About VM-Production-US1

This James Beard Award winning restaurant with a clientele as diverse as San Francisco opened in 1979. A vibrant Parisian-style standing-only copper bar greets you as you enter on Rose Alley. VM's menu changes daily with dishes inspired by traditional Italian and French recipes. Nearly all of the produce, meat, and fish served at VM is farmed and harvested in a sustainable manner. Even without a reservation, bar tables are available on a first come, first served basis and the full menu is available. The bar also serves traditional cocktails made with top-shelf ingredients; refreshments at its best in an environment of effortless hospitality. Whether you dine early or prefer to dine after theater, VM is a welcoming haven. -John Appleseed, chef/co-owner -Sophia Appleseed, co-owner

799 Market Street
Fourth Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:45pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Sunday Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:45pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 344-4277

Entertainment:
13.3

Catering:
WR3 three prod,testing 13.3 test

Parking Details:
Street Parking,testing 13.3

Public Transit:
this si test rests

Executive Chef:
Fred Flinstone

Private Party Facilities:
eat here for special events WR7 2012

Private Party Contact:
scoobydoo WR7 2012: (888) 641-9703

Special Events & Promotions:
13.3

Specials

Specials

VM-Production-US1 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

3.5

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

14% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
See All
Hot Spot (8)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Sort by
S
43 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2015

This is a test review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2015

This is a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2015

This is a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2015

Testing rate/review for Online Waitlist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on June 11, 2015

I loved the food, service and ambiance at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 24, 2015

us global review. 4/5/moderate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Review second reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Testing submitting a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Yabba dabba do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on March 30, 2015

Hello. Meal was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 20, 2015

Fm production

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on March 19, 2015

3/19 8:15 PS3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on March 19, 2015

3/18 8:15 ps2

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2015

Delicious. Will come back here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on March 18, 2015

The food was great. The water was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (München)·Dined on March 17, 2015

I loved the food, service and ambiance at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2015

I had super-mega ok turkey and cheese sandwich which had some tasty tomatoes. Second course of chips. Pretty much self serve, but nice view out the windows. Be warned, can be noisy during the lunch rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2015

this is a review with text

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on January 28, 2015

This is a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2015

This is my review. There are many reviews like this one, but this one is mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2015

Hchdkdn
Hands
Channing
Chubby
Chinch
Chechen
Chiffon
Chang
Chad
Didn't

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2015

test test test test test test test

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Probando la descripcion de los reviews en produccion...PROBANDO.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on January 17, 2015

Testing reviews once again but noise level value is not looking good. Still failing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2015

The food was really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on December 4, 2014

Great food. The chicken was cooked perfect and the salad was organic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on December 4, 2014

body of the review. yabba doobody of the review. yabba doobody of the review. yabba doobody of the review. yabba doo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2014

The vichyssoise was superb but the hossenfeffer was a bit undercooked and still a bit furry. Not only that, it is guaranteed to get stuck in your teeth. If you are going to be talking to anyone during or after diner, bring your own toothpicks. The waiter was super stingy with them and only gave us one that we had to share. I got it second and it was it's ability to pick the small chunks of rabbit from my teeth was greatly diminished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2014

This was a great restaurant with excellent food! I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2014

I don't know why I keep coming back to this place. Have you ever sniffed something really fowl, but then you felt the need to go sniff it again? That is like me and this restaurant. I once again came back for the hossenfeffer. Once again - UNDER COOKED AND FURRY! Have you ever heard the sound a rabbit makes? Neither had I until I stuck my fork in the Hossenfeffer at VM-Produciton-US-1. And I still have chunks of it in my teeth and I think they are there permanently! Yet even as I say that I find myself searching for availabilty for next Friday. I have a problem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2014

This place has a great view of the ocean at sunset. It's also a great place for food, appetizers and desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2014

Gfghhhhhhh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on June 20, 2013

I sat down at the table and waited for what seemed like forever, but the waiter never showed! Finally I got up and served myself. The food selection was ok given the price ( free) but trends towards snacks more than real meals. TIP: get there early if you want fruit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2013

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on November 15, 2011

This admin loves this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2011

I love this place

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2011

I love this restaurant!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2010

WR 12 Testing and posting MYSQL rating and review

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 2, 2010

WR 1 testing

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on June 1, 2010

gj

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.