Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Webster House

Webster House is the most unique dining experience in the Midwest and a destination spot for thousands of Kansas City Visitors. Housed in a restored school house, circa 1895, Webster House is adjacent to the beautiful Kauffman Center. The first floor offers a one of a kind shopping experience with gifts, fine antiques and accessories.

The restaurant and bar, on the second floor, is on of Kansas City's most popular gathering spots for lunch, fine dining, Sunday brunch and large events. Chef Brandon Winn is famous for his innovative use of local, farm to market, products, creative American cuisine and delicious seasonal meals. Voted one of the top 100 Brunches in America, Webster House offers a special dining experience for any occasion as well as being family friendly. Each dish and dessert is prepared to create a symphony of flavor and freshness.


1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Romantic (53)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Local Ingredients (50)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Great for Lunch (44)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Worth the Drive (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Cozy (32)
Business Meals (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Seasonal (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Authentic (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Scenic View (21)
Fun (19)
Afternoon Tea (16)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Organic (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful! Good portions, great taste, very nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Location is great and restaurant unique. You are transported back in time and into a Southern looking feel. The ambiance is great and it is romantic. I was however not impressed with the food and prices were high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent but not enough to choose from. No specials on Friday?? Seems to be trending toward small plates with an 8:00 happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a good experience on date night with my husband here. The scallops were perfectly cooked and I highly recommend the tilapia for an appetizer. Wine list is extensive but pretty pricey food/drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

food always good - haven't been there in a while, but always a good experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was extremely fresh. Trout was wonderful.

At lunch time, they could space out guests more. We were grouped with maybe 4-5 tables. There is plenty of space to use, for a bit more privacy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent waiting staff. Very friendly, welcoming, attentive. Very good management.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Service was great KeeLee was very attentive. We were a party of 10, set d in the bar area, so my only complaint was perhaps one of the other rooms could have been more comfortable. Food was good and would generally say most in the party enjoyed themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I'm sorry to say that this was one of the worst meals I have ever had. The entire experience, including the food, just lacked a level of sophistication that one would expect from this kind of establishment. Calamari came out cold and had to be sent back. The chicken liver salad was prepared very clumsily with gigantic clumps of blue cheese on a bed arugula. The liver itself was over-cooked. The halibut had a very offensive green olive marmalade on top that ruined the delicate taste of the fish. Additionally, there was a wedding party that evening and it felt as though there was no real separation from that party and other dining guests. We could hear the dj's music so clearly that we could sing along (which the kitchen staff did).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Webster House is an excellent and unique dining experience, great for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent halibut
Calamari delicious
Scallops delectable
Anniversary was celebrated but did not get recognized

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Staff was very attentive and friendly. Drinks and food were great, with no rush. Upon arrival we were sit near the bar which was noisier and adjacent tables were too close for comfort. Manager agreed to re-sit us and that made a big difference.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love the high ceilings, marble floors, floor to ceiling windows great for viewing sunsets! Multiple smaller rooms for seating patrons more intimately. Staff always courteous, knowledgeable, friendly. Food delicious! House and wedge salad, scallops, fillet, along with reservations, suggested.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our dining experience was perfect. The service and food was as good as any placed we've dined in Kansas city. We will be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Had a great meal, had never been here before but really enjoyed everything. Surprised that there was not more people there. The prices are actually really good for the quality. If you can get the Groupon i would suggest it. It's good for saving the cost of the tip and a glass of wine. Enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife is having a luncheon here and we went down to preview the space. We had a Groupon for dinner and as usual, the food & ambience were great. It was First Friday in the Crossroads, so lots of people were out. I was such a fun atmosphere. We paid the corkage fee & took our own wine. It was a truly wonderful evening made even better by our waiter Gary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding food and great service. Only issue we had was we were seated right next to the only other couple there at the time with 15 other tables open? Only one more table was seated during our hour long dinner so it was disappointing and difficult to have private conversations.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Bottomless mimosas, quiche Lorraine, biscuits and gravy, and French toast were beyond amazing. So much detail goes into their dishes. And the atmosphere is old-world charm. It's our favorite place to eat downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Can't go wrong with the Webster House! Always good, unique food from local farmers. Menu changes seasonally keeping the menu exciting. Atmosphere is very elegant and service is superb!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Organic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent food and Service. Have never been disappointed there. Like to sit in the Bar/Library.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Scrumptious seasonal offerings. We were all delighted with our salads and entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

