About WA Frost & Company

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: 651-224-0525x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Aspa
Pimm's Cup
Shrimp Cocktail
Lovetree Farms Big Holmes Goat Cheese
Mini Cheese Burger & Fries
Korean Barbeque Chicken Wings with Dill Cream Sauce
Ice Water
Mixed Lettuces
Bad Weather
Salty Dog
Mixed Greens Salad
Kit Kat
Créme Brulé
Mahi Mahi
New Fangled
Braised Lamb Neck
Hemmingway Daiquiri
Lamb Soup
Barrel Aged Godfather
Duck Confit Salad
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Dessert Trio
Mango Cannoli
Violett Tonic And A Earl-Grey Pimmogranate Press!!
Slow Roasted Hidden Stream Farms Pork Shoulder
Mussels
Pan Roasted Wild Acre Half Chicken
Half Roasted Chic
Alsatian Tarte Flambée
Zucchini Bread
Peterson Farm Limousin Burger
Cassoulet
Duck Breast
Rib Eye
House Made Charcuterie Platter
Steelhead Trout
Trio Of Small Plates
Pork Chop
Smoked Salmon Sandwich, Cucumber, Foccacia
various tapas
Bloody Mary
Classic Eggs Benedict
Artichoke Dip

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / St. Paul
5 More
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (127)
Special Occasion (99)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
See All
Romantic (85)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Groups (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Great for Brunch (36)
Scenic View (28)
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Historic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Late-night Find (15)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fireplace (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WA Frost continues to impress We went to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

WA Frost continues to impress

We went to WA Frost for a small birthday dinner. The food was excellent and the ambience comfortable and elegant. I was especially surprised and pleased by the side of Orzo salad. I expected a Mediterranean style savory salad with feta cheese and olives. The actual dish is sweet with dates and greens along with the orzo. Unexpected but very welcome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to W.A. on a first date and boy was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went to W.A. on a first date and boy was she impressed! :-) Ambiance, service and food were all top-notch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A limited menu and slow service are the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

A limited menu and slow service are the reasons we won't be going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice place for dinner, entrees a bit sal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Nice place for dinner, entrees a bit salty, service good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love W A frost,it's our favorite spot,pe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Love W A frost,it's our favorite spot,perfect for a special night out.Food and service is always fantastic, will always be a loyal customer

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Beautiful re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Beautiful restaurant. Good location.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great,except the service. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Everything was great,except the service.

Slow server,not attentive,not personal. Had to wait and wait....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

It was our anniversary, and the dinner c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our anniversary, and the dinner could not have been nicer. It was a beautiful evening and they have some of the nicest patio dinning in town. We had great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A thrill. Did not know what to expect, s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

A thrill. Did not know what to expect, so happy we gave it a chance. Somewhat out of the way, although not really.; in St Paul. We had two champagne flights, a whiskey flight, two appetizers and two entrees. We enjoyed the tuna special appetizer, charcuterie, a vegetarian option & cod. Fantastic. Service and ambiance were splendid. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I came to Minnesota for ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to Minnesota for a Vikings game for the first time. Beforehand I had researched restaurants and stumbled upon WA Frost. Everything was fantastic but the ambiance is like no other. It is so neat, there is nothing like it. I recommend everyone checks it out!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

I wish I could remember our server's nam ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I wish I could remember our server's name. She was exceptional.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters were terrible, food was incredib ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Oysters were terrible, food was incredibly slow to come out, the waitress was kind and helpful, she can't do much if the kitchen can't get the food out the door in a timely manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Great atmosphere for a nice evening with ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great atmosphere for a nice evening with friends. Beautiful outdoor area , low key, and good food made for a very relaxing evening. Service was just right - attentive without hovering.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambience out in the patio was great, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The ambience out in the patio was great, food was great, but service sloppy. There was broken glass under our table, which was scary because we had with us our baby who is just beginning to crawl. Then one of our vegetarian friends got chicken pasta served to him. For which they later apologized and replaced with vegetarian pasta, but he had to wait and watch us eat while the stuff that he had ordered was sitting elsewhere, cold and lonely!

