About V.Mertz

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Jacob Newton has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: (402) 345-8980

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Historic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

VMertz continues to be our favorite fine dining experience in Omaha. Service is always fantastic and David makes sure you have a great evening. The special cocktails start the experience and the desserts finish it with a solid 10 every time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Probably our first choice for omaha romantic dinner date restaurants. I like that they keep what we order every time that we go and they start by welcoming us with our favorites.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

V. Mertz is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. Being down in the Passageway in the Old Market makes it more secluded and romantic. We always feel as if we're on vacation somewhere when we eat there. The menu is varied with flavors and textures you just don't find anywhere else. It's truly an adventure in dining. The service is wonderful and we always ask for David to be our server because he is excellent. He's attentive without hovering and knows the menu and wine list inside and out, so he can make some wonderful suggestions. I heartily recommend V. Mertz for anyone who wants to celebrate any special occasion with an equally special culinary experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We tried the tasting menu. It was a long experience, but worth the wait. The extra time between dishes is also great for having a conversation with your significant other. Every dish brought to us was clearly explained and delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was excellent. Everyone's meal was just fantastic. The service was spot on and very attentive. Couldn't ask for a better experiance

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I had made reservations for 7 p.m. Our friends' plane arrived early so we went to V. Mertz to see if we might get in at 6 p.m. instead. They graciously found a table for us at that time. The waiter was excellent! The food was delicious! The evening was wonderful. I highly recommend V. Mertz.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings. It was the best meal we've had in Omaha. Every course was creative and well executed. And the wine pairings were thoughtful too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 3, 2017

V. Mertz is an absolutely amazing restaurant; perfect for a special occasion or romantic date night. The food is unique and delicious, and the atmosphere is extremely intimate. The service is beyond phenomenal, and I would highly recommend you check out their wine list. I do not have a single bad thing to say about this place. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Hard to find, in the lower level and to the back of the building, but worth getting to. We shared three courses. The charcuterie was generous portions of several cured meets, with a nice mustard and sweet mayo on the side. Also included a very good whole grain bread. The Buratto was a nice presentation, with a flavor filled cheese, and more good bread. We shared a perfectly cooked duck main course served over a nice lentil side. Service was attentive, and helpful. The space in the basement was a little dark, but intimate with an acceptable noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Fabulous dinner!! We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. They were able to accommodate our request to sit at table 30(table we were engaged at 25 years ago) and they even printed a special menu that said "Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary" at the top! Super sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Top notch tasting menu. Hidden gem in the Passageway. Always a delightful experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 18, 2017

V Mertz consistently and blissfully strikes a balance between beloved classics & contemporary dining trends. Food is well-executed & perfectly served by staff that is attentive without hovering. All that plus it offers the best timeless old world ambiance in Omaha. The American caviar & buckwheat silver dollar pancakes were divine. The pepper steak is classic for a reason.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was graduation weekend, so very busy, but this remains my favorite in Omaha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent, as always! The food, the service, the ambiance, V Mertz has it all!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is the best food in Omaha. Each dish was fabulous and perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The setting is lovely and nice for intimate occasions like date nights with your significant other and the service was fine and attentive. We enjoyed a charcuterie board which was good. Also, I enjoyed a delicious shrimp asparagus soup which I could eat everyday! My date had the braised venison cheeks which was a great choice. The main entrees, however, left us wishing we had made different decisions. I had the trout which was underwhelming at best and the potatoes it came with were glorified tater tots with a bit too much time in the fryer and way too much salt. The oversalting of my tater tots was nothing compared to the Morgan Ranch Wagyu Peppersteak. The temperature of the meat was perfect but the seared outside of the meat had so much salt neither myself nor my date could comfortably eat it. It seemed like after it was cooked it was rolled in a dish of coarse salt.
We were offered a complimentary dessert and we chose the goose egg creme brulee, something I would recommend if you have room after your meal.
I am sure we will go back as this was the first time we have been disappointed here but I cannot imagine it will be anytime soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food quality was excellent as usual. All parties rated this experience 5 stars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The charcuterie board was amazing and all made in house! Quite impressive

