About V.Mertz

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Jacob Newton has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: 4023458980x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

Restaurant Photos

  • V.Mertz, Omaha, NE
V.Mertz, Omaha, NE

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
4 More
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (40)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (18)
Historic (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the food here! A perfect romantic d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love the food here! A perfect romantic date night location!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food, the service and the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, the food, the service and the atmosphere were extraordinary. This place is very special for us and when we want to celebrate this is always the first place we go. Love it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience because of t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a great experience because of the service, dining experience and food. We will be back and recommmend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's extremely refreshing to have a staf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It's extremely refreshing to have a staff that knows what they are talking about. You can tell V.Mertz employees care about more than just the paycheck. Absolutely wonderful service and delicious food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great, eclectic menu that changes nightl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great, eclectic menu that changes nightly. I tried something from each selection and really enjoyed it. I went there sad because I had visited a dying family member and got a great meal and was able to really celebrate life with their wonderful menu and food.

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars on everything, is because my waiter was a bit standoffish and it was a bit of a put off. I was a single diner and although he was professional, I was looking for something substantially happier and more personable for the amount I was paying. The staff looked a bit unorganized at times and not as inviting as I would like. Otherwise, it was great!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful staf ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful staff and a delicious menu. We were in awe of the tenderness and flavor of our steak, quite literally melted in your mouth. The wine list is also amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was a little tough but overall ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My steak was a little tough but overall I really like this restaurant and will go there again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place!! Have introduced it to ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love this place!! Have introduced it to several people now and everyone always wants to go again. Such unique dishes....can't find anything else like it around.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place. Pepper steak was good, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very nice place. Pepper steak was good, but miss the old cut of steak, new cut is good but sinewy. The zucchini squash stuffed with winter squash had a great chocolate and sauce topping, but the winter squash could have used a more savory seasoning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This has always been our "go-to" place f ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This has always been our "go-to" place for special occasions. Sadly, it probably won't be. Wait staff was attentive and helpful but the food was rather lack-luster compared to all our previous experiences. Three of us had poached cod and it was very "blah". Even the presentation has suffered. Our favorite, pepper steak, is now a piece of meat set in the middle of a large plate with sauce next to it, and not nearly as tender as the sliced pepper steak we have always ordered. Even the cocktails have changed because the new bartender " doesn't want to make that ". Even the beautiful fresh flowers by the door were wilted. What has happened?

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The pepper steak entrees were excellent. ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The pepper steak entrees were excellent. Mashed potatoes good but a tad runny. Likewise the creme brûlée. Artisanal shared first course very nice and good value. Grouper entree only okay. Wine by glass high price for small pour but good selection. Service excellent. We knew it would be a special night out to thank a good friend for generosity to us. And it was; she had a very nice time and we are grateful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I dined alone. Never the less, the serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I dined alone. Never the less, the service was excellent without hovering. The cooking is sophisticated. I had pork for the main course. The preparation and presentation were both excellent and imaginative. The place is a little tricky to find if you are not a native of Omaha. It is not on the street but rather down a small passage that contains a number of small shops of one kind or another.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 22nd anniversary was on a Saturday, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our 22nd anniversary was on a Saturday, so we decided on a Market restaurant, VMertz has always been reliable for a great meal experience, and this was no exception. I was late making the reservation but added a note to call us if a better time came open. I got a call on Saturday afternoon so we got in at 7. That was nice. The ambiance is wonderful, we opted for cocktails instead of wine-both were delicious, and she had two. I was driving or I would have had another. Our salads were simply amazing. I had the Farro, and my wife had the Winter Greens. My wife had the vegetable plate for dinner and loved it, while I had the poached grouper, and again we were both extremely pleased. For dessert we had Windsor Red cheese and the chocolate mousse with French press coffee. Yum. We'll be back on my birthday, and on her birthday, and as often as we can. Meal/drink total was only $110, plus tip. It was completely worth it. Our service was friendly, helpful, and efficient. A can't go wrong choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. We enjoy coming here for the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great meal. We enjoy coming here for the food and ambience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the same since new chef came on boa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Not the same since new chef came on board. Food was uninteresting and the menu not as appealing and unique as a year ago. We most likely will not be going back until we hear from others that it has returned to its prior standard. Wait staff now talks too much at the tables. Seems like everyone needs to be coached up on how to stick to speaking about the specific meal options of the day and not general foodie discussions. I can read a book, magazine or internet/newspaper column from an informed source for that information, not a waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at V. Mertz. ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at V. Mertz. It is a restaurant we don't consider often for a great meal out . . . and that will change. The food, the presentation, and the wine selections by Matt (an excellent sommelier) made the evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cauliflower soup had fantastic flavo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The cauliflower soup had fantastic flavor but it wasn't very hot. I mentioned it to the waiter and then when the main course came out, it also was not very hot. Very beautiful setting. Charcuterie plate was not delicious. There is no sign on the street for this restaurant so be sure you have the address in order to find it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a Groupon but I have had far bett ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a Groupon but I have had far better meals for far less!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was perfect. Great food, ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Everything was perfect. Great food, knowledgeable sommelier, wonderful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great.

