Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Waterfront Wines

Under the direction of Chef & Sommelier Mark Filatow, Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Wine Bar has developed a fresh, continually evolving menu which reflects all that the Okanagan has to offer.

Waterfront is a small 50 seat Restaurant and Wine Bar. We have just begun our eleventh year of business and have established a strong following for the creations of Chef and Sommelier Mark Filatow. Chef Filatow exudes a passion for his art that is brought to new heights through marriages with the exclusive selections found on our wine list.

Our menu specializes in a mixture of Tapas-style items and Main Courses, with the focus on offering our guests as wide a variety of flavors as possible.


***Waterfront Wines guests must all be over the age of 19***

104-1180 Sunset Dr
Kelowna, BC V1Y 9W6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Global, International, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Water St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 979-1222

Website:
http://www.waterfrontwines.com/

Catering:
Why use a caterer? For many people with an active, busy lifestyle, the thought of organizing a party, large or small, can be a daunting proposition. Using a professional caterer allows you to be a guest at your own party. We provide a full range of services. From casual backyard BBQs to Weddings to Upscale Corporate Functions to Custom Chef at Home Menus with perfectly paired wines. We employ professional staff and event consultants able to coordinate every detail of your event.


Please contact Sarah Wallace at catering@detailscatering.ca or 250-878-9890 for more info.

Parking Details:
We have street parking located on Sunset Dr. There is also a parking lot on the corner of Water & Sunset.

Executive Chef:
Mark Filatow

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can comfortably seat 18 people.
With groups we will be happy to work with you to build a custom menu that suits your needs.
1 bill with an 18% gratuity will be presented to groups of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan: (250) 979-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterfront Wines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tapas (9)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was disappointed. My risotto was under cooked as was my scallops. I had heard great things and my expectations were not met.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything is fabulous here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was really good but the wait to get our food was long and our waitress was not providing us too many updates.

I would recommend this restaurant but some improvement could be made on the waiting time for the food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had a gift certificate from family who live in Kelwona. We live in Europe and we're visiting for the summer. It was a great restaurant, we really enjoyed our server as well as the food. We had the flat iron steak with life changing potato mash and the pork loin. Both dishes were realy great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Spectacular service and food. Cannot recommend enough. It has quickly become our favorite. They are genuinely passionate about sourcing locally too. enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent service and an interesting menu. Good wine selection. We had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

recently attended Waterfront Wines for an anniversary dinner. The restaurant was highly recommended and it did not disappoint. Very quaint inside and the service was great. Both
had the flat iron steak which was excellent as well as the mashed potatoes.....
the extensive wine list was priced accordingly and if you live in Kelowna or are visiting this restaurant is one you would want to add to your list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our favourite restaurant in Kelowna. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Lovely food, great service, definitely not waterfront...faces the street and a construction site...I was expecting a waterfront view based on the name..

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had heard great things about Waterfront Wines and we were super impressed! Our server, Vanessa, was lovely and knowledgeable and the food, wine, and cocktails were fantastic! We can't wait to go back for another special evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My sister and I visit Kelowna most summers and always make a point of visiting Waterfront Wines at least once. We had an excellent meal yesterday, they never disappoint. We shared tapas (potted foie gras, the fried sweetbreads and the daily appetizer special which was a lightly battered calamari salad). All were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was fabulous, service was great! Wait staff were not over attentive and explained each dish. Would certainly go again, although we felt the tables were a little too close together for comfort.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The flat iron Angus was fantastic and the hazelnut dessert is out of this world. I'm already looking forward to our next trip to Kelowna so I can eat at Waterfront Wines again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent service, great food. We enjoyed our evening

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Creative menu, excellent food, expertly crafted and well presented. Not to mention that the servings are deceptively generous; the dessert menu looked great but we were too full to try anything....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great resturant and food. Service was great as well. Didn't get my points for using open table to book tho...

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 28, 2017

As always we were very happy with the service and the food at Waterfront Wines. She had the duck as always and I tried the chicken this time...very tasty! We will return.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

After getting recommendation from a local winery we went to dinner at Waterfront winery and it was simply spectacular!! Everything was just about perfect, from the service to the food and wine list. Would highly recommend this wonderful little spot to practically anyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Amazing food and the patio was quiet for easy conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing food, delicious wines and a little bit away from the bustle of downtown. The flat iron is insane.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My boyfriend and I were surprised when we arrived at how outdated the restaurant was. When we read online that it was fine dinning we were expecting something a little more fancy, so that was a let down. We were also expecting the restaurant to be waterfront..... but all we have a view of was the bar, and the street. My meal was delicious, however my boyfriends steak had the after taste of "camp fire" (I think it was the sauce) so he didn't eat very much of his meal. The staff were excellent. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Waterfront Wines was a great place to dine, it was my wife's 40th birthday and we had an enjoyable relaxed meal on the patio. Overall the food and service was exceptional, we didn't feel rushed and the server wasn't in our face the whole time which was nice. Our table was right beside the server station which wasn't ideal but we made the most of it. Being an executive Chef myself with companies as Fairmont Hotels I appreciated the flavours and presentation of the apps and mains. The elk tartare had nice flavours but could of been seasoned a little more. Overall great dining experience and will come again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Good and service was amazing. The woman who seated us wasn't very friendly and we had to change our reso from two people to three. She wasn't very helpful at all and made us feel unwelcome. We were very polite to her and she finally somehow found us a table. This wouldn't have been a big deal but there were open tables the whole time we were there. We had two different servers as the first girl we had go off work early. Both her and the gentlemen we had after were amazing! Save the dining experience for us! Our second waiter gave us a great list of winery's to check out and was very friendly and helpful. Overall it was a very please try dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 19, 2017

