Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About West Park Bistro

West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.

788 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3.00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 453-3313

Website:
http://www.westparkbistro.com/

Catering:
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.

Parking Details:
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Oscar Kintanar

Private Party Facilities:
Simply put, West Park Bistro is the “right fit” for all of your event requirements. A remarkable environment in which to hold your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Honor Alkan and Susan Allam: (844) 389-2515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.

West Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

West Park Bistro is a casual yet classy gem. The food and wine were outstanding and it was the best dining experience that we have had in a very long time. The restaurant is quiet, which is a very much appreciated and rare attribute. The service was impeccable yet not stuffy. Everything was just right!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My friend and I had a very nice time here for her birthday. I would order the chicken in a heartbeat..which I don't normally do at a restaurant. We did sit in the back dining room ,which at first I was pleased as I had not sat there before. I should have scanned the room however and noted a party of about 16 coming and moved to the front. Just the two of us trying to talk very loudly to be heard over the 16.. other people came in and went back out. I have been a hostess and a waitress in my lifetime and get trying to spread out the tables.,but really you should never seat a small party by a large group.. or even in the same room...unless the whole place is going to be packed and everyone will be shouting.

great food though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I had a delicious dinner and will definitely be back in the near future. We tried the bacon wrapped dates, onion soup, mixed green salad, filet mignon, and the spaghetti. The spaghetti was a pretty small portion, but other than that, everything was really tasty. They have a solid cocktail list (try the mini skirt martini!) and nice patio seating. We were a bit distracted by some other patrons that were loudly playing music from their own boom box on the patio. It would've been nice if the restaurant had asked them to turn off their music.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Group of 9-- good choices-- good food-- low noise level-- server eager to please-- will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's Day. Everyone was happy. Great food and good service. The best calamari out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice setting on Laurel. Has indoor and outdoor seating. We got window table that was quiet so we could talk. Server was attentive and provided our drinks promptly. My wife enjoyed a glass of pinot. They had a full serve bar available. The salad was excellent. The ravioli was very good but would have preferred a marinara sauce. Server provided a complimentary birthday dessert. Would certainly return. Parking in the area is difficult. Plan for extra time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always a fabulous meal! The owner is great along with the rest of the staff. Entrees are always prepared beautifully.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very much enjoyed my choices and it's not often that I am completely happy with a restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wanted the lighter-fare of fish tonight. We had Branzini & Sea Bass. Bacon Wrapped dates & Crab cake starters. Nicely paired with a bttl of 2010 Maggy Hawk Pinot Noir.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a wonderful night at West Park Bistro. We were a party of 8 and had starters, mains & desserts and everyone loved everything we had. Will be going back here often. It is now one of our favourite restaurants in San Carlos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had very good experience, the food is solid, we had one of the two private rooms, service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food tasty, party of 5, food took way too long to arrive and little communication. Table next to us came after us and got food before us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went on Mothers Day, with a fixed price menu---$36 including a desert. The problem was the quantity of the food was disappointing. There were about 6 items to choose from, I had the french toast, it had fresh berries and little else. I understand the fixed price menu on Mothers Day but the quantity was meager. We've eaten there several times in the past and have been OK, not outstanding. After this experience we will not go back, there are too many restaurants in San Carlos that are superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant at all. I understand that it was Mother's Day, but the quality of food was horrible. My husband's French toast was cold, and it was not worth asking for a new meal. Very overpriced for limited menu. When we called to confirm the man that answered was rude and said he could not believe we had reservations through Open Table because they had over 400 reservations and then hung up on me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was our first time dining here and while it was very busy for Mothers Day, the service was good and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was lacking for that caliber of a restaurant. Otherwise, food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Love The bacon wrapped dates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Absolutely fantastic restaurant! Great date spot with interesting surroundings and lots to do after the meal. The restaurant itself is very clean and modern looking. Food was perfect. Great appetizers and dessert menu as well. Large selection of wine.

