About Westend Bistro DC

1190 22nd Street NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Discover Westend Bistro, an award-winning casual American bistro located in Washington, D.C.’s trendy West End. Our dedicated culinary team presents updated bistro classics, infusing modern and traditional techniques inspired by the seasons. The focus is on the ingredients, culled from fresh, quality produce from the farms and fields of Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday, 11:30a.m. to 2:30p.m.
Westend Bistro is closed Saturday and Sunday for Lunch.

Dinner
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:30p.m. to 10 p.m.
Friday - Saturday, 5:30p.m. to 11 p.m.
Westend Bistro is closed Sunday and Monday for Dinner.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 974-4900

Website:
http://www.westendbistrodc.com/

Parking Details:
$7 with Validation

Public Transit:
Foggy Bottom Metro

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Barnett

Private Party Facilities:
Westend Bistro introduces casual seasonal menus that are simple to understand, yet boast vibrant personality and contemporary twists on local ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Salley Gillespie: 2029745560x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please send event inquiries to info@westendbistrodc.com

Restaurant Photos

Watermelom Shrub
Assorted Oysters
Seabream
barbeque brisket sandwich
Corn Soup
Doughnuts
Truffled Popcorn
Pretzel Crusted Chicken
Ensalada De Quinoa Tabbouleh
Gazpacho
Grilled Trout
Pan-Seared Red Snapper
Brownie a la mode
"Root Beer Float"
Peach Panna Cotta
Fried Brussel Sprouts W Garlic Aioli
Calamari
Grilled Peach Salad
Fish Burger
Baby Spinach Salad With Strawberries, Pecans And Cranberries
Bibb Salad
Seabass
Seared Ultra Rare Tuna
Swordfish
Pistachio Cake
Snapper
White Truffle Fries
Banana Tart
Boston Bibb Lettuce
Bleu Martini
Chicken with Israeli Cous Cous
Shrimp and Grits
Milky Way and 20 year old Taylor Port
Cambria Chardonnay And Candy Corn
Pan Seared Duck
Roasted Chicken Au Jus
Chamomile Cake
Cheeseburger
Truffled French Fries
Chicken Fried Pork Belly

Westend Bistro DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (19)
great for lunch (16)
See All
special occasion (10)
good for groups (6)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
romantic (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Super food and serviceq

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Our party of four absolutely loved our dinner here. The only problem was the frigid temp in the dining room which the staff tried hard to adjust. Otherwise the food was really beautifully done with great flavors and combinations. Our waiter was attentive and very helpful as were the junior wait staff. All in all a very enjoyable experience and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful food and good service. But INCREDIBLY overpriced!

food2
ambience3
service3

We come to Westend for one dish and now ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We come to Westend for one dish and now it's gone!My father has requested to come to this restaurant every time he's in town for one reason: the tuna carpaccio. It's an addicting dish: lightly sliced raw tuna that's so delicate it melts in your mouth. The other food is fine, but nothing special, especially in DC's competitive restaurant scene. Last night was probably the last time we go there unless they return the carpaccio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Upscale Menu with Variety of Choices

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Four of us dined here on a weeknight and we were all impressed. The menu offers a wide variety of choices and everyone in our party was delighted with their meals. A nice wine list, full bar and excellent service rounded out our great experience. The Roast Salmon on Lentils was especially tasty. Nice atmosphere - we lingered over dinner for 3-1/2 hours and everything was perfectly paced and we were never rushed. I recommend it without hesitation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Small portions

Dined on May 4, 2016

Service and ambiance are fine, but portions are very small and expensive for the size.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcome menu change

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We live across the street so admittedly we get tired of dining here, but the partial new menu is a welcome change. The char is terrific -- the side is as good as the fish. I would go just to eat this. Salmon, which my husband has was excellent too. Not to take anything away from the meat on the menu, but someone here knows how to cook fish with just the right touches and not too much unnecessary embellishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food/Friendly Service

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Always nice to stop in at Westend Bistro especially after work. The menu varies and is usually more adventuresome than most.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

OK not great

Dined on April 20, 2016

Had a business lunch here. The atmosphere was good because we could talk and discuss things. The service was very slow and not great. No refills on water or soft drinks. Lunch servings (salads) were very small and seemed more inclined to a diner than a fancy restaurant. Would eat here again only because of convenience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice mom/daughter dinner

