Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Volare Ristorante

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and value EXCEPT the $15 piece of chocolate cake. The price was not stated or shown. The piece size was massive, but I'm afraid this was a pure case of quantity over quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Table for 11 with a high chair. Awesome experience, great food, can't wait to do it all over again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my adult twin girls here for their birthday. The atmosphere was both warm and elegant. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the authentic Italian cuisine served at Volare. The house salad dressing is wonderfully sweet and tangy. One daughter is a vegitarian and had gnocci. The other daughter had the veal scallopini masala and I had the veal parmasean, which were delicious! For dessert we had Cannoli and Tiramisu, which were to die for. I look forward to taking my two younger daughters there for their birthdays in September. YUM!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lamb chop is excellent! Volare atmosphere is wonderful. Servers are on the spot. The owner who is the chef comes out for receiving our compliments is so very nice. Truly a local gem so glad to have this near to home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great date night here. Our waiter, John, was awesome. Friendly and funny but not over the top. Will definitely be requesting his section from now on. Food was delicious. It is a little pricier here, but we don't get out often so we didn't mind. Steak medallion dinner is amazing!!!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband's veal and my salmon were both very good. The salads were disappointing. The dinner salad looked like Costco greens with a couple of olives and a tomato. One friend had a Caeser salad which was brown around the edges so he sent it back. They took it off the bill but did not provide a new one. Our other friend upgraded to a Caprese salad. She loved the balsamic drizzle and asked for more. The waiter said he would have to check with the manager and then came back and announced that there would be an additional $3 charge if she wanted more dressing as it "is expensive to make"!

This was our second time there in 3 months. Both times the main dishes were very good but service was sketchy. Both times, our waiters appeared to be a little "disconnected". We all wondered what they were doing out in the back before dinner. This time we took friends there for his 60th birthday and we were embarrassed by the service. Refill glasses and some plates were never removed from the table. The waiter never offered a desert menu without me asking, even though I told him it was a special birthday when we came in. We went out for ice cream afterward!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great meal, great bartender as we ended up eating at the bar and enjoying conversation. So much fun was had by all of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sat at the bar with friends and had wine and a very good meal, served by our bartender/waiter named Dave. He is very helpful, witty and informed. Nice choice of wines without being overwhelming. Steaks are very good as are the Italian dishes. Probably our 10th visit. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was outstanding, wine menu was great service was good, only thing that could improve upon. Sat at the bar a great time talking with the bartender and other customers. This is without a doubt one of the best restaurants around let alone a great Italian steakhouse. I will be going back on a regular basis for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Never disappoints! We had another great visit there last night. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Enjoyed the complimentary eggplant appetizer and both the sausage rigatoni and paparadel. Nice atmosphere and very attentive service. Always consistently authentic and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was dining with two Italians from Italy. They both thought the Pizza Margherita we shared as an appetizer was authentic and closest to Italy, even if it was a little undercooked. However, we all agreed that even though the food was delicious, it was a expensive for pasta. For example, on the menu, there was pasta with salt and pepper for $20. I could understand if the pasta was homemade, but for mass produced pasta, this was too expensive. It is a great restaurant for celebrating special occasions, but expect to drop some cash. For the three of us, we spent $150+ for 1 drink/person, shared appetizer, and main pasta course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was the first time I dined here since the restaurant moved across the street. I found every aspect to be below the previous setting. I ordered the sea bass which came with the entire skeleton still inside- having worked at a Sea Food restaurant years ago I fumbled through removing it- but I really felt that that is something the wait staff should do before presenting it to the customers, as it was I had several bones in almost every bite. I had the ceasar salad prior- it was fresh and crisp but the taste of the dressing was 'just different'. Our waiter was a nice and polite young man but not up to the standards of what this restaurant used to be. I had gone to the restaurant with the hopes of reestablishing a habit of going but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was good, but prices were very expensive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an awesome meal celebrating Easter. Our server Andrea was awesome and food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was an Easter Brunch reservation-Not what these guys do everyday. Food good-foil pans on the buffet-not good. Needed signage for food items. Food Looked very tired for our 1:00 reservation. Desserts were very messy and could have used a replating so that the table was still appealing. Servers Brandon and David are always a pleasure. Would not return for a holiday buffet not their forte but certainly would for regular dining. I believe that is what Volare excels at.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent with very good service which is not always the case on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was amazing. Not cheap, but worth it. The variety of food was tremendous and top notch quality.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a hidden gem in Wixom. The food is excellent and the service is great. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's great for special occasions, business lunch and dinners, and for just having a great meal.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Absolutely LOVE this place. Had only visited once before for lunch. Had dinner the other evening and the food was so delicious that I was disappointed when my plate was empty. Wines are equally scrumptious. Perfect ending to a hectic and frazzled day. Waitstaff is knowledgeable and attentive without being overwhelming.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fish was good but not exceptional. Should have stick with the steaks which are typically very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Food, service and value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is our second time there for a birthday celebration.
Food was excellent.
Noise level good for conversation at a large table for 7.
Service was not as good as our first visit.
May have been short staffed.
2 dinners were brought to the table, then 3 more several minutes later and the last 2 several minutes after that.
We brought our own cake which was served to us nicely but dessert plates were dirty and it took several minutes to get more plates.
Then it took several minutes to get the check and then again to have our payment taken.
When I say several minutes I mean longer than I expect or am used to.
Again, it was very busy and they may have been understaffed.
Waitress seemed to be trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved our meal. The restaurant staff was attentive and very accomodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The special was surf and turf (filet of beef with a lobster tail) Thought it would be only one price but got charged for the steak and lobster tail separately. Not good...ruined the entire evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We tried Volare after an absence for a year or so. Not a great deal had changed ...the food is still good and well presented; the ambiance is agreeable, though the lighting is a tad bright; and it's busy, with some buzz and noise. All good. The thing that keeps Volare from being a 4-star venue is service - it's exasperatingly disorganized. This is *not* a criticism of the individual servers; quite the opposite. Our server worked hard and had nary a break. It's the organization. There seems to be no rhyme or reason why servers are assigned as they are. It therefore seems like people are running around, very busy, but little is accomplished. We'll be back, but be prepared to wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have nothing good to say about our experience. Food was like eating a salt-lick. Service was elusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It's just odd to sit out on the covered patio when it's 25 degrees out. It's loud with the road traffic. People going to Alex's pizza place leave their lights on their car and the lights go right into the patio area. Not many people wanted to sit there, quite a few tables moved back into the dining room area. I wish we would have as well. To spend that much money on dinner and sit out on a covered sidewalk in February is weird. Food was good and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a wonderful meal however the ambient noise made it difficult to hear the server and have conversations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall experience was good but was very disappointed in the bread - which was far from Italian and is of course, your first impression of the food since it was first to come to the table. Balsamic Vinegar was bitter and cheap tasting. Pasta dishes were very overpriced but I have to say they were delicious. We had the Tiramisu for desert and it was not authentic. So I can't review as a "steak" house, but as an Italian restaurant serving Pasta, I can't say that I will revisit.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was good. Very loud. Service was pretty slow. A little overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The only thing they didn't tell us about was the apple pie. Food was wonderful

