Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines.

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus available.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Vons pastry chef can prepare cakes for birthdays. Please contact the restaurant for details. Minimum 72 hours notice.

We do not allow outside cakes into the restaurant.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Service!! Thank you to both waitresses that served us. The two ladies were probably the best service we have had in a long time. Very friendly and smiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I went on a Saturday at 6PM, and got busy right after that, so lucky me. The atmosphere was good and the server was friendly. When the restaurant got busy you could tell that the server was acting more distracted but still nothing to be concerned about. The steaks were delicious, and so were the desserts. Lovely experience, will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

As it had been a few years since we had visited your establishment, it was nice to see that the atmosphere and the people working their are still very friendly, professional, and above all the hospitality and the meal served were outstanding. Our visit here put the cap on a very special day, our 44th wedding anniversary. Thank-You.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

For our 30th anniversary dinner, we started with the aptly named "colosssal" shrimp cocktail, which was delicious. My wife had the filet oscar; the filet was fantastic, but there was a pinch extra salt in the seafood. My prime rib was perfect, accompanied by a large, tasty Yorkshire. The special cheese potato selection was offered at an extra $6 (should have been at no charge, considering the menu prices). We were treated to a complementary dessert. Service was impeccable. We will continue to frequent this great restaurant for our special occasions! Try it, and grab a table near the glorious fireplace!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went for a nice sunday dinner with family. We enjoyed the cozy feeling of dining fireside and the service was exemplary. Our steaks were done perfectly and the vegetables were the best . Topped off with a decent wine list and dessert that was also top notch. I would definitely recommend dining here. It was not super cheap but a good value for your dollar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was not up to par. It took ten minutes for our waitress to come to our table. When our drinks came, refills were rare (my wife ordered a pop). I had ordered a second drink which never came, she didn't realize until the end, so I obviously cancelled it. The waitress also spilled water on my mother-in-law's back and seat. My steak came out rare instead of medium rare, which isn't a big deal because I'm not too turned off by rare.

I have been to Von's a few times and the service always seems to be lacklustre, but the food is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Vons is our go to. We love it. Been here multiple times and nothing bad to say. Any issues arise and they are corrected instantly. My wifey even dropped a massive scallop on the floor and we were treated to 2 replacements. Go here and eat. Seriously. Hardware grill, Ruth's Chris and range road got nothing on Vons. number 1 in edmonton.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great location due to proximity and meal as always was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great place, fantastic food & drink; YOU GOT TO EAT HERE!!!!!
Nancy & Randy Darr

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wait staff was excellent. Food was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I am not sure that the value is there for the price
Very expensive for an average quality meal

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing but our server, a blonde, mid thirties waitress was disinterested, not knowledgable (could not even recommend a wine) and slow. We waiting 20-30 minutes between drinks, with empty glasses and she admit she forgot to ring in my modification to our meal, with no discount for the mistake. Thank you to the kitchen though, the prime rib here is second to none !

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We came to celebrate our anniversary and were not disappointed! The seafood platter for two was perfect - excellent flavour and nice variety. Definitely a top option for a future special date!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Buck and shuck is great! Friendly atmosphere and best prime rib in edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It has been a while since I've been at Von's. The waiter didn't seem to consider that I was in a suit and tie and my date was in a dress- he directed us to his section in the Sports Bar lounge, rather than asking us if we might prefer the quieter dining room. Though he did honour our request to move to the dining room a few minutes after seating us. The food was reasonably good, but not worth the price in today's creative restaurant scene. Wine menu by the glass was limited and definitely a premium price- this from a guy who doesn't mind paying a premium price for good wine. The saving grace was the terrific waitress in the dining room who was attentive and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was great and the setting was very romantic and the food was amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Seafood platter for 2 was fantastic and a lot of food. We shouldn't have ordered an appie but was phenomenal as well - steak bites! Service was excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We weren't too impressed with one of the brunette servers. A little snotty and not attentive. Overpriced for what we had, and was just a big let down.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 4, 2017

