Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Washington Inn

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
OPEN DAILY FROM 5 PM
EARLY 3 COURSE DINNER MENU 5- 6PM $27

DINE AFTER NINE
MAKE RESERVATIONS AFTER 9PM AND RECEIVE 20% OFF ENTIRE CHECK

SUNDAYS NO CORKAGE FEE

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: (609) 884-5697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Specials

FREE CORKAGE SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

FREE CORKAGE SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

FREE CORKAGE SUNDAY. EVERY SUNDAY WE OFFER NO CORKAGE FEE. MANY GUESTS COME IN WITH THEIR WINE. Special valid Jun 19, 2017 - Oct 19, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (199)
Romantic (157)
Good for a Date (154)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (151)
Fit for Foodies (120)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Notable Wine List (100)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Creative Cuisine (86)
Worth the Drive (86)
Quiet Conversation (72)
Local Ingredients (58)
Cozy (54)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Authentic (39)
Bar Seating (38)
Good for Groups (36)
Seasonal (33)
Business Meals (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Casual (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fun (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Scenic View (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vegan (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The wait staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the specials and the menu. Every course we ordered was brought over in a timely manner and was fantastic! Our waitress informed up about the after 9PM discount of 20% which was a great bonus in my opinion! We visit The Washington Inn religiously every time we are in town! We'd recommend it to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

There are a hundred good restauants in Cape May, but this one excels. We had oysters on the half-shell, oysters rockafeller, grilled octopus, and a salad. All were excellent, especially the oysters. Dinner with wine and tip was $120.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was delicious. Beautifully decorated. Noise level was very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

This quaint restaurant never disappoints. It's too notch from the bartender to the bus employees !! James treated us with class and upmost professionalism. His recommendations were on point and I'm looking forward to dining there again in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect our server recommended the halibut and fresh raw oysters glad he did!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went to the Washington Inn for our anniversary. We sat in the enclosed porch next to a window. Just outside the window were flower boxes filled with lovely flowers. The ambience was wonderful. The service was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I haven't treated ourselves in a while well this was the best way to make up for that!! Three days later and we are still talking about it! Thanks

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

We again had an amazing dining experience
at the Washington Inn. The entire evening
was fantastic, we started at the bar before
dinner with finely crafted cocktails. We then
had oysters and ceviche for appetizers and all of
our dinners were delicious. The evening ended
with wonderful pot of Costa Rican French Press
Coffee and a divine Banana's Foster. Our friends
had never been to the Washington Inn before
and they told us that they can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is all so good that deciding what to order is diffucult. The good thing is that no matter what you order, you can't go wrong! Love, love, love this place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful experience as it always is! This restaurant has been our favorite in Cape May for many years.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely restaurant in Cape May we said in the garden room which was very very pretty our service was good not great and the prices were a bit high but in general a lovely restaurant good food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is always amazing! Masters at their craft. Truly excellent cocktails. Food that is unparalleled anywhere in Cape May! Friendly and helpful staff and management team. They take the kids on ice cream tours and the adults on wine cellar tours if they like. Beautiful and ever changing wine list with unique varietals; an impressive yet accessible wine list that's great for first time wine drinkers and sommeliers alike.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again our dining experience was exceptional. We loved the new fresh look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Enjoyed our wedding anniversary at the Washington Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

One of the most amazing meals I've had. Menu is a bit expensive, but it was truly great. Well worth treating yourself.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is the best of the best in Cape May! The food and wine were top notch and will definitely return again. Just a great quiet upscale restaurant that does everything right.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Phenomenal meal! Sat in the wine cellar which made the experience extra special!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at the Washington Inn this past weekend for my fathers birthday. Highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

washington inn is my favorite place to eat in cape may. great food and value. service is the best . this inn has the best chef that i know. you will not be sorry for eating there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Could not have asked for better service. Food was wonderful. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Mixed feelings about this visit. Our 4th time here and the second in a row, they try to put us in the basement. That area is for walk ins and family's with kids, not for couples trying to have a romantic bday dinner who reserve 2 months in advance. Breathe....we were moved to a nice table on the patio, and things began to look up. Our server and service was good, but definitely not great. We ordered two apps and a bottle of wine. They have a phenomenal wine selection. I forgot to order early and have decanted. Temp was quite cool. Took nearly the entire meal to open up so we could really enjoy it. Two entrees were on par with apps. One better than average, one average. No room for dessert, but they remembered my wife's bday and brought a nice dessert. The place was jammed and the ambience was vibrant. Might be just enough to give it another chance.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

As usual, the food, ambiance, drinks, and service were wonderful. Plus, my gin martini was one of the best ever.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very loud in the main restaurant. We sat on the porch which was a little quieter. Food as delicious. Wine list is impressive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great meal, great service, but you pay fairly for this.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent as always! Best restaurant in Cape May!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I have been to many top notch restaurants and Washington Inn has surpassed these! The food was delicious and service impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Every time we go to Cape May The Washington Inn is on our list of places we must have dinner. The food is always exceptional as well as the service and the ambiance. Great restaurant! Highly recommend. A bit expensive but worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. See you next year.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent food, service was ok, I think they were a little short staffed because it was after Labor Day. Our first choice of places to go in the Cape May area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The duck is superb !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I can always count on a fantastic meal at Washington Inn!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Cape May.
The halibut was delicious, it was topped with pesto. It was served with polenta & vegetable medley. Polenta was outstanding.
Service was less than expected, I think because our waitress was also dealing with a table of 9, who were demanding. We had a chocolate mousse tower & creme brûlée for dessert. Both excellent & we were not charged in compensation for the service.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was the first time either of us have eaten here, but we will definitely eat here again. I had the price fix menu for $27.00. It was outstanding. It included minestroni soup, Ciopinno and a tiramisu. Terrific. My wife had a sea bass dish that she loved. The wine selection is extensive. The bread basket was delicious. The only negative is that it is a bit pricey. Our bill with a bottle of wine was $150.00. Buy in my opinion it's all worth it. A great place to eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I've been going here for years and they never disappoint! Great setting and fantastic food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food, especially the short rib entree. Wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Excellent meal and would highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Outstanding meal on the Sunday night of the summer! Oysters (Cape May Salts) were wonderfully fresh and briny, with nice sauces. Duck was outstanding with a savory pudding that paired well. Service was very good, and Sunday nights are BYOB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent! Waiter was great, food was excellent, restaurant is lovely and within walking distance from many places in town. My family cannot wait to returnn. Thank you Washington Inn staff for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Darren was wonderful. Mimi always has a fantastic menu with wonderful preparations. We love it. Sue & Tom Hill

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Everything about the Washington Inn is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.