About Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

10309 81 Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 1X3
View Larger Map

Vons Steakhouse & Oyster Bar is locally owned and has been proudly serving Edmonton the highest quality of beef and seafood available since 1988.

Featuring a premium dining room, three private dining rooms and a premium casual lounge with exposed brick, New York style 30 foot bar and oyster bar this restaurant has something for everyone.

Happy Hour from Monday to Friday starts at 430 p.m.- 630 p.m. We serve our full menu in both the restaurant and oyster bar areas. Our Oyster bar generally features over 15 varieties of oysters are are shucked to order right in front of you by our bar chefs. We offer 30 wines by a glass with specific attention to Pacific Rim and Canadian Wines. At

Dining reservations are recommended but not required. We love spontaneous visits. The lounge, patio and oyster bar area is first come first served. ( some exceptions )

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00pm
Happy Hour: " Buck a Shuck " in the lounge only (first come first served ) Monday - Friday 430 - 630. Friday after 10 p.m. and all night Sundays

Group menus and lunch menu available. Oyster bar and lounge will be open. Main dining room opens at 430 P.M daily.

Patio and Lounge/ No minors allowed

Cross Street:
Gateway Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-0041

Website:
http://www.vonssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Vons also validates parking for guests who park in the public parking lot west of the restaurant. Please bring in your licence plate number for validation.

There is additional paid parking in the Shoppers Drug Mart lot just west of us and there is paid parking underground across the street from us.

Executive Chef:
Mike Doppler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, Edmonton, AB

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Vons will be offering a 3 course menu ($80 plus tax and service) Sorry no regular menu. This is an adult only evening. Early seating's are 1.5 hours. After 8:30 you may keep the table for the evening. Flower arrangements can be ordered.

Private Dining

At Vons Steak House & Oyster Bar we know how important special occasions are to our guests. Vons is the perfect venue for birthday celebrations, wedding receptions, engagement parties, corporate meetings, breakfast meetings, business lunches and social gatherings.

Von's Steakhouse & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Romantic (27)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fireplace (20)
Business Meals (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Notable Wine List (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (6)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Sports (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I went on the weekend caus ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

My friend and I went on the weekend cause she had never been and loved it I have been there a few times and never let down super amazing !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I dont know if it was because we were a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

I dont know if it was because we were a group of 8 and the tip was already built in at 18% but I felt like our service below par. Because my group and I work in the service industry I even tipped over an above what was mandated but only because the food was fantastic. I would definitely come back but would try to avoid parties of 8 if this is going to be the case where we get sub par service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Myself and my wife went for dinner and t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Myself and my wife went for dinner and thought it was great. The waiter was awesome, the atmosphere was great and the food was amazing. I would recommend Vons to anyone that enjoys a nice steak or just an evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Haven't been at Von's for over 20 years ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Haven't been at Von's for over 20 years so decided to visit again due to much positive publicity. We had reservations for the dining room but at the last minute one more person joined so we switched to the lounge where we could watch the Oilers game on the big screen TV. We were seated quickly and the waitress came to our table with the daily specials for both drinks and food. Service (by Brittney) over the course of our dinner was spot on and kudo's for having all the information at her fingertips. There's nothing worse than when wait staff needs to check with the kitchen to find out what the specials are, always be prepared.

We began with an array of fresh oysters, which the restaurant is known for. After enjoying oysters on both the west and east coasts, these disappointed us. They had a fishy taste and we found them to be very small. On the other hand the sauces had great flavor. Bacon wrapped scallops were a huge hit. We all chose a beef entree and not one of us was let down. Two of us had the prime rib which was cooked to perfection, my 10 oz portion was more than I could eat and being the end cut, even more flavorful. Served with the biggest Yorkshire pudding I've ever seen and garlic mashed. The burger was delicious served with homemade fries and homemade ketchup that should be bottled and sold. My husband had the open faced shaved prime rib sandwich. He loved it. Tirimasu and cheesecake shared all around and we were done.

We've already decided that we'd return so we can try more of the appetizers, particularly the coconut shrimp. Great service made the evening more enjoyable. Dinner and drinks for four was $220 but totally worth it. In the day and age of going out for entertainment, a plus was that Von's took care of our parking. Although the hockey game was playing on the big screen, music was still being piped into the lounge. It would have been great to hear the play by play.

