Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

Discover your inner foodie, or as our German friends like to say your inner feinschmecker, at our "house in the woods;" The Waldhaus. This hidden Alpine delight is nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray Rivers, and has everything you could want from a Bavarian haven.

German-inspired alpine cuisine such as divine schnitzel and cheesy fondue are just waiting to be devoured in an atmosphere reminiscent of a rustic hunting cottage. With a large fireplace and a wine cabinet, we promise to set the tone for a memorable dining experience at our "House in the Forest."

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, Swiss, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Dinner - 6:00pm - 9:00pm
*please not the Waldhaus Restaurant and Pub will be closed on June 6th for maintenance.


Reservations are highly recommended.

*Please note that hours of operation are subject to change.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The Waldhaus is located just a quick walk down the hill from the Fairmont Banff Springs. For direct access you can park at the Bow Falls parking lot and walk up the driveway or stairs. A complementary shuttle is also available from the main bus entrance at the hotel.

The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center.

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a small celebration with family and friends or a larger occasion, the Waldhaus Restaurant is the perfect spot away from it all. Let us help you create the perfect event for you and your guests to enjoy.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: (877) 625-0169

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Historic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Great Beer (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fireplace (6)
Fun (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Great view of the mountains & river

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The most amazing dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Birthday celebration for my 10 year old daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Stayed at the Fairmont and was in the mood for German Food ... and after dinner drinks. This place fit perfectly. Great dinner with a nice selection, great portions, and the Beer ... well, that was authentic German at it's finest. After dinner, we headed down to the bar for some more beer and fun. The staff treated you like family and we felt like we were back in Germany. An added bonus was that when we left, there were 5 elks grazing in the grass out front that made our day .. no it wasn't the beer talking.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Historic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I brought my sister and nieces for a special occasion. I requested to have ELLEN as our server as I had her previously and thought she was excellent. Once again, she was superb!! It was a beautiful evening start to finish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoy being here, been some recent changes and the chairs are too low now in the area by the river to enjoy the scenery, which is half the experience of eating there. Would ve great to be able to see the rivet and the Elk outside without having to stand up from the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Boring. The service was The opposite from warm. The food, Not bad but far away from good.
No flexibility on taking your own wine bottle, not even when they do not have any good selection of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Nice little house like restaurant located below the "Castle", everything was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary - thanks for the chocolates! Great food and even better service! You can't beat the setting - beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had the schnitzel and Cornish hen and both were outstanding. Excellent service all around and we had an excellent view from our window side table. The restaurant is great for intimate dinners although a large group of young ladies did take over the restaraunt. Thankfully we were almost done and on our way out soon after they were seated. Great food and great beer. We will visit again when we are in Banff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Loved every moment of our experience and would love to go back!

Tags: Vegan, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food and service was great. I had the Cornish hen and my boyfriend had the pork chop. Both were served with roasted root vegetables. The best meal we had in Banff. So tasty and healthy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice. One of the servers we had was great and very friendly. However, our other server was not very friendly or accommodating. The fondues were good, but the rest of the food was not good at all. Overall is was a very expensive meal and the dishes were not great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very expensive. Lots of food and good food. Service was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excelllent location, Great Service and good food. Good wine list but somewhat overpriced for the types of wine being offered. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always fantastic here. Angela and Mark made it a blast and we can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I brought my wife here for our anniversary as her favourite food is Austrian/German. They were lovely enough to automatically give us a spot directly infront of the fire which was romantic but the other tables were situated very close. They then sat some "giggly" girls at the table next to us and we could barely hear ourselves speak. The waiter that tended that table was acting quite immature due to the age of the table and them being lovely looking girls. He wa tossing things in the air and being quite distracting. My wife has crohns so she require a vegan/vegetarian diet pretty well. There is only one dish on the menu and it does not sound appetizing so my wife didn't want to sit there while I ate and chose dishes that caused her a great deal of pain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The view was amazing! The ambiance was fantastic at first. There were only a couple other tables going and we were right in front of the fireplace with views of the mountains around us.