Dined on April 19, 2016

I went to the bistro with my mom and toddlers. It was not be first time and as usual the food was very good. I had the carbonara pasta and my mom one of the fish. The service was great and Ted, the server, very helpful to handle my toddlers. My mom, who was on vacation from France and very picky, loved the fish and the wine. Overall, a very nice dinner. I will definitely go back there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Unremarkable, unmemorable; that's just fine

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Lunch was fine. No complaints. Every meal need not be a peak experience. I had the salmon croquette starter and duck confit w/collard greens as main course. Well executed but no real flair for either course. The point of the meal was to catch up with an old friend I'd almost lost touch with. I know that among hard-core foodies, that's heresy, but the food was secondary. Service was fine. The dining room was quiet and compatible with a normal conversation. I'd go there again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, fantastic service

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Westend has delicious food. The famed Brussels sprouts are very generous-- enough to feed at least four people! We enjoyed the light apple napoleon for dessert. We had a great server, Juan, and the manager, Ian, is absolutely wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was particularly good during thi ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Service was particularly good during this last visit, and the food was excellent.

food3
ambience3
service4

Very loud, service good but not Ritz qua ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Very loud, service good but not Ritz quality

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Pleasure

Dined on March 3, 2016

I consider it a pleasure whenever I get to dine at Westend Bistro! The food and service never disappoint! I had the Crispy Duck Confit for lunch. The combination of flavors was just delightful. The services is always superb. Ismael took really good care of me and was very attentive throughout my entire dining experience. My cocktail that Tem at the bar made was just what I needed to help me celebrate a successful work meeting. I'll definitely be back.. I may just become a regular.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Salty food

Dined on February 20, 2016

Steak and Frites was wonderful. Other dishes like Cauliflower soup, Curry Skate were way too salty and underwhelming. Brussel Sprouts were burned/charred and also salty as well as Mac and Cheese. This restaurant needs a chef. The food at this restaurant needs to pair better with the nice location, ambiance and attentive wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really excellent service, Omar (waiter) ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Really excellent service, Omar (waiter) made it a special evening, food outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is consistently a great place for e ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

This is consistently a great place for excellent menu and service!

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I hate when waiters ignore me

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Had lunch at Westend Bistro and was very disappointed. Got a sandwich, bread was toasted to burnt. Asked for French fries to be well done, half were soggy and limp. But the worst was the service. Restaurant was less than half full; had to repeatedly ask for more water and when we were ready to leave got the check just fine, but had to call the waiter to no avail to have him take my credit card and bring the check back......it took 15 minutes for something that could have been done in 2 if the waiter would have ever looked my way when he passed numerous times......finally shouted at him and he took the check....is it because I'm a woman?

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal

Dined on January 31, 2016

Had a lovely late-night meal here -- some very inventive winter cocktails were on the menu. The cauliflower soup on the menu was excellent as was the beat salad. Our entrees were also very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

Excellent business lunch. Professional staff, good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

Dined on December 22, 2015

Truly excellent service and spectacular food on Dec 22, 2015. It was a celebratory dinner for my part of three and absolutely everyone was on point, professional, and contributed to our perfect evening. Many thanks to West End Bistro. We will be returning in the future for more dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was just OK.

Dined on December 8, 2015

Allow me to start off saying the service was great. I tried the skate wing since I had never had it before and mussels, since they are some of my favorite food. I'm not sure what to think of the mussels, the broth seemed under-seasoned to me and they were just OK. The skate wing was also just OK, but seemed to be a bit over-seasoned and borderline too salty. The ¨sides" were pretty good, but consisted of 3 roasted fingerling potatoes and 2 tiny pieces of cauliflower. My partner got the salmon, which she seemed to enjoy, but my meal was really just OK.

food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

The food and services is always great. One of our guests has gluten and dairy issues, and the server was very good at explaining modifications to menu items. The ambiance is very nice and you can have conversations with your friends at normal talking voice (not the case I find in many DC establishments). The service was A+.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Over priced for an average meal.

