About West Park Bistro

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Simply put, West Park Bistro is the “right fit” for all of your event requirements. A remarkable environment in which to hold your next event!

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

neighborhood gem (28)
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (19)
See All
special occasion (16)
great for lunch (13)
notable wine list (12)
romantic (11)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I will definitely return to West Park. ...

Dined 4 days ago

I will definitely return to West Park. Cocktails were delicious as was the dinner. Service was friendly and efficient.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had 6 p.m. reservations for 4. Excellen ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had 6 p.m. reservations for 4. Excellent service -- the waiter was attentive, yet unobtrusive. Noise level moderate, but we could converse without raising our voices. Food was tasty and we all cleaned our plates. Ambiance was pleasant; I don't recall music. Will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Left without being served

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Had a 7:15 pm reservation on mothers day. Arrived at 7:05 and was told we would need to wait awhile. I asked the hostess if she had a reservation for us and she said, "Yes, but its busy." I was thinking to myself, did they seat walk in's without regard to the reservations. We waited outside on the street and were finally seated (outside) around 7:30 pm. I was somewhat disappointed that we were sitting outside since it was cool and we did not dress for outside seating, but it was getting late and we did not want to wait any longer. After about 10 minutes someone took our drink order and we never saw another waiter. At 8:05 I went inside and told the hostess were leaving. We had been sitting for 35 minutes, no one had taken our order and we were cold. I didn't want to spend the next hour waiting for our food. As we were leaving another table outside asked, "are you leaving and we said yes, he said we thought it was only us, we have been waiting forever for someone to take our order." I realize it was mothers day, but the restaurant should have planned for the influx of people. I don't think there was any regard to reservations vs walk-ins.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

pleasant Mother's day dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Since it was mother's day, the restaurant was crowded and late. If we wanted to sit outside we could have been seated immediately, but since we wanted to be inside, we did have to wait for our table (a half hour). The staff was very friendly and apologetic, and brought complementary champagne. Once seated, the waitress was very pleasant and helpful, the food was great and ultimately dessert was comped because of the long wait and slower than normal food service. We had a fine time despite the wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1

Ate here for Mother's Day dinner with my ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Ate here for Mother's Day dinner with my family. This was our third time eating here. It's always been great before. Food was great as always. Service was horrific. It took over an hour to get our food. Not sure if they were understaffed or what was going on. I'll probably give it another chance since I've always had a good experience before, but this time definitely will give me pause in booking here again, especially if I have any time constraints.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

West Park Bistro Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to West Park Bistro and it was for Mother's day Brunch. The food was AMAZING!!! The service was excellent and very friendly. The only negative, and it's not a big one, is that the tables are very close together so it felt crowded and kind of noisy. But we will definitely be going back and make it one of our regular places!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great mother's day brunch! thank you for ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

great mother's day brunch! thank you for having us!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mothers day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic place for mothers day. They had special menu with lots of choices. Service was great. Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect like always! The food, service a ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect like always! The food, service and the drinks are always on par.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 2, 2016

Staff was exceptional. The food was excellent and the ambiance is very nice. We especially like that the restaurant is fairly quiet so you can easily visit at dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great neighborhood find

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was great. Service notable. Wine list pricey. Will return and bring our own wine & pay corkage.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Business Group Dinner

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a special time at West Park for a group business dinner with an international partner. The food was exquisite! We had a couple of vegetarians and they catered to their needs. The wine suggested by owner, Murad, was fantastic. We had our own space as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, but prices a bit too hig ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, but prices a bit too high for San Carlos, particularly the mark up on wine.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. More folks shoul ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. More folks should give it a try. Food and service are great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Too much cologne

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Visited with a party of 5 who all enjoyed their food and the evening. However, we all were put-off at various times when a male member of the service staff, not our wait person, would walk by our table leaving a very strong and very objectionable cloying odor which interfered with the food enjoyment. The restaurant needs to establish a strict no "perfume/cologne" for their service personnel. West Park Bistro is a fine restaurant which should have the aroma of food not Nordstrom's perfume counter.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seriously under-rated restaurant

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Your octopus and calamari were, as ever, excellent. The medium rare filet mignonette was perfect. Only the overcooked hamburger, ordered rare, was an issue, but our server corrected that immediately.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

The lamb chops and pork tenderloin are f ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

The lamb chops and pork tenderloin are fabulous!

food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Food

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

I would love to come back and try again, but your food for dinner was warm and NOT hot, everyone at our table, felt the same way. Very disapointed

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Valentine dinner

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

With rose pedals on our outdoor table warmed with beautiful firelight heaters, my husband and I spend a most enjoyable Valentine dinner. It was so romantic. The prefix meal selections could suit a wide variety of tastes and preferences. Delicious, delicious, delicious. Spectacularly prepared and presented, each course was amazing. The wine selection was delightful and we enjoyed a bottle of Zin. The mood was so relaxing and the staff so friendly we stayed close to 2 hours, lingering over the divine desserts and coffee. This is one of my favorite restaurants in San Carlos. I can highly recommend West Park Bistro for a romantic evening, as well as a large family gathering. It can also be a great place for a private work party.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Decent food, but overinflated wine prices

Dined on February 5, 2016

The wines on the wine list are extremely overinflated. So much so, that we skipped appetizers to keep the overall tab from getting too out of control. In the end, all we got were so-so entrees, a bottle of wine, and a bill that was out of line for what we got.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality, tasty food

Dined on February 3, 2016

The veggie sandwich has lots of delicious, fresh vegetables on a delicious bun with perfect french fries (thin, crispy, salty). The home-made bread that comes with lunch is incredible! The food is made from high quality ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

