Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

West Park Bistro

4.4
297 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
West Park Bistro is nestled in the heart of downtown San Carlos & is built on the principle of solely using fresh local produce. The newly-founded establishment boasts an award winning wine collection designed to compliment a contemporary menu, exclusively using the most satisfactory hand cuts of meat & seafood. Chef Oscar Kintanar's vision encompasses a genre of cuisine that endorses the most sophisticated form of dining. The warm atmosphere & quaint design supplies the ideal destination for brunch, lunch or dinner. The grand Wine Cellar is quintessential for corporate or private events.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3.00 pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday : 4:30 pm - 10.00 pm, Sunday; 5.00 pm-9.00 pm Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 453-3313
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Oscar Kintanar
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We utilize fresh ingredients to cater to your corporate and private needs.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
10 cars private parking lot, public and street parking available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We provide three private party rooms for all types of events, functions, and celebrations.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 297 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Checking the website and reviews, then scheduled a Mother's Day brunch. Get the restaurant, find out they are "10 minutes behind schedule", wait 30 minutes (plus). Sit down, order "bottomless mimosa" only to find out they don't serve them on Mother's Day. I ask, "sorry I did not see that on the website or open table?" Answer: because we don't advertise that we don't serve the regular menu on holidays. Basically, a classic bait and switch, only its Mother's Day and now everything is now sour. Find out regular brunch menu is not valid on holidays, but you only know that after you have arrived on a holiday. The attitude was "suck it up buttercup". We ended up walking out. How hard is to put that menu not valid on holidays? So much for customer matters. This comment is for the owner: I will never eat at your restaurant and will tell everyone in San Carlos/Redwood City (where I live) the same because you have lost my trust.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Overall very disappointing experience. We were seated over 45 minutes late with barely an apology. Service was mediocre and dishes came out without certain things specified on the menu with no explanation or apology. This would have been disappointing on any day, but this was Mother’s Day. Never going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were there for Mother's Day Brunch. The menu had a nice variety of selections, and it was a price-fixed menu of $36.00 for entrée and dessert. We all had a nice time - but felt the $36.00 was a little high for the quality of food we received. Service was good, everyone was happy and in a celebratory mood. They have a nice bar - and the ambiance is very nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's Day brunch service managed to be simultaneously slow and brusque: the waiter's first words to us (before we even ordered!) were that they were very busy and wouldn't accept any substitutions. He later rarely showed up even for the basics like water and drinks; when he did show up his manner was curt.

Food was OK but certainly not worth the prix-fixe surcharge.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My "No" recommendation is based on...there are many other restaurants (even in San Carlos) which are superior. That said, the staff was gracious, friendly and hard working. Our meal was Mother's Day brunch. The restaurant was packed, and the wait staff seemed to handle the crowd efficiently. Brunch selections were fairly limited with a choice of entree and dessert for $36; coffee was $3.50 extra. This restaurant might be worth another look for a non-special occasion night, but we will continue to explore other area restaurants rather than return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

West Park Bistro as really stepped up their food game! We love grabbing brunch outside with our dog and people watching. We also love their happy hour, menu is fab!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

After the Opera our group had reservations at West Park Bistro. The quality of the appetizers and the drinks to start were outstanding. Everyone had their Chilean sea bass, salmon, and/or Seafood Linguini with generous sweet french bread, still warm. We all shared a couple of wonderful desserts. (Bread pudding and kiwi lime pie). Everyone thought this was a memorable meal. We sat in the main dining area which was well lit, but could have chosen the more private wine cavern area. This restaurant is moderate-expensive in price but the gourmet meal was well worth it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

WPB has really matured over the last couple of years into a really wonderful spot with great ambiance. Plenty of options for seating whether outdoors on a nice night or more elegant in the small wine room area which as a few tables and closed off from the larger dining area.

Now one of my “go to” restaurants on Laurel St.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Quite pricey but good food. Large portions. Service a bit too quick. All in all enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The avocado toast was amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food options were good, the restaurant was nice, however once a crowd gathered at the bar, it got a little noisy in the main dining area. Many customers asked for their tables to be moved. so they weren't bumped by the bar patrons (or staring at rear ends) during their meal. It would be worth trying this restaurant again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food, as always. quick and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We were surprised that such world class cuisine was hidden away in San Carlos. I just hit upon it on Open Table. We went because the reviews were great and I liked the menu. The food was phenomenal. The ambiance is nice too -- attractively appointed, straight forward. The waiters were attentive but patient as we took a while to talk before ordering.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

We have had an excellent meal each time we dine here. The service is amazing from the minute you walk through the door. A true gem in San Carlos for dining!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Huge props for the martinis--a drink were size means everything.

Our waiter was excellent...engaging yet professional. She moved us into the wine cellar for quiter dining.

The food was good, especially the scallops/risotto and the steak tartare.