I'd recommend this place to my friends, but always with a footnote about their service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Best patio in St. Paul. Excellent food-b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best patio in St. Paul. Excellent food-best duck breast ever! Wonderful service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whether you're a local or just passing t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Whether you're a local or just passing through the area, you must go to W.A. Frost. We highly recommend it - it's one of our absolute favorites! Do yourself a favor and order the soup, even in the summer time. We've never been disappointed no matter what the soup has been. The service is always spectacular - W.A. Frost does a great job of making you feel comfortable and appreciated as a customer. Can't say enough good about this St. Paul favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved a table for 12 for our book ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We reserved a table for 12 for our book club on Tuesday night. We ended up with only 8 people and it was perfect. The wait staff was phenomenal! We split two bottles of wine and had dinner. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have enjoyed coming here for years. This ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have enjoyed coming here for years. This was the first time dining on the fantastic patio.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here every year with my friend fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I come here every year with my friend for our annual birthday lunch. We love the ambiance and quiet atmosphere of the patio which has trees growing right in the middle of it. It is always quiet enough for conversation and great for people watching. The food is always very good and of high quality. T We came at 12:30 and didn't leave till almost 3. It was a good time.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was exquisitely delicious . T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food was exquisitely delicious . The atmosphere is breathtaking and the service was what you hope far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food and wi e selection were really good ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and wi e selection were really good. Loved the atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had Michael outside and he was amazin ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had Michael outside and he was amazing! Had such a good time with him and he made us feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My friend and I decided to enjoy an even ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My friend and I decided to enjoy an evening meal at a restaurant with outdoor dining and chose W A Frost because we enjoy the food and the ambience. I chose the trout and was very pleasantly surprised. It was extraordinarily delicious.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Gouda grits and collards!! Fir ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved the Gouda grits and collards!! First time I've had great southern food in the Midwest!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We loved everything but the food, with t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved everything but the food, with the exception of the cheese plate; tasty choices & beautifully presented. Two of us had the pasta which was overly salted. Love garlic, but it overwhelmed the dish. The smoked chicken salad was good, not great . We thought some changes to the menu might be in order-lightening up some of the options for summer, especially.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We went to WA Frost for brunch. We like ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to WA Frost for brunch. We like the place and go once or twice a year, usually for a nice romantic dinner out. On this occasion we were there with our son and his significant other who were visiting from California. My only complaints were with the waiter. He was not very prompt, totally forgot cream for my coffee even after I reminded him. He was aloof, and decided to "test us" by using the word "snit" for what we call a beer chaser with bloody Mary's. When my son's girlfriend, who is from Illinois and lives in LA did not understand what he was talking about, he said "you must be from out of town!", but not in a friendly nice way. My son and I both ordered the steak and eggs, and were asked how we want our eggs done. We both said over-easy. The plates came with scrambled eggs and we got a half-apology and were almost done with our meal when the over easy eggs were delivered. Not only that, but mine were over-medium. My son noticed that on the menu the entree said "with scrambled eggs". Why did he ask us how we wanted our eggs done? No wonder the order was wrong. All in all a C+ rating on what should have been a solid A. Disappointed, but we will likely be back at some point. If we have another experience like this, we may be done. Hopefully we hit them on an off day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

I never write reviews. But I can't say e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I never write reviews. But I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our experience at WA Frost.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a place to celebrate our anniversary ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As a place to celebrate our anniversary with friends, we found Frost's to be perfect. The noise level made conversation easy, the ambiance romantic, and the food and wine exceptional. The menu choices were creative allowing everyone options that fit their needs.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food and ambience. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent service and food and ambience. Expensive and many mice on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the first time we have eaten on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is the first time we have eaten on the patio. It was delightful! A completely delightful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have in the past always had good exper ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I have in the past always had good experiences at WA Frost and in general would recommend them, but I had a very disappointing evening on my most recent visit. A menu item was unavailable, and instead of asking about a substitution the staff made a choice to bring something else instead. My main entree (lamb shank) was cold - not simply 'not hot' as though it had cooled down from when it was plated, but cold as though it had been cooked previously and should have been re-heated but was not. It was significantly colder than the plate or the vegetables plated with it. It did taste good, just would have been much better warm. Our waitress was difficult to find when we needed her - not sure if she was spread too thin over her territory or just inattentive. Silverware was not brought out prior to the entrees being served. We saw bread baskets being brought to other tables but not ours, causing us to wonder why we were not offered bread. Overall the evening that should have been a great night out made me feel like the establishment did not respect nor appreciate my business.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The service was very slow and the prices ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was very slow and the prices were quite high. Took an hour to get our appetizer (no exaggeration) but the patio is lovely

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

WE had brunch to celebrate a birthday. W ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

WE had brunch to celebrate a birthday. We got right in but disappointed there was no outside dining even though there were many empty tables. We were wondering if that was because of Open Table, but no one confirmed that.

I thought the food was delicious, especially the sauce on the eggs benedict. I thought it was a bit skimpy--my omelette was just OK, potatoes on the side with tasty spices. But omelette and potatoes, that's it. No fruit or extra, it was gluten free, I get that, but some fruit would have been nice.

Doesn't keep me from coming back as I do like it there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent patio - pretty and quiet. Exc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent patio - pretty and quiet. Excellent brunch - we all loved our food. Great place to visit too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Servers seemed to be a bit busy. Waited ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Servers seemed to be a bit busy. Waited a bit for everything, however, did not take away from the evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent food and ambiance. We ate here ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. We ate here just to get together for dinner, but it would make a really great restaurant for any special occasion. Server was fantastic. We ate indoors, but there is an exceptionally nice outdoor dining area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited an hour for our food. Beatrice g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Waited an hour for our food.

Beatrice gave us a discount, which was the right thing to do, and the food was good... But an hour is unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

I made a reservation through Open Table ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I made a reservation through Open Table for 6:45 PM. The weather looked nice for the evening planned so I called that morning and asked that the reservation be switched to the patio area. I was told this could be done. My daughter arrived at the restaurant first and was told the reservation was inside. I insisted that I had called and was told they had no record of the call so nothing could be done.

I was very upset and it ruined the evening for me. It was my husband's birthday and all my children were together so that was nice, but the atmosphere was not what I intended.

My appetite was ruined and I was very disappointed.

There was no apology or explanation for the mixup and no offer of a dessert or any other remuneration for the mistake.

I would not suggest returning to W.A. Frost when there are so many other wonderful choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

WA Frost has one of the best patios in t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

WA Frost has one of the best patios in the Twin Cities. Spacious, romantic and comfortable. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes think so too. Great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.