About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (97)
Special Occasion (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Romantic (65)
Notable Wine List (35)
Great for Brunch (28)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent dining experience. We let the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience. We let the chef know that we would have preferred a hot serving plate on which the food was served and that the short ribs should have been warmer. The suggestions were accepted with grace. Otherwise it was a beautiful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time to Vitru Honest Cafe in Scott ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time to Vitru Honest Cafe in Scottsdale. Had a lovely birthday dinner with superb service. The menu was interesting with a variety of uncommon selections, i.e., octopus, duck egg, duck, ocean trout tartar, Cornish game hens. Upon our early evening arrival on a Sunday, the dining room was virtually empty, but after 3 hours, the tables were filled with diners. Will try this restaurant again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The overall experience was not as good a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The overall experience was not as good as my previous visits. Saturday night and they did not have 3 or 4 items that were listed on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always great!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we have had since moving to Sc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best meal we have had since moving to Scottsdale! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and ambience are fantastic! We ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and ambience are fantastic! We enjoy the small feel, but can't wait till it's cool enough for patio dining. Our group enjoyed the evening so much, we didn't want to leave!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem! A must dining experience!

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A true gem! A must dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from the service, to the ambi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything from the service, to the ambience, to the food was perfection. One of the best meals I had. We had the asparagus and octopus app, and for entrees - the smoked duck, trout, bolognese, and cornish game hen. All were delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a friend's 77th birt ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 77th birthday, and we are so glad we decided to try Virtu for this occasion! We all loved the bistro atmosphere, the service was spectacular and the food marvelous! I cook a lot, but we all had entrees I could not have duplicated at home. The servings were a perfect size, and because of the birthday, they comped our order of the chocolate sticky cake, and was it ever yummy!!! We will be back and look forward to trying brunch there too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are few meals I have eaten that ch ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

There are few meals I have eaten that changed my standard for food, and this was one of them. The combinations of flavors and textures mixed with a perfect cook to complicated dishes is a must try for anyone in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was absolutely fabulous. The trout ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was absolutely fabulous. The trout with the baked avocado garnish was phenomenal. With friends who are ultra picky, they were blown away by their meals including a vegan entree NOT on the menu. Three hours: beautifully paced, served and prepared. Will be back in two weeks with family coming to town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my 4th or 5th time to Virtu. I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my 4th or 5th time to Virtu. I had duck & it was awful--I would give it a 0 rating. It appeared that there were 3 slices of duck on the plate of which 1 was edible & the other 2 were all fat!! Plus, the sauce was terrible--I had another friend try it & she agreed. I didn't complain as they were super busy & figured it would be useless. It absolute an waste of $$! The menu only attracts true food adventurists, not mainstream customer @ all. That's all ok, but just not enough choices. Will not be back, there are too many other great restaurants in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This became our new favorite spot in the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This became our new favorite spot in the valley. We have eaten some near $300 meals at other places and not been as excited as we were with the food here. Mateo was our server and if he is working, I highly recommend him. He was extremely knowledgeable but not condescending in how he compared and explained food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this small gem of a restaurant tha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Loved this small gem of a restaurant that focused so much attention to quality and creative food.

The nuances of flavor, spices and seasonings were complex, innovative and very palatable.

Service was attentive, professional and friendly. We will certainly be back to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Imaginative and delicious! I can't decid ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Imaginative and delicious! I can't decide which was better. My pork or the toffee cake. A real treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I came here soon after they ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I came here soon after they were rated the best new restaurant in america. we had a nice time and liked the restaurant and even had their signature octopus, but were unimpressed. So, when I had an opportunity to come again, I took it, in order to give Virtu a second chance to impress. Unfortunately, while i liked the restaurant, and everyone was extremely nice and the food was good, it just wasn't great. Sometimes, when a restaurant is so impressively thought of, it makes it difficult to live up to the expectations. I'm sorry that I can't give a higher rating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time there can't wait to return. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Second time there can't wait to return. The food and service are wonderful .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Virtu. It is a gem. Int ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

First visit to Virtu. It is a gem. Intimate, friendly spot with a very knowledgeable staff. The food and wine was outstanding. Loved the eclectic menu. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What can I say about this place. Firstly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What can I say about this place. Firstly, it was amazing. We did all 3 courses and walked out stuffed. I haven't had Octopus that good anywhere inside the US. My wife which doesn't like octopus found herself wanting to go back just for that! The cocktails are amazing so getting there a little earlier is well worth a couple of drinks.

P.S. Make sure that you listen to the wait staff. They have some incredible recommendations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Virtu 4 times now and every ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been to Virtu 4 times now and every time the food has been outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent from start to finish- each cou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent from start to finish- each course beautifully presented. Smoked duck breast entre was delicious - but the sticky toffee cake was the star of the meal. Service by a friendly, knowledgeable & totally engaged wait staff . While prices may be on the higher side- it is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

From the server to the food everything w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

From the server to the food everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected Virtu based on the review on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We selected Virtu based on the review on "Check Please." It was a special occasion with two birthdays. First we were seated next to a door on the west side. Men came out of this door two times with large buckets of some sloshing liquid, so heavy it took two men to carry it. This was inches from our table. People continued to go in and out, hitting my son over and over as they passed.

