About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: (609) 884-5697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Romantic (47)
Historic (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Fireplace (8)
Business Meals (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a wonderful time. Celebrated a late ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a wonderful time. Celebrated a late Valentine's Day. My wife had the veal chop and I had Cioppino. Both were fantastic. Have been there before and will return

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

they treat us like a family and it was a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

they treat us like a family and it was amazing and thank you for making our day went perfect

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times and have never ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here many times and have never had a bad meal however our last time was the BEST ever

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day. Limited menu, but excel ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day. Limited menu, but excellent meal. Great service. We will be back in spring.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic place, excellent food, wonderf ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic place, excellent food, wonderful staff. Great date night!

Tags: , Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the lobster and salmon special b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered the lobster and salmon special both were excellent. Outstanding service from the hostess ,bartender and waiter. Overall one of the best restaurant experiences I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Washington Inn is always our place to go ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Washington Inn is always our place to go for special dinner in Cape May.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fine dining experience. The Washington ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A fine dining experience. The Washington Inn knows how to do it right- from excellent food, lovely atmosphere and professional and caring staff. We enjoyed our evening thoroughly!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried this restaurant for the first t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We tried this restaurant for the first time with another couple- food was amazing! Service was good but they seemed a bit busy- loved trying this neighborhood gem!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner bill was really steep for 4 peopl ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner bill was really steep for 4 people & no wine. $$$

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding job

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional! Started with t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was exceptional! Started with the cape may oysters which were outstanding as was lobster bisque soup! For our entrees we had crab cakes, filet mignon and strip steak all amazing and portions were large. Desserts were very original and tasteful. The wine list was very extensive with Great price points. Although the restaurant is pricier then I normally like to spend for a night out, I would highly recommend this restaurant and would return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal from start to finish. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Outstanding meal from start to finish. Thank you Washington Inn!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a favorite in CM....haven't had a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a favorite in CM....haven't had a bad meal there the 5-6xs we have visited. Wine list is is well stocked. All 3 of our party had something different, (pasta, Fish , Duck) and everyone was very pleased with their choices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! And our server Megan went a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great meal! And our server Megan went above and beyond! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decided to go here when I booked a roman ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Decided to go here when I booked a romantic weekend getaway with my husband. The staff, food and ambiance was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time here on Saturday nig ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great time here on Saturday night.Everything from our super nice table location to the food and wine and our server was awesome.looking forward to another vist soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second visit to the Washington Inn. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our second visit to the Washington Inn. Nice food and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great decor in every room, even the rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great decor in every room, even the rest rooms were lovely. The service was excellent! The soup was very tasty and the crab cakes very lite. The place is lovely and cozy and decorated so well. It is just a shame that the fireplace is hidden by the table in front of it, because its great.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Margo was the best and our dinner was gr ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Margo was the best and our dinner was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious great dinner and service. Live ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious great dinner and service. Lived the seafood appetizer great to share. The best in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great all around as always

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great all around as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never miss an opportunity to dine at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We never miss an opportunity to dine at the Washington Inn when we are in Stone Harbor. It never disappoints.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I throughly enjoyed my experience at the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I throughly enjoyed my experience at the Washington Inn. I had a great cocktail and a delicious lobster bisque there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were extremely pleased with our NYE d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were extremely pleased with our NYE dinner at the Washington Inn. Food was amazing, drinks were great, and service was prompt but not rushed. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 8 for new year's eve. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a party of 8 for new year's eve. It was a fixed price menu ( a little steep at $85 per person) but as usual the food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful New Year's Dinner. We start ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful New Year's Dinner. We started at the bar with fantastic cocktails (Pear Martini and New York Sour). The wine list is impressive and we decided on a Petit Verdot for dinner, and we were not disappointed, nice and smooth front to back, went perfectly with the lamb. Our dinners were delicious and service is always outstanding. We always love the Washington Inn, the perfect place celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always! One of our favorite ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always!

One of our favorite restaurants for 20 or more years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always loved the Washington Inn, it's ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always loved the Washington Inn, it's a great place to enjoy a drink at the bar or a full meal. It's warm and cozy and we are never disappointed. Overall, the food was great. It was a little loud but hey, it was new year's eve. It was also very warm!

The Washington is one of the finer Cape May restaurants and if you love great food it's a must. Thanks again WI and staff for another great meal :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waaaaaaaay overpriced for what u get . W ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waaaaaaaay overpriced for what u get . Wife had south African lobster appetizer. Lobster meat was about 2 inches by half inch.

New years eve dinner was price fixed at 85 dollars. Wife ordered filet mignon at a 25 dollar srcharge!!! Outrageous to be charged 110 for a skip error meal.

Food was good not great just good.

Would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

After 30 years of visiting the WI, it is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After 30 years of visiting the WI, it is still by far our favorite Cape May restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great. I think his name w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was great. I think his name was Marco. I appreciate the reminder of time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food waitress was ve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service great food waitress was very courteous no wait for our meal

Especially it

Was New Years Eve .!Will be back

Again Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Washington Inn for New Ye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to the Washington Inn for New Year's Eve. Overall we enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious. However, there were a couple of areas where we would recommend some improvement. We were not offered a complimentary glass of champagne until we asked the waitress for it. The only reason we knew that we were entitled to the complimentary champagne was because we overheard the waitress offer it to an adjacent table. In addition, the waitress brought our check without offering us the option of having a cup of coffee. Also, our table was too close to a larger group, so it got fairly noisy for the last half of our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We have been doing at Washington Inn sin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been doing at Washington Inn since 1983. Food, service and ambience always outstanding! Wonderful restarant..never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Was Excellent Attended New Years ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food Was Excellent Attended New Years Eve Celebration. Great fun.

Only bad thing Band has taken too many breaks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic historic setting, vibrant cuisin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Classic historic setting, vibrant cuisine, outstanding wine selection, accommodating excellent service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit to this famous ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was our first visit to this famous restaurant and it was well worth the time and money invested. Where our initial server seemed somewhat distracted/disinterested(?), another server, who was working the room, cheerfully picked up the slack. The food was outstanding and the service prompt and efficient. I would happily return to the Washington Inn and would recommend you do the same.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were surprised that they no longer ha ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were surprised that they no longer had their Lobster Bisque Soup on the menu, that is one of the reasons we go their. Food was very good, but they need to bring the Lobster Bisque back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Washington Inn never disappoints... Food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Washington Inn never disappoints... Food, service, ambiance always phenomenal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.