Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Washington Inn

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: (609) 884-5697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Romantic (41)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Historic (32)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fireplace (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Amazing service! We had the very best waitress that we have ever had in our lives! Ask for Meghan. You can't get better then her. Food was fabulous. They didn't rush us and we closed the whole place out. Great anniversary dinner, but would go anytime we are in cape may!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The Washington in has always been an outstanding traditional restaurant. Although the chef remains, he has tweaked his menu a little and now it is as high-quality as ever but more interesting.The servers are excellent, and in every way this is a first class restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The meal was excellent, there were 4 of us and 2 of us had the cold seafood appetizer and it was very good, and we all had the filet for entree its was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall, a nice restaurant with a good menu and excellent wine list. Service was a bit spotty (served wrong appetizer) and there was little apology for the error. Whatever the dessert that is called tarte tatin on the menu, it was nothing of the sort. It tasted good, but did not compare to tarte tatin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Washington Inn is always reliably very good. My husband had local black bass and I had the cioppiano- both excellent. We each had a cocktail at the bar before dinner and they always make a great one !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a very lovely and enjoyable dinner at the Washington Inn. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive, her recommendations were excellent. The food was very tasty, promptly served, and the presentation was nicely made. Would recommend this restaurant for a nice romantic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

From the moment you walk in the front door, the staff were friendly and professional. The restaurant is very romantic and the food was exceptional. I would recommend this for any type of event.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, especially seafood in a lovely location. Friendly helpful staff helped make the meal special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good atmosphere, service and food. Wine was a bit pricey but overall nice night for a special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We go to the Washington Inn several times a year and are never disappointed. The wait staff is incredibly friendly. The food is spectacular. Especially the crab cakes and the lamb cavatelli. The wine list is spot on. It simply never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server Stacy was absolutely wonderful. She recommended some ideas for dinner and dessert and they were fantastic. My husband and I love to dine there and I took my daughter and sister there for Girl's Night. It was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was delicious and service was excellent. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Exceptional dining, beautiful surroundings, but most of all exemplary service beginning with the staff at the front desk. A shout out to our waitress Deanna who strongly suggested the entree which exceed expectations as did her attentiveness. She is an asset to The Washington Inn.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Go to the Washington Inn almost every time we are in the Cape May area. Never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Celebrated a late Valentine's Day. My wife had the veal chop and I had Cioppino. Both were fantastic. Have been there before and will return

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

they treat us like a family and it was amazing and thank you for making our day went perfect

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Have been here many times and have never had a bad meal however our last time was the BEST ever

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day. Limited menu, but excellent meal. Great service. We will be back in spring.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic place, excellent food, wonderful staff. Great date night!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered the lobster and salmon special both were excellent. Outstanding service from the hostess ,bartender and waiter. Overall one of the best restaurant experiences I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Washington Inn is always our place to go for special dinner in Cape May.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A fine dining experience. The Washington Inn knows how to do it right- from excellent food, lovely atmosphere and professional and caring staff. We enjoyed our evening thoroughly!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We tried this restaurant for the first time with another couple- food was amazing! Service was good but they seemed a bit busy- loved trying this neighborhood gem!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner bill was really steep for 4 people & no wine. $$$

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was exceptional! Started with the cape may oysters which were outstanding as was lobster bisque soup! For our entrees we had crab cakes, filet mignon and strip steak all amazing and portions were large. Desserts were very original and tasteful. The wine list was very extensive with Great price points. Although the restaurant is pricier then I normally like to spend for a night out, I would highly recommend this restaurant and would return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Outstanding meal from start to finish. Thank you Washington Inn!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a favorite in CM....haven't had a bad meal there the 5-6xs we have visited. Wine list is is well stocked. All 3 of our party had something different, (pasta, Fish , Duck) and everyone was very pleased with their choices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great meal! And our server Megan went above and beyond! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Decided to go here when I booked a romantic weekend getaway with my husband. The staff, food and ambiance was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great time here on Saturday night.Everything from our super nice table location to the food and wine and our server was awesome.looking forward to another vist soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our second visit to the Washington Inn. Nice food and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great decor in every room, even the rest rooms were lovely. The service was excellent! The soup was very tasty and the crab cakes very lite. The place is lovely and cozy and decorated so well. It is just a shame that the fireplace is hidden by the table in front of it, because its great.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Margo was the best and our dinner was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious great dinner and service. Lived the seafood appetizer great to share. The best in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great all around as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We never miss an opportunity to dine at the Washington Inn when we are in Stone Harbor. It never disappoints.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I throughly enjoyed my experience at the Washington Inn. I had a great cocktail and a delicious lobster bisque there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were extremely pleased with our NYE dinner at the Washington Inn. Food was amazing, drinks were great, and service was prompt but not rushed. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.