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Omaha! I will definit ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Best restaurant in Omaha! I will definitely visit again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is unmatched in Omaha. The ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The ambiance is unmatched in Omaha. The Passageway is always romantic and V Mertz takes full advantage of it to create a unique dining experience. I like how they use local produce and meat to create their menu, but personally found the menu a little limiting. The wine list and exceptional service makes up for it, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

No salad on the menu and no green vegeta ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

No salad on the menu and no green vegetables.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Have had better at VM. New chef only the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Have had better at VM. New chef only there a week. He has changed a few things. He likes to add salt. It was not too much salt, but noticeably elevated level of salt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been to V.Mertz on other occasio ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have been to V.Mertz on other occasions and each time has been a memorable experience. This last visit though, has more than exceeded our expectations. The staff and the food were outstanding. We had made a special request for dinner and the chef went above and beyond. Our server was wonderful. Honestly, this was the BEST dining experience we have ever had and cannot stop talking about it. Thank you so much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love V. Mertz. The food is always ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love V. Mertz. The food is always outstanding and our waiter David is who we always ask for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best meal I've had period. Worth the pri ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best meal I've had period. Worth the price! Got the tar tar for a first plate, was fantastic!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything from start to finish was exce ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Everything from start to finish was excellent. Excellent service and excellent food. An Omaha gem. Up there with other top restaurants in the country. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great. Very conversatio ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our server was great. Very conversational and educational.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place and good value for the price ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great place and good value for the price. We arrived late to our reservation and they were very kind and understanding to still serve us after closing time. Ambiance is great and will be back for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent spot for a romantic dinner or ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent spot for a romantic dinner or a special occasion. The food is incredible and the service is fantastic. Is it cheap? No. Is it worth it? Absolutely!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere at V. Mertz is always gre ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The atmosphere at V. Mertz is always great. It allows for meaningful conversation, and intimate and peaceful dinners. I love that you can actually hear what the rest of your dining party is saying. I also love that you are not rushed out right away either. The menu is great as well. There is always something new and adventurous to try.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is great for anniversaries or ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This place is great for anniversaries or very special occasions. We always get the Peppersteak. It is amazing. They have groupons a lot of the time as well. You buy the groupon for 50$ and get 100$ worth of food. This makes the visit so worth it because it is an amazing experience with amazing food. I would recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an enjoyable evening of dining wi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was an enjoyable evening of dining with my wife for our anniversary . exceptional food and service from start to finish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kaleb was our server. with his knowledg ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Kaleb was our server. with his knowledge and expertise of the wine list, menu and how the foods were prepared, made our dining experience an 11 out of 10.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a combination of our ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were celebrating a combination of our 20th anniversary and my daughter's 16th birthday. The experience could not have been better! Wonderful food, wonderful service!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food has always been wonderful. We h ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food has always been wonderful. We happened to be there on an off night but that will not deter us from returning. The atmosphere is always welcoming. It is our very favorite place to enjoy date night, business dinners and special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We've been coming to V Mertz for special ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've been coming to V Mertz for special occasions for 30 years. Never been disappointed.

Pricey yes. Dissapointing no. Best romantic atmosphere

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was very knowledgeable about ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. He had excellent suggestions for the wine. I loved the location and ambiance of the restaurant which made our 27th anniversary dinner even more special!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our 4th visit to V. Mertz and ju ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is our 4th visit to V. Mertz and just as the 3 previous visits, it was excellent. The service was impeccable as was the food. Perfect for a date night. We plan on coming again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.