Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

Discover your inner foodie, or as our German friends like to say your inner feinschmecker, at our "house in the woods;" The Waldhaus. This hidden Alpine delight is nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray Rivers, and has everything you could want from a Bavarian haven.

German-inspired alpine cuisine such as divine schnitzel and cheesy fondue are just waiting to be devoured in an atmosphere reminiscent of a rustic hunting cottage. With a large fireplace and a wine cabinet, we promise to set the tone for a memorable dining experience at our "House in the Forest."

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, Swiss, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Dinner - 6:00pm - 9:00pm


Reservations are highly recommended.

*Please note that hours of operation are subject to change.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The Waldhaus is located just a quick walk down the hill from the Fairmont Banff Springs. For direct access you can park at the Bow Falls parking lot and walk up the driveway or stairs. A complementary shuttle is also available from the main bus entrance at the hotel.

The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center.

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a small celebration with family and friends or a larger occasion, the Waldhaus Restaurant is the perfect spot away from it all. Let us help you create the perfect event for you and your guests to enjoy.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: (877) 625-0169

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Authentic (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

cheese fondue was excellent; T-bone steak flavourless and mediocre; scallops were delicious but could use 1 more as part of meal; service attentive

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

the cheese fondue was fabulous, the meat not so much. The meat fondue was very expensive for what you got. I was kind of disappointed that even with a reservation we were given a table that had no view. Considering it was a special occasion a view would have been most welcome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Waldhaus is excellent with panorama views of the Banff Springs golf course, Bow Falls and Mountains. Ellen was our server and she has been there for 12 years. I work with clients with developmental disabilities and I found her to be superb with my clients so have requested her each time I've been with friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Experience overall was very good,however, due to the location, meal was a bit pricey compared to a similar restaurant in a large city. Must be for the view,eh?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

One of the finest restaurants in banff . Excellent food and service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Hard to find a good German restaurant. This one is.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The restaurant is nestled just below the Fairmont with great views. The ambiance is outstanding and very authentic. The food was well presented and full of flavor. We had fondue and it was a great experience and well paced. Our server (blond female) was amazing and helped make the overall experience outstanding. Check it out!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was good experience to have a dinner there.
Try the fondue pot. It was so good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

No air conditioning. Very warm atmosphere on a hot day.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was lovely, but the meals took forever to arrive. The appetizers took close to an hour, and the whole meal took 2.5 hours. With 3 kids (and eating late to start with) this just made it a really difficult meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We enjoyed the location, service and food. They accommodated our special needs well.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was very good, and authentic, and the service was excellent; attentive but discreet. Portion sizes are large, so order appropriately and take your time with your meal. If you can't make it back up the steps to the Banff Springs Hotel, there is a courtesy shuttle.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Birthday Weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Tired restaurant needs an update
Food was good but not great and service was similar
Nothing bad but nothing outstanding either

Beautiful location and has potential to be amazing

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Really beautiful place with marvelous views. Good good, not espetacular . Cozy place

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great view of the mountains & river

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The most amazing dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Birthday celebration for my 10 year old daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Stayed at the Fairmont and was in the mood for German Food ... and after dinner drinks. This place fit perfectly. Great dinner with a nice selection, great portions, and the Beer ... well, that was authentic German at it's finest. After dinner, we headed down to the bar for some more beer and fun. The staff treated you like family and we felt like we were back in Germany. An added bonus was that when we left, there were 5 elks grazing in the grass out front that made our day .. no it wasn't the beer talking.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I brought my sister and nieces for a special occasion. I requested to have ELLEN as our server as I had her previously and thought she was excellent. Once again, she was superb!! It was a beautiful evening start to finish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Enjoy being here, been some recent changes and the chairs are too low now in the area by the river to enjoy the scenery, which is half the experience of eating there. Would ve great to be able to see the rivet and the Elk outside without having to stand up from the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Boring. The service was The opposite from warm. The food, Not bad but far away from good.
No flexibility on taking your own wine bottle, not even when they do not have any good selection of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice little house like restaurant located below the "Castle", everything was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary - thanks for the chocolates! Great food and even better service! You can't beat the setting - beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved every moment of our experience and would love to go back!

Tags: Vegan, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had the schnitzel and Cornish hen and both were outstanding. Excellent service all around and we had an excellent view from our window side table. The restaurant is great for intimate dinners although a large group of young ladies did take over the restaraunt. Thankfully we were almost done and on our way out soon after they were seated. Great food and great beer. We will visit again when we are in Banff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food and service was great. I had the Cornish hen and my boyfriend had the pork chop. Both were served with roasted root vegetables. The best meal we had in Banff. So tasty and healthy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice. One of the servers we had was great and very friendly. However, our other server was not very friendly or accommodating. The fondues were good, but the rest of the food was not good at all. Overall is was a very expensive meal and the dishes were not great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very expensive. Lots of food and good food. Service was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excelllent location, Great Service and good food. Good wine list but somewhat overpriced for the types of wine being offered. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always fantastic here. Angela and Mark made it a blast and we can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I brought my wife here for our anniversary as her favourite food is Austrian/German. They were lovely enough to automatically give us a spot directly infront of the fire which was romantic but the other tables were situated very close. They then sat some "giggly" girls at the table next to us and we could barely hear ourselves speak. The waiter that tended that table was acting quite immature due to the age of the table and them being lovely looking girls. He wa tossing things in the air and being quite distracting. My wife has crohns so she require a vegan/vegetarian diet pretty well. There is only one dish on the menu and it does not sound appetizing so my wife didn't want to sit there while I ate and chose dishes that caused her a great deal of pain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The view was amazing! The ambiance was fantastic at first. There were only a couple other tables going and we were right in front of the fireplace with views of the mountains around us.

Then a table of 17 came in that was almost half kids. I know the restaurant can't be blamed for it, but the atmosphere was completely changed. And not for the better. It basically turned into a Boston Pizza. Not that there's anything wrong with BP's, but that's not the type of evening we were looking forward to. Also, the prices of the food were not what you would expect from a rambunctious family restaurant. Although to be honest the quality of the food probably was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cheese and Beef fondue seemed a little bland. The desert fondue was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Historic hideout! A unique little gem tucked behind the Banff springs. Beautiful walk from the hotel. Service was outstanding and the food was top notch! A place to go for all occasions, dress up or keep it casual. Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like to take my friends to Waldhaus when they are visiting Banff in winter time. Food, Atmosphere & service are warm & wonderful. Thank you for the great experience, and I appreciate the local's discount as well. :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Angela, the waitress, helped us choose the appropriate beverages for our meal and was spot on for serving sizes and suggestions for our fondue choice. She even gave us a sample taste of spatzel (homemade German noodles) just for fun. The food, wine and service were so incredible, that we canceled our dinner plans for the next night and returned for a second time...... for the spatzel, of course. ;)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The price was too expensive for the quality of food provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very cozy rester-aunt but wayyy overpriced. We did the fondu and it was very good but the melting pot was way better. For 180 for two of us just for food it felt way over priced for what we got. Felt kinda rushed I guess it went by quick and 1.5 for 4 courses and the melting pot takes 3 hours. The server a middle to older aged guy was very nice has been there many many years but he came off a bit cocky and arrogant it was a real turn off. Overall great experience and we would go back again but do a cheaper meal or go to the pub downstairs. The pub it totally awesome huge tv's meal deals and the comfiest chairs ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.