About Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Located away from Banff's busy streets, where the Spray River meets the 15th hole, you will find the Waldhaus Restaurant, our “House in the Forest”. Feast on a rich assortment of authentic Swiss and German dishes in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage with dark, rich wood paneling, a large fireplace and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, Swiss, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The Waldhaus is located just a quick walk down the hill from the Fairmont Banff Springs. For direct access you can park at the Bow Falls parking lot and walk up the driveway or stairs. A complementary shuttle is also available from the main bus entrance at the hotel.

The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center.

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a small celebration with family and friends or a larger occasion, the Waldhaus Restaurant is the perfect spot away from it all. Let us help you create the perfect event for you and your guests to enjoy.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8776250169

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wine

Waldhaus Restaurant - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

scenic view (32)
special occasion (23)
romantic (20)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
good for groups (10)
notable wine list (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely window seat, had the fondue exper ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely window seat, had the fondue experience. Cheese was best we've ever had but prefer to cook our beef on a stone rather than heated in broth. Was a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

If you enjoy German food, this would be ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you enjoy German food, this would be highly recommended for you. The onion soup was outstanding and the Wurst plate was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 8-adults vacationing at Banf ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

There were 8-adults vacationing at Banff. -Wr like German food The veal schnitzel was delicious and generous portion but not enough of the special gravy. Our server was very good but she seemed eager to get rid of us as we were last table. The manager abruptly came over and asked if everything was all right but never waited for an answer. Fancy hotel so all prices are fancy high but it was fun. Non German trout was excellent

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very pleased with the caring sta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were very pleased with the caring staff at the Waldhaus Restaurant. We were greeted with a pleasant smile by the hostess. The wait staff was very attentive and helped us select our dinner entrees. The food was amazing. If we are ever in Banff again, we will be dining here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious German food in a quaint little ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious German food in a quaint little cottage in the woods - beautiful views and also a pub downstairs for more casual dining or a pre or post dinner drink. We had excellent service and the food was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Felt like we were in Germany. Food very ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Felt like we were in Germany. Food very good, service top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice decor, although a bit dated. Food w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice decor, although a bit dated. Food was ok , certainly not worthy of the price tag. Service was acceptable, not spectacular. Overall, we were unimpressed with the experience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was outstanding!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Swiss/German menu. Alpine setting ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good Swiss/German menu. Alpine setting is very authentic. Mediocre beer selection, poor German wine selection

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were so disappointed with our meal an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were so disappointed with our meal and the atmosphere at the Waldhaus. We thought the quaint setting and the adventure finding it by the beautiful Bow Falls would bode well for a great experience, but we were sorely disappointed. Being onsite at the fabled Banff Springs, we expected more of the restaurant than an uninspired menu and cold food served by staff who seemed disinterested in serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Very nice view located beside the hotel. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very nice view located beside the hotel. The fish we ordered is fantastic but the steak is not so good even if they made it again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When in Banff

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We at at the Waldhaus for a night out when we were in Banff staying at the Banff Springs Hotel. The restaurant is modeled after a Swiss restaurant that specializes in German food and fondue. The Wiener schnitzel jaeger style was authentic and tasty. The Swiss Fondue with black truffle shavings was out of this world good. The fondue easily fed the four of us and could have been our whole meal.

Our server was excellent and very forthcoming about the portion amounts, which were quite large.

Banff is an expensive town but the atmosphere, view, and food is worth the cost. At the least get the fondue and a beer or glass of wine. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, schnitzel is ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food, great service, schnitzel is fabulous, service (by Larry), bang on, have the strudel too.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Personal Attention for Anniversary Dinner

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love this place! I will be back again and again. They gave us complimentary glass of wine and also dessert for our anniversary dinner. The service was impeccable this second visit. We had the duck leg as appetizer (second time I chose this) and schnitzel for dinner. The schnitzel was great, however if you're a fondue fan....get fondue!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server was awesome – she was very eng ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My server was awesome – she was very engaging and made me feel comfortable even though I was dining alone. For my appetizer I had the pork belly which was light and crisp and not fatty at all – so delicious. For my entrée it was a toss-up between Smoked Kassler Loin & Bratwurst and the Beef Sauerbraten. But in the end I chose the Beef Sauerbraten which came highly recommended. The beef was very tender with the gravy smothered on top and the cabbage wasn’t too tart – a perfect combination and not to mention the mashed potatoes which I loved. I wasn’t able to clean my plate but all in all it was a great meal!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fondue is amazing!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I went here for a special date night and had the Waldhaus Experience. Its 3 courses of fondue (which was way too much food), but it was absolutley delicious. It was complemented by a great wine suggestion from our waiter Mark. Its a little pricey, but for a special occaision totally worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

German Mistake

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We ordered truffle cheese fondue. Pork chop. Roast and schnitzel.

