About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (65)
Fit for Foodies (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Local Ingredients (57)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Romantic (40)
Business Meals (36)
Seasonal (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Authentic (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (17)
Healthy (16)
Cozy (16)
Casual (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Fun (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Historic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Organic (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to "A Night in New Orleans" and the entire 5-course meal went beyond expectations. Each plate was a beautiful presentation with very freshly prepared ingredients. The staff were "dressed for the event" and the service was outstanding. We are never disappointed when we dine here. The only thing that I would change is the noise level but the historic building would not lend itself to sound absorbing decor without altering the ambiance of the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Water Boy is always tops with me. Went there for a fun Mardi Gras night, will never forget the oyster-bacon toast!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Perhaps the most consistent restaurant in Sacramento. Service is always fine, food is top quality. Ambiance as stylishly casual. You can't go wrong at Waterboy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We were there for a special Mardi Gras menu. Every course was delicious, but the gumbo was our least favorite.

The service was excellent and friendly, as always.

Try the "Papasan" cocktail...yum!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for our anniversary dinner. It was our 1st time coming here. I made mention that we wouldn't be drinking wine at all. The restaurant offered us alcoholic drinks , but nothing non alcoholic for our night.

I had the caramelized onion soup and it was yummy. I then had ravioli for the main course. I also had the hazelnut chocolate for dessert. I guess I had the soupy meals. My husband had the braised lamb shank with rice. His looked yummy. He had the lemon cake for dessert. Service was really good and our waiter was quite attentive to our table. Overall it was a great dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Open, friendly dining space without closely spaced tables. Comfortable, carefully thought out ambiance. On the server's recommendation I ordered the bouillabaisse. Excellent broth, quite delicious. Well-stocked bar. The bartender meticulously stirred (and properly didn't shake) my Perfect Manhattan and hand-delivered it to the table – a nice touch. They were very accommodating with my last-minute reservation changes. A go-to restaurant in the Sacramento burgeoning uptown restaurant scene.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our birthdays ( my husband and I have the same date). Our kids treated us! How great that we "have arrived " as parents for this to happen!

I order the lamb special, typically I have my steaks medium, so the waitress suggested the same with the lamb. It was over cooked.

The sides were great as well as the starters. The house smoked salmon was excellent, the white anchovies were tasty, the Caesar salad was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 20, 2017

One of only two places I know of that serve sweetbreads. Outstanding!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very nice meal, skillfully prepared. Just about the best spot in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I just had dinner couple days ago,I have the duck, Too salty and maybe it is not fresh. Can't taste The favor . Service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Really good food. But much too noisy! Table of 4 at 6P -- we couldn't hear each other talk.

The Caesar is one of the best in Sacramento. Can be eaten with fingers which is the way it's supposed to be eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had the special squid ink for an appetizer & it was fabulous. The Cesar salad was delicious!!!

We liked this meal better than Mulvaney's and scheduled our next get together at Waterboy!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic bartender and kitchen delivered a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Have gone many times and it never disappoints. Love taking family and friends here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with reliably excellent meals that are fresh, local, and elegant flavor combinations. The wait staff is friendly and timely, without hovering. We enjoy The Waterboy often, and they never disappoint.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waterboy is always a treat. The beet salad is my favorite. The atmosphere is lovely and the presentation is beautiful. We have dinner every 2.10 for our anniversary and it is always a very special evening. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Disappointed. Server asked everyone around us if they had a special occasion but never asked us. We were dressed casually and he spent more time on the couples to both sides of us who were dressed up. Spent $150 and will never go back again. Very unhappy with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Waterboy staff was very flexible in accommodating our vegan/vegetarian/gluten free requests. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fabulicious and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

as always, Waterboy delivered delicious fresh fish and vegetables with great service from longtime staff. its my favorite lunch spot and always hits the mark.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were delighted at Waterboy. We were going to see Kinky Boots and decided to eat first.

What a treat! Right by a window and private. As the tables filled, we were still private.

Our waiter was professional and we were handled beautifully!

We walked to the Convention Cener. We will return!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing food and chef created something special for my picky 6 year old granddaughter to eat so she felt like it was an amazing time too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have not been to The Waterboy for a few years and I cannot understand why. The six of us were all pleased with every thing. We had cocktails, appetizers, soup, salad, first courses, entree's and dessert.

The salmon, the chicken,the bouillabaisse, the steak were all stars.

The desserts were awesome.

