About Weathervane Restaurant

201 S Estes Drive @ University Mall
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Located at Southern Season in University Mall.



Open for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and weekend Brunch.



Weathervane's seasonal menus highlight local ingredients in contemporary American fare with a Southern flare. Our devoted staff and special setting within the convivial atmosphere of Southern Season have helped propel the restaurant to its acclaimed status. It is an integral partner in what has become a one-of-a-kind marketplace that remains unique to Chapel Hill.



On beautiful Spring, Summer and Fall days come sit on our famous outdoor patio for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. Our elegant indoor spaces and garden settings are perfect for for receptions, parties, and meetings. We're also sporting a very cool coffee and wine bar, and a cozy mezzanine level if you want to head upstairs to sit, sip and gaze out on the scene below. Call or click to make your reservation. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 7:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
15/501 bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-9466 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.southernseason.com/cafe.asp

Catering:
We offer off-site catering through our Southern Season Deli and Prepared Foods department. Visit www.southernseason.com and click on catering for information.

Public Transit:
Chapel Hill Transit, UNC Game Day Park and Ride

Executive Chef:
Spencer Carter

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Space and outdoor space is available. Visit www.southernseason.com for full details.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren Powell: 919-913-1221x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren Powell to book your Special Event.

Phone: 919-913-1221
Email: specialevents@southernseason.com

Restaurant Photos

Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Weathervane Restaurant
Fried Chicken With New Potatoes, Skinny Beans And Texas Pete Vinaigrette
Coastal Shrimp and Grits
Seared Scallops
Steak Frites with Blue Cheese-Bacon Butter
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Grilled Swordfish
Ice Cream Sandwich
Huevos rancheros
Fried Egg and Avocado Sandwich
Fried Chicken with a Cornbread Cheddar Waffle and Balsalmic Maple Syrup
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Pork Belly
Pan-Seared Grouper
Duck Confit
Country Ham Egg And Cheese Biscuit
Fried Green Tomatoes
fish tacos
crabcake
flourless chocolate cake
Pan-Seared Beef Medallions
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Oyster Gratin
Fajitas
Shrimp Pita
Seafood Bouillabaisse
Bourbon and Molasses Ribeye
Shrimp Hushpuppies
Beet Carpaccio
Peanut Butter Pie
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Scallop Risotto
Cracklin Pork Shank
Roasted Turkey with Giblet Gravy
shrimp pad thai
Black Bean Burger
Chicken and dumplings
Roasted Ashley Farms Chicken
Duck Confit Hash
The Fried Green Tomato "Cackalacky"
48-Hour Short Rib
The Cackalacky

Promotions

Select $5 Martinis

Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Cocktails

Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

$3 Draft Beer

Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Select $5 Martinis

Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Mondays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
Half Priced Cocktails

Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Tuesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
Half Priced Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Wednesdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
$3 Draft Beer

Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Oct 9, 2016 on Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Weathervane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

great for lunch (78)
great for brunch (68)
great for outdoor dining (65)
See All
fit for foodies (50)
neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (42)
special occasion (38)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (13)
romantic (12)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent in every way! Great food alway ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent in every way! Great food always and last visit service was wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Avoid if you have kids. We had a group ...

Dined 4 days ago

Avoid if you have kids. We had a group of 6 adults and 3 infants in which the they figured a booth next to the outside entrance was an appropriate spot to put us. The 3 infants ended up sitting in the booth as we couldn't get 3 highchairs around the table (which I made sure to note that we would need 3 high chairs in our reservation). Not the first time we had a terrible experience with our baby. The last time we dined they didn't have a car seat holder, so we ended up holding her throughout our meal. Food isn't that great to put up with deplorable service.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The restaurant was not very crowded, but ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was not very crowded, but we waited quite a while for someone to come and pick and process our payment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING. Every single thing was great, b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

AMAZING. Every single thing was great, but the service & ambiance were incredible: we were dining out for our wedding anniversary, and every staffer in the restaurant (hostess, manager, server) warmly wished us a happy anniversary. We sat on the patio in a round brick booth : it was surprisingly cozy and comfortable (I'd always assumed that the patio would be loud because of how it is situated by the parking lot; in fact I would have thought there was a garden on the other side of the brick wall based on how quiet & private it was). There was also live music on the patio, which was a nice surprise. We were not surprised that the food was excellent : good menu variety, interesting, delicious. We chose Weathervane for our night out because we wanted something special but not stuffy. I was simply amazed by how great every element was-- this is definitely going to be a top choice for date nights, birthdays, and group dinners much more often. It's easy to imagine that we'll be back many more times, especially when there's music on that great patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This is the Restaurant attached to A Sou ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the Restaurant attached to A Southern Season store. We typically enjoy going there for brunch. The food is fine it is convenient. However, there restaurant is beginning to look a little tired. There are some things that could be done at very low cost to spruce up the place. We were seated a table with hanging lamp that had been dusted in a long time. You would visibly see the layers of dust on the surfaces of the lamp shade. Also a circular bench leatherette was starting to fray at the edges and the seam had come out. This needs repair and fixing, nothing big but an easy fix to prevent it from getting worse and the needing a bigger more costly fix. The bathrooms also could use a freshening up with a fresh coat of paint.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Although we came near the end of the nig ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Although we came near the end of the night, and the restaurant had run out of some of its signature dishes (duck, fried green tomatoes), what we did order and eat was phenomenal!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The air conditioning was not working and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The air conditioning was not working and so it was very warm. Several items on the restaurant week menu were not available. We chose what was described as a carrot salad and what we were served was an order of roasted whole carrots on a plank. A disappointing evening.