All meals were just a Mashup of mustard, sourcroute and fried stuff. Flavours did not taste good. I just don't think mustard, potatoes and sourcroute pair well.

The cheese fondue had an overpowering taste of garlic, mushrooms and wine. Very poor stale bread, mini sweet pickles and cocktail onions came with it apparently in an attempt to insult us and the $90 price tag.

This restaurant is an insult to Germany and may very well cause a war.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Beautiful view. Décor and Beer on draft ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Beautiful view. Décor and Beer on draft authentic German. Bratwurst was outstanding with a warm mustard sauce!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Really nice restaurant and great service ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Really nice restaurant and great service but the food was only ok. We were quite disappointed as the restaurant has all the other right stuff. With spending over $200 on dinner (a bottle of wine was in that as well) we expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Spectacular restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our family of 5 visited the restaurant in March for dinner. The food was very tasty, the service was super and we enjoyed the atmosphere very much. Certainly recommend it for a fun exciting dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived for a 7pm reservation and wer ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We arrived for a 7pm reservation and were greeted by a friendly gentleman who took us to a great table next to the grand fireplace. Large chairs that my husband found to be very comfortable. We looked over the incredible German menu and many of the items were those I grew up enjoying, having a Bavarian Grandmother. The wine list was nice with many quality single glass choices. We decided after many deliberations, "when in Banff-Fondue"! We chose the Waldhaus Experience, 90CD per person, which showcases a house salad to start, fantastic cheese fondue course, beef fondue third course and a finalé of Toblerone chocolate fondue. We were more than stuffed with the four course meal but extremely satisfied with the quality of food and service.

Tips:

-you can dress smart casual or casual, just know there are people who are dressed from hiking as well. So don't feel pressured to dress up by any means. Don't wear heels of any kind, you have to hike down and up stairs to get to the restaurant. It was a bit icy when we went.

-Cool pub downstairs! If you are on waiting, great place to grab a beer! Or alternative dining choice if the dining room is too busy.

-Make a reservation!

-If driving, find the signs for The golf course and follow road towards Bow Falls. Park down at the bottom and you will see signs directing you to the trails to walk up towards the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

German food at its best

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Wonderful dinner, we found you could order sides of other dishes to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Not our thing

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

While the setting is gorgeous, we were not impressed with the food. We ate here during our stay at the Banff Fairmont Springs (which is fabulous). Thought the price we high but taste not as high. Would not eat there again. Bar area on the lower level is a great place to have a drink though.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The cheese fondue is amazing!! I would ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The cheese fondue is amazing!! I would not recommend the beef fondue found it boring and lacking flavor same with the sauces. Great service thou.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Quaint and Captivating

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

An absolutely fabulous experience for a dinner for two. The setting was warm and friendly, ample room between tables, and an atmosphere of an Austrian or German traditional lodge. There was ample lighting for the size of dining area and attentive service, but by no means hanging over us. Mark seemed to know just when to come around and check on us.

The meal selection was more than we expected and the meals themselves so good. We had the traditional veal cutlet and the lamb shank. Both done to perfection. The price was well in line with the meals and ambiance of this dining experience, perfect for our get-away of creating a memorable weekend.

Definitely going to recommend The Waldhaus to anyone we know who plans to visit Banff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exquisite experience

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I found this restaurant by accident.. a regular visitor to the banff springs hotel, and a huge fan of the rundle lounge.. I was looking online for a restaurant with a view and nice ambience for my father's birthday. I was drawn to the waldhaus because of the menu, venison was a must for this dinner. When I arrived my expectations were blown out of the water... dining alone, I was offered reading material (although I brought my own), sat at a wonderful high-backed-chair table near the fireplace with a view out the window to the back of the castle like hotel up the hill, service was attentive but not overwhelming, the recommended wine pairing was superb, and the venison was cooked to perfection. Certainly a favourite, have recommended and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, espacialy the Swiss cheeze fondue

