About Waters Bonnell's Coastal Cuisine

2901 West Crockett Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Chef Bonnell 's latest concept to showcase his passion for and love of seafood.

WATERS Bonnell’s Coastal Cuisine redefines the Fort Worth seafood scene. WATERS’ menu emphasizes wild, seasonal and, most importantly, sustainable seafood. A raw bar lines the main dining room where patrons can sample a vast selection of fresh oysters, clams, shrimp and crab. Chef Bonnell also offers numerous daily specials based on the freshest wild fish available from waters around the world, delivered directly from fishermen.

WATERS captures Chef Bonnell’s famous Fort Worth Fancy atmosphere in one of the city’s liveliest districts and, while seafood is certainlythe restaurant’s signature, the menu will satisfy every palate with game, beef, and vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Wild Game, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: 11am to 10pm
Friday: 11am to 11pm
Saturday: 4pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
Currie

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 984-1110

Website:
http://www.waterstexas.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available, or garage self-parking options available.

Executive Chef:
Jon Bonnell

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waters Bonnell's Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
2 More
Notable Wine List
Fort Worth
Romantic
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Downtown ›

special occasion (56)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (39)
See All
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food, excellent service.

Dined a day ago

Wonderful food, excellent service.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

all three versions of plate of 3 fish wa ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

all three versions of plate of 3 fish was very bland. everything else was as good as exected

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as always. Very atten ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Very attentive service team.

food2
ambience1
service3
value3

Second time not a charm

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had enjoyed our initial visit some months ago and decided to go there again on our anniversary. The drinks, appetizer and salads were great, as remembered. However, someone in the kitchen must have been trying to sabotage the establishment, because our entrees were terribly over-salted. This was very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FIT FOR FOODIES BUT UNPRETENTIOUS

Dined on June 4, 2016

This is a restaurant which takes food preparation and service to the proverbial "next level" but in a way that is relaxed and unpretentious. As the restaurant's name implies, the menu features Texas-Louisiana coastal seafood dishes. However, creative twists are added to traditional coastal seafood recipes, giving the food here a certain "wow" factor--both visually and in taste. Tried two tasty appetizers (specialty oysters and crusted shrimp) followed by a gumbo loaded with fresh ingredients in perfectly executed roux. Entree choice was the Seafood Trio, consisting of mild-to-hot preparations of trout, arctic char, and blackened red fish on one plate (which was huge). Finished with a lemon cheesecake topped with light whipped cream. Only (minor)disappointment: no bread pudding on the night we visited. The outstanding food from the kitchen was matched by the service provided by the attentive and friendly restaurant staff. Kudos to all!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waters hits another home run!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We eat at Water's every couple of months--and as usual, it is wonderful. The food is always fantastic and presentation is great. Waitstaff are attentive, friendly and skilled. What more can you ask for-they hit-a home run every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect for the Seafood Loving Wife

Dined on May 28, 2016

Needed to make plans for a date night birthday dinner for my wife who loves seafood. Just can't go wrong with Chef Bonnell at the helm.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed when we wanted to add three ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Disappointed when we wanted to add three to the six on reservation. Could not do it. Even though when we arrived with the six, the place was almost empty. Not a good sign. Service was very slow and we were disappointed that the dessert which had been so good for my wife in a previous visit was not even on the menu. Prices too high for what we received.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with good friends who had ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great evening with good friends who had never been to your restaurant We have been many times and never disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4

Oyster selection is outstanding. The tu ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Oyster selection is outstanding. The tuna was seared perfectly and paired well with sauce. Bread pudding was to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food incredible. Service exceptional

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

I truly appreciate the extra measures our waitress went to to work with the chef to accommodate my food allergies. They even made exceptiona that went beyond my expectations!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was fine, but not outsta ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This restaurant was fine, but not outstanding. Our server had her script down very well and she was attentive to our needs. We both ordered the sampler trio and we agreed that none of it was "out of this world." The green beans and the cucumber salad were the best things on my plate. The chat was also good. The pecan crusted trout was overcooked and dry and the blackened fish had a sauce that was a little too spicy.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I'll keep this short. The set menu was overall better than I expected. With the exception of the muffins. I thought we'd each get a normal sized one and instead we got a small bowl of minis to share. And it felt like they were being rationed. But no one left hungry and even though they were comically small, the muffins tasted good. Other than that the service was great. The food was great. Everyone enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an enjoyable experience!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We love the fresh seafood. The waitress was very professional and helped make it an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fabulous food & service. Our waiter was 100% accurate on all suggestions. Oysters, yellowfin tuna appetizer, crab cakes, gumbo, salmon....all perfectly prepared & served. Extensive Single malt scotch & wine collection. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Poor flavor

