About Volare Ristorante

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet
  • Creme Brulee
  • Tiramisu
  • Spinach Fettacini And Pork Chop With Fig
  • Antipasto Plate
  • Spaghettini
Filet
Creme Brulee
Tiramisu
Spinach Fettacini And Pork Chop With Fig
Antipasto Plate
Spaghettini

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Wixom ›

Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious and I took home m ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious and I took home my leftovers. I was very disappointed to find a short black hair in the box! Yuck too bad I had to throw my cowboy steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

There wasn't much that stood out other t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

There wasn't much that stood out other than we did not enjoy our experience. Neither of us came close to finishing our entrée. The pesto sauce on the gnocchi looked like it came straight from a pesto tube as it was exceptionally thick. The salmon vodka penne had little salmon in it. We had to wait a few minutes so we ordered a drink at the bar, which was then lost and had to be remade as we moved to a table quickly. Our waiter seemed more interested in the larger tables of 4 and 6 than a table for 2, our assumption was the larger table would have better tips. The waiter forgot my order for a glass of wine then had a busser bring me the soda I requested instead.

Quite honestly we felt ignored by our waiter, disappointed with the food and it was probably the worst $66 bill we've had. My wife and I also posted a comment to their Facebook page with no reply.

This is one to pass on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I wish I remembered our servers name - s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I wish I remembered our servers name - she had dark hair and glasses and she was phenomenal. Extremely knowledgable and helpful with the menu, and very passionate about making sure we knew exactly what to expect. Even then, the meal exceeded those expectations. Menu is pricey but the food is excellent and we definitely will be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone's food was delicious. The serve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everyone's food was delicious. The server was delightful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our party of 4 arrived 10 minutes late f ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our party of 4 arrived 10 minutes late for our reservation (our fault!) but the hostess seated us right away but just as we arrived at our table (which was set for 4) the hostess was told by a manager in front of us that we could not sit there since they were going to take the table and combine it with another for a large party. We had requested an inside table. We then waited and had to be seated outside which was extremely hot, 95 degrees with no fans and buggy with mosquitos. We were told that if a table inside became available, we could move. The table was offered later after we had ordered but we were committed to the table we were at since our friends did not want to make a scene or be impolite socially. We waited 15 minutes before the waiter even came over to take drink orders, he forgot to bring 3 of our salads that came with the dinners, and never offered more bread during dinner or coffee after dinner. The service seems to be lacking here but the food is fabulous. We have eaten here several times and always pray we get Alex for our waiter since he is the best waiter there and knows what he is doing. He meets the caliber of the restaurant food and takes pride in what he does. The outside patio mosquito issue is a health problem for many people and who would have thought to bring protection expecting to be inside for dinner. Thank goodness the excellent food made up for all of the missteps. Gamberoni is fabulous and a rare find, the steaks are top notch and full of flavor, the risotto primavera was fresh and excellent! Minestroni is the best soup on the menu, nice and hearty. The NYC salad makes for a full meal. For those who like pasta, the veal bolognese pappardelle with an extra side of home made meatballs is like dinner made by your favorite Italian Mama.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

One of my favorite Detroit Metro dining ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite Detroit Metro dining spots. Best steaks anywhere on the planet.... Seriously. Zip sauce is to die for. Pomodaro sauce on the Penne is insane.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first time my wife and I ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was the first time my wife and I had tried Volare even though it is not far from our home. It was an extremely hot evening so we opted for indoor dining rather than outdoor. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. When I couldn't decide which imported beer to select, our waitress brought me a sampling of different beers to chose from. For main courses my wife had the Pollo Piccata and I had the Ravioli Di Manzo. Both were excellent and nicely presented. Then for dessert we enjoyed the dark chocolate salted caramel gelato. It was quite possibly the best dessert I have had in my life and I hated to see it come to an end. The atmosphere and lighting were very pleasant and I appreciate a restaurant that still puts white linen tablecloths on the tables. My only complaint is that it is very loud in the restaurant and difficult to hear each other talk. We intend to go back soon but next time we will go for the outdoor dining which I expect will be much quieter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and fantastic service! The at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and fantastic service! The atmosphere was vibrant and Chef Dino was incredibly welcoming. Would certainly recommend Volare to anyone who enjoys an engaging and fun dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Assolutamente Fantastico! Our meals were ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Assolutamente Fantastico!

