About Virtu Honest Craft

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Fit for Foodies (69)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (58)
Romantic (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Cozy (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Local Ingredients (34)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Authentic (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Casual (15)
Seasonal (15)
Hot Spot (11)
Fun (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Healthy (8)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been to Virtu several times. Probably our favorite Scottsdale restaurant. This time the experience was not quite as outstanding as usual due to some remodeling going on. (It was the summer season, so a pretty good time) No real fault of restaurant, but ambience was not as good as usual. Food and drinks were still very good, however.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, creative, sophisticated preparations cooked perfectly. Top ambiance. Extraordinary service from Nathan. Will become a regular go-to for fine dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The polpo (grilled octopus) is some of the best around. The burrata with crusty grilled bread is also a favorite of ours. This time I had the grilled swordfish in a thin tomato broth, which was perfectly light since we had already stuffed appertizers in our faces.

Cocktails are inventive and well balanced. I had their "Fortified Truth" made with Amaro, Irish Whiskey, Lemon, Grapefruit and other tasty ingredients. I'm not a whiskey drinker but was in the mood for something different, so I gave it a try. I loved it so much I ended up having 3.

Virtu has become a local favorite of mine to take friends. They're always pleased with a delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Had dinner for my husbands birthday. Wow.. what an amazing meal!!! Food, service and ambience was all perfect. Must try the octopus and toffee cake! I will be dreaming of them both. My husband said the lamb was the best he has ever had. The scallops were also amazing . Can't recommend this place enough. The cocktails were delicious and innovative. Will definitely be back! And thanks to Ivan for fantastic service and recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Creative food that was delicious and well prepared. Service was very good and person was knowledgeable about the food and wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was a first rate dining experience. Appetizers, entrees, dessert, cocktails and wine - all were excellent. We also liked the ambience of the restaurant. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Absolutely lovely food. Great job of combining very known ingredients in delightful ways. Good service with attentive staff. A bit on the noisy side when full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good place, a little pricey. Appetizers are large... Could almost be a small meal if you're not that hungry.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Waiter and host was awesome. Both were knowledge. The chocolate sticky cake rocked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were a party of four and each of us ordered something different from the brunch menu. We all raved about our food and loved the presentation. We came all the way from the West Valley and left saying that we'd definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It's a very nice quiet place. Hidden from the public. Great food.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Pork felt under-done, but I trust the chef did it properly. I'm just not used to eating it medium rare.
The drinks and service are always fantastic.
Highly recommend this spot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at brunch, everyone loved their choices! Service was also perfect. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 28, 2017

You have to try the pulpo appetizer. This is the best grilled octopus I have ever eaten. It melts in your mouth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

A wonderful experience. Food was excellent (smoked duck for me) and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Overall a great little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love the crepe, salad and ice queens! Great way to start your day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Date night

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was excellent - lamb shank and scallops were our entrees. Great cocktails. We sat inside because of the extreme heat and the noise level was very high and tables close together.
Our waiter was knowledgeable but not very friendly and seemed to have a bit of an attitude.
We will return but definitely sit outside on the lovely patio when it's not so hot.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Been to Virtu and number of time. We took my father there for Father's day. It was his and my mothers first time and they loved it. Simply great food and their cocktail program is top notch.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely fantastic meal and service! The place was jammed and my only "complaint" was the noise level, but the food was well worth it and the noise was the sound of everyone enjoying themselves. We really loved it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great food. Get the octopus and the asparagus with the duck egg.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This made our 10th anniversary so special. Our server Taylor was fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was very good but not great. Value was low for what was received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is our 3rd or 4th time choosing Virtu over any other place to celebrate. This time it was to celebrate 40 years with my wife, partner, true north, my everything. We both love Virtu. This is a small intimate place. Quiet, so you can really be in the moment with the one you love. The service is attentive and yet not intrusive. The food is creative, and presented as a piece of art on your plate. When we first get our food we take a moment and just look at it. Then those first bites cause us to hold our breath for a moment and then breath a sigh of pure ecstasy. Yea, its really like that. Every bite is pure magic. And if you like your before, during, and after drinks, the staff are very knowledgeable, and the selections of wines, and craft drinks are amazing. You should try one of their craft drinks. And if the night weather is right their patio sits more people than the inside, and yet it is a beautiful setting that allows for an intimate experience. You need to try Virtu if you have not yet.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Visited on recommendation of other Open Table reviews & were not disappointed. Loverly combination of flavors and interesting menu. Lovely outside area to dine if weather permits (unfortunately it was 109 degrees when we visited so we dined inside). Burrata starter was excellent. Lamb and Pork rib were both fabulous. Very nice Tempranillo complimented food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was great service was great thank you

