About Webster House

Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City Visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is on of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the top 100 Brunches in America, Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Historic (79)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (70)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Romantic (53)
Great for Lunch (51)
Cozy (49)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Great for Brunch (29)
Business Meals (28)
Scenic View (27)
Authentic (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Seasonal (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Private Room (13)
Fun (13)
Healthy (13)
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Fireplace (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3081 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal and service. Timing was spot ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great meal and service. Timing was spot on between courses, friendly, warm atmosphere without being stuffy....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious & Memorable! We dined here for ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious & Memorable!

We dined here for Restaurant Week - our first time at this lovely establishment.

Everything here from A-Z is top notch!

We enjoyed every morsel and will return again and again!

Thank you Webster House!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special place! A girlfriend and I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

What a special place! A girlfriend and I decided to have dinner here during restaurant week and we were blown away by the outstanding service, unique venue and tasty food! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambience is great. Food was okay. Serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Ambience is great. Food was okay. Service was disappointing.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

There were 6 of us and everyone loved th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

There were 6 of us and everyone loved their meal. The mushroom soup was delicious.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I recently tried Webster House for the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

I recently tried Webster House for the first time and I am so disappointed that I waited so long to try it! It felt a bit strange entering through the store and we questioned whether we were entering through the correct door as there wasn't any identifiable signage that we could see from the street at night, but other than that the location is gorgeous. I think this would be a fantastic place for a rehearsal dinner or reception. I love that you can see the Kauffman from the windows and the scallops were incredible! The restaurant is very elegant, with moderately high prices, and a coat check so you'd think it'd be stuffy and one of those places where people go to be "seen", but the atmosphere was incredibly comfortable and the servers were friendly and professional. We enjoyed our dinner there tremendously and I can't wait to return!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went during restaurant week to try out a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Went during restaurant week to try out an establishment that we had always heard great things about. Ended up with one person receiving the wrong dish for first course, second course was not even what was on the menu for the shortribs, scallops were undercooked, although the chicken was decent. Dessert was lackluster but alright. It was the quality I expect from a generic restaurant, not from a place with such a good reputation. We were disappointed and will not be recommending to others. The shop downstairs was nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great time

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great time

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

KC Restaurant Week was a great way to in ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

KC Restaurant Week was a great way to introduce ourselves to the Webster House dining experience. My husband and I enjoyed the elegant atmosphere and service. I must mention that I have never had a more delicious soup than the mushroom soup that I had as my first course. It was velvety and fabulous. We will return to sample more the their menu items but I will hope that the mushroom soup is a staple on their bill of fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The salad would have been delicious, exc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The salad would have been delicious, except someone in the kitchen salted it quite heavily.

Really? I've never had that happen before anywhere.

When the entree was served, coq a vin, it was a blackish color, lukewarm and on top of runny potatoes. The presentation was off putting, but I thought due to the wine it would be delicious. No so, totally tasteless. This could have used a little salt, but since I had far exceeded my salt quota with the few bites of salad, I ate it without.

The highlight of the meal was the Brussel sprouts.

Love the ambience, but the food was not up to par. Sorry to say I can't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We come each year for restaurant week. Y ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We come each year for restaurant week. You are a must on our list.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Sunday brunch. Neat building f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Sunday brunch. Neat building full of antiques. Excellent biscuits and gravy. Sloppy joe could have been really good except for an excess of vinegar. Chocolate cheesecake was an odd mixture of things. Creme brulee was very good and large enough to share.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went during restaurant week. Food was e ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Went during restaurant week. Food was excellent. Service was as well. It's a bit of an older crowd, in a historic school building. Nice, but not my preferred type of environment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

The fresh sautéed scallops, served over ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The fresh sautéed scallops, served over a gently spiced cauliflower purée with lightly grilled carrots, were hot, tasty and an excellent compliment to the flavor of the vegetables. The chicken taurine appetizer had a delightful but subtlety smoky flavor. I've been to Webster House multiple times and always been pleasantly surprised with a new mix of davory flavors.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time there. Loved the food an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time there. Loved the food and beautiful restored building. The antiques downstairs were quite the surprise.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had to call and ask if I could change my ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Had to call and ask if I could change my reservation to 3 hours earlier and the Host said "No problem, we will fit you in" and they did. Beautiful window seat. Wonderful food and outstanding service. Had the Fried Crispy Brussels Sprouts for openers and could have left happy right there. Awesome. The rest of the meal was great too, but oh, those Brussels.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd read reviews of Webster House so I w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