Then a table of 17 came in that was almost half kids. I know the restaurant can't be blamed for it, but the atmosphere was completely changed. And not for the better. It basically turned into a Boston Pizza. Not that there's anything wrong with BP's, but that's not the type of evening we were looking forward to. Also, the prices of the food were not what you would expect from a rambunctious family restaurant. Although to be honest the quality of the food probably was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cheese and Beef fondue seemed a little bland. The desert fondue was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Historic hideout! A unique little gem tucked behind the Banff springs. Beautiful walk from the hotel. Service was outstanding and the food was top notch! A place to go for all occasions, dress up or keep it casual. Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I like to take my friends to Waldhaus when they are visiting Banff in winter time. Food, Atmosphere & service are warm & wonderful. Thank you for the great experience, and I appreciate the local's discount as well. :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Angela, the waitress, helped us choose the appropriate beverages for our meal and was spot on for serving sizes and suggestions for our fondue choice. She even gave us a sample taste of spatzel (homemade German noodles) just for fun. The food, wine and service were so incredible, that we canceled our dinner plans for the next night and returned for a second time...... for the spatzel, of course. ;)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The price was too expensive for the quality of food provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very cozy rester-aunt but wayyy overpriced. We did the fondu and it was very good but the melting pot was way better. For 180 for two of us just for food it felt way over priced for what we got. Felt kinda rushed I guess it went by quick and 1.5 for 4 courses and the melting pot takes 3 hours. The server a middle to older aged guy was very nice has been there many many years but he came off a bit cocky and arrogant it was a real turn off. Overall great experience and we would go back again but do a cheaper meal or go to the pub downstairs. The pub it totally awesome huge tv's meal deals and the comfiest chairs ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I went to Waldhaus for a date while in Banff for the weekend. If I didn't find this place online, I would have had no idea it even existed. Its hidden in the back of banff springs hotel. We got the smoked cheddar fondue and the chocolate fondue. They were both outstanding. The price point is definitely higher then we would pay for an anytime dinner but for a once a year banff trip we had to try it. The servers were really friendly and helpful. It was very cozy in the restaurant as well. Real wood burning fireplace. After dinner we headed downstairs to the pub for a drink to watch the hockey game. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I had the barley soup as a starter and the veal schnitzel, both of which were delicious comfort food during a cold winter. There were 2 choices of bread (the other being a pretzel bread) was accompanied with creamy herb butter and regular butter. The restaurant can be hard to find at the back of the Fairmont Banff Springs but worth the walk. There was also an offer for a shuttle ride back to the hotel since I was staying there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loved the whole experience. If you're looking for an alpine dining experience and enjoy hearty German food, you've found it.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fantastic service and ambiance makes you feel like you stepped into a real 'House in the Forrest'. Food was incredible. The schnitzel in particular was mouth watering, savoury and seasoned to perfection. Well done!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful with menu suggestions. They called us ahead of time to inquire if anyone had any allergies they needed to be aware of. The ambiance was relaxed and comfortable. The braised short ribs were so tender they nearly fell apart without using a knife. Exquisite taste. Fondue dessert was very tasty and a fun treat. Lots of beer on tap for my beer snob boyfriend.

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The experience was a big downer right at the end, we had our 2 year old and had asked well in advanced (20 minutes) to our server to let us know once the shuttle bus was ready to be boarded. Our 2 year old was getting tired and ready to go to bed and needed the shuttle up to the hotel since it was -25 C outside. Once we were told the shuttle was outside then we came out and we were told that it was full and we had to wait for the next shuttle. The manager (Mike) should have take the extra step to go and asked for volunteers to give us the spot but his simplistic soulition to just wait for the next shuttle was very unsympathetic despite the fact that he saw us with our baby and knew the temperature outside. This was extremely disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We went to the Waldhaus to celebrate my husband's birthday. Everything about the restaurant was excellent, the food, the wine, the service, the ambiance. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food varies in this restaurant. While some meals are great, others are so so. For the cost of the meal, there's a lot to desire. Wiener schnitzel could be improved. Paying about $40 per meal, yet, ending up with two pieces of hard to chew veal, with just a few spittzles and a little portion of cabbage, you find it not quite worth it. Our family had much better schnitzel in German restaurant in Peachland, or Continental Treat in Edmonton. On the other hand, we loved the cozy atmosphere and the surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Superb setting and excellent service but food was extremely over priced and not much choice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were guests at the hotel and checked in New Year's Day on a bitterly cold night! Thank goodness they have a nice shuttle van from the hotel proper to the restaurant which would have been a very brisk walk in the cold and dark. Certain times of year the walk is very nice but would NOT have been that night! We were eager to have good German food as it seems to be one the cuisines not readily available widely anymore. We each ordered a schnitzel which came with spaetzle. Both were "pretty good" but not "wow". Hubby ordered an additional side of fried or roasted potatoes and what arrived was merely a few boiled baby potatoes. As I said good meal but not spectacular. We did a split an apple strudel which was quite nice but seemed slow to arrive. They also had limited selection of German wine by the glass which was kind of disappointing as did not want to have a whole bottle that night as hubby opted for some German beer. Service was very professional and attentive. One thing to be aware of if like us you take the shuttle plan your timing. It is not on demand but operates every 40 minutes so we were feeling a bit of pressure when our dessert was slow arriving and were anxious about missing the second 40 minute shuttle so rushed down our dessert. Overall was a pretty good meal but I guess just would expect a bit more from the Fairmont Banff Springs Resort.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I usually love the Waldhaus but on our last visit, they were all out of veal, which is a staple for their schnitzel. I feel as though they should have almost warned us of this in advance given how much of a favourite that dish is! I tried the chicken schnitzel instead and found it a little lack lustre. Our server was wonderful though and as always, the setting is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food beautiful scenery. Highly recommend

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

So nice to spend the Christmas day with my wife and baby here at Fairmont, and the restaurant is very cozy and food is fantastic! Would love to come back again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing! We loved it. It was authentic and also many staple options. Nice setting and ambiance was pretty. We sat right in front of the fireplace and it was warm not hot and gave off a beautiful light! Food and service was wonderful. We left very happy and fully satisfied. We'll be back😊

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.