About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (151)
great for outdoor dining (135)
special occasion (112)
See All
romantic (92)
neighborhood gem (87)
notable wine list (45)
great for brunch (40)
hot spot (36)
great for lunch (23)
good for groups (22)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is OUTSTANDING. I normally don' ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food is OUTSTANDING. I normally don't spend time writing reviews, however, this restaurant impressed me enough that 5 days after dining there, I have to provide a positive feedback for others to experience the same. The duck with peaches & blue cheese had my taste buds go wild in the best way possible. My daughter had the corn hen and my mother enjoyed the seafood dish. 3 out of 3 dishes deserve a 10 out of 10! Service was great, along with the perfect wine recommendation for my duck. Definitely will remember this place and will go back when in Scottsdale!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the top five meals I've had in a life ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Of the top five meals I've had in a lifetime of travel, two have been at Virtu! The octopus! The trout! The pork in pork in pork! From decadently rich to delicately light, a meal at Virtu is a memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful,unique restaurant in old Scott ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful,unique restaurant in old Scottsdale. Great food and very thoughtful service.We always think of Virtu first on special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the perfect evening--celebrating ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had the perfect evening--celebrating a birthday and two anniversaries and our waiter Ivan was terrific as was the food. We couldn't have been happier and will obviously return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good on all levels

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good on all levels

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I simply cannot say enough good things a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I simply cannot say enough good things about this place, it is an absolute must! Their cocktails are creative, as well as their dishes. HIGHLY recommend the smoked duck if it's on the menu (love that they are seasonal and always mixing it up). The vibe is so quaint and comfortable. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely spectacular! Food, service, w ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely spectacular! Food, service, wine menu, full bar, ambiance, everything was perfect! We shared the charred octopus and the orata (italian fish) dishes and they were perfect. Both were perfectly cooked, with delectable embellishments. We absolutely cannot wait to go back! would love to try their brunch!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

In fairness (I am an investor in a resta ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

In fairness (I am an investor in a restaurant) I am more of a critic than the critics, and when time allows, I only eat in restaurants with outstanding reviews, some disappoint; Virtu did not. Server was young and needs to know the menu and beverage list better. The menu was limited, but original. The only worry I would concern myself about is the variety of the menu items offered. The "signature" octopus was excellent, yet the presentation (cut up) was substantially different than pictured (whole) on the website. Our second dish was a shredded pork with pouched egg and polenta; excellent!!! I would highly recommend Virtu...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating my birthday and my w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday and my wife made the arrangements for the evening. The food was very good, well presented and explained. I had the scallops, which were delicious. My wife had the orata fish, which she loved. We would happily go back again. Husband posted review.....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Be aware that the "Sma ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was amazing. Be aware that the "Small Bites" starters are large! Grilled Octopus was fabulous and I hate octopus! Bar drinks are unusual and fabulous. Disappointed that the scallops were not made with the 5-way corn, but still delicious! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great Place for a romantic dinner. Lovely menu, great wine selection, fresh food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Wonderful experience.

Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife is a chef, not easily impressed. We both were very impressed. Mateo , our waiter, was well informed about all aspects of the meal. We WILL be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Virtu. The m ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Virtu. The manager Joshua was proactive about calling ahead to inform me of the patio reservation being during a time of the day that the outside temperature would still be almost unbearable. He accommodated us and took really good care of us. Wesley was our server and he did a phenomenal job at walking us through menu and making wonderful recommendations. We ordered the scallops and duck; it was superb. I'm looking forward to trying the pork chop and chicken dishes on our next visit. The ambiance was very romantic and set the tone for our date night. I highly recommend Virtu Honest Craft for those looking to spend some amazing quality time with a significant other or small group of friends. The food will not disappoint you! TRY THE DESSERTS! They were DELICIOUS! Thank you for the amazing first time experience, we will be back and will be recommending your restaurant to family and friends.

food5
ambience5
service4

Unbelievable food - this was a meal to r ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Unbelievable food - this was a meal to remember

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Scottsdale

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in Scottsdale. From amazing service, to delicious food, to a stellar wine selection - hands down perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Ivan was passionate & knowled ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Our server Ivan was passionate & knowledgable about the menu. Food was creative and excellent. Highly recommended!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Had the grilled octopus and flank steak. ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Had the grilled octopus and flank steak. Food was impeccably prepared, very flavorful, and beautiful to the senses. The only better than the food is the staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie

Dined on May 24, 2016

One of our favorite places. The food is innovative and delicious. Service is excellent and dining on the patio is a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food and service!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off the beaten path, beautiful, amazing food.

Dined on May 24, 2016

This restaurant is off the main road, so it is quiet with excellent inside and beautiful seating outside. The food was delicious. So flavorful that it verged on sinful. This place is a must try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit here but it def ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

This was our first visit here but it definitely won't be our last. The service is excellent, the food was unbelievably fantastic and very unusual from what we are used to. While it is too pricey for us for everyday dining, it will definitely become one of our special occasion restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous

Dined on May 23, 2016

Virtu is a special dining experience not yo be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous brunch at Virtu. The crepe is o ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous brunch at Virtu. The crepe is outstanding and cocktails as well.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a disappointing dinner at Virtu l ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a disappointing dinner at Virtu last week, but the cause was " restaurant week." We had booked long before Virtu announced they were taking part and the menu only came two days before our reservation--too late to change our plans. Unlike many restaurants, Virtu was only serving the restaurant week menu, plus a few "add ons". Since we had come for the octopus we paid to order it in addition to the $44 dinner. We did not find the included appetizers up to Virtu standards. THe burrata was especially disappointing. Among the main courses, the Orata was good, but the pasta dish and the steak were unimaginative. In addition, since my husband is a diabetic the dessert course ( all sweet) were also a waste for us. We may give Virtu another chance, but NEVER during restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Four of us dined together during restaur ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Four of us dined together during restaurant week. We ordered the octopus as an app and for entrees fish, the pasta and the flat iron steak. We all thoroughly enjoyed or meals and the drinks were also excellent. Would definitely recommend and will certainly return. The only off putting issue was the service. Our server was rather uppity, cold, and rushed. Perhaps due to it being restaurant week she was a bit stressed but, she really made us feel rather unwelcome. Hopefully this is not her typical disposition! In any case I'd been wanting to try the restaurant for some time but, for some reason kept forgetting to put in rotation, but, now that I have done so I will definitely return. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal off-menu cocktails paired wit ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Phenomenal off-menu cocktails paired with top-notch meals at the bar!! Absolutely incredible restaurant. Can't wait to go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, amazing combinations of tast ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, amazing combinations of taste, and an excellent/creative drink menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great venue! Love the outside seating. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great venue! Love the outside seating. It's very quaint. Food was wonderful. Server was very attentive. The charred octopus was great portion!! It was a little over cooked but still tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. Wait staf ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. Wait staff was incredible. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

This small restaurant churns out excelle ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

This small restaurant churns out excellent food and provides good service. Definitely a place to good if you like upscale dining in an informal setting. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my fourth time to Virtu but my f ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

This is my fourth time to Virtu but my first for dinner. I live in Tucson, so it's easier to make the drive for lunch. It was great to be able to sneak away for a few days and experience dinner at this gem. I loved both menus equally, but the addition of wine and cocktails really added to the experience. We started with two appetizers: asparagus with duck egg and foie-gras hollandaise and the octopus. Both were divine. For entrees, my boyfriend ordered the duck, and I chose the squid ink pasta with Bolognese sauce. Having just returned from Venice, I'd put this pasta up against any dish I had in Italy. What makes Virtu stand out from other fine dining establishments, however, is the service. It's friendly and decidedly unstuffy, and the staff knows the menu and wine inside and out. The moderate prices are another plus. We enjoyed a bottle of white and red wine; had two appetizers; two entrees and a birthday dessert, all for a bit under $200 (plus tip). It was a great two hours, and we even struck up a conversation with a couple of regulars sitting at a nearby table. Because Virtu only seats about 25 inside, it's easy to make friends with neighboring diners.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Made reservations based on online review ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Made reservations based on online reviews. I believed a special occasion 51st b-day celebration for my wife while visiting AZ would be a good idea. First, I was planning on doing the Chef's Table but in order to do that, you have to tell them that info when you make reservations. I wish I had known that. The menu items we got were good but we wanted the Chef's Table. Second, it was mid May and the outdoor weather was perfect so I'm glad had requested an outside table. If you want to sit on the patio, you MUST request it when you make the reservation because it is going to be filled with prior reservations. Third, the wine list was good and large enough that everyone could find something at a price point to their liking. Fourth, my wife had the pork ragu and it was awesome. I liked it more than my pork rib chop, the latter dish of which had perfect char but was a bit overcooked by maybe 90 seconds. It wasn't dry but it was not medium well as a good pork rib chop should be. That being said, the pork rib chop was very large and I really liked it, but a tad overdone. Fifth, the desserts were very good but the late harvest sauvignon blanc made the dessert even better ... really, really good. Sixth, this is not a place for kids but teens would be fine. Nothing against kids but there is no sense in paying those prices for kids that won't appreciate it. Also, the ambiance is that of good, adult conversation in a relaxed and laid back atmosphere. I don't think kids would fit here, especially any under 12. Lastly, the wait staff. Our server was a nice and polite young lady who was adequate. She explained the menu well enough and was pleasant throughout the meal. However, there was a male server there who had obviously years of experience and knew how to do an excellent service. I watched how he did the tables near us and, yeah, he was top notch. So I would say service was good and could be bordering on the exceptionally good. I'd go again. Without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All-around excellent experience. Fabulou ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

All-around excellent experience. Fabulous food, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was lovely! The food was deli ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place was lovely! The food was delicious, the drinks were refreshing, the service was stupendous!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we have found in the val ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best restaurant we have found in the valley… Food was over-the-top delicious. Highly recommend the octopus and asparagus, both on the starter menu. Portions large enough for several people to have a taste. Bartender was very knowledgeable and cocktail list interesting. The desert worth every calorie :-) Can't wait to go back and work our way through the rest of the menu!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've eaten there before and the food is ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've eaten there before and the food is just outstanding. My friends were all enamored.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Always come here when visiting the Scottsdale area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dinner!

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Mother's Day dinner at Virtu Honest Craft. We loved the location on a quiet side street away from the craziness of Scottsdale Rd. The ambiance was very romantic especially on the lovely patio. I've never been a fan of octopus but Chef Gio's version is amazing! Charred on the outside but melt in your mouth tender on the inside. Loved it! Other highlights included the burrata appetizer, gnudi and the steak tagliata. We were lucky enough to have a dessert sampler and honestly had trouble deciding which one we liked the best. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a fantastic experience! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic place to eat delicious, fresh, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic place to eat delicious, fresh, creative food. Service was exceptional, friendly, warm and knowledgable. The food portions were larger than expected. We enjoyed very much and highly recommend the Insalata kale salad and Burrata cheese starters. Also for dessert you have to try the sticky toffee cake!

food5
ambience5
service5

Recommend sitting outside and enjoying a ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Recommend sitting outside and enjoying a balmy evening. Service top of the game. Entree's were the highlights, while the starters were good but nothing exceptional.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.