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

One of my favourite restaurant anywhere in the world! Service, food, view, ambiance: all exceptional!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic dinner experience. Food was wonderful.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Delicious dinner. The Cheese Fondue was amazing. We were also very impressed with the kids meals and the kids loved the chocolate fondue. The atmosphere and service were wonderful as well. This was our second time to the Waldhaus and we would certainly go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a great experience!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were glad to have chosen this restaurant for our anniversary. The restaurant has a European look and feel to it, very comfortable and cosy. Food is of top quality and service outstanding, price is pretty high, but you get what you pay for. Portions are generous, we ordered the signature schnitzels that were perfectly cooked and accompanied by very tasty vegetables and the best spätzle we had ever had. It was very thoughtful to surprise us with 2 delightful deserts, thank you so much for making our special day very memorable!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a Great meal, romantic evening.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The ambiance was nice. We sat by the fireplace. Our server Angela, gave us great service and was not one that hovers over or around. The manager came by a couple times to chat. The food was excellent, the portions enough. We were there to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and when we told Angela we were too full for desert she brought out a sampler plate of deserts with a candle in one. If we were not dri ing back to the city after our dinner we would have tried a bottle of wine from their vast selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was amazing, service was great and the staff just incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Fondue

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Delicious fondue, all of the food ordered was fresh and tasty, and the staff were great with our kids.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining and an authentic German experience.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Its like dining in the swiss Alps in a hunting lodge, but much classier. The food was everything I hoped it would be and the service was spot on with a helpful but not pushy manager. All of the staff was very polite. We will recommend the Waldhaus to our friends.

Rob

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alpine Delight

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

After walking past the Waldhaus on many occasions, we finally decided to try it, and we're glad we did. Reservations were easy with Open Table. The hostess, manager, and server all seemed genuinely interested in our choices, and offered helpful advice. They were friendly, but not overbearing; present, but not clingy.

But we went because we wanted German-style Alpine food, and we left very satisfied. The goulash was meaty, yet filled with veggies, and just enough kick to clear the sinuses but not require a fire extinguisher. The veal schnitzel, Swiss style with ham and cheese, was crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. The accompanying spatzle, with brown butter, spices, onion, and bacon, was delectable. But, since my wife had considered substituting the warm potato salad as her starch, our server brought a sampler bowl of the potato salad as well. It, too, was perfect - not swimming in sauce, but not dry, and the grainy mustard sauce was a refreshing change from a creamy dressing for potato salad.

The meals were filling. But the dessert menu looked appealing, in spite of being rather pricey. A whiskey tumbler full of Black Forest Trifle was $12. The sour cherries and kirsch jelly were wonderful, and we enjoyed sharing a dessert.

I accompanied my meal with German dark beer, and my wife had a glass of Malbec. Both were $12, so also not cheap. But everything was authentic, the service was quick (perhaps because we were the first ones seated at 6 when the restaurant opened), and the option of a fireplace table or a view table overlooking the river, outdoor skating rink, and toboggan hill was also really neat. All-in-all, an experience I can't wait to repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exactly what we hoped!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The service from start to finish was bang on. Mark was a champ at helping us work through the menu and determine the right amount of food. Wine pricing is steep but 'when in Rome' I guess. Be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special night in Banff

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We tried the waldhaus experince which was a multi course fondu meal. It started with a cheese fondu and a sald with a maple mustard vinaigrette that was amazing. The beef tenderloin fondu was tender and juicy. Finished off the night with an amazing tolburone fondu. Service was great. The only down side was trying to get to the restaurant due to location removed from the hotel with a lack of signs for direction. On the other hand on the way down they offered a shuttle back to parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal we had in Banff

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here with my husband for New Years Eve. A bit pricey but well worth it. Got the beer cheese fondue as an appetizer. So filling that we almost didn't have room for our entrées but couldn't bear to leave any in the pot it was so good! Had beef sauerbraten and Swiss veal schnitzel as our entrées. Both were excellent but the sauerbraten was both of our favorites. Unbelievably tender and flavorful. Sadly didn't save room for dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Simply wonderful

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We were visiting for the holidays and the Waldhaus was one of the best parts of the trip. We went early in the evening and had a wonderful table by the window and large fireplace. We were there for a couple of hours and enjoyed the fondue experience immensely. The service was FANTASTIC. They were very attentive but not so attentive that it made us hurry at all. They seriously have allowing their customers to enjoy their dinner down to an art. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waldhaus Was Wunderbar

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We celebrated our eighth wedding anniversary at The Waldhaus, and we couldn't have made a better choice. Great ambiance, fabulous food, and outstanding service. Thank you for a wonderful experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a pleasant evening.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

This has nothing to do with the Service or the food! It had to do with the atmosphere. People had no control of their children and what was to be a romantic evening turn out to be very upsetting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.