About WA Frost & Company

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: 651-224-0525x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Aspa
Pimm's Cup
Shrimp Cocktail
Lovetree Farms Big Holmes Goat Cheese
Kit Kat
Mixed Greens Salad
Hemmingway Daiquiri
Mahi Mahi
Braised Lamb Neck
Créme Brulé
New Fangled
Barrel Aged Godfather
Mini Cheese Burger & Fries
Korean Barbeque Chicken Wings with Dill Cream Sauce
Ice Water
Mixed Lettuces
Bad Weather
Salty Dog
Lamb Soup
Duck Confit Salad
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Dessert Trio
Mango Cannoli
Violett Tonic And A Earl-Grey Pimmogranate Press!!
Mussels
Slow Roasted Hidden Stream Farms Pork Shoulder
Pan Roasted Wild Acre Half Chicken
Half Roasted Chic
Alsatian Tarte Flambée
Zucchini Bread
Peterson Farm Limousin Burger
Cassoulet
House Made Charcuterie Platter
Duck Breast
Rib Eye
Trio Of Small Plates
Steelhead Trout
Pork Chop
various tapas
Smoked Salmon Sandwich, Cucumber, Foccacia
Bloody Mary
Classic Eggs Benedict
Artichoke Dip

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
5 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (135)
great for outdoor dining (126)
neighborhood gem (115)
See All
romantic (115)
fit for foodies (89)
great for lunch (55)
notable wine list (48)
good for groups (47)
great for brunch (44)
scenic view (20)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1039 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply stated, great ambiance, very good ...

Dined 4 days ago

Simply stated, great ambiance, very good food. Go there for the overall experience and consistently good food, but don't expect a highly creative or sophisticated menu. Our waitress was delightful. Noise level was quiet unlike a prior visit when the room had two very happy and loud groups.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, lousy service. Took 45 minut ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, lousy service. Took 45 minutes to get entrée after salad plates taken up. Desert menu given, and then waitress did not appear for around 15 minutes. Service detracted form what otherwise was a very good meal.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our 10 th anniversary, recom ...

Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating our 10 th anniversary, recommended by a coworker. It was a great experience! The food was wonderful, you were able to accommodate my wife's need for a variety of gluten free options. Overall an excellent experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm in the 2-d time for special occasion ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I'm in the 2-d time for special occasion. Good Services and romantic environment. I will come again. AlexandraG.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had reservations for 13 people for Fa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had reservations for 13 people for Father's Day. Our table was in a great semi-private dining room. Our server was great, the atmosphere great as well. My only complaint was that the food took SO LONG to arrive - we were told the kitchen was overwhelmed by the large house for this special occasion. It was tough to keep small kids occupied for the long wait.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent and so was the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent and so was the food. The ambiance inside is better in the evening (it feels dark in there on a sunny lunch time). The patio is absolutely amazing any time of the day!

food4
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious, but is took 90 m ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was delicious, but is took 90 minutes to get our entree (cod). Our server was great but was overwhelmed with the busy night, as was everyone we saw.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I've enjoyed WA Frost in the past for bo ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I've enjoyed WA Frost in the past for both food and atmosphere. Sorry to say the menu was way off this visit. Frost is trying to get exotic when it should stick with elevated basics. I had duck breast fixed in Asian style but the rice was swimming in a thin sauce (literally swimming!) My husband had a curry dish with lamb shank....an unfortunate combination of flavors if there ever was one. The menu also seemed very limited and quite expensive. Our appetizer was $14 for three small sausages and a stingy sauce.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered pork chops and they were dry, ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I ordered pork chops and they were dry, my friend ordered steak/medium and got medium rare. Service was great, I have been to Frost's before and had good food. It was a Tuesday night so that may have been the issue. Was disappointed in the food this trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated wonderfully with excelle ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We were treated wonderfully with excellent service and very fine food, both tasting menu (and EXTRA THANKS for a vegetarian tasting menu, too) and off the menu items. We had requested seating to accommodate good conversation with family joining us we had not seen in quite a while and we were given a great table in a beautiful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose to dine in the outdoor patio fo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose to dine in the outdoor patio for our 4th Anniversary. It was beautiful. Romantic spot, with good service and awesome food. The lamb was great, and while the chicken was a bit spicier than I thought, it was delicious. Our waiter noticed my husband wasn't drinking his cocktail very fast and offered to bring him a new one! Very observant and we appreciated the attention to detail. Wonderful wine pairing recommendation as well. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place to celebrate any oc ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a great place to celebrate any occasion. A St Paul gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Birthday Disaster

