Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Washington Inn

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: (609) 884-5697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Romantic (52)
See All
Good for a Date (52)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Historic (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Local Ingredients (23)
Cozy (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Bar Seating (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Dissappointed that at 7:30pm they were out of a special appetizer on a Friday evening. The enclosed porch area is undesirable. It is a cold atmosphere and certainly not warranting fine dining pricing.
We are repeaters that enjoy the food. We selected The Washington Inn for our wedding anniversary and we were truly disappointed with the special event atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food choices-Great service.Able to eat at a leisurely pace.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 37th Anniversary at the Inn and they did not disappoint. They were welcoming and so friendly from beginning to end. The food was scrumptious. I had the duck breast and it was prepared perfectly. At the end of the dinner, the manager even came to the table and congratulated us. It made our dinner and evening very special. It is just one of those restaurants you will remember and try to come back whenever you are in the area. Thanks and kudos to the Washington Inn.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, our dinners were wonderful. Great new appetizer with avocado and lump crabmeat.
Superb!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was terrific and our waitress was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Classic restaurant. Natalie the hostess makes you feel very welcome. Chris, our server was a pro. The food is top notch. we got the duck and red snapper; both were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a favorite..the food was delicious and the service was excellent. Enjoyed the evening with friends and celebrated our 30th anniversary! Worth the trip!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Deanna was sweet, helpful and attentive. We had a lovely wedding anniversary celebration; it has been a long time since we visited the Washington Inn but we are never disappointed which keeps us returning every time we find ourselves back in Cape May. Nice to see that it was as good as we remembered!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Meal was excellent, service was excellent but was also very loud - bartenders were particularly good.

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a wonderful belated birthday dinner at the restaurant while staying in Cape May over the week. We actually had arrived earlier than our reservation and had spoken with the hostess about moving it up a half an hour. She was incredibly accommodating, and we enjoyed a quick drink in the bar before taking our seats at the table. They recently had updated the main dining area we were in, and it did look lovely. We were seated in a cozy alcove under skylights, and it afforded both privacy, but also a good vantage point for people watching as well. Had a lovely fennel & arugula salad to start, and then an extremely tasty Flat Iron Steak done "Late Night Style" for my main. Our waitress, Deanna, was also wonderful. The next time I am in Cape May, I will make sure that I come back, and also be sure to recommend this restaurant to any friends in the area. The restaurant has evidently been there for a long time, and after experiencing the wonderful ambience, staff & food - I can see why. Definitely a must visit for anyone staying in Cape May.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall experience was good...very nosey in restaurant...we were seated on the
enclosed porch which reduced noise level.
Servicer was good- pleasant .
Limited menu selections, all entrees were expensive $34+ was ave price/entree.
Food taste-quality, very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for Mothers day. Food was spectacular. Our Server was friendly and helpful. Would recommend it highly. It is a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate here for Easter brunch. The food and service were very good. The cost for the mimosa was over priced. When we received the bill things started going wrong. The waitress brought us the incorrect change. We waited for her to return but she never did. Then we tried to get change from the bartender to tip the valet person. For ten minutes I was ignored and walked past. At this point my husband felt that all of this was staged to maximize the profits. We left and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for the Mother's day brunch, food was very good as well as the service. We have been there before and will be back again. A good choice when in Cape May

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Brunch, just enough. Our server, Sean, was outstanding. Food is above average, don't look for anything exotic. Please is clean, cozy, and romantic. Valet parking was a very nice surprise. Would visit this place again, in a heart beat .....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed a beautiful Mother's Day brunch. Washington Inn is one of our favorite restaurants whether it's for a birthday, anniversary, *Thanksgiving, or nice dinner out with friends. We are local, and the Washington Inn is truly in our top three restaurants for a consistent, enjoyable, relaxing dinner.
Food is always imaginative and expertly prepared. Service is impeccable; very friendly and welcoming staff. The decor is elegant, fresh & updated yet still in keeping with the Cape May ambience. Doesn't matter how full the dining area is, it's never loud, rushed or crowded. Their consistency is one of the reasons we return again and again.
*Never had better turkey anywhere. You can cut it with a fork; it's incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

