Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About West Park Bistro

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3.00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, great service! When one meal wasn't what we had expected, it was readily and happily replaced. Servers were friendly and truly accommodating. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Staff was phonominal helpful in every chance they had.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food is excellent but service is not the greatest and a little overpriced. Waiter friendly but it took quite a long time for our food to come and we had to keep asking for things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I have been to West Park Bistro for 2 separate business meals with clients from overseas. The menu is diverse and the service is always exceptional. This is a great place for business meetings over good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Scallops were great. Salmon was okay. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My salmon was overlooked and had a terrible green sauce on top. When we brought it to the waiter's attention, he totally ignored the issue. We shared a crab appetizer and both had fish. We had no alcohol and the bill was $91.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

It’s been 3 months. Great to be back eating at WPB. We had Octopus, Wrapped Dates, Curry Cauliflower, Salmon, & Branzini paired with a bottle of 2012 Chateau La Fiole Du Pape. Usually parking can be a challenge in San Carlos; however, it was very available this Sunday eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Beautiful dining
Great service and I really enjoyed the Chilean Sea Bass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The cuisine is exceptional and the menu offers choices to please a variety of palates. Lovely, elegant ambience. Great service. Worth a visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2017

When I'm in the area for work meetings, I like to take the team to someplace special on our last night; The West Park Bistro is our new favorite. We enjoyed the delicious calamari and crab cakes for appetizers. We each tried something different: Scallops, Skirt Steak, Salmon and I had Chilean Sea Bass. OMG .. it was perfectly prepared, and sitting on a bed of sliced fingerling potatoes, with wild mushrooms and sweet maui onions. I LOVE Chilean Sea Bass, and this was the best I've ever had. Next Team meeting .. we're going here

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food and service was very good...if you're gluten free, they have options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

West Park Bistro is a casual yet classy gem. The food and wine were outstanding and it was the best dining experience that we have had in a very long time. The restaurant is quiet, which is a very much appreciated and rare attribute. The service was impeccable yet not stuffy. Everything was just right!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My friend and I had a very nice time here for her birthday. I would order the chicken in a heartbeat..which I don't normally do at a restaurant. We did sit in the back dining room ,which at first I was pleased as I had not sat there before. I should have scanned the room however and noted a party of about 16 coming and moved to the front. Just the two of us trying to talk very loudly to be heard over the 16.. other people came in and went back out. I have been a hostess and a waitress in my lifetime and get trying to spread out the tables.,but really you should never seat a small party by a large group.. or even in the same room...unless the whole place is going to be packed and everyone will be shouting.

great food though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I had a delicious dinner and will definitely be back in the near future. We tried the bacon wrapped dates, onion soup, mixed green salad, filet mignon, and the spaghetti. The spaghetti was a pretty small portion, but other than that, everything was really tasty. They have a solid cocktail list (try the mini skirt martini!) and nice patio seating. We were a bit distracted by some other patrons that were loudly playing music from their own boom box on the patio. It would've been nice if the restaurant had asked them to turn off their music.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Group of 9-- good choices-- good food-- low noise level-- server eager to please-- will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's Day. Everyone was happy. Great food and good service. The best calamari out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice setting on Laurel. Has indoor and outdoor seating. We got window table that was quiet so we could talk. Server was attentive and provided our drinks promptly. My wife enjoyed a glass of pinot. They had a full serve bar available. The salad was excellent. The ravioli was very good but would have preferred a marinara sauce. Server provided a complimentary birthday dessert. Would certainly return. Parking in the area is difficult. Plan for extra time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always a fabulous meal! The owner is great along with the rest of the staff. Entrees are always prepared beautifully.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very much enjoyed my choices and it's not often that I am completely happy with a restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wanted the lighter-fare of fish tonight. We had Branzini & Sea Bass. Bacon Wrapped dates & Crab cake starters. Nicely paired with a bttl of 2010 Maggy Hawk Pinot Noir.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a wonderful night at West Park Bistro. We were a party of 8 and had starters, mains & desserts and everyone loved everything we had. Will be going back here often. It is now one of our favourite restaurants in San Carlos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had very good experience, the food is solid, we had one of the two private rooms, service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food tasty, party of 5, food took way too long to arrive and little communication. Table next to us came after us and got food before us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went on Mothers Day, with a fixed price menu---$36 including a desert. The problem was the quantity of the food was disappointing. There were about 6 items to choose from, I had the french toast, it had fresh berries and little else. I understand the fixed price menu on Mothers Day but the quantity was meager. We've eaten there several times in the past and have been OK, not outstanding. After this experience we will not go back, there are too many restaurants in San Carlos that are superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant at all. I understand that it was Mother's Day, but the quality of food was horrible. My husband's French toast was cold, and it was not worth asking for a new meal. Very overpriced for limited menu. When we called to confirm the man that answered was rude and said he could not believe we had reservations through Open Table because they had over 400 reservations and then hung up on me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was our first time dining here and while it was very busy for Mothers Day, the service was good and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was lacking for that caliber of a restaurant. Otherwise, food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Love The bacon wrapped dates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Absolutely fantastic restaurant! Great date spot with interesting surroundings and lots to do after the meal. The restaurant itself is very clean and modern looking. Food was perfect. Great appetizers and dessert menu as well. Large selection of wine.

Only downside depends on your perspective but I found it to be a bit too casual (Jeans, T-Shirts, lots of kids). Depending on your occasion (Date night vs Family dinner) you may not like that but I found the restaurant so good as to make up for these things.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Met friends for early dinner. Started off well with Tomato Soup, tuna tartar and beet salad.
But meatballs and fish tacos not so good.
Can't decide if we'll give them other chance.
There was a private party in one room, so hard to judge noise levels and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very nice place! Wonderful good and service. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Went with my monthly dinner group and everyone loved his or her food choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The appetizers were good. We had the carpaccio and calamari. The entrees were just OK. My risotto had cottage cheese which was an odd add. The filet mignon had no flavor. If you want a kid friendly place this is it!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I started eating at this place shortly after the grand opening. As a local guy I have tried every spot in San Carlos, West Park keeps getting better and better. the food has evolved into something delicious and special.
The owners are friendly and there to serve you which I think is great. Perfect outdoor seating, awesome bar with amazing cocktails.
The best private dinning room in town is their wine cellar for up to 20 where I hosted my staff dinner twice so far.
WEST PARK HAS IT ALL!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

the food is greAT - pEAR RAIOLLI WAS TO DIE FOR! AND QUIET ENOUGH THAT YOU CAN ACTUALY TALK TO YOUR DINNER/ LUNCH COMPANIONS!!!!! I LOOK FORWARD TO A RETURN VISIT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a great meal while sitting out front on a beautiful day. I did not like having my back to the street but my guest enjoyed her view. Service was good, food was better and was nice to be outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was served undercooked (pork tenderloin was cooked like Raw Greg tenderloin) and risotto was soupy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had a surprise birthday luncheon for 30 ppl. Was very impressed with the quality of service, food and attentiveness from the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is outstanding, and even though we dined here on Valentines Day the service was attentive. The restaurant was totally packed, but everything was done in a timely manner. I definitely will eat here again and highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This restaurant's food and service experience is dependable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.