About Weathervane Restaurant

201 S Estes Drive @ University Mall
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Located at Southern Season in University Mall.



Open for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and weekend Brunch.



Weathervane's seasonal menus highlight local ingredients in contemporary American fare with a Southern flare. Our devoted staff and special setting within the convivial atmosphere of Southern Season have helped propel the restaurant to its acclaimed status. It is an integral partner in what has become a one-of-a-kind marketplace that remains unique to Chapel Hill.



On beautiful Spring, Summer and Fall days come sit on our famous outdoor patio for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. Our elegant indoor spaces and garden settings are perfect for for receptions, parties, and meetings. We're also sporting a very cool coffee and wine bar, and a cozy mezzanine level if you want to head upstairs to sit, sip and gaze out on the scene below. Call or click to make your reservation. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 8:00 am-6 pm
Tuesday-Friday: 8:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 7:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
15/501 bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-9466 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.southernseason.com/cafe.asp

Catering:
We offer off-site catering through our Southern Season Deli and Prepared Foods department. Visit www.southernseason.com and click on catering for information.

Public Transit:
Chapel Hill Transit, UNC Game Day Park and Ride

Executive Chef:
Spencer Carter

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Space and outdoor space is available. Visit www.southernseason.com for full details.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren Powell: 919-913-1221x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren Powell to book your Special Event.

Phone: 919-913-1221
Email: specialevents@southernseason.com

Restaurant Photos

Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Fried Chicken With New Potatoes, Skinny Beans And Texas Pete Vinaigrette
Seared Scallops
Steak Frites with Blue Cheese-Bacon Butter
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Grilled Swordfish
Ice Cream Sandwich
Huevos rancheros
Fried Egg and Avocado Sandwich
Fried Chicken with a Cornbread Cheddar Waffle and Balsalmic Maple Syrup
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Pork Belly
Pan-Seared Grouper
Duck Confit
Country Ham Egg And Cheese Biscuit
Coastal Shrimp and Grits
Fried Green Tomatoes
fish tacos
crabcake
flourless chocolate cake
Pan-Seared Beef Medallions
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Oyster Gratin
Fajitas
Shrimp Pita
Seafood Bouillabaisse
Bourbon and Molasses Ribeye
Shrimp Hushpuppies
Beet Carpaccio
Peanut Butter Pie
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Scallop Risotto
Cracklin Pork Shank
Roasted Turkey with Giblet Gravy
shrimp pad thai
Black Bean Burger
Chicken and dumplings
Roasted Ashley Farms Chicken
Duck Confit Hash
The Fried Green Tomato "Cackalacky"
48-Hour Short Rib
The Cackalacky

Promotions

Select $5 Martinis

Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Cocktails

Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

$3 Draft Beer

Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Select $5 Martinis

Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Half Priced Cocktails

Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Half Priced Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
$3 Draft Beer

Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Weathervane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

great for lunch (75)
great for brunch (68)
great for outdoor dining (60)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
neighborhood gem (38)
special occasion (38)
good for groups (36)
kid-friendly (15)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great outdoor seating

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great outdoor seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had out-of-town guests and took them ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had out-of-town guests and took them to Southern Seasons then went to the Weathervane for lunch and had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had dinner twice in last month. Bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have had dinner twice in last month. Both times the food was

uneatable. The salmon was over cooked the first time and this time the chicken was burned and not able to eat most of it. I spoke to the manager each time and she apologized and made an excess.

I will not be eating there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Hector was Great, Efficient and Quick. H ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Hector was Great, Efficient and Quick. He provide a nice atomsphere for our family .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The air conditioning was not working dur ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The air conditioning was not working during our meal. Service was slow and the food mediocre.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

We had confirmed reservations for the We ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had confirmed reservations for the Weathervane for our anniversary dinner. We arrived at the appointed time to find the restaurant closed, and we were left scrambling to find a nice place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

There was no air conditioning and it was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

