About West Park Bistro

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Private Party Facilities:
Simply put, West Park Bistro is the “right fit” for all of your event requirements. A remarkable environment in which to hold your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Robert Miguel: 8443892515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

  • West Park Bistro
  • West Park Bistro
  • Grilled Salmon - West Park Bistro
  • Bacon Wrapped Dates - West Park Bistro
  • Steak - West Park Bistro
  • Sea Bream Whole Fish - West Park Bistro
  • Goat Cheese and Beet Ravioli - West Park Bistro
West Park Bistro
West Park Bistro
Grilled Salmon - West Park Bistro
Bacon Wrapped Dates - West Park Bistro
Steak - West Park Bistro
Sea Bream Whole Fish - West Park Bistro
Goat Cheese and Beet Ravioli - West Park Bistro

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The plates sounded delicious in the menu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The plates sounded delicious in the menu, flavors were fair, but they were too rich, too greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

First time at West Park Bistro, went wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

First time at West Park Bistro, went with a friend who had dined there before. Fantastic and attentive service. Amazing Grilled Octopus, Filet Mignon and Bread Pudding. Will come again!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There were four of us and our dinners we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

There were four of us and our dinners were excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent food. Friendly service. Good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Consistent food. Friendly service. Good wine list. Friday & Saturday night parking can be a challenge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would consider returning if the servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I would consider returning if the service were to improve. The food was very good-- but the service unattentive. We were a group of 10 adults for an afternoon birthday lunch. Other than 3 other tables of 2 and 3 people-- we were the only group there! Bad service is just unforgivable at these prices!! Not rushing back anytime soon....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We've been to WEST Park many times and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We've been to WEST Park many times and always enjoy our meals. The service is excellent and very friendly. The menu is varied and includes some great appetizers , including steak tartare, fish tacos, crab cakes, also great pasta dishes as well.

Their lunch, and brunch es are also worth trying.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

West Park Bistro was a great place to go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

West Park Bistro was a great place to go for dinner on a Sunday night. The food was great, and it wasn't too crowded, therefore it wasn't too noisy. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had friends in town from the East Coa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had friends in town from the East Coast who we have not seen in a while. They were staying at a hotel nearby and I wanted a restaurant with great food and atmosphere but not too loud because we had lots to talk about! West Park Bistro fit the bill! The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food was amazing - I had the rack of lamb and was not disappointed! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating was nice. The atmospher ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Outdoor seating was nice. The atmosphere was a bit thin although it was a Monday night. The food was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outside eating for brunch as fantastic. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outside eating for brunch as fantastic. The Sunday outdoor market was going on that added to the character of the town.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fabulous restaurant. The lamb ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. The lamb chops and pork tenderloin are outstanding. The toffee cake is to die for. I have been coming to this restaurant since the opening and it been wonderful to see it blossom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never had a bad or mediocre exper ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have never had a bad or mediocre experience at West Park - whether it was renting their private space for a corporate dinner, or simply heading there with my husband and sons for an early dinner on a Friday night, the food and service are impeccable. I highly recommend this restaurant, and commend it's owners and staff for all their hard work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but service was terribly s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was good but service was terribly slow. Over an hour to get lunch meals with only 5 other tables occupied in restaurant. Asked for water refills multiple times but was slow with that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The service was great. The waiters were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was great. The waiters were very attentive and helpful. The food was very tasty. I had the lamb and my wife had the combination pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have had better results in prior visits ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have had better results in prior visits - staff seem disinterested - set a poor tone.

Slipped from good to 'ok' - not so ok for the price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was completely unimpressed with West P ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was completely unimpressed with West Park Bistro. The Caesar salad was mediocre. The tuna had absolutely no flavor, just oily. I enjoyed the skirt steak but the potatoes that accompanied it were all garlic. I certainly will not dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Delicious food and great drinks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food and great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, acceptable service, expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, acceptable service, expensive prices, hot wine. As a thank you gesture we took some friends to the Bistro for dinner. The staff seemed a bit disinterested in us at first but our charm warmed them up through the course of the dinner. One note, I don't know why restaurants in the US serve wine at room temperature, when the room is 75 degrees. In my mind a good bottle of red wine, served in the summer, should be at or near cellar temperature (60 degrees) not summer room temperature. We had to ask for an ice bucket as the wine was hot....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I enjoyed the flavorful vegetable sample ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I enjoyed the flavorful vegetable sampler very much. My companion thought the crab cake appetizer was gooey instead of flakey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was great fun to watch the farmer's m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was great fun to watch the farmer's market going on

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Atmosphere is comfortable & classy, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Atmosphere is comfortable & classy, service was attentive, but not particularly friendly or upbeat. Our server was probably too young? Food was good quality, but very basic. I would say "uninspired." I may be back? I wanted to love it, but nothing I had made me want to try more. Laurel Street strip has some very good restaurants. If West Park wants to stay for the long haul they need to find some more interesting entree options & get waitress to smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We always enjoy dining at West Park Bist ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy dining at West Park Bistro and especially when Kubi is our server. The service is excellent and so is the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worst food possible-

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Worst food possible-

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The Waygu meatballs appetizer were amazi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Waygu meatballs appetizer were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and under seasoned.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The beet salad was great, but that's sort of a difficult dish to ruin.