Dined on June 10, 2016

Let me first say - I am a fan of WA Frost which is why I booked a table for 9 for my wife's birthday surprise. Typically, I would suspect slower than average service for this large of a group especially if the restaurant is full (which is was not at 50% capacity). Basically, the service provided was shotty at best. Our drinks came late or had to be ordered twice by party. Large gaps between server face time occurred between apps, main course, desert, etc. leading to our meal being around 4 hours start to finish. This seemed a touch on the long side since this isn't close to formal dinner. Overall, I was generally disappointed and have no plans to return. Hoping this is just an isolated server who did a poor job.

food4
ambience5
service4

Best outdoor seating in the Twin cities. ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Best outdoor seating in the Twin cities. We had a table outside for 11 people. The host didn't like that we pushed the tables together but in the end they were accommodating. Food is awesome, patio is great and the service was good. Plus you can walk to the places near by for some bar hopping. Highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice

Dined on June 4, 2016

went here with my wife for our anniversary. we both like the historical feel of the building and the food was great. Our server was exceptional. We will come back for seconds!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Even in the rain.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were on the patio when it started to rain rather hard. Staff took good care of us as we had no problem getting resettled inside. Disappointed we could not enjoy the beautiful patio, but a good time nonetheless.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with friends

Dined on June 3, 2016

A lovely meal, too bad it was raining so we couldn't enjoy the patio

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, as usual!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Beautifully presented and gourmet delicious food professionally served by an oh-so nice staff in a very pretty room (ate in due to rain). Had the Wild Rice Ragout - 3 times in the last 4 weeks! I've grown to crave it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was very slow. Food was only ok ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was only ok. After our food arrived, we didn't see our server for 25 minutes, we had to ask for the check and still waited. This was a favorite place, but the service/food needs to be improved. I do not plan to return anytime soon.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not great

Dined on May 24, 2016

I hadn't been to WA Frost in a long time, and my overall experience just wasn't as good as I remembered in the past. We sat inside by my choice - really should have just sat outside in their lovely patio. Service was surprisingly slow, but assumed it was due to large crowd outside. I had the lamb shank, which had a flavorful sauce but seemed a bit tough. My friend had the chicken, it came with an overly spicy sauce/side. Salad was great. Just expected something better I guess - was still a good meal, just not as good as I hoped. Would go back but with different expectations, and definitely sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love W.A. Frost, however I was a litt ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We love W.A. Frost, however I was a little disappointed this time around. We had a group of 12 and the service seemed unusually slow. We had to wait over 20 minutes to be seated (with a reservation), and our food and beverage service was extra slow. Food was great, however!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were entertaining friends/co-workers ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were entertaining friends/co-workers from Georgia and the atmosphere, food and service were excellent. The environment was pleasant and conducive to great discussion during our meal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We usually are very happy with Frost's. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We usually are very happy with Frost's. This time, the host did not inform the second party to arrive that the first party was already seated and wasn't able to find the reservation . So we ended up at separate tables waiting for 20 minutes. Bad experience.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great patio!

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We were lucky enough to get a seat outside on a day that was perfect for alfesco dining. One of the best patios in St. Paul!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Our wait person was quite condescending ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our wait person was quite condescending and plates were cleared far too quickly for our taste. We had to stop this from happening as we weren't asked whether we were in fact done. Food was not consistent with WA Frost's reputation - asked that the salmon be cooked through and it wasn't.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our mom for a belated Mother's D ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We took our mom for a belated Mother's Day brunch and it was delightful. The portions were slightly smaller than you might see at some other places but we didn't mind. The food was good and the service was perfect. Great for mimosa with the gals or a family occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience, highly recommended! Ou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience, highly recommended! Our waiter was so helpful and attentive. We loved the food and ambiance too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

What are you looking for?

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you are looking for excellent service and great ambiance I highly recommend the restaurant. The food was average which was a bit dissapointing but the overall experience was good.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu too exotic for me; very few recogn ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Menu too exotic for me; very few recognized options

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good and a good value

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at WA Frosts for several decades, going once or twice a year. We have consistently found good food, atmosphere, and service over that time. We like the lower noise levels in the "back" rooms and have loved dining on the outdoor patio. And there is enough parking around that we never have walked too far. In fact, after a good meal we have often strolled around the neighborhood which is really quite nice and safe. Frost's is not inexpensive, but delivers the value for cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Ruined dining experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