There was no air conditioning and it was warm despite temporary portable units being brought in. I also learned that this problem has been going on since the end of June since a friend had been there and. Had the same experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Excellent brunch menu with options for a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent brunch menu with options for all. Our party of four enjoyed each entree plus very good coffee.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to like the Weathervane. It is qu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I used to like the Weathervane. It is quiet and convenient to the new movie theater at the mall. I understand that Southern Season is in some bankruptcy reorganization which most likely hurts the restaurant. But the last two times that I have been there they had some special event that made part of the restaurant off limits. In addition, this past weekend the AC was broken - for NC in July this is a problem. They had a portable unit but it was still hot in there. I was surprised that they did not contact me to tell me this. I would have chosen to go elsewhere. I ordered the fried green tomatoes and okra because I had enjoyed them last time. There was no okra and the disk has not nearly as good as last time. And I ordered the poke salad which has raw tuna which came at room temp.This would seem to violate the food safety principle of keeping gold foods cold. It is too bad that the Weathervane has slipped. I hope they can recover and stay in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The AC was out the day that I was there ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The AC was out the day that I was there for lunch. Given the announced bankruptcy, I did wonder if they had paid the bill! We were told that it was being fixed but it did not happen while I was there for a lengthy, business lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We were seated outside in the garden/pat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were seated outside in the garden/patio area and it was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

After several recommendations from local ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

After several recommendations from local women, I decided to give Weathervane a try for Brunch. The inside was very nice, and the hostess was polite.

The brunch selection was not super impressive, as one would think and a bit overpriced for what you get. I decided to go with the Quiche Lorraine and a side salad. The quiche was cheesy and cooked well. The crust wasn't great, and overall for $12 it was subpar. The salad had brown lettuce in it as well.

I would not go back as it was overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing in some ways; outstanding ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Disappointing in some ways; outstanding in others. For example, A/C wasn't working. Desserts were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent in every way! Great food alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent in every way! Great food always and last visit service was wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Avoid if you have kids. We had a group ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Avoid if you have kids. We had a group of 6 adults and 3 infants in which the they figured a booth next to the outside entrance was an appropriate spot to put us. The 3 infants ended up sitting in the booth as we couldn't get 3 highchairs around the table (which I made sure to note that we would need 3 high chairs in our reservation). Not the first time we had a terrible experience with our baby. The last time we dined they didn't have a car seat holder, so we ended up holding her throughout our meal. Food isn't that great to put up with deplorable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant was not very crowded, but ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was not very crowded, but we waited quite a while for someone to come and pick and process our payment.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

AMAZING. Every single thing was great, b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

AMAZING. Every single thing was great, but the service & ambiance were incredible: we were dining out for our wedding anniversary, and every staffer in the restaurant (hostess, manager, server) warmly wished us a happy anniversary. We sat on the patio in a round brick booth : it was surprisingly cozy and comfortable (I'd always assumed that the patio would be loud because of how it is situated by the parking lot; in fact I would have thought there was a garden on the other side of the brick wall based on how quiet & private it was). There was also live music on the patio, which was a nice surprise. We were not surprised that the food was excellent : good menu variety, interesting, delicious.

We chose Weathervane for our night out because we wanted something special but not stuffy. I was simply amazed by how great every element was-- this is definitely going to be a top choice for date nights, birthdays, and group dinners much more often. It's easy to imagine that we'll be back many more times, especially when there's music on that great patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the Restaurant attached to A Sou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the Restaurant attached to A Southern Season store. We typically enjoy going there for brunch. The food is fine it is convenient. However, there restaurant is beginning to look a little tired. There are some things that could be done at very low cost to spruce up the place. We were seated a table with hanging lamp that had been dusted in a long time. You would visibly see the layers of dust on the surfaces of the lamp shade.

Also a circular bench leatherette was starting to fray at the edges and the seam had come out. This needs repair and fixing, nothing big but an easy fix to prevent it from getting worse and the needing a bigger more costly fix. The bathrooms also could use a freshening up with a fresh coat of paint.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Although we came near the end of the nig ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Although we came near the end of the night, and the restaurant had run out of some of its signature dishes (duck, fried green tomatoes), what we did order and eat was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The air conditioning was not working and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The air conditioning was not working and so it was very warm. Several items on the restaurant week menu were not available. We chose what was described as a carrot salad and what we were served was an order of roasted whole carrots on a plank. A disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We reserved for 5 adults and 2 toddlers ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We reserved for 5 adults and 2 toddlers but were seated at a table which did not

allow us to pull the high chairs up to the table. We asked to move to a free-standing table (rather than a booth) but were told that was not possible. The kitchen was out of several key ingredients, including milk for the toddlers, fried green tomatoes (which were featured on the menu) and any fruit other than cantalope. This was a special family occasion and we expected a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

This was my second trip to the Weatherva ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my second trip to the Weathervane. The food was absolutely delicious. The cocktails (mimosa and Bloody Mary) were yummy as well. The service was great too. Our only complaint was that it was 85 degrees and extremely humid yet the AC was not on! There was two doors open, which provided a slight breeze, however two older couples complained of the breeze. We will be back, however they need to get that AC ON!!! It's summertime in North Carolina!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Sunday Brunch Was Excellent

