About Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Discover your inner foodie, or as our German friends like to say your inner feinschmecker, at our "house in the woods;" The Waldhaus. This hidden Alpine delight is nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray Rivers, and has everything you could want from a Bavarian haven.

German-inspired alpine cuisine such as divine schnitzel and cheesy fondue are just waiting to be devoured in an atmosphere reminiscent of a rustic hunting cottage. With a large fireplace and a wine cabinet, we promise to set the tone for a memorable dining experience at our "House in the Forest."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, Swiss, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Sunday Dinner - 6:00pm - 9:00pm


*Please note that hours of operation are subject to change.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The Waldhaus is located just a quick walk down the hill from the Fairmont Banff Springs. For direct access you can park at the Bow Falls parking lot and walk up the driveway or stairs. A complementary shuttle is also available from the main bus entrance at the hotel.

The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center.

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a small celebration with family and friends or a larger occasion, the Waldhaus Restaurant is the perfect spot away from it all. Let us help you create the perfect event for you and your guests to enjoy.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8776250169

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fireplace (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Scenic View (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Historic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved everything about this restaurant. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful with menu suggestions. They called us ahead of time to inquire if anyone had any allergies they needed to be aware of. The ambiance was relaxed and comfortable. The braised short ribs were so tender they nearly fell apart without using a knife. Exquisite taste. Fondue dessert was very tasty and a fun treat. Lots of beer on tap for my beer snob boyfriend.

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was a big downer right at ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The experience was a big downer right at the end, we had our 2 year old and had asked well in advanced (20 minutes) to our server to let us know once the shuttle bus was ready to be boarded. Our 2 year old was getting tired and ready to go to bed and needed the shuttle up to the hotel since it was -25 C outside. Once we were told the shuttle was outside then we came out and we were told that it was full and we had to wait for the next shuttle. The manager (Mike) should have take the extra step to go and asked for volunteers to give us the spot but his simplistic soulition to just wait for the next shuttle was very unsympathetic despite the fact that he saw us with our baby and knew the temperature outside. This was extremely disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

We went to the Waldhaus to celebrate my ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We went to the Waldhaus to celebrate my husband's birthday. Everything about the restaurant was excellent, the food, the wine, the service, the ambiance. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food varies in this restaurant. Whil ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food varies in this restaurant. While some meals are great, others are so so. For the cost of the meal, there's a lot to desire. Wiener schnitzel could be improved. Paying about $40 per meal, yet, ending up with two pieces of hard to chew veal, with just a few spittzles and a little portion of cabbage, you find it not quite worth it. Our family had much better schnitzel in German restaurant in Peachland, or Continental Treat in Edmonton. On the other hand, we loved the cozy atmosphere and the surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Superb setting and excellent service but ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Superb setting and excellent service but food was extremely over priced and not much choice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We were guests at the hotel and checked ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were guests at the hotel and checked in New Year's Day on a bitterly cold night! Thank goodness they have a nice shuttle van from the hotel proper to the restaurant which would have been a very brisk walk in the cold and dark. Certain times of year the walk is very nice but would NOT have been that night! We were eager to have good German food as it seems to be one the cuisines not readily available widely anymore. We each ordered a schnitzel which came with spaetzle. Both were "pretty good" but not "wow". Hubby ordered an additional side of fried or roasted potatoes and what arrived was merely a few boiled baby potatoes. As I said good meal but not spectacular. We did a split an apple strudel which was quite nice but seemed slow to arrive. They also had limited selection of German wine by the glass which was kind of disappointing as did not want to have a whole bottle that night as hubby opted for some German beer. Service was very professional and attentive. One thing to be aware of if like us you take the shuttle plan your timing. It is not on demand but operates every 40 minutes so we were feeling a bit of pressure when our dessert was slow arriving and were anxious about missing the second 40 minute shuttle so rushed down our dessert. Overall was a pretty good meal but I guess just would expect a bit more from the Fairmont Banff Springs Resort.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I usually love the Waldhaus but on our l ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I usually love the Waldhaus but on our last visit, they were all out of veal, which is a staple for their schnitzel. I feel as though they should have almost warned us of this in advance given how much of a favourite that dish is! I tried the chicken schnitzel instead and found it a little lack lustre. Our server was wonderful though and as always, the setting is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food beautiful scenery. Highl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food beautiful scenery. Highly recommend

