About V.Mertz

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Kyle Lamb has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: 4023458980x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Food
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
15 More
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

Romantic (96)
Special Occasion (92)
Notable Wine List (77)
See All
Fit for Foodies (66)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Groups (12)
Scenic View (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our 4th visit to V. Mertz and ju ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is our 4th visit to V. Mertz and just as the 3 previous visits, it was excellent. The service was impeccable as was the food. Perfect for a date night. We plan on coming again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and our Sever was b ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing and our Sever was beyond amazing. The only suggestion I would make is maybe to have the food come out a little faster. We did the starter and big course and our friends did the full 3. It took over 2 hours to get through the entire meal. The price for the food was ok. My fiancees Pork chop was pretty much all fat and he was a little disappointed and my steak was a little more medium rare then rare That are only critique

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Fabulous service, delicious food & beaut ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous service, delicious food & beautiful ambiance made our experience one we won't forget! We'll be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place. I have had stomach ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We love this place. I have had stomach cancer 4 times since the age of 9. I have been told that this condition will be a life time battle. I try to cherish every bite I eat. Thanks for taking care of us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was very happy with our server. He wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was very happy with our server. He was very attentive. He explained any questions about the menu and explained our meals when they were brought out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter was wonderful....food was goo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful....food was good too................................................................. ...................................

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome experience! We will be going bac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome experience! We will be going back for sure :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is no other fine dining experience ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

There is no other fine dining experience in Omaha that can beat V. Mertz!. Their peppercorn steak, cheese and wine selections, atmosphere and staff are simply fantastic. Everything is just so wonderful, as always!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I had the chefs tasting menu wh ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wife and I had the chefs tasting menu which included 6 courses along with wine pairings. We felt like we were on an episode of Top Chef. Beautiful presentation... taste was amazing as well. The wine pairings were upgraded for several courses as they ran out of other wine. All in all the service was outstanding along with the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience was wonderful, service was grea ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Ambience was wonderful, service was great. Wines were overpriced. Our food was just ok. It was overpriced and the portions were small. We left this place with a $150 bill for 2 people and we were both still hungry! Disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Really a nice experience. Our server, Ge ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Really a nice experience. Our server, Georgie, was very nice, attentive but not intrusive. The swordfish was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David is an excellent waiter - very know ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

David is an excellent waiter - very knowledgeable about the food being served and the wine list. V. Mertz is the perfect spot to celebrate a special occasion or if you are just in the mood for a first class dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Kyle Lamb's menu and wine pairings ...

 
 (Zacatecas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chef Kyle Lamb's menu and wine pairings were exceptional. Can't recommend this enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. I was browsing the s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent service. I was browsing the scotch selection and the waiter mentioned that he could let me know what I ordered last time since I could not remember! I was very impressed and took him up on that.

I will be back again soon. V.Mertz never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom texted me afterward that it was t ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My mom texted me afterward that it was the best meal she has had in 9 years in Omaha. You can't beat that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After one of our party spilled a water, ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

After one of our party spilled a water, we were moved to a dark table between wine racks and a prep area. Not great. After our relocation, service was nonexistent. We had arrived on time for our 7:00 reservation, and our main course had not been served at 8:30. At one point, still before our meal, our server tried to remove my husband's wine glass. There was still wine in the bottle, AND WE HADN'T BEEN SERVED OUR DINNER. We joked that it was a bit early to be hinting for us to leave.

The food was excellent, as it's always been, but I don't know that we will return. If we do, I doubt we'll bring friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

It is always great to have David as our ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It is always great to have David as our waiter! He is very helpful with wine and food recommendations. The items we ordered were excellent...Sword Fish and Chicken with a Cherry Sauce on the plate. Also shared Shrimp and Grits and a short rib tortellini, which were quite tasty. And Creme Brûlée for dessert to top off the perfect meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place. Never a bad bite and Da ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place. Never a bad bite and David is superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was truly amazing! We traveled 90+ mi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was truly amazing! We traveled 90+ miles for a weekend get-away, and we are already planning another evening soon with friends because it was so amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

was there for Bastille day July 14 DINE ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

was there for Bastille day July 14 DINER W 2 WINES $350.00 --felt expensive

MJW

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Such a great place. V Mertz's tasting m ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Such a great place. V Mertz's tasting menu never ceases to amaze! The staff is always friendly and the martini's are always cold!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Imaginative food selection, very well pr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Imaginative food selection, very well presented with a more than adequate wine list. Server was quite knowledgeable. We were told this was one of the best, if not the best restaurant in Omaha, and we were not disappointed. When in Omaha, we would most certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We started with wine, the charcuterie pl ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We started with wine, the charcuterie plate and added the Great Britain cheddar. I would definitely recommend adding a cheese, as the plate would not have been enough.

