About West Shore Cafe

5160 West Lake Blvd
Homewood, CA 96141
View Larger Map

A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices.

As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort.

During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Please see http://www.westshorecafe.com/hours for current hours of operation.

Cross Street:
Homewood Mountain Resort

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 525-5200

Website:
http://www.westshorecafe.com/

Entertainment:
The West Shore Cafe occasionally hosts live music, featuring local talent. Additionally, the West Shore Cafe hosts special menu items for happy hour, holidays, and festive occasions.

Parking Details:
West Shore Cafe offer complimentary parking, valet parking during summer months, and additional parking at sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort (steps from the restaurant).

Public Transit:
Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Kristi Ritchey

Private Party Facilities:
With flexible indoor and outdoor event spaces that make the most of the picturesque views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountain peaks, striking interior design, and impeccable catering services, the West Shore Café and Homewood Mountain Resort are a perfect location to celebrate in Tahoe.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Brauer: 530-525-5200x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Always popular, Local Mondays at West Shore Cafe are a great way to affordably taste the freshest produce, seafood and meats that California has to offer. Whether you dine solo while staying in a West Shore vacation property, or invite a group of ten friends that live at the lake, West Shore Café’s menu has options that will satisfy any appetite and will pair perfectly with the Café’s wine list and cocktail menu.

West Shore Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (15)
special occasion (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
romantic (9)
good for groups (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You just can't beat the views and ambian ...

Dined 6 days ago

You just can't beat the views and ambiance. Great food and good service even though they were pretty busy that night. Thanks Randy for a great night as always!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I love this venue but their service is a ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

I love this venue but their service is always spotty. Requests for a sauce on the side were not honored, drink refills were only by request and slow, and while a lot of staff there -- most seemed to be wandering, filling out something on a clip board or carefully ignoring calls of "miss" or "sir" (for drink refills, check, etc.). The views are great, our evening the weather was perfect, and the food was good -- but not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful setting and great food.

Dined on June 13, 2016

Beautiful setting and great food.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great setting

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great setting, decent food. Spendy, but hard to beat the location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Monday deal

Dined on March 29, 2016

Their mains are 1/2 price on Monday dinner - best value in Tahoe Lovely venue - great food and service ! A group of 10 of us were so happy to have dinner together here !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Grandiose setting, good service, tasty food!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Enjoyed the setting, beautiful hall dining, and white table cloth service. Try the mussels in broth -- very tasty! A top quality restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Two filets were expertly prepared and we ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Two filets were expertly prepared and were fantastic. The two salmon filets were also excellent. Not to mention Monday night half price entres left enough $$ for two bottles of wine and apps!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular dinner!

Dined on March 1, 2016

We loved this place, and went on a Monday night (when entrees are half price). The food was spectacular. Wait staff was amazing and very welcoming. Beautiful views of the lake!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out of This World Lobster Dip

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

So you are on a getaway with your foodie family at the lake, and willing to go for an awesome experience in all senses. This inspired chef will fulfill your dreams (and believe me I am a very high maintenance customer). Starters like the grilled mushrooms and the lobster dip are absolutely delicious. The entrées were mouthwatering and good looking. My risotto was just right. That was the 3rd time we went there and will keep going. Thanks guys for such a lovely dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We saw the ad for West Shore Cafe where we were staying, Tahoma Meadows B&B (also a great place). Made reservation easily and arrived on time, seated promptly and began to enjoy the evening. Dinner was wonderful and the server very attentive and informed. We will go again when we are in the area and I have told friends they must go as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing view of snow covered mountains r ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Amazing view of snow covered mountains reflecting on Lake Tahoe at sunset. Everything we ordered was terrific. Best pork chop ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

West Shore Cafe - a Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

We love West Shore! Great food, great location and lovely interior. So warm and cozy in winter and great outdoor seating on lake in summer. Nice kids menu too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3

I wish the food matched the ambiance! Ov ...

