About Vivo Ristorante

18352 Lessard Rd
Edmonton, AB T6M 2W8
View Larger Map

vivo is where Italian comes alive. We relish the enthusiasm and joy with which the traditional Italian meal is prepared and delivered, and seek to recreate that experience for every guest. Our open kitchen showcases our chefs preparing fresh and local ingredients.

When you join us for dinner, expect it to be a relaxing evening lasting a couple hours over several piatti (courses). Your table comes alive when we present a variety of large offerings on platters or bowls within easy reach of all.

A classic Italian pranzo (dinner) usually beings with a variety of antipasti (hot and cold appetizers), followed by one or two primi (usually a hot pasta, risotto, gnocchi or zuppa). Next your table will share a secondi (entrees) served on a platter combined with your choice of contorni (vegetable side dishes). Italians often complete their meal with un dolce, un caffe, or un digestivo (dessert, espresso, liqueur or grappa).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Everyday.

Cross Street:
184 St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7710

Website:
http://www.vivoristorante.ca/

Executive Chef:
Michael Hassall

Private Party Facilities:
All parties of 9 or more are booked through the restaurant directly.

Private Party Contact:
Gregg Kenney or Wilbur Randall: 7807567710x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rotini
  • Per Terra, Mare E Aria
  • Polpettini
  • Tiramisu
  • Per Terra, Mare e Aria
  • Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop
Rotini
Per Terra, Mare E Aria
Polpettini
Tiramisu
Per Terra, Mare e Aria
Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Vivo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Best Service
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (66)
Good for Groups (58)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (38)
Romantic (36)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vivo was alright. The service was great ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Vivo was alright. The service was great, did they cater to the unique dietary requirements of the people in our party, but the food was simply mediocre. Plus the food was extremely overpriced for what it was. They also included the gratuity on our bill, I absolutely loathe that. IF your food and service is worth it I will decide if and how much to tip. I would not recommend this place simply due to the fact the food is not worth the high prices. Plus I was still quite hungry after, and if I m paying that much I better be happy with either the quality or quantity, neither of which were met.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The portions seem to have gotten even sm ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

The portions seem to have gotten even smaller than the last time I came in. Three ladies shared the large size salad, large size pasta and a vegetable dish and ate everything on the plates. $37 for the smallest plate of pasta I've even seen. How would that feed 3 to 4 males? The service was annoying...I don't need to be told every single ingredient in the dish I ordered. I read it on the menu - I just want to eat my meal while it is hot. I also found it very offensive to say "better eat your vegetables or you won't be able to order dessert" - we are grown women, not children. I don't think I'll be back. Way over-priced for what you get. The food was tasty, but small portions and scripted and annoying service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

The food and service at Vivo are always ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service at Vivo are always outstanding. Love doing this type of high end family style Italian dining. Fun for a couple, but even better as a large group because you get to try a bit of everything. Definitely on the pricey side, but the quality of the food is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third time dining at Vivo an ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was my third time dining at Vivo and I knew what I wanted and what to expect. It was my birthday dinner date out with my husband and I was looking forward to the night out. The ambiance was great, the service was great, but the food was dissapointing... We had a grilled ceaer salad that wasn't grilled, fettuccini that turned into a lump of cheese within 5 minutes and an $88 piece of fish! Our bill was approx $250 for the 2 of us. I think that was my last visit to Vivo... Sadly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Vivo is my most favorite restaurant. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Vivo is my most favorite restaurant. The food and service is always over the top.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time here and I was j ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was my second time here and I was just as impressed as I was the first time! Pastas are cooked perfectly, and the flavour said are bomb. There is nothing I have to complain about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Vivo! We have yet to find a loc ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love Vivo! We have yet to find a local restaurant that equals it in either food or service. Absolutely fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great service, great food

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

great service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went to vivo for a special anniversary. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to vivo for a special anniversary. Wonderful experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! Everything was excellent - f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious! Everything was excellent - food, service, ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We make sure than annual visit takes pla ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We make sure than annual visit takes place. The food is fantastic and always of top quality. Service is top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and super service. The staff ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and super service. The staff are the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food that never disappoints. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Delicious food that never disappoints. A little bit pricey but great for a special night out.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The dinner was the best meal I've had in ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The dinner was the best meal I've had in a long time. The fresh made pasta was perfection. One pasta, one meat entree, and one side of vegetables left two of us stuffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my wife and daughter had enjoyable night ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

my wife and daughter had enjoyable night.the food,drinks,andservice was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian, our server, was decent, knowledge ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Brian, our server, was decent, knowledgeable and very helpful in shortlisting our options.

Interior decoration is modern chic and easy on the eye; however, the choice of music which was close to metal and pure noise was not in line with the romantic and elegant setting which VIVO tries to position itself in.

No french fries or rollatini melanzana (egg plant with molten cheese and tomato salsa) on the menu which was a minor disappointment.

The sea bass plate with cabbage and grape fruit was a delight and a new experience for us. Recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food & Service. A group of 10. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food & Service. A group of 10.