I'd read reviews of Webster House so I was happy to see it participating in Restaurant Week. Food first, right? It was hard choosing but the mushroom soup was so rich and creamy with its drizzle of truffle oil. It really fought the icy weather I'd braved. I will have to go back to try their brussel sprouts. The shepherd's pie was my entree choice; it's so seldom parsnips are included in any dishes, and they were perfect as part of the roasted root veggies under the rich beef. And besides the dining experience, the lovely building, the history, the unique offerings in the antique and shopping area rounded out a well spent few hours.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We made last minute reservations last ni ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We made last minute reservations last night for restaurant week. It has been years since I was here. The food was fantastic! I highly recommend the starter of mushroom soup with truffle croutons. The chicken with root vegetables and mushroom bread pudding was outstanding. Both desserts offered were perfectly proportioned (small). The key lime pie was on a coconut macaroon crust with a tiny tiny meringue on top of the filling. Delightful! Our waiter Gary was warm and attentive. We will make this midtown jewel a player in our regular restaurant rotation!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decided to try Webster House on KC resta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Decided to try Webster House on KC restaurant week. Everything was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance with great character ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful ambiance with great character and awesome views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant never disappoints! Grea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant never disappoints! Great food and staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to enjoy a formal dinner ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent place to enjoy a formal dinner. Also a great place to propose!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was very good. Portions were ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our meal was very good. Portions were generous. Wait staff, Lori, was very nice and quickly available for our questions. No competition to have conversation. We enjoyed looking around at the diverse stock you have on hand.

An overall, very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My 18 year old niece was in town on Chri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My 18 year old niece was in town on Christmas college break after completing her first successful semester at K-State - our lunch was a toast to her outstanding grades and toast to a successful 2017. My niece thoroughly enjoyed reading the history brochure of the Webster House and was thrilled with the size and quality ingredients of the Turkey Club - commented it was just like a homemade fabulous Thanksgiving dinner rolled into a sandwich. I had the ricotta dish, simply fabulous with perfectly prepared butternut squash pieces - and plenty included in the dish. It's good to introduce our youth to the Webster House as truly a unique piece of Kansas City history.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The building is gorgeous and the brunch ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The building is gorgeous and the brunch is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! Enjoy gift shopping there ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great place! Enjoy gift shopping there as well! Food is great and reasonably priced!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Webster House for lunch. Great f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love Webster House for lunch. Great food: good drinks, wine list, coffee, desserts... It's a real girls' place. Oh, and it's pretty. Very pretty.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for a holiday/birthday cel ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for a holiday/birthday celebration. Thought we would be in the formal dining room but were in the bar. The food was very average. Our guest could not eat any of her scallop dish because so salty. Very disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was extraordinary. Liked smalle ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was extraordinary. Liked smaller rooms instead of one big room.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was there two days earlier and had a del ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was there two days earlier and had a delightful time and meal. Ordered the same entree and it was BAD. Service was slow. Water never refilled. Was disappointed and embarrassed as I have raved for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value4

My fiancée and I dined at Webster House ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My fiancée and I dined at Webster House on December 29th to celebrate our engagement and had a fantastic experience. We were recommended a wonderful wine in our budget, served fantastic food that met my dietary needs (gluten free), and treated to champagne and dessert. Additionally the downstairs antique house was a treat for window shopping. We highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I really like Webster House ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I really like Webster House for lunch. The food and service is excellent, all served in the historic setting of an old school house. And, what a school. It's worth the visit just for the architecture.

We will be back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place to get together with college ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice place to get together with college friends during the holidays!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to go with my daughter for a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place to go with my daughter for a get away lunch. Food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork chop was a 10. The filet was a1 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The pork chop was a 10. The filet was a10. the Osso Bucco was a 3....Too Dry.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful room, food, wine and great for ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful room, food, wine and great for holiday get together.

Sadly was there again today and was very disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really like Webster House. My friend ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I really like Webster House. My friend and I go before performances at Kauffman Center and always enjoy ourselves. On Friday, December 23 some friends and I met for Christmas celebration.

We had wonderful service from Candace (Candy?) She was attentive but not overly so. She let us sit and talk.

The food was very good. We all had the burger.

(My only concern is that many of the options have smoked meats -- something I am allergic to.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my husband and my favorit ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This is one of my husband and my favorite place to dine, especially during the Christmas holidays. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience as always!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was better than the actual food. Ve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Menu was better than the actual food. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.