Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Local Ingredients (66)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (43)
Worth the Drive (43)
Seasonal (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Great for Lunch (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Authentic (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Cozy (20)
Casual (20)
Healthy (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Fun (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
People Watching (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Organic (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Historic (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Always love dining at the Waterboy, one of my favorite Sacramento restaurants.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

As always awesome food. Service is also excellent . This is still one of the best restaurants in Sacramento along with Biba's and Esquire Grill. I have been going there for so many years I cannot remember and it never gets old or tiresome. They are always freshening the menu. Rick runs a tight ship and never seems to rest on his laurels but keeps up the high standards. This is the place for foodies. They have some excellent wines but the list is not as extensive as it probably should be considering the quality of the food. You can bring you own of course and for a special occasion that would be my suggestion if you have something special .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Waterboy is one of our favorites in Sacramento and last night it did not disappoint. The food was outstanding and the service friendly and efficient. A great dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Generally, reliable standby, solid service and good food. Didn't like that at the pricepoint of it menu (higher end), Waterboy now charges $1.00 for bread and $.25 per olive for blue cheese stuffed olives on a $10+ martini. Seems petty and slightly diminished my experience of a formerly more classy restaurant

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

A very nice dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

First visit to Waterboy and it didn't disappoint. The food was extraordinarily good, the ambience was lovely, and service was just right. We will definitely be back. Hangar steak was perfectly cooked and came with an incredible potato gratin of what seemed like dozens of paper-thin layers of delicate potato. Bacon wrapped endive also delicious. Scallop dish equally well-cooked and very tasty. Only complaint would be that two scallops for $22 lunch was a bit miserly. Should have been three. But in total it was a fantastic experience and we'll definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

The Waterboy never disappoints. A distinctive cool vibe and reliably well sourced ingredients. The wine list is spectacular and priced barely over retail-- they want you to have wine, so I do. The service people have been there forEVER and their confidence and experience keep things flowing and relaxed. I know I'm tired of hearing "farm to fork" but the Waterboy absolutely blazed that trail here in Sac so here it actually means something. The steak tartare is divine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Took my friend out for her birthday. Food was fantastic and service was very good. A bit pricey so it's great for special occasion. I would definitely go back to Waterboy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had a lovely dinner and the antipasto appetizer was excellent. We had a special, the waitress described it just as it was, we loved it! My husband and I will return, we loved in ambiance, we are off to Europe and this was our send off, this restaurant will no doubt be like the many we will visit while traveling, we found it romantic! Thanks to the staff, they are exceptional.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It had potential but alas was disappointing. I ordered the beet salad...I love beets...but couldn't even taste the beets because it was soaked in dressing. Scallops were very well cooked but serving only 3 as a main course is ridiculous. It took entirely too long to have our order taken. It wasn't a horrible evening but nothing I would look forward to doing again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Waterboy many times and are never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great dinner at Waterboy on Friday. Suprisingly we were able to get a same day reservation. My boyfriend and I started with the Caesar salad and steak tartare (which are mini tartare sandwiches). For dinner he had the coq au vin and I had the scallops with risotto. Both dishes were fantastic. The food was rich and flavorful without being TOO rich. For dessert we had the apple tartlette with fromage ice cream and it was SO GOOD. I highly recommend. All in all, we were impressed with Waterboy and would recommend to others for a "treat yourself" kind of night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Sacramento. Food is always delicious, service is friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I was very pleased with everything ----only critique would be the noise level---acoustics are

not too good,however, I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went for my mother's 85th birthday. The food was fantastic and the service even better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We made reservations for 9:15 pm, just 15 minutes prior to close. It was our first time dining at this location so neither of us knew that we had made a reservation so close to their closing time. We were celebrating our one year anniversary and I made note of that when I made the reservations.

