Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

4.1
1694 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines.

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus available.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 439-0041
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mike Doppler
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gateway Boulevard
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Vons pastry chef can prepare cakes for birthdays. Please contact the restaurant for details. Minimum 72 hours notice.

We do not allow outside cakes into the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1694 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Steaks were done to perfection! Prime rib was excellent. Desserts were good but on the pricey side.

Service was slow despite the restaurant not being busy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Not happy with the service. I went with my mother in law who is a senior and from out of town. We got seated and no one acknowledged us for 45 minutes. My husband had to get up and go get someone to bring us our drinks. We waited 20 minutes for our drinks and the server still got it wrong. There was 2 families who came in 30 minutes after us who got their food and drinks before us. When the server came to see us he didn't seem very happy to be there he was very quiet and didn't speak much.....And when we asked for the bill we waited another 20 minutes and finally got someone to bring it to us because my husband AGAIN had to go find someone to bring it to us because they forgot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Not sure what was going on but we had to wait forever for our drinks as they couldn't find our wine, then some items were forgotten to be sent out and it was an avg experience at best. Thankfully the oysters were good enough to carry the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The service and the food was outstanding! We will return for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We had a lovely experience at Von's. Food was flavourful, service was great and not overbearing. The chocolate cake we shared for dessert was a little dry but overall a great dining-out evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The staff provided exceptional service and the food was phenomenal. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It's Mothers' Day so reservations are required. The restaurant was full so depending when people were coming and going it could be loud. To accommodate the crowds a buffet was served but this is primarily a steak house. The atmosphere/decor is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My parents, my daughter and I went out for a pre-concert Mother’s Day dinner. It was my parents first time to Von’s, and I was thrilled to be able to share the experience with them. Experienced wait staff, excellent service, delightful food, and an abundance of menu choice makes this a really great date spot. My daughter and I shared an appetizer, entrée, and dessert and we were both very full. My parents shared the escargot and then each had the lamb, and both needed to pack up lamb to take home!

The steak and lobster that my daughter and I had was absolutely perfect. I said rare and it was truly rare. Deliciousness! Crab shack oysters and crime brûlée were also both excellent.

If you’re looking for a lovely place for dinner, look no further.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food at Von's was terrific - done exactly to taste and of very high quality. It was a bit expensive for weeknight dining, but fit the special occasion we were having. It was unfortunate that the server had just come in from a cigarette break and/or smelled of cigarette smoke. Other than that the service was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Never ceases to excel. Love the ambiance, and service. Great presentation of all food items and the chef knows how to cook a perfect steak ever time! Restaurants with a quiet and relaxed dining room are hard to find, but this one is great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food. Service was uncharacteristically mediocre. Reservation for 4, tried to seat us in Lounge beside 10 young men out for a meal before partying. Thereafter service was not excellent. Surprised

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We have been coming here for 6 years and it seems to be going down hill the last two years and we keep going back hoping it gets better ... but sadly it only seems to get worse .

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

This is my second time coming here the food has been very good both times. Although my first time experience was much better then my second which is why I came back. The second time the restaurant was dead, it took 20 min to get our drinks, then forever for the waitress to come back and take our food order. Then she messed up our food order, our food was a little cold when we got it, still tasted good just not hot. Never asked if we wanted more to drinks, just brought our bill over after she cleaned cleared the plates off. If this was my first time coming here I would never come back, for something that is supposed to be high end and for the price not what I expected for my night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Its the place to be for special occasions. Solid reputation with excellent food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Hadn't been to Von's in years but on the recommendation of our daughter, we decided to meet friends there for dinner. The service (Diane) was second to none, the shareable seafood feast (which they will also so for one person) was very good, it had a great presentation, lots of vegetables, crab, lobster, shrimp and scallops and the potatoes were very flavourful. The halibut, risotto and steak were also very good. We loved the ambience and will be back! We've been looking for another steak house for quite a while and now we've found it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

