Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About WA Frost & Company

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Executive Chef:
Ben Allen

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: (651) 224-0525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (73)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Historic (60)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Cozy (47)
Fireplace (45)
Notable Wine List (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Tasting Menu (24)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Healthy (14)
Private Room (14)
Scenic View (11)
Fun (11)
Seasonal (11)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Great Beer (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our 25th annniversary and I sent an email with a request for a quiet table and suggestions for a special meal but I never heard back. When we arrived we were first placed in a busy walkway area before I requested to move. Then we had a large loud party seated next to us. We ended up ordering the multi-course meal and wine pairings but didn't eat about 1/3 because of poor /quality taste. Our waiter was very kind and noticed that we didn't fully enjoy all the courses but did not offer any accommodation. In all we spent over $200 and I was disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food coupled with outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely surroundings but food choice was limited to brunch menu at 1:00 on Saturday and food was mediocre. Service was simply adequate. I expected and hoped for more based on past experiences.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

First time here. Was good overall, a bit spendy and the food and service could have been better. We had indicated on the reservation that it was our anniversary but maybe they didn't see that on the reservation or something. Our table was okay. Kind of smushed next to the other (I could barely squeeze in without disturbing the person behind me) and near the kitchen so it was noisy. I ordered the halibut which was very tasty but not appetizing looking. I was timid to taste it. Maybe if the fish had a sear or the plate had more color... My boyfriend really enjoyed his chicken. Service was pretty good but slow towards the end of the meal. Like I said, good enough but not spectacular. Maybe we will try again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Seven women enjoyed the charming surroundings and great service. Always a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food and service. Really like the w.a. Frost look. We were about a half hour early and we were able to sit downstairs in a comfortable area and chat while waiting. It was perfect for eight ladies who needed to catch up with each other's lives.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The new chef has skill. Good, clean, creative entrees. +10

The lamb was a bit tough, and the waiter was distractingly overzealous. -4

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unfortunately, the front of house staff was so rude and unwelcoming, we left before even ordering drinks and went to Fitzgeralds instead.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went here for Mother's Day and was able to sit out on the patio. It was a great experience and the food was wonderful. I have the Ham Hash and my mom had the French toast. Both meals were great. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Two couples out for nice but casual dinner on a Saturday night. Food was good. Pork tenderloin and steak entrees were cooked perfectly. The ladies loved the wine flights. Server was very friendly, helpful and professional. Food came out a little slow - perhaps due to lots of prom dates that night. Overall a nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Halibut was completely tasteless. When mentioned to waiter he comped our $10 dessert instead of the $36 entree that wasn't eaten. Service was slow and waiter didn't check on our food until I was finished with my very dry pork tenderloin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my Mom to the patio for brunch for an early Mother's Day celebration and the food, atmosphere, service, and weather could not have been better - Chad W. was one of the best servers I've ever encountered. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our go-to place for quietly elegant setting and cuisine with a casual ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had Sunday morning brunch with friends at WA Frost. The space is beautifully restored and our table had a nice view of the patio. It was too chilly for us to be out on the great patio. The food was above average--not great and the service was really quite slow for a restaurant that wasn't even full! Prices were reasonable and I would go again .

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The ambiance for our special occasion was wonderful.. the food was very tasty, but the service was extremely slow I didn't feel the waitress was helpful in choosing our dinner as this was our first time there, it was not a busy time so that was not a factor, we would suggest this restaurant when time was not a factor, when calling the restaurant to confirm I did mention it was our 43rd wedding anniversary and no special acknowledgement was made until at the end when ordering our desert and us mentioning it to the waitress did she say they would like to buy our desert for us but many many restaurants do much much more

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We got there on time for our 5:30 reservation. Ordered drinks and told him we had to leave at 7 for the theater. Got to order at 6:00. At 6:30 asked a passing server to check on our food. At 6:45, asked our server who finally reappeared. After that a manager came over twice to assure us that it was coming soon. Our order was 2 steaks and 2 lamb chops. Our food came a little after 7:00 so we had 15 minutes to eat and run. It was unfortunate that our long planned get together with old friends became a frustrating and rushed meal. They comped our drinks (one each) but that didn't make up for it. I have always enjoyed Frosts in the past as a special place to eat. This was the opposite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great patio, service was excellent, and food superb

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went to W.A. Frost to celebrate our anniversary. EXCELLENT food, and atmosphere. The food did took over an hour to come out after ordering, thankfully we had ordered a small plate to share before hand. It was the first or second night of the patio opening and a new spring menu, so I definitely give them some grace in that department. Our waiter, Caleb, was very accommodating. We'll go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was crazy slow; wait staff defensive rather than apologetic

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Outdoor patio was enjoyable, food was delectable, service was amazing...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A little slow service initially, but this was probably due to training a new server. The drinks were great, as was the wine. Although on the menu, the prix fixe option was not available...explained that this was due to a new chef. As nighttime settles in the light within is insufficient to read a menu or the bill....We had to move the small table candle on top of both. Our server was engaging, knowledgable, and very pleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My beau and I went here for a date. We were visiting from out of town and this restaurant was recommended to us. It was definitely the perfect romantic place for our special evening together! The food and drinks were wonderful, the service was great, and the ambiance was cozy and beautiful. We would definitely come here again. We would like to revisit the restaurant in the summer and sit outside on the lovely patio sometime. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We brought a group of ten to W.A. Frost last Saturday night to celebrate a special occasion for our daughter. Our group included several out-of-town guests. We booked the reservation about a month in advance. We arrived at the restaurant shortly before our 8:00 p.m. reservation. We were asked to wait in the bar because the group ahead of us was still at the table. When we inquired at 8:20 p.m. we were told the group at the table had just ordered dessert. The manager said they had been there since 5:00 p.m. We suggested that perhaps they could take their dessert in the bar or downstairs in the lounge. The manager told us the restaurant does not ask guests to give up their tables. When we inquired again around 8:30 p.m. the manager told us our table was still not ready. He said he would provide us with some complimentary appetizers while we waited. We waited another 20 minutes without receiving any appetizers. We were finally seated around 8:50 p.m. The appetizers arrived about ten minutes later.

