About West Shore Cafe

5160 West Lake Blvd
Homewood, CA 96141
View Larger Map

A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices.

As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort.

During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Please see http://www.westshorecafe.com/hours for current hours of operation.

Cross Street:
Homewood Mountain Resort

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 525-5200

Website:
http://www.westshorecafe.com/

Entertainment:
The West Shore Cafe occasionally hosts live music, featuring local talent. Additionally, the West Shore Cafe hosts special menu items for happy hour, holidays, and festive occasions.

Parking Details:
West Shore Cafe offer complimentary parking, valet parking during summer months, and additional parking at sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort (steps from the restaurant).

Public Transit:
Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Kristi Ritchey

Private Party Facilities:
With flexible indoor and outdoor event spaces that make the most of the picturesque views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountain peaks, striking interior design, and impeccable catering services, the West Shore Café and Homewood Mountain Resort are a perfect location to celebrate in Tahoe.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Brauer: 530-525-5200x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Always popular, Local Mondays at West Shore Cafe are a great way to affordably taste the freshest produce, seafood and meats that California has to offer. Whether you dine solo while staying in a West Shore vacation property, or invite a group of ten friends that live at the lake, West Shore Café’s menu has options that will satisfy any appetite and will pair perfectly with the Café’s wine list and cocktail menu.

West Shore Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Outdoor Dining
Tahoe / Reno Area
7 More
Scenic View
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Homewood ›

scenic view (36)
great for outdoor dining (32)
special occasion (28)
See All
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (12)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch or dinner, the food and the view o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lunch or dinner, the food and the view of Lake Tahoe is amazing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing scenery and good service for an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing scenery and good service for an early (6:15) table for two. Fried oysters and grilled peaches and burrata were very good appetizers. Loved the charcuterie plate and a great cheese burger with a tasty aioli . We'll be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the most beautiful spots on Lake ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of the most beautiful spots on Lake Tahoe! Great food, unmatched ambiance and gotgeous views. They often have live music and events too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting, and good service, but fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely setting, and good service, but food did not measure up. Both the appetizers and entrees were flavorless, and did not hit the mark.

For the price paid, not worth it, I'm afraid.

But gorgeous setting on the lake.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was outstanding . Love the o ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was outstanding . Love the outside dining. The view was incredible .I had the Halibut , the best i ever had. I will be back year.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Food is great, ambience ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place. Food is great, ambience is incredible, view is amazing. A little pricey but it's worth the splurge for good food, beautiful views, anda good time

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has always been a reliable mainstay, how ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Has always been a reliable mainstay, however for an 80 birthday celebration for my father, we had poor table selection, a waiter who slopped wine across the table repeatedly and dropped dishes. His abrupt, discourteous service was more inline with a greasy spoon diner not a $300 dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had cocktails before & after dinner a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had cocktails before & after dinner at the bar. The bartender was very friendly & accommodating. I wanted to try a different cocktail & her suggestion was fabulous! Our waiter was very attentive & reccomended apps, salad & our entrees....everything was presented perfectly & the entire dinner was delicious....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Any place that sells a $42 New York stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Any place that sells a $42 New York steak should not

be rated $$, as it is on the profile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ambience and view were excellent. Good w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Ambience and view were excellent. Good was mostly good - my cioppino was overcooked and peaches in the appetizer were not ripe, etcetera. However service was terrible - had to ask for bread and heater to be turned on 3-4 times. Every course took much too long.. So disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Have been dining here for years and what ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have been dining here for years and what a disappointment this time! We were seated and the only person we saw in 20 minutes was the water girl. Finally bread and butter showed up; asked for more butter but the girl didn't speak much English. Felt sorry for our waiter as he was slammed with 6 + tables all seated around same time. Reordered a round of drinks and that took 20 minutes. Burrata and peach salad so skimpy! Disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

New chef not up to the standards of old ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

New chef not up to the standards of old chef. Lobster cake looked bare without much lettuce. Price of waffle and ice cream $13 for a tiny scoop of ice cream and not much fudge. Very mundane--and not worth the price. Beautiful view, good service but menu very disappointing

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We are annual summertime regulars, so so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We are annual summertime regulars, so sorry to give a mediocre review. Presentation was lovely, but the peach and burrata salad was a disappointment (hardly any burrata whatsoever), the salmon was overcooked and felt the entire menu was overpriced. We were celebrating a special occasion, and the setting is hard to beat ~ but it was a very expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I want West Shore to be at its best. It ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I want West Shore to be at its best. It has fallen short in a few areas. The waitress was off the evening we dined. She spilled a small part of a drink on my wife, forgot a spoon for my soup, never brought any bread, despite having bread plates. The gap between courses was far too long--at least 2 hours before dessert. The bathrooms need to be checked and picked up--lots of paper towels/remnants on floor, etc. The best part of West Shore is still the scenic view and the food. Take the next step and get the staff trained and better prepared to serve.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Love this place. We have been coming her ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love this place. We have been coming here for 20 years to celebrate my birthday. Wonderful experience every time. Great food, great ambience, great view.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service are not as good as last ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service are not as good as last year. several dishes were served at less than room temperature that should have been hot. Our peach burrata salad had minuscule amounts of cheese. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Beautiful atmosphere, under staffed awfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere, under staffed awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Excellent food and lovely view.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and lovely view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great evening. Special occasion (39th w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great evening. Special occasion (39th wedding anniversary). We were fortunate to be seated on the pier which is a Tahoe venue that can't be beat. Outstanding lobster cakes, Caesar salad great, entres good but have had better there. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible food and service in a gorgeous ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Terrible food and service in a gorgeous lake front setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Very disappointing. We have eaten here b ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointing. We have eaten here before and enjoyed the meals. On this occasion, the severs were not engaging, looked angry and basically just stood around. While my cousin liked the salmon, my dinner was so under cooked it could not be eaten. This is certainly a beautiful spot on the lake, but will not be on my list to visit anytime soon or recommend to Tahoe visitors.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

