About Ward's House of Prime - Delafield

515 Wells St.
Delafield, WI 53018
View Larger Map

Collectively, we’ve been in the steakhouse business for as long as you’ve been craving a truly unique dining experience – maybe even longer. At Ward’s House of Prime, we learned what you wanted from a steakhouse and then we designed a restaurant where high-end entrees are served at a reasonable price in an atmosphere that’s upscale yet relaxed.



At our steakhouse, we want you to feel just as comfortable ordering full-plate entrees in the main dining room as you would ordering from the bar menu and watching sports in the lounge. While prime rib is our specialty (served every day), we also give special attention to seafood, chicken, veal and vegetarian entrees as well as our lighter fare of appetizers, sliders and stonefire flatbreads. And we offer a variety of martinis, beers, cocktails and wines by the glass – as well as an extensive list of 500 wines by the bottle, all at a fair price.



We hope you’ll dine with us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Mon - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(262) 337-9199

Ward's House of Prime - Delafield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Delafield ›

special occasion (25)
great for outdoor dining (21)
romantic (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (10)
fit for foodies (9)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Extraordinary food, ambiance and service ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Extraordinary food, ambiance and service. Ward's in Delafield is a great date night getaway!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and great atmosphere! War ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food and great atmosphere! Wards is a neighborhood gem.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good and the atmospher ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was very good and the atmosphere was vibrant. We were lucky to have a table on the balcony and there was live music. The best part of dinner however was our server, Taylor. She was quick to help us without being overbearing and she was knowledgeable on the menu and on the wine by the glass list making recommendations when asked. We felt very comfortable in her care.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not the best prime rib. Reviews rated it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not the best prime rib. Reviews rated it the best. Disappointed didn't like sauce. Over rated.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very disappointed with the food. Prime r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very disappointed with the food. Prime rib had way too much fat and gristle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

$44 for seabass really? Steaks better at ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

$44 for seabass really? Steaks better at Jakes . And no gf bread option.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We've been hear several times for busine ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've been hear several times for business (groups of 15-20) and personal dining.

The food was fantastic but the service was no better than a Culvers.

It seemed that they put the young new servers with couples and the more experienced servers with the groups, whom are paying the big bucks. It was disappointing this time.

Examples of poor service:

-Waited 15 minutes for water and a glass of wine, to the point where other servers where asking if we were being helped

-The bill was incorrect and more than it should have been, due to incorrect order placement

-Server liked to leaned on wife's chair while speaking only to me

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful night to dine outside, the foo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautiful night to dine outside, the food was excellent, the service was good and the vibe was fun. Last time here we dined inside, definitely prefer the experience outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

High end, fine dining prime rib house. P ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

High end, fine dining prime rib house. Pricey but the food is good. Some items way overpriced. Excellent quality food. Outside dining is a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The staff went out of their way to make ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Not only for the service but a sheet in the menu was personally inscribed with our name and anniversary wishes. That is going above and beyond the norm as we have never had that done for us before. The waitress and bus boy were very young but very professional as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my husband here for Father's Day, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my husband here for Father's Day, it was our first visit. Everything was perfect. The bartenders were spot on, the hostess was very accommodating and the server we had was very attentive without being TOO attentive. I would strongly recommend this to anyone who wants a fine dining experience. It is not cheap - but you get what you pay for. My husband order the Prime Rib, I ordered the filet as that is my favorite. However, next time, and there will be a next, I will order the Prime Rib as well. The way we rate fine-dining restaurants is either a "we would come back if someone wanted to eat here, but we won't make it a point" or "we will definitely be back and recommend to friends". This falls into the We will be back category without a doubt. Salads were fresh, the side dish of asparagus was cooked to perfection. All in all, there is nothing short of outstanding that we could say about this establishment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Wards many times, but always dow ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Been to Wards many times, but always downtown. Been to 3 times 1st time my sons took me was excellent. Last 2 times left alot to be desired, with food & service. Will try one last time, if not I will be back in downtown milwaukee.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Inconsistent quality

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It's a flip of the coin if ordering the highly touted prime rib. Very pricey and may be outstanding or chewy and flavorless. Never had a problem with any other menu item.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wards House of Prime

