About V.Mertz

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Kyle Lamb has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: 4023458980x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
11 More
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (102)
romantic (100)
notable wine list (78)
See All
fit for foodies (71)
neighborhood gem (46)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (15)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very creative menu, with some favorites ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very creative menu, with some favorites that are always a go to when we can not decide. Always prepared well, presented beautifully, and tastes great. The wine list and the scotch menu are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first time eating at V.Mertz ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first time eating at V.Mertz and definitely one of the best dining experiences I’ve had in Omaha. The atmosphere, presentation, service, food, and cocktails were all top notch! I look forward to going back soon. Now, if only it were easier to get a reservation...but it’s clear why they have to be made well in advance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, as always. Wha ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was excellent, as always. What more can we say.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great workers, great night.

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, great workers, great night.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dishes were creative with multiple layer ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Dishes were creative with multiple layers of flavor!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

V Mertz is one of our "go to" restaurant ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

V Mertz is one of our "go to" restaurants when there is a special occasion to celebrate. We love it's location in the passageway in the Old Market. Once you're there, you feel like you've been transported to somewhere other than Omaha. My wife and I always feel like we're on vacation at one of Disney World's upscale restaurants. The food is excellent and our favorite waiter (David) is amazing. He seems to intuitively know when he is needed to refill a water glass or arrive with the next course. He's extremely knowledgeable about the food served and makes the customer feel like his/her needs are his utmost concern. When my wife couldn't decide on a cocktail, he said he would bring her a Grey Goose vodka gimlet. Even though it had been months since we'd last been there, he recalled her favorite drink. Now THAT'S service. The restaurant even took the time to print our names and the occasion we were celebrating on the top of our menu to take with us as a souvenir. I look forward to the next time we can enjoy this Omaha gem of a restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night Out

Dined on June 10, 2016

We drive for an hour to go to this restaurant and have done so for 5 or 6 years. We've never been disappointed and it is where we go for a special night for just the two of us. Atmosphere is relaxed with a quiet ambiance and subdued lighting. Food is always good, wine list is extensive (and a bit pricey), and the staff is attentive without being intrusive or pushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely 4th anniversary

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wife and I drove from lincoln to try this restaurant. We enjoyed the fish and chips, goose egg, and our entrees. Wife had the v.Mertz steak and I had the walley. Loved all of those. Didn't care too much for the candy bar. Looked great. Ice cream was too smokey. Chocolate and marshmallow hard to cut with fork. Would of enjoyed more if it was warm.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly amazing

Dined on June 9, 2016

Took my boyfriend there for his birthday and we had an amazing time, food and service were wonderful. I would defiantly recommend for a date night, or special occasion. And also be willing to spend some money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrate here

Dined on June 8, 2016

V Mertz is where we have anniversary shared dinners for the past few years; the food and services are excellent and the ambiance is quiet and pleasant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent service, food and environment. It is a treat to dine so well in such a quiet pleasant space.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on June 5, 2016

We eat at V-Mertz at least twice a year, more if we can. As always everything was suberb. If you want a dining experience, eat here. If you want to be in and out within an hour, do not eat here. We always spend 2-3 hours here because it really is an experience. V-Metz is my favorite restaurant in Omaha!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious! I loved the personal touches; ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious! I loved the personal touches; the small bite was awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made Our Event Extra Special

Dined on May 29, 2016

The V.Mertz staff were classy and professional. Engaged in our every need and everything from cocktails to dessert served promptly. The food was excellent and the selection elegant. I've never had duck prepared so well and our waiter was lovely. One of my best dining experiences and they made our Bachelorette evening that much more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Our waiter w ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a great experience. Our waiter was phenomenal!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there with my wife on a Tuesday nig ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Went there with my wife on a Tuesday night. Vibe was great, fountain outside the restaurant added a nice ambiance. We did the Chef's Tasting with wine pairings and it absolutely blew us away. We didn't buy a bottle, but if you know your wines, this list is full of unicorns.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

V.Mertz is our special occasion place; t ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

V.Mertz is our special occasion place; this time we were there for our anniversary. We always love going there - it's a quiet, intimate, romantic atmosphere with outstanding food and drinks, and top notch service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic

Dined on May 21, 2016

V Mertz is one of the best restaurants Omaha has to offer, not just because of their food of gold, but because of the genuine service they provide. When I made our reservation, I mentioned it was for my mom's 60th birthday dinner. Lo and behold, when we arrived we had our own personal menus that had "Happy 60th Birthday!" printed at the top. This did not go unnoticed! Thank you so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit in six weeks a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our second visit in six weeks and once again everything was perfect! They always have new and interesting cocktails and the service is outstanding. Don't miss V Mertz.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although the food was excellent and our ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Although the food was excellent and our server was a gem, I think VMertz is very over priced and not reasonable for frequent dining