Dined on May 5, 2016

The restaurant has a lovely upscale atmosphere and the service was fine. The food was very disappointing. The trout part of the "pecan crusted trout" was tasteless. The crusted part was a mix of tomatos and some pecans which I would not describe as "crusted" and was over salted. The fried oysters were over salted and over cooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect lunch spot

Dined on April 27, 2016

Looking for a great place to meet a friend and catch up? Waters is the place. Beautiful decor. Unobtrusive and perfectly timed service. The very best seafood preparation and the freshest fish. Absolutely delicious. My friend enjoyed the fresh oyster selection. My healthy & flavorful glazed salmon was fabulous as well. A favorite spot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oyster platter featured 12 different oys ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Oyster platter featured 12 different oysters from northeast and Canada. Delicious!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice evening, great wine recommenda ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very nice evening, great wine recommendation from Brian the barman and food was very high quality. Must have is the lobster mac'n cheese it is a meal by itself.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious! I'm not much of a ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Absolutely delicious! I'm not much of a fish eater, waiter recommended the redfish, it was so tasty!

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful restaurant with great lighting ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great lighting. Food was delicious and well plated. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

Both entrees were outstanding. We got specials but there were items on the menu we would like to try. Wines by the glass were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if ever in the area.... 5 Stars

Dined on April 2, 2016

I attended a conference in the Downtown Fort Worth and have dine in at all of the Downtown restaurants that was recommended to us by our Hotel and the local. E.g. Reata, Daddy Jack, and Mercury Chophouse, to name a few. So a few of my colleague decided to venture out of the Downtown area and tried Waters Bonnell's Coastal is by far one of the best Seafood Restaurant we have ever tried we enjoyed it so much we come back for the second time before our flight out the next morning. The GM Jamie and her staff are outstanding at what they do. I highly recommend this restaurant to all Seafood Lover that are visiting the area. Warmest Aloha! Rupert Rangel M.D.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Not So Much...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Underwhelming as far as the food is concerned. It was good, but not worthy of the expectations. The lobster mac tasted "fishy" and the lobster tail pieces were rubbery, chewy, and extremely poor quality. We sent it back. Definitely a poor excuse for an $18 appetizer at a place that asserts to being upscale. The fish and chips were good, but not the best in the FW area to be sure. To serve fillets (or perhaps just boneless pieces of fish) with the bloodline running through is not the best of presentation, again for a place that alleges itself to be upscale. The BBQ Shrimp however, are keepers on the entree' menu. As is the jalapeno remoulade sauce for the fish and chips, if for no other reason than to mask the blood line. Service was outstanding, and in keeping with what an upscale dining experience should warrant. From the hostess, to the server, to all the wait staff...it was fabulous. If only the food could withstand such accolades. Sadly, no.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A great fine dining experience in Fort Worth !

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We are fairly new residents . This is truly a great find for u. Excellent service , good food and very nice ambiance. A great fine dining experience in Fort Worth !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Took 20 minutes to get our cocktails, my ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Took 20 minutes to get our cocktails, my husband had to send his back bc it was so awful(waitress said she was helping bartender bc he was busy, waitress put ground salt on my Caesar salad instead of fresh pepper, took an additional 15 minutes to get new cocktail for my husband....there were only (4) other couples eating in restaurant......manager just offered to comp our cocktails & send out a slice of cheesecake! REALLY! We told them we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary ...they should have comped our entire meal & offered us a do over,......ruined an anticipated memorable evening ...will never go back & will share our poor experience with everyone one we meet!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent. Will be ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Will be back, for sure.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Spectacular Flavor

