About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (125)
great for outdoor dining (109)
special occasion (94)
See All
romantic (75)
neighborhood gem (74)
notable wine list (41)
great for brunch (34)
hot spot (31)
good for groups (21)
great for lunch (18)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved the restaurant, but will say tha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

I loved the restaurant, but will say that I am a pretty conservative diner when it comes to meats. The restaurant is pretty adventurous with meats. However, they absolutely accommodated me and my meal was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, beautiful presentation a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food, beautiful presentation and great service. The octopus is a must try, but everything we ordered was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Unique and incredible options. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing. Unique and incredible options. Can't compare to anything as you haven't tried anything like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given a gift certificate to Virt ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were given a gift certificate to Virtu'. We opted to use it to celebrate Mom's birthday on July 14th. Our meal was fantastic. The Charred Octopus appetizer was to die for, the duck entree and our pomegranite granita dessert were delicious! Our server, Matt, was excellent...attentive, answered all our questions with food knowledge and grace, even brought us a sample of their red sauce base when I mentioned I couldn't find a good red sauce in Arizona and made a recommendation for us. We will definitely be going back to Virtu'!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The octopus lives up to its reputation. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The octopus lives up to its reputation. All of the dishes were phenomenal. Excellence delivered on all fronts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here with my boyfriend upon seeing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Came here with my boyfriend upon seeing some great online reviews. Their online menu noted that their regular menu frequently changes weekly, and sometimes daily, due to what's available. That is very appealing to me as clearly their products are fresh and likely local.

Upon arrival, however, the menu was extremely limited compared to what the online menu indicated. I do not eat pork or red meat and it was pretty much impossible to find an item that didn't include either. Of course, if this isn't a problem for you, then you're in luck! (And I realize most peoples' diets are more flexible).

Before we even fully got to ordering (we asked for scallops and another item) the waitress suggested we get the octopus instead of the scallops, being that their known for it and it was our first time in. So, I realize I sound like a difficult patron, but I don't eat octopus either, and told her so (they're highly intelligent, blah blah - I'm an animal person). She stood firm and said we should try it.. and my loyalty lacking boyfriend decided to go with.

The food overall was fine. I ended up getting the scallop for dinner, which was fantastic. My boyfriend seemed to enjoy the octopus, and he got the ghocchi as well, which was tasty and filling.

The setting is very cozy. They have a gorgeous outside patio that I would have loved to enjoy, but 108o just isn't comfortable for that. I hear they have a delicious brunch, so I'll be back when the weather permits to give that a shot outside.

Oh, lest I forget! The "Ice Queen" cocktail is liquid deliciousness and HIGHLY recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice little restaurant in downtown Scott ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice little restaurant in downtown Scottsdale off main drag.

Service was very good . The indoor dining was way too noisy and table space very cramped.

Appetizers were small but very good. Main dishes okay. The beef for two was over spiced and too fatty with a pile of arugula next to it. The fish and scallop dishes were good.

Deserts were tasty.

Overall a nice experience but not near the top of the a Scottsdale dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

What a great find! Loved the place, peo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

What a great find! Loved the place, people, and food. Highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the asparagus with duck egg, and grilled ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

the asparagus with duck egg, and grilled octopus dishes were absolutely orgasmic

fresh, flavorable, great local ingredients

service friendly, knowledgable and food centric

great mixologist

foodies paradise

too bad too hot for the patio, but what a lovely spot for dining or drinks

will definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoughtful menu, creative cocktails, qua ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Thoughtful menu, creative cocktails, quality ingredients, flavor-driven technique but not overly fussy--elegant comfort food with Italian food sensibilities and influences. Brunch is also treat experienced on a lovely patio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is OUTSTANDING. I normally don' ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food is OUTSTANDING. I normally don't spend time writing reviews, however, this restaurant impressed me enough that 5 days after dining there, I have to provide a positive feedback for others to experience the same. The duck with peaches & blue cheese had my taste buds go wild in the best way possible. My daughter had the corn hen and my mother enjoyed the seafood dish. 3 out of 3 dishes deserve a 10 out of 10!

Service was great, along with the perfect wine recommendation for my duck. Definitely will remember this place and will go back when in Scottsdale!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the top five meals I've had in a life ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Of the top five meals I've had in a lifetime of travel, two have been at Virtu! The octopus! The trout! The pork in pork in pork! From decadently rich to delicately light, a meal at Virtu is a memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful,unique restaurant in old Scott ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful,unique restaurant in old Scottsdale. Great food and very thoughtful service.We always think of Virtu first on special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the perfect evening--celebrating ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had the perfect evening--celebrating a birthday and two anniversaries and our waiter Ivan was terrific as was the food. We couldn't have been happier and will obviously return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good on all levels

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good on all levels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I simply cannot say enough good things a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I simply cannot say enough good things about this place, it is an absolute must! Their cocktails are creative, as well as their dishes. HIGHLY recommend the smoked duck if it's on the menu (love that they are seasonal and always mixing it up). The vibe is so quaint and comfortable. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Service was decent ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was decent. Location is great. We went for our 30th anniversary. I had let them know and advance. I was a little disappointed, that Nothing special was done for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely spectacular! Food, service, w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely spectacular! Food, service, wine menu, full bar, ambiance, everything was perfect!

