About Waterboy

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Antipasto
Chicken Pot Pie "Coq Au Vin"
salted caramel pot de creme
Caesar Salad
Honey And Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta
Lamb Loin With Rosemary Noodles & Root Vegetable
steak tartare
Rick's Burger
Deviled Eggs
Mixed Grill (Lamb Chop, Chicken, House Made Pancetta)
Orange Blossom Honey Creme Brulee
Steak Frites
Vegetable Pot Pie
Risotto Verde
Cabernet Sauvignon
Bread and Butter
Rob Roy
Earl Grey Tea
Prosecco
Americano
coppa di testa
Wedge Of Iceburg Lettuce
Carrot Fennel Soup
Deviled Eggs With Shrimp
Blue Nose Sea Bass With Green Garlic Mashed Potatoes
frise salad
Waterboy Deluxe Burger
Lemonade
Bread Service
Beet Salad
Meyer Lemon Cake
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte
 Sausage  Bruschetta - Special
Risotto
Bollito Misto
Cassoulet
Green Garlic Soup
Raviolis
Fish and Chips
Ahi, Seared
Halibut, Daily Fish
Perfectly Mid Rare Ribeye
Strawberry Creme Cake
Kumamoto oysters
Ahi, Seared With Chard, Peas, And Yellow Carrots Finished With Salsa Verde
  Crème Brûlée
Scallops
Salted Cod
Sonoma Liberty Duck Two Ways: Grilled Breast & Crepinette Of Leg, Provencal Ratatouille, Crisp Potato Prune Gallette, Herb Jus

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
2 More
Best Food
Sacramento
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

fit for foodies (126)
special occasion (110)
neighborhood gem (74)
See All
romantic (51)
notable wine list (46)
great for lunch (36)
good for groups (25)
great for outdoor dining (23)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (7)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated promptly. The service was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated promptly. The service was great. The wait staff knew when to approach our table and when to give privacy. Malbec wine paired very well with the cheese plate appetizer. The main dishes, the leg of lamb and the ravioli, were delicious. Every thing was on mark.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perhaps Sacramento's most consistent res ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perhaps Sacramento's most consistent restaurant, never a bad meal or less than a pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waterboy is consistent, delicious an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The Waterboy is consistent, delicious and my favorite restaurant. I love that no matter what day I eat there the food is great, the service is excellent and I feel pampered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited choice, one of the buss girl was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Limited choice, one of the buss girl was very rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Took a chance that this might be for my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Took a chance that this might be for my wife and I for a quiet, interesting lunch. It was beyond my expectations. Food good, Service friendly and efficient, ambience hip and cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We both had the Burgers. Extremely tasty ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We both had the Burgers. Extremely tasty. About a half pound of high quality burger cooked perfectly on both the well done for my wife( which for some reason is hard to get right in many restaurants) and medium rare for myself. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great caring service, delicious food, al ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great caring service, delicious food, always comes through. I am always delighted to eat there

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my fourth time at Waterboy, goi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my fourth time at Waterboy, going back many years. It has been a staple of my visits to Sacramento. The restaurant was very welcoming, but I get the sense it has been resting on its laurels rather than staying on the cutting edge. Local farms were not as featured as in the past. The lamb entree I ordered was terribly salty, though the side vegetables were sublime. The drink I ordered was watered down, lacked flavor, and was small but expensive. The sourdough bread as always was wonderful, and the salad very fresh. Yet I may not return, because the value of the meal did not justify the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Water boy has always had admirable food, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Water boy has always had admirable food, but now they have actually put some thought into an interesting wine list. There is more here than mass produced Cali Chard and Cabernet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner this time was one of Waterboy's m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner this time was one of Waterboy's monthly Thursday night prix fixe dinners. This time vegetarian. Creative dishes. Outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Waterboy never disappoints! We went ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Waterboy never disappoints! We went for the Summer Garden dinner and the food and service were spectacular. As much as I love my meats, we didn't miss them at all in this special menu. The corn risotto was the star of the evening but everything else tied for an extremely close second. Our server was attentive, had great suggestions, and extremely pleasant. Overall, an excellent evening as always!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The duck was off ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was excellent. The duck was off the charts good. The service so attentive. The decor lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our overall experience was pretty good; ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our overall experience was pretty good; our waitress was friendly and attentive, and the food was excellent. I'd definitely come here again and I would recommend to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! Great service! Nic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was amazing! Great service! Nice atmosphere! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a casual lunch with friends. W ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Went for a casual lunch with friends. Was expecting great food and service, and it was better. Marcella a long time wait staff professional was in top form, kitchen performed it's usual magic.

Best place in Sacramento.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best waiter that has ever provided servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Best waiter that has ever provided service.

See you again soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No exaggeration at all - this was one o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

