About Voila French Bistro

10135 East Via Linda Scottsdale
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
View Larger Map

Voilà French Bistro offers classic bistro dishes in a exquisitely designed setting filled with more than a touch of the real France, authentic lunch and dining at its finest. We are the place for mussels, seafood, foie gras, escargot and more.

New owner since the 1st october 2015, a new menu is crafted by the french chef Jean- Christophe, which reflects the best of East France and the freshest ingredients of the season. Jean Christophe's personal touch and tireless devotion to his creations has made a night at Voilà the perfect place for date night, friends getting together, a nice family dinner, or private party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Provencal

Hours of Operation:
Lunch & Dinner
Tuesday to Saturday
11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday & Monday: Closed



Cross Street:
Mountain View/ Via Linda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 614-5600

Website:
http://www.voilafrenchbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Public Lot

Executive Chef:
Jean Christophe Gros

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 480-614-5600: Ask for Segolene

Restaurant Photos

Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro
Voila French Bistro

Voila French Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Phoenix / Arizona
Neighborhood Gem
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

neighborhood gem (37)
great for outdoor dining (31)
fit for foodies (30)
See All
special occasion (22)
romantic (21)
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (11)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (5)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
50 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is about the only French food in th ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

This is about the only French food in the valley but it is really very good. Although a limited menu selection everything is good quality. The hot bread they serve you as soon as you come in is really wonderful and the souffle dessert is as good as it gets.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We have been to Voila French Bistro a number of times. It never disappoints. It is the only restaurant I have found in Scottsdale that has authentic French food. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Wow, what a bust! We were looking forwar ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Wow, what a bust! We were looking forward to an evening of French fare, but couldn't have been more disappointed. First, all of our food was overcooked: My "special" sweetbreads in a cognac sauce and my wife's boeuf bourguignon were as limp as dishtowels and just as tasty. Even the green beans were straight out of a can and overdone; not a snap to any of them. Second, and to make matters worse, our server was clueless. We asked what "traditional" boeuf bourguignon, as stated on the menu, meant. Clearly stumped, she said, "Uh, the way the chef makes it?" One of the featured appetizers was tabouli (sp.?), which she first mispronounced and then described as a "rice" dish. Forget about drinks: A French bistro without a Chablis on the carte du vin"? No Lillet? And, to top it all off, the prices were outrageously high for a meal best served to folks with no standards and short memories. Have a taco instead of wasting your time here.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef Jean Christoph provided us with yet ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Chef Jean Christoph provided us with yet another outstanding meal. Every dish was artfully presented and was flavorful. The tabboulah salad with lobster meat was delicious as was the lobster ravioli. Meals at Voila never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The chef did a fantastic job with his sw ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The chef did a fantastic job with his sweetbreads special that evening. That delicacy is rarely served in Phoenix.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

New menu addition

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The carried monkfish is a delicious new addition to the menu. It is flavorful, light and delicately seasoned. We enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Must go to for real French!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great French cuisine - the real French - Very nice patio. Duck confit fabulous. Soufflé for dessert is a must! Bin appetit Mes Amis!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

New chef/owner takes it from good to great!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Since the new chef/owner took over late last year the food and the service have taken a definite step up. This neighborhood French restaurant is now my go to French Bistro. Great food and friendly people!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Save room for dessert

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The entire meal was delicious from the asparagus salad to the duck with a wonderful apple chutney to the salmon with potato pancake, but the star of the meal was the soufflé . I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent French cuisine, salmon and spinach filled crepes and Caesar salad in a warmly decorated setting, tucked away in the corner of a peaceful mall. The owner has created taste and elegance and is friendly and accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

solid French

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Not totally authentic but close enough for Scottsdale. The food is a tad on the dull side however the ingredients are very good and most dishes are carried off well. The servers are French sometimes the service can be a tad off also. Still the best place for french food in Scottsdale. The outdoor area is quite Charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hungry

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food, the service and the menu are great. We would not hesitate to recommend this place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

I had the branzino and the asparagus salad. Both were beautifully presented. The branzino was moist, flaky and wonderful with the chunky tomato sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!!!

