Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Washington Inn

Built in 1840, this former Cape May plantation residence is now home to the acclaimed Washington Inn and Wine Bar. The Craig Family has carefully preserved the beauty & essence of this distinctive treasure without undertaking major alterations to its original form. The Inns welcoming facade overlooks tree-lined Washington Street in the seaside communitys Historic District. The Washington Inn offers six unique dining areas, from a summer patio to cozy fireside tables. Cocktails are a must in the Wine Bar, where the passing Cape May scene can be best appreciated. Often described as romantic, our easy-going elegance will satisfy anyones craving for fine dining. Our enticing menu offers the best of American cuisine, but with an inventive, upscale edge. Food, Service, Ambiance, the essential ingredients for dining excellence, are all deftly blended here at The Washington Inn. We are what "eating out" used to be -- before it became hurried, incorporated & unimaginative

801 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
OPEN DAILY FROM 5 PM
EARLY 3 COURSE DINNER MENU 5- 6PM $27

DINE AFTER NINE
MAKE RESERVATIONS AFTER 9PM AND RECEIVE 20% OFF ENTIRE CHECK

SUNDAYS NO CORKAGE FEE

Cross Street:
Jefferson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-5697

Website:
http://www.washingtoninn.com/

Catering:
The Washington Inn provides off-premise catering at whatever location you desire. We are expert at arranging details, creating just the right look, and, of course, offering your guests the highest quality food & attention available. Our catering staff will help you plan an outstanding event, customized to your needs and budget. The Inn caters early- afternoon wedding receptions for up to 125 people on premises. If your guest list is longer, we can help to arrange a reception at the Cape May Beach Club, the Isaac Smith Vineyard,Cape May Winery, your home or wherever you prefer.

Parking Details:
We offer Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Miriam Wood

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are hosting a wedding, rehearsal dinner or a private business meeting, Cape May’s famed Washington Inn has rooms & menus to suit your every need. The former plantation home, circa 1840 offers the cozy Wine Cellar that holds up to 18, or the all-season patio that seats up to 40, or the garden room that accommodates 50, or the entire restaurant for daytime events or selected evening affairs. Your guests will enjoy the same great food and service that have earned The Washington Inn its must-dine reputation.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Rafferty: (609) 884-5697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Five for Friday in the Wine Bar. Every Friday evening we offer 5 great items for only $5. Choice of wine, Cocktail, Oysters, Sliders and Appetizers Join us on Fridays!

Specials

FREE CORKAGE SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

20% Off Entire Meal

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

FREE CORKAGE SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

FREE CORKAGE SUNDAY. EVERY SUNDAY WE OFFER NO CORKAGE FEE. MANY GUESTS COME IN WITH THEIR WINE. Special valid Jun 19, 2017 - Oct 19, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

20% Off Entire Meal

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

20% Off Entire Meal. Excludes Tax and Tip. DINE LIKE A PARISIAN! MAKE RESERVATIONS AFTER 9PM AND RECEIVE 20% OFF CHECK. Special valid Jun 23, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Washington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Romantic (115)
See All
Good for a Date (108)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Notable Wine List (73)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Worth the Drive (51)
Local Ingredients (46)
Cozy (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Authentic (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Good for Groups (22)
Business Meals (21)
Happy Hour (18)
Seasonal (18)
Historic (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Scenic View (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Fireplace (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The Washington Inn has always been a wonderful place to enjoy a special dinner while on vacation in Cape May. This time I felt that the meals (I had Scottish Salmon & my husband had the Pork Chop special) were mediocre at best. That's unfortunate because it is obviously pricey but I always felt that it was worth it. Our waiter was not attentive and that added to my "just okay" rating. We'll give it another try, I'm sure. Hopefully it was just an off night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The service, atmosphere and food were all outstanding! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

We were extremely please and impressed with our choices.
We had the crab cakes as an appetizer and they were delicious.
We had the seafood mix, duck and steak as our main dishes which was superb.
We would highly recommend Washington Inn for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated in a room that reminded me of a covered porch. It was nice except for the chairs- they had very uncomfortable metal backs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible, I had the Filet, cooked to perfection- as were the Crab Cakes and Pork Chop my guests had ordered. The service is 2nd to none. The Washington Inn is, in my opinion, the best restaurant in Cape May. From the Valet parking to dessert my dining experience here leaves me excited to plan my next visit. If your visiting Cape May, make sure you put this little Gem on your to do list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. Amazing service. Amazing atmosphere.
One the best. Without doubt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Not cheap but always enjoyable. Attentive staff. My filet a bit overdone but oysters, salads entrees all great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been going to the Washington Inn for over 30 years and it just gets better with time. The staff is very friendly and helpful in choosing just the right menu items for special occasions, business meetings or holiday dining. The Inn itself is just beautiful at any time of the year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food and drink. Service is exceptional! Vibrant bar scene. Can handle large groups well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

From appetizers to desserts our meals were outstanding. Splurge meal was the 14oz. South African Lobster Tail, perfectly cooked & delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The service was good not exceptional as the past, the food was over cooked the fish and ribs both a little dry. We both ordered the exact same meal as our visit a week ago.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Halibut was amazing. Crab cake is by far best in town. (BTW),I've had most of them. Will definitely be back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

