Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Volare Ristorante

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food but for the value of what we received I don't think it was worth it. They bragged about the steak I had the fielet medallions. They were ok but not the best. The white fish was the better that everything we had. Cake was the best w shared it with 5 people. 5 people, 2 people shared $225 I can get a better value other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good food, great service, a little pricey but overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Not sure why we hadn't been to the new location prior to now (Open Table does make it easier), we frequented the previous location. We actually had plans to go somewhere else and decided to stay close to home and so happy we did. It was a beautiful evening to sit outside, the service was amazing and more importantly, the food was outstanding. I had a scallops special with mushroom rissoto and it was delicious. My husband had a filet and it was outstanding, I don't eat steak very often and asked him for another taste after he shared! So very pleased with our experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Nice service. Moderate noise level. Delicious lamb chops. And prime beef cooked over wood. Not inexpensive but is very high-quality meat. Minor error on my bill which was promptly corrected. Nice wine list. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A lovely gem in the heart of Wixom. Have been there a number of times. Definitely a romantic atmosphere. Was a great place to take the love of my life to. Service was excellent on each occasion by all staff there and in particular service was most excellent with Gino who was our waiter. Very personable and provided first class service second to none. I give him and this establishment my highest recommendation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Drink prices on menu out of date and waiter tries to make you pay the higher prices. Had to push hard to get them to honor menu drink prices. Food was just ok. Not worth the high prices. Specials for the night were $75-79!
They were conveniently out of two cheaper bottled wines forcing us to spend quite a bit more on drinks. Dinner for two no dessert $96 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Inconsistent
Inconsistent is how to best describe Volare. We have been going on and off to Volare for 10+ years. This past weekend, my husband had a veal chop and minestrone soup, which he enjoyed. I had a Caesar salad and seafood risotto. The Caesar, which I am not even sure was romaine lettuce, was all bright green and not the firm lettuce of a typical Ceasar; no heart at all. My risotto, I am sad to say, while the flavor was good, was the worst risotto I have ever ordered. There was not one recognizable grain of rice; it was total muck. Why do we keep going back? Because it is so inconsistent and sometimes it is very good. The restaurant itself is charming and the staff are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We visit Volare every so many weeks. It is an excellent upscale restaurant. Great Italian, steaks, and seafood dishes. The service is excellent too. Highly recommended, especially for a special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was delicious and the service was great! We would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The service was amazing and the food was outrageously good. I had the ravioli. It was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I tried the mediterranean Sea Bass--Too small a portion to dig thru the bones and stomach was upset the rest of the night and could not sleep.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our second time visiting Volare restaurant since we moved to the area. Our first visit was sub par as it took awhile for our food and the service was just ok. We decided to give it another shot since it is so close to home my wife and I love Italian food. We made reservations for 6pm and and arrived around 5:50. We were greeted/seated and placed our drink and dinner order. Our drinks and salad came out timely. Our food however did not. We did not receive our food until 6:58 which was over an hour that we had been there. In the time while we were waiting two other couples that came in after us both had recieved their meals. The worst part of the experience was that I had to flag our waitress down to see what was the problem. Not once did she tell us that there was an issue or that it would be awhile. She never came back to check on us after our salads had been delivered so we went well over 30 minutes without even seeing her. Furthermore, if you've ever been to this restaurant you'll see that they have about 6 employees standing around at all times for "service" purposes, but they do a very poor job. Typically for a white table cloth, nicer restaurant you assume that you are paying for top notch service. In our two visits I can tell you that you do not receive it. In all honesty I feel like we have received better service at a typical chain restaurant like Applebee's. The food was decent at best. It's tough to give a valid review since we were so hungry by the time we received our food that anything sounded appetizing. We will not be returning to Volare and do not recommend it. Trust me your money is better spent elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 15, 2017

i very much enjoyed the grilled shrimp and my husband loved the seafood risotto

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We walked in the door just about 5 minutes before our reservation. Despite being busy, we were seated right on time. The meal was extremely good and our waitress was fantastic. There was a small issue with our appetizer. Because the staff was so effcient, It actually came out after our salads. No problem from either my date nor myself, however that didnt stop the team from appologizing, and bringing us a complimentary desert, which was fantastic but unnecessary. We loved our experience and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Was very disappointed when requesting the horse radish vinaigrette on the side rather than the vinaigrette that typically comes with the dinner salad. The container barely had enough for one lettuce leaf and I was charged 2 dollars extra. It is also irritating to pay extra for different pasta noodles.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Still misses the atmosphere and quality of the old Volare by a long shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always enjoy Volaré. The Branzino was excellent . Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good food and value EXCEPT the $15 piece of chocolate cake. The price was not stated or shown. The piece size was massive, but I'm afraid this was a pure case of quantity over quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Table for 11 with a high chair. Awesome experience, great food, can't wait to do it all over again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my adult twin girls here for their birthday. The atmosphere was both warm and elegant. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the authentic Italian cuisine served at Volare. The house salad dressing is wonderfully sweet and tangy. One daughter is a vegitarian and had gnocci. The other daughter had the veal scallopini masala and I had the veal parmasean, which were delicious! For dessert we had Cannoli and Tiramisu, which were to die for. I look forward to taking my two younger daughters there for their birthdays in September. YUM!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lamb chop is excellent! Volare atmosphere is wonderful. Servers are on the spot. The owner who is the chef comes out for receiving our compliments is so very nice. Truly a local gem so glad to have this near to home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great date night here. Our waiter, John, was awesome. Friendly and funny but not over the top. Will definitely be requesting his section from now on. Food was delicious. It is a little pricier here, but we don't get out often so we didn't mind. Steak medallion dinner is amazing!!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband's veal and my salmon were both very good. The salads were disappointing. The dinner salad looked like Costco greens with a couple of olives and a tomato. One friend had a Caeser salad which was brown around the edges so he sent it back. They took it off the bill but did not provide a new one. Our other friend upgraded to a Caprese salad. She loved the balsamic drizzle and asked for more. The waiter said he would have to check with the manager and then came back and announced that there would be an additional $3 charge if she wanted more dressing as it "is expensive to make"!

