Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About WA Frost & Company

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Executive Chef:
Ben Allen

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: (651) 224-0525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (83)
Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Historic (77)
Fireplace (74)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Quiet Conversation (62)
Cozy (60)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Notable Wine List (33)
Authentic (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Business Meals (23)
Seasonal (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Private Room (16)
Healthy (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Scenic View (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (3)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The entrees are way too complicated. Too many flavors that don't work together. Visually messy. Have had a similar experience the last two or three times I've been there. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We went with another couple that were celebrating their wedding anniversary. The other couple said that WA Frost reviews had been poor a couple of years ago. We decided to give it a try. We all had wonderful meals and great service.

I

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the best places for a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Disappointing dining a few nights ago. Portions small. Steak over-cooked. Indifferent service, did not even acknowledge the un-eaten steak. Poor value and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was excellent. We had the ribeye and the duck. The service was another matter. The server was polite and nice but extremely slow. For example, my wife ordered a glass of wine when our meal arrived and she didn't get it until the table was being cleared after the meal, and it was the wrong wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome meal and customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lovely, enjoyed by all regardless of palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was a Thursday evening; 3,000 people were heading to the St. Paul Cathedral 3 blocks away for a concert. So, all (I'm sure) these people decided to eat out before the concert began at 7:30. The restaurant was quite full! We had no worries at our 5:45p seating. The staff was gracious, patient and timely--apparently everyone having dinner at Frost's were heading to the concert. We had a fine dinner and moved on in good time to the Cathedral. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner--fresh and flavorful--wonderful salad and shrimp sandwich. No complaints; just praise!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent service. Waiter was able to explain ingredients in the food items, pointing out selections which contain substances that might be allergenic in some circumstances. Menu offers everything from sandwiches through steak. Atmosphere is quiet leading to a thoroughly satisfactory dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The ambiance is wonderful, the food was very good but our service was terrible. The server kept disappearing for long periods of time and we twice had to flag another employee; once to find out about a long delay in getting our entrees and another to get our check. Disappointing; and even though we were celebrating a birthday we took a pass on ordering dessert after the waitress dropped off the menu and didn't return for more than 10 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was horrible. The Sunday menu was limited. The prices are outrageous. The entire experience was overshadowed by the horrible service. I will not return nor recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for brunch on a Sunday with a girlfriend. Waitress was just ok - seemed uninterested in everything about serving. Another worker tried to clear my latte which was still half full. They were out of both the caramel pecan roll and the scone. Everything just seemed slightly awkward. Food was good, though. I had the pork and grits and my friend had the ham hash and both were very yummy and a decent value. Overall, it was an ok experience, but nothing special. I had a much better experience when dining there for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good but took forever to come out of the kitchen. 3 hours for dinner was too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was great...setting was tremendous...Phoenix made our evening great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My family gathered to celebrate my 70th birthday. We made a late lunch reservation, had no trouble parking and enjoyed avoiding a crowd. The person who waited on us was polite, cheerful and helpful without intruding. The food was delightful, with unusual and delicious flavors. Without question I would repeat the experience and recommend W. A. Frost to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have eaten here many times and have always had a great experience. This time, the food was excellent as usual, but the service was unbelievably slow. We arrived on time for our 6:30p reservation. We ordered drinks and when they came, I ordered a bottle of wine. My friends had finished there first drink before I received my wine. (No they didn't chug them) Then they ordered another round and when that arrived we ordered our salads and dinner entrees. Our entrees arrived at 8:31. Again, they were delicious and we love this place. But this time the service was not only slow, but somewhat impersonal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent, high-class service for nicely priced food. Amazing building decor and ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 21, 2017

FYI, this is a $$$ restaurant, not $$ as posted. Food was great though, fancier than we planned, based on a $$ rating. Average plates are $30-40, you'll find a few cheaper, and the full on tasting was $100 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was outstanding. All of the nooks and crannies were a treat to checkout and explore.
Definitely come early to have a drink in one of the many the cozy enclaves in the basement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As usual WA Frost was excellent. Once again the tasting menu was done very well and the wine pairings were great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have been to WA Frost several times on patio - great venue for summer outdoor dining. This is as first time dining in the main dining room. Ambiance meets same high standards as memorable patio. Ordered tasting menu with wine accompaniments. A few of the courses were very flavorful and the wine pairings were very nice. We were disappointed however with the pace of the meal and after the first two courses being rushed out back-to-back my husband asked for the kitchen to slow down. A tasting menu should last 1.5-2 hours in my opinion. Will definitely visit WA Frost again for the patio dining experience and maybe a standard dinner out, but Meritage remains our go-to for tasting menu with wine pairings and fabulous service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We ordered two $65 plates. Courses were small, the lamb leg was decent sized but neither of us could eat much of it, if any - it seemed very very under-cooked. The presentation of the food was very nice and the ambiance of the establishment is beautiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

An amazing place for a dinner date. Nice quite atmosphere. Food was delicious. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was spectacular, and while our server was very good, the service itself was exceedingly slow. We waited over an hour and a half for our entrée and after 45 minutes were brought a cup of soup to enjoy during our wait, which would have been a lovely gesture had it not later appeared on our bill. This was not on a holiday nor a weekend night so there's really no excuse for the length of time it took; especially as other diners that were seated up to an hour after us were dining before we were. No apology nor even table-side visit from a manager. Quite disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was very excited to be taking my wife out for dinner. It was one of our last times heading out before out child is born. We both ordered steak. She got the 8oz Bistro and I got the 12 Oz Ribeye.

