About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate love Virtù style with Chef Gio's seductive all chocolate menu! Each dish in this 4 course experience sings with savory & sweet chocolate notes that will bring your palette to ecstasy. A complimentary glass of champagne and rose will be topped with a finale of a chocolate covered strawberry

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Seasonal (14)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fun (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous meal, unique and delicious

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 20 hours ago

Fabulous meal, unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Virtu many times and will ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to Virtu many times and will continue dining at this very unique and wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best meal in AZ, hands down. Appetizers, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Best meal in AZ, hands down. Appetizers, pasta course, main courses, dessert, after-dinner drinks... everything was perfect, not a single miss. Service was beyond phenomenal (thank you, Ivan!), and the place has a wonderful romantic ambiance. The grilled octopus needs to be on every foodie's bucket list. The handmade bucatini was a revelation. Duck and scallops were cooked and presented flawlessly. Toffee cake was to die for. You get the idea. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're eating here often enough to almost ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We're eating here often enough to almost be regulars. Everything is consistently excellent. The menu changes often enough to stay interesting. The wine selection is limited but well curated. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit to Virtu and i ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our fourth visit to Virtu and it was as fabulous as the first three times. As always, we had the octopus appetizer and the steak for two as our entree. There was really enough for 3-4 people so we will be enjoying the leftovers tomorrow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Virtu. Bot ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit to Virtu. Both times it was outstanding. This time we dined on the patio (in January) with heaters. It was more than comfortable. Excellent food, excellent ambiance and more than excellent octopus appetizer. My new favorite restaurant in Scottsdale.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our time at Virtu. This ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Virtu. This time, we tried new things, since the menu had changed. It was a great decision. We have never had a bad meal at this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We heard the charred octopus was a must ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We heard the charred octopus was a must but we found it dry and over charred. The pasta dish we had was wonderful and homemade. A bit too much spice in the tagine, and we like spice. The food was pretty good all in all but not worth the price we paid.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the second time we have dined at ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is the second time we have dined at Virtu and we will definitely be back. They were very busy and had run out of 2 of our choices. Ivan our server was very apologetic and brought us an appetizer and dessert on the house for our inconvenience. Food and service was excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was expecting more considering the hy ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I was expecting more considering the hype this restaurant has received... Nothing overly negative to report, but given the plethora of great options in the Scottsdale area I would go elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good, service rather poor. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was good, service rather poor.

Their website indicates they have a vegetarian and vegan menu however, when arriving at the restaurant they have only 1 or 2 vegetarian items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful outdoor setting, excellent ser ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Beautiful outdoor setting, excellent service and unique interesting menu. The appetizer charred octopus was delicious and perfectly prepared. Choices on the wine list were limited but adequate. The rest of the evening; pasta selections, entrees and desert were significantly less than average. This was a highly anticipated dining spot but was disappointing; we will not return.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a lovely evening at the bar. Grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a lovely evening at the bar. Great food and service, complete with a show by the bartender. A memorable dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

with or without the hype, james beard bl ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

with or without the hype, james beard bla bla bla, food was disappointing. Everything was overly salted, not any stand out or dish that I would re-order

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I wanted to like this place. I love the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I wanted to like this place. I love the location and ambiance. The dishes sounded amazing but I can say I've had better at those prices. If the service had been better the experience might have been more pleasant. The server forgot my lemons for my food and was hard to find when we needed him. We felt that we were not a concern. The charred octopus was soft and easy to cut with a fork. However it was too salty to enjoy. The gnocchi and kale had high expectations but didn't deliver. The flavor was bland. The scallops for the main were very delicious. I just wish there were more. The duck and chorizo with butternut squash was salty with the chorizo but the duck was cooked perfectly. I would like to try this place again to try more dishes but the service makes me hesitate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

One of our favorite restaurants in the U ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the United States

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing again. Food was luke warm. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Disappointing again. Food was luke warm. My pork rib with polenta was very tasty but there was much fat i had to cut off which didn't leave enough meat.