food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We reserved for 5 adults and 2 toddlers ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We reserved for 5 adults and 2 toddlers but were seated at a table which did not allow us to pull the high chairs up to the table. We asked to move to a free-standing table (rather than a booth) but were told that was not possible. The kitchen was out of several key ingredients, including milk for the toddlers, fried green tomatoes (which were featured on the menu) and any fruit other than cantalope. This was a special family occasion and we expected a better experience.

food4
ambience2
service4

This was my second trip to the Weatherva ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my second trip to the Weathervane. The food was absolutely delicious. The cocktails (mimosa and Bloody Mary) were yummy as well. The service was great too. Our only complaint was that it was 85 degrees and extremely humid yet the AC was not on! There was two doors open, which provided a slight breeze, however two older couples complained of the breeze. We will be back, however they need to get that AC ON!!! It's summertime in North Carolina!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch Was Excellent

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Weathervane has been a favorite spot for 20+ years. Last Sunday's Brunch was as we've come to expect - excellent in all regards.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to share with out of town guests

Dined on May 30, 2016

We invited some out of town guests to meet us here, and we had a lovely brunch. The food was delicious, the service was attentive, and then we enjoyed shopping at Southern Seasons afterwards!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 29, 2016

Especially if you like to enjoy eating outdoors, the Weathervane has a wonderful outdoor seating area with beautiful plants and a waterfall. The brunch was great too with a nice assortment of both breakfast and lunch type items.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Conversation, Plus Duck Two Ways = Yum!!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great atmosphere in this restaurant if you want to enjoy conversation with your dining companions. Just had dinner here with the new menu. Duck two ways was so good -- loved the pesto sauce!! Also had a wonderful dessert -- carrot cake petit four. Ate half of both and took the rest home for a yummy repeat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy anniversary

Dined on May 23, 2016

My wife and I got married here. We came back on our 1st anniversary. The staff treated us to free appitizer and dessert. The food was excellent and service was great. I highly recommend it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Honestly by biggest dislike was that the ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Honestly by biggest dislike was that they have a new chef. I miss some of the old items. The old menu was more interesting. The waitress was wonderful but the hostess was rude.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

arrived 30 min. prior to reservation, wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

arrived 30 min. prior to reservation, was seated, food great, service not timely. Recd. e-mail later that my reservation was cancelled by Weathervane. Guessing that there was a lack of communication between reception staff...one seated us early...another arrived and thought we were a no show and cancelled the reservation. A bit not like the usual Weathervane.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1

Good was not cooked property . Service w ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Good was not cooked property . Service was poor. Drinks were never refilled .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch - Must try Shrimp n Grits

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband's Shrimp and Grits were sublime. I had the Duck Confit hash. Whilst, pricey for a hash, the duck was succulent, and I actually had enough for Monday morning breakfast! The Fried Green tomatoes were yum and my husband even enjoyed the okra (that's a first!). Our server, Perry was engaging and the kept the bottomless Mimosas flowing! A+++ Experience in Chapel Hill

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to the Weathervane and So ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I had not been to the Weathervane and Southern Season in years. I brought a girl friend for the first time. We enjoyed a delicious brunch outside on the patio. The server was highly knowledgeable about all of the items we asked about. He was attentive and delightful to engage with. The food was amazing and completely satisfied! We will certainly be back in the near future.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Went for brunch and wanted their usual f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for brunch and wanted their usual fluffy buttermilk pancakes and they changed it to cornmeal pancakes. Bad move. Not half as good. Or I just don't like corn meal as much. I was bummed.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We wanted a round booth, but were told t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We wanted a round booth, but were told that all were reserved. we spent an hour and a hlf there and several booths remained vacant. Quite annoying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I've loved their brunch many times, but ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've loved their brunch many times, but was shocked at the big disappointment with dinner! The hostess was sullen and easily irritated by small requests she had no other guests, like for a waitress to visit the table after 10 minutes of waiting, a children's menu, and a cup. The filet was horribly over-over-salted like the trout. It was not worth any price. The manager was kind and appologetic.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the first time I have ever eaten at The Weathervane and been disappointed with the food. I had the wedge salad. The lettuce was limp and a tomato concoction that it sat on top of was very unappetizing and unattractive. Also, the small plate of fried oysters was a disappointment for the oysters were on top of the sauce. The crispness of the oysters was quickly diminished. My husband's hamburger was OK, nothing special, he said. The food was quite different from what we have enjoyed in the past.

