About Ward's House of Prime - Delafield

515 Wells St.
Delafield, WI 53018
View Larger Map

Collectively, we’ve been in the steakhouse business for as long as you’ve been craving a truly unique dining experience – maybe even longer. At Ward’s House of Prime, we learned what you wanted from a steakhouse and then we designed a restaurant where high-end entrees are served at a reasonable price in an atmosphere that’s upscale yet relaxed.



At our steakhouse, we want you to feel just as comfortable ordering full-plate entrees in the main dining room as you would ordering from the bar menu and watching sports in the lounge. While prime rib is our specialty (served every day), we also give special attention to seafood, chicken, veal and vegetarian entrees as well as our lighter fare of appetizers, sliders and stonefire flatbreads. And we offer a variety of martinis, beers, cocktails and wines by the glass – as well as an extensive list of 500 wines by the bottle, all at a fair price.



We hope you’ll dine with us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Prime Rib, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Mon - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(262) 337-9199

Ward's House of Prime - Delafield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (24)
romantic (12)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

We have been to Wards several times in t ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We have been to Wards several times in the last few months. The hostesses are ok, but don't seem to care too much about how long you wait or where they ultimately seat you. We always have reservations and are told to wait at the bar when we arrive, but we always have to check back in to get seated. The food is very good, but the steaks are always under cooked. I'm hopeful that with a few tweaks this place could be fantastic.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Mainstream Supper Club

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Wards 3x's now and in my opinion the food is mostly mainstream overall, the grade of meats are good but not excellent, with preparation being well above average. Pricing is extremely high for the product whereas 3-adults and 1-child with a 16-oz & 8-oz prime, one 8-oz filet, buttered noodles (child) seafood appetizer with basic non-alcoholic drinks came to $223.00. (tip was $45-total was $268) I always allow for 2-3 dining experiences at a notable restaurant before I form an opinion given I want to be fair and not let one poor dining experience define my overall opinion. I frequent pretty much all the fine dining restaurants within a 50-mile radius and would rate Wards below average.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Bday party

Dined on April 11, 2016

Side order of asparagus w/hollandaise sauce received half way through the meal and w/o the sauce. By the time we received the sauce one member of the group was done with her meal and the rest were almost done. Had there been any kind of apology or acknowledgement that it was not right for us to wait we might have been happier. The celebratory event was marred by that flaw. Food was good though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining at Wards...Nice ambien ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

First time dining at Wards...Nice ambience, took reservations and the food and service did not disappoint.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not worth the money!

Dined on April 2, 2016

First off, really, really expensive. I don't mind spending money on a good meal but our bill was almost $400!!! My steak was blaaaaaaa. My parents had the surf & turf and said the same thing about their steak and their lobster was mushy. Palmers steak house is always our go to and I'd rather spend $400 there because I can get WAY more for our money.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Would make sure you look over your bill real good!

Dined on March 22, 2016

It was not worth the money. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary and decided to have prime rib. I had the smallest cut and ordered it medium thinking there would be a little pink. Not a spec of pink and the edges were well done like maybe under a heat lamp. It was laying in a pool of au jus and at best Luke warm. And and then when the waiter cleared our plates he offered us a complementary dessert for our anniversary. But this is why I say look at your bill, because when we got home my husband looked closer at the bill and we were charged $8.00 for the complementary dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had the prime rib &baked potato, wh ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had the prime rib &baked potato, which was excellent!!!The only thing i would suggest is that the meal come with a vegetable. I felt like it wasn't enough food or that something was missing..

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to dine and drink!

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great Happy Hour and special cocktails. Perfect spot to meet up with friends and have a nice meal or for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not like it used to be

Dined on March 13, 2016

Crab legs fishy Cocktails not filled to brim Wait staff uncomfortable and not knowledgeable Rushed along plates cleared before finished meal Truffle corn microwaved and served with a crust Prime rib tasteless

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last minute Reservation

Dined on February 28, 2016

We made last minute reservations, and were seated in the bar area. Coincidentally they had a musician in the bar when we started to order. It was loud, but the music was very good. The food was Awesome, just hard to talk to each other. Our fault for not planning ahead. Great Entertainment

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on February 17, 2016

I had another great meal at Ward's, dined in the bar area. Food was great, service ( Mo) was great as well.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Sports bar atmosphere, high priced, very noisy

Dined on February 15, 2016

I wanted to go someplace special for dinner. Thought a high end steak place would have a great atmosphere for $50 and up steak. How wrong could I have been. There was a lot of TV's and the place is loud. Now if your into sports and have money to blow, this place is the place to go. If you want something classy, go somewhere else. I did like the steak and my wife liked her meal, just thought it would be better atmosphere.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed with food and resolution.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Stopped in for Valentine's day. We were welcomed and seated when we arrived. Everyone was very pleasant. We ordered two filets. One was suppose to be medium-well and the other medium. The medium steak came out rare and they took it back for more cooking. The medium-well steak came out very well done. The server even acknowledged that it was over done. It would have been nice if they offered to replace that steak but they didn't. At the end of dinner we were never asked how everything was or if they could resolve the situation at all. Overall we felt disappointed for what should have been a nice enjoyable dinner.

