About Virtu Honest Craft

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Creative Cuisine (80)
See All
Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Cozy (41)
Local Ingredients (40)
Worth the Drive (37)
Authentic (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Seasonal (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Healthy (17)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (14)
Fun (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Organic (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Scenic View (6)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice. Will go back. Great menu. Close quarters.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been on OpenTable since inception. Our time at Virtu was the singularly worst restaurant experience we have had in a decade. They seated us inside although we asked for an outside table. The room was very smoky. The octopus was good. The rabbit gnocchi was 25 minutes late and cold. It took 10 minutes to correct. The pork chop came out. It was ice cold. I mean cold. The hostess picked it up and told my wife and I it was warming her hand. We both started laughing at her. Waiter came by and apologized. They comped everything including a bottle of wine. That gives you an idea of the total disaster this place has become.

Don't bother

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and cocktails. Their wine list is impressive for the range and quality of the wines. Service was excellent as the staff supported each pther as a team. Both the indoor and outdoor dining areas are superb. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely lunch with a friend. Weather permitted outside dining...just perfect!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our best meal in Scottsdale. DO NOT Mis the octopus. Bistecca was perfect and fed 4 people easily. Budino and sticky toffee cake were to die for. I'll dream about this meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

I've reviewed Virtu in detail several times. It's just excellent in every respect. Eat the Octopus. This time I had the Gnocchi with Rabbit. Fabulous. My wife had Scallops. She loved them. Go here as often as you can.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch at Virtu was an outstanding gastronomical experience, capped with excellent service. The exterior space is a bit cramped, but the food was outstanding and well worth many return trips to try the rest of the menu. Personally, I enjoyed my drink and asked the waiter for the recipe. He returned with a written recipe and tips about what liquors to use in the drink. Personal and above and beyond his responsibility. My pork ragu was excellent and my wife's ham and gruyere crepe was excellent as well. One of our favorite spots.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had brunch at Virtu and it exceeded already high expectations. Absolutely amazing- every single dish. Our waiter was fantastic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is good. The service is spotty. Some waiting staff is very attentive. Some are not all all and do not ever ask for refills, like this last time. Hostess was rude too. Did not accommodate us outside because we did not specify it in our reservation, although there were plenty of open spaces for two. She stated they were reserved but the whole time we were there, no couples claimed those spots.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday was our third time here and it wasn't as memorable as it had been in the past. It was a beautiful day and it certainly was nice to sit outside in their nice garden but the service and food were just okay. I must say my mother enjoyed the ricotta pancakes and the portion was just enough for her but if you're hungry the portion might be considered small especially at the price point of $12.00 for 2 medium sized pancakes. I ordered the grilled cheese with prosciutto and fig jam which was tasty but the prosciutto must have been mashed up in it because neither could you taste it or see it; I guess I was expecting thinly sliced strips of prosciutto for $13.00. The arugula and fennel salad was nice with a light dressing. My husband had chistorra (sausage) and eggs which he said was mostly potatoes for $14.00. The coffee wasn't bad since it wasn't bitter but it was weak. Our server seemed to have an attitude but he was prompt with making sure we refills on coffee and water without having to ask. Doubt we will return with so many other places in the valley to try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went to Virtu for Easter, loved the ambience and outdoor area. Food was very good. Definitely will be back for dinner

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good and coffee was delicious. We had reservations for right when they opened so it was a little distracting watching them get ready while we were eating but overall, good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have dined here many times in the past, but will not return. The whole atmosphere was one of indifference. The service was arrogant. We waited an hour and a half for food that was nearly inedible. When we sent back two dishes, no one asked if there was something else they could get us. No one really cared. We are experienced diners and this was the worst restaurant experience we've had in twelve years. There are many wonderful places to eat in this area. Avoid this one.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for brunch, amazing food! Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The menu is very limited, but excellent. It changes often.
It's definitely a "foodie" place to eat. Outside table is a must!
FYI. It closes in the summer months, except for brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our third trip and it just gets betters every time. The food is always great and the outdoor patio makes for a very complimentary atmosphere. They always have unique drinks and have never been disappointed with any.

