Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Waterfront Wines

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: (250) 979-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Tapas (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

PERFECT evening for our wedding anniversary dinner. I ordered the duck. Our server, Shane, recommended it cooked medium which I ordered. It was absolutely hands down THE BEST duck I've had in years! My husband was having difficulty deciding and Shane recommended the Flat Iron steak that has been on the menu since they opened. He wasn't disappointed. The wine recommendation was spot on (Shane rocks!) and two surprises: As it was our anniversary we were treated to Champaign upon being seated and an ice cream treat for dessert. We will absolutely come back next we visit Kelowna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

it was my wife's birthday. food and service was excellent. thoroughly enjoy the evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

A really pleasant experience that began with friendly and conversational service people, Genevieve and Lisa. Genevieve explained the menu and fresh sheet to us in detail. The wine list was inrterestong with a fairly diverse choice for a small venue.
The dinner, I had the swordfish with roasted vege and crispy gnocchi, very special! My parter had a terrific charcuterie, with some unusual and delicious pairings of pickled veg and dips.
I will definitely recommend the Waterfront Restaurant and wine Bar.

And we sat outside, with heaters and blankies, cosy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Staff are very friendly and helpful-- cocktails were innovative and food was delicious. A special date night kind of place, but also awesome to stop in for drink and an appy (if there's space at the bar!). Ambiance is modern and cozy. Close to the water and downtown but far enough away that parking is not difficult. A favourite in Kelowna.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Phenomenal food and service! Can't wait to come back !

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

With a name like "Waterfront Wines" we thought you would be by the lake looking out at it. As we were from out of town we didn't know where the location of the restaurant was. I guess its our faults for not googling the actual location. So tricky name and was a little disappointed it wasn't actually on any waterfront however, the food, wine, and service was great so it made up for not having a view.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Staff were very happy to tell us about the menu and options ... never had an empty glass. Convenient location too!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was a very enjoyable evening out with friends. The service and food were excellent, never felt rushed. Would definitely recommend it to friends.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Highly recommend the Elk Tartar appetizer & Steelhead Trout main dish. My partner was a bit disappointed in the special, roasted striplion. Parts were chewy to the point he couldn't eat it. The couple beside us raved about the flatiron steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a selection of appetizers, none that were outstanding in any way. Lot of time spent on making the small plates attractive/"artistic" that should have been spent making the food taste better. Cannot recommend any of the appetizers. Pretty sure the gin drinks we ordered were nearly gin-less!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

nice and ellaborated food with prices accordingly. we went two times in two days as we liked it a lot
good service. starters are a bit small but mains are much bigger

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

One of the best steaks and meals I've ever had! My mouth is watering thinking of my meal there and I will definitely come back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Would not recommend , didn't feel welcomed from moment we walked in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We always have a fabulous dinner when we dine there. Always look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Best restaurant in the okanagan.
🎤✊👋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fabulous food, great (and completely unpretentious) service , and an excellent wine list - what's not to like?!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was absolutely fabulous!! We sat inside and it does get loud but it's all part of the ambiance. The only negative thing was we were charged additional food/drink items, so just be sure to check your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 17, 2017

A memorable evening for our 42nd anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had high expectations based on teviews. Big disappointment.. Cold food poor service. Pass on this place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food is excellent!! Well worth trying. Our group of 6, enjoyed and shared charcuterie plate, ceaser, tomato salads as well as the tempura prawns and trout. Mains were the flatiron steak , best potatoes ever as well as chicken. To full for desert but a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Charging for refills on pop was ridiculous.
The food and service was wonderful though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Knowledable and accomodating staff! Food and drink selection was amazing... not too many choices, but just the right amount! I will def make sure to come back here when I am in Kelowna next!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The ambiance wasn't great when you compare it to all the beautiful scenic wineries around, but the food quality and portion size more than made up for it. The tables for 2 are very small and it was a little dark. I felt when we sat down that we were going to be bumping elbows all night. I asked to move and they accommodated, but there are few "great" tables in the restaurant. I would definitely shoot for the patio or main dining room. We were tucked in the back, but it was the August long weekend. Kudos to the chef, really perfect and delicious food for both of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Waterfront Wines used to be our favourite Kelowna restaurant and we went quite regularly. The bartenders knew us by name and we were always blown away by the food. Since the restaurant got bigger it lost its appeal for us. Yes, we get that more seats means better business, but the intimacy is gone and the special feeling isn't there anymore. The food is great but somehow doesn't blow us away anymore. We tried it again on Sunday night and were left feeling kind of sad that what was an amazing restaurant no longer feels as special. Maybe we've just gotten too picky.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Das Essen war ausgezeichnet. Jede einzelne Speise war hervorragend. Das beste Kartofelstock und das beste Tempura meines Lebens. Es ginge ein bisschen lang, es war aber jede Warteminute wert! Ein Paradis für Feinschmecker!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Every dish was a taste sensation! Some of the best food I've had in Kelowna. Love to watch the chefs prepare the food in the open kitchen. Wait staff were all fabulous and seemed to really be having fun with colleagues and with us as patrons. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Have passed this place several times wondering what it was like. Decided to try it when friends were in town. Really good food and healthy portions for the duck and flatiron steak that we had. I personally was very surprised how tender and tasty the flatiron steak was. The appetizer of pot de foie gras was super and was plenty for sharing. Can be slightly noisy depending on where you get seated but not terrible for conversation even given my bad hearing. Our server was excellent. I really recommend this place and will be going there more frequently in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The service, the food, the ambiance was absolutely perfect! This was our first time at Waterfront Wines but it will definitely not be our last. I think we found a new favorite restaurant in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2017

An absolutely outstanding evening out! Fantastic food and wine and an equally amazing experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The menu was extensive and all 6 of us had a hard time deciding what to order. 2 ordered the feature and were not disappointed. I had the Duck Breast and loved it! We all agreed that we would be back again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Incredible food and excellent service! Would definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was disappointed. My risotto was under cooked as was my scallops. I had heard great things and my expectations were not met.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Everything is fabulous here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was really good but the wait to get our food was long and our waitress was not providing us too many updates.

I would recommend this restaurant but some improvement could be made on the waiting time for the food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had a gift certificate from family who live in Kelwona. We live in Europe and we're visiting for the summer. It was a great restaurant, we really enjoyed our server as well as the food. We had the flat iron steak with life changing potato mash and the pork loin. Both dishes were realy great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Spectacular service and food. Cannot recommend enough. It has quickly become our favorite. They are genuinely passionate about sourcing locally too. enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent service and an interesting menu. Good wine selection. We had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

recently attended Waterfront Wines for an anniversary dinner. The restaurant was highly recommended and it did not disappoint. Very quaint inside and the service was great. Both
had the flat iron steak which was excellent as well as the mashed potatoes.....
the extensive wine list was priced accordingly and if you live in Kelowna or are visiting this restaurant is one you would want to add to your list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our favourite restaurant in Kelowna. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.