About Weathervane Restaurant

201 S Estes Drive @ University Mall
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Located at Southern Season in University Mall.



Open for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and weekend Brunch.



Weathervane's seasonal menus highlight local ingredients in contemporary American fare with a Southern flare. Our devoted staff and special setting within the convivial atmosphere of Southern Season have helped propel the restaurant to its acclaimed status. It is an integral partner in what has become a one-of-a-kind marketplace that remains unique to Chapel Hill.



On beautiful Spring, Summer and Fall days come sit on our famous outdoor patio for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. Our elegant indoor spaces and garden settings are perfect for for receptions, parties, and meetings. We're also sporting a very cool coffee and wine bar, and a cozy mezzanine level if you want to head upstairs to sit, sip and gaze out on the scene below. Call or click to make your reservation. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 8:00 am-6 pm
Tuesday-Friday: 8:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 7:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
15/501 bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-9466 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.southernseason.com/cafe.asp

Catering:
We offer off-site catering through our Southern Season Deli and Prepared Foods department. Visit www.southernseason.com and click on catering for information.

Public Transit:
Chapel Hill Transit, UNC Game Day Park and Ride

Executive Chef:
Spencer Carter

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Space and outdoor space is available. Visit www.southernseason.com for full details.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren Powell: 919-913-1221x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren Powell to book your Special Event.

Phone: 919-913-1221
Email: specialevents@southernseason.com

Restaurant Photos

Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Fried Chicken With New Potatoes, Skinny Beans And Texas Pete Vinaigrette
Seared Scallops
Steak Frites with Blue Cheese-Bacon Butter
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Grilled Swordfish
Ice Cream Sandwich
Huevos rancheros
Fried Chicken with a Cornbread Cheddar Waffle and Balsalmic Maple Syrup
Fried Egg and Avocado Sandwich
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Pan-Seared Grouper
Pork Belly
Duck Confit
Country Ham Egg And Cheese Biscuit
Coastal Shrimp and Grits
Fried Green Tomatoes
fish tacos
crabcake
Fajitas
flourless chocolate cake
Oyster Gratin
Bourbon and Molasses Ribeye
Roasted Turkey with Giblet Gravy
Shrimp Pita
Beet Carpaccio
Shrimp Hushpuppies
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Seafood Bouillabaisse
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Scallop Risotto
Pan-Seared Beef Medallions
Peanut Butter Pie
shrimp pad thai
Chicken and dumplings
Black Bean Burger
Cracklin Pork Shank
Roasted Ashley Farms Chicken
Duck Confit Hash
48-Hour Short Rib
The Fried Green Tomato "Cackalacky"
The Cackalacky

Promotions

Select $5 Martinis

Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Cocktails

Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

$3 Draft Beer

Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Select $5 Martinis

Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Half Priced Cocktails

Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Half Priced Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

$3 Draft Beer

Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Weathervane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Great for Brunch (63)
Great for Lunch (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fire alarm went off 4 times during lunch ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fire alarm went off 4 times during lunch.Sweet potato fries were cold.They should have stayed in bankruptcy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We enjoyed the atmosphere as we dined wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed the atmosphere as we dined with friends. The service was great. The soup and sandwich combo was very small in comparison to the price. The "cup" of soup was so small I could barely fit the spoon into it. We enjoyed browsing through the store after brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The menu interesting varied. But greenT ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

The menu interesting varied. But greenTom BLT toooo much bread, need interesting sauce.

Banana Fr toast - just thick OK banana bread lacking 'eggy' texture or flavor. Not Frenchy.

Plain old syrup. Shrimp grits fine; quiche light delicate rather than cheesy and

firm. Nothing though was overpriced. Attractive. Service slow but pleasant staff.

An elegant and pleasant atmosphere - Southern charm.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

John took great care of us a party of si ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

John took great care of us a party of six celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow, appetizer was late, qu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was slow, appetizer was late, quiche was dry and the wrong one, burger was overdone. Not good. They have gone down hill since the last time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Brunch at the Weathervane is an elegant ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Brunch at the Weathervane is an elegant way to meet with friends. Service is attentive whether the group is large or small. Breakfast is a little pricey but has added extras like fresh fruit and yummy preserves for the toast/biscuits. Eggs Benedict are great, as are the omelettes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have not been here since last Summer. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have not been here since last Summer. Things are not the same. Several of our favorites (we loved the mac n cheese ball appetizers) are gone from the menu.

The service was poor. We were seated outside and it was not busy at all. Inside there were a few filled tables although the bar area was crowded.

We waited a long time for our appetizer- abut 20 minutes or so. Then when our meal came, the order wasn't correct. The burgers had the wrong toppings on them.

Our server never came back to check on anything.

