About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: 6098845697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
12 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Special Occasion (160)
Romantic (119)
Fit for Foodies (104)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Good for a Date (96)
Notable Wine List (82)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Worth the Drive (67)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Historic (58)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Cozy (39)
Local Ingredients (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Bar Seating (24)
Authentic (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Seasonal (16)
Healthy (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fireplace (11)
Casual (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a memorable dining evening after ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a memorable dining evening after the Christmas House Tour. Prompt service and excellent meals around. Will come back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was, as usual, a fabulous meal. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This was, as usual, a fabulous meal. I would say that the Washington Inn is consistently one of the best restaurants we frequent. That includes venues in NYC, Key West and all points in between.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time and will not be our last. Gre ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

First time and will not be our last. Great food!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come every year at christmastime . Neve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Come every year at christmastime . Never disappointed. Food is excellent as is the service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our dinners were terrific, for th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

All of our dinners were terrific, for the first time at any restaurant my husband's steak was cooked perfectly!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome dinner and our server ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had an awesome dinner and our server was very helpful and well informed. While casual attire is accepted, it's still a perfect spot for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food,service was friendly and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food,service was friendly and attentive,overall atmosphere was warm and comfortable,would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Washington Inn is probably one of the fi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Washington Inn is probably one of the finest restaurants we have experienced - everything about the evening was great, and our server, Megan was personable, positive and professional in every respect. The food is exceptional, consistent and reasonable priced for the portions. We come back regularly, and look forward to it each time as though it was the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has a nice ambience and a sma ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Restaurant has a nice ambience and a smallish but good menu with a variety of dishes. They did not have a good Cabernet Sauvignon or Champagne by the glass , as I like both of these I was disappointed. The special appetizer of Tuna Tartar was excellent and the Lamb Shank was wonderful, but a huge portion. I felt the service was good but both the appetizer and main dish came so quickly that I felt rushed, perhaps they are trying to turn the tables over too quickly. Glad they have Valet parking as finding a parking space in that part of Cape May can be a challenge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have dined here many times, and I must s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Have dined here many times, and I must say this time we were disappointed in the menu selections. Some of our favorite choices were not available. The filet mignon, the swordfish, as well as the grilled shrimp, just to name a few.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Thanksgiving dinner. The Turkey wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great Thanksgiving dinner. The Turkey was superb, the gravy delicious and the bread was spectacular.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner with great, friendly service

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner on Thanksgiving. A change i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had dinner on Thanksgiving. A change in the reservation time was graciously changed to accommodate our needs. Service and food was excellent. The server arranged for a selection which was not on the menu. We definitely make this a must stop whenever we are in Cape May

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was great. food portions sma ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

the service was great. food portions small but tasty. too expensive for the portion especially with extra expense for vegetable sides

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for Thanksgiving dinner - speci ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner - special occasion. Our expectations were modest for a turkey dinner out. That said the food was excellent especially the Turkey. Our waitress Megan was very attentive pleasant and knowledgeable. Given that all items were A La Carte our meal was a bit pricey for Turkey but our overall meal was great.

The mixed drinks were so-so which caused our overall rating to drop slightly.

Definitely worth the ride and the visit.

Will go back.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at the Wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at the Washington Inn. Oysters Rockefeller were the best I ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal! Great cocktails. The a ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent meal! Great cocktails. The apple salad is delicious. The Black Bass was done to perfection. The Decadent Chocolate torte lived up to it's name! Great list of wines by the glass and the flights are a very generous pour.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I haven't been to the Washington Inn in ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I haven't been to the Washington Inn in over ten years. Back then the food was great. It's even better now. I ordered the Spanish Octopus salad. It came with grilled. Grapes, purple potatoes, olive slices. It was absolutely phenomenal. Every ingredient played a part. Others in my group ordered the Caesar salad. All raved about it. The New York strip steak was excellent as were the crab cakes. The crab cakes are served with a red pepper cream that works wonderfully. The vegetables were all superbly fresh, crisp and delicious.

