About V.Mertz

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Jacob Newton has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: (402) 345-8980

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was impeccable. Food was awesome. As a pescatarian, I was a little surprised to find pork on my fish dish, but otherwise the meal was really enjoyable.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very expensive, but the food and service was top notch! Chef even came out and talked to us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great experience! Wonderful Somms! Such a treat in Omaha!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was amazing, as always! I usually get the pepper steak, but tried the trout instead. Very tasty! Be sure to ask for Ross when you make a reservation. He is fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loooved it! Highly recomend doing the tasting menu with the wine parings! Excellent..very knowledgable staff as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Was very disappointed with this visit to V.Mertz. Wait staff was even more pretentious and unhelpful that usual. The food was very average: my pepper steak had more fat than meat. I love V.mertz, but this trip was bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Each time we go to V Mertz we think it is the best meal we have had! This time we did the tasting menu which was truly unique blend of flavors and superbly matched wines!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love it.
I'll be there monthly if they keep up with the tasting menu concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It is always a pleasure to dine at V Mertz. The service by David is outstanding. All of our dishes were perfect. Their food is slightly unusual and that may be why it is such a treat to dine there. Matt is very knowledgeable about wine and his recommendations are always fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Better than it has ever been! Chef has raised the bar....incredible!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made a reservation for a late Valentines Day dinner with my girlfriend and couldn't be more happy with my experience. Our server Ross Koley took the time to explain in depth the dinner menu, cocktails and wine menu. The service was outstanding, timed perfectly, Ross just takes the experience above and beyond. Matthew Brown the manager also was very involved with the dining experience, and will definitely make V-Mertz a regular destination for dinner. High fives gentlemen.
MITCHELL HANSON

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I came here on a date. Everything tasted phenomenal! And we weren't expecting to be as full as we were at the end. We liked that everything was brought out as separate courses, as opposed to the troughs we're used to. And we could take our time eating, instead of being not-so-subtly shuffled out the door like cattle. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really great meal, went with two friends. For the two of us that got meat dishes, the portions and the price were very reasonable. For the one who got the squash dish, the portion was a little smaller than expected but the food still tasted great. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Once again an awesome experience! If you want a romantic dinner for two with great service and food then this is the best in Omaha! Thank you David for another great dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful service with creative cuisine made for a great Valentines Day!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Okay ambiance, unless they stick you in the corner, which is essentially the storage room. Food was over cooked (couldn't cut the pork) and service was slow. Yes, took 2.5 hours to get through dinner, not because we wanted a nice slow dinner, but because service was so slow. Took half an hour to get our waiter for the first time. DO NOT EAT HERE. Terrible value. Way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The apps and dessert were amazing. The main course fish wasn't so good. My steak was good as well. Service was amazing and because of that we rated it higher.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing! They really did treat us like royalty. The food was to die for. A must dine in Omaha!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Interesting and delicious cocktails, divine food (as always), and the ambiance and unparalleled service doesn't hurt either. V. Mertz continues to be our favorite restaurant in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always had a good meal. Our waiter was very knowledgeable on pairing wine with your meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Omaha has a fabulous span of upscale, artisan restaurants - and I love having all those new options - but V Mertz still wins it for me hands down. It's the trifecta of ambiance, food, and service, and for many Omahans, a good dose of nostalgia too. So very glad and thankful it hasn't been pressured to dumb down its menu, although we have noticed a sizable increase in portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Nebraska, we travel an hour to dine here. Very consistent food and service. We tried the tasting menu and was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and wonderful service! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and was able to answer every question. He was very polite and fulfilled every request. The food was delicious and I was surprised at the decent portion size! Sometimes at really nice restaurants you can walk away hungry, not here. Wonderful wine list for the wine connoisseur! The ambiance alone made this restaurant worthwhile, old brick walls, wine bottles surrounding you, dim lighting, beautiful plants in the courtyard, loved it! We will definitely be returning :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It has, and still is, our go to for a special evening, and sometimes, just because.

Beautiful and classic. Menu is fresh and of variety and creativity.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 28, 2017

our open table got us a table by 2 restrooms and in a very busy traffic pattern while several good
tables sat empty. We were very disappointed, We won't be back to V.Mertz and we will not be utilizing the open table program if the is any indication of it's quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It was absolutely amazing and I decided to get engaged perfect Ambiance for what I needed. The staff were awesome and even made it a special moment. I look forward to going back with my wife or my fiance because I'd like to visit sooner than the wedding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is the second time I've been to V. Mertz. I really appreciate the consistency of quality and originality at this restaurant. I really appreciate the knowledge provided by our waiter to suggest appropriate food pairings for our wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The tasting menu provides a unique experience where you can spend a couple of hours rather than being shuffled in and out. It changes regularly, so each time is a little different. And each of the 6 or 7 plates, and associated wine pairings if you choose, comes with a little story or explanation.

I've been to exclusive restaurants around the world, and to find this here in Omaha is a pleasant surprise. I see it becoming a regular past time for my wife and I.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with friends. The service was fabulous and the food was very good. When I ordered a second Makers Mark I was told that they were out. I then ordered a Jack Daniels and they said they did have that either. A small thing, but if you're paying those prices, they should have a better stocked bar.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wouldn't recommend.
Service was poor.
Atmosphere was loud. Tables are basically on top of each other & we were fortunate enough to sit by a very loud conversational couple.
We requested to substitute one side for other, only to be told by the server that the chief decided that broccoli would go better with the rice. Only problem with that is we dont like broccoli, and that's not what we asked for.
If I could give this place a negative zero I would.
Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve. Disappointed with the wine. Otherwise the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time dining at V Mertz and couldn't wait. It wound up being a very bad experience. The service was poor, we had to have our appetizer taken off our bill due to it being way to salty, the entrée was poor, the staff was very "stuck up" and we just didn't feel welcome at all...all this spending $200+ dollars. Will never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was just not up to par. Put forth minimal effort.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years and once again V Mertz dose not disappoint. We have been here many times it is always great . Give this wonderful restaurant a try when you are in Omaha.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Ambience, service, along with thoughtful food, makes this one of the top spots in omaha if not the top spot for a memorable night out. Easily the best wine service in the city. The menu changes daily and it seems that they gather from local fresh producers, they will also change up entrees if you have issues with certain limitations, all good!
Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service and food was excellent, we were very well attended to. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable on both food and drinks. It was a nice romantic dinner with my significant other.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experiences at V Mertz; the food is unique and delicious, the service impeccable and the atmosphere intimate!! We always look forward to the variety of selections on the menu; the taste combinations are always a palatable delight. It is one of our favorite restaurants to visit in Omaha for a romantic couples dinner or a fun place for a small celebration.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our second trip to V. Mertz was just as good as our first. Amazing food, perfectly cooked, great wine selection and some of the best service in Nebraska rolled into a small scale wonderfully romantic little hideaway. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent Christmas Eve lunch! Staff was great and the even better!! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a lovely dinner. Staff are knowledgeable and accommodating. Our favorite place to celebrate or just have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.