About Waters Bonnell's Coastal Cuisine

2901 West Crockett Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Chef Bonnell 's latest concept to showcase his passion for and love of seafood.

WATERS Bonnell’s Coastal Cuisine redefines the Fort Worth seafood scene. WATERS’ menu emphasizes wild, seasonal and, most importantly, sustainable seafood. A raw bar lines the main dining room where patrons can sample a vast selection of fresh oysters, clams, shrimp and crab. Chef Bonnell also offers numerous daily specials based on the freshest wild fish available from waters around the world, delivered directly from fishermen.

WATERS captures Chef Bonnell’s famous Fort Worth Fancy atmosphere in one of the city’s liveliest districts and, while seafood is certainlythe restaurant’s signature, the menu will satisfy every palate with game, beef, and vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Wild Game, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: 11am to 10pm
Friday: 11am to 11pm
Saturday: 4pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
Currie

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 984-1110

Website:
http://www.waterstexas.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available, or garage self-parking options available.

Executive Chef:
Jon Bonnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waters Bonnell's Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
2 More
Romantic
Fort Worth
Special Occasion
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Downtown ›

Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, food and ambience were outsta ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always, food and ambience were outstanding. This is one of my most favorite places to eat. I love oysters on the half-shell and they have the very best!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to get a lady visit in before the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wanted to get a lady visit in before they close for relocation. Oysters Texafeller are always wonderful. I had the special fish on mushroom rice with Japanese veggies. Very good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waters will be taking a break to move lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waters will be taking a break to move locations, so glad we went before their hiatus. If you love oysters the "Dirty Dozen" is for you. We have had so many different oysters in this lineup, so fun to try them all, and see if my tastebuds agree with the menu descriptions. We have had several other seafood items here, and the trout is good too, but it is the oysters we come back for. Service is courteous and prompt. Atmosphere quiet, will be eager to see what the new location is like next year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great oysters, cold beer, service was ex ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great oysters, cold beer, service was excellent. Will go back for their oyster happy hour but don't think I will have an entree again. Lobster tail was tough and took way to long for meal to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Was disappointed with my experience, app ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Was disappointed with my experience, appetizer was not what was described to us by the waiter, bread was served when we were done with dinner, I ordered 9 oysters only six was brought to me, I sent it back because two of those oysters were so tiny not worth $3, fish and chips were too oily and not hot. It was our anniversary dinner and we weren't asked if we had a special occasion or anything. Waiter was friendly but needs more training for such fine establishment. Oysters were fresh and delicious though once I got my order corrected. Waited did comp us on the dessert which was tasty as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very inconsistent food. The Oysters Tex ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very inconsistent food. The Oysters Texasfeller, a Bonnell's staple, was outstanding, as was the Ahi Tuna Tartare, so the meal started off well. My wife had the Jalapeño Salmon which was as good as any salmon she's ever had. The rest of her plate was disappointing, however, as it came with potato hash, but she had to search through a large quantity of onions and peppers to find the few miniscule bites of potatoes there were. The size of the brocolini serving was way overboard, as a party of four could have shared it. I had the Crab Cakes which were the exact opposite of my wife's salmon ... as good as her's was ... mine was some of the worst I've ever eaten. The cakes were extremely dry, as though they had sat under a lamp for a long period of time, and even neglecting the dryness, it seemed not a single spice had been used in the breading mix, so dry and bland, not a good combination. The new potatoes and green beans, despite the french name given them, were potatoes and green beans, not much different, if at all, than you might get from a much lower priced restaurant. The bread that was served with the meal, was served without butter, which was a mistake because the first, and only, bite I took was even drier than the crab cakes. So in summary, the food was either outstanding or completely underwhelming, so I'm not sure if I'd consider the risk to pray I'd find one of the wonderful items or one of the lesser ones.

Incidentally, it would be a disservice to neglect to mention the impeccible service, attentive and friendly, the only even slight negative I could think of is that no one even questioned why my entre was barely touched before they took it away.

My opinion? If you like gambling, this is a great spot, just be aware that you're just as likely to go bust in your choice as hit the jackpot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This was my second time to this resturan ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was my second time to this resturant.

This occasion was 16th anniversary .

The food is out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend! Interesting menu and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Highly recommend! Interesting menu and delicious food. Loved the coconut shrimp appetizer. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very neat location in the Ft. Worth area ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very neat location in the Ft. Worth area. It was a little different than I had expected. Coastal cuisine is not necessary "Gulf Coast." My fault for not understanding that. Nice variety of raw oysters.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Would definitely recommend the tuna tart ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Would definitely recommend the tuna tartare and the seafood gumbo. Their wine selection is quite extensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional creativity and deliciousness ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Exceptional creativity and deliciousness. Our service was impeccable. Thank you Jon Bonnel. We are lucky to have you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous meal! Everything was w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another fabulous meal! Everything was wonderful and we love everything Texas and Fort Worth. We will be back soon😀

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was Delicious and the food port ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was Delicious and the food portion was huge!The service was impeccable. I will definitely be back. I also was impressed that, the chef came out and talked with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing stone crab claws.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing stone crab claws.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We visited Waters for a special occasion ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We visited Waters for a special occasion and were impressed with the menu, service, and friendliness of the staff. The recommended wine was excellent and all of the diners were impressed. The kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate our customized requests on the menu without hesitation. We also enjoyed the atmosphere with the great views of the busy 7th street area and still being quiet enough to enjoy conversation without having to yell at each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Waters and i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our first visit to Waters and it was delightful. The dining room is large and open and well-lit with a beautiful mobile hanging above us made what looks like fishing lures, I believe. A column filled with oyster shells also added interest to the setting. They were very friendly and welcoming as we entered as though they'd been eagerly expecting us and had a card signed by each of the personnel on our table wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The menu was also interesting and reasonably priced since sides are included in the price of the entree. We both had and enjoyed the Smoked Jalapeno Honey-glazed Salmon with the potato, bacon & poblano hash. The atmosphere was calm and pleasant. We also loved our server, Angela. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my patents there for their 48th Wed ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Took my patents there for their 48th Wedding Anniversary. They had a great time! overall the experience was great, but the sausage was over cooked, and the waiter forgot to bring the chillers for the white wine bottles that were ordered. The restaurant is in a great location with a vibrant area for strolls after dinner.

