About Webster's Prime

100 W. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

The Webster's crew loves where we are, and celebrating our area's ingredients and culture. Webster's Prime is our interpretation of the best Michigan and our planet has to offer, from our family of staff to the ingredients on the plate. We know you have choices in your dining experience, and we truly appreciate your time and choice of Webster's Prime.

Steaks, fresh seafood and seasonal ingredients come together to create our menu at Webster's Prime. We look forward to serving you soon.

Interested in booking a private event? We have multiple spaces & menus to fit your needs. Call Alexa for details: 269.226.3144

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Main Dining: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 pm

Tasting Room: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 pm

Live Music Friday Night! 7:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Rose Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 343-4444

Website:
http://www.webstersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
WINE DOWN WEDNESDAY
Wind down with us every Wednesday with 1/2 off some of your favorite wines! Live music kicks off at 7:30 p.m.

HOPPY HOUR
MONDAY - FRIDAY, 5-7 1/2 OFF ALL BEER! $2 MI CRAFT BREWS!

LIVE PIANO MOST FRIDAY & SATURDAY EVENINGS IN OUR MAIN DINING ROOM, 6:30 - 10:00.

ART HOP: Webster's is proud to be an official curated Art Hop site with the KIA! Stop in and check out our featured artist each month!

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet & Complimentary Self-Parking

Executive Chef:
Stefan Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
Webster's has many options to suite your private dining needs. 3 private rooms, a separate bar and our main dining room are all available for booking.
Please contact our Event Coordinator to book your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Alexa Tipton: 269-226-3144x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Thank you for considering Webster’s Prime as the host of your next occasion. Weddings, rehearsals, reunions, birthdays, receptions and every event that is special to you, is our specialty. Our personal, attentive staff will work to ensure that you, and your guests fully enjoy your experience at our restaurant. We provide a variety of private rooms, each with it’s own unique characteristics and amenities, and are happy to assist with floral design, entertainment, cake services, menu design and any other special touches. Our culinary team will compose the perfect menu for your occasion, whether it’s a five course plated dinner, or an appetizer buffet. We have various menus to choose from, and our team is happy to help you create a personalized menu for your celebration.

If you have any questions, or would like to inquire about an event, please contact Event Coordinator, Alexa Tipton. 269.226.3144

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Webster's Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
2 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Kalamazoo
Best Restaurants in Kalamazoo ›

special occasion (18)
romantic (16)
fit for foodies (8)
See All
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We had people from the east side of the ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had people from the east side of the state here visiting and took them there for dinner. They said it was the best steak they have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another lovely visit

Dined on May 6, 2016

So happy to share the wonderful Websters with my son and his wife. The staff was awesome. The food great. And the night wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here on multiple occasions ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have dined here on multiple occasions and each time was amazing. The food is delicious and cooked perfectly every time. We usually go here to celebrate since the menu is more on the pricier side, but for the quality of food and service it is worth every penny. The ambiance is romantic and adds the perfect touch with the piano in the background. Would recommend to anyone looking to spend an evening in downtown Kalamazoo with close friends, family, or someone special.

food5
ambience4
service5

Slow evening. First nice day of spring. ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Slow evening. First nice day of spring. Governor dominated the lunch hour, enjoyed the experience

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, meat was sub par

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server was outstanding! She was attentive and personable. All courses other than the meat were delicious. We both ordered Wagyu sirloin and were surprised at its toughness and lack of any distinct flavor. This was disappointing as we were expecting a more tender cut. Maybe we were disappointed because we normally order tenderloin filets when we eat beef. That being said, one would expect, for the price, a meat that was chewable. Overall, Webster's Prime is a nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Excellent service. Will ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent meal. Excellent service. Will definitely dine here again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and excellent service

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food and excellent service

food5
ambience5
service5

My Husband & I had a Great, Amazing Dinn ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

My Husband & I had a Great, Amazing Dinner Thank you so much Trisha our waitress was very helpful & this was our 1st time here & we are looking forward to returning soon😍 Trisha , Thank you for your Great service & making it a Special Birthday I recommend Webster to everyone Top of The line Food is amazing & so is the Chef & Trisha Thank You MT & ST

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was excellent! Cooked perfectly. Server went out of her way to make sure we were happy. Great live piano as well. Nice to go somewhere with a little class!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience....as always

Dined on February 19, 2016

As always Webster's Prime proved to be an excellent choice. The music, lighting, surroundings, service and food were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening at Webster's

