About Vivo Ristorante

18352 Lessard Rd
Edmonton, AB T6M 2W8
View Larger Map

vivo is where Italian comes alive. We relish the enthusiasm and joy with which the traditional Italian meal is prepared and delivered, and seek to recreate that experience for every guest. Our open kitchen showcases our chefs preparing fresh and local ingredients.

When you join us for dinner, expect it to be a relaxing evening lasting a couple hours over several piatti (courses). Your table comes alive when we present a variety of large offerings on platters or bowls within easy reach of all.

A classic Italian pranzo (dinner) usually beings with a variety of antipasti (hot and cold appetizers), followed by one or two primi (usually a hot pasta, risotto, gnocchi or zuppa). Next your table will share a secondi (entrees) served on a platter combined with your choice of contorni (vegetable side dishes). Italians often complete their meal with un dolce, un caffe, or un digestivo (dessert, espresso, liqueur or grappa).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Everyday.

Cross Street:
184 St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7710

Website:
http://www.vivoristorante.ca/

Executive Chef:
Michael Hassall

Private Party Facilities:
All parties of 9 or more are booked through the restaurant directly.

Private Party Contact:
Gregg Kenney or Wilbur Randall: 7807567710x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rotini
  • Per Terra, Mare E Aria
  • Polpettini
  • Tiramisu
  • Per Terra, Mare e Aria
  • Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop
Rotini
Per Terra, Mare E Aria
Polpettini
Tiramisu
Per Terra, Mare e Aria
Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Vivo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
5 More
Best Service
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (57)
Good for Groups (49)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Family Style (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and a great atmosphere.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived on time for our reservation and were told that it would be a few minutes before our table was available. Seated at the bar and ordered drinks. After about 30 minutes we were advised that group at our table was 'very slow'. Would we like to sit at the chef's bar where we could see kitchen staff preparing food? We sat there for a while but it was so noisy we could not hear each other talk. Finally staff moved the four of us to a table about an hour after we arrived.

Servers were polite and friendly through the ordeal, and the manager provided complimentary dessert. However our experience (a double birthday celebration) was marred by the repeated moves and delays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Brought some out of town guests to vivo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Brought some out of town guests to vivo and they still can't stop raving about it! Love how they use local suppliers and that everything is designed to be shared great for groups. Some of the best food I've tasted branzino is outstanding my wife's fav, the pastas are out if this world and the freshest and best caprese salad I've ever had. Service is top notch Clint took great care of us. Always a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening of creative food, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Another great evening of creative food, proper cocktails and the best of service. Visit after visit Al takes exceptional care of us and tonight did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad food. Really bad food at a very lar ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Bad food. Really bad food at a very large price in a very noisy environment served on a wooden block that you serve yourself with so called plates for five that would serve 2. Very disappointing birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food and service were excellent but very ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food and service were excellent but very pricey. Would only go on special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Vivo is a great little Italian restauran ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Vivo is a great little Italian restaurant with great food and superb service. Meals are served 'family style' so the prices aren't as bad as the appear. The only drawback at Vivo's is the noise level. If you want a quaint romantic candlelight dinner this isn't the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant and have frequented ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent restaurant and have frequented the restaurant many times when visiting both my children who attend University of Edmonton. I am very interested to try their new restaurant and anticipate it will be equally fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was enjoyable at Vivo, my frien ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was enjoyable at Vivo, my friends enjoyed the food and wine. The service was outstanding; Matt's expertise with the menu was commendable and he anticipated our needs during the meal as well.

Overall it was a great experience and we look forward to many more foodie experiences at Vivo.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Pat, was exceptional! We to ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our waiter, Pat, was exceptional! We took my inlaws who were visiting from Dallas and they absolutely loved it. Pat was fun, talkative and really ensured they had a great time and a great meal. We love Vivo and go as often as we can, even getting take out from there. We always look forward to an amazing meal and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Caprese salad and the fettucci ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Loved the Caprese salad and the fettuccine. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was very knowledgable in the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgable in the wines and very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Vivo over the years, many ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have been to Vivo over the years, many times. Always great staff, always great food! I love introducing new people to Vivo, always enjoyed by all, FS

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and Australia he tic Italian ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food and Australia he tic Italian style family service. We love vivid even if it's a little expensive.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been to Vivo a few times, and the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We've been to Vivo a few times, and the food is always pretty good, but in my opinion the prices are far too high. I like the family style, shared dishes, the pastas and side dishes are excellent, and the service is very good. However, given the prices, I would never go if I were paying myself, but if we're being treated by the in-laws, I would never object to going.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

As always...fabulous! Highly recommend ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

As always...fabulous! Highly recommend it New menu items and are amazing

Alan....amazing waiter.

Always treated well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time that my friend a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was the first time that my friend and I had been there, so the experience was new to us.(Family Style)

We ordered the Rib Steak for 2 medium rare. It came perfectly cooked. Also ordered the small plate of Fettuccine. Both were more than adequate for our appetites. In fact we had enough left over for another meal.

