About Waterfront Wines

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: 2509791222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Waterfront Wines, Kelowna, BC
Waterfront Wines, Kelowna, BC

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
3 More
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

Special Occasion (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Organic (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful relaxing dinner! The food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful relaxing dinner! The food was amazing as was our server

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and this is our absolute f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We are locals and this is our absolute favorite restaurant in Kelowna... we are always blown away by the quality of service and food! Haven't tasted anything better in the whole valley!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality was very mediocre. Service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food quality was very mediocre. Service was OK but nothing special. Ambience was poor. Rough looking place ... not looking high end nor romantic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Amazing evweytime ive been there. Small ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing evweytime ive been there. Small and intimate. Not a child friendly place. Me and my husband go there for date night or special occasion. Food is always amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the four meals was cold, however ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the four meals was cold, however the server was excellent. Tapas plate was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were good but menu was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service were good but menu was limited for choices, there was no pasta, no chicken only 1 fish option. I'd suggest an expanded menu on the entree side would be a good bet.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice overall experience. The waitstaff w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Nice overall experience. The waitstaff was excellent and the food was very well prepared. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the food was excellent - the seasonal mu ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 12, 2016

the food was excellent - the seasonal mushroom on baguette appetizer was delicious, and the duck, as the main course, was absolutely delightful.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful place to have a great dinner. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful place to have a great dinner. Makes for a great date night destination. I will definitely be going back, great location in a quieter part of downtown Kelowna.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete joke! Dirty wine glass to begi ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Complete joke! Dirty wine glass to begin, undercooked fish with bones for dinner. Plating looked like my four year old took over. Don't waste your time going to this wildly over hyped establishment if you have any desire for a quality culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

We were looking forward to repeating a s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were looking forward to repeating a satisfying experience we'd had in the past at this Resturant, however, it was not to be. We both had their special Caesar Salad which was dripping and more of an anchovie Salad. Our Mains were Lamb for me and Duck for my husband. They were served barely warm and very rare...so rare as tro upset my husband's stomach. Presentation was unappetizing. Service was fine.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Been there many times. the food and ser ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Been there many times. the food and service has always been excellent.

Peter J

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic meal with Back Hand of God bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic meal with Back Hand of God beer on tap. Excellent night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waterfront Wines always offer creative s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waterfront Wines always offer creative seasonal dishes. The wine list offers some of the best wines available in the Okanagan valley.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right on time . Hostess w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were seated right on time . Hostess was very friendly and informative ...great with her recommendations. Tapas plate was enjoyable . Loved the jus on the steak and the veggies were a nice medley of flavours and colour . The creme brule a nice way to finish off the meal . We also enjoyed the beer and wine selected . A tad pricey for what you get was the only downside to the evening .

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We are in Kelowna on business have been ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We are in Kelowna on business have been to Waterfront Wines twice in 2 weeks. Wonderful food with such a strong emphasis on local produce and matching wines. It is also my local restaurant while staying in the city. The staff know their stuff and the service has always been exceptional. Although in the upper bracket re cost subject to the type and quantity of wine consumed, it's well worth it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great option for a Tapas style meal

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great option for a Tapas style meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The first time i visited Waterfront Wine ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The first time i visited Waterfront Wines, the specials were phenomenal. This time, they SOUNDED phenomenal. But they sold out within half an hour of us being there so that was pretty disappointing. The wine selection wasn't as good as last time, but the food was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service with five star food. N ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent service with five star food. New favourite dinner spot in Kelowna. Fresh, Local, romantic and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Private Room, Happy Hour, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Organic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate a girlfriends ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were there to celebrate a girlfriends 60th. Food was absolutely fantastic!! Excellent service.