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have been to Wards on few occasions. the Prime Rib is excellent. We were there to see a guitar player we really like. Unfortunately the table next to us was so loud we could barely hear him. There was no attempt to maybe ask them to tone it down a bit.....on another note the cocktails are on the small side for what you pay. Even the small Martini glasses were only 3/4 filled. A disappointment. With that said I would go back again if I had a taste for Prime.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We love both Ward's restaurants, the one ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We love both Ward's restaurants, the one in Downtown Milwaukee and the one in Delafield. The food is delicious, though how I can get my husband to not order the 48 oz prime rib is beyond me :-) Service is great as well. The staff makes you feel very welcome and make you want to return. They have a very patio, to enjoy drinks and dinner, though the weather was so questionable, we were unable to enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding food and service. We' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Simply outstanding food and service. We've been there several times and it never fails to impress. The steak-bites are out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Wards several times in t ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have been to Wards several times in the last few months. The hostesses are ok, but don't seem to care too much about how long you wait or where they ultimately seat you. We always have reservations and are told to wait at the bar when we arrive, but we always have to check back in to get seated. The food is very good, but the steaks are always under cooked. I'm hopeful that with a few tweaks this place could be fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mainstream Supper Club

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Wards 3x's now and in my opinion the food is mostly mainstream overall, the grade of meats are good but not excellent, with preparation being well above average. Pricing is extremely high for the product whereas 3-adults and 1-child with a 16-oz & 8-oz prime, one 8-oz filet, buttered noodles (child) seafood appetizer with basic non-alcoholic drinks came to $223.00. (tip was $45-total was $268) I always allow for 2-3 dining experiences at a notable restaurant before I form an opinion given I want to be fair and not let one poor dining experience define my overall opinion. I frequent pretty much all the fine dining restaurants within a 50-mile radius and would rate Wards below average.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Bday party

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Side order of asparagus w/hollandaise sauce received half way through the meal and w/o the sauce. By the time we received the sauce one member of the group was done with her meal and the rest were almost done. Had there been any kind of apology or acknowledgement that it was not right for us to wait we might have been happier. The celebratory event was marred by that flaw. Food was good though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

First time dining at Wards...Nice ambien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

First time dining at Wards...Nice ambience, took reservations and the food and service did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the money!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

First off, really, really expensive. I don't mind spending money on a good meal but our bill was almost $400!!! My steak was blaaaaaaa. My parents had the surf & turf and said the same thing about their steak and their lobster was mushy. Palmers steak house is always our go to and I'd rather spend $400 there because I can get WAY more for our money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Would make sure you look over your bill real good!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

It was not worth the money. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary and decided to have prime rib. I had the smallest cut and ordered it medium thinking there would be a little pink. Not a spec of pink and the edges were well done like maybe under a heat lamp. It was laying in a pool of au jus and at best Luke warm. And and then when the waiter cleared our plates he offered us a complementary dessert for our anniversary. But this is why I say look at your bill, because when we got home my husband looked closer at the bill and we were charged $8.00 for the complementary dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had the prime rib &baked potato, wh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had the prime rib &baked potato, which was excellent!!!The only thing i would suggest is that the meal come with a vegetable. I felt like it wasn't enough food or that something was missing..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice place to dine and drink!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great Happy Hour and special cocktails. Perfect spot to meet up with friends and have a nice meal or for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not like it used to be

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Crab legs fishy

Cocktails not filled to brim

Wait staff uncomfortable and not knowledgeable

Rushed along plates cleared before finished meal

Truffle corn microwaved and served with a crust

Prime rib tasteless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Last minute Reservation

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We made last minute reservations, and were seated in the bar area. Coincidentally they had a musician in the bar when we started to order. It was loud, but the music was very good. The food was Awesome, just hard to talk to each other. Our fault for not planning ahead.

