About Webster House

1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

The first floor houses the Webster House shops and we encourage guests to explore rooms filled with the latest in accessories, gifts, home décor, and thoughtfully selected antiques. Our second floor is home to our outstanding restaurant. We offer a feast of delicious seasonal menus, using the freshest and finest ingredients, always with an eye to the best that is available locally.
With a staff skilled in event planning, Webster House offers the perfect home for your next event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lavender Panna Cotta
  • Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips
Lavender Panna Cotta
Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

special occasion (175)
fit for foodies (119)
great for lunch (115)
See All
great for brunch (97)
romantic (92)
good for groups (86)
neighborhood gem (86)
scenic view (60)
notable wine list (35)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an experience! The food and servic ...

Dined 3 days ago

What an experience! The food and service was out of this world excellent!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice atmosphere and charm. Nice wi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very nice atmosphere and charm. Nice wine selection. Lunch menu had varied choices. The food was delicious . We also enjoyed the shopping available in the lower level.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

It was freezing cold. Too loud for me a ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was freezing cold. Too loud for me and my friend to visit. The tables are so close together that the waiter kept bumping my chair as he went by. He kept saying he would bring us some bread in a minute. We got our lunch way before he came by with the bread. We had to wait for our check. We were glad to leave. There was a group of 4 women that were very loud and disruptive. No one else in the room could visit.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fairly certain their iced tea is earl gr ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Fairly certain their iced tea is earl grey, it's so refreshing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our brunch meal and appreciat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch meal and appreciate the complimentary glass of champagne prior to the symphony concert, but found it to be very chilly where we were sitting. The shawl that was provided helped and is appreciated but it was still uncomfortably cool.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

this was my first visit to webster house ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

this was my first visit to webster house as it was father's day and we had tickets for the symphony, our first for that as well. we live in manhattan, kansas so it is a two hour ride to kansas city. everything was pretty good, the waiter needed more experience and would help if he could know his wines better. the downstairs shopping area is to die for and i spent too much money. cc

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Totally wonderful experience and I have ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Totally wonderful experience and I have dined at various upscale venues but this one is right up there. Extremely friendly staff and to say the least the food was stellar. Hope to return to try other obviously sumptuous items on your menu. Keep up the good work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our visit and have already told ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed our visit and have already told people of it. If we visit KC again soon we'll return for another outstanding meal.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time. Had a wonderful brunch. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our first time. Had a wonderful brunch. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. We go to brunch somewher ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. We go to brunch somewhere in KC every Sunday and Webster House is the best place in town --- by a long shot. Try the homemade desserts. Peaches and cream pie is so good we ordered an extra to go. Everything was hot and timely. Try also the frittata which alone was worth the trip. This was our third trip to Webster House and we have always been delighted. Service is excellent, polite and unobtrusive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to spend an evening ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a great place to spend an evening. Darren, the manager, is always a pleasure and runs a ship shape establishment. The shopping below is always a plus. Lets the wives do a little shopping before dinner and the guys can go up to the bar and talk sports. A win/win for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Webster house for my wife's b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to Webster house for my wife's birthday. We ordered the stuffed Quail and it was absolutely amazing. I really hope Webster house keeps this as a permanent item on their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy returning to Webster House for ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoy returning to Webster House for dinner before attending Kansas City Symphony performances next door at the Kauffman Center. We've never been disappointed, thanks to continually refreshed menu items and the impeccable service of our favorite server, Amine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I always enjoy Webster House and like to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I always enjoy Webster House and like to bring friends from out of town here. The shopping down stairs is a bonus!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. A very rela ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service and food. A very relaxing and special experience

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Had lunch there. Food was good and just ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Had lunch there. Food was good and just the right size. Great space!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a great place for friends to get t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It is a great place for friends to get together. The food is always great with a good variety on the menu

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just love Webster House. The atmosphere ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Just love Webster House. The atmosphere is excellent and the food is always consistently delicious. Love the Bloody Mary One too! Also please bring back the Croque Monsieur to the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was excellent and a g ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

As always the food was excellent and a great value for the price. It felt like we were family in how we were treated in the best possible way. You made our experience fun, and the food was delicious. The drinks were excellent and the extra care that went into our daughters 21st birthday dinner was excellent. Thanks you!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on June 8, 2016

We found the entrees to be way overpriced and not very good. My quail was tough and stringy; the halibut was tasteless and extremely small. Our choice of wine was very good and the salads were fine. The room needed noise buffering and was very loud when it should have been fine dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a nice place.

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food is good staff is very professional and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food & service was great. We went t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food & service was great. We went to the Symphony afterwards. Very nice evening!!

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Good help hard to find?

