Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About West Shore Cafe

A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices.

As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort.

During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.

5160 West Lake Blvd
Homewood, CA 96141
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Please see https://www.westshorecafe.com/events/ for current hours of operation.

Cross Street:
Homewood Mountain Resort

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 525-5200

Website:
http://www.westshorecafe.com/

Entertainment:
The West Shore Cafe occasionally hosts live music, featuring local talent. Additionally, the West Shore Cafe hosts special menu items for happy hour, holidays, and festive occasions.

Parking Details:
West Shore Cafe offer complimentary car parking, valet parking during summer months, and additional parking at sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort (steps from the restaurant). Those visiting by boat can also enjoy free parking and valet service from our pier.

Public Transit:
Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Ben Deinken

Private Party Facilities:
With flexible indoor and outdoor event spaces that make the most of the picturesque views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountain peaks, striking interior design, and impeccable catering services, the West Shore Café and Homewood Mountain Resort are a perfect location to celebrate in Tahoe.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Saxston: (530) 525-5200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Always popular, Local Mondays at West Shore Cafe are a great way to affordably taste the freshest produce, seafood and meats that California has to offer. Whether you dine solo while staying in a West Shore vacation property, or invite a group of ten friends that live at the lake, West Shore Café’s menu has options that will satisfy any appetite and will pair perfectly with the Café’s wine list and cocktail menu.

West Shore Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (51)
Waterfront (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Seasonal (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (15)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Food bet uneven one dish seriously underseasoned
Another had to be sent back to be heated
Third was fine
Waiter definitely phoned it in not at all pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Seating on a pier on Lake Tahoe is a rare thing, worth a visit, and they have a nice patio too. Nobody was inside for dinner on this August Saturday night. That's for ski season. Heaters along the pier were not close enough to warm the both of us, but tolerable. They were staggered along the sides of the pier but oddly one had its gas hose running across where everybody walked. Big tripping hazard. Hose should run under the pier to come up on the side where the heater was. Male waiter was very impersonal. Didn't get his name but he had a non-US accent, probably European. Food was disappointing except for the great wedge salad. The bison steak on special was huge, done correctly medium rare, but was tough. Would have been excellent value otherwise. The Lobster Corn Dogs on the menu was disappointing - tails with a fried batter exterior that offered nothing except the extra work to peel it off. There should have been more of the nice sauce, whatever it was.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

They originally seated us on the pier... After 7pm and already in the 60's with a breeze. Requested to be seated closer to the building, which they accommodated and made a huge difference for our comfort. Service time was acceptable but not really attentive. The food was good, the Tahoe salad and Bison ribeye. The one complaint we would have for the property, and it is big !! The restrooms were worse than most gas station restrooms. They were in poor condition when we first arrived at 7pm and were truly deplorable 2 hours later.
Probably would not bother going back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy taking our guests to West Shore Cafe for dinner. The sunset and alpine glow make this outdoor dining experience truly amazing. The halibut special was perfectly prepared. We enjoyed a bottle of Hahn SLH (Santa Lucia Highlands) Chardonnay.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Dining on the pier is a nice experience. Our service was excellent. I was less enthused with a beautiful piece of wild salmon paired with a tomato sauce and pintos and no greens. The flavors did not go well. I often prepare a nice piece of salmon with simpler, fresh ingredients so you can enjoy the flavors of the fish. However, I will go back again and try something else.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the West Shore cafe for it's beautiful views and being on the water. The food lately has been hit or miss. This visit was not good. The prices were up probably due to the summer, but too much for the meal in my opinion. Tahoe has a shortage of wait staff, so we expected it to be slower. It was a beautiful evening eating out on the dock. Husband said not to go there again, but due to the location, we might anyway.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Beautiful location on the lake. Special halibut was very good. Martini was very good also. Music was way too loud and not tasteful for that caliber of restaurant in my opinion. The use of heaters on low was subtle but effective. I will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Have always loved taking our boat here for lunch and considered the food some of the best on the lake. However, this time, the service was very slow, even though it was a Wednesday and not crowded. In addition, food just average although pricy. The fish tacos, with Halibut, only had one small piece of fish in each taco. My husband had the pulled pork and too said just average. Hope they can improve!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Beautiful venue, nice bartenders and servers, but took forever to get food. Wouldn't mind the wait since Tahoe Basin had a shortage of servers, but good was so bad. Overcooked halibut had greasy, spicy sauce on one side and some unidentifiable stuff on other side. Purple potatoes off taste and were very sweet. Husband's lobster corn dog also overcooked with some strange blue-gray tinted batter. Corn relish side was tasty though. Our server was very pleasant, but stretched too thin to get to us in a timely manner. Hostess was equally as pleasant. She admitted when we asked how to call the restaurant and get an answer, that their phone system not good. May go back for a drink and the view, but not worth it for the food and spotty service.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful seafood dinner while taking in the views of Lake Tahoe from the outdoor seating area. The place was boater-friendly with Valet boat service and a smart-casual ambiance right on the waterfront.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Beautiful view and great service. Food was good. Kids enjoyed the mac and cheese.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Gorgeous setting. Outdoor tables with umbrellas right on the dock. Amazing views all around. Food and service were great. A very special place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great experience. Got there just in time for the sunset and full moon rise. My girlfriend and I had a very romantic evening. Thank you.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Ordered a Ceasar Salad whith was one of the worst I have had...old lettuce and an unconventional dressing. Did not eat it. Waiter did not ask if there was anything wrong with the salad or if we were enjoying our meal...seemed disinterested. This restaurant is in a priceless location right on the water's edge of Lake Tahoe...so that is the draw. It would be lovely if they could improve the quality and preparation of the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 3, 2017