Dined on March 17, 2016

We enjoy introducing friends to this gem of a restaurant. The service is always outstanding and the food awesome. It is so nice to find a restaurant that serves amazing food AND has amazing service!!! The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It os our favorite restaurant for sure!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must attend dining

Dined on March 16, 2016

The setting is quiet European welcoming. Excellent choice of superbly prepared and tasty French dishes. You won't regret this choice. Our friends really enjoyed their meals. We went back a second time and were not disappointed. Will be there again on our return to Scottsdale. Segolene and Jean-Christophe own and are always present. They should be proud of Voilà Bistro

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4

Fair at best. Cramped seating. Bland ove ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fair at best. Cramped seating. Bland overpriced food. Sole was over cooked. Might as well have been fish sticks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect French bistro

Dined on March 5, 2016

This is the only French Bistro in Scottsdale I would recommend to a friend. I am from France and have been repeatedly disappointed with French restaurants in town where the food was barely average. This is it. The owner chef has intensive restaurant experience in France and his wife has worked all her life in the hospitality industry. Her English is excellent!! The food is typical from bistro/brasserie type in France, cooked with passion and quality ingredients. All the staff is very kind, knowledgeable and attentive to the customer needs. The restaurant itself is very clean, with nice white tablecloths. The boeuf bourguignon, the scallops in puff pastry, the bouillabaisse were all excellent. Love the Ile flottante or the souffles for dessert! They also have specials you can choose from. The decor is nice and you can eat inside or enjoy the quiet patio outside(they have heaters and misters). Menu is reasonably priced for the quality of food. Good value. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Quality of food was excellent. We had o ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Quality of food was excellent. We had one of the seafood specials and a beef bourguignon which were so delicious... Amazing cooked cabbage (and mussels, scallops, etc) in the seafood dish. Loved our warm Chocolate tart... Nice lighting on the patio... more quaint than inside. It's not overly elegant but very friendly service, I love supporting a local business whose owners help serve (!), and it's reasonably priced.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Casual white tablecloth find

Dined on March 3, 2016

I spotted their name on their restaurant awning driving by one day. French Bistro and Wine. Enticing to me. Looked them up on the internet and learned a heartwarming story about a young French couple who left their careers in France to come to the US and buy a restaurant in Scottsdale. He's a serious and experienced chef, she is a vivacious business partner and absolutely perfect front room person. The food was very good, very traditional French directed to USA pallets. We sat on their patio and were attended to skillfully and with just the right amount of attention. We were impressed with the care they gave my wife who medically requires gluten free food, modifying their offering to fit her needs. Voila will become our "go to" special occasion restaurant because it is small, relatively quiet, great food and though expensive for us has become very special for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The new owners have created a wonderful experience. Food great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Superior French Bistro!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The Viola Bistro in Scottsdale is operated by a French chef with extensive credentials and his wife. They dreamed of moving to the US from France for several years before finally completing all of the necessary financial arrangements and moving to Arizona. They purchased this location about a year ago and are presently developing an impressive following in Scottsdale and Phoenix (my wife and I drove up from Tucson about 125 miles away to try this bistro). We travel to France every two years and have visited many bistros in different cities. The Viola menu and food preparation ranks with the very best bistros in our opinion! The food is made with fresh ingredients and prepared with the skill of a chef with years of experience, and the service was superb. Please take the time to review the menu on their website and make a reservation; I promise you will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Service was pleasant. Nice neighborhood ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was pleasant. Nice neighborhood bistro. Excellent dessert.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but not worthy of the price

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was well prepared but one of the orders was for the wrong item. Pork delivered, beef ordered. Big complaint was the kids playing and skateboarding next to our table on public property . Very distracting since we were on the patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Wonderful Gem

