Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Local Ingredients (57)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Romantic (44)
Business Meals (40)
Seasonal (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Authentic (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Casual (24)
Healthy (22)
Cozy (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Fun (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Modern Decor (13)
People Watching (12)
Organic (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
2182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 11 hours ago

Love this restaurant. Great flavors. Good selection of non-alcohol drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 11 hours ago

Modestly sized meals at reasonable value. Excellent flavors and texture and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Still our favorite restaurant in Sacramento. Delicious, creative food, professional and friendly staff, first class service. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, we had a wonderful meal - each course had beautiful presentation; the food was excellent; and the service was attentive. It is delightful to attend Waterboy's special menu events!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Waterboy is our go to restaurant for every occasion and we think it is always wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My husband and two sons ate lunch there every day when the work allowed and now that my husband is not working anymore, it still figures into our life ---- whenever anyone asks where we want to eat, we always say Waterboy

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

It has been a little while but we had been a 3 times per year diner. This return was great and all the wonderful things previously experienced was experienced again. Stopped frequent visits just cause life changes. Never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous as always. Everyone at our table thought their meals were wonderful! Coq au Vin was the very best I have ever had. The scallops, Bouillabaisse and Duck L'Orange were also wonderful as were the starters of sweetbreads, deviled eggs and grilled polenta. Great service, as always. Thanks Rick and Chef Adam!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of our favorite fine restaurants in the Sacramento area. We love both the food and the atmosphere. Conversation is easy during dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, excellent meal and service. The scallop dish on Easter was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

It was my first time here and the food is absolutely astounding. Every course blew me away and even after the meal and into desert I could not possibly expect the flavor that came with it.

My water was never more than half empty, which I good anyways, but I had to have drank nearly a gallon of it after the day I had. It was even 3/4 full and the bus service acne around to see if he could refill it.

The wait staff was phenomenal and unless we were actively eating they were sind ever 5 minutes or so t make sure everything was acceptable and there was nothing out of place.

After every course they being you fresh clean silverware you need for the next one, whether it be a cheese knife or a steak knife.

It is very expensive: expect a $100 bill (for 2 people) or more when eating there but it is worth every penny and then some. I was completely satisfied with both portion size and flavor and the atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent meal and John the bartender fixed great drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Everything about the experience was superb. We were greeted warmly at the door; the waitstaff was engaging and friendly; drinks, wine, entrees (coq au vin, barramundi), and dessert were all perfectly prepared and delicious; and the atmosphere was wonderful. We have been to The Waterboy several times and have always come away happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have eaten at Waterboy several times. It is always a very enjoyable experience. The food is exceptional and the service excellent. A great place for a relaxing enjoyable junch or dinner. Great wines too!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had been here about 8 years ago and loved it. Still as good as we remembered. Their focaccia was as good as Italy's. Remember to save room for profiteroles. So hard to find, and theirs are fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Went there for my Wife's birthday. Two nice glasses champagne were brought to the table with a sincere birthday greeting.

Menu has local fresh vegetables. Good menus selections and excellent service by all the wait staff. Very good wines selections and our dessert was also excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always excellent food and service. Our go-to place for birthdays, anniversaries and special occasions!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Superb! The food was delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food & service......My husbands favorite restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazingly great food and warm, attentive service. Chef Adam is rocking it. We will now be regulars as WB has become one of our Sac Fab Five.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We stayed and chatted the afternoon away. Everyone was so kind and helpful. The food was wonderful. I had been before and it has always been terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This restaurant is always top-notch. Great service, wonderful food quality in both ingredients and presentation. Very interesting and eclectic menu options.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service and food was great! Loved the cheese platter for the appetizer! We will, be telling all our family & friends about Waterboys! Dinner was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Always love dining at the Waterboy, one of my favorite Sacramento restaurants.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

