About Virtu Honest Craft

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (100)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Fit for Foodies (90)
See All
Good for a Date (69)
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (65)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (52)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Cozy (46)
Worth the Drive (42)
Local Ingredients (41)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Authentic (37)
Great for Brunch (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Seasonal (20)
Casual (19)
Healthy (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Organic (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Scenic View (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Just fantastic. Perfectly seasoned. Interesting menu. A place for foodies!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyable evening. Our server, Taylor, was very impressive as she explained the menu in detail without notes and seemed passionate about every dish. A foodies dream. We will look forward to returning . The food offerings were geared toward restaurant week, but we added the grilled octopus, which was wonderful. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 4th time dining at Virtu and it continues to be one of our favorite restaurants. We've never been disappointed. Can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall the food and service were great. However the wine I purchased was way over priced for such a small pour. What started as a restaurant week $44 each meal for 2 people, ended up with wine and tip at $158 . Mostly due to the drink prices..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

I hate saying anything negative about this amazing restaurant, but to be honest we experienced a few disappointments, but none the less enjoyable. First the charred octopus , lacked enough sauce and wanted to request more, but we had finished it before the waiter was seen again to ask. We requested a spoon for our cappuccino that took almost 10 minutes to bring, and finally I had informed the restaurant ahead of time it was my wife's birthday, but no one acknowledged it. We had previously spent our 25th anniversary at this restaurant a month before, and they made a huge deal about it. Just an over-site I'm' sure but never the less an expectation was created. Love this restaurant, will definitely frequent it in the future and recommend it to friends. The entire staff including our waiter was friendly and attentive, aside from a few missteps. All in all, my wife was happy and at the end of the day, that's whats most important.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our absolute favorite restaurants. Took some friends to celebrate their son's wedding. They had never been before and now think it's the best restaurant around.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food in a relaxing atmosphere. We went for restaurant week ate from the tasting menu. Cocktails were good and the atmosphere outside was very relaxing after a long work week. Its located just south of Old Town so it was close other activities but quiet to sit outside under a large old tree.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Went here for restaurant week. I wasn't impressed with the wines. My server told me my final drink was one price and then it was more than that. When you spend $100 on a dinner dining alone I would like to be given accurate pricing. The lamb shank was dry and the beans were overcooked (too hard, which is what happens when they are overcooked). The beef tartare was tasty and the dessert was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We picked a stellar night for eating outdoors and this fact led to the positive responses to ambiance and quietness. Summertime would limit this great patio and force your dining into a relatively small indoor dining room with a great increase in noise. Our initial take on the menu made us wonder what, if anything, we could eat. The menu requires explanations about virtually every dish as the descriptions are 'high faultin' and a little pretentious, in our opinion. But, the food was creative and delicious and everyone was more than pleased with their selections. Turned out to be a very special evening with good friends on a lovely patio with great food and service....but pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been here before and the last time this was one of the best meals I've ever had. This time differed maybe because it was restaurant week..????? Cocktails were still very good. My appetizer was micro greens with a disk of goat cheese blended with beets. It was good but I thought it needed a crouton or a slice of bread to spread the cheese on to. My main course was Ahi Tuna. The Tuna was prepared reasonably well but didn't have any seasoning or sauce. I had Sunchokes on my plate that were very sweet.....I think some ingredients were left off my plate because the sun chokes were just very sweet and nothing else. (they were suppose to be lemon and rosemary) They were hard to swallow. Dessert wasn't the best either. Broken olive oil cake in a jar with loose cream. I didn't get any pistachios either... wasn't sweet either and more savory than the sun chokes.......I guess I got the third string crew working on my meal instead of the chef...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great innovative food. Have to try the grilled octopus. Outdoor patio very nice for dining. Will definitely go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great place, appetizers were spectacular. Lamb shank was ok, a little too much seasoning, overpowered the lamb, but meat was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had brunch and everything was fantastic. Would like to return for a dinner date

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Try the Duck! No matter what the seasonal preparation, you owe it to yourself to try this. The flavors are so complex, it is a pleasure to have such a talented chef in this area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Virtu is a great restaurant. We keep going back. As it gets hotter during the summer, we will not come as often since we love to sit outside.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding Mother's Day Brunch find. Momma was pleased. Excellent service, really creative menu, excellent tastes. I had the Raclette Grilled Cheese sandwich with prosciutto, fig jam & arugula salad which was like candy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Well crafted plates with a quaint aumbianc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I loved the lemon ricotta pancakes. Amazing! And great service too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of the finest meals we have had in Scottsdale in quite a while. And we are foodies who dine out often. Wonderful craft cocktails as well. Great service by our server, Ivan. Highly recommended for a special evening out!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Polpo amazing: in a region exploding with imported Octopus on every 3rd restos's appetizer menu, this was the most tender and well executed version I've tasted in the Phx Metro area.

Rabbit Gnocci: delicious melting flavors, you can taste the freshness of the potato dumpling pasta. Disappointed in portion size for the price, a little meager. Perhaps they do it so you can enjoy all courses. But then, the bill gets $$$.

