About WA Frost & Company

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Executive Chef:
Ben Allen

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: (651) 224-0525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (82)
Historic (79)
See All
Good for a Date (73)
Fireplace (71)
Quiet Conversation (62)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Cozy (61)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Authentic (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Tasting Menu (27)
Business Meals (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Seasonal (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Healthy (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Private Room (15)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Casual (12)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (7)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

FYI, this is a $$$ restaurant, not $$ as ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

FYI, this is a $$$ restaurant, not $$ as posted. Food was great though, fancier than we planned, based on a $$ rating. Average plates are $30-40, you'll find a few cheaper, and the full on tasting was $100 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was outstanding. All of the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was outstanding. All of the nooks and crannies were a treat to checkout and explore.

Definitely come early to have a drink in one of the many the cozy enclaves in the basement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to WA Frost several times on p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been to WA Frost several times on patio - great venue for summer outdoor dining. This is as first time dining in the main dining room. Ambiance meets same high standards as memorable patio. Ordered tasting menu with wine accompaniments. A few of the courses were very flavorful and the wine pairings were very nice. We were disappointed however with the pace of the meal and after the first two courses being rushed out back-to-back my husband asked for the kitchen to slow down. A tasting menu should last 1.5-2 hours in my opinion. Will definitely visit WA Frost again for the patio dining experience and maybe a standard dinner out, but Meritage remains our go-to for tasting menu with wine pairings and fabulous service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We ordered two $65 plates. Courses were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered two $65 plates. Courses were small, the lamb leg was decent sized but neither of us could eat much of it, if any - it seemed very very under-cooked. The presentation of the food was very nice and the ambiance of the establishment is beautiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

An amazing place for a dinner date. Nice ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

An amazing place for a dinner date. Nice quite atmosphere. Food was delicious. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was spectacular, and while our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was spectacular, and while our server was very good, the service itself was exceedingly slow. We waited over an hour and a half for our entrée and after 45 minutes were brought a cup of soup to enjoy during our wait, which would have been a lovely gesture had it not later appeared on our bill. This was not on a holiday nor a weekend night so there's really no excuse for the length of time it took; especially as other diners that were seated up to an hour after us were dining before we were. No apology nor even table-side visit from a manager. Quite disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I was very excited to be taking my wife ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was very excited to be taking my wife out for dinner. It was one of our last times heading out before out child is born. We both ordered steak. She got the 8oz Bistro and I got the 12 Oz Ribeye.

She ate her cut cause she was hungry. She had to eat it. It was salty.

When I took a bite of mine is was like I took a mouth full of salt water. You know the taste -it's that too salty sour taste that, once tasted, is hard to get out of the mouth. I just couldn't. It was just terrible.

So yeah. Not that great at all. I'm being nice.

Now. The ambiance? Fantastic. This is the kind of place that you go for a glass of wine, a nice bourbon (their selection is pretty good!) and a cheese plate. Their cheese selection is great.

Patio? Yep. They've got that. Nice to sit, drink and eat a nice cheese plate.

Yep -you don't go there for the food.

That's all I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

This was our first time at W.A Frost , a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time at W.A Frost , and I normally tip very well , but our experience and service were so good that I didn't feel 25% was even enough . The attention that our waiter gave us was during our lunch there was way above and beyond that I have experienced in a long time .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good menu selection with variety of acco ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good menu selection with variety of accompanying wines and dessert options.

Nice and quiet; easy to have a conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's day lunch at WA Frost is jus ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's day lunch at WA Frost is just as romantic as it should be with attentive service and great food which is also healthy. Great ambiance with old style paintings, a fireplace, and outdoor views on a sunny day. A great selection of wines- including half bottles for lunch. A great selection of after meal cheeses. It is quiet enough that a couple can hear each others valentine's romantics. There is also ample nearby parking at mid day unlike many downtown MSP locations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere is pleasant. The food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere is pleasant. The food was good. The service was poor. Sometimes our party of five did not see our waiter for 15 minutes or more. Our food, pretty simple orders, was quite slow in arriving. We ordered a dessert to go and after 10+ minutes had to ask if it was ready. It was a piece of cake. We were told the kitchen staff was "working on dessert orders." The restaurant was half full at that time. We were there for over 2.5 hours. Good thing we like each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had an incredible evening at WA Frost & ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had an incredible evening at WA Frost & Company! After our delicious dinner, I proposed to my girlfriend on the Patio! I know we'll be back for years to come!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had heard great things about your pla ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had heard great things about your place and decided to celebrate our anniversary with you. The experience exceeded ALL of our expectations and made for a very memorable evening. We will definitely return again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quickly seated on a late Sunday morning, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quickly seated on a late Sunday morning, excellent service, fine food, great ambiance. We don't eat there often enough!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with my wife for a pre-Valenti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here with my wife for a pre-Valentine's Day date night. Amazing food and a very romantic atmosphere. Enjoyed drinks in the lounge and then dinner in one of the main rooms. This was our third dinner and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was SLOW. Didn't get seated unt ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was SLOW. Didn't get seated until 20 minutes + after our reservation. Each course took more than 30 minutes. Even the tiramisu took dam near 30 minutes. I realize it was Valentine's Day weekend but I was shocked how slow the service was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Had not been there for many years!! Cann ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had not been there for many years!! Cannot wait to go back again!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and when the bill c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was amazing and when the bill came we knew why. Everything was cooked to a precision, but expensive. Definitely not an everyday outing. Lovely ambiance, love the wood heat and historical building.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here - from beginning to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our first time here - from beginning to end it was a phenomenal experience! The wait staff was friendly and helpful and the meal was extraordinary. The ambience was great as we sat in a room near a wood fire. We highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 7 at 7pm. We ma ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 at 7pm. We made it 3 weeks in advance, because this place is popular. I chose the restaurant, because the menu was accommodating for those of us that wanted to splurge on a nice entree, and those that might want a more mid-range priced item.

