About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: 6098845697

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
9 More
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (165)
romantic (131)
fit for foodies (121)
See All
notable wine list (104)
neighborhood gem (79)
good for groups (30)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (16)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exceptional along with wonderfu ...

Dined 10 hours ago

Food was exceptional along with wonderful service. My duck dish was one of the best meals I've had in years! I will definitely be returning on my next visit to Cape May!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The inn is very nice, offering multiple ...

Dined 2 days ago

The inn is very nice, offering multiple dining rooms and a wine bar. I would recommend not being seated on the front porch area due to the proximity to the bar. Especially on Friday nights as they run a special in the bar thus it can be very noisy. Overall the dining experience was very good with excels f food, presentation , variety offered was good and the service excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful but we missed t ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everything was wonderful but we missed the ambience of the old garden room.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had high expectations, and left very dis ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had high expectations, and left very dissatisfied. ordered surf and turf dinner special for $33, told they had run out of the ribs, substituted filet, and charged $52 for my meal without waitress explaining the price delta. should have received special at same price.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Washington Inn is an outstanding pla ...

Dined 4 days ago

The Washington Inn is an outstanding place to dine. We went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and our meals one with salmon and one with bronzino were excellent. They have an extensive wine list and many wine offerings by the glass. This is the type of place that is worth a several hour drive to have dinner. I would recommend Washington Inn to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite and the best restaurant in ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our favorite and the best restaurant in Cape May. Excellent cuisine that is no more expensive than more pedestrian restaurants. Service is genuinely attentive and extremely professional and knowledgeable. We 'be never been disappointed but are consistently delighted and sometimes amazed. I've been blessed to travel domestically and internationally for much of my life and I've found no better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to The Washington Inn to see how ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to The Washington Inn to see how they were doing recently. We decided to order an appetizer first and my wife ordered an Arugula & Spring Greens salad and I ordered their Rock Shrimp and Lobster Bisque soup. We started to partake of our starters when we noticed that there was no spoon to eat my soup on the table. There was no other staff in the dining room to help me for some time. After a minute or two our waiter came over and I told him I didn’t have a spoon to eat my soup. As luck would have it, he was holding a silverware tray to refill their local stations. So he just simply gave me one. The soup was very hot even after this short wait. The soup was really good except for one thing; it was called Rock Shrimp and Lobster Bisque. There was no lobster or shrimp that I could find, except a trace of some red stuff mixed in with the bisque. It was really basically filled with corn, not the other two listed main ingredients. Don’t get me wrong, the soup was good, just not what I ordered and expected. My wife’s salad was OK with no problems and she said she enjoyed the beet juice that pervaded the greens. At that time my wife said she could feel that some air-conditioning was on and said she felt much more comfortable. After a short wait our waiter came back and brought our main courses. My wife had their Local Seafood Cioppino made up of clams, shrimp, scallops, fish, spicy tomato broth, garlic aioli and toasted focaccia. She said it was good, she liked it very much. I had the Sicilian Style Grilled Local Swordfish with tomatoes, capers, pine nuts, raisins, calamari and fregol. I thought the fish was cooked properly. Our waiter came back and brought us some Ice cream we had ordered for dessert, a single order. We thought it was good, three scoops, more than one of us could have eaten all alone. if you’re thinking of going somewhere different for a change with an emphasis on stately and formal dining and also good meals. I recommend them highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated down in the wine cellar. ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We were seated down in the wine cellar. It wasn't my preferred location, but we didn't want to complain.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful Birthday dinner. Had a l ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a wonderful Birthday dinner. Had a lovely seat looking out over the front garden. Superb service from start to finish. Impressive wine list. Food was very god - especially the octopus starter and the tuna main course.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Cape May destination restaurant. ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great Cape May destination restaurant. Have eaten here often and the food and service are always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service. We'd defi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food, excellent service. We'd definitely come back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although it's been a few years since I h ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Although it's been a few years since I have visited, to say the experience last week for my party of 9 was wonderful would be understated. Every aspect was a TRIUMPH ! looking forward to my next visit with great anticipation....

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite food and service

Dined on June 17, 2016

Exquisite food and service

food5
ambience5
service5

Gracious dining --superb in every way.

