About Webster House

1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

The first floor houses the Webster House shops and we encourage guests to explore rooms filled with the latest in accessories, gifts, home décor, and thoughtfully selected antiques. Our second floor is home to our outstanding restaurant. We offer a feast of delicious seasonal menus, using the freshest and finest ingredients, always with an eye to the best that is available locally.
With a staff skilled in event planning, Webster House offers the perfect home for your next event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lavender Panna Cotta
  • Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips
Lavender Panna Cotta
Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

special occasion (162)
great for lunch (105)
fit for foodies (102)
See All
romantic (94)
great for brunch (90)
good for groups (78)
neighborhood gem (72)
scenic view (54)
notable wine list (33)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Great choice ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Great choice for dinner prior to a show at the Kauffman Center or anytime.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice lunch.. Good food and good pace for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice lunch.. Good food and good pace for visiting. Little pricey

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful local jem that never disappoin ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful local jem that never disappoints. Make sure to save time for shopping for beautiful antiques and gifts!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very impressed with this restaurant. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was very impressed with this restaurant. This was our first time to visit Webster house and I will DEFINITELY be going back. The Seared Scallops on Risotto dish was amazing. The Halibut was perfectly cooked. We even had a chicken heart compliments of the chef which was a first for me and it was fantastic as well.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone. They have an awesome menu, a great Executive Chef, fantastic service and wonderful food in a beautiful restaurant with great views.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service & food

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service & food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone marrow is a little rare. But th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The bone marrow is a little rare. But the salmon strawberry salad is awesome as well as the blood orange vanilla bar with pistachio sauce. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I try to eat at the Webster House every ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

I try to eat at the Webster House every time I come to Kansas City.

Dinner is always excellent. The servers are very knowledgeable and helpful. Darin, the manager is always there to greet you and make you feel welcome.

Very well done former school. Plan to go a little early and shop at the fabulous shop on the main floor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fine. Still mad that you ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was fine. Still mad that you do not have a house wines. Do not like to spend $14 for a glass of Cab. All the great restaurants in KC have house wines 😝😕😪. But not your place.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were celebrating two co-workers' birt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating two co-workers' birthdays. It was a great venue for a ladies lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The whole package was a delight. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The whole package was a delight. It was an unexpected pleasure. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch and it was del ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch and it was delicious. The setting is a historic house and is beautiful. We shopped in the house also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, wonderful service from the in ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, wonderful service from the initial greeting when entering to leaving at the end of our evening. I have been here multiple times but this was the first time for my out-of-state company. They LOVED it!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, and you cannot beat ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious, and you cannot beat the atmosphere or service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner very much. The food was excellent and the service very good. We are in our sixties, and appreciated the comfort of leather chairs. The decor is great for sound-absorbency, also, I liked the jazz soundtrack and was happy with the volume. I love Webster House and will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was poor. I ordered ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food selection was poor. I ordered the hot turkey sandwich thinking it would be safe. It did not taste good and the turkey was very dry. I did not eat all of the sandwich. I became violently ill later in the evening and suspect the meal may have caused the illness because I felt fine, previously. I used to eat there frequently and the food was very good. I wish we could turn back the clock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very slow service. First time I've had s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very slow service. First time I've had such poor service there. Food and drinks Took forever to come out. Asked for bread while we were waiting, was told they don't have bread during brunch but she'd see what she could do and the she didn't come back until after our meals were delivered, never saying anything about the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The Webster House was a unique historica ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Webster House was a unique historical place. The building was once a school house and it has all of its old charm. We were sat in the bar area, our favorite place usually the most lively, and were greeted immediately. We ordered drinks and they arrived quickly. We shared an appetizer, and had dinner timed perfectly. I had the quail and my husband the gnocchi. Both were very good! I loved the polenta with greens and the quail was cooked perfect. Our server Sara was great she took good care of us. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance in the bar is great. Service an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Ambiance in the bar is great. Service and food were excellent. Will go there more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful delicious food and fantastic s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful delicious food and fantastic service. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try Webster House based ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We decided to try Webster House based on so many positive reviews to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. I'm so glad we did! The brunch was perfect with a menu of unusual and traditional dishes to satisfy anyone. We asked for a private table and the staff delivered in spades. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an experience! The food and servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

