About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Local Ingredients (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Seasonal (18)
Authentic (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Casual (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wine list not good. Very overpriced for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Wine list not good. Very overpriced for mediocre wines. Paid $120 for a Barolo that was terrible; probably a $20 wine at best. Killed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ambiance was lovely. Cloth napkin w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

The ambiance was lovely. Cloth napkin with twine and rosemary was a perfect touch. The food was to die for... The creamy polenta with eggs and pork ragout divine. Can't wait to return on a sunny day and linger on the patio!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I normally do not write reviews but in t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

I normally do not write reviews but in this case has a person who goes to restaurants on a weekly basis I have to educate the consumer. Iam not from AZ but from Ny who was visiting Scottsdale. I made a reservation on Open table on valentines night. When my wife and i were seated we were presented with a prefix menu for that night and there were no substitutes or changes to the food. My wife looked at the menu and pretty much did not like most of the choices and they were limited to 3 main courses. The waiter told us that the restaurants web site explain all this and we should have know this before going there. However on Open table there was never a note or display about this at all. However this was Valentines night and most Restaurant at 7pm were booked so we decided to stay. We chose our food and ordered. This is where things turned pretty bad. My wife ordered a salad , Gnocchi in a chocolate sauce, and braised short Ribs in chocolate sauce I guess it was v valentines day and chocolate sauce must be the in thing. I ordered octopus, catoloni, and a grilled pork chop all things with a chocolate sauce except the Octopus. We started eating and when my wife's Gnocchi came out it tasted like it had chlorophyll in it it was vial. My wife did not say anything until our main courses came out. My wife braised short Ribs came out with my grilled pork chop both dishes were terrible. The short rib was overcooked and tasteless and my pork chop was also overcooked and completely well done. My wife told our waiter take the away the short rib and get me another salad and they offered me another pork chop. At that time the manager came over to us and asked what was wrong with the food we explained what happened and instead of being apologetic he said no one in the restaurant complained about the food except us and his food was excellent . i said to him how do you know that he said he tried everything on the menu that night. Then he said if you don't like it we do not have to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was excellent. Was not aware of pri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Was not aware of price fixed menu for Valentines Day. Thought it was a little "pricey". Would be hard pressed to go again when set menu. Was a great evening though but extremely expensive

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day dinner was price fixe an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day dinner was price fixe and expensive!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

We used Open Table's app to find this pl ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We used Open Table's app to find this place.

This is really a great place.

We learned from our server that it is chef-owned. Server was very very knowledgeable, consistently courteous, and attentive.

Food was very good.

Especially impressed with the service all the way around. Somewhat refreshing that the whole team genuinely cared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is a must to dine in. Take it ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is a must to dine in. Take it from someone who lives in the heart of Chicago surrounding with top Michelin restaurants. The ambiance of the restaurant took me Brackett to Lucca in Tuscany. I felt as if I was sitting right there with the fountains running just as they do in Lucca. Then, the food we ordered arrived, every bite bursted with ton of flavors.. we were in heaven!! Thumbs up to the chef! Virtu is definitely my new found gem in old town, AZ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The patio setting for the restaurant was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

The patio setting for the restaurant was amazing! The staff was friendly, sincere and well informed! Loved the food! Have already recommended it to others.