You have to be kidding with your "What would you recommend this restaurant for?" My wife and I loved it for Mothers Day. We were there a few years ago and appreciated the seafood pasta. Missed it this year. Moreover, the servers were outstanding. Beverages were way overpriced! Overall, thanks for a good time-will have to reconsider next time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday/Mothers Day

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Our server, James, was as usual very knowledgeable and the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Never disappointed dining here. The whole experience was beyond spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful, wonderful as usual. The new decor is lovely. Beverages, food, service perfect.
My favorite restaurant in Cape May. Michael and our bartender Charles waitress Sonata were just wonderful to my wife and I !

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Stellar service. Exceptional food. THEY LOVE KIDS!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Washington Inn is a delightful establishment with great food and excellent service. The valet parking takes care of parking since the location us a neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My daughter and I treated ourselves to a Mother's Day Weekend getaway. We found the restaurant to be relaxing, enjoyable and we were able to talk without lots of noise. Best part was our waiter, who was excellent and very helpful with our food choices. He was friendly and easy to talk with. Enjoyed our experience very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always wonderful! The place was packed. The bar was full and reservations were needed for the restaurant. Delicious salad, mostly crab crab cake and perfectly chilled wine. The service is attentive without being smothering. A must try in Cape May.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been going to the Washington Inn for 30 years. They never disappoint. We call ahead for a South African lobster tail, the taste and presentation of which is the best we've ever had. We highly recommend the Washington Inn!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I just celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't think of a better place to do it. My husband is in the wine business and he was so overly impressed by the wine selections. Myself being a food critic was wowed by the flavors, texture and presentations of the rack of lamb. We strongly recommend the Washington Inn to anyone who loves good food, good wine and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife's birthday

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The whole experience was exellent. The service, food, presentation, atmosphere. We would not have spent our 28th wedding anniversary anywhere else. It was worth the whole trip. You will not be disappointed if you share in the dining experience. Our waiter was very attentive, pleasant and made us feel at home.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Washington Inn offers good, quality food. It isn't cheap, but you should be aware of that going in if this is the type of place you are considering. I enjoyed my meal. Our server, Godfrey, was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent meal with exceptional service!! Our server was attentive, courteous, pleasant and helpful, I must apologize that I've forgotten her name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was good, but portions were small for the price ... our waiter was good however everything was very rushed.... when dining at a restaurant such as this for a date night it is nice to sit relax and enjoy with a nice pace... we had an appetizer, entree and dessert and was in and out in less than an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

While the waitress and the food were very good the temperature rose to 78 degrees (thermostat was over my wifes shoulder), it was only 60 outside. Also, it was very loud and difficult to enjoy the romantic ambiance. Overall good enough to return and give it another try. Valet service a nice option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful food and traditional Cape May atmosphere. The food was creative and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Charming and classy restaurant for a special occasion. Great service and ambiance. Highly recommend the Seafood Cioppino!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Another perfect dinner!!!! Started at the bar, Charles makes the best cocktails. Our dinner was amazing. We had the Halibut that was on special. Our server was great!!! Very attentive. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is always amazing. We recommend the braised lamb cavatelli appetizer. Enjoyed a rack of lamb special for dinner with Parmesan risotto and broccoli rabe with chimichurri sauce. Dessert was an 11 layer crepe cake. Outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is our third time to the Washington Inn. Each time, the food and service is outstanding. The sauces are not overpowering and choices are creative. Service is attentive and friendly but not overbearing. We will come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The Washington Inn is still the best restaurant in Cape May. And probably all of New Jersey. The menue continues to delight with new dishes, the service is beyond excellent, and you can't find a better wine list. Cape May has more than its share of dining experiences, yet the Washington Inn leads the way. For the last 40 years of dining in Cape May, I can honestly tell you to go here and enjoy. Dress for the occasion, take your time and enjoy good food and good wine in a terrific atmosphere.
I'm a full time resident of Cape May, and it doesn't get better than this!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.