We started with the five cheese platter. It was delicious. For dinner, I ordered the micro-entree duck confit. It was delicious also. The portion size is smaller, so having a soup and appetizer with the micro-entrees is recommended, otherwise go for the full-size. I liked the option.

Despite this being a popular place, we did not feel rushed at all. After dinner, we went down to the basement lounge for another drink. The atmosphere down there is amazing. There are bays with chairs and coffee tables all along the perimeter. The place is lit with candles and small lamps and it has a very cozy old world look to it. It would be a great place to come and order a bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was fairly good, great presentation ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was fairly good, great presentation. My steak was excellent as was the potato and roasted brussel sprouts . Autumn salad lacked pizazz, and one other guest said his greens seemed wilty, another guest didn't finish his salad due to an "off" flavor. Wine list terrific, however we service was very slow for drinks. Unfortunately, we intentionally ordered a different wine to accent our food, but they didn't arrive until AFTER our meal was finished. We tried flagging down a busboy to find our server, but still no drinks. Ultimately, we had wine without our food and that was a real downer. I suppose we could have waited until our food was cold to have the wine, but thankfully our water glasses were full.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Great place to escape the cold and sit n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place to escape the cold and sit near the fireplace in cozy setting. The staff are smart with great senses of humor, the menu is creative yet still falls into the category of comfort food, and the setting is calm and warm on a winter's evening. And I could live off of the stir-fried Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time with friends Service good and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good time with friends Service good and bar drinks good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding service, great menu. The fis ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding service, great menu. The fish I ordered was fresh and delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience with a very nice am ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very good experience with a very nice ambience. The food and service was excellent.... Huge wine list

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I've always enjoyed dinner and happy hou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've always enjoyed dinner and happy hour at Frost's. Went for brunch yesterday. The service was very slow, food took a long time getting there, and when it did, it was cold. The Gorgonzola omelette was good. The sausage that came with it was excellent. The potatoes, advertised as "home fries", were tiny, diced, cold, dry, and flavorless.

Also, they need to learn how to make tea--they put such a quantity of tea leaves into a small container and don't provide an easy way to take the leaves out that the tea was really bitter. Maybe tea bags would be a better idea. So, just my two cents.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great place for lunch. My wife with sist ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for lunch. My wife with sister in law and brother in law and my wife for a special lunch. They were in town from northern Minnesota.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a staff lunch to share our appr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was a staff lunch to share our appreciation for their hard work. The menu had something everyone could find that they liked and in all cases several things that they liked. From beverages to dessert it was a special meal that matched the special occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, , Special Occasion, Private Room, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the nicest dinner last evening with ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had the nicest dinner last evening with a friend. We both had the trout dish with sticky rice and a broth to die for. Best dish I've had in awhile. We also commented on how pleasant it was to have a quiet place to talk, dimmed lights and lovely surroundings. Just a perfect evening !

Tags: Wood Oven, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was beautiful, but the servi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The setting was beautiful, but the service and food was so slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had lunch there on the day of the Wom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had lunch there on the day of the Women's March so they were super busy but handled the crowd really well. Our wait staff was prompt and courteous - we received our food timely and everyone loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu wasn't as big as others, but th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The menu wasn't as big as others, but the food was excellent. The ambiance was amazing and it's a perfect spot for any special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

WA Frost is a Saint Paul staple. The foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

WA Frost is a Saint Paul staple. The food is always good, service friendly and ambiance charming.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful in winter with all the holiday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Beautiful in winter with all the holiday decor still up.

My daughter felt like she was in Europe. We will definitely stop back in the summer to check out the patio. The tasting menu was the perfect amount of food and a good opportunity to try out some new wines with the pairings. Kid friendly options like burgers, charcuterie, cheese, salad and desserts. Great service! Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu had many nice choices. We espe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu had many nice choices. We especially enjoyed the option to order micro entrees. Everything was well seasoned and tasty. We liked what we ordered and agreed the food was consistently good. And the setting is lovely.

It was a Saturday night and we had a reservation. Our server took our drink order and then did not return to our table for at least 15-20 minutes. We checked with the host to make sure our server had not forgotten us or had some other problem. Ten minutes later she brought our drinks, without an apology or explanation, and clearly angry because we checked with the host. The rest of the evening she was abrupt and not particularly cordial.

We would return for the food and the ambiance. Our server was out of line, but the rest of the wait staff was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Wonderful location with consistently gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful location with consistently great service. Visited for a special occasion and the restaurant was very thoughtful in their table selection.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

W A Frost has been always a favorite pla ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

W A Frost has been always a favorite place. It is the place to be!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although parking proved difficult, the v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Although parking proved difficult, the valet service was quick and inexpensive ($7). The hostest promptly brought my wife and I to a quiet corner table near the fireplace. Great atmosphere, attentive staff, and delicious food. Came on the recommendation (and gift) of a colleague and is somewhere we will return for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance, food, and service. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent ambiance, food, and service. The food was a bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.