About West Shore Cafe

5160 West Lake Blvd
Homewood, CA 96141
View Larger Map

A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices.

As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort.

During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Please see http://www.westshorecafe.com/hours for current hours of operation.

Cross Street:
Homewood Mountain Resort

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 525-5200

Website:
http://www.westshorecafe.com/

Entertainment:
The West Shore Cafe occasionally hosts live music, featuring local talent. Additionally, the West Shore Cafe hosts special menu items for happy hour, holidays, and festive occasions.

Parking Details:
West Shore Cafe offer complimentary parking, valet parking during summer months, and additional parking at sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort (steps from the restaurant).

Public Transit:
Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Kristi Ritchey

Private Party Facilities:
With flexible indoor and outdoor event spaces that make the most of the picturesque views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountain peaks, striking interior design, and impeccable catering services, the West Shore Café and Homewood Mountain Resort are a perfect location to celebrate in Tahoe.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Brauer: 530-525-5200x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Always popular, Local Mondays at West Shore Cafe are a great way to affordably taste the freshest produce, seafood and meats that California has to offer. Whether you dine solo while staying in a West Shore vacation property, or invite a group of ten friends that live at the lake, West Shore Café’s menu has options that will satisfy any appetite and will pair perfectly with the Café’s wine list and cocktail menu.

West Shore Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Homewood ›

Scenic View (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Views, exceptional service, ambiance, an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Views, exceptional service, ambiance, and outstanding food. Not much more you can ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is outstanding but the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance is outstanding but the food lacked creativity, portion size & flavor but it was decent. I understand when going to restaurants with great views, the food will just ok but the service should still be good, or even a step down from good. Our server never checked on us, forgot our drinks & never brought things we requested like an extra plate, knife & mustard. So if Lakeside is all your looking for then eat here - if you want more than a solid view, run far away!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Salmon entree was very creative and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Salmon entree was very creative and delicious. Wine list has some great values and some uncommon offerings although not extensive. Sometimes too many wine choices tend to confuse the diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

West Shore Cafe is our GO TO restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

West Shore Cafe is our GO TO restaurant on the lake. The views are breathtaking and the lodge is rustic and beautiful. Especially like the locals night on Mondays during ski season. Wish the restaurant was open every night in the winter - we would make the drive. This week the wasps were out in force so that spoiled an otherwise lovely dinner but that is not the West Shore Cafe's fault - we also have them at our house in Squaw Valley. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love the setting, going by boat for d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We love the setting, going by boat for dinner. Undoubtably it's not the old west shore cafe. Food is marginal, service....you never know? Lots of better restaurants for the price. This year the menu is very limited. Not even close to what you see on Open Table

As one person put it....maybe good for a cocktail and app but that's about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Food sub-par, over priced, amateurish. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food sub-par, over priced, amateurish. Service erratic, friendly but overly casual and again- amateurish. In the end we paid for great view, unexpectedly poor food. Not a fan at these prices. Won't go again. Picnic on the beach better:)

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Bees, bees, bees.....but not their fault ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bees, bees, bees.....but not their fault, currently a problem all over the lake.

We've been coming here for years (as one of the prettiest spots on the lake to boat to) and seen good management/chef incarnations and not so great. This year it seems to be the later. Menu options were limited and every item (from burgers to fish) was overcooked. Service was good.

There's always next year.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Food was the worst it's ever been. My hu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was the worst it's ever been. My husband and I didn't eat our dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

except for the yellow jacket bees the ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

except for the yellow jacket bees the experience was awesome

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent view food and service! Love t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent view food and service! Love the outdoor seating. Halibut was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

so sad the bees were so hungry! we had ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

so sad the bees were so hungry! we had to come inside and eat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Menu very limited--yellow jackets a big ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Menu very limited--yellow jackets a big problem this year on the patio--not possible to sit comfortably outside. Food delivery late to the restaurant so menu choices of a limited menu even more limited.

New chef not very good

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Bees were a real problem would thunk twi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Bees were a real problem would thunk twice before I would go back. A very nice spot except for bees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent menu and service and what a vi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent menu and service and what a view. Summertime at the Westshore. What's better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. SERVICE WAS OUTSTAN ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING. LOVE THE OUTDOOR DINING AND VIEW OF LAKE TAHOE. THERE WERE WASPS WHICH WERE SOMEWHAT BOTHERSOME. RESTAURANT HAD TRAPS OUT BUT HARD TO GET THEM ALL. FUN LUNCH FOR MY BIRTHDAY.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious but cold

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was delicious but cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience at the West Shore! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful experience at the West Shore! The food was great and the service was exceptional! And of course, you can't beat the outdoor deck on a summer day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was overcooked and dried out. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was overcooked and dried out.

The view is the only redeeming factor.

