About V.Mertz

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Jacob Newton has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: 4023458980x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

Restaurant Photos

  • V.Mertz, Omaha, NE

Report a photo problem

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Historic (14)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time I've been to V. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second time I've been to V. Mertz. I really appreciate the consistency of quality and originality at this restaurant. I really appreciate the knowledge provided by our waiter to suggest appropriate food pairings for our wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu provides a unique exper ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

The tasting menu provides a unique experience where you can spend a couple of hours rather than being shuffled in and out. It changes regularly, so each time is a little different. And each of the 6 or 7 plates, and associated wine pairings if you choose, comes with a little story or explanation.

I've been to exclusive restaurants around the world, and to find this here in Omaha is a pleasant surprise. I see it becoming a regular past time for my wife and I.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary with frien ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with friends. The service was fabulous and the food was very good. When I ordered a second Makers Mark I was told that they were out. I then ordered a Jack Daniels and they said they did have that either. A small thing, but if you're paying those prices, they should have a better stocked bar.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wouldn't recommend. Service was poor. At ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wouldn't recommend.

Service was poor.

Atmosphere was loud. Tables are basically on top of each other & we were fortunate enough to sit by a very loud conversational couple.

We requested to substitute one side for other, only to be told by the server that the chief decided that broccoli would go better with the rice. Only problem with that is we dont like broccoli, and that's not what we asked for.

If I could give this place a negative zero I would.

Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Went for New Year's Eve. Disappointed wi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve. Disappointed with the wine. Otherwise the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

This was our first time dining at V Mert ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time dining at V Mertz and couldn't wait. It wound up being a very bad experience. The service was poor, we had to have our appetizer taken off our bill due to it being way to salty, the entrée was poor, the staff was very "stuck up" and we just didn't feel welcome at all...all this spending $200+ dollars. Will never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our waiter was just not up to par. Put f ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was just not up to par. Put forth minimal effort.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Went for New Years and once again V Mert ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years and once again V Mertz dose not disappoint. We have been here many times it is always great . Give this wonderful restaurant a try when you are in Omaha.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience, service, along with thoughtfu ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Ambience, service, along with thoughtful food, makes this one of the top spots in omaha if not the top spot for a memorable night out. Easily the best wine service in the city. The menu changes daily and it seems that they gather from local fresh producers, they will also change up entrees if you have issues with certain limitations, all good!

Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was excellent, we w ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service and food was excellent, we were very well attended to. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable on both food and drinks. It was a nice romantic dinner with my significant other.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dining experiences a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experiences at V Mertz; the food is unique and delicious, the service impeccable and the atmosphere intimate!! We always look forward to the variety of selections on the menu; the taste combinations are always a palatable delight. It is one of our favorite restaurants to visit in Omaha for a romantic couples dinner or a fun place for a small celebration.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second trip to V. Mertz was just as ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our second trip to V. Mertz was just as good as our first. Amazing food, perfectly cooked, great wine selection and some of the best service in Nebraska rolled into a small scale wonderfully romantic little hideaway. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Christmas Eve lunch! Staff wa ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent Christmas Eve lunch! Staff was great and the even better!! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a lovely dinner. Staff are knowl ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a lovely dinner. Staff are knowledgeable and accommodating. Our favorite place to celebrate or just have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time. Perfect place to t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Perfect place to take that special someone in your life. Food was amazing and the atmosphere is second to none.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

V Mertz is an Omaha institution in the O ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

V Mertz is an Omaha institution in the Old Market. We have never been disappointed. Wine list is impressive. Chef creations are presented in a beautiful manner and all is perfectly prepared. Setting is brick walls, dimmed lighting and a very large bouquet of flowers in entry. Waiter is knowledgeable and attentive. You, too, will not be disappointed. See their frequently updated menu (seasonal offerings) at their website.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we enjoyed our evening at V Mertz, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 22, 2016

While we enjoyed our evening at V Mertz, we felt it was not "up to snuff".... this is our once a year special treat and in the past you would have had all 5 stars....... maybe it was an off night... that's what we think sooo we'll try it again next year, but if it is not 5stars across, we will find another restaurant for our special dinner......

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

V mertz has always been a Omaha gem,they ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

