About WA Frost & Company

374 Selby Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

This is a favorite Saint Paul dining destination since 1975. The Restaurant is housed in the turn-of-the-century Dacotah Building which lies in the heart of the historic Cathedral Hill District. W. A. Frost has incomparable ambiance and rare old world character. It boasts several grand wood-burning fireplaces, a charming old bar and the European-style garden patio and garden bar and lounge.
The new American cuisine at W. A. Frost is derived from an eclectic mix of ingredients meticulously sourced, with a very strong emphasis on local small farmers that use organic and sustainable practices. Minnesota's best wine list, best outdoor dining in the Twin Cities and the most romantic restaurant are just a few awards received.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Western Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5715

Website:
http://www.wafrost.com/

Parking Details:
Two Parking Lots plus neighborhood street parking. Valet service option during winter months.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining available. Please visit our website for detailed information.

Private Party Contact:
Talon Zasada: 651-224-0525x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Aspa
Pimm's Cup
Shrimp Cocktail
Lovetree Farms Big Holmes Goat Cheese
Mini Cheese Burger & Fries
Korean Barbeque Chicken Wings with Dill Cream Sauce
Ice Water
Mixed Lettuces
Bad Weather
Salty Dog
Mixed Greens Salad
Kit Kat
Créme Brulé
Mahi Mahi
New Fangled
Braised Lamb Neck
Hemmingway Daiquiri
Lamb Soup
Barrel Aged Godfather
Duck Confit Salad
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Dessert Trio
Mango Cannoli
Violett Tonic And A Earl-Grey Pimmogranate Press!!
Slow Roasted Hidden Stream Farms Pork Shoulder
Mussels
Pan Roasted Wild Acre Half Chicken
Half Roasted Chic
Alsatian Tarte Flambée
Zucchini Bread
Peterson Farm Limousin Burger
Cassoulet
Duck Breast
Rib Eye
House Made Charcuterie Platter
Steelhead Trout
Trio Of Small Plates
Pork Chop
Smoked Salmon Sandwich, Cucumber, Foccacia
various tapas
Bloody Mary
Classic Eggs Benedict
Artichoke Dip

WA Frost & Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Fit for Foodies
Twin Cities / St. Paul
4 More
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (139)
Special Occasion (111)
Neighborhood Gem (110)
See All
Romantic (89)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Great for Lunch (63)
Great for Brunch (48)
Good for Groups (46)
Notable Wine List (38)
Scenic View (29)
Hot Spot (21)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had Michael outside and he was amazin ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had Michael outside and he was amazing! Had such a good time with him and he made us feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My friend and I decided to enjoy an even ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My friend and I decided to enjoy an evening meal at a restaurant with outdoor dining and chose W A Frost because we enjoy the food and the ambience. I chose the trout and was very pleasantly surprised. It was extraordinarily delicious.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Gouda grits and collards!! Fir ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved the Gouda grits and collards!! First time I've had great southern food in the Midwest!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We loved everything but the food, with t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved everything but the food, with the exception of the cheese plate; tasty choices & beautifully presented. Two of us had the pasta which was overly salted. Love garlic, but it overwhelmed the dish. The smoked chicken salad was good, not great . We thought some changes to the menu might be in order-lightening up some of the options for summer, especially.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We went to WA Frost for brunch. We like ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to WA Frost for brunch. We like the place and go once or twice a year, usually for a nice romantic dinner out. On this occasion we were there with our son and his significant other who were visiting from California. My only complaints were with the waiter. He was not very prompt, totally forgot cream for my coffee even after I reminded him. He was aloof, and decided to "test us" by using the word "snit" for what we call a beer chaser with bloody Mary's. When my son's girlfriend, who is from Illinois and lives in LA did not understand what he was talking about, he said "you must be from out of town!", but not in a friendly nice way. My son and I both ordered the steak and eggs, and were asked how we want our eggs done. We both said over-easy. The plates came with scrambled eggs and we got a half-apology and were almost done with our meal when the over easy eggs were delivered. Not only that, but mine were over-medium. My son noticed that on the menu the entree said "with scrambled eggs". Why did he ask us how we wanted our eggs done? No wonder the order was wrong. All in all a C+ rating on what should have been a solid A. Disappointed, but we will likely be back at some point. If we have another experience like this, we may be done. Hopefully we hit them on an off day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

