Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Webster House

Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City Visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is on of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the top 100 Brunches in America, Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

!/2 Price Starters and 1/2 price Bottles of wine.

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

!/2 Price Starters and 1/2 price Bottles of wine.

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Every Wednesday from 4:30 until 7:00, enjoy 1/2 price starters. Also, 1/2 price bottles of wine all evening long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 26, 2017 - Jul 26, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for a Date (66)
Pre/post Theatre (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Romantic (53)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Great for Lunch (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Worth the Drive (45)
Great for Brunch (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Historic (36)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Scenic View (31)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Authentic (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Cozy (25)
Seasonal (23)
Afternoon Tea (21)
Fun (21)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (9)
Private Room (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Casual (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service was great, and such a nice unique place. Would recommend and will definitely return again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Hadn't been to Webster House in several years; but was confident the food quality hadn't declined and I was absolutely correct. The servers were attentive and the menu is broad enough for both of us who have very different ideas about what constitutes a desirable entrée.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The Webster House is a gem for so many occasions. The ambience is exquisite, the service is exceptional and the food is farm to table fresh and creative! The history and architecture of the building fascinated me, and of course the shops were an added treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our dining experience and will most definitely be back. Our server (Craig) was very knowledgeable about wines and pairings with our dinner selections. My husband got the Scallops , I had the beef tenderloin. We both enjoyed our entrees very much. I was disappointed in our dessert choice, banana brulee. It was not great. Overall we were very happy with our experience. We are looking forward to returning in the Fall to taste that seasonal menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely lunch and fabulous waiter. Will be back soon. Great spot.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dinner! I told them we were celebrating a birthday and we were greeted with special menus with "happy birthday" on the top. The service was spectacular!! We decided to try the special "local growers" 4 course meal and it did not disappoint. Very creative seasonal food in a beautiful historic building!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I was surprised how quiet it was for brunch, but it was very delicious. Great bottomless mimosas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always excellent service and an enjoyable experience. Look forward to next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Webster House is an amazing place...terrific ambience, not so loud you can't have an intimate conversation, and food so delicious that it defies adequate description. From exquisitely prepared risotto to the most amazing pan-seared scallops to tender, flaky but moist halibut...great wines by bottle or glass...unforgettable desserts. It's our "go to" place for special occasions particularly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Webster House is a local favorite. Excellent and changing menu. Always an enjoyable experience. Great for a relaxing professional lunch, or a pleasant dinner with a loved one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful place for a relaxing lunch. Nice varied menu with interesting dishes. Service is attentive without being intrusive. A very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Went since my wife loves antiques and the restaurant is located above their antique shop. However, antique is really not what we expect since the antiques are artifacts and truly old fine collectables. Expensive brand name women's accessories, cards, and KC specific gifts. The wine glasses had area landmarks etched in them. It would make a great gift at $15 per glass.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We asked for a private location and were seated in the tiniest corner way back along the bar, very crammed. The place was EMPTY and then they proceeded to seat another cpl RIGHT NEXT TO US. The place was empty, not sure what that was all about. Lots of other beautiful areas to have been seated, but nope. Really? Like why there, and why of ALL THE OTHER EMOTY tables did they seat someone right next to us in our little cramped corner. So weird.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Webster House always has an interesting menu and great service. Love the fact that they use locally grown ingredients.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife has the pork belly which was delicious. The calamari was also good as well as the salad. I chose the mushroom risotto to eat and it was very bland. Little flavor or seasoning. Overall, food was good but a bit overpriced for what you get. There was also a wedding going on I believe across the hall which made it very noisy. Not quite the ambiance I hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Everything was delicious! Friend and I each had a cup of green tomato gazpacho, then split a duck salad, then split scallops (over a sweet potato sauce). Finished splitting a peach dessert.
All were amazing, as was the service. tip: restaurant patrons can park in the garage across the street from the front door for no charge, even if there's a sign for event parking.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our server Patrick was wonderful. Attentive but not overbearing. We had calamari that was some of the best I've ever had. The scallops were melt in your mouth good. The tenderloin was perfect. Excellent evening. I only wish I had room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Webster House is the first place I think of when I want to take a special friend for lunch or to celebrate an occasion. A lovely lunch, beautiful shopping experience and ambience that is simply superior is what sets Webster House apart. Mrs. Helzberg has given a Kansas City a special gift with the Webster house. Thank you to her for all she does for Kansas City.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nice setting for a beautiful anniversary dinner. I was especially impressed with the short rib salad. Nice wine selection and good service too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The view alone is worth the visit to this terrific restaurant.
The food is very good, wait staff friendly and helpful. Kansas City is lucky to have Webster House!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. One of the true "hidden gems" of Kansas City!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We attended the restaurant at Webster House on a week night. The service was great. The food was fabulous. The executive chef Brandon was phenomenal. The sous chef Joe was very interactive. We had a great time and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Brunch was pleasant. Main dishes were good, but only mildly warm; the desserts were good. The welcome, the seating, and especially the server--were all perfect. The restaurant and shopping areas are enjoyable and interesting. The validated parking in the garage across the street makes arrivals and departures very easy.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was average which made overall value not great. Local ingredients but dishes seemed overthought? I had steak Benedict and just had to much going on. The atmosphere and location are awesome, service was excellent, and really good for groups.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Delicious food, attentive service, and nice jazz playing, too. We were seated in cozy corner banquette with pillows. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A true class act in food and location. Parking can be a problem, but not this evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