You can't go wrong eating out on the dock with all of the coming and going of boats for starters. Hamburgers are perfect and if you ask for med rare, you get med rare! The lobster corn dog is a grown up corn dog.... remember, this isn't New England, but a whole lobster tail in a crunchy not at all greasy crust with a wonderful fresh corn aioli is a nice surprise. For dessert, the berry tuili is refreshing and decadent all in one. Hard not to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We've eaten here for years and this year the service and food was sub par. My brother had scallops that smelled like ammonia and the waitress and manager were less than accommodating. I'm hoping this is a one off but I'm def rethinking eating here again especially considering the price.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We have been very disappointed over the last several years as the food and service has gone to hell But, this last visit for lunch was a pleasant surprise. The food was much better and the service as well. I hope this is a turning point and that they continue to ramp it up. The setting is too nice to screw it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The best restaurant on the lake to boat to for lunch. Three lunches this week. Wonderful. Brent Terry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beautiful views, Friendly and efficient service, but rather small entree portion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Lobster corn dog was delicious if a little strange. Filet was perfectly cooked even though out of my preferred entre the halibut (disappointed). Service was excellent, thank you Courtney! View was incredible. The peach and burrata salad which we split was delicious and perfect for two! Very nice dinner and the wine selection was affordable and varied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Stunning dining on the pier and lakefront of Lake Tahoe with attentive and knowledgeable service. Fresh and organic seasonal offerings, but be prepared for various menu items to be "out" on the night you are dining - does not matter weekend or weekday or time of dining - and not always the same items are "out". Also beware booking a table for a "romantic" evening, only to have a family group with multiple children in high chairs put next to you (in spite of the restaurant not being full). A good location if you live (or are staying) on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe and want to avoid the 20-30 construction delays most weekdays.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very poor management. Poor communication, slow service, good food when it arrived

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We all enjoyed our meal and the waterfront dining on Lake Tahoe!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our waiter Hoke was very attentive and helpful. He did everything to make sure we enjoyed our evening

