Webster House

4.7
3671 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Good for Anniversaries
Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is one of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the "Top 100 Brunches in America", Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Shop
Mon, Tue 10:00 am–5:00 pm
Wed–Sat 10:00 am–8:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:00 pm
Dinner
Wed–Sat 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 221-4713
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brandon Winn
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
17th
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

What 3671 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We had some delicious risotto and halibut. It was our first visit and we were blown away.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed brunch on Sunday before the symphony. Everything was wonderful! One of our favorite places to dine. I had smoked salmon crepes and my wife had frittata with veggies. Delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

One if our favorite place for a special night out, but this occasion was different. Not certain if their is a new chef, but the food was not as we remembered. I had a pork chop and it did not pair well with hominy. My wife had the ribeye, but it was more of a filet, which is difficult to cook for medium. obviously we had to warm it up. Though we left we a smile on our face, it was due to enjoying each other, but not the experience we were use to.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent. Menu options were great. If only the food was seasoned better. Each patron’s entree was grossly under-seasoned.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Ambience was also great. Unique historic building.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic dining experience as expected. Always anticipate our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food - looked like art, and perfectly prepared. Delicious food - awesome night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

A big thank you to Darren and the staff for another great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our cousins were visiting from Arkansas, so we wanted to find a unique place to take them for lunch. Webster House fit the bill. The drinks and food were delicious especially the salmon crepes and the potatoes that came with the biscuits and gravy and hamburger. We were able to have a quiet visit. The wait staff took very good care of us. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We had taken my family here for Father's Day - first time they've ever been, and they loved it! Which says a lot, as my parents are usually not big on these types of restaurants. The food and service was excellent, the atmosphere is relaxing as well as historic. My father was telling us stories about the building and the area, so he felt right at home. I would definitely recommend the Webster House for small groups as well. We stop in for brunch at least once a month, and are never disappointed. Generally, we each get a different meal, and sample each others, which works out great to get a taste of their whole menu...plus the mimosas are truly bottomless!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Good food and very accommodating to special food needs. Would prefer the main dining room and not the bar dining (somewhat loud understandably in bar area). Waiter and other staff very friendly and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Excellent as always! Webster House always dies an amazing job!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

There are so many wonderful and unique things there..... I just keep going back. Food is amazing, service was great and the facility is beautiful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The menu seemed a bit limited but the items we ordered were very good.
We have often dined at Webster House before going to the Performing Arts Center.
This time we were leaving a wedding downtown and thought it would be fun just to go to Webster House for dinner. Our waiter was superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Dinner before an event downtown

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I wish I could give a outstanding ++++++ review score for service. The Webster House never fails to impress us every time we go. Even the shopping was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

I treated a friend for lunch at Webster House and we were delighted. Service was exceptional and the food was a symphony of beautiful tastes (a nod to the proximity of Kauffman Center). The menu is impressive and imaginative, offering a variety of dishes. Note to self: eat at Webster House more often!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Webster House is such a special place. I like entertaining out-of-town guests there. They always enjoy it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Always interesting menus and excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

My son and I had brunch prior to attending the matinee at the theater. I had the aquachiles, and they were absolutely delicious. The server indicated they were spicy (which was exactly what I was seeking in an entree). The team at Webster House knocked it out of the park with this very different and extremely tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Always excellent menu and food! Consistently excellent service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

A great place to choose before an event at The Kauffman. Saturday brunch was very delicious, especially the French toast, which was really like good bread pudding without the whiskey sauce. Reservations are a must when there is a show. The place was very busy, and the only drawback to the ambiance is that it is noisy. Tables are close together, and the noise of conversations around is a little distracting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The service was wonderful and the atmosphere was great. We were very well taken care of!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Bridal luncheon

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

We went prior to the show at Kauffman Center. We were seated in 'kitchen' area. It was very loud and they didn't have enough menus four the three of us. We had to share one. Seriously? This is a classy place and there weren't enough menus? The waiter seemed rushed - it was busy before theater. I understand that. I ordered halibut as did another in our group of three. But you wouldn't have known it was the same meal. My fish was dark on top, obviously overcooked. My friend's was cooked just right. I should have sent mine back as it was overcooked but no time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food and service are exceptional. Best halibut I’ve had in many years. And lovely moist pork chops. The servings are generous in comparison to many high-end restaurants. The chocolate Crème Brulee was wonderful, but the cheesecake did not meet expectations. I highly recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience. My compliments to the chefs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

The food is locally sourced and prepared wonderfully. I don’t usually comment on a small house salad, but my wife and I both remarked at how great it was. If a house salad is comment worthy that’s an indication of how much detail goes into all of their menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We decided on Webster House for our anniversary dinner. Excellent choice. From food and drinks to atmosphere and overall feel, this is the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

A celebration for the last day of school! We enjoyed a beautiful dinner and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

So much to see and enjoy there. The food was great, the boutique shop had some really cute things and the ambiance was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Love the farm to table local ingredients ! The wait staff was excellent and a quiet calm atmosphere. Great wine selection I had the risotto and duck others had pot chips pasta and soup all great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We were celebrating an Army Major's graduation from Commander General Staff College at Ft. Leavenworth. There were 7 of us and we had a wonderful time!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Amazing menu that changes frequently and incorporates the best seasonal and local ingredients. Service is friendly, and they are very accommodating for pre-theater rush. Sit at the chef's counter if possible, so much fun to watch them cook!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 23, 2018

The food was bland but not bad. What killed the experience was the absolute lack of service. She wasn’t rude, she just never came around. We had to ask for our order to be taken and had to ask to have our ticket brought then had to flag her down again to run our card. Very poor service considering she only had 4 tables to wait on.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

The venue is really nice -- and very convenient for dinner before a show downtown. That said, the prices are extreme for the quality of the food and overall experience. Portion sizes are small -- especially the duck and fish. What's more, at a restaurant of this caliber one would expect superior service. The wait staff performed more like novices than seasoned pros. Honestly, we were really disappointed. We expected a high-end experience and received something rather ordinary and with so many other options in KC, we can get more value and service elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

I eat at Webster House a few times each month. It's consistently great - a hidden gem. There are some interesting items on the menu, but even the house burger is fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Everything we tried was outstanding. I love the Webster House for unique dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

I’ve never been disappointed at Webster House. Not only is everything almost too beautiful to eat, but the flavors are out of this world. I had never had a scallop so crispy, and I loved it! It was not over cooked either. My date had the pasta with duck confit. We shared the smoked chicken taquitos, and that might have actually been the best dish because all the flavors complimented each other so well. The taco sauce was smoky with cumin, and the crema finished it off with a smooth freshness. I loved the basil sauce with the scallops, but I wasn’t sure what to do with the amount they gave me. Also, their butter? Why is it so good? They bring a little basket of sourdough bread with butter to begin with, and I would be okay just filling up on that! Our server was pleasant, and we got in and out in about 45 minutes. The lunch menu pricing is extremely fair given the quality, and I urge everyone to try something new here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We usually dine in the evening at Webster House when we are attending a performance next door at the Kauffman Center. This time we came for brunch, as the concert was mid-afternoon. It was a wonderful experience, from the unusually wide choice of entrees perfectly executed to the usual attentive and enjoyable service from our favorite waiter, Amine. The rooms are just as lovely by day as in the evening, and the view of the city skyline is quite dramatic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Brought my daughter and teenage granddaughters: they loved the atmosphere and food selections.
Had a fun time looking in all the shops and had to drag the girls out of the 2nd floor bathroom!!!! (they fell in “love” with it)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
92

Tweets by Webster House