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice to spend the Christmas day with ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

So nice to spend the Christmas day with my wife and baby here at Fairmont, and the restaurant is very cozy and food is fantastic! Would love to come back again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! We loved it. It was authentic a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing! We loved it. It was authentic and also many staple options. Nice setting and ambiance was pretty. We sat right in front of the fireplace and it was warm not hot and gave off a beautiful light! Food and service was wonderful. We left very happy and fully satisfied. We'll be back😊

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A chilly walk from the hotel was rewarde ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

A chilly walk from the hotel was rewarded with amazing food and service. Fondue is a Must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely spot but the lighting was a bit b ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely spot but the lighting was a bit bright for a romantic venue.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious food, attentive but unobtrusiv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Delicious food, attentive but unobtrusive service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Thank you for another wonderful family d ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Thank you for another wonderful family dining experience. We loved everything about the Waldhaus. You provided us with a very memorable experience and we cannot wait for next years family dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful German restaurant in Banff and ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Wonderful German restaurant in Banff and by fare the best fondue in town. My wife and I stayed at the Banff Fairmont and this was our best dinner by far!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience for a small grou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great dining experience for a small group of people. Wonderful wine pairings and fantastic service! Not for the budget conscious, although the portions are generous and you will NOT leave hungry.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was an overall amazing experience. Ex ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was an overall amazing experience. Exactly what we were looking for. A nice romantic setting to celebrate our anniversary. Great food, excellent service.

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the Waldhaus restaurant on ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We visited the Waldhaus restaurant on our first night at the Fairmont Banff Springs. We had been driving all day and wanted a relaxing dinner. It's a bit of a walk down from the hotel which we liked (92 steps? down the side of the mountain) There is a shuttle but if you like to walk, it's nice after supper to head back up the hill. The restaurant is the original Clubhouse for the golf course so it's old and charming. We did have reservations so we were seated right away. We were right on the side by one of the windows. The fireplace was close enough to give a nice glow but not overwhelming. We started with drinks and delicious bread. I had the beet salad which was wonderful, my husband enjoyed a caesar salad. For our main I had Seared Scallops, quite filling but very good!!! My Husband had the Pan Seared Rainbow Trout, he enjoyed it. Too full for dessert. The staff were all very friendly and informative about the food, wine and the history of the restaurant. Very nice night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fondu experience was incredible with amp ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fondu experience was incredible with ample quantities of food. Service and food quality were exceptional. A very special evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for an authentic Bavaria ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent place for an authentic Bavarian experience! Service was a tad lacking at times, but the ambiance, great beer and amazing schnitzel more than make up for it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Waldhaus Restaurant is old school in ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The Waldhaus Restaurant is old school in its feel and its service. And the servings are gigantic. So go hungry. Cozy and efficient at the same time, it was a relaxing meal. The schnitzel was impeccable. Thin, with a crispy covering, and very tasty. The cocktails are smooth, so relax and sink into the comfy chairs. The menu is extensive, so every taste is covered. But I would go for the German flair. If you are looking for something light, the Pork Belly and a drink makes for an excellent appetizer.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at the Waldhaus Restaurant w ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The service at the Waldhaus Restaurant was excellent. My cell phone had died and they gave me a remote charger to charge it. The food was served promptly and the server was very polite and helpful regarding the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant. A menu for everyone. W ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great restaurant. A menu for everyone. We loved the seasonal vegetable accomplishments. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early and went down to the ba ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We arrived early and went down to the bar area. It was comfortable and when we were there it was quiet. We went upstairs for our reservation, were seated promptly and enjoyed the view from the window as well as the comfortable chairs. Our service was polite, professional and well informed on the menu and the local area. The manager on duty stopped by a few times and was following up on service etc. Overall a positive experience. Next time we will try the fondue, as we heard that was very good as well !!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A good but not great restaurant that is ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A good but not great restaurant that is overpriced for the food quality. Very hard to get to.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The restaurant is situated by the pictur ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The restaurant is situated by the picturesque Bow falls. Easy climb to majestic Fairmont Hotel. Staff was attentive and accommodating to vegetarians. The vegetable pot pie was flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waitress was wonderful - very person ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful - very personable, very efficient and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We an epic time this restaurant! like r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We an epic time this restaurant! like royalty and incredible food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food Perfect for a cool fall n ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent food

