About WA Frost & Company

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: 651-224-0525x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
6 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Value
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (162)
romantic (148)
neighborhood gem (135)
See All
great for outdoor dining (133)
fit for foodies (108)
great for lunch (61)
notable wine list (54)
good for groups (49)
great for brunch (49)
scenic view (22)
hot spot (22)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not great

Dined 3 days ago

I hadn't been to WA Frost in a long time, and my overall experience just wasn't as good as I remembered in the past. We sat inside by my choice - really should have just sat outside in their lovely patio. Service was surprisingly slow, but assumed it was due to large crowd outside. I had the lamb shank, which had a flavorful sauce but seemed a bit tough. My friend had the chicken, it came with an overly spicy sauce/side. Salad was great. Just expected something better I guess - was still a good meal, just not as good as I hoped. Would go back but with different expectations, and definitely sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love W.A. Frost, however I was a litt ...

Dined 5 days ago

We love W.A. Frost, however I was a little disappointed this time around. We had a group of 12 and the service seemed unusually slow. We had to wait over 20 minutes to be seated (with a reservation), and our food and beverage service was extra slow. Food was great, however!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were entertaining friends/co-workers ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were entertaining friends/co-workers from Georgia and the atmosphere, food and service were excellent. The environment was pleasant and conducive to great discussion during our meal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We usually are very happy with Frost's. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We usually are very happy with Frost's. This time, the host did not inform the second party to arrive that the first party was already seated and wasn't able to find the reservation . So we ended up at separate tables waiting for 20 minutes. Bad experience.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great patio!

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We were lucky enough to get a seat outside on a day that was perfect for alfesco dining. One of the best patios in St. Paul!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Our wait person was quite condescending ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our wait person was quite condescending and plates were cleared far too quickly for our taste. We had to stop this from happening as we weren't asked whether we were in fact done. Food was not consistent with WA Frost's reputation - asked that the salmon be cooked through and it wasn't.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our mom for a belated Mother's D ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We took our mom for a belated Mother's Day brunch and it was delightful. The portions were slightly smaller than you might see at some other places but we didn't mind. The food was good and the service was perfect. Great for mimosa with the gals or a family occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience, highly recommended! Ou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience, highly recommended! Our waiter was so helpful and attentive. We loved the food and ambiance too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

What are you looking for?

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you are looking for excellent service and great ambiance I highly recommend the restaurant. The food was average which was a bit dissapointing but the overall experience was good.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu too exotic for me; very few recogn ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Menu too exotic for me; very few recognized options

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good and a good value

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at WA Frosts for several decades, going once or twice a year. We have consistently found good food, atmosphere, and service over that time. We like the lower noise levels in the "back" rooms and have loved dining on the outdoor patio. And there is enough parking around that we never have walked too far. In fact, after a good meal we have often strolled around the neighborhood which is really quite nice and safe. Frost's is not inexpensive, but delivers the value for cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Ruined dining experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

I chose this spot as a pre-confirmation dinner for my daughter. We had six in our party and told the server we needed to be at the Cathedral at a certain time. It was very lengthy between visits despite us dining on a Monday evening and it was not a full house. Our server was somewhat condescending (at least that is the vibe she gave) and not friendly. I think it was an attempt to be formal. We allowed 1-1/2 hours for our dining and ended up getting our food 10 minutes before we needed to leave. My daughter was in tears. I love WA Frost and will be back, but this was just an unfortunate experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1

