About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: 6098845697

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Notable Wine List
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
10 More
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (119)
romantic (102)
fit for foodies (90)
See All
notable wine list (82)
neighborhood gem (54)
good for groups (25)
vibrant bar scene (21)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (8)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

This is the first review I have ever don ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is the first review I have ever done. We have had dinner at the Washington Inn for several years and it has been our favorite place in Cape May. Our recent experience was the good and the bad! The food and service was excellent as always but our table was bascially in a busy hallway. This is despite making a reservation far in advance through Open Table. There is no way a table should be located where we sat, constant server and patron traffic in a confined space equivalent to a hallway corridor. We have always enjoyed great seating in the past, this time we were not treated to a relaxing enviroment.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I made a reservation to c ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My fiancé and I made a reservation to celebrate our engagement. We had dinner in a very private and romantic area. The staff was very attentive and made us feel very special. It was very thoughtful of them to decorate our desert plate for the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Washington Inn is a total package of ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Washington Inn is a total package of excellence. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Washington Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we chose Washington Inn. They did not disappoint. The decor was excellent and our server Ed was fantastic and very knowledgeable about the menu. The presentation and the taste of the food was tremendous. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

Felt that the service was lacking. Wait ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Felt that the service was lacking. Waitress was nowhere to be found when we needed her help. Was a buffet for Mother's Day. One of the items was eggs Benedict. Eggs were as solid as a hard boiled egg. Besides that, nice meal. Just left a negative experience. Love their bar and bartenders! Need to just go to Washington Inn in the evening and avoid Sunday brunches!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Washington Inn does it again!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I visit Cape May every year about this time and one of the highlights of my trip is visiting the Washington Inn. This year did not disappoint. Our server (Ed) was attentive and managed to make our bottle of wine seem to last a very long time. The food was delicious(flat iron with a mushroom cream sauce). To finish up, it was the choco mousse dessert with fresh berries (wonderful!)!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

Grea food, drinks and service! Our server, James was the best!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic meal from beginning to end! Even the salad was outstanding! I had the duck prepared medium rare, and my wife had the sea bass, we couldn't decide which was better! They also offered the choice of an excellent bottle of wine at a really reasonable price. To top it off, service was excellent! We look forward to going back as it's one of the best restaurants we've ever gone to anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marty and Natalie are fantastic. They al ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Marty and Natalie are fantastic. They also knew how to cook for my dairy and gluten allergy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughters 20th birthday and we had one of the nicest meals ever. I ordered the Halibut which was the best I have ever had. Everyone's meals was delicious and the service was impeccable. A very memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Been coming here for 25 years and never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome, top notch. We will most certainly return

Dined on May 6, 2016

Awesome...top notch. We will most certainly return. Everything from the appetizers, to the entre, to dessert was amazing. The services was excellent. Even the bread, butter, and cocktails were incredible. Hands down, the best dinning experience across the board in Cape May County...probably all of South Jersey to be honest. And I don't leave South Jersey often, so that might as well mean best ever (Lucky Bones is up there though).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Don;t reserve on open table -

Dined on April 30, 2016

Not the same place it used to be. People in Jeans next to those dressed for fine dining. Overpriced wine list, food is average. Try somewhere else.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a good meal.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere with very good kind servers. The halibut fish was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Fine Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is our favorite Cape May restaurant. The food and service are consistently excellent, the ambiance is great, and the wine list is very good. You won't regret dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4

Not what it once was. Requested a roman ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Not what it once was. Requested a romantic table for 24th anniversary and we were sat at a table in the middle of the room. We asked to be moved to a table on the side. Service was superb but they really have lost the attention to detail that they used to have. Time to find a top notch, romantic spot in Cape May.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cozy dining atmosphere, wonderful food.