Dined on February 19, 2016

What a great evening. Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The service by Dana was perfect. We couldn't ask for a more perfect evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

Dined on February 15, 2016

Staff was great. Other patrons were great. Nicely decorated. Waygu steak was good. Im not too keen on sides being in separate dishes, it makes the main plate look empty. Duck was delicious. Hand mashed potatoes were Devine!! It's pricey, but I splurged for my 2 yr anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful first time experience ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a wonderful first time experience at Websters. Natalie, Alex and Nate took very good care of us on a sleepy, blizzard evening :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but a steak house should know med rare

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a very good dinner, but very disappointed as the person who was in our party got his steak and it was a well done medium, he had ordered medium-rare. So he had to wait for another steak to be cooked. To top it off, it was this person's birthday, and although I put special instructions in the Open Table notes, not one person acknowledged the birthday. Also, the piano was way too loud for casual conversation to be heard around the table.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday Dinner in the tasting roo ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Great Birthday Dinner in the tasting room with great live music.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Value

Dined on January 30, 2016

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week Special, 3 courses for $25. Was able to have a night out at a nice restaurant with 4 people for under $150. I had anticipated they would use smaller portions or subprime ingredients for the special, but they did not. The filets were superb.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably impeccable.

Dined on January 29, 2016

We try to make it to Webster's several times a year. It's like putting fancy date night on cruise control, because there are no worries. Park in the ramp, stroll across the skywalk, and get seated by friendly folks who check your coat. Pick any darn thing off the menu because it is all amazing, and gaze into your sweetie's eyes until dessert arrives. Pick up your coats and get parking validated and bam, you're a hero. The steaks are really amazing but don't forget to try the salmon. It is the best prepared fish I've ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The duck

Dined on December 24, 2015

We enjoyed a nice Christmas Eve dinner this year and the food did not disappoint. Perfectly prepared scallops in the seafood starter were fantastic. The duck entree was incredible with its rich ginger sauce. Although it didn't match either of our entrees, we got the sauteed mushrooms on the side and they were AMAZING. Wow. The side of asparagus was passable, but we would suggest other options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome recommendations by our waiter.

Dined on December 11, 2015

Awesome recommendations by our waiter.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, very overpriced, service good

Dined on November 6, 2015

Good food, overpriced, strange presentation, good service

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on November 6, 2015

The perfect location for a romantic night out. I took my girlfriend here for our three year anniversary and had wonderful service, atmosphere, and meals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

With only two tables seated in the resta ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

With only two tables seated in the restaurant at 6pm on a Friday night we received top-notch service from start to finish. There was a man playing piano who came to our table to take requests and briefly chat. We were given a complimentary platter of truffles with a message wishing us a Happy Anniversary. Our food was delicious and satisfying.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good for business dinner

Dined on October 27, 2015

Great location connected to the hotel and easy access from downtown. Service was excellent. Bar well stocked with local / seasonal beers. Food was good, but not over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

One of the Best in Kalamazoo

Dined on October 6, 2015

Great Steak and wine selection. Not to compare to NYC, or Chicago but up there with the big city style steak joints. If you have a hankering for a good aged steak, this is your place.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4

Sides

Dined on September 30, 2015

We ordered the large side for $8.00, i belive there were only 10 green beans in the whole order and it was meant to share. The 7.00 Caesar salad was nothing more than a small dinner salad. Steaks were okay but not exceptional. Too expensive for what you get even on a special occasion.s

food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, food and service

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

From the warm pretzel bread, to entrees, side dishes to desert. The wine list of fantastic. Servers were wonderful. only complaint is they forgot to add the shrimp to my steak that i ordered. Otherwise than that perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great service

Dined on September 8, 2015

This restaurant was the best food I have ever eaten! With a romantic feel and the best service in the state! Never have I enjoyed such an amazing meal like I did at Websters.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Wonderful Wagyu!

