About V.Mertz

V. Mertz offers our guests a progressive, contemporary American menu with an emphasis on seasonal and local ingredients. We offer an award-winning wine list of over 400 selections. The restaurant is located in Omaha’s historic and picturesque Old Market Passageway, within walking distance from the Century Link Convention Center, The Holland Performing Arts Center, the Orpheum, and all major downtown hotels.


V. Mertz is locally-owned, and we pride ourselves in offering artisan products and cheeses, organically-grown local produce and Wagyu beef, and sustainably-farmed and line-caught seafood. We believe that dining should be an event, and to this end Chef Jacob Newton has created a harmony of food and wine, culminating in our extravagant Tasting Menus.


Perfect for business or pleasure, V. Mertz is the premier fine-dining restaurant in Omaha.

1022 Howard Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5:30 pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 345-8980

Website:
http://www.vmertz.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the Old Market is free after 5:00 pm nightly, and there are several covered and uncovered private pay lots scattered throughout the area. The closest private pay lot is located on the southeast corner of 11th and Harney Street, one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jon Seymour

Private Party Facilities:
V. Mertz offers semi-private dining for parties of 10 or less, in an area of the restaurant many guests refer to as “the wine room”. This provides an ideal table for 6-10 guests, where business conversations or private celebrations can be held without interruption from other guests of the restaurant.

We are always willing to discuss closure of the entire restaurant for private parties of 30 or more guests.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Brown: (402) 345-8980

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
V. Mertz offers a 3 course Prix Fixe menu for $35 per person, available Tuesday through Thursday, with the exception of Berkshire Hathaway weekend and holidays. We also offer a 5 ($60) and 8 ($100) course tasting menu nightly. Advanced notice is recommended when opting for the tasting menu.

V.Mertz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Quiet Conversation (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Cozy (20)
Local Ingredients (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Great spot for an anniversary dinner. Service is always great and they make memorable dining experiences.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was spectacular and service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous, as always. David, our waiter, makes meal even more special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Never disappoints. My favorite restaurant in Omaha.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our waiter was very nice and extremely knowledgeable of the menu items. The food was very flavorful and very good!! I would recommend this restaurant as a great place to impress a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Come here about once a year with family from out of town and it's our go to spot. Never disappoints. Food is amazing and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My all time favorite. We were at Equinox two weeks ago in DC, a high end restaurant a block from the White House, and this is easily as good or better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful spot in Omaha's old Market area. Fantastic food and atmosphere. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This restaurant never fails to impress. Great food, great service, great overall experience. Took my wife for her birthday and had a blast. We do frequent quite often and highly recommend. Steve, Lincoln ne

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Best restaurant in town! Romantic date or special occasion, no better place. Wine list is exquisite as is the food and the service. We just let David "drive" anymore and the result is phenomenal. I had a duck breast in a blueberry reduction/sauce that was out of this world.
Once again, home run! Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had the vegan tasting menu. Outstanding. Every dish was superb and completely unexpected. Service is incredibly professional. The whole experience was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding culinary experience. Too bad my wife and I had a server that pulled down our overall dining experience. He was efficient, but had no personality, no interaction with us and left us with the feeling that while the food was quite amazing the management doesn't train its servers to accentuate the dining experience. The food combinations were some of the best we've ever had, outstanding foie gras, excellent cheese selection and wonderful halibut and swordfish meals.
For us, we prefer friendly waiters not French snob-type servers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a very romantic setting. The staff goes out of their way to please you. The food was fabulous and perfect for a special occassion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We did the chefs tasting menu with wine.
Epic meal and wine, along with the best service in Omaha. Not sure you can get a better gig than this place.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We have been going to this restaurant for years but it seems the changes in staff and the chef have truly taking it from one of the best in Omaha to just an average restaurant We are venture eaters but I have to say after ordering the pork Lardo we need to rethink that strategy. Guacamole wrapped in pork fat simply awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing! We've waited how many years to dine here and it was magnificent! We will have to return shortly as its worth every penny! The service was impeccable and the food was fabulous and inventive!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The tasting menu on our visit was exceptional. Included the wine flight which complimented the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always the best
A 2-3 hour experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was ok they have a unique idea on the food but I wasn't blown away by it. I was blown away by the price... I left there like ehhh... not sure if I'll be back or not. Service was slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We have typically been been very happy with the food and service at VMertz in the past. It's been 5 years since we had dinner there. The halibut was average at best ( with sauce to cover up the fish taste and our waiter was not friendly after we turned down his recommendation for one of the higher priced wines. We will try it again and hope this was an isolated situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Christine was a great server. She explained and answered all questions we had about the latest menu. Every item we ordered was perfect. The presentation is always fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance!! We are always impressed by the new recipes and flavors! Love it!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My parents and I were in town for a family reunion and had dinner at V.Mertz. Everything was incredible from start to finish and I have been thinking about it since. We are counting down until our next reunion, not to see family but to eat here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Best service in Omaha, hands down, foods pretty darn good too. An ever changing seasonal menu that is terrific, esp the bone in pork meatball. A must try if it's available.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Still the most romantic spot in town. Great ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Spectacular restaurant, one of my favorites in Omaha.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an amazing experience at V.Mertz. Our server Dillon was fantastic and not only was a great server but also gave us incredible recommendations about Omaha in general. Our cocktails were perfect too- exactly what we needed after a long day.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

