About Wally's Desert Turtle

71775 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

"The Finest Dining in the Coachella Valley" Executive Chef Richard Pelz brings his New York City roots & Napa Valley culinary experiences to the desert offering a refreshed and re-imagined take on Modern California Cuisine. And the local response has been "Amazing"!

An Official California Dining Destination, Wally's Desert Turtle in Rancho Mirage proudly supports local Ranches, Farms and Fisheries committed to the smart-stewardship of the planet through sustainable, earth-friendly and ocean-friendly practices.

The finest local ingredients, impeccable service and exceptional surroundings always make for "A Great Night Out" at Wally's Desert Turtle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
OPEN Six days a week at 5:30 PM with a last seating at 9:30 PM.

Special seating available. Please call for details.

February - March
Open 7 Days a Week

April & May
Closed Mondays

June 19th - October 9th - Closed for the Summer

Cross Street:
Bob Hope Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 568-9321

Website:
http://www.wallysdesertturtle.com/

Entertainment:
Great Live Entertainment Nightly with the Bolivar Brothers, Michael and John ... playing the standards, the classics, some current hits, and a sprinkling of guest requests ...

Celebrating Springtime in the Desert with a $38 Three-Course Seasonal Prix Fixe Menu in our Bar and Sahara Lounge, from 5:30pm to 6:30pm, Sundays through Thursdays.

Catering:
Wally's Desert Turtle offers a wide range of superb catering events including elegant and intimate cocktail receptions, large-scale charity luncheons, formal plated dinners, and grand party buffets. We are also proud to be the exclusive onsite event caterers for the PGA Tour CareerBuilder Challenge, formerly known as the Humana Challenge, and previously as the famous Bob Hope Desert Classic. Wally’s is also the exclusive caterer for the Clinton Foundation of the Coachella Valley. Call or email our Special Events & Catering Department Ph#760-568-9321 or Email at wallysdtcatering@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Valet Parking, Private Lot Self-Parking, and Street Parking available

Public Transit:
Sunline Transit Agency
Bus Line #111
Bus Stop #659
Highway 111 and Rancho Las Palmas Westbound

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Richard Pelz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "A Beautiful Fall Affair"

Christmas Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 3:00pm - 9:30pm - Reservations a Must - "A Winter Wonderland of Lights, Music, Dancing, Food and Libations"

New Year's Eve - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 5:30pm - 1:00am - Reservations a Must - "Always a Celebration to Remember"

Valentine's Day - Special Prix-Menu: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "The Most Romantic Day of the Year Deserves to be Celebrated at the Most Romantic Restaurant in the Desert"

Easter Brunch - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 10:30am - 2:30pm - Reservations a Must - "Celebrate the Season of Renewal"

Mother's Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "Champagne Brunch to Celebrate our Moms"

May/June Events - Special Prix-Fixe Menus: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations Welcome - "Dads, Grads, Proms, & Restaurant Week"

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come celebrate Father's Day with an Icon! Enjoy the beautiful surroundings and a delicious three-course prix fixe Father's Day menu presented by Executive Chef Richard Pelz.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wally's Desert Turtle is one of the desert's premier locations for upscale private dining. An elegant, classy and majestic space to host family celebrations, corporate events or just memorable moments.

Wally's Desert Turtle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
9 More
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

special occasion (130)
romantic (108)
fit for foodies (77)
See All
notable wine list (45)
neighborhood gem (33)
good for groups (28)
great for lunch (16)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Birthday Celebration

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We were happy to return to Wally's after a long hiatus and hopeful that we would have the same great eperience that we had had many years ago. We found the decor the same. Glitzy but still warm and romantic. And the awesome service we remembered didn't disappoint. We started with Wild Field Mushroom Soup. It was silky smooth and infused with earthy flavor. For our entrees I enjoyed Sauteéd Dover Sole Meunière and my wife had Classic Calves Liver. Both dishes were classically conceived, perfectly prepared and delicious. We ended with Wally's Grand Marnier Soufflé. The perfect ending to a lovely and celebratory dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined 7 days ago

such a special restaurant. everything that comes out of the kitchen is spectacular visually and gastronomically. from appetizers to desserts, anything ordered will exceed expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing lack of pazzazzzz

