About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines. At

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus and lunch menu available. Oyster bar and lounge will be open. Main dining room opens at 430 P.M daily.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Vons will be offering a 4 course set menu this evening. (Regular menu not available) This is an adult only evening. $90 per person doesn't include tax or service. Wine pairings available as well as oysters. Menu is posted. After 8 p.m. no time limit.

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Steakhouse
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Steakhouse
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Groups (22)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fireplace (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Still the best shrimp cocktails I've eve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Still the best shrimp cocktails I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Menu selection were excellent in the mea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Menu selection were excellent in the meats and fish categories, we had salmon and a lamb dish and both were excellent!! Service was very attentive but unobtrusive - excellent, friendly, discreet. The ambiance was very comfortable. Good wine list. Excellent ceasars! We certainly intend to go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A group of three couples have been getti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A group of three couples have been getting together every Christmas season for about 12 years now. The first time we got together was at Von's. Since then we moved around different restaurants until we finally went back to Von's. We will be coming back here from now on. The food and wine is fantastic. The building is great with plenty of room for a party of almost any size. Parking is a bit of a chore if you get there after 6:30 on Saturday evening as the popularity of Von's and other venues in the area is quite high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent atmosphere. Great food and q ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent atmosphere. Great food and quality service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had been to Von's a year ago and had ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had been to Von's a year ago and had an awesome experience. This time, not so much. The food was good, but my daughter's steak was not done correctly and the waiter never came back so she didn't eat it. It was pricey, and I wasn't overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lovely restaurant, nice atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Lovely restaurant, nice atmosphere. The waiter was very well-versed in the menu and drinks.

LOVE the portion sizes. Just enough, not too big which is always a delight for me.

At other restaurants I usually leave half of my food on the plate due to oversized portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

we had to wait for our table but was sea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

we had to wait for our table but was seated at the bar.noticed the oysters and just had to have some..well quite a few.they were outstanding..fresh..tasty.awesome with the shaved horse raddish.service was absolutely outstanding.very friendly staff.we ended up staying at the bar for a lot longer than first thought.our meal which were the 10 oz filet and the 14 oz rib steaks were done to perfection..service was great..my wife and I have been to many restaurants..this one is the first one I've been to that I didn't find 1 thing wrong.will definetly go back.anyone that is traveling to or lives in Edmonton you have to try this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always! This restaurant n ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Outstanding as always! This restaurant never has disappointed and is certainly one of Edmonton's finest. Want a spectacular steak? Look no further.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Monday night birthday dinner for husband ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Monday night birthday dinner for husband. Sat in the oyster bar. Great oysters, great prime rib, great service. Complimentary dessert for the birthday boy. Hadn't been there for years, and am not sure why. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous supper, service and company... ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous supper, service and company... we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Prime Rib, Great Desert and Beauti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great Prime Rib, Great Desert and Beautiful Atmosphere!

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing and unique food, located close t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Amazing and unique food, located close to theatres and shops, wonderful service, and excellent drinks. Von's never disappoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our fifth wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went for our fifth wedding anniversary. Food was amazing. Had the bacon wrapped scallops which were very tasty and my wife's favorite part. Then we both had the steak Oscar which is our favorite. It didn't disappoint. The garlic mashed potatoes and beets were incredible and the steak and Oscar topping was mouth watering. I wish I had leftovers but I couldn't stop

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, very friendly wait staff! ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service, very friendly wait staff! Excellent food and great presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was awesome! Great service, v ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our server was awesome! Great service, very professional.

