About West Shore Cafe

5160 West Lake Blvd
Homewood, CA 96141
View Larger Map

A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices.

As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort.

During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Please see http://www.westshorecafe.com/hours for current hours of operation.

Cross Street:
Homewood Mountain Resort

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 525-5200

Website:
http://www.westshorecafe.com/

Entertainment:
The West Shore Cafe occasionally hosts live music, featuring local talent. Additionally, the West Shore Cafe hosts special menu items for happy hour, holidays, and festive occasions.

Parking Details:
West Shore Cafe offer complimentary parking, valet parking during summer months, and additional parking at sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort (steps from the restaurant).

Public Transit:
Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Kristi Ritchey

Private Party Facilities:
With flexible indoor and outdoor event spaces that make the most of the picturesque views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountain peaks, striking interior design, and impeccable catering services, the West Shore Café and Homewood Mountain Resort are a perfect location to celebrate in Tahoe.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Brauer: (530) 525-5200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Always popular, Local Mondays at West Shore Cafe are a great way to affordably taste the freshest produce, seafood and meats that California has to offer. Whether you dine solo while staying in a West Shore vacation property, or invite a group of ten friends that live at the lake, West Shore Café’s menu has options that will satisfy any appetite and will pair perfectly with the Café’s wine list and cocktail menu.

West Shore Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Scenic View (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (5)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good Valentine's Day venue. Service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Good Valentine's Day venue. Service was good and ambiance excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been to West Shore Cafe a number ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been to West Shore Cafe a number of times over the years and each time the food and its presentation was a delight. Our last visit was a complete disappointment, both in what was on the menu and the quality of the preparation.My husband's salmon was overcooked, the only vegetarian option was a ravioli that had a sweet(!) tasting sauce (ugh). Their usual bread basket of two interesting selections was replaced by some kind of a sweet white bread. We came hungry and were still profoundly underwhelmed. Perhaps it's a different chef but, meh. The location is still quite lovely. Make sure you don't let them seat you at the tables with the basket chairs...they are very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Do not order the Short Rib. Apparently t ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Do not order the Short Rib. Apparently the chef has no idea here. I ordered it in Nov 2015. It was tough like they just fried it up. I thought that it must've been a fluke and ordered it again in Jan 2016. Horrible. Waited a year and ordered it again. Very poor. They should remove it from their menu or figure out how to cook it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

A magical setting whether inside the coz ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A magical setting whether inside the cozy dining room in winter or on the pier in summer. We enjoyed a lovely meal with the family complete with interesting live music, great service and delicious food. The entrees were excellent and the kids love the menu too. Randy the manager is top notch, thank for another great night.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, Server great - kitchen h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great, Server great - kitchen had trouble with pacing - main course arrived over 30 minutes after appetizers!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fun spot! The food was delicious and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun spot! The food was delicious and the service was great. I highly recommend this restaurant during your stay in Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific view. Interesting menu with som ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Terrific view. Interesting menu with some original items. Nice wine list is not overwhelming but has something for any tastes

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations here based on other ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made reservations here based on other reviews. We loved the look of the place and the location which frankly didn't make much of a difference since it was dark outside. It's a great looking place and that may be the most it has going for it. After being seated in a cozy corner it went downhill from there. The specialty drinks looked decent. The one I immediately chose was the one they no longer had the tequila for. Rather than offer an alternative, our server said he'd come back so we could find an alternative drink. I don't understand how a restaurant runs out of a particular tequila. I also don't understand how an alternative wouldn't be offered. I had to make that happen but honestly my drink was weak and unappealing. My lobster bisque app was flavorful and my partner's vegetable soup app was the star of the evening! It was so flavorful and delicious that I'm still day-dreaming of it. My partner had the salmon special-- he hardly ate three bites. He said it was dull and the chimichurri didn't do anything to help boost the flavors. My short ribs were disgusting and I'm still angry with myself for not sending them back. I was given a steak knife and was told I wouldn't need it but I did! I keep saying to myself that if I ate in the proper places that I would find the more tender part of the beef. It never happened. The beef was so tough and sinewy. The meat did not fall apart and I was left with a huge yet inedible piece of meat. Gross! Truly. We took it home to see if we could make it taste good but even reheating it made it clear that I was served a terrible cut and the preparation just wasn't there. What a waste of money. What a disappointment for a meal we came all the way from the East coast to eat. After that, we decided no dessert would be worth eating and called it a night.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Good food but slow service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food but slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Loved this restaurant. We were staying u ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved this restaurant. We were staying upstairs in their West Shore Inn and had Christmas dinner reservations. The waitstaff is exceptional and the combinations of scallops with bacon relish and buffalo meatloaf were my favorite. You also can't get a better view of Lake Tahoe on a holiday night, with gorgeous high wood beam ceilings, iron lanterns and full floor to ceiling windows overlooking the dock covered in lights. Highly recommend for a romantic date or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great foods and services.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great foods and services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely lakefront restaurant with delicio ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Lovely lakefront restaurant with delicious food in Homewood. The portion sizes are very large so be aware when ordering. Salads can easily be shared.