A definite must next time we are in Scottsdale! We'd be regulars if we lived there!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virtu is fabulous -- great food and the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Virtu is fabulous -- great food and the best setting in Scottsdale. Love it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scored big points taking my wife for val ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Scored big points taking my wife for valentines! She said it was one of the best meals she's ever had and the ambiance was great. Highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent anniversary dinner a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had an excellent anniversary dinner at Virtu. First time we tried the octopus appetizer and it was amazing! The short ribs and scallops were incredible too. Worth the time and value. Our server Hoke made it an enjoyable experience as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant and relatively small restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Pleasant and relatively small restaurant with a modest menu of about 5-6 small plates, 5 appetizers and mains. . Excellent service and good drinks. Octopus was tender with a nice charred flavor, and the asparagus with duck egg also quite good. My pork chop was tasty but on the dry side but the cherry reduction sauce was delicious. My wife had the fish which was well prepared and tasty if a bit overwhelmed by its topping. Dessert of biding was creamy and rich. Overall a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent and the service was t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent and the service was top notch. Loved everything about the experience. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rarely write reviews, but could not be ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I rarely write reviews, but could not be happier with our experience here. The food was great, our waiter made great recommendations and I walked away completely satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best ever. We loved the octop ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best ever. We loved the octopus app. And the sea bass was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always eat at Virtu (sometimes more than ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always eat at Virtu (sometimes more than once) when we visit Phoenix area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The lunch menu is nicely balanced and in ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The lunch menu is nicely balanced and innovative enough to provide interest with overwhelming. Equal sized seating inside and out. Cozy with Med flare. Seating was great and enjoying the 75F Phoenix weather. Just excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our third time at Virtu (last year we di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our third time at Virtu (last year we dined there two nights in a row because we loved it so much). Great, beautifully prepared fresh ingredients with an exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly staff. All are pros. Their octopus is the best we have ever had anywhere in the world. All plates are balanced with an artistic presentation. Each ingredient is well thought out. Asparagus with the duck egg was unctuous. Small dining area with a great vibe and excellent cuisine. "Small plates" are not that small and entrees are perfect. Look forward to our next return. Referred this restaurant to three other couples and everyone of them gave it rave reviews.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service and food, came in for my ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing service and food, came in for my girlfriend's birthday brunch and it could not of been more perfect! Will be coming often. Thank you! Mateo is always a great Dude!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Tapas, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic all the way around! The octopu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic all the way around! The octopus dish is a must!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Virtu prior to a concert at SM ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We ate at Virtu prior to a concert at SMOCA, very convenient. We were seated promptly, say outside and were well attended to. Both my wife and I thought the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We selected Virtu for a dinner out durin ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We selected Virtu for a dinner out during our girls weekend. Food was spectacular, service was top shelf and ambience was amazing. We are on the patio and alright it was a cool night the heaters made everything warm and cozy. I would recommend ordering the octopus. It's one of their signature dishes and I know why. All of us ordered something different, beef, fish and seafood and shared bites. Perfect! Topping it off with the chocolate toffee sea salt dessert. OMG!!! I'm making reservations for our next guest event!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful find. Visited during a trip to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful find. Visited during a trip to visit a friend. Dining outside in January, loved the fish and my friend had short ribs. Excellent. Recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We'd eaten here before for dinner and lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We'd eaten here before for dinner and loved the octopus so we decided to try the brunch. It was not disappointing. We had the octopus again and it was still wonderful - the best we've ever had. I had the veggie crepe which was filled with tasty vegetables and, I believe, goat cheese. My husband had a salad which was very large and had a wonderful dressing. We each had gelato to finish our meal - the dark chocolate and the salted caramel were tops. Our server was very helpful and friendly which made the meal a great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat there each time we come to AZ, al ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We eat there each time we come to AZ, always fantastic. Just GO!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but management has a terribl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, but management has a terrible attitude. Ordered the Burrata cheese starter which was very good. I needed some extra bread to finish the cheese. They charged me $4 for the 4 small additional slices of bread. When I asked the manager to remove it because I felt it was petty and unnecessary, he refused. I am sorry, but when I spend $150 (for 2) at a restaurant, I do not expect to be nickel and dimed. Probably will not go back. Plenty of other excellent options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The menu says they offer vegan option, w ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The menu says they offer vegan option, when I asked about this. The waitress said they sometimes have a vegetarian option. I said that would be ok. She asked and came back to say there wasn't any available. I asked is there anything in the menu without meat. She said the arugula salad. I ordered that. It was not something I would normally eat because it was so sweet. We left and had dinner at another restaurant. The ambiance is cute but the service was not great and the food was over-hyped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We were visiting friends and totally enj ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were visiting friends and totally enjoyed everything about this restaurant. The waiter was amazing as was the food. Upscale and delicious!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat to come here! After dini ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Always a treat to come here! After dining here several times for dinner, this was the first time for brunch/lunch - and it was excellent. Not only that, but lunch is MUCH quieter, which was a plus. The grilled octopus was perfect, as was the salad with dried figs. Delicious martinis, and great wines by-the-glass. The patio is delightful. Highly recommended, whenever you go!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, ambience were all first r ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food, service, ambience were all first rate.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When you go out to dinner you expect goo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

When you go out to dinner you expect good service and good food and leave satisfied. Every once in a while you go out to dinner and are amazed at the quality of the food, the amazing service and the overall ambience. This was the case for us here. Everything we tried was flavorful and robust. Excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal, unique and delicious

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fabulous meal, unique and delicious

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Virtu many times and will ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I have been to Virtu many times and will continue dining at this very unique and wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, ambiance, service. Everythi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food, ambiance, service. Everything was spectacular.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best meal in AZ, hands down. Appetizers, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Best meal in AZ, hands down. Appetizers, pasta course, main courses, dessert, after-dinner drinks... everything was perfect, not a single miss. Service was beyond phenomenal (thank you, Ivan!), and the place has a wonderful romantic ambiance. The grilled octopus needs to be on every foodie's bucket list. The handmade bucatini was a revelation. Duck and scallops were cooked and presented flawlessly. Toffee cake was to die for. You get the idea. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're eating here often enough to almost ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We're eating here often enough to almost be regulars. Everything is consistently excellent. The menu changes often enough to stay interesting. The wine selection is limited but well curated. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit to Virtu and i ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our fourth visit to Virtu and it was as fabulous as the first three times. As always, we had the octopus appetizer and the steak for two as our entree. There was really enough for 3-4 people so we will be enjoying the leftovers tomorrow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Virtu. Bot ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our second visit to Virtu. Both times it was outstanding. This time we dined on the patio (in January) with heaters. It was more than comfortable. Excellent food, excellent ambiance and more than excellent octopus appetizer. My new favorite restaurant in Scottsdale.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our time at Virtu. This ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Virtu. This time, we tried new things, since the menu had changed. It was a great decision. We have never had a bad meal at this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We heard the charred octopus was a must ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We heard the charred octopus was a must but we found it dry and over charred. The pasta dish we had was wonderful and homemade. A bit too much spice in the tagine, and we like spice. The food was pretty good all in all but not worth the price we paid.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.