About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines. At

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus and lunch menu available. Oyster bar and lounge will be open. Main dining room opens at 430 P.M daily.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Steakhouse
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton
1 More
Steakhouse
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

special occasion (104)
romantic (86)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
good for groups (47)
notable wine list (37)
neighborhood gem (27)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (18)
great for brunch (9)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Night out

Dined 6 days ago

Oysters great. Service friendly and attentive but we were not able to linger between courses as food came fast. Please fix cold cardboardy barely warmed up Yorkshire pudding. Not good.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Once was good for me

Dined 6 days ago

I've always been interested in trying Von's. I was disappointed with the value for what you got. The quality of food for the price point is something I'd expect more for. Our table ordered two creme brule's and neither party ate theirs due to the poor quality. The atmosphere was good and the service was excellent though. The extra $20+ for three hours for parking if you can't get into their lot was also another disappointment. Edmonton has a lot of choices when it comes to food and upscale dining. This will not be one of them for me again, unless the food is better, or the prices match what you're getting.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

1st Time

Dined 6 days ago

A little more upscale than my wife and I usually go for, but it was our anniversary so we wanted somewhere nice. The atmosphere at Von's was very nice. The waiter was professional, attentive, and friendly without being the least bit overbearing. We aren't oyster fans but enjoyed a really good steak and crab legs. Overall, a very nice experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was attentive and courteous. Th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was attentive and courteous. The Vons Cut Prime Rib was made to order and had little fat. The Bison Short Rib was outstanding. Too much food to tackle dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Let me start by saying on previous occas ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Let me start by saying on previous occasions, we have had outstanding meals and service at Von's. Unfortunately this was not the case on this visit. My husband ordered the oyster crab appetizer. It was cold and the waiter did take it off the bill. We ordered the regular prime rib and the Von's cut prime rib as main courses with potatoes and vegetables. They also arrived cold. The waiter replaced the meals and they were good but we were discouraged by now and kind of ruined the evening. We assume there was an issue with the kitchen and server. As a high end pricey restaurant, we expected a much higher level of dining experience. We will probably not visit Von's again any time soon, based on this experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

fabulous meal and service at Von's

Dined on May 11, 2016

Recently went to Von's to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday party. There were eight of us. Wine list supurb. All of us enjoyed 4 dozen oysters. Then had great selection of apptzrs. and all eight entrees were great Our waiter was very courteous and attentative. Total the bill was around $1100.00 for the night. Good value at just over $125.000 per person

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining in Style

Dined on May 8, 2016

Sometimes it's nice to get a little dressed up and go out for dinner with a friend. Von's is that perfect place. Incredible food and outstanding service. Great spot for a nice dinner before enjoying the Whyte Ave splendour!!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb roast beef/steak Good selection o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Superb roast beef/steak Good selection of desserts Great drinks too

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were here for Mothers Day Brunch buff ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were here for Mothers Day Brunch buffet. Food was really good but buffet was understocked. Server was good. This is our third year attending this buffet and this is the first time we have not been 100% satisfied. We will definitely be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic meal!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Vons is our favorite restaurant to eat at, the service is always amazing and the food is even better. The only drawback is that there needs to be another one and on the northside.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Do Not have Mother's Day Brunch Here!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Well, our group was early because I thought I would need time to find parking but managed to find a spot at the country nightclub adjacent to Von's so we ended up waiting for 20mins before being seated. The service was slow, took over 15mins to be asked for our drinks and another 15mins for our drinks to arrive, nothing special, just soft drinks... Buffet was setup wrong, should have lines on "both" side of the buffet tables, food was okay, hot if you were in the line when they swapped out the food. The omelet station was the only thing that was enjoyable eating as it was tailored to your taste. No drinks or complimentary drinks included in the Mother's day brunch package, which was expensive to begin with. Would never come back and would recommend to friends and family to "never" go there!

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was always low at buffet. Food was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was always low at buffet. Food was cold and not much variety. Would not go back for special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and kids for Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent and the service was good. I would go again for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch..

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience during our trip to Von's. The Mother's Day brunch was fantastic, especially the variety of cold and warm dishes to choose from, and the kids really enjoyed the dessert table with the chocolate fountain. Specifically, the ham, roast beef, and salmon were all done to perfection. The service was lovely, and we didn't feel rushed or cramped whatsoever. We will definitely be returning. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Superb

Dined on May 3, 2016

Von's has been a graduation, birthday, date, going away, welcome home and anniversary location for me for years. The food and atmosphere are incredible and the staff are knowledgeable and professional. Definitely my favourite steakhouse and one of my top three restaurants in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Certainly poor

Dined on May 2, 2016

After I paid for parking we enter the restaurant asked if we parked I said yes then they asked did you pay to which I said of course they oh you're not supposed to as we pay for your parking. Fine time to state that. Ordered red wine, wine was recommended as a full body. Not so. Caesar salad, below pub quality at best. Garlic bread about the same. Ordered 1 lb of crab legs, truly the saddest crab legs that I've ever had. Very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Vons