When we were ready to leave, we had to ask a busboy to find our server to get our check.

We used to enjoy eating here and walking around in the store afterwards. However, the store is lacking some of the merchandize it used to sell. Prices of candy/bakery/food bars are outrageous.

We will not come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Sad that bankruptcy is hurting restauran ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sad that bankruptcy is hurting restaurant performance. We visited WV for a dinner with out-of-town friends on Sat 8/13. The waiter informed us that several items were not available because of Ch. 11. A long-time waiter who has served us many times over the years didn't even ask if our guests wanted drinks before dinner. We have eaten at WV many times over many years, and we've never been served food (catfish replacement for Ch. 11 grouper, salmon, and veggies, esp. grilled lima (replacement for butter) beans) that tasted as bad. We really hope this was a one-off experience, but we'll wait to go back until the dust clears around the bankruptcy sale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Glad the Air Conditioning is back, so I ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Glad the Air Conditioning is back, so I could return to being a regular!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great wait staff, dining area ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food, great wait staff, dining area got noisy and made it hard to hear. The bar area is quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love the Weathervane! Inside the restau ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love the Weathervane! Inside the restaurant is very nice but if it had not been so hot I would have preferred to sit outside. Even though the restaurant is in the parking lot, the retaining wall buffers noise and allows one to concentrate on the atmosphere. It goes without saying that the food is always very good. I had the spinach salad which the chef puts his signature on by making it a little unusual.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First Class menu, service & ambience. Hi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First Class menu, service & ambience. Highly recommendable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually enjoyable - but lunch disturbed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Usually enjoyable - but lunch disturbed by screaming child that it took parents half an hour to take out. One of the salads had dark wilted, spoiled lettuce pieces in it.

Service was fine but the spoiled lettuce was off putting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome brunch menu & service. We reall ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome brunch menu & service. We really enjoyed the menu selections & prompt service.

It was fantastic that you offer gluten free bread-really hard to find. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at the Weathervane is definitely ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch at the Weathervane is definitely a treat! Many dishes to choose from ~ the fried green tomatoes with calacky sauce and the banana bread french toast were both declicious. Service is always good and who can resist a stroll through Southern Seasons when you are done?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I normally have always enjoyed the Weath ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I normally have always enjoyed the Weathervane when dining there, but they were definitely off this evening. When we went to order our food we were told that almost half the menu wasn't available. After adjusting our orders, our food came. Visually it was appealing, but my dish was very over salted, to the point I could not eat half of it. We ordered dessert, and again, I was not impressed. The Peach mousse tasted nothing of peach. Usually they have great desserts that I have thoroughly enjoyed. I think the recent fall into bankruptcy has them cutting back, and unfortunately it is showing in the food, availability and lack of correct seasoning and flavor.

I should add the service was great and our waitress was accommodating, I was just disappointed in the unreliability in the food quality that has now surfaced at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

You must fix the air conditioning. This ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

You must fix the air conditioning. This has been going on for 2 months. When I go, especially after having walked in the heat, it's a big problem. It's unfair to those who work there, on their feet and moving around for so many hours. I am a regular, but I won't return until I hear that the AC is fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great outdoor seating

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great outdoor seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had out-of-town guests and took them ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had out-of-town guests and took them to Southern Seasons then went to the Weathervane for lunch and had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had dinner twice in last month. Bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have had dinner twice in last month. Both times the food was

uneatable. The salmon was over cooked the first time and this time the chicken was burned and not able to eat most of it. I spoke to the manager each time and she apologized and made an excess.

I will not be eating there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Hector was Great, Efficient and Quick. H ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Hector was Great, Efficient and Quick. He provide a nice atomsphere for our family .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The air conditioning was not working dur ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The air conditioning was not working during our meal. Service was slow and the food mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

We had confirmed reservations for the We ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had confirmed reservations for the Weathervane for our anniversary dinner. We arrived at the appointed time to find the restaurant closed, and we were left scrambling to find a nice place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

There was no air conditioning and it was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

There was no air conditioning and it was warm despite temporary portable units being brought in. I also learned that this problem has been going on since the end of June since a friend had been there and. Had the same experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Excellent brunch menu with options for a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent brunch menu with options for all. Our party of four enjoyed each entree plus very good coffee.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to like the Weathervane. It is qu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I used to like the Weathervane. It is quiet and convenient to the new movie theater at the mall. I understand that Southern Season is in some bankruptcy reorganization which most likely hurts the restaurant. But the last two times that I have been there they had some special event that made part of the restaurant off limits. In addition, this past weekend the AC was broken - for NC in July this is a problem. They had a portable unit but it was still hot in there. I was surprised that they did not contact me to tell me this. I would have chosen to go elsewhere. I ordered the fried green tomatoes and okra because I had enjoyed them last time. There was no okra and the disk has not nearly as good as last time. And I ordered the poke salad which has raw tuna which came at room temp.This would seem to violate the food safety principle of keeping gold foods cold. It is too bad that the Weathervane has slipped. I hope they can recover and stay in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The AC was out the day that I was there ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The AC was out the day that I was there for lunch. Given the announced bankruptcy, I did wonder if they had paid the bill! We were told that it was being fixed but it did not happen while I was there for a lengthy, business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We were seated outside in the garden/pat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were seated outside in the garden/patio area and it was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