Again overall: great time was had by all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful food, excellent service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

all three versions of plate of 3 fish wa ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

all three versions of plate of 3 fish was very bland. everything else was as good as exected

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent as always. Very atten ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Very attentive service team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time not a charm

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had enjoyed our initial visit some months ago and decided to go there again on our anniversary. The drinks, appetizer and salads were great, as remembered. However, someone in the kitchen must have been trying to sabotage the establishment, because our entrees were terribly over-salted. This was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

FIT FOR FOODIES BUT UNPRETENTIOUS

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This is a restaurant which takes food preparation and service to the proverbial "next level" but in a way that is relaxed and unpretentious. As the restaurant's name implies, the menu features Texas-Louisiana coastal seafood dishes. However, creative twists are added to traditional coastal seafood recipes, giving the food here a certain "wow" factor--both visually and in taste. Tried two tasty appetizers (specialty oysters and crusted shrimp) followed by a gumbo loaded with fresh ingredients in perfectly executed roux. Entree choice was the Seafood Trio, consisting of mild-to-hot preparations of trout, arctic char, and blackened red fish on one plate (which was huge). Finished with a lemon cheesecake topped with light whipped cream. Only (minor)disappointment: no bread pudding on the night we visited. The outstanding food from the kitchen was matched by the service provided by the attentive and friendly restaurant staff. Kudos to all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waters hits another home run!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We eat at Water's every couple of months--and as usual, it is wonderful. The food is always fantastic and presentation is great. Waitstaff are attentive, friendly and skilled. What more can you ask for-they hit-a home run every time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for the Seafood Loving Wife

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Needed to make plans for a date night birthday dinner for my wife who loves seafood. Just can't go wrong with Chef Bonnell at the helm.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed when we wanted to add three ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Disappointed when we wanted to add three to the six on reservation. Could not do it. Even though when we arrived with the six, the place was almost empty. Not a good sign. Service was very slow and we were disappointed that the dessert which had been so good for my wife in a previous visit was not even on the menu. Prices too high for what we received.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great evening with good friends who had ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great evening with good friends who had never been to your restaurant We have been many times and never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oyster selection is outstanding. The tu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Oyster selection is outstanding. The tuna was seared perfectly and paired well with sauce. Bread pudding was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food incredible. Service exceptional

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I truly appreciate the extra measures our waitress went to to work with the chef to accommodate my food allergies. They even made exceptiona that went beyond my expectations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was fine, but not outsta ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This restaurant was fine, but not outstanding. Our server had her script down very well and she was attentive to our needs. We both ordered the sampler trio and we agreed that none of it was "out of this world." The green beans and the cucumber salad were the best things on my plate. The chat was also good. The pecan crusted trout was overcooked and dry and the blackened fish had a sauce that was a little too spicy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I'll keep this short. The set menu was overall better than I expected. With the exception of the muffins. I thought we'd each get a normal sized one and instead we got a small bowl of minis to share. And it felt like they were being rationed. But no one left hungry and even though they were comically small, the muffins tasted good. Other than that the service was great. The food was great. Everyone enjoyed it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an enjoyable experience!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We love the fresh seafood. The waitress was very professional and helped make it an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Fabulous food & service. Our waiter was 100% accurate on all suggestions. Oysters, yellowfin tuna appetizer, crab cakes, gumbo, salmon....all perfectly prepared & served. Extensive Single malt scotch & wine collection. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor flavor

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The restaurant has a lovely upscale atmosphere and the service was fine. The food was very disappointing. The trout part of the "pecan crusted trout" was tasteless. The crusted part was a mix of tomatos and some pecans which I would not describe as "crusted" and was over salted.

The fried oysters were over salted and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfect lunch spot

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Looking for a great place to meet a friend and catch up? Waters is the place. Beautiful decor. Unobtrusive and perfectly timed service. The very best seafood preparation and the freshest fish. Absolutely delicious. My friend enjoyed the fresh oyster selection. My healthy & flavorful glazed salmon was fabulous as well. A favorite spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oyster platter featured 12 different oys ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Oyster platter featured 12 different oysters from northeast and Canada. Delicious!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice evening, great wine recommenda ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very nice evening, great wine recommendation from Brian the barman and food was very high quality. Must have is the lobster mac'n cheese it is a meal by itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely delicious! I'm not much of a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Absolutely delicious! I'm not much of a fish eater, waiter recommended the redfish, it was so tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant with great lighting ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great lighting. Food was delicious and well plated. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Both entrees were outstanding. We got specials but there were items on the menu we would like to try. Wines by the glass were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must if ever in the area.... 5 Stars

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I attended a conference in the Downtown Fort Worth and have dine in at all of the Downtown restaurants that was recommended to us by our Hotel and the local. E.g. Reata, Daddy Jack, and Mercury Chophouse, to name a few. So a few of my colleague decided to venture out of the Downtown area and tried Waters Bonnell's Coastal is by far one of the best Seafood Restaurant we have ever tried we enjoyed it so much we come back for the second time before our flight out the next morning. The GM Jamie and her staff are outstanding at what they do. I highly recommend this restaurant to all Seafood Lover that are visiting the area.

Warmest Aloha!

Rupert Rangel M.D.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.