I booked a table for nine people to cele ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I booked a table for nine people to celebrate a big moment in my life, for which my parents had flown in from out of town. I spent a week pouring over reviews, and selected W. A. Frost because it had such a storied past, and the reviews were generally good. I brushed off the recent poor ratings, as they often mentioned lunch, or that they had walked in. I figured that making a reservation, coming for dinner, and emphasizing that we were there to celebrate would ensure that it went smoothly. I couldn't have been more wrong. We were seated in the back room, which was beautifully decorated, and peaceful. After 20 minutes, a startled looking busboy arrived with water to silently fill our glasses. The waiter, who was the one bright spot, arrived a few minutes later, and proceeded to tell us not the specials, but what entrees were missing from the menu, including all of the hamburgers. Solid start. After we ordered our meals, the busboy scurried back in with bread, the only food for the next 45 minutes. At 15 minutes after ordering, the waiter came back to check on our beverages, and assured us it would be just moments for our food. At 30 minutes, 50 minutes after being seated, he stopped back to promise that our food would be the next out of the kitchen. At 45 minutes, still with no sign of our dinners, I excused myself to go move my car from the 2 hour parking spot that I had found. When I got back, 4 of our 7 entrees had arrived. The other three were "on their way out". 10 minutes later, 2 more appeared, but not mine. 5 minutes after that, when our waiter stopped to see how everything was tasting, he realized I still didn't have my food. Finally my Cod came. When it was time for dessert, we were told 1 out of the 5 options was gone. When he came back to take our order, another was gone. Had our meals come on time, I would have been able to enjoy it. They did comp our drinks and dessert, but I wont be back. Solid food, nice staff, atrocious time management.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

special event......special place

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wanted to find a special place with a sense of history good food and memorable atmosphere, Found it here!!! We'll be back

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

disappointment

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated in a dining room by ourselves, and our waiter pretty much forgot we were there. We waited 20 minutes for him to bring our beverages. He didn't bother to check on us or clear our plates from our cheese course. The food was good, but not great; for as much as they charge for their food, I expected the food to be great. Not likely to return.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Unimpressed with the service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been coming to WA Frost for years, as I love the atmosphere and the food is consistently good. It was a special occasion to bring my 80 year old mom for Mothers Day. We didn't get served for quite some time after we sat down, and it was very cool in the restaurant which was tough on an old lady. The server was rarely seen, and I had to keep tracking him down to place our order or to get refills. My mother had never been to WA Frost so this was her only impression. I was embarrassed that we didn't receive better service although the soup and salad we had were good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Patio in Town

Dined on May 6, 2016

When the sun arrived everybody goes to WA Frost for lunch...it truly is the best patio in town...the setting is historic...a diverse menu with something for every palate, the carnivores and vegetarians were both happy...great service, although a wee bit slow on this busy day...a few extra umbrellas on this sunny day would have been helpful...

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sunday lunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went at 1:00 on a Sunday and I had not checked the menu in advance. Having had a lovely lunch there not too long ago, on a week day, I had expected the same menu with nice choices. Apparently on Sunday's, you get breakfast and limited lunch choices, for which I was disappointed. It was why fault for not checking the menu online before making the reservation.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

i love WA Frost ... one of my top favorites.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

my guest gave the Scallops a 10! my rib eye steak looked great but was very chewy and struggled with it. I gave it a 4

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Nothing like inconsistancy to disappoint

Dined on April 29, 2016

I suggested Frosts for lunch because of the bouillabaisse I had ordered several weeks earlier. My companion ordered the kedgeree, because my lunch partner on the previous visit had it, I tasted it and thought it was fantastic. This time around the bouillabaisse was an entirly different dish. There were no shrimp or scallops as previously, and consisted of mussels and what tasted like generic codfish. When I commented about this to our very capable server she checked with the kitchen who said that what the menu describes as "fish" can be one kind of fish or an assortment depending on the whims of the chef. The broth in the bou. had very little character, and could not compare to my first try. The kedgeree was also not up to my first visit, and lacked the bounce and kick of the curry spices I had tasted previously. So we left rather non-plussed with our lunch, and it will be much longer before my next visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely brunch on a rainy morning.

Dined on April 24, 2016

W.A. Frost offers a nice brunch menu. I had the biscuits and gravy and my date had the omelette du jour (broccoli & cheese). The biscuits and gravy were divine! The gravy was particularly wonderful, and the biscuit was light and airy. The gravy had the perfect amount of spice. My date enjoyed his omelette, as well. We had a view of their outdoor patio, and although it was raining and we couldn't enjoy the outdoors, we did enjoy looking outside at the birds and the green space. Ambiance was A+.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Relaxing Spot to Dine

