About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: (609) 884-5697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Romantic (59)
Historic (48)
Worth the Drive (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Cozy (29)
Local Ingredients (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fireplace (7)
Casual (7)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great all around as always

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great all around as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never miss an opportunity to dine at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We never miss an opportunity to dine at the Washington Inn when we are in Stone Harbor. It never disappoints.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I throughly enjoyed my experience at the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I throughly enjoyed my experience at the Washington Inn. I had a great cocktail and a delicious lobster bisque there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were extremely pleased with our NYE d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were extremely pleased with our NYE dinner at the Washington Inn. Food was amazing, drinks were great, and service was prompt but not rushed. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 8 for new year's eve. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a party of 8 for new year's eve. It was a fixed price menu ( a little steep at $85 per person) but as usual the food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful New Year's Dinner. We start ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful New Year's Dinner. We started at the bar with fantastic cocktails (Pear Martini and New York Sour). The wine list is impressive and we decided on a Petit Verdot for dinner, and we were not disappointed, nice and smooth front to back, went perfectly with the lamb. Our dinners were delicious and service is always outstanding. We always love the Washington Inn, the perfect place celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always! One of our favorite ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always!

One of our favorite restaurants for 20 or more years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always loved the Washington Inn, it's ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always loved the Washington Inn, it's a great place to enjoy a drink at the bar or a full meal. It's warm and cozy and we are never disappointed. Overall, the food was great. It was a little loud but hey, it was new year's eve. It was also very warm!

The Washington is one of the finer Cape May restaurants and if you love great food it's a must. Thanks again WI and staff for another great meal :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waaaaaaaay overpriced for what u get . W ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waaaaaaaay overpriced for what u get . Wife had south African lobster appetizer. Lobster meat was about 2 inches by half inch.

New years eve dinner was price fixed at 85 dollars. Wife ordered filet mignon at a 25 dollar srcharge!!! Outrageous to be charged 110 for a skip error meal.

Food was good not great just good.

Would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

After 30 years of visiting the WI, it is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After 30 years of visiting the WI, it is still by far our favorite Cape May restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great. I think his name w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was great. I think his name was Marco. I appreciate the reminder of time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food waitress was ve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service great food waitress was very courteous no wait for our meal

Especially it

Was New Years Eve .!Will be back

Again Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Washington Inn for New Ye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to the Washington Inn for New Year's Eve. Overall we enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious. However, there were a couple of areas where we would recommend some improvement. We were not offered a complimentary glass of champagne until we asked the waitress for it. The only reason we knew that we were entitled to the complimentary champagne was because we overheard the waitress offer it to an adjacent table. In addition, the waitress brought our check without offering us the option of having a cup of coffee. Also, our table was too close to a larger group, so it got fairly noisy for the last half of our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We have been doing at Washington Inn sin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been doing at Washington Inn since 1983. Food, service and ambience always outstanding! Wonderful restarant..never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Was Excellent Attended New Years ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food Was Excellent Attended New Years Eve Celebration. Great fun.

Only bad thing Band has taken too many breaks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic historic setting, vibrant cuisin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Classic historic setting, vibrant cuisine, outstanding wine selection, accommodating excellent service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit to this famous ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was our first visit to this famous restaurant and it was well worth the time and money invested. Where our initial server seemed somewhat distracted/disinterested(?), another server, who was working the room, cheerfully picked up the slack. The food was outstanding and the service prompt and efficient. I would happily return to the Washington Inn and would recommend you do the same.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were surprised that they no longer ha ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were surprised that they no longer had their Lobster Bisque Soup on the menu, that is one of the reasons we go their. Food was very good, but they need to bring the Lobster Bisque back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Washington Inn never disappoints... Food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Washington Inn never disappoints... Food, service, ambiance always phenomenal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Impressed with the service. Crab cakes a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Impressed with the service. Crab cakes are to die for,one of the best anywhere.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive. No local wines to choose ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very expensive. No local wines to choose from. Alot a kids and crying baby which i don't understand since there is no kids menu. Dress is casual dressy and i saw alot of jeans in the dining area. Waitress Natalie was excellent and very personable. Food served with intervals to complete each course. Duck dish was ok, could be more crispy and tender. Filet was ok but would be better with mushrooms and veggies cooked more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Pricey, but by far the best restaurant i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Pricey, but by far the best restaurant in Cape May!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our experience was outstanding! Great f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our experience was outstanding! Great food, excellent service and wonderful ambiance! The holiday decorations were outstanding and added to our enjoyment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food, ambiance and staff were all amazin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food, ambiance and staff were all amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. However, it was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service. However, it was our 35th wedding anniversary and my request for a romantic table backfired. We were seated at a table for 4 with total strangers in the middle of the room.

