About West Park Bistro

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Private Party Facilities:
Simply put, West Park Bistro is the “right fit” for all of your event requirements. A remarkable environment in which to hold your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Robert Miguel: 8443892515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

  • West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
  • West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
  • Grilled Salmon - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
  • Bacon Wrapped Dates - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
  • Steak - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
  • Sea Bream Whole Fish - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
  • Goat Cheese and Beet Ravioli - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
Grilled Salmon - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
Bacon Wrapped Dates - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
Steak - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
Sea Bream Whole Fish - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA
Goat Cheese and Beet Ravioli - West Park Bistro, San Carlos, CA

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Private Room (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed another evening with friends ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed another evening with friends at West Park Friday night. The food was great- fish tacos- salmon- filet steak and chicken pasta.

The service is great, and a large and well selected wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Selected West Park Bistro for a family m ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Selected West Park Bistro for a family members birthday brunch right after Thanksgiving and for its proximity to SFO. They weren't very busy that morning, but the food was great and service good and not intrusive. Totally met our requirements and would definitely visit again. Very pleased overall with the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very nice time with our son who ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a very nice time with our son who we were visiting. The food was excellent and we just loved the decor. If we lived there we would definitely come back. We were very happy with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great neighborhood gem. The food was fre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great neighborhood gem. The food was fresh and nothing was heavily sauced. Best Ceasar salad. My toddler ate it all! The lettuce was super fresh and not so much sauce. Great for families or special occasions. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time at this Bistro.It w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a lovely time at this Bistro.It was our 1st time there & we will be back.The ambiance was nice,the staff was very good.The food was delicious.3 out of the four or us were celebrating our Nov. birthdays , when the Waiter brought us a really nice dessert with candles.Of course an extra spoon for the non Birthday member.Fabulous time for all.I am so happy I found this eatery on yelp. thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time dining there and I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

It was my first time dining there and I was very impressed. Food was delicious,

impressive wine list, staff was very attentive. Will definetely come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a surprise party here in the sem ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We held a surprise party here in the semi private room. There were 9 of us and the service was great. My only complaint was that it was pretty cold in the private room but am assuming thats because there were shelves of wines stored there

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice place they greet us with a smi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very nice place they greet us with a smile and the food was GREAT !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Italian food... specials chang ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent Italian food... specials change often, make sure to ask. Service is perfect, not hovering too much, not too inattentive, just perfect. Will definitely return in the near future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for a quiet, delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

If you're looking for a quiet, delicious, lovely restaurant for lunch, try West Park Bistro. You won't be sorry. Five of us had an excellent lunch with great service in a beautiful atmosphere. There is something on the menu for everyone: salads, sandwiches, hot meals, etc. They also have a full bar as well as some fabulous non alcoholic choices for non drinkers. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good service. Excellent pla ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Good food. Good service. Excellent place for a family dinner or a business dinner.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took Mom here for her 83rd birthday. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I took Mom here for her 83rd birthday. So I wanted a restaurant on the quiet side and with attentive service. West End Bistro has it all and more! We were seated in a semi-private room in the “wine room” that has 4 tables, so it was delightful to be able to hear one another talk. There was large party of 24 in a separate room separated by glass wall/window and we could barely hear them. The server was excellent. She was assisted as needed by the manager/host so the food came out very timely. They each checked in with us a couple times which was terrific. Mom started with the Wagyu meatballs which are huge! You can definitely make this your entre along with a small salad. Highly recommended. I started with little gem salad and it was divine with the apples and a perfectly matched dressing.

Main course for me was the Thyme pork tenderloin, cooked to perfection, accompanied by yummy yam puree and the most outrageous port wine reduction. I had to take home a box because the portions are generous, and I asked for a drizzle of the sauce and received a small separate container with at least a cup of the pure gold goodness. Mom adored her salmon and it was not overdone which so many places do these days. Each was beautifully presented and served hot. We topped it off with a complimentary scoop of vanilla gelato, candle and all. My gosh, that was the best I had tasted in a long time!

Thankfully, we brought our own wine because the selection is spendy, starting at least $30+ for the basic bottles. Great selection, and being an oenophile, it was pure heaven to be seated in the wine room. Do be prepared to spend some money here, but IMO, it was worth every dollar. Bravo!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time at the restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our 2nd time at the restaurant, but 1st time for brunch. Great food! We had the jalapeno omelet. It was SO good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Strangely we were the only people in the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Strangely we were the only people in the establishment for a Saturday Brunch. The food was very good and the staff was friendly but not overly attentive. We couldn't figure out why more people were not there as other restaurants on the street were very busy but we enjoyed the occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The plates sounded delicious in the menu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The plates sounded delicious in the menu, flavors were fair, but they were too rich, too greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

First time at West Park Bistro, went wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