We shared the charred octopus and the orata (italian fish) dishes and they were perfect. Both were perfectly cooked, with delectable embellishments. We absolutely cannot wait to go back! would love to try their brunch!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In fairness (I am an investor in a resta ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

In fairness (I am an investor in a restaurant) I am more of a critic than the critics, and when time allows, I only eat in restaurants with outstanding reviews, some disappoint; Virtu did not. Server was young and needs to know the menu and beverage list better.

The menu was limited, but original. The only worry I would concern myself about is the variety of the menu items offered. The "signature" octopus was excellent, yet the presentation (cut up) was substantially different than pictured (whole) on the website. Our second dish was a shredded pork with pouched egg and polenta; excellent!!!

I would highly recommend Virtu...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were celebrating my birthday and my w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday and my wife made the arrangements for the evening. The food was very good, well presented and explained. I had the scallops, which were delicious. My wife had the orata fish, which she loved. We would happily go back again.

Husband posted review.....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Be aware that the "Sma ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was amazing. Be aware that the "Small Bites" starters are large! Grilled Octopus was fabulous and I hate octopus! Bar drinks are unusual and fabulous. Disappointed that the scallops were not made with the 5-way corn, but still delicious! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great Place for a romantic dinner. Lovely menu, great wine selection, fresh food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Wonderful experience.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife is a chef, not easily impressed. We both were very impressed.

Mateo , our waiter, was well informed about

all aspects of the meal. We WILL be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Virtu. The m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Virtu. The manager Joshua was proactive about calling ahead to inform me of the patio reservation being during a time of the day that the outside temperature would still be almost unbearable. He accommodated us and took really good care of us.

Wesley was our server and he did a phenomenal job at walking us through menu and making wonderful recommendations. We ordered the scallops and duck; it was superb. I'm looking forward to trying the pork chop and chicken dishes on our next visit.

The ambiance was very romantic and set the tone for our date night. I highly recommend Virtu Honest Craft for those looking to spend some amazing quality time with a significant other or small group of friends. The food will not disappoint you! TRY THE DESSERTS! They were DELICIOUS!

Thank you for the amazing first time experience, we will be back and will be recommending your restaurant to family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable food - this was a meal to r ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Unbelievable food - this was a meal to remember

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best in Scottsdale

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in Scottsdale. From amazing service, to delicious food, to a stellar wine selection - hands down perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Ivan was passionate & knowled ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our server Ivan was passionate & knowledgable about the menu. Food was creative and excellent. Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the grilled octopus and flank steak. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Had the grilled octopus and flank steak. Food was impeccably prepared, very flavorful, and beautiful to the senses. The only better than the food is the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Foodie

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

One of our favorite places. The food is innovative and delicious. Service is excellent and dining on the patio is a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Off the beaten path, beautiful, amazing food.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This restaurant is off the main road, so it is quiet with excellent inside and beautiful seating outside. The food was delicious. So flavorful that it verged on sinful. This place is a must try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit here but it def ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was our first visit here but it definitely won't be our last. The service is excellent, the food was unbelievably fantastic and very unusual from what we are used to. While it is too pricey for us for everyday dining, it will definitely become one of our special occasion restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Virtu is a special dining experience not yo be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous brunch at Virtu. The crepe is o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous brunch at Virtu. The crepe is outstanding and cocktails as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a disappointing dinner at Virtu l ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a disappointing dinner at Virtu last week, but the cause was " restaurant week." We had booked long before Virtu announced they were taking part and the menu only came two days before our reservation--too late to change our plans. Unlike many restaurants, Virtu was only serving the restaurant week menu, plus a few "add ons". Since we had come for the octopus we paid to order it in addition to the $44 dinner. We did not find the included appetizers up to Virtu standards. THe burrata was especially disappointing. Among the main courses, the Orata was good, but the pasta dish and the steak were unimaginative. In addition, since my husband is a diabetic the dessert course ( all sweet) were also a waste for us. We may give Virtu another chance, but NEVER during restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Four of us dined together during restaur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Four of us dined together during restaurant week. We ordered the octopus as an app and for entrees fish, the pasta and the flat iron steak. We all thoroughly enjoyed or meals and the drinks were also excellent. Would definitely recommend and will certainly return. The only off putting issue was the service. Our server was rather uppity, cold, and rushed. Perhaps due to it being restaurant week she was a bit stressed but, she really made us feel rather unwelcome. Hopefully this is not her typical disposition! In any case I'd been wanting to try the restaurant for some time but, for some reason kept forgetting to put in rotation, but, now that I have done so I will definitely return. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Phenomenal off-menu cocktails paired wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Phenomenal off-menu cocktails paired with top-notch meals at the bar!! Absolutely incredible restaurant. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, amazing combinations of tast ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, amazing combinations of taste, and an excellent/creative drink menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great venue! Love the outside seating. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great venue! Love the outside seating. It's very quaint.

Food was wonderful. Server was very attentive. The charred octopus was great portion!! It was a little over cooked but still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. Wait staf ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. Wait staff was incredible. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.