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 16, 2017

INCREDIBLE STAFF AND WONDERFUL FOOD.I TOOK SOMEONE THERE THAT HAD NEVER EATEN THERE AND THEY WERE VERY IMPRESSED THANKS FOR THE EXPERIENCE

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The waiter was efficient, gave us recommendations, and was very attentive. The food w and ambiance were absolutely amazing.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 14, 2017

They get everything right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is my wife and my favorite restaurant! Continues to impress, we had wagyu rib eye cooked perfectly and was delicious. We trave an hour to eat here and worth it every time. Thanks for a wonderful meal. Steve Stevenson lincoln

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

V. Mertz offers exquisite fine dining in a sophisticated, romantic setting in Omaha's Old Market. The wine list is outstanding; the food creative (such as the squeakly green radish salad and rabbit on arugula) and prepared perfectly; and the waiter was excellent, following up with the chef to answer questions about some of the dishes. Overall, an outstanding experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife and I went to V.Mertz for our anniversary And it was excellent. We decided to go with the tasting menu that has several courses of food paired with wine. Everything was very good and it was a fun experience. The service was excellent and the waiter was very knowledgeable of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food was awesome. As a pescatarian, I was a little surprised to find pork on my fish dish, but otherwise the meal was really enjoyable.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very expensive, but the food and service was top notch! Chef even came out and talked to us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great experience! Wonderful Somms! Such a treat in Omaha!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was amazing, as always! I usually get the pepper steak, but tried the trout instead. Very tasty! Be sure to ask for Ross when you make a reservation. He is fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loooved it! Highly recomend doing the tasting menu with the wine parings! Excellent..very knowledgable staff as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Was very disappointed with this visit to V.Mertz. Wait staff was even more pretentious and unhelpful that usual. The food was very average: my pepper steak had more fat than meat. I love V.mertz, but this trip was bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Each time we go to V Mertz we think it is the best meal we have had! This time we did the tasting menu which was truly unique blend of flavors and superbly matched wines!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love it.
I'll be there monthly if they keep up with the tasting menu concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It is always a pleasure to dine at V Mertz. The service by David is outstanding. All of our dishes were perfect. Their food is slightly unusual and that may be why it is such a treat to dine there. Matt is very knowledgeable about wine and his recommendations are always fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Better than it has ever been! Chef has raised the bar....incredible!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made a reservation for a late Valentines Day dinner with my girlfriend and couldn't be more happy with my experience. Our server Ross Koley took the time to explain in depth the dinner menu, cocktails and wine menu. The service was outstanding, timed perfectly, Ross just takes the experience above and beyond. Matthew Brown the manager also was very involved with the dining experience, and will definitely make V-Mertz a regular destination for dinner. High fives gentlemen.
MITCHELL HANSON

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I came here on a date. Everything tasted phenomenal! And we weren't expecting to be as full as we were at the end. We liked that everything was brought out as separate courses, as opposed to the troughs we're used to. And we could take our time eating, instead of being not-so-subtly shuffled out the door like cattle. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really great meal, went with two friends. For the two of us that got meat dishes, the portions and the price were very reasonable. For the one who got the squash dish, the portion was a little smaller than expected but the food still tasted great. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Once again an awesome experience! If you want a romantic dinner for two with great service and food then this is the best in Omaha! Thank you David for another great dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful service with creative cuisine made for a great Valentines Day!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Okay ambiance, unless they stick you in the corner, which is essentially the storage room. Food was over cooked (couldn't cut the pork) and service was slow. Yes, took 2.5 hours to get through dinner, not because we wanted a nice slow dinner, but because service was so slow. Took half an hour to get our waiter for the first time. DO NOT EAT HERE. Terrible value. Way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.