Dined on March 6, 2016

Parking is easy with validated valet service. Food is perfectly prepared and absolutely delicious with very generous portion sizes that are well worth the price. However service is lacking, our server was unable to offer any knowledge of the dinner menu and provided the absolute minimum in table service. We observed other very competent servers so it is possible it was just an off day for ours. I would recommend this restaurant to others, however I do not plan to return for dinner but would not rule out returning for happy hour to enjoy the incredible oyster selection.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Cuisine was wxcellent. Shrimp and Grits ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Cuisine was wxcellent. Shrimp and Grits with butter sauce was "melt in yo mouth" delicious. Jordan our server was top drawer. She really knows her craft.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love this place. 3rd time there!

Dined on February 26, 2016

We love this place. We have been at least three times and each time it is outstanding. We typically order the ahi tuna tartare as our appetizer. It is always a hit. This time we ordered a special appetizer of salmon. It was good, but I'm going back to the tartare! Soups are good. Enjoyed the cream of celery, but the cream of zucchini which was featured last fall was AWESOME! Typically order something from the specials menu for the entree and it is always a hit. Love the freshness of the seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always. The right amount of ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Awesome as always. The right amount of service without intrusion.💗

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Normally one of our favorite restaurants ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Normally one of our favorite restaurants to eat and entertain. This last visit was okay, but definitely not up to their usual standards. We had a very nice waitress but she was clearly overwhelmed by the number of tables. They may have been shorthanded. When looking to see where she was you got the sense that every other table in the restaurant was looking for their waiter or waitress. Appetizers and food was only semi-warm. Ordered cobbler for dessert and by the time it came the whipped cream (was supposed to be ice cream) was melted and it was like soup. Again waitress was doing all she could and gets 5 stars but was disappointed for the first time ever at this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

waters for 4

Dined on February 21, 2016

overall experience was really good. whole fried red snapper was excellent along with calamari strips with a light jalapeno cream sauce. mixed drinks at 9 bucks a pop a little high.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First Time Diner

Dined on February 18, 2016

Took my daughter on a quiet Wednesday night, less than 10 other patrons when we arrived. Pleasant ambiance and decor. For apps we had the Texasfeller oysters and Ahi Tuna Tartare; the former was one of two memorable bites of the evening, the latter was tasty enough but a victim of preference. Also, there has to be something other than the wontons that would be a clever crunch. Entrees were the Shrimp & Grits, Pecan/Pesto trout, and a side of Lobster Mac & Cheese...which proved to be the second of two memorable bites. While the Shrimp & Grits dish was overall tasty, the shrimp was a just slightly rubbery, mere tens of seconds overdone. For my own palette, the presence of jalapeño was barely noticeable. The dish was piping hot when it arrived and waiting for it to cool was laborious for the impatient. My daughter thought the fish was delicious, but wasn't a fan of the polenta (though I consumed what she left behind). That Mac & Cheese though...simply delicious. Nothing on the dessert menu was particularly eye catching, so we had some milk shakes at In-N-Out.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The restaurant is gorgeous. The food was ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

The restaurant is gorgeous. The food was outstanding. Pricey, but worth it. The oysters Texasfeller were amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing dinner! Took my wife here for Valentine's. Every course was outstanding. The Waghu steak was flavorful and tender. My wife loves the Cobia fish. The service was perfect too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Valentines

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had great expectations for my first visit. Granted, it was a fixed menu so my opinions should be limited. Some dishes were awesome. Appetizer and salads were pretty good. Both main courses were average or below. The fish wash very fishy indicating it wasn't fresh. The steak was just not worth the cost even remotely. Dessert was great. Service was great. Atmosphere was great.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Expensive

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed everything about Waters. It was our first time there, food was great and the service top notch. When we got the bill we both said that we'd never come back because even though all was good it is not worth the price. We've always gone to The Capital Grille for special occasions and could have eaten twice there for what we paid.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service! Great Food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day a day early and we truly enjoyed our meal because of our awesome server, Corin. We had special dietary needs and she was truly accommodating...you have a gem of an employee there! Seafood was delish, truly enjoyed the ahi tuna starter!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great food. great bar deals and bar serv ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

great food. great bar deals and bar service. dining room service needs a little more polish.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.