About Westend Bistro DC

Discover Westend Bistro, an award-winning casual American bistro located in Washington, D.C.’s trendy West End.
Our dedicated culinary team presents updated bistro classics, infusing modern and traditional techniques inspired by the seasons.
The focus is on the ingredients, culled from fresh, quality produce from the farms and fields of Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania.

1190 22nd Street NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday, 11:30a.m. to 2:30p.m.
Brunch
Sunday 11am-2:30pm
Westend Bistro is closed Saturday and Sunday for Lunch.


Dinner
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:30p.m. to 10 p.m.
Friday - Saturday, 5:30p.m. to 11 p.m.
Westend Bistro is closed Sunday and Monday for Dinner.

Cross Street:
22nd and M

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 974-4900

Website:
http://www.westendbistrodc.com/

Parking Details:
$7 with Validation

Public Transit:
Foggy Bottom Metro

Executive Chef:
Chef Alvin Dela Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
Westend Bistro introduces casual seasonal menus that are simple to understand, yet boast vibrant personality and contemporary twists on local ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Salley Gillespie: (202) 974-5560

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please send event inquiries to info@westendbistrodc.com

Westend Bistro DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
See All
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Romantic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My favorite go to place with clients and friends. The food is consistently great and wonderful options for pescatarians.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Consistently excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The only positive experience - our server was really nice, informative, and pleasant. In fact all those who were serving food and taking care of guests that night were very helpful and attentive. Hostess on the other hand was a total disgrace; see my reasoning below.

My wife and I went to celebrate the Valentines Day. I asked the hostess if we could grab one of the booths, but she flat out refused saying they are not available. Seemed a little rude considering three of them were empty, and staring back at me. Not only that, throughout the night, seemingly random people occupied those and other booths in the dining room. Plus there was no option to reserve a booth, so in my opinion if they are empty, they are available. Anyway, it was the way she turned down my request that didn't sit well with me. Meal options were from a prefix menu that consisted of below average beat salad, luke warm butternut squash soup, a plate of mini appetizers to share, bland duck with figs and sauce I couldn't make sense of. Saving grace at the end was chocolate decadence buffet that had some good offerings - hence 3 stars; would've been one otherwise. Ended up shelling $260 for this! Completely ruined what was supposed to be a romantic experience. Ambiance too was below average.

I will never visit this restaurant again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Lunch for two professional colleagues. We both ordered the Kale salad and added salmon to it. The salad was a good size for an entree salad and the piece of salmon was sizeable and cooked to perfection. And the bread was delicious. and the wait staff was professional and efficient. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Easy for a group of traveling friends to find and gather. Easy to hear, good service, food fine. Reasonably priced and good, short ribs apparently very good. Portuguese wine - makes all gatherings better than expected.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Quiet and pleasant. Service attentive and efficient. Medium rare lamb was overcooked for the request, but a good cut and portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were in WDC for the Women's March and, the night before, wanted an easy, convenient choice and a restaurant to relax and get ready for the big event. We were so lucky to have booked the West End Bistro -- a 2 minute walk from our hotel. Lovely, friendly, wonderful food. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered.

Would/will return next time I'm in the neighborhood!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We made a reservation for this past Monday Jan 2 and when we got there, they were closed. They never opened. They failed to block their open table system. We called to let them know this and it took them 3 days to get back to us. Not great customer service. Normally good but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the dinner especially the branzino and had a great time talking before we hit the hay.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent service on multiple occasions. Saturday breakfast bar/brunch was open to 12:00 noon - and delicious! Dinner menu was great, and service - again - phenomenal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ate here for thanksgiving with family. Really good food and well done. All six kids are the food without too much complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have eaten here on our last three trips to DC (thanksgiving each years). I t is a first class restaurant with excellent food and a pleasant environment. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a 90th birthday celebration with a good friend. The restaurant was so nice with their complimentary dessert. I especially appreciate that this is not a noisy place, since our friend is hard of hearing. We could converse and have a lovely meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We ate here because we were staying in the hotel that surrounds it. Like many captive restaurants, the prices were a bit high. But the service was good, the food was tasty, and it was very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful service and good quality food. We will definitely return for brunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I enjoyed everything about our experience except the restaurant was basically empty at 5:30 but we were stuck at a weird table on the edge of the dining area. Our service was very good, and the food and wine were wonderful, top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great location, friendly service. Nice people watching for DC crowd.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fried Brussels sprouts were incredible. Celery root soup was delicious. Post belly appetizer should not be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I like to go to this restaurant when I want to have a serious discussion with my guest. The waiter was a little rushed, but the hostess was totally charming and welcoming. The food was good but not as good as it was expensive. Nevertheless, I'd go again for the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Everyone should dine more often at the Ritz Carlton - I am in such a good mood after eating lunch there that I can tackle anything at work for the rest of the afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Westend Bistro and could not have been happier. From the warm greeting upon entering to the complimentary glasses of Prosecco to the incredible service from our waiter Benyimin to the fantastic meal and great drinks to the complimentary dessert with happy anniversary written on the plate the experience was truly wonderful. We were very pleased and grateful for such a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2016

