About Webster House

1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

The first floor houses the Webster House shops and we encourage guests to explore rooms filled with the latest in accessories, gifts, home décor, and thoughtfully selected antiques. Our second floor is home to our outstanding restaurant. We offer a feast of delicious seasonal menus, using the freshest and finest ingredients, always with an eye to the best that is available locally.
With a staff skilled in event planning, Webster House offers the perfect home for your next event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
4 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

special occasion (196)
fit for foodies (136)
great for lunch (125)
See All
romantic (115)
great for brunch (102)
neighborhood gem (93)
good for groups (90)
scenic view (68)
notable wine list (46)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
 (5)
 (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
 (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were celebrating a graduation. Very g ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating a graduation. Very good service. Please note that the menu changes, and in some ways limited. Unique atmosphere. Prices are a bit high.....yet good for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good experience, but probably wouldn't go back.

Dined 5 days ago

We were at Webster House for lunch, a fairly limited menu, and what I found was that, while the menu was interesting, and the food good, my choices were very limited because of my dairy allergy . . . . perhaps the evening menu would be big enough that there would be more choices that didn't include dairy, but the lunch was a bit disappointing, because of that. However, the shopping downstairs is really fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food and service.

Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Inventive menu in historic venue with qu ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Inventive menu in historic venue with quiet and good service. I like the small dining rooms and first floor shops as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was not hot and not very flavor ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was not hot and not very flavorful. It was a disappointment given the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a great preshow brunch for the Kau ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It is a great preshow brunch for the Kauffman Performing Arts Center. The food is always fresh and interesting. Our last two visits were made even better by Gary, our server.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This was a pre-concert dinner for 4. Re ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a pre-concert dinner for 4. Restaurant was full. Our server seemed to have more tables than he could comfortably handle, so while he worked very hard, he was not as attentive as we would have liked. Also, the kitchen mishandled our order, so the starters were served at the same time as our entrees. This was pointed out to our waiter, & the manager stopped by to apologize & gave us a free round of wine. Food was not as good as the last time we were here (also a pre-concert meal), but still good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Webster House is a fantastic place to ta ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Webster House is a fantastic place to take family or friends for wonderful dinning and ambience. The menu changes so there is always a new treat to try. I love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite restaurant for lunch.

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is always good and the staff very friendly. The charm and history of Webster House is another reason to frequent this restaurant. You will find unique shopping as well and it is just a wonderful place to spend some time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

OK if attending Kaufmann

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Beautiful building and a great location when attending an event at the Kaufmann. The problem is that I would not ever choose to go there for the food. It has an uninspired menu that does not have many choices. The dinner salad was good but the salmon I ordered was mediocre. Unfortunately, I only choose to go there if I do not have enough time for anywhere else......

food1
ambience5
service5
value3

allergies beware

Dined on May 18, 2016

Extremely limited menu is fine but for people with shellfish and cheese allergies it is nearly impossible to find something to eat. Shellfish is a popular theme. Thought the steak would work but it has cheesy potatoes as a side. Service was amazing and the food I could eat was edible but won't be back until they have other options on the menu.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Service poor, food ok

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server spilt wine on tablecloth and I had to ask him to clean up the mess! Did not apologize, just went on about his business. Our waiter did not give us any service! Food just ok, nothing special. Very disappointing. Went the Ragtime and that was the highlight of our evening.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dined at The Webster House with my 12 ye ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Dined at The Webster House with my 12 year old son who had never been there. We were headed to the Kaufmann Center for the Performing Arts for a musical play afterwards. Since The Webster House is right next door, it makes for the perfect location. Normally I love the food here, but on this night they were only open for 2 hours prior to the performance to serve those guests. I ordered a Sangria to start with and it was way too sweet. The pre-dinner bread which is usually unique and tasty was just everyday wheat bread. My son had the 10oz rib eye which he loved, and I had the GNOCCHI FRITO (Crisp Pork Cheeks, Gorgonzola, Balsamic Onion, Arugula & Truffle Honey) and the few gnocchi that were there were deep fired and came out soggy. I couldn't taste the gorgonzola which I love and the balsamic was over whelming. I thought this dish sounded so unusual and different, but it just didn't come out right. My son on the other hand thought it was great and would love to go back again. I'm hoping that this visit was off due to the fact that they were only open for a few hours on a performance night.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being able to reserve online was helpful ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Being able to reserve online was helpful and convenient . I was worried about the reservation getting to the right place but I was pleasantly surprised to get a quick confirmation. The follow up call prior to the day was also welcomed. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice lunch!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had great lunch followed by nice walk down town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

From the minute you walk into Webster Ho ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

From the minute you walk into Webster House, it is a wonderful experience. From the beautiful items on the first floor to peruse, to enjoying a first-class dining experience, it was the best time! The service was great. We had reservations and lo and behold, we were actually seated at the correct time. I highly recommend this for anytime. Very convenient for before or after dinner events at Kauffman.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always love this place. Took several ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We always love this place. Took several friends for their first visit and they loved it too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and ambience alone make it w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service and ambience alone make it worthwhile.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a good dinner, and there wasn't a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a good dinner, and there wasn't anything particularly wrong. It just didn't seem to be up to the standards that we expect from Webster House. The menu seemed to have limited selections.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for a group luncheon meeting where ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great for a group luncheon meeting where we needed to talk.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My wife and I have had many great dining ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My wife and I have had many great dining experiences here in the past three years. This most recent one was disappointing. Our meal was so late in coming out,( and then mixed up) that we really just ate part of it and left. The noise level was louder than normal for me. I asked for a quieter room but was informed by the wait person that I should have asked for the bar area when reserving a table, that it would have been quieter. The menu and food choices frequently change by chef's choice and by season. We must have just caught the wrong chef's choices. But the weakest link in the chain of good business and a four star restaurant's reputation can still influence customer return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting. Delicious food. I had ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful setting. Delicious food. I had the open faced cod for lunch. Don't park in the Kaughman center garage as you can't get your parking validated, but it was only a $3 mistake. Nice shopping downstairs with unique items at reasonable prices.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food...so so service

