About Vivo Ristorante

18352 Lessard Rd
Edmonton, AB T6M 2W8
View Larger Map

vivo is where Italian comes alive. We relish the enthusiasm and joy with which the traditional Italian meal is prepared and delivered, and seek to recreate that experience for every guest. Our open kitchen showcases our chefs preparing fresh and local ingredients.

When you join us for dinner, expect it to be a relaxing evening lasting a couple hours over several piatti (courses). Your table comes alive when we present a variety of large offerings on platters or bowls within easy reach of all.

A classic Italian pranzo (dinner) usually beings with a variety of antipasti (hot and cold appetizers), followed by one or two primi (usually a hot pasta, risotto, gnocchi or zuppa). Next your table will share a secondi (entrees) served on a platter combined with your choice of contorni (vegetable side dishes). Italians often complete their meal with un dolce, un caffe, or un digestivo (dessert, espresso, liqueur or grappa).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Everyday.

Cross Street:
184 St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7710

Website:
http://www.vivoristorante.ca/

Executive Chef:
Michael Hassall

Private Party Facilities:
All parties of 9 or more are booked through the restaurant directly.

Private Party Contact:
Gregg Kenney or Wilbur Randall: 7807567710x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rotini
  • Per Terra, Mare E Aria
  • Polpettini
  • Tiramisu
  • Per Terra, Mare e Aria
  • Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop
Rotini
Per Terra, Mare E Aria
Polpettini
Tiramisu
Per Terra, Mare e Aria
Carmelized Beets & Stuffed Pork Chop

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Vivo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (66)
good for groups (57)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
neighborhood gem (51)
notable wine list (43)
romantic (35)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fantastic! the service was wonder ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was fantastic! the service was wonderful and the food was amazing. Recommend to anyone planning a group get-together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love it here, and have had great serv ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

We love it here, and have had great service and amazing food every time

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Knowledgeable abo ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Knowledgeable about all the dishes and any allergen ingredients. Food was prepared in a timely fashion and excellent quality. Serving sizes were perfect for a group of 6. Would definitely eat here again.

food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner is served family style; this is g ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Dinner is served family style; this is great for large parties, but can easily be catered to 2! Great food, great service!

food3
ambience3
service2
value4

My husband and I went out for our first ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went out for our first date night in almost a year since we had our baby and we had high expectations from all the reviews we read. When we got there it was pretty quite because it was 5:30 so it was comfortable. A bit cold since they have an open kitchen i think they amp the AC. We ordered the caprese salad which came in a timely matter and was delicous but went down hill from there.... it became very loud after a half an hour but was still cold. I had goosebumps and i was in a midi dress with a cardigan... then waited another hour and we finally recieved our entree which was the seabass (very little flavour), mushroom risotto (sticky, not creamy) and the fettechini which was great and fresh. Our server Pat was just alright... seemed a little suttery. We may give it another try in the fall to see if they have a different menu. But i would not reccomend it to a friend.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was even better than I remember ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was even better than I remembered. The service was very friendly and fun. We shared lamb served three ways; sausage, rack and roast. The risotto with mushrooms was perfect and the beets with carrots very tasty. I had sent a note to provide a gluten free desert with a candle for my friends 60th birthday and they came through and it was a perfect surprise. A very special evening for us and Vivo delivered in spades. Loved the entire experience.

food5
ambience2
service5

We were early just in case a table was o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were early just in case a table was open which there was none, that's okay. But we ended up waiting past our reservation time. They seem to book too close or have food come out not in a timely manner. Food was good though and our server was great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at VIVO was absolutely amazi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The service at VIVO was absolutely amazing. Our server was able to guide us through the night and made the perfect suggestions for food and drink. The fettuccine was my favourite!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Very noisy!

