About Waterboy

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
4 More
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

fit for foodies (127)
special occasion (115)
neighborhood gem (73)
See All
romantic (60)
notable wine list (48)
great for lunch (43)
good for groups (27)
great for outdoor dining (18)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu, world class mixed drinks, am ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Great menu, world class mixed drinks, amazing ambiance, and a perfect wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time dining here and ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was the first time dining here and it was very good as I had been told.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic! Salmon tartar was like a bit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic! Salmon tartar was like a bit of heaven.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. I love that th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and ambiance. I love that the chef uses almost all locally sourced products. It is always a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Sacramento's finest!

Dined on May 16, 2016

One of Sacramento's finest!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. The ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The Sweetbreads were the highlight, but everything was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have wanted to try Waterboy for quite ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We have wanted to try Waterboy for quite awhile. We made reservations for a Sunday evening dinner and it did not disappoint. The food was wonderful. We ordered a pasta dish and broasted chicken...both dishes were excellent. For dessert we ordered pineapple cream brûlée which was also delicious. There were some interesting mixed drinks on the menu so we ordered a couple and liked them enough to get a second round. The atmosphere and service combined with great food and drinks is more than enough reason to go back again soon. Great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The Waterboy is normally so perfect and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Waterboy is normally so perfect and this time, not so. To start, our server was grumpy. In addition, the food was just meh and normally it is so on-point. I have been several times before so maybe this was just an off-day. We had the fritto misto, which did not have much flavor. The aioli it came with was almost gelatinous. We also had the Cesar salad, which had an overpowering taste of anchovies. I love anchovies and they are key in Cesar dressing, though this was off. I commented on this to the waitress, who said "It's been the same dressing for the past 20 years." They did take this off the bill later though which was appreciated. We had the scallops on a bed of mashed cannelini beans, pancceta, watercress, and mint. The presentation was basic (what a home cook would do) and so was the taste. Again, this was anomalous for The Waterboy so I will go again and hope this was an off night.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We all love coming to Waterboy. Service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We all love coming to Waterboy. Service is always exceptional and friendly. We were a bit disappointed with the menu this time. But we would still come here and highly recommend the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good restaurant, pricey

Dined on May 11, 2016

We have been a number of times in the past. The quality has remained consistently high, something that often doesn't happen with restaurants that have been open a while. Our only complaint is that the portions were small, especially the scallops--although a few vegetables and beans were included, they were not enough to make a meal without ordering an extra side. My sons steak with potatoes au gratin and carrots had larger portions of both meat and sides. It is difficult to know how much to order when amounts are inconsistent and the menu does not clearly indicate this. We will not hesitate to return--it is still one of our go-to choices for fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful for any occasion

Dined on May 2, 2016

Water Boy is always at the top of my list of places to go in Sacramento area. Once again we were not disappointed as the season's change the menu is being adjusted to feature the freshest items from farm to table. The vegetables that are just now finding there way to market were featured in every dish i saw come out of the kitchen. I enjoyed Mary's Chicken it was perfectly cooked w/ braised leeks,carrots and spring garlic potato puree. while my wife enjoyed the pan seared sea scallops done to perfection accompanied by fresh vegetables. If your in the Sacramento area please give them a try i'm sure you'll be pleased...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

Dined on May 1, 2016

See title. Among great restaurants of varying styles in the Sacramento area, this is #1 for me and has been for quite some time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My (grown) son and I ate here on a Saturday night. We ate early, 6:00, and the place was already packed & buzzing. Our server was friendly & knowledgeable. We both had appetizers & entrees, but were too full for dessert. Our appetizers were very good but our entrees were superb! My only (slight) complaint would be the wimpy cocktail I ordered. It was small and pretty weak. Other than that (which was minor), we loved the place & would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waterboy is our "go-to" for entertaining.

Dined on April 25, 2016

We have always loved Waterboy. We go between Waterboy and another restaurant that sources local ingredients for special occasions and entertaining out of town guests. It had been some time since we've been...and boy (pun intended), are we glad we returned. It was DELICIOUS. We went for a birthday. Our server (together with the kitchen) were so graciously non-offended by our special requests. Drinks and food were delicious. We won't wait for a special occasion to return!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Experieince

Dined on April 21, 2016

First rate ingredients put together with great skill and thought. Only real objection: the chairs were uncomfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Money!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food and service. Outstanding wine selection too. Certainly a favorite spot in Sacramento.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 18, 2016

This was our first visit to Waterboy and we will definitely go again. There is so many positives about it--everything was was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Fabulous and attentive wait staff. Gorgeous food. Really interesting wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We will make this a usual dining spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Skirt steak...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I have always had a great meal at Waterboy. This time, I tried the special...skirt steak with potatoes and asparagus. Flavors were wonderful, asparagus cooked to perfection. I had asked for a medium rare steak, and received a rare steak. I should have ordered medium well...especially with a cheap cut like skirt steak. I could barely chew it. So, I took it home with me, and cooked it the next night for a steak salad...once well cooked, the steak was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Asparagus salad was perfect !

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Asparagus salad was perfect !