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

I wish the food matched the ambiance! Overpriced, menu is so limited & food is tasteless. There is definitely room for improvement in the kitchen!

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We love the location and the ambiance of ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

We love the location and the ambiance of the West Shore Cafe and our server was fantastic. She has always taken great care of us and is a great asset to Cafe. The wine list is good as we found wines we love and our starters and some of the food was acceptable. The pasta dish however was a miss and the overall food experience was to pricey for what it was. There are other establishments in Tahoe that offer better for the same or less cost. If you are going for wine and burger its a go.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not impressed

Dined on December 26, 2015

I will say they place was comfortable and the waitstaff awesome. The French onion soup was good, not great. The main course was aweful. Four different entrees and all were not so good.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Westshore Inn Cafe for Christmas

Dined on December 26, 2015

The is really the only choice for dinning out for me on the west shore in Lake Tahoe. I'm never dissatisfied. The view is breathtaking!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was slow coming out of the kitchen.

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

The food and wait staff were good, however our food was very slow to come out of the kitchen. Perhaps this was due to the fact that this was the first day that the dining room had been open for dinner service for a month or two.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent

Dined on October 2, 2015

Beautiful facility. friendly service and good food, which is suprisingly reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4

Food With Altitude

Dined on October 1, 2015

Why do so many chefs think that they must stack all of the items on top of each other? The oven baked potato wedges were on the bottom, next came the rib eye, then some sauteed veggie stuff all topped off with a fried egg. A rib eye has a lot of fat. Most people would like to be able to see the steak to be able to select those parts to eat and those to leave. I had to deconstruct the pile to see what I was eating. The fried egg does not appeal to all. The best way to present a good piece of beef is to leave it alone.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

Best outdoor Dining on the Lake

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

We had a fabulous time and good food at Westside Cafe. The only negative feedback is "Don't order the rack of lamb" or the house salad. The fish was incredible and the peach/burrata salad was off the charts.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner with friends

Dined on September 23, 2015

We had a great dinner with wonderful friends in a beautiful setting at the West Shore Cafe!! We loved it all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

catering to the influential

Dined on September 23, 2015

The food, the view and the service were all better than we expected. A mellow, romantic evening was slightly marred when several staff suddenly appeared and in a flurry of activity began removing nearby tables and chairs. When questioned, staff stated that a VIP had directed that he wanted tables and chairs set up on the pier over the lake. Unfortunate that this could not have been anticipated and taken care of in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner in a beautiful setting

Dined on September 17, 2015

Dinner for 7 was on point! We shared 3 peach and burrata salads -- perfect. Most either had rack of lamb or duck confit (1 cioppinno), everyone was happy. The only thing -- it was a birthday dinner for a friend, so they brought a dessert with "Happy Birthday" on the plate, but no candle :(. Other than that, everything was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

Half price entree

Dined on September 17, 2015

Was nice to try out the entrees at half price for our first visit, as a local it is pricey otherwise. A beautiful place and the burger and lamb were excellent, the cioppino was overcooked seafood was a big disappointment . Nice wine list, and would be fun for happy hour after skiing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

West Shore Gem

Dined on September 15, 2015

The West Shore Cafe is a fabulous addition to the West Shore and we love dining there. We celebrated our 50th anniversary there with family and friends, have lunched and dined several times since and would highly recommend it. My only suggestion for improvement would be the Mason jars that are being used for water glasses. First, they are too large for our draught situation. Second, they are not in keeping with the ambiance. Third, uncomfortable for drinking. Fourth, they do not compliment the chef's talent of preparing the most delicious food and beautiful presentation. See you again soon! Diane and Doug Cooper

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous location

vip
Dined on September 8, 2015

Wonderful seating area on the pier, lovely views across the entire lake, most friendly service, good food. We could not have wished for a better experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3

beautiful setting

vip
Dined on September 8, 2015

beautiful setting right on the lake - view and ambiance can't be beat in the Tahoe region! Service was s bit spotty and food mostly great (with a few exceptions like fatty gristly lamb rack.) Especially loved the sweet corn soup and grilled peach and bursts salad!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Fantastic

Dined on August 31, 2015

Fantastic view, great food, and good service. While Lake Tahoe is very beautiful, this restaurant adds to the pleasure with delicious food, and great service. Best place to celebrate or just enjoy a great evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

vip
Dined on August 28, 2015

We enjoyed great food, great scenic view, the moon rising and sun setting. A wonderful meal and great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Great View and Great Food - A must Lake ...