First time at West Park Bistro, went with a friend who had dined there before. Fantastic and attentive service. Amazing Grilled Octopus, Filet Mignon and Bread Pudding. Will come again!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been here 2x and had only the beet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I've been here 2x and had only the beet salad, but it was delicious! If you like truffle, then it is a must. The service was fine. The one negative is whatever cleaning agent they use has a very strong chemical odor. VERY strong. So much so that we had to request to sit outside. I did let the server know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

There were four of us and our dinners we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

There were four of us and our dinners were excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent food. Friendly service. Good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Consistent food. Friendly service. Good wine list. Friday & Saturday night parking can be a challenge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would consider returning if the servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I would consider returning if the service were to improve. The food was very good-- but the service unattentive. We were a group of 10 adults for an afternoon birthday lunch. Other than 3 other tables of 2 and 3 people-- we were the only group there! Bad service is just unforgivable at these prices!! Not rushing back anytime soon....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We've been to WEST Park many times and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We've been to WEST Park many times and always enjoy our meals. The service is excellent and very friendly. The menu is varied and includes some great appetizers , including steak tartare, fish tacos, crab cakes, also great pasta dishes as well.

Their lunch, and brunch es are also worth trying.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

West Park Bistro was a great place to go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

West Park Bistro was a great place to go for dinner on a Sunday night. The food was great, and it wasn't too crowded, therefore it wasn't too noisy. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had friends in town from the East Coa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had friends in town from the East Coast who we have not seen in a while. They were staying at a hotel nearby and I wanted a restaurant with great food and atmosphere but not too loud because we had lots to talk about! West Park Bistro fit the bill! The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food was amazing - I had the rack of lamb and was not disappointed! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating was nice. The atmospher ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Outdoor seating was nice. The atmosphere was a bit thin although it was a Monday night. The food was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outside eating for brunch as fantastic. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outside eating for brunch as fantastic. The Sunday outdoor market was going on that added to the character of the town.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fabulous restaurant. The lamb ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. The lamb chops and pork tenderloin are outstanding. The toffee cake is to die for. I have been coming to this restaurant since the opening and it been wonderful to see it blossom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never had a bad or mediocre exper ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have never had a bad or mediocre experience at West Park - whether it was renting their private space for a corporate dinner, or simply heading there with my husband and sons for an early dinner on a Friday night, the food and service are impeccable. I highly recommend this restaurant, and commend it's owners and staff for all their hard work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but service was terribly s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was good but service was terribly slow. Over an hour to get lunch meals with only 5 other tables occupied in restaurant. Asked for water refills multiple times but was slow with that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The service was great. The waiters were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was great. The waiters were very attentive and helpful. The food was very tasty. I had the lamb and my wife had the combination pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have had better results in prior visits ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have had better results in prior visits - staff seem disinterested - set a poor tone.

Slipped from good to 'ok' - not so ok for the price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was completely unimpressed with West P ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was completely unimpressed with West Park Bistro. The Caesar salad was mediocre. The tuna had absolutely no flavor, just oily. I enjoyed the skirt steak but the potatoes that accompanied it were all garlic. I certainly will not dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Delicious food and great drinks

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food and great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, acceptable service, expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, acceptable service, expensive prices, hot wine. As a thank you gesture we took some friends to the Bistro for dinner. The staff seemed a bit disinterested in us at first but our charm warmed them up through the course of the dinner. One note, I don't know why restaurants in the US serve wine at room temperature, when the room is 75 degrees. In my mind a good bottle of red wine, served in the summer, should be at or near cellar temperature (60 degrees) not summer room temperature. We had to ask for an ice bucket as the wine was hot....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I enjoyed the flavorful vegetable sample ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I enjoyed the flavorful vegetable sampler very much. My companion thought the crab cake appetizer was gooey instead of flakey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was great fun to watch the farmer's m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was great fun to watch the farmer's market going on

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Atmosphere is comfortable & classy, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Atmosphere is comfortable & classy, service was attentive, but not particularly friendly or upbeat. Our server was probably too young? Food was good quality, but very basic. I would say "uninspired." I may be back? I wanted to love it, but nothing I had made me want to try more. Laurel Street strip has some very good restaurants. If West Park wants to stay for the long haul they need to find some more interesting entree options & get waitress to smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We always enjoy dining at West Park Bist ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy dining at West Park Bistro and especially when Kubi is our server. The service is excellent and so is the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worst food possible-

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Worst food possible-

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The Waygu meatballs appetizer were amazi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Waygu meatballs appetizer were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and under seasoned.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2016

The beet salad was great, but that's sort of a difficult dish to ruin.

The fresh bread was cakey.

The salmon entire dish was so salty, I could only take a few bites before I had to stop. I took it home to be polite, but was straight into the trash once we left.

The dessert was fine, but not great. The chocolate dome tasted as though it were frozen and microwaved.

The bill for two was well over $100 for food that didn't even make it to mediocre.

Great service, and wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.