About Wally's Desert Turtle

71775 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

"The Finest Dining in the Coachella Valley" Executive Chef Pascal Lallemand brings his culinary experience to the desert offering a refreshed and re-imagined take on Modern California Cuisine. And the local response has been "Amazing"!

An Official California Dining Destination, Wally's Desert Turtle in Rancho Mirage proudly supports local Ranches, Farms and Fisheries committed to the smart-stewardship of the planet through sustainable, earth-friendly and ocean-friendly practices.

The finest local ingredients, impeccable service and exceptional surroundings always make for "A Great Night Out" at Wally's Desert Turtle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
OPEN Six days a week at 5:30 PM with a last seating at 9:30 PM.

Special seating available. Please call for details.

February - March
Open 7 Days a Week

April & May
Closed Mondays

June 20th - October 13th - Closed for the Summer

Cross Street:
Bob Hope Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 568-9321

Website:
http://www.wallysdesertturtle.com/

Entertainment:
Great Live Entertainment Nightly with the Bolivar Brothers, Michael and John ... playing the standards, the classics, some current hits, and a sprinkling of guest requests ...

Celebrating Springtime in the Desert with a $38 Three-Course Seasonal Prix Fixe Menu in our Bar and Sahara Lounge, from 5:30pm to 6:30pm, Sundays through Thursdays.

Catering:
Wally's Desert Turtle offers a wide range of superb catering events including elegant and intimate cocktail receptions, large-scale charity luncheons, formal plated dinners, and grand party buffets. We are also proud to be the exclusive onsite event caterers for the PGA Tour CareerBuilder Challenge, formerly known as the Humana Challenge, and previously as the famous Bob Hope Desert Classic. Wally’s is also the exclusive caterer for the Clinton Foundation of the Coachella Valley. Call or email our Special Events & Catering Department Ph#760-568-9321 or Email at wallysdtcatering@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Valet Parking, Private Lot Self-Parking, and Street Parking available

Public Transit:
Sunline Transit Agency
Bus Line #111
Bus Stop #659
Highway 111 and Rancho Las Palmas Westbound

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Richard Pelz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "A Beautiful Fall Affair"

Christmas Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 3:00pm - 9:30pm - Reservations a Must - "A Winter Wonderland of Lights, Music, Dancing, Food and Libations"

New Year's Eve - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 5:30pm - 1:00am - Reservations a Must - "Always a Celebration to Remember"

Valentine's Day - Special Prix-Menu: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "The Most Romantic Day of the Year Deserves to be Celebrated at the Most Romantic Restaurant in the Desert"

Easter Brunch - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 10:30am - 2:30pm - Reservations a Must - "Celebrate the Season of Renewal"

Mother's Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "Champagne Brunch to Celebrate our Moms"

May/June Events - Special Prix-Fixe Menus: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations Welcome - "Dads, Grads, Proms, & Restaurant Week"

Restaurant Photos

Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Creme Brulee - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Cobb Salad - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Iced  Tea - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Wild Mushroom Soup - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Split Pea Soup - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Mary's Farm Seared Duck Breast - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Sauteed Maple Leaf Duck Breast - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Sauteed Veal Scallopine - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Seared Maine Deep-Sea Scallops - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Duroc Pork Tenderloin. - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Caramelized Onion Tart with Goat Cheese. - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Duck Paté - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Pacific Halibut - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Shrimp Cocktail - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Duroc Pork Tenderloin - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Steelhead over du puy lentils, tri-color beets, braising greens and  smoked salmon-horseradish vinaigrette - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Skillet - Sauteed Prime New York Steak - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roasted Loin and Rack of Lamb. - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Baked alaska - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Pan-Roasted Cap of Ribeye - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Liberty Farms Duck - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Tofu terrine with braised vegetables. - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Dover Sole - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Beet Salad - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA
Honolulu Tuna Steak - Wally's Desert Turtle, Rancho Mirage, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wally's Desert Turtle is one of the desert's premier locations for upscale private dining. An elegant, classy and majestic space to host family celebrations, corporate events or just memorable moments.