What an experience! The food and service was out of this world excellent!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere and charm. Nice wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and charm. Nice wine selection. Lunch menu had varied choices. The food was delicious . We also enjoyed the shopping available in the lower level.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was freezing cold. Too loud for me a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was freezing cold. Too loud for me and my friend to visit. The tables are so close together that the waiter kept bumping my chair as he went by. He kept saying he would bring us some bread in a minute. We got our lunch way before he came by with the bread. We had to wait for our check. We were glad to leave. There was a group of 4 women that were very loud and disruptive. No one else in the room could visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

The service was great. The restaurant ma ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was great. The restaurant manager made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent. I had the seared trout. It was wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly certain their iced tea is earl gr ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Fairly certain their iced tea is earl grey, it's so refreshing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our brunch meal and appreciat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch meal and appreciate the complimentary glass of champagne prior to the symphony concert, but found it to be very chilly where we were sitting. The shawl that was provided helped and is appreciated but it was still uncomfortably cool.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was my first visit to webster house ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

this was my first visit to webster house as it was father's day and we had tickets for the symphony, our first for that as well. we live in manhattan, kansas so it is a two hour ride to kansas city. everything was pretty good, the waiter needed more experience and would help if he could know his wines better. the downstairs shopping area is to die for and i spent too much money. cc

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Totally wonderful experience and I have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Totally wonderful experience and I have dined at various upscale venues but this one is right up there. Extremely friendly staff and to say the least the food was stellar. Hope to return to try other obviously sumptuous items on your menu. Keep up the good work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our visit and have already told ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed our visit and have already told people of it. If we visit KC again soon we'll return for another outstanding meal.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time. Had a wonderful brunch. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our first time. Had a wonderful brunch. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. We go to brunch somewher ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. We go to brunch somewhere in KC every Sunday and Webster House is the best place in town --- by a long shot. Try the homemade desserts. Peaches and cream pie is so good we ordered an extra to go. Everything was hot and timely. Try also the frittata which alone was worth the trip. This was our third trip to Webster House and we have always been delighted. Service is excellent, polite and unobtrusive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place to spend an evening ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a great place to spend an evening. Darren, the manager, is always a pleasure and runs a ship shape establishment. The shopping below is always a plus. Lets the wives do a little shopping before dinner and the guys can go up to the bar and talk sports. A win/win for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Webster house for my wife's b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to Webster house for my wife's birthday. We ordered the stuffed Quail and it was absolutely amazing. I really hope Webster house keeps this as a permanent item on their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy returning to Webster House for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoy returning to Webster House for dinner before attending Kansas City Symphony performances next door at the Kauffman Center. We've never been disappointed, thanks to continually refreshed menu items and the impeccable service of our favorite server, Amine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy Webster House and like to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I always enjoy Webster House and like to bring friends from out of town here. The shopping down stairs is a bonus!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and food. A very rela ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service and food. A very relaxing and special experience

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch there. Food was good and just ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Had lunch there. Food was good and just the right size. Great space!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It is a great place for friends to get t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It is a great place for friends to get together. The food is always great with a good variety on the menu

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just love Webster House. The atmosphere ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Just love Webster House. The atmosphere is excellent and the food is always consistently delicious. Love the Bloody Mary One too! Also please bring back the Croque Monsieur to the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food was excellent and a g ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

As always the food was excellent and a great value for the price. It felt like we were family in how we were treated in the best possible way. You made our experience fun, and the food was delicious. The drinks were excellent and the extra care that went into our daughters 21st birthday dinner was excellent. Thanks you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.