About Volare Ristorante

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Creme Brulee - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
  • Tiramisu - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
  • Spinach Fettacini And Pork Chop With Fig - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
  • Antipasto Plate - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
  • Spaghettini - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
  • Filet - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
Creme Brulee - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
Tiramisu - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
Spinach Fettacini And Pork Chop With Fig - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
Antipasto Plate - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
Spaghettini - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI
Filet - Volare Ristorante, Wixom, MI

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate with friends and family at Volare. We're open on Christmas Eve. Make your reservation today!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

It's not too early to book! Our NYE celebration sells out every year. Ring in the new year with friends and family at Volare. Make your reservation today!

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food, but they seated us in th ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good food, but they seated us in their "outdoor" enclosed area where the heaters either were on and blasting or off, and then it was immediately cold. There was no in between. Therefore, I would recommend not sitting out there except for in the summer!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our reservation was ready for us. The f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Our reservation was ready for us. The food was excellent. I recommed the "Manzo" best steak I have ever had and not the first time it has been that good. The prices are pretty steep. Would not recommend for a random night on the town. We save this place for very special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very enjoyable evening, experience and m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very enjoyable evening, experience and meal. A very nice and extensive menu from which to choose. We will definitely be back because there are several things on the menu we want to try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dino grilled their incredible Tomahawk r ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Dino grilled their incredible Tomahawk ribeye to perfection. Savored the steak with a 1L bottle of Caymus. It doesn't get any better than that!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

To put it simply. Very good. (Now I need ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

To put it simply. Very good. (Now I need to add characters to make Open Table happy. This detracts from my simple statement expressing my pleasure in a stylistic way.)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at your restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at your restaurant; however, it was cold and we asked a couple of times that the heat be turned up as we were uncomfortable sitting in our coats. However, no increased heat arrived.

We will visit your restaurant again in the future.

Please take my email address off your mailing list as I do not desire to get any of your advertisements or correspondence as these type emails add too much volume to my inbox.

Thanks for your cooperation.

C. C. C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Made reservations on a Saturday night, b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made reservations on a Saturday night, but it was the first "winter" night of the year so it didn't appear like we needed reservations.

Our group of 4 was seated right away on the covered patio. It was in the 20s windchill outside, but we were roasting in the covered patio. That would be my only critique-- there wasn't a happy medium with the temperature of the patio. We were roasting with the heaters on or too cold with them off.

Food was wonderful. Service was great too.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service from Gino, food was delici ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service from Gino, food was delicious and loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite places to dine. The s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of my favorite places to dine. The staff are very attentive but aware of the diners discussions so as not to invade at the wrong times. Food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zip sauce was incredible, definitely try ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Zip sauce was incredible, definitely try the filet or strip steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent meal, great service - made our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent meal, great service - made our special evening very enjoyable. Had the Manso (bone in ribeye) and the Veal chop - both excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been here many times and we're alw ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We've been here many times and we're always very happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I have been here many times and this is ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have been here many times and this is the first time that the food was NOT up to par.

Although they always claim to specialize in steaks/chops, it IS an Italian restaurant so my wife and I decided to "expand our horizons" .

I ordered the spinach fettucini and my other half ordered the seafood risotto.

The fettucini contained mushrooms and stewed tomatoes but was extremely bland to the point of being tasteless.

The seafood risotto was loaded with calamari and very little else and very little risotto.

NOT an overall great experience, but, having been there in the past with very good experiences, I will return to give them another chance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

The wife and I had a great time. The fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The wife and I had a great time. The food was excellent and our waiter did a great job!! The only complaint I have is we arrived at 7:55pm for an 8pm reservation and did not get seated until 8:40pm. It appeared that they over booked because we were not the only ones that had resetrvations and were waiting for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Terrible service. No attention to table ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Terrible service. No attention to table at all. Did not offer additional cocktails. Salad brought out after asking, Food sat in window too long before bringing to table. Probably while salad was consumed.

Was inedible. No manager to discuss with .