V. Mertz's delicious pepper steak is the main reason we return as often as we can. Outstanding wine list and a menu that promises a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We have been out of the Omaha area for several years and have just recently returned. It was such a pleasure to find the V Mertz has retained their original great food and ambiance through the years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 16, 2017

VMertz continues to be one of Omaha's finest dining restaurants. It provides exceptional service, innovative food, and an excellent selection of wines and cocktails. This is a reliable high-end dining experience in Omaha at a good price for the experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome as always! Best restaurant in town hands down and I've been all over the world. V.Mertz is our go to for special occasions and just when we need a treat. Friendly, knowledgeable and very professional staff make it a dining experience you won't soon forget!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I have been to V Mertz a number of times. Always exceptional food and drinks. Unfortunately this last week when I was celebrating a birthday, the food was exceptional, however the service was quite poor. I am hoping our waiter was just having an off night, but he was unfriendly and seemed to be inconvenienced by having to wait on my table. Had this been my first experience at V Mertz I would not be returning, but since service and food is usually spot on I will still give them another chance. To be fair, it looked like the rest of the wait staff was attentive and happy to be there, it looks like I just was unlucky with who got assigned my table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Omaha. The tasting menu is excellent, changes every month, and service is down to a science. The table is always personalized for our tastes, and even the menu is customized with our name on the top. Timing is perfect, not rushed. The dishes and wine pairings are explained. It's just a perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is definitely a special occasion restaurant in an amazing Old Market location. It was busier than usual, but still very enjoyable. Our waiter was knowledgeable and French to boot! An extensive though very expensive wine selection. The Cocktail I chose, 'A Rose is a Rose is a Rose' was amazing, the best I've had. Presentation in a fine china cup and saucer with a floating dried rose was unique. We would have liked a more extensive menu, but were very pleased with our steak selection. Both the mussels and halibut dishes were not available. Recommended for a couple's special celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The restaurnat had about 3 tables while we dined and I was always looking around for the waiter. His timing was off the whole night. I was entertaining a business group and it was very distracting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

What a lovely location and experience in Omaha! My wife and I were in town for one night and booked V Mertz after a good friend recommended it. Christina was our server, friendly, fun and accommodating. The food was exceptional and the wine list impressive. We left happy and wishing V Mertz was in our Minneapolis neighborhood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Pricy but at least you get your moneys worth plus a very good wine list

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

VMertz continues to be our favorite fine dining experience in Omaha. Service is always fantastic and David makes sure you have a great evening. The special cocktails start the experience and the desserts finish it with a solid 10 every time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Probably our first choice for omaha romantic dinner date restaurants. I like that they keep what we order every time that we go and they start by welcoming us with our favorites.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

V. Mertz is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. Being down in the Passageway in the Old Market makes it more secluded and romantic. We always feel as if we're on vacation somewhere when we eat there. The menu is varied with flavors and textures you just don't find anywhere else. It's truly an adventure in dining. The service is wonderful and we always ask for David to be our server because he is excellent. He's attentive without hovering and knows the menu and wine list inside and out, so he can make some wonderful suggestions. I heartily recommend V. Mertz for anyone who wants to celebrate any special occasion with an equally special culinary experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.