An amazing experience from beginning to end! Food, customer service, Gary. Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Webster House always has great imaginative food with great service too. And you can shop the amazing variety of fun things to buy.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Brunch with my cousin from Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Innovative menu; focus upon local ingredients. The service was superb - very professional, very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The manager, Darin, made every effort to accommodate our special birthday request.
The food and the service were EXCELLENT! I do not have enough good things to say about our experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Webster House was having a special 1000 point incentive on Open Table. I was very pleased with our experience. The venue is in a wonderful historic building next to the KC concert hall. Plenty of parking available and easy to find. The menu, while limited, offers thoughtful complex dishes. I had the scallops which were a little over done and on the salty side. The atmosphere and service made up for the slight issue with the food. Their earl grey creme brulee was out of this world. My only regret is that they do not have espresso available, however the drip coffee was wonderful. This meal was right in our price range. An appetizer, 2 drinks, 2 entrees and a shared dessert for $110.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

(Not for publication!) We were met with the statement that we had no Open Table reservation, even though I had received confirmation when I made it. But we were given a perfect table in the Library (my stated wish at Open Table) and lovely service. The Portobello appetizer was especially delicious. Webster House is always known for excellent food and wait staff. It is a treasure to Kansas City.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything our table ordered was great.
Very relaxing, wait staff very cordial and never rushed us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Every visit is new and magical.
Kcmo is luckto have this beautiful spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We really liked Webster house. They always have great local fair and the chef does a good job at mixing up his menu. They have a good wine list and it was a particularly good value with the Groupon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I have been to Webster House many times and the service was excellent. However, on my visit yesterday, our waiter was in too much of a hurry to provide the kind of service I've come to expect. I had to flag him down to get more coffee, see the dessert menu, and he boxed up my left-overs, and the box was greasy and I had to ask another employee for a sack. Now, if he had too many table because of being short staffed, I totally understand; but his whole attitude was blah! We all have bad days, and if it was just one of those, hopefully next time I visit, if he is waiting on us, it will be different.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This is the third time I have been to Webster House, and the first time I have had any reason to criticize anything about it. The ambiance and service were as fine as ever, and so was most of the food--- except for my dessert. It was a creme brulee flavored with lemon and green tea, which did not work. It just plain tasted strange. While I am quite open-minded, appreciate a chef's creativity, and willing to try anything--- I venture to say that some classic dishes are perfect and should not be messed with, and creme brulee is one of these.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The ambiance, service & food were superb.
Convenient parking, the entire staff upstairs & down make you feel so welcome. I need to dine at Webster House more often.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wanted the $10 experience and it was excellent! Will definitely consider this a top choice for future lunch adventures

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The Webster House never disappoints! The food is always excellent and the service is very attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Only negative, our server selected our desert, chocolate cookie with mint ice cream. Tasted like I was swallowing toothpaste. (I do not care for mint). Will never allow server to select again.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Outstanding and delicious. Service was excellent...Patrick was our server, and he seemed to have authentic enthusiasm about his career--he was genuinely warm and friendly and attended well to our needs...Best calamari I have ever had...The beef tenderloin was perfectly grilled to order and very savory. I had scallops, which melted in my mouth. However, I was a bit surprised that they were in a sauce that was sweeter than I am accustomed to, and I am not sure I cared to much for the sauce--garlic and more savory sauce would have been preferred...but the scallops themselves were seared to perfection. Wine was great...markup was a bit much, but hey, it was my anniversary! Overall, I would recommend this restaurant to all...It was upscale casual, classy, and had a warm and inviting ambiance. A great choice for my wedding anniversary. I definitely will return..Thank you, Patrick, for making our dinner very nice...and my compliments to the chef! Bravo!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The first floor of antiques and gift items and clothing is such a fun prelude to the second floor dining experience! This is an old school converted into a wonderful place to spend an evening. The atmosphere is one of a quiet elegance, perfect for intimate conversation. The food was deliciously fresh and beautifully prepared. The fresh corn risotto appetizer warrants spplause!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Slip, slip, slipping away. Friday night at prime dinner hour and the place was dead, I mean deader than a door nail. As a result, our party of 4 were seated in the bar. If I am at happy hour, I expect to be in the bar. If I make dinner reservations, I don't want to be served in the bar. It's happened twice now at WH. Our bar tender/waitress was great. My wife's pasta was absolutely horrible -- pasty, starchy, clumped together. No chef with a shred of professional pride would have let that dish leave the kitchen. My starter and small plate were OK, nothing special. Same with rest of group. If WH doesn't get a new chef, one of our favorite places to dine in KC will soon be shuttered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.