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was absolutely amazing. Always had our water filled yet we weren't hovered over the entire time. Unfortunately due to a large party my fiance and Ibwere unable to hear each other talking due to the loud talking and laughing from the party which kind of ruinined the experience as it was our first time there. Other than that the food was great and service was amazing. However with the noice im not sure we want to go back and spend the money as we initially went to have a nice and quiet romantic night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our 3rd time eating here and it was excellent as expected. The service and the knowledge of the staff was outstanding. The food was delicious and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bday

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and had a fantastic time. The Service, atmosphere, and food were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

V Mertz is my "Happy Place" when I come ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

V Mertz is my "Happy Place" when I come back to the Omaha area. I just love the location and the style there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food and service. Quiet enoug ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. Quiet enough to have a conversation, but not uncomfortably quiet. Hands down one of the best restaurants in Omaha.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food, service and wine as always! Thanks for making another anniversary unforgettable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was just okay.

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I both got the pepper steak which people raved about! It was cool at the correct temp(I am a rare eater) but lacked flavor. It came on a plate with dried out veggies that had clearly been under the broiler. We are both foodies so maybe have high expectations but nothing was great here. Service: she was attentive but stood so close to the table I felt like she was standing on me. Again, not horrible but we have had much better experiences! Skip V Mertz and go to 801 Chophouse!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to V. Mertz many times over ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have been to V. Mertz many times over the last 25 years, and it's always a special occasion. The level of service is always impeccable, but this time the attention was extra special. Manager Matthew Brown and his team have really taken it up a notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dinner and server were very good. It ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our dinner and server were very good. It took a little while to get a drink though. Overall, a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant!Get peppercorn steak w/ sauce!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My favorite steak with the most delicious French cream sauce! I get extra extra sauce every time! It's the only item they don't switch up on their menu since it's their signature dish. It's not too peppery so don't let the title fool you! Enjoy!!! The service is always outstanding as well

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the Midwest by far! ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Best restaurant in the Midwest by far! Best food, best wine selection, best experience, kindest staff! Amazing! You'll NEVER have a bad experience at V. Mertz, and if you do...you're the problem and not the restaurant!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stellar food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

V Mertz is a great find. Nestled within a historic brick building, it reminds one of the underground haunts of old. The food is stellar with great variety and the service is too notch: warm and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. We had an exceptional dinner, and fabulous service. As someone who does not get to enjoy a dinner out with my husband very often, we are very selective about our dining. Our experience was nothing but superb, the service was impeccable, and the food was above and beyond what we've had lately, in Omaha. We tell everyone about our dinner, and recommend it to whomever is looking for fine dining, great service, and good atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

remains our favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

V. Mertz remains one of our favorite date night restaurants. I try something new nearly every time we visit and have never been disappointed. Their staff is the best in town and the atmosphere can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every dollar!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic service! Everyone in our group agreed it was the best food in the Old market!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 19, 2016

We eat at V Mertz for most special occassions. The food has always been amazing and service second to none. Servers always give great suggestions and thoroughly explain items on the menu. We will continue to keep V Mertz at the top of our list!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Changes at a Classic

Dined on April 16, 2016

Ambiance and service were as always, beautiful. We were disappointed to encounter the new menu. Selections are very limited and not up to what, over 30 years of enjoying, we have come to know and delight in. We will pass until the menu makes a u turn.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nebraska Nouvelle

Dined on April 12, 2016

V Mertz continues its tradition of identifying and sourcing the finest ingredients from the best Local purveyors. The house charcuterie plate and culatello were great starters as were the Lee's organic salad and fois gras torchon, the latter being very light in texture and flavor. The Alaskan halibut was fantastic served with a complementary sauce and several accompanying Accoutrements. Presentation was delightful as was our server/sommelier, David. This restaurant is a jewel under any circumstances.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

V. Mertz never ceases to amaze me. Fantastic food

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our 3rd trip to V. Mertz, and just like the previous 2 everything was outstanding. The food is some of the best I have ever had. The atmosphere is truly amazing and unique, it is by far one of my wife and I's favorite restaurants for an intimate meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best

Dined on April 9, 2016

The best dining experience ever. Wonderful atmosphere, service and food is second to none. If you are in Omaha do not miss this place

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.