Washington Inn

4.8
3935 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Mediterranean, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(609) 884-5697
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Miriam Wood
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
LINDSEY DEBAUN: (609) 884-5697
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jefferson & Washington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking - simply drive up to the front of the restaurant on Washington Street and our valet will happily park your car, free of charge.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Order the lobster if its available, and wrap things up with a banana foster

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful meal as always. We come every year for our anniversary and have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife here for her 50th birthday and my mother joined us. Shawn was our waiter. The service was great. Noise level a bit high. All of the food was really tasty and delicious. My mothers salmon was a bit under done but they quickly and happily addressed the issues and served in again. Was perfect. So all and all we were all very happy with the service and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Pure class. Bright surroundings, cheerful personnel, excellent service, and great food. What else can anybody want for that special dinner? Not the largest of menus but everything on it is cooked to perfection and well presented. Scallops wrapped in bacon were done perfect. The best duck breast ever. My wife's filet was done perfect for her and you could cut it with a fork. Excellent wine selection to accompany your meal. The staff is very knowledgeable and tends to your needs without being annoying. One of my favorite restaurants and I would recommend it to anybody looking for a perfect night out for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

An excellent restaraunt with a great menu and excellent ambiance and great service but vert expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The Washington Inn remains my wife and my restaurant to celebrate major occasions when we are on the Jersey shore. Inn-type atmosphere, great food that always looks like pictures in Gourmet Magazine, with an excellent early bird meal from 5-6 pm. One criticism was a limited wine list with only one choice of a glass of wine for each varietal, several of which were quite expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Consistently excellent food served professionally. Staff is cordial and accommodating. Menu items vary from standard to imaginative; all excellent! We never miss the opportunity to dine there when in Cape May.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

It exceeded our expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Oh me oh my. One of our best dinners ever. A night to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and the food was awesome. Our waiter Miles was outstanding!!!! Five star experience!!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

We were seated promptly at one of our favorite tables. Server was pleasant and prompt. The rest of the meal felt a little rushed. Did not order a second glass of wine due to the rushed nature. No dessert either because we were still pretty full.
Crab cakes were a disappointment. Stringy crabmeat and fried missed the mark.
Asparagus salad was delicious as well as scallop app..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The Washington Inn was a beautiful restaurant and the food was phenomenal - we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and staff was very attentive - The Cape May clam chowder was the best I have ever had - Short ribs could be cut with your fork - simply a fabulous restaurant - a little expensive but worth it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We arrived on time for our reservation and waited about 10 minutes to be seated. Once seated we were served water and bread promptly. However after placing our order for the main entre, it seemed as though we waited an unusually long time to receive our food. The waiter offered that they wanted to get finished with a large group before bringing out our food. When the food arrived it was not very hot. The food quality was very good. The timing of the service was lacking. This is the first time of two previous times there that the service was sub par.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Always wonderful. Delightful food, service, and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Love love love this place!! So special, attention to details!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Expensive
$59 for a steak plus $10 extra to share
Too many folks serving you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

It is our favorite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Excellent service, excellent dinner. Marco was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The food was amazing.. Upscale, creative, fresh and delicious...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

It was our first time at Washington Inn and I’m already looking forward to the next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Still number one
No other restaurant is even close

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We have been coming here for years and we are never disappointed.
Our server and his assistant were fabulous. I can't remember his name but he was really wonderful and took such good care of us. See you next year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Excellent short ribs and crab cakes. Service was great. We sat on the porch, very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Over priced, over rated and not worth the time we spent there

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The food and wine selection is outstanding, be prepared to be wowed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

This was our first time in Cape May and we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. I looked online for restaurants that was able to accommodate my allergies (gluten,wheat, and dairy free) and Washington Inn went above and upon. Our waiter was friendly and on top of everything. Before even mentioning my allergies, he knew because of open table. The food was delicious and everything was fresh. I would go back and recommend it to everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

It was our 41st wedding anniversary and we couldn't have been more pleased with our selection. Of all the great dining venues in Cape May this ranks up in the top five. As you can see by our rating the entire experience was very delightful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Always the best! Always!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I've been going to the Washington Inn since the '80s. It is my favorite restaurant. For some, the menu may seem limited, but not for me. The food is delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My husband and I were there for my birthday. The restaurant itself is very pretty with an old-fashioned charm. A little bit of a tight squeeze with tables, but it was OK. The waiter was very attentive, and the food was delicious! I ordered from the section of the menu where you get an appetizer, entrée, and dessert for $35. Everything was very good. My husband had the steak, which he raved about. My dessert had happy birthday written on the plate in chocolate, which was really special. Even though the weather wasn’t perfect, the evening was!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Very nice dinner. Everyone was very friendly and curtious. Food was excellent. Our table was on the porch and very cozy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Been coming to Cape May for years and always thought the Washington Inn was one of the premier places to dine. This trip did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Really enjoyed our waiter James, seemed genuine and was prompt with service. Food was prepared very well, and attention to detail was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We always visit the Washington Inn whenever we stay in Cape May. This time was the anniversary of our first date! We love the atmosphere which is quiet and relaxing. Service is never rushed. The food is outstanding. Valet is a nice convenience. It is a lovely place to dine and may I say the wine list is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Godfrey is the best server! Wonderful wine and fabulous food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Always enjoy dining here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We were here during Restaurant Week. The appetizers were not really special, but the entrees were off the chart good! It was our anniversary, so the staff wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the rim of both dessert plates. Desserts were unique and delicious. The wine and cocktail we ordered were also quite good. Our waitress was knowledgeable and expedient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

A special place in Cape May! Food was delicious! The ambiance was really sweet. And our server was great! We came during restaurant week but would come back again for the al la carte menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food was different/unusual combinations but remarkably good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Though I have wanted to come here for a while, we finally managed to come. Our visit coincided with restaurant week and what a gem that wonderful inn is! Ambiance, FOOD & service are all AMAZING. i have a few favorites in Cape May, which after this visit are now being re-ranked due to the fantastic dining experience here. FOOD is absolutely delicious with farm to table fare. The homemade ricotta with roasted spring vegetable appetizer was positively delicious. ‘The braised short rib melted in your mouth. Portions are very generous for those with a hearty appetite! The cape may chowder was like no other clam chowder. For dessert, must get the fromage blanc....a French style cheese cake with fruit & fruit purée....I’m sure you will love this place if you try it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
99