Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Volare Ristorante

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Business Meals (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful experience! Would go back again soon! Great smells!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a beautiful night to sit outside and we had our favorite server, Claudia. She did an excellent job handling a family gathering a few weeks ago and didn't disappoint this time either. My husband had the filet with a delicious (zip) sauce and I ordered a pasta dish, all of them good! We'll be returning with a group of friends in a couple weeks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

First visit to Volare and our party (4) found the occasson pleasant. For the most part our selections were prepared well with minor disappointments. ex. The pasta on the Tortelline in chicken broth was on the chewy side. The bread crumb coating seasoning on the Veal Scalopinni Parmagana was bland and our appetizer of Yellow Fin Tuna Crudo was not remarkable. Having said that our Salmon, veal, steak and chiken piccata dishes overall were authentic and overall good. Plan on coming back to experience their luncheon menu. P.S. Our waitress(Starr) was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It took us an hour and 40 minutes to get our food. Many other tables had been seated after us and left, before we received ours. Our waitress kept telling us, they were fixing the problem and our food would be right out. We were told that at least 6 times. There were only 3 of us, so not sure what happened....
When we finally did get our meal, it was very good, but honestly we were frustrated and tired, so it wasn't enjoyed the way it should have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and service were both exceptional for sure. The facility was comfortable although we were inside the outside looked good. The filet steak was exceptional in quality/taste. The drinks were made very good. All the people were extremely attentive to us and personable..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fantastic. My guests loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Reservations were for a party of 2 and all indoor tables were taken...so we were seated outside
The slope of the patio while maybe great for drainage...placed the table at a pretty steep angle for dining and did wobble....not what one expects from a higher end restaurant.
Food is wonderful, service attentive....but lack of care was disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Relaxing atmosphere on the patio. Service was prompt, informative.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was good. Food wasn't. The linguine I got for over $30 was so mediocre that I would probably never comeback.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had an enjoyable summer evening sitting outside. The Italian red wine list is extensive, took us awhile to pick, but you couldn't go wrong, excellent selection.
Our server was friendly and sweet.
The food was all delicious, with an extra special shout out to the lamb chops which were PERFECTLY prepared and the best we've had, maybe ever!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Enjoyed the meal, tho it was on the pricey side. Sat on patio, which was quieter than inside. Chocolate cake dessert was HUGE.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food here is consistently great. All the veal dishes are amazing. The steaks and chops are high-end. The Seafood is superb. This place would flourish in Birmingham. We are lucky to have it near us in Wixom.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing food. Great service. Thanks, Angie, for being patient and taking the time with us!
Fell in love with Volare. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food but for the value of what we received I don't think it was worth it. They bragged about the steak I had the fielet medallions. They were ok but not the best. The white fish was the better that everything we had. Cake was the best w shared it with 5 people. 5 people, 2 people shared $225 I can get a better value other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good food, great service, a little pricey but overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Not sure why we hadn't been to the new location prior to now (Open Table does make it easier), we frequented the previous location. We actually had plans to go somewhere else and decided to stay close to home and so happy we did. It was a beautiful evening to sit outside, the service was amazing and more importantly, the food was outstanding. I had a scallops special with mushroom rissoto and it was delicious. My husband had a filet and it was outstanding, I don't eat steak very often and asked him for another taste after he shared! So very pleased with our experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Nice service. Moderate noise level. Delicious lamb chops. And prime beef cooked over wood. Not inexpensive but is very high-quality meat. Minor error on my bill which was promptly corrected. Nice wine list. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A lovely gem in the heart of Wixom. Have been there a number of times. Definitely a romantic atmosphere. Was a great place to take the love of my life to. Service was excellent on each occasion by all staff there and in particular service was most excellent with Gino who was our waiter. Very personable and provided first class service second to none. I give him and this establishment my highest recommendation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Drink prices on menu out of date and waiter tries to make you pay the higher prices. Had to push hard to get them to honor menu drink prices. Food was just ok. Not worth the high prices. Specials for the night were $75-79!
They were conveniently out of two cheaper bottled wines forcing us to spend quite a bit more on drinks. Dinner for two no dessert $96 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Inconsistent
Inconsistent is how to best describe Volare. We have been going on and off to Volare for 10+ years. This past weekend, my husband had a veal chop and minestrone soup, which he enjoyed. I had a Caesar salad and seafood risotto. The Caesar, which I am not even sure was romaine lettuce, was all bright green and not the firm lettuce of a typical Ceasar; no heart at all. My risotto, I am sad to say, while the flavor was good, was the worst risotto I have ever ordered. There was not one recognizable grain of rice; it was total muck. Why do we keep going back? Because it is so inconsistent and sometimes it is very good. The restaurant itself is charming and the staff are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We visit Volare every so many weeks. It is an excellent upscale restaurant. Great Italian, steaks, and seafood dishes. The service is excellent too. Highly recommended, especially for a special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was delicious and the service was great! We would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The service was amazing and the food was outrageously good. I had the ravioli. It was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I tried the mediterranean Sea Bass--Too small a portion to dig thru the bones and stomach was upset the rest of the night and could not sleep.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our second time visiting Volare restaurant since we moved to the area. Our first visit was sub par as it took awhile for our food and the service was just ok. We decided to give it another shot since it is so close to home my wife and I love Italian food. We made reservations for 6pm and and arrived around 5:50. We were greeted/seated and placed our drink and dinner order. Our drinks and salad came out timely. Our food however did not. We did not receive our food until 6:58 which was over an hour that we had been there. In the time while we were waiting two other couples that came in after us both had recieved their meals. The worst part of the experience was that I had to flag our waitress down to see what was the problem. Not once did she tell us that there was an issue or that it would be awhile. She never came back to check on us after our salads had been delivered so we went well over 30 minutes without even seeing her. Furthermore, if you've ever been to this restaurant you'll see that they have about 6 employees standing around at all times for "service" purposes, but they do a very poor job. Typically for a white table cloth, nicer restaurant you assume that you are paying for top notch service. In our two visits I can tell you that you do not receive it. In all honesty I feel like we have received better service at a typical chain restaurant like Applebee's. The food was decent at best. It's tough to give a valid review since we were so hungry by the time we received our food that anything sounded appetizing. We will not be returning to Volare and do not recommend it. Trust me your money is better spent elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 15, 2017