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Second time in as many weeks......However we had a different experience, slow service, some menu items were already sold out 6:30 reservations. Wedding party with 120 plus guests and a busy summer crowd made it a less than perfect experience! They over extended themselves and our waiter was very vocal about it!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Combination of beautiful location and excellent food on Lake Tahoe. The West Shore is especially nice for dinner as the sun sets behind the restaurant and mountains so the diners are protected from direct sun. I've been going there almost every summer since they opened and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Sadly, we were disappointed with our lunch for 6 guests at West Shore Cafe. For years, this has been our hands-down favorite boat-in lunch spot at Tahoe. Our less than stellar experience began when the server spilled 4 glasses of ice water on one of our guests. I know this was an accident that could happen anywhere but, unfortunately it was a portent of things to come. When our lunch was served, inexplicably my lunch was left out. How the server could bring 5 dishes and not notice that there were 6 of us is baffling. To their credit, when I flagged down a hostess, she was able to get my lunch out quite quickly. My wife has always loved the peach and buratta salad. In previous years, it was served caprese-style with slices of buratta stacked up with peach slices. This year, the format was changed to a large chunk of buratta whose taste was totally overpowered by an unnecessary sprinkling of very powerful black salt flakes. In addition, instead of tender, sweet peach slices, they substituted firm, unripe nectarines. I can't understand why they messed with a previously great recipe. I had the fish tacos which were OK but certainly not memorable. Another guest at our table, who also ordered the fish tacos, was served a chicken taco, which wasn't even on the menu. Again, to West Shore's credit, they comp'ed the unordered chicken taco and also 2 servings of desert for the table, in addition to providing a West Shore t-shirt to the unfortunate guest whose blouse was soaked with the ice water. We brought our 4 weekend house guests to West Shore for what we told them would be a wonderful meal in a great setting. The setting is still beautiful but the dining experience did not match up. I doubt we will return this season but will probably given them another try next summer.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Beautiful location on the shores of Lake Tahoe
Service was great
Most of the food was great
Had problem with one entree but was fixed quickly
Great for our 1st wedding anniversary

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Can't beat the view! You can sit outside or right on the pier! The homemade chicken soup was great. They will give you everything you need to make your own S'mores on the pier. We appreciated the fact that the prices on the menu were fair. The only drawback was the slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I had my birthday dinner here on a spectacular summer evening. Request an outdoor seat on the pier. Dinner was great, with lobster corn dogs and a spiced chilled tomato soup the highlights.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a delightful lunch at West Shore Cafe. The Lamb Banh Mi was flavorful & delicious. My friend said the salmon fish tacos were tasty though the tortillas were way too small. The fish tacos filling was adequately sized; the tortillas were just super small (4-5"). The lemon dessert was excellent. You can't beat the atmosphere, setting or service here either.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very nice dinner experience. The food was delicious and our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. I don't eat dairy or gluten and had no problem finding dishes to eat. They had a chilled tomato soup that was so fresh and the house salad had local greens from around the area and fresh peaches. The scallop appetizer was very flavorful. We will go back but plan extra time getting there the road was only one lane in several areas so we were 15 mins late for our reservation. Saw the sunset over the mountains and before we left saw the full moon come up over Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

West shore Cafe is the best outdoor dining and cocktail place in Lake Tahoe. It is on the higher end of price but the best views and very good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

You can't beat the view at the West Shore Cafe & Inn. You can sip your brut, beer, or cocktail right on the pier overlooking the crystal clear waters of Tahoe. West shore is the best shore, you can't go wrong.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Expensive. 14.00 bison burger served with cold pre-cooked fries. Blood Mary had way too much cayenne?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great location but service was poor and they had run out of half the items on the menu it seemed - and they'd only just opened for the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The setting is always beautiful. For the prices, the level of service and quality of the food should be slightly better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Gorgeous lakefront dining. Good food. I have a new favorite on the lake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We have been eating at West Shore Cafe for close to 15 years, as a couple, a family and with groups of up to twenty people. As always, the ambiance was amazing, because of the setting right on Lake Tahoe. However, the food over the years has not continued to be as impressive as the view. One of our first visits was when they were still in the tent kitchen and the food was spectacular--matching the view and making the overall experience one that was hard to beat. Now the food is okay, not great, and we left that night discussing how we were unimpressed. Hopefully it was just an off night, but the trend has been downhill over the years, so we are hoping that they don't continue to just rely upon the view to draw in guests and can improve the menu and the quality of the food. The seared ahi was basic without any crust or seasoning, the peaches on the peach burrata salad were not ripe (during the height of peach season), and the desserts were so unappealing (this from someone who always wants dessert) that we ended up with the sorbet trio. Please, please work on the food so that it can once again match, or come close matching, the amazing view that this restaurant has!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good friends, great food and an ambiance that is hard to bear amounts to a perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.