I never write reviews. But I can't say e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I never write reviews. But I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our experience at WA Frost.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a place to celebrate our anniversary ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As a place to celebrate our anniversary with friends, we found Frost's to be perfect. The noise level made conversation easy, the ambiance romantic, and the food and wine exceptional. The menu choices were creative allowing everyone options that fit their needs.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food and ambience. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent service and food and ambience. Expensive and many mice on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the first time we have eaten on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is the first time we have eaten on the patio. It was delightful! A completely delightful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have in the past always had good exper ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I have in the past always had good experiences at WA Frost and in general would recommend them, but I had a very disappointing evening on my most recent visit. A menu item was unavailable, and instead of asking about a substitution the staff made a choice to bring something else instead. My main entree (lamb shank) was cold - not simply 'not hot' as though it had cooled down from when it was plated, but cold as though it had been cooked previously and should have been re-heated but was not. It was significantly colder than the plate or the vegetables plated with it. It did taste good, just would have been much better warm. Our waitress was difficult to find when we needed her - not sure if she was spread too thin over her territory or just inattentive. Silverware was not brought out prior to the entrees being served. We saw bread baskets being brought to other tables but not ours, causing us to wonder why we were not offered bread. Overall the evening that should have been a great night out made me feel like the establishment did not respect nor appreciate my business.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The service was very slow and the prices ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was very slow and the prices were quite high. Took an hour to get our appetizer (no exaggeration) but the patio is lovely

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

WE had brunch to celebrate a birthday. W ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

WE had brunch to celebrate a birthday. We got right in but disappointed there was no outside dining even though there were many empty tables. We were wondering if that was because of Open Table, but no one confirmed that.

I thought the food was delicious, especially the sauce on the eggs benedict. I thought it was a bit skimpy--my omelette was just OK, potatoes on the side with tasty spices. But omelette and potatoes, that's it. No fruit or extra, it was gluten free, I get that, but some fruit would have been nice.

Doesn't keep me from coming back as I do like it there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent patio - pretty and quiet. Exc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent patio - pretty and quiet. Excellent brunch - we all loved our food. Great place to visit too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Servers seemed to be a bit busy. Waited ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Servers seemed to be a bit busy. Waited a bit for everything, however, did not take away from the evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent food and ambiance. We ate here ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. We ate here just to get together for dinner, but it would make a really great restaurant for any special occasion. Server was fantastic. We ate indoors, but there is an exceptionally nice outdoor dining area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited an hour for our food. Beatrice g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Waited an hour for our food.

Beatrice gave us a discount, which was the right thing to do, and the food was good... But an hour is unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

I made a reservation through Open Table ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I made a reservation through Open Table for 6:45 PM. The weather looked nice for the evening planned so I called that morning and asked that the reservation be switched to the patio area. I was told this could be done. My daughter arrived at the restaurant first and was told the reservation was inside. I insisted that I had called and was told they had no record of the call so nothing could be done.

I was very upset and it ruined the evening for me. It was my husband's birthday and all my children were together so that was nice, but the atmosphere was not what I intended.

My appetite was ruined and I was very disappointed.

There was no apology or explanation for the mixup and no offer of a dessert or any other remuneration for the mistake.

I would not suggest returning to W.A. Frost when there are so many other wonderful choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

WA Frost has one of the best patios in t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

WA Frost has one of the best patios in the Twin Cities. Spacious, romantic and comfortable. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes think so too. Great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Expensive, but charming outdoor dining e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Expensive, but charming outdoor dining experience. Appetizers and sides all excellent. Braised lamb shank tasted like Renaissance Festival turkey leg.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we got there, manager said our res ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

When we got there, manager said our reservations were only for inside and if we wanted outside, we'd have to wait. Interesting to note, we could only get in at 1:30 even though the dining room was empty. If Open Table's reservations were inside only, why couldn't we have gotten in earlier? Did the whole dining room empty out just before 1:30?