After several recommendations from local ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

After several recommendations from local women, I decided to give Weathervane a try for Brunch. The inside was very nice, and the hostess was polite.

The brunch selection was not super impressive, as one would think and a bit overpriced for what you get. I decided to go with the Quiche Lorraine and a side salad. The quiche was cheesy and cooked well. The crust wasn't great, and overall for $12 it was subpar. The salad had brown lettuce in it as well.

I would not go back as it was overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing in some ways; outstanding ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Disappointing in some ways; outstanding in others. For example, A/C wasn't working. Desserts were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent in every way! Great food alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent in every way! Great food always and last visit service was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Avoid if you have kids. We had a group ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Avoid if you have kids. We had a group of 6 adults and 3 infants in which the they figured a booth next to the outside entrance was an appropriate spot to put us. The 3 infants ended up sitting in the booth as we couldn't get 3 highchairs around the table (which I made sure to note that we would need 3 high chairs in our reservation). Not the first time we had a terrible experience with our baby. The last time we dined they didn't have a car seat holder, so we ended up holding her throughout our meal. Food isn't that great to put up with deplorable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant was not very crowded, but ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was not very crowded, but we waited quite a while for someone to come and pick and process our payment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

AMAZING. Every single thing was great, b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

AMAZING. Every single thing was great, but the service & ambiance were incredible: we were dining out for our wedding anniversary, and every staffer in the restaurant (hostess, manager, server) warmly wished us a happy anniversary. We sat on the patio in a round brick booth : it was surprisingly cozy and comfortable (I'd always assumed that the patio would be loud because of how it is situated by the parking lot; in fact I would have thought there was a garden on the other side of the brick wall based on how quiet & private it was). There was also live music on the patio, which was a nice surprise. We were not surprised that the food was excellent : good menu variety, interesting, delicious.

We chose Weathervane for our night out because we wanted something special but not stuffy. I was simply amazed by how great every element was-- this is definitely going to be a top choice for date nights, birthdays, and group dinners much more often. It's easy to imagine that we'll be back many more times, especially when there's music on that great patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the Restaurant attached to A Sou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the Restaurant attached to A Southern Season store. We typically enjoy going there for brunch. The food is fine it is convenient. However, there restaurant is beginning to look a little tired. There are some things that could be done at very low cost to spruce up the place. We were seated a table with hanging lamp that had been dusted in a long time. You would visibly see the layers of dust on the surfaces of the lamp shade.

Also a circular bench leatherette was starting to fray at the edges and the seam had come out. This needs repair and fixing, nothing big but an easy fix to prevent it from getting worse and the needing a bigger more costly fix. The bathrooms also could use a freshening up with a fresh coat of paint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Although we came near the end of the nig ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Although we came near the end of the night, and the restaurant had run out of some of its signature dishes (duck, fried green tomatoes), what we did order and eat was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The air conditioning was not working and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The air conditioning was not working and so it was very warm. Several items on the restaurant week menu were not available. We chose what was described as a carrot salad and what we were served was an order of roasted whole carrots on a plank. A disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We reserved for 5 adults and 2 toddlers ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We reserved for 5 adults and 2 toddlers but were seated at a table which did not

allow us to pull the high chairs up to the table. We asked to move to a free-standing table (rather than a booth) but were told that was not possible. The kitchen was out of several key ingredients, including milk for the toddlers, fried green tomatoes (which were featured on the menu) and any fruit other than cantalope. This was a special family occasion and we expected a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

This was my second trip to the Weatherva ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my second trip to the Weathervane. The food was absolutely delicious. The cocktails (mimosa and Bloody Mary) were yummy as well. The service was great too. Our only complaint was that it was 85 degrees and extremely humid yet the AC was not on! There was two doors open, which provided a slight breeze, however two older couples complained of the breeze. We will be back, however they need to get that AC ON!!! It's summertime in North Carolina!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Sunday Brunch Was Excellent

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Weathervane has been a favorite spot for 20+ years. Last Sunday's Brunch was as we've come to expect - excellent in all regards.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.