Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Waterfront Wines

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: (250) 979-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Organic (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tapas (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Another lovely dinner with friends. Great food and service. A bit noisy.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great dinner. Good wine. Nice Scotch. Cheese plate is a must.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was excellent, and service was very good. We would totally go back again. The beef was so wonderful, and the pickled herring appetizer was very good. Greta selection of cheese's as well. The blue cheese was excellent as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Waterfront Wines is a jewel in Kelowna. Great food, service, and ambiance. You can't go wrong here. Enjoyed every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This was my second time at Waterfront Wines and they didn't fail to impress. Great staff and fantastic food. It can be somewhat noisy in this restaurant, but it's just the nature of the acoustics and certainly nothing that would stop me from going back. We love this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent, high priced, food and wine bistro. Too cramped for business and/or personal conversation. Well located and grade A service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had the pleasure of celebrating our 5 year anniversary at Waterfront Wines. We heard nothing but great reviews so we had to try it out for ourselves. We made a reso on OpenTable and were escorted right to our table as soon as we entered. The service was incredible. Our server took the time to explain the specials and took some extra time explaining some items on the menu we were not familiar with. She never let our wine glasses go empty, which should be worth 6 stars! From our delicious cheese plate, through our entrees and even through our apple pie dessert, everything was top notch. We will spread the good word about this restaurant and hope who ever reads this feels the same! Thanks Waterfront Wines for making our special day even better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant has amazing food that is very carefully designed and presented. I will note that the wine prices at this restaurant are very expensive. Some wines are priced almost 4 times what would spend in the liquor store for them.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful !!! Great food, impeccable service and very nice ambiance. Thanks so much.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The both of us thoroughly enjoyed the food, it was outstanding. The service was excellent. There is no question that we will be back again in the future and this time we will bring our friends. Thank you. Xavier Nitti

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very accomadating. Got stuck in traffic and were 45 minutes late . The meal was fabulous

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We always go to Waterfront for special occasions.It is my wife's favourite place to go.Our meals were wonderful and the service was spot on. We always recommend waterfront to our out of town guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I took advantage of the Wine and Dine promotion. A three course selection for a set price. It was one of the top meals we've had. Flavors, presentation and serving size were spot on. My only negative is the seating in the restaurant. The tables are too close and you can hear others' conversations or like our table, continual people going by to the restrooms and server's station.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waterfront Wines was recommended to us so we tried it out for Dine Around Okanagan. Overall very good. The food we both had was excellent - all three courses. For me the atmosphere was too casual for a high price range restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Never fails to please.. Creatvive and well executed dihes. Godd portions, excellent service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our first time at Waterfront and we were delighted. The Sweetbreads were delicious as was the fish. Our waiter was attentive and yet discreet. I will most definitely tell friends to go to Waterfront and will return myself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Waterfront Wines was the perfect setting in every way for a marriage proposal. The service, menu and ambiance were so enjoyable and the staff went out of there way to ensure everything was perfect, including responding to a special request for the evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The most recent dinner my wife and I enjoyed at Waterfront Wines, for my birthday, was very good but not up to the standard of previous meals I've eaten here, which I would rate as outstanding. The mussels we had for an appetizer were excellent but both of our entrees - pork and trout - fell a bit short in terms of both flavour and presentation, at least based on my expectations for this restaurant. The service was excellent, except for a half-hour wait for a simple dessert - creme brulee. Our enjoyment was also compromised by a loud, obnoxious guest at a nearby table. I'll likely return, but probably not for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The quality of food was very, very mediocre (to be politically correct).
The appetizer (sweetbread) was dry and overcooked, the steak as main course was a cheap and tough piece of meet and the dessert was basically a sugar cream.
Paying $85 for this dinner and
one person (including one glass of wine) is a bad joke.
Sorry, but due to my work I am travelling a lot in NA and Europe, which requires eating in all kind of restaurants, but this meal was not worth the money. In fact I would not try it again, even if I would get paid for doing so.
An evening not worth remembering - until I'll see my credit card statement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Would like 1/2 carafe choice on wines. My second class of wine had more wine than the first! Food was great, we had a three course meal and all came in timely manner with great presentation on the plate.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Even though the restaurant is small it has incredible service wonderful menu and mouthwatering dishes, kind of dishes and making want to lick the plate when you're done and I'm not just talking about the desert. Certainly not the cheapest place to eat but worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They know how much o cook fish. So often in non-coastal towns, fish is regularly ruined by over-cooking. Their steelhead troup, much like salmon was really perfect. Actually, so was everything else.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This restaurant/chef was recommended in an article from Okanagan Life Magazine and my relatives who live in Kelowna also love to dine here. We were not disappointed in the least. The food was prepared beautifully and the service was great. It's a bit loud if you are seated near the kitchen, but nothing un reasonable. I would highly recommend this place to those who value high quality food served in a cozy, modern establishment. Thanks, and we'll be back again for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I go there once a year to remind myself that Bouchons is still the best restaurant in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food very creative and service high quality. Portions generous. Casual atmosphere makes for relaxing dinner. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Waterfront Wines is one of my all-time favourite restaurants. I love the innovative use of diverse tastes, textures and ingredients to form unique dishes. The service is excellent, personal and attentive without being over-evasive.
No matter the preferences of the group, we each found options that were completely delicious and just what we wanted.
This is the place I bring local and out-of-town friends and family to proudly share the wondrousness that is Waterfront Wines.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A foodie place with great atmosphere and ambiance.

Sleek restaurant, great selection of wines, food is of great quality, but not quite excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Wonderful relaxing dinner! The food was amazing as was our server

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Enjoyed sitting at the table by the open kitchen. Impressive to see the chef himself doing the dishes. The wait staff also tend the bar, so everyone seems to pitch in wherever needed. Fun to watch the action.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We are locals and this is our absolute favorite restaurant in Kelowna... we are always blown away by the quality of service and food! Haven't tasted anything better in the whole valley!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food quality was very mediocre. Service was OK but nothing special. Ambience was poor. Rough looking place ... not looking high end nor romantic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing evweytime ive been there. Small and intimate. Not a child friendly place. Me and my husband go there for date night or special occasion. Food is always amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the four meals was cold, however the server was excellent. Tapas plate was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service were good but menu was limited for choices, there was no pasta, no chicken only 1 fish option. I'd suggest an expanded menu on the entree side would be a good bet.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Nice overall experience. The waitstaff was excellent and the food was very well prepared. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 12, 2016

the food was excellent - the seasonal mushroom on baguette appetizer was delicious, and the duck, as the main course, was absolutely delightful.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful place to have a great dinner. Makes for a great date night destination. I will definitely be going back, great location in a quieter part of downtown Kelowna.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Complete joke! Dirty wine glass to begin, undercooked fish with bones for dinner. Plating looked like my four year old took over. Don't waste your time going to this wildly over hyped establishment if you have any desire for a quality culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were looking forward to repeating a satisfying experience we'd had in the past at this Resturant, however, it was not to be. We both had their special Caesar Salad which was dripping and more of an anchovie Salad. Our Mains were Lamb for me and Duck for my husband. They were served barely warm and very rare...so rare as tro upset my husband's stomach. Presentation was unappetizing. Service was fine.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Been there many times. the food and service has always been excellent.
Peter J

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.