About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines. At

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus and lunch menu available. Oyster bar and lounge will be open. Main dining room opens at 430 P.M daily.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar
  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar
  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar
Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar
Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar
Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Steakhouse
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Steakhouse
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (55)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Good for Groups (40)
Notable Wine List (26)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was great, fun and to the po ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great, fun and to the point. The food was very flavorful. The pear salad was my fav.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. And the pati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. And the patio is one of the best kept secrets in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and the s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

We do have one suggestion - maybe a few different strengths of horseradish. One of our group found it to be very hot - too hot to eat and after having a taste could not really taste any of their food after.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited Von's for a family birthday f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We visited Von's for a family birthday function. We found, for the price of the food the quality was average. Our sirloin strip steak was a little on the tough side which was very disappointing especially when you pay high dollar for a steak. With the restaurant being only 40% full, the service was not overly good. Would I recommend this restaurant..probably not. Would I come back..not likely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Had a great evening on the patio. Great ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had a great evening on the patio. Great deal on oysters & tasty drinks & appetizers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoy Vons everytime I go. Huge f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really enjoy Vons everytime I go. Huge fan of the oysters and crab legs !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When one books a reservation at a higher ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

When one books a reservation at a higher end restaurant, one expects the service to be higher end. We have been to Von's before and have had exceptional service in both the lounge and in the dining room. As this was our wedding anniversary, we chose the dining room as it was less busy than the lounge. In fact, we were the only patrons in the dining room for the first 50 minutes we were there. Our waitress clearly did not know the features that night. When asked if the buck-a-shuck was still on (this was 6:10 p.m.) she stated ..."no, it was over at 6:00 p.m. It only runs from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.". When I called up Von's website on my phone, and it clearly stated 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. she said "NO". My husband said it was not worth the argument, so we placed our order. We ordered the seafood platter and a bottle of wine. We got our water, bread basket and wine. After several minutes, and emptying our water glasses, our waitress was no where to be found. Again, we were the ONLY patrons still at that point. Frustrated, my husband got up and refilled our water glasses - not once, but twice he filled them over the course of our dinner. During one of these times another couple came in. Woo hoo, maybe now we would get service - NOT! Our waitress brought our food and basically dumped it on the table. We did not see her again until she brought our "complementary desert as it was our anniversary". A complementary $10.00 desert does not make up for the crappy service. When she brought us our bill, I questioned the charge for the wine. Being half price wine Monday the expectation was to have the wine at half price. The waitress, clearly clueless, stated ... "that price is only for certain glasses of wine"... When I stated no, we have had half price BOTTLES of wine here before, she got huffy, grabbed the bill from my hand and went to the back. Several minutes later, she brought back the corrected bill with a simple "sorry". Come on Von's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Had supper on the patio at Von's, the me ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had supper on the patio at Von's, the meal and service was great. I had no idea Von's had a patio so was pleasantly surprised when offered the option. Von's is on a very busy corner with lots of traffic on the adjacent street so it was a little noisy from the traffic but not to the point of interfering with conversation. The meal was great, if you love beef Von's is the place for you, great steaks and prime rib cooked to prefection. Our server was excellent making it a wonderful evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have to been to Von's on a few occasi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have to been to Von's on a few occasions now, and this last visit was by far the worst experience we have had. The dining room was pretty much empty, the service was extremely slow, and our food came out cold.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We went In Especially for the 'buck a sh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went In Especially for the 'buck a shuck' hour and were not disappointed - the oysters were fabulous and the knowledge of the different types available that night our waitress shared was very helpful.

We stayed and ordered main courses - all of which were outstanding. From the burger to steak and the seafood platter we were quite full.

Our waitress was knowledgeable and a pleasure to have serve us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good, from service t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything was very good, from service to food. I thought it was a tad on the pricey side in comparison to a place like the Keg, but worth going.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately, we felt very rushed. Our ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately, we felt very rushed. Our reservation was at 7. We were done eating 7:30!!

Our meals came out very quickly and our drinks came as our meal was being served. I had a glass of red wine, my husband had a Caesar. It would have been nice to sit back and enjoy our cocktails before our meal.

And to be very truthful our prime rib was a disappointment . It was done to our liking med. rare however we found it to be " stringy" My husband was also surprised that he had to pay extra for his baked potato....my mashed potatoes were included. We were not aware that there was an extra cost for choice of potato.

We have always looked forward to our special dinner there at Von's. I'm sorry that I have to send this review...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Our experience was outstanding. We manag ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our experience was outstanding. We managed a reservation on short notice, to enjoy dinner with friends who were unexpectedly in town.

We enjoyed the excellent oyster bar, and found an interesting selection of wines on their list.

The food was very well prepared, both in terms of food quality, as well as presentation.

Service staff were attentive, not intrusive; always very professional. We enjoy Von's a few times each year, and are always happy to see some familiar faces.

If you're in the Edmonton area, Von's is the ideal choice for a great steak!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great night on the patio. Had a bi ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great night on the patio. Had a bit of a hiccup with the Wagyu steak but our server took good care of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had two people sick from eating baked ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had two people sick from eating baked potato and the steak.