Our plates were not removed in a timely fashion, water not refilled and we were ignored and had to ask for service. The food wasn't horrible, but for the price it was mediocre. Our table of four had a bill of $300.00....one drink each, 3 appetizers and 4 entrees, which, if the food and ambience was good would have been OK. We had dinner the next night at Tarbell's with excellent service, great food and drinks plus dessert for $200.00. We won't be back, needless to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Wes was great and the food was outstandi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wes was great and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the restaurant, but will say tha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I loved the restaurant, but will say that I am a pretty conservative diner when it comes to meats. The restaurant is pretty adventurous with meats. However, they absolutely accommodated me and my meal was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, beautiful presentation a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food, beautiful presentation and great service. The octopus is a must try, but everything we ordered was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Unique and incredible options. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing. Unique and incredible options. Can't compare to anything as you haven't tried anything like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given a gift certificate to Virt ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were given a gift certificate to Virtu'. We opted to use it to celebrate Mom's birthday on July 14th. Our meal was fantastic. The Charred Octopus appetizer was to die for, the duck entree and our pomegranite granita dessert were delicious! Our server, Matt, was excellent...attentive, answered all our questions with food knowledge and grace, even brought us a sample of their red sauce base when I mentioned I couldn't find a good red sauce in Arizona and made a recommendation for us. We will definitely be going back to Virtu'!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The octopus lives up to its reputation. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The octopus lives up to its reputation. All of the dishes were phenomenal. Excellence delivered on all fronts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here with my boyfriend upon seeing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Came here with my boyfriend upon seeing some great online reviews. Their online menu noted that their regular menu frequently changes weekly, and sometimes daily, due to what's available. That is very appealing to me as clearly their products are fresh and likely local.

Upon arrival, however, the menu was extremely limited compared to what the online menu indicated. I do not eat pork or red meat and it was pretty much impossible to find an item that didn't include either. Of course, if this isn't a problem for you, then you're in luck! (And I realize most peoples' diets are more flexible).

Before we even fully got to ordering (we asked for scallops and another item) the waitress suggested we get the octopus instead of the scallops, being that their known for it and it was our first time in. So, I realize I sound like a difficult patron, but I don't eat octopus either, and told her so (they're highly intelligent, blah blah - I'm an animal person). She stood firm and said we should try it.. and my loyalty lacking boyfriend decided to go with.

The food overall was fine. I ended up getting the scallop for dinner, which was fantastic. My boyfriend seemed to enjoy the octopus, and he got the ghocchi as well, which was tasty and filling.

The setting is very cozy. They have a gorgeous outside patio that I would have loved to enjoy, but 108o just isn't comfortable for that. I hear they have a delicious brunch, so I'll be back when the weather permits to give that a shot outside.

Oh, lest I forget! The "Ice Queen" cocktail is liquid deliciousness and HIGHLY recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice little restaurant in downtown Scott ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice little restaurant in downtown Scottsdale off main drag.

Service was very good . The indoor dining was way too noisy and table space very cramped.

Appetizers were small but very good. Main dishes okay. The beef for two was over spiced and too fatty with a pile of arugula next to it. The fish and scallop dishes were good.

Deserts were tasty.

Overall a nice experience but not near the top of the a Scottsdale dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

What a great find! Loved the place, peo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

What a great find! Loved the place, people, and food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the asparagus with duck egg, and grilled ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

the asparagus with duck egg, and grilled octopus dishes were absolutely orgasmic

fresh, flavorable, great local ingredients

service friendly, knowledgable and food centric

great mixologist

foodies paradise

too bad too hot for the patio, but what a lovely spot for dining or drinks

will definitely be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoughtful menu, creative cocktails, qua ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Thoughtful menu, creative cocktails, quality ingredients, flavor-driven technique but not overly fussy--elegant comfort food with Italian food sensibilities and influences. Brunch is also treat experienced on a lovely patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is OUTSTANDING. I normally don' ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food is OUTSTANDING. I normally don't spend time writing reviews, however, this restaurant impressed me enough that 5 days after dining there, I have to provide a positive feedback for others to experience the same. The duck with peaches & blue cheese had my taste buds go wild in the best way possible. My daughter had the corn hen and my mother enjoyed the seafood dish. 3 out of 3 dishes deserve a 10 out of 10!

Service was great, along with the perfect wine recommendation for my duck. Definitely will remember this place and will go back when in Scottsdale!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the top five meals I've had in a life ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Of the top five meals I've had in a lifetime of travel, two have been at Virtu! The octopus! The trout! The pork in pork in pork! From decadently rich to delicately light, a meal at Virtu is a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful,unique restaurant in old Scott ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful,unique restaurant in old Scottsdale. Great food and very thoughtful service.We always think of Virtu first on special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the perfect evening--celebrating ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had the perfect evening--celebrating a birthday and two anniversaries and our waiter Ivan was terrific as was the food. We couldn't have been happier and will obviously return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good on all levels

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good on all levels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I simply cannot say enough good things a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I simply cannot say enough good things about this place, it is an absolute must! Their cocktails are creative, as well as their dishes. HIGHLY recommend the smoked duck if it's on the menu (love that they are seasonal and always mixing it up). The vibe is so quaint and comfortable. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.