About Waterboy

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Antipasto
Chicken Pot Pie "Coq Au Vin"
salted caramel pot de creme
Caesar Salad
Honey And Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta
Lamb Loin With Rosemary Noodles & Root Vegetable
steak tartare
Rick's Burger
Orange Blossom Honey Creme Brulee
Steak Frites
Vegetable Pot Pie
Risotto Verde
Cabernet Sauvignon
Bread and Butter
Earl Grey Tea
Rob Roy
Prosecco
Americano
coppa di testa
Wedge Of Iceburg Lettuce
Carrot Fennel Soup
Deviled Eggs With Shrimp
Blue Nose Sea Bass With Green Garlic Mashed Potatoes
frise salad
Waterboy Deluxe Burger
Lemonade
Bread Service
Beet Salad
Deviled Eggs
Meyer Lemon Cake
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte
 Sausage  Bruschetta - Special
Risotto
Bollito Misto
Cassoulet
Green Garlic Soup
Mixed Grill (Lamb Chop, Chicken, House Made Pancetta)
Raviolis
Ahi, Seared
Fish and Chips
Perfectly Mid Rare Ribeye
Halibut, Daily Fish
Strawberry Creme Cake
Ahi, Seared With Chard, Peas, And Yellow Carrots Finished With Salsa Verde
Kumamoto oysters
  Crème Brûlée
Scallops
Salted Cod
Sonoma Liberty Duck Two Ways: Grilled Breast & Crepinette Of Leg, Provencal Ratatouille, Crisp Potato Prune Gallette, Herb Jus

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Fit for Foodies (113)
Special Occasion (111)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
See All
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (43)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1814 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were celebrating out 11 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating out 11 year anniversary. We had been to the Waterboy before with friends and decided it would be a great place for our special day. It did not disappoint. Everything was fantastic. The food was "off the hook", so delicious. The service was great, a group had cancelled that had a window seat so they offered to move us to that table....so very nice of them to do this. We had a awesome time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had an early dinner with friends and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

I had an early dinner with friends and we all loved our food! The only sad part was that we didn't have time for dessert.

Looking forward to more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the treasures of Sacramento! You ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the treasures of Sacramento! You can bring friends, family and/or business associates here and be assured everyone will have a wonderful meal. Consistently excellent!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

treated my sister and brother in law to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

treated my sister and brother in law to lunch to celebrate an auspicious occasion. the service was superior and the food was outstanding. A great experience and therefore a great value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We first were seated inside and it was a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

We first were seated inside and it was a bit noisy. We asked to move outside and got a table right away. It was really nice eating outside. Food was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in Sacramento for one year a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We've lived in Sacramento for one year and this is the best restaurant we've found.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've dined here a few times now. Each t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 7 days ago

I've dined here a few times now. Each time was marginal. Thought I would give it another go, but no need for me to return in the future. I came in as a single diner, was handed off to a number of people who did not know if my drink order had been taken. Sat there for many more minutes before finally being served. Ordered the ribeye. Although the exterior was flavorful, it was poorly marbeled and tough...things you almost never hear about ribeye. I asked for a specific wine, the waiter researched and said they did not have it, so I ordered a different bottle. He later returned to tell me that they in fact did have it and it was his mistake. Too late, cork already popped on the prior bottle. No offer to replace the wine. Noise level very high, which was not a problem, but the drunk diner at the table next to me, using profanity throughout his meal was. I don't know why an establishment would continue to refill drinks at a table with an obviously intoxicated man. What should have been a nice meal at the end of a long business day, was not. I cut my meal short, boxed up my meal for a leftover lunch and corked the bottle after 1 glass. Not worth the hype...and expense. $35 for steak, preemade scalloped potatoes and a few vegetables. They even charge for bread service. Nope, not coming back. I'll spend my hard earned money elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a terrific evening at Waterboy. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a terrific evening at Waterboy. Our waiter, who is normally the bartender, suggested some great riffs on some of the more traditional cocktails. His food recommendations were right on - even steering us away from the oysters since they are typically not at their best in the summer. The sweet bread was delicious as was the fish stew. The creme brulee was perfection - I had to hold myself back from licking the plate.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful relaxed meal. Fantastic servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Wonderful relaxed meal. Fantastic service on the patio. Don't miss the fish tartar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and there were so many ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was amazing and there were so many things on the menu we both wanted to try. Plates were inventive, well portioned and incredibly yummy. Service was informed, polite, and just added to the experience. We will be back for more.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a fabulous dinner to be had at th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a fabulous dinner to be had at the Waterboy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got seated immediately (we had reservati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Got seated immediately (we had reservations). Our waiter was pleasant, knowledgeable and even though it was a busy Friday night, he was there whenever we needed him.

