About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: 6098845697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
13 More
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Special Occasion (321)
Romantic (249)
Fit for Foodies (217)
See All
Notable Wine List (169)
Neighborhood Gem (158)
Good for Groups (74)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (44)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Hot Spot (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Historic (28)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Cozy (20)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Fun (9)
Scenic View (9)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fireplace (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our anniversary dinner. The food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was our anniversary dinner. The food and wine were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special restaurant in Cape May. Hig ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very special restaurant in Cape May. Highly recommend. Outstanding crab cakes and fish entrees! Only drawback is that seating for couples is located at back of restaurant which takes away some of the special ambience. Still great for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great recommendation fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and great recommendation from a couple we met in town.

I will definitely recommend and give a great review.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liked everything about the Inn except fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Liked everything about the Inn except for the noise level. Fine dining should not be accompanied by the "thump thump" of music from the bar.

Setting, food and service were all excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very formal-- they crumbed our table.. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very formal-- they crumbed our table.. Often.. Cauliflower soup was very puréed.. A little too much for my preference! Entree was delicious. Mahi Mahi -- Dessert--Apple " cupcake" seemed like it was just taken out of the refrigerator .

The coffee as excellent. Our waitress was accompanying. Valet parking is a must.. Unless you walked -- as we did from our motel..

4 stars for historic- classy place-- just not my favorite.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Staff was very friendly and attentive. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Staff was very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We will be back. The whole dining experi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We will be back. The whole dining experience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit, our waiter Godfrey set ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our first visit, our waiter Godfrey set the tone of the evening and indeed took good care of us.

Highly recommend the ciappino, no filler fish used here, salad was a meal itself, and it was a welcome surprise to be able to order Sancerre by the glass! My husband enjoyed his filet mignon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remember to ask for the Main dinning roo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Remember to ask for the Main dinning room the out rooms is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was exceptional - and the servi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was exceptional - and the service was top-notch. Great place for a special dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was very good,service was excellent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good was very good,service was excellent when waitress realized it was our anniversary she brought out a complementary sorbet.

Others desserts looked great(have had some before on prior visits) buyer were full.

Price a little on high side bit to be expected in cape may

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I had dinner at the Washingt ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at the Washington Inn this past weekend and everything was perfect. The menu is excellent and our appetizers, entree and wine were exceptional. All of the wait staff were very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. A great upscale restaurant that does everything possible to make your dining experience a night to remember.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our meals at The Washing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at The Washington Inn. The food is great, the wine list is long and the service is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Washington Inn is one of my favorite Sou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Washington Inn is one of my favorite South Jersey restaurants. Amazing fresh seafood, delicious sides, creative appetizers - and I can't forget to mention the cheesecake! I recommend the crab cakes, branzino, Black sea bass, and organic chicken options! The atmosphere is also very quaint, with multiple intimate dining rooms. It's a must-visit when at the shore!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the wine cellar. We had amazin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We sat in the wine cellar. We had amazing oysters and crab cakes and pork chop. Amazing! The dessert is as equally amazing. Prompt wonderful service and an amazing wine selection! I wish we could go back again tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was superbly prepared. Our waiter G ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was superbly prepared. Our waiter Godfrey was awesome! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had to wait 25 minutes past our reservat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had to wait 25 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. We were a party of two and the first table we were seated at was very inappropriate... claustrophobic. we could not even whisper without the people next to us hearing.

They cheerfully offered to reseat us at another table which was just as bad.

The third table they sat us at was on the porch, it was a table for two At he end of the porch. It was only one or 2 feet away from a loud table of four jammed next to us in the corner of the porch. My wife said that she felt we were part of their group. We heard every word they said. My wife would not let me let me ask for a fourth table.

The bottom line is if you were a table of four and loud this is a good place for you.

There were very few appropriate tables for a party of two. Food was five on a 1 to 5 scale. It was excellent. Ordered two Chiantis at the bar while waiting $28.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Prompt , knowledgeable staff. Very inter ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Prompt , knowledgeable staff. Very interesting menu. Outstanding winelist. Seating a bit tight but not too noisy. Clean spacious restrooms. Great deserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely waitress Tina,,,,,,attended to a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely waitress Tina,,,,,,attended to a Gluten Free guest we had with us. Good food and service excellent!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Regular yearly visitor for Anniversary. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Regular yearly visitor for Anniversary. Past menu gluten free meals listed. No longer so. Waitress said any entree could be made gluten free. Example they would leave faccacia off cippinno entree. I ordered the entree and had a severe gluten reaction that night up until 2am with gastrointestinal distress. Wait staff must be aware of ingredients containing gluten in the chefs recipes. She also left a biscotti on my cappuccino plate cookies are not gluten free.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The Washington Inn continues to be our c ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Washington Inn continues to be our choice for elegant dining with a warm personal touch.