Super place for a romantic dinner or to get together with friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Arizona. The octopus is amazing. The food is beautiful and special.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My sister and I had dinner on the patio at Virtu on Tuesday evening. The ambiance was wonderful and the food, outstanding. We live on opposite sides of Canada and don't see each other that often, so our evening at Virtu was a delight. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Virtu WAS our favorite "go-to" for special occasions. Alas no longer. The atmosphere has changed: from warm & friendly to arrogant. While the menu has always been limited, it now seems focused on the exotic (rabbit!) and extravagant (only one steak option - a 40 oz steak for two!). 8 to 10 oz steaks are the normal at Scottsdale restaurants. Lastly, the waiter was very aggressive "selling" multiple courses and telling us the way people "normally" order at Virtu. We will take our business elsewhere.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Duck was served cold and when returned a second time was a half portion and still cold. Chef was more involved in serving and entertaining his extended family than the paying guests. Service very slow and servers attitude changed when we complained and didn't order desert. Second visit to this restaurant and had same issue of cold entrees both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We wanted to try something new for our anniversary however their menu was not online so we went off pictures. It looked like the food was good. We had a reservation for 5:15. However we got there and the table we got was horrible. I asked for a table outside they told us no they were all booked up. There was only one other couple there besides us. Then we look at the menu. Most of the menu did not seem very appealing. We did not know what most of the ingredients were. When the waitress explained the menu she literally just regurgitated what was on the menu so no real explanation. So we ordered drinks and left.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Some dishes excellent others not so great. Limited menu choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This has been one of our very favorite restaurants for several years. We always make it a point to eat there whenever we are in the Phoenix area. The food is creative, excellently prepared, and nicely presented by a staff that offers top drawer service. The grilled octopus small plate is the best I've had since eating octopus in small waterfront cafes in the Greek islands. The quality of the mixed drinks from the bar is equal to the food. The one critique is that if you can't eat outside, be prepared for a rather dense interior experience with a noise level that sometimes makes conversation a bit challenging. But, even then, the quality of the dining experience is well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was my third time at Virtu. They are consistently good. Party of 4. We all ordered different appetizers, entrees and desserts. Not one complaint with any of them. All were very good to outstanding. We ate outside. My only issue with Virtue is that inside dining is noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Outdoor dining is lovely at this restaurant. While the food is very good, the menu is very limited and doesn't seem to change. The service doesn't measure up to the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Small portions, no offer of bread or other amenities. Not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great for brunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hand crafted food cocktails and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We arrived at 6:00 PM. The service was excellent but as the restaurant filled the service lagged. But is a beautiful restaurant with excellent food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Terrific food andvservice. Very unique dishes. Very interesting wine list. Patio seating was wonderful.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent cuisine and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent food, service. Fine mixologist behind the bar

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

So worth it! Truly delicious mix of ingredients and we had delicious cocktails and really good wine. Try the Octopus small plate. Scallops and the Sea Bream were both amazing. We'd go back and will recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Loved the smallness or the place and the specialty menu; both food and drink. Everything was a described by our fantastic server, Ivan!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was excellent and the service exceptional. Attention to detail, and it shows. I will be coming back to this restaurant again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food at Virtu is really excellent. It is clearly one of the best kitchens in the Phoenix area. The wait service is also quite good. However the hosting and reception is mediocre. I sometimes get the feeling they are doing me a favor by seating us. That said I definitely think the kitchen is worth the rough edges at the hosting station.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was our second visit and it was still wonderful. Food, service, cocktails were perfect! Already looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome creative food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was top notch. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

That was truly one of the best meals I've ever had! We loved the octopus, burrata and duck. Delicious! And perfect, friendly and down to earth service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.