Food was great!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was horrendous. Waitress continu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was horrendous. Waitress continuously messed up drinks, was rude, I constantly had to call her over as our drinks were empty for long periods. I requested well done steak got a medium done. I called in to talk with manager after and she was rude as well. Dismissed the complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

This restaurant never disappoints you. T ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints you. The service is great and they know their wines. We order a few dozen oysters and prime ribs for everyone. The seasoning is just perfect, unlike other places where it is too salty. The loaded potato however do lack some more sour cream. We didn't feel rushed. Too bad the TV didn't have closed caption, since it also didn't have sound. I hope that will change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been quite a few times and we had a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I've been quite a few times and we had a meeting with people from all over Canada so I told them we needed to go to Von s and everybody was very impressed.. I will be back Cheers

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the service ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was excellent and the service attentive, but not overly in your face. We were able to have a productive business conversation in a great environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time there and the prime ribs ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My second time there and the prime ribs were made to perfection again. The oysters were fresh. The baked potato was a bit small, which was depressing but the stars were definitely the prime ribs and oysters.

I will definitely go there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing all around , spinach smoked pear ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Amazing all around , spinach smoked pear salad beautiful , tuna tartare to die for

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was cold, portion was small, servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Steak was cold, portion was small, service was just ok. If you are going to charge 40.00 for a steak it better be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It was our 29th anniversary. Never been. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 4, 2016

It was our 29th anniversary. Never been. Our children had recommended it to us. Told us to go have fun. The waitress listened to us, we didn't want too much garlic in the food. She also recommended a great white wine. Perfect. I can't believe I ate the whole thing. Great evening. Nice touch at the end. We were offered a dessert. Would return. Definitely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved it. Food was delicious and the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We loved it. Food was delicious and the server was amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Von's for my Dad's 65th birt ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We dined at Von's for my Dad's 65th birthday. The server was amazing and the food and atmosphere were perfect for the occasion.

The only negative was that there was a very loud male server at the table next to ours at the end of the meal, for such a quite restaurant, it was an unpleasant way to end a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was enjoyable, as a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The whole experience was enjoyable, as always. The wife left with a great experience which, only enhanced my own. Taste was incredible and prepared with obvious care.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a nice dinner in the bar. Music w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had a nice dinner in the bar. Music was tooooo loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food overall was great ordered the musse ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food overall was great ordered the mussels and seafood platter for two.

My only complaint was seating. The restaurant was not busy yet as it had just opened for service, the restaurant decided to sit 5 tables in ear shot of each other. It would have been nicer to have the tables spaced out to have more of a quiet romantic ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Staff was super awesome. Cozy and roman ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Staff was super awesome. Cozy and romantic setting. Food was a ten for sure. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife out for a Birthday dinner ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I took my wife out for a Birthday dinner and it was an absolutely amazing experience! It was our first time there,but not our first time at a well known steakhouse. And we both agreed that it was the Best one we have been to!! Great atmosphere Great service and Great food!! Well done chef and staff we will be back again real soon Thanks!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greatest service I have had at a restaur ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Greatest service I have had at a restaurant. Our waiter Cory was awesome. I am from out of town, but will most defiantly return on my next visit to Edmonton

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed being able to talk - w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very much enjoyed being able to talk - wasn't to noisy. The waiter was respectful.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner; the meal and service were fantastic; we gladly look forward to our next meal here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic atmosphere with friendly a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Very romantic atmosphere with friendly and professional staff. The food and drinks were amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I love Vons, However I was very ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overall I love Vons, However I was very disappointed that our tab for only 5 people ..two senior and a child was 600.00 and the only thing our anniversary couple received for celebrating 50yrs of marriage was a small dessert to share.. even the birthday table next to us got at least a sparkler with theirs. I would think for the price of the meal they would of at least got a dessert each!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is the first time dining at Vons St ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is the first time dining at Vons Steakhouse. Our meal of steak and lobster was delicious with hands down one of the best ceasar salads we have tasted with the strong garlic taste. Our girls surprised us with a gift card and we hope to someday be able to go again. What a wonderful treat! The waiter was very attentive and personable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, friendly staff and an enjoyab ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food, friendly staff and an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was great, fun and to the po ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was great, fun and to the point. The food was very flavorful. The pear salad was my fav.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. And the pati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. And the patio is one of the best kept secrets in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and the s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

We do have one suggestion - maybe a few different strengths of horseradish. One of our group found it to be very hot - too hot to eat and after having a taste could not really taste any of their food after.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.