Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (93)
Special Occasion (88)
Fit for Foodies (86)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Local Ingredients (62)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Notable Wine List (49)
Romantic (40)
Business Meals (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Authentic (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Seasonal (27)
Cozy (25)
Fun (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Casual (20)
Healthy (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
People Watching (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Organic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Wonderful outside lunch. Best deluxe hamburger ever. Delicious fritto misto

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Waterboy is consistently good. It's been awhile since my last visit, but it was well worth it.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Higher end restaurant with a fabulous menu. Would recommend to anyone. Ambiance was nice; wait staff was very, knowledgeable, polite, engaging and attentive. Will definitely return for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very pleased with the food and the service was outstanding. They were kind enough to allow us to come in early. That was appreciated.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

WE HAVE BEEN MANY TIMES AND NEVER DISAPPOINTS. FABULOUS PLACE TO DINE

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Service 4/5, food 5/5, ambience was good aside from a table of loud stumbling drunkards next to us, but that's no restaurants fault. Overall, amazing place. Food was great, professional style, farm to fork grade food. Will go again definitely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a birthday celebration for my wife and I expected a much quieter ambiance. The rook was filled with tables a people with a very high noise level. No real redeeming reason to go back although the food was quite good. Service was very good. Overall, disappointing, at least for the occasion we were celebrating.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I am not sure how this restaurant gets great reviews, this was the worst experience I have had in a long time. The ceviche was fishy and not anything resembling ceviche, the bruschetta was burnt, the barbeque plate had items that were not cooked thoroughly, and the scallops were okay. The server never introduced themselves, I had to ask for her name. I called to speak with a general manager or an owner and have not received a call back. I will not be returning here or recommending this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent fare and precise prompt service, wonderful patio ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My wife and I shared the beet salad and both had the scallop entry. Both dishes were great, way above average. Our waitress was very good. We both enjoyed a champagne cocktail after dinner for desert. We visit the restaurant a number of times each year to meet special friends and special occasion. Food is always the best. Recommend to anyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fantastic food and great service from Josh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I wish we lived closer, I'd be at Waterboy weekly! I've never had bad service or a bad meal. They treat fish wonderfully so I always order a fish meal. This time it was halibut, yum. But the beet salad was over the top! Very creative and so tasty. My husband had the barbecue dish, he loved it. Will be back soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Fantastic meal, as usual. Simply one of the most honest restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Consistently great food. You can make a meal with small plates but the entrees are too good to resist.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent as usual. We have never been disappointed by the Waterboy. Food and service were excellent. The summer special barbecue was excellent and served on a fun plate that reminded me of old time TV dinners. Fun!

IF you want to think you have died and gone to heaven, order the profiteroles for dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I have always enjoyed Waterboy. We took an out of town friend. If anything, Waterboy has even better. The beet salad was innovative and superb. My husband had beef tartare, which was served in sliders. Unusual, but tasty. All of our dishes were outstanding and attractively served. Service was attentive. Excellent dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent as always. I have been going this restaurant for 18 years. It's still great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Perfectly cooked food in attentive service made our lunch and exceptional experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The Waterboy was everything I was hoping for. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and I had asked for a window seat. Our table by a window was waiting for us right at our reservation time. The service was fantastic and the food was amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food, service and quiet ambiance to have any type of conversation

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 3, 2017

nice menu; excellent food preparation and serving (no delay from cooking to table), good wine selection, good service. Noisy and crowded when we were there, but overall a comfortable and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and service. One of the greatest local restauraters and authors was seated nearby and we overheard them mention that they eat at Waterboy weekly. I don't think you can get a better recommendation than that. Highly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Another great meal at Waterboy. Service is always impeccable and friendly. Feels like you in your own home, but with better service! Thx to David and crew for making my friend's birthday special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a lovely meal with friends at Waterboy. The service was excellent, the food was very good and the ambiance pleasant. The scallops were wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great evening with friends and family. Service and food outstanding. Beet salad and Caesar salad particularly noteworthy. One of my favorite spots for dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was a nice time. The food was good but not memorable. I expected more as so many raved about it. I prefer Kru cuisine for distinct amazing flavor and enjoyment. I won't be back on my dime. But!!! I will say the service is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was great once we asked if we had a waitress while waiting for over 15 minutes after we were sat. They were not very busy and waiting that long to be acknowledged for that expensive of a meal while you're watching staff walking around talking to each other, is very off putting. Delicious food though! One of my favorites in sac.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The service and food were excellent. Steak tartare with fries.... Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing food, fantastic service, and a really decently prices wine list! I would come back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Met 3 friends here to have dinner and catch up with our lives. The food, drinks and service were excellent. Parking on the street just outside the door was free starting at 6 pm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Waterboy continues to be reliable for wonderful food, great service and sweet ambiance. It really takes something to be successful as long as they have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This is one of our favorite Sacramento restaurants. The food is always wonderful, and they are fine with splitting a dish, which my husband and I like to do. Staff is very friendly and it's a nice mix of fancy (the food is wonderful, the decor is California classy) and relaxed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I went to over a dozen restaurants in downtown Sacramento over the last 10 days. This was by far the best! I am so sorry I live on the East Coast, because I would probably go every week. The food was superb, beautifully presented, and the service was top-notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent! The food is always good and we also enjoy One Speed

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It was great from excellent. The food was "over the top" good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We walked in thinking we could get a table for two on a weekday night. Nope, turned away by the hostess - all booked for the night. I pulled out my Open Table app and booked a table for two 12 minutes later! It's a small neighborhood place, so book ahead. The food was really good. I didn't know you could pull off New England cl chowder as a main course- they did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It took 1/2 an hour to get a drink. Our waiter was pleasant and tried hard but was stretched too thin. Appetizer and salads were excellent but the entrees tried too hard. The petrole soul was overwhelmed with other items on the plate so the textures were constantly battling. The flavor of the fish was barely discernible. The scallops were way too salty and the polenta was mixed with peas (yuck). We sat by the window and it was very hot. Our waiter was sweating profusely...I mean dripping with sweat!Overall it was not a great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Seriously an amazing meal. The attention to small details in both front and back of the house was amazing. Everything was cooked perfectly. The best place I have ever eaten in 6 years in Sacramento.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Really outstanding service, excellent food, brought in an old bottle of wine whose cork was a challenge to extract, and the wine steward handled it beautifully. Great restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The champagne for special occasions is a great welcoming. Service at Waterboy is always impeccable. The sweetbreads were very tasty. I ordered the scallops which were good, but a bit too salty. Luckily I switched and ate my husband's sole, the fish of the day, which was delicious. Thank you for a great meal and helping us celebrate our 30 year anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.