Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.69mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Volare Ristorante

Volare Ristorante is an Italian restaurant featuring Pasta, Pizza, Steaks, Chops and Seafood.

48992 Pontiac Trail
Wixom, MI 48393
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Chambers

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 960-7771

Website:
http://www.ristorantevolare.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Executive Chef:
Dino Grossi, Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Volare puts the feast into fiesta! Make this Cinco de Mayo one to remember by joining us for happy hour from 3:00 - 6:00pm.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat Mom at Volare on Mother’s Day, Sunday, May 14th! Space is filling up quickly, so make your reservation today and delight Mom on her special day!

Volare Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

I was dining with two Italians from Italy. They both thought the Pizza Margherita we shared as an appetizer was authentic and closest to Italy, even if it was a little undercooked. However, we all agreed that even though the food was delicious, it was a expensive for pasta. For example, on the menu, there was pasta with salt and pepper for $20. I could understand if the pasta was homemade, but for mass produced pasta, this was too expensive. It is a great restaurant for celebrating special occasions, but expect to drop some cash. For the three of us, we spent $150+ for 1 drink/person, shared appetizer, and main pasta course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the first time I dined here since the restaurant moved across the street. I found every aspect to be below the previous setting. I ordered the sea bass which came with the entire skeleton still inside- having worked at a Sea Food restaurant years ago I fumbled through removing it- but I really felt that that is something the wait staff should do before presenting it to the customers, as it was I had several bones in almost every bite. I had the ceasar salad prior- it was fresh and crisp but the taste of the dressing was 'just different'. Our waiter was a nice and polite young man but not up to the standards of what this restaurant used to be. I had gone to the restaurant with the hopes of reestablishing a habit of going but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was good, but prices were very expensive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was an Easter Brunch reservation-Not what these guys do everyday. Food good-foil pans on the buffet-not good. Needed signage for food items. Food Looked very tired for our 1:00 reservation. Desserts were very messy and could have used a replating so that the table was still appealing. Servers Brandon and David are always a pleasure. Would not return for a holiday buffet not their forte but certainly would for regular dining. I believe that is what Volare excels at.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was amazing. Not cheap, but worth it. The variety of food was tremendous and top notch quality.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a hidden gem in Wixom. The food is excellent and the service is great. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's great for special occasions, business lunch and dinners, and for just having a great meal.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Absolutely LOVE this place. Had only visited once before for lunch. Had dinner the other evening and the food was so delicious that I was disappointed when my plate was empty. Wines are equally scrumptious. Perfect ending to a hectic and frazzled day. Waitstaff is knowledgeable and attentive without being overwhelming.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fish was good but not exceptional. Should have stick with the steaks which are typically very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Food, service and value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is our second time there for a birthday celebration.
Food was excellent.
Noise level good for conversation at a large table for 7.
Service was not as good as our first visit.
May have been short staffed.
2 dinners were brought to the table, then 3 more several minutes later and the last 2 several minutes after that.
We brought our own cake which was served to us nicely but dessert plates were dirty and it took several minutes to get more plates.
Then it took several minutes to get the check and then again to have our payment taken.
When I say several minutes I mean longer than I expect or am used to.
Again, it was very busy and they may have been understaffed.
Waitress seemed to be trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved our meal. The restaurant staff was attentive and very accomodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The special was surf and turf (filet of beef with a lobster tail) Thought it would be only one price but got charged for the steak and lobster tail separately. Not good...ruined the entire evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We tried Volare after an absence for a year or so. Not a great deal had changed ...the food is still good and well presented; the ambiance is agreeable, though the lighting is a tad bright; and it's busy, with some buzz and noise. All good. The thing that keeps Volare from being a 4-star venue is service - it's exasperatingly disorganized. This is *not* a criticism of the individual servers; quite the opposite. Our server worked hard and had nary a break. It's the organization. There seems to be no rhyme or reason why servers are assigned as they are. It therefore seems like people are running around, very busy, but little is accomplished. We'll be back, but be prepared to wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have nothing good to say about our experience. Food was like eating a salt-lick. Service was elusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It's just odd to sit out on the covered patio when it's 25 degrees out. It's loud with the road traffic. People going to Alex's pizza place leave their lights on their car and the lights go right into the patio area. Not many people wanted to sit there, quite a few tables moved back into the dining room area. I wish we would have as well. To spend that much money on dinner and sit out on a covered sidewalk in February is weird. Food was good and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a wonderful meal however the ambient noise made it difficult to hear the server and have conversations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall experience was good but was very disappointed in the bread - which was far from Italian and is of course, your first impression of the food since it was first to come to the table. Balsamic Vinegar was bitter and cheap tasting. Pasta dishes were very overpriced but I have to say they were delicious. We had the Tiramisu for desert and it was not authentic. So I can't review as a "steak" house, but as an Italian restaurant serving Pasta, I can't say that I will revisit.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was good. Very loud. Service was pretty slow. A little overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The only thing they didn't tell us about was the apple pie. Food was wonderful

