About Vivo Ristorante

18352 Lessard Rd
Edmonton, AB T6M 2W8
View Larger Map

vivo is where Italian comes alive. We relish the enthusiasm and joy with which the traditional Italian meal is prepared and delivered, and seek to recreate that experience for every guest. Our open kitchen showcases our chefs preparing fresh and local ingredients.

When you join us for dinner, expect it to be a relaxing evening lasting a couple hours over several piatti (courses). Your table comes alive when we present a variety of large offerings on platters or bowls within easy reach of all.

A classic Italian pranzo (dinner) usually beings with a variety of antipasti (hot and cold appetizers), followed by one or two primi (usually a hot pasta, risotto, gnocchi or zuppa). Next your table will share a secondi (entrees) served on a platter combined with your choice of contorni (vegetable side dishes). Italians often complete their meal with un dolce, un caffe, or un digestivo (dessert, espresso, liqueur or grappa).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Everyday.

Cross Street:
184 St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7710

Website:
http://www.vivoristorante.ca/

Executive Chef:
Michael Hassall

Private Party Facilities:
All parties of 9 or more are booked through the restaurant directly.

Private Party Contact:
Gregg Kenney or Wilbur Randall: 7807567710x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Vivo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (70)
good for groups (63)
fit for foodies (61)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way! Superb food & he ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent in every way! Superb food & helpful service team who are all very knowledgable. Absolutely love the Caesar salad and fresh asparagus. Great value overall. See you again soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Vivo never fails in pairing excellent se ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Vivo never fails in pairing excellent service with amazing food. I brought many friends family members to vivo they have all enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful - very knowledg ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was wonderful - very knowledgeable and helpful - they even gave us an appetizer on the house as we had to wait over 30 minutes from our reservation time to be seated. Very impressed - when paying top dollar for food, you expect a lot and they delivered in every area. Food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food tasted great and experience was abo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food tasted great and experience was above average as usual. I however had mild food poisoning right after the meal and spent the night in my washroom therefore; would not recommend this place to my friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Really loved Pat our server. Was humoro ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Really loved Pat our server. Was humorous, helpful and attentive but unobtrusive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not child friendly no booster seats or h ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Not child friendly no booster seats or high chairs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

I would go back. Taken back by the price ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I would go back. Taken back by the prices until it was explained that it's "family style" dining. Food was very good and server was great

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the meal!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Shared an appetizer and a pasta (half size) for 2 people and it was enough food with some leftover to take home!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Thanks. Always great.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Thanks. Always great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sooo amazing. Went for the third time an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Sooo amazing. Went for the third time and brought my mom for Mother's Day (it was her first time there). As usual, I was not disappointed. Our server was friendly and knowledgable and helped us decide on portioning and hit it bang on. We had the delightful grilled romaine ceaser salad to start and then shared two pasta dishes. Both were heavenly. Their pasta is fresh and homemade and always cooked to a perfect el dente. Just when we thought it could not possibly get better, it did-with dessert. We had the lemon curd tart and a spicy chocolate panna cotta. Possibly the best desserts I have had in the city, including the duchess. All in all, the best experience I have had dining in Edmonton in a while!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but not good value

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food and service were just fine and the wine list was very extensive, however, we did not feel that the quality of the food was good enough to warrant the price. Also the wine list was extensive, however, the prices were expensive for most of their offerings. We enjoyed the experience but we probably would not go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & great service = great time

