About Wally's Desert Turtle

71775 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

"The Finest Dining in the Coachella Valley" Executive Chef Richard Pelz brings his New York City roots & Napa Valley culinary experiences to the desert offering a refreshed and re-imagined take on Modern California Cuisine. And the local response has been "Amazing"!

An Official California Dining Destination, Wally's Desert Turtle in Rancho Mirage proudly supports local Ranches, Farms and Fisheries committed to the smart-stewardship of the planet through sustainable, earth-friendly and ocean-friendly practices.

The finest local ingredients, impeccable service and exceptional surroundings always make for "A Great Night Out" at Wally's Desert Turtle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
OPEN Six days a week at 5:30 PM with a last seating at 9:30 PM.

Special seating available. Please call for details.

February - March
Open 7 Days a Week

April & May
Closed Mondays

June 20th - October 13th - Closed for the Summer

Cross Street:
Bob Hope Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 568-9321

Website:
http://www.wallysdesertturtle.com/

Entertainment:
Great Live Entertainment Nightly with the Bolivar Brothers, Michael and John ... playing the standards, the classics, some current hits, and a sprinkling of guest requests ...

Celebrating Springtime in the Desert with a $38 Three-Course Seasonal Prix Fixe Menu in our Bar and Sahara Lounge, from 5:30pm to 6:30pm, Sundays through Thursdays.

Catering:
Wally's Desert Turtle offers a wide range of superb catering events including elegant and intimate cocktail receptions, large-scale charity luncheons, formal plated dinners, and grand party buffets. We are also proud to be the exclusive onsite event caterers for the PGA Tour CareerBuilder Challenge, formerly known as the Humana Challenge, and previously as the famous Bob Hope Desert Classic. Wally’s is also the exclusive caterer for the Clinton Foundation of the Coachella Valley. Call or email our Special Events & Catering Department Ph#760-568-9321 or Email at wallysdtcatering@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Valet Parking, Private Lot Self-Parking, and Street Parking available

Public Transit:
Sunline Transit Agency
Bus Line #111
Bus Stop #659
Highway 111 and Rancho Las Palmas Westbound

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Richard Pelz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "A Beautiful Fall Affair"

Christmas Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 3:00pm - 9:30pm - Reservations a Must - "A Winter Wonderland of Lights, Music, Dancing, Food and Libations"

New Year's Eve - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 5:30pm - 1:00am - Reservations a Must - "Always a Celebration to Remember"

Valentine's Day - Special Prix-Menu: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "The Most Romantic Day of the Year Deserves to be Celebrated at the Most Romantic Restaurant in the Desert"

Easter Brunch - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 10:30am - 2:30pm - Reservations a Must - "Celebrate the Season of Renewal"

Mother's Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "Champagne Brunch to Celebrate our Moms"

May/June Events - Special Prix-Fixe Menus: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations Welcome - "Dads, Grads, Proms, & Restaurant Week"

Restaurant Photos

Wally's Desert Turtle
Wally's Desert Turtle
Cobb Salad
Iced  Tea
Creme Brulee
Wild Mushroom Soup
Split Pea Soup
Mary's Farm Seared Duck Breast
Sauteed Maple Leaf Duck Breast
Sauteed Veal Scallopine
Seared Maine Deep-Sea Scallops
Skillet - Sauteed Prime New York Steak
Shrimp Cocktail
Roasted Loin and Rack of Lamb.
Beet Salad
Baked alaska
Duck Paté
Duroc Pork Tenderloin.
Honolulu Tuna Steak
Pacific Halibut
Steelhead over du puy lentils, tri-color beets, braising greens and  smoked salmon-horseradish vinaigrette
Duroc Pork Tenderloin
Liberty Farms Duck
Dover Sole
Pan-Roasted Cap of Ribeye
Tofu terrine with braised vegetables.
Caramelized Onion Tart with Goat Cheese.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wally's Desert Turtle is one of the desert's premier locations for upscale private dining. An elegant, classy and majestic space to host family celebrations, corporate events or just memorable moments.

Wally's Desert Turtle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
7 More
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

special occasion (132)
romantic (110)
fit for foodies (84)
See All
notable wine list (50)
neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (27)
great for brunch (11)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined there 35 years ago....wonderful th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Dined there 35 years ago....wonderful then, wonderful now

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wally's Desert Turtle is top-notch! Impe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wally's Desert Turtle is top-notch! Impeccable services, wonderful ambience, and good food. Even though we went on the last day of service for the season (they will reopen in October), it seemed as if things were business as usual and nothing was out of step. All the details were covered!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is definitely an "old school" resta ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

This is definitely an "old school" restaurant. Darkish, white linens and outstanding service. The food was wonderful. Best at our table was the Dover sole.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time to this famous r ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first time to this famous restaurant and we look forward to the fall so we can sample more of their excellent food and service. We wish they did not close for the summer but are used to that in this area. We took advantage of the special Palm Springs Restaurant Week 3-course meal for $38 and were very pleased with the range of choices and the high quality and great taste of everything we ordered. We started at the bar and that was great too, with me getting the nicest Manhattan I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience as always. Everardo was ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience as always. Everardo was an excellent server... Thank you ..