food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food, subpar atmosphere and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Wards...we went for the prime rib, which was excellent. While the food was great the atmosphere was a bit unusual. I expected a nice quiet steakhouse atmosphere but it was very loud with lots of TVs and belligerent customers. Having known that's what it was going to be like, we would have gone somewhere else for our Valentine's Day dinner. The other disappointment was the service… For the amount of money you spend on dinner, the service should be at or above the level of the food… and it wasn't anywhere close to that.

food1
ambience1
service1

Reserved a table for a Valentine's dinne ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Reserved a table for a Valentine's dinner. Instead of seating us in the more formal dining room, we were sat in the middle of the bar among a big crowd that kept bumping into our chairs. We left in less than five minutes. We asked to be moved, but the very unprofessional hostess said there were no other tables. We have been there many times in the past, but may never go again after this experience. Ruined the night, to say the least.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!! Food and ambiance were perfe ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Fabulous!! Food and ambiance were perfect!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

very good

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant is very comfortable and very relaxing. Our service was very good. My wife and I were there for a special occasion. Our food was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great overall experience!!!

Dined on January 30, 2016

We were extremely pleased with every aspect of the restaurant. The service was impeccable, the food was absolutely amazing, and the ambience was fabulous. We will definitely recommend Wards to our famity and friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Sports bar

Dined on January 29, 2016

Expected intimate dining but found sports bar atmosphere! Wasn't until leaving that we discovered fine dining was upstairs. Too late! Hostess should ask patrons choice of seating! However service was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fantastic experience

Dined on January 24, 2016

Going to Ward's is always a treat... and the staff seem to recognize that and enhance that experience. The food is outstanding, the atmosphere is fun, but the servers always make the evening so special for us. They seem to know that it's a special evening when we go, or when we bring friends with us that there's a special toast, and they have always treated us so kindly and professionally. Other restaurant's servers are fine, take orders and check on the meal, but the servers at Ward's seem to really want people to be happy and to enjoy themselves. We expect the food to be good when we splurge at Wards, but the servers make the evening even better.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We'll be back!

Dined on January 10, 2016

Famous for prime rib, portions of which run from petite to mamouth to Fred Flinstone. We had filet mignon and scallops and bone in ribeye and they were very good. Scallops were done perfectly and not too overseasoned. Fine service from Mo. WIne list is not spectacular but carefully selected for the beef heavy menu. Bring a full wallet, expect excellence. We will be back!

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Upon Arrival Ward's didn't have our rese ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Upon Arrival Ward's didn't have our reservations for our company Christmas party. The reservations were confirmed not one but twice. Ward's did seat all of us but we were very cramped in like sardines. We did ask for an additional table to add but was denied the request. Waiter seemed very nervous an seemed to be having an off night and very confused at our orders giving our plates to other and us having to swap them. Steaks and such were very good though, as well as the side dishes. Desert cake was very very dry and like a sponge. Desert was taken off our bill though. As a company party I thought that I would treat my employees to an upper scale restaurant but was very disappointed after spending $700.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Prime Rib !!

Dined on December 31, 2015

First time at this restaurant. The service was very good. The food was at our table really quick but not rushed. My wife and I couldn't believe how good the Prime Rib was. Overall we had a very pleasant experience !! We will definitely be returning some time soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Went for Christmas Eve just two of us. I ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Went for Christmas Eve just two of us. I had filet and my boyfriend had filet with scallops. Steaks were cook perfect. I had Caesar salad and he had lobster bisque. Bisque was delicious, salad ok. Bartalotta's has the bar set pretty high for Caesar salad and I've yet to find a high end restaurant that comes close. Sides of mushrooms and brussel sprouts were good. Wine list is extensive but quite pricey. Overall whole meal was good but really pricey, $200 with tip for two of us and that was with a relatively cheap bottle of wine.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is outstanding.

Dined on December 5, 2015

We will be back. If you have not tried Wards you don't know what your missing. We thought it would be once that's not the case. We will try Wards this time in Milwaukee.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Very tight quarters!

