About Volare Ristorante

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Very loud. Service was pretty slow. A little overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The only thing they didn't tell us about was the apple pie. Food was wonderful

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and great wines. Service was decent but had to ask for bread and other condiments that were already on most tables. Still they took care of things quickly. Busy night with Valentines Day guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time dining with you and the food speaks for itself. The cuisine is absolutely exceptional!! Our server Brandon was superb and on top of everything from start to finish. We asked to meet the chef halfway through our meal because we had to know who had prepared and executed our amazing entrées. As busy as the chef was, he did find time for a short meet and greet. His name is Joe and he made the BEST NY Strip I have ever eaten! Hands down outstanding flavor in both my husband's and my entrée. We will return to taste more of your dishes. I would like to see an updated menu. I would love to see you expand as well. My only advise for a positive change would be to not have the bar so near to the dining area to prevent an escalation in noise level, and to have the walkway and parking lot cleaned up a little. Other than that, keep doing what you are doing because you do it well! I have already completed a face book review and told friends how great everything was. Best advertisement is word of mouth and social media! :) We will see you again really soon! Until then, Take care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Volare is one of my favorite places to eat lunch in the entire Metro Detroit area. I should branch out, but I always order the Espresso lunch which includes the appetizer, a pasta dish, an entree of either salmon or veal and a cannoli for desert. I am looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Over priced for the food you get. Please don't bring salt and pepper to the table if I am paying $75 for a steak and no brown lettuce. Have chefs given up on cooking great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Large portions. Waiter was professional.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent customer service. We got off to a rough start because we didn't get seated 45 minutes after our reservation time. The manager was understanding and professional. The staff took amazing care of us and we were pleased with that, as well as the quality of the food and great ambiance.

Although the wait time was a bit crazy, we would definitely return for another great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Volare is an unexpected gem. Classic Italian food prepared with only the best ingredients and technique. The service was wonderful too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I came here for an early Valentines Day dinner. We love the gnocchi! Excellent dish, we get it every time. Also the sausage and peppers is second to none. We had the cheese cake for dessert which was also very good. I'd try something else but the gnocchi is too good to pass up. I do wish the place had a little more space. I sat at a two seater out in the patio room and barely had room to sit. The guy behind me had his chair so far out even after I asked if he could move it in. I had to sit on an angle. I've never been disappointed here. Thank you and keep up the good work. Maybe I'll try a steak next time I'm in.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food but not great, in my opinion. It seemed overpriced. There were 4 adults and the bill was $350 without tip. One person at our table didn't even eat her food because she didn't like it. Mine and my husbands food was good but no reason to come back for it. Very nice ambiance in the restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had eaten here a few times in the past year and really enjoyed the meal. However, I was really disappointed this last time. I had to send my steak back, undercooked. It came back still undercooked! errrrr!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was disappointed in the service and meal considering the cost!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant was so noisy we could not have a conversation with the person next to us, we were there to celebrate our parents anniversary. There was a large, loud party in the middle of the restaurant and they behaved like they were the only people there. I would have expected the manager or host to speak with them. It was not an enjoyable experience and no one in our party will be returning. We all left with headaches. The food was okay but not worth the price. If the atmosphere was more conducive to dining with others the food may have been more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We liked the ambiance of the old location better, felt more like fine dining. Miss having valet parking as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Gino is an awesome server. Food will never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Have frequented this restaurant quite a bit and the waiter we had did not tell us about any specials we had to ask for them. Brought over a salad with onions and olives for my 7 yr. old and didn't tell us those are on there. Just not experienced enough for this type of restaurant. 😕

Other than that the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food. Service was sub par compared to other times we have visited. This server might have been newer and that is the reason for the sub par service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the menu has quite a large selection. Some of the best food in the Detroit area, or anywhere for that matter. Very comfortable seating and despite the restaurant being full you could hear the person talking across the large, round (6 person) table. Nice, smooth slate-type flooring makes it easy to slide chairs. We will be back again soon. Good service too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food was so so good. My date got what was supposed to be the chicken Parmesan and it just falls apart in your mouth. The marinara sauce was to die for but between his and my meal it was super buttery and oily. I got the tortellini which had meat and the sauce was really good but not overwhelmingly creamy. It was perfectly balanced and I usually don't eat everything at dinner and have to get leftovers, but we both finished everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food great atmosphere. Brst Calamari ever. No kids options. A little over priced on we items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sat outdoors so was seating on top and feet were freezing. Bright lights made it feel even colder. My husbands food was served in a piping hot dish yet the food was cold. I ordered a shrimp linguini (2 shrimp!) for $34.00 and some overcooked pasta. Bottle of wine was good olive oil excellent. Overall would not rush back. Seemed chaoitic with staff. Large parties in the main dining room were by far the focus of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was very very good ! It took a while for the server to get started with us but after that she was very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Dinner! Finally somewhere to go on New Years Eve where they were not up charging us for less than par food. We wanted to go for a nice dinner with friends and we got a exceptional meal and a memory!