Dined on August 28, 2015

Great View and Great Food - A must Lake Tahoe experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful anniversary dinner!

vip
Dined on August 26, 2015

Ciopinno was amazing. Great service, amazing view. Gets chilly at night but they are well equipped with heaters! Loved it! We will be back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3

reno local

Dined on August 24, 2015

Food was excellent though we only dined at the bar. Hamburger and chicken sandwich on the gourmet style side with original seasonings and spread. Cooked perfectly. Loved that the little side salad had yummy extras like asparagus. Nice to have chunky blue cheese dressing instead of imitation, watered-down version. And the view.... Well thats obviously a winner. We'll be back. FYI..... MUST HAVE RESERVATION!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4

What Happened?

Dined on August 19, 2015

This used to be our favorite restaurant, what happened? Oh, the spot on the lake is spectacular but the food was not. The starters and the small plates seemed more inspired but the main courses were not. Ordered steak and the potatoes were tasteless and looked like they were made yesterday and reheated. Sorry West Shore Cafe you have lost your luster.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

Please UPDATE menue

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

Menu is to limited to go more than once a month. Too bad it's a nice place. Lost ground to Sunnyside which is now better. Better food, more items, equal view more vibrant

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

We had a lovely table out on the pier, t ...

Dined on August 18, 2015

We had a lovely table out on the pier, that made the night very special for us. However, we were very disappointed with the following: my husband ordered a Manhattan with Maker's Mark and I ordered a martini. She delivered my martini in a timely manner but told my husband "they're working on your manhattan". She came back 10 minutes later and said "we're out of maker's mark, it was a busy weekend". That seemed absurd to us as this was a Monday night and how was it that your bar wasn't re-stocked that day, after such a "busy weekend". Secondly, why did it take her 20 minutes to tell my husband you were out of maker's mark?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

What a view!

Dined on August 17, 2015

We were able to get a table outside on the dock. It was great being out over Lake Tahoe. It was a beautiful night and we were greated within minutes of sitting down. We had an 18mo. old with us and our server was very attentive to our needs. The children's menu comes printed on a small brown bag. The bag contains a coloring sheet and some crayons. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

The food was excellenT but .....

vip
Dined on August 10, 2015

2 of us had Hal it. It was over poked and very dry. Ruined an otherwise refreshing execution . Almond cake with peaches was top dessert. Very different.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4

Early dinner

Dined on August 6, 2015

service was better than normal as we ate very early, 6pm (only time we could get with couple of days notice). Cocktails were unique and delicious, appetizers and salads were good, but the duck cannelloni was not good at all. Stopped eating it halfway through. Guest ordered the salmon and didn't finish that either. View was lovely

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Best at Lake Tahoe

Dined on July 23, 2015

Nothing beats dining on the lake shore with a panoramic view, good wine and very good entrees. Lunch or dinner, this is worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

Reservations and dinner

Dined on July 18, 2015

When we made our reservation, your site said only 500 PM and 830 PM were available. We opted for the 5:00 pm. We left at 645 and only a few diners were in the main dining room, which leads me to believe later reservations were available. The best seating looked to be the pier, which was busy. Most of the entrees did not appeal to us so we had starters. The peach/argula salad was very good. The calamari was over breaded and way too heavy on the seasoning. Be aware there is only a portion of calamari, lots of other veggies too (as the menu says) The dining room was pleasant with views and open air. And please, we would have preferred hearing the outdoor guitarist/singer rather than the music playing in the main dining room.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.