Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines. At

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus and lunch menu available. Oyster bar and lounge will be open. Main dining room opens at 430 P.M daily.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Romantic (23)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fireplace (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my fave places to eat. Can't say anything bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had a great time in this restaurant.
The food was great and the service was very courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was very good, table service was excellent. Pricey but far better overall quality than you would find most places, as always seasoned and cooked to perfection.

My biggest issue was that while not even half the tables in the dining area were full all populated tables were in one small area next to each other making it feel over crowded and hard to converse over the noise. Also why have a dress code if you do not enforce it?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I haven't tried the oysters, which I expect is what makes this restaurant special. I had a steak and it was cooked good, yet not the best. I did expect better. It needed an extra spice, or just an additional flavor.
Service and atmosphere was great. Cheesecake was amazing!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch! Food was excellent. Service was good! Would definitely return for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wonderful time ! Yummy oysters ! The service was very good !

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Was a wonderful meal. Best steak in edmonton. Everything cooked to perfection

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went for a special occasion with friends. The service was excellent. There was no wait time even though it was a Saturday night at peak ding hours. The waiter was prompt but not overbearing. Food was excellent. I have recommended to friends.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The overall experience was excellent. My first time there, I will definatly be back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing food and drink. Service was pretty good, but felt a little rushed. The entrees came before everyone was finished their starters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The complete dining experience was excellent a usual. Our usual server was off sick and the replacement was very attentive to our dining experience. Excellent service and food as usual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Prime rib is buttery good and topped off with a monster Yorkshire pudding. Fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Birthday for my boyfriend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The oysters are excellent and am definitely going to take advantage of buck-a-shuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food was great, but our server was condeisending and rude. He completely wrecked the mood of our dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was a return visit with some friends done for dinner.
Service was much slower than what I have seen in the past. Server was not open and did not follow up with the group.
One dinner was poor, steak over cooked and cold. We ordered sides that were forgotten. Waited for sides but by the time they came dinner was over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Attentive servie, great entrée. The oysters were not the most fresh, but we were offered replacements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The noise level was vey high. Food was great. Service was good. Toooooo noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Thus was a business meal and my clients were very impressed. The service was impeccable and our meals were perfectly cooked. I would highly recommend Von's to anyone looking for great service and a great meal.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always enjoy vons. Price is fair food is good and atmosphere inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a great night, with great food and exceptional service. The cocktails were spectacular! The food was incredible! The service was spot on!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Yummy food - AMAZING steak tartare, fresh oysters and great service! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated immediately upon entering and had wonderful service. They comp your parking in the Impark lot next door so you do not need to worry about paying for a spot. The oysters were fabulous and the bison melted in my mouth, all together it was extremely tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Music to loud. Yorkshire was hard as a rock. Prime rib I had was dry. Asparagus was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best steak I have had in a long time!!! I would highly recommend you visit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was excellent, I had the prime rib and my wife had the rib eye steak. The service was very good, and the recommended side dishes were a good compliment to the main entrée.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server was great. Short ribs were terrible - dry and tough. My mashed potatoes had a skin and were cooked to a golden crust on the bottom from sitting under heat so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was terrible, food was good but over priced for the seafood. Asked for bread didn't get any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was poor, and if I'm paying over 200$ for a meal I expect to leave full.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend got sick for the oysters. But the meal was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We weren't there to try a different place for Valentines Day. The food was great, the prime rib was awesome and lots of it, the service was good, but overpriced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines menu was very expensive for the amount of food received. Appetizers we're very tiny and dessert was just not appetizing at all.

The main course was delicious and somewhat made up for the downside from the appetizer and dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was very good. Limited menu due to Valentine's Day. Over priced

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentines. The second floor window view was the best we could ask for. The main servor was great. But overall there were 4 servors. I found a spec of mold on the rasberry desert and the water servor discussed the issue right in front of everybody not acknowledging it was a mold. The main servor exchanged the food right away. B+ for food. 250$ dinner, medium steak came medium rare and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Set menu for Valentines was terrible.
Food was clearly pre-cooked or "kept warm" and quality was unacceptable.
My wife had to send back her entree.
For a cost of $80 per person before wine it was very underwhelming.
We feel like we just got taken advantage of because of the fact it was Valentine's Day.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dinner on Valentine's is cliche but Von's did a great job making it special. We wished there had been more choices rather than the set menu but the rose and chocolates at the end were a nice touch. Our server was friendly but a little too efficient. Usually service as been amazing. Von's is a is a special treat for great steak and great service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome place to eat! Highly recommended. I have been a repeat customer for years. Oyster bar is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was Valentine's Day with a set menu. (80.00 a person) We chose ahi tuna poke as an appetizer, prime rib for our main and a selection of deserts was presented to us. The wine pairing was an additional $35.00. Per person. Overall the food and service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came during Valentine's. was very disappointed with the service and price of the set menu. Food was cold

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.