The food was very good - we had salmon. I would have liked to have more seafood selections; there were only two seafood entrees, the salmon and scallops. Nice ambience, not too noisy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place. Too pricey!!! Would love ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place. Too pricey!!! Would love to go back more often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is without a doubt one of my favori ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is without a doubt one of my favorite restaurants in midtown. Great wine list (offer an uncorking fee) and the menu is delicious and perfect for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a reservation for my husband's bi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday and I noted that. When we came in the restaurant, nobody seemed to know that we were celebrating his bday. Food service was very slow and was overpriced. Overrated. We won't go there again or recommend to my friends who are foodies..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent food. Good and attentive servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. Good and attentive service. Clearly there were many long time customers or friends of the staff in the house, and those tables got a huge amount of time, attention, special dishes made or drinks offered. As a first time customer it was a bit awkward sitting between two of these tables and watching how different their experience was to ours. Several tables were offered a complimentary glass of wine for a special occasion, though we were not (anniversary).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Menu provided a diverse and a vast array ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Menu provided a diverse and a vast array of selections for salads and entrees. The special seafood for the evening-halibut with tomato/potato salad- was exceptional. The service was attentive but not hurried. My Chopin martini was perfectly chilled and salad of green beans and beats had a tangy and light lemon dressing. My father took me to the Waterboy for my birthday--a totally fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waterboy has been for many years a favor ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waterboy has been for many years a favorite spot for both locals and tourists. I have been here f on two occasions and was pleased during both visits. The menu has a variety of selections and the price point is consistent with the type of items available and the preparation involved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best in Sacramento..Great food ,grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The best in Sacramento..Great food ,great wine list ,great ambiance ,great service

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary for the first time. It's possible that we came on a strange night but the service was sub-par for the pay scale, over-all not bad but just something I'd expect from a chilis. The food was great though, not a super romantic setting, a bit more laid back then expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I always enjoy this place! The food is f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I always enjoy this place! The food is fantastic and you feel like you are in a very special place just being there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, friendly helpful service, ok ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food, friendly helpful service, ok prices, would definitely come back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was just another anniversary dinner ( ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was just another anniversary dinner (#23). I had pre-ordered a bottle of Jordan Cab to be on the table (an anniversary tradition for us). We arrived 20 minutes early not knowing what the traffic would be like. Not only were we greeted with a friendly smile, but our table (with wine) was ready and waiting for us. Our incomparable server (Nicole) greeted us with two glasses of champagne ready for the evening to begin. From this point on the evening just kept going up and up and up. The food was stellar. Oysters (fresh as can be) and bruschetta (a marvel) opened up our palettes and just lead us into course after course of nirvana. All along the way Nicole insured that we wanted for nothing. It was truly an evening to remember. I would highly recommend Waterboy and look forward to our return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never fails to provide a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant never fails to provide an outstanding dining experience. The steak and fish daily special always winners. Great appetizers and salads. Outstanding service. We really like this place.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal. The bruschetta was so gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful meal. The bruschetta was so great with the white bean puree. The swordfish was delicious but sides that came with it mediocre. The chocolate souffle was the best I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The hubby and I celebrated our anniversa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The hubby and I celebrated our anniversary with dinner here. We had oysters, duck frites and steak du jour (bavette). All items were delicious, including the crime brûlée dessert. The service here is top notch even on a busy Friday. Make reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch menu! We had the bouillabais ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great lunch menu! We had the bouillabaisse and loved it. The panzanella salad was disappointing - handful of cherry tomatoes mixed with a few slivers of cucumber and two thin triangles of dry toast!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfection of service food and atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Perfection of service food and atmosphere - not one false note - a remarkable but unpretentious restaurant - fine food without attitude - cannot recommend it enough

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal and cocktails were excellent. O ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our meal and cocktails were excellent. Our server, Elizabeth was knowledgable , professional and waited on us with a kind smile. She made our evening special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly. The service was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were seated promptly. The service was great. The wait staff knew when to approach our table and when to give privacy. Malbec wine paired very well with the cheese plate appetizer. The main dishes, the leg of lamb and the ravioli, were delicious. Every thing was on mark.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perhaps Sacramento's most consistent res ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perhaps Sacramento's most consistent restaurant, never a bad meal or less than a pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waterboy is consistent, delicious an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The Waterboy is consistent, delicious and my favorite restaurant. I love that no matter what day I eat there the food is great, the service is excellent and I feel pampered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited choice, one of the buss girl was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Limited choice, one of the buss girl was very rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Took a chance that this might be for my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Took a chance that this might be for my wife and I for a quiet, interesting lunch. It was beyond my expectations. Food good, Service friendly and efficient, ambience hip and cool.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We both had the Burgers. Extremely tasty ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We both had the Burgers. Extremely tasty. About a half pound of high quality burger cooked perfectly on both the well done for my wife( which for some reason is hard to get right in many restaurants) and medium rare for myself. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great caring service, delicious food, al ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great caring service, delicious food, always comes through. I am always delighted to eat there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my fourth time at Waterboy, goi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my fourth time at Waterboy, going back many years. It has been a staple of my visits to Sacramento. The restaurant was very welcoming, but I get the sense it has been resting on its laurels rather than staying on the cutting edge. Local farms were not as featured as in the past. The lamb entree I ordered was terribly salty, though the side vegetables were sublime. The drink I ordered was watered down, lacked flavor, and was small but expensive. The sourdough bread as always was wonderful, and the salad very fresh. Yet I may not return, because the value of the meal did not justify the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Water boy has always had admirable food, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Water boy has always had admirable food, but now they have actually put some thought into an interesting wine list. There is more here than mass produced Cali Chard and Cabernet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner this time was one of Waterboy's m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner this time was one of Waterboy's monthly Thursday night prix fixe dinners. This time vegetarian. Creative dishes. Outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Waterboy never disappoints! We went ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Waterboy never disappoints! We went for the Summer Garden dinner and the food and service were spectacular. As much as I love my meats, we didn't miss them at all in this special menu. The corn risotto was the star of the evening but everything else tied for an extremely close second. Our server was attentive, had great suggestions, and extremely pleasant. Overall, an excellent evening as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.