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a special occasion - Mother's Day. The food was great, as usual. I have been to the Webster House at least six times. In all previous occasions, the service was top notch. This recent event was the exception. Slow service. The server seemed unaware how long from order to table service lagged. I needed to seek him out to get our order...after 30 minutes. Granted, it was a busy day. I simply did not find our server up to the usual high standard of this fine establishment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

No one in my party cared for the food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The price was ridiculously high for the extremely limited menu. The chef seems to concentrate on deserts rather than entrees. Entree meats over cooked. Bread items were hard as rocks. I just did not eat more than one bite of each item on my plate. We ordered 3 coffees and were charged for 6. Seem a refill is a new charge. Will not return under this chef and manager.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous atmosphere, food and server. We ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere, food and server. We had a great experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Night

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our food and waiter were both superb. Tables were a little crowded, but otherwise everything was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegance

Dined on May 7, 2016

An elegant historical venue with an especially considerate and attentive staff. The food was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The only down side was the noise level. ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The only down side was the noise level. While the dining room was full it was very difficult to hear across the table. If someone in your party has a hearing issue this may not be the restaurant for you. The food and service were both absolutely fabulous! We both would recommend the seared salmon & fettuccine, as well as the carrot cake bar. We will definitely be returning!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 6, 2016

My friend and I always go to Webster House before the ballet. It is a great place with good food and wonderful service. Overtime we have dinner there the wait staff is great. This time the person who was bussing tables was known to my meal mate. My friends and I always have dinner and then shop. We like Webster House for lunch too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angela Hagenbach

Dined on May 5, 2016

Your presentation of a super club atmosphere and perfect execution made Angela's stunning performance a wonderful night! Please put Angela on as a regular event! Wonderfully done- felt like I was in the Rainbow Room in NY or the Plush Room in SF! Wonderful night! Thanks! Gary Banta

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jacqueline

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was outstanding and the Webster House décor is amazing. Plus, one can shop - one stop shopping, dine and shop. Outstanding! Our server was attentive and friendly. The food presentation was appealing and the food was really good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 1, 2016

The noise level and the casual attitude of the servers did not meet the standard I had hoped for. There was a table of 6 that was so loud I could not hear the server. I was treating my granddaughter to a nice brunch and the opera and wanted brunch to be special. It was just OK. We got smart and ordered dessert half way through our meal in order to get it in a timely fashion. I will say the food was creative and we were pleased with what we ordered. The dessert was to die for!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Took a date there for brunch. Server was attentive but not overbearing. Food was great, and cocktails were good as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Very Special Place for a Very Special Event

Dined on May 1, 2016

Webster House is a hidden gem in downtown KCMO where you can go for a quiet evening dinner and enjoy an outstanding meal with a glass of wine from a long selection list. It is located just south-east of the Kaufman Music Hall. It is part antique shop (1st Floor) and part restaurant (2nd Floor). The staff were attentive to our needs and the food was the best we have ever had in the KC area. It allowed us to have an intimate meal for an intimate celebration that we will remember for a long time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great Place for Dinner and Kauffman Center

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful place to go for dinner before a show at the Kauffman Center. You can park in the Kauffman Center parking lot and walk to the Webster House to the south and then back north past the parking lot to the Kauffman Center. The food was excellent and the historic school house is something to see.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Late for the Opera

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We were very unhappy with the Webster House. Our reservation was made several months ago, and we were placed next to the kitchen. They said we should have specified the room we wanted to request. Our waiter was great, but the service was abominable. We had to cancel our order for appetizers because they never came. Dinner came so late that we missed the first third of the opera. Their explanation was they have issues when there are two performances at the Kauffman Center. They did deduct the price of the entrees, but it did not make up for the fact we missed part of the performance. Also, the selection of entrees was not appealing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner before the Kauffman. We made 5:15 ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Dinner before the Kauffman. We made 5:15 reservations for a 7:30 lecture. Perfect, we wanted time for a leisurely bottle of wine before dinner. The noise level seemed loud for being half full, yet we could easily carry on a conversation. The waiter easily picked a buttery white wine, followed by one of the best house salads I have had in the area. The two main courses were the scallops and the ribeye. I don't like beef, but my spouse reported it to be amazing. The scallops could be described the same. We have small appetites and brought leftovers home from both, finishing with the "salted caramel" drink. Oh, yum. Lovely evening. Definitely to be repeated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food and atmosphere can't be beat! Always consistent. Heather and Darin are the best! I do miss the pretzel rolls. The bread was nothing special and super boring compared to the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Slow service

Dined on April 23, 2016

Due to very slow service, we nearly missed being seated at the opera. The staff apologized, but nevertheless it disturbed the experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lunch with My friend

Dined on April 23, 2016

My friend and I had a great time I love the ambiance and love to look at the fun stuff in the boutique. Neat place want to try dinner with my hubbie I think it would be romantic.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.