About Vivo Ristorante

18352 Lessard Rd
Edmonton, AB T6M 2W8
View Larger Map

vivo is where Italian comes alive. We relish the enthusiasm and joy with which the traditional Italian meal is prepared and delivered, and seek to recreate that experience for every guest. Our open kitchen showcases our chefs preparing fresh and local ingredients.

When you join us for dinner, expect it to be a relaxing evening lasting a couple hours over several piatti (courses). Your table comes alive when we present a variety of large offerings on platters or bowls within easy reach of all.

A classic Italian pranzo (dinner) usually beings with a variety of antipasti (hot and cold appetizers), followed by one or two primi (usually a hot pasta, risotto, gnocchi or zuppa). Next your table will share a secondi (entrees) served on a platter combined with your choice of contorni (vegetable side dishes). Italians often complete their meal with un dolce, un caffe, or un digestivo (dessert, espresso, liqueur or grappa).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Everyday.

Cross Street:
184 St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7710

Website:
http://www.vivoristorante.ca/

Executive Chef:
Michael Hassall

Private Party Facilities:
All parties of 9 or more are booked through the restaurant directly.

Private Party Contact:
Gregg Kenney or Wilbur Randall: 7807567710x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rotini
  • Per Terra, Mare E Aria
  • Polpettini
  • Tiramisu
  • Per Terra, Mare e Aria
  • Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop
Rotini
Per Terra, Mare E Aria
Polpettini
Tiramisu
Per Terra, Mare e Aria
Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Vivo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
4 More
Best Service
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (69)
good for groups (57)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
neighborhood gem (49)
notable wine list (37)
romantic (35)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The dinner was the best meal I've had in ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

The dinner was the best meal I've had in a long time. The fresh made pasta was perfection. One pasta, one meat entree, and one side of vegetables left two of us stuffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my wife and daughter had enjoyable night ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

my wife and daughter had enjoyable night.the food,drinks,andservice was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian, our server, was decent, knowledge ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Brian, our server, was decent, knowledgeable and very helpful in shortlisting our options.

Interior decoration is modern chic and easy on the eye; however, the choice of music which was close to metal and pure noise was not in line with the romantic and elegant setting which VIVO tries to position itself in.

No french fries or rollatini melanzana (egg plant with molten cheese and tomato salsa) on the menu which was a minor disappointment.

The sea bass plate with cabbage and grape fruit was a delight and a new experience for us. Recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent value! Prices are high, & so i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent value! Prices are high, & so is the quality of food & service. This place is like nothing else in this city. Of note is their grilled Caesar salad, gnocchi & sea bass. I've had food like this only in bigger metro cities & paid way more there. Ditto for the selection of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this place :) I love th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Highly recommend this place :) I love the seating at the kitchen; next time I would love to sit there. Food was delicious and would like to try everything on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fish was good but the side dish was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The fish was good but the side dish was not. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was full with a large cor ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant was full with a large corporate event, so service was a bit slow but the food was excellent. I would return. It would be best with group 6 or more for best selection

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best of best! Great food, great service, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best of best! Great food, great service, great wines & great feel too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent! Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were excellent! The Chef was extremely accommodating. The gluten-free options were numerous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and amazing service would go ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and amazing service would go there a lot

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere was great , service was very ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Atmosphere was great , service was very good , the flavour of the food was palate friendly . Unfortunately we thought that was to much food on the table to enjoy the flavour. Smaller portion would be more appropriate and variety of vegetables would be very welcome . We had a platter with fish, beef and chicken , which was very dry, I don't think think they have a choice of vegetables on their menu . Generally speaking food was not that spectacular. Prices are very high . We had very friendly server

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The 20% gratuity automatically added to ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The 20% gratuity automatically added to the bill gives the server a reason not to serve. Our server was only seen when we sat down, ordered and got our food and then bill. Waters were empty, some items we ordered were not delivered and she didn't come by for atleast 40 minutes for us to tell her. We eventually had to ask for another server to get her. the food is amazing and the best Italian I have had yet. I would be back but I'll ensure its a party less than 6 so we actually get service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The food is among the best I've ever had ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is among the best I've ever had. The dining experience is fantastic. Great for both couples and groups of all sizes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationed 4 days in Edmonton & this was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Vacationed 4 days in Edmonton & this was the best restaurant we ate at over this period. It was our last dinner in Edmonton Area & as the saying goes, leave the BEST for last.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place Great food . Couldn't have f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place Great food . Couldn't have found a better place to spend our aniversery .👍❤️🍾

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was awesome but we waited a v ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The waiter was awesome but we waited a very long time for the main course to show up.

Not sure who's fault it was but when you pay that much for a meal I do expect great all around service

I probably won't be back.

Just thought you should know

Rob

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service, food and ambiance was exception ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service, food and ambiance was exceptional... classy and just top notch.

