About V.Mertz

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Kyle Lamb has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: 4023458980x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
11 More
Best Value
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Contemporary American
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (109)
romantic (108)
notable wine list (87)
See All
fit for foodies (78)
neighborhood gem (44)
hot spot (20)
good for groups (13)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit in six weeks a ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our second visit in six weeks and once again everything was perfect! They always have new and interesting cocktails and the service is outstanding. Don't miss V Mertz.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although the food was excellent and our ...

Dined 5 days ago

Although the food was excellent and our server was a gem, I think VMertz is very over priced and not reasonable for frequent dining

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud

Dined 7 days ago

The service was absolutely amazing. Always had our water filled yet we weren't hovered over the entire time. Unfortunately due to a large party my fiance and Ibwere unable to hear each other talking due to the loud talking and laughing from the party which kind of ruinined the experience as it was our first time there. Other than that the food was great and service was amazing. However with the noice im not sure we want to go back and spend the money as we initially went to have a nice and quiet romantic night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our 3rd time eating here and it was excellent as expected. The service and the knowledge of the staff was outstanding. The food was delicious and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bday

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and had a fantastic time. The Service, atmosphere, and food were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

V Mertz is my "Happy Place" when I come ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

V Mertz is my "Happy Place" when I come back to the Omaha area. I just love the location and the style there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food and service. Quiet enoug ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. Quiet enough to have a conversation, but not uncomfortably quiet. Hands down one of the best restaurants in Omaha.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food, service and wine as always! Thanks for making another anniversary unforgettable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was just okay.

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I both got the pepper steak which people raved about! It was cool at the correct temp(I am a rare eater) but lacked flavor. It came on a plate with dried out veggies that had clearly been under the broiler. We are both foodies so maybe have high expectations but nothing was great here. Service: she was attentive but stood so close to the table I felt like she was standing on me. Again, not horrible but we have had much better experiences! Skip V Mertz and go to 801 Chophouse!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to V. Mertz many times over ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have been to V. Mertz many times over the last 25 years, and it's always a special occasion. The level of service is always impeccable, but this time the attention was extra special. Manager Matthew Brown and his team have really taken it up a notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dinner and server were very good. It ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our dinner and server were very good. It took a little while to get a drink though. Overall, a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant!Get peppercorn steak w/ sauce!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My favorite steak with the most delicious French cream sauce! I get extra extra sauce every time! It's the only item they don't switch up on their menu since it's their signature dish. It's not too peppery so don't let the title fool you! Enjoy!!! The service is always outstanding as well

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the Midwest by far! ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Best restaurant in the Midwest by far! Best food, best wine selection, best experience, kindest staff! Amazing! You'll NEVER have a bad experience at V. Mertz, and if you do...you're the problem and not the restaurant!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stellar food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

V Mertz is a great find. Nestled within a historic brick building, it reminds one of the underground haunts of old. The food is stellar with great variety and the service is too notch: warm and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. We had an exceptional dinner, and fabulous service. As someone who does not get to enjoy a dinner out with my husband very often, we are very selective about our dining. Our experience was nothing but superb, the service was impeccable, and the food was above and beyond what we've had lately, in Omaha. We tell everyone about our dinner, and recommend it to whomever is looking for fine dining, great service, and good atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

remains our favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

V. Mertz remains one of our favorite date night restaurants. I try something new nearly every time we visit and have never been disappointed. Their staff is the best in town and the atmosphere can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every dollar!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic service! Everyone in our group agreed it was the best food in the Old market!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 19, 2016

We eat at V Mertz for most special occassions. The food has always been amazing and service second to none. Servers always give great suggestions and thoroughly explain items on the menu. We will continue to keep V Mertz at the top of our list!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Changes at a Classic

Dined on April 16, 2016

Ambiance and service were as always, beautiful. We were disappointed to encounter the new menu. Selections are very limited and not up to what, over 30 years of enjoying, we have come to know and delight in. We will pass until the menu makes a u turn.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nebraska Nouvelle

Dined on April 12, 2016

V Mertz continues its tradition of identifying and sourcing the finest ingredients from the best Local purveyors. The house charcuterie plate and culatello were great starters as were the Lee's organic salad and fois gras torchon, the latter being very light in texture and flavor. The Alaskan halibut was fantastic served with a complementary sauce and several accompanying Accoutrements. Presentation was delightful as was our server/sommelier, David. This restaurant is a jewel under any circumstances.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

V. Mertz never ceases to amaze me. Fantastic food

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our 3rd trip to V. Mertz, and just like the previous 2 everything was outstanding. The food is some of the best I have ever had. The atmosphere is truly amazing and unique, it is by far one of my wife and I's favorite restaurants for an intimate meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best