Wine: list very meh for the price points, Nebbiolo was average, metallic tasting. This is my biggest complaint drinking wine in the US at good restaurants: wine shouldn't cost $15 a glass, unless it's going to blow you away. this would be cause for a revolution in Italy, France or Spain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This venue is perfect for a smart business dinner. The setting feels like an upscale Napa restaurant, rustic and sophisticated. The wine list has just enough options to cover everyone's moods. The Staff is the star. Knowledgeable, attentive, and quick to pick up on subtle hints. The food is a foody's dream. If you are looking to impress that next big client, this is the place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Outstanding in every way..Nathan was an A+. It was a great night and the team could not have been better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a wonderful evening celebrating a birthday The service was outstanding and the good was out of this world. The grilled octopus was fantastic as a starter. The pork chop was delicious. Other guests had lamb, scallops and duck, all of which were amazing. The wines were also great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beautiful presentation, but all dishes were too salty. Pricey for the size of the portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Virtu is a work in progress. It is upscale in price, but the cuisine needs to catch up. The sophistication of the duck and pork were too simple. Portions were on the small side but sufficient.

Pork was served on a large shank, while novel, did not have a lot of meat.

The duck w/ the plum/fig reduction ended up being dominated by the rare and tender duck filet. Not bad, but rare duck is a subtle flavor and the sauce ended up being more of a side.

The wine list is a bit sparse for this price level.

The service on the other hand was very good. Our server was positive and humorous.

So Virtu's problem is about value. Either the price needs to come down, or the kitchen needs to step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had brunch and it was delicious. The service was very good and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fine dining in a pleasant atmosphere in Old Town Scottsdale. Salads are as carefully and well prepared as the main courses. The latter are cooked to perfection, whether steak or scallops. Portions are large enough to split among several diners for a family style dinner if wanted. This is our second or third time at Virtu and we will certainly come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved it! This might just be out new favorite place :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Brunch was excellent I ordered suasage and potatoes. Mimosas were very tasty too.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First of all we get into a tiff b/c the hostess demands we sit in front of the door for a table of 2 and there is NO ONE at the restaurant at 6:00PM on Friday. We requested a seat near the center of the restaurant and 10 minutes later we are finally seated. Octopus/Pulpo was excellent and then a fire alarm goes off for 15 minutes smoke everywhere. The interior of this restaurant and bar is tiny so it was smokey. Overpriced for the quality and the quantity. Fire your rude hostess! You should smile and be pleasant to the customers not difficult. 200 bucks for a dinner for 2? We will not be back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good setting and atmosphere. Nice patio. Octopus that was highly recommended was mediocre but scallops good although a bit too salty. Still good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went here for lunch and when we told the waiter that my bff was getting married, he sent over a free dessert :) It was incredible food!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Best French toast I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was one of the best meals we've ever had! The food was just perfect! We started with the burrata and crudo. Amazing. Had the Bucatini- which looks like it is just another pasta dish BUT the flavors were unbelievable. We wanted to kick the bowl. I had the Polpo appetizer as my main course. The Octopus was so incredibly tender and delicious. And my husband had the duck, cooked perfectly. We had a sticky toffee for dessert that was also great. We enjoyed it so much that we blew off our next nights reservation and came back. We tried the asparagus with candied bacon and fois gras hollandaise- which tasted as good at it sounds. And my husband tried the pork chop which he liked even better than the duck. We tried the butterscotch pudding for dessert and pistachio gelato.
So sad we can't come back tonight!
Hopefully we get back to Scottsdale again.
We will be dreaming about the deliciousness for a long time to come!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is our 5th meal at Virtu, and the first one that felt a bit "off." The burrata appetizer was wonderful and a great addition to the menu. We shared the bucatini pasta, the same dish we had at our last visit there (and had been looking forward to eating again)! This time they had a goose egg instead of duck egg. The egg to pasta ratio was off - way too much egg compared to the pasta. For entrees I had the smoked duck. It was good, but the amount of plum and other accompaniments was much larger than the duck serving itself. And finally, my husband had the lamb shank. The portion size was great, but the meat was dry and there was a huge amount of the chick pea side dish, almost like a fried chick pea snack. A few pieces would have been tasty but there was a ton of it, and it got monotonous and salty to eat so much of it. Food wise it just felt like a "dud" of a night, though we've had so many other good meals there that I'm sure we'll be back at some point.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 46th anniversary at Virtu Honest Craft. Appetizers, main courses and deserts were excellent. Service was first rate. We ate in a delightful patio on a beautiful night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Cute quaint place. Creative dishes that were all spectacular. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Every part of the meal was perfect and to top it off the waiter was great as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent food, great cocktails, great service. I've never had octopus that wasn't like chewing rubber. The octopus here was unbelievable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We are always so happy with dinner here. The menu is wonderful, the service is excellent, the setting is delightful, whether you're indoors or out, and the food is memorable! This is easily in our top 5 in the PHX area! On this visit we shared the grilled octopus (the best anywhere, including on the coasts), and the tuna tartare. I had the lamb shank (and took half of it home) and hubby had the gnocchi with rabbit. A truly delightful evening on the patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.