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The prices seen expensive but, we went d ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The prices seen expensive but, we went during Restaurant Week and we got a pre-fix for $38.00. It was really excellent.

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Really disappointed again. Asked for sa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Really disappointed again. Asked for salt and pepper for you filet of beef and the waiter said not to say anything....but the beef was tasteless without the seasoning . I only go because my mother likes it..so it is really for people over 80. Just being a good daughter, would never go on my own.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are new to the area and had a chance ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We are new to the area and had a chance to try Wally's during restaurant week. Loved it!!!! One of the nicest venues in the desert. Great service and wonderful food. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic experience, wonderful food. A ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic experience, wonderful food. Altough they do not have a kid's menu, they were kind enough to offer my picky 7 year old linguine and marinara sauce, which he loved. The food was classic but fresh and unique. Every dish that was ordered was superb. I definitely recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best meal I've had since ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Hands down the best meal I've had since I moved to Palm Springs 4 years ago. You can tell that the owners really care about the overall experience. Friendly and unpretentious service that was formal but not at all stuffy. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. I can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is outstanding, from the quality and preparation of the food to the service, from the wine list to the ambiance. My table of four, all with very sophisticated palates, agreed. Even the background music--live, sweet and mellow-jazz sax--added to the overall atmosphere without in any way being intrusive. I have eaten at all the best restaurants in the Coachella Valley, and I rank this one as number one overall when it comes to a first-class dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best filet I have had in over 20 years. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Best filet I have had in over 20 years. Cooked perfectly. Service fabulous and ambiance very classy but not stuffy

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week Find

Dined on June 11, 2016

If you want to experience the best service in the desert combined with a warm and friendly atmosphere and food to please any palette take the time to go to Wally's. It can be a bit pricey but it will be a special time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Highly recommend! Liked the portions (not huge), the quality of the meat in particular (they knew exactly where it was sourced from), and the preparations. Wish we'd gone here long ago! Also loved the elegance of the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a lovely evening from the moment we walked in to departure. The food was spectacular and our friend's first. Too bad Wally's closes for the summer, I would really like to go back sooner than end of October.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Wally's from beginning to .....the ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved Wally's from beginning to .....the soufflé! Everything was so wonderful......as if we were on a vacation.......celebrating grandson's 21st Birthday....... The staff was fabulous, even when we told them we were going to order from the restaurant menu....... No problem ........ Just the best experience EVER!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Evening at Wally's

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were together with friends and had a most memorable evening. The food, ambiance and service were fantastic as usual. Very enjoyable evening once again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in the Desert for fine dining

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wally's Desert Turtle is the place to dine if you want great food. It has a wonderful atmosphere and very attentive waiters. We were there as a party of 4. Three of us had the rack of lamb which was superb. Melt in your mouth tender and flavorful. It is served with eggplant, yogurt with cucumbers and mint jelly if you desire. The other in our party had the filet with vegetables and scrumptious mashed potatoes. She said that was the best filet mignon she has had here in the desert. The atmosphere is fine dining at its best and the waiters are quietly very attentive. And they have the BEST lava cake in the Coachella Valley. Wally's is pricey but well worth it for a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Three courses meal during the Palm Sprin ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Three courses meal during the Palm Springs Restaurants week was enjoyable to meat. I had filet mignon. Very succulent and tender. Nice texture to bite the meat.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Exceeded our expectation

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were a party of five whose birthdays are all close together. Food and service were the best I have experienced in the valley. If you reduced the portion size due to this being the PS restaurant week special, they were just right. We did not leave bloated or overly full. I commend you for not downscaling the quality of your ingredients for the special. My only complaint was my gimlet was served in too small a glass and was too light on the vodka. Should have been better for the price. (At home I have better glassware and make it with my own simply syrup.) Last point, the dining room is getting dated and needs an update. All in all, a great meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great night

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

great food and great night. Frank was our waiter and our service was fabulous.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Sunday at Wally"s

Dined on June 6, 2016

The ambiance is nice and the service is very attentive. You have multiple servers and it is hard to know who your main server is. The appetizers and salads and soup were good but not great. My New York steak was very tasteless and mostly went home in a doggy bag. They need to step up to the plate and order better beef like Sullivans Steak House. The dessert apricot soufflé was outstanding and delicious. Very Expensive night.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in the Valley