Wally's Desert Turtle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
7 More
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Live Music (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Historic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Epic experience!! Wait staff, food magni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Epic experience!! Wait staff, food magnificent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to thank the host at Fleming's ac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have to thank the host at Fleming's across the street who recommended Wally's for a traditional Thanksgiving meal (that included dark meat as an option). Wonderful restaurant to have our first Thanksgiving dinner away from home. Menu was well constructed and provided choices for everyone's tastes. Food was delicious and service, excellent. Loved the atmosphere and enjoyed the live music. We look forward to our next visit and expect to become regulars.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was completely unprepared for volu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staff was completely unprepared for volume of business. No greeting offered to patrons waiting in line to check in. Owners and staff were unfriendly, inattentive, and unwelcoming to those waiting, despite reservations, on this Thanksgiving holiday. Food presentation, quality, and quantity was substandard. "Gravy" was thin and flavorless. Pumpkin pie tasted like someone dropped a pound of cinnamon into the mix. No pumpkin flavor at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Perfect for ThanksgivingHad to wait for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Perfect for ThanksgivingHad to wait for coffee a while but it was busy for thanksgiving.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and gourmet food and high ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service and gourmet food and high prices for everything. Older crowd of rich people.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We returned to Wally's for our Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We returned to Wally's for our Thanksgiving meal after enjoying so much last year. Wally's has been a tradition in the desert for many years and does not disappoint ! It's hard to find the old school "swanky desert style" any longer - be sure to make your reservations early - it's a local favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a great place to dine.The food i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a great place to dine.The food is fabulous along with top notch service. We love to dine at Wallys. Thanks for a special treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Old World atmosphere with outs ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful Old World atmosphere with outstanding service and delicious food. We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Outstanding food and service. F ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing! Outstanding food and service.

Fine dining for a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most awesome and personable dinning ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The most awesome and personable dinning we have done in a long time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This brings meaning to old school fine d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This brings meaning to old school fine dining. Seldom found on this level anymore. It's an event, it's charming, it's perfect!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at Wally's several times t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have eaten at Wally's several times this year and have found the food, service and ambience second to none. If you want fine dining in a quiet atmosphere this is the place. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. It is pricey so we go for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious, consistent, perfectly ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always delicious, consistent, perfectly attentive wait-staff, quiet ambiance. The best restaurant on the desert.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite ... Best restaurant in the des ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Exquisite ... Best restaurant in the desert... The Dover sole and Grand Marnier soufflé were delicious! Jim and Roberto offered great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. Enjoyed everything abo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time there. Enjoyed everything about it. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Dover sole outside of Paris. Th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The best Dover sole outside of Paris. The Rack of Lamb was perfect. The service is always excellent. We will go back soon!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly staff...Owner takes time to mee ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Friendly staff...Owner takes time to meet and great guests . I would like to see more change in menu selections over last years menu. Please take advantage of seasonal items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time with my family for special bi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great time with my family for special birthdays. We were having the whole family with three birthdays.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I guess I just forgot how good a restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I guess I just forgot how good a restaurant could be. Saturday evening I ate at Wallys for the first time in many years. Everything was better than perfect. This food preparations took my breath away and the "service team" was impeccable. Add in the careful attention to detail provided by the owner family and this was a experience that couldn't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in a private room so noise was n ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were in a private room so noise was no object. Everyone was happy with their food and service was fantastic which is hard when you have 11 people for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal here; food and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We had a great meal here; food and service were first rate. Special kudos for the rack of lamb. This restaurant should be at top of the list for dining in Palm Springs area.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a beautiful restaurant and the foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It is a beautiful restaurant and the food and service matches the decor.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy restaurant with great service and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Classy restaurant with great service and food! Nice jazz music in the background.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been to Wally's once before and ha ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I had been to Wally's once before and had a good experience. It was my husband's birthday so I wanted to plan something special. Our Captain, James rushed us and was not very friendly. He seemed to be in a big hurry. Being his birthday I ordered a special dessert from Wally's. When we ordered our entrees James asked if we wanted a souffle as it took time to bake. I told him that the dessert was pre-arranged and he again discussed the souffle. I again told him it was handled. He had no idea that we had a special dessert planned. By this point the surprise was ruined thanks to James' lack of knowledge of the plan. The food was good but the service left much to be desired. Wally's needs to take some lessons from Melvyn's in Palm Springs. I will not go back to Wally's. With a bill of $222 I think our service should be impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This is an up-scale, special occasion re ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is an up-scale, special occasion restaurant featuring an elegant dining room. The service is impeccable; the sommelier is highly knowledgeable; and the ambiance is what you would expect in a restaurant that features fine dining. The food is prepared to perfection with careful consideration given to the diner's preferences. The ingredients used in preparing the dishes are the best that can be found. I'm hesitant to recommend any dish in particular because all I've encountered are excellent, but I can't resist recommending for dessert the Grand Marnier Souffle, which is simply ethereal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first trip to Wally's and it ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was our first trip to Wally's and it will definitely Not be our last. The service was impeccable in the old world special style, which was attentive, helpful and not stuffy, we were served by a team of professionals that really seemed concerned to make our night special and complete. The food was prepared perfectly and was beautiful presented. I enjoyed a martini which was well made and we also enjoyed a nice Chardonnay with dinner. Don't miss the souffle' for desert...we can't wait for a return visit.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time there. Wonderful and eleg ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first time there. Wonderful and elegant experience. Not as pricey as our steakhouses can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is by far my favorite restaurant an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is by far my favorite restaurant anywhere. Just fabulous food and service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Aunt and her friends had been coming ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My Aunt and her friends had been coming to Wallys for many many years. It was my first dining experience at Wallys and perhaps I was expecting more. The atmosphere is lovely, however, our meals were good, not great. But the history of Wallys and memories that my Aunt and her friends shared of years past and many good times at Wallys made up for the average food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food & service; a bit pricey. We w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food & service; a bit pricey. We will be back for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dined there 35 years ago....wonderful th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Dined there 35 years ago....wonderful then, wonderful now

