About Washington Inn

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
We will be open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays in May for dinner from 5pm. Starting on May 24th we will be open everyday.

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: 6098845697

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
11 More
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Special Occasion (320)
Romantic (263)
Fit for Foodies (213)
See All
Notable Wine List (180)
Neighborhood Gem (164)
Good for Groups (74)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Brunch (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Scenic View (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Sort By:
Newest
2809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were seated in the cell ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I were seated in the cellar. Unfortunately for our anniversary dinner we sat near a table of 10+ with children under 10 years old who very loud and disruptive. Besides that, everything was amazing including our waiter, the food, and the drinks. It's obviously no fault of the Washington Inn for the fellow guests, but we were graciously comped our desserts because of the noise level of the kids. We will definitely be back for another special dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Intimate dining + excellent food = wonde ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Intimate dining + excellent food = wonderful dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is just an exquisite restaurant wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is just an exquisite restaurant with some of the best food I have eaten anywhere. Great service, nice atmosphere, cannot wait to return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our overall experience was great. We wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our overall experience was great. We were there for our 30th anniversary and we were greeted by hostess with a "Happy Anniversary"! The staff was attentive and helpful and the food was excellent. Best crab cake I have ever had. The only negative was a party of 8 or so behind us that was quite loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a good experience. Would defini ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall a good experience. Would definitely go back. Two areas that need improvement:

Noise level was too high, they need more things on the walls to absorb the sound.

The scallop appetizer was beautiful, but the flavor of the scallop was lost in the peach. There was plenty of scallop but there was no real flavor.

Service was great and everything else was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The lamb, duck, and steak were all to di ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The lamb, duck, and steak were all to die for. Very delicious, even eliciting high praise from my foodie friends. If you want a nice bottle of red and something to go with it, look no further. Appetizers were fantastic, as was dessert. I'd go back in a second.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say, another fantastic meal a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

What can I say, another fantastic meal at the Washington Inn. My wife and I took our friends for dinner. It was their first time to the restaurant and certainly won't be their last. The food was prepared to perfection and the service was impeccable.

My wife had her usual lobster tail topped with crab meat. It is a huge tail with a buttery taste topped with a mountain of crab meat. Way more than one person can handle but always good the next day as a leftover.

This time I went with the filet mignon which was delicious.

I always save room for dessert. The Chocolate Mousse Tower is my favorite.

I can't wait until our next visit.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant was exceptional From per ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was exceptional From perfectly prepared fish, great wine, and you don't walk away hungry. You also have to get the cheese cake its amazing.

Great service, food and wine this place is the real deal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a birthday celebration for my w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a birthday celebration for my wife. She has celiac disease and we must be extremely careful where we eat. They were aware of this from our Open Table reservation and ensured that we had a worry free experience. Wonderful food and service!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love this place. Excellent foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love love love this place. Excellent food and service. Can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my 4th anniversary with my girl ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went for my 4th anniversary with my girlfriend (and last year for our 3rd). The food was great! The service was wonderful, too. Our waiter (wish I remembered his name) was very knowledgeable about the menu and friendly! I got the crab cakes and my girlfriend got the tuna--- she said it was the best tuna she has gotten in years!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South African lobster was the best I hav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

