Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About West Park Bistro

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3.00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Private Party Facilities:
Simply put, West Park Bistro is the “right fit” for all of your event requirements. A remarkable environment in which to hold your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Honor Alkan and Susan Allam: (844) 389-2515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I started eating at this place shortly after the grand opening. As a local guy I have tried every spot in San Carlos, West Park keeps getting better and better. the food has evolved into something delicious and special.
The owners are friendly and there to serve you which I think is great. Perfect outdoor seating, awesome bar with amazing cocktails.
The best private dinning room in town is their wine cellar for up to 20 where I hosted my staff dinner twice so far.
WEST PARK HAS IT ALL!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

the food is greAT - pEAR RAIOLLI WAS TO DIE FOR! AND QUIET ENOUGH THAT YOU CAN ACTUALY TALK TO YOUR DINNER/ LUNCH COMPANIONS!!!!! I LOOK FORWARD TO A RETURN VISIT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a great meal while sitting out front on a beautiful day. I did not like having my back to the street but my guest enjoyed her view. Service was good, food was better and was nice to be outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was served undercooked (pork tenderloin was cooked like Raw Greg tenderloin) and risotto was soupy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is outstanding, and even though we dined here on Valentines Day the service was attentive. The restaurant was totally packed, but everything was done in a timely manner. I definitely will eat here again and highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This restaurant's food and service experience is dependable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious brunch. Did not try cocktails or wine due to subsequent event. Service professional but a little slow coming out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food wasn't great (cold) and took forever. Had purchased unlimited mimosas but barely had anything to drink as it took so long. First bad review I've ever given on OpenTable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a nice Friday evening dinner at West Park Bistro. The food, service, and atmosphere were all good. No complaints about any of it except the bill. Wow! I guess the price of eating out in San Carlos has really gone up. Given the high cost of the meal, I would choose wisely if you think you are getting a value meal. You are not. You will be paying high end San Francisco prices for a San Carlos neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were looking for a place for dinner nearby. The special fish and other dishes were very tasty. Service was fine.. waiter was pleasant and quickly got the wine that he'd forgotten after we asked. Attitude was great. Dessert and coffee was wonderful too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good food, service & atmosphere. There was no one else in the restaurant when we arrived for !:30 lunch. It was not necessary for us to have reservations at that time. Will definitely return and would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a great experience at West Park Bistro. We had a large group in for a business meeting that week and split up into smaller groups to dine around San Carlos. We had one of the better evenings of the groups.
The restaurant is rather small, but you don't really feel crowded. We had a very thoughtful waiter. Our group was busy getting caught up with each other and talking. Our waiter was very patient and checked back with us a few times to take our orders. He recommended a few bottles of good wine to complement what we had ordered. I had the butter leaf salad which was really fresh. The bread was pretty wonderful, as well.
I ordered the roasted chicken for the main course - cooked perfectly and the brussel sprouts with the bacon mixed in was heavenly. My co-worker ordered the bay scallops and I had order envy. I think she had the best meal at the table.
We actually didn't have much room for dessert, but ordered the 3 sorbets at the end. It was a perfect finish to the evening.
West Park Bistro is a lovely restaurant - friendly/attentive service, fresh food. It's a great place to discuss business, go on a date - it's quiet enough that you can hear people talking next to you without yelling.
We took an Uber to the restaurant. I had overhead some people talking that parking was challenging in the shopping center. Something to take into account before heading out. We made reservations since we had a larger party, but I don't think you will need them if coming in during the week. If you have a special occasion, I encourage the call ahead. I sent a group who went to another dinner to try West Park Bistro later in the week and they returned with similar feedback on their meal. We usually go to Mistral's while in town for business, it's close to our hotel. However, I thought West Park Bistro was a little better than Mistral's has been the last few times we have been there. It is a bit more expensive, but worth it for a special/work occasion. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

food was delicious...service was ok... seemed understaffed and our waiter seemed very irritated, not very attentive, perhaps overwhelmed. he finally did get some help and the night went on smoothly.
will be back, hopefully service will improve next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The reservation was 30 minutes late and it wasn't that great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Like their small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Good consistent food. Nice wine list second time here for business dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve dinner. Very busy and even though our server was managing a whole lot of tables he still managed to give us very good service and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a New Year's Eve dinner for a family of 9. We were delighted to find the restaurant decorated with red and green floating balloons. The ambience was festive yet tasteful. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. We were made to feel very welcome. Although we were a large party, we were served our drinks, appetizers and main courses in good time. We didn't have to wait long between courses. And the food, although pricey, was excellent! We all had a great time! I've been to this restaurant for lunch quite a few times and was always very satisfied with the food and overall experience. It's nice to know that it's also a great place to go for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our dinner was exceptional! This is our new favorite spot in San Carlos. The Caesar salad is delicious and all of our entrees were fantastic. We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food, top-notch service and an extensive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We came to celebrate my daughter's 25th birthday. The food was excellent and service superb. They put our party of 4 in the wine room where it was quiet and warm (only two tables). The wait staff were observant but unobtrusive and knew just when to arrive to clean dishes or ask if we needed anything. A wonderful time was had by all. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Made a reservation on Open Table, took 20 minutes to find parking and to walk to this place only to be turned away because they were hosting a private event. It would have been considerate of them to mention that to Open Table and to not allow reservations to be made if they are only going to turn us away when we arrive. This caused a big fight with the gf. Luckily we found a nice alternative in Woodside. The least they could have done would have been to apologize for their mistake. I don't think I'm ever coming back after an experience like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