The service was excellent and very attentive, we are a group of woman and most of us are grandmothers and we love to engage with the staff and really enjoy it when they treat us with respect as the staff did. We had a lot of fun and a great dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have occasionally dined at Waterboy for many years and every dining experience has been wonderful. The service is great and the food is excellent. I love enjoying such high quality food in a warm and casual atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Chef modified the raviolis to accommodate an allergy to mushrooms and added cauliflower to meet my vegetarian request and the result was fantastic. You can always depend on Waterboy for an excellent meal and experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Waterboy is great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very noisy today. Food was quite good although I prefer Grange where we have gone for our Anniversaries prior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I believe we have now spent at least 3 of my daughter's birthdays at the Waterboy. We have yet to have anything that was not outstanding. My only constructive criticism would be the wine list but only in relation to what we like. The issue was solved by simply bringing our own wine and paying the $24 corkage fee which is not totally unreasonable. We brought an expensive bottle (2006) so paying the $24 was worth it. The service was outstanding as it always is.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the best meals I ahve had in a long time, the food, the service the entire package was just PERFECT!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was excellent, service was very good, and a conversation could be had without raising your voice. Patrons were of the over 40 set, but then again so are we (way over) and it was 6:30 pm. A match for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Waterboy is a cafe style restaurant with close seating so you can't help having conversation with your neighbor. Service is friendly and professional and the food over performs At its fair price level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Waterboy is always a good choice. Rotating menu and wonderful choices. Great wine list and the service is spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My business friends and I ate at Waterboy 2 nights in a row during the Unified Symposium in both 2016 & 2017. It was great both years, and we look forward to returning in 2018. Wish they were in my town!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Waterboy. Our server was fabulous. He sensed we wanted to talk and we had a leisurely cocktail time followed by courses in a paced way. Two of us had the lamb special. One had the tri tip special and the fourth person had the boullabaise. Each couple shared a salad and a dessert. I especially liked the potato dish with a crisp crusted brown top and creamy potatoes that was served with the tri-tip. The Caesar salad was perfect and also the butter lettuce salad with shrimp, cucumbers, radishes was tasty. I thought one shrimp halved on each butter lettuce plate was a little skimpy. Dressing flavors were well blended. The desserts were fabulous: chocolate cake with crunchy hazelnut topping and the apple crostini with ice cream were winners with all four of us. A special shout out to the wait staff who kept bread available and water glasses filled. Our server was knowledgeable about the whole menu and the lengthy daily specials. He was fun and always professional. We all had a terrific time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 24, 2017

OUTSTANDING! The food, staff, wine list are all excellent. Wonderful bouillabaisse and a chicken pot pie to die for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fantastic, spent three days and nights dining around the area and Waterboy takes the cake. Great wine list, very well prepared food, ingredients were fresh. Creative menu that was clean, outstanding and the final plates not "over created".

There are some great places in town, but the Waterboy stop hit the spot.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

At Waterboy for our 28th Wedding Anniversary this past Saturday night. We asked for and received a great center table and had always excellent server Andrew. We ordered a bottle of the 2010 Adamvs (Napa) Cabernet, which was excellent especially after Andrew decanted it. My wife had a delicious butter lettuce salad and the coq au vin which she loved. I started with their great beef tartare, shifted to an amazing Caesar with white anchovies, and really enjoyed mesquite grilled leg of lamb. We shared a caramelized apple crostata with 'Fromage Blanc Ice Cream' -- it tasted like a lovely goat cheese made into ice cream, perfect with the sweetness of the superb puff pastry with the sweet apple filling. She had some decaf and I had a great Armagnac. We were stuffed and very happy. It doesn't get any better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous food! Impeccable service! Cannot say enough to praise Marcella for always making our evening special. Kevin went out of his way to accommodate our change from 2 to 4, on top of a time change. We love Waterboy and have for many years. Kudos Rick Mahen for a great restaurant, food and fantastic employees.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was outstanding. Our reservation was ready for us. I could hear what my guests were saying. The parking was easy for Midtown. All good! I am looking forward to going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Yummy and innovative! This was my second time and though I preferred the first time's selections over this visit, the food and service is excellent. I would go again next time in Sacramento.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I went to Waterboy on 1/19/17. My wife and I joined my cousin and his wife for a dinner outing. I have been to Waterboy many time and the food has always been excellent. It was our turn to treat for dinner so we decided to taken them to a restaurant they had never been to. The food was excellent. I had the lamb special, my wife had the veal, and my cousin and his wife had the ravioli. Before our mains we enjoyed salads. I am especially fond of Waterboy's beet salad; I think it is one of the best in town. Waterboy has an excellent selection of wine. We enjoyed three bottles during our meal. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Water boy is aways a great choice. The food never disappoints!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Loved our meal and the service! The specials were superb and the warm cauliflower and broccoli salad was unique and delicious. Only complaint was the wine by the glass list is limited.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We enjoyed a decent meal. I had a tiny anchovy appetizer and a well-prepared sweat bread first course. My wife had an excellent ravioli. To judge from the amount of gristle he had to cut off, our dining companion's steak was rather mediocre. The profiteroles were unconventionally sauced in caramel instead of chocolate and very good. I generally like Dolcetto but our bottle was so-so. In summary, the food was mixed. Service was friendly but quite slow that Sunday evening -the place was quite busy. We would give Waterboy another try should we ever be in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Dinner was very good. The French Onion Soup was rich and delicious. The Daily Special was cod and it was good. However, the mashed potatoes were disappointing. The service was attentive, but they did not rush you through your meal. That brought their score higher.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had an amazing night with delicious food. The service was great as we'll sad everything on our plates!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of Sacramento's best. Amazing food with local ingredients, great cocktails, and a wine list with a little something for everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic dinner and great food. Really enjoyed our knowledgeable server David, as it made for a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The wait staff were very helpful, but no special consideration was provided for birthday celebration. The bouillabaise was excellent, but the special appetizer (bread, egg and caviar) was not particularly special. The online menu said Cioppino was on the menu, but the printed menu had bouillabaise...Given how good it was, the change was not a disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place for birthday dinner

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.