Thought the price of $3 per person to cut and serve a birthday cake was over priced. And the cake should have been cut into equal parts then if being charged so part would be left at the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Highly recommend this place :) I love th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Highly recommend this place :) I love the seating at the kitchen; next time I would love to sit there. Food was delicious and would like to try everything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fish was good but the side dish was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The fish was good but the side dish was not. Thank you.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was full with a large cor ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant was full with a large corporate event, so service was a bit slow but the food was excellent. I would return. It would be best with group 6 or more for best selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service were excellent! Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were excellent! The Chef was extremely accommodating. The gluten-free options were numerous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and amazing service would go ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and amazing service would go there a lot

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere was great , service was very ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Atmosphere was great , service was very good , the flavour of the food was palate friendly . Unfortunately we thought that was to much food on the table to enjoy the flavour. Smaller portion would be more appropriate and variety of vegetables would be very welcome . We had a platter with fish, beef and chicken , which was very dry, I don't think think they have a choice of vegetables on their menu . Generally speaking food was not that spectacular. Prices are very high . We had very friendly server

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The 20% gratuity automatically added to ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The 20% gratuity automatically added to the bill gives the server a reason not to serve. Our server was only seen when we sat down, ordered and got our food and then bill. Waters were empty, some items we ordered were not delivered and she didn't come by for atleast 40 minutes for us to tell her. We eventually had to ask for another server to get her. the food is amazing and the best Italian I have had yet. I would be back but I'll ensure its a party less than 6 so we actually get service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The food is among the best I've ever had ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is among the best I've ever had. The dining experience is fantastic. Great for both couples and groups of all sizes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationed 4 days in Edmonton & this was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Vacationed 4 days in Edmonton & this was the best restaurant we ate at over this period. It was our last dinner in Edmonton Area & as the saying goes, leave the BEST for last.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place Great food . Couldn't have f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place Great food . Couldn't have found a better place to spend our aniversery .👍❤️🍾

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was awesome but we waited a v ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The waiter was awesome but we waited a very long time for the main course to show up.

Not sure who's fault it was but when you pay that much for a meal I do expect great all around service

I probably won't be back.

Just thought you should know

Rob

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service, food and ambiance was exception ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service, food and ambiance was exceptional... classy and just top notch.

All six of us were gob-smacked... best food in years... anywhere in the world... and we mean it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very pleasant, but he did ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The server was very pleasant, but he did not speak loudly enough for everyone to hear, even though I let him know I had difficulty hearing him, and he appeared to speak too quickly. He made a mistake with our order and served us a secondo piatto that we had only mentioned but not ordered, but was so apologetic and offered to rectify, and the restaurant owner was told about it and he personally came to our table to extend apologies, and, very importantly, what was brought to us was so exquisite that we were definitely not put out by the error. The customer care was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It was fantastic! the service was wonder ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was fantastic! the service was wonderful and the food was amazing. Recommend to anyone planning a group get-together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it here, and have had great serv ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We love it here, and have had great service and amazing food every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Knowledgeable abo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Knowledgeable about all the dishes and any allergen ingredients. Food was prepared in a timely fashion and excellent quality. Serving sizes were perfect for a group of 6. Would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner is served family style; this is g ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Dinner is served family style; this is great for large parties, but can easily be catered to 2! Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went out for our first ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went out for our first date night in almost a year since we had our baby and we had high expectations from all the reviews we read. When we got there it was pretty quite because it was 5:30 so it was comfortable. A bit cold since they have an open kitchen i think they amp the AC. We ordered the caprese salad which came in a timely matter and was delicous but went down hill from there.... it became very loud after a half an hour but was still cold. I had goosebumps and i was in a midi dress with a cardigan... then waited another hour and we finally recieved our entree which was the seabass (very little flavour), mushroom risotto (sticky, not creamy) and the fettechini which was great and fresh. Our server Pat was just alright... seemed a little suttery. We may give it another try in the fall to see if they have a different menu. But i would not reccomend it to a friend.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was even better than I remember ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was even better than I remembered. The service was very friendly and fun. We shared lamb served three ways; sausage, rack and roast. The risotto with mushrooms was perfect and the beets with carrots very tasty.

I had sent a note to provide a gluten free desert with a candle for my friends 60th birthday and they came through and it was a perfect surprise.

A very special evening for us and Vivo delivered in spades.

Loved the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were early just in case a table was o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were early just in case a table was open which there was none, that's okay. But we ended up waiting past our reservation time. They seem to book too close or have food come out not in a timely manner. Food was good though and our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

The service at VIVO was absolutely amazi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service at VIVO was absolutely amazing. Our server was able to guide us through the night and made the perfect suggestions for food and drink. The fettuccine was my favourite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very noisy!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The acoustics were horrible. Could not hear myself think let alone hear the person next to me.

We shared a beef dish and the meat was flavorful but very chewy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

An Italian Treat in Beautiful Lessard

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Most dishes are designed for sharing and are beautifully prepared and uniquely presented. The quality and taste is excellent, as was the service. Overall, a great dining experience, though definitely on the higher $$ end.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.