Great Entertainment

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I had another great meal at Ward's, dined in the bar area. Food was great, service ( Mo) was great as well.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sports bar atmosphere, high priced, very noisy

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I wanted to go someplace special for dinner. Thought a high end steak place would have a great atmosphere for $50 and up steak. How wrong could I have been. There was a lot of TV's and the place is loud. Now if your into sports and have money to blow, this place is the place to go. If you want something classy, go somewhere else. I did like the steak and my wife liked her meal, just thought it would be better atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Disappointed with food and resolution.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Stopped in for Valentine's day. We were welcomed and seated when we arrived. Everyone was very pleasant. We ordered two filets. One was suppose to be medium-well and the other medium. The medium steak came out rare and they took it back for more cooking. The medium-well steak came out very well done. The server even acknowledged that it was over done. It would have been nice if they offered to replace that steak but they didn't. At the end of dinner we were never asked how everything was or if they could resolve the situation at all. Overall we felt disappointed for what should have been a nice enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food, subpar atmosphere and service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Wards...we went for the prime rib, which was excellent. While the food was great the atmosphere was a bit unusual. I expected a nice quiet steakhouse atmosphere but it was very loud with lots of TVs and belligerent customers. Having known that's what it was going to be like, we would have gone somewhere else for our Valentine's Day dinner. The other disappointment was the service… For the amount of money you spend on dinner, the service should be at or above the level of the food… and it wasn't anywhere close to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Reserved a table for a Valentine's dinne ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Reserved a table for a Valentine's dinner. Instead of seating us in the more formal dining room, we were sat in the middle of the bar among a big crowd that kept bumping into our chairs. We left in less than five minutes. We asked to be moved, but the very unprofessional hostess said there were no other tables. We have been there many times in the past, but may never go again after this experience. Ruined the night, to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Fabulous!! Food and ambiance were perfe ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Fabulous!! Food and ambiance were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant is very comfortable and very relaxing. Our service was very good. My wife and I were there for a special occasion. Our food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great overall experience!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We were extremely pleased with every aspect of the restaurant. The service was impeccable, the food was absolutely amazing, and the ambience was fabulous. We will definitely recommend Wards to our famity and friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sports bar

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Expected intimate dining but found sports bar atmosphere! Wasn't until leaving that we discovered fine dining was upstairs. Too late! Hostess should ask patrons choice of seating!

However service was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

fantastic experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Going to Ward's is always a treat... and the staff seem to recognize that and enhance that experience. The food is outstanding, the atmosphere is fun, but the servers always make the evening so special for us. They seem to know that it's a special evening when we go, or when we bring friends with us that there's a special toast, and they have always treated us so kindly and professionally. Other restaurant's servers are fine, take orders and check on the meal, but the servers at Ward's seem to really want people to be happy and to enjoy themselves. We expect the food to be good when we splurge at Wards, but the servers make the evening even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We'll be back!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Famous for prime rib, portions of which run from petite to mamouth to Fred Flinstone. We had filet mignon and scallops and bone in ribeye and they were very good. Scallops were done perfectly and not too overseasoned. Fine service from Mo. WIne list is not spectacular but carefully selected for the beef heavy menu. Bring a full wallet, expect excellence. We will be back!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Upon Arrival Ward's didn't have our rese ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Upon Arrival Ward's didn't have our reservations for our company Christmas party. The reservations were confirmed not one but twice. Ward's did seat all of us but we were very cramped in like sardines. We did ask for an additional table to add but was denied the request. Waiter seemed very nervous an seemed to be having an off night and very confused at our orders giving our plates to other and us having to swap them. Steaks and such were very good though, as well as the side dishes. Desert cake was very very dry and like a sponge. Desert was taken off our bill though. As a company party I thought that I would treat my employees to an upper scale restaurant but was very disappointed after spending $700.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Awesome Prime Rib !!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

First time at this restaurant. The service was very good. The food was at our table really quick but not rushed. My wife and I couldn't believe how good the Prime Rib was. Overall we had a very pleasant experience !! We will definitely be returning some time soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for Christmas Eve just two of us. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Went for Christmas Eve just two of us. I had filet and my boyfriend had filet with scallops. Steaks were cook perfect. I had Caesar salad and he had lobster bisque. Bisque was delicious, salad ok. Bartalotta's has the bar set pretty high for Caesar salad and I've yet to find a high end restaurant that comes close. Sides of mushrooms and brussel sprouts were good. Wine list is extensive but quite pricey. Overall whole meal was good but really pricey, $200 with tip for two of us and that was with a relatively cheap bottle of wine.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.