Things continued to go downhill. I ordered a drink I never received. Our water glasses were not refilled for nearly an hour. When the servers brought soup and salad, they served them to the wrong people. Our dirty appetizer dishes sat on the table for 20 minutes before someone cleared them. When our entrees finally arrived around 9:45 p.m., the food was not hot. My daughter, the guest of honor, sent hers back. Our dirty entrée dishes sat on the table for another 20 minutes after we finished eating. By the time we received dessert menus two members of our party had already left. After we were seated, we never saw the manager again. He clearly considered us a nuisance.
As the host for the event, who had selected the restaurant, I was humiliated. Instead of celebrating our daughter’s special day, our party felt hungry and ignored. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We recently hosted close friends for a special birthday celebration at Frost's. Even though I made a reservation well in advance, we were shoved in a tight corner close to the kitchen door. It was noisy and many other diners passed closely by our table on their way to their own seats (annoying and distracting). Our orders took a long time and then several items were missing. This meant some of us could start eating (or let our food get cold) while another person waited even longer for her meal. My husband and I ordered the sirloin steak (14 oz) so we could share it, along with several sides. The steak was charred to the point of looking like dry charcoal even though we ordered it medium rare. I cut off all the burnt meat and the remaining steak was tasty. I also ordered a $12 glass of white wine and only received a paltry 3 ounces for that hefty price. The evening turned out to be a disappointment and not at all the elegant, special evening we were hoping to share with close friends on an important occasion. I think Frost's is coasting on its lovely, cozy interior (and great patio) and its long tradition in St. Paul. My advice? Go there for drinks and maybe a burger on the patio. If you want fine dining, check out some of the newer places in St. Paul that still work to provide an excellent dining experience at a fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great variety of spaces make this a more intimate evening. Food was fabulous. Grilled cauliflower entree was an amazing combination of flavors. Hats off to the chef. Service was wonderful and we headed off to the theater to continue a grand evening. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The service, noise level and ambience on a recent Sunday evening was great, but the ribeye steaks that were ordered as medium rare were both dry. The chicken ordered by others was moist. We thought for $55 each that the steak would be prepared to our liking. Our family from out of town enjoyed the decor and atmosphere which is why we chose this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our third visit to WA Frost, each time for a special occasion. We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was great! We were on a time limit and the server was veery mindful of that.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It had been a couple of years since I had been to WA Frost, so we were excited to bring friends for dinner....
The restaurant decor seemed so tired, old, and frankly, dirty. (chairs in the front lobby area -yuk!)... floors, tables, fixtures, just everything looks like it needs a good cleaning.
Food was mediocre (Mediterranean salad was awful!). Our waitress was inattentive and
rude...
In summary... just won't go back.
So many good places popping up all over St. Paul...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Special occasion with a group, deserves a special restaurant. WAFrost not it. Insufficiently staffed, no expediting evident from out of the kitchen as salads were delivered with entrees, tasty food would have been better served warm and surely sat for minutes before being served. Had to ask for everything from water to bread. Was comp'd the salads and a bottle of wine. Go for the patio, cocktail and appetizer...not the main course.

Saddened to name yet another local standard labeled "late great".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Another great meal at WA Frost. We come her for business and casual outings.
the food and ambiance are top notch. Love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had! Great service, cozy and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The beef skewers were chewy, the bulgur was not cooked enough, so chewy as well.
My friend had the steak that came with barely cooked brussel sprouts- what a shame. Such a beautiful place!!

Our waitress never bothered to check with us to see if the food was ok. There was certainly no supervision during lunch. Disappointing meal, and it's not the first time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Frost is good except for the panhandler in the foyer! Scary!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Better than the last few times due to Phillipe. Great attentive waiter. A desert was forgotten otherwise would have been 5 star. No biggie however.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Brunch menu was very limited, especially for Easter Sunday Brunch

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is one of our favorite places in the Twin Cities--we got engaged on the patio many years ago. The food is always wonderful and creative, yet there are some old standards on the menu too. This time we were in the dining room for Easter brunch, which was delicious. We had an asparagus, chanterelle and Gorgonzola omelet and a Benedict with mortadella sausage, pistachios, poached eggs and cheese sauce. Service is very good, attentive without the constant hovering encountered at some restaurants. The dining room is full of old world charm, with paintings and Oriental rugs.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Visited for Easter brunch. The restaurant wasn't even 1/4 full. However, the service was extremely slow and not very friendly. Our server would disappear for long periods of time. We weren't impressed by the menu. Not too many options. We sat and we're offered coffee but it was a surprise that they didn't bring any bread/butter.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server, Lori, was fabulous. We were in the room with the huge fireplace. We did notice that until about 7:30 (got there at 6) it was very noisy and we really had to raise our voices to hear each other. But, aside from that, everything was great.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fun, Business Meals, Organic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Incredible food with the best service I have ever had! Our waiter was helpful in going over the menu and choosing the perfect wine to go with dinner. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.