Perfect for a cool fall night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great and the food was g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service was great and the food was good. The only problem was they took forever doing everything. It was 2.5 hours from start to finish which really was way too long. And it wasn't even busy. So I don't know why they were so slow. But if you have the time, the ambiance, food and service was good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My husband and I loved this charming lit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I loved this charming little restaurant so much that we dined there two nights in a row. We met the chef, who is a lovely young woman from Germany. I grew up in Germany and, feeling I was in good hands, ordered the regular veal schnitzel the first night. My husband ordered the Swiss version, topped with ham and Swiss cheeses. Both were excellent. Presentation was lovely. The second night I was torn because I, as much as I would have liked to have ordered the veal again, there were so many other things on the menu that I wanted to try. I decided on the trout and could not have been happier with my choice. One of the best trout dishes I have ever had. My husband stuck with his Swiss veal again and was just as happy as he had been he night before. Wonderful service and dining experience all the way around.

I do notice that people have mentioned the steps to the restaurant. We walked down with no trouble and took the shuttle back. It runs every half hour and, if you let your wait person know you are planning to take it, they will keep you informed of its arrival time.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic. Loved the food. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Loved the food. My thanks to the chef for preparing a fondue for "one" because I love fondue and my husband doesn't. The chef made an exception for me and it was wonderful. The rest of the meal was delicious also.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food cold at delivery. Werner schnitzel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food cold at delivery. Werner schnitzel was old, dry, tasteless. Seated in a room off the main dining room with limited views despite a lot of open seating. Overall a disappointing experience. Will not repeat this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Our tour to Banff arrived late so dinner ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our tour to Banff arrived late so dinner was late. We are "older" folks and no one indicated that we'd have to walk down a very long, multiple set of steps down a high hillside. Shuttles only ran every 15 mins. and the shuttle from hotel just left. They said a 5 min. walk. It took us 15 to get there for our reservation! NOT FOR SENIOR CITIZENS with any kind of walking issues!

Food fairly good. When we called re. how to get there they did not mention the multiple down-hill staircases! Bad choice on our part.

Waiter very very nice and food good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Our meal at Waldhaus was superb. The occ ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our meal at Waldhaus was superb. The occasion was a 66th birthday and the guest of honour wanted weinerschnitzle. Waldhaus was the perfect choice. The meal excellent and the service was outstanding. The special dessert created for the birthday was creative, unexpected, and delicious.

One of our party is vegetarian and often has to suffer through unimaginative entrees when we go out. The vegetarian option at Waldhaus was a pleasant surprise with its flavours and texture.

Truly a great experience. One of the finest meals out we have ever had. Thank you, Waldhaus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the quiet ambiance and rich appoin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Loved the quiet ambiance and rich appointments of this restaurant. Especially enjoyed having light options--as much as I'd love to have the fondu, I was hiking all day and just couldn't take anything heavy. Very nice restaurant for solo diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time that we've dined ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is the second time that we've dined there while in Banff and it's our favorite place. The atmosphere, food, employees are all top notch. The staff go out of their way to make sure you are having a great experience.

The best beef broth fondue that we've ever had.

Any visit to Banff won't be complete without a visit to the Waldhaus...can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY ,NOT FOR THE HANDICAPPED ALTH ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2016

ABSOLUTELY ,NOT FOR THE HANDICAPPED ALTHOUGH I WAS TOLD IT WAS OK. My wife is in a wheelchair. 6 steps up to a narrow entrance...no washrooms on the dining level!! The staff was very helpful up to what they could do but the ambience was lost! The staff was not aware of the information I was given as to accessibility...this was on the Fairmont customer service I talked to after reading "not wheelchair accessible" to clarify...and was told a shuttle was available and this would clear any problems...WRONG! Again, the Waldhaus staff was very apologetic but they were done in by others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Walthaus experience meal for $180 withou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Walthaus experience meal for $180 without wine spring was terrible. Pot of cheese and bowl of white bread (which was not even fresh) to start. Followed by beef broth whith thin deli style slices of raw beef were provided for cooking. Broth was flavourless. Boiled Beef tasted bland in bland broth. Skillet of accompanying veggies were browned and colourless, but somehow crunchy and under cooked. Dessert fondu was ok. experience was a complete rip off!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.