I couldn't be happier with the service and hospitality with which we were treated. We were given two complimentary glasses of Prosecco as soon as we sat down. Our server, Josh, was kind, knowledgeable and patient. The food was amazing! I had the Friseé salad topped with poached egg and the Steak Du Jour (10oz Ribeye) and it was FANTASTIC.

I felt bad that we came in as late as we did but the entire staff was patient and courteous ok the matter. And it was kind of nice having the place to ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Just passing thru Sacramento...but,
The burger was better than average, the salmon special was delish, the ravioli in brodo was good.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat. Always fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Had a great time out with another couple celebrating a birthday. Food was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service and food was absolutely fabulous. Had the ravioli and scallops, which were divine as always. Marcella is fabulous and always makes our dinner wonderful. Loved Michael as well and thank you so much for a wonderful night out!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. These things will make me come back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent service, tasty meal.
I have dietary restrictions that I wrote in my OpenTable reservation. Our server was knowledgeable and information about what I could and could not eat on the menu. I really appreciated that :-)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

A recent first time meal at Waterboy was outstanding in many ways. I hade noted in the reservation that it was my wife's birthday and we were greeted with two glasses of champagne. Both of our meals were excellent. She had the coq au vin and I had the vegetable ravioli along with an asparagus appetizer that was excellent. My only two complaints about the evening had to do with a) the noise level which was obnoxious when we arrived and only calmed down when the restaurant faded to half full; and b) though the dish was extremely tasty and well prepared, there was only one vegetarian entree on the menu. I am, for medical reasons, a vegetarian and found that limiting and a little disappointing. Otherwise, kudos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food and service! Service is top notch. Second time here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is still one of my favorite restaurants to bring family and friends. I brought my friend to celebrate her birthday and they made both us feel very special. We were seated quickly. They served as a prosecco since we are celebrating a special occasion. The meals are very flavorful. I ordered scallops and my friend had a steak. Both entrees were excellent. They have great wine selections too. Our server was very attentive of our needs. I love the atmosphere, relax and yet elegant. I will certainly come back in the future to taste the enjoyable meals prepared by the chef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never disappointed at Waterboy's. All food items our table tried had fresh ingredients, prepared perfectly, with layers of flavor and goodness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Waterboy is always excellent. The menu offers something new every time. The setting us quiet and table talk is easy. The full, clear glass windows provide an open, street view that adds a sense of being in the city. It is a great place to be with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of our favorite eateries!! And we are frequent restauranteurs..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Came for dinner with my grandma for both of our first times. It was absolutely wonderful. Everything from how we were greeted when we first arrived, service and food was impeccable. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Always great service, meal/food selection/taste. Classy presentation of meal.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

one of my favorite spots in the Big Tomato.....great staff , .always treated well, good food, specials are intriguing, best sweetbreads in the area .... .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Long time favorite. Always great service and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Classy ambience, excellent service, delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It is either my favorite or tied with another.....of sometimes they flip positions!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent! Our favorite restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've been meaning to try this restaurant go a while and was not disappointed. The food, service and ambience are all just great. The onion soup was an updated version that was unique and surprising. I dined solo so appreciated the selection of wine in half bottles. The server was genuine, knowledgeable and comfortable. I'll definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We went to "A Night in New Orleans" and the entire 5-course meal went beyond expectations. Each plate was a beautiful presentation with very freshly prepared ingredients. The staff were "dressed for the event" and the service was outstanding. We are never disappointed when we dine here. The only thing that I would change is the noise level but the historic building would not lend itself to sound absorbing decor without altering the ambiance of the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Water Boy is always tops with me. Went there for a fun Mardi Gras night, will never forget the oyster-bacon toast!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Perhaps the most consistent restaurant in Sacramento. Service is always fine, food is top quality. Ambiance as stylishly casual. You can't go wrong at Waterboy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were there for a special Mardi Gras menu. Every course was delicious, but the gumbo was our least favorite.
The service was excellent and friendly, as always.
Try the "Papasan" cocktail...yum!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.