About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

For parties of 7 or more please contact the restaurant at 480-946-3477

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

fit for foodies (175)
great for outdoor dining (162)
special occasion (122)
See All
romantic (107)
neighborhood gem (90)
notable wine list (47)
great for brunch (46)
hot spot (36)
great for lunch (30)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (11)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the grilled octopus and flank steak. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had the grilled octopus and flank steak. Food was impeccably prepared, very flavorful, and beautiful to the senses. The only better than the food is the staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie

Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite places. The food is innovative and delicious. Service is excellent and dining on the patio is a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!!

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off the beaten path, beautiful, amazing food.

Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is off the main road, so it is quiet with excellent inside and beautiful seating outside. The food was delicious. So flavorful that it verged on sinful. This place is a must try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit here but it def ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit here but it definitely won't be our last. The service is excellent, the food was unbelievably fantastic and very unusual from what we are used to. While it is too pricey for us for everyday dining, it will definitely become one of our special occasion restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous

Dined 6 days ago

Virtu is a special dining experience not yo be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a disappointing dinner at Virtu l ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We had a disappointing dinner at Virtu last week, but the cause was " restaurant week." We had booked long before Virtu announced they were taking part and the menu only came two days before our reservation--too late to change our plans. Unlike many restaurants, Virtu was only serving the restaurant week menu, plus a few "add ons". Since we had come for the octopus we paid to order it in addition to the $44 dinner. We did not find the included appetizers up to Virtu standards. THe burrata was especially disappointing. Among the main courses, the Orata was good, but the pasta dish and the steak were unimaginative. In addition, since my husband is a diabetic the dessert course ( all sweet) were also a waste for us. We may give Virtu another chance, but NEVER during restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Four of us dined together during restaur ...

Dined 7 days ago

Four of us dined together during restaurant week. We ordered the octopus as an app and for entrees fish, the pasta and the flat iron steak. We all thoroughly enjoyed or meals and the drinks were also excellent. Would definitely recommend and will certainly return. The only off putting issue was the service. Our server was rather uppity, cold, and rushed. Perhaps due to it being restaurant week she was a bit stressed but, she really made us feel rather unwelcome. Hopefully this is not her typical disposition! In any case I'd been wanting to try the restaurant for some time but, for some reason kept forgetting to put in rotation, but, now that I have done so I will definitely return. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal off-menu cocktails paired wit ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Phenomenal off-menu cocktails paired with top-notch meals at the bar!! Absolutely incredible restaurant. Can't wait to go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, amazing combinations of tast ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, amazing combinations of taste, and an excellent/creative drink menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great venue! Love the outside seating. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great venue! Love the outside seating. It's very quaint. Food was wonderful. Server was very attentive. The charred octopus was great portion!! It was a little over cooked but still tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. Wait staf ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. Wait staff was incredible. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

This small restaurant churns out excelle ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

This small restaurant churns out excellent food and provides good service. Definitely a place to good if you like upscale dining in an informal setting. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my fourth time to Virtu but my f ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