i very much enjoyed the grilled shrimp and my husband loved the seafood risotto

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We walked in the door just about 5 minutes before our reservation. Despite being busy, we were seated right on time. The meal was extremely good and our waitress was fantastic. There was a small issue with our appetizer. Because the staff was so effcient, It actually came out after our salads. No problem from either my date nor myself, however that didnt stop the team from appologizing, and bringing us a complimentary desert, which was fantastic but unnecessary. We loved our experience and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is and will always be our

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Was very disappointed when requesting the horse radish vinaigrette on the side rather than the vinaigrette that typically comes with the dinner salad. The container barely had enough for one lettuce leaf and I was charged 2 dollars extra. It is also irritating to pay extra for different pasta noodles.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Still misses the atmosphere and quality of the old Volare by a long shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always enjoy Volaré. The Branzino was excellent . Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good food and value EXCEPT the $15 piece of chocolate cake. The price was not stated or shown. The piece size was massive, but I'm afraid this was a pure case of quantity over quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Table for 11 with a high chair. Awesome experience, great food, can't wait to do it all over again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my adult twin girls here for their birthday. The atmosphere was both warm and elegant. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the authentic Italian cuisine served at Volare. The house salad dressing is wonderfully sweet and tangy. One daughter is a vegitarian and had gnocci. The other daughter had the veal scallopini masala and I had the veal parmasean, which were delicious! For dessert we had Cannoli and Tiramisu, which were to die for. I look forward to taking my two younger daughters there for their birthdays in September. YUM!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lamb chop is excellent! Volare atmosphere is wonderful. Servers are on the spot. The owner who is the chef comes out for receiving our compliments is so very nice. Truly a local gem so glad to have this near to home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great date night here. Our waiter, John, was awesome. Friendly and funny but not over the top. Will definitely be requesting his section from now on. Food was delicious. It is a little pricier here, but we don't get out often so we didn't mind. Steak medallion dinner is amazing!!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband's veal and my salmon were both very good. The salads were disappointing. The dinner salad looked like Costco greens with a couple of olives and a tomato. One friend had a Caeser salad which was brown around the edges so he sent it back. They took it off the bill but did not provide a new one. Our other friend upgraded to a Caprese salad. She loved the balsamic drizzle and asked for more. The waiter said he would have to check with the manager and then came back and announced that there would be an additional $3 charge if she wanted more dressing as it "is expensive to make"!

This was our second time there in 3 months. Both times the main dishes were very good but service was sketchy. Both times, our waiters appeared to be a little "disconnected". We all wondered what they were doing out in the back before dinner. This time we took friends there for his 60th birthday and we were embarrassed by the service. Refill glasses and some plates were never removed from the table. The waiter never offered a desert menu without me asking, even though I told him it was a special birthday when we came in. We went out for ice cream afterward!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great meal, great bartender as we ended up eating at the bar and enjoying conversation. So much fun was had by all of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sat at the bar with friends and had wine and a very good meal, served by our bartender/waiter named Dave. He is very helpful, witty and informed. Nice choice of wines without being overwhelming. Steaks are very good as are the Italian dishes. Probably our 10th visit. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was outstanding, wine menu was great service was good, only thing that could improve upon. Sat at the bar a great time talking with the bartender and other customers. This is without a doubt one of the best restaurants around let alone a great Italian steakhouse. I will be going back on a regular basis for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.