About Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Located away from Banff's busy streets, where the Spray River meets the 15th hole, you will find the Waldhaus Restaurant, our “House in the Forest”. Feast on a rich assortment of authentic Swiss and German dishes in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage with dark, rich wood paneling, a large fireplace and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, Swiss, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The Waldhaus is located just a quick walk down the hill from the Fairmont Banff Springs. For direct access you can park at the Bow Falls parking lot and walk up the driveway or stairs. A complementary shuttle is also available from the main bus entrance at the hotel.

The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center.

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a small celebration with family and friends or a larger occasion, the Waldhaus Restaurant is the perfect spot away from it all. Let us help you create the perfect event for you and your guests to enjoy.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8776250169

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wine

Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
4 More
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

Scenic View (40)
Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Walthaus experience meal for $180 withou ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

Walthaus experience meal for $180 without wine spring was terrible. Pot of cheese and bowl of white bread (which was not even fresh) to start. Followed by beef broth whith thin deli style slices of raw beef were provided for cooking. Broth was flavourless. Boiled Beef tasted bland in bland broth. Skillet of accompanying veggies were browned and colourless, but somehow crunchy and under cooked. Dessert fondu was ok. experience was a complete rip off!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My review is brief only because I had to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

My review is brief only because I had to dine alone as my husband was in the hospital. I had only the entree which was a venison tenderloin perfectly prepare medium rare accompanied by locally farmed vegetables. The selected vegetables were varied and tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent ! We had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food and service was excellent ! We had a meal voucher from Rocky Mountaineer for dinner. Great food and unique restaurant ?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SO and I went to the Waldhaus for our an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

SO and I went to the Waldhaus for our anniversary. The food was incredible - scallops for me (the pickled grapes were an awesome addition) and weiner schnitzel for him - and our server, Mark, was top-notch. He even brought us a dessert on the house since we were celebrating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting in the woods is very nice. I ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The setting in the woods is very nice. It is a short walk from the hotel, but down many steps. I think you can also take a shuttle there. Our dinner of Swiss specialties was very good. We were first seated in a corner with no real view for my husband. We asked to be seated closer to the center of the room where we could both enjoy a view of the large fireplace. The staff immediately accommodated us, and we enjoyed the rest of the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service, beautiful view - hig ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service, beautiful view - highly recommend the veal. We're going back for fondue later this week. Definitely a must when staying at the Fairmont or visiting Banff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Weinerschnitchel you will ever ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The best Weinerschnitchel you will ever eat! Iwould reccommend this restaurantbfor its Food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful fondue experience. Gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a wonderful fondue experience. Great way to share a group meal

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dined here on the last night of our Cana ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dined here on the last night of our Canada Holiday 3 years ago and also this year. On both occasions we enjoyed the Food and the Service. We live in Germany so it was literally a taste of home for us. If we ever come back to Banff we would certainly eat here again. Best wishes GeoffB

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful, relaxed environment after an ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful, relaxed environment after an active day! We enjoyed the beef fondue, which was delicious and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful Jaeger schnitzel! This adorab ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Wonderful Jaeger schnitzel! This adorable little restaurant is tucked in a quiet setting on the Fairmont property. It was adorable and our waitress made the dinner. We were celebrating an anniversary and she made the evening wonderful. The food is great and the atmosphere definitely cozy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came with two clients with disabiliti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We came with two clients with disabilities and were treated amazingly well. I was very impressed with the experience from start to finish. This was one of my most memorable dining experiences of my entire life!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the perfect place for our forma ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was the perfect place for our formal dinner night on vacation. We are a family with children and they were pleased to accommodate us. There were tables with one couple, a table full of couples, families with grown children, every combo you can think of. It was a scenic and short walk from the Banff Springs Hotel and a short shuttle ride back. We enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing and incredibly hel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The staff was amazing and incredibly helpful in helping to make food choices. It was a fun experience and the location is beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waldhaus was a memorable dining experi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waldhaus was a memorable dining experience - great schnitzel , beautifully presented with gracious service and a view fit for a symphony. It was an evening to remember and I would certainly want to go again if visiting Banff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely window seat, had the fondue exper ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lovely window seat, had the fondue experience. Cheese was best we've ever had but prefer to cook our beef on a stone rather than heated in broth. Was a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

If you enjoy German food, this would be ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

If you enjoy German food, this would be highly recommended for you. The onion soup was outstanding and the Wurst plate was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 8-adults vacationing at Banf ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

There were 8-adults vacationing at Banff. -Wr like German food The veal schnitzel was delicious and generous portion but not enough of the special gravy. Our server was very good but she seemed eager to get rid of us as we were last table. The manager abruptly came over and asked if everything was all right but never waited for an answer. Fancy hotel so all prices are fancy high but it was fun. Non German trout was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very pleased with the caring sta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were very pleased with the caring staff at the Waldhaus Restaurant. We were greeted with a pleasant smile by the hostess. The wait staff was very attentive and helped us select our dinner entrees. The food was amazing. If we are ever in Banff again, we will be dining here.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious German food in a quaint little ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious German food in a quaint little cottage in the woods - beautiful views and also a pub downstairs for more casual dining or a pre or post dinner drink. We had excellent service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Felt like we were in Germany. Food very ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Felt like we were in Germany. Food very good, service top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice decor, although a bit dated. Food w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice decor, although a bit dated. Food was ok , certainly not worthy of the price tag. Service was acceptable, not spectacular. Overall, we were unimpressed with the experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was outstanding!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Swiss/German menu. Alpine setting ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good Swiss/German menu. Alpine setting is very authentic. Mediocre beer selection, poor German wine selection