I had the pork trio and it was amazing. The best flavored pork I've ever had. The side of vegetables were also tasty. My husband had their signature peppersteak and he enjoyed it, but not as much as my pork.

We split the creme brulee for dessert. It was standard. Overall, we had a great meal and I would love to come back if it wasn't for the hefty price tag. Including tax, it was over $150 for the two of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at V Mertz. The f ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at V Mertz. The food was outstanding and we had great conversations with the sommelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

V. Mertz was absolutely fabulous. The r ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

V. Mertz was absolutely fabulous. The restaurant is exposed brick with white table linens, beautiful spot. The food is the best in Omaha in my opinion. It is relatively expensive, but justly so. I would highly recommend V. Mertz to anyone looking for a tremendous meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

V.Mertz is always beyond exceptional. Th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

V.Mertz is always beyond exceptional. The plates are always beautiful, delicious and fresh. The wine list is extensive and devine. The service is always top notch and professional. The restaurant itself provides a beautiful setting creating a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing! Service was impeccable. ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Simply amazing! Service was impeccable. Food was balanced, flavorful and executed perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Any restaurant where we can hear each ot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Any restaurant where we can hear each other is a winner! That all the food we ate over both visits last week was perfectly paired and prepared made it a fabulous dining experience. The wine list was extensive and excellent and the somalier was very knowledgable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous find, tucked away in a quaint ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Tremendous find, tucked away in a quaint alley/atrium in Omaha's food district. Highly recommended - matches anything I've experienced in NYC or beyond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful upscale dining experience wi ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A wonderful upscale dining experience with foods that excite the tastebuds and imagination. All courses are uniquely created from locally purchased, fresh ingredients. Highly recommended for couples, friends and family who prefer a quiet, intimate atmosphere. The waitstaff is outstanding as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is very unique and relaxi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The atmosphere is very unique and relaxing. The food tasted great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was an amazing restaurant to celebr ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was an amazing restaurant to celebrate a very special birthday. First rate from from walking through the door to our exit 2 hours later. A total adventure for the senses. thank you for everything

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fancy! Our waiter was so kind and ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very fancy! Our waiter was so kind and knowledgeable. As common folk, we had to have him explain the menu haha. This is def a fancy restaurant that you dress up for. Expect to pay $150-$200 per couple if you are going to have wine/beer. We made reservations 2.5 months in advance so that we could sit in the courtyard. I highly recommend sitting there because the view is amazing and it's less crowded. We arrived approx 15 minutes before our reservation and we were shown right to our table. My husband, who is a very picky southern eater, was soooo impressed and is already talking about going back. I recommend the shrimp and grits....AMAZING and I hope they stay on the menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was outstanding, we did feel that t ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

food was outstanding, we did feel that the Rhone Red wine was a bit over priced for the quality. It was to young and the decanting did not improve the quality. Enjoyed visiting with the Semmelier.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very creative menu, with some favorites ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very creative menu, with some favorites that are always a go to when we can not decide. Always prepared well, presented beautifully, and tastes great. The wine list and the scotch menu are amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first time eating at V.Mertz ...

vip
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first time eating at V.Mertz and definitely one of the best dining experiences I’ve had in Omaha. The atmosphere, presentation, service, food, and cocktails were all top notch! I look forward to going back soon. Now, if only it were easier to get a reservation...but it’s clear why they have to be made well in advance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was excellent, as always. Wha ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was excellent, as always. What more can we say.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great workers, great night.

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, great workers, great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes were creative with multiple layer ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Dishes were creative with multiple layers of flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

V Mertz is one of our "go to" restaurant ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

V Mertz is one of our "go to" restaurants when there is a special occasion to celebrate. We love it's location in the passageway in the Old Market. Once you're there, you feel like you've been transported to somewhere other than Omaha. My wife and I always feel like we're on vacation at one of Disney World's upscale restaurants. The food is excellent and our favorite waiter (David) is amazing. He seems to intuitively know when he is needed to refill a water glass or arrive with the next course. He's extremely knowledgeable about the food served and makes the customer feel like his/her needs are his utmost concern. When my wife couldn't decide on a cocktail, he said he would bring her a Grey Goose vodka gimlet. Even though it had been months since we'd last been there, he recalled her favorite drink. Now THAT'S service. The restaurant even took the time to print our names and the occasion we were celebrating on the top of our menu to take with us as a souvenir. I look forward to the next time we can enjoy this Omaha gem of a restaurant again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.