food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were three dinner including mother. Too bad for Mom she could not take one bite out of her steak, It was tough and has no taste. The gracious server took it back and offer a replacement , by that time it was not worth reordering. He reduced our check by her plate value. Poor Mom had no dinner on mother's day!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Mother's Day location!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day location!

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not as good as past visits

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very disappointing. Steak was tough, salmon was fishy tasting, undercooked Lima beans In the succotash. We have had plenty of lunches that were very good so dinner was a huge diappointed. Maybe cause it was graduation and Mother's Day weekend??.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Vegetarian Friendly!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Something for everyone here! As the vegetarian in our group I chose 3 "sides" that were so generous I could not finish! Especially recommend the roasted mushrooms. Service very professional but friendly as well. Acoustics cause sound to carry but tables are well seperated so noise level not too bad. Cannot wait to go again next time we are in Chapel Hill.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Part of A Southern Season A foodie heaven store

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is part of a store that is Sur La Table on steroids with emphasis on hard to find southern food options and vast selection of food prep materials. At weathervane definetly start with the fried pimento cheese balls no matter what else you are ordering!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch

Dined on April 25, 2016

It was a pleasure, as usual... the nice spring weather helped...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Best grilled cheese ever!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best grilled cheese ever!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great, but could have been even better

Dined on April 22, 2016

The oysters small plate was amazing, and the fried pimento cheese balls were delicious. I'd order both again in a heartbeat. The filet was done just right, but the collards and fingerling potatoes ... well, I hate to say that my family makes them much better. They were a bit bland. I enjoyed the meal, the ambiance and the service, but next time I'll try something different for my main course.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Staff, Great Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

From the time you are greeted until you leave, everything was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great girls' lunch

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful service, excellent food, beautiful outdoor dining space!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Weathervane Disappoints

Dined on April 17, 2016

Weathervane used to be a great restaurant, but based on my last two visits, they've gone downhill. My fried green tomato BLT was just OK and my sweet potato fries were lukewarm - very disappointing. The service was just adequate. The outdoor patio lacks the ambience of the patio at the previous location. All in all, a disappointing, but pricey meal.

food4
ambience4
service4

We went with friends for Sunday brunch. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went with friends for Sunday brunch. Nice variety of items to choose from. Food consistently good as is the service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Brunch Spot

Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been here several times for brunch. It's my "go-to" choice for out of town friends as parking is easy to find, the menu is accommodating of numerous food allergies and requests, and the staff is always friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dependable. My go to choice.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Weathervane is my go to choice for lunch. It is usually not too loud to carry on a conversation. It is easy to park. I frequently choose it for business lunches and the service is always great. I wish the menu varied a bit. I eat there frequently enough that I get tired of the choices. Stir in a bit of the Farmer's Market and some new ideas. Some nice soups would be great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite!

Dined on April 15, 2016

I haven't been to the Weathervane since my high school prom years (early 2000s), but since moving back to NC, my husband and I decided to check it out. It was absolutely worth it! The service was great, the food was outstanding, and the general atmosphere was serene. We ordered the deviled eggs as an appetizer (they were outstanding), and my husband ate the shrimp and grits while I ate the hamburger. Both were fantastic. We also sat outside because the weather was fantastic. All in all, a wonderful experience and a great return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great brunch spot to bring your pup to!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Weathervane was a solid brunch spot, but not out of this world. We loved being able to bring our dog, and the outdoor seating was lovely! Inside was super loud and packed, so we wouldn't have been happy indoors. The hostess was rude and dismissive, but our waiter was nice and very helpful. Apps took forever to come out but were good once they did. Meals were great, but the wait time took away from that a little. Weak Bloody Mary game - something is missing from them that we couldn't put our fingers on.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't wait for the next Wine event!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

My husband and I attended the special Wine Dinner on April 5, as a treat to ourselves. The experience exceeded our expectations. The presentation and the taste of the food were excellent. The service was impeccable, which was no small feat considering there were passed hor d'oeuvres, five courses, and an equal number of generous wine pairings. We enjoyed the opportunity to hear from the chef and the wine distributor. The price was very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.