Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines.

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus available.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Vons pastry chef can prepare cakes for birthdays. Please contact the restaurant for details. Minimum 72 hours notice.

We do not allow outside cakes into the restaurant.

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (28)
Romantic (23)
See All
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated our 38th anniversary here with friends. Seafood platter for 2 was awesome, veggies could have been a little more cooked and greens beans were definitely not fresh. A little disappointed with the oysters rockefeller, considering it is an oyster bar-a little bland I thought-Service was awesome, fun, lively- can't remember her name off hand but her son was also working bussing tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. Loved the oysters, steak and 3D dessert menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The oysters were incredible and I recommend them to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had a previous office Christmas party here and the food was fantastic so we decided to come back for mum's 60th birthday. The server we had was extremely friendly and helpful, allowing me to order the kid's food first while the rest of the adults were still enjoying drinks and appetizers. The food was exceptional as always and all in all a great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great place, beautiful restaurant, was disappointed on the rack of lamb.. it was too covered with mustard seed not giving it a roasted taste . Besides that all good.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Von's never cease to impress! Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food, great service, somewhat noisy, but our group was responsible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was amazing. Portions were a little small if you are really hungry. Overall was really enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Overall great experience. Very rare I have a meal where i know I couldn't have done better myself

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I feel the food is over priced for the quality and serving size. We shared the coconut shrimp as on appy to start and received 4 small shrimp on a stick. Love the ambiance and had good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall service by our waitress was great. She did an amazing job. I am a regular and have booked in the past. Before and service has always been great. But I did not feel valued by the manager over the phone when I was booking the private room. I felt like I was doubted when i booked and question multiple times the day of occasion of how many people will I have coming and was told I'll get charged for 35 each for an adult that doesn't show up. I understand an area seats a certain amount of people but I do not agree the extra charges if someone does not show up. Things happen and change last minit. Somethings we cannot control. I would recommend that policy gets over looked or changed for that matter. At the end the day people spend a lot of money eating there and it's not cheap. Overall good place to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I went for Dinner at Von's for our Wedding Anniversary. And it was an amazing experience Service was Good and the Food Outstanding! Oh and the Deserts were very good as well. We are looking forward on returning very soon!! Thanks a lot staff at Von's for making our Anniversary Dinner very Memorable :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went there as we had family from out of visiting and wanted a nice restaurant. Went there years ago and the food was amazing. It's still amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Came here for our anniversary and to keep planning our honeymoon. Pleasantly surprised by how awesome the food and the service was (service was hilarious) Giant comfortable booth, high backed and lovely lighting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vegan, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Relaxing and easy to converse with others in our party.
Service was excellent .
Food very tasty and well presented.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our waitress was amazing but 3/4 of our steaks were cooked incorrectly which sucked considering how pricey it was. The waitress did get one of them re-done (the only one we asked to be) which was awesome. It was our first time there.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were in town to enjoy a weekend away from the North and wanted a reliable good quality meal. My wife suggested Vons and it was just like old times great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best Steak in Edmonton if not Alberta. It's awesome

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service, mains and drinks were exlempary. The only issue I had was with the oysters, one of Von's supposed high points and one of the reasons I was looking forward to my long-awaited visit. I found them to be very small as opposed to other oyster bars I've visited. From the warm oysters Rockefeller to the fresh on-the-shell varieties, they were all tiny. While Von's may have to deal with what they are supplied with from their seafood vendor, I just wasn't very impressed. Most of the buck-a-shuck specials I've encountered have always had good sized, plump, fresh oysters that satisfy.
That said, I will definitely return as the rest of their menu and service was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is always our go to spot for a business get together as it is a fitting environment for conversation and always predictable food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was really excited to try Vons. It was easy to make a reservation for the 7 of us for a stag, and the overall restaurant was very pretty and had a great feel. Service was great, but ultimately the food fell short. I paid over $60 for a steak dinner, and I really don't think that I saw the value of that. Steak was a bit tough and under seasoned, sides were tasty but nothing special. Everyone there felt similarly about their steaks. I should have just ordered $60 worth of the prime rib sliders, they were the star of the show!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Hello, Dan. I enjoyed my meal and the ambience of the restaurant but I found it very expensive.
I'm born and raised in Edmonton and had been to Von's a number of years ago and it didn't seem as expensive for what you got.
Including tip $190 for two meals, one appetizer and a dozen very small oysters seems a little over the top.
This bill did not include any alcohol either except for one virgin caeser.
I can't see myself returning for that type of bill and I do make a decent income.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food! drinks are awesome too! I especially enjoyed the ARA white wine with my oysters, which was recommended by our server :) Great choice! It was my first time there with my friends and I'll definitely come back again-next time I will bring the husband <3

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Sat in lounge on friday night. Service was excellent. Ordered the seafood platter. Did not taste very fresh. In a nutshell, service excellent, food poor. Next time i will go with steak.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

You don't need a special occasion to enjoy Vons. The service was excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and timely
The menu has a good selection, lots of choices so many reasons to come back
Parking is a little challenging

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I set up a dinner for myself and son to recognized his upcoming wedding. My father did the same thing with myself prior to my wedding ~ 34 years ago when Hys Steak house was still active. I wanted to do a similar tradition with my son and local research disclosed Von's was pretty similar to the Hys restaurant I grew up with in Winnipeg and Saskatoon.

I don't normally spend $315.00 on a restaurant meal ( generally beyond my $$ budget) but this was a special occasion and it has been planned for some time. My son and I enjoyed the meal. I will be back sometime in the future with my Wife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 25, 2017

One of my fave places to eat. Can't say anything bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I had a great time in this restaurant.
The food was great and the service was very courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was very good, table service was excellent. Pricey but far better overall quality than you would find most places, as always seasoned and cooked to perfection.

My biggest issue was that while not even half the tables in the dining area were full all populated tables were in one small area next to each other making it feel over crowded and hard to converse over the noise. Also why have a dress code if you do not enforce it?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I haven't tried the oysters, which I expect is what makes this restaurant special. I had a steak and it was cooked good, yet not the best. I did expect better. It needed an extra spice, or just an additional flavor.
Service and atmosphere was great. Cheesecake was amazing!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch! Food was excellent. Service was good! Would definitely return for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

the food was very good but we thought some vegies should come with the entree not just a la carte. The service was great. a nice evening for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wonderful time ! Yummy oysters ! The service was very good !

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Was a wonderful meal. Best steak in edmonton. Everything cooked to perfection

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went for a special occasion with friends. The service was excellent. There was no wait time even though it was a Saturday night at peak ding hours. The waiter was prompt but not overbearing. Food was excellent. I have recommended to friends.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The overall experience was excellent. My first time there, I will definatly be back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food and drink. Service was pretty good, but felt a little rushed. The entrees came before everyone was finished their starters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The complete dining experience was excellent a usual. Our usual server was off sick and the replacement was very attentive to our dining experience. Excellent service and food as usual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Prime rib is buttery good and topped off with a monster Yorkshire pudding. Fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.