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Octopus and Lamb shank are good. More Middle Eastern than expected, but good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were in Scottsdale on business and asked a friend for a dinner suggestion. She mentioned Virtu so we made a reservation through Open Table. We were looking forward to a nice evening at the end of a busy week. Unfortunately, things went badly once we got there.

The outside area was inviting but there was no hostess/host to be found. A couple sitting near the entrance pointed us to the inside part of the restaurant. The hostess was nowhere to be found. We waited about 5 minutes and then she appeared. No apologies, fine, it was warm and she wanted to stay inside. She found our reservation and then in a panic told us our table needed to be checked. Eventually she seated us in the front where there was no one around. It was like being relegated to the bad kids table. Forget about the fact that the table was covered with leaves. When we asked her for another table she said "there is no place else to seat you" which was patently not true.

So, about the food: at best average. Grilled octopus was reasonable but nothing special. Pork chop with peaches was serviceable but lacked any wow factor. Mu buccatini was oily and had minimal flavor despite the multitude of ingredients.

Service was competent. Some might find being referred to as "guys" at a James Beard award winning restaurant off putting but by this point we were done. Too much hype, not enough substance. Pity because we have to come back for business and would have liked to have found something besides steakhouses and Mexican restaurants for our dinners. The only reason I am giving a 2 star instead of a 1 star was that I feel sorry for the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

As usual, the service was outstanding. We both had excellent meals. The noise level in the restaurant continues to be an issue for me as it detracts from the experience. I also am very frustrated that the management is still not able to provide an up-to-date menu on their website. What you see on-line is not even close to what you are offered when you get there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This was for my husband's birthday. He loves Octopus and Virtu's was all that was promised. Our waitress was very professional and amiable. When we had questions about a dish, she was able to explain perfectly. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Tried Virtu for first time for Restaurant Week. Had a very good experience. Plan to return when weather permits eating on the patio.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife and I had dinner while in Scottsdale
For a getaway weekend at Virtu and the food
was delicious and well balanced !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We went to Virtu during Restaurant Week. The service was great, but the food wasn't as good as what we were expecting. It was heavy-handed and lacked balance. Overall, a disappointing meal in a lovely environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were here during restaurant week and ordered off the special menu. The food was really good but not spectacular, especially for the price. I would go back there again though and stick with the regular menu as those items seemed to be more refined as we saw them pass our table going to other guests.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The restaurant is small and slightly cramped but has a somewhat cozy atmosphere (i.e. great if you want a small café setting but not ideal for a private conversation).

I selected this restaurant because of their Bistecca Tagliata dish (40oz Wagyu Tomahawk Ribeye steak). I love to cook and was looking for a unique experience. I found out when I ordered that the steak was prime, not Wagyu (disappointing given the price of $125). I showed the waiter the menu from Open Table. Her responded that it was a "sample" menu (as if they were not responsible for the menu listed on Open Table).

I realized about 5 minutes after ordering that the waiter did not ask us how we wanted our ribeye cooked. I followed up and was told they cook it to medium rare but could adjust. I said that was fine but I’m surprised the waiter didn’t address this when ordering (this seems to be a pretty big miss). The “insalata” was different than expected (I was expecting caprese but got an arugula salad).

I was surprised dinner did not include any bread or rolls (at this price, I expect all the bells and whistles). The complimentary dessert to celebrate my birthday was awesome (dark chocolate cake with scoop of French vanilla ice cream and chocolate/caramel drizzle).

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very small quit place. Good food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food, excellent service! An overall pleasant experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Went for restaurant week. The burrata app and the bucatini were excellent. Ordered the polpo (octopus) too which is always outstanding. But the best part is the awesome creative cocktails!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Just fantastic. Perfectly seasoned. Interesting menu. A place for foodies!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.