About Vivo Ristorante

18352 Lessard Rd
Edmonton, AB T6M 2W8
View Larger Map

vivo is where Italian comes alive. We relish the enthusiasm and joy with which the traditional Italian meal is prepared and delivered, and seek to recreate that experience for every guest. Our open kitchen showcases our chefs preparing fresh and local ingredients.

When you join us for dinner, expect it to be a relaxing evening lasting a couple hours over several piatti (courses). Your table comes alive when we present a variety of large offerings on platters or bowls within easy reach of all.

A classic Italian pranzo (dinner) usually beings with a variety of antipasti (hot and cold appetizers), followed by one or two primi (usually a hot pasta, risotto, gnocchi or zuppa). Next your table will share a secondi (entrees) served on a platter combined with your choice of contorni (vegetable side dishes). Italians often complete their meal with un dolce, un caffe, or un digestivo (dessert, espresso, liqueur or grappa).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Everyday.

Cross Street:
184 St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7710

Website:
http://www.vivoristorante.ca/

Executive Chef:
Michael Hassall

Private Party Facilities:
All parties of 9 or more are booked through the restaurant directly.

Private Party Contact:
Gregg Kenney or Wilbur Randall: 7807567710x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rotini - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
  • Per Terra, Mare E Aria - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
  • Polpettini - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
  • Tiramisu - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
  • Per Terra, Mare e Aria

 - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
  • Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
Rotini - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
Per Terra, Mare E Aria - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
Polpettini - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
Tiramisu - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
Per Terra, Mare e Aria

 - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB
Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop - Vivo Ristorante, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Vivo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton
1 More
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Family Style (25)
Open Kitchen (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (11)
Private Room (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great front end staff Efficient and quic ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great front end staff

Efficient and quick service(perhaps too quick)

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful time. Our server (I believe hi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Wonderful time. Our server (I believe his name was Mike, but don't hold me to that), was great and helped us select a great meal for our first ever visit to Vivo.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Family Style, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Vivo numerous times and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have been to Vivo numerous times and have always had a great experience. Pat was our waiter on our last visit and he was outstanding. Thanks for another enjoyable meal at Vivo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place to go for a special even ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic place to go for a special evening. Great food! Great place for an evening! Great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great. It is expensive but ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This place is great. It is expensive but worth it once in a while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love love it! I brought a friend here fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Love love it! I brought a friend here for her birthday and Vivo did not disappoint. The caprese gnocchi and tenderloin were all fabulous! The fact that they use so many local suppliers is unreal makes it so easy to support these guys and the fresh in house pasta just spectacular. The service is always great smiling and genuinely happy to see you.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my husband's birthday and we had ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we had a date here in Vivo. It was our first time. The server was very pleasant. Since it was our first time, we didn't have any idea of how the portions were, but the servers were very helpful to make sure that we didn't have too much food. The servers guided us thru our experience. We had the Gnocchi, Filetto, Potatoes. All were to die for! The Gnocchi was so light. The Filetto Steak cooked to perfection and the Potatoes went well with the steak. At the end of the meal, we had a tiramisu. The single order was gigantic. My husband and I weren't able to finish up the dessert. We had some of the potatoes and the tiramisu packed to-go. Overall, we had an amazing experience in Vivo. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

your meat tray is not worth 200 dollars, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

your meat tray is not worth 200 dollars, wine was good and so was the pasta , other then that no nothing else was memorable except the bill

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Always leave Vivo impressed and happy wi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always leave Vivo impressed and happy with the food and service

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing, Italian cuisine. Great drink o ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing, Italian cuisine. Great drink options. Felt like a mini vacation from everyday life!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was great and the service was awesome . I never had a ceased salad like that ever in my life. It was unique and delicious. I find all the food there is unique and tasty. We enjoyed our food and time there. Mike did our service and he was checking us every time and he is so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is amazing at Vivo. I would rec ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is amazing at Vivo. I would recommend it for large groups of friends that don't mind spending extra for great quality food. Probably not the best place to take small children though, more of an adult establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the item we arrived at Il Vivo we w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

From the item we arrived at Il Vivo we were treated very well. The food was delicious. We will be back again!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a great experience! We had a s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow what a great experience! We had a show to catch so time was tight. I called ahead to pre-order our meals and the owner and staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. Not only was the food top notch, but the service was out of this world! Try them. You won't regret it.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great server and we're given a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a great server and we're given a very warm welcome when we arrived. The menu was explained very clearly to us. We had a group of 8, 2 who were vegans. Some of us had to sit near a window and that side of the table was pretty chilly. There was a nice variety of items for the vegans which was nice. Most of us found the food a bit bland but okay. The tiramisu was not too sweet, which was great, but tasted like the lady fingers were soaked in extremely diluted coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

amazing food , with local ingredients, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 28, 2016

amazing food , with local ingredients, restaurant got busier during our meal but our server , Tom, was always attentive to our needs.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing . The gnocchi is the best I have ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Amazing . The gnocchi is the best I have ever had.

Worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for dining with faimily ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great restaurant for dining with faimily or a group for special occasions. All menu items are meant to be shared. Grilled Ceasar salad is the best in the city, and the fettuccine is delicious. We had the Sea Bass and the Rib Steak for our meats and both were done to perfection. Steak was very lean given the cut. Service is very good as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This is our third visit and Vivo was del ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is our third visit and Vivo was delicious as usual. Love the Caesar and Salumi e Formaggio. Our son would say their Fettuccine is the best. I found the Pollo to be a little dry but still favorable and always save room for the freshly made cookies. YUMMY!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Love the food and s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent as always. Love the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service but too noisy. Fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service but too noisy. Food selection was good. Bar was great

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, the gnocchi is the best anyw ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, the gnocchi is the best anywhere (including Italy) and same for the the filet.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great fast service, food has loc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Always great fast service, food has local ingredients and tastes great.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reasonable wine list; slightly higher pr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Reasonable wine list; slightly higher priced than other comparable or superior restaurants.

Appetizer was meatballs - excellent taste and value.

Sea Bass entre was expensive ($92/two) - it was previously frozen and uncooked in the middle. There was a small portion of sea asparagus and shaved fennel to accompany.

I would not recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We choose Vivo for our 25th anniversary ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We choose Vivo for our 25th anniversary dinner, we used to love Vivo. Very disappointed with our visit which started with a hostess that basically threw our menus on the table and seemed completely disinterested in being professional. Our server however was exceptional though as always. We noticed the hostess did the same thing with other patrons rushing off even though the restaurant was not over busy. The food was disappointing, the new squid appie was mushy, and horrible do not get this. The mushrooms as a side was a soggy mess of no taste, another new side dish. The beef tenderloin was great as usual. Will not be going back for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I really enjoyed it. Food was excellent ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I really enjoyed it. Food was excellent and service was great. Looking forward to go back

The only thing is that i received an email saying that i would have a complimentary tasting board which i ordered, but i had to pay for it. It slept my mind while i was there but it was not mentioned to me by the staff

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family had dining on last Sunday at 5 ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My family had dining on last Sunday at 5:30 pm, we had very bad experience.

First of all, the focaccia bread was served cold, make the bread tasted doughy and lack of flavor. we had beef carpaccio as appetizer, the fresh fruits were over power the beef flavor. My kids had beef bolognese pasta, it was good, noodle are cooked perfect, the meat sauce can taste the nature sweet from tomato. I ordered duck breasts MR, my wife ordered Bistecca Medium as entree, but when the sever brought out, they were all over cooked, almost well done, we sent back, waiting almost another 35 minutes to get my food back, but this time my duck and bistecca were cooked to RARE, my wife can't even eat it, it's too Raw, i didn't touch my duck breast either. we also ordered tiramisu for the kids, but cookies are very dry, i don't think they were been soaked in coffee.

Overall the dining was terrible, we expect higher level compare the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and a great atmosphere.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We arrived on time for our reservation and were told that it would be a few minutes before our table was available. Seated at the bar and ordered drinks. After about 30 minutes we were advised that group at our table was 'very slow'. Would we like to sit at the chef's bar where we could see kitchen staff preparing food? We sat there for a while but it was so noisy we could not hear each other talk. Finally staff moved the four of us to a table about an hour after we arrived.

Servers were polite and friendly through the ordeal, and the manager provided complimentary dessert. However our experience (a double birthday celebration) was marred by the repeated moves and delays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Brought some out of town guests to vivo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Brought some out of town guests to vivo and they still can't stop raving about it! Love how they use local suppliers and that everything is designed to be shared great for groups. Some of the best food I've tasted branzino is outstanding my wife's fav, the pastas are out if this world and the freshest and best caprese salad I've ever had. Service is top notch Clint took great care of us. Always a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening of creative food, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Another great evening of creative food, proper cocktails and the best of service. Visit after visit Al takes exceptional care of us and tonight did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad food. Really bad food at a very lar ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Bad food. Really bad food at a very large price in a very noisy environment served on a wooden block that you serve yourself with so called plates for five that would serve 2. Very disappointing birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food and service were excellent but very ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food and service were excellent but very pricey. Would only go on special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Vivo is a great little Italian restauran ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Vivo is a great little Italian restaurant with great food and superb service. Meals are served 'family style' so the prices aren't as bad as the appear. The only drawback at Vivo's is the noise level. If you want a quaint romantic candlelight dinner this isn't the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant and have frequented ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent restaurant and have frequented the restaurant many times when visiting both my children who attend University of Edmonton. I am very interested to try their new restaurant and anticipate it will be equally fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was enjoyable at Vivo, my frien ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was enjoyable at Vivo, my friends enjoyed the food and wine. The service was outstanding; Matt's expertise with the menu was commendable and he anticipated our needs during the meal as well.

Overall it was a great experience and we look forward to many more foodie experiences at Vivo.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Pat, was exceptional! We to ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our waiter, Pat, was exceptional! We took my inlaws who were visiting from Dallas and they absolutely loved it. Pat was fun, talkative and really ensured they had a great time and a great meal. We love Vivo and go as often as we can, even getting take out from there. We always look forward to an amazing meal and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Caprese salad and the fettucci ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Loved the Caprese salad and the fettuccine. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was very knowledgable in the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgable in the wines and very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Vivo over the years, many ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have been to Vivo over the years, many times. Always great staff, always great food! I love introducing new people to Vivo, always enjoyed by all, FS

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.