About Wasabi Bistro at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50088
View Larger Map

A modern take on intricate, traditional Japanese fare enjoyed in the quiet elegance of an intimate bistro setting. Subtly decorated with exquisite Japanese art and artefacts, the dining areas have been designed to offer guests the utmost privacy. Resplendent with Oriental motifs, the silver cushioned wicker furniture accents the marble and wood toned interiors. Enjoy a front row seat at the sushi bar and watch the intricate handwork of our master chef, as he displays his skills in the art of sushi making.

The menu is Californian-Japanese, with highlights that include Papaya Motoyaki and Alaskan Black Cod.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
KLCC

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
03-2163 0968

Website:
http://www.mandarinoriental.com/kualalumpur/dining/restaurants

Parking Details:
Hotel basement parking is available for a fee of 8 Malaysian Ringgit per hour from 06:00- 19:00. A flat rate of RM 8 is applicable after 19:00 daily.

Executive Chef:
Takahiro Sakamoto

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Wasabi Bistro at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.3

ambience

3.2

value

2.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Malaysia
Most Booked
Kuala Lumpur
Best Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur ›

Great for Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (1)
See All
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
9 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very unfortunate is the location. Food i ...

 
 (München)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very unfortunate is the location. Food is good but we like to have a view

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was good but green tea ice cream wa ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good but green tea ice cream was bad and this was my 2nd time trying.

1st time the red bean was sour. It has obviously gone spoiled.

2nd time the green tea ice cream does not have any green tea taste. Its taste like milk?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Average Experience

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I was really looking forward to dining at Wasabi but to be honest I was very let down. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant, we had to ask for a wine list and for our glasses to be topped up, my rice was undercooked and hard and there were fish bones in my sashimi. We had the set menu #2 and I wish I had just ordered a few of my favourite classic Japanese dishes.

We dine at the Manadarin Oriental on a very regular basis and have always loved our previous experiences at all of their restaurants, they always have a high level of service and quality food. Unfortunately on this occasion we were very disappointed and underwhelmed. Sorry but I won't be returning to Wasabi

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice ambience

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

First time went to this restaurant to try out their dishes.

The ambience is nice and quiet. There is 2 private room if you want more privacy.

Variety of foods is available and the taste is good. The service is good.

Certainly a good place to have a good relaxing meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome food. Service needs polishing

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

First time....California plus Japanese appealing. Dinner before symphony. Below grade so no windows. Nice big booths with wood partitions. Awesome wagmu beef, jumbo prawns, sushi.

Only complaints. Young male server never knew who ordered what? I had to direct each dish destination.

Ordered wagmu beef and prawns. Never considered they'd arrive 20 minutes apart? When I asked waitress, she simply said she decided I wanted prawns THEN beef!?! Really? Why?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great and easy-to-choose selection of set lunches.

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Especially whenever dining is mixed with business, it is always good to be able to choose the menu quickly. Hence, an easy-to-choose but great selections of set lunches helps create the ambience for good business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

good for special occasion

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

service is very good and food also meet our expectation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

bad experience

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

the quality of foods such a bad, can't believe Happened in 5 stars MO hotel, especially the grill seafood plates, it was very bad, the salmons was over cooked, and tasted likes very dry and not presentable, the sobets was good, but unfortunately they can served u in malted sobet, (3/1 malted sobet). Me and my wife was seating at sushi bar, supricely nothing much u can see at sushi bar, just a basic salmon, and tuna and some kamachi, nothing else, and very less choice there, anyway I won't go there again, the standard is very bad if compare with others japnesese. They might don't know what is Japanese foods. It's a Chinese Japanese foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

great food served and nice

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)
·Dined on June 26, 2013

great food served and nice and appropriate place to have a private lunch or dinner meeting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.