Dined on June 11, 2016

The acoustics were horrible. Could not hear myself think let alone hear the person next to me. We shared a beef dish and the meat was flavorful but very chewy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the best! From start to finish, ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Best of the best! From start to finish, we were extremely impressed. Great salad, great pasta, sea bass & dessert. Service & atmosphere top too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

An Italian Treat in Beautiful Lessard

Dined on June 6, 2016

Most dishes are designed for sharing and are beautifully prepared and uniquely presented. The quality and taste is excellent, as was the service. Overall, a great dining experience, though definitely on the higher $$ end.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been to Vivo many times and this time was no different. We were entertaining friends who have never been and needless to say they were impressed! We love that they use so many local suppliers and the service is always second to none. I love how every dish is explained as to where the ingredients come from and how its prepared. That is what seperates Vivo from anywhere else. Great job and thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything exceeded our expec ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

As always, everything exceeded our expectations. Pat as server made for a great and enjoyable evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the duck and tenderloin, and without a doubt it was the most tender ever experienced anywhere. Everything cooked to perfection, great staff, a fun and relaxing place. Highly recommended, it is by far the best Edmonton has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Try it

Dined on June 3, 2016

This is an amazing place for food and service! Keep in mind - dishes are meant to be shared ( otherwise the menu looks pricy) Accommodating and friendly We will definitely go back Great job!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Vivo

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food , great service, knowledgeable staff, perfect for a small group

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Traditional Italian with a modern twist

Dined on June 1, 2016

A traditional menu structure with antipasti, pasta course, mains and sides. Attention paid to local sourcing was much appreciated. A varied menu with something for everyone. All courses are sized for sharing (two and four in some cases). Servings are generous - our rib steak main for 2 was enough for 4. The pasta we chose was terrific - subtle, depths of flavour - well above standard Italian restaurant fare. Their Caesar salad was a revelation - no soggy torn romaine here. Instead each person gets a small fresh whole romaine with a mild creamy dressing above and below, lots of shaved parmesan, and crispy fried capers (yum). Outstanding. We shared a tiramisu - rich coffee flavour, not too sweet, not overwhelmed with whipped cream. Service was attentive but not hovering. Altogether a great evening - priced as a special evening, but the service and the menu deliver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way! Superb food & he ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent in every way! Superb food & helpful service team who are all very knowledgable. Absolutely love the Caesar salad and fresh asparagus. Great value overall. See you again soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Vivo never fails in pairing excellent se ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Vivo never fails in pairing excellent service with amazing food. I brought many friends family members to vivo they have all enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful - very knowledg ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was wonderful - very knowledgeable and helpful - they even gave us an appetizer on the house as we had to wait over 30 minutes from our reservation time to be seated. Very impressed - when paying top dollar for food, you expect a lot and they delivered in every area. Food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I go here every year for my birthday and the service and food are always wonderful. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food tasted great and experience was abo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food tasted great and experience was above average as usual. I however had mild food poisoning right after the meal and spent the night in my washroom therefore; would not recommend this place to my friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Really loved Pat our server. Was humoro ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Really loved Pat our server. Was humorous, helpful and attentive but unobtrusive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely best Caesar Salad we have had ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Absolutely best Caesar Salad we have had. The large was more than enough for the 4 of us. Service was near perfect too. We can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not child friendly no booster seats or h ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Not child friendly no booster seats or high chairs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

I would go back. Taken back by the price ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I would go back. Taken back by the prices until it was explained that it's "family style" dining. Food was very good and server was great

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the meal!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Shared an appetizer and a pasta (half size) for 2 people and it was enough food with some leftover to take home!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Thanks. Always great.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Thanks. Always great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sooo amazing. Went for the third time an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Sooo amazing. Went for the third time and brought my mom for Mother's Day (it was her first time there). As usual, I was not disappointed. Our server was friendly and knowledgable and helped us decide on portioning and hit it bang on. We had the delightful grilled romaine ceaser salad to start and then shared two pasta dishes. Both were heavenly. Their pasta is fresh and homemade and always cooked to a perfect el dente. Just when we thought it could not possibly get better, it did-with dessert. We had the lemon curd tart and a spicy chocolate panna cotta. Possibly the best desserts I have had in the city, including the duchess. All in all, the best experience I have had dining in Edmonton in a while!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but not good value

