About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: 6098845697

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
7 More
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (234)
romantic (188)
fit for foodies (166)
See All
notable wine list (139)
neighborhood gem (115)
good for groups (52)
vibrant bar scene (39)
hot spot (20)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Washington Inn is a perfect and roma ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 2 days ago

The Washington Inn is a perfect and romantic place to have dinner. The service was great, we had a girl named Rachel and she was lovely. The food tasted excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was so fresh with many unique o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was so fresh with many unique options. We will definitely go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night at Washington Inn! We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great date night at Washington Inn! We enjoyed the oysters, crab cake, a wonderful bottle of wine, sea bass, lamb chop and blueberry peach crisp. Loved everything and the vibe and atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A blissful experience, as always. My fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

A blissful experience, as always. My favorite restaurant in Cape May.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant in Cape May for an up ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

A great restaurant in Cape May for an upscale dinner. Our service was excellent and the food was top notch! We come back every year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Filet was the BEST steak I ever had ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Filet was the BEST steak I ever had and HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Washington then provides perfe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always Washington then provides perfect service very cheerful waitresses receptionist the valet was very good . Service was prompt food was excellent arrived perfectly done really the only complaint was that as the room guy crowded it gets very very noisy and very hard to have a conversation

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the valet parking. The evening ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love the valet parking. The evening is started with a smile because we don't have to spend the time looking for parking. WI hits just the right note for good food and ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, very much enjoyed the tu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food, very much enjoyed the tuna and sea bass!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Washington Inn provides an award win ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Washington Inn provides an award winning dining experience with superior professional staff coupled with food that is second to none.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet awesome. Pork chop tough. Great wi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Filet awesome. Pork chop tough. Great wine list. Server was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant in NJ by far. Every mea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best restaurant in NJ by far. Every meal is wonderful. Service is excellent. Just a cool place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Washington Inn many tim ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have eaten at Washington Inn many times and this was not are best meal. I probably ordered the wrong entree "Duck Breast" it was a nice serving and prepared as ordered. It had a gamy taste, maybe it was me. My wife had Bronzinni which was a little on the dry side, she has ordered it many times other places which she enjoyed more. Our appitizer figs with goat cheese was excellent. We will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful historic Cape May Restaurant - ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful historic Cape May Restaurant - I have celiac disease and the staff was excellent to accommodate my dining requirements. Love the atmosphere and plan to go back many more times. A must when visiting Cape May/Wildwood area!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall fantastic meal! Fantastic servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall fantastic meal! Fantastic service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was made to perfection ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we ate was made to perfection. We had our 15 month old with us and we were nervous taking her to such a nice place but the waitress was on point and was quick to bring crayons, bread, ice cream without us even asking and at just the right time. Everyone was so accomodating and lovely. Really made our anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always fresh and delicious. Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food is always fresh and delicious. Great wine list.

Service is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, however the dining experienc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, however the dining experience was clouded over by the heat. The restaurant air conditioning was insufficient. Also, the service was just ok. I expected the service to be more polished for the level of fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food is awesome and the selection of ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food is awesome and the selection of wines is just unbelievable. They give you an iPad filled with selections. You can't go wrong with any food choice it's all excellent. We go every year and look forward to our night out

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, drink. We will be back next ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, drink. We will be back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, ambiance and service. O ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance and service. Our only problem was the woman at the next table with a LOUD and PIERCING voice (not the restaurant's fault) that made hearing each other and the waiter difficult. Things improved greatly after she left.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never dissapoints. Excellent food, serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Never dissapoints. Excellent food, service and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the perfect place to eat. My hus ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is the perfect place to eat. My husband gets the same dish of swordfish every time because he simply has to. It's THAT good, and it's THAT good EVERY time! Their wine list is great and you can try different flights to get a feel for what glass you want and then order a real glass of wine with dinner. The bar is amazing but small and fills up during the 6-7:30pm hours, but then clears out again. TJ the bar tender is awesome! Helped find a wine I would want and enjoy! You can't go wrong. The service was impeccable too! We have loved every server we got there. We make sure to go at least once per trip to Cape May!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, and the service ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was delicious, and the service from the entire staff was second to none. We would highly recommend the Washington Inn to everyone. We will absolutely visit this restaurant the next time we are in Cape May. The valet service was a great touch!!! Our server was Chris, she was outstanding!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a total 5 star experience!!! Abso ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It was a total 5 star experience!!! Absolutely wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I read the reviews and thought this woul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I read the reviews and thought this would be a great restaurant. The number of people in my party was 4. We ordered 1 rack of lamb, 1 tuna, 1 steak and the special. Rack of lamb was sent back it was raw near the bone and very fatty. I requested my steak to be medium rare and it was well done on one side and medium on the other side. The tuna was well done. I was so disappointed in The Washington Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food and friendly but slow ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food and friendly but slow service. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This is my second year dining at he Wash ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is my second year dining at he Washington Inn for my wedding anniversary. The food was delicious food, I had the herbed goat cheese app and the cumin tuna entree. Also, the service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Only suggestion . ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Only suggestion ... Restaurant freezing. Waiter/manager knew but no change. We wrapped our arms in our clothes and napkins to stave off the cold. Especially difficult when dressed in summer attire to reach a happy medium, but would highly recommend taking a sweater or jacket when dining there.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We always have an excellent dining exper ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We always have an excellent dining experience at the Washington Inn whether it be for a special occasion or just everyday dining! Definitely worth a visit!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From Appetizer, to Meal my food experien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

From Appetizer, to Meal my food experience was amazing!!! My Wife & I & both kids went back the following night. Excellent restaurant..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner! Creative and fresh prepa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lovely dinner! Creative and fresh preparations, excellent daily offerings

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the Washington Inn provided u ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always, the Washington Inn provided us with a memorable dining experience. The food (sea bass for my wife, filet for me) was delicious. We shared the blueberry crisp for also very good. Our server, Sean, was knowledgeable about the menu and helpful with our questions. Also, the interior of the restaurant looks fantastic after the remodel over the winter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my fiancé and my favorite ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is one of my fiancé and my favorite restaurants. We eat here every time we visit Cape May and are never disappointed. I would recommend the Washington Inn to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends here for dinner last Sa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met some friends here for dinner last Saturday. I have to say the restaurant is lovely....very "Cape May". The food is equally wonderful. I had the beet salad followed by the bronzino special. Two others ordered the filet and one person had the lamb. All were superb. Best meal I've had so far this year in Cape May.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place in all of south jerse ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our favorite place in all of south jersey! A must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Starting with the best Dirty Martini, to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Starting with the best Dirty Martini, to the Chipolte Shrimp with guacamole & pistacio appetizer to the Black Bass, not to forget the chocolate mousse with fresh fruit. This has to be one of my favorite restaurant choices for dinner. We always make it a must-go for our Anniversary--or any occasion. (My husband's filet was also one of the best). Somewhat pricey but worth it! We look forward to out next meal at the "Inn".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with an elegant vib ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with an elegant vibe in a beach resort town. A step up from the usual restaurant. Excellent food/ service and ambiance. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had superb service and superb food. E ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had superb service and superb food. Everything was attended to and nicely paced. We did not feel rushed, but encouraged to take our time and enjoy our food. This is our family favorite! Delicious every time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food , excellent service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food , excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.