About Waterfront Wines

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: 2509791222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Waterfront Wines
Waterfront Wines

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
5 More
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

Fit for Foodies (83)
Special Occasion (70)
Notable Wine List (65)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Romantic (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall a good spot for casual meal with ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Overall a good spot for casual meal with friends. Service was very good. Food was good - I would rate it excellent if the meals were served at the right temperature. Soup and fish entrees were not warm enough. My husband raves about the flat iron grilled steak - best comfort food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waterfront wines was highly recommended ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Waterfront wines was highly recommended by friends. They must have much more money than we do or just don't care about value. One of our diner guest is a Toronto Chef so he knows a thing or two about restaurants. He agrees that the food was not that great and the prices esp. for wine were a bit much for what you get. Won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was very nice but we were looking for a place to dress up and where others would be dressed up. The menu and wine list is not inexpensive yet the first person I saw when I walked in the door was a man in a t-shirt and his hat on backwards. Another woman was wearing a hoody and someone else was in shorts for an 830 pm Saturday seating. The restaurant was nice and we might go back but not if we're looking for a place to dress well.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Had a dinner with friends who were visi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a dinner with friends who were visiting Kelowna. Service was attentive and well paced even with our request to order appetizers then main course later on. Specials are always a good bet and make the menu more interesting for those of us who visit often.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our seats were located beside a closed d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our seats were located beside a closed door. Other patrons of the restaurant kept using the door and hitting us with it. we complained but nothing was done about it

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We were there to celebrate my wifes birt ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were there to celebrate my wifes birthday . My daughter and her boyfriend were here from Toronto and they just loved it. The waiter was very friendly and cordial and the food was all excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Continues ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Continues to be the Okanagan's very best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried this restaurant on our trip to Kel ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Tried this restaurant on our trip to Kelowna and loved everything about it . In a class of it's own in the city . Fantastic food , service wine , ambience . Liked it so much we came back the next evening ! Highly recommended !!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to stop in for an early dinne ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We decided to stop in for an early dinner on our way from Calgary to Summerland.Fortunately we were able to get a table last minute on open table.Food was delicious and nicely presented.Service was fantastic.I highly recommend the trout. It was so moist and tasty.

We had dined here a few years ago and loved the food.We were not disappointed this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an awesome dinner at the resto wi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had an awesome dinner at the resto with a great host at the bar. The food was delicious along with some delicious wine. The corn gnocchi was my favourite part; though the steak was also delicious along with the "life-changing" mashed potatoes. Actually 5-star. Thanks waterfront wines for a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best dining experience that I had si ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The best dining experience that I had since I came to Canada in 2011. Small, quiet and personal dining room. Friendly and knowledgeable personnel. Great wine list with both local and international gems, and of course one of the best cooked meal in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and great food. It was the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good service and great food. It was the best of the several meals we ate in restaurants over the course of our vacation. The flat iron steak and mashed potatoes were amazing. The appy's were great, perhaps a little small for the $$, but the main course was good value and for $2 you can do a split plate option where they beef up the sides for you. Highly recommend for dinner if you are in the area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Waterfront wines last ye ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have been to Waterfront wines last year and the food was so incredible that we returned this year forgetting that we have been there last year. We were escorted to the same table we dined at last year. We joked about it but the waitress who escorted us there was sulky, no smile, did not say welcome back. Our waitress was excellent, she was kind and ensured a candle was on

my friend's desert nice and thoughtful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We love coming to Waterfront Wines. The ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We love coming to Waterfront Wines. The food is phenomenal every single time. The staff is so friendly and we always get such great service. It is definitely one of our fave spots :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Viogner from Laughing stock

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Viogner from Laughing stock

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Our favorite Kelowna restaurant for all ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our favorite Kelowna restaurant for all occasions. Have a few favorites we tend to order. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply put, this restaurant and its food ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Simply put, this restaurant and its food is amazing.

