About Waterfront Wines

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: 2509791222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Waterfront Wines
Waterfront Wines

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
5 More
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

fit for foodies (75)
notable wine list (59)
special occasion (57)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
romantic (33)
great for outdoor dining (23)
hot spot (22)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our experience at Waterfront Wines could ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience at Waterfront Wines could not have been better. We had heard that this restaurant, owned by Mark Filatow, was outstanding so we booked it for our 32nd year anniversary dinner - it definitely did not disappoint! They didn't know that it was our anniversary initially but they gave us the most romantic table in the restaurant - very much appreciated! Whether special occasion or casual occasion, we would recommend Waterfront Wines to everyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised to fin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this restaurant . Each course was wonderful. The service was as good as the wine list. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Murray

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. The food w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was outstanding. The food was well prepared and the tastes were great. Would recommend the Steelhead Trout over the Halibut (mustard sauce was a bit overpowering).

is a energetic setting in the heart of Kelowna's Downtown. This was our second visit and we will be back a gain.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food service wine and atmosphere ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing food service wine and atmosphere loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Server Allison was true pro...great sugg ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Server Allison was true pro...great suggestions, knowledgeable about local wines, prompt, fun...perfect. Hubbie had the lamb, I had halibut. Fish was a little too salty, but the potatoes and veggies that came with it were delicious, perfectly cooked. Highly recommend, especially for foodies and folks who like to share good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very artistic presentation on the plate, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very artistic presentation on the plate, and the food was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a great dining experience. We es ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was a great dining experience. We especially liked the cheese platter option. I enjoyed the selection of wines.

The food was good, my fish was a bit too salty, but I find that is normal for Kelowna restaurants.

My only negative was the table had a few crumbs on it when we sat down which were never cleaned; and the cutlery when being replaced was placed directly on the table plastic place mats which should not be done in a finer dining situation

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Waterfront Wines continues to be our fav ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Waterfront Wines continues to be our favorite spot when we visit Kelowna. It is like home...the staff all remember you and are extremely knowledgeable about food and wine....as well as being very professional and truly nice people. Chef Mark's food is always fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated on time (thanks Open Table), know ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Seated on time (thanks Open Table), knowledgeable wait staff, & excellent presentation. A must when in Kelowna.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made a reservation for a big group, a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We made a reservation for a big group, and the service was amazing! The food was incredibly delicious and the selection pleased everybody. If I ever go back to Kelowna I would definitely return to this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Our guests said it was the b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great meal. Our guests said it was the best duck breast they've ever had. My wife had the hanger steak which she loved and I had the steelhead trout with a miso hollandaise that was excellent. Our waiter Ian was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and the wine pairings. You must try this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waterfront Wines offers exquisite cuisin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Waterfront Wines offers exquisite cuisine. Everything is presented artfully and tastes divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Its an amazing experience EVERYTIME. It ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Its an amazing experience EVERYTIME. It's always nice to have a restaurant which you know will consistently provide amazing service and quality food at a decent price. If you're in Kelowna, make sure it a priority. Special shout out to Ian!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! This was a wonderful dining experie ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wow! This was a wonderful dining experience from the octopus and squid starter to the salmon and trout main courses. The vegetables were fresh and the sauce exquisite. We went with the recommended wine, a local Pinot Blanc, that was fantastic. One of the best dining experiences my wife and I have had in years and we eat out frequently. Kudos to the chef and staff for a memorable night.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary with a won ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary with a wonderful dining experience. The dishes were beautifully presented and hubby loved the Inside Out Ravioli starter. I swooned over the, "life changing mashed potatoes," that came with my steak. Had a glass of Orofino's Cabernet Sauvignon Glorious! Service was top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Service was fantastic and the food was s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was superb. We enjoyed our evening. Only downside was being seated at a small two person table right smack next to another two person table. We were so close we felt like we were part of the table next to ours conversation and it was very distracting.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The meal and service was exceptional. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The meal and service was exceptional. We find the atmosphere so relaxing! We had a very enjoyable meal

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great surprise restaurant in Kelowna. G ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great surprise restaurant in Kelowna.

Great Chefs.

We ordered Elk tartar and Duck . Amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as always. N ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. Never disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a beautiful meal on a rainy night in ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a beautiful meal on a rainy night in Kelowna . My trout was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every we come to Kelowna we visit Water ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Every we come to Kelowna we visit Waterfront Wines at least once. The food is excellent and the service friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service with casual ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food and service with casual ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really good food and service tables a li ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Really good food and service tables a little tight and a bit noisy but overall great

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been a number of times. Was rath ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been a number of times. Was rather disappointed this time. The meat dishes were over cooked and dry. Accompanying veggies / starch were quite heavy for a summer plate. As always, the staff was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Hands-down our favourite local restauran ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Hands-down our favourite local restaurant. The service and food are impeccable. The wine choices are always changing and lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last minute drop in

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Was in Kelowna for a one day and decided to try here because we were wait listed on two other restaurants in the DT area. The food was really good, octopus / calamari was done exceptionally well. Very tender. The inner décor was less than desirable. Felt old and dated. Furniture looked like leftover diner tables and chairs. The food is would make me a return customer. Otherwise would likely consider going somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

When in Kelowna...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Such a special spot. Reservations are a must. Small menu indicates that all dishes are carefully created and of excellent quality. Simply delicious...as is the wine :) Perfect spot to celebrate special occasions. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little salty

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Cozy place. We had a cheese plate to start which was quite nice. The flatiron steak for a main. While it was cooked to perfection, it was over salted by the chef and almost inedible. Service was good

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful again

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great service and delivered tasy food on plates. Seasonal menu prepared very well. Am a regular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I dont have anything bad to say at all! Great food, great wine, great service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was fantastic! Restaurant wa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server was fantastic! Restaurant was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our meals and the se ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We absolutely loved our meals and the service could not have been better. Also, discovered a new favorite wine from Intersection ... ymmm

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Special for that night was Lamb and it i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Special for that night was Lamb and it is the best, melts in your mouth and tasty

My wife orders the halibut and was never disappointed. We cleaned up plates.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Weekend away

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Food and service were good. Not a super fan of the lentil crochettes with the halibut but my husband liked them. Dessert was excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent meal with great service. Thanks!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Main course was delicious. We ordered th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Main course was delicious. We ordered the flat iron angus steak and trout with miso hollandaise. Definitely reccomend WW to anyone looking for a great meal in Kelowna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty food but very small and exceedingl ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Tasty food but very small and exceedingly noisy inside. Try to get an outside table or skip it. Also not a 'waterfront' restaurant, is street facing with no water in sight.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Creativity and value were lacking to the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Creativity and value were lacking to the vegan dinner prepared. The Steak dinner lacked vegetables and was given a bread knife to cut steak with (steak was cold and rubbery). Small and very very loud. Couldn't have a conversation with the people dining in your party but could hear the other people two feet on either side of you. Nothing extraordinary at all here.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.