Dined on February 19, 2016

From the fantastic Salmon three ways appetizer to the chocolate mousse dinner completely lived up to expectation as this wonderful little French restaurant came recommended from a foodie friend! This is a small restaurant with outdoor seating; not opulent but it is exactly what it needs to be, comfortable and about the food and experience. It reminded me of many a small restaurant that one finds in Toulouse... all with wonderful meals and great service. The Branzino was perfectly cooked as were my scallops. The service was warm and friendly and attentive when it needed to be. Definitely nice when the owner comes around to meet the diners and help with service. Very much look forward to eating here again and trying out more of the interesting menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic and delicious

Dined on February 15, 2016

This restaurant was hands down the most authentic French food I've ever had. Perfectly prepared and quaint ambiance. Will absolutely return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Felt like I was back in France! :)

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I happened to be in Scottsdale over the Valentine's Day Weekend, and found this restaurant by chance on OpenTable. What a great stroke of luck! I spent a year studying in France when I was in college, and we have traveled there for vacation many times, always savoring the wonderful food. Being here was like being back there...amazing food, excellent and sophisticated service, and French music and conversation between the restaurant staff. A fabulous experience overall!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

First dinner here on Valentines Day. Li ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

First dinner here on Valentines Day. Limited menus but excellent food and wine. I look forward to coming back on a normal night. Waitress was too busy to properly service all the tables. Should have put more servers on the schedule for such a busy night.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Valentines

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant did a lovely job to celebrate the occasion by rose petals and treats adding to the ambiance. It was a set menu but very nicely done.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French food at its best

Dined on February 14, 2016

Shared a wonderful Valentines Day dinner here with my wife. We loved the place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Their special Valentine's menu was delicious. The food is the most authentic French that I have found in the region

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

French Bistro with a Neighborhood Feel

Dined on February 13, 2016

Always a favorite and an added bonus to sit on the dog friendly patio

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant!

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch here! Food was very nice and the owner was friendly and helpful! I will go back again! Loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

WOW!

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

What a great find in our neighborhood, finally great French food in Scottsdale again! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great gem in Scottsdale!!! Delicious !

Dined on January 31, 2016

This must have been the best french food I have had in Arizona! Absolute delicious! I have now been several times there since the new owner purchased the restaurant and it has become my favorite restaurant in town. I have not had a bad dish yet. They have some great specials and unlike other restaurants where specials are often offered to get rid of some food before it goes bad, here the specials are often to introduce french dishes often not found in the States. This is not nouvelle cuisine so you can expect good portions and very tasty food. I highly recommend this place!!!! A++

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten here since the new owners took over. The food continues to be outstanding. I had the bouillabaisse which was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

New French in Scottsdale

Dined on January 28, 2016

My meal was delicious- I had an entree, main course and dessert. My husband was not impressed with his fish. He complained that it lacked flavor. Decor was traditional French brasserie with friendly staff and a good location. I will need to keep going back to try more of the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice preparations.

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The Ceasar salad was rather pedestrian, as well as the smoked salmon appetizer. The fresh baked bread was a very nice touch. The scallops main dish was very tasty and generous number of scallops. Duck, very tasty as well. The souffle was wonderful as well. We'' go back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous! A 100 0/0 improve ...

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

The food was fabulous! A 100 0/0 improvement from the previous owner.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Still needs some work

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

I have high hopes for what this restaurant can become. I have only had lunch here, but found the food underwhelming. Their onion soup is a pale version of the real thing, for example. Service was lovely with Segolene providing responsive and personable though not intrusive attention. It's still early to be making a true evaluation, but I hope to be back soon and will try additional menu items.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent, but could be better.

Dined on January 21, 2016

Excellent Entrees. Escargot were rubbery. Wonderful wine selection, but no beer selection. Nice setting, but a pricey meal.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.