The fresh bread was cakey.

The salmon entire dish was so salty, I could only take a few bites before I had to stop. I took it home to be polite, but was straight into the trash once we left.

The dessert was fine, but not great. The chocolate dome tasted as though it were frozen and microwaved.

The bill for two was well over $100 for food that didn't even make it to mediocre.

Great service, and wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I will definitely return to West Park. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I will definitely return to West Park. Cocktails were delicious as was the dinner. Service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had 6 p.m. reservations for 4. Excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Had 6 p.m. reservations for 4. Excellent service -- the waiter was attentive, yet unobtrusive. Noise level moderate, but we could converse without raising our voices. Food was tasty and we all cleaned our plates. Ambiance was pleasant; I don't recall music. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Left without being served

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Had a 7:15 pm reservation on mothers day. Arrived at 7:05 and was told we would need to wait awhile. I asked the hostess if she had a reservation for us and she said, "Yes, but its busy." I was thinking to myself, did they seat walk in's without regard to the reservations. We waited outside on the street and were finally seated (outside) around 7:30 pm. I was somewhat disappointed that we were sitting outside since it was cool and we did not dress for outside seating, but it was getting late and we did not want to wait any longer. After about 10 minutes someone took our drink order and we never saw another waiter. At 8:05 I went inside and told the hostess were leaving. We had been sitting for 35 minutes, no one had taken our order and we were cold. I didn't want to spend the next hour waiting for our food. As we were leaving another table outside asked, "are you leaving and we said yes, he said we thought it was only us, we have been waiting forever for someone to take our order." I realize it was mothers day, but the restaurant should have planned for the influx of people. I don't think there was any regard to reservations vs walk-ins.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

pleasant Mother's day dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Since it was mother's day, the restaurant was crowded and late. If we wanted to sit outside we could have been seated immediately, but since we wanted to be inside, we did have to wait for our table (a half hour). The staff was very friendly and apologetic, and brought complementary champagne. Once seated, the waitress was very pleasant and helpful, the food was great and ultimately dessert was comped because of the long wait and slower than normal food service. We had a fine time despite the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ate here for Mother's Day dinner with my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Ate here for Mother's Day dinner with my family. This was our third time eating here. It's always been great before. Food was great as always. Service was horrific. It took over an hour to get our food. Not sure if they were understaffed or what was going on. I'll probably give it another chance since I've always had a good experience before, but this time definitely will give me pause in booking here again, especially if I have any time constraints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

West Park Bistro Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to West Park Bistro and it was for Mother's day Brunch. The food was AMAZING!!! The service was excellent and very friendly. The only negative, and it's not a big one, is that the tables are very close together so it felt crowded and kind of noisy. But we will definitely be going back and make it one of our regular places!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

great mother's day brunch! thank you for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

great mother's day brunch! thank you for having us!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

mothers day

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic place for mothers day. They had special menu with lots of choices. Service was great. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect like always! The food, service a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect like always! The food, service and the drinks are always on par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Staff was exceptional. The food was excellent and the ambiance is very nice. We especially like that the restaurant is fairly quiet so you can easily visit at dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was great. Service notable. Wine list pricey. Will return and bring our own wine & pay corkage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Business Group Dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a special time at West Park for a group business dinner with an international partner.

The food was exquisite! We had a couple of vegetarians and they catered to their needs. The wine suggested by owner, Murad, was fantastic. We had our own space as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, but prices a bit too hig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, but prices a bit too high for San Carlos, particularly the mark up on wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I love this restaurant. More folks shoul ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. More folks should give it a try. Food and service are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too much cologne

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Visited with a party of 5 who all enjoyed their food and the evening. However, we all were put-off at various times when a male member of the service staff, not our wait person, would walk by our table leaving a very strong and very objectionable cloying odor which interfered with the food enjoyment. The restaurant needs to establish a strict no "perfume/cologne" for their service personnel. West Park Bistro is a fine restaurant which should have the aroma of food not Nordstrom's perfume counter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.