Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Webster House

Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City Visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is on of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the top 100 Brunches in America, Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Ten Chef’s, Ten Day’s, Ten Countries!

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Webster House Supper Club

Fridays from 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

!/2 Price Starters and 1/2 price Bottles of wine.

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

BEE ORGANIZED KC

Wednesday Apr 5, 2017 from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Wednesdays from 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Floral Designing with BECO Flowers

Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Ten Chef’s, Ten Day’s, Ten Countries!

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

3 Courses for $35.00 We plan on having each Chef display their talents beginning Feb 2nd - April 6th. They will be presenting delicious & creative cuisines from the countries of the world that have influenced their cooking styles. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Apr 6, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Webster House Supper Club

Fridays from 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Webster House Supper Club with Rich Hill!! Great Music and 3 Courses dinner for $40.00. Call the Restaurant for reservations. Limited seating. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 26, 2017 - Apr 1, 2017 on Fridays from 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

!/2 Price Starters and 1/2 price Bottles of wine.

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Every Wednesday from 4:30 until 7:00, enjoy 1/2 price starters. Also, 1/2 price bottles of wine all evening long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 26, 2017 - Jul 26, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

BEE ORGANIZED KC

Wednesday Apr 5, 2017 from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

Details

Learn how to create an orderly, balanced and harmonious atmosphere with this professional organizing team. Helping simply their lives. Call to reserve your space now!! 816-800-8820. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Wednesday Apr 5, 2017 from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM.

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Wednesdays from 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 26, 2017 - Apr 13, 2017 on Wednesdays from 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Floral Designing with BECO Flowers

Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

Details

Flower arranging with Rebecca Ederer from BECO Flowers at 10:00 a.m. Followed by luncheon at 11:15 a.m. $35.00 + tax and gratuity. Call 1888-800-8820 for reservations and information. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 26, 2017 - Apr 2, 2017 on Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (97)
Special Occasion (91)
Good for a Date (88)
See All
Historic (86)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Romantic (66)
Cozy (62)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Great for Lunch (50)
Worth the Drive (49)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Business Meals (39)
Scenic View (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Authentic (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Seasonal (20)
Private Room (20)
Afternoon Tea (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (14)
Casual (14)
Healthy (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fireplace (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great meal! New menu to explore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great and we got right in for our reservation. The food was good but I thought a little overpriced. Very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere and overall very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We had very good meals in a very comfortable environment prior to hearing the Boston Pops at the Kauffman Center. The service was great and timely with no rushes or delays.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Read that this old Victorian house turned eclectic store and fine dinning upstairs/restaurant was top 100 brunches in the country. We learned why- it was amazing!! We loved our food, bacon, and drinks. It was classy without being stuffy and looks like an amazing bridal shower/event location. Our one stop in KC was a winner for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Went too Webster house before a concert, the waitress asked first if we were headed some where specific and at what time did we need to leave in order to get there. Everything was good, prepared well and we made the concert in time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great place for girlfriend lunch and shopping nice

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very disappointed to see so much of the menu changed. All of the offerings that I loved best were removed and replaced with less appetizing items. This was a lunch event. The menu is small to begin with and many items are just too "heavy" for lunch. We all had trouble finding something appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, great wine list. Wonderful venue before a Kaufman event.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food beautifully served. Friendly efficient wait staff. Best coffee in town!

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent everything! Beautiful old building with a fun shop downstairs. All staff were so friendly and the food was delicious. Menu had a nice variety and different things than a lot of restaurants. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place to get together with old business friends. Food was great. Quiet atmosphere - you could talk freely. Great wine!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We experienced the Webster House for the first time as it was Chef Brett Lofton's turn at the 10 Chefs, 10 Countries. He is my brother and I am very proud to say that. His food was amazing, the plating was beautiful, the staff was wonderful and the restaurant is beautiful. Posted pictures for my friends to see and already planning the next trip for dinner with a larger group.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Another delightful evening at Webster House. Service, ambiance and food were all perfect. I had the steak and it was one of the best I've had in Kansas City. This place is a gem!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent food in a very quiet and lovely dinner area. With tables not overly close and high ceilings in the dinner room, a great place for a quite dinner. Will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A regular pre opera gathering with great food and friends - meals are always good and a treat before our opera event!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Slow service and incorrect orders. Had to ask for a cocktail menu. Great dining if you are over 50. Food was good after having it corrected. Just feel you get more a couple blocks away in the crossroads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent vegetarian sampling. Charming service. So convenient for the Kauffman Center.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food along with very good service.....Well worth the travel to downtown.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The purpose of this meal was business but I was drawn here by my past experience for dinner. The lunch setting did not disappoint. There was a large group meeting in the east room which was loud as we entered the reception area but did not carry into the dining room.
The service was impecable and the food exceeded expectations. My option was the Webster House burger at the suggestion of our server and he did not mislead. It was perfectly cooked and served.
While we did not have wine, in looking at the list it is as impressive as I remembered with plenty of good options resonably priced.
Please take advantage of this fine restaurant for any occasion you want to make special or for dinner or lunch out before an event.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing as always, this is by far one of the best brunches in Kansas City

