About Waterboy

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Antipasto
Chicken Pot Pie "Coq Au Vin"
Honey And Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta
Lamb Loin With Rosemary Noodles & Root Vegetable
salted caramel pot de creme
Caesar Salad
steak tartare
Rick's Burger
Orange Blossom Honey Creme Brulee
Steak Frites
Vegetable Pot Pie
Risotto Verde
Cabernet Sauvignon
Bread and Butter
Earl Grey Tea
Rob Roy
Prosecco
Americano
coppa di testa
Wedge Of Iceburg Lettuce
Carrot Fennel Soup
Deviled Eggs With Shrimp
Blue Nose Sea Bass With Green Garlic Mashed Potatoes
frise salad
Waterboy Deluxe Burger
Lemonade
Bread Service
Beet Salad
Deviled Eggs
Meyer Lemon Cake
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte
 Sausage  Bruschetta - Special
Risotto
Bollito Misto
Cassoulet
Green Garlic Soup
Mixed Grill (Lamb Chop, Chicken, House Made Pancetta)
Raviolis
Ahi, Seared
Fish and Chips
Perfectly Mid Rare Ribeye
Halibut, Daily Fish
Strawberry Creme Cake
Ahi, Seared With Chard, Peas, And Yellow Carrots Finished With Salsa Verde
Kumamoto oysters
  Crème Brûlée
Scallops
Salted Cod
Sonoma Liberty Duck Two Ways: Grilled Breast & Crepinette Of Leg, Provencal Ratatouille, Crisp Potato Prune Gallette, Herb Jus

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Fit for Foodies (111)
Special Occasion (104)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
See All
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (41)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Scenic View (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (5)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good, and a great sele ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good, and a great selection of different items, so it was hard to choose. (a good thing). Our waiter was very nice but she seemed a little off our night. We had our two young kids (9 & 10) with us and they loved the duck and special pasta. My wife enjoyed here scallops but said they weren't great. Really liked the steak tartare. My lamb was very good but not great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I am becoming leery of restaurants with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I am becoming leery of restaurants with trendy web sites claiming of culinary prowess and artisanal expertise often being disappointed in either the food or atmosphere of the actual restaurant. The Waterboy is a restaurant where visiting and dining exceed any expectations set by web pages or reviews. Set in a nice but authentic part of Sacramento, the service is professional, the menu is outstanding, and the experience memorable. I look forward to another visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Hadn't been for a while and was pleased ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Hadn't been for a while and was pleased that it was as good as ever.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not cheap, but a good place to impress a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Not cheap, but a good place to impress a date. Duck was fantastic. Dessert chocolate mouse was too small. Overall thumbs up.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very outstanding food and service. All f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very outstanding food and service. All four of us very much enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous. The food was ex ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was fabulous. The food was extraordinary....steak tartare was perfect. Ahi was perfect! Ravioli was perfect! Wine was delightful! Our waiter was outstanding...can't wait to go again and have the Sweet Breads!

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was friendly and service was excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Staff was friendly and service was excellent. The meal was delicious as usual except for the deviled eggs which were bland. Wish the tables were slightly larger for a party of four as we couldn't fit the wine on ice on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining at Waterboy is always a wonderful ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Dining at Waterboy is always a wonderful experience. We've been going there since it opened and firmly believe it's one of the very best (if not THE best) restaurants in town. Service is outstanding. We usually request Marcella and this last time she was off and we had Elizabeth who was also great!

Love the way Rick frequently changes the menu, while keeping some of the old favorites, like the Caesar, deviled eggs, bouillabaise and duck breast.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very possibly the best restaurant in Sac ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very possibly the best restaurant in Sacramento in terms of food quality and originality of their recipes. The desserts are outstanding as well. Bear in mind that the ambiance is more casual than the cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to The Waterboy several times ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We've been to The Waterboy several times and each time it is spectacular. The cocktails are sublime and the food is simply amazing. We had the Steak Tartare, the Roast Lamb on Saffron Pasta, and the Hangar Steak. Everything was succulent and delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A terrific place for lunch with your dad ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

A terrific place for lunch with your dad or friends, the hostesses and waiters are super friendly and professional. The food is out of this world, I've seriously never had a bad anything there whether it's a starter or entree. Parking can be a little tough on Friday's but I have to say that Waterboy is my number one choice for dining with family and friends and I will always make it my number one choice for sitting down with business associates and other professionals.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Organic, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was friendly and attentive, with ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Service was friendly and attentive, without being annoying. The food and cocktails were interesting and expertly prepared. All six of us enjoyed our meals and plan to come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter David Jones was wonderful. David' ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Waiter David Jones was wonderful. David's knowledge of wine made our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always very good

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Corn soup was amazing. The scallop and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Corn soup was amazing. The scallop and muscles entree is among my favorites of the many scallop dishes I have had there (and I always order the scallops). Marcella was excellent - helping me get my favorite dessert which was not on the menu. A wonderful experience - as expected.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat. Great food, wonderful se ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a treat. Great food, wonderful service and a lovely night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was just as good as I have hear ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was just as good as I have heard it is, even better!!!! The staff was friendly and very attentive and highly informative about the menu. The menu is creative and offers something for everyone. The desserts were beyond creative from small portions to large portions. If you want something special, this is the place to come. I will be back again, and can't wait.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating out 11 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating out 11 year anniversary. We had been to the Waterboy before with friends and decided it would be a great place for our special day. It did not disappoint. Everything was fantastic. The food was "off the hook", so delicious. The service was great, a group had cancelled that had a window seat so they offered to move us to that table....so very nice of them to do this. We had a awesome time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had an early dinner with friends and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had an early dinner with friends and we all loved our food! The only sad part was that we didn't have time for dessert.