This was our second time there in 3 months. Both times the main dishes were very good but service was sketchy. Both times, our waiters appeared to be a little "disconnected". We all wondered what they were doing out in the back before dinner. This time we took friends there for his 60th birthday and we were embarrassed by the service. Refill glasses and some plates were never removed from the table. The waiter never offered a desert menu without me asking, even though I told him it was a special birthday when we came in. We went out for ice cream afterward!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great meal, great bartender as we ended up eating at the bar and enjoying conversation. So much fun was had by all of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sat at the bar with friends and had wine and a very good meal, served by our bartender/waiter named Dave. He is very helpful, witty and informed. Nice choice of wines without being overwhelming. Steaks are very good as are the Italian dishes. Probably our 10th visit. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was outstanding, wine menu was great service was good, only thing that could improve upon. Sat at the bar a great time talking with the bartender and other customers. This is without a doubt one of the best restaurants around let alone a great Italian steakhouse. I will be going back on a regular basis for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Never disappoints! We had another great visit there last night. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Enjoyed the complimentary eggplant appetizer and both the sausage rigatoni and paparadel. Nice atmosphere and very attentive service. Always consistently authentic and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was dining with two Italians from Italy. They both thought the Pizza Margherita we shared as an appetizer was authentic and closest to Italy, even if it was a little undercooked. However, we all agreed that even though the food was delicious, it was a expensive for pasta. For example, on the menu, there was pasta with salt and pepper for $20. I could understand if the pasta was homemade, but for mass produced pasta, this was too expensive. It is a great restaurant for celebrating special occasions, but expect to drop some cash. For the three of us, we spent $150+ for 1 drink/person, shared appetizer, and main pasta course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was the first time I dined here since the restaurant moved across the street. I found every aspect to be below the previous setting. I ordered the sea bass which came with the entire skeleton still inside- having worked at a Sea Food restaurant years ago I fumbled through removing it- but I really felt that that is something the wait staff should do before presenting it to the customers, as it was I had several bones in almost every bite. I had the ceasar salad prior- it was fresh and crisp but the taste of the dressing was 'just different'. Our waiter was a nice and polite young man but not up to the standards of what this restaurant used to be. I had gone to the restaurant with the hopes of reestablishing a habit of going but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was good, but prices were very expensive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an awesome meal celebrating Easter. Our server Andrea was awesome and food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was an Easter Brunch reservation-Not what these guys do everyday. Food good-foil pans on the buffet-not good. Needed signage for food items. Food Looked very tired for our 1:00 reservation. Desserts were very messy and could have used a replating so that the table was still appealing. Servers Brandon and David are always a pleasure. Would not return for a holiday buffet not their forte but certainly would for regular dining. I believe that is what Volare excels at.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent with very good service which is not always the case on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was amazing. Not cheap, but worth it. The variety of food was tremendous and top notch quality.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a hidden gem in Wixom. The food is excellent and the service is great. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's great for special occasions, business lunch and dinners, and for just having a great meal.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Absolutely LOVE this place. Had only visited once before for lunch. Had dinner the other evening and the food was so delicious that I was disappointed when my plate was empty. Wines are equally scrumptious. Perfect ending to a hectic and frazzled day. Waitstaff is knowledgeable and attentive without being overwhelming.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fish was good but not exceptional. Should have stick with the steaks which are typically very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Food, service and value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is our second time there for a birthday celebration.
Food was excellent.
Noise level good for conversation at a large table for 7.
Service was not as good as our first visit.
May have been short staffed.
2 dinners were brought to the table, then 3 more several minutes later and the last 2 several minutes after that.
We brought our own cake which was served to us nicely but dessert plates were dirty and it took several minutes to get more plates.
Then it took several minutes to get the check and then again to have our payment taken.
When I say several minutes I mean longer than I expect or am used to.
Again, it was very busy and they may have been understaffed.
Waitress seemed to be trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.