Our meals were outstanding in every way the chef was kind enough to make me something off the menu and what a masterpiece of flavors it was. My husband's filet is and was the best you will find in all of Michigan . The zip sauce was an added bonus of flavor . We enjoyed a lemon sorbet for dessert that was a perfect ending to a memorable meal The portions are generous, service attentive , lovely atmosphere...a neighborhood gem that we are so fortunate to have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. Our server, Gi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was outstanding. Our server, Gino (I believe - we found he used to work at Corattis in Milford), knew every intricacy of the menu. I took his advice on linguine over the risotto - spot on. While there were some minor issues with a few mussels, he was quick to respond and make things right (things happen, it's understandable. My husband had the gnocchi and loved it. My strongest advice is to ask for the server we had and absolutely get the cannolis for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Volare is a great local spot for Italian ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Volare is a great local spot for Italian food. We have been there twice and have been happy with it both times. Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two birthdays and an engagement to celeb ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Two birthdays and an engagement to celebrate and Volare never lets us down. Great food, service and wine at a reasonable price. Dessert on the house and Dino in the house makes for a memorable occasion. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always sensational and Dino ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is always sensational and Dino is a Maestro with whatever food he creates!!! It's our favorite place for Italian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but if you want to charge 5 s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food but if you want to charge 5 star prices, they really need to upgrade the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We have been to Volare before in both th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been to Volare before in both the new and old locations. Our past experiences were very positive.

This visit we chose to sit outside. It was very nice and provided the casual dining our group prefers but the traffic noise on Pontiac Trail was kind of distracting. It was hard to hold a conversation around the big round table.

We enjoyed the Caesar salads. We were allowed to customize a pizza to our taste. Thanks to the chef for being so flexible!

Some of the other food we ordered did not match our past expectations. One pasta dish arrived and the pasta was hard and stuck together like it had been microwaved multiple times. The meat sauce was light on meat and heavy on tomato paste. The shrimp in the shrimp scampi special had an "off" odor.

We left with mixed feelings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great and so was service! Will ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great and so was service! Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent and the ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always excellent and the service is usually very good. One of our favorite places to dine

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited for a waiter for 15 mins once we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Waited for a waiter for 15 mins once we were sat. I had to go to the hostess because no one came.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding as usual. Nothing beats th ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Nothing beats the porterhouse for two. And Volare's zip sauce is the best around. Our go to place for milestone celebrations and then some. Always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was everything I ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food and service was everything I expected and more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Gem in Oakland County

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was outstanding as always. Had the Tomahawk steak and it was unreal, Volares zip sauce is the best that I have ever had, wish that they would bottle it and sell it at retail. We also had the bone in filet and it was outstanding as well. This is truly one of the best steakhouses you will find.

The wine list is always top notch and Dino always takes great care of us. We ended the meal the a cheesecake that was so good I purchased two pieces to take home.

This place is worth the drive wait and the experience!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an early Sunday Dinner and e ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went for an early Sunday Dinner and enjoyed the food. There was a large family group on Outside Dining area. This group did not interfere with our enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was excellent. Service was horrible.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiter as well as other staff kept forgetting about us. Delays delays delays. I have no idea why. But the service was among the worst we have ever had. I suspect it was just the particular waiter we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

worth the wait

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

even tho we had a reservation, there was an hour wait...not sure if they overbooked on this saturday nite or was becuz of mothers day weekend. the manager was sensitive to our frustration and treated us to drinks and an appetizer! the food and service was great once we were seated---despite the bad start, we would go back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Place to have dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We discovered Volare from a friends recommendation. We have had great service, fantastic food, and a lovely atmosphere every time! I would recommend this place to many. I hope you have a chance to discover this gem!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not so good this time