We missed our favorite bartender, but everything turned out well, except the French Martinis.

Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the dinner and atmosphere and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We enjoyed the dinner and atmosphere and would highly reconmend this resturant.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal here, although the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Never had a bad meal here, although the prices are expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

I am never disappointed with the Washing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I am never disappointed with the Washington Inn. Presentation and entrees are spectacular. Best part? They have a knack for hiring a unique staff that is gregarious, warm, interesting, and most of all, knowledgeable about the dishes being offered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food excellent service but ver ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food excellent service but very loud in dining room

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service was excellent. The y ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food. Service was excellent. The young lady that waited on us made our evening. Always enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Live Sports, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was elegant and food superb w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Restaurant was elegant and food superb worth the price

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding crab cakes. The flatiron st ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Outstanding crab cakes. The flatiron steak was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. A favorite vacation restaurant. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a wonderful time at the Washingto ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a wonderful time at the Washington Inn. Whenever we are in Cape May or Wildwood we must eat here at least once. Food is always delicious and the service is excellent. We have been coming here for 19 years. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here and loved it. Dined wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Second time here and loved it. Dined with four other women as part of a low key bachelorette party. We enjoyed the bread basket with pink Himalayan salted butter, the cocktails (especially New York Sour and Negroni) and the various fresh local fish entrees. The ambiance is wonderful, in a cozy historic Victorian building with a fireplace and lots of tables available on their glass-enclosed porches with flower boxes in the windows.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go to Cape May each year ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I go to Cape May each year in September to cap off the summer and celebrate our August anniversary. We go to different restaurants each year but often come back to the Washington Inn as one of our favorites. The meal was excellent and the best we had in Cape may on this trip (and that is saying a lot since Cape May has several great restaurants).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We dined at the Washington Inn for our a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We dined at the Washington Inn for our anniversary on September 9 and could not have chosen a better place for a celebration. The service was smooth, the food was perfect and the ambiance was lovely. We have celebrated our anniversary at the Washington Inn numerous times and keep coming back since it is the perfect location. Our server, Tina, was excellent. We hope to be back next year.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Washington Inn is a most perfect res ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Washington Inn is a most perfect restaurant and experience. Their menu items, wines, staff, and drinks are impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was exceptional. I can't wait to return. The best restaurant in Cape May.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed... Always outstanding ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Never disappointed... Always outstanding ... Top shelf from entering the front door to leaving after an exquisite evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get down to the Cape May area o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We don't get down to the Cape May area often, but when we do we make it a point to visit the Washington Inn. The food and service are consistently top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've come to the Washington Inn for many ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I've come to the Washington Inn for many years with large gaps in the years, and although this wasn't the worst meal we've had there, it wasn't the best. I feel that menus in Cape May are all too similar and the Washington Inn follows this trend. Menu isn't particularly interesting and although the fish in Swordfish dish was good, it was very much more of a stewy dish and not prepared as I had anticipated or believe fish should be prepared - sauced amazingly. This was not - it was overly tomatoe-y although the description you would have thought it to be different - maybe my error for not obtaining a full explanation. The romaine salad I had first was good, good dressing, not overly saturated, but pretty uneventful. Dessert was also just OK and we actually returned the ice cream my husband ordered as it essentially tasted like iced ice water with a slight taste of chocolate. Not worth the money or the experience.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We come here several times a year when w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We come here several times a year when we visit Cape May. We have never been disappointed from the soup to the Creme Brulee. The staff is very accommodating and informative. Don't miss out on this most enjoyable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing in Cape May and celebrating ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Vacationing in Cape May and celebrating a birthday! Dinner was fantastic from the Peach Martini to the raw oysters to the steak and wine and the dessert! Godfrey, our waiter, was PERFECT with his service Valentine took fabulous pictures for us! A great evening!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High level resort town dining spot Inter ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

High level resort town dining spot

Interested caring staff innovative menu

While notcutting edge nevertheless well composed tasty and attractive service

And options

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.