Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About WA Frost & Company

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Executive Chef:
Ben Allen

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: (651) 224-0525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Romantic (60)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Cozy (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Historic (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Authentic (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Scenic View (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Fireplace (16)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
People Watching (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (6)
Private Room (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The outdoor patio is very scenic. Nice in the shade. Older crowd during mid-day. Would love if their brunch specials were during the week and not just weekends. Food was delicious! Dessert was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the WA Frost patio in the summer! It feels intimate with well-placed and tended plants, and the wait staff is attentive and knowledgable, without being invasive. And the food is superb! Love the just-right sized portions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter and food was wonderful. We will definitely return! However, we had to wait for the host/hostess, and I noticed that almost everyone had to do the same thing. It was nice to see business people coming in for a nice lunch wait too long to be seated when there was plenty of seating open inside and out.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Our table was happy with the ambiance and food. However, the $45 t-bone was not a $45 cut... very tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Annual birthday lunch for a friend. Awesome garden patio in summer-very relaxing with great food. I've never had a bad food selection there. Our server was the best- always love when we get Mary.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food didn't seem up to their standards on a Tuesday night. Try the weekend, usually excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Our food was absolutely wonderful. I had the steak salad and my partner had the shrimp po'boy. Both of us will be back shortly to enjoy more of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Scallops and steak were amazing. The mussels were 50% bad. We made reservations for our anniversary on a Monday night. On the reservation we noted we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. At time of check in we were asked if we were celebrating anything and we said yes, our 18th wedding anniversary. When our bill came we were surprised to see we were overcharged for our wine and disappointed they didn't acknowledge our anniversary in any way.. a little chocolate, something!! They asked multiple times if we were celebrating! We felt that was a missed opportunity to provide an exceptional experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The first time my fiance and I went was in July of 2015 and everything was so good. I honestly don't remember what we ate but I remember it was superb. We spent a good amount of time in the lounge basement which was cozy and quiet with drink service directly to your alcove and couch.
This time, for our anniversary, we returned. The service was slow but he gave a round of free drinks because he was aware he was slow. The food was adequate. The Korean BBQ wings were good, my chicken salad tasted more than egg salad because of whatever Dijon mustard they used, but it wasn't terrible. My fiance's steak was a bit chewy but he didn't complain. Overall, the atmosphere is lovely, there is a pretty extensive drink menu and the lounge downstairs is cozy. The patio looked beautiful but we prefer to eat without sweating over everything.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Another meal at WA Frost, sat outside this time/ Usual good food, however limited menu, decent service.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Waiter could have been a bit more attentive. Korean chicken wings thumbs way down. I love the ambience at Frosts. The main entres are always good. A little pricey but worth it for the beautiful garden patio and dining room.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Extremely slow service from kitchen staff. 45 minutes waiting for food. Side dishes on dinner plate were cold when served. Very expensive prices for drinks and food of average qualiy. Again very poor performance from kitchen staff but wait staff was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We loved the staff, the menu options, the quality and presentation of the food. It was an excellent choice to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The service is exceptional! The ambiance is lovely, and the food is amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were a party of five. We all had starters and the couple that shared the cheese selection were thrilled. The salads were acceptable. Three of us had the lamb and we were pleased as was the person who chose the steak. My wife chose the pork tenderloin and it arrived cold. After sending the dish back to the kitchen, it returned a long while later, not as cold, but certainly not hot. Despite this my wife ate the pork and raved about the sauce! Desserts often let a restaurant down and WA frost did not disappoint. My wife's creme brulee was "great", but those of us that chose the cherry option were surprised to be served a very unfresh and stodgy offering. To the servers credit, he apologized profusely for the glitch with my wife's entree and we were not charged for this item. The Tasting Menu which we would have loved to have tried was "unavailable" and the "Monday half-price wine offer", we discovered, pertained only to the very high priced wines. That was naughty ! I do not think that we shall be rushing back for a special occasion....next time we will have a burger on the patio !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 3, 2017

One of the best outdoor patios in StPaul. We went for a birthday dinner but it's beautiful to just go for drinks there too. You have to call them to request your reservation be outside though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and great food. Ideal for an "occasion". Excellent entre selections. The service was excellent, the right balance between attentive and not rushing us through our meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I really enjoyed the outdoor dining. We were there on a Sunday morning. The food was great, and our waiter friendly and helpful. For some reason, we couldn't get in the front door at 10:30am, but finally realized we could go in the back. We loved the setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful as usual. 75 and sunny made for the perfect evening for their spectacular patio.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Awesome restaurant!!! Food and Service were outstanding!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Disappointed. Service was extremely slow and the waiter did not seem to care we were there.
Ordered pasta and was dry, not tasty, and warm. Bread was cool. Hamburger was just OK.
Nice place but not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It had been several years since we had last eaten at WA Frost, and we were very happy we made it back! Love the cheese tray, the drinks are great and although there wasn't a ton of vegetarian options, the pasta dish we had with morels and peas (forgot the name!) was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten, anywhere. Wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went for brunch. Great service and great food. They have a lovely patio but it wasn't warm enough to sit outside. Interior is also lovely and they have rooms downstairs that would be perfect for an evening drink.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 23, 2017