We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for oysters. Server was knowledgeab ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Went for oysters. Server was knowledgeable about oysters and menus and was attentive even though had dinner party in the back. The plating was exceptional. Empty dishes were taken away in minutes. It was game night but atmosphere remained chill.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The desert was really gross and it was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The desert was really gross and it was a set menu for New Years so we didn't have another option, also the prime rib was way undercooked from what we ordered and the lamb was not good. They were out of the oysters we wanted. And brought the wrong champagne to our table, opened and poured it so we didn't have a choice and just drank it. Everything was definitely just meh, I expected a lot more as it was my first time there and a set menu at 90$ a person, our bill was over 700$ for four and I would have rather spent that on better tasting food. Disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We have alway thought Von's was great. T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have alway thought Von's was great. The regular menu does not disappoint. But dinning on special nights - Christmas , New years, Valantines - they have a set menu that, pardon the cliché, KICKS IT UP A NOTCH.

Well - tonight for new years eve 2016 - Von's TOOK IT TO A WHOLE NEW LEVEL.

Start with the best quality prime rib and slow roast it for 17 hours - wow wow wow. The flavor, suculent and meaty, and the crust - sugars in the meat form - just wow. But that was just the entrees.

We started with Double O oysters☆☆☆☆ Excellent choice. A Bottle of Quales Gate double smooth very dry Okanagan Rose (13.5 %)☆☆☆☆ delish.

The preset menu included a Blue Crab salad. We both ordered it. ☆☆☆☆.

I followed with Alberta Porchetta and white beans ☆☆☆☆☆. The wife had Wild Boar And Rabbit and Pistachio Terrine ☆☆☆☆☆.

And of course the prime rib (with Thumbelina carrots and Yorkshire Pudding)

☆▪☆▪☆▪☆▪☆▪☆

(I do not exagerate.)

The preset desert was a culinary odyssey all by itself - deconstructed Black Forest Cake + -(exotic, salty, chocolaty, fruity, crunchy, with delights I loved but struggle to identify ) ☆☆☆☆☆.

We've been a little busy of late so we havn't had much high end dinning time. Dinner at Von's tonight reminded us why we like to make the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought carbon tax started on January ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I thought carbon tax started on January 1, prices were very expensive for not the best food. Dessert choice was not good on the New Years menu. Our waitress was very very good though.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dining experience, started News Ev ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dining experience, started News Eve off on the right note. Fabulous Seafood platter , overall the 4 coarse selections were all very good, enjoyed the food very much. We will keep this restaurant in mind again for next New Year's Eve dinner for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a 6 pm seating in New Years ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for a 6 pm seating in New Years Eve. The menu and wine pairings were phenomenal. The oysters were fantastic too - but they always are. I've never had a bad meal or poor service at Von's. It's always top notch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found our waiter on New Year's eve to ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I found our waiter on New Year's eve to be excellent. He was knowledgeable about the menu items and was very attentive but not pushy. He made the dining experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice atmosphere, great food, and gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, great food, and great service. Accommodating even down to the special table request.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely ambience, beautifully appointed t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Lovely ambience, beautifully appointed tables with lovely dinner and flat wear....along with a very well prepared and plated meal.....the experience at Von's was exceptional. Can't wait for a repeat visit!! Thanks to the great serving staff and chef's!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, , Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food and service and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Consistently great food and service and a very relaxed and warm atmosphere. We enjoy the fact that Vons has not gone "all steel and glass". The older style décor is warm and inviting, and the large inglenook fireplace is an added benefit on a cold winter night. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the meals were very well presented. Vons remains one of our favourite places for a romantic meal for two, or a gathering with friends. It never ceases to impress.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant room, good food, good wine, ver ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Pleasant room, good food, good wine, very good service. Decent prices and selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not only is the food above reproach, but ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Not only is the food above reproach, but the service is impeccable. I can Not say enough about Von's.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and came promptly, everyone w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and came promptly, everyone was happy. Cheesecake was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent evening in every which way. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

An excellent evening in every which way. First time visit for our friends and they commented it was a fabulous evening. Good food, good friends, good atmosphere... love the lounge bar and a buck a shuck! Will be back again soon!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! Exceptional profes ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Exceptional professional staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and service was amazing !! ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fabulous meal and service was amazing !! Super noisy though

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastically cozy restaurant with gre ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A fantastically cozy restaurant with great service! ...and most importantly, the food was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cory our server was the best! Very knowl ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Cory our server was the best! Very knowledgable with the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice atmosphere, cozy, warm, service was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Nice atmosphere, cozy, warm, service was appropriately paced. All items are very expensive and the portion size is really small, so this is a special occasion place only.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice food, attentive and knowledgea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very nice food, attentive and knowledgeable server, nice room. However there was a large and extremely noisy table in the corner with no screens, curtains or any noise abatement. This was the Saturday before Christmas when the room was full with adults having nice dinners who could not hear their conversations. We mentioned our trouble in hearing ourselves talk and the server was sympathetic and told us that this was a bachelorette party. This was no surprise to us given the amount of liquor being delivered to the table.