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were so disappointed with our meal an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were so disappointed with our meal and the atmosphere at the Waldhaus. We thought the quaint setting and the adventure finding it by the beautiful Bow Falls would bode well for a great experience, but we were sorely disappointed. Being onsite at the fabled Banff Springs, we expected more of the restaurant than an uninspired menu and cold food served by staff who seemed disinterested in serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Very nice view located beside the hotel. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very nice view located beside the hotel. The fish we ordered is fantastic but the steak is not so good even if they made it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When in Banff

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We at at the Waldhaus for a night out when we were in Banff staying at the Banff Springs Hotel. The restaurant is modeled after a Swiss restaurant that specializes in German food and fondue. The Wiener schnitzel jaeger style was authentic and tasty. The Swiss Fondue with black truffle shavings was out of this world good. The fondue easily fed the four of us and could have been our whole meal.

Our server was excellent and very forthcoming about the portion amounts, which were quite large.

Banff is an expensive town but the atmosphere, view, and food is worth the cost. At the least get the fondue and a beer or glass of wine. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, schnitzel is ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food, great service, schnitzel is fabulous, service (by Larry), bang on, have the strudel too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Personal Attention for Anniversary Dinner

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love this place! I will be back again and again. They gave us complimentary glass of wine and also dessert for our anniversary dinner. The service was impeccable this second visit. We had the duck leg as appetizer (second time I chose this) and schnitzel for dinner. The schnitzel was great, however if you're a fondue fan....get fondue!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server was awesome – she was very eng ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My server was awesome – she was very engaging and made me feel comfortable even though I was dining alone. For my appetizer I had the pork belly which was light and crisp and not fatty at all – so delicious. For my entrée it was a toss-up between Smoked Kassler Loin & Bratwurst and the Beef Sauerbraten. But in the end I chose the Beef Sauerbraten which came highly recommended. The beef was very tender with the gravy smothered on top and the cabbage wasn’t too tart – a perfect combination and not to mention the mashed potatoes which I loved. I wasn’t able to clean my plate but all in all it was a great meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fondue is amazing!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I went here for a special date night and had the Waldhaus Experience. Its 3 courses of fondue (which was way too much food), but it was absolutley delicious. It was complemented by a great wine suggestion from our waiter Mark. Its a little pricey, but for a special occaision totally worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

German Mistake

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We ordered truffle cheese fondue. Pork chop. Roast and schnitzel.

All meals were just a Mashup of mustard, sourcroute and fried stuff. Flavours did not taste good. I just don't think mustard, potatoes and sourcroute pair well.

The cheese fondue had an overpowering taste of garlic, mushrooms and wine. Very poor stale bread, mini sweet pickles and cocktail onions came with it apparently in an attempt to insult us and the $90 price tag.

This restaurant is an insult to Germany and may very well cause a war.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Beautiful view. Décor and Beer on draft ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Beautiful view. Décor and Beer on draft authentic German. Bratwurst was outstanding with a warm mustard sauce!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Really nice restaurant and great service ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Really nice restaurant and great service but the food was only ok. We were quite disappointed as the restaurant has all the other right stuff. With spending over $200 on dinner (a bottle of wine was in that as well) we expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Spectacular restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our family of 5 visited the restaurant in March for dinner. The food was very tasty, the service was super and we enjoyed the atmosphere very much. Certainly recommend it for a fun exciting dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived for a 7pm reservation and wer ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We arrived for a 7pm reservation and were greeted by a friendly gentleman who took us to a great table next to the grand fireplace. Large chairs that my husband found to be very comfortable. We looked over the incredible German menu and many of the items were those I grew up enjoying, having a Bavarian Grandmother. The wine list was nice with many quality single glass choices. We decided after many deliberations, "when in Banff-Fondue"! We chose the Waldhaus Experience, 90CD per person, which showcases a house salad to start, fantastic cheese fondue course, beef fondue third course and a finalé of Toblerone chocolate fondue. We were more than stuffed with the four course meal but extremely satisfied with the quality of food and service.

Tips:

-you can dress smart casual or casual, just know there are people who are dressed from hiking as well. So don't feel pressured to dress up by any means. Don't wear heels of any kind, you have to hike down and up stairs to get to the restaurant. It was a bit icy when we went.

-Cool pub downstairs! If you are on waiting, great place to grab a beer! Or alternative dining choice if the dining room is too busy.

-Make a reservation!

-If driving, find the signs for The golf course and follow road towards Bow Falls. Park down at the bottom and you will see signs directing you to the trails to walk up towards the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

German food at its best

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Wonderful dinner, we found you could order sides of other dishes to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Not our thing

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

While the setting is gorgeous, we were not impressed with the food. We ate here during our stay at the Banff Fairmont Springs (which is fabulous). Thought the price we high but taste not as high. Would not eat there again. Bar area on the lower level is a great place to have a drink though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The cheese fondue is amazing!! I would ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The cheese fondue is amazing!! I would not recommend the beef fondue found it boring and lacking flavor same with the sauces. Great service thou.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Quaint and Captivating

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

An absolutely fabulous experience for a dinner for two. The setting was warm and friendly, ample room between tables, and an atmosphere of an Austrian or German traditional lodge. There was ample lighting for the size of dining area and attentive service, but by no means hanging over us. Mark seemed to know just when to come around and check on us.

The meal selection was more than we expected and the meals themselves so good. We had the traditional veal cutlet and the lamb shank. Both done to perfection. The price was well in line with the meals and ambiance of this dining experience, perfect for our get-away of creating a memorable weekend.

Definitely going to recommend The Waldhaus to anyone we know who plans to visit Banff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.