About Webster House

1644 Wyandotte St
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

The first floor houses the Webster House shops and we encourage guests to explore rooms filled with the latest in accessories, gifts, home décor, and thoughtfully selected antiques. Our second floor is home to our outstanding restaurant. We offer a feast of delicious seasonal menus, using the freshest and finest ingredients, always with an eye to the best that is available locally.
With a staff skilled in event planning, Webster House offers the perfect home for your next event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday
11:00am to 2:00pm

Happy Hour: Wednesday - Saturday
4:30pm to 6:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday
5:00pm to 9:00pm

Brunch: Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm



Shop:
Monday - Tuesday
10:00am to 5:00pm

Wednesday - Saturday
10:00am to 8:00pm

Sunday
10:00am to 2:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-4713

Website:
http://www.websterhousekc.com/

Catering:
Be it simple or extravagant; Webster House will work with you to create a custom menu. Webster House believes in a sense of community, and enhances each menu using only the finest ingredients from local farmers and producers. You may select from the menus in the special events packet, with a wonderful array of canapés, hot and cold hors d’ oeuvres, main courses, desserts and wedding cakes, or customize a menu to fit your specific needs. If you prefer, Webster House will bring the entire celebration to your home, office or favorite location.

Parking Details:
Webster House offers 4 private parking lots for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Winn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lavender Panna Cotta - Webster House, Kansas City, MO
  • Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips - Webster House, Kansas City, MO
Lavender Panna Cotta - Webster House, Kansas City, MO
Lunch Trio - Garden Sandwich, Soup Of The Day And House Chips - Webster House, Kansas City, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Private Dining

Webster House resides in a landmark 1885 building that captures the charm and elegance of Kansas City’s past, and right next door is the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Webster House is dedicated to enhancing the experience of our guests, creating cherished memories with family and friends.

Webster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City / Kansas
Contemporary American
Kansas City / Kansas
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City / Kansas
2 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (76)
Historic (63)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
See All
Great for Lunch (57)
Pre/post Theatre (50)
Romantic (49)
Good for a Date (48)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Cozy (31)
Scenic View (28)
Business Meals (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Open Kitchen (15)
Fun (14)
Seasonal (14)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Private Room (11)
Casual (10)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Healthy (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambience is unique and welcoming. Ou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

The ambience is unique and welcoming. Our servers were charming and helpful. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of 6 had dinner on a week night. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Party of 6 had dinner on a week night. Four out of 6 found the food to be very average and over priced. I had the grilled beef tenderloin. It wasn't nearly as tender as I would of expected, and the flavor was lacking. I've eaten at Webster house many times, lately I've been disappointed in the food. We will be taking a break from Webster house, hoping they will improve.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Webster House, but our experienc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Webster House, but our experience this time was not 100% excellent. Too many people and not enough wait staff. The bread was not served promptly- came out right before our entrees arrived. We had asked thru OpenTable for a birthday dessert, reminded our server and when the dish arrived the candle was missing. The menu too had changed - there was no special lunch dish and (horrors) someone put bourbon in the creme brûlée, which compromised the great flavor. Some things should be left as is!

Otherwise, my turkey sandwich was the best ever and my husband loved his trout. Our guests also enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Delicious food, wonderful service, and l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, wonderful service, and lovely surroundings. I'd recommend Webster House for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the perfect lunch to take a dear ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

It was the perfect lunch to take a dear friend visiting from California. She loved it and wants to make it tradition to return there every time she is in town.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new tradition began a few years ago wh ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

A new tradition began a few years ago when fellow workers and I decided to emphasize our holiday with lunch at Webster House. We spiced it up a little this year by choosing Sunday Brunch and were not disappointed. The beef tenderloin Eggs Benedict were fabulous as was the has. I had a Bellini that was spot on. We shared the apple dessert, thinking we didn't really need dessert. Um, the dish was COMPLETELY empty when we finished!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Webster House delivers. It is ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As always Webster House delivers. It is a wonderful dining experience that caters to both formal and causal dinners and lunches. Every meal here has been a treat, but if they have scallops on the menu make sure and get them! The seasonal faire is always on point and delicious. If you come in the evenings the Manager on Duty, Darin is always personable and accommodating to any reasonable request. He, and the rest of the staff knows what it means to be in a service business and make sure every time I visit for lunch or dinner, it is well worth the trip in.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good duck breast and lamb. Service ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good duck breast and lamb. Service was great, it the atmosphere of an old mansion was very cool. Definitely worth checking out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My guests had not been to Webster House. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My guests had not been to Webster House. They loved everything about it -- food, ambiance, service, and the extra bonus of great shopping!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely adorable place to be with a s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Absolutely adorable place to be with a significant other for an elegant dinner. Will be going back again for sure !