West Park is a very small restaurant on a street of many, many restaurants. I had not heard of it before, and the other reviews were very good. I was not disappointed! The menu had so many delicious looking appetizers and entrees that it was hard to decide. In the end I chose the pork tenderloin medallions, and it was delicious. The pork was perfectly prepared and eautifully plated with vegetables and sweet potato puree. I had a mixed green salad to start which also was excellent. I will definitely be back to try the other great menu options!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Split all dishes for us
Loved it coming. Back
Brunch menu looked amazing too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed another evening with friends at West Park Friday night. The food was great- fish tacos- salmon- filet steak and chicken pasta.
The service is great, and a large and well selected wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I've been here twice now and both times have thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service. Highly recommend checking this restaurant out, and it's refreshing to not have to wait 40mins for a table like some venues nearby - when the food is just as good!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Selected West Park Bistro for a family members birthday brunch right after Thanksgiving and for its proximity to SFO. They weren't very busy that morning, but the food was great and service good and not intrusive. Totally met our requirements and would definitely visit again. Very pleased overall with the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a very nice time with our son who we were visiting. The food was excellent and we just loved the decor. If we lived there we would definitely come back. We were very happy with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great neighborhood gem. The food was fresh and nothing was heavily sauced. Best Ceasar salad. My toddler ate it all! The lettuce was super fresh and not so much sauce. Great for families or special occasions. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a lovely time at this Bistro.It was our 1st time there & we will be back.The ambiance was nice,the staff was very good.The food was delicious.3 out of the four or us were celebrating our Nov. birthdays , when the Waiter brought us a really nice dessert with candles.Of course an extra spoon for the non Birthday member.Fabulous time for all.I am so happy I found this eatery on yelp. thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

It was my first time dining there and I was very impressed. Food was delicious,
impressive wine list, staff was very attentive. Will definetely come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We held a surprise party here in the semi private room. There were 9 of us and the service was great. My only complaint was that it was pretty cold in the private room but am assuming thats because there were shelves of wines stored there

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very nice place they greet us with a smile and the food was GREAT !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent Italian food... specials change often, make sure to ask. Service is perfect, not hovering too much, not too inattentive, just perfect. Will definitely return in the near future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

If you're looking for a quiet, delicious, lovely restaurant for lunch, try West Park Bistro. You won't be sorry. Five of us had an excellent lunch with great service in a beautiful atmosphere. There is something on the menu for everyone: salads, sandwiches, hot meals, etc. They also have a full bar as well as some fabulous non alcoholic choices for non drinkers. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Good food. Good service. Excellent place for a family dinner or a business dinner.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I took Mom here for her 83rd birthday. So I wanted a restaurant on the quiet side and with attentive service. West End Bistro has it all and more! We were seated in a semi-private room in the “wine room” that has 4 tables, so it was delightful to be able to hear one another talk. There was large party of 24 in a separate room separated by glass wall/window and we could barely hear them. The server was excellent. She was assisted as needed by the manager/host so the food came out very timely. They each checked in with us a couple times which was terrific. Mom started with the Wagyu meatballs which are huge! You can definitely make this your entre along with a small salad. Highly recommended. I started with little gem salad and it was divine with the apples and a perfectly matched dressing.
Main course for me was the Thyme pork tenderloin, cooked to perfection, accompanied by yummy yam puree and the most outrageous port wine reduction. I had to take home a box because the portions are generous, and I asked for a drizzle of the sauce and received a small separate container with at least a cup of the pure gold goodness. Mom adored her salmon and it was not overdone which so many places do these days. Each was beautifully presented and served hot. We topped it off with a complimentary scoop of vanilla gelato, candle and all. My gosh, that was the best I had tasted in a long time!
Thankfully, we brought our own wine because the selection is spendy, starting at least $30+ for the basic bottles. Great selection, and being an oenophile, it was pure heaven to be seated in the wine room. Do be prepared to spend some money here, but IMO, it was worth every dollar. Bravo!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our 2nd time at the restaurant, but 1st time for brunch. Great food! We had the jalapeno omelet. It was SO good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Strangely we were the only people in the establishment for a Saturday Brunch. The food was very good and the staff was friendly but not overly attentive. We couldn't figure out why more people were not there as other restaurants on the street were very busy but we enjoyed the occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The plates sounded delicious in the menu, flavors were fair, but they were too rich, too greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.