Perhaps just drinks and an appetizer would be great but I don't recommend dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Lunch or dinner, the food and the view o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lunch or dinner, the food and the view of Lake Tahoe is amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing scenery and good service for an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing scenery and good service for an early (6:15) table for two. Fried oysters and grilled peaches and burrata were very good appetizers. Loved the charcuterie plate and a great cheese burger with a tasty aioli . We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the most beautiful spots on Lake ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the most beautiful spots on Lake Tahoe! Great food, unmatched ambiance and gotgeous views. They often have live music and events too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting, and good service, but fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely setting, and good service, but food did not measure up. Both the appetizers and entrees were flavorless, and did not hit the mark.

For the price paid, not worth it, I'm afraid.

But gorgeous setting on the lake.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was outstanding . Love the o ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was outstanding . Love the outside dining. The view was incredible .I had the Halibut , the best i ever had. I will be back year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Food is great, ambience ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place. Food is great, ambience is incredible, view is amazing. A little pricey but it's worth the splurge for good food, beautiful views, anda good time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has always been a reliable mainstay, how ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Has always been a reliable mainstay, however for an 80 birthday celebration for my father, we had poor table selection, a waiter who slopped wine across the table repeatedly and dropped dishes. His abrupt, discourteous service was more inline with a greasy spoon diner not a $300 dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had cocktails before & after dinner a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had cocktails before & after dinner at the bar. The bartender was very friendly & accommodating. I wanted to try a different cocktail & her suggestion was fabulous! Our waiter was very attentive & reccomended apps, salad & our entrees....everything was presented perfectly & the entire dinner was delicious....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Any place that sells a $42 New York stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Any place that sells a $42 New York steak should not

be rated $$, as it is on the profile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This has become my favorite "white table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This has become my favorite "white tablecloth" restaurant in Tahoe. My husband and I make sure to go there every time we are in Tahoe--2-3 times a year. We've eaten here in both winter and summer. It's usually just the two of us, but we've also been here with friends, and we've sometimes stopped in for just a sunset drink and a snack. The food and atmosphere is outstanding. It's right on the lake, so the view is amazing. It's quiet enough to talk, but loud enough so that people aren't hearing each other's conversations. The menu changes, but everything I've ordered was excellent. I've also had the burger, which is great, too. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will pay a high-end price, but it's worth it for a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambience and view were excellent. Good w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Ambience and view were excellent. Good was mostly good - my cioppino was overcooked and peaches in the appetizer were not ripe, etcetera. However service was terrible - had to ask for bread and heater to be turned on 3-4 times. Every course took much too long.. So disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Have been dining here for years and what ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have been dining here for years and what a disappointment this time! We were seated and the only person we saw in 20 minutes was the water girl. Finally bread and butter showed up; asked for more butter but the girl didn't speak much English. Felt sorry for our waiter as he was slammed with 6 + tables all seated around same time. Reordered a round of drinks and that took 20 minutes. Burrata and peach salad so skimpy! Disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

New chef not up to the standards of old ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

New chef not up to the standards of old chef. Lobster cake looked bare without much lettuce. Price of waffle and ice cream $13 for a tiny scoop of ice cream and not much fudge. Very mundane--and not worth the price. Beautiful view, good service but menu very disappointing

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We are annual summertime regulars, so so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We are annual summertime regulars, so sorry to give a mediocre review. Presentation was lovely, but the peach and burrata salad was a disappointment (hardly any burrata whatsoever), the salmon was overcooked and felt the entire menu was overpriced. We were celebrating a special occasion, and the setting is hard to beat ~ but it was a very expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I want West Shore to be at its best. It ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I want West Shore to be at its best. It has fallen short in a few areas. The waitress was off the evening we dined. She spilled a small part of a drink on my wife, forgot a spoon for my soup, never brought any bread, despite having bread plates. The gap between courses was far too long--at least 2 hours before dessert. The bathrooms need to be checked and picked up--lots of paper towels/remnants on floor, etc. The best part of West Shore is still the scenic view and the food. Take the next step and get the staff trained and better prepared to serve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Love this place. We have been coming her ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love this place. We have been coming here for 20 years to celebrate my birthday. Wonderful experience every time. Great food, great ambience, great view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service are not as good as last ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service are not as good as last year. several dishes were served at less than room temperature that should have been hot. Our peach burrata salad had minuscule amounts of cheese. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Beautiful atmosphere, under staffed awfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere, under staffed awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Excellent food and lovely view.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and lovely view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great evening. Special occasion (39th w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great evening. Special occasion (39th wedding anniversary). We were fortunate to be seated on the pier which is a Tahoe venue that can't be beat. Outstanding lobster cakes, Caesar salad great, entres good but have had better there. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible food and service in a gorgeous ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Terrible food and service in a gorgeous lake front setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Very disappointing. We have eaten here b ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointing. We have eaten here before and enjoyed the meals. On this occasion, the severs were not engaging, looked angry and basically just stood around. While my cousin liked the salmon, my dinner was so under cooked it could not be eaten. This is certainly a beautiful spot on the lake, but will not be on my list to visit anytime soon or recommend to Tahoe visitors.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.