Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About West Shore Cafe

A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices.

As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort.

During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.

5160 West Lake Blvd
Homewood, CA 96141
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Please see http://www.westshorecafe.com/hours for current hours of operation.

Cross Street:
Homewood Mountain Resort

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 525-5200

Website:
http://www.westshorecafe.com/

Entertainment:
The West Shore Cafe occasionally hosts live music, featuring local talent. Additionally, the West Shore Cafe hosts special menu items for happy hour, holidays, and festive occasions.

Parking Details:
West Shore Cafe offer complimentary car parking, valet parking during summer months, and additional parking at sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort (steps from the restaurant). Those visiting by boat can also enjoy free parking and valet service from our pier.

Public Transit:
Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Ben Deinken

Private Party Facilities:
With flexible indoor and outdoor event spaces that make the most of the picturesque views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountain peaks, striking interior design, and impeccable catering services, the West Shore Café and Homewood Mountain Resort are a perfect location to celebrate in Tahoe.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Saxston: (530) 525-5200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Always popular, Local Mondays at West Shore Cafe are a great way to affordably taste the freshest produce, seafood and meats that California has to offer. Whether you dine solo while staying in a West Shore vacation property, or invite a group of ten friends that live at the lake, West Shore Café’s menu has options that will satisfy any appetite and will pair perfectly with the Café’s wine list and cocktail menu.

West Shore Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (10)
Waterfront (10)
Scenic View (9)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

This place was so nice! Such a beautiful setting on the water. We were up in Lake Tahoe on vacation with another couple. Spent the day playing golf at Edgewood then came here for dinner. What a perfect day! I have the Ahi pan seared tuna and it was excellent! I would definitely come back here next time we're in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

West Shore Cafe is unique among restaurants in the Tahoe area, incredible atmosphere on the lake, west shore, which is the best part of Tahoe, very old school and classic. You cannot beat the menu, quality and sitting on the pier, one of a kind experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

A seasonally driven gem, the staff and menu changes with the season but you can always count on stellar service and exquisite food. Occasional promotions available, sign up for their email newsletter for minimal mailings but great deals. Management and oversight is evident as is the commitment to a memorable experience. The fresh fish option happened to be halibut, asked for slightly rare, had a beautiful sear and was remarkably the most delicious halibut we've ever had anywhere. Another interesting option this summer, "lobster corn dog".

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome Easter Bbrunch set up. Highly recommend for this holiday

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The West Shore uplifted all the every day cravings like their beet salad, and Lobster Mac & Cheese. The burger was one of the best I've had in years.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Historic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The service was terrible. The food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Although the lakeview is quite nice, I feel this place is very overpriced for what you get. The food was okay.. nothing special, and the service the same. I assume they expect tourists that don't mind getting taken on the bill if they get to look out at the lake.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The artichoke soup was fabulous as as my salmon. West Shore has such an inviting ambiance, wonderful menu and fantastic wine choices. It is my favorite on the West Shore.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great lake views. Good cocktails and solid food. Best meal in Tahoe.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My favorite white tablecloth restaurant in Lake Tahoe. We eat there every time we visit, 3 or 4 times a year. It's upscale while still being casual and friendly. The food is always good. The view is spectacular--right on the lake. It's cozy in the winter with fireplaces and ambient lighting. Every seat inside has a view of the lake because of the giant windows. In the summer, the patio and pier are opened up for seating. Often there is live music until about 8 p.m. It's usually the same person, a wonderful acoustic guitar player who sings. It's perfect--not jarring and in your face, but also really good music that many people pay attention to and it's not just background. The salads are always creative and delicious. They can accommodate gluten-free folks like myself. The bar is really nice and I think you can order from bar menu and the restaurant menu. If you don't have time or don't want to have dinner, you can get a drink at sunset with an appetizer, looking out at the lake. Once in a while they are very busy or shorthanded, so the service might be a little slow. It has happened a couple of times. But I really don't mind because it really seems like this restaurant cares about quality and making everybody feel at home there. And hey, many of us are here on vacation, so what's the rush? It's an excellent place for happy hour, dining, and just taking in the view. Friendly staff.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Organic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Place is beautiful! Over priced for quality of food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Menu is very creative with wonderful specials. I had the Buffalo meat loaf. Rey food if not very large portions! The salmon was perfectly prepared. Great wines as well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good Valentine's Day venue. Service was good and ambiance excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been to West Shore Cafe a number of times over the years and each time the food and its presentation was a delight. Our last visit was a complete disappointment, both in what was on the menu and the quality of the preparation.My husband's salmon was overcooked, the only vegetarian option was a ravioli that had a sweet(!) tasting sauce (ugh). Their usual bread basket of two interesting selections was replaced by some kind of a sweet white bread. We came hungry and were still profoundly underwhelmed. Perhaps it's a different chef but, meh. The location is still quite lovely. Make sure you don't let them seat you at the tables with the basket chairs...they are very uncomfortable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Do not order the Short Rib. Apparently the chef has no idea here. I ordered it in Nov 2015. It was tough like they just fried it up. I thought that it must've been a fluke and ordered it again in Jan 2016. Horrible. Waited a year and ordered it again. Very poor. They should remove it from their menu or figure out how to cook it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A magical setting whether inside the cozy dining room in winter or on the pier in summer. We enjoyed a lovely meal with the family complete with interesting live music, great service and delicious food. The entrees were excellent and the kids love the menu too. Randy the manager is top notch, thank for another great night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great, Server great - kitchen had trouble with pacing - main course arrived over 30 minutes after appetizers!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun spot! The food was delicious and the service was great. I highly recommend this restaurant during your stay in Tahoe.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Terrific view. Interesting menu with some original items. Nice wine list is not overwhelming but has something for any tastes