Appreciated that the noise level was minimal so we could enjoy table conversation. Great location with wonderful views of Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had 2 meals there within 3 days. All ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had 2 meals there within 3 days. All the food we ordered on both meals were delicious. The service was excellent. Both waitresses were very nice and friendly, totally made us feel welcomed. The restaurant is located by the lake so the view is breathtaking. We're definitely going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Everything we ordered was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing food. Everything we ordered was delicious. The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable on the food and drinks. We loved it so much we went 2 days in a row. Best hot toddies!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a delicious meal with excellent ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious meal with excellent service with friends

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been before and love it every ti ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have been before and love it every time! The Caesar Salad was better than mine which is saying a lot because I love mine! Our server was excellent and really the perfect amount of attention! The food selections were great, the view was wonderful and we had a great time sitting on the dock before dinner enjoying a cocktail!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful , relaxing off-season dining e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

wonderful , relaxing off-season dining experience... Good food, comfortable surrounding, fabulous lake view ... and friendly , attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Typical Old Tahoe ambiance, with good fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Typical Old Tahoe ambiance, with good food and great views of the Lake.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed that the bees precluded out ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Disappointed that the bees precluded outdoor dining. Also the music was a little loud. Still a very could time for our annual trip to Tahoe. We will be back again next yeat.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually love this restaurant. The vi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We usually love this restaurant. The view is amazing. Unfortunately, 3 of the four of us ordered halibut and it was like shoe leather. The waitress told us that we were the 2nd table to complain about the fish. She did comp one of our corkage fees, but we thought the value was still unreasonable in light of the fact that our meals were inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

We had an excellent evening and the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had an excellent evening and the service was very good. Thank you West Shore Cafe.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We consider West Shore Cafe to be one of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We consider West Shore Cafe to be one of our favorite restaurants in the Lake Tahoe area and have been eating there on our frequent vacations over the past 5 years or so. Unfortunately, the quality of the food currently isn't up to its past standard, so the value isn't what we've experienced on previous occasions. However, the view, service and ambience still make it worthwhile.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was an anniversary dinner however I ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner however I was solo-all of the staff were very accommodating to seat me somewhere comfortably and fantastic- I had a table on the pier with an awesome view of the sunset. It was just perfect. The service and food were fabulous.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Views, exceptional service, ambiance, an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Views, exceptional service, ambiance, and outstanding food. Not much more you can ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is outstanding but the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambiance is outstanding but the food lacked creativity, portion size & flavor but it was decent. I understand when going to restaurants with great views, the food will just ok but the service should still be good, or even a step down from good. Our server never checked on us, forgot our drinks & never brought things we requested like an extra plate, knife & mustard. So if Lakeside is all your looking for then eat here - if you want more than a solid view, run far away!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Salmon entree was very creative and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Salmon entree was very creative and delicious. Wine list has some great values and some uncommon offerings although not extensive. Sometimes too many wine choices tend to confuse the diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

West Shore Cafe is our GO TO restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

West Shore Cafe is our GO TO restaurant on the lake. The views are breathtaking and the lodge is rustic and beautiful. Especially like the locals night on Mondays during ski season. Wish the restaurant was open every night in the winter - we would make the drive. This week the wasps were out in force so that spoiled an otherwise lovely dinner but that is not the West Shore Cafe's fault - we also have them at our house in Squaw Valley. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love the setting, going by boat for d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We love the setting, going by boat for dinner. Undoubtably it's not the old west shore cafe. Food is marginal, service....you never know? Lots of better restaurants for the price. This year the menu is very limited. Not even close to what you see on Open Table

As one person put it....maybe good for a cocktail and app but that's about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Food sub-par, over priced, amateurish. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food sub-par, over priced, amateurish. Service erratic, friendly but overly casual and again- amateurish. In the end we paid for great view, unexpectedly poor food. Not a fan at these prices. Won't go again. Picnic on the beach better:)

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Bees, bees, bees.....but not their fault ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bees, bees, bees.....but not their fault, currently a problem all over the lake.

We've been coming here for years (as one of the prettiest spots on the lake to boat to) and seen good management/chef incarnations and not so great. This year it seems to be the later. Menu options were limited and every item (from burgers to fish) was overcooked. Service was good.

There's always next year.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Food was the worst it's ever been. My hu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was the worst it's ever been. My husband and I didn't eat our dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

except for the yellow jacket bees the ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

except for the yellow jacket bees the experience was awesome

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent view food and service! Love t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent view food and service! Love the outdoor seating. Halibut was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

so sad the bees were so hungry! we had ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 10, 2016

so sad the bees were so hungry! we had to come inside and eat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Menu very limited--yellow jackets a big ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Menu very limited--yellow jackets a big problem this year on the patio--not possible to sit comfortably outside. Food delivery late to the restaurant so menu choices of a limited menu even more limited.

New chef not very good

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Bees were a real problem would thunk twi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Bees were a real problem would thunk twice before I would go back. A very nice spot except for bees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent menu and service and what a vi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent menu and service and what a view. Summertime at the Westshore. What's better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. SERVICE WAS OUTSTAN ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 2, 2016

FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING. LOVE THE OUTDOOR DINING AND VIEW OF LAKE TAHOE. THERE WERE WASPS WHICH WERE SOMEWHAT BOTHERSOME. RESTAURANT HAD TRAPS OUT BUT HARD TO GET THEM ALL. FUN LUNCH FOR MY BIRTHDAY.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious but cold

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was delicious but cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience at the West Shore! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful experience at the West Shore! The food was great and the service was exceptional! And of course, you can't beat the outdoor deck on a summer day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.