About Waterfront Wines

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: 2509791222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
9 More
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (37)
notable wine list (36)
See All
neighborhood gem (29)
romantic (21)
hot spot (13)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our meals and the se ...

Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely loved our meals and the service could not have been better. Also, discovered a new favorite wine from Intersection ... ymmm

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special for that night was Lamb and it i ...

Dined 5 days ago

Special for that night was Lamb and it is the best, melts in your mouth and tasty My wife orders the halibut and was never disappointed. We cleaned up plates.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Weekend away

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were good. Not a super fan of the lentil crochettes with the halibut but my husband liked them. Dessert was excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed an excellent meal with great service. Thanks!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Main course was delicious. We ordered th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Main course was delicious. We ordered the flat iron angus steak and trout with miso hollandaise. Definitely reccomend WW to anyone looking for a great meal in Kelowna.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasty food but very small and exceedingl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Tasty food but very small and exceedingly noisy inside. Try to get an outside table or skip it. Also not a 'waterfront' restaurant, is street facing with no water in sight.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Creativity and value were lacking to the ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Creativity and value were lacking to the vegan dinner prepared. The Steak dinner lacked vegetables and was given a bread knife to cut steak with (steak was cold and rubbery). Small and very very loud. Couldn't have a conversation with the people dining in your party but could hear the other people two feet on either side of you. Nothing extraordinary at all here.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another Winner at Waterfront Wines

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first time back in 2016, maybe our 10th time here and it was consistent again with excellent food. The hummus in the tapas plate is some of the best I've ever had. The Penny Lane gin cocktail was amazing, and the wine list here is always good. 2 of us had the special which was pronounced great, the flat iron with potatoes was very good, and I had the trout which was also good but the most outstanding thing was the corn gnocchi - everyone at our table raved about it, better than at many Italian restaurants. Peach tart for dessert was delicious. We also appreciate the serving sizes here, never go away feeling like we've over eaten which is nice. Can see no reason to patronize other places instead of returning here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We shared numerous items...it was all ou ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We shared numerous items...it was all outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service4

Knowledgeable attentive staff, creative ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Knowledgeable attentive staff, creative dishes beautifully presented, delicious combinations, great wine on special,

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a good meal and well setup wine list.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always a good meal and well setup wine list, although missing a good selection of Rosé. Like the décor but is a bit tight now since reno. Great once patio opens. Service always great with added wine knowledge a huge plus. Still tops in Kelowna.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on April 17, 2016

First time at venue. Staff friendly and very helpful. Sommelier on staff knows wine and provided great advice. Food was well presented and inspirational. Would definitely go back. Great wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We eat here often! It's our favourite pl ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We eat here often! It's our favourite place in town!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had been on our list to try for a whi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

It had been on our list to try for a while. Now I'm wishing we had gone sooner, dinner was delicious. I had the trout and ate every scrumptious morsel.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

winner at waterfront wines

Dined on March 26, 2016

An on time seat for the 2 of us. Prompt and efficient and knowledgable service. Excellent foie gras and fine celaric soup. The sweetbreads as an appy were a bit overpowered by the cauliflower puree and bits. Fish and oysters were fresh and full of good tastes. Wines by the glass were well chosen . A good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Low quality mussels.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The mussels were very small, and farmed. Many of the shells were cracked leaving pieces in our mouths and risked cracking a tooth. Quality mussels don't crack shells. Broth was fantastic and the trout dish was superb. The rest of the experience was very nice.. Improve the mussels please.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great food, great service

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were there a few nights ago. Looked online and seen it had good reviews. We weren't disappointed. Everything was delicious.Best perogies I have ever tasted. Our waiter (beard Ian??) knows his job well. We dropped close to 200 between myself and the wife but it was worth it. Definitely going back. Only complaint is maybe more varieties of beers

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Not so great

Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was mediocre. I had pork loin which had chunks of fat. Ordered roasted vegetables with it which were nice. Were seated in iddle table by the door. Too cramped and other tables were available. Food portions were small and over priced. I would not go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Evening

Dined on March 15, 2016

Went to Waterfront on a Monday night to celebrate and had an absolutely fantastic experience. Beautiful charcuterie board, great recommendations for wine and a great ambiance. One of our favorites in Kelowna!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Fantastic food! Our server Erica was wonderful; very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favourite Kelowna restaurant!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Super friendly staff, delicious food and wine! Can't wait to come again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best bartenders and meal in town!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I hate to give a review for fears we wouldn't get a seat next time. But this place is a must stop. The bartenders are always on point and the chef doesn't disappoint

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Okanagan restaurant

Dined on February 19, 2016

Friendly, knowledgeable and passionate service. Thoughtful menu and wine list utilizing superior local products. Love!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great.

