Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Webster House

Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City Visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is on of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the top 100 Brunches in America, Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

!/2 Price Starters and 1/2 price Bottles of wine.

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Serious Sandwich Specials To Start Your Week

Mondays - Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

!/2 Price Starters and 1/2 price Bottles of wine.

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Every Wednesday from 4:30 until 7:00, enjoy 1/2 price starters. Also, 1/2 price bottles of wine all evening long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 26, 2017 - Jul 26, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Serious Sandwich Specials To Start Your Week

Mondays - Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

Monday: Open faced steak sandwich, grilled hearth bread, lemon porcini aioli, gruyere, balsamic tomatoes $9 Tuesday:Gyro- house made merguez, pita, tzatziki spiced chickpea salad $9 Wednesday: Soft Shell Crab BLT with Fried Asparagus $12. Excludes Tax and Tip. Meet your friends to begin your week and enjoy our special house made sandwiches. Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - May 31, 2017 on Mondays - Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (83)
Special Occasion (79)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Historic (63)
Romantic (58)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Lunch (47)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Cozy (37)
Great for Brunch (35)
Scenic View (34)
Business Meals (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Authentic (20)
Afternoon Tea (20)
Fun (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Seasonal (17)
Private Room (17)
Healthy (16)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (10)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

My boyfriend and I went there to celebrate my birthday and had a very nice, quiet dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely atmosphere, friendly service, and creative menus--I highly recommend tea, lunch, or dinner at Webster House.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great pre-concert location - easy walk to Kauffman Performing Arts Center. Service especially tuned to performance time. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service in beautiful venue. One of our favorites!

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Greatest brunch in Kansas City

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our favorite go-to pace before the Symphony or the Ballet.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall just incredible! We had a wonderful waiter who was prompt, accommodating, and just plain fun! The food was impeccable, as always, and the overall brunch was enjoyable on many levels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always a warm and welcoming staff. Our waitress, Michelle, was attentive and professional. A really consistently nice experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 21, 2017

An absolutely beautiful restaurant housed in an old school house built in 1895. Our server was fantastic, and the food was incredible. The best calimari we've ever had, and my medium-rare steak was cooked to perfection. My wife had the pork belly, which was also really good. Dessert was fantastic as we had the chocolate candy bar dish. Terrific ambiance and dining environment in a gorgeous setting that is perfect for a date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Beautiful white table cloth restaurant, small imaginative menu & impeccable service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Every aspect was fantastic. However, wish we could have accessed the happy hour menu outside of the bar atmosphere as we were dining with kids.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great place! Good food and service

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always enjoy the staff! The menu from different countries is amazing and so adventurous for those who don't get to travel often. Chef Brett Lofton made an amazing meal and even visited our table and another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent! Ravioli was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The dining experience at the chef counter was excellent! Food amazing and the service was outstanding. Ambience was as I expected for the chefs counter and the seating was plush! I will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great. Nice place to celibate my wife's birthday. Quite, cozy, clean, delicious food, fanatic lunch at a reasonable price. Nice to have some private quality time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved the whole experience. Lunch is always wonderful and you get to shop afterwards!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was very expensive, about $40/person, and the 2nd course wasn't very good. Very little available for vegetarians.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

food was good but could have been top of the line. Staff was excellent as was the service and ambience.

Desserts are absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always, the food and service were spectacular. There seemed to be some confusion around which table to seat us at. They took us to one table which was not ready, then moved us to another table that was partially set. It all worked out, but it was out of character for them based on my past experiences there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food. Good service even though we had a newbie as wait staff. A great place to dine but I suspect it is catching on and I will have to be more vigilant about getting reservations earlier than I have in the past.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful place for a birthday lunch! Would definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a great lunch to celebrate a retirement. Webster House was very accommodating when I made the reservation, giving us the table we wanted and answering several questions.

Food was great and the atmosphere is wonderful there!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Webster House is always welcoming and the best place to be before an event at the Kauffman Center!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had an excellent lunch! The reservation staff were very accommodating, and when we arrived she seated us at her favorite table which was lovely. Our server was really good, he gave us time to enjoy our drinks before ordering, gave us just enough attention, and was attentive without hovering. We thought he was fabulous! Our food was excellent! We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the good meal, the great atmosphere, and wonderful service. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The Webster House is a destination, not just a restaurant. The boutique on the first floor is very dynamic and interesting. It is a pleasure just to roam through the rooms. Each room holds unique treasures. Dining upstairs is elegant but comfortable. The menu is varied and delicious. The service is impeccable. I often recommend The Webster House to friends, family and colleagues.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The whole experience was delightful from the atmosphere to shopping to the great food! Loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent service and ambiance. Unique shopping in adjacent areas. Inventive food at reasonable price, though portions might be a bit small for a very hearty eater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a lovely dining experience! The old school building is so charming, and makes a great dining venue. The menu is creative and fun. We will be back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Quick Bite, Organic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I hope I get my 1,000 points on open table? When I looked, I only got 100 points

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My dining experience included an unusual convergence of busy, harried waitstaff and rather tasteless meal. I ordered the shrimp salad - poor choice. I have had many excellent meals at Webster House, and I am sure I will have many more. This was not one of them. Because of past experiences, I will definitely return and would recommend it to others but would suggest a different entre.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding with everything! Keep up the excellent work.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was solicitous. The food was absolute heaven and the aroma wafting into the dining area was utterly divine. The only down point was the noise level.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My mom and I went for brunch on a Sunday. The food, drinks, and atmosphere were fantastic! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant is charming and everyone on the first floor was extremely helpful in directing us up the stairs for lunch. Check out the stained glass windows and be sure to save room for dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As always a wonderful evening. Never feel rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

One of my favorites. Great place to meet a friend, have a wonderful meal, roam the boutiques.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Pork belly was wonderful, and the trout appetizer was really great too. Our server was very understanding of our dietary restrictions and made excellent recommendations based on them. I took a friend who had never been there and now he's recommending it to all his friends. It's not always as loud as it was when we were there, very full before a performance at the Kauffman Center. I love that it's a Kansas City Original, too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

As always, classy and elegant! We love dining at The Webster House.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Three sisters celebrated a birthday with Sunday Brunch. The meals were delicious, the drinks were excellent and the atmosphere was relaxing in a beautiful dining area. Will go again

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.