About Waterfront Wines

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: (250) 979-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Waterfront Wines, Kelowna, BC

Report a photo problem

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Organic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great Beer (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waterfront Wines was the perfect setting ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Waterfront Wines was the perfect setting in every way for a marriage proposal. The service, menu and ambiance were so enjoyable and the staff went out of there way to ensure everything was perfect, including responding to a special request for the evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most recent dinner my wife and I enj ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

The most recent dinner my wife and I enjoyed at Waterfront Wines, for my birthday, was very good but not up to the standard of previous meals I've eaten here, which I would rate as outstanding. The mussels we had for an appetizer were excellent but both of our entrees - pork and trout - fell a bit short in terms of both flavour and presentation, at least based on my expectations for this restaurant. The service was excellent, except for a half-hour wait for a simple dessert - creme brulee. Our enjoyment was also compromised by a loud, obnoxious guest at a nearby table. I'll likely return, but probably not for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The quality of food was very, very medio ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The quality of food was very, very mediocre (to be politically correct).

The appetizer (sweetbread) was dry and overcooked, the steak as main course was a cheap and tough piece of meet and the dessert was basically a sugar cream.

Paying $85 for this dinner and

one person (including one glass of wine) is a bad joke.

Sorry, but due to my work I am travelling a lot in NA and Europe, which requires eating in all kind of restaurants, but this meal was not worth the money. In fact I would not try it again, even if I would get paid for doing so.

An evening not worth remembering - until I'll see my credit card statement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Would like 1/2 carafe choice on wines. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Would like 1/2 carafe choice on wines. My second class of wine had more wine than the first! Food was great, we had a three course meal and all came in timely manner with great presentation on the plate.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Even though the restaurant is small it h ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Even though the restaurant is small it has incredible service wonderful menu and mouthwatering dishes, kind of dishes and making want to lick the plate when you're done and I'm not just talking about the desert. Certainly not the cheapest place to eat but worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They know how much o cook fish. So often ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They know how much o cook fish. So often in non-coastal towns, fish is regularly ruined by over-cooking. Their steelhead troup, much like salmon was really perfect. Actually, so was everything else.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant/chef was recommended in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This restaurant/chef was recommended in an article from Okanagan Life Magazine and my relatives who live in Kelowna also love to dine here. We were not disappointed in the least. The food was prepared beautifully and the service was great. It's a bit loud if you are seated near the kitchen, but nothing un reasonable. I would highly recommend this place to those who value high quality food served in a cozy, modern establishment. Thanks, and we'll be back again for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I go there once a year to remind myself ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I go there once a year to remind myself that Bouchons is still the best restaurant in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food very creative and service high qual ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food very creative and service high quality. Portions generous. Casual atmosphere makes for relaxing dinner. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Waterfront Wines is one of my all-time f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Waterfront Wines is one of my all-time favourite restaurants. I love the innovative use of diverse tastes, textures and ingredients to form unique dishes. The service is excellent, personal and attentive without being over-evasive.

No matter the preferences of the group, we each found options that were completely delicious and just what we wanted.

This is the place I bring local and out-of-town friends and family to proudly share the wondrousness that is Waterfront Wines.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A foodie place with great atmosphere and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A foodie place with great atmosphere and ambiance.

Sleek restaurant, great selection of wines, food is of great quality, but not quite excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful relaxing dinner! The food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Wonderful relaxing dinner! The food was amazing as was our server

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed sitting at the table by the open ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Enjoyed sitting at the table by the open kitchen. Impressive to see the chef himself doing the dishes. The wait staff also tend the bar, so everyone seems to pitch in wherever needed. Fun to watch the action.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are locals and this is our absolute f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We are locals and this is our absolute favorite restaurant in Kelowna... we are always blown away by the quality of service and food! Haven't tasted anything better in the whole valley!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality was very mediocre. Service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food quality was very mediocre. Service was OK but nothing special. Ambience was poor. Rough looking place ... not looking high end nor romantic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Amazing evweytime ive been there. Small ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing evweytime ive been there. Small and intimate. Not a child friendly place. Me and my husband go there for date night or special occasion. Food is always amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the four meals was cold, however ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the four meals was cold, however the server was excellent. Tapas plate was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were good but menu was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service were good but menu was limited for choices, there was no pasta, no chicken only 1 fish option. I'd suggest an expanded menu on the entree side would be a good bet.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice overall experience. The waitstaff w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Nice overall experience. The waitstaff was excellent and the food was very well prepared. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the food was excellent - the seasonal mu ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 12, 2016

the food was excellent - the seasonal mushroom on baguette appetizer was delicious, and the duck, as the main course, was absolutely delightful.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful place to have a great dinner. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful place to have a great dinner. Makes for a great date night destination. I will definitely be going back, great location in a quieter part of downtown Kelowna.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete joke! Dirty wine glass to begi ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Complete joke! Dirty wine glass to begin, undercooked fish with bones for dinner. Plating looked like my four year old took over. Don't waste your time going to this wildly over hyped establishment if you have any desire for a quality culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