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food and service were just fine and the wine list was very extensive, however, we did not feel that the quality of the food was good enough to warrant the price. Also the wine list was extensive, however, the prices were expensive for most of their offerings. We enjoyed the experience but we probably would not go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & great service = great time

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very good food. You're greeted by the friendliest host and he is very accommodating. Once seated the server is at your table in no time. Pat was his name and he was fantastic. We ordered a lot of food for 4 of us (2 1/2 order appetizer, 2 1/2 order pasta and then the beef & lamb). Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. We had a bit of a wait between the pasta and the meat but it was worth the wait.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely not disappointed!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We heard rave reviews about Vivo from locals, citing its great quality and use of local poduce. We decided to give it a try. Booking was hassle free via the website and we were warmly greeted and seated quickly at our table. Our server for the evening presented himself quickly, bringing witty repartee and a broad knowledge of the menu. It was our first visit to Vivo so he led us through our menu options and gave us some brilliant advice on dishes to consider. Over the evening he was very attentive but not intrusive on our time. And the food? Where to begin. Delicious through and through. We selected a starter, 2 pasta dishes (oh my, the pasta...) and a dessert. A beer for myself and a cocktail for my partner. The food arrived quickly, fresh and delicious! The pasta itself had obviously been carefully crafted and was great in taste and texture. Well done Vivo for setting the bar high! The Vivo format is for shared dishes, with the intention being to try several options. Looking at the menu, the diversity is definitely there to do that! The atmosphere was perfect for us for a date night, but we also saw a couple of larger tables in attendance and they seemed to be having an enjoyable evening too, showing the diversity of audiences catered to by the restaurant. Price was very reasonable for the quality and range offered. 10/10. We loved it so much.... We even ordered from their takeaway menu a few nights later when we couldn't stop talking about it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was Mike - he was fantastic!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had my father's birthday dinner here on the weekend. The food was very good - fiancée has a dairy allergy, so dishes were a tad bland for him. Tiramisu was 5 star! We had the tenderloin as our main and were able to accommodate medium rare for the men, and well done for us ladies! Took off the grill and was delivered to the table while ours was pan fried to cook further without being dried out. Fantastic service!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

Server was friendly, knowledgeable and made good wine and food recommendations. Food was great and portions were adequate. Certainly on the pricey side, but that was expected coming in. Family style sharing plates made the dining experience enjoyable. Food came out piping hot. Would recommend and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another GREAT vivo night

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food and wine with great service. Love the fresh local made to order food, especially the pasta, caesar & caprese salads.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful as always, great ambiance along with superb food

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Italian Food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Very good service, fantastic food, probably one of the top Edmonton restaurants and it is only 5 minutes away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding! It was a bit ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything was outstanding! It was a bit louder than usual but was a very vibrant fun crowd! I highly recommend Vivo!! Definitely 1 of the best restaurants in Edmonton.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food but on the high end for p ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food but on the high end for price. Great service!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent - a bit pricy but ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was excellent - a bit pricy but in the long run worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worth the money!!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We went to Vivo for an occasion for a larger group. We were told how the menu works. Fine. The portions are extremely small. Went with the waitress's recommendation 2 apps, 2 pastas, 1 large meat, and 2 side dishes. Not enough food at all. First off, everything lacked flavour. Meatballs had no flavor. Just tasted like ground beef. Caprese salad needed salt. Pasta and risotto come and they also had no flavour. Everything lacked a seasoning (or salt) for that matter. We were told that 2 pasta dishes would feed a party of 8. Looking at the plates, is enough to feed 1 MAYBE 2 people. But certainly not a party of 8. Meat tray came out, and the forgot the sausage. But there wasn't enough meat to share with everyone. People didn't get lamb, not enough beef, you had to cut your piece in half just so everyone could try it. Nice ambience, but that's about it. Food was such a disappointment. And the server didn't come back too often. Which made the MANDATORY 20% gratuity hard to swallow. Would not go back, nor would I recommend to people.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.