Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for a Date (88)
Fit for Foodies (84)
See All
Creative Cuisine (77)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Local Ingredients (73)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Notable Wine List (47)
Worth the Drive (42)
Business Meals (39)
Romantic (39)
Seasonal (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Authentic (34)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Fun (20)
Casual (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Organic (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Comfort Food (12)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Disabled Access (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

It is always a pleasure dining at The Waterboy. The food, service were impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

the food was good with the exception of my steak tartar. Instead of the usual and expected preparation it was served as three sliders. the "buns" of the sliders were the sort of pastry one might expect in a cream puff. The meat was not chopped finely enough and I had to ask for mustard since the preparation did not have any. I prefer grey pupon (spelling?) in it but the restaurant had only grainy French mustard. That was just OK. The fish was good and the caesar salad was good too. It was just the affectation with the steak tartar that turned me off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Shared rabbit ravioli, skirt steak and profiteroles with a friend. An absolutely amazing lunch
enhanced by Marcella's always good cheer and advice and Rick actually delivering the
cappucino! Waterboy is my go-to place!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Outstanding service and excellent food prepared flawlessly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great reunion luncheon with girlfriends. Food and service were outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food is great - the hot tomato soup without cream (!) was delicious. They give you a complimentary glass of champagne on celebrations. Love the ambiance with big plate glass windows and industrial pipes up above. We always try to guess what it was at one time. The service was excellent with a perfectly chosen glass of wine that paired well with dinner. The tables for two with banquette are a little small so you get a cramped feeling (and the possibility of knocking something over!), but not enough to detract from a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Waterboy is our favorite restaurant, hands down. Rick is a superb restauranteur, and we have always had a wonderful time and excellent food at Waterboy - and have been dining there for decades; however, on our most recent visit (9/10), we had (for us) a new server, and she was not all that engaged. It was hard to understand what she was saying, and even when we asked for clarification, it seemed as though she was not all that interested in providing a normally excellent serving experience at Waterboy. We will continue to dine there, and recommend it to friends, but we were frankly surprised at what several felt was a sort of disengaged server. It was puzzling.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Waterboy never disappoints and this weekend's dinner was no exception! Great food and great staff! Thanks as always for a great night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My husband and I celebrated his birthday with a weekend in Sacramento and had dinner Saturday night at Waterboy.
The food and service were both excellent. I had the pasta special (delicious) and my husband had the picnic plate, which he loved. We started with the yummy beet salad.
A great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went a few years ago and was very disappointed but keep seeing good reviews lately so thought we'd try it again. Sadly, should have trusted my gut and went somewhere else. Food was so so, even our server told us to avoid more than a few items on the menu. Duck, lamb and salmon were typical, good but definitely nothing special. Only item I'd order again would be oysters on the half shell. But then again they were nearly $20 for half dozen... so maybe not. Recommend you try Mulvaney or Locali for something worthy of $250 for 4 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best restaurants in town when they opened 20 years ago. Owner Rick Mahan Is still hitting the mark of a casual dining experience, with the best and healthiest of ingredients, presented in a unique, creative and flavorful art form for the senses. Rick and his Chef Adam, continue to be consistent in their love of food preparation, unique ingredients, local and organic and presentation. These guys proved time and time again they love what they do and they want us to love it as well.…
From G mgr Kevin White to Marcella, best server in Midtown; and everyone else; everyone cares about your personalized dining experience from a to Z. Be good to yourself and don't miss out on this gem .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Waterboy is by far our favorite Sacramento Restaurant. The service was really good--they pay attention but do not hover. Atmosphere sophisticated yet comfortable. Food outstanding seasonal ingredients. So very yummy!! Will go there again and again!!