This is my fourth time to Virtu but my first for dinner. I live in Tucson, so it's easier to make the drive for lunch. It was great to be able to sneak away for a few days and experience dinner at this gem. I loved both menus equally, but the addition of wine and cocktails really added to the experience. We started with two appetizers: asparagus with duck egg and foie-gras hollandaise and the octopus. Both were divine. For entrees, my boyfriend ordered the duck, and I chose the squid ink pasta with Bolognese sauce. Having just returned from Venice, I'd put this pasta up against any dish I had in Italy. What makes Virtu stand out from other fine dining establishments, however, is the service. It's friendly and decidedly unstuffy, and the staff knows the menu and wine inside and out. The moderate prices are another plus. We enjoyed a bottle of white and red wine; had two appetizers; two entrees and a birthday dessert, all for a bit under $200 (plus tip). It was a great two hours, and we even struck up a conversation with a couple of regulars sitting at a nearby table. Because Virtu only seats about 25 inside, it's easy to make friends with neighboring diners.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Made reservations based on online review ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Made reservations based on online reviews. I believed a special occasion 51st b-day celebration for my wife while visiting AZ would be a good idea. First, I was planning on doing the Chef's Table but in order to do that, you have to tell them that info when you make reservations. I wish I had known that. The menu items we got were good but we wanted the Chef's Table. Second, it was mid May and the outdoor weather was perfect so I'm glad had requested an outside table. If you want to sit on the patio, you MUST request it when you make the reservation because it is going to be filled with prior reservations. Third, the wine list was good and large enough that everyone could find something at a price point to their liking. Fourth, my wife had the pork ragu and it was awesome. I liked it more than my pork rib chop, the latter dish of which had perfect char but was a bit overcooked by maybe 90 seconds. It wasn't dry but it was not medium well as a good pork rib chop should be. That being said, the pork rib chop was very large and I really liked it, but a tad overdone. Fifth, the desserts were very good but the late harvest sauvignon blanc made the dessert even better ... really, really good. Sixth, this is not a place for kids but teens would be fine. Nothing against kids but there is no sense in paying those prices for kids that won't appreciate it. Also, the ambiance is that of good, adult conversation in a relaxed and laid back atmosphere. I don't think kids would fit here, especially any under 12. Lastly, the wait staff. Our server was a nice and polite young lady who was adequate. She explained the menu well enough and was pleasant throughout the meal. However, there was a male server there who had obviously years of experience and knew how to do an excellent service. I watched how he did the tables near us and, yeah, he was top notch. So I would say service was good and could be bordering on the exceptionally good. I'd go again. Without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All-around excellent experience. Fabulou ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

All-around excellent experience. Fabulous food, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was lovely! The food was deli ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place was lovely! The food was delicious, the drinks were refreshing, the service was stupendous!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we have found in the val ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best restaurant we have found in the valley… Food was over-the-top delicious. Highly recommend the octopus and asparagus, both on the starter menu. Portions large enough for several people to have a taste. Bartender was very knowledgeable and cocktail list interesting. The desert worth every calorie :-) Can't wait to go back and work our way through the rest of the menu!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've eaten there before and the food is ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've eaten there before and the food is just outstanding. My friends were all enamored.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Always come here when visiting the Scottsdale area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dinner!

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Mother's Day dinner at Virtu Honest Craft. We loved the location on a quiet side street away from the craziness of Scottsdale Rd. The ambiance was very romantic especially on the lovely patio. I've never been a fan of octopus but Chef Gio's version is amazing! Charred on the outside but melt in your mouth tender on the inside. Loved it! Other highlights included the burrata appetizer, gnudi and the steak tagliata. We were lucky enough to have a dessert sampler and honestly had trouble deciding which one we liked the best. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a fantastic experience! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic place to eat delicious, fresh, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic place to eat delicious, fresh, creative food. Service was exceptional, friendly, warm and knowledgable. The food portions were larger than expected. We enjoyed very much and highly recommend the Insalata kale salad and Burrata cheese starters. Also for dessert you have to try the sticky toffee cake!

food5
ambience5
service5

Recommend sitting outside and enjoying a ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Recommend sitting outside and enjoying a balmy evening. Service top of the game. Entree's were the highlights, while the starters were good but nothing exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful spot for a quiet anniversary ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Wonderful spot for a quiet anniversary brunch. Ice queens, delicious fig salad and a classic crepe. Hoke's service is always enjoyable. It's perfection on a shaded patio.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed an outstanding meal at Virtu ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed an outstanding meal at Virtu on a Saturday night. The ambiance, service , cuisine and libations were all terrific. I knew the experience would be special right away, after spying the place setting with sprigs of rosemary interwoven with the utensils. Our waiter was thoroughly versed and able to advise us on cocktail options and menu nuances. Virtu has become a "must go to" restaurant for us in Scottsdale.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good drinks, excellent servic ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food, good drinks, excellent service, a pleasant patio

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, fresh produce an ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was fantastic, fresh produce and the presentation was great. We had fantastic service and we recommend this place to anyone!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful evening. Was out for a girls night out..

