About Weathervane Restaurant

201 S Estes Drive @ University Mall
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Located at Southern Season in University Mall.



Open for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and weekend Brunch.



Weathervane's seasonal menus highlight local ingredients in contemporary American fare with a Southern flare. Our devoted staff and special setting within the convivial atmosphere of Southern Season have helped propel the restaurant to its acclaimed status. It is an integral partner in what has become a one-of-a-kind marketplace that remains unique to Chapel Hill.



On beautiful Spring, Summer and Fall days come sit on our famous outdoor patio for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. Our elegant indoor spaces and garden settings are perfect for for receptions, parties, and meetings. We're also sporting a very cool coffee and wine bar, and a cozy mezzanine level if you want to head upstairs to sit, sip and gaze out on the scene below. Call or click to make your reservation. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 7:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
15/501 bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-9466 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.southernseason.com/cafe.asp

Catering:
We offer off-site catering through our Southern Season Deli and Prepared Foods department. Visit www.southernseason.com and click on catering for information.

Public Transit:
Chapel Hill Transit, UNC Game Day Park and Ride

Executive Chef:
Spencer Carter

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Space and outdoor space is available. Visit www.southernseason.com for full details.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren Powell: 919-913-1221x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren Powell to book your Special Event.

Phone: 919-913-1221
Email: specialevents@southernseason.com

Restaurant Photos

Weathervane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

great for lunch (76)
great for brunch (74)
great for outdoor dining (57)
See All
fit for foodies (56)
good for groups (47)
special occasion (41)
neighborhood gem (40)
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (16)
notable wine list (14)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy anniversary

Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I got married here. We came back on our 1st anniversary. The staff treated us to free appitizer and dessert. The food was excellent and service was great. I highly recommend it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

arrived 30 min. prior to reservation, wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

arrived 30 min. prior to reservation, was seated, food great, service not timely. Recd. e-mail later that my reservation was cancelled by Weathervane. Guessing that there was a lack of communication between reception staff...one seated us early...another arrived and thought we were a no show and cancelled the reservation. A bit not like the usual Weathervane.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1

Good was not cooked property . Service w ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Good was not cooked property . Service was poor. Drinks were never refilled .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch - Must try Shrimp n Grits

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband's Shrimp and Grits were sublime. I had the Duck Confit hash. Whilst, pricey for a hash, the duck was succulent, and I actually had enough for Monday morning breakfast! The Fried Green tomatoes were yum and my husband even enjoyed the okra (that's a first!). Our server, Perry was engaging and the kept the bottomless Mimosas flowing! A+++ Experience in Chapel Hill

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to the Weathervane and So ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I had not been to the Weathervane and Southern Season in years. I brought a girl friend for the first time. We enjoyed a delicious brunch outside on the patio. The server was highly knowledgeable about all of the items we asked about. He was attentive and delightful to engage with. The food was amazing and completely satisfied! We will certainly be back in the near future.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Went for brunch and wanted their usual f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for brunch and wanted their usual fluffy buttermilk pancakes and they changed it to cornmeal pancakes. Bad move. Not half as good. Or I just don't like corn meal as much. I was bummed.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We wanted a round booth, but were told t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We wanted a round booth, but were told that all were reserved. we spent an hour and a hlf there and several booths remained vacant. Quite annoying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I've loved their brunch many times, but ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've loved their brunch many times, but was shocked at the big disappointment with dinner! The hostess was sullen and easily irritated by small requests she had no other guests, like for a waitress to visit the table after 10 minutes of waiting, a children's menu, and a cup. The filet was horribly over-over-salted like the trout. It was not worth any price. The manager was kind and appologetic.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the first time I have ever eaten at The Weathervane and been disappointed with the food. I had the wedge salad. The lettuce was limp and a tomato concoction that it sat on top of was very unappetizing and unattractive. Also, the small plate of fried oysters was a disappointment for the oysters were on top of the sauce. The crispness of the oysters was quickly diminished. My husband's hamburger was OK, nothing special, he said. The food was quite different from what we have enjoyed in the past.

food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were three dinner including mother. Too bad for Mom she could not take one bite out of her steak, It was tough and has no taste. The gracious server took it back and offer a replacement , by that time it was not worth reordering. He reduced our check by her plate value. Poor Mom had no dinner on mother's day!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Mother's Day location!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day location!

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not as good as past visits

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very disappointing. Steak was tough, salmon was fishy tasting, undercooked Lima beans In the succotash. We have had plenty of lunches that were very good so dinner was a huge diappointed. Maybe cause it was graduation and Mother's Day weekend??.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Vegetarian Friendly!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Something for everyone here! As the vegetarian in our group I chose 3 "sides" that were so generous I could not finish! Especially recommend the roasted mushrooms. Service very professional but friendly as well. Acoustics cause sound to carry but tables are well seperated so noise level not too bad. Cannot wait to go again next time we are in Chapel Hill.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Part of A Southern Season A foodie heaven store

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is part of a store that is Sur La Table on steroids with emphasis on hard to find southern food options and vast selection of food prep materials. At weathervane definetly start with the fried pimento cheese balls no matter what else you are ordering!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch

Dined on April 25, 2016

It was a pleasure, as usual... the nice spring weather helped...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great, but could have been even better

Dined on April 22, 2016

The oysters small plate was amazing, and the fried pimento cheese balls were delicious. I'd order both again in a heartbeat. The filet was done just right, but the collards and fingerling potatoes ... well, I hate to say that my family makes them much better. They were a bit bland. I enjoyed the meal, the ambiance and the service, but next time I'll try something different for my main course.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Staff, Great Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