It's been several years since we were last at Von's. Took our son there to celebrate his recent career accomplishments as he loves both seafood and steak. The food was very good (lots of great options) and the service was quite fine. Beyond that, we experienced a number of disappointments: We had a 7:00 p.m. reservation (on a Saturday evening) and had to park about two blocks away (at a cost of $15.) as there was nothing available closer. (Good we were all able-bodied and it wasn't -35C or pouring rain out.) We were seated in the dining room in a very dark corner (so dark we needed to use the flashlights on our phones to read the menu.) Also, there was a larger party around the corner from us who were having an uproariously fine time. Between them and the toddler seated behind us, it was difficult to hear conversation even between three people in our quiet (Did I mention it was dark?) little corner. The serving dishes our food was served on were quite hot but the meals themselves were rather lukewarm. Meal for three cost us about $350 for (including a bottle of wine). Was it worth it? Ummm. Not sure. Will we be back? Possibly, but not anytime soon. Advice to others: Plan to sit in the bar and plan to arrive earlier on a Friday or Saturday evening unless you don't mind the hike to parking.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My salmon dish, the sauce was dried up on the plate when I received it. Quite surprised the dish wasn't flavorful. Expecting more.
Another order, the burger itself was burnt and again, unflavorful.
For the price and what was received, would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I previously gave Vons 5 stars 6 months ago. Yesterday I was excited to experience Vons with my significant other for my birthday. The service has definitely changed within the past 6 months. They were out of everything we wanted. I get that sometimes you run out of the dollar oysters, but it was more than that. They also didn't have a few drinks on the menu. We really just went there for Sunday dollar oysters. We ended up getting a few oysters because someone else didn't want it. It took 45 minutes to serve the oysters. On top of that I wanted more sauce. The server gave us a dirty bowl, which had sauce caked on from previous use. There was also a mix up with the drinks...which took 20 minutes to get. The appetizer was the escargot. It was delicious. But that took almost an hour to get. We also ordered the oscar steak. It came with a 6oz steak, scallops, shrimp, crab meat, mash potatoes, vegetables and a cream sauce. I believe the manager came and served us our main dish. There wasn't much of an introduction. He didn't apologize for the many hiccups we endured. I just felt that he didn't care about the quality of service. Trust me when I say that there were many moments when we wanted to leave, but we were starving and nothing else was open anymore. Although the food is amazing there, it is obvious that Vons needs to step up their game starting with their service. Our server did try her best, but I think she was so flustered with what was happening that she kept screwing up. I believe it all starts with management.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I brought my wife to Von’s for a evening out and we were not disappointed. Our server was top notch, very knowledgeable about all aspects of our meal and made excellent suggestions based on our preferences. We will definitely go back and highly recommend Von’s to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Order 3 sets of oysters. One was unavailable so I ordered a different type. They brought out 2 sets after the sliders I also order came out which was a bit annoying.
Also ordered a ceaser that I had to remind them about.
Food was good but service was so so for not being too busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great meal and great service I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Took my sweetie to Vons for a date night. The service was great. The food was out of this world it was so good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

For some reason service and food was not as good as usual? Took some new friends and were a little disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Birthday and anniversary. Meal was very tasty but to have a drink very expensive can buy a bottle of wine for that price for an 8 ounce

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Sat in lounge it was cold. Service was disinterested. Did not clear the menus or appetizer plates and sauces after they were done. There for a meal but were mandated to order drinks because it was buck a shuck night. Odd request since we had ordered a bottle of wine. Tomato soup was served cold as well. Not the Vons we once enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Appetizers and service where excellent. The prime rib was extremely underwhelming, probably the worst I’ve had in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Food was so amazing! We will be going back for sure!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Food was phenomenal as always. We had a large group and a few commented that it took a long time for the server to come around to take our drink and food orders. I feel personally that the inital drink orders and aknowlegements could have come sooner but the food order was taken in an appropriate amount of time. Large tables often need more timw to decide. All in all still a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our second dinner at Von's. We held my son's rehearsal dinner in the private hall above a couple of years ago and it was amazing.
This was a family get-together so we ate in the dining room.
The food (rib eye, prime rib, filet mignon, smoked pear and spinach salad) was outstanding in every respect. The vegetables were really cooked/spiced to perfection. Everyone raved about the desserts, as well.
Service was good to very good.
An outstanding place to eat!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

My parents, fiance and I came to Von's to celebrate my birthday. We found it to be overpriced for the value and overall taste of the food. The appetizers and drinks were good however the entree and desserts were not as good as they should be for the amount you pay.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

I reserved a table through Open Table. When we arrived, the hostess led us to the lounge, where she wanted to seat us right under the big screen TV. That was unacceptable, so I asked that we be seated in the dining room. That was much better, and the dining room was not at all busy. We enjoyed our food and wine very much, but felt that the waiter was in a hurry. We were left feeling rather rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Food was quite good, server was courteous and attentive. Despite giving it very little mention on their menu the vegetarian special was unique and delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great oysters. Nice atmosphere, great salad. Would recommend making reservation

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great! Delicious food and good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It was amazing !!! Took my parents there for the first time. They loved it. Super happy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Good food, poor service overall. Server seemed like she was in a rush and not having her attention is frustrating and doesn't leave a good impression for the diner.
Hopefully a one off experience, service has been fine in the past. Probably won't come back for a while though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The restaurant was freezing as all heck
We went thinking it was a nice romantic place for hubby's birthday.
Nope
The restaurant and servers are sore thumbs compared to the customers who go.
This is on our no go again list

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Was seated then watched 3 tables get seated and had drinks before even my pregnant was asked if she wanted a water. Had to get up and ask the bartender to get my wife some water.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Everything was fantastic! My girlfriend quite enjoyed the food, and the beer selection was excellent, as well. My favourite ribeye steak. However, I will say that $14 for only 4 coconut shrimp is definitely steeper than it used to be. I remember portions being a lot larger, although they were extremely delicious as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was delicious, great service. Too costly to be ble to afford it more frequently.
Those potato puffs were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
43