Dined on May 11, 2016

I was hungry, made a bad choice with a classic "large Dover Sole" meunière as it was served off the bone and was a four bite dinner. When I was asked how it was I said 'I should have ordered two I'm still hungry' The boss said 'we will get you a salad, Caesar at our expense no charge!' Great I thought. Then I was charged $15 for it less $4 for substitute It certainly isn't the money Trust me I can afford to eat here But I ended up paying $200+ for a meal that left me less than satisfied I won't go back and I'd recommend others don't

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great experience in a hoot of a decor

Dined on May 9, 2016

Been back several times since the newer menu and chef. The food is really good. The service is attentive without being intrusive. There are a couple of old time entrees befitting the old time clientele. But there are some newer and more adventurous offerings as well. The interior of the restaurant maintains its 1980s over-the-top decor. In 2016, it is no longer dated; instead, it is a genuine hoot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prix Fixe special hard to beat!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and service just like the good old days. Very fine eating establishment and we went on a birthday prix Fixe special for $38/ each, plenty of food choices. Great ambience, including a clarinet player in the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Time capsule from a by gone era

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent, but it was so quiet and subdued I could have taken a nap at the table

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been visiting Wally's for over 3 ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been visiting Wally's for over 30 years. The food is excellent. Michael, the owner, is a fantastic host. Service is over the top. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my first visit to this restaurant. The occasion was Mother's Day and my good friend and I came here for the special brunch. We both had eggs Benedict. The food was great. The service was perfect. The desserts yummy. I will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Michael and the entire staff at Wally's are kind, professional, and always make you fell welcome and at home.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing special menu for Mother's Day!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful room with live saxophone player; impeccable service and warm welcome by the family who owns the restaurant; the most delicious meal with fresh ingredients and wonderful flavors with each course; a memorable occasion and such a treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was in Wally in the past and it continuous being a great restaurant, the food and the ambiance are second to none

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated next to a table of four, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated next to a table of four, they were so loud we had a hard time communicating. We should of asked for another table!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

What a treat! The room was outstandingly beautiful. Food and service beyond excellent. Rack of lamb cooked perfectly. We experienced a truly elegant evening. Don't. Miss this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner with outstanding service.

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is an old line restaurant with beautiful ambiance and impeccable service. The souffle for desert is a must. Food was very well prepared but nothing dramatic or noteworthy. Had a wonderful relaxing evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Lives up to its reputation

Dined on April 30, 2016

A venerable dining destination worth every penny (bring lots). Gracious, profesional service, sublime servings. Live music and a lively crowd. We brought our own birthday cake, which they decorated, cut, and served without a cut fee. This is a wonderful space for a special occasion, such as just wanting one of the top dining experiences in the Desert. We will be back....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Major disappointment...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Well, we finally made a reservation and went to Wally's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was fine but overpriced considering how indifferent the service was. There were only ten tables yet it took 15 minutes before someone finally came to the table to apologize that no one from the "team" had welcomed us, offered us a drink or brought water. It was another 5 minutes before we were offered water, 5 more before the wine list was delivered and... You get the picture. Bye bye. I'll spend my money where they appreciate my business.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extention to Sunnylands

Dined on April 24, 2016

My house guests and I were fortunate to score tour tickets to the Annenberg Estate, Sunnylands. In addition we had never been to the Desert Turtle and had always wanted to. When we arrived it was almost an extension of the Sunnylands Tour. It would be easy to imagine the likes of the Annenbergs and the Reagan s dining at the Desert Turtle. It was a lovely setting and the service was like it used to be and SHOULD be everywhere. We loved the setting the food and the service. A treat start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Polished gem in the desert

