About Volare Ristorante

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet
  • Creme Brulee
  • Tiramisu
  • Spinach Fettacini And Pork Chop With Fig
  • Antipasto Plate
  • Spaghettini
Filet
Creme Brulee
Tiramisu
Spinach Fettacini And Pork Chop With Fig
Antipasto Plate
Spaghettini

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
romantic (15)
notable wine list (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and so was service! Will ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great and so was service! Will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent and the ser ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always excellent and the service is usually very good. One of our favorite places to dine

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Waited for a waiter for 15 mins once we ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Waited for a waiter for 15 mins once we were sat. I had to go to the hostess because no one came.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as usual. Nothing beats th ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Nothing beats the porterhouse for two. And Volare's zip sauce is the best around. Our go to place for milestone celebrations and then some. Always a treat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was everything I ex ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food and service was everything I expected and more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Gem in Oakland County

Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was outstanding as always. Had the Tomahawk steak and it was unreal, Volares zip sauce is the best that I have ever had, wish that they would bottle it and sell it at retail. We also had the bone in filet and it was outstanding as well. This is truly one of the best steakhouses you will find. The wine list is always top notch and Dino always takes great care of us. We ended the meal the a cheesecake that was so good I purchased two pieces to take home. This place is worth the drive wait and the experience!!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for an early Sunday Dinner and e ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We went for an early Sunday Dinner and enjoyed the food. There was a large family group on Outside Dining area. This group did not interfere with our enjoyment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was excellent. Service was horrible.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiter as well as other staff kept forgetting about us. Delays delays delays. I have no idea why. But the service was among the worst we have ever had. I suspect it was just the particular waiter we had.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

worth the wait

Dined on May 7, 2016

even tho we had a reservation, there was an hour wait...not sure if they overbooked on this saturday nite or was becuz of mothers day weekend. the manager was sensitive to our frustration and treated us to drinks and an appetizer! the food and service was great once we were seated---despite the bad start, we would go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to have dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

We discovered Volare from a friends recommendation. We have had great service, fantastic food, and a lovely atmosphere every time! I would recommend this place to many. I hope you have a chance to discover this gem!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not so good this time

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our third visit to Volare and I'm not sure we would go back. Our reservation was for 7:00 and we squeezed and shuffled near the bar to get out of the server's way while we had a drink and were waiting for our table (40 minutes past our reservation time). The waiter was not attentive or personable, maybe he was having a bad day, but the service was fair at best. The salad was great, pizza was good, as well. Osso buco was tough and not very flavorful. Our past experiences were much better all-around.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance.

Dined on April 23, 2016

I can't believe it took us so long to find this place! Three couples enjoying great food and company. The food was excellent, the service second to none, and we even had some unexpected fun with the bartender.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Volare March 24, 2016

Dined on March 24, 2016

Always an enjoyable place, however I rated the service as fair because of the young man assisting with drinks and service. He looked very inexperience and nervous. Dropped and broke a salt mill right next to one of our guests, then spilled water right over my shoulder and onto me and into my purse. Sadly, I remember this young man from a visit in December, when I remember similar awkwardness, however maybe not the mishaps.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner with friends

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant was busy and the service was a little slow at first. But that is ok since we had time to visit with our friends. The food and wine were great. Our server's suggestions were spot on. One thing to note: if you love wine, besides the wine list on the back of the menu, there are other wines not listed. Just ask. We found out too late that there were some Chateau-neuf de Pape that we might have considered!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

First time here and it was fantastic! Will definitely go back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Me and my wife's favorite spot.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Amazing! Me and my wife's favorite spot.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had a reservation at 5. We were the onl ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Had a reservation at 5. We were the only ones in the restaurant until 6.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised. Best meatballs around!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Tried this place on a whim. Pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent and the portions were big. Had the peppers and sausage which packed heat with awesome flavor. The side of meatballs were some of the best I've had outside of grandma's. Over all a great experience. FYI, split a starter salad as they are giant. Keep up the good work guys. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Find

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our favorite new restaurant. The food is excellent and service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time and will return

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had dinner there for the first time last weekend. Very crowded, which is always a good sign in my opinion. Beautiful building, and looks quite inviting when you pull into the parking lot. Inside, the place was much smaller than what we were excepting. A lot of tables in a small area-our chairs were actually bumping the chairs of the group sitting at the table behind us. Fresh bread and water was immediately brought to the table as soon as we were seated. My husband and son both had a seafood linguini dish and both loved it. I had the chicken parmesan and it was tasty. We had the chocolate cake for dessert and it was out of this world. The only disappointment was that we felt very rushed. Our meals came out before we even had a chance to eat 1/2 our salad. Also, we had to ask for more bread and fresh parmesan. The food was a bit pricey, but seems fair for the quality and quantity of food. Overall, we will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Made a reservation weeks ago. Told them ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation weeks ago. Told them we were celebrating a special birthday. Called today to make sure they knew. Did not acknowledge birthday. When we told waiter he brought a bday dessert and charged us $15 for a piece of chocolate cake. Very disappointing special evening. Service was fair. I ordered a side. Waiter did not even tell me they ran out of it until I asked. Cowboy steak was not what was expected.

food5
ambience1
service3
value4

Great, but too cold in the enclosed patio section

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We have previously dined at Volare with great experiences. It was our first trip in cold weather this time. We were seated in the Patio area which is enclosed in winter. It was super cold, and got worse as the evening progressed. The ceiling hung space heaters warmed our upper bodies but all or legs and feet froze! They need to close this are in colder weather. Also, our waitress was assigned a table of 12 in the other area of the restaurant and she was unable to effectively cover our table as well.