Difficult evening. Anniversary night . Shameful ! Will be hard to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We had to beg for water, salad was warm ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had to beg for water, salad was warm and drenched in a sweet dressing, pasta was uncooked and in a strange broth and not a cream sauce as described on menu. Disgusting and when we notified are server about the lack of attention as far as the servive he disappeared again. We asked for a manager and when the manager decided to show up to our table he made rude remarks about how everyone praises him for the pasta and salad.

Never again and we actually wanted to love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very nice atmosphere all 4 of our meals ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very nice atmosphere all 4 of our meals were excellent. Sorry to say though our waitress was not very attentive at all...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was pretty good but not what I woul ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was pretty good but not what I would have expected for the cost. There are other restaurants I would have rather gone to for the prices.

We went for our anniversary. We had received an email/coupon to enjoy a free dessert for our anniversary. We rarely order dessert so we looking forward to picking a nice fancy dessert from the tray. When we mentioned seeing the dessert tray, we were told that we couldn't pick from the tray and had no choice of dessert. We would receive a cannoli. Yes, I get that it was a free gift, however when you are looking forward to one thing and are told something different it was a disappointment. The coupon should say a "Free Cannoli" and not a "Free dessert".

In addition, to use the coupon, the waiter had to take my phone to the back kitchen to have "the boss" enter the coupon code to be able to use it.

The whole thing just didn't sit well with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Dined with friends at Volare for the fir ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Dined with friends at Volare for the first time since their move to their new location. Setting is very upscale casual. Andrea was our waitress and was very knowledgeable and insightful about the menu offerings. Food was as described and very good. Would recommend Volare to anyone. Probably going back to try one of their steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consistent always very good.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always consistent always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service!!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, as usual. Dave prov ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent, as usual. Dave provided great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter Alexander was amazing and we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter Alexander was amazing and we felt like only made everything better. He was extremely knowledgeable and his recommendations were spot on. The food was incredible and worth every penny. Only "problem" we had was that the Wine we ordered from the menu was a 2012 but we were served a 2014. Other than that small issue, we cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service every time ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and great service every time we have been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Alex is awesome. Food is great. Get the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Alex is awesome. Food is great. Get the Poli Grappa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

VERY disappointed. Our waiter was beyon ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

VERY disappointed. Our waiter was beyond slow. He blamed the kitchen and said they were backed up... but the restaurant wasn't that crowded. Other servers had their patrons eating their meals quickly, so the problem wasn't with the kitchen. I thought $100 for what we had was expensive (2 people/2 glasses of wine and 1 mixed drink). Overall, extremely disappointed. The chicken in my dish was extremely salty. When the waiter packaged up my leftovers he noticed that all of the chicken was off to the side of the plate but didn't ask if there was a problem. We didn't know our meals came with a salad. Had I known, I would have asked for mine without onion. Dinner reservations were at 7:30 (seated when we arrived at 7:25) and we finally left at 10!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was delicious and I took home m ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was delicious and I took home my leftovers. I was very disappointed to find a short black hair in the box! Yuck too bad I had to throw my cowboy steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

There wasn't much that stood out other t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

There wasn't much that stood out other than we did not enjoy our experience. Neither of us came close to finishing our entrée. The pesto sauce on the gnocchi looked like it came straight from a pesto tube as it was exceptionally thick. The salmon vodka penne had little salmon in it. We had to wait a few minutes so we ordered a drink at the bar, which was then lost and had to be remade as we moved to a table quickly. Our waiter seemed more interested in the larger tables of 4 and 6 than a table for 2, our assumption was the larger table would have better tips. The waiter forgot my order for a glass of wine then had a busser bring me the soda I requested instead.

Quite honestly we felt ignored by our waiter, disappointed with the food and it was probably the worst $66 bill we've had. My wife and I also posted a comment to their Facebook page with no reply.