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Outstanding dinning experience. Elegant decore and spacious seating arrangements. Service was very attentive without being intrusive. Excellent range of food choices that proved to be expertly prepared. An epicurean delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Disappointed in slow service Food not u ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Disappointed in slow service Food not up to Wally's usual standards

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

For Ladies Who Lunch

Dined on April 15, 2016

The inside of Wally's was lit up with sparkling lights and the tables were full. A fashion show along with a jewelry display made the afternoon all that more exciting. What a fun place to get together with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent !!!! The sole is my favorite! ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Excellent !!!! The sole is my favorite!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite gourmet location in ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This is our favorite gourmet location in the desert. Guest are treated like royalty. The service is outstanding and the menu leaves noting to be desired.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

from a local

Dined on April 8, 2016

The Friday luncheon/fashion show is so much fun. Great spot to gather with your girlfriends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4

The food was so plain and tasteless. Th ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was so plain and tasteless. The vegetables literally tastes like they were out of a can. All this for a lovely $300 bill for four

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not what it used to be

Dined on April 7, 2016

I travel from Florida to Palm Springs two or three times a year since 2000 and dine at Wally's every time. The food and service are always fantastic and the place is absolutely gorgeous. In the beginning, the guests were always well dressed and well behaved. The last few times, not so much. People wearing shorts and playing on their personal devices takes away from the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3

Not a good experience. French onion soup ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Not a good experience. French onion soup had no texture, shrimp was room temp (ew). white fish wasn't bad. Weird over-present service pushing drinks and desserts. And random customer decided to turn it into karaoke night by singing with the sax player (badly). Creepy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always outstanding food and service!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Wally's is our favorite place to dine - not just in Palm Desert but probably in all of Southern California. The restaurant is lovely and always has live "dining" music. The food and service are truly something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Duck was very good, as was the Sole. Salads were creative and very good also. Don't miss the desserts!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Restaurant!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our second visit to Wally's Desert Turtle in a 2 week period, and both times the service, food and ambience was nothing short of awesome. I wish I had discovered this restaurant years ago...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we live an hour away, we try ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Even though we live an hour away, we try to visit Wally's two or three times a year. The food is always wonderful. It is one of the few elegant restaurants left.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a find!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent from beginning to ending. Service to please with food to remember. Now on our top ten list, both domestically and internationally. Thanks!!!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wally's

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been patronizing Wally's for over 30 years. It is a "classic". Michael, the owner, is a great restranteur and his staff are well-trained and highly professional. The food is excellent. I would recommend it for any special occasion. My wife is a designer and the timeless design of Steve Chase has held up and is still a beautiful place to share a meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Big Disappointment.

Dined on March 24, 2016

We hadn't been to Wallys in years and were expecting an exceptional dinner. What a disappointment. The food was totally tasteless and disappointing. The filet of sole was lukewarm and tough. The butter sauce was just unflavored oil. The mashed potatoes tasted like weak instant potatoes. Very mediocre! There are many better restaurants in the desert. Skip Wallys.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and ambience were excellent. Servic ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food and ambience were excellent. Service was fittingly attentive until we were serv ed Thereafter we were abandoned.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is excellent, and everything ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

The service is excellent, and everything we ordered was amazing, especially the lamb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Real Gem

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

This is a great old-school restaurant. But updated to fit nicely into the modern restaurant vibe. The food is terrific and the wines are good and reasonably priced. The service is professional, friendly and personal. It was our anniversary and they treated us very well. This is a go-to restaurant in the Palm Springs area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

first time

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Had never been to Wallys before in spite of having a vacation home in Rancho Mirage for 25years. It is expensive but for a special occasion well worth it. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Too Rushed

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaurant tries to be classy - Suggests long pants only for Gentleman We were prepared for fine dining .... The restaurant is extremely noisy, very busy, everyone flying by like a fast food Diner and everyone from Bus Staff to Wine Fellow in a big hurry. Food was fine - but not a relaxing evening at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Ambiance, great food and service. Pricey, but, you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always elegant and always delicious!!!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Always elegant and always delicious!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.