About V.Mertz

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Jacob Newton has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: (402) 345-8980

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for our wedding anniversary. No acknowledgement or warm welcome. While the waiter was knowledgeable, not welcoming. It was our first time there and no one asked if it was our first or special occasion. Not very busy on a Tuesday night and it seemed that the servers were disinterested. Sat us next to a large party. No romantic ambiance. Took quite a long time to get our wine or be acknowledged by the waiter. Food was good, but too salty. We were disappointed after hearing great things about the restaurant. I would not go back for a while. Other places in town seem to value their customers more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect as always. We are regulars there monthly for their tasting menu. Each month its new and innovative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience! My wife and I went to V. Mertz for our anniversary. Fantastic service, exquisite food. I had the wagyu ny strip, my wife had a shoulder beef cut that was all very tasty. Good portions, maneagable and a great experience. The only downside was some douchebag at another table who could not use an “inside voice”. To be fair, it was not V. Mertz’s issue. I would go back to V. Mertz in a minute.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful food. Great wine. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

The food was great though we were disappointed in the desserts. Very unique flavors and incredible creativity and beautifully served—a feast for your eyes. We will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Absolutely outstanding! Excellent food; wine and service.
Our server, Dylan provided fantastic service.
A wonderful evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

They rank five stars in all three important categories of fine dining. Food, service and ambiance. If I am ever back in Omaha I will certainly try to fit them in our schedule. Also, they provided an important thing we were looking for, they emphasize locally grown and raised items on their menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent as usual. David, the waiter was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to V. Mertz, and every visit is special. The menu varies so you never have the same items to choose from. The service is professional and unobtrusive. The food - always fresh, original, and absolutely amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

The menu was excellent and the service was outstanding. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice place to have dinner and a drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 1, 2017

V Mertz has the best atmosphere and service staff in Omaha. The food is consistently exceptional and the wine list can't be beat. We selected it for a birthday dinner and it was the exact experience we expected: a quiet, elegant atmosphere with exceptional service and outstanding food and drinks. There are a handful of fine dining restaurants in Omaha that do not disappoint. V Mertz is at the top of that list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Very romantic and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Amazing. Why is everyone not at this place every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

Went to V. Mertz to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary. We did the tasting menu with wine pairing and it was delicious. The cocktails we ordered before and after the meal were excellent. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the courses and answered any question we had in regards to the food or drinks. Price wise I couldn't afford to eat there every night but we will try to go back at least once a year.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 15, 2017

V. Mertz was a great experience! Thank you for making our birthday celebration awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We've been twice and it was as good this time as last. Everything is great but I always appreciate the first class service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great experience. The chef pairs flavors that are surprising in the most wonderful way. Each ingredient plays with its counterparts to create a symphany in your mouth.
The service is the best in Omaha!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Wonderful dining experience with incredible food and an extensive wine list. Expensive, but well worth every penny. We choose the tasting menu each time and are always impressed with the chef's creations!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We're there every month for the new menu. It's the best dining experience in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We did not expect to find such fabulous food, wine and atmosphere in Omaha. We had several great meals in your city over our long weekend, thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Located in the bottom part of the street it was a bit difficult to find but was well worth it. The shishito peppers appetizers were amazing - remember to use the sauce and the onion. Ordered the dry aged ribeye and it just melted in my mouth. The knife went through the steak like butter. It is in my top 10 steaks I have ever ate.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2017

To die for! Great service, great drinks, and excellent food. It has been nine years since I have eaten there, and they have changed ownership, but the core excellent dining experience remains. If you want a special meal in a special place, go!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Overall very good food and experience. However, my steak was tough and disappointing considering it was supposedly Wagyu Beef. Dinner rolls were pretty plain and dry. Otherwise, creative food with great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Great ambiance adds to the food experience. Great date night with the significant other. Server proceed great service and very knowledgeable of wine selection and meals for the day. Duck breast and the eggplant dishes were amazing.

Great presentation of entrees and appetizers.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Always excellent service, great food, with an intimate setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Epic experience, from the food, wine and the service, easily Omahas best fine dinning spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Perfect as always. They have no credible competition in Omaha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Enjoyable meal but some of the ingredients didn’t quite fit together; the chef seemed to be trying a bit too hard.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great spot for an anniversary dinner. Service is always great and they make memorable dining experiences.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was spectacular and service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous, as always. David, our waiter, makes meal even more special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Never disappoints. My favorite restaurant in Omaha.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our waiter was very nice and extremely knowledgeable of the menu items. The food was very flavorful and very good!! I would recommend this restaurant as a great place to impress a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Come here about once a year with family from out of town and it's our go to spot. Never disappoints. Food is amazing and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My all time favorite. We were at Equinox two weeks ago in DC, a high end restaurant a block from the White House, and this is easily as good or better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful spot in Omaha's old Market area. Fantastic food and atmosphere. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This restaurant never fails to impress. Great food, great service, great overall experience. Took my wife for her birthday and had a blast. We do frequent quite often and highly recommend. Steve, Lincoln ne

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Best restaurant in town! Romantic date or special occasion, no better place. Wine list is exquisite as is the food and the service. We just let David "drive" anymore and the result is phenomenal. I had a duck breast in a blueberry reduction/sauce that was out of this world.
Once again, home run! Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had the vegan tasting menu. Outstanding. Every dish was superb and completely unexpected. Service is incredibly professional. The whole experience was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding culinary experience. Too bad my wife and I had a server that pulled down our overall dining experience. He was efficient, but had no personality, no interaction with us and left us with the feeling that while the food was quite amazing the management doesn't train its servers to accentuate the dining experience. The food combinations were some of the best we've ever had, outstanding foie gras, excellent cheese selection and wonderful halibut and swordfish meals.
For us, we prefer friendly waiters not French snob-type servers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.