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Waterboy never fails to disappoint; the menu is seasonal and farm to fork. We love eating here during the week and weekend when visiting Sacramento. Wine list is interesting and includes local wineries.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I am rating this an overall very good experience primarily due to the great work and attention of our server. She was very knowledgeable concerning the overall menu and specials and provided good suggestions to our party. Waterboy menu, in my opinion, is somewhat limited, portions are med/small and ingredients are simple (I assume farm to table approach). Food was nonetheless, attractively presented, hot and tasty. Cheesecake dessert was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Waterboy has been our favorite since Rick Mahan opened years ago! He only gets better!! Staff is outstanding, helpful but not hovering! Food is luscious, seasonal and just the perfect portions! I recommend The Waterboy to everyone looking for a great restaurant even though I live in Reno, Nevada now. We still go for a perfect meal!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! One of my favorites. The chef keeps the menu fresh and cooked with love and care. This restaurant has style and character.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Unbelievable experience, supreme staff and the food was unique and delectable. Our family had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Easily one of the top meals we've had in Sacramento. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I wanted some place special for our anniversary, and we were not disappointed in any of the hype. Every staff member was kind and attentive (it was our anniversary, and they made just the right amount of fuss which was lovely but not overdone), the food was fantastic and plentiful, all the flavors were fresh and seasonal. It's definitely worth the splurge to come here to enjoy the experience! We had appetizer, main, and dessert, and I'd do that all again. Of course the glitch is that since they specialize in seasonal foods, we'll have to wait a year for this type of menu, but I'm excited to see what fall will bring for changes!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 29, 2017

As expected, great drinks, service and food. We always enjoy our dinners at Waterboy whether it's special occasions or just a dinner out. Bartender Jordan and servers Courtney and Josh were wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 29, 2017

It has been awhile since my last meal at Waterboy but it never disappoints! Fabulous meal- everything was wonderful, starting with the bruschetta to the hazelnut chocolate torte - not to mention the tuna, chicken and steak entrees! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Was not impressed with the food. Over priced and no taste. The ribs tasted like they were dunking in vinegar. The website lead us to believe it was Italian. Not even close. Drinks was nasty also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Classy place! The staff were extremely friendly in a genuine way, not phony. Drinks were generous pours, and the wine menu had good selections, however I wish there were more choices. The oysters and bruschetta were exceptional! Salmon perfectly cooked, not overdone. I had the gnocchi always a favorite of mine and they do it right! Very very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The staff were attentive and the food exceptional. Business patrons that are unable to keep their conversations to their own tables are the only detraction.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This restaurant deserves a Michelin star. The food is creative and the service is just as outstanding. In addition to regular visits, we have gone to 3 vegetarian nights. We aren't vegetarian, but we go for the amazing dishes.
On our last visit, we met the owner who came to our table. He was warm and personable. This restaurant remains our favorite!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The Waterboy is one of Sacramento's best restaurants. The food and service are always excellent. I always leave thinking Life is good. Life is very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The Waterboy dishes are always fresh, creative and delicious. It is my favorite restaurant in Sacramento.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was our 25th anniversary. They gave us a free champagne toast. The waiter was very attentive but not intrusive. The food was delicious. There was clearly attention paid to the ingredients and sauces which were all top notch. The only downside that is a but noisy and the tables are too close together for a truly intimate date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I have been coming to The Waterboy for many, many years & it is one of my favorites. Always consistent! Love you all~Bobbi Little

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

What a great restaurant. Great seating. The food was fresh, unique and delicious. A tasty menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Waterboy is our go to restaurant for every occasion -------- it is always GOOD and innovative so dining there is a plus!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went for an early meal before the theatre. Nice restaurant. Very limited vegetarian options. I had a delicious tomato salad and the gnocchi which tasted good but had way too much pesto sauce. My husband had the fish and it was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I met up with old friends for dinner at the Waterboy restaurant.

The food was delicious and well presented, the service exceptional and the ambience great!

We sure will stop by in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Everything we had was excellent: the tomatoes salad, special that day, was fresh, colorful and tasty. My sweetbreads were the best I ever had: the sauce was exquisite.
We had the scallops, fresh and flavorful.
The profiteroles and the dacquoise for dessert was a beautiful end to our dinner.
Can't wait to go back to order the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We come to Waterboy almost every time there is a special occasion. The menu changes often and it makes the experience interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great restaurant. Highly recommend. Reserved on open table and later modified by phone. Outstanding experience. Will definitely return. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Just a wouderful time as we celebrated our anniversary. They even brought us glasses of Champagne to start the night off right.
Thank you....

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The dining experience was fantastic. The owner/manager came by to personally meet us and to check on us throughout the evening. He even bought us a drink. I ordered the scallops and my wife ordered the duck. Both dishes exceeded my expectations. I will be going back for sure. Make sure you have reservations on busy nights.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My first time to this restaurant and it won't be my last! The food was excellent and so was the service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was the 20th Anniversary of the day my friend and I met. We were extremely pleased with the food, the service was excellent, our server was attentive, pleasant, and knowledgeable. We'd never been to Waterboy before. Choosing this place to spend our evening together made it all the more special. Thank you for treating us so well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.