Dined on November 26, 2015

I was very dissapointed. Way over priced for what you get. The turkey and stuffing seemed to be pre-prepared, and cut to serve. Dersert was nothing special. People were very pleasent. Atomsphere was good. Drinks were good. Paid $200+ for a $75 meal.

food5
ambience4
service5

Service was outstanding and very friendl ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Service was outstanding and very friendly. Good food.

food5
ambience5
service5

we loved the booths -- perfect for catch ...

Dined on November 23, 2015

we loved the booths -- perfect for catching up with out-of-town friends

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

As always the food and service was great - love coming back to this place and brining our friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good place

Dined on November 14, 2015

We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast at this restaurant located in the Ritz-Carlton Washington DC. The Cobb salad at lunch was very nice. At dinner, the food was good and the service was great. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. I would recommend it even if you are not staying at the hotel.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Birthday Ever -

Dined on November 10, 2015

This was the best birthday experience ever. I was able to reserve the chef's table (pass through) and my girlfriend had a spectacular time watching the high energy in the kitchen, and the precision to detail in the dishes. Truly a momentous occasion coupled with the perfect venue. Highly recommend anyone to go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food

Dined on November 5, 2015

The food was really good and the meals were original, presentation of the meals modern.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

A favorite place to enjoy happy hour and ...

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

A favorite place to enjoy happy hour and/or a light dinner. Excellent drink prices and bar bites during happy hour. Staff made is feel welcome and valued.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for Special occasion

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

Food and service were superb! Tried beef carpaccio - excellent! We love coming back to this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

I loved the food and service. Good wine ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

I loved the food and service. Good wine list. Nice service. Ambiance was a problem (for me) since the restaurant was almost empty. This was a Sunday night on the holiday weekend. The were no availability shown in OpenTable, but when I called the restaurant they had any time I wanted...for 10 people too!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, good service

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

We dined here before going to a play at the Kennedy Center. We arrived at 5:30 and was quickly seated. We ordered drinks and a starter of 12 oysters. There were great, salty and full-bodied. We had the flat iron steak and salmon entrees. The steak was fabulous, cooked just right and paired with wonderful fries. The salmon was good, missing just a little sauce or spice that would have elevated it to great. The only drawback was the 20 min wait between the oysters and the dinners. Was just able to finish and walk over to KC by 7:00. My suggestion is to eat at WEB when you are in the mood for a leisurely evening. The food was great, but the kitchen is not too speedy, (esp. when there are only 3 other tables with diners).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was out of this world, fantastic service

Dined on October 9, 2015

Love this place, was not disappointed - food was incredible, each plate looked and tasted spectacular, the service was attentive without being overbearing, loved sitting by the window and watching the people walking through the streets.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Westend Bistro Yes

Dined on October 7, 2015

They have a new chef since eating there over a year ago, and he's doing great food. Dined there with 2 friends and we all had the heirloom tomato mozzarella salad. Refreshing and delicious. The smoked duck reuben sandwich fantastic. And the tuna nicoise the best I've had since Kinkaeds closed. Their menu makes me want to return again and again. Look forward to returning for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Extraordinary

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

Fish dishes are superb: skate and sword. We got very attentive service with special attention. We keep coming back to this place :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Cool spot in DC

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Liked the restaurant layout. Food was good although a few items were a bit salty. Service was great and they mixed a killer Negroni.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great lunch at West End Bistro

Dined on August 17, 2015

Other the past three years, I have had lunch three times during the week at West End Bistro and each time was memorable. A warm welcome from the hostess; choice table in the window; excellent service; and delicious food. On two of the occasions, I was surprised with a special dessert in recognition of my birthday that day. The third time I enjoyed lunch with an out of town friend whom I have not seen in many years; the West End Bistro was the perfect spot to catch up.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

consistently delivers delicious food

Dined on August 15, 2015

What I love about the food and service at Westend Bistro is that it's perfectly executed. You can taste the flavor of every vegetable, morsel of fish and dessert. And the texture of the good is preserved, while perfectly cooked! Service is just as great, without the waiter constantly interrupting or needing to ask you what your needs are ... They just seem to know when to come to the table and take care of you. Parking is not obvious .... Apparently there's valet but I couldn't find it and drove around the labyrinth that is the West End before I found street parking. Depending on what you're looking for, it's a quieter meal experience .... To me it feels like a foodie meal in a fancier neighborhood restaurant, as opposed to being a destination.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.