Dined on June 6, 2016

This was one of our choices for Restaurant Week and from the minute we walked until after dinner everything was superior. Even though it was a discount menu they never changed the quality of the food or service. This is a great go to place in the desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for restaurant week and we ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were there for restaurant week and we both had the most delicious appetizers, entrées, and desserts. They really do a great job with the prefix menu. I would have to say they are a restaurant that probably has the best service in the Coachella Valley! We would not hesitate to go back there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way

Dined on June 5, 2016

Where do I begin? My best friend and I came here for Restaurant Week because we have lived in the valley for many years and had never tried Wally's Desert Turtle. All of the staff was so welcoming and accommodating. Service was impeccable. The decor is plush, gold and glass accents. The music was relaxing. We started with the pork belly which was beautifully presented and tasted just as lovely. Our main course was the filet and I have never had such a tender cut of beef. Practically melted in my mouth. The accompanying potatoes were delicious, too. Dessert was profiteroles for me and lava cake for my friend. Absolutely everything was gorgeous and tasted amazing. Our entire experience was wonderful and I can't wait to come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Restaurant Week Dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is the second time my sisters and our husbands had dinner at Wally's during Restaurant Week and we can't wait to go back. Our meals were delicious. I think we had one of everything and it was all good. We were all on a bit of a budget so we ordered a couple of bottles of their house wines and the wines were great as well. The only reason I rated service as a three star was because we had to ask for a few things, including the bill but that really wasn't an issue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful visit! We went during ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Another wonderful visit! We went during restaurant week and the menu had everything from steak to seafood. Great ambience and helpful service. A return is in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely

Dined on June 4, 2016

We've been wanting to go to Wally's for awhile. Luck us that this week is Restaurant week with a fixed price menu for the appetizer, entree and dessert. Beet salad, Filet of Beef, Lamb Chop, beautiful setting with attentive waitstaff. Thanks Wally for being so generous to your staff and reminding them guests are welcome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Despite the excellent food we were underwhelmed.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Despite the excellent food we were underwhelmed by the service and the atmosphere. We had trouble hearing our friends at the table because of the bad acoustics and the sax player. The waiter was slow and inattentive .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent , beautiful presentation and the salmon was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing Palm Desert Experience!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wally's Desert Turtle came as a recommendation to me from my brother who had received amazing feedback from this restaurant (but unfortunately had never been). The food is exceptional. To die for actually! It's not cheap by any means, but you get what you pay for. I will gladly go back here if I ever get a chance to be in California again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the very nicest restau ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Absolutely one of the very nicest restaurants we have ever enjoyed. Food and service were exceptional, but the ambience was the best part! It is almost our 42nd Anniversary, so it was perfect. Even valet service, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. the food and t ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. the food and the ambience were excellent! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Birthday Celebration

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We were happy to return to Wally's after a long hiatus and hopeful that we would have the same great eperience that we had had many years ago. We found the decor the same. Glitzy but still warm and romantic. And the awesome service we remembered didn't disappoint. We started with Wild Field Mushroom Soup. It was silky smooth and infused with earthy flavor. For our entrees I enjoyed Sauteéd Dover Sole Meunière and my wife had Classic Calves Liver. Both dishes were classically conceived, perfectly prepared and delicious. We ended with Wally's Grand Marnier Soufflé. The perfect ending to a lovely and celebratory dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on May 19, 2016

such a special restaurant. everything that comes out of the kitchen is spectacular visually and gastronomically. from appetizers to desserts, anything ordered will exceed expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing lack of pazzazzzz

Dined on May 11, 2016

I was hungry, made a bad choice with a classic "large Dover Sole" meunière as it was served off the bone and was a four bite dinner. When I was asked how it was I said 'I should have ordered two I'm still hungry' The boss said 'we will get you a salad, Caesar at our expense no charge!' Great I thought. Then I was charged $15 for it less $4 for substitute It certainly isn't the money Trust me I can afford to eat here But I ended up paying $200+ for a meal that left me less than satisfied I won't go back and I'd recommend others don't

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great experience in a hoot of a decor

Dined on May 9, 2016

Been back several times since the newer menu and chef. The food is really good. The service is attentive without being intrusive. There are a couple of old time entrees befitting the old time clientele. But there are some newer and more adventurous offerings as well. The interior of the restaurant maintains its 1980s over-the-top decor. In 2016, it is no longer dated; instead, it is a genuine hoot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prix Fixe special hard to beat!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and service just like the good old days. Very fine eating establishment and we went on a birthday prix Fixe special for $38/ each, plenty of food choices. Great ambience, including a clarinet player in the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Time capsule from a by gone era

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent, but it was so quiet and subdued I could have taken a nap at the table

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been visiting Wally's for over 3 ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been visiting Wally's for over 30 years. The food is excellent. Michael, the owner, is a fantastic host. Service is over the top. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.