Dined on November 18, 2015

Small tables and no room to enjoy our meal...... Every time they brought anything to the table we had to move things around the table to make room.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5

Not the best Prime Rib

Dined on November 15, 2015

Prime Rib was tough and under cooked. I make better at home. We had a table of 6 and the other meals that were not prime rib were better. If you like medium rare you better order medium or the prime rib will be rare and hard to cut.. With a 20% tip our bill was $370.00 and that was with no drinks just water. Not worth the price. Way to loud on first floor. When I go to a restaurant at this price level I do not go there to watch TV.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ladies' Night drinks/dinner

Dined on November 4, 2015

Ward's was extremely enjoyable. The atmosphere was perfect. A friend and I sat at a bar-side table and were offered a full-menu. Drink specials for Ladies' Night was an added bonus. The Lobster Bisque (an upcharge when ordered with an entrée) was phenomenal. The prime rib was cooked perfectly. The accompanying parmesan fries were what I expected - just fries. Can't wait until next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2

Just poor

Dined on November 1, 2015

Ordered the 12oz prime rib and was served one of the toughest pieces of meat I have ever tried to eat. More than half the cut was fat and gristle. What was etable had no flavor. It was a poorly prepared piece of meat on a plate with zero presentation. Not what one would expect for the prices Ward's charges. For even more money, the sea bass was not much better. A piece of fish, that tasted like it sat out all day, on a plate. Again, zero presentation. As for the atmosphere and service, average. Do yourself a favor and take your business elsewhere. There is nothing special to be had here.

food2
ambience1
service4

Not a place for a special occasion

Dined on November 1, 2015

Went to Wards for our anniversary. While waiting for our table we sat at the bar and were never provided a wine or cocktail list. Upon being seated at our table we were given a table next to the door in the bararea. Environment was loud and filled with people I felt like I was at a local chain restaurant couldn't even carry on a conversation with my spouse. We had reservations and should not have been treated like we just walked in on a Saturday night. Steak was undercooked and had no flavor. Will not return to Wards.

food4
ambience3
service4

We had a nice time

Dined on October 18, 2015

We were a table of four and I must say we had a wonderful time and the food was fine especially the mushroom risotto. The one glitch live music starts at 8 on Saturday night and we were still eating and trying to chat. Although the entertainment was good it was to loud for us. I don't like to have to yell to have a pleasant dinning conversation. I think the music should start a bit later or take the volume down a notch. All in all we will keep it on our go to list.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A first rate business dinner.

Dined on October 13, 2015

My colleagues and I really enjoyed the ambiance , the service and the exceptional food. It was truly a perfect ending to a long travel day.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a table of 5. Everyone enjoyed th ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

We had a table of 5. Everyone enjoyed their steaks and prime. The desserts were out of this world. Our waiter, Rick was right on. Our reservation was at 7 and we did not have to wait. Never felt rushed. In fact we occupied the table for over 3 hours. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1

4th time and I'm done.

Dined on September 20, 2015

I really wanted to like this restaurant. I gave it 4 trys and they failed all 4 times. The food is OK, but the waitstaff seems as if they are rated on how fast they can get their tables turned. They brought our appetizer with our salads and when all the tables around us received their bread, we had to ask for ours. My wife ordered a 6 oz filet. It was served on a large plate with nothing else. The presentation was poor. No garnish, no nothing. It looked pathetic. I ordered the 16 oz prime rib. It was luke warm at best. Again no garnish and it was Ho Hum. I have to say we will not go back. There are some excellent steak houses in Milwaukee and they will get my business in the future.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, even for a vegan

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

We went to Ward's to celebrate our anniversary. I'm vegan and my husband is not, so sometimes it's hard to find a place for both of us. Even though Ward's is a steak place, they actually had a dish on the regular menu that I could eat! And, it was tasty! My husband's steak and lobster were great too!

food5
ambience2
service2

Good Food but Other Issues

Dined on September 16, 2015

The best part was the food-excellent. However, the first floor dining area is one big room that includes the bar and 6 or 8 large screen televisions. All the tables are high tops and kind of small for a party of 4. A lot of people, especially women and those over 40 will find that the seating becomes pretty uncomfortable after a while. We were constantly juggling plates, glasses, utensils, etc. on the table top because it was just too small to seat 4 people comfortably. The room is loud. We were shouting to hear each other. The service was just OK. The wine we ordered was a different vintage than what was brought to the table. "Sorry we are out of that one but this one is 'newer'", as if that is a positive! We were asked at least 4 times if we were done with our bread (we weren't). We waited at least 30 minutes between our salad and entrees (on a Wednesday night (not busy)). Considering that this arguably Delafield's highest-end restaurant, there is much to be desired here. Food is excellent, service, comfort and ambiance are not as they should be in a high-end restaurant in Lake Country.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was our 1st time at Ward's Our server Er ...

Dined on August 22, 2015

Was our 1st time at Ward's Our server Eric G was excellent Seated outdoor on 2nd floor balcony very nice and private Lobster bisque, prime rib and wahoo special were all outstanding Not inexpensive but quality spot

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steakhouse

Dined on August 9, 2015

We enjoyed eating on the beautiful outdoor patio. Filet was seasoned perfect. Prime was delicious as well. Side of Brussels sprouts was enough to share. Dinners included soup and potato which were both wonderful. Highly recommend our server Frank.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Bar selection

Dined on August 1, 2015

From simple beer to the finest wines and Craft Cocktails, Wards will take care of you! We enjoyed Classic Old Fashions, 93 point Cabernets and specialty beers! Great Prime Rib and a great Bar too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

First time

Dined on August 1, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Ward's. The food was excellent and plentiful and served promptly. We will most certainly come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.