Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today
Special offers available. See details

Webster House

4.7
3604 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Great for Lunch
Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City Visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is on of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the top 100 Brunches in America, Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Shop
Mon, Tue 10:00 am–5:00 pm
Wed–Sat 10:00 am–8:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:00 pm
Dinner
Wed–Sat 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 221-4713
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brandon Winn
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
17th
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

We have a special prefixed menu Designed by our Executive Chef Brandon Winn. The price is $33 per person, not including tax or gratuity. Cancellation within 24 hours will include a $25 dollar charge per reservation. Our regular brunch menu is not offered that day.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

What 3604 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Great for business,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Brunch for my birthday. Amazing service and even a special birthday message on my menu followed by a complimentary dessert at the end of the meal. Food was amazing and a place I’d come back to when visiting KCMO again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 3 days ago

We were disappointed about being seated in the bar even though we had reservations. The noise made it difficult to converse. The menu was also limited and very similar to past visits. We love its proximity to the Kauffman Center and have visited after performances there in the past with a better outcome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The menu options, while small, would seem to meet most people's likes. I had the duck breast which was excellent. My wife had the salmon which was also well prepared and seasoned. The small house salad was excellent, but wasn't small in any sense of the word. Service was great and the atmosphere was lively without being overwhelming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good and served promptly. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming. They have a respectable wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

One of my special places, but was a little disappointed this time. I had an Irish coffee and there was no whipped cream , the wait staff said the bartender was out. Also my friends had to ask for hotter coffee. The chicken salad was disappointing.
This will not keep me from returning, but these small things can make a difference for first timers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I had a weekday lunch with two friends to celebrate our birthdays which are just days apart. We had a great time. The menu was varied and original and the service was excellent. The food was fast, hot and delicious. Webster House had printed "Happy Birthday" on our menus which made the occasion all the more special and they gave us a small dessert to celebrate our day. It's a beautiful building and parking is a breeze. We're going back next year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It was absolutely superb. Menu, service, friendly staff, presentation, ambiance, healthy delicious fare, all were excellent beyond expectation. We will soon be back. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The new menu wasn't totally changed, just enough to go with the seasons. The pork hash was new and delicious. Not too spicy for my super tastebuds. Glad to see they still had the Sesame Cake. Savory and light, perfect with the green tea ice cream. Service impeccable as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Webster House is a gloriously restored piece of Kansas City history and the food is always lovely. It is easily the most romantic venue in Kansas City. Service is always impeccable, and this Saturday evening our server was perfect. Whether arriving early or lingering after, be sure to wander the shopping as there is an eclectic mix of items, and it is a great place to shop for "that someone who you never know what to get." Well done, and thank you Mrs. Helzberg!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Webster House is just amazing. Food and service are perfect! The setting is beautiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A beautiful birthday brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great food, Beautiful historic venue. Next door to performing arts center. Perfect for pre-symphony dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Food was very good. Webster House is a great place with superb service. Love having dinner there before the ballet.
I like to shop after dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My friends and I always enjoy brunch here before the ballet and have never been disappointed. We had the frittata this week.....butternut squash was not available so they subbed asparagus. This made for the best frittata ever. Serving size was plentiful. They should consider changing seasonally.
New pastry with less sugar was spot on and delicious. Our first experience with sesame cake and loved it.
We always request Gary as our server. His service is immpecable and he always guides us with new items on the menu. He's very personable and we always look forward to catching up with him.
As usual, a great time and great food. The shopping downstairs is always icing on the cake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

It was wonderful for a special brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing Restaurant !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Friend’s birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The vegetarian entree was fab
Everyone should try it just once to see how tasty it is & my son really enjoyed the pasta

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Meh. It was completely empty at 7pm. I bet there were only 10 covers all night. They only had 2 cooks working in the open kitchen and they were clearly putting things away to close as soon as we left. I know it was a Tuesday but we went to Bluestem for dessert and it was not dead. Our waiter Gary was fantastic but dining in a ghost town is zero fun and the food was mediocre at best. My steak was tough and my wifes scallops were over salted. We won't be back. Bummed out since it was a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Always love the good. Fast service for business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Excellent food and service. We were seated as soon as we arrived, slightly ahead of our reservation time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Webster House is a very unique place. The Sunday brunch menu is creative, delicious and offers very good variety for every taste. The portions are perfect to leave space for their great dessert buffet. Service is excellent, has knowledgable , friendly and very attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Food was exceptional and the service was excellent. First time we had been and we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

My friend was visiting from Denver & knew she would enjoy the food & the shopping. The Webster a House did not disappoint

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We have dined here many times and this time it did not hit the mark. Food was dry and service was less the stellar. Our drink went empty on several occasions and it seamed that we were a bother to the server. We love to dine here but today was not the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food terrific. Service excellent. Ambiance always interesting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great brunch. We all had something different. Everyone spoke positive about the quality and flavor of the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We met friends for drinks and food during the Reverse Happy Hour. The hostess was very nice, and our server was AMAZING! He knew all of the drinks and was very knowledgeable of the menu items. Myself and one of my friends were celebrating our birthdays, so they brought us creme brulee with a candle on the plate for us to celebrate! It was so cute and the dessert was delicious! While the food was slightly pricey for what we got, it was very well done. The drinks are great and the ambiance was well done for a small group like ours (or a romantic dinner and drinks for a couple). My only frustration was parking; with it being down in the Crossroads district, if you go on a night that there is something going on at Kauffman, it's hard to find a parking spot. Also, Webster House will only validate parking in certain parking lots (and that does not include Kauffman Center Garage...which was the only place open when we went for the reverse happy hour). Other than parking being frustrating, the restaurant was wonderful! We will definitely be back...just not on a night when something is going on at Kauffman!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great staff, food, wine & service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Gary was our waiter. He was fantastic! You won’t get that kind of service at most restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I enjoyed the Ambiance the overall appearance of the place I was one of the first patrons in that day so it was very quiet and nice the food smell great presentation looked great I did have a bit of trouble with my, French toast but they gladly rectified my situation. Gary was absolutely positively delightful and polite along with Darin the manager and the hostess.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Everything was great , we had the Sea Bass and the Pasta for lunch
Prepared perfect and nice portions

Service was very good , a great place for a nice relaxing lunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

It was a family birthday and everyone enjoyed the day, Thanks for the special menu, and complimentary dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We had a wonderful Brunch at Webster House. The food was perfect and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Excellent variety on the menu. Would recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Nice place and great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Exquisite service, food was delicious, great birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

A great meal, wonderful service, always a favorite of ours!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
91

Tweets by Webster House