She ate her cut cause she was hungry. She had to eat it. It was salty.

When I took a bite of mine is was like I took a mouth full of salt water. You know the taste -it's that too salty sour taste that, once tasted, is hard to get out of the mouth. I just couldn't. It was just terrible.

So yeah. Not that great at all. I'm being nice.

Now. The ambiance? Fantastic. This is the kind of place that you go for a glass of wine, a nice bourbon (their selection is pretty good!) and a cheese plate. Their cheese selection is great.

Patio? Yep. They've got that. Nice to sit, drink and eat a nice cheese plate.

Yep -you don't go there for the food.

That's all I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time at W.A Frost , and I normally tip very well , but our experience and service were so good that I didn't feel 25% was even enough . The attention that our waiter gave us was during our lunch there was way above and beyond that I have experienced in a long time .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good menu selection with variety of accompanying wines and dessert options.
Nice and quiet; easy to have a conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's day lunch at WA Frost is just as romantic as it should be with attentive service and great food which is also healthy. Great ambiance with old style paintings, a fireplace, and outdoor views on a sunny day. A great selection of wines- including half bottles for lunch. A great selection of after meal cheeses. It is quiet enough that a couple can hear each others valentine's romantics. There is also ample nearby parking at mid day unlike many downtown MSP locations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere is pleasant. The food was good. The service was poor. Sometimes our party of five did not see our waiter for 15 minutes or more. Our food, pretty simple orders, was quite slow in arriving. We ordered a dessert to go and after 10+ minutes had to ask if it was ready. It was a piece of cake. We were told the kitchen staff was "working on dessert orders." The restaurant was half full at that time. We were there for over 2.5 hours. Good thing we like each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had an incredible evening at WA Frost & Company! After our delicious dinner, I proposed to my girlfriend on the Patio! I know we'll be back for years to come!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had heard great things about your place and decided to celebrate our anniversary with you. The experience exceeded ALL of our expectations and made for a very memorable evening. We will definitely return again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quickly seated on a late Sunday morning, excellent service, fine food, great ambiance. We don't eat there often enough!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here with my wife for a pre-Valentine's Day date night. Amazing food and a very romantic atmosphere. Enjoyed drinks in the lounge and then dinner in one of the main rooms. This was our third dinner and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was SLOW. Didn't get seated until 20 minutes + after our reservation. Each course took more than 30 minutes. Even the tiramisu took dam near 30 minutes. I realize it was Valentine's Day weekend but I was shocked how slow the service was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had not been there for many years!! Cannot wait to go back again!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was amazing and when the bill came we knew why. Everything was cooked to a precision, but expensive. Definitely not an everyday outing. Lovely ambiance, love the wood heat and historical building.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our first time here - from beginning to end it was a phenomenal experience! The wait staff was friendly and helpful and the meal was extraordinary. The ambience was great as we sat in a room near a wood fire. We highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 at 7pm. We made it 3 weeks in advance, because this place is popular. I chose the restaurant, because the menu was accommodating for those of us that wanted to splurge on a nice entree, and those that might want a more mid-range priced item.

We started with the five cheese platter. It was delicious. For dinner, I ordered the micro-entree duck confit. It was delicious also. The portion size is smaller, so having a soup and appetizer with the micro-entrees is recommended, otherwise go for the full-size. I liked the option.

Despite this being a popular place, we did not feel rushed at all. After dinner, we went down to the basement lounge for another drink. The atmosphere down there is amazing. There are bays with chairs and coffee tables all along the perimeter. The place is lit with candles and small lamps and it has a very cozy old world look to it. It would be a great place to come and order a bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was fairly good, great presentation. My steak was excellent as was the potato and roasted brussel sprouts . Autumn salad lacked pizazz, and one other guest said his greens seemed wilty, another guest didn't finish his salad due to an "off" flavor. Wine list terrific, however we service was very slow for drinks. Unfortunately, we intentionally ordered a different wine to accent our food, but they didn't arrive until AFTER our meal was finished. We tried flagging down a busboy to find our server, but still no drinks. Ultimately, we had wine without our food and that was a real downer. I suppose we could have waited until our food was cold to have the wine, but thankfully our water glasses were full.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.