Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

4.4
358 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
German
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Discover your inner foodie, or as our German friends like to say your inner feinschmecker, at our "house in the woods;" The Waldhaus. This hidden Alpine delight is nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray Rivers, and has everything you could want from a Bavarian haven.

German-inspired alpine cuisine such as divine schnitzel and cheesy fondue are just waiting to be devoured in an atmosphere reminiscent of a rustic hunting cottage. With a large fireplace and a wine cabinet, we promise to set the tone for a memorable dining experience at our "House in the Forest."

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
German, Swiss, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Wednesday - Monday from 6:00pm - 9:00pm*
Reservations are highly recommended.


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 762-6860
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
j.W. Foster
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Waldhaus is located just a quick walk down the hill from the Fairmont Banff Springs. For direct access you can park at the Bow Falls parking lot and walk up the driveway or stairs. A complementary shuttle is also available from the main bus entrance at the hotel.

The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center.

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $39 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine
What 358 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great service, sadly the cheese fondue was rather bland and the bread was way below what is expected for a good fondue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Wonderful service and staff. Having the local white tail deer and caribou stop by for a bit out side...great touch!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Ordinary, overpriced food and the worst service we've had in Canada!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We wanted a 7 pm tune that open table couldn't provide for us. There appeared no reason why we couldn't be accommodated. It was close to Banff Springs however nothing was said what to do about parking. It was presumed we had a room so didn't feel like they accommodated non hotel guests.

I menu seemed limited and the food was simply average. Our server was very kind however took a very long time to come back for our dessert order. With tables being so close together they is zero privacy and we could help but overhear the table beside us wishing they went for Italian food instead. With the prices that were charged compared to the food quality, we wished we did too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

a unique dining experience - we may drive in from calgary just to have this meal again - excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Was highly disappointed with the menu with the fact that they didn't have Rhouladin (beef) dish and only a couple of the other dishes has red cabbage available. I wasn't a fan of schnitzel but it was one of the dishes that offered red cabbage.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great location. For the expensive price you pay, I was surprised at the lack of food provided.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We have come a number of times to the Waldhaus. I have a friend/client who has Autism. The fire alarm went off three times during the meal and by the third time my friend/client was somewhat upset and anxious. We were also surprised that we had to ask for dinner rolls and then felt awkward as the cheese fondue was brought out at the same time. This felt a bit rushed, however, Angela, our server, was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

It was a good experience, food service was extremely fast and staff was very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went here to celebrate my partner’s birthday. Service was very good and the treat of the experience. We had the cheese fondue appetizer which was tasty, followed by the classic Wiener Schnitzel and then a piece of apple strudel and Black Forest cake for dessert. The appetizer and desserts were very good. The Schnitzels were both tough and soggy at the same time so somewhat disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The Bavarian dishes were amazing. Haus Sausages and Schintzel were the highlights for us.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The poor food and service is only made worse by the high price and pretentious staff. We ate here because we were staying at the hotel, and the attached pub was fairly decent on a previous night. The restaurant is far more stuffy and full of themselves; the food was mediocre, the service was curt and impersonal. My daughter ordered from the Kid's Menu: "Kraft Mac and Cheese". I've made Kraft Mac and Cheese a hundred times, but the kitchen at this restaurant has clearly never read the instructions on the box. It tasted terrible; if they can't mix milk, a pat of butter and cheese powder onto boiled noodles, why trust them to execute a decent schnitzel?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Would highly recommend when you are in Banff. The ambience was amazing with a roaring fire, comforting decor and of course situated in the mountains. The service was great and the food came to our table quickly. Lot's of flavour. The food was perfect. I would come again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. It was perfect for our Anniversary Dinner. Very romantic..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Went here while on ski trip to Banff. Lovely setting. We had fondue and it was excellent. The setting is beautiful. Down stairs is a great casual bar too. Outdoor fire pit looked inviting, but as it started to snow, we stuck to the fireside table.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Very disappointing! We read several poor reviews however sadly dismissed them. The fondue was watery. The underwhelming salad lacked taste. The main course consisted of over processed greasy veal, accompanied by raw brussels sprouts, and overcooked root vegetables. However, the red cabbage was excellent. The pretentious waiter offered little when it came to wine suggestions. He was more than willing to share small pours of cheap bad wine in hopes of selling us a $100 bottle instead. Good wait staff will do their best to assist with a wine selection in the suggested price point of the customer. Sadly, the dinner ended our trip on a low versus high note.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Very much enjoyed our meal. Jaeger Schnitzel was very good as was the cheese fondue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

