About West Park Bistro

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

  • West Park Bistro
  • West Park Bistro
  • Grilled Salmon
  • Bacon Wrapped Dates
  • Steak
  • Sea Bream Whole Fish
  • Goat Cheese and Beet Ravioli
West Park Bistro
West Park Bistro
Grilled Salmon
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Steak
Sea Bream Whole Fish
Goat Cheese and Beet Ravioli

Private Dining

Simply put, West Park Bistro is the “right fit” for all of your event requirements. A remarkable environment in which to hold your next event!

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (18)
good for groups (16)
See All
special occasion (13)
great for lunch (10)
romantic (9)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good but service was terribly s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but service was terribly slow. Over an hour to get lunch meals with only 5 other tables occupied in restaurant. Asked for water refills multiple times but was slow with that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The service was great. The waiters were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was great. The waiters were very attentive and helpful. The food was very tasty. I had the lamb and my wife had the combination pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have had better results in prior visits ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have had better results in prior visits - staff seem disinterested - set a poor tone.

Slipped from good to 'ok' - not so ok for the price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was completely unimpressed with West P ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was completely unimpressed with West Park Bistro. The Caesar salad was mediocre. The tuna had absolutely no flavor, just oily. I enjoyed the skirt steak but the potatoes that accompanied it were all garlic. I certainly will not dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Delicious food and great drinks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food and great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, acceptable service, expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, acceptable service, expensive prices, hot wine. As a thank you gesture we took some friends to the Bistro for dinner. The staff seemed a bit disinterested in us at first but our charm warmed them up through the course of the dinner. One note, I don't know why restaurants in the US serve wine at room temperature, when the room is 75 degrees. In my mind a good bottle of red wine, served in the summer, should be at or near cellar temperature (60 degrees) not summer room temperature. We had to ask for an ice bucket as the wine was hot....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I enjoyed the flavorful vegetable sample ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I enjoyed the flavorful vegetable sampler very much. My companion thought the crab cake appetizer was gooey instead of flakey.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was great fun to watch the farmer's m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was great fun to watch the farmer's market going on

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Atmosphere is comfortable & classy, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Atmosphere is comfortable & classy, service was attentive, but not particularly friendly or upbeat. Our server was probably too young? Food was good quality, but very basic. I would say "uninspired." I may be back? I wanted to love it, but nothing I had made me want to try more. Laurel Street strip has some very good restaurants. If West Park wants to stay for the long haul they need to find some more interesting entree options & get waitress to smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We always enjoy dining at West Park Bist ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy dining at West Park Bistro and especially when Kubi is our server. The service is excellent and so is the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worst food possible-

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Worst food possible-

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The Waygu meatballs appetizer were amazi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Waygu meatballs appetizer were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and under seasoned.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The beet salad was great, but that's sort of a difficult dish to ruin.

The fresh bread was cakey.

The salmon entire dish was so salty, I could only take a few bites before I had to stop. I took it home to be polite, but was straight into the trash once we left.

The dessert was fine, but not great. The chocolate dome tasted as though it were frozen and microwaved.

The bill for two was well over $100 for food that didn't even make it to mediocre.

Great service, and wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I will definitely return to West Park. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I will definitely return to West Park. Cocktails were delicious as was the dinner. Service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had 6 p.m. reservations for 4. Excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Had 6 p.m. reservations for 4. Excellent service -- the waiter was attentive, yet unobtrusive. Noise level moderate, but we could converse without raising our voices. Food was tasty and we all cleaned our plates. Ambiance was pleasant; I don't recall music. Will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Left without being served

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Had a 7:15 pm reservation on mothers day. Arrived at 7:05 and was told we would need to wait awhile. I asked the hostess if she had a reservation for us and she said, "Yes, but its busy." I was thinking to myself, did they seat walk in's without regard to the reservations. We waited outside on the street and were finally seated (outside) around 7:30 pm. I was somewhat disappointed that we were sitting outside since it was cool and we did not dress for outside seating, but it was getting late and we did not want to wait any longer. After about 10 minutes someone took our drink order and we never saw another waiter. At 8:05 I went inside and told the hostess were leaving. We had been sitting for 35 minutes, no one had taken our order and we were cold. I didn't want to spend the next hour waiting for our food. As we were leaving another table outside asked, "are you leaving and we said yes, he said we thought it was only us, we have been waiting forever for someone to take our order." I realize it was mothers day, but the restaurant should have planned for the influx of people. I don't think there was any regard to reservations vs walk-ins.