Only downside depends on your perspective but I found it to be a bit too casual (Jeans, T-Shirts, lots of kids). Depending on your occasion (Date night vs Family dinner) you may not like that but I found the restaurant so good as to make up for these things.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Met friends for early dinner. Started off well with Tomato Soup, tuna tartar and beet salad.
But meatballs and fish tacos not so good.
Can't decide if we'll give them other chance.
There was a private party in one room, so hard to judge noise levels and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very nice place! Wonderful good and service. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Went with my monthly dinner group and everyone loved his or her food choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The appetizers were good. We had the carpaccio and calamari. The entrees were just OK. My risotto had cottage cheese which was an odd add. The filet mignon had no flavor. If you want a kid friendly place this is it!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I started eating at this place shortly after the grand opening. As a local guy I have tried every spot in San Carlos, West Park keeps getting better and better. the food has evolved into something delicious and special.
The owners are friendly and there to serve you which I think is great. Perfect outdoor seating, awesome bar with amazing cocktails.
The best private dinning room in town is their wine cellar for up to 20 where I hosted my staff dinner twice so far.
WEST PARK HAS IT ALL!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

the food is greAT - pEAR RAIOLLI WAS TO DIE FOR! AND QUIET ENOUGH THAT YOU CAN ACTUALY TALK TO YOUR DINNER/ LUNCH COMPANIONS!!!!! I LOOK FORWARD TO A RETURN VISIT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a great meal while sitting out front on a beautiful day. I did not like having my back to the street but my guest enjoyed her view. Service was good, food was better and was nice to be outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was served undercooked (pork tenderloin was cooked like Raw Greg tenderloin) and risotto was soupy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had a surprise birthday luncheon for 30 ppl. Was very impressed with the quality of service, food and attentiveness from the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is outstanding, and even though we dined here on Valentines Day the service was attentive. The restaurant was totally packed, but everything was done in a timely manner. I definitely will eat here again and highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This restaurant's food and service experience is dependable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food wasn't great (cold) and took forever. Had purchased unlimited mimosas but barely had anything to drink as it took so long. First bad review I've ever given on OpenTable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious brunch. Did not try cocktails or wine due to subsequent event. Service professional but a little slow coming out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a nice Friday evening dinner at West Park Bistro. The food, service, and atmosphere were all good. No complaints about any of it except the bill. Wow! I guess the price of eating out in San Carlos has really gone up. Given the high cost of the meal, I would choose wisely if you think you are getting a value meal. You are not. You will be paying high end San Francisco prices for a San Carlos neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were looking for a place for dinner nearby. The special fish and other dishes were very tasty. Service was fine.. waiter was pleasant and quickly got the wine that he'd forgotten after we asked. Attitude was great. Dessert and coffee was wonderful too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good food, service & atmosphere. There was no one else in the restaurant when we arrived for !:30 lunch. It was not necessary for us to have reservations at that time. Will definitely return and would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had a great experience at West Park Bistro. We had a large group in for a business meeting that week and split up into smaller groups to dine around San Carlos. We had one of the better evenings of the groups.
The restaurant is rather small, but you don't really feel crowded. We had a very thoughtful waiter. Our group was busy getting caught up with each other and talking. Our waiter was very patient and checked back with us a few times to take our orders. He recommended a few bottles of good wine to complement what we had ordered. I had the butter leaf salad which was really fresh. The bread was pretty wonderful, as well.
I ordered the roasted chicken for the main course - cooked perfectly and the brussel sprouts with the bacon mixed in was heavenly. My co-worker ordered the bay scallops and I had order envy. I think she had the best meal at the table.
We actually didn't have much room for dessert, but ordered the 3 sorbets at the end. It was a perfect finish to the evening.
West Park Bistro is a lovely restaurant - friendly/attentive service, fresh food. It's a great place to discuss business, go on a date - it's quiet enough that you can hear people talking next to you without yelling.
We took an Uber to the restaurant. I had overhead some people talking that parking was challenging in the shopping center. Something to take into account before heading out. We made reservations since we had a larger party, but I don't think you will need them if coming in during the week. If you have a special occasion, I encourage the call ahead. I sent a group who went to another dinner to try West Park Bistro later in the week and they returned with similar feedback on their meal. We usually go to Mistral's while in town for business, it's close to our hotel. However, I thought West Park Bistro was a little better than Mistral's has been the last few times we have been there. It is a bit more expensive, but worth it for a special/work occasion. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

food was delicious...service was ok... seemed understaffed and our waiter seemed very irritated, not very attentive, perhaps overwhelmed. he finally did get some help and the night went on smoothly.
will be back, hopefully service will improve next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The reservation was 30 minutes late and it wasn't that great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Like their small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good consistent food. Nice wine list second time here for business dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Year's Eve dinner. Very busy and even though our server was managing a whole lot of tables he still managed to give us very good service and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.