From the time you are greeted until you leave, everything was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great girls' lunch

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful service, excellent food, beautiful outdoor dining space!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Weathervane Disappoints

Dined on April 17, 2016

Weathervane used to be a great restaurant, but based on my last two visits, they've gone downhill. My fried green tomato BLT was just OK and my sweet potato fries were lukewarm - very disappointing. The service was just adequate. The outdoor patio lacks the ambience of the patio at the previous location. All in all, a disappointing, but pricey meal.

food4
ambience4
service4

We went with friends for Sunday brunch. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went with friends for Sunday brunch. Nice variety of items to choose from. Food consistently good as is the service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Brunch Spot

Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been here several times for brunch. It's my "go-to" choice for out of town friends as parking is easy to find, the menu is accommodating of numerous food allergies and requests, and the staff is always friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dependable. My go to choice.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Weathervane is my go to choice for lunch. It is usually not too loud to carry on a conversation. It is easy to park. I frequently choose it for business lunches and the service is always great. I wish the menu varied a bit. I eat there frequently enough that I get tired of the choices. Stir in a bit of the Farmer's Market and some new ideas. Some nice soups would be great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite!

Dined on April 15, 2016

I haven't been to the Weathervane since my high school prom years (early 2000s), but since moving back to NC, my husband and I decided to check it out. It was absolutely worth it! The service was great, the food was outstanding, and the general atmosphere was serene. We ordered the deviled eggs as an appetizer (they were outstanding), and my husband ate the shrimp and grits while I ate the hamburger. Both were fantastic. We also sat outside because the weather was fantastic. All in all, a wonderful experience and a great return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great brunch spot to bring your pup to!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Weathervane was a solid brunch spot, but not out of this world. We loved being able to bring our dog, and the outdoor seating was lovely! Inside was super loud and packed, so we wouldn't have been happy indoors. The hostess was rude and dismissive, but our waiter was nice and very helpful. Apps took forever to come out but were good once they did. Meals were great, but the wait time took away from that a little. Weak Bloody Mary game - something is missing from them that we couldn't put our fingers on.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't wait for the next Wine event!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

My husband and I attended the special Wine Dinner on April 5, as a treat to ourselves. The experience exceeded our expectations. The presentation and the taste of the food were excellent. The service was impeccable, which was no small feat considering there were passed hor d'oeuvres, five courses, and an equal number of generous wine pairings. We enjoyed the opportunity to hear from the chef and the wine distributor. The price was very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Diverse selection. Food Prep: skillful & ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Diverse selection. Food Prep: skillful & thoughtful. Delicate pancakes. Properly cooked eggs. Stimulating environment for conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on March 28, 2016

Eaten here many times. Food and service are inconsistent. This time service was way below par, food was underwhelming. I have come to expect better from this signature restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booth Broken springs. Very uncomfortable.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything about this place is great, except for the seating. The booths have horrible seats. Even Broken springs. Very uncomfortable.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious!

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a group of 9 for Saturday brunch. Our server was kind and knowledgeable, though he wasn't very attentive. The food was very good. They have a nice selection of breakfast and lunch choices. We've never had a bad meal here.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Good for lunch, not for dinner. No won ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Good for lunch, not for dinner. No wonder there were only about 10 people in the place. My filet Mignon was the end piece and it was not worth the price. I should have sent it back to the kitchen. I asked for medium rare and it was medium, for sure. My guest has the shrimp and grits and it was bland. We had to get some red pepper flakes to perk it up. I felt like they could have used my help in the kitchen. We were told it's a little spicy (huh?).

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Angelina took great care of us, answering all of our questions . The food was good and the coffee was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service3

It was an ok meal. Nothing great. Nice p ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

It was an ok meal. Nothing great. Nice place for afternoon lunch. Service was a bit slow and meal was just ok.

food4
ambience4
service4

Attractive restaurant with an interestin ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Attractive restaurant with an interesting menu. The food is reliably good and do is the service.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Big Price, Small Portions

Dined on March 6, 2016

The Brunch was unsatisfying in price and portion size to my group. We paid top dollar, ordered a appetizer, and eggs Benedict. One person ordered soup that came in very small bowl. We were still hungry when we left. I will not go back.

food4
ambience4
service3

Waitress didn't ask if we needed anythin ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Waitress didn't ask if we needed anything nor refill tea pot. Was given wrong entree initially but quickly corrected. Asparagus tough and hard to cut with regular knife.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Brunch

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great place for brunch on Sat or Sun. Very good food and service. Good for kids. Great bloody mary and the fried green tomatoes and deep fried pimento cheese balls are a must. If you like pancakes this the place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weathervane is alway a treat!

Dined on February 23, 2016

It was easy to get a table and we had wonderful service with a delightful and delicious lunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hospitable and pleasant

Dined on February 23, 2016

Karen is a five star wait person and my day is always brighter when she brings my lunch. The Weathervane is dependable and most accommodating when I am planning a working lunch. Love the easy parking and the pleasant environment, particularly the back room which is very civilized. Thanks so much.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Don't let them seat you upstairs.

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was the third time I've been to this restaurant. The food is quite good and it's attractive. However, this time even with an Open Table brunch reservation they seated us upstairs - which I didn't know existed - even though it did not seem so crowded below. The service and experience was poor. No one seemed to know we were there. We had to ask for spoons for coffee (twice), juice never came, we had to steal plates from other tables, etc. We've all had that experience, but it's beneath this restaurant's standards.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for brunch before a UNC bas ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went here for brunch before a UNC basketball game, quick and great service. Decently priced food and good bloody Mary's!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.