Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Waterboy

Our Goal at The Waterboy is to provide you with a wonderful dining experience. Taking inspiration from the cuisines of southern France and northern Italy, we feature a new menu every month to take full advantage of our local, seasonal ingredients. Our menu features naturally raised meats, local organic produce and freshly baked breads. Along with great service and a terrific, reasonably priced wine list, we think you will be quite pleased with a visit to The Waterboy.

2000 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
20th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 498-9891

Website:
http://www.waterboyrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot behind the building, as well as ample street parking on block.

Executive Chef:
Rick Mahan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waterboy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Local Ingredients (65)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Romantic (45)
Worth the Drive (41)
Business Meals (41)
Seasonal (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (27)
Healthy (21)
Casual (21)
People Watching (17)
Fun (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Organic (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation, but arrived about 30 minutes early and were seated immediately anyways. Our server was wonderful and had great suggestions, and the ambiance was upbeat yet relaxing. The complimentary Prosecco for my boyfriend's birthday was delightfully unexpected.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

An outstanding experience. Excellent food, wines offered by the glass were exceptional, and the service was perfect ( knowledgeable, personable, attentive but not intrusive ). Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

I live in Florida and make sure I visit Waterboy couple of times per year since 2005. Overall the food is the best in the Sacramento valley and one of the best if you include the Bay Area. Worth the visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

I always enjoy this restaurant. they understand how to blend the setting, the service, the food and drink. When a restaurant truly does it all with the proper ethic behind it there is a seamless and wonderfully satisfying result available. Waterboy accomplishes this as often and consistently as any place I've dined in Sacramento.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely loved our meal at Waterboy a few days ago! While the atmosphere in the restaurant is casual and the small, two seat tables feel a bit cramped, the food we ate was out of this world good. We started out with the sweetbreads in wine sauce, with mushrooms, bacon, and capers. I rarely see sweetbreads anywhere in American restaurants and wanted to give Waterboy a chance to prove itself. OMG! Get the sweetbreads! Then, we had the lamb two-way, which was mouthwatering and incredible aromatic. Highly recommend! Finally, we tried the bouillabaisse, which was good, but in no way more fragrant than the lamb or tastier than the sweetbreads. We did not have desert because we were too full (the first courses are a decent size). Bread comes with the meal, but it is nothing to write home about--mostly stale, unfortunately. We had wine with dinner and the bottles were a better deal than the glasses. The service seems to vary. Our server was not a talker and definitely did not go into details about the offerings. The table next to us seemed to have a really knowledgeable and involved server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

The duck was dry and the greens were too salty. The scallops and risotto were amazing and would order them again.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

We brought my father here after the Phantom of the Opera on Saturday night. It was excellent. The Salmon from Scotland was amazing. My dad is from Seattle and said he has never had such a wonderful meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Waterboy is the best restaurant Sacramento offers. For twenty years Rick has dazzled its audience with marvelous morsels to tantalize the palate.

Thanks for consistently fabulous food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had the Sea Scallops which were cooked perfect. My husband had the Coq au Vin and he said it was the best he ever had. I like my CA wines vs Europe but still good wine list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Having never been there before I was expecting a fancier place. I would call this very casual dining. The food was excellent but due to all the hard surfaces in the restaurant the noise level was higher than I like. And the service was slow. However, the place was crowded. Still, I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Waterboy made my wife's birthday special indeed! I had the duck and she had the Bouillabaisse. Both meals were excellent. We were greeted with a complementary glass of sparkling wine as a birthday greeting and the service was attentive and friendly. I have mentioned special occasions many times when made reservations but this was the first time that the staff of a restaurant actually used that information to make our experience special. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

One more fabulous meal at our favorite Sacramento midtown restaurant. Waterboy never disappoints. Perfect preparation and presentation of excellent dishes! Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