I'll call the restaurant first from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

The service was amazingly slow. It took ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was amazingly slow. It took 20 minutes to have our order taken another 15 after that hair to get the drinks. The patio was great but a terrible place to take my mom to celebrate her birthday with the kids. We thought it was hair is but looked around and realized other tables had long delays in ordering and getting their food. And it was it even full inside or outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was amazing! We had the tasting menu and would highly recommend it. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 3 year anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful evening with good food & servi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful evening with good food & service. Back on Sunday for brunch & can't say the same for 3 of us who had the French toast. It was too thick with egg only on outside coating the bread.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful patio with MICE!! Not cool. W ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful patio with MICE!! Not cool. Worse yet, the staff tells customers "that's what you get with outdoor dining". I don't think so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Excellent service. Great menu. Awesome ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service. Great menu. Awesome food with beautiful presentation. Lots of life outside on their fabulous patio, but it can be quiet and romantic inside at the same time. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best patio dining in the Twin Cities ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The best patio dining in the Twin Cities, bar none.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful ambiance and the noise level w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and the noise level was low enough that you could comfortably carry on a conversation with the others at your table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appreciated the gluten free menu options ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Appreciated the gluten free menu options although I didn't need them. I haven't seen quite that many anywhere else. Food was good and thoughtfully presented. Our waitperson was excellent; both informed and friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

very charming, elegant, great food, wait ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

very charming, elegant, great food, wait staff, front desk

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best patio around!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best patio around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently wonderful - never disappoin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Consistently wonderful - never disappointed. Great to bring out of town visitors...they're always impressed, especially the patio & the wall art & ceiling inside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty meals!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very tasty meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

WA Frost is s neighborhood gem! The test ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

WA Frost is s neighborhood gem! The testaurant itself is lovely - very warm and inviting on a chilly day. But it's the patio that stars in the summer; beautiful and serene shaded by mature trees and scraped with plants and flowers, it's a wonderful place to spend some time.

Beyond the ambiance, the service is stellar. Knowledgable servers are happy to answer questions and see that their guests have a wonderful experience.

Saving the best for last, the food is amazing! The menu is creative but not overdone. Everything we've had has been beautifully presented, perfectly prepared and delicious. The prize-winning wine cellar holds selections to match any palet and perfectly complement your meal - or dessert. The wine flights are a fun and reasonably priced way to experiment.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time I went to WA Fros ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is the third time I went to WA Frost this summer and the last. All three times the food was less than average. I did have a burger and fries on my first visit and that was good but that's not difficult to ruin. The hosts on the second and third visit were rude and short with us. Their patio is nice but I would not go there again unless I just order drinks. There are a lot more restaurants in the Twin Cities that have great patios and much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

Disappointing visit. Took over 2 hours ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Disappointing visit. Took over 2 hours to get food to the table. Took a client there and will not do that again after this experience. Too bad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was excellent. Good selection of gl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was excellent. Good selection of gluten free items to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of town guests loved the patio (who ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Out of town guests loved the patio (who wouldn't?). Service was outstanding, with our waiter knowledgeable of menu choices and drinks. Artisan cheese plate & drinks excellent. Korean Wings were overdone & not so good. However, I will continue to bring guests, particularly out of towners, to Frost's at any season of the year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Just too bad it is not dog friendly. A l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Just too bad it is not dog friendly. A lovely patio but our little dog is not allowed. He goes with us everywhere and when it is too hot for the car we have to find a dog friendly patio.

He has his own rug he stays on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WA Frost is a gem but when they are busy ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

WA Frost is a gem but when they are busy, service is really poor. I was in a group of 13 people and had to find someone to refill water. No one ever checked on us during our meal to see if the food was okay. I had to track down the server to get our check.

Food was good but the failure of service when they get busy is disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.