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Weathervane has been a favorite spot for 20+ years. Last Sunday's Brunch was as we've come to expect - excellent in all regards.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to share with out of town guests

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We invited some out of town guests to meet us here, and we had a lovely brunch. The food was delicious, the service was attentive, and then we enjoyed shopping at Southern Seasons afterwards!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Especially if you like to enjoy eating outdoors, the Weathervane has a wonderful outdoor seating area with beautiful plants and a waterfall. The brunch was great too with a nice assortment of both breakfast and lunch type items.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for Conversation, Plus Duck Two Ways = Yum!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great atmosphere in this restaurant if you want to enjoy conversation with your dining companions. Just had dinner here with the new menu. Duck two ways was so good -- loved the pesto sauce!! Also had a wonderful dessert -- carrot cake petit four. Ate half of both and took the rest home for a yummy repeat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy anniversary

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My wife and I got married here. We came back on our 1st anniversary. The staff treated us to free appitizer and dessert. The food was excellent and service was great. I highly recommend it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly by biggest dislike was that the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Honestly by biggest dislike was that they have a new chef. I miss some of the old items. The old menu was more interesting. The waitress was wonderful but the hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

arrived 30 min. prior to reservation, wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

arrived 30 min. prior to reservation, was seated, food great, service not timely.

Recd. e-mail later that my reservation was cancelled by Weathervane. Guessing that there was a lack of communication between reception staff...one seated us early...another arrived and thought we were a no show and cancelled the reservation. A bit not like the usual Weathervane.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Good was not cooked property . Service w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good was not cooked property . Service was poor. Drinks were never refilled .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Sunday Brunch - Must try Shrimp n Grits

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband's Shrimp and Grits were sublime. I had the Duck Confit hash. Whilst, pricey for a hash, the duck was succulent, and I actually had enough for Monday morning breakfast! The Fried Green tomatoes were yum and my husband even enjoyed the okra (that's a first!). Our server, Perry was engaging and the kept the bottomless Mimosas flowing! A+++ Experience in Chapel Hill

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to the Weathervane and So ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I had not been to the Weathervane and Southern Season in years. I brought a girl friend for the first time. We enjoyed a delicious brunch outside on the patio. The server was highly knowledgeable about all of the items we asked about. He was attentive and delightful to engage with. The food was amazing and completely satisfied! We will certainly be back in the near future.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch and wanted their usual f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for brunch and wanted their usual fluffy buttermilk pancakes and they changed it to cornmeal pancakes. Bad move. Not half as good. Or I just don't like corn meal as much. I was bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We wanted a round booth, but were told t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We wanted a round booth, but were told that all were reserved. we spent an hour and a hlf there and several booths remained vacant. Quite annoying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I've loved their brunch many times, but ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I've loved their brunch many times, but was shocked at the big disappointment with dinner! The hostess was sullen and easily irritated by small requests she had no other guests, like for a waitress to visit the table after 10 minutes of waiting, a children's menu, and a cup. The filet was horribly over-over-salted like the trout. It was not worth any price. The manager was kind and appologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the first time I have ever eaten at The Weathervane and been disappointed with the food. I had the wedge salad. The lettuce was limp and a tomato concoction that it sat on top of was very unappetizing and unattractive. Also, the small plate of fried oysters was a disappointment for the oysters were on top of the sauce. The crispness of the oysters was quickly diminished. My husband's hamburger was OK, nothing special, he said.

The food was quite different from what we have enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Mother day dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were three dinner including mother. Too bad for Mom she could not take one bite out of her steak, It was tough and has no taste. The gracious server took it back and offer a replacement , by that time it was not worth reordering. He reduced our check by her plate value. Poor Mom had no dinner on mother's day!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Mother's Day location!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as past visits

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Very disappointing. Steak was tough, salmon was fishy tasting, undercooked Lima beans In the succotash. We have had plenty of lunches that were very good so dinner was a huge diappointed. Maybe cause it was graduation and Mother's Day weekend??.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Vegetarian Friendly!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Something for everyone here!

As the vegetarian in our group I chose 3 "sides" that were so generous I could not finish! Especially recommend the roasted mushrooms.

Service very professional but friendly as well. Acoustics cause sound to carry but tables are well seperated so noise level not too bad.

Cannot wait to go again next time we are in Chapel Hill.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.