This is our second time in this restaurant and it did not disappoint. The grilled octopus was very tender and flavorful. The best I have eaten so far in the Bay Area. The dorado whole fish was superb, flavorful, tender and moist. The accompanying vegetables fresh, beautiful to look at and just perfectly done, slightly al dente. We will definitely return. The restaurant is especially nice for a quite Sunday early evening dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent and very interesting menu

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Not only did we like the atmosphere, but the food was excellent. Different from all other places in the neighborhood. Definitely a foodie's restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Terrific for wine enthusiasts especially ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Terrific for wine enthusiasts especially dining in the wine room! I loved this place and felt as if I was in Wine Heaven! Food - sea bass was delicious, melted in our mouth, no chewing required; how it should be and the bone-in rib eye steak was fantastic. Attentive service I think his name was Onu. An overall excellent experience and would highly recommend.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

OK, but not impressive

Dined on January 9, 2016

The location is great, the ambiance was pleasant, cozy and comfortable. The food is good. I was hoping for better, however, given the descriptions in the menu. The crab cakes toppings were better than the crabcakes themselves. The main dish was pleasant. My food needs were accomodated, for which I am grateful. The "snowball" dessert was delicious! Their wine list was good. And service was fine.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food and service. A bit on the ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good food and service. A bit on the expensive side.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good but completely empty!

Dined on December 30, 2015

I arrived at 6:25 and all the other restaurants downtown were packed but West Park was empty. The salad was excellent, although it had way too much dressing. The scallop risotto was delicious and the bread pudding was yummy but untraditional.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

love this place

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

great restaurant with great food and service. Never disappoints :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

After some nice experiences, my fourth t ...

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

After some nice experiences, my fourth time here was a real disappointment. I was embarrassed to have brought friends from San Mateo and Daly City. Three of us, celebrating an 84th birthday, were seated where a cold wind struck us every time the door opened. I had asked for a different table but was told is was reserved. Almost 2 hours later, 3 young men were seated at that table. We felt rushed by the servers. After we had bread and butter, the server placed the used knife back on the table for our main course. I had to request a knife without butter so it wouldn't affect the taste of my meal. I shouldn't have worried because the sea bass didn't have much flavor. The dessert for the celebratee was NOT comped. I will not return.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was delicious, from the lobster cak ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Food was delicious, from the lobster cakes and octopus appetizer to the sea bass and scallops entrees. Service was attentive, just right. On the downside the restaurant lacks ambience and the portions were quite small.

food5
ambience3
service3

Food was outstanding - came for brunch a ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Food was outstanding - came for brunch and smoked salmon eggs Benedict was crowd pleaser. Was first seated inside however the tables are crowded together and makes for reserved conversations. Service was spotty - at times very attentive and also a bit behind with refilling drinks. Patio heaters and tables outside on a nice day is added bonus!

food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised!!!

Dined on November 8, 2015

our first time trying this Bistro and we were very pleased. Food and service excellent and staff very very friendly. They even brought us Complimentary Port at the end of our meal - WOW!!!! Who does that anymore. We will definitely make it a go to spot on our list from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Great as usual!

Dined on October 25, 2015

Great as usual!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service

Dined on October 25, 2015

Great service

food4
ambience4
service5

Another Laurel Street gem

Dined on October 22, 2015

There's a stiff competition for your dining dollar in downtown San Carlos, but West Park can hang with the best of them. I walked in there with a group assuming it would be a fairly generic experience -- but it was special. I had the whole fish, which was terrific. And the lobster cake appetizers blew our socks off. ... I was in a group of four and all of us walked away surprised, happy and full.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A delightful birthday celebrate!!

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

I actually have never written a review before but we had such a great experience here, i'm inclined to share. We were celebrating a milestone birthday and I chose this restaurant because of the menu. They were more than accommodating to our seating needs (party of 9) and totally attentive to our party. Everyone loved the food and the atmosphere was just lovely. We sat just under a wall "fireplace" which was a nice touch to our evening. The entire staff was helpful with our menu choices which varied from vegetarians to meat eaters and everyone loved the food. A really nice addition to the San Carlos options!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

sadly dissapointed

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

We were on time for our reservation. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated, no big deal. The ambiance and décor is nice and welcoming. People were friendly - We ordered our drinks and then ordered our food in a timely manner. The appetizer came out within good time frame and the calamari, although a little on the overly greasy side, had good flavor. Here's what ruined the meal... we waited 40 minutes after the appetizer for our main course. Our waiter told us once that it was on its way. We had finished our glass of wine and water and no one offered additional water. We were starving and no longer enjoying this experience. My boyfriend was very upset as he watched other tables that came in after us, receive their meals. Not sure what the problem was, our waiter attempted to make amends. Growing up in a family of restaurant owners, a servers communication with the kitchen and being able to keep the guests happy is key all around. I was very much looking forward to this dinner and we were unfortunately disappointed. Probably won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional as always.

Dined on October 11, 2015

Exceptional as always. Atmosphere was perfect, service was responsive and the food was outstanding. They do a great job on mixed drinks and always have a decent beer on tap for me :).

food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding food and service. Goo ...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Always outstanding food and service. Good food takes time to eat and time to enjoy. Love this restaurant

food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely food well served

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

A first time visit to this newer Bistro on Laurel. Very comfortable room away from the rather noisy bar. We were very impressed by the variety of appetizers/small plates and ate almost exclusively from that menu rather than the "main" dishes which, no doubt, would also have been good. Food came at a nice pace, was well cooked and beautifully served by attentive staff. Wine list was adequate with good selections, mainly local of course. I hope they do well--I would like to return often!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.