As always awesome food. Service is also excellent . This is still one of the best restaurants in Sacramento along with Biba's and Esquire Grill. I have been going there for so many years I cannot remember and it never gets old or tiresome. They are always freshening the menu. Rick runs a tight ship and never seems to rest on his laurels but keeps up the high standards. This is the place for foodies. They have some excellent wines but the list is not as extensive as it probably should be considering the quality of the food. You can bring you own of course and for a special occasion that would be my suggestion if you have something special .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Attended a special vegetarian 5 course meal. Waterboy was excellent as usual on all counts, food, service, atmosphere. Creative cooking for all courses. Small portions (good for so many courses) but outstanding flavors. Liked the beet salad, warm housemade chips and salsas, risotto with mushrooms.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Waterboy is one of our favorites in Sacramento and last night it did not disappoint. The food was outstanding and the service friendly and efficient. A great dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Generally, reliable standby, solid service and good food. Didn't like that at the pricepoint of it menu (higher end), Waterboy now charges $1.00 for bread and $.25 per olive for blue cheese stuffed olives on a $10+ martini. Seems petty and slightly diminished my experience of a formerly more classy restaurant

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A very nice dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

First visit to Waterboy and it didn't disappoint. The food was extraordinarily good, the ambience was lovely, and service was just right. We will definitely be back. Hangar steak was perfectly cooked and came with an incredible potato gratin of what seemed like dozens of paper-thin layers of delicate potato. Bacon wrapped endive also delicious. Scallop dish equally well-cooked and very tasty. Only complaint would be that two scallops for $22 lunch was a bit miserly. Should have been three. But in total it was a fantastic experience and we'll definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The Waterboy never disappoints. A distinctive cool vibe and reliably well sourced ingredients. The wine list is spectacular and priced barely over retail-- they want you to have wine, so I do. The service people have been there forEVER and their confidence and experience keep things flowing and relaxed. I know I'm tired of hearing "farm to fork" but the Waterboy absolutely blazed that trail here in Sac so here it actually means something. The steak tartare is divine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Took my friend out for her birthday. Food was fantastic and service was very good. A bit pricey so it's great for special occasion. I would definitely go back to Waterboy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had a lovely dinner and the antipasto appetizer was excellent. We had a special, the waitress described it just as it was, we loved it! My husband and I will return, we loved in ambiance, we are off to Europe and this was our send off, this restaurant will no doubt be like the many we will visit while traveling, we found it romantic! Thanks to the staff, they are exceptional.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It had potential but alas was disappointing. I ordered the beet salad...I love beets...but couldn't even taste the beets because it was soaked in dressing. Scallops were very well cooked but serving only 3 as a main course is ridiculous. It took entirely too long to have our order taken. It wasn't a horrible evening but nothing I would look forward to doing again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Waterboy many times and are never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great dinner at Waterboy on Friday. Suprisingly we were able to get a same day reservation. My boyfriend and I started with the Caesar salad and steak tartare (which are mini tartare sandwiches). For dinner he had the coq au vin and I had the scallops with risotto. Both dishes were fantastic. The food was rich and flavorful without being TOO rich. For dessert we had the apple tartlette with fromage ice cream and it was SO GOOD. I highly recommend. All in all, we were impressed with Waterboy and would recommend to others for a "treat yourself" kind of night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Sacramento. Food is always delicious, service is friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I was very pleased with everything ----only critique would be the noise level---acoustics are

not too good,however, I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went for my mother's 85th birthday. The food was fantastic and the service even better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We made reservations for 9:15 pm, just 15 minutes prior to close. It was our first time dining at this location so neither of us knew that we had made a reservation so close to their closing time. We were celebrating our one year anniversary and I made note of that when I made the reservations.

I couldn't be happier with the service and hospitality with which we were treated. We were given two complimentary glasses of Prosecco as soon as we sat down. Our server, Josh, was kind, knowledgeable and patient. The food was amazing! I had the Friseé salad topped with poached egg and the Steak Du Jour (10oz Ribeye) and it was FANTASTIC.

I felt bad that we came in as late as we did but the entire staff was patient and courteous ok the matter. And it was kind of nice having the place to ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.