Wasabi Bistro at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur

4.1
18 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Romantic
  • Fit for Foodies
A modern take on intricate, traditional Japanese fare enjoyed in the quiet elegance of an intimate bistro setting. Subtly decorated with exquisite Japanese art and artefacts, the dining areas have been designed to offer guests the utmost privacy. Resplendent with Oriental motifs, the silver cushioned wicker furniture accents the marble and wood toned interiors. Enjoy a front row seat at the sushi bar and watch the intricate handwork of our master chef, as he displays his skills in the art of sushi making.

The menu is Californian-Japanese, with highlights that include Papaya Motoyaki and Alaskan Black Cod.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
03-2163 0968
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Takahiro Sakamoto
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
KLCC
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Hotel basement parking is available for a fee of 8 Malaysian Ringgit per hour from 06:00- 19:00. A flat rate of RM 8 is applicable after 19:00 daily.
Additional
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine
What 18 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It’s been a long tradition for me to be served so well, food quality and service quality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2017

ate here twice while in kuala lumpur. excellent service and delicious food, especially the miso soup—so flavorful, the combo shrimp/vegetable tempura which was crunchy and non-greasy and the sushi was fresh and wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was perfect. please keep it up.
please ask your Mr. Fuad or Mr. Faisal to email me that night tax invoice as promised.

My number is 017 373 0164

Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

very calm location, personal kindly and helpfull, food of high quality, prices above the average but it is worth it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Love love Kumi No 1 appetizer and the staffs service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

The best sushi in town & very friendly, attentive service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2017

It just wow me... exceed my expectations especially the ambience and food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2017

So Delicious! The food was amazing and the service was great! Would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 18, 2017

Good food, but unremarkable for the price. Service was very slow and items we ordered were forgotten until we asked when they were coming. Surroundings are a little tired and dated but pleasant enough.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2016

Very unfortunate is the location. Food is good but we like to have a view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good but green tea ice cream was bad and this was my 2nd time trying.
1st time the red bean was sour. It has obviously gone spoiled.
2nd time the green tea ice cream does not have any green tea taste. Its taste like milk?

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 4, 2016

I was really looking forward to dining at Wasabi but to be honest I was very let down. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant, we had to ask for a wine list and for our glasses to be topped up, my rice was undercooked and hard and there were fish bones in my sashimi. We had the set menu #2 and I wish I had just ordered a few of my favourite classic Japanese dishes.

We dine at the Manadarin Oriental on a very regular basis and have always loved our previous experiences at all of their restaurants, they always have a high level of service and quality food. Unfortunately on this occasion we were very disappointed and underwhelmed. Sorry but I won't be returning to Wasabi

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2016

First time went to this restaurant to try out their dishes.
The ambience is nice and quiet. There is 2 private room if you want more privacy.
Variety of foods is available and the taste is good. The service is good.
Certainly a good place to have a good relaxing meals.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2016

First time....California plus Japanese appealing. Dinner before symphony. Below grade so no windows. Nice big booths with wood partitions. Awesome wagmu beef, jumbo prawns, sushi.

Only complaints. Young male server never knew who ordered what? I had to direct each dish destination.

Ordered wagmu beef and prawns. Never considered they'd arrive 20 minutes apart? When I asked waitress, she simply said she decided I wanted prawns THEN beef!?! Really? Why?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2016

Especially whenever dining is mixed with business, it is always good to be able to choose the menu quickly. Hence, an easy-to-choose but great selections of set lunches helps create the ambience for good business lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2016

service is very good and food also meet our expectation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

the quality of foods such a bad, can't believe Happened in 5 stars MO hotel, especially the grill seafood plates, it was very bad, the salmons was over cooked, and tasted likes very dry and not presentable, the sobets was good, but unfortunately they can served u in malted sobet, (3/1 malted sobet). Me and my wife was seating at sushi bar, supricely nothing much u can see at sushi bar, just a basic salmon, and tuna and some kamachi, nothing else, and very less choice there, anyway I won't go there again, the standard is very bad if compare with others japnesese. They might don't know what is Japanese foods. It's a Chinese Japanese foods.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 26, 2013

great food served and nice and appropriate place to have a private lunch or dinner meeting.

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Wasabi Bistro at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur