About WA Frost & Company

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: 651-224-0525x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Aspa
Pimm's Cup
Shrimp Cocktail
Lovetree Farms Big Holmes Goat Cheese
Mini Cheese Burger & Fries
Korean Barbeque Chicken Wings with Dill Cream Sauce
Ice Water
Mixed Lettuces
Bad Weather
Salty Dog
Mixed Greens Salad
Kit Kat
Hemmingway Daiquiri
Mahi Mahi
Braised Lamb Neck
Créme Brulé
New Fangled
Lamb Soup
Barrel Aged Godfather
Duck Confit Salad
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Dessert Trio
Mango Cannoli
Violett Tonic And A Earl-Grey Pimmogranate Press!!
Mussels
Slow Roasted Hidden Stream Farms Pork Shoulder
Pan Roasted Wild Acre Half Chicken
Half Roasted Chic
Alsatian Tarte Flambée
Zucchini Bread
Peterson Farm Limousin Burger
Cassoulet
House Made Charcuterie Platter
Duck Breast
Rib Eye
Trio Of Small Plates
Steelhead Trout
Pork Chop
various tapas
Smoked Salmon Sandwich, Cucumber, Foccacia
Bloody Mary
Classic Eggs Benedict
Artichoke Dip

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
4 More
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (122)
great for outdoor dining (121)
neighborhood gem (104)
See All
romantic (101)
fit for foodies (83)
great for lunch (58)
good for groups (47)
great for brunch (42)
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (22)
scenic view (21)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. Good selection of gl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 16 hours ago

Food was excellent. Good selection of gluten free items to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed. They were not very b ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed.

They were not very busy so there was no excuse for the poor service. It took fifteen minutes for someone to bring water and take a drink order. We had to ask for bread as it never came. They didn't even refill our water. Very slow. Our reservation was at 6:30 and we didn't get the main course until 8:45. The manager came out to tell us they were just "plating" our entrees and they would be right out and he would bring them out personally. That even took fifteen minutes. By the time our food came we didn't care what it was or how it tasted. We were hungry and tired. We just wanted to leave.

Here's the kicker. It was a birthday dinner and the server said they would buy us a birthday drink that they ended up charging us for and then when they brought the bill, they put a candle on a plate and lit it. No cake-no desert, a lit candle melted onto a small plate of nothing. We were stunned. All we could do was to openly laugh at the totally horrible experience and ruined evening. From start to finish - terrible. They comp'd the entrées but I felt that the entire evening was insulting. This was my first and my last time ever going there. This is the first negative review I have ever posted online for anything.

Stunned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We went to celebrate our youngest son's ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate our youngest son's 28th birthday. He had the tasting menu and really enjoyed it. The only drawback was the last two courses could have come out a little quicker. We ended up having the room to ourselves whish was both good and bad. Good in that it was quiet, bad in that it might have been too quiet.

Overall, a very enjoyable evening with excellent food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A disappointing overall experience despi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

A disappointing overall experience despite a lovely patio.

There were hairs in the fruit.

Service was really slow.

We asked if a a dish was spicy and were told "not at all," but the dish was swimming in chili oil.

Never offered bread when other tables had some.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Very poor sservice. Not listening to c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very poor sservice.

Not listening to customers.

Seen mouse running about tables outside.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Open table for party 8 with a confirming ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Open table for party 8 with a confirming email. However, when we showed up they only had a table for 6 and a table for 2 so we were separated. Then it was a half an hour before the wait person came to the table. The plus side is that the outdoor patio is beautiful and the food was good. However, there are other good alternatives with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

The patio is of course fabulous . We ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The patio is of course fabulous . We had made a reservation and they had us seated inside. They reluctantly moved us outside, telling us we were in luck. Considering we were some of the first people there that seemed unwelcoming. Our server was very attentive and the assistants were overly eager, almost snatching our plates before we were finished. The food was mediocre, not nearly up to the level of the environment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Our lunch was delicious the waitress was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our lunch was delicious the waitress was SO much fun as well as great at her job, the atmosphere in the gardens is completely charming we had a lovely time

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there for a brunch and even the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were there for a brunch and even the toast was delicious! They have a wonderful patio but we are inside due to the weather. The ambiance is what you would expect for the area but a step above. The best part was the service. I never had to ask for another a drink or water, they were on top of our needs. Even the hostess checked on us when seevice was busy.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly and funny. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The staff was very friendly and funny. The food was amazing!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were warmly received and seated by th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were warmly received and seated by the host on duty. The restaurant lighting and decor made for a cozy and romantic environment. My fiance was very happy with the ambiance. The server, Sarah, was properly engaged, leaving time for us to be alone and then interacting appropriately to see about ordering beverages and food. She also explained the specials for the evening and answered questions we had regarding appetizers and entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom and I dined before the Adele conc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My mom and I dined before the Adele concert. Every other person in the place was also going to the concert. The server politely told us that we should order quickly in order to make sure they could get us fed and to the concert on time. She explained they have been burned before because all the concert-goers come at the same time and the kitchen gets behind. I appreciated the recommendation and also appreciated that they were prepared for the evening. I also was happy they took reservations on a concert night. Many places around the Xcel do not. The food was amazing and you get what you pay for. The drinks are top notch. The fried green tomatoes are to die for and are a must if you order an appetizer

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great. Very cozy.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great. Very cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the outdoor patio. Good food. Ser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love the outdoor patio. Good food. Service was uneven - they were very busy.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I have never had a bad experience at W.A ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at W.A. Frost. The food choices are very good and the outdoor seating is excellent. We have also enjoyed the bar room several times and each has been a very good experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

In addition to fine food and wine, the b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

In addition to fine food and wine, the big surprise was the fantastic array of coffee options at the end of a great, unhurried evening with friends. Very impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great outdoor patio and good food by ver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great outdoor patio and good food by very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

IGood but not great. The patio is quite ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

IGood but not great. The patio is quite scenic but that's the reason to go, not the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Simply stated, great ambiance, very good ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Simply stated, great ambiance, very good food. Go there for the overall experience and consistently good food, but don't expect a highly creative or sophisticated menu. Our waitress was delightful. Noise level was quiet unlike a prior visit when the room had two very happy and loud groups.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, lousy service. Took 45 minut ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, lousy service. Took 45 minutes to get entrée after salad plates taken up. Desert menu given, and then waitress did not appear for around 15 minutes. Service detracted form what otherwise was a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Celebrating our 10 th anniversary, recom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Celebrating our 10 th anniversary, recommended by a coworker. It was a great experience! The food was wonderful, you were able to accommodate my wife's need for a variety of gluten free options. Overall an excellent experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm in the 2-d time for special occasion ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I'm in the 2-d time for special occasion. Good Services and romantic environment.

I will come again.

AlexandraG.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had reservations for 13 people for Fa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had reservations for 13 people for Father's Day. Our table was in a great semi-private dining room. Our server was great, the atmosphere great as well. My only complaint was that the food took SO LONG to arrive - we were told the kitchen was overwhelmed by the large house for this special occasion. It was tough to keep small kids occupied for the long wait.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was excellent and so was the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent and so was the food. The ambiance inside is better in the evening (it feels dark in there on a sunny lunch time). The patio is absolutely amazing any time of the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious, but is took 90 m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was delicious, but is took 90 minutes to get our entree (cod). Our server was great but was overwhelmed with the busy night, as was everyone we saw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A little disappointing. Came here for an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A little disappointing. Came here for an early Father's day celebration, about 5-6 years since my last visit here. The waitress, Phoenix, was rude and inattentive. We even overheard her complaining to another waiter that one of her tables called her "rude", and we wanted to say, "but you are!". She was inattentive. We came at 8.40pm and asked if it would be ok to order the apps right in time for them to come at 9pm (because of fasting). She was so distracted during this conversation, that she understood it the opposite, and our app came 10min before we could actually start eating it. So they took it back to "keep it warm" till 9... After the app, our food came almost at 10pm! The funny thing, another waitress stopped by to ask if we would like to see the dessert menu, and was a bit surprised when I said, "we are still waiting for our dinner". When the food came, it was so disappointing, I hardly touched any of it. I had a lamb dish, and it was so unappetizing and bland, that I didn't go beyond one first bite. The waitress didn't bother to apologize or acknowledge the late arrival of our food, nor did she bother to ask if I liked the food, obviously seeing my full plate untouched. Will prob never go back. There are plenty of good patio options with way better food and service for the price, and the prices are definitely high at WA Frost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

