About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Orange Blossom Honey Creme Brulee - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Caesar Salad - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Steak Frites - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Vegetable Pot Pie - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Risotto Verde - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Antipasto - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Cabernet Sauvignon - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Bread and Butter - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Earl Grey Tea - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Rob Roy - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Prosecco - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Americano - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
coppa di testa - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
salted caramel pot de creme - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Rick's Burger - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Wedge Of Iceburg Lettuce - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Carrot Fennel Soup - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Deviled Eggs With Shrimp - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Blue Nose Sea Bass With Green Garlic Mashed Potatoes - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
frise salad - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Waterboy Deluxe Burger - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Pot Pie "Coq Au Vin" - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Lemonade - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Bread Service - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
steak tartare - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Honey And Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Beet Salad - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Loin With Rosemary Noodles & Root Vegetable - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Deviled Eggs - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Meyer Lemon Cake - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
 Sausage  Bruschetta - Special - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Risotto - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Bollito Misto - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Cassoulet - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Green Garlic Soup - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Mixed Grill (Lamb Chop, Chicken, House Made Pancetta) - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Raviolis - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Ahi, Seared - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Fish and Chips - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Perfectly Mid Rare Ribeye - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Halibut, Daily Fish - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Strawberry Creme Cake - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Ahi, Seared With Chard, Peas, And Yellow Carrots Finished With Salsa Verde - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Kumamoto oysters - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
  Crème Brûlée - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Scallops - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Salted Cod - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA
Sonoma Liberty Duck Two Ways: Grilled Breast & Crepinette Of Leg, Provencal Ratatouille, Crisp Potato Prune Gallette, Herb Jus  - Waterboy, Sacramento, CA

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for a Date (69)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
See All
Fit for Foodies (61)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Local Ingredients (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Romantic (41)
Worth the Drive (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Seasonal (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Authentic (26)
Business Meals (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Healthy (15)
Cozy (14)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Fun (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Organic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Historic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Water boy is aways a great choice. The f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Water boy is aways a great choice. The food never disappoints!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our meal and the service! The spec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved our meal and the service! The specials were superb and the warm cauliflower and broccoli salad was unique and delicious. Only complaint was the wine by the glass list is limited.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a decent meal. I had a tiny ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a decent meal. I had a tiny anchovy appetizer and a well-prepared sweat bread first course. My wife had an excellent ravioli. To judge from the amount of gristle he had to cut off, our dining companion's steak was rather mediocre. The profiteroles were unconventionally sauced in caramel instead of chocolate and very good. I generally like Dolcetto but our bottle was so-so. In summary, the food was mixed. Service was friendly but quite slow that Sunday evening -the place was quite busy. We would give Waterboy another try should we ever be in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner was very good. The French Onion ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was very good. The French Onion Soup was rich and delicious. The Daily Special was cod and it was good. However, the mashed potatoes were disappointing. The service was attentive, but they did not rush you through your meal. That brought their score higher.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an amazing night with delicious f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

We had an amazing night with delicious food. The service was great as we'll sad everything on our plates!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Sacramento's best. Amazing food w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

One of Sacramento's best. Amazing food with local ingredients, great cocktails, and a wine list with a little something for everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner and great food. Really ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic dinner and great food. Really enjoyed our knowledgeable server David, as it made for a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff were very helpful, but no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The wait staff were very helpful, but no special consideration was provided for birthday celebration. The bouillabaise was excellent, but the special appetizer (bread, egg and caviar) was not particularly special. The online menu said Cioppino was on the menu, but the printed menu had bouillabaise...Given how good it was, the change was not a disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good Manhattans. Food and ambiance ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very good Manhattans. Food and ambiance was great. Arrived at 5:30 and there was plenty of tables available but by the time we left all tables were taken. Reservations needed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rick has done an amazing job for years. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Rick has done an amazing job for years. I used to work in Sacramento and would dine at the Waterboy often. I now live in the East Bay and always hope to work in Sacramento so that I can eat there. The Waterboy is one of the top five resturants in the bay area (we have eaten at a ton of them). It is world class. If Rick and crew were in SF they would be off-the-charts....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come to Waterboy few times a year. I h ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I come to Waterboy few times a year. I have always had great dinners and over all terrific experience.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife for her birthday. She is ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday. She is a vegetarian and had a delicious meal.

I on the other hand love seafood... and their swordfish was fantastic!!

A longtime local gem!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent from arrival to departure. Atm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent from arrival to departure. Atmosphere, food, service, wine. Sacramento areas finest dining experience, second to none.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been wanting I got to go to Water ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had been wanting I got to go to Waterboy - it did not disappoint. Fabulous upscale food with great service. The best restaurant I've been to in Sacramento for fine dining. Pricey, and worth revere penny. Grade special occasion place. Definitely will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, old school vibes and great food. L ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Cozy, old school vibes and great food. Love that they have half bottles of wine so you can enjoy wine and a cocktail reasonably! This place draws an older crowd, and people really dress up here, but we were fine in jeans and sweaters. Friendly service- great chocolate cake!! We will be back

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

went for lunch . first time . very good ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 6, 2017

went for lunch . first time . very good food and service. recommended to our son and his wife. would definitely go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A little noisy, But always lovely: Food, ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A little noisy, But always lovely: Food, service excellent...One of the very best restaurants in northern California!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great and very att

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was great and very att

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants in the a ...