Dined on August 15, 2015

I've been to a couple of the top rated steakhouses in the world plus a handful of America's best and the Wagyu ribeye at Webster's is the best steak I've ever eaten. The service was very good as well. My wife, son, and I had a wonderful dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best!

vip
Dined on August 11, 2015

Websters was just outstanding!! The chef prepared a " tasting" menu for us by our request and it was fantastic. We had 5 courses of delicious food which included scallops, shrimp, steak, fish and lots of veges. I cannot give this meal enough praise because the culinary skills were amazing. The sommelier paired an incredible selection of wine for us. Beautifully prepared, beautifully presented, incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delishious food; great service

Dined on August 1, 2015

Celebrated my boyfriend's birthday at Webster's Prime. Food was fantastic. The dry-aged ribeye was full of flavor and cooked perfectly. Service was perfect, as usual! Dana was tentative and delightful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 26, 2015

Abby made our anniversary dinner very special. We had a beef tasting, the chef came out and explained the beef preparation and answered our questions about the steaks on the menu. We also had a wine tasting so we could chose which wine we would like with our dinner. Dinner was fantastic and also had a complimentary dessert. A really great place to go for a special occasion. The staff was attentive .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

A Special Anniversary

Dined on May 24, 2015

We were seated in a nice roomy booth. Chef made us something special for our 13th Anniversary . Our waitress was perfect. I had the blackened chicken and the hubby had steak and lobster. Everything was cooked to perfection. We had no complaints. One of the best dining experiences we've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very Helpful Staff

Dined on April 23, 2015

My wife and I found all of the staff extremely helpful. We had a gift card give in 2008 and had misplaced it. The lady, Anna I think, worked diligently to resolve the issue and accomplished it. The process never took control of our dining experience nor our attention from the server. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Just right

Dined on March 17, 2015

My filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare. Server was attentive and friendly without being overbearing. A bit pricey, but worth every penny. Will absolutely return next time I visit Kalamazoo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

very disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2015

We have gone to Webster's for birthdays and anniversaries for years but I think we will be finding a new tradition. When you spend $300. On a meal you expect everything to be perfect and it was just far from it on so many levels. The waitress seemed distracted and in a hurry to get back to serving her other table of older guests. She repeatedly set the wrong food in front of everyone at or table so we had to play musical plates. After food was set down she would disappear making immediate response to the unsatisfactory food impossible. There were zero pieces of lobster in one of the bowls of bisque. The macaroni and cheese had no seasoning and was bland. My 11 year old wouldn't even eat it and it was eventually sent back. Steak temperatures were mixed up and one steak had two large pieces of tendon running through it making it near impossible to cut or eat. Not what i would expect when paying $30 for one piece of meat. my fillet was over cooked. My children's sirloin was blue. We then watched everyone getting dessert with a candle in it and happy birthday written on their dessert plate. Except me. I was wished happy birthday by the hostess and that was it, even though our dress would indicate we were celebrating something. This meal was my birthday gift and instead of being a wonderful experience it made me cry. I tried calling the restaurant and no one could be bothered to call me back. This dinning experience pretty much ruined my birthday. Our 11 year anniversary is next month and we will be finding somewhere else to spend it.

food3
ambience3
service2

Restaurant week...

Dined on January 31, 2015

We went to Webster's for dinner during restaurant week. It was a 3 course menu for $25. The food was good although portions were on the small side. We assumed it was because it was the menu for restaurant week. The filet we ordered was cooked well but it was under seasoned. We had to ask for the waitress for salt. Overall we thought it was good and are planning to give it one more chance. We're hoping ordering from their regular menu will be better.

food4
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Week

Dined on January 31, 2015

Great menu for restaurant week. Filet was good perfectly and generously sized. Very pleased with my first visit there...will be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Restaurant Week

Dined on January 26, 2015

Food, service and wine were superb. Great value with the special Restaurant Week memu. The steak was mouth watering. Also, they were not busy so our group of six was able to socialize for almost 3 hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

webster's second to none

Dined on January 5, 2015

Our family has had the pleasure at dining at one of the finest restaurants in the Kalamazoo area. Our son has joined the Air Force and to celebrate this great event we could think of no other place for a celebratory dinner than Webster's. The staff was pleasant and courteous. Our server was kind enough to take photos for us and she was also well versed in the menu items and wine list. Our server was attentive but not over bearing. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. Our son's girlfriend ordered the blackened salmon and she said that it was excellent. Our desserts were also delicious and were a work of art plated. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing staff

Dined on December 13, 2014

I took my mother here - to celebrate her 90th birthday. When we entered the restaurant, she was greeted with "Happy Birthday" before I'd even given my name. When we got to the table, there was a small card - in a holder - that said "Happty 90th birthday." As the evening progressed, a few other guests stopped by to wish her a happy birthday. The food was outstanding - and the service impeccable.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.