I've enjoyed WA Frost in the past for bo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I've enjoyed WA Frost in the past for both food and atmosphere. Sorry to say the menu was way off this visit. Frost is trying to get exotic when it should stick with elevated basics. I had duck breast fixed in Asian style but the rice was swimming in a thin sauce (literally swimming!) My husband had a curry dish with lamb shank....an unfortunate combination of flavors if there ever was one. The menu also seemed very limited and quite expensive. Our appetizer was $14 for three small sausages and a stingy sauce.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I ordered pork chops and they were dry, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I ordered pork chops and they were dry, my friend ordered steak/medium and got medium rare. Service was great, I have been to Frost's before and had good food. It was a Tuesday night so that may have been the issue. Was disappointed in the food this trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were treated wonderfully with excelle ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were treated wonderfully with excellent service and very fine food, both tasting menu (and EXTRA THANKS for a vegetarian tasting menu, too) and off the menu items. We had requested seating to accommodate good conversation with family joining us we had not seen in quite a while and we were given a great table in a beautiful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to dine in the outdoor patio fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose to dine in the outdoor patio for our 4th Anniversary. It was beautiful. Romantic spot, with good service and awesome food. The lamb was great, and while the chicken was a bit spicier than I thought, it was delicious. Our waiter noticed my husband wasn't drinking his cocktail very fast and offered to bring him a new one! Very observant and we appreciated the attention to detail. Wonderful wine pairing recommendation as well. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place to celebrate any oc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a great place to celebrate any occasion. A St Paul gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Disaster

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Let me first say - I am a fan of WA Frost which is why I booked a table for 9 for my wife's birthday surprise. Typically, I would suspect slower than average service for this large of a group especially if the restaurant is full (which is was not at 50% capacity). Basically, the service provided was shotty at best. Our drinks came late or had to be ordered twice by party. Large gaps between server face time occurred between apps, main course, desert, etc. leading to our meal being around 4 hours start to finish. This seemed a touch on the long side since this isn't close to formal dinner.

Overall, I was generally disappointed and have no plans to return. Hoping this is just an isolated server who did a poor job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Best outdoor seating in the Twin cities. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Best outdoor seating in the Twin cities. We had a table outside for 11 people. The host didn't like that we pushed the tables together but in the end they were accommodating. Food is awesome, patio is great and the service was good. Plus you can walk to the places near by for some bar hopping. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

very nice

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

went here with my wife for our anniversary. we both like the historical feel of the building and the food was great. Our server was exceptional. We will come back for seconds!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even in the rain.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were on the patio when it started to rain rather hard. Staff took good care of us as we had no problem getting resettled inside. Disappointed we could not enjoy the beautiful patio, but a good time nonetheless.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch with friends

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A lovely meal, too bad it was raining so we couldn't enjoy the patio

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, as usual!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Beautifully presented and gourmet delicious food professionally served by an oh-so nice staff in a very pretty room (ate in due to rain). Had the Wild Rice Ragout - 3 times in the last 4 weeks! I've grown to crave it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Food was only ok ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was only ok. After our food arrived, we didn't see our server for 25 minutes, we had to ask for the check and still waited. This was a favorite place, but the service/food needs to be improved. I do not plan to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good but not great

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I hadn't been to WA Frost in a long time, and my overall experience just wasn't as good as I remembered in the past. We sat inside by my choice - really should have just sat outside in their lovely patio. Service was surprisingly slow, but assumed it was due to large crowd outside. I had the lamb shank, which had a flavorful sauce but seemed a bit tough. My friend had the chicken, it came with an overly spicy sauce/side. Salad was great. Just expected something better I guess - was still a good meal, just not as good as I hoped. Would go back but with different expectations, and definitely sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We love W.A. Frost, however I was a litt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We love W.A. Frost, however I was a little disappointed this time around. We had a group of 12 and the service seemed unusually slow. We had to wait over 20 minutes to be seated (with a reservation), and our food and beverage service was extra slow.

Food was great, however!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.