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was particularly good during thi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Service was particularly good during this last visit, and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very loud, service good but not Ritz qua ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Very loud, service good but not Ritz quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Always A Pleasure

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2016

I consider it a pleasure whenever I get to dine at Westend Bistro! The food and service never disappoint! I had the Crispy Duck Confit for lunch. The combination of flavors was just delightful. The services is always superb. Ismael took really good care of me and was very attentive throughout my entire dining experience. My cocktail that Tem at the bar made was just what I needed to help me celebrate a successful work meeting. I'll definitely be back.. I may just become a regular.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salty food

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Steak and Frites was wonderful. Other dishes like Cauliflower soup, Curry Skate were way too salty and underwhelming. Brussel Sprouts were burned/charred and also salty as well as Mac and Cheese. This restaurant needs a chef. The food at this restaurant needs to pair better with the nice location, ambiance and attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Really excellent service, Omar (waiter) ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Really excellent service, Omar (waiter) made it a special evening, food outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is consistently a great place for e ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2016

This is consistently a great place for excellent menu and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I hate when waiters ignore me

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Had lunch at Westend Bistro and was very disappointed. Got a sandwich, bread was toasted to burnt. Asked for French fries to be well done, half were soggy and limp. But the worst was the service. Restaurant was less than half full; had to repeatedly ask for more water and when we were ready to leave got the check just fine, but had to call the waiter to no avail to have him take my credit card and bring the check back......it took 15 minutes for something that could have been done in 2 if the waiter would have ever looked my way when he passed numerous times......finally shouted at him and he took the check....is it because I'm a woman?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Great meal

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Had a lovely late-night meal here -- some very inventive winter cocktails were on the menu. The cauliflower soup on the menu was excellent as was the beat salad. Our entrees were also very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Excellent business lunch. Professional staff, good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2015

Truly excellent service and spectacular food on Dec 22, 2015. It was a celebratory dinner for my part of three and absolutely everyone was on point, professional, and contributed to our perfect evening. Many thanks to West End Bistro. We will be returning in the future for more dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just OK.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2015

Allow me to start off saying the service was great. I tried the skate wing since I had never had it before and mussels, since they are some of my favorite food. I'm not sure what to think of the mussels, the broth seemed under-seasoned to me and they were just OK. The skate wing was also just OK, but seemed to be a bit over-seasoned and borderline too salty. The ¨sides" were pretty good, but consisted of 3 roasted fingerling potatoes and 2 tiny pieces of cauliflower. My partner got the salmon, which she seemed to enjoy, but my meal was really just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Consistently Great

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2015

The food and services is always great. One of our guests has gluten and dairy issues, and the server was very good at explaining modifications to menu items. The ambiance is very nice and you can have conversations with your friends at normal talking voice (not the case I find in many DC establishments). The service was A+.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.