Dined on April 23, 2016

The swordfish special was spectacular as was the Tuna appetizer. Presentation was as good too. Would dine here again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

my filet mignon was served cold. for $4 ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

my filet mignon was served cold. for $44 it should have been hot. the manager did take it off the check promptly. we may go back and give it another shot our next time down there.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Overall Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our dinners at Washington Inn have always been wonderful. However, our seating in the last two visits left much to be desired. Unruly children the first time; parents made no attempt to control their jumping around/noisy behavior. Server did try to appease them, but to no avail. Manager should have handled the situation. Last Saturday we were seated in front of the fireplace - not a desirable spot to dine. Floor bounced a lot when servers walked by, which was constant. Large table next to us was a bride and family (7 in all) tasting foods for a future reception. It became a little too much when you are there for a nice/quiet meal. Feel this should be done at a time other than Saturday evening dinner hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

The inn is in a wonderful old house so it is so comfy. Bartender was very friendly and recommended a drink when they didn't have the one I wanted. The crab cake entree is unbelievable and so delicious. I would highly recommend it. Great place for a special occasion since it is a little expensive. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Best restaurant in Cape May , NJ. We have been going there for years and recommend it to friends and family alike.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was outstanding!! The portions were just right. The service I cannot say enough great things about. Everyone we came in contact with was the sweetest most helpful people. We enjoyed Celebrating my Mom's 75th birthday dinner at the Washington Inn. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must go to spot!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything from the appetizers to the dessert was absolutely fabulous. The staff were so nice and attentive. Will definitely go here again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot in Cape May

Dined on April 16, 2016

Ate at the Washington Inn on Saturday evening and it was a great experience. We were a table of 4 and requested a table on the porch in the corner. The staff accommodated our request. Service was very good and the food matched. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an upscale quaint location to dine in cape May.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent shrimp, excellent appetizer, g ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent shrimp, excellent appetizer, great waiter

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice time. The dark chocolate martini w ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Nice time. The dark chocolate martini was horrible so I had to send it back. Then the server neglected to remove it from the bill. Otherwise the dinner was very nice. One of our favorite places.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

Enjoyed everything about the Washington Inn. Waiter knowledgeable and food was delicious. Flowers in window boxes beautiful even with snow in the area. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely atmosphere, and always top notch ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, and always top notch food. A beautiful upscale place.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

great night

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is always spectacular. Our waiter was inattentive. The real treat is at the bar. Marty is worth the trip alone .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gem of a Restaurant

Dined on April 8, 2016

Annual visit to Cape May is not complete without a visit to the Washington Inn. Whenever I mention to people I have revisited the restaurant I always get "Ahhh" . Food is always prepared perfectly with visual pleasure and tasting pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Washington Inn always delivers high quality

Dined on April 8, 2016

The Washington Inn never fails to deliver high quality service and food. Beautiful location, great chefs and professional waiter staff make this restaurant a delight and a must spot in Cape May.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Place!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful. The food is NYC quality and the staff was charming without being snobish. Very welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great 5th anniversary

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was the perfect place for our 5th anniversary. The food was amazing and our server was hilarious. (He got bonus points for keeping up with my husband's humor)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner and was totally delighted.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Food was excellant, service was friendly and helpful. Very happy we chose the Washington Inn. We had flat iron Steak and Rack of lamb. Lobster bisk was to die for. The meal was well worth every dollar. Would recomend to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was very good, as always.

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been here for many occasions and they never disappoint. The food was excellent, the service was a bit slow this time. But we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

James is the best! Ask to be seated in ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

James is the best! Ask to be seated in his section, and you will have a great dining experience. Love the new decor... WI really stepped it up! And, of course, the food is exceptional as always. So, sit back, relax and have fun!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as Always !

Dined on March 27, 2016

We've been going to the Washington Inn for our family Easter Dinner for 5 years now and we see no end in sight. From the elegant setting when you first arrive, to the friendly bar tender, who can make you any drink that you desire, to the first class service and the food .... What can you say to give the food justice ? Accurately described in the menu, expertly prepared, outstanding service, and first class presentation. We literally have NOT had one questionable course in the 5 years we've been going to the Washington Inn. Appetizer to Dessert the meal is beyond compare ! We'll be back to enjoy the entire experience again and again and we always try to bring along someone new to introduce our friends and family to a dinning experience worth every penny !

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place with great food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place with great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Washington Inn never disappoints. We've been going here for years and the food, service and atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Washington Inn is our favorite resta ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Washington Inn is our favorite restaurant in Cape May. We absolutely love the atmosphere. While sitting at the bar we usually meet people from out of town and enjoy the conversation. The service at the "Inn" is always fabulous and the food amazing. We celebrated another birthday and anniversary in fine style. Thanks again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.