Tags: romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

pleasant Mother's day dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Since it was mother's day, the restaurant was crowded and late. If we wanted to sit outside we could have been seated immediately, but since we wanted to be inside, we did have to wait for our table (a half hour). The staff was very friendly and apologetic, and brought complementary champagne. Once seated, the waitress was very pleasant and helpful, the food was great and ultimately dessert was comped because of the long wait and slower than normal food service. We had a fine time despite the wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ate here for Mother's Day dinner with my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Ate here for Mother's Day dinner with my family. This was our third time eating here. It's always been great before. Food was great as always. Service was horrific. It took over an hour to get our food. Not sure if they were understaffed or what was going on. I'll probably give it another chance since I've always had a good experience before, but this time definitely will give me pause in booking here again, especially if I have any time constraints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

West Park Bistro Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to West Park Bistro and it was for Mother's day Brunch. The food was AMAZING!!! The service was excellent and very friendly. The only negative, and it's not a big one, is that the tables are very close together so it felt crowded and kind of noisy. But we will definitely be going back and make it one of our regular places!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

great mother's day brunch! thank you for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

great mother's day brunch! thank you for having us!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

mothers day

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic place for mothers day. They had special menu with lots of choices. Service was great. Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect like always! The food, service a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect like always! The food, service and the drinks are always on par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Staff was exceptional. The food was excellent and the ambiance is very nice. We especially like that the restaurant is fairly quiet so you can easily visit at dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was great. Service notable. Wine list pricey. Will return and bring our own wine & pay corkage.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Business Group Dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a special time at West Park for a group business dinner with an international partner.

The food was exquisite! We had a couple of vegetarians and they catered to their needs. The wine suggested by owner, Murad, was fantastic. We had our own space as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, but prices a bit too hig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, but prices a bit too high for San Carlos, particularly the mark up on wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I love this restaurant. More folks shoul ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. More folks should give it a try. Food and service are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too much cologne

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Visited with a party of 5 who all enjoyed their food and the evening. However, we all were put-off at various times when a male member of the service staff, not our wait person, would walk by our table leaving a very strong and very objectionable cloying odor which interfered with the food enjoyment. The restaurant needs to establish a strict no "perfume/cologne" for their service personnel. West Park Bistro is a fine restaurant which should have the aroma of food not Nordstrom's perfume counter.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Seriously under-rated restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Your octopus and calamari were, as ever, excellent. The medium rare filet mignonette was perfect.

Only the overcooked hamburger, ordered rare, was an issue, but our server corrected that immediately.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lamb chops and pork tenderloin are f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

The lamb chops and pork tenderloin are fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

I would love to come back and try again, but your food for dinner was warm and NOT hot, everyone at our table, felt the same way. Very disapointed

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Romantic Valentine dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

With rose pedals on our outdoor table warmed with beautiful firelight heaters, my husband and I spend a most enjoyable Valentine dinner. It was so romantic. The prefix meal selections could suit a wide variety of tastes and preferences. Delicious, delicious, delicious. Spectacularly prepared and presented, each course was amazing. The wine selection was delightful and we enjoyed a bottle of Zin. The mood was so relaxing and the staff so friendly we stayed close to 2 hours, lingering over the divine desserts and coffee. This is one of my favorite restaurants in San Carlos. I can highly recommend West Park Bistro for a romantic evening, as well as a large family gathering. It can also be a great place for a private work party.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food, but overinflated wine prices

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The wines on the wine list are extremely overinflated. So much so, that we skipped appetizers to keep the overall tab from getting too out of control. In the end, all we got were so-so entrees, a bottle of wine, and a bill that was out of line for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Quality, tasty food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The veggie sandwich has lots of delicious, fresh vegetables on a delicious bun with perfect french fries (thin, crispy, salty). The home-made bread that comes with lunch is incredible!

The food is made from high quality ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Neighborhood gem

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

This is our second time in this restaurant and it did not disappoint. The grilled octopus was

very tender and flavorful. The best I have eaten so far in the Bay Area. The dorado whole fish

was superb, flavorful, tender and moist. The accompanying vegetables fresh, beautiful to look at and just perfectly done, slightly al dente. We will definitely return. The restaurant is especially nice for a quite Sunday early evening dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent and very interesting menu

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Not only did we like the atmosphere, but the food was excellent. Different from all other places in the neighborhood. Definitely a foodie's restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific for wine enthusiasts especially ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Terrific for wine enthusiasts especially dining in the wine room! I loved this place and felt as if I was in Wine Heaven! Food - sea bass was delicious, melted in our mouth, no chewing required; how it should be and the bone-in rib eye steak was fantastic. Attentive service I think his name was Onu. An overall excellent experience and would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

OK, but not impressive

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The location is great, the ambiance was pleasant, cozy and comfortable. The food is good. I was hoping for better, however, given the descriptions in the menu. The crab cakes toppings were better than the crabcakes themselves. The main dish was pleasant. My food needs were accomodated, for which I am grateful. The "snowball" dessert was delicious! Their wine list was good. And service was fine.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Very good food and service. A bit on the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good food and service. A bit on the expensive side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good but completely empty!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

I arrived at 6:25 and all the other restaurants downtown were packed but West Park was empty. The salad was excellent, although it had way too much dressing. The scallop risotto was delicious and the bread pudding was yummy but untraditional.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.