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, group bookings
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

While visiting Wixom for an athletic event, I searched for the best restaurant: Volare. Service, Salad, Entrée and dessert was delicious. We were seated in the outdoor area. It was a bit cold to be out there that evening and many people had to keep their jackets on. My son had an outstanding steak for dinner. My breaded shrimp had an excessive amount of breading which I removed, but the sauce was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Bad food!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had rigatoni with sausage and lasagna. ..my rigatoni was cold and tasteless and the lasagna was burnt on the bottom. ..will never go back...service was horrible too

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Over priced, not as good as I remembered.

Dined on February 7, 2016

It was a very disappointing evening. I went there for my birthday. We had a tray full of dishes dropped by a waiter, broke and hit us. Waiter and manager did not do anything to make sure we were OK. Food was over priced. The old Volare was much better. I would never go back there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate a special occasion

Dined on February 4, 2016

We dined at Volare to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff was friendly and attentive from the moment we walked in the door. Our waiter was very knowledgeable with the menu and made suggestions that enhanced our entrees. His wine recommendation, a pinot noir, went very well with the grilled salmon. We finished the meal with a huge shared piece of cheesecake. Delicious, but we had to take half of it home with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We picked Volare by using open table last minute and had a wonderful meal. we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and delicious food

Dined on January 22, 2016

Great place and delicious food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Volare has outstanding food and excellen ...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Volare has outstanding food and excellent service (Alex is a great waiter!) Some of the best Italian dishes imaginable married with mouth-watering steaks and chops. A real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Now that we have tried your Butter tende ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Now that we have tried your Butter tender Filet...we HAVE to come back and try other selections on the menu and Brunch ! We came on Busy New Year's Eve and were so impressed with the warm Hospitality of the owner's wife, which gave a welcomed and homey atmosphere. Thank you for caring and the Quality you give in your wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Although very busy our waitress was excellent. Our food was amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on December 26, 2015

I happened to find this place while surfing the internet for a nice restaurant for our date night. I am so glad I did! The food was amazing and the staff was friendly. It is a little pricey but definitely worth it!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

They have some of the best steaks in town. Add that to great pasta and an amazing wine list and you can't go wrong. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crowded Early

Dined on December 19, 2015

This is a small neighborhood gem. We made a reservation for 6:00 P.M. on a Saturday. I wasn't convinced we needed one but the restaurant was already busy when we arrived and quickly filled up. We had an intimate table for two that was just right for our romantic evening. The wait staff gave us just the right amount of attention without overwhelming us. Our water glasses never went empty and plates were cleared after an appropriate amount of time had passed to ensure we had actually finished. The wine list is adequate. Our food was fabulous. This is an Italian steakhouse and the menu reflected that. Everything we chose was excellent. I don't think you can go wrong here. We split a five layer chocolate cake for dessert that was decadent. Great place! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on December 18, 2015

Loved our holiday dinner with friend. Food was delicious and service was great!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Volarie's was great. There were 9 of us ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Volarie's was great. There were 9 of us everyone of us loved the food. Our server was great her name was Andrea wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Food and Wine

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food and wine was outstanding. I had the veal chop my friend had the lamb chop and they were out of this world. The staff suggested a great bottle of wine and service was top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

A pleasant surprise

Dined on December 2, 2015

Nice looking building outside, had never been to the area before....nice vipe inside.... hostess was great...waiter was odd, truly going thru the motions but didn't really care what we ate.! He kept telling us the entrees came with salad and veg, but we had to ask what the veg was! (veg, not vegetable!) My husband asked for pasta with his Italian veal entree, but no, only veg! He still did not tell us what the veg was or mention we could order a separate pasta as a side! just wierd....I had eggplant that was dry but still good and the beet salad which was also good, but the beets were sliced a little thick which made them hard....but I would try it again. My husband said the veal was really good. bread and olive oil was really good

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants!

Dined on November 29, 2015

Worth every minute of the drive - this is a destination but you will be so happy you went! The steaks are unreal (my husband still talks about the first cowboy steak he ate here 3 years ago and is what keeps him coming back). We went with a large group and tried a bunch of things and you can't go wrong. Great wine selection as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Usually good; not this night

Dined on November 21, 2015

Love the ambience and the quiet. Have been here before. Service is exceptional. But $21 for a Manhattan is ridiculous ... and an adjustment to $16 was nice, but still very high. My salmon was so salty that I had to send it back. The waitperson was lovely about replacing my order, but I declined since it would mean I was eating while others were done. I believe the food is usually good and the portions huge, but the prices are high and, for me, the food is rather rich. Other visits have been much more successful and Volare is a place to go for special occasions, I think.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.