Dined on April 30, 2016

...girls night out/birthday dinner. The menu was unique and offered a variety that all in our group could appreciate. We sat on the patio which was beautifully decorated and well lit with a relaxing ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very special dinner. Ivan was our waiter and from the very start it was perfect. We got great recommendations from Ivan for our selections and everything was amazing. My husband and I are tough critics and this was an exceptional meal. If you like octopus, theirs was the best we've ever had. The duck breast came with a fantastic foes grois flan that was so unique and delicious. My pork chop saltimbocca style was immense and just perfect. And we couldn't resist dessert, the bubino which was a bit like a creme brûlée or natillas.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit

Dined on April 28, 2016

Travel to scottsdale every few years and was lucky to find Virtu. This time, couldn't remember the name but was lucky enough to find it again. What a great place! Imaginative and we'll balanced menu. Nice wine list and an expansive choice of Amaros. Sat at the bar and enjoyed my conversation with Josh, the knowledgeable bartender, and Armand, the chef. Virtu is a must for me each time I'm in Scottsdale. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently awesome!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We always have a spectacular dining experience at Virtu! Charming ambiance, thoughtful service and amazingly creative food! Not to be missed! Especially enjoyed the asparagus appetizer and trout!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our fourth or fifth time here, and will be back shortly. Certainly among the best spots to take out of town guests, at least those who can appreciate a very fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

“Deserving of High Praise”

Dined on April 26, 2016

My wife and I selected Virtu based on TripAdvisor reviews. We wanted an upscale venue where we could bring our friend, for lunch, to celebrate her birthday. As it turned out, Vertu was the perfect choice. The food was outstanding and the service was superb. This being our first visit, we all had questions relating to the menu items. Our waitress, Christine, was well versed in the menu, and was able to answer all of our questions without hesitation. We chose to share various menu items so we could sample a cross section of Virtu's offerings. Christine entered our orders individually so we would not have multiple plates getting cold while we sampled the one we were enjoying. I'm sure she was able to do this because the restaurant was not crowded, but it was more work for her, and her cooperation is most appreciated. All in all, this was an excellent experience, and Virtu has earned a place at the top of our list of upscale restaurants in the Scottsdale area. Virtu is a small venue. An order can take a while, but good food takes a while to prepare properly. Virtu can be crowded and noisy, so go on a day and time when it is not crowded and it won't be noisy. For those of you that haven't tried Virtu, you are missing a real gem in the Old Town Scottsdale area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

our experience was outstanding the food was delicious . Sara our server was friendly and efficient. We never felt rushed . We have written Virtu as a must go to restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellence in Old Town Scottsdale

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We've eaten at Virtu two times in the past and were again very pleased with quality of food and wine selection. The vegetable dishes were fresh and lively and the cedar-planked arctic char with trumpet mushrooms, fiddleheads, bonefish caviar, and dashi butter was amazing. It was wild, woodsy heaven. I'd recommend omitting the grilled avocado and chive flowers for another dish though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love it

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We try to get to Virtu a few times a year, as the menu changes with the seasons. We were not disappointed. We never are. It's the first time we were able to sit outside and that changed the vibe to a more relaxed one. We didn't have to yell to hear each other! We will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Brunch/Lunch

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent for brunch/lunch. The outside tables are lovely. The service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant for anyone wh ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a great restaurant for anyone who is an adventuresome diner. The chef comes up with some fabulous combinations of flavors but it is definitely not a meat and potatoes kind of place. It is small too which helps the dining experience and I have never had anything there which was not both interesting and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service from the moment we wal ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Fantastic service from the moment we walked in and the hostess mentioned happy birthday to my wife, Great server very knowledgeable, didn't push the most expensive option when I asked just gave me his honest opinion. Fantastic place!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service, Nice People

Dined on April 19, 2016

This restaurant fires on all cylinders. My wife and I ate there twice over our five day stay in Scottsdale; an absolute first for us. Simply, we were compelled to return after our first sitting. Our advice is to come early to enjoy a creative cocktail and pleasant conversation with Jeremy behind the bar. A super-safe choice for a fine night out.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.