South African lobster was the best I have ever had. Outstanding service and a great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good restaurant especially in a sho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very good restaurant especially in a shore town. Service and ambiance were outstanding. I thought my diner (flat iron steak and veggies,) was very good but have had better elsewhere. But again, your at the beach. My wife had the branzino special which she said was very good. Would go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We found that this restaurant really did ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We found that this restaurant really didn't measure up to the reputation. We don't really know about the ambiance because we were seated on the closed in porch. Another table was somewhat loud and we were not able to stop hearing their conversation. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything special either. I had the crab cakes, and I prefer the ones at a place close to home. Overall, it was okay but we didn't find it as special as we expected based on other reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I cannot believe how many good reviews I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I cannot believe how many good reviews I have read about this place. The food was bland and WAY over- priced. Service was passable, but nothing exceptional. I mace a note in our reservation that it was our anniversary. Not a single word of congratulations or acknowledgement that it was our anniversary. 5 years ago we got married in Cape May and celebrated with a very nice meal at the Washington Inn. This meal was not up to the same standards that we experienced 5 years ago. To many good restaurants in town to waste a night at the Washington Inn. I got the shrimp and lobster bisque and had to add tons of pepper and salt to make it have any taste. The presentation of the food was unimpressive all around. My husband ordered a Caesar salad that was also completely bland. Very expensive for bland food and mediocre service. Would recommend trying another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Everything was excellent except the beg ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was excellent except the beginning. We arrived on time, were told "your table is being set", and then were made to wait 15-20 minutes with no further explanation. A little honesty in the front of the house would go a long way.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Selected this restaurant because of it's ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Selected this restaurant because of it's great food and wine selection. This was the fourth time we celebrated my wife' s birthday there. Always receive fantastic service. Recommend it to anyone who wants to celebrate a special occassion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went there celebrate our 3 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My wife and I went there celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. The staff was friendly and informative . Wine list impressive with lots of options. Our food was incredible and beautiful presentation. We ordered dessert and it came out arranged on happy anniversary plate . It made the whole evening very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service and presentation were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food, service and presentation were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Washington Inn is one of our favorit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Washington Inn is one of our favorite restaurants! We usually make the trip there for our anniversary in the summer. The food has always been outstanding and so has the service. We have a certain place where we like to sit and the staff, even though they can't guarantee it, has always come through for us; which is so appreciated. We will continue to go back again and again. It's wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, wonderful food and service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

As always, wonderful food and service. A must do for your trip to Cape May. It is pricey, but fairly valued, and it lives up to expectations for a very high end, white table cloth place.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the most charming places and the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the most charming places and the food is brilliant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with amazing food! The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great restaurant with amazing food! The bar menu is a wonderful addition and great place to check out!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of the best meals we've had in a ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best meals we've had in a very long time (at least since our visit last summer!)--and the service was excellent, too. Just the right amount of attention. We like to arrive a little early for our reservation so that we can have a drink at the bar. The bartenders are attentive and professional and handle the crowd (it's almost always crowded) very well. Our dinner at the Washington Inn is always a highlight of our Cape May vacation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner, as always. The f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great dinner, as always. The food was prepared perfectly, the wine was great and the staff was friendly. We had cocktails at the bar prior to being seated on time. Our waiter, James, was outstanding. Fine dinning at it's best.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First experience and it was very disappo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First experience and it was very disappointing. Noise lever was horrible, food was good but nothing to write home about, drinks were not very creative and menu lacked continuity. Best dish was a lamb ragu with cavatelli pasta. Rest of the dishes ordered were ok but not exceptional and did not live up to the reputation. I can check this off the Cape May bucket list as been there done that, won't do it again. I was hoping for so much more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

We were appalled at the service and food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were appalled at the service and food quality and prices for what we ate. The food was well overpriced and overlooked and just terrible and the waiter was horrible and forgot our drinks and food. Won't go back and we own a house in CMP and dine out often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was excellent . Staff could g ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was excellent . Staff could give a longer time to remove plates etc felt hurried

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous dining always! Food is top draw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous dining always! Food is top drawer, one of the very best places we know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gets better every time .

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Gets better every time .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Many friends who visited the Washington ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Many friends who visited the Washington Inn told us about how good it was but until you experience it for yourself you don't know. Now that we have been there and how good it really is I already told many of my friends just how good is really is. The service was GREAT and we needed that because it was our 44th wedding anniversary. We LOVE the Washington Inn and for sure we will be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal. The waitress w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The waitress was very attentive and answered all of our question. We splurged on the lobster dinner and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A charming place to have a delicious din ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A charming place to have a delicious dinner in beautiful cape may, NJ. The porch renovations are lovely. Food is very good and the wait staff is extremely attentive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a great place to dine. Used to be be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Not a great place to dine. Used to be better. The service is lacking.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

Chris was an awesome waitress!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Chris was an awesome waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Washington Inn has wonderful food, a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Washington Inn has wonderful food, as well as service. It is lovely place to dine at any time of year, but a must for us every summer. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic food and service. requested t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

fantastic food and service. requested the porch seating, which was lovely. A relaxing meal in an unhurried atmosphere. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about this dining ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We loved everything about this dining experience. The waiter was very pleasant, service was prompt but not rushed, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We frequent Cape May yearly and always d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We frequent Cape May yearly and always dine at The Washington Street Inn. The entrees are delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going here for years. Always a must ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Been going here for years. Always a must when visiting Cape May. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.