No exaggeration at all - this was one of the top five meals of my entire life! Everything was cooked to absolute perfection, The sommelier had excellent wine tips and his choices perfectly complemented the food, and the waitstaff were the utmost of professionalism and elegance. An A+ experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Will continue t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and food. Will continue to bring my out of state guest here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Was perfect in all respects, as expected ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Was perfect in all respects, as expected and demonstrated in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our 26th anniversary ce ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went here for our 26th anniversary celebration, and really enjoyed our meal and our server. They were both fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect except the bar se ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was perfect except the bar seats and overall area is a little cramped. I would definitely recommend this place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal as always. Was kind of su ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Was kind of surprised that we didn't receive a glass of champagne to celebrate 29th anniversary. The couple next to us did receive champagne. Apparently they notified restaurant that they were celebrating a special occasion when they made their reservation. While we didn't do that we did tell our server and the hostess that we were celebrating our 29th. No champagne for me was not important but my wife would have appreciated it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to the Waterboy on ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I went to the Waterboy on a Saturday night just to try it out. There was great tasting food, I recommend he Caesar Salad as your First Course, it was amazing. The place is very small, also a little uncomfortable because you must sit so close to everyone and it feels as though the people at the next table can listen to your entire conversation. This was actually our experience. Both tables on each side of us were other couples (one couple in their 50's , the other in their 40's possibly) and as we were dining and leaving both couple made comments chiming into our conversation which was odd. It's a much older crowd and not much "color" (if you know what I mean). My husband and I are an interracial and young looking couple, so we felt almost like the elephant in the room in the crowd of grey and white hair. Dining was great, I suggest checking the menu before going to make your experience smoother. Drinks were also very great! The service at the Waterboy was very kind and catering to the guests needs and wants which is always great. For the younger crowds like mid 20's- late 30's, I would suggest Dinner as a date but not really a "meet with friends" kind of a place.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Halibut was overcooked and dry, fish ste ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Halibut was overcooked and dry, fish stew was very good but skimpy on the fish/seafood for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This is our favorite restaurant in town. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in town. Always very special (and we have done the other 'elite' restaurants as well). We are always treated like we are just as special as anyone else, the food is outstanding, and the environment always takes us back to Paris without trying to be kitchy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Waterboy is always excellen ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food at Waterboy is always excellent. They even put anchovies (optional) on their Caesar! Meats and seafood are always cooked to order perfectly and sauces are amazing. They have a good selection of wines by the glass as well as full and half-bottles. We have never had their desserts, but this time we were offered a chocolate suffle for dessert. Yum!

The ambiance is quite nice--just not special enough to be termed "outstanding." We plan to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you are looking for a great dinning e ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

If you are looking for a great dinning experience the water boy staff is,in my opinion, one of the best. I've been many places and this ranks in the top ten in the US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, and the service were very nice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food, and the service were very nice, more than adequate. My husband and I were celebrating our 35 wedding aniversary, but we didn't reveal that until close to the end of our meal. Everything was lovely. But, so was our dinner at another restaurant two days before when we celebrated my birthday. I didn't find Waterboy to be any better ( or worse) than the other elegant restaurant we went to. For my tastes in food and atmosphere, I will always choose ten22 in Old Sacramento everytime for our special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Water Boy is a top notch restaurant. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The Water Boy is a top notch restaurant. The food was perfect. The service was spot on. My friend asked for a recommendation on red wine, we ordered the bottle and it was VERY GOOD wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding meal, excellent service, kno ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Outstanding meal, excellent service, knowledgeable staf!! We will be back. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice evening -good food-good se ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was a nice evening -good food-good service a bit noisy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Nice place with good food. Reserved for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice place with good food. Reserved for special occasions due to cost.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was terrific, but would have prefer ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was terrific, but would have preferred a little more attention from servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

You can't go wrong with Waterboy . We sa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

You can't go wrong with Waterboy . We sat outside, and were the only people in the outdoor dining area. The food and service were well worth the price. Waterboy is the most consistently good restaurant in Sacramento. We've been going there for over 15 years, and Waterboy always delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love coming to Waterboy, it nev ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I always love coming to Waterboy, it never disappoints. Many years ago I wouldn't have rated the service so high but the last few years I've been more than happy with the staff at Waterboy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is so easy to overcook halibut but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It is so easy to overcook halibut but the chef prepared it perfectly so that it fell apart with the touch of the fork and was delicious. The fish was on a bed of fresh vegetables, also perfectly cooked and I added a beet and green bean salad. At Waterboy you can always find a great meal for any food preference, light fare, vegetarian, savory steak, or pasta. The cafe style dining room is vibrant and the service excellent.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We arrived and were immediately seated. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We arrived and were immediately seated. The restaurant was quiet and the staff energy was upbeat. From hostess to server to table service, everyone was attentive and not intrusive. Our server was familiar with the menu and helped us make selections that turned out to taste great. Dinner opened with a butter lettuce salad that was crisp, refreshing, and served with just the right amount of dressing. We both had seafood entrees, scallops and Halibut. The scallops and Halibut were cooked perfect, tender, and tasty. The service was wonderful. We look forward to dining at the Waterboy again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waterboy has never let me down. It is my ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Waterboy has never let me down. It is my go to restaurant when visitors come. The food is consistently high in quality and the servers are always professional yet affable. Will admit that it is their sweetbreads that keep me coming. They are divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful place!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Each and every time I dine at The Waterboy, I'm so pleased with the entire experience. Rick Mahan is a true gem: a superb chef and a gracious host who trains his staff well. The care that he takes to put delicious food on the table is only matched by the relaxed yet elegant ambiance and the attentive but not fussy (or hovering) staff. It is my favorite Sacramento restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone at any time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently outstanding

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

To me the mark of a great restauranr is to be able to consistently provide excellent food and service every dish, every night. Waterboy achieves that level. My wife have been coming here for a number of years. It is our favorite special occasion restaurant. We measure it against the top Sacramento restaurants, both the established restaurants and the newcomers. the Waterboy remains at the top of our list. The quality of the food, the service and knowledge of the servers, and the attention to detail are all there. Most importantly you are made to feel welcome. In addition we are partial to their style of cooking, which sets them apart. You know it is Waterboy. I seldom add comments but after our last meal there I was compelled to do so.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.