 
 (München)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in the area. Nice variety of items on the menu. Very friendly personnel. They offer a variety alcoholic drinks but also for non-alcoholic drinks my favorite Navarro grape juice, both versions Gewurtzstraminer and Pinot Noir (the only place I know that offers both!).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic service, food cooked to perfec ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service, food cooked to perfection. Good ambiance, but for big eaters portions might be a little disappointed. This opinion is is very judgmental, as I am a fairly big eater but was well satisfied. This is a wonderful place!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waterboy is one of our two favorite rest ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waterboy is one of our two favorite restaurants in Sacramento. The menu and service are consistently excellent. Menu changes seasonally and always provides new insights into old favorites. While we go there for occasions, our waitress always remembers us, as do others on the staff. A wonderful place by any estimation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best dining experience we'v ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the best dining experience we've had in the Sacramento area!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Great Service. However, in ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, Great Service. However, in my opinion, the atmosphere and environment doesn't compliment the menu and food quality and presentation. In my opinion, the menu, service and fooe presentation is at least 5 points higher to more classy/elegant that the current atmosphere and ambiance. It sends a little mixed message.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A gem of Sacramento. Phenomenally prepar ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A gem of Sacramento. Phenomenally prepared classic dishes with modern modifications. One of the few high end restaurants worth the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There was a delay seating our party of 4 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

There was a delay seating our party of 4. We ordered a cocktail at the bar and were told they would be complimentary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were meeting old friends for dinner i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were meeting old friends for dinner in Sacramento and they suggested Waterboy. When I made the reservation, I requested a round table, if available, for our party of six because the two husbands are hard of hearing and the two daughters are very soft-spoken. The hostess showed us to a rectangular table for six. When I asked her if we could have the round table for six right next to it. She said it was reserved and would check. We decided to stick with the rectangular table. Unfortunately, the parties around us were quite noisy and the general noise level in the restaurant is very high. So the husbands missed out on what the daughters were saying. Otherwise, the food was delicious--the antipasto plate, salads, the steak, chicken, cassoulet, cioppino, gnocchi, and duck breast special. Michael, our waiter was quite attentive. I suppose it is hit or miss whether other diners near you are loud--or it's dependent on how much they are drinking. My husband felt that the food was delicious, but he was cheated out of catching up with his college room mate's family.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful experience all around, great s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful experience all around, great service and food

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary celebration. Terrific ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great anniversary celebration. Terrific food, wine and service. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waterboy is one of Sacramento's best and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Waterboy is one of Sacramento's best and most well regarded restaurants---and the reason for this is the consistent quality and personality of the food, along with the excellent service. It is like going to Rick Mahan's home every time ---- it is that warm, welcoming, and unpretentious, while you anticipate the magic that emerges from the kitchen. It has been exciting to see Sacramento's food scene become more lively, competitive and reflective of the regional bounty in the last few years. However, it will be interesting to see how many of the distinctive dining venues will sustain themselves as it is a perilous business. Waterboy has already proven it can, having celebrated 20 years. I do think it is time for some spiffing up of the décor. All those beautiful windows remain a plus, but the space needs some TLC.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Just a lovely place to be , to celebrate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Just a lovely place to be , to celebrate my Birthday with my fabulous girlfriend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I made reservat ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent. I made reservations and they gave me the table I asked for. We shared the fresh oysters. I had the deviled eggs and my companion had the sweet breads. For my entree I had the steak of the day and my friend had their sea bass. Everything was perfect. They brought me samples of wine until I had just the one I wanted. After all of these years still probably the best restaurant in Sacramento.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy our dining experience at Wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always enjoy our dining experience at Waterboy. Outstanding service, food and feeling.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waterboy is my favorite restaurant: ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Waterboy is my favorite restaurant: period! The food is always stellar, as is the service. It has a casual elegance that is relaxing, welcoming and warm. Rick Mahan is a wonderful man, who recognizes patrons and is very personable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for holiday lunch with staff - very ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Went for holiday lunch with staff - very good in all respects. Two people had burger- said really good; one person had sea bass special - said was best she ever had. I had duck cassoulet - wonderful. Server very friendly. A little slow for lunch service, but worth the wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really good food...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Really good food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable spot to have a mother- daughte ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Enjoyable spot to have a mother- daughter lunch. We were glad we made reservations as the restaurant filled quickly.

The sample cheese tray was a great appetizer start.

Not too noisy as we chatted and devoured our ravioli entrees.

The nutty cake with orange cream topping was the perfect finish.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I dined at Waterboy with my parents and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I dined at Waterboy with my parents and my girlfriend for my birthday. They were very gracious when my gf was 15+ minutes late. The service and food were outstanding, I really enjoyed all aspects of the night. My grandparents used to love this place--this was the first time I had been back in over a decade and clearly it has not lost its luster. Hope to return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This reservation was for a business lunc ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This reservation was for a business lunch, a party of 4 at Noon. A few of us had never been before and will definitely be returning! Each of us ordered something different from the creative menu and were all very pleased with our choices and enjoyed every morsel of our meals!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a good place to meet people for l ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 13, 2016

It was a good place to meet people for lunch. The light from the windows and the view was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We split the endive salad, the pesce cru ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We split the endive salad, the pesce crudo first course and a bacon burger. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious, and they didn't charge extra for splitting. Now, that's a classy restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.