About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Scottsdale

Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fun (12)
Seasonal (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good quality meal. Innovative menu but ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Good quality meal. Innovative menu but very small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

All I can say is I was there for lunch t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

All I can say is I was there for lunch three times in three days and it's always fabulous. Ice queens, Moscow mules, classic crepes, pork ragu, fig or simple salad, and lemon ricotta pancakes. One day I'll save room to try dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The charred octopus (signature dish) was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

The charred octopus (signature dish) was delicious as anticipated. One of the main courses (game hen tagine) was served ice cold. We politely advised our server of this; he seemed put off by our request to have it warmed. The dish was returned 20 minutes later (after my spouse finished eating), completely dried out and tasteless. We sent it back. The entree was taken off our check as it should have been, but the entire situation was extremely poorly handled. Our server gave us attitude for the duration. We've heard so much about Virtu and were anxious to try it. It's definitely OFF our list. I would never recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Just as fantastic as always. Octopus, ma ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Just as fantastic as always. Octopus, maiale, beef tartare and duck were standouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, great wine selections, c ...

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic food, great wine selections, couldn't recommend it more. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Chef Osso's food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Outstanding experience. Chef Osso's food is creative yet approachable and delicious. Service was first rate and the space lovely and welcoming. Asparagus with foie gras Hollandaise, beef tartare and divine octopus for starters. Pasta we're on-point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service, exceptional ambianc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Exceptional service, exceptional ambiance and absolutely spectacular food. The appetizers, the entrees and the desserts were all incredible. I can't say enough. I took my girlfriend and my sister our for their birthdays and we had an evening to remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, impressed with the wine-by-t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great meal, impressed with the wine-by-the-glass menu

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Virtru, We s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was our second time at Virtru,

We started with a drink at the bar. The bartender made us great martinis, he was polite and had just the right amount of banter. We were waiting for our son and his fiancé, once they arrived we were seated and had a wonderful dinner. The meal was served leisurely and not rushed. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I highly recommend the octopus

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience mainly due to Sar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a great experience mainly due to Sarah, the bartender who also served our meal at the

bar. Sarah is very skilled, works very hard, is intelligent, kind, comfortable with strangers,

and overall just fun to be around. We had planned to move to an outdoor table but liked

Sarah so much we stayed at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to check out Virtu out for br ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We decided to check out Virtu out for brunch and because my husband loves grilled octopus. We were not disappointed and will have to go back because there were many other dishes on the menu we want to try. The outdoor dining space is wonderful and the creative food and drink menu require mutiple visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and the service stands out. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The ambiance and the service stands out. In my mind, these two create a quality of experience that is memorable... even more than the food itself. This place is perfect for a romantic evening, a date, or a special occasion such as an anniversary, birthday celebration (for a couple or foursome). I wouldn't suggest a larger celebration. I would suggest sitting outdoors under the tree with the string lights in the evening. Our server, Matt, was especially warm and pleasant. The food was so so. For $30+ a dish, the freshness of the fish and vegetables was questionable. But, overall, it was a good experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Price/Value/Size is out of line with res ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Price/Value/Size is out of line with respect to wine.

To price $48 for $15 bottle, or $14 per glass for the same bottle? Really?

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Went for lunch - food was great - need a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for lunch - food was great - need a little more shade for outside dining - will be back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing setting. Fabulous food and wine. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Amazing setting. Fabulous food and wine. With the perfect company what else can you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a business dinner and we were a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was a business dinner and we were asked to pick the place even though we weren't paying...we could have gone anywhere. during and after dinner we certainly got a whole lot of praise for an excellent choice. All were thrilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

All around outstanding food. Menu a bit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

All around outstanding food. Menu a bit eclectic. Creative . Outdoor patio lovely at night. Neighborhood gem

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Evan was great.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our waiter Evan was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

if ur picking between fnb and virtu, sam ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