This is one of our summer favorites, esp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is one of our summer favorites, especially to bring guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

"Just barely OK". Wonderful ambiance l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

"Just barely OK". Wonderful ambiance lowered by lots of kids running around up and down to the beach. Service team had good attitudes but many mistakes; just not trained. Food was just so-so and Bouillabaisse was a lousy value with a minimum of seafood in a so-so broth for $35. Chicken was ok, nothing special. Side of broccolini (which was supposed to be pan sauteed with garlic) was three small stalks, boiled to limp noodle consistency, tossed on a plate with nothing! With a short menu, every dish should be great, esp. at high prices. Special dessert ordered was very good. Overall, considering West Shore's reputation as a high-end dining venue, the evening was a disappointment on every front. We won't be back anytime soon, and can't really recommend at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

wait staff should be polished by week be ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

wait staff should be polished by week before July 4,,,,,,Too many still learning the ropes.....our waitress was most concerned with payment of tip on locals special

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

You just can't beat the views and ambian ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

You just can't beat the views and ambiance. Great food and good service even though they were pretty busy that night. Thanks Randy for a great night as always!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this venue but their service is a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I love this venue but their service is always spotty. Requests for a sauce on the side were not honored, drink refills were only by request and slow, and while a lot of staff there -- most seemed to be wandering, filling out something on a clip board or carefully ignoring calls of "miss" or "sir" (for drink refills, check, etc.). The views are great, our evening the weather was perfect, and the food was good -- but not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful setting and great food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Beautiful setting and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great setting

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great setting, decent food. Spendy, but hard to beat the location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Monday deal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Their mains are 1/2 price on Monday dinner - best value in Tahoe

Lovely venue - great food and service ! A group of 10 of us were so happy to have dinner together here !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grandiose setting, good service, tasty food!

 
 (Switzerland)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Enjoyed the setting, beautiful hall dining, and white table cloth service. Try the mussels in broth -- very tasty! A top quality restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Two filets were expertly prepared and we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Two filets were expertly prepared and were fantastic. The two salmon filets were also excellent. Not to mention Monday night half price entres left enough $$ for two bottles of wine and apps!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular dinner!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We loved this place, and went on a Monday night (when entrees are half price). The food was spectacular. Wait staff was amazing and very welcoming. Beautiful views of the lake!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out of This World Lobster Dip

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

So you are on a getaway with your foodie family at the lake, and willing to go for an awesome experience in all senses. This inspired chef will fulfill your dreams (and believe me I am a very high maintenance customer). Starters like the grilled mushrooms and the lobster dip are absolutely delicious. The entrées were mouthwatering and good looking. My risotto was just right. That was the 3rd time we went there and will keep going. Thanks guys for such a lovely dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We saw the ad for West Shore Cafe where we were staying, Tahoma Meadows B&B (also a great place). Made reservation easily and arrived on time, seated promptly and began to enjoy the evening. Dinner was wonderful and the server very attentive and informed. We will go again when we are in the area and I have told friends they must go as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing view of snow covered mountains r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Amazing view of snow covered mountains reflecting on Lake Tahoe at sunset. Everything we ordered was terrific. Best pork chop ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

West Shore Cafe - a Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

We love West Shore! Great food, great location and lovely interior. So warm and cozy in winter and great outdoor seating on lake in summer. Nice kids menu too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I wish the food matched the ambiance! Ov ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

I wish the food matched the ambiance! Overpriced, menu is so limited & food is tasteless. There is definitely room for improvement in the kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We love the location and the ambiance of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We love the location and the ambiance of the West Shore Cafe and our server was fantastic. She has always taken great care of us and is a great asset to Cafe. The wine list is good as we found wines we love and our starters and some of the food was acceptable. The pasta dish however was a miss and the overall food experience was to pricey for what it was. There are other establishments in Tahoe that offer better for the same or less cost. If you are going for wine and burger its a go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Not impressed

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

I will say they place was comfortable and the waitstaff awesome. The French onion soup was good, not great. The main course was aweful. Four different entrees and all were not so good.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Westshore Inn Cafe for Christmas

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The is really the only choice for dinning out for me on the west shore in Lake Tahoe. I'm never dissatisfied. The view is breathtaking!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.