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was not up to its usual standard. We were disappointed as it was a special occasion.
Just not as good as expected?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have long been fans of Webster House and even had our daughter's wedding there a few years ago. We were disappointed in our dinner on Saturday night. The menu does not have great choices and our food was mediocre at best. I had the chicken breast, which used to be incredible. It was tender but it was lukewarm and the parsnip puree flavor overwhelmed everything else on the plate. My husband had the arctic char; it was also lukewarm and he thought it was just ok. Our server was very nice and very helpful. We will try again because we want the beautiful spot to be successful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had 6:30 reservations before a show at the Kauffman - and celebrating a birthday. I have been here half a dozen times before. Previous times the food was great, that night not so much. She ordered the bone marrow and the waiter came back 15 min later saying they had just sold out. Ok...onward to her ordering the Pate. She seemed to like it. Waiter was great and friendly. I ordered the rissoto and it was bland, and the rice wasn't cooked properly - some of it was too soft or too hard. The flavor needed more.
We also ordered a bottle of wine and it was delicious.
Dinner for her was the Scallops. They were dry and the beans surrounding them were too salty and the presentation was unimpressive. I had the Carbonara. This was pretty darn good, my gf preferred it over her scallops so I let her eat away.

Prices didn't fit the quality and taste. It was over priced.

Why didn't I complain to management? Under Normal circumstances I would have but I didn't want to bring her down with any negativity being her birthday plus we barely made the show.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We've been to Webster House many times and have always been impressed by the food. However, this meal was not up to expectation. Mushroom risotto is a classic, a fundamental. This mushroom risotto was not equal to TWH standards. It seemed chef had tried to make a classic "special" and ended up making it the opposite. The grilled cheese sandwich, also a classic with room to experiment, ended up being a failure. Lack of flavor. Will we return? Of course. But on this day, someone wasn't paying attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Very nice place. We probably ordered the wrong things. Calamari was almost burnt and the salad too full of cucumbers. Waitress not attentive. I would give it one more chance. Good shopping.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food, nice atmosphere, convient parking but leaving lot was a hassle with getting the gate to open.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We sat in the bar which is cozy and active. We both ordered the salad with Brussels Sprouts; he got the steak on it. Both were delicious. I would not order the potstickers again....they were bland. Our waitress wanted to be somewhere else judging by her attitude.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My first time at the Supper Club. It was wonderful! Will be bringing friends in March.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were sat right away, Our table was in the bar area. Very cool design throughout the buiding. Our server was quick with the drinks, Wine was half price on bottles. There were three of us at my table. We each ordered something different. Not one of us could eat more than a few bites. I had the Carbanara, it was dry, tasteless and left me feeling sick. When the server came back she asked if I was done, but nothing about a full plate of food. I wIll never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Another great meal at Webster house. Service and food are spot on, perfect timing with courses and friendly atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were disappointed. I took my fiancé for his birthday and was excited because he had never been to Webster House. We first ordered a bottle of wine which came out hot that we needed chilled. He then ordered the lamb pappardelle pasta and I ordered the filet. He was served angel hair pasta, not pappardelle (big difference) and instead of one piece of filet I received two burnt medalions. We were hoping for a nice dinner but at the cost, we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was recommended by a friend of ours at work. A fantastic place to eat on our date night prior to the ballet. Everything was fantastic and the service was spot on. Definitely recommend making reservations before going. To bad I was pregnant at the time because their wine list was very impressive- we will definitely be going back some time!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Lovely but got very loud as it filled up; I was practically shouting at my friend to converse.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My husband and I went to Webster House for a date night dinner. It was during their "10 chefs 10 countries" event and was Argentina night. He got the Argentina special, and I ordered their vegetarian dish. Both were outstanding - definitely among the best dishes we've eaten in Kansas City and would rate in our top 5 experiences anywhere. We shared the Argentina dessert, which involved smoked cheesecake. OMG was it amazing! I want to eat it again - and again. The setting and atmosphere was intimate and casual while upscale (so Kansas City which we love). Pricey but we thought it was worth it. Will definitely go back, bring others, and recommend to friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food, extraordinary ambiance, excellent service! Shopping is great too! It is our favorite KC place to dine! It is also a wonderful place to park, dine, and go to the Kauffman! We love it!!! You will always be pleased!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Organic, Romantic, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time unique place very historic great service. Unique great food

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

For Valentines Day I surprised my wife and mother in law with reservations to Webster House. Needless to say they were very satisfied with the food, ambiance, service and more.
Mission complete. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to the Webster House for Valentine's Day. There was a specific 4 course menu for the day, but we knew that in advance. It was not inexpensive, but for a special occasion we were happy to splurge. Before, we had been here only in the bar, which is very cozy, but the dining rooms are nice, too. Drinks were a little pricey. Of the four courses, I preferred the salad and the dessert, but the entree and appetizer were good. My husband enjoyed his soup more than I did my steak tartare, which was a bit bland. All in all, it was a good dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a lovely Valentine's Day dinner at Webster House. The setting is very cozy and intimate. We we in the library bar. The food was very good, with the steak tartare being the only clunker. The prix fixe was a little pricey but fine for a holiday splurge.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.