Dined on April 9, 2016

The best dining experience ever. Wonderful atmosphere, service and food is second to none. If you are in Omaha do not miss this place

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Omaha. David i ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Omaha. David is our favorite server and I swear he must have eyes in the back of his head. Everything is perfectly timed, you never feel rushed. Very excellent wine menu and I always enjoy hearing sommelier tidbits about our wine selections.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Duck In Town

Dined on April 7, 2016

...and the can't go wrong with the Ramos Old Fashioned.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

serene and romatic

Dined on March 24, 2016

I'm not the type to notice ambiance but this place oozes romance. My husband and I have been on 2 days here. You money goes a lot way. The wine selection is huge and the candy bar dessert is unparalleled.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

The flavors a were exquisite, the portio ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

The flavors a were exquisite, the portions were just a tad too small, and I really don't eat much.... The charcuterie was average.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

over priced

Dined on March 20, 2016

the food tasted good and the presentation was nice but I paid $32 for three small scallops and some rutabega puree....... Not my idea of a good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Find

Dined on March 19, 2016

Everything from the service to the food was great. Loved the duck and radishes and I do not normally like radishes. Very nice.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local Fine Dining

Dined on March 11, 2016

V Mertz remains one of the best fine dining destinations in Omaha. The location is charming and the ambience is quiet and relaxing. The menu is innovative and reliably taste. The wine list is exceptional and the sommelier is top notch. You will get exceptional food and great wine pairings. This is one of the more expensive restaurants in town, but the food, atmosphere, service, and wine make it well worth it - especially for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

V. MERTZ

Dined on March 3, 2016

I've been dining at V. Mertz for years and I've never been disappointed even once. Last Thursday night was no exception. Margaret & I thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We began with an artisanal chees plate, followed up with roasted pork belly & crispy lamb shoulder, and finished with the V. Mertz candy bar. I was all cooked to perfection and exceptionally delicious. We were especially pleased to see again our favorite chef Kyle Lamb, whom we met at a restaurant in Lincoln, but who is now the head chef a V. Mertz. He is really good at what he does. We enjoyed a scrumptious Spanish red wine recommended by the sommelier. I highly recommend V. Mertz to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

Dined on March 3, 2016

I chose this venue for my grilfriend's birthday dinner. I'm from out of town and chose the restaurant based on google reviews. Needless to say, it not only lived up to but exceeded all of my expectations. The staff was exceptional and described every plate to us. Every plate was phenomenal. Kudos to the chefs. Easily a top 5 in my restaurant list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal, beautifully quiet ambian ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Delicious meal, beautifully quiet ambiance, with the appropriate Cabernet & Pino Noir selections. The chef custom-made a vegetarian dish for my wife which she said was absolutely delicious. I had the Plum Creek chicken and it was simply amazing, one of the best pieces of chicken I have had from all over the world! Definitely would go back. A+

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Sometimes exceptionally good, this time not

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went for birthday dinner with friends. Hadn't been to V Mertz for a while, but our last visit was quite good. This time, I was disappointed by the food. Dishes with ingredients that promised something exceptional proved pretty bland. That they also arrived lukewarm and a bit dried out suggests they also sat under the infrared lamps too long. This is not what you'd expect from a restaurant with prices well above the average for upscale joints. In 30-plus years in Omaha, I've had some of my worst and best meals at V. Mertz. This visit will go down as simply forgettable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I was so excited to try V Mertz and both ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

I was so excited to try V Mertz and both my fiancé and I were highly disappointed. Our food was not hot and the flavor was nothing to brag about. The meal was very expensive, which is fine if the food would have been great:but it wasnt. The tables were extremely close together, so much so that I might as well have asked the couples next to us to join us. It was not a private and romantic spot because everyone was shoved so close together. Our waitress got snippy with us when we said we didn't want dessert. The restaurant looks adorable and cozy from the outside but we were unpleasantly surprised that it wasnt. Super disappointed in V Mertz!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place!

Dined on February 17, 2016

This was not only a great place to eat but the staff and everything was great! The whole dining experience was amazing! We can't wait to go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decadent

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had the pepper steak and creme brule, which was the perfect amount. We had no left overs and can't wait to go back again. V.Mertz is one of my top 5 restaurants now.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding fine dining

Dined on February 14, 2016

V.Mertz is our go to restaurant for special event dining. Anniversaries, Valentine's Day, etc. It is the perfect combination of cozy and fancy. The food is amazing, the ambience is great and the service is outstanding. Five stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service! Overa ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious food and great service! Overall experience was excellent. Can't wait to go back

food2
ambience2
service2

Wow not what I remembered. Food was medi ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Wow not what I remembered. Food was mediocre and that was better than the service. Stuck in bar by kitchen. Server well over sat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, staff extremely knowl ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent service, staff extremely knowledgable. Delicious food

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.