if ur picking between fnb and virtu, same price but virtu is way better!!!! no comparison!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was great. Was a little ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service and food was great. Was a little expensive for the amount of food provided. All of the tables are jammed-packed together. Other than that no complaints. I will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Enjoyed the beautiful patio for Sunday b ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the beautiful patio for Sunday brunch and some delicious, original dishes. The pork ragu was so tasty along with the grilled Noble bread and perfectly cooked eggs. One negative--the cocktail that I ordered tasted strange and looked very off-putting, a sort of greenish brown with a hint of orange color "amante appassionato" definitely not for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lunch on the patio doesn't get any bette ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lunch on the patio doesn't get any better! Attentive service, fresh and perfectly seasoned salad, creative crepes, foie gras mousse on crusty bread - all delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cooking was good, typifying idioms t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The cooking was good, typifying idioms that are fairly common among the art-deco restaurants springing up all over the southwest. The entree portions were so small that we felt the $100 or so we spent made the meal overpriced. For example, my $30 scallop plate came with just three (nicely cooked and presented) medallions. That felt like the social construction of cuisine, rather than a good meal. I have paid half as much for cooking of similar quality, and greater quantity, presented with less pretense.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The inside atmosphere is very overcrowde ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The inside atmosphere is very overcrowded and uncomfortable. It is very claustrophobic, and the music playing was very anxiety-inducing. It sounded like a loud, racing heartbeat. The patio is beautiful, but 2 of the 4 chairs at our table were uneven, and rocking constantly. The food was okay, but more charred than I would've preferred, and not worthy of its price-tags. The culinary creations sounded intriguing on paper, but were rather disappointing In taste. There are countless other fine-dining alternatives more deserving of the business. I'm shocked that there are so many 5 star reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great patio, appetizers (octopus, duck) ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great patio, appetizers (octopus, duck) very good. Service broke down, entrees ordinary.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Phenomenal, as usual! I had the triglie ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Phenomenal, as usual! I had the triglie (red mullet), a new dish from my last time, it was impeccable. Delicate meat, with a light crust, prepared perfectly. My beautiful wife had the duck with the sweet potato and chorizo hash, also wonderful (I know because she shares!). The service is always excellent, enthusiastic and knowledgeable servers who know what they are talking about, and are firendly and personable. And the atmosphere is fabulous, we were celebrating an anniversary, this is a great place to celebrate the special moents in life!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this gem! Food was amazing...Serve ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Love this gem! Food was amazing...Server was very helpful with choices...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite dining places in Sco ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of our favorite dining places in Scottsdale! Sunday brunch on the patio is delightful. The brunch menu is small but every dish is outstanding. The service is fantastic and they never rush you because they want you to have a relaxing dining experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have mixed feelings about reviewing th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have mixed feelings about reviewing this place... if I say how the octopus causes your eyes to spontaneously close and you're instantly transported to a seaside horio in Greece, well, all my Greek cousins will show up and there goes the ambiance and noise level. It was a delightful experience... again. Our second time here and was everything we remembered from the first time. Ivan was our attentive and gracious waiter ... took his recommendation and had the pork short rib and asparagus. Amazing. An honestly delicious experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really glad we made the trip for dinner ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Really glad we made the trip for dinner to Virtu from our hotel about 1/2 hour away. I found the restaurant online before heading to Scottsdale on a business trip. The place was very "local" feeling and the staff was exceptional. All the recommendations were well received and true to their descriptions. We were told the menu changes often with a few items remaining consistent.

Upon reviewing the menu just days later, I don't see the dish I had so....on to the next.

We started with the charred octopus, a wonderful mixture of flavors. Scallops and duck followed, both delicious and plated beautifully. The portions were ideal, leaving us satisfied and ready for dessert, which included locally made ice cream (yeah!) and warm chocolate cake.

A delightful evening and as we walked outside we didn't even have the sense during dinner that the garden area was full because the volume was relaxing. Our waiter was awesome and his recommendations for beverages spot on!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been wanting to try the restauran ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have been wanting to try the restaurant since it opened and decided lunch with my girlfriend was the time to make it happen. I had read rave reviews for their grilled octopus and it did not disappoint. It was phenomenal. Since it was Monday lunch it was quite and we loved sitting on the patio. Will come back for dinner soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We especially liked the grilled octopus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We especially liked the grilled octopus and the beef carpaccio

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Virtu for the last meal of ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We enjoyed Virtu for the last meal of our honeymoon. It was DELICIOUS, both the food and the drinks. The atmosphere was also perfect and romantic. It is lovely for a date or to catch up with a dear friend who appreciates a wonderful food experience and creative spins on fantastic cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As an out of town guest, we were so happ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As an out of town guest, we were so happy to come across this gem! The service was great, the atmosphere was elegant yet relaxed and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My mother in laws dinner with 4 people b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My mother in laws dinner with 4 people booked. A 5th person showed up and the waitress said we couldn't just grab a chair and they may not have any extras. They eventually found a chair but so ridiculous 5 start restaurant doesn't have an extra chair? Food was wonderful, been there 3 times, but this time the service had a couple of hits like the one above plus they spilled coffee on my wife all down her shirt and just said sorry. No offer to cover our desserts for free or anything to make it up to her. I am just surprised I don't care about free dessert but it is the gesture that matters but all we got was a sorry and she left. I will be back for the food but disappointed in the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

One of our favorite dining experiences t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of our favorite dining experiences to date, and we are not easily pleased at restaurants. The turkey tail canelloni and chestnut gnocchi are outstanding. Keep up the good work, we will be back over and over.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love their brunch. Best octopus and clas ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love their brunch. Best octopus and classic crepe in the valley. All the food is excellent and the ice queens are tart and addicting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is always consistently, delicious!! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food is always consistently, delicious!!! Service is outstanding!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the "ice queen" cocktail and the g ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Loved the "ice queen" cocktail and the giant ribeye. The steak was large and well prepared, but, still overpriced. The octopus was not very tasty. Actually, rather bland. The outdoor patio was very nice and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Had an excellent experience when dining ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Had an excellent experience when dining at Virtu for a birthday celebration. Top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.