As always, superb cuts of beef with extremely well done sides and superb presentation combined with attentive but not overwhelming service. You're never rushed, even long after your meal is complete. Edmonton's best steakhouse by a long shot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Appetizer was a hit out of the park! Prime Rib stuffed Yorkshires....mmm. 1/2 price wine on top of that, and my wife and I had a great night!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We celebrated our 40 th Wedding Anniversary at the restaurant. Alan was our waiter & he was very attentive to our needs! The food was absolutely top notch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

As always, Great food and drinks. I have never had bad service nor an average meal, Von's has been one of the most reliable and above average restaurants in Edmonton. The one word to describe Von's would be simply, Class.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Get the summer special 2 person punchbowl while you can - Amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had reservations for 7 pm. When we arrived we stood waiting for a hostess to seat us for about 10 min. We finally got seated by a waitress and ordered our drinks. Then we ordered appies and our dinner. We received our appies right away however waited for our supper for almost 2 hours. We asked our waitress for more drinks and when she came back to our table 20 min later she grabbed our empty glasses and forgot to even order us and bring us our drinks...she was like "oh yeah brb"...We asked for the manager at that time. She came back and told us her manager would bring out our food. 15 min later, manager comes out with our food. My husband asked her if she is short staffed. She replied no. My husband then asked her why it takes about 2 hours for our food to come out. The restaurant had maybe a dozen people in it. Staff were no where to be found and the bar tenders were cleaning the bar. A couple sat down next to us and when we received our supper they received there appies and dinner within 20 min. The manager did take care of our whole bill which was nice, and totally accepted fault on the situation. The food was really good but the service was ABSOLUTLY horrible.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Celebrated our 38th anniversary here with friends. Seafood platter for 2 was awesome, veggies could have been a little more cooked and greens beans were definitely not fresh. A little disappointed with the oysters rockefeller, considering it is an oyster bar-a little bland I thought-Service was awesome, fun, lively- can't remember her name off hand but her son was also working bussing tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great place to enjoy a nice piece of meat. The oysters were fabulous and the Von's Steak was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. Loved the oysters, steak and 3D dessert menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The oysters were incredible and I recommend them to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had a previous office Christmas party here and the food was fantastic so we decided to come back for mum's 60th birthday. The server we had was extremely friendly and helpful, allowing me to order the kid's food first while the rest of the adults were still enjoying drinks and appetizers. The food was exceptional as always and all in all a great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great place, beautiful restaurant, was disappointed on the rack of lamb.. it was too covered with mustard seed not giving it a roasted taste . Besides that all good.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Von's never cease to impress! Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food, great service, somewhat noisy, but our group was responsible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was amazing. Portions were a little small if you are really hungry. Overall was really enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Overall great experience. Very rare I have a meal where i know I couldn't have done better myself

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I feel the food is over priced for the quality and serving size. We shared the coconut shrimp as on appy to start and received 4 small shrimp on a stick. Love the ambiance and had good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall service by our waitress was great. She did an amazing job. I am a regular and have booked in the past. Before and service has always been great. But I did not feel valued by the manager over the phone when I was booking the private room. I felt like I was doubted when i booked and question multiple times the day of occasion of how many people will I have coming and was told I'll get charged for 35 each for an adult that doesn't show up. I understand an area seats a certain amount of people but I do not agree the extra charges if someone does not show up. Things happen and change last minit. Somethings we cannot control. I would recommend that policy gets over looked or changed for that matter. At the end the day people spend a lot of money eating there and it's not cheap. Overall good place to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I went for Dinner at Von's for our Wedding Anniversary. And it was an amazing experience Service was Good and the Food Outstanding! Oh and the Deserts were very good as well. We are looking forward on returning very soon!! Thanks a lot staff at Von's for making our Anniversary Dinner very Memorable :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went there as we had family from out of visiting and wanted a nice restaurant. Went there years ago and the food was amazing. It's still amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Came here for our anniversary and to keep planning our honeymoon. Pleasantly surprised by how awesome the food and the service was (service was hilarious) Giant comfortable booth, high backed and lovely lighting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vegan, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Relaxing and easy to converse with others in our party.
Service was excellent .
Food very tasty and well presented.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.