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our third visit to Volare and I'm not sure we would go back. Our reservation was for 7:00 and we squeezed and shuffled near the bar to get out of the server's way while we had a drink and were waiting for our table (40 minutes past our reservation time). The waiter was not attentive or personable, maybe he was having a bad day, but the service was fair at best. The salad was great, pizza was good, as well. Osso buco was tough and not very flavorful. Our past experiences were much better all-around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great ambiance.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I can't believe it took us so long to find this place! Three couples enjoying great food and company. The food was excellent, the service second to none, and we even had some unexpected fun with the bartender.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Volare March 24, 2016

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Always an enjoyable place, however I rated the service as fair because of the young man assisting with drinks and service. He looked very inexperience and nervous. Dropped and broke a salt mill right next to one of our guests, then spilled water right over my shoulder and onto me and into my purse. Sadly, I remember this young man from a visit in December, when I remember similar awkwardness, however maybe not the mishaps.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

dinner with friends

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant was busy and the service was a little slow at first. But that is ok since we had time to visit with our friends. The food and wine were great. Our server's suggestions were spot on. One thing to note: if you love wine, besides the wine list on the back of the menu, there are other wines not listed. Just ask. We found out too late that there were some Chateau-neuf de Pape that we might have considered!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

First time here and it was fantastic! Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Me and my wife's favorite spot.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Amazing! Me and my wife's favorite spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a reservation at 5. We were the onl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Had a reservation at 5. We were the only ones in the restaurant until 6.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly surprised. Best meatballs around!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Tried this place on a whim. Pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent and the portions were big. Had the peppers and sausage which packed heat with awesome flavor. The side of meatballs were some of the best I've had outside of grandma's. Over all a great experience. FYI, split a starter salad as they are giant. Keep up the good work guys. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our favorite new restaurant. The food is excellent and service is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time and will return

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had dinner there for the first time last weekend. Very crowded, which is always a good sign in my opinion. Beautiful building, and looks quite inviting when you pull into the parking lot. Inside, the place was much smaller than what we were excepting. A lot of tables in a small area-our chairs were actually bumping the chairs of the group sitting at the table behind us. Fresh bread and water was immediately brought to the table as soon as we were seated. My husband and son both had a seafood linguini dish and both loved it. I had the chicken parmesan and it was tasty. We had the chocolate cake for dessert and it was out of this world. The only disappointment was that we felt very rushed. Our meals came out before we even had a chance to eat 1/2 our salad. Also, we had to ask for more bread and fresh parmesan. The food was a bit pricey, but seems fair for the quality and quantity of food. Overall, we will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Made a reservation weeks ago. Told them ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation weeks ago. Told them we were celebrating a special birthday. Called today to make sure they knew. Did not acknowledge birthday. When we told waiter he brought a bday dessert and charged us $15 for a piece of chocolate cake. Very disappointing special evening. Service was fair. I ordered a side. Waiter did not even tell me they ran out of it until I asked. Cowboy steak was not what was expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great, but too cold in the enclosed patio section

vip
 (London)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We have previously dined at Volare with great experiences. It was our first trip in cold weather this time. We were seated in the Patio area which is enclosed in winter. It was super cold, and got worse as the evening progressed. The ceiling hung space heaters warmed our upper bodies but all or legs and feet froze! They need to close this are in colder weather. Also, our waitress was assigned a table of 12 in the other area of the restaurant and she was unable to effectively cover our table as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Child Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

Valentine's Day

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

While visiting Wixom for an athletic event, I searched for the best restaurant: Volare. Service, Salad, Entrée and dessert was delicious. We were seated in the outdoor area. It was a bit cold to be out there that evening and many people had to keep their jackets on. My son had an outstanding steak for dinner. My breaded shrimp had an excessive amount of breading which I removed, but the sauce was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Bad food!!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had rigatoni with sausage and lasagna. ..my rigatoni was cold and tasteless and the lasagna was burnt on the bottom. ..will never go back...service was horrible too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Over priced, not as good as I remembered.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

It was a very disappointing evening. I went there for my birthday. We had a tray full of dishes dropped by a waiter, broke and hit us. Waiter and manager did not do anything to make sure we were OK. Food was over priced. The old Volare was much better. I would never go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.