menu was way too limited and all main entree offerings were overpriced. gnocchi entree was the size of an appetizer portion. For a place that called itself a "bistro", very few simple offerings. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great menu, wonderful service and ambiance... Will recommend, will return...thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was elegant and delicious; the service outstanding; the setting was sophisticated and low key. I highly recommend the Westend Bistro for a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Pathetic and Pedestrian
When WEB first opened, it actually was a destination restaurant with a great chef and good food. Now with its "new chef," the transformation to a "white-bread", boring, unchallenging, pedestrian HOTEL restaurant is complete. We live in "the hood," and would eat here frequently, but after dinner this weekend, our visits only will be when we are desperate. Anything interesting or different -- such as the char with a great braised endive side, or the lamb shank -- are gone, leaving mediocre and everyday salmon and lamb chops in their place. Also the starters are few, strange, and overpriced, and over-seasoned mussels which were a starter now are an entrée. Very mixed up. Dine here only if you must, but calling one of our many home delivery food services will probably serve you better and be better value for the $$s. There is now no mistake that this is just another run-of-the-mill HOTEL restaurant

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The customer service at this Ritz restaurant was excellent, and we dined here for a business lunch on a nearly empty Tuesday afternoon. I started with the corn soup appetizer, which was beautiful, and tasted wonderfully with the "caviar". Sadly, it was about the amount of a cup of soup, not a bowl. My next course was the mussels, which were a tiny bit undercooked, but edible. My companions meals looked better than mine - the shrimp appetizer, more corn soup, a kale salad with shrimp, and fish. My colleagues were very happy with the taste of their meals, but for $158 for lunch for three (and we only drank water), we all left a little bit hungry still. I won't dine here again simply due to the tiny portion sizes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our party of four absolutely loved our dinner here. The only problem was the frigid temp in the dining room which the staff tried hard to adjust. Otherwise the food was really beautifully done with great flavors and combinations. Our waiter was attentive and very helpful as were the junior wait staff. All in all a very enjoyable experience and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful food and good service. But INCREDIBLY overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We come to Westend for one dish and now it's gone!My father has requested to come to this restaurant every time he's in town for one reason: the tuna carpaccio. It's an addicting dish: lightly sliced raw tuna that's so delicate it melts in your mouth. The other food is fine, but nothing special, especially in DC's competitive restaurant scene. Last night was probably the last time we go there unless they return the carpaccio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Four of us dined here on a weeknight and we were all impressed. The menu offers a wide variety of choices and everyone in our party was delighted with their meals. A nice wine list, full bar and excellent service rounded out our great experience. The Roast Salmon on Lentils was especially tasty. Nice atmosphere - we lingered over dinner for 3-1/2 hours and everything was perfectly paced and we were never rushed. I recommend it without hesitation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Service and ambiance are fine, but portions are very small and expensive for the size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We live across the street so admittedly we get tired of dining here, but the partial new menu is a welcome change. The char is terrific -- the side is as good as the fish. I would go just to eat this. Salmon, which my husband has was excellent too. Not to take anything away from the meat on the menu, but someone here knows how to cook fish with just the right touches and not too much unnecessary embellishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Always nice to stop in at Westend Bistro especially after work. The menu varies and is usually more adventuresome than most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Had a business lunch here. The atmosphere was good because we could talk and discuss things. The service was very slow and not great. No refills on water or soft drinks. Lunch servings (salads) were very small and seemed more inclined to a diner than a fancy restaurant. Would eat here again only because of convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I went to the bistro with my mom and toddlers.
It was not be first time and as usual the food was very good.
I had the carbonara pasta and my mom one of the fish.

The service was great and Ted, the server, very helpful to handle my toddlers.

My mom, who was on vacation from France and very picky, loved the fish and the wine.

Overall, a very nice dinner.
I will definitely go back there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Lunch was fine. No complaints. Every meal need not be a peak experience. I had the salmon croquette starter and duck confit w/collard greens as main course. Well executed but no real flair for either course. The point of the meal was to catch up with an old friend I'd almost lost touch with. I know that among hard-core foodies, that's heresy, but the food was secondary.

Service was fine. The dining room was quiet and compatible with a normal conversation. I'd go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Westend has delicious food. The famed Brussels sprouts are very generous-- enough to feed at least four people! We enjoyed the light apple napoleon for dessert. We had a great server, Juan, and the manager, Ian, is absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Service was particularly good during this last visit, and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Very loud, service good but not Ritz quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.