We went here for the fondue and a faux-European dining experience, and got both. The fondue was great, and had a lot more variety than traditional Swiss fondue - which I enjoyed. The 1L bier steins were fun too. The decor was fun with a fireplace, animal mounts and rustic dark-stained wood. We came on a Sunday, with a reservation for the main dining room, and the place was not overly busy. It's on the pricey side, but so it goes in Banff. One word of warning: finding the place a little tricky. It's behind the main hotel, down a staircase. (Or I think you can drive directly do it, if you know the way.)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I’ve been here many times but tonight the food was well below expectations. Dry and overcooked pork and schnitzel. Service and ambiance great. Last time we went one of our party’s meals wasn’t great either - hopefully it’s not a trend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We first came to the Waldhaus in 2016 for Valentine’s Day with our son and his girlfriend. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and comfortable. We enjoyed it so much that when we came back in 2018 we had to come back and we were not disappointed.
I fell bad that I don’t recall our servers name but she was wonderful. She gave us time to settle in but was there and ready with suggestions and information when we were ready.
Three of us had the fresh schnitzel but all in different variations. One pork, one veal and one chicken and in the three varieties offered. My son was the odd one out and had the pork chop. Our meals arrived and we all devoured them stating that the meal each ordered was the best.
We finished with schnapps as we were too full for anything more.
Another memorial meal at a beautiful restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This is the second time I have dined at the Waldhaus and both times it was amazing! Exceptional service and the Waldhaus Experience menu is a must!
This is my favorite restaurant in Banff!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

The food was amazing and our server was very friendly. We had a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Got poisoning the next day. Probably lamb. Don't think I will come again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

I've been with my girlfriend for awhile now and never ever had the most awesome date in our relationship. Started at the front door with friendly service and the whole evening was top notch with great service, never had service like this before. Our evening was great but made even greater by the wonderful staff and food, highly recommended for a special occasion or a date!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Excellent food, ambiance and seating. Ask for a corner table by the fireplace! Their maître d, Michael is amazing. Made us feel so welcome! And Angela was very attentive and warm. We look forward to returning soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Excellent service and quiet atmosphere. A regular stop when we’re in Banff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We had the waldhaus experience. It was good. The schnitzel was quite oily and the sides weren’t my favourite (red cabbage with cinnamon). The cheese and dessert fondues were quite good. I would go back. But try something different. There were a lot of kids crying and acting out while we had supper, so kind of wrecked the nice quiet ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We were staying at the Banff Springs hotel and decided to check out the Waldhaus Restaurant. We were seated in front of the fireplace which was a treat on a cold winter night. We started with a winter salad and wild boar goulash followed by schnitzel and a smoked pork chop all of which were very good. We shared Black Forest cake for dessert - a nice finish to the meal. Our server was helpful in assisting us with our menu selections and attentive throughout the meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Difficult to find restaurant, not attached to the hotel. Food was delicious and staff was attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Cozy atmosphere, great food , and excellent service. We had the classic and jaeger schnitzel. Menu has lots of fondue choices & many people ordered those. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent service and food was exquisite. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

This was a special place do to me being German and spending a romantic night with my wife.
The food and service was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We decided to head here for my brother's birthday with the family and what a surprise!? This restaurant is excellent and believe it or not, better than anything in the Banff Springs main hotel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

The cheese fondue and Jager schnitzel were incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Great food and service, a very enjoyable experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

We had the black truffle cheese fondue and the chocolate fondue for dessert as well as the scallops. The portions were perfect for 2 people and left us completely satisfied. The ambience was nice and homey and the servers were attentive.

We would definitely go back to try more fondue types and other menu items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

We had such a lovely meal , the gluten free catering was brilliant even had GF bread crumb for schnitzels. We enjoyed all our courses on the taster menu salad , fondue, schnitzel and our dessert ( GF black Forrest gateaux 😋 we would definitely return we liked the relaxed atmosphere and the quality and service was great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Both my wife and I had the schnitzel as our mains and found it very oily and not seasoned very well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Authentic Swiss fondue and absolutely delicious schnitzel! Wonderful service and a cozy spot behind the Banff Springs Hotel. Bring on the raclette!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9