Wine choice delightful. It would have been nice if we were offered something as part of our celebration ie glass of proseco, dessert for the birthday girl.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a wonderful evening celebrating o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening celebrating our Anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our meal here - real ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We absolutely loved our meal here - really inventive cooking with fresh, authentic ingredients. The service was also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I were in Kelowna for a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My daughter and I were in Kelowna for a visit and decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal. I had gone on line to see "best resteraunts" and Waterfront came up on top. I booked reservations (I recommend you do that). The day of our dinner I happened to read reviews and many of them were negative. We almost cancelled our reservation. We decided to go ahead anyway. The meal was fabulous! The key thing I think you need to know is it is expensive! Someone had made that comment earlier and it was spot on! If you're thinking it's a $$ it's not and I think you would be disappointed or worried about how much things are costing which would detract from the experience. However if you are prepared for an expensive meal it's totally worth it! We had a Chacuterie Board to start. I highly recommend it but add 3 cheeses. Our server made great recommendations. Then I ordered the Wagu steak special and my daughter ordered the Flank Steak (chefs signature dish) Her's was better than mine but both were delicious. The Halibut also looked awesome (guests next to us). The wine selections were also awesome. The service was very good even though it was very busy. We were too full for dessert! We both agreed it was every bit as good as a top end resteraunt in Vancouver (where my daughter lives) or Calgary (where I live). After such a nice meal I felt obligated to write a review to help others like us who weren't sure. I hope this was helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at Waterfront wines. The serv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal at Waterfront wines. The service was excellent, the food outstanding and the ambience quiet, classy and relaxing. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worse experience ever. Couldnt even get ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Worse experience ever. Couldnt even get the email right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Consistently excellent on many visits ov ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Consistently excellent on many visits over the past 18 months. Wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Food is outstanding, both in quality and presentation. I thoroughly recommend the charcuterie plate and the duck breast which is always cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and life changing potatoes!! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and life changing potatoes!! The feature Spit Roast is a nice touch just a suggestion for the 7:45 seating as it is invariably sold out so why discuss what we cannot order.

We are using the Details Catering from here to cater our Christmas Party so we love the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aces as always!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Aces as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, limited menu with a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was very good, limited menu with a few daily selections. Restaurant is fairly small, and can be noisy. We had a table right at a door leading to the washroom area so not the best ambiance. Other than that, our group of 4 all enjoyed the food and wine.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was awesome as was service. Thought ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was awesome as was service. Thought it was going to be a bit more upscale than it was. Noise level was too high for us. Overall was great and we would go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! Awesome service. Would h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great food! Awesome service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing, everything was perfe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Absolutely amazing, everything was perfect. The food, the service could not fault. I was told by four locals prior that it was the best place in town, they were not wrong.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a highly rated eatery, service was a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

For a highly rated eatery, service was average. Ordered pork loin and it was 65% fat, yuck! Otherwise, it was a somewhat flavorless dish. My wife had fish...over cooked. The highlight was Cranog Backhand if God stout. Cheese platter also good. There are better places in downtown for a special dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Overall a good spot for casual meal with ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Overall a good spot for casual meal with friends. Service was very good. Food was good - I would rate it excellent if the meals were served at the right temperature. Soup and fish entrees were not warm enough. My husband raves about the flat iron grilled steak - best comfort food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waterfront wines was highly recommended ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Waterfront wines was highly recommended by friends. They must have much more money than we do or just don't care about value. One of our diner guest is a Toronto Chef so he knows a thing or two about restaurants. He agrees that the food was not that great and the prices esp. for wine were a bit much for what you get. Won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was very nice but we were looking for a place to dress up and where others would be dressed up. The menu and wine list is not inexpensive yet the first person I saw when I walked in the door was a man in a t-shirt and his hat on backwards. Another woman was wearing a hoody and someone else was in shorts for an 830 pm Saturday seating. The restaurant was nice and we might go back but not if we're looking for a place to dress well.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Had a dinner with friends who were visi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a dinner with friends who were visiting Kelowna. Service was attentive and well paced even with our request to order appetizers then main course later on. Specials are always a good bet and make the menu more interesting for those of us who visit often.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our seats were located beside a closed d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our seats were located beside a closed door. Other patrons of the restaurant kept using the door and hitting us with it. we complained but nothing was done about it

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We were there to celebrate my wifes birt ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were there to celebrate my wifes birthday . My daughter and her boyfriend were here from Toronto and they just loved it. The waiter was very friendly and cordial and the food was all excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Continues ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Continues to be the Okanagan's very best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.