V mertz has always been a Omaha gem,they have had some great chefs and always top notch service.If you haven't been lately you must get in soon and see how new Executive Chef Jake Newton is taking this establishment to "The Culinary Stratosphere "and GM/sommelier Matt Brown has the craft cocktail list singing and the wine list full of interesting gems.Do yourself a favor and do the tasting and pairings option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the tasting/prix fixe menu with wine ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had the tasting/prix fixe menu with wine pairings for $100/person. Pricey yes, but worth every penny. Wonderful variety of tastes and textures. It was also much easier than trying to choose from the regular menu. Each course and wine was explained in detail. Questions were encouraged. Ignorance was not a sin. Wonderful quite brick-and-iron atmosphere in subterranean Old Market setting. Check it out. Groupons available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the food, I had peppercorn stea ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We loved the food, I had peppercorn steak. My wife the wreck fish, both were prepared wonderful. Our server was extremely helpful with the wine selection. Loved the quiet atmosphere .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I went to V Mertz for ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to V Mertz for the first time the other night and we had a great experience. The service was extraordinary and they had great knowledge and recommendations for the wine list and the dinner menu. We enjoyed the dim light and the old brick walls. We wanted to try something we don't ordinarily try, don't come here if you want to bring kids or get something cheap because you will spend some money. The food was well worth the money and the atmosphere was romantic. I would highly recommend this for a date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food and a great place for a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding food and a great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food here! A perfect romantic d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love the food here! A perfect romantic date night location!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food, the service and the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, the food, the service and the atmosphere were extraordinary. This place is very special for us and when we want to celebrate this is always the first place we go. Love it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience because of t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a great experience because of the service, dining experience and food. We will be back and recommmend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, , Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's extremely refreshing to have a staf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It's extremely refreshing to have a staff that knows what they are talking about. You can tell V.Mertz employees care about more than just the paycheck. Absolutely wonderful service and delicious food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great, eclectic menu that changes nightl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great, eclectic menu that changes nightly. I tried something from each selection and really enjoyed it. I went there sad because I had visited a dying family member and got a great meal and was able to really celebrate life with their wonderful menu and food.

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars on everything, is because my waiter was a bit standoffish and it was a bit of a put off. I was a single diner and although he was professional, I was looking for something substantially happier and more personable for the amount I was paying. The staff looked a bit unorganized at times and not as inviting as I would like. Otherwise, it was great!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful staf ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful staff and a delicious menu. We were in awe of the tenderness and flavor of our steak, quite literally melted in your mouth. The wine list is also amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was a little tough but overall ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My steak was a little tough but overall I really like this restaurant and will go there again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place!! Have introduced it to ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love this place!! Have introduced it to several people now and everyone always wants to go again. Such unique dishes....can't find anything else like it around.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place. Pepper steak was good, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very nice place. Pepper steak was good, but miss the old cut of steak, new cut is good but sinewy. The zucchini squash stuffed with winter squash had a great chocolate and sauce topping, but the winter squash could have used a more savory seasoning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This has always been our "go-to" place f ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This has always been our "go-to" place for special occasions. Sadly, it probably won't be. Wait staff was attentive and helpful but the food was rather lack-luster compared to all our previous experiences. Three of us had poached cod and it was very "blah". Even the presentation has suffered. Our favorite, pepper steak, is now a piece of meat set in the middle of a large plate with sauce next to it, and not nearly as tender as the sliced pepper steak we have always ordered. Even the cocktails have changed because the new bartender " doesn't want to make that ". Even the beautiful fresh flowers by the door were wilted. What has happened?

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The pepper steak entrees were excellent. ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The pepper steak entrees were excellent. Mashed potatoes good but a tad runny. Likewise the creme brûlée. Artisanal shared first course very nice and good value. Grouper entree only okay. Wine by glass high price for small pour but good selection. Service excellent. We knew it would be a special night out to thank a good friend for generosity to us. And it was; she had a very nice time and we are grateful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I dined alone. Never the less, the serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I dined alone. Never the less, the service was excellent without hovering. The cooking is sophisticated. I had pork for the main course. The preparation and presentation were both excellent and imaginative. The place is a little tricky to find if you are not a native of Omaha. It is not on the street but rather down a small passage that contains a number of small shops of one kind or another.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 22nd anniversary was on a Saturday, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our 22nd anniversary was on a Saturday, so we decided on a Market restaurant, VMertz has always been reliable for a great meal experience, and this was no exception. I was late making the reservation but added a note to call us if a better time came open. I got a call on Saturday afternoon so we got in at 7. That was nice. The ambiance is wonderful, we opted for cocktails instead of wine-both were delicious, and she had two. I was driving or I would have had another. Our salads were simply amazing. I had the Farro, and my wife had the Winter Greens. My wife had the vegetable plate for dinner and loved it, while I had the poached grouper, and again we were both extremely pleased. For dessert we had Windsor Red cheese and the chocolate mousse with French press coffee. Yum. We'll be back on my birthday, and on her birthday, and as often as we can. Meal/drink total was only $110, plus tip. It was completely worth it. Our service was friendly, helpful, and efficient. A can't go wrong choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. We enjoy coming here for the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great meal. We enjoy coming here for the food and ambience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the same since new chef came on boa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Not the same since new chef came on board. Food was uninteresting and the menu not as appealing and unique as a year ago. We most likely will not be going back until we hear from others that it has returned to its prior standard. Wait staff now talks too much at the tables. Seems like everyone needs to be coached up on how to stick to speaking about the specific meal options of the day and not general foodie discussions. I can read a book, magazine or internet/newspaper column from an informed source for that information, not a waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at V. Mertz. ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at V. Mertz. It is a restaurant we don't consider often for a great meal out . . . and that will change. The food, the presentation, and the wine selections by Matt (an excellent sommelier) made the evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cauliflower soup had fantastic flavo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The cauliflower soup had fantastic flavor but it wasn't very hot. I mentioned it to the waiter and then when the main course came out, it also was not very hot. Very beautiful setting. Charcuterie plate was not delicious. There is no sign on the street for this restaurant so be sure you have the address in order to find it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything was perfect. Great food, ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Everything was perfect. Great food, knowledgeable sommelier, wonderful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.