Both of these dishes were awesome and the "Sea Salt" on the Rib Steak made it the tastiest that I have ever had.

The service was superb and very attentive.

The cost of the meal came to $150.00 which included a $45 bottle of wine. Tip was extra.

We would definitely go there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife to Vivo for our anniversa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I took my wife to Vivo for our anniversary. We had a great meal and a nice experience. My only complaint, if you can call it that, was the noise level - with the restaurant just over half full it was really difficult for my wife and I to have a conversation with out raising our voices.

I will go back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were given a gift card to Vivo and we ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were given a gift card to Vivo and we had not been there before. The dinner was

a wonderful experience. It took us a while to decide what to order as we did not know

what the portions were like or how the dinner would be served, but at the end we had

enjoyed everything...especially the pasta!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a great late evening meal with a fa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Such a great late evening meal with a fabulous server to take care of us.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We live in the area and love the fact we ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We live in the area and love the fact we can just walk to Vivo. The service everytime we have been there has been excellent, Pat was our server and once again...excellent! WE are visiting again this upcoming Friday with family from out of town and can hardly wait...thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant and the whole ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This is a great restaurant and the whole experience at this restaurant is awesome, The service and the food were excellent, we had a group of 9 people and everyone loved it. I highly recommend if you want experience something totally different from other restaurants.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vivo was alright. The service was great ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Vivo was alright. The service was great, did they cater to the unique dietary requirements of the people in our party, but the food was simply mediocre. Plus the food was extremely overpriced for what it was. They also included the gratuity on our bill, I absolutely loathe that. IF your food and service is worth it I will decide if and how much to tip. I would not recommend this place simply due to the fact the food is not worth the high prices. Plus I was still quite hungry after, and if I m paying that much I better be happy with either the quality or quantity, neither of which were met.

Tags: Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The portions seem to have gotten even sm ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The portions seem to have gotten even smaller than the last time I came in. Three ladies shared the large size salad, large size pasta and a vegetable dish and ate everything on the plates. $37 for the smallest plate of pasta I've even seen. How would that feed 3 to 4 males? The service was annoying...I don't need to be told every single ingredient in the dish I ordered. I read it on the menu - I just want to eat my meal while it is hot. I also found it very offensive to say "better eat your vegetables or you won't be able to order dessert" - we are grown women, not children. I don't think I'll be back. Way over-priced for what you get. The food was tasty, but small portions and scripted and annoying service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

The food and service at Vivo are always ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service at Vivo are always outstanding. Love doing this type of high end family style Italian dining. Fun for a couple, but even better as a large group because you get to try a bit of everything. Definitely on the pricey side, but the quality of the food is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third time dining at Vivo an ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my third time dining at Vivo and I knew what I wanted and what to expect. It was my birthday dinner date out with my husband and I was looking forward to the night out. The ambiance was great, the service was great, but the food was dissapointing... We had a grilled ceaer salad that wasn't grilled, fettuccini that turned into a lump of cheese within 5 minutes and an $88 piece of fish! Our bill was approx $250 for the 2 of us. I think that was my last visit to Vivo... Sadly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Vivo is my most favorite restaurant. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Vivo is my most favorite restaurant. The food and service is always over the top.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time here and I was j ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was my second time here and I was just as impressed as I was the first time! Pastas are cooked perfectly, and the flavour said are bomb. There is nothing I have to complain about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Vivo! We have yet to find a loc ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love Vivo! We have yet to find a local restaurant that equals it in either food or service. Absolutely fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great service, great food

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

great service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went to vivo for a special anniversary. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to vivo for a special anniversary. Wonderful experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! Everything was excellent - f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious! Everything was excellent - food, service, ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We make sure than annual visit takes pla ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We make sure than annual visit takes place. The food is fantastic and always of top quality. Service is top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and super service. The staff ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and super service. The staff are the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food that never disappoints. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Delicious food that never disappoints. A little bit pricey but great for a special night out.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The dinner was the best meal I've had in ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The dinner was the best meal I've had in a long time. The fresh made pasta was perfection. One pasta, one meat entree, and one side of vegetables left two of us stuffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my wife and daughter had enjoyable night ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

my wife and daughter had enjoyable night.the food,drinks,andservice was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian, our server, was decent, knowledge ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Brian, our server, was decent, knowledgeable and very helpful in shortlisting our options.

Interior decoration is modern chic and easy on the eye; however, the choice of music which was close to metal and pure noise was not in line with the romantic and elegant setting which VIVO tries to position itself in.

No french fries or rollatini melanzana (egg plant with molten cheese and tomato salsa) on the menu which was a minor disappointment.

The sea bass plate with cabbage and grape fruit was a delight and a new experience for us. Recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food & Service. A group of 10. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food & Service. A group of 10.

Thought the price of $3 per person to cut and serve a birthday cake was over priced. And the cake should have been cut into equal parts then if being charged so part would be left at the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Highly recommend this place :) I love th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Highly recommend this place :) I love the seating at the kitchen; next time I would love to sit there. Food was delicious and would like to try everything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.