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Enjoyable Anniv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food and service. Enjoyable Anniversary dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful. Waiter was mindful of our ne ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Delightful. Waiter was mindful of our need to be at the theatre on time. It's a little expensive considering a lot of food is not served. Ambiance is wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything about our evening was excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Everything about our evening was excellent. We were greeted immediately and felt like special guests in the owner's home. Great service at the bar and a wonderful dinner in the library. The Webster House never disappoints!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time we were disappoi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was the first time we were disappointed about the food. We ordered a pricey fish, which came to the table beautifully presented, however, undercooked. The pureed squash and lentils had a wonderful taste, but were cold. The server was eager and quick to take our plates back to the kitchen, and returned shortly thereafter with the fish done. The dish tasted so so, and the pureed squash and lentils were still very cold. This is the first time we were disappointed , and I hope it will be the last. But we will definitely give Webster House another chance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the spaghetti and meatballs. All t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I had the spaghetti and meatballs. All the pasta is made in house and delicious. Next time I go I'm going to try the lamb papparell -it also looks delicious. The atmosphere can't be beat this time of year. Even had Christmas carolers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent place for lunch. The quiche an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent place for lunch. The quiche and the trout salad were the best choices. The hot brown left a lot to be desired...more like a turkey lot pie; with no raspberries or powdered sugar...total fail. The dessert was okay. The Tiramisu was great. The apple pie...the pastry chef left the skins on the apples...made it chewy...total fail. I would go back ... but order differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The host picked the perfect table for ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The host picked the perfect table for our first experience here which was in the library. We arrived just after the Kauffman crowd so it was very quiet and intimate. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and attentive. The food was great. Truly the best calamari I've ever had in the Midwest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We LOVE eating in the bar. It's cozy an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We LOVE eating in the bar. It's cozy and quiet for good conversation. This is our 2nd year dining at Webster House during the holidays. Always great food and service (and shopping).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a beautiful, calm place to dine. Sh ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Such a beautiful, calm place to dine. Shopping on first floor was fun. Food on second was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to go before a concert at th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to go before a concert at the Art Center

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Gary was outstanding, he had time for go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Gary was outstanding, he had time for good conversation and very informative. We will ask for him every visit. Thank you Gary for making our time there so enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful anniversary experience with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A wonderful anniversary experience with live music, great food, friendly and attentive service and good company 😊

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Webster House is one of my favorite ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Webster House is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City. There is NOTHING bad on the menu. Everything on the menu is delicious. The services is always courteous. If I lived nearby, I would dine at the Webster House several times a week, if not more often!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been coming here for years with fri ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Have been coming here for years with friends, pre-theater matinee to enjoy lunch. Always reliable, always superb, always something new and seasonal. This visit was no exception. Very friendly, accommodating wait staff. Patrick was excellent. Food was delicious as usual. Appreciate that the restaurant accepts KC Originals reward card.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place for a woman's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is my favorite place for a woman's get together. With the atmosphere, shopping and food, it is one of my favorite places in the downtown area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the beef tenderloin. There was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I had the beef tenderloin. There was a lot of meat and the vegetables were tasty, but one slice of the beef was a little tough and I left it on the plate. I tried the chai cheesecake with ice cream and toasted nuts. I couldn't detect a chai flavor really and thought the dessert was not good and I'm usually not critical. If I had been thinking, I probably would have asked for a refund on the dessert. The wine selection was very nice. I had a glass of champagne. Service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here many times, usually befor ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Have been here many times, usually before/after a show. Food, as well as presentation, always first rate. Only disappointment was the disappearance of the pretzel rolls that we love so much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Personable server. Nice menu selection. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Personable server. Nice menu selection. Beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Webster House is known for its good food ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Webster House is known for its good food, great parking, and convenience to Kauffman Center. Our visit for Sunday brunch was better than usual! We had a quiet room, and everything worked perfectly for us to have a non-rushed experience, while still having time to get to our seats on time. Quiche is always MY choice, and the butternut squash and leek did NOT fail! My companion had some salad with an egg....and she delighted in it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were kept waiting before we acknowleg ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were kept waiting before we acknowlegded by our service staff. We were seated in the center of the a mostly empty dining room. It was uncomfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Spectacular warm welcoming and such spec ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Spectacular warm welcoming and such special place to dining enviorment to the shops on the first floor what nice balance

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food as always and a beautiful ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful food as always and a beautiful venue. My five guests from other cities loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the duck ---cooked just right

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved the duck ---cooked just right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I always take my friends and family to W ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I always take my friends and family to Webster House for special lunches. It was wonderful as in the past although i was so sorry to see the shrimp and grits with country ham bits is no longer offered. That was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was deplorable. Arrived at 5:30 ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service was deplorable. Arrived at 5:30 and let staff know that we were attending 7 pm show. Waited 20 minutes before anyone appeared to take our order. Service was very slow! Had to rush through meal when it was finally served. Disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

We made a 5 pm reservation in order to m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We made a 5 pm reservation in order to make a 7 pm curtain time at the Kauffman. Service was slow - no time for dessert which we had planned to have. This is the 2nd time we have had to rush up the hill for a performance due to slow service. Ouch!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is our second visit. Each time was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This is our second visit. Each time was better than the last. Looking forward to our next visit.

A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful, it has a l ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, it has a lovely quite ambiance with an elegant decor . I love to imagine it as a school house when I am dining. The food is presented very nicely good variety of choses . The server was helpful in making a menu choice. We were going to the opera and they made sure we were served in time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is always great. Got a chance to en ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food is always great. Got a chance to enjoy the new menu that just rolled out. Staff is friendly and fast. Took my good friends in with me and it was refreshing to see the staff go out of their way to service the ladies in the group first. Webster house steak benedict is amazing as was the empanadas. Yum.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The happy hour is amazing and try their ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The happy hour is amazing and try their sidecar! the bartender made a fabulous drink and the happy hour let food menu was fantastic! Went to see a show at the Midland theater afterwards two minutes away

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.