Wine list was ok but we asked for two kinds and they did not have it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My favorite steak house! excellent food, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My favorite steak house! excellent food, great service. A must go in Edmonton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ribeye steak was great, filet and lobste ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Ribeye steak was great, filet and lobster had a large lobster tail, dessert was excellent.

service was fine, not pushy, not hovering, but there. We go there for very special occasions, as Von's is special. Oh, and the Denman island losters were delish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was okay but not extra ordinary. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was okay but not extra ordinary. We eat out, quite a bit, and I think that perhaps sometimes our expectations are too high. Portions were small which was okay for us ladies but the men were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for our wedding anniversary the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary the food was fantastic but our server ignored us most of the night and was attentive to her other table that had 4 or more then ours that was just the 2 of us. It was disappointing since it's an expensive restaurant and has made it so were hesitant to go back there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Server was a little lax with these price ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Server was a little lax with these prices I shouldn't have to ask for more water

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been here multiple times now, an ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been here multiple times now, and it has been great every time! Especially in service! Our usual server is Diane and we love her, but Ican honestly say that no matter who has helped us it has always been great

The goat cheese fillet is amazing, I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fantastic portions are small. Pr ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is fantastic portions are small. Prices are expensive. Should have vegetables included with the steaks/prime rib

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband nor I had ever been to Von's, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My husband nor I had ever been to Von's, so we decided to go there to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. I took advantage of the Oyster special that they had running and I was not disappointed. However at the end of the night our server offered us a complimentary dessert as it was our anniversary, but she quickly returned to our table to inform us we were not eligible since I took advantage of the "Buck a Shuck". We were both shocked considering we had just spent over $200 on the bill and they would not comp us a tiny dessert (as described by our server) since we took advantage of a special that they have running daily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The dinner was incredible. The buck a sh ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The dinner was incredible. The buck a shuck was amazing and then the seafood platter was out of this world! I can't wait to go back. I'm craving everything again as I type this

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Attentive but not intrusive servers (Cai ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Attentive but not intrusive servers (Caitlyn ) not a long wait for dinner, gift certificate for Father's Day a nice surprise . Not rushed , altogether very pleasant family dinner. Thanks ,it was a good evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal for Fathers Day, had Core ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent meal for Fathers Day, had Corey as a wait staff and his helpful hints was much appreciated

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My steak was cooked perfectly

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My steak was cooked perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here a couple of times and ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been here a couple of times and enjoyed it very much! However, this trip was not so good. Not sure what was happening in the kitchen but neither of our steak was cooked at all close to what we had ordered. I told the waitress she checked her notes and said she would take it back which she did. Second time was not much better I could not finish it:-( Disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent choice. Awesome food. Great wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent choice. Awesome food. Great wait staff. Only downfall was they put us upstairs and the atmosphere was non existant. Kind of pricey too but we knew that going in. I would go back. Id recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

For those who enjoy a warm traditional atmosphere.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It is always great to return to Von's, where we can guarantee receiving excellent service and great food, served in a warm and friendly atmosphere . My filet mignon was cooked to protection. The vegetables were amazing, and the chef catered to my request to substitute the potatoe for an extra vegetable. My husband and our guests all chose the Arctic char special, and all enjoyed their selection. From appetizers to desserts everything was first class. Good wine list and reasonable pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service sub standard

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

For a restaurant of this quality the service was sub standard. Our waitress was unenthused, almost standoffish. Everyone in our party had a drink to start however, when our server asked us if we wanted another round of drinks they never showed up. She brought a dessert for the special location at our table which was a 40th wedding anniversary. However, no one else at the table was offered dessert. I had to go find her and ask her for a dessert menu and coffee. Our waitress was just very unengaged.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent Dining Experience!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We went to Von's Steakhouse and Oyster Bar on May 28th to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was perfect, great service, wonderful food, romantic atmosphere. The perfect setting for this special occasion. Loved all of the food, especially the Caesar salad, those anchovies are tasty! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Filet Mignon with the peppercorn ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had the Filet Mignon with the peppercorn sauce and it was outstanding! Great atmosphere and great service. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten Free

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My only concern is that there was no option for gluten free bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Night out

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Oysters great. Service friendly and attentive but we were not able to linger between courses as food came fast. Please fix cold cardboardy barely warmed up Yorkshire pudding. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Once was good for me

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I've always been interested in trying Von's. I was disappointed with the value for what you got. The quality of food for the price point is something I'd expect more for. Our table ordered two creme brule's and neither party ate theirs due to the poor quality.

The atmosphere was good and the service was excellent though. The extra $20+ for three hours for parking if you can't get into their lot was also another disappointment.

Edmonton has a lot of choices when it comes to food and upscale dining. This will not be one of them for me again, unless the food is better, or the prices match what you're getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

1st Time

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A little more upscale than my wife and I usually go for, but it was our anniversary so we wanted somewhere nice. The atmosphere at Von's was very nice. The waiter was professional, attentive, and friendly without being the least bit overbearing. We aren't oyster fans but enjoyed a really good steak and crab legs. Overall, a very nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was attentive and courteous. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was attentive and courteous. The Vons Cut Prime Rib was made to order and had little fat. The Bison Short Rib was outstanding. Too much food to tackle dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Let me start by saying on previous occas ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Let me start by saying on previous occasions, we have had outstanding meals and service at Von's. Unfortunately this was not the case on this visit.

My husband ordered the oyster crab appetizer. It was cold and the waiter did take it off the bill.

We ordered the regular prime rib and the Von's cut prime rib as main courses with potatoes and vegetables. They also arrived cold. The waiter replaced the meals and they were good but we were discouraged by now and kind of ruined the evening.

We assume there was an issue with the kitchen and server.

As a high end pricey restaurant, we expected a much higher level of dining experience.

We will probably not visit Von's again any time soon, based on this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

fabulous meal and service at Von's

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Recently went to Von's to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday party. There were eight of us. Wine list supurb. All of us enjoyed 4 dozen oysters. Then had great selection of apptzrs. and all eight entrees were great Our waiter was very courteous and attentative. Total the bill was around $1100.00 for the night. Good value at just over $125.000 per person

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.