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and great wines. Service was decent but had to ask for bread and other condiments that were already on most tables. Still they took care of things quickly. Busy night with Valentines Day guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time dining with you and the food speaks for itself. The cuisine is absolutely exceptional!! Our server Brandon was superb and on top of everything from start to finish. We asked to meet the chef halfway through our meal because we had to know who had prepared and executed our amazing entrées. As busy as the chef was, he did find time for a short meet and greet. His name is Joe and he made the BEST NY Strip I have ever eaten! Hands down outstanding flavor in both my husband's and my entrée. We will return to taste more of your dishes. I would like to see an updated menu. I would love to see you expand as well. My only advise for a positive change would be to not have the bar so near to the dining area to prevent an escalation in noise level, and to have the walkway and parking lot cleaned up a little. Other than that, keep doing what you are doing because you do it well! I have already completed a face book review and told friends how great everything was. Best advertisement is word of mouth and social media! :) We will see you again really soon! Until then, Take care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Volare is one of my favorite places to eat lunch in the entire Metro Detroit area. I should branch out, but I always order the Espresso lunch which includes the appetizer, a pasta dish, an entree of either salmon or veal and a cannoli for desert. I am looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Over priced for the food you get. Please don't bring salt and pepper to the table if I am paying $75 for a steak and no brown lettuce. Have chefs given up on cooking great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Large portions. Waiter was professional.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent customer service. We got off to a rough start because we didn't get seated 45 minutes after our reservation time. The manager was understanding and professional. The staff took amazing care of us and we were pleased with that, as well as the quality of the food and great ambiance.
Although the wait time was a bit crazy, we would definitely return for another great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Volare is an unexpected gem. Classic Italian food prepared with only the best ingredients and technique. The service was wonderful too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I came here for an early Valentines Day dinner. We love the gnocchi! Excellent dish, we get it every time. Also the sausage and peppers is second to none. We had the cheese cake for dessert which was also very good. I'd try something else but the gnocchi is too good to pass up. I do wish the place had a little more space. I sat at a two seater out in the patio room and barely had room to sit. The guy behind me had his chair so far out even after I asked if he could move it in. I had to sit on an angle. I've never been disappointed here. Thank you and keep up the good work. Maybe I'll try a steak next time I'm in.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food but not great, in my opinion. It seemed overpriced. There were 4 adults and the bill was $350 without tip. One person at our table didn't even eat her food because she didn't like it. Mine and my husbands food was good but no reason to come back for it. Very nice ambiance in the restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had eaten here a few times in the past year and really enjoyed the meal. However, I was really disappointed this last time. I had to send my steak back, undercooked. It came back still undercooked! errrrr!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was disappointed in the service and meal considering the cost!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant was so noisy we could not have a conversation with the person next to us, we were there to celebrate our parents anniversary. There was a large, loud party in the middle of the restaurant and they behaved like they were the only people there. I would have expected the manager or host to speak with them. It was not an enjoyable experience and no one in our party will be returning. We all left with headaches. The food was okay but not worth the price. If the atmosphere was more conducive to dining with others the food may have been more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We liked the ambiance of the old location better, felt more like fine dining. Miss having valet parking as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Gino is an awesome server. Food will never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Have frequented this restaurant quite a bit and the waiter we had did not tell us about any specials we had to ask for them. Brought over a salad with onions and olives for my 7 yr. old and didn't tell us those are on there. Just not experienced enough for this type of restaurant. 😕
Other than that the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food. Service was sub par compared to other times we have visited. This server might have been newer and that is the reason for the sub par service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the menu has quite a large selection. Some of the best food in the Detroit area, or anywhere for that matter. Very comfortable seating and despite the restaurant being full you could hear the person talking across the large, round (6 person) table. Nice, smooth slate-type flooring makes it easy to slide chairs. We will be back again soon. Good service too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food was so so good. My date got what was supposed to be the chicken Parmesan and it just falls apart in your mouth. The marinara sauce was to die for but between his and my meal it was super buttery and oily. I got the tortellini which had meat and the sauce was really good but not overwhelmingly creamy. It was perfectly balanced and I usually don't eat everything at dinner and have to get leftovers, but we both finished everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food great atmosphere. Brst Calamari ever. No kids options. A little over priced on we items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sat outdoors so was seating on top and feet were freezing. Bright lights made it feel even colder. My husbands food was served in a piping hot dish yet the food was cold. I ordered a shrimp linguini (2 shrimp!) for $34.00 and some overcooked pasta. Bottle of wine was good olive oil excellent. Overall would not rush back. Seemed chaoitic with staff. Large parties in the main dining room were by far the focus of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was very very good ! It took a while for the server to get started with us but after that she was very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.