Dined on April 24, 2016

We really enjoy dining at Frost's. The food is always good and we can get a great bottle of wine there. We never feel rushed and the restaurant atmosphere is relaxed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were excited to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, and heard great things about WA Frost. Since we were a party of twelve, I was told we could not be on the gorgeous patio. I understood that, except the patio was only half full for the duration of our stay. The evening started off well, with our table being ready and the hostess wishing my wife a happy 40th. That was the high point. Our server never acknowledged the occasion, even once. He disappeared for long stretches and seemed annoyed during our drink orders. The food was pretty good but the other items diminished the experience. Overall, we wished we had selected a different location.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambiance

Dined on April 23, 2016

First time going to WA Frost. I was pretty impressed. Gorgeous inside with old brick and dark wood. Paintings on the walls make it feel homey. It's has a warm vibe. Great place for a date, romantic with that cool factor. Great food too and a big beverage list. Steak was done perfectly, lots of flavor, will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food and service were wonderful...dessert too! Can hardly wait to have a lunch out on the patio!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

W.A. Frost

Dined on April 16, 2016

Patio dining at its finest. Waiter was excellent. Wine list very good. Food choices limited on menu, however, heard a new menu is in the works.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food; terrible service

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had to get our server from the kitchen so that we might order after waiting 20 minutes from the time we were given our menus. Then my friend ordered bouillabaisse and was brought only a fork with which to eat it. After waiting at least 10 minutes for our waiter to check back, I had to ask the manager for a soup spoon. There was only one other table of diners inside; our waiter, who was quite pleasant, said that he was taking care of a lot of tables on the patio. I suggested W. A. Frost to my friend and was embarrassed by the service. On the positive side, her bouillabaisse and my omelet were excellent. It was such a shame that the experience was diminished by poor service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Walleye

Dined on April 15, 2016

I love seafood and would never have considered ordering a walleye. I just skipped over it the first time I saw the item on the menu. However, next time through I paid attention to the description. I ordered it and was amazed by the light flavorful taste and texture. It was marvelous. Thank you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We always enjoy going to W A Frost. The ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

We always enjoy going to W A Frost. The food is great and the service is good. Looking forward to lunch on the patio.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Still love W.A. Frost

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great menu, wine list, and ambience. Perfect for a cozy intimate dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Frost Fan

Dined on April 2, 2016

Love the décor. The walleye was perfect, as were the demi-glace veggies. Service was very attentive. Also had private party here and the food and service were just as great and staff very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WA Frost

Dined on April 2, 2016

The location is great, the restaurant clean and welcoming. Loved it but I felt the menu could use more items. The food we ordered was very good. In general it was a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Missed opportunities

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been going to W.A. Frost for years but are somewhat disappointed with where it is right now. The ambiance of the restaurant can't be beat but the kitchen and waitstaff need to up their game if they want to compete with the new restaurants that have come to the Twin Cities.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six of us dined together

Dined on March 19, 2016

Six of us dined together before going on to the opera. Our waiter was outstanding. He had a great sense of humor and offered his opinion on the food when asked. We all benefited from his advice. The cassoulet was superb. One member of our party ordered the kedegee and liked it. She described it as very interesting. We also ordered the mussels, which were excellent. The ambiance is very charming and adds a great deal of pleasure to the dining out experience. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Lovely place, great patio. Went there mid-week. I was surprised that when my main course came out that my potatoes and vegetables were cold. Not happy about that. Otherwise a nice dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

Service was very slow and not very good. ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Service was very slow and not very good. The soup described as having "melted cheese" on it had a slice of crispy bread in it instead. They wouldn't sub a vegetable for rice. I ordered a cider and the waitress placed an open can in front of me... No glass... So fancy (she eventually brought one after I asked). The food was fine, but the overall experience was not great. There are plenty of other nice restaurants in the area I'd go to first.

food4
ambience4
service1

If you have somewhere to be, might not b ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

If you have somewhere to be, might not be your first choice. Great meal though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had our belated Valentines date night here, and it was amazing! Everything was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service4

Service and Restaurant was beautiful. Th ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service and Restaurant was beautiful. That said... the food... not good. Literally everything (except the bread) was uncooked. Chunks of hard uncooked potatoes, carrots, onions.... not good. Please try harder at the prices you are selling dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thumbs Up!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our waiter, Paul, was fantastic. He took the time the answer our questions and explain the menu. It was our first visit to WA Frost and we will definitely be back. Out-of-this world decor, atmosphere, service, and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.