Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Volare Ristorante

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Authentic (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort by
S
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 9 hours ago

Food was good. Wait staff was not up to what you would expect for the high prices.
Not worth the prices to go back.
Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Volare was very good and I recommend it to anyone who wants a good Italian meal with pizza

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

It's such a pleasure to dine at Volare. We have never been disappointed. From the Sea Bass to the Veal Chop (wish I had taken a pic) the four of us couldn't have imagined anything better. The wine list is ample and fairly priced. This is our favorite place by far. I miss the booths for four but Volare won't leave you wanting for anything else.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Kelsey the server was very good. She was pleasant and was helpful with the dinner menu.
Dinner was delicious as was the soup and salad courses. The only think I will say is when
she listed the specials she did not say the prices, was very surprised at the filet bone in.
When we got the bill it was double the regular filet. Not sure we would have gotten it.
Other than that everything was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I've ALWAYS given Volare and excellent review. This time not so good. Perhaps just an off night for service and food quality. Still a favorite on our list, at least until proven otherwise. Sorry Volare, just being honest. I know you can do better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Server was friendly but slow. Gnocchi and filet medallions were average but NY strip was very good. 5 layer chocolate cake was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Good food. New York strip was perfectly cooked to my medium rare liking. Wifes ravioli dish was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food is good, the price point is not. Too expensive for the quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2017

As usual our dinner was fantastic, I had the lobster Ravioli which came with lobster in the ravioli and a lobster tail on top with succulent fava beans and a delicious sauce. The calamari is great too, one of the best calamaris I have had, nice and crisp. Our server Gino was great and attentive. Highly recommend- extremely consistent and always GREAT Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great food - awesome service...a genuine gem. The steaks were perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Food was excellent. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about menu items. Portions were large. But even though not crowded noice level was loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great meal, my compliments to the chef as everyone's meal was prepared to perfection!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Went there to celebrate a promotion at work with my family. Food was excellent and great service! A little pricey, but you pay for what you get. Would differently recommend this restaurant for good Italian cuisine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Went for the Italian Wine Dinner and it was fabulous! The event was fun, energetic and informative. The food was absolutely delicious and paired great with all the delicious wine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fun, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food/wine and wonderful for nights out alone with spouse or special occasions!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was very good but the wait for food was very long. We were eating at 8:45 and our food took over 45 minutes for us to get. The restaurant wasn’t very crowded so I am not sure why the wait was so long.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was great (bistecca fiorentino)... the service was terrible. Very slow and inattentive. They were out of the first 3 bottles of wine we ordered off their wine list and then they presented us with a bottle of wine that was not the year advertised on the menu or the year we ordered. The staff seemed put off that we questioned the bottle that was 2 years younger than stated. I'm no expert, but if I order a 2008, and you give me a 2010, perhaps you should ask if that's ok and then adjust the price accordingly.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Pizza was very Italy authentic
Very good !!!

We have been in many times and the complete menu is very good as well.

Tags: Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful experience! Would go back again soon! Great smells!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a beautiful night to sit outside and we had our favorite server, Claudia. She did an excellent job handling a family gathering a few weeks ago and didn't disappoint this time either. My husband had the filet with a delicious (zip) sauce and I ordered a pasta dish, all of them good! We'll be returning with a group of friends in a couple weeks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

First visit to Volare and our party (4) found the occasson pleasant. For the most part our selections were prepared well with minor disappointments. ex. The pasta on the Tortelline in chicken broth was on the chewy side. The bread crumb coating seasoning on the Veal Scalopinni Parmagana was bland and our appetizer of Yellow Fin Tuna Crudo was not remarkable. Having said that our Salmon, veal, steak and chiken piccata dishes overall were authentic and overall good. Plan on coming back to experience their luncheon menu. P.S. Our waitress(Starr) was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It took us an hour and 40 minutes to get our food. Many other tables had been seated after us and left, before we received ours. Our waitress kept telling us, they were fixing the problem and our food would be right out. We were told that at least 6 times. There were only 3 of us, so not sure what happened....
When we finally did get our meal, it was very good, but honestly we were frustrated and tired, so it wasn't enjoyed the way it should have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and service were both exceptional for sure. The facility was comfortable although we were inside the outside looked good. The filet steak was exceptional in quality/taste. The drinks were made very good. All the people were extremely attentive to us and personable..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fantastic. My guests loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Reservations were for a party of 2 and all indoor tables were taken...so we were seated outside
The slope of the patio while maybe great for drainage...placed the table at a pretty steep angle for dining and did wobble....not what one expects from a higher end restaurant.
Food is wonderful, service attentive....but lack of care was disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Relaxing atmosphere on the patio. Service was prompt, informative.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was good. Food wasn't. The linguine I got for over $30 was so mediocre that I would probably never comeback.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had an enjoyable summer evening sitting outside. The Italian red wine list is extensive, took us awhile to pick, but you couldn't go wrong, excellent selection.
Our server was friendly and sweet.
The food was all delicious, with an extra special shout out to the lamb chops which were PERFECTLY prepared and the best we've had, maybe ever!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Enjoyed the meal, tho it was on the pricey side. Sat on patio, which was quieter than inside. Chocolate cake dessert was HUGE.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food here is consistently great. All the veal dishes are amazing. The steaks and chops are high-end. The Seafood is superb. This place would flourish in Birmingham. We are lucky to have it near us in Wixom.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing food. Great service. Thanks, Angie, for being patient and taking the time with us!
Fell in love with Volare. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food but for the value of what we received I don't think it was worth it. They bragged about the steak I had the fielet medallions. They were ok but not the best. The white fish was the better that everything we had. Cake was the best w shared it with 5 people. 5 people, 2 people shared $225 I can get a better value other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good food, great service, a little pricey but overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Not sure why we hadn't been to the new location prior to now (Open Table does make it easier), we frequented the previous location. We actually had plans to go somewhere else and decided to stay close to home and so happy we did. It was a beautiful evening to sit outside, the service was amazing and more importantly, the food was outstanding. I had a scallops special with mushroom rissoto and it was delicious. My husband had a filet and it was outstanding, I don't eat steak very often and asked him for another taste after he shared! So very pleased with our experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Nice service. Moderate noise level. Delicious lamb chops. And prime beef cooked over wood. Not inexpensive but is very high-quality meat. Minor error on my bill which was promptly corrected. Nice wine list. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A lovely gem in the heart of Wixom. Have been there a number of times. Definitely a romantic atmosphere. Was a great place to take the love of my life to. Service was excellent on each occasion by all staff there and in particular service was most excellent with Gino who was our waiter. Very personable and provided first class service second to none. I give him and this establishment my highest recommendation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Drink prices on menu out of date and waiter tries to make you pay the higher prices. Had to push hard to get them to honor menu drink prices. Food was just ok. Not worth the high prices. Specials for the night were $75-79!
They were conveniently out of two cheaper bottled wines forcing us to spend quite a bit more on drinks. Dinner for two no dessert $96 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Inconsistent
Inconsistent is how to best describe Volare. We have been going on and off to Volare for 10+ years. This past weekend, my husband had a veal chop and minestrone soup, which he enjoyed. I had a Caesar salad and seafood risotto. The Caesar, which I am not even sure was romaine lettuce, was all bright green and not the firm lettuce of a typical Ceasar; no heart at all. My risotto, I am sad to say, while the flavor was good, was the worst risotto I have ever ordered. There was not one recognizable grain of rice; it was total muck. Why do we keep going back? Because it is so inconsistent and sometimes it is very good. The restaurant itself is charming and the staff are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.