About VM-Production-US1

799 Market Street
Fourth Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

This James Beard Award winning restaurant with a clientele as diverse as San Francisco opened in 1979. A vibrant Parisian-style standing-only copper bar greets you as you enter on Rose Alley. VM's menu changes daily with dishes inspired by traditional Italian and French recipes. Nearly all of the produce, meat, and fish served at VM is farmed and harvested in a sustainable manner. Even without a reservation, bar tables are available on a first come, first served basis and the full menu is available. The bar also serves traditional cocktails made with top-shelf ingredients; refreshments at its best in an environment of effortless hospitality. Whether you dine early or prefer to dine after theater, VM is a welcoming haven. -John Appleseed, chef/co-owner -Sophia Appleseed, co-owner

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:45pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Sunday Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:45pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 344-4277

Entertainment:
13.3

Catering:
WR3 three prod,testing 13.3 test

Parking Details:
Street Parking,testing 13.3

Public Transit:
this si test rests

Executive Chef:
Fred Flinstone

Private Party Facilities:
eat here for special events WR7 2012

Private Party Contact:
scoobydoo WR7 2012: 8886419703

Special Events & Promotions:
13.3

Specials

Specials

Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.0

noise

Energetic

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a test review

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2015

This is a test review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a review

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2015

This is a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This is a review

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2015

This is a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Testing rate/review for Online Waitlist

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 19, 2015

Testing rate/review for Online Waitlist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the food, service and ambiance a ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2015

I loved the food, service and ambiance at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

us global review. 4/5/moderate

 
 (London)·Dined on April 25, 2015

us global review. 4/5/moderate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Review second reservation

 
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Review second reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Testing submitting a review

 
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Testing submitting a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Yabba dabba do

 
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Yabba dabba do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Hello. Meal was good

 
·Dined on March 31, 2015

Hello. Meal was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fm production

 
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Fm production

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

3/18 8:15 ps2

 
·Dined on March 19, 2015

3/18 8:15 ps2

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

3/19 8:15 PS3

 
·Dined on March 19, 2015

3/19 8:15 PS3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was great. The water was good.

 
·Dined on March 18, 2015

The food was great. The water was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Delicious. Will come back here again

 
·Dined on March 18, 2015

Delicious. Will come back here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I loved the food, service and ambiance a ...

 
·Dined on March 17, 2015

I loved the food, service and ambiance at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I had super-mega ok turkey and cheese sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2015

I had super-mega ok turkey and cheese sandwich which had some tasty tomatoes. Second course of chips. Pretty much self serve, but nice view out the windows. Be warned, can be noisy during the lunch rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

this is a review with text

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2015

this is a review with text

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This is a review

 
·Dined on January 28, 2015

This is a review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

This is my review. There are many review ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2015

This is my review. There are many reviews like this one, but this one is mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Hchdkdn Hands Channing Chubby Chinch Che ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2015

Hchdkdn

Hands

Channing

Chubby

Chinch

Chechen

Chiffon

Chang

Chad

Didn't

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

test test test test test test test

 
·Dined on January 23, 2015

test test test test test test test

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Probando

 
·Dined on January 23, 2015

Probando la descripcion de los reviews en produccion...PROBANDO.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Testing reviews once again

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on January 18, 2015

Testing reviews once again but noise level value is not looking good. Still failing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

The food was really

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2015

The food was really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food. The chicken was cooked perfe ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2014

Great food. The chicken was cooked perfect and the salad was organic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

yabba dabba doo

 
·Dined on December 4, 2014

body of the review. yabba doobody of the review. yabba doobody of the review. yabba doobody of the review. yabba doo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Grub, Bub

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2014

The vichyssoise was superb but the hossenfeffer was a bit undercooked and still a bit furry. Not only that, it is guaranteed to get stuck in your teeth. If you are going to be talking to anyone during or after diner, bring your own toothpicks. The waiter was super stingy with them and only gave us one that we had to share. I got it second and it was it's ability to pick the small chunks of rabbit from my teeth was greatly diminished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

This was a great restaurant with excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2014

This was a great restaurant with excellent food! I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's like an old shoe

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2014

I don't know why I keep coming back to this place. Have you ever sniffed something really fowl, but then you felt the need to go sniff it again? That is like me and this restaurant. I once again came back for the hossenfeffer. Once again - UNDER COOKED AND FURRY! Have you ever heard the sound a rabbit makes? Neither had I until I stuck my fork in the Hossenfeffer at VM-Produciton-US-1. And I still have chunks of it in my teeth and I think they are there permanently! Yet even as I say that I find myself searching for availabilty for next Friday. I have a problem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Great Scenery

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2014

This place has a great view of the ocean at sunset. It's also a great place for food, appetizers and desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Gfghhhhhhh

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2014

Gfghhhhhhh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

OK food, but service nonexistant

 
·Dined on June 21, 2013

I sat down at the table and waited for what seemed like forever, but the waiter never showed! Finally I got up and served myself. The food selection was ok given the price ( free) but trends towards snacks more than real meals. TIP: get there early if you want fruit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2013

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

test test test test test test

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2009

test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.