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and great wines. Service was decent but had to ask for bread and other condiments that were already on most tables. Still they took care of things quickly. Busy night with Valentines Day guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time dining with you and the food speaks for itself. The cuisine is absolutely exceptional!! Our server Brandon was superb and on top of everything from start to finish. We asked to meet the chef halfway through our meal because we had to know who had prepared and executed our amazing entrées. As busy as the chef was, he did find time for a short meet and greet. His name is Joe and he made the BEST NY Strip I have ever eaten! Hands down outstanding flavor in both my husband's and my entrée. We will return to taste more of your dishes. I would like to see an updated menu. I would love to see you expand as well. My only advise for a positive change would be to not have the bar so near to the dining area to prevent an escalation in noise level, and to have the walkway and parking lot cleaned up a little. Other than that, keep doing what you are doing because you do it well! I have already completed a face book review and told friends how great everything was. Best advertisement is word of mouth and social media! :) We will see you again really soon! Until then, Take care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Volare is one of my favorite places to eat lunch in the entire Metro Detroit area. I should branch out, but I always order the Espresso lunch which includes the appetizer, a pasta dish, an entree of either salmon or veal and a cannoli for desert. I am looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Over priced for the food you get. Please don't bring salt and pepper to the table if I am paying $75 for a steak and no brown lettuce. Have chefs given up on cooking great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Large portions. Waiter was professional.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent customer service. We got off to a rough start because we didn't get seated 45 minutes after our reservation time. The manager was understanding and professional. The staff took amazing care of us and we were pleased with that, as well as the quality of the food and great ambiance.
Although the wait time was a bit crazy, we would definitely return for another great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Volare is an unexpected gem. Classic Italian food prepared with only the best ingredients and technique. The service was wonderful too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I came here for an early Valentines Day dinner. We love the gnocchi! Excellent dish, we get it every time. Also the sausage and peppers is second to none. We had the cheese cake for dessert which was also very good. I'd try something else but the gnocchi is too good to pass up. I do wish the place had a little more space. I sat at a two seater out in the patio room and barely had room to sit. The guy behind me had his chair so far out even after I asked if he could move it in. I had to sit on an angle. I've never been disappointed here. Thank you and keep up the good work. Maybe I'll try a steak next time I'm in.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.