Dined on February 16, 2016

We would return for a special occasion. Great food, although limited menu. Great service. Pricey, but worth it. Would recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent dining. A wee bit loud, but ha ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Excellent dining. A wee bit loud, but hard to control.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You will find no better food anywhere.

Dined on February 7, 2016

The flat iron is a must. We sat at the bar and the bartender was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and Smiles

Dined on February 6, 2016

Tara and Kate were the very best we have had. We have only been in Kelowna for five months, and only been to Waterfront Wines three times. The Most friendly, knowledgeable and attentive staff in Kelowna. We feel like we're family and want to give big hugs when we arrive and leave. keep it up girls, you are the Best!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

loved this place

Dined on February 5, 2016

I booked this restaurant for my birthday dinner, then booked a hotel within walking distance. We were lucky to be there during 'dinearoundkelowna' so got an excellent meal for a much reduced price. The food and wine pairings made for a wonderful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent find!

Dined on February 4, 2016

I was traveling with a co-worker and since we are both foodies, we had googled Kelowna restaurants. We were not disappointed. We happened to be here during Dine around Kelowna, so it was excellent value as well. I had the Arctic Char for my main, and I don't think I have ever had a better prepared, perfectly flavoured dish. My complements to the chef and the staff, who now their food and their wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food, however chilly sitting b ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Delicious food, however chilly sitting by the window. I suggest a more inside seat. Overall great experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Occasion

Dined on February 2, 2016

Excellent food and service in a pleasant lively atmosphere. Preparation and presentation was excellent. The Arctic Char as part of the 3 course Dining Tour package was excellent, done exactly as requested. The lemon tart dessert was to die for. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Will be back ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will be back. Parking when a hockey game is on is a bit of a hassle.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dining-out evening was excellent!

Dined on January 30, 2016

We took a friend for dinner and had a wonderful dining out evening. The food was excellent, portions were perfect, the server friendly and helpful and overall, it was a great experience. Although the restaurant was very busy, the server was attentive to individual needs, arrived when necessary, had a sense of humour and made it an enjoyable evening. We would have liked to have seen more local and fewer imported wines but there were plenty to choose from regardless. We'd return, would recommend the restaurant to others and are looking forward to a summer evening on the patio, if that's possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favourite restaurants. I love ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

One of my favourite restaurants. I love the food, atmosphere, service and wine selection!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor selection of "by the glass" white wine

Dined on January 24, 2016

Very disappointed in the "by the glass" white wine list

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on January 13, 2016

Prawn risotto was amazing. The best mussels I have ever had. Nice blend of seasonal veggies on my husband's plate. I got to eat the ones he doesn't which was a nice bonus. The feature dessert was very yummy! Will certainly return. Not cheap but good food is so worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Spectacular!

Dined on January 13, 2016

We had a gift certificate so decided to dine here for my birthday a few days ago. Very small venue with a separate bar which would get busy considering it is also a wine bar. Seating is basicaly along the walls of small room. We counted room for 18? Could get noisy if people were talking loud. The service was five star with the waitress explaining how the dish is prepared, ingredients, etc. We gather what one orders is basically prepared from scratch. I need veggies well cooked for digestive purposes and they were perfect. Both our meals were superb! As if the Iron Chef were there cooking just for us. We each chose a diferent dessert and mine came, very discreetly with a lit candle ...following that I was served a class of sauterne. My husband and I ordered different coffees. Without creme mine was a tad strong so I switched with his Capp. Did not take long for the waitress to see this and she wanted to get me another cup. We politely declined. Great birthday dinner. Price commensurate with food quality and prep, as well as service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great New Year's Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

Waterfront Wines had a special New Year's eve 4 course dinner, or you could order off the regular menu. We chose the special, which was magnificent. The choice of the main was sablefish or steak. Food was beautifully prepared and perfectly done. The service was also excellent. The bar and seating area was packed and very lively - quite the happening place. Nice to find such a great spot in sleepy Kelowna!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Ignore the negative reviews this place is amazing. Service is great and friendly and the best steak in kelowna. It is a little loud inside but it's a vibrant and fun atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.