So sorry to say the food was good but not hot when served and the appetizer crab cake was more cake than crab. For the price they are asking, this was unacceptable. We still had a wonderful time because of how beautiful the building is and we were not going to let anything put a damper on our anniversary dinner. I wish I could write a better review. We also did not complain because we were in a ....let's not complain and put a damper on our 20th anniversary. Sorry but that is how the dinner went down.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Bouillabaisse was excellent. Broth was very tasty. Wife had tiny sandwich special. We both enjoyed our meals and were pleased with food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Look people visiting and they absolutely loved. Amazing patio great service and good food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day dinner for our first visit to W.A. Frost. The service was adequate - one large table in the back room and two small groups (3-4) including our table dining indoors, and the pace was very slow. Cocktails took a very long time to arrive and the server apologized several times for the bar being backed up. Minimal suggestions were offered and everything we ordered was an "excellent choice". Food was good overall. The lamb entree was excellent (as it should be at price point), halibut was good, and half chicken was very small and okay. We decided to skip dessert as we had already been there awhile. The historic building an decor were unique and a definite highlight. Our experience was fine overall but sorry to say we likely won't be back anytime soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined at noon on Sunday. The menu is very limited. Cheese plates are not available which is a mistake. We drove an hour to get there only to be offered eggs or a breakfast burger. They have great in the past but the last couple years it hasn't been worth the drive. On father's day you would think they would at least offer more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Asked for the patio on the phone and in person as it was visibly empty. Was told no room there. Then went inside - the hostess was wearing a t shirt and drinking coffee. She denied that we had a res. I mentioned open table and showed the confirmation. She said she'd squeeze us in - the restaurant was visibly empty. She told me I should always call to confirm. The patio and dining room remained empty until we left. It was Father's Day, so the rudeness and arrogance was a downer on top of $100 bill for 2 meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were looking forward to our patio reservation. With rain looming, we were seated at a table with no umbrella. When we asked the server what happens in case of rain, she said "it gets messy". We were not allowed to move to an empty table without an umbrella as those were saved for larger parties. We were a party of 2. Luckily we got the last table inside. Food was so-so. The salmon special was missing flavor. I'd go back on a nicer day to enjoy the lovely patio, but for no other reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

None of us were crazy about our food. Party of 9 and only the people who got the chef's burger liked their meals. The steak salad is extremely spicy and that needs to be stated on the menu. The halibut is the tiniest dish in the world and for a big 55 year old man, it was gone in about 3 bites lol also the shrimp sandwich on the menu I believe did not say the shrimp was battered and fried...just a very inaccurate menu and very mediocre food. The server also tried to take my plate away about 9 times near the end of the meal while I was still eating. It was obvious she wanted us gone. We were with out of town friends and not interested in leaving after just an hour.....she got her point across so I finally just have her my plate before finishing my food, and we left. Wish we chose a completely different restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The patio dining is one of the best in the Twin Cities, lovely setting. Food is good, outdoor lounge is the best!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I was a regular until I had consecutive bad overall experience here a year ago. Decided to give it another chance. Wished I hadn't because it was definitely not up to scratch for $130 + 20% gratuity, the service was indifferent, the food was mediocre and hadn't improved from the time before. so I think my money is better spent elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I made the reservation on the Open Table site. The restaurant did not receive it but could seat us without a reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

You simply can't beat Frost for ambience, on the patio, best in the Twin Cities. Food maybe a bit pricey, but atmosphere makes up for it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This has been one of my favorite summer spots. However they changed the menu (website is not updated) and the food was really awful. I actually didn't eat mine after a few bites. The waiter explained there is a new chef. I won't go again until menu is adjusted. Go for drinks and ambiance but not for the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

W.A. Frost is a charming institution in St. Paul that continues to serve good food in comfortable, somewhat old-fashioned, and quiet surroundings. We hosted a celebration brunch for a college graduate there, and received excellent service and very good food. I could only wish the brunch menu would incorporate more lunch - like entrees (so one could, for example, avoid eating eggs if one wished) and a few appetizers. But everyone went home replete and happy. I would happily return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A delightful evening with 3 of my 4 grown children and spouses. Very good food. Great patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful patio and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.