About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines. At

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus and lunch menu available. Oyster bar and lounge will be open. Main dining room opens at 430 P.M daily.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Romantic (35)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fireplace (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (19)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Private Room (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Great Beer (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent, I had the prime rib ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent, I had the prime rib and my wife had the rib eye steak. The service was very good, and the recommended side dishes were a good compliment to the main entrée.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was great. Short ribs were te ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was great. Short ribs were terrible - dry and tough. My mashed potatoes had a skin and were cooked to a golden crust on the bottom from sitting under heat so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Service was terrible, food was good but ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was terrible, food was good but over priced for the seafood. Asked for bread didn't get any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Service was poor, and if I'm paying over ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was poor, and if I'm paying over 200$ for a meal I expect to leave full.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Me and my girlfriend got sick for the oy ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Me and my girlfriend got sick for the oysters. But the meal was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We weren't there to try a different plac ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

We weren't there to try a different place for Valentines Day. The food was great, the prime rib was awesome and lots of it, the service was good, but overpriced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Valentines menu was very expensive for t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines menu was very expensive for the amount of food received. Appetizers we're very tiny and dessert was just not appetizing at all.

The main course was delicious and somewhat made up for the downside from the appetizer and dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very good. Limited menu du ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good. Limited menu due to Valentine's Day. Over priced

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Went there for Valentines. The second fl ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for Valentines. The second floor window view was the best we could ask for. The main servor was great. But overall there were 4 servors. I found a spec of mold on the rasberry desert and the water servor discussed the issue right in front of everybody not acknowledging it was a mold. The main servor exchanged the food right away. B+ for food. 250$ dinner, medium steak came medium rare and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Set menu for Valentines was terrible. F ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Set menu for Valentines was terrible.

Food was clearly pre-cooked or "kept warm" and quality was unacceptable.

My wife had to send back her entree.

For a cost of $80 per person before wine it was very underwhelming.

We feel like we just got taken advantage of because of the fact it was Valentine's Day.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Dinner on Valentine's is cliche but Von' ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner on Valentine's is cliche but Von's did a great job making it special. We wished there had been more choices rather than the set menu but the rose and chocolates at the end were a nice touch. Our server was friendly but a little too efficient. Usually service as been amazing. Von's is a is a special treat for great steak and great service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome place to eat! Highly recommended ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome place to eat! Highly recommended. I have been a repeat customer for years. Oyster bar is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was Valentine's Day with a set menu ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

This was Valentine's Day with a set menu. (80.00 a person) We chose ahi tuna poke as an appetizer, prime rib for our main and a selection of deserts was presented to us. The wine pairing was an additional $35.00. Per person. Overall the food and service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came during Valentine's. was very disapp ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Came during Valentine's. was very disappointed with the service and price of the set menu. Food was cold

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My short ribs were over cooked and a qui ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My short ribs were over cooked and a quite chewy. Prob wouldn't order that again. Other then that the service was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was good, waitress was horrible and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good, waitress was horrible and mean after complaining the manager was less then helpful. After complaining about the waitress she acted like a mad ex girlfriend. Moving a chair and slamming it into my knee. I love your steaks but to run the risk of dealing with ppl like that. I would not like to come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and great service!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and very romantic just fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and very romantic just food wasn't for our tastebuds.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated an early Valentine's dinne ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We celebrated an early Valentine's dinner here. I had a filet that tasted fine. Not exceptional. I order medium rare but the temp could possibly have been a bit higher on the meat. Perhaps it wasn't served quickly enough after it was served. My husband had duck poutine which he was not a fan of. There was salt on the table but we were never offered pepper and whenever the waiter came by it wasn't required. Creme brûlée for desert was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This restaurant was phenomenal. Excellen ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This restaurant was phenomenal. Excellent food, excellent service. The atmosphere is very nice and perfect for romance. I went here with my husband and son for an early Valentine's dinner. Even though there is no kids menu they still had chicken fingers and fries. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the lounge which is great for lat ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had the lounge which is great for late night

Wine recommendation was awesome

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You gave us the private room when appare ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

You gave us the private room when apparently you need a larger group but that was definitely very much appreciated but perhaps more appreciated by the rest of the diners as we were a bit of a rowdy group. The service was amazing and I believe Michelle (our server) should get a raise! I will definitely be back!

-Sean Austin

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over all everything was good. I don't th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Over all everything was good. I don't think i would say the food matched the high

price. I would still recommend Von's for a good steak just as long has price is no object.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

some friends were in town so we decided ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 30, 2017

some friends were in town so we decided to skip the stay at home sunday meal and booked a table for 7, that's the way to go ., it was nice & quiet but still a half decent crowd for a sunday , we ordered our drinks, appys & mains, everybody enjoyed everything that they ordered & then some , our waiter was exceptional , outstanding , we grilled him with almost everything on that menu & he fired back , like a true pro , you can see he studies the menu & puts the kitchen before himself , we arrived at 630pm & left around 10pm , love Von's , love the ambience , food & service , to me , that's all you need , always will recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was a little disappointed in the time it ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was a little disappointed in the time it took to receive drinks and desserts. The waiter had little help and was clearing tables himself.

Rainbow trout was a little dry and mussels came with no broth whatsoever which also made them dry.

The hostess called to confirm the night prior and inquired if it was a special occasion. I advised that we were celebrating 2 birthdays. Really not sure why they asked as they didn't do anything for the birthday people anyways?

We haven't been there for several years and we're really looking forward to a fantastic meal. We will definitely go back and give Von's another try as they have such a good reputation.