For this visit we only had a glass of wine at the bar, but I highly reccomend Waterfront Wines to everyone. The food from chef's mark and nelson is some of the best I've ever had, and the service team are some of my favourite people in kelowna. Keep up the good work gang!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food was very tasty and very nicely presented. The staff was friendly and helpful but not overpowering

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Excellent, as always. Nice intimate patio. Good wine and crafted beer available.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was good but the lack of service ruined the evening. If you do not consume alcohol do not anticipate any kind of service. First time ever in my dining experience that the server did not introduce herself to us. Nor did she acknowledge us for 15mins. We were playing the guessing gane as to which one was our server. A simple " hi, please me give a few minutes and i will be with you" would be nice. It was funny, cuz we noticed that the table with the most alcohol consumption got the most attention and then the 2nd most alcohol consumption and so forth. We felt discriminated, the restaurant was not busy so that was the reason. Better training for staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was excellant tasting & portion however I was disappointed with the large portion of fat on my pork serving. About 25% I had to cut off as inedible. I mentioned that to server but there was no followup.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Absurd and awful. A true kitchen nightmare. This started in January when my partner and I had a New Years meal at waterfront, a meal that was significantly degraded by abysmal service. After we paid our check rather than posting a negative review online I had the courtesy to shake the hand of our waiter, Shane, and tell him "that was the worst service of my life". Upon returning to the restaurant 6 months later, we were given equally if not worse service. Essentially taking our money while treating us like second rate guests. It was absurd, it was awful, and I cannot believe I am writing this. After waiting 42 minutes from ordering our food was served to us, the skin on the crispy duck breast still had a chewy layer of white fat 1/8 inch thick. I was hungry so I tried to eat, after two pieces I decided spending 40 on something not the way it was intended was not worth it.

Around this time I realized no one had asked us how our food was tasting, we waited and waited and waited, to no avail. Finally after about 10 minutes I asked a server in the area to get our waitress. He then said he could "help" and proceeded to tell me that the duck was cooked how chef intended, which I knew to be false as I had the pleasure of eating said dish on New Years as well. I became increasingly frustrated with Shane's arguing, at which point the table next to us chimed in that their duck wasn't cooked properly either and the fat should have been rendered. Shane told us he would take my partners plate and go re fire this and it would take 20 more minutes, which was too long as we had a movie to watch and an early morning, my partner was hungry and wanted to eat as well so I asked him to comp the dish

After this we were Abandoned no one came to ask us for dessert, drinks, or the bill. I asked the chef to make it right. He said I acted childish for simply asking to pay and to be treated with respect during a special occasion I am spending over 100 dollars on. What a joke this place is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was the first time we had dined at Waterfront Wines and unfortunately we a little disappointed the menu sounded great but the quality, presentation and taste of the food did not deliver. The service was warm, friendly and efficient but the restaurant lacks atmosphere/ ambiance and was very noisy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always 10/10 every time we eat here. Hard to eat anywhere else when you always have such great food and wine!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was a wonderful dining experience. Very impressed with the service and the presentation. Plenty to eat and couldn't resist the dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love this restaurant! Dined here with friends and the house made chicken sausage with pappardelle, morels and fiddle heads may have been the best meal I have ever eaten.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Waterfront wines never disappoints. Knowledgeable staff, creative seasonal food and an outstanding wine list.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As usual, we were delighted with our visit to Waterfront Wines. We were welcomed enthusiastically. Service was attentive and time spent was comfortable and not rushed.
All of the food we enjoyed was presented beautifully. It was very tasty and interesting.
The wine list provides many opportunities to try something new or enjoy an old favourite.
This is a restaurant one can celebrate a special occasion or enjoy casual tapas, it never disappoints. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Pro-Amazing meal again! The duck is a home run dish that delivers excellence on a very refined ellegant plate.

Con-There was a large party there so noise level was uncomfortably loud.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

One of the best places to eat in town. Always a 10/10 meal!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Enjoyed a bunch of delicious plates, couldn't fault any of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our food was exceptional ! It had so many great flavors and the service was fantastic!! Wonderful friendly staff!

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.