About Waterfront Wines

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: 2509791222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Waterfront Wines
Waterfront Wines

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
5 More
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

fit for foodies (63)
notable wine list (46)
special occasion (43)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
romantic (23)
great for outdoor dining (17)
hot spot (16)
good for groups (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We celebrated our anniversary with a won ...

Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary with a wonderful dining experience. The dishes were beautifully presented and hubby loved the Inside Out Ravioli starter. I swooned over the, "life changing mashed potatoes," that came with my steak. Had a glass of Orofino's Cabernet Sauvignon Glorious! Service was top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was fantastic and the food was s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was fantastic and the food was superb. We enjoyed our evening. Only downside was being seated at a small two person table right smack next to another two person table. We were so close we felt like we were part of the table next to ours conversation and it was very distracting.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and service was exceptional. We ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The meal and service was exceptional. We find the atmosphere so relaxing! We had a very enjoyable meal

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surprise restaurant in Kelowna. G ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great surprise restaurant in Kelowna. Great Chefs. We ordered Elk tartar and Duck . Amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as always. N ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. Never disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a beautiful meal on a rainy night in ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a beautiful meal on a rainy night in Kelowna . My trout was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every we come to Kelowna we visit Water ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Every we come to Kelowna we visit Waterfront Wines at least once. The food is excellent and the service friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service with casual ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food and service with casual ambience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really good food and service tables a li ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Really good food and service tables a little tight and a bit noisy but overall great

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I have been a number of times. Was rath ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been a number of times. Was rather disappointed this time. The meat dishes were over cooked and dry. Accompanying veggies / starch were quite heavy for a summer plate. As always, the staff was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands-down our favourite local restauran ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Hands-down our favourite local restaurant. The service and food are impeccable. The wine choices are always changing and lovely.

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Last minute drop in

Dined on June 11, 2016

Was in Kelowna for a one day and decided to try here because we were wait listed on two other restaurants in the DT area. The food was really good, octopus / calamari was done exceptionally well. Very tender. The inner décor was less than desirable. Felt old and dated. Furniture looked like leftover diner tables and chairs. The food is would make me a return customer. Otherwise would likely consider going somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When in Kelowna...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Such a special spot. Reservations are a must. Small menu indicates that all dishes are carefully created and of excellent quality. Simply delicious...as is the wine :) Perfect spot to celebrate special occasions. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

A little salty

Dined on June 9, 2016

Cozy place. We had a cheese plate to start which was quite nice. The flatiron steak for a main. While it was cooked to perfection, it was over salted by the chef and almost inedible. Service was good

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful again

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great service and delivered tasy food on plates. Seasonal menu prepared very well. Am a regular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!

Dined on May 29, 2016

I dont have anything bad to say at all! Great food, great wine, great service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic! Restaurant wa ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server was fantastic! Restaurant was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our meals and the se ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We absolutely loved our meals and the service could not have been better. Also, discovered a new favorite wine from Intersection ... ymmm

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special for that night was Lamb and it i ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Special for that night was Lamb and it is the best, melts in your mouth and tasty My wife orders the halibut and was never disappointed. We cleaned up plates.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Weekend away

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Food and service were good. Not a super fan of the lentil crochettes with the halibut but my husband liked them. Dessert was excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 24, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent meal with great service. Thanks!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Main course was delicious. We ordered th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Main course was delicious. We ordered the flat iron angus steak and trout with miso hollandaise. Definitely reccomend WW to anyone looking for a great meal in Kelowna.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasty food but very small and exceedingl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Tasty food but very small and exceedingly noisy inside. Try to get an outside table or skip it. Also not a 'waterfront' restaurant, is street facing with no water in sight.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Creativity and value were lacking to the ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Creativity and value were lacking to the vegan dinner prepared. The Steak dinner lacked vegetables and was given a bread knife to cut steak with (steak was cold and rubbery). Small and very very loud. Couldn't have a conversation with the people dining in your party but could hear the other people two feet on either side of you. Nothing extraordinary at all here.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another Winner at Waterfront Wines

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first time back in 2016, maybe our 10th time here and it was consistent again with excellent food. The hummus in the tapas plate is some of the best I've ever had. The Penny Lane gin cocktail was amazing, and the wine list here is always good. 2 of us had the special which was pronounced great, the flat iron with potatoes was very good, and I had the trout which was also good but the most outstanding thing was the corn gnocchi - everyone at our table raved about it, better than at many Italian restaurants. Peach tart for dessert was delicious. We also appreciate the serving sizes here, never go away feeling like we've over eaten which is nice. Can see no reason to patronize other places instead of returning here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We shared numerous items...it was all ou ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We shared numerous items...it was all outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service4

Knowledgeable attentive staff, creative ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Knowledgeable attentive staff, creative dishes beautifully presented, delicious combinations, great wine on special,

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a good meal and well setup wine list.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always a good meal and well setup wine list, although missing a good selection of Rosé. Like the décor but is a bit tight now since reno. Great once patio opens. Service always great with added wine knowledge a huge plus. Still tops in Kelowna.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on April 17, 2016

First time at venue. Staff friendly and very helpful. Sommelier on staff knows wine and provided great advice. Food was well presented and inspirational. Would definitely go back. Great wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We eat here often! It's our favourite pl ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We eat here often! It's our favourite place in town!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had been on our list to try for a whi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

It had been on our list to try for a while. Now I'm wishing we had gone sooner, dinner was delicious. I had the trout and ate every scrumptious morsel.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

winner at waterfront wines

Dined on March 26, 2016

An on time seat for the 2 of us. Prompt and efficient and knowledgable service. Excellent foie gras and fine celaric soup. The sweetbreads as an appy were a bit overpowered by the cauliflower puree and bits. Fish and oysters were fresh and full of good tastes. Wines by the glass were well chosen . A good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Low quality mussels.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The mussels were very small, and farmed. Many of the shells were cracked leaving pieces in our mouths and risked cracking a tooth. Quality mussels don't crack shells. Broth was fantastic and the trout dish was superb. The rest of the experience was very nice.. Improve the mussels please.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great food, great service

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were there a few nights ago. Looked online and seen it had good reviews. We weren't disappointed. Everything was delicious.Best perogies I have ever tasted. Our waiter (beard Ian??) knows his job well. We dropped close to 200 between myself and the wife but it was worth it. Definitely going back. Only complaint is maybe more varieties of beers

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Not so great

Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was mediocre. I had pork loin which had chunks of fat. Ordered roasted vegetables with it which were nice. Were seated in iddle table by the door. Too cramped and other tables were available. Food portions were small and over priced. I would not go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Evening

Dined on March 15, 2016

Went to Waterfront on a Monday night to celebrate and had an absolutely fantastic experience. Beautiful charcuterie board, great recommendations for wine and a great ambiance. One of our favorites in Kelowna!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Fantastic food! Our server Erica was wonderful; very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favourite Kelowna restaurant!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Super friendly staff, delicious food and wine! Can't wait to come again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best bartenders and meal in town!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I hate to give a review for fears we wouldn't get a seat next time. But this place is a must stop. The bartenders are always on point and the chef doesn't disappoint

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.