This is one to pass on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I wish I remembered our servers name - s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I wish I remembered our servers name - she had dark hair and glasses and she was phenomenal. Extremely knowledgable and helpful with the menu, and very passionate about making sure we knew exactly what to expect. Even then, the meal exceeded those expectations. Menu is pricey but the food is excellent and we definitely will be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone's food was delicious. The serve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everyone's food was delicious. The server was delightful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our party of 4 arrived 10 minutes late f ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our party of 4 arrived 10 minutes late for our reservation (our fault!) but the hostess seated us right away but just as we arrived at our table (which was set for 4) the hostess was told by a manager in front of us that we could not sit there since they were going to take the table and combine it with another for a large party. We had requested an inside table. We then waited and had to be seated outside which was extremely hot, 95 degrees with no fans and buggy with mosquitos. We were told that if a table inside became available, we could move. The table was offered later after we had ordered but we were committed to the table we were at since our friends did not want to make a scene or be impolite socially. We waited 15 minutes before the waiter even came over to take drink orders, he forgot to bring 3 of our salads that came with the dinners, and never offered more bread during dinner or coffee after dinner. The service seems to be lacking here but the food is fabulous. We have eaten here several times and always pray we get Alex for our waiter since he is the best waiter there and knows what he is doing. He meets the caliber of the restaurant food and takes pride in what he does. The outside patio mosquito issue is a health problem for many people and who would have thought to bring protection expecting to be inside for dinner. Thank goodness the excellent food made up for all of the missteps. Gamberoni is fabulous and a rare find, the steaks are top notch and full of flavor, the risotto primavera was fresh and excellent! Minestroni is the best soup on the menu, nice and hearty. The NYC salad makes for a full meal. For those who like pasta, the veal bolognese pappardelle with an extra side of home made meatballs is like dinner made by your favorite Italian Mama.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

One of my favorite Detroit Metro dining ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite Detroit Metro dining spots. Best steaks anywhere on the planet.... Seriously. Zip sauce is to die for. Pomodaro sauce on the Penne is insane.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first time my wife and I ha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was the first time my wife and I had tried Volare even though it is not far from our home. It was an extremely hot evening so we opted for indoor dining rather than outdoor. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. When I couldn't decide which imported beer to select, our waitress brought me a sampling of different beers to chose from. For main courses my wife had the Pollo Piccata and I had the Ravioli Di Manzo. Both were excellent and nicely presented. Then for dessert we enjoyed the dark chocolate salted caramel gelato. It was quite possibly the best dessert I have had in my life and I hated to see it come to an end. The atmosphere and lighting were very pleasant and I appreciate a restaurant that still puts white linen tablecloths on the tables. My only complaint is that it is very loud in the restaurant and difficult to hear each other talk. We intend to go back soon but next time we will go for the outdoor dining which I expect will be much quieter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and fantastic service! The at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and fantastic service! The atmosphere was vibrant and Chef Dino was incredibly welcoming. Would certainly recommend Volare to anyone who enjoys an engaging and fun dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Assolutamente Fantastico! Our meals were ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Assolutamente Fantastico!

Our meals were outstanding in every way the chef was kind enough to make me something off the menu and what a masterpiece of flavors it was. My husband's filet is and was the best you will find in all of Michigan . The zip sauce was an added bonus of flavor . We enjoyed a lemon sorbet for dessert that was a perfect ending to a memorable meal The portions are generous, service attentive , lovely atmosphere...a neighborhood gem that we are so fortunate to have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. Our server, Gi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was outstanding. Our server, Gino (I believe - we found he used to work at Corattis in Milford), knew every intricacy of the menu. I took his advice on linguine over the risotto - spot on. While there were some minor issues with a few mussels, he was quick to respond and make things right (things happen, it's understandable. My husband had the gnocchi and loved it. My strongest advice is to ask for the server we had and absolutely get the cannolis for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Volare is a great local spot for Italian ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Volare is a great local spot for Italian food. We have been there twice and have been happy with it both times. Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two birthdays and an engagement to celeb ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Two birthdays and an engagement to celebrate and Volare never lets us down. Great food, service and wine at a reasonable price. Dessert on the house and Dino in the house makes for a memorable occasion. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always sensational and Dino ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is always sensational and Dino is a Maestro with whatever food he creates!!! It's our favorite place for Italian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.