Cheers

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

2nd time there, invited some friends thi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

2nd time there, invited some friends this time. again the oysters were fantastic. we all enjoyed steaks and prime rib. thought my steak was a bit smaller for a 14 oz.than last time.asparagas was not as good as last time. but over all it is a very good place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the second time I've been to Von ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is the second time I've been to Von's. Again, service, food and atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first experience at Vons was a posit ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our first experience at Vons was a positive one right from the start of our night till we left. The food and atmosphere were great and our server, Sammi was amazing. Best service I have had in years and I spent over 10 years in the hospitality industry. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed oysters, martinis & appetizers i ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Enjoyed oysters, martinis & appetizers in the lounge. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Sports, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best as usual. Never disappoints. Servic ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best as usual. Never disappoints. Service is phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, great presentation. Se ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was amazing, great presentation. Service is outstanding. Would definitely recommend Von's for all Dining occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class place. For when you need gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 17, 2017

First class place. For when you need great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I went on the weekend caus ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friend and I went on the weekend cause she had never been and loved it I have been there a few times and never let down super amazing !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I dont know if it was because we were a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I dont know if it was because we were a group of 8 and the tip was already built in at 18% but I felt like our service below par. Because my group and I work in the service industry I even tipped over an above what was mandated but only because the food was fantastic. I would definitely come back but would try to avoid parties of 8 if this is going to be the case where we get sub par service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Myself and my wife went for dinner and t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Myself and my wife went for dinner and thought it was great. The waiter was awesome, the atmosphere was great and the food was amazing. I would recommend Vons to anyone that enjoys a nice steak or just an evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been here a few times over the last ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Have been here a few times over the last decade and everything has been quite good, but apparently we, or someone had a bad night. Three things had to be returned to the kitched: underdone lamb (asked for medium and got rare--in fact raw in the middle), mussels that had gone off, and cold coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Haven't been at Von's for over 20 years ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Haven't been at Von's for over 20 years so decided to visit again due to much positive publicity. We had reservations for the dining room but at the last minute one more person joined so we switched to the lounge where we could watch the Oilers game on the big screen TV. We were seated quickly and the waitress came to our table with the daily specials for both drinks and food. Service (by Brittney) over the course of our dinner was spot on and kudo's for having all the information at her fingertips. There's nothing worse than when wait staff needs to check with the kitchen to find out what the specials are, always be prepared.

We began with an array of fresh oysters, which the restaurant is known for. After enjoying oysters on both the west and east coasts, these disappointed us. They had a fishy taste and we found them to be very small. On the other hand the sauces had great flavor. Bacon wrapped scallops were a huge hit. We all chose a beef entree and not one of us was let down. Two of us had the prime rib which was cooked to perfection, my 10 oz portion was more than I could eat and being the end cut, even more flavorful. Served with the biggest Yorkshire pudding I've ever seen and garlic mashed. The burger was delicious served with homemade fries and homemade ketchup that should be bottled and sold. My husband had the open faced shaved prime rib sandwich. He loved it. Tirimasu and cheesecake shared all around and we were done.

We've already decided that we'd return so we can try more of the appetizers, particularly the coconut shrimp. Great service made the evening more enjoyable. Dinner and drinks for four was $220 but totally worth it. In the day and age of going out for entertainment, a plus was that Von's took care of our parking. Although the hockey game was playing on the big screen, music was still being piped into the lounge. It would have been great to hear the play by play.

We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for oysters. Server was knowledgeab ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Went for oysters. Server was knowledgeable about oysters and menus and was attentive even though had dinner party in the back. The plating was exceptional. Empty dishes were taken away in minutes. It was game night but atmosphere remained chill.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The desert was really gross and it was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The desert was really gross and it was a set menu for New Years so we didn't have another option, also the prime rib was way undercooked from what we ordered and the lamb was not good. They were out of the oysters we wanted. And brought the wrong champagne to our table, opened and poured it so we didn't have a choice and just drank it. Everything was definitely just meh, I expected a lot more as it was my first time there and a set menu at 90$ a person, our bill was over 700$ for four and I would have rather spent that on better tasting food. Disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We have alway thought Von's was great. T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have alway thought Von's was great. The regular menu does not disappoint. But dinning on special nights - Christmas , New years, Valantines - they have a set menu that, pardon the cliché, KICKS IT UP A NOTCH.

Well - tonight for new years eve 2016 - Von's TOOK IT TO A WHOLE NEW LEVEL.

Start with the best quality prime rib and slow roast it for 17 hours - wow wow wow. The flavor, suculent and meaty, and the crust - sugars in the meat form - just wow. But that was just the entrees.

We started with Double O oysters☆☆☆☆ Excellent choice. A Bottle of Quales Gate double smooth very dry Okanagan Rose (13.5 %)☆☆☆☆ delish.

The preset menu included a Blue Crab salad. We both ordered it. ☆☆☆☆.

I followed with Alberta Porchetta and white beans ☆☆☆☆☆. The wife had Wild Boar And Rabbit and Pistachio Terrine ☆☆☆☆☆.

And of course the prime rib (with Thumbelina carrots and Yorkshire Pudding)

☆▪☆▪☆▪☆▪☆▪☆

(I do not exagerate.)

The preset desert was a culinary odyssey all by itself - deconstructed Black Forest Cake + -(exotic, salty, chocolaty, fruity, crunchy, with delights I loved but struggle to identify ) ☆☆☆☆☆.

We've been a little busy of late so we havn't had much high end dinning time. Dinner at Von's tonight reminded us why we like to make the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.