About Webster House

1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

The first floor houses the Webster House shops and we encourage guests to explore rooms filled with the latest in accessories, gifts, home décor, and thoughtfully selected antiques. Our second floor is home to our outstanding restaurant. We offer a feast of delicious seasonal menus, using the freshest and finest ingredients, always with an eye to the best that is available locally.
With a staff skilled in event planning, Webster House offers the perfect home for your next event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lavender Panna Cotta
  • Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips
Lavender Panna Cotta
Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (145)
Great for Lunch (96)
Fit for Foodies (89)
See All
Romantic (84)
Great for Brunch (73)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Good for Groups (62)
Scenic View (45)
Notable Wine List (32)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very quaint venue with outstanding servi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very quaint venue with outstanding service ever time we stop in. Wife loves to shop in the boutique just below the restaurant on the first floor.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I wee very much impressed wi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I wee very much impressed with both the food and the service. All of the dishes server were exceptional.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First a business dinner, and then a larg ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

First a business dinner, and then a large group for a Sunday brunch. All courses were very good, some were exceptional (a term I rarely use for food). The service was absolutely terrific: personable & attentive without being overbearing or intrusive, a delicate balance that seems to be disappearing these days. The historic building itself, both within the restaurant (2nd floor) and in the wonderful shop on the first floor, is beautiful, elegant and memorable. I truly wish I could import this gem into every city where I travel for work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Second time .Went for a birthday. Great ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Second time .Went for a birthday. Great Chef and kitchen staff. DeAnne(sp) was wonderful on answering my questions. The shop staff was very cheery and helpful. Great place for all special occasions.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Webster House is a great place for a soc ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Webster House is a great place for a social-business lunch. A light fare which allows you to eat, and, yet have the energy to finish out your work day.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, especially the desserts ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, especially the desserts - an item so often overlooked by other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were offering a special promotional ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

They were offering a special promotional menu and I was somewhat disappointed that regular menu items were not available. Our server was basically accommodating, but appeared impatient with us when we asked for drinks that we have had in the past, but I guess were not available that day. Not the usual welcoming feeling we usually get.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Elegant atmosphere and well prepared foo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Elegant atmosphere and well prepared food make this a special place for our "dinner club" to get together.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been to Webster House many times, b ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I've been to Webster House many times, but the prospect of the $10 lunch was tempting. My choice, the mountain trout salad, was an abundant meal and the trout itself was excellent. It was a good reminder of what a find restaurant Webster House is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite. Kansas City landmark ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always a favorite. Kansas City landmark of historical significance. Great to take out of town guests and wonderful downtown location by the Kaufman Center of the performing arts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Fun Friday lunch with friends. Good foo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fun Friday lunch with friends. Good food and good service. And we enjoyed the shopping after lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing local find that the locals are a ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing local find that the locals are a aware of! UBER drivers and taxi drivers and private car drivers all knew nothing about this place only our hotel concierge knew and that was only after we found it on open table! This is a must go place. Food was great, I had duck, but everyone on our group loved what they blight👌 go early there is shopping to do in the store downstairs. We sat in back great for people who want it quiet and be able to talk but in front room they had a live singer performing. Will go back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Menu was small. . Maybe as it was a week ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Menu was small. . Maybe as it was a weekday. The risotto had no flavor. We didn't even take it home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

My husband and I really enjoy coming to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My husband and I really enjoy coming to Webster House. I just feels special. We enjoy the gift shop that is with the restaurant and love the history behind Webster House especially since I am a retired elem. ed. teacher.

Highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I found this place while ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My husband and I found this place while exploring the downtown area. Did research online and decided to try it for brunch. The food was delicious, the service impeccable, and the selection varied enough to please everyone in our group. Our server, Michelle was able to recount the history of the lovingly restored building. Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was excellent! It was our w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our service was excellent! It was our wedding anniversary and we received complimentary champagne and dessert with our meal. I prefer very well-done steaks and my steak was cooked perfectly for me. A wonderful experience~

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have dined here several times and have n ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have dined here several times and have never been disappointed. I love that they change the menu frequently. Ambiance can't be duplicated. A "must dine" location. Unfortunately, I can't remember our servers name, but she was knowledge and unobtrusive during our luncheon.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Darin is the best!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Darin is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The soup was very spicy or too much pepp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The soup was very spicy or too much pepper? Anyway, I couldn't finish it. We did tell our waitress about it. Other than that it was very good. We ate lunch there on Monday August 1st.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service great. Fine Dining. Bea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service great. Fine Dining. Beautiful restored schoolhouse. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was beautiful. It was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful. It was a first official date for my girlfriend who is vegetarian. We had a magnificent time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. It was an enjoyabl ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful experience. It was an enjoyable dining experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. The service wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was very good but slow & they weren't very crowded. Love this place. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Halibut is awesome

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Halibut is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a friend who had never been there a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Took a friend who had never been there and she loved the place. She found the history very interesting and the decor fascinating. The atmosphere was perfect for a lunch time conversation to catch up on things. She mentioned that she would definitely bring her friends there. Our waiter, Patrick, did a very nice job and was able to answer all questions about the place. Nice job folks!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Or waiter Gary was delightful and attent ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Or waiter Gary was delightful and attentive. Food was delicious! Definitely will be back. Please bring back Wednesday night's half price bottles of wine. 🍾

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Great choice ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great choice for dinner prior to a show at the Kauffman Center or anytime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice lunch.. Good food and good pace for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice lunch.. Good food and good pace for visiting. Little pricey

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful local jem that never disappoin ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful local jem that never disappoints. Make sure to save time for shopping for beautiful antiques and gifts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very impressed with this restaurant. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Was very impressed with this restaurant. This was our first time to visit Webster house and I will DEFINITELY be going back. The Seared Scallops on Risotto dish was amazing. The Halibut was perfectly cooked. We even had a chicken heart compliments of the chef which was a first for me and it was fantastic as well.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone. They have an awesome menu, a great Executive Chef, fantastic service and wonderful food in a beautiful restaurant with great views.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've only been for lunch with colleagues ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I've only been for lunch with colleagues and friends. Located in an historic schoolhouse with rich woods and high ceilings, the atmosphere is amazing! The food is local, unique, and never disappoints, and the wait staff is above par. The only downfall is the noise. Dining in smaller rooms with hard surfaces makes it difficult to carry on a conversation in the midst of everyone else's conversations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic service & food

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Fantastic service & food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone marrow is a little rare. But th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The bone marrow is a little rare. But the salmon strawberry salad is awesome as well as the blood orange vanilla bar with pistachio sauce. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I try to eat at the Webster House every ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I try to eat at the Webster House every time I come to Kansas City.

Dinner is always excellent. The servers are very knowledgeable and helpful. Darin, the manager is always there to greet you and make you feel welcome.

Very well done former school. Plan to go a little early and shop at the fabulous shop on the main floor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fine. Still mad that you ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was fine. Still mad that you do not have a house wines. Do not like to spend $14 for a glass of Cab. All the great restaurants in KC have house wines 😝😕😪. But not your place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were celebrating two co-workers' birt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were celebrating two co-workers' birthdays. It was a great venue for a ladies lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The whole package was a delight. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The whole package was a delight. It was an unexpected pleasure. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch and it was del ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch and it was delicious. The setting is a historic house and is beautiful. We shopped in the house also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, wonderful service from the in ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, wonderful service from the initial greeting when entering to leaving at the end of our evening. I have been here multiple times but this was the first time for my out-of-state company. They LOVED it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, and you cannot beat ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious, and you cannot beat the atmosphere or service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.