Dined on June 3, 2016

My spouse is a generous tipper of 20 to 25 percent. He tipped 14 percent on this night. Enough said. Admittedly we did enjoy the free dessert offered. Nothing wrong with the food!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Entertaiment

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Good service, good food and nice evening for both of us.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in kc

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Our food wasn't quite as good as I hoped, but we may not have made the best choices. Otherwise, everything was great, and my out-of-town guest loved the setting.

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Lunch at the Webster House

Dined on May 27, 2016

The Webster House is a lovely, gracious place for dinning. We were seated in a smaller room that was approximately 75% full. The noise level was very high as the chatter was extremely loud. My husband has a hearing loss so our conversation was limited. The server was prompt, knowledgeable and very accommodating. The soup of the day was described as spicy but it was actually bland. The sandwich and home made potato chips were good. We will be back and will recommend The Webster House to others.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were celebrating a graduation. Very g ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were celebrating a graduation. Very good service. Please note that the menu changes, and in some ways limited. Unique atmosphere. Prices are a bit high.....yet good for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good experience, but probably wouldn't go back.

Dined on May 26, 2016

We were at Webster House for lunch, a fairly limited menu, and what I found was that, while the menu was interesting, and the food good, my choices were very limited because of my dairy allergy . . . . perhaps the evening menu would be big enough that there would be more choices that didn't include dairy, but the lunch was a bit disappointing, because of that. However, the shopping downstairs is really fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food and service.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food and service.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter was very attentive but gave t ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive but gave two comments that were incorrect. He stated that the pig cheeks are actually pork tenderloin. He also stated that the tempura trout appetizer was very small but it actually was quite large, big enough that it would have been good with a salad for the evening meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Inventive menu in historic venue with qu ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Inventive menu in historic venue with quiet and good service. I like the small dining rooms and first floor shops as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was not hot and not very flavor ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was not hot and not very flavorful. It was a disappointment given the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a great preshow brunch for the Kau ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It is a great preshow brunch for the Kauffman Performing Arts Center. The food is always fresh and interesting. Our last two visits were made even better by Gary, our server.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This was a pre-concert dinner for 4. Re ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a pre-concert dinner for 4. Restaurant was full. Our server seemed to have more tables than he could comfortably handle, so while he worked very hard, he was not as attentive as we would have liked. Also, the kitchen mishandled our order, so the starters were served at the same time as our entrees. This was pointed out to our waiter, & the manager stopped by to apologize & gave us a free round of wine. Food was not as good as the last time we were here (also a pre-concert meal), but still good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Webster House is a fantastic place to ta ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Webster House is a fantastic place to take family or friends for wonderful dinning and ambience. The menu changes so there is always a new treat to try. I love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite restaurant for lunch.

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is always good and the staff very friendly. The charm and history of Webster House is another reason to frequent this restaurant. You will find unique shopping as well and it is just a wonderful place to spend some time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

OK if attending Kaufmann

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Beautiful building and a great location when attending an event at the Kaufmann. The problem is that I would not ever choose to go there for the food. It has an uninspired menu that does not have many choices. The dinner salad was good but the salmon I ordered was mediocre. Unfortunately, I only choose to go there if I do not have enough time for anywhere else......

food1
ambience5
service5
value3

allergies beware

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Extremely limited menu is fine but for people with shellfish and cheese allergies it is nearly impossible to find something to eat. Shellfish is a popular theme. Thought the steak would work but it has cheesy potatoes as a side. Service was amazing and the food I could eat was edible but won't be back until they have other options on the menu.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Service poor, food ok

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server spilt wine on tablecloth and I had to ask him to clean up the mess! Did not apologize, just went on about his business. Our waiter did not give us any service! Food just ok, nothing special. Very disappointing. Went the Ragtime and that was the highlight of our evening.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dined at The Webster House with my 12 ye ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Dined at The Webster House with my 12 year old son who had never been there. We were headed to the Kaufmann Center for the Performing Arts for a musical play afterwards. Since The Webster House is right next door, it makes for the perfect location. Normally I love the food here, but on this night they were only open for 2 hours prior to the performance to serve those guests. I ordered a Sangria to start with and it was way too sweet. The pre-dinner bread which is usually unique and tasty was just everyday wheat bread. My son had the 10oz rib eye which he loved, and I had the GNOCCHI FRITO (Crisp Pork Cheeks, Gorgonzola, Balsamic Onion, Arugula & Truffle Honey) and the few gnocchi that were there were deep fired and came out soggy. I couldn't taste the gorgonzola which I love and the balsamic was over whelming. I thought this dish sounded so unusual and different, but it just didn't come out right. My son on the other hand thought it was great and would love to go back again. I'm hoping that this visit was off due to the fact that they were only open for a few hours on a performance night.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.