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very good food. You're greeted by the friendliest host and he is very accommodating. Once seated the server is at your table in no time. Pat was his name and he was fantastic. We ordered a lot of food for 4 of us (2 1/2 order appetizer, 2 1/2 order pasta and then the beef & lamb). Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. We had a bit of a wait between the pasta and the meat but it was worth the wait.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely not disappointed!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We heard rave reviews about Vivo from locals, citing its great quality and use of local poduce. We decided to give it a try. Booking was hassle free via the website and we were warmly greeted and seated quickly at our table. Our server for the evening presented himself quickly, bringing witty repartee and a broad knowledge of the menu. It was our first visit to Vivo so he led us through our menu options and gave us some brilliant advice on dishes to consider. Over the evening he was very attentive but not intrusive on our time. And the food? Where to begin. Delicious through and through. We selected a starter, 2 pasta dishes (oh my, the pasta...) and a dessert. A beer for myself and a cocktail for my partner. The food arrived quickly, fresh and delicious! The pasta itself had obviously been carefully crafted and was great in taste and texture. Well done Vivo for setting the bar high! The Vivo format is for shared dishes, with the intention being to try several options. Looking at the menu, the diversity is definitely there to do that! The atmosphere was perfect for us for a date night, but we also saw a couple of larger tables in attendance and they seemed to be having an enjoyable evening too, showing the diversity of audiences catered to by the restaurant. Price was very reasonable for the quality and range offered. 10/10. We loved it so much.... We even ordered from their takeaway menu a few nights later when we couldn't stop talking about it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was Mike - he was fantastic!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had my father's birthday dinner here on the weekend. The food was very good - fiancée has a dairy allergy, so dishes were a tad bland for him. Tiramisu was 5 star! We had the tenderloin as our main and were able to accommodate medium rare for the men, and well done for us ladies! Took off the grill and was delivered to the table while ours was pan fried to cook further without being dried out. Fantastic service!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

Server was friendly, knowledgeable and made good wine and food recommendations. Food was great and portions were adequate. Certainly on the pricey side, but that was expected coming in. Family style sharing plates made the dining experience enjoyable. Food came out piping hot. Would recommend and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another GREAT vivo night

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food and wine with great service. Love the fresh local made to order food, especially the pasta, caesar & caprese salads.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful as always, great ambiance along with superb food

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Italian Food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Very good service, fantastic food, probably one of the top Edmonton restaurants and it is only 5 minutes away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding! It was a bit ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything was outstanding! It was a bit louder than usual but was a very vibrant fun crowd! I highly recommend Vivo!! Definitely 1 of the best restaurants in Edmonton.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food but on the high end for p ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food but on the high end for price. Great service!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent - a bit pricy but ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was excellent - a bit pricy but in the long run worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worth the money!!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We went to Vivo for an occasion for a larger group. We were told how the menu works. Fine. The portions are extremely small. Went with the waitress's recommendation 2 apps, 2 pastas, 1 large meat, and 2 side dishes. Not enough food at all. First off, everything lacked flavour. Meatballs had no flavor. Just tasted like ground beef. Caprese salad needed salt. Pasta and risotto come and they also had no flavour. Everything lacked a seasoning (or salt) for that matter. We were told that 2 pasta dishes would feed a party of 8. Looking at the plates, is enough to feed 1 MAYBE 2 people. But certainly not a party of 8. Meat tray came out, and the forgot the sausage. But there wasn't enough meat to share with everyone. People didn't get lamb, not enough beef, you had to cut your piece in half just so everyone could try it. Nice ambience, but that's about it. Food was such a disappointment. And the server didn't come back too often. Which made the MANDATORY 20% gratuity hard to swallow. Would not go back, nor would I recommend to people.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was fantastic and the service amazing! A little pricey. Great for a date night or group. Family style dining

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great experience until the end...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I visited Vivo on March 12 with 3 friends to celebrate my birthday. Arianna was our server and for the most part our experience was great. Good service, delicious food, nice atmosphere. However at the end of our entrees we were undecided about dessert as we were all quite full, Arianna offered to bring us a dessert menu just to look at anyway, we agreed. Unfortunately, we never did receive the dessert menu and waited for 40 minutes to either get the menu or at least the bill. We tried getting the attention of any server but we were ignored. It wasn't until we stood up and put our jackets on that Arianna finally came over, at which point we had to ask for the bill. Not once did she mention forgetting the dessert menu or apologize for the wait. If she had it would have made a world of difference. We left feeling slightly dejected and not happy about the experience even though it started out great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

This place was just ok. The food was goo ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