I chose this spot as a pre-confirmation dinner for my daughter. We had six in our party and told the server we needed to be at the Cathedral at a certain time. It was very lengthy between visits despite us dining on a Monday evening and it was not a full house. Our server was somewhat condescending (at least that is the vibe she gave) and not friendly. I think it was an attempt to be formal. We allowed 1-1/2 hours for our dining and ended up getting our food 10 minutes before we needed to leave. My daughter was in tears. I love WA Frost and will be back, but this was just an unfortunate experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1

I booked a table for nine people to cele ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I booked a table for nine people to celebrate a big moment in my life, for which my parents had flown in from out of town. I spent a week pouring over reviews, and selected W. A. Frost because it had such a storied past, and the reviews were generally good. I brushed off the recent poor ratings, as they often mentioned lunch, or that they had walked in. I figured that making a reservation, coming for dinner, and emphasizing that we were there to celebrate would ensure that it went smoothly. I couldn't have been more wrong. We were seated in the back room, which was beautifully decorated, and peaceful. After 20 minutes, a startled looking busboy arrived with water to silently fill our glasses. The waiter, who was the one bright spot, arrived a few minutes later, and proceeded to tell us not the specials, but what entrees were missing from the menu, including all of the hamburgers. Solid start. After we ordered our meals, the busboy scurried back in with bread, the only food for the next 45 minutes. At 15 minutes after ordering, the waiter came back to check on our beverages, and assured us it would be just moments for our food. At 30 minutes, 50 minutes after being seated, he stopped back to promise that our food would be the next out of the kitchen. At 45 minutes, still with no sign of our dinners, I excused myself to go move my car from the 2 hour parking spot that I had found. When I got back, 4 of our 7 entrees had arrived. The other three were "on their way out". 10 minutes later, 2 more appeared, but not mine. 5 minutes after that, when our waiter stopped to see how everything was tasting, he realized I still didn't have my food. Finally my Cod came. When it was time for dessert, we were told 1 out of the 5 options was gone. When he came back to take our order, another was gone. Had our meals come on time, I would have been able to enjoy it. They did comp our drinks and dessert, but I wont be back. Solid food, nice staff, atrocious time management.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

special event......special place

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wanted to find a special place with a sense of history good food and memorable atmosphere, Found it here!!! We'll be back

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

disappointment

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated in a dining room by ourselves, and our waiter pretty much forgot we were there. We waited 20 minutes for him to bring our beverages. He didn't bother to check on us or clear our plates from our cheese course. The food was good, but not great; for as much as they charge for their food, I expected the food to be great. Not likely to return.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Unimpressed with the service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been coming to WA Frost for years, as I love the atmosphere and the food is consistently good. It was a special occasion to bring my 80 year old mom for Mothers Day. We didn't get served for quite some time after we sat down, and it was very cool in the restaurant which was tough on an old lady. The server was rarely seen, and I had to keep tracking him down to place our order or to get refills. My mother had never been to WA Frost so this was her only impression. I was embarrassed that we didn't receive better service although the soup and salad we had were good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Patio in Town

Dined on May 6, 2016

When the sun arrived everybody goes to WA Frost for lunch...it truly is the best patio in town...the setting is historic...a diverse menu with something for every palate, the carnivores and vegetarians were both happy...great service, although a wee bit slow on this busy day...a few extra umbrellas on this sunny day would have been helpful...

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sunday lunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went at 1:00 on a Sunday and I had not checked the menu in advance. Having had a lovely lunch there not too long ago, on a week day, I had expected the same menu with nice choices. Apparently on Sunday's, you get breakfast and limited lunch choices, for which I was disappointed. It was why fault for not checking the menu online before making the reservation.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

i love WA Frost ... one of my top favorites.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

my guest gave the Scallops a 10! my rib eye steak looked great but was very chewy and struggled with it. I gave it a 4

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Nothing like inconsistancy to disappoint

Dined on April 29, 2016

I suggested Frosts for lunch because of the bouillabaisse I had ordered several weeks earlier. My companion ordered the kedgeree, because my lunch partner on the previous visit had it, I tasted it and thought it was fantastic. This time around the bouillabaisse was an entirly different dish. There were no shrimp or scallops as previously, and consisted of mussels and what tasted like generic codfish. When I commented about this to our very capable server she checked with the kitchen who said that what the menu describes as "fish" can be one kind of fish or an assortment depending on the whims of the chef. The broth in the bou. had very little character, and could not compare to my first try. The kedgeree was also not up to my first visit, and lacked the bounce and kick of the curry spices I had tasted previously. So we left rather non-plussed with our lunch, and it will be much longer before my next visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great to meet with clients due to its re ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great to meet with clients due to its reputation, but not the best for personal dining; not a fan of the food but the ambiance is fantastic and great for meeting with people

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.