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

excellent

Dined on April 12, 2016

good food, good waiter, good champagne. Only complaint is the ambient noise of so many diners, but overall still excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and great service. Nice p ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful food and great service. Nice place to sit outside too. Good for business lunch and dinners as well as hanging with friends!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waterboy is a Sac Gem!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Waterboy did not disappoint; friendly and attentive service, delicious food, great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Over all very good pre theater dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

The service was attentive, knowledgable and friendly. The wine list is very reasonably priced. We had a very pleasant Sancerre for $45 which is a reasonable price. The oysters were wonderful. The deviled eggs disappointed a little, lacking a little piquancy. Mushroom gnocchi were very good; roast chicken was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Waterboy came through with an ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Once again Waterboy came through with an amazing meal and great service. We were early for our reservation and they sat us immediately. LOVE this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the very best places to dine in S ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

One of the very best places to dine in Sacramento. Food is innovative and the service is always outstanding. The high quality has remained consistent over the years. It does get noisy but if you can't hear each other the people watching is great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious & lovely service. Worth the pr ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Delicious & lovely service. Worth the price for a really nice night out.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A very nice meal with great service

Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife and I went here to celebrate a recent success with her job. We really enjoy great food and have eaten in a number a very nice restaurants. The service was great. Our server hit that right balance of attentiveness without being overbearing. The food was very good, though not as inspired as I would have expected. Part of their shtick is that are local/sustainably farmed. I asked about the veal sweetbreads and was told that they were milk fed. I had figured that the chef, if choosing to put veal on the menu, would have chosen pink veal or some other more humanely raised version. So, all in in all a very nice, though not amazing meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good but a bit noisy

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have tinnitus, so the noise level seemed a little bit much for me. For others it might be OK. I got really dressed up to have dinner here, and it seemed a little bit more casual than what I thought it was going to be. I felt a little overdressed wearing a suit and tie. But that's really OK, the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was perfectly seasoned. Our server ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was perfectly seasoned. Our server was thorough despite being busy. Thank you for being our favorite Sacramento restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute place

Dined on March 13, 2016

Waterboy was a cute little place; interesting decor as I couldn't quite place the look they were going for. Food was good, but the three of us weren't crazy about their antipasto dish. The tiramisu creme brûlée was amazing! I kept it simple with a Caesar salad and pommes frites, while my friends shared the steak and really liked it. I noticed that they serve Temple coffee, which I love. I would definitely come back here.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Facts from a Foodie!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had the Deviled Eggs for an appetizer, a rather strange thing to see on the appetizer list, but in fact, they were fantastic! I had the Swordfish, which was very nicely done. Now personally, I would have preferred it slightly less cooked, as I think most places overcook fish. But, I understand from the cooks perspective, most people probably don't like to think of their fish raw... My wife had the spinach ravioli's and they were excellent. A tad too salty, but an excellent flavor; we couldn't imagine how they were made to taste so perfect. They have an excellent wine list and the prices were very reasonable for the quality. I would add that the service was excellent. All the staff were professionals with the perfect demeanor. It was our first time there and we were made to feel like we were regulars. I highly recommend you check it out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great Except for the Setting

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our first impression of Waterboy was that it was a restaurant in a former automotive showroom. It has absolutely no character. This is the only negative. The wait person was outstanding. She not only suggested changes that could be made to accommodate the fact that we did not want any meat or meat based sauce but also suggested what substitutes the kitchen could make. She recommended menu items she thought we might enjoy. She was right. The food was excellent and the prices were reasonable. The staff also gave us the impression that the table was our for the entire evening. I would recommend Waterboy for its food and service but if you want atmosphere this is not the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good experience. It is one of o ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Always a good experience. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Sacramento

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal at Waterboy

Dined on March 6, 2016

We dine at Waterboy three or four times a year. The staff is always friendly, the meal is well-paced (never rushed), and the food consistently high quality. We shared a round of cocktails--they have an excellent selection of spirits. There were three of us on this visit. After a shared liver mousse appetizer that was light and flavorful, we had the frisee salad and steak tartare, both served family style. The greens (also include spinach) were slightly wilted and served warm with bacon, a poached egg and a mustard vinaigrette. The ground steak was fresh and tasty. Two of us shared the braised pork shank with black-eyed peas and greens served over polenta. Everything was fork tender. The third person had the pan-seared scallops, large and juicy, and complemented by crisp pork belly, greens and lemon-ginger butter sauce. For dessert we shared toasted caraway bread pudding with apple compote, a bourbon sauce and rye streusel--quite unique with the addition of the caraway and rye.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fabulous

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We have many favorite restaurants in downtown Sacramento, and this is definitely one of them. We had another fantastic and memorable meal; all four of us ordered one of the evening's specials - Norwegian cod - and we all proclaimed it as excellent. We were a bit wary, as we recently spent several weeks in the U.K., where the cold-water cod was truly excellent every place we ordered it. We weren't sure that the quality of the fish - or the preparation - could match those memories, but Waterboy lived up to the challenge! Highly recommend Waterboy for its consistent quality and good value for that quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very good overall. the beet salad was am ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

very good overall. the beet salad was amazing. too loud (energetic, as you call it).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal. I brought a fri ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. I brought a friend who had just moved back to Sacramento and hadn't been to The Waterboy for years. She was delighted at the interesting menu and ordered the perfectly prepared sweetbreads. We shared a melt-in-your-mouth bread pudding, which arrived at the table warm. The bread was equally tender, crusty, and delicious. Service was thoughtful and attentive. We'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of the best meals ever!!!!

Dined on March 3, 2016

the scallops, pork belly and risotto with celery root was FABULOUS!!!! Server/waiter Mike was great! Would eat there again in a nano second!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.