Looking forward to more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the treasures of Sacramento! You ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

One of the treasures of Sacramento! You can bring friends, family and/or business associates here and be assured everyone will have a wonderful meal. Consistently excellent!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

treated my sister and brother in law to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

treated my sister and brother in law to lunch to celebrate an auspicious occasion. the service was superior and the food was outstanding. A great experience and therefore a great value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We first were seated inside and it was a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We first were seated inside and it was a bit noisy. We asked to move outside and got a table right away. It was really nice eating outside. Food was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in Sacramento for one year a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We've lived in Sacramento for one year and this is the best restaurant we've found.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've dined here a few times now. Each t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I've dined here a few times now. Each time was marginal. Thought I would give it another go, but no need for me to return in the future. I came in as a single diner, was handed off to a number of people who did not know if my drink order had been taken. Sat there for many more minutes before finally being served. Ordered the ribeye. Although the exterior was flavorful, it was poorly marbeled and tough...things you almost never hear about ribeye. I asked for a specific wine, the waiter researched and said they did not have it, so I ordered a different bottle. He later returned to tell me that they in fact did have it and it was his mistake. Too late, cork already popped on the prior bottle. No offer to replace the wine. Noise level very high, which was not a problem, but the drunk diner at the table next to me, using profanity throughout his meal was. I don't know why an establishment would continue to refill drinks at a table with an obviously intoxicated man. What should have been a nice meal at the end of a long business day, was not. I cut my meal short, boxed up my meal for a leftover lunch and corked the bottle after 1 glass. Not worth the hype...and expense. $35 for steak, preemade scalloped potatoes and a few vegetables. They even charge for bread service. Nope, not coming back. I'll spend my hard earned money elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a terrific evening at Waterboy. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a terrific evening at Waterboy. Our waiter, who is normally the bartender, suggested some great riffs on some of the more traditional cocktails. His food recommendations were right on - even steering us away from the oysters since they are typically not at their best in the summer. The sweet bread was delicious as was the fish stew. The creme brulee was perfection - I had to hold myself back from licking the plate.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful relaxed meal. Fantastic servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Wonderful relaxed meal. Fantastic service on the patio. Don't miss the fish tartar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and there were so many ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was amazing and there were so many things on the menu we both wanted to try. Plates were inventive, well portioned and incredibly yummy. Service was informed, polite, and just added to the experience. We will be back for more.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a fabulous dinner to be had at th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a fabulous dinner to be had at the Waterboy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got seated immediately (we had reservati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Got seated immediately (we had reservations). Our waiter was pleasant, knowledgeable and even though it was a busy Friday night, he was there whenever we needed him.

The food was very good - we had salmon. I would have liked to have more seafood selections; there were only two seafood entrees, the salmon and scallops. Nice ambience, not too noisy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place. Too pricey!!! Would love ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place. Too pricey!!! Would love to go back more often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is without a doubt one of my favori ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is without a doubt one of my favorite restaurants in midtown. Great wine list (offer an uncorking fee) and the menu is delicious and perfect for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a reservation for my husband's bi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday and I noted that. When we came in the restaurant, nobody seemed to know that we were celebrating his bday. Food service was very slow and was overpriced. Overrated. We won't go there again or recommend to my friends who are foodies..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent food. Good and attentive servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. Good and attentive service. Clearly there were many long time customers or friends of the staff in the house, and those tables got a huge amount of time, attention, special dishes made or drinks offered. As a first time customer it was a bit awkward sitting between two of these tables and watching how different their experience was to ours. Several tables were offered a complimentary glass of wine for a special occasion, though we were not (anniversary).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Menu provided a diverse and a vast array ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Menu provided a diverse and a vast array of selections for salads and entrees. The special seafood for the evening-halibut with tomato/potato salad- was exceptional. The service was attentive but not hurried. My Chopin martini was perfectly chilled and salad of green beans and beats had a tangy and light lemon dressing. My father took me to the Waterboy for my birthday--a totally fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waterboy has been for many years a favor ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waterboy has been for many years a favorite spot for both locals and tourists. I have been here f on two occasions and was pleased during both visits. The menu has a variety of selections and the price point is consistent with the type of items available and the preparation involved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best in Sacramento..Great food ,grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The best in Sacramento..Great food ,great wine list ,great ambiance ,great service

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary for the first time. It's possible that we came on a strange night but the service was sub-par for the pay scale, over-all not bad but just something I'd expect from a chilis. The food was great though, not a super romantic setting, a bit more laid back then expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I always enjoy this place! The food is f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I always enjoy this place! The food is fantastic and you feel like you are in a very special place just being there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, friendly helpful service, ok ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food, friendly helpful service, ok prices, would definitely come back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was just another anniversary dinner ( ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was just another anniversary dinner (#23). I had pre-ordered a bottle of Jordan Cab to be on the table (an anniversary tradition for us). We arrived 20 minutes early not knowing what the traffic would be like. Not only were we greeted with a friendly smile, but our table (with wine) was ready and waiting for us. Our incomparable server (Nicole) greeted us with two glasses of champagne ready for the evening to begin. From this point on the evening just kept going up and up and up. The food was stellar. Oysters (fresh as can be) and bruschetta (a marvel) opened up our palettes and just lead us into course after course of nirvana. All along the way Nicole insured that we wanted for nothing. It was truly an evening to remember. I would highly recommend Waterboy and look forward to our return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.