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wally's Desert Turtle is top-notch! Impe ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Wally's Desert Turtle is top-notch! Impeccable services, wonderful ambience, and good food. Even though we went on the last day of service for the season (they will reopen in October), it seemed as if things were business as usual and nothing was out of step. All the details were covered!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is definitely an "old school" resta ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is definitely an "old school" restaurant. Darkish, white linens and outstanding service. The food was wonderful. Best at our table was the Dover sole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time to this famous r ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first time to this famous restaurant and we look forward to the fall so we can sample more of their excellent food and service. We wish they did not close for the summer but are used to that in this area. We took advantage of the special Palm Springs Restaurant Week 3-course meal for $38 and were very pleased with the range of choices and the high quality and great taste of everything we ordered. We started at the bar and that was great too, with me getting the nicest Manhattan I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience as always. Everardo was ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience as always. Everardo was an excellent server... Thank you ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prices seen expensive but, we went d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2016

The prices seen expensive but, we went during Restaurant Week and we got a pre-fix for $38.00. It was really excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really disappointed again. Asked for sa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Really disappointed again. Asked for salt and pepper for you filet of beef and the waiter said not to say anything....but the beef was tasteless without the seasoning . I only go because my mother likes it..so it is really for people over 80. Just being a good daughter, would never go on my own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

We are new to the area and had a chance ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We are new to the area and had a chance to try Wally's during restaurant week. Loved it!!!!

One of the nicest venues in the desert. Great service and wonderful food. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience, wonderful food. A ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic experience, wonderful food. Altough they do not have a kid's menu, they were kind enough to offer my picky 7 year old linguine and marinara sauce, which he loved. The food was classic but fresh and unique. Every dish that was ordered was superb. I definitely recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hands down the best meal I've had since ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Hands down the best meal I've had since I moved to Palm Springs 4 years ago. You can tell that the owners really care about the overall experience. Friendly and unpretentious service that was formal but not at all stuffy. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.