One of Cape May's finest. Always a great dining experience. Staff is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Year after year when we visit Cape May, The Washington Inn is #1 on our "must eat at" list. The Washington Inn never disappoints with the quality of the food, the imagination of the recipes and the service. Always consistent and top-notch!! This year we actually cancelled a reservation at another restaurant to go back to the Washington Inn again in the same week. Their Seafood Cioppino is the absolute best seafood dish I have ever had!!! I'd love to have the recipe!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything about our meal was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Washington in is a venerable institution in Cape May which consistently delivers what it purports to be. And that is straightforward American tablecloth dining in a gracious comfortable setting with knowledgeable servers and a top-flight kitchen. The depth and scope of the wine list is truly amazing given that Cape May is essentially a vacation spot. There are great values by the glass as well as the bottles, which offers superb choices of bordeaux's, burgundy's and Italian red in the range of under $50 to several hundred dollars

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wife, myself, 12 yo & 3yo had planned a vacation dinner that was relaxed and professionally prepared. Washington Inn didn't disappoint.

All food ordered was perfect. A secret kid's menu had many options to keep troops quiet and nourished.

Service (by Rachel) was outstanding. My 3 yo son loved going into kitchen with Rachel to sample the ice cream selections post-dinner. We told her to take her time :).

Had oysters oths, crab cakes & keylime pie... Me lass had salad, bronzino & cheesecake...espressos.

Not overly expensive. Will make it a part of our reg Cape May rotation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

A refined establishment offering delicious food, great service, and an expansive wine list in a quiet atmosphere. Next time in Cape May, NJ, I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 9, 2017

As you approach this charming, vintage restaurant you see lovely landscaping, flowering window boxes, and a well maintained house built in the 1840s.
However, it is not stuffy but rather open and airy with porches as well as dining rooms.
The menu offers a wide variety of Gourmet meals- juicy steak, signature crab cakes, and a variety of deliciously prepared fish. The Key West oysters were so tasty, and the seafood chowder excellent! Yummy deserts too! All served graciously, promptly, and without being overbearing! For my husband and me a very special treat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Fabulous meal. Fabulous atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent on all counts- ambiance, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

By far one of the best three-course meals I have ever had. Fantastic wine selection. Try the octopus for appetizer.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a delicious meal, in a very nice setting, with wonderful service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our server (I believe) was James. Very attentive, he was also the sommelier so his recommendations and explanations of wine were on point.
The patio was a bit noisy but that was our only complaint. Our food was excellent and dessert was sensational. We've been to plenty of restaurants in Cape May and this is our favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great dinner and excellent wine menu

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Phenomenal food- everything was absolutely delicious from the oysters Rockefeller app, crab cake appetizer, short ribs, and halibut special. First time dining here and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great spot no words needed always a great drink and great meal plus the valet saved a dog and parked our car

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When we were seated in one of the large dining rooms, the noise level was unbearable. The staff were very accommodating and seated us in the garden room. All was fine, excellent service and food, until the table next to us became very loud (after imbibing a lot of alcoholic beverages). When they finally left, the house took pity on us and did not charge us for my dessert, which, BTW, was really delicious - 20 level crepe cake with pastry cream and fruit. The WI was not unique in its noise level, other restaurants in Cape May had a similar problem.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Staff was great, the food was great and the atmosphere was great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We love this restaurant! Our 2nd visit to CMay in 3 years and it is our fav fine dining spot!
Unique local choices and fab staff!
Banana Foster is superb🍷!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We cannot wait to dine here every time we visit Cape May. It never disappoints - and I'm fussy. Probably in the top 10 restaurants I've eaten in all around the world. I'm tempted to keep a secret, but that is not fair to such an incredibly run establishment!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We come to Cape May at least once a year. We always go to Washington In because we enjoy it so much. Great place and great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We came as a family of four. They were behind with seating, despite having reservations. However, they realized that we have children and brought out foods and drinks on the house. The food was amazing! Our waitress was attentive and made sure we were comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Simply wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We returned to Washington Inn after a pause of several years. This dinner on July 4 was so good we wondered why we waited to return. The food was delicious and our wait staff server very attentive. The duck entree was terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

crab cakes are fantastic. salmon was perfect. service impeccable. only bad thing was air conditioning was blasting on a cool nite making dinner chilly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We discovered Washington Inn on a previous visit, and have made a point of going there every year when we are in Cape May ever since. They have valet parking (unusual in Cape May), the ambience is upscale, the wait staff have actually had some training, and the food is excellent. There are decent wines, even by the glass. We are never disappointed, except that the tables can be a bit small for a group that orders multiple courses and shares! But sharing multiple courses makes it even more fun, of course.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was very good. $30 corkage fee was a bit much, when everywhere else in cape may is BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

An outstanding experience in every way. A truly lovely building in a great neighborhood in Cape May NJ.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lovely restaurant in a Victorian home. Attentive service and wonderful meal. Have been there before and will return again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.