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This is a local Edmonton food scene and I like supporting local restaurants. The staff are friendly and the quality of the food is impeccable. I love vons. I am a regular. Love the oysters and the beef is the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Georgina

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first visit to Von's and we were very happy with the whole experience( minus the parking, however we expected that on Whyte Ave on a Saturday night). We were a party of nine celebrating my husbands 50th bday. We had a table upstairs so it wasn't as crowded as downstairs as we were a little more free to celebrate the occasion. Our waitress was amazing very informative and attentive. All nine of us were very happy with our meal selections which came our together and hot. Yes, it was a little pricey but again we expected that and we were there to celebrate so the fact that everything was so good made the cost was secondary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service and great food. Waiter was ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Fast service and great food. Waiter was great at making sure we got everything we ordered and kept our drinks full.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food Greater Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

The selection, presentation and quality of food was 5 star as usual. The attention provided by our server enhanced the dining experience at the 5 star level as well. look forward to returning soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best place in Edmonton

Dined on April 16, 2016

We have been to Vons many many times. Their menu is fantastic and always prepared to your exact instructions. The service is outstanding everytime we go. We hold all our family birthdays and every other special occasion there. We went there for romantic evening last week without all our kiddies( adult children), on friday for a complete seafood night, as we had reservations for the saturday for their prime rib. Was amazing as usual. Service from Jameson and Jannelle was superb. Could not have asked for anything better. Definately would recommend this place. Will be back next week as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Not impressed

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was great Food not impressed especially for the price! Our group of 8 not one said they would recommend coming back :( I was told that vons was like Lux steakhouse and Vons didn't even come close to LUX steakhouse.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food/Service

Dined on April 1, 2016

Waitress was very knowledgable and helpful when selecting the oysters

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had a fabulous meal at Von's on Monday night. Two of us had the prime rib and one had the filet with goat cheese on top. Everything was delicious, especially the Yorkshire pudding. Von's is now our favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Server this is why we ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great Food, Great Server this is why we always pick Von's to celebrate any special occasion. I am always impressed with Von's. Wish there was a "dress code" seeing guys in t-shirts and hats is a shame. But never a deal breaker.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on March 19, 2016

The steak was perfect and the Sangria delicious. Everyone else enjoyed their dishes as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Loved the dynamic, the old jazz/swing set a great mood. Food and our service in terms of wait staff was impeccable. Hostesses were a little cold but they were nice. The lounge is a tad too loud for Such a classy joint.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Girls Night Out On The Town

Dined on March 13, 2016

Three of us went to Vons for a late night supper in the Lounge. We had a variety of oysters from the large selection that is offered with some delicious side sauces. The goat cheese filet minion was tender, delicious and cooked to perfection, as was the rack of lamb. All the staff were friendly and attentive. Afterwards we strolled over to the adjoining nightclub, Cook County Saloon for an exciting evening of great music and dancing. We met so many friendly people there all having a great time. We had a wonderful overall experience for our first time visit and will definitely be back. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff for an incredible evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was excellent,very well prepared. We had the oysters appetizer - which were marvellous; fresh, served perfectly and the sauce was not cloying with heavy cream. Service was attentive and intelligent with great recommendations when requested. Entrees were both variations on beef (prime rib and filet) perfectly done, sides were great - an enormous Yorkshire not noticeably done with leavening and vegetables still had texture.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food outstanding, great atmosphere

Dined on March 6, 2016

The waiter was friendly and very knoweldgeable. He reviwed the menu and made suggestions when he was asked to. Service was well timed. The lobster dinners were excellent, the oysters rockefeller and oysters on the shell were excellent choices for an appetiser.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic time celebrating my wife ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had a fantastic time celebrating my wife's birthday dinner. Thank-you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My favourite restaurant. I will always r ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

My favourite restaurant. I will always return there. The owners are such caring and down to earth people. The beef is the best!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great oysters

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great oysters

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not satisfied

Dined on February 27, 2016

Very expensive, but the food was not worth it. Steak for$39, lamb chop for $46. I already knew the menu was of higher price, but I expected a different experience. Really, food was just OK. The server got a wrong order, they made a 40% discount on one meal though. Margarita for $12, not much different with a soft juice you take out of Safeway fridge. Not recommended at all .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steak! Delicious fries, amazin ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Delicious steak! Delicious fries, amazing service and ambiance. Only con is finding parking!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good, but nothing outstandi ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was good, but nothing outstanding and small portion sizes. Service and atmosphere are top notch but prefer the flavor of the food at other fine dining steakhouses.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Fancy Family Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

Von's accommodated our large party with little notice. We were seated quickly even though we arrived early. The server was friendly and professional. The food was immaculate and the drinks were wonderful. Amazing evening all around.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just amazing

Dined on February 15, 2016

Beautiful evening, delicious food and amazing service

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was outstanding. Their chicken ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was outstanding. Their chicken was well seasoned and very juicy. Will definitely plan another dinner here.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.