All six of us were gob-smacked... best food in years... anywhere in the world... and we mean it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very pleasant, but he did ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The server was very pleasant, but he did not speak loudly enough for everyone to hear, even though I let him know I had difficulty hearing him, and he appeared to speak too quickly. He made a mistake with our order and served us a secondo piatto that we had only mentioned but not ordered, but was so apologetic and offered to rectify, and the restaurant owner was told about it and he personally came to our table to extend apologies, and, very importantly, what was brought to us was so exquisite that we were definitely not put out by the error. The customer care was superb.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It was fantastic! the service was wonder ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was fantastic! the service was wonderful and the food was amazing. Recommend to anyone planning a group get-together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it here, and have had great serv ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We love it here, and have had great service and amazing food every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Knowledgeable abo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Knowledgeable about all the dishes and any allergen ingredients. Food was prepared in a timely fashion and excellent quality. Serving sizes were perfect for a group of 6. Would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner is served family style; this is g ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Dinner is served family style; this is great for large parties, but can easily be catered to 2! Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went out for our first ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went out for our first date night in almost a year since we had our baby and we had high expectations from all the reviews we read. When we got there it was pretty quite because it was 5:30 so it was comfortable. A bit cold since they have an open kitchen i think they amp the AC. We ordered the caprese salad which came in a timely matter and was delicous but went down hill from there.... it became very loud after a half an hour but was still cold. I had goosebumps and i was in a midi dress with a cardigan... then waited another hour and we finally recieved our entree which was the seabass (very little flavour), mushroom risotto (sticky, not creamy) and the fettechini which was great and fresh. Our server Pat was just alright... seemed a little suttery. We may give it another try in the fall to see if they have a different menu. But i would not reccomend it to a friend.

Tags: good for groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was even better than I remember ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was even better than I remembered. The service was very friendly and fun. We shared lamb served three ways; sausage, rack and roast. The risotto with mushrooms was perfect and the beets with carrots very tasty.

I had sent a note to provide a gluten free desert with a candle for my friends 60th birthday and they came through and it was a perfect surprise.

A very special evening for us and Vivo delivered in spades.

Loved the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were early just in case a table was o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were early just in case a table was open which there was none, that's okay. But we ended up waiting past our reservation time. They seem to book too close or have food come out not in a timely manner. Food was good though and our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

The service at VIVO was absolutely amazi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service at VIVO was absolutely amazing. Our server was able to guide us through the night and made the perfect suggestions for food and drink. The fettuccine was my favourite!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very noisy!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The acoustics were horrible. Could not hear myself think let alone hear the person next to me.

We shared a beef dish and the meat was flavorful but very chewy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Best of the best! From start to finish, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best of the best!

From start to finish, we were extremely impressed. Great salad, great pasta, sea bass & dessert. Service & atmosphere top too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An Italian Treat in Beautiful Lessard

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Most dishes are designed for sharing and are beautifully prepared and uniquely presented. The quality and taste is excellent, as was the service. Overall, a great dining experience, though definitely on the higher $$ end.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been to Vivo many times and this time was no different. We were entertaining friends who have never been and needless to say they were impressed! We love that they use so many local suppliers and the service is always second to none. I love how every dish is explained as to where the ingredients come from and how its prepared. That is what seperates Vivo from anywhere else. Great job and thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything exceeded our expec ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

As always, everything exceeded our expectations. Pat as server made for a great and enjoyable evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the duck and tenderloin, and without a doubt it was the most tender ever experienced anywhere. Everything cooked to perfection, great staff, a fun and relaxing place. Highly recommended, it is by far the best Edmonton has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try it

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This is an amazing place for food and service! Keep in mind - dishes are meant to be shared ( otherwise the menu looks pricy)

Accommodating and friendly

We will definitely go back

Great job!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Vivo

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food , great service, knowledgeable staff, perfect for a small group

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Traditional Italian with a modern twist

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

A traditional menu structure with antipasti, pasta course, mains and sides. Attention paid to local sourcing was much appreciated. A varied menu with something for everyone. All courses are sized for sharing (two and four in some cases). Servings are generous - our rib steak main for 2 was enough for 4. The pasta we chose was terrific - subtle, depths of flavour - well above standard Italian restaurant fare. Their Caesar salad was a revelation - no soggy torn romaine here. Instead each person gets a small fresh whole romaine with a mild creamy dressing above and below, lots of shaved parmesan, and crispy fried capers (yum). Outstanding. We shared a tiramisu - rich coffee flavour, not too sweet, not overwhelmed with whipped cream. Service was attentive but not hovering. Altogether a great evening - priced as a special evening, but the service and the menu deliver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every way! Superb food & he ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent in every way! Superb food & helpful service team who are all very knowledgable. Absolutely love the Caesar salad and fresh asparagus. Great value overall. See you again soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vivo never fails in pairing excellent se ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Vivo never fails in pairing excellent service with amazing food. I brought many friends family members to vivo they have all enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server was wonderful - very knowledg ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was wonderful - very knowledgeable and helpful - they even gave us an appetizer on the house as we had to wait over 30 minutes from our reservation time to be seated. Very impressed - when paying top dollar for food, you expect a lot and they delivered in every area. Food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I go here every year for my birthday and the service and food are always wonderful. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food tasted great and experience was abo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food tasted great and experience was above average as usual. I however had mild food poisoning right after the meal and spent the night in my washroom therefore; would not recommend this place to my friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really loved Pat our server. Was humoro ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Really loved Pat our server. Was humorous, helpful and attentive but unobtrusive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.