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Gracious dining --superb in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the Washington Inn was ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything about the Washington Inn was delightful. I'd return there in a heartbeat with my hub, and will, next time we visit Cape May.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am glad to have open table to write ab ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I am glad to have open table to write about a review. Unlike the terrible food we had the night before at Tuckahoe, this was outstanding. Crab cakes with real crab, short ribs that were lean and vegetables that were delicious. The service was outstanding, not intrusive, the wines were well matched. Clean and well appointed go there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, attentive service and amazing ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful, attentive service and amazing food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Washington Inn has been our favorite ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The Washington Inn has been our favorite for many years and never lets us down. The food, service & ambience couldn't be better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent meal, Tina was super ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

We had an excellent meal, Tina was superb and we had the opportunity to chat with Chef Wood. Top notch establishment and we look forward to returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! Personal, friendly, b ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent service! Personal, friendly, but not pretentious or smothering. This defines for me a great establishment.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been going to the Washington Inn ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We have been going to the Washington Inn fir years and we always loved the food and the service there. This time it was not as good. The service was slow the water for the tea was lukewarm and the salad was not good. The crab cake was delicious, but my husbands duck was not so good. The Bananas Foster desert was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined all over the world. The Wa ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

We have dined all over the world. The Washington Inn remains one of our all time favorites. Food is consistently outstanding and only rivaled by its unbelievable wine selection and overall ambience. It attains five stars in every category in our opinion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire dinner was absolutely wonderf ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The entire dinner was absolutely wonderful. Just perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as usual. We do it every year. An ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great as usual. We do it every year. And then some if we are in town,

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was wonderful but we we ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was wonderful but we were surprised to learn that restaurant prices on Saturday night were limited to 5 pm to 6 pm. Restaurant week is only Monday through Sunday so you would think that they could have applied the discount on Saturday night through all seating times. I felt like we got a bait and switch, especially when other restaurants in Cape May were following through with the promotion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we had a great dining experie ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Once again we had a great dining experience. Having arrived early, we found a spot at the bar. Luckily, it was still happy hour so my husband treated himself to spectacular oysters at $1:00 a piece. Sat down to a wonderful crab cake appetizer followed by a pork chop entree for him and halibut for me. We both cleaned our plates! Service was more than excellent plus a visit from the the owner enhanced the evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

We went during restaurant week and had r ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went during restaurant week and had reservations for 6 pm. Were seated promptly and given the special menus. However when the waiter came to mention the daily offerings he told us that the specials ended at 6 pm and the menus were no longer good and we had to eat off the normal menu. I ordered a bottle of wine and they did not have it. I selected another bottle a few dollars more and it too was not in stock but they offered me another bottle that was $10 more than the second bottle but took $5 off off the price. I feel it was a little slight to charge us the $5. Food was excellent as always. Service was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply wonderful.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Can't say enough good things about our recent dinner. Besides the excellent food, it was a super bargain during restaurant week. We were lucky enough to be seated downstairs adjacent to the wine cellar where the noise level was low and the décor complimented by the view of the wine collection. Simply wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous as always! Have been coming for years.

Dined on June 10, 2016

We have been coming here for years! The food!! The atmosphere!! Friendly service! Great bar! This restaurant beats the newer trendy places hands down!! Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Restaurant week at The Inn

Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a great week to be in Cape May. Restaurant Week in Cape May allows some great food at some unbelievable values. Being that we live here & my birthday happens to coincide with this offering, we usually go out several times this week each year. The Washington Inn did not disappoint. One of the best! The crab cake appetizer is always great & the seafood cappchino was wonderful... Just the right amount of spice. Love the Irish looking bartender.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great service.

Dined on June 8, 2016

Dinner was perfect. The service was exceptional and the food was quite memorable. We will be sure to return on a future visit to Cape May.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in a long time

Dined on June 8, 2016

We have been to restaurant several times in the past. This time we opted to come for restaurant week & had a terrific experience! The service, food & ambiance hit on all notes! Cannot wait to come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for RW everything was delicious. S ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Went for RW everything was delicious. Sea bass was nice portion and succotash was so good. Cat our server was perfect!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Annual Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 7, 2016

Our experience was great as always. My wife ordered her flat iron steak meadium well and it was more on the well done side. My Tina special was really good but I would have preferred a different garnish, it was cooked perfectly. Our annual anniversary trip will continue there as it has for the past 20 years or so.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Table unsuitable

Dined on June 6, 2016

Although the restaurant was practically empty we were seated in a cramped corner. Since we couldn't get a later reservation, we did not object. However when we left, the restaurant was still empty. Makes me wonder about using Open Table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice second visit

Dined on June 6, 2016

It was a nice surprise to find out it was restaurant week. Lovely meal, but outstanding service. If given the chance, we would gladly return, restaurant week or not.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cape May Delight

Dined on June 6, 2016

Down to Cape May for an anniversary weekend. It's just not Cape May without visiting Washington Inn. We've been dining here for years. Winter is nice and cozy too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

Dined on June 5, 2016

Another excellent meat at the Inn and friendly knowledgeable service by Deanna. A great 3 course meal during Restaurant Week....tremendous value and enjoyable evening....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on June 5, 2016

The best lamb chops I have ever had, hands down. All the food was presented very well and taste great. Service was excellent. Really no complaints at all.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still good 22 years later

Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined here 22 years ago on our first visit to Cape May. It was so romantic and the food was great. This year I brought my husband here as a surprise for his birthday. Food is still great and it was a nice romantic dinner reminiscing about our last visit. We found out that the same family still owned the restaurant. We will definitely be back....before 22 more years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.