The so-called wine steward was a putz. Surly demeanor . When my companion asked a question, the guy completely ignored him. The markup on the wines was a little high, we thought, though the selection was comprehensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Loved the combo appetizer plate. Loved my lamb kabob dinner! Great rice. Pita perfect. Will definitely return for more....😊

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Nice atmosphere for casual unhurried Sunday brunch. We met friends we hadn't seen in years and we're able to eat and chat without being rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Delicious food, nice professional service, recommended for every body

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great place to sit down, talk to friends, and have a great meal, plus it's in downtown San Carlos, which is a food haven. Ambiance was great, but a little noisy, due to a party being there when I went, but overall, amazing food and an amazing place to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Sea bass over mushrooms with truffle oil was amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Dinner was great after a little rocky start. The paper printed menus were dirty (one had a partial footprint, the other food stains - it was pretty gross). I asked for clean menus and the waiter said they had printer problems but that it was not excuse and apologized.

We noticed the portions were very large at other tables so 2 of us split 2 appetizers, 1 entree and 1 dessert. My crab cakes arrived and were not hot (barely room temp). I told the waiter who had them replaced and apologized. The next ones were piping hot and the flavor was good. The steak tartare was amazing. I don't even eat that but I tried my boyfriend's and I ended up have more than just a taste. We followed that by sharing the sea bass with oyster mushrooms which was really good and then the caramelized apple over a waffle with vanilla ice cream - also really good. It was a nice evening and we'd definitely go back. We were really surprised at how big the portions were compare to other restaurants in the area that are the same price point or more expensive.

The only things that could be improved were 1) the lighting directly over the table is very bright. It doesn't seem like it in the room overall but the canned light was directly over our table and I felt like I had a spot light on me/my face, 2) the AC did blow directly on our table in the middle of the room and it was chilly though better when we arrived because it was hot and stuffy.

What I liked was that the waiter did not argue with me about the issues (dirty menus and cold crab cakes) but instead apologized and rectified the problems.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Terrific from the minute you are greeted at the door until your dinner arrives. We have been there three times and it is by far a 10 of 10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Many creative choices, each with distinctive flavors and cooked to perfection. Add in the attentive service and you have a delightful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great restaurant and great service. Love the food. The pork chop and the lamb chops are superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

The food, cocktails, mocktails, service, and ambiance were all excellent. Wide variety of cuisine -- each of the four in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meal. A tad bit noisy because of it's open room, but still comfortable. Will definitely go back -- will need to be several times to explore their entire menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Went on NYE so hard to say if the meal and service were typical. Could tell we were being served while a special employee event was also happening and the job was still done well. Would imagine the service would be more attentive and engaged on a regular night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

My good friends and I love San Carlos and were looking for a new restaurant to try. I looked up the reviews and was happy to see so many satisfied customers. And afterwards we were not disappointed with the quality of food, service, and ambiance. However, I must admit that at certain times, the volume of voices talking was incredibly high. But we were able to carry on our conversation without straining ourselves.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Wonderful date night with my wife! Good food and fun atmosphere with Christmas lights outside the window.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Very good menu variety; good wine list. Service was prompt. Price was reasonable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Service was good and waitress informed me food was at my table when I took my son outside for a bit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

West Park is hit an miss. We have gone before, both business dinners and personal date nights. The service was so very slow, an unacceptable 1 hour and 20 minutes for entrés. Indeed the place has ambient noise from the barside, but we had a crying baby near us. I spoke to the hostess, she shrugged and said not much we can do fully booked. I guess the party who brought a crying baby is technically at fault. But wait there is more. Crab cakes were dry. Very disappointing. And my fiance filet mignon was overdone. all around not a great experience. In defence, I have gone in the past and food and wait times were much better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

I've been there twice now and the food has amazed me. Tends to be a bit noisy if it's busy but otherwise you won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Everything was most enjoyable, Business guest from New York loved the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

We opted for a 5:30 dinner. Hardly anyone in the restaurant at that hour. The lighting and ambiance are nice, seating is comfortable and service was friendly and timely. The stuffed chicken breast with provolone was very tasty and more than sufficient. The salmon was cooked just right. The key lime pie was good, but very rich and sugary. It was good, but I'd try something else next time. This is a great spot and we'll definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 28, 2017

We were surprised that the restaurant was mostly empty on a Tuesday night around 7 p.m. Our waiter was very attentive and the food was wonderful. We started with the roasted cauliflower which I didn't care, for but my husband enjoyed. I thought the cauliflower should have been roasted a bit more. I had the pear and gorgonzola ravioli and my husband had the spaghetti and meatballs we were both extremely happy with our choices. The ravioli tasted freshly made and the cream sauce was so delicious I wanted a spoon! The toffee bread pudding was very sweet, but the vanilla gelato it came with offered the perfect balance. While it was delicious, it wasn't the traditional bread pudding I was hoping for. Next time I will order a different dessert. So overall, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere; I enjoyed the fire wall, the food was delicious, and the waiter was pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Our waitress, Cameron, was charming, warm, and gave great menu advice. She is a total asset to this restaurant! Just a lovely girl!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2017

excellent meal, appetizers : octopus, meatballs; entrees: bronzino fish, steak all good

one party had the pear and cheese ravioli as an entree, very good but too sweet for an entree

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2017

My dinner was delicious from the tasty calamari appetizer, yummy arugula & beet salad to the delicious pork chop with sweet potato fries. I was too full for dessert and will have to try that next time. It was also a surprise treat to see a former student, Caesar, as part of the very professional wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2017

Had whole family together for a great evening at West Park. Service was terrific and everyone left happy.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8