When we want to go out for a nice meal, Waterboy has become our "go to" restaurant because of the consistently excellent food and service. The food is fresh, seasonal, well prepared and presented with attention to detail - beautiful! The excellent staff is attentive but not hovering. The environment is very comfortable and generally not too noisy. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great little restaurant. We enjoyed our Mother's Day Dinner.
It is located in a nice area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Waterboy is popular for a reason. The service is impeccable and the food delicious. It is a small restaurant, not noisy, so conversations can actually be heard. The servings are small but sooo good. I personally had the scallops and they were the best I've ever had. Reservations a must.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I think this is the best restaurant in Sacramento. I have been going there for 20 years. Our wait person was Jenny, who has been with the restaurant since the beginning. It feels like family to me. Food is excellent and there are always great choices of wine. Nice ambiance too.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Staying in Sac and checked out top rated restaurants open on Monday's. This was fun! Great service, very good food and a nice atmosphere. Really enjoyed the Antipasto, the Coq au vin and strawberry/rubarb tart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Maybe it was an off evening. Sunday past 8 pm. Ordered the fish special with asparagus and pan fired baby potatoes. The fish was fresh and cooked perfectly. Unfortunately, the potatoes were tough like they'd been sitting at a cook's station for too long. The asparagus was the same--kudos though, for shaving the bottoms of the stalks to make them more tender. Again, think I hit Waterboy on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great service. Friendly and beautiful space. Superb food and knowledgeable staff. Excellent menu and wonderful , tasty, fresh salads, apps and entrees

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything from the young lady who greeted us at the door to the excellent bartender to the waitress who knew EVERYTHING about the menu to the rest of the wait staff, our evening was superb! The food was fantastic and the bill was surprisingly reasonable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wine service was excellent but the rest of the service was somewhat disorganized. Too many tables for the limited floor. Food was good, and tasty. We had good time though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and ambiance was wonderful but I think the servers were exceptional. Very fun and truly accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

as usual just excellent not many restaurants prepare fish well Waterboy does

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food good
Venue bad: noises and tables to close together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

perfect fancy date night. had drinks at the bar and were seated quickly. our meal was spectacular and the environment was great. fabulous night out.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always the best in Sacramento. Never disappointed!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Restaurant was really nice. A little more on the pricey side but that's okay. We were celebrating my husband's 30th birthday and they came out with a couple of complimentary champagnes. Food was presented nicely and quite tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Still one of my favorite places in town quality is consistently excellent!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Always good. Get the potato side dish! The service is terrific

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love this restaurant. Great flavors. Good selection of non-alcohol drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Modestly sized meals at reasonable value. Excellent flavors and texture and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The waitress was condescending, had to ask the other staff for a second set of drinks. If you want a great steak go to a steak house .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Surprisingly off their game (especially on a Fri night. We waited well over an hour for our entree (the waiter blamed it on a small kitchen--really?). How about a comp starter to keep us occupied? All of the dishes were just ok, lacked the sparkle we've come to expect.
It'lI be awhile before we return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My favorite place for years! The food is always excellent and the staff friendly and very knowledgeable. The same staff for years which says a lot about the restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Still our favorite restaurant in Sacramento. Delicious, creative food, professional and friendly staff, first class service. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always, we had a wonderful meal - each course had beautiful presentation; the food was excellent; and the service was attentive. It is delightful to attend Waterboy's special menu events!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Waterboy is our go to restaurant for every occasion and we think it is always wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My husband and two sons ate lunch there every day when the work allowed and now that my husband is not working anymore, it still figures into our life ---- whenever anyone asks where we want to eat, we always say Waterboy

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great experience. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It has been a little while but we had been a 3 times per year diner. This return was great and all the wonderful things previously experienced was experienced again. Stopped frequent visits just cause life changes. Never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fabulous as always. Everyone at our table thought their meals were wonderful! Coq au Vin was the very best I have ever had. The scallops, Bouillabaisse and Duck L'Orange were also wonderful as were the starters of sweetbreads, deviled eggs and grilled polenta. Great service, as always. Thanks Rick and Chef Adam!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.