Kelowna is such a lucky lady to have this beautiful gem in its presence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, chef was willing to make a s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, chef was willing to make a special sauce after asking that the regular sauce not accompany my meal. The sauce paired perfectly. Nothing bad to say about this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really good food, really nice ambiance. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really good food, really nice ambiance. An hour and fifteen minutes for main courses to arrive. Our reservation was for later in the evening. Staff not run off their feet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

This restaurant is a wow. Smart and tren ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant is a wow. Smart and trendy. Menu changes regularly depending on season and local (yeah!) food availability. Fun serve staff. Chef takes feedback from all serve staff and is creating something special here; tasty dishes at very reasonable rates. For sure add the Happy Days sauce to the Tapas apps. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always the food was spectacular. Wate ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always the food was spectacular. Waterfront Wines is my favourite place to dine and the first place I think of to bring out of town guests. I'm never disappointed. Thanks for yet another delicious night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great Server was pleasant Liste ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was great

Server was pleasant

Listed as business casual, I didn't think shorts would qualify. Disappointed that many diners looked like that just got in from the beach. The food deserved more respect than that.

Not convinced I'll make a return visit, too bad since Waterfront came highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent service and wine recommendatio ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent service and wine recommendations. Food was tops. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Out of all the fine dining establishment ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Out of all the fine dining establishments we ate at in Kelowna, this was our favorite! The octopus and squid were extremely tender, the best we have ever had. Our waiter was exceptional and had first hand knowledge of all the dishes offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with friends, second visit ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great evening with friends, second visit to Kelowna and second time to Waterfront Wines. Great food, excellent service, maybe the best restaurant in Kelowna.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with warm friendly atmosp ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food with warm friendly atmosphere. Great consistency in food quality and service. Felt a bit rushed initially.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was excellent as always. Great wine ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Great wine list. Great selection of main courses.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Noisy, over the top waitress overpowered ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Noisy, over the top waitress overpowered the sounds and ambiance.

Inside was hot and quite uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Amazing restaurant that keeps getting be ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing restaurant that keeps getting better. Best pork steak that I have ever had. The special is always great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful menu and wine list. Top shelf, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful menu and wine list. Top shelf, amongst the best in BC, and I've been to most of them.

For the price and quality of the food and wine experience; the ambiance and service left alot to be desired. Loud, kinda plain; and our OpenTable reservation got us the lovely table by the bathroom door. Not ideal for a romantic or intimate business dinner.

Well worth it for the dining experience, just know what you're getting into. Try off peak and insist on a specific table if you can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Really good service, waitress was person ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Really good service, waitress was personable and very nice. Food was a disappointment with no flavour and very tough to chew (expensive!!) steak. Cocktails were great though. A little crowded table-wise, and don't be fooled - it's not on the waterfront.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

It's not ON the Waterfront - no view. Fa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It's not ON the Waterfront - no view. Far too expensive. Meal was just OK. Bill for 2 - no wine or liquor, no apples, no dessert = $75.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Amazing food. One of the best meals I ha ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing food. One of the best meals I have ever had. The best birthday dinner ever by far. Very impressed by the promptness of the service and quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service- tremendo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing food and great service- tremendous range in the dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a must for anyone traveling in kelowna. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

a must for anyone traveling in kelowna. the food is top notch and the ambience and service are the icing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely one of the better restaurants ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Definitely one of the better restaurants in Kelowna. seating inside is a bit cramped but the menu and wine list are exciting and the cheffing is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food, drink and staff were excellent ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food, drink and staff were excellent! A great experience for a special occasion, but we'll definitely be returning as regular customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trout and Angus steak dishes were amazi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Trout and Angus steak dishes were amazing. Local wine selection was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at Waterfront Wines could ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our experience at Waterfront Wines could not have been better. We had heard that this restaurant, owned by Mark Filatow, was outstanding so we booked it for our 32nd year anniversary dinner - it definitely did not disappoint! They didn't know that it was our anniversary initially but they gave us the most romantic table in the restaurant - very much appreciated! Whether special occasion or casual occasion, we would recommend Waterfront Wines to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised to fin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this restaurant . Each course was wonderful. The service was as good as the wine list. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Murray

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.