We won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent as usual. I'm a Cape May nativ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent as usual. I'm a Cape May native. Always have special occasions there. Have dined there many, many times since it opened in the late 70's. Always consistent. The wine cellar is perfect for large parties. Cant beat mixologists Marty, Charles and Jerry. The servers are cordial and efficient, and Chef Mimi is very creative with her appetizers and entrees. The best in Cape May!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner with friends. I j ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a great dinner with friends. I just loved the beet salad and Tuna entree was prefect. My husband had flavorful romaine salad and delicious sirloin . Dessert was yummy, Bananas Foster, its to die for. We don't drink, but we enjoyed an awesome cappuccino with dessert. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really great restaurant food was prep ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A really great restaurant food was prepared just the way we like it . Everything was first class made for a memorable weekend

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a memorable dining evening after ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a memorable dining evening after the Christmas House Tour. Prompt service and excellent meals around. Will come back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time and will not be our last. Gre ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time and will not be our last. Great food!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was, as usual, a fabulous meal. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was, as usual, a fabulous meal. I would say that the Washington Inn is consistently one of the best restaurants we frequent. That includes venues in NYC, Key West and all points in between.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Come every year at christmastime . Neve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Come every year at christmastime . Never disappointed. Food is excellent as is the service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We entertained relatives for a holiday v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We entertained relatives for a holiday visit and everyone was very pleased with the food. We were originally placed at a table in the basement, but almost immediately moved up stairs and received a complimentary hors d'oeuvres for the trouble. Service was timely and well placed. Had to ask for the bread basket, but consider it a minor oversight. That's why the 4 rating on service instead of 5. Will be returning again.

Tags: , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

All of our dinners were terrific, for th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

All of our dinners were terrific, for the first time at any restaurant my husband's steak was cooked perfectly!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our dinner. We will ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dinner. We will be there every time we visit Cape May.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome dinner and our server ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had an awesome dinner and our server was very helpful and well informed. While casual attire is accepted, it's still a perfect spot for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food,service was friendly and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food,service was friendly and attentive,overall atmosphere was warm and comfortable,would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Washington Inn is probably one of the fi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Washington Inn is probably one of the finest restaurants we have experienced - everything about the evening was great, and our server, Megan was personable, positive and professional in every respect. The food is exceptional, consistent and reasonable priced for the portions. We come back regularly, and look forward to it each time as though it was the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has a nice ambience and a sma ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Restaurant has a nice ambience and a smallish but good menu with a variety of dishes. They did not have a good Cabernet Sauvignon or Champagne by the glass , as I like both of these I was disappointed. The special appetizer of Tuna Tartar was excellent and the Lamb Shank was wonderful, but a huge portion. I felt the service was good but both the appetizer and main dish came so quickly that I felt rushed, perhaps they are trying to turn the tables over too quickly. Glad they have Valet parking as finding a parking space in that part of Cape May can be a challenge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have dined here many times, and I must s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Have dined here many times, and I must say this time we were disappointed in the menu selections. Some of our favorite choices were not available. The filet mignon, the swordfish, as well as the grilled shrimp, just to name a few.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.