WOW. Best service I've ever experienced. Great for a special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I took someone who had never been there. She was so impressed with the ambience, the beautiful furniture, and Michelle, our waitress, who was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our family has thoroughly enjoyed dining at Webster House over the past 12+ years. Their menus are always fun, the food and beverages delicious, and overall quality and service remains high.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Organic, Authentic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Webster House is a unique dining experience. The building was originally used as a school for many many years in various incarnations. Today it is a antique retail space on the first floor and a restaurant on the second. The dining space is divided into rooms - my favorite is the library.
The menu is small but covers everyone's needs. We started with cocktails and the charcuterie. On the main course, we went with the tenderloin and halibut. I had a taste of my dining partner's tenderloin, and it was yummy. But my halibut was far superior. haha. Dessert was great too. Enjoy this establishment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Never had a bad meal. Some just better than others. Friday nite was outstanding. Justin took good care of us, food was expertly prepared, and Darin added a personal touch. Will keep going back.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service was prompt, the wine list good and the food well flavored.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The service and ambience were great. The food was just ok. The dessert was described as a pineapple cake with fried ice cream and spicy caramel sauce. When I hear pineapple cake, I think of a moist cake. Instead it was a VERY dry type if shortbread cookie filled with a small amount of pineapple paste. It was so dry I literally choked on it. My hot turkey sandwich was ok, but nothing special. I had high expectations and left somewhat disappointed.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Gary, our server, was wonderful. He made the experience special for my guests, who were visiting from out of town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always and excellent meal. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their selection of starter and entree. You just can't go wrong with a meal at Webster House.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Atmosphere, service and food were impeccable. Great way to have a celebration. Plus, there's shopping.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I was really disappointed with the soup. The way it was described, we thought it would be a kind of vegetable soup, but we got a bowl of green pureed swamp-looking moss. My problem was more in the downstairs area. There were three of us, and there is a big difference between between been helpful, and stalking. Not only were we constantly being shown something we should look at, but every time we turned around someone was standing at the door or watching us. I'm sorry if you are having people steal things, but this was overload.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful place to dine before or after a Kaufman performance. Bonus is to spend time walking through the rooms on the main floor.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had another great dining experience for Sunday brunch with friends before attending a play at the Kauffman Center. I love the quaint rooms for dining, the innovative menu, delicious food and prompt attention. The addition of the unique shopping experience makes each visit even more delightful. Kudos!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My party of 3 really enjoys the Sunday Brunch prior to our Broadway in KC at Kaufmann Center.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.