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made reservations here based on other reviews. We loved the look of the place and the location which frankly didn't make much of a difference since it was dark outside. It's a great looking place and that may be the most it has going for it. After being seated in a cozy corner it went downhill from there. The specialty drinks looked decent. The one I immediately chose was the one they no longer had the tequila for. Rather than offer an alternative, our server said he'd come back so we could find an alternative drink. I don't understand how a restaurant runs out of a particular tequila. I also don't understand how an alternative wouldn't be offered. I had to make that happen but honestly my drink was weak and unappealing. My lobster bisque app was flavorful and my partner's vegetable soup app was the star of the evening! It was so flavorful and delicious that I'm still day-dreaming of it. My partner had the salmon special-- he hardly ate three bites. He said it was dull and the chimichurri didn't do anything to help boost the flavors. My short ribs were disgusting and I'm still angry with myself for not sending them back. I was given a steak knife and was told I wouldn't need it but I did! I keep saying to myself that if I ate in the proper places that I would find the more tender part of the beef. It never happened. The beef was so tough and sinewy. The meat did not fall apart and I was left with a huge yet inedible piece of meat. Gross! Truly. We took it home to see if we could make it taste good but even reheating it made it clear that I was served a terrible cut and the preparation just wasn't there. What a waste of money. What a disappointment for a meal we came all the way from the East coast to eat. After that, we decided no dessert would be worth eating and called it a night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food but slow service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved this restaurant. We were staying upstairs in their West Shore Inn and had Christmas dinner reservations. The waitstaff is exceptional and the combinations of scallops with bacon relish and buffalo meatloaf were my favorite. You also can't get a better view of Lake Tahoe on a holiday night, with gorgeous high wood beam ceilings, iron lanterns and full floor to ceiling windows overlooking the dock covered in lights. Highly recommend for a romantic date or special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great foods and services.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Lovely lakefront restaurant with delicious food in Homewood. The portion sizes are very large so be aware when ordering. Salads can easily be shared.

Appreciated that the noise level was minimal so we could enjoy table conversation. Great location with wonderful views of Lake Tahoe.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had 2 meals there within 3 days. All the food we ordered on both meals were delicious. The service was excellent. Both waitresses were very nice and friendly, totally made us feel welcomed. The restaurant is located by the lake so the view is breathtaking. We're definitely going back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really nice spot for a good dinner and great view. The staff are very friendly (though the service can be a tad slow on a occasion), really good drinks and the food is good too. Nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing food. Everything we ordered was delicious. The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable on the food and drinks. We loved it so much we went 2 days in a row. Best hot toddies!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious meal with excellent service with friends

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have been before and love it every time! The Caesar Salad was better than mine which is saying a lot because I love mine! Our server was excellent and really the perfect amount of attention! The food selections were great, the view was wonderful and we had a great time sitting on the dock before dinner enjoying a cocktail!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

wonderful , relaxing off-season dining experience... Good food, comfortable surrounding, fabulous lake view ... and friendly , attentive staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Typical Old Tahoe ambiance, with good food and great views of the Lake.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Disappointed that the bees precluded outdoor dining. Also the music was a little loud. Still a very could time for our annual trip to Tahoe. We will be back again next yeat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We usually love this restaurant. The view is amazing. Unfortunately, 3 of the four of us ordered halibut and it was like shoe leather. The waitress told us that we were the 2nd table to complain about the fish. She did comp one of our corkage fees, but we thought the value was still unreasonable in light of the fact that our meals were inedible.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had an excellent evening and the service was very good. Thank you West Shore Cafe.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We consider West Shore Cafe to be one of our favorite restaurants in the Lake Tahoe area and have been eating there on our frequent vacations over the past 5 years or so. Unfortunately, the quality of the food currently isn't up to its past standard, so the value isn't what we've experienced on previous occasions. However, the view, service and ambience still make it worthwhile.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner however I was solo-all of the staff were very accommodating to seat me somewhere comfortably and fantastic- I had a table on the pier with an awesome view of the sunset. It was just perfect. The service and food were fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Views, exceptional service, ambiance, and outstanding food. Not much more you can ask for.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambiance is outstanding but the food lacked creativity, portion size & flavor but it was decent. I understand when going to restaurants with great views, the food will just ok but the service should still be good, or even a step down from good. Our server never checked on us, forgot our drinks & never brought things we requested like an extra plate, knife & mustard. So if Lakeside is all your looking for then eat here - if you want more than a solid view, run far away!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Salmon entree was very creative and delicious. Wine list has some great values and some uncommon offerings although not extensive. Sometimes too many wine choices tend to confuse the diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.