The manager never turned up to apologize, even when we mentioned again as we got our coats that our evening had been spoiled by the noise. We were asked when we booked whether we were celebrating a special occasion (we were-- two birthdays), so this stagette was no surprise to them. We are very disappointed that not only was the evening spoiled, but that there was no effort to apologize. Don't think we're going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. One of my favorite ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic as always. One of my favorite restaurants in Edmonton.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, just the right amount of ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great service, just the right amount of attention without being bothersome. Delicious food, steaks done to perfection, minor order mixup fixed seemlessly and graciously.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The oysters were fresh and fabulous. The ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The oysters were fresh and fabulous. The food and the service was great. However, the prime rib was not to the size we ordered. We ordered one regular and one Von's cut; however, both came and looked to be regular cuts. The server couldn't tell the difference when asked but later did say one is a Von's cut based on what was in the system of what we have ordered. Slight disappointment but the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Still the best shrimp cocktails I've eve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Still the best shrimp cocktails I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Menu selection were excellent in the mea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Menu selection were excellent in the meats and fish categories, we had salmon and a lamb dish and both were excellent!! Service was very attentive but unobtrusive - excellent, friendly, discreet. The ambiance was very comfortable. Good wine list. Excellent ceasars! We certainly intend to go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A group of three couples have been getti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A group of three couples have been getting together every Christmas season for about 12 years now. The first time we got together was at Von's. Since then we moved around different restaurants until we finally went back to Von's. We will be coming back here from now on. The food and wine is fantastic. The building is great with plenty of room for a party of almost any size. Parking is a bit of a chore if you get there after 6:30 on Saturday evening as the popularity of Von's and other venues in the area is quite high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent atmosphere. Great food and q ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent atmosphere. Great food and quality service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had been to Von's a year ago and had ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had been to Von's a year ago and had an awesome experience. This time, not so much. The food was good, but my daughter's steak was not done correctly and the waiter never came back so she didn't eat it. It was pricey, and I wasn't overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lovely restaurant, nice atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Lovely restaurant, nice atmosphere. The waiter was very well-versed in the menu and drinks.

LOVE the portion sizes. Just enough, not too big which is always a delight for me.

At other restaurants I usually leave half of my food on the plate due to oversized portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

we had to wait for our table but was sea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

we had to wait for our table but was seated at the bar.noticed the oysters and just had to have some..well quite a few.they were outstanding..fresh..tasty.awesome with the shaved horse raddish.service was absolutely outstanding.very friendly staff.we ended up staying at the bar for a lot longer than first thought.our meal which were the 10 oz filet and the 14 oz rib steaks were done to perfection..service was great..my wife and I have been to many restaurants..this one is the first one I've been to that I didn't find 1 thing wrong.will definetly go back.anyone that is traveling to or lives in Edmonton you have to try this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always! This restaurant n ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Outstanding as always! This restaurant never has disappointed and is certainly one of Edmonton's finest. Want a spectacular steak? Look no further.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Monday night birthday dinner for husband ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Monday night birthday dinner for husband. Sat in the oyster bar. Great oysters, great prime rib, great service. Complimentary dessert for the birthday boy. Hadn't been there for years, and am not sure why. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous supper, service and company... ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous supper, service and company... we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Prime Rib, Great Desert and Beauti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great Prime Rib, Great Desert and Beautiful Atmosphere!

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing and unique food, located close t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Amazing and unique food, located close to theatres and shops, wonderful service, and excellent drinks. Von's never disappoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our fifth wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went for our fifth wedding anniversary. Food was amazing. Had the bacon wrapped scallops which were very tasty and my wife's favorite part. Then we both had the steak Oscar which is our favorite. It didn't disappoint. The garlic mashed potatoes and beets were incredible and the steak and Oscar topping was mouth watering. I wish I had leftovers but I couldn't stop

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.