This place was just ok. The food was good, but not excellent. Fish was flavorless. Grilled Caesar salad was a unique idea and the capers that accompanied it were delish, but the wilty romaine just didn't to it for me. The price was really over the top. The portion size for the "family" dishes were not that big. I don't know, I really wanted to like this place, but I'm more likely to head to the many other excellent upscale places in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Vivo did it again!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Thanks to the staff at Vivo for making our last outing such a success March 4. We were able to meet up with friends that we haven't seen in a while. Mike did a great job making sure we were not wanting for anything. Thanks for putting up with our somewhat boisterous group and allowing us the time needed to visit. Great wine recommendation and thanks for the assist in finding the wine so I was able to take a couple of bottles home to BC. The staff and quality of the food keeps us coming back again and again and again!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special evening

Dined on March 5, 2016

We got a gift card for Vino's. Had driven by it dozens of times. Never really noticed it. The ambiance is very quiet as you walk in. Host was very attentive as we walked in. We felt welcome! Once seated the waiter came by and introduced himself, dropped off menus and asked if we had been there before. We hadn't so he explained he would return with our waters and explain the menus option It all done like a family sit dowm meal. everyone shares in whats ordered. The Italian family way , he called it . Everything he suggested was great We started with Appetizer then had 2 pasta dishes to share. The wine was exceptional but pricey. Home made fuscata bread and olive oil came, as well as some tasty olives to eat while we waited for our appetizer. We will be back, but this time with our children to enjoy a family meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice dining experience

Dined on March 4, 2016

Reserved table for two for birthday celebration. Little disappointed table right next to bar area as was noisy. In any event our server was great explaining the menu and suggested some items. The food was very good. We had the Caprese salad, the lobster risotto and the lamb. To finish off for birthday dessert we had the tiramisu and everything was delicious and flavourful. All in all, it was a very nice dinner and would definately go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The land air and sea platter is deliciou ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The land air and sea platter is delicious!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable. The service was some of ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Very enjoyable. The service was some of the best I've ever experienced, drinks were kept filled, and tables cleared in a timely manner. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, and helped us decide what and how much to order. Great for a group of people who share similar tastes in food, as everything is shared. The food itself was quite good and portioned well. I will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing and we had a great e ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food is amazing and we had a great experience at Vivo. It is pricy, so I would suggest going with 4 or more people to keep the cost down, as everything is served family style.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five out of five stars.

Dined on February 25, 2016

This restaurant is a gem in an location that you may not 'happen to drive by'. I live in Calgary and have children at the university in Edmonton (U of A) and therefore travel back and forth several times per year. This is a superb restaurant - amazing food, charming and knowledgeable staff, and the wine list.... one of the best I have seen in Western Canada. It contains many of my personal favorites in several different formats including several top tier US cabernets and several notable Italian wines. I had my son's 18th birthday party in their private room at Vivo last year and it was truly a success by all accounts. Good wine lists can be difficult to find - Vivo's contains Solaia, Sassicaia, Paul Hobbs and Peter Michel just to name a few...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Main course beef steak was too small for ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Main course beef steak was too small for a group of six. Meatballs lacked flavour. Alfredo pasta, insalata salad and tomato salad were excellent. Tiramisu is not worth having, fresh cookies were excellent! Service was very very good. Overall a good night.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic

Dined on February 20, 2016

Fantastic, We have been a few times now as a large group, few family members and just my husb

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavenly!

Dined on February 16, 2016

I went to Vivo last year around this time for a wedding party and got my first taste of how good it was! My fiance and I went this year for Valentine's day dinner ... and it was absolutely better than I remember! The caprese salad and fettucini with all the melty cheese was to DIE for. Fiance is now talking about getting some pasta for take out :) We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing service, attention to details, f ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Amazing service, attention to details, family share meals with great atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vivo first time diner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I really enjoyed vivo for a more expensive Italian family style dinner. Our server was great and his recommendations were a must; fettuccini and tiramisu! I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

mediocre

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our reserved table was not available. Food was mediocre. Very loud. Service was good.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always fantastic food. Service was a bit ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always fantastic food. Service was a bit slow this time around which kinda hindered our usual experience but otherwise it was great.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We love coming to Vivi for a fantastic treat, but the caprese salad was missing it key piece the sun dried tomatoes. Sounds like a small detail but they are amazing!! Very sad that they didn't have them or the incredible array of fresh tomatoes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.