We were looking forward to repeating a s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were looking forward to repeating a satisfying experience we'd had in the past at this Resturant, however, it was not to be. We both had their special Caesar Salad which was dripping and more of an anchovie Salad. Our Mains were Lamb for me and Duck for my husband. They were served barely warm and very rare...so rare as tro upset my husband's stomach. Presentation was unappetizing. Service was fine.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Been there many times. the food and ser ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Been there many times. the food and service has always been excellent.

Peter J

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic meal with Back Hand of God bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic meal with Back Hand of God beer on tap. Excellent night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waterfront Wines always offer creative s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waterfront Wines always offer creative seasonal dishes. The wine list offers some of the best wines available in the Okanagan valley.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right on time . Hostess w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were seated right on time . Hostess was very friendly and informative ...great with her recommendations. Tapas plate was enjoyable . Loved the jus on the steak and the veggies were a nice medley of flavours and colour . The creme brule a nice way to finish off the meal . We also enjoyed the beer and wine selected . A tad pricey for what you get was the only downside to the evening .

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We are in Kelowna on business have been ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We are in Kelowna on business have been to Waterfront Wines twice in 2 weeks. Wonderful food with such a strong emphasis on local produce and matching wines. It is also my local restaurant while staying in the city. The staff know their stuff and the service has always been exceptional. Although in the upper bracket re cost subject to the type and quantity of wine consumed, it's well worth it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great option for a Tapas style meal

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great option for a Tapas style meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The first time i visited Waterfront Wine ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The first time i visited Waterfront Wines, the specials were phenomenal. This time, they SOUNDED phenomenal. But they sold out within half an hour of us being there so that was pretty disappointing. The wine selection wasn't as good as last time, but the food was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service with five star food. N ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent service with five star food. New favourite dinner spot in Kelowna. Fresh, Local, romantic and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Private Room, Happy Hour, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Organic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate a girlfriends ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were there to celebrate a girlfriends 60th. Food was absolutely fantastic!! Excellent service.

Wine choice delightful. It would have been nice if we were offered something as part of our celebration ie glass of proseco, dessert for the birthday girl.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a wonderful evening celebrating o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening celebrating our Anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our meal here - real ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We absolutely loved our meal here - really inventive cooking with fresh, authentic ingredients. The service was also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I were in Kelowna for a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My daughter and I were in Kelowna for a visit and decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal. I had gone on line to see "best resteraunts" and Waterfront came up on top. I booked reservations (I recommend you do that). The day of our dinner I happened to read reviews and many of them were negative. We almost cancelled our reservation. We decided to go ahead anyway. The meal was fabulous! The key thing I think you need to know is it is expensive! Someone had made that comment earlier and it was spot on! If you're thinking it's a $$ it's not and I think you would be disappointed or worried about how much things are costing which would detract from the experience. However if you are prepared for an expensive meal it's totally worth it! We had a Chacuterie Board to start. I highly recommend it but add 3 cheeses. Our server made great recommendations. Then I ordered the Wagu steak special and my daughter ordered the Flank Steak (chefs signature dish) Her's was better than mine but both were delicious. The Halibut also looked awesome (guests next to us). The wine selections were also awesome. The service was very good even though it was very busy. We were too full for dessert! We both agreed it was every bit as good as a top end resteraunt in Vancouver (where my daughter lives) or Calgary (where I live). After such a nice meal I felt obligated to write a review to help others like us who weren't sure. I hope this was helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at Waterfront wines. The serv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal at Waterfront wines. The service was excellent, the food outstanding and the ambience quiet, classy and relaxing. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worse experience ever. Couldnt even get ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Worse experience ever. Couldnt even get the email right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Consistently excellent on many visits ov ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Consistently excellent on many visits over the past 18 months. Wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Food is outstanding, both in quality and presentation. I thoroughly recommend the charcuterie plate and the duck breast which is always cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and life changing potatoes!! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and life changing potatoes!! The feature Spit Roast is a nice touch just a suggestion for the 7:45 seating as it is invariably sold out so why discuss what we cannot order.

We are using the Details Catering from here to cater our Christmas Party so we love the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aces as always!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Aces as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.