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve can make it difficult to judge a place but our waiter, probably brought in just for the busy holiday night, just wasn't up to the task. It's always painful to watch your waiter wasting time chatting up hostesses. There just didn't seem to be any managers around. The overall experience was disappointing given the amount of money we spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went there New Year's Eve @ 6:30

The Ossobucco was fantastic. Cut it with a fork. Drinks were really good. Our server was great but the entire stall was looking at your water glass and making sure you were well taken care of.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. I had the veal chop which was huge and perfectly cooked. My wife loved the 1 pound lobster tail. A little on the pricey side but on par with other similar restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were celebrating my son's birthday and selected Volare, the food was exceptional; however we had a rough start, I had an email stating free appetizer when presented to our waitress she stated she had to take my phone back to the chef to get his approval. Very strange, if the chef is that concerned don't send an email out with the offer. Our waitress was ok however the rest of the wait staff was very good. Our meal was delicious however the waitress overshadowed based on lack of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our reservation was on Sunday at 4:30 pm. Our family was celebrating an early Christmas dinner. I love veal and wanted veal piccata; chicken piccata was on the menu but veal piccata was not however I was able to order it and it was delicious! The salad was fresh and the dressing was delicately light and flavorful. The bread is absolute perfection and I love that a can of olive oil was put on our table with salt and pepper grinders. I like Parmesan cheese added to my dish of olive oil, salt, and pepper to dip my bread into and the waiter brought a fresh chunk of Parmesan reggiano and grated it into a dish table side. My family members ordered either veal marsalsa, veal Parmesan or chicken Parmesan; all with rave reviews. The service was very quick and friendly. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went to Volare on a Friday night for a small work Christmas party (10 people). Everything was perfect and we were all impressed with the food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Volare is a nice restaurant. The service was very good. The menu had a wide variety. The food was well prepared. I would consider visiting again.

However, I would caution visiting during the winter season with a large group. They set up our table in the patio area, which during the warmer seasons it would be a nice, open area environment. However, during the winter, there is only a plastic wall that covers the concrete patio. It was very cold and uncomfortable, especially for the ladies in our party. The overhead heaters were not enough to keep anyone warm (especially our feet and legs). If they had base heaters, it may have helped a little but I would doubt it. There were 2 other large parties in the patio area. They too commented on the cold.

Based on the size of the establishment, they had the larger table setups all in the patio area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I made a reservation via Open Table for 7:00 pm and we weren't seated until 7:30. Went to the bar for a drink and the bartender and manager both told me they'd be right with me, but were too overwhelmed to sell me a couple drinks. Food is pricey for Wixom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Server was cold and unfriendly. He never told us about the specials and was curt when we asked questions about the menu. Food was pretty good, though, and the value was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Very good food, but they seated us in their "outdoor" enclosed area where the heaters either were on and blasting or off, and then it was immediately cold. There was no in between. Therefore, I would recommend not sitting out there except for in the summer!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our reservation was ready for us. The food was excellent. I recommed the "Manzo" best steak I have ever had and not the first time it has been that good. The prices are pretty steep. Would not recommend for a random night on the town. We save this place for very special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very enjoyable evening, experience and meal. A very nice and extensive menu from which to choose. We will definitely be back because there are several things on the menu we want to try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Dino grilled their incredible Tomahawk ribeye to perfection. Savored the steak with a 1L bottle of Caymus. It doesn't get any better than that!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

To put it simply. Very good. (Now I need to add characters to make Open Table happy. This detracts from my simple statement expressing my pleasure in a stylistic way.)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at your restaurant; however, it was cold and we asked a couple of times that the heat be turned up as we were uncomfortable sitting in our coats. However, no increased heat arrived.

We will visit your restaurant again in the future.

Please take my email address off your mailing list as I do not desire to get any of your advertisements or correspondence as these type emails add too much volume to my inbox.

Thanks for your cooperation.

C. C. C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made reservations on a Saturday night, but it was the first "winter" night of the year so it didn't appear like we needed reservations.

Our group of 4 was seated right away on the covered patio. It was in the 20s windchill outside, but we were roasting in the covered patio. That would be my only critique-- there wasn't a happy medium with the temperature of the patio. We were roasting with the heaters on or too cold with them off.

Food was wonderful. Service was great too.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service from Gino, food was delicious and loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of my favorite places to dine. The staff are very attentive but aware of the diners discussions so as not to invade at the wrong times. Food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Zip sauce was incredible, definitely try the filet or strip steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent meal, great service - made our special evening very enjoyable. Had the Manso (bone in ribeye) and the Veal chop - both excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We've been here many times and we're always very happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have been here many times and this is the first time that the food was NOT up to par.

Although they always claim to specialize in steaks/chops, it IS an Italian restaurant so my wife and I decided to "expand our horizons" .

I ordered the spinach fettucini and my other half ordered the seafood risotto.

The fettucini contained mushrooms and stewed tomatoes but was extremely bland to the point of being tasteless.

The seafood risotto was loaded with calamari and very little else and very little risotto.

NOT an overall great experience, but, having been there in the past with very good experiences, I will return to give them another chance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The wife and I had a great time. The food was excellent and our waiter did a great job!! The only complaint I have is we arrived at 7:55pm for an 8pm reservation and did not get seated until 8:40pm. It appeared that they over booked because we were not the only ones that had resetrvations and were waiting for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Terrible service. No attention to table at all. Did not offer additional cocktails. Salad brought out after asking, Food sat in window too long before bringing to table. Probably while salad was consumed.

Was inedible. No manager to discuss with .

Difficult evening. Anniversary night . Shameful ! Will be hard to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had to beg for water, salad was warm and drenched in a sweet dressing, pasta was uncooked and in a strange broth and not a cream sauce as described on menu. Disgusting and when we notified are server about the lack of attention as far as the servive he disappeared again. We asked for a manager and when the manager decided to show up to our table he made rude remarks about how everyone praises him for the pasta and salad.

Never again and we actually wanted to love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.