Service was great. Prices were a little higher than I remember but when the food and service are great it's worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like the early dining value menu. And th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Like the early dining value menu. And they substitute vegetables with no problem. Family and couples atmosphere. Happy clientele. Happy waiters. We come here every time we come to Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably not a place for daily dining un ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Probably not a place for daily dining unless cost is of no concern. But, as a special place to go, the Washington Inn definitely deserves the high ratings that it gets. Food and service are beyond expectations. Additionally, there are lower priced options in the bar for more frequent trips. Not our first time, and we hope not our last. Can truly say that we have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and courteous, ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, great service and courteous, professional staff! One of our favorite places to eat in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , loved our server, don't rem ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food , loved our server, don't remember his name, but he's from Uganda

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food but if your a meat and pot ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous food but if your a meat and potatoes person, this prob isn't for you. Limited menu, kind of eclectic but really great! The only thing I didn't care for was there was no drink menu only a wine menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's been 10 years since I had last bee ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's been 10 years since I had last been there. I was happy to see that it was every bit as good as I had remembered. The food and service were excellent. We will not be waiting another 10 before returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Washington Inn used to be one of our go ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Washington Inn used to be one of our go to places in Cape May. Based on our recent visit I am sorry to say that the Washington Inn has slipped in their ratings...food was just okay with my wife's duck well cooked but fatty & tough to eat while my black bass was over cooked and the wine list was priced slightly over the 2X rule.

The Washington Inn has started to lose some of it's luster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner was very nice. Our waiter was a l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Dinner was very nice. Our waiter was a little too soft spoken; it was difficult to hear what he was saying. He also seemed a little distracted, usually looking past us when at our table.

The food was very good. We were a little disappointed in the dessert. We had read that there was a special pastry chef, but what we ate was a little underwhelming.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious, the service very ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious, the service very good and the table separation gave enough space for private conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So pleasantly surprised! I was in Cape M ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

So pleasantly surprised! I was in Cape May sans kids for the first time and made a reservation somewhere I normally don't go to because of the kids. Great atmosphere and meal was fantastic from start to finish . Steak cooked perfectly ! Ice cream sandwich for dessert was to die for! Definitely check it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The duck was amazing - one of the best t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The duck was amazing - one of the best things my boyfriend and i have ever eaten. I had asked in my note to the restauraunt for a more intimate seating arrangement and the hostess tried to sit us at a table right next to another couple and i kindly asked to move. I am someone who appreciates attention to details so that is the only thing that annoyed me. Other than that it was a great experience and we had a great time!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great bouillabaise not traditional but o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great bouillabaise not traditional but outstanding

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We' ve been going there for years. We ar ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We' ve been going there for years. We are local and know the area quite well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service excellent. Felt tables ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service excellent. Felt tables were too close together in the room we were in.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, we all had yummy meals in a w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, we all had yummy meals in a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They prefix menu was very nice and popul ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

They prefix menu was very nice and popular! The food was very good but service was slow because the place was packed. The food is always so good- the dessert for prefix was a little hard to eat( ice cream sandwich ).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Absolutely a wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely a wonderful dining experience. My husband and I wanted to share the fish special and the sirloin special for dinner and they separated it for us in the kitchen, such a nice gesture. Will definitely come back again. The food was delicious and the service was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite being in the area for years, my ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Despite being in the area for years, my friend and I both visited the Inn for the first time on Restaurant Weekend. It was quite a treat: elegant atmosphere and outstanding food. For appetizerszers, my friend ordered the seafood chowder and I had the shrimp and fish cake. Both were delicious. The white chowder was hardy, fish laden and with a bit of smoke. Good fish cakes are hard find and the addition of shrimp pushed this over the top. We both thought our entrees, hanger steak and a red cippopino, were exceptional. The only detraction was coffee and dessert. I found the decaf weak, although I am a bit of a coffee snob. We both ordered the cappuccino ice cream sandwich. It was delicious but our server whisked away our silverware and there was no cutting this with just a spoon. But, i doubt if I could have finished the dessert even if I could have cut it. We both hope to return soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined during restaurant weekend in Ca ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We dined during restaurant weekend in Cape May. Washington Inn was very crowded and we did not feel very special. Rushed and too busy. Will definitely try there again on a quieter evening. Overall the food and our waitress Rachel were terrific.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant weekend. Enjoyed a g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went for restaurant weekend. Enjoyed a great meal with great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything!

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Traditional cuisine and atmosphere. Bar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Traditional cuisine and atmosphere. Bar area has the most character. Large wine list brought to you on an ipad. Friendly service. High menu prices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.