I would recommend but with caveat...wish Virtu hasn't become so inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Housed in the excellent BeSpoke Inn, thi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Housed in the excellent BeSpoke Inn, this is Scottsdale's go-to restaurant for brunch. Have dined here multiple times on two, separate vacations. Food quality and wait staff are consistently top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Hoyt was super helpful and in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our waiter Hoyt was super helpful and interesting to talk to. He helped make our time at virtu most enjoyable. Of course the food was well prepared and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've never had such tender, juicy and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We've never had such tender, juicy and thick octopus as we did here! Delicious. Glad our server recommended it to us. The drink combinations were so unique and yummy. We had the gnocchi and scallops and we were both very pleased with the flavors that each dish had. We had the chocolate dessert which was divine. Just the right amount of rich and moist cake. The sea salt ice cream on top was the perfect combination. We would definitely go back as the menu changes with what's in season and would love to try more of what this chef creates!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the greatest meals I've ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was one of the greatest meals I've ever had. The food is local and cooked to perfection. Each flavor is carefully selected to create dishes with the most incredibly nuanced flavors. I'm glad I was with a group, because I wanted to eat everything on the menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved everything we ordered. It was d ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We loved everything we ordered. It was delicious! Octopus is not overrated it is as good as people say. Pork ragu was sublime. We had a wonderful experience on a delightful December sunny day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been meaning to dine here since ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been meaning to dine here since seeing on Check Please Arizona. The ever changing menu is fantastic, the cocktails are delicious and the wine list is extensive. I only wish I remembered our waiter's name as he was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, atmosphere was excell ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food, service, atmosphere was excellent. It was expensive, but a good value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on the menu looked good. We ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Everything on the menu looked good. We had the Octopus and Burrata Cheese starters and cleaned the plates. All the entrees were excellent. Good choice of wine by the glass and unique cocktails. We sat outside and were very comfortable with the heaters and blankets provided. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Met a co-worker for a lunch meeting. Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Met a co-worker for a lunch meeting. The day was beautiful, we sat outside, and ordered the classic crepe, french toast and a salad. Will definitely be back for more.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small menu – I suspect everything is ama ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Small menu – I suspect everything is amazing. I wouldn't normally order octopus, but it was a truly delicious dish – – every flavor and texture. The beef tartare was delightful. The pappardelle pasta was definitely worth writing home about. The noodles were fresh and cooked perfectly and the sauce delicious. Generous portions and every course was perfectly timed. We were there on the later side of Saturday night and it was packed and quite noisy indoors at times. Fabulous experience and wonderful food! The wait staff work as a team and are really on top of every detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant was excellent. The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This restaurant was excellent. The food was excellent! Our server was excellent!

We came away thinking of only good thoughts of our experience. We celebrated

our friends birthday and the whole scenario just could not have been better. Oh

yes, we plan to go back. Of course, without a doubt. :) A+ ALL THE WAY!

Thank you.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Historic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good quality meal. Innovative menu but ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Good quality meal. Innovative menu but very small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I'm Japanese. I've been eating octopus i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I'm Japanese. I've been eating octopus in Japan and the states for as long as I can remember. This was the BEST cooked octopus dish I've ever had. Drinks and food were great. Service was wonderful. The restaurant is intimate, creative, and gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All I can say is I was there for lunch t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

All I can say is I was there for lunch three times in three days and it's always fabulous. Ice queens, Moscow mules, classic crepes, pork ragu, fig or simple salad, and lemon ricotta pancakes. One day I'll save room to try dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The charred octopus (signature dish) was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The charred octopus (signature dish) was delicious as anticipated. One of the main courses (game hen tagine) was served ice cold. We politely advised our server of this; he seemed put off by our request to have it warmed. The dish was returned 20 minutes later (after my spouse finished eating), completely dried out and tasteless. We sent it back. The entree was taken off our check as it should have been, but the entire situation was extremely poorly handled. Our server gave us attitude for the duration. We've heard so much about Virtu and were anxious to try it. It's definitely OFF our list. I would never recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Just as fantastic as always. Octopus, ma ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Just as fantastic as always. Octopus, maiale, beef tartare and duck were standouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, great wine selections, c ...

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic food, great wine selections, couldn't recommend it more. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Chef Osso's food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Outstanding experience. Chef Osso's food is creative yet approachable and delicious. Service was first rate and the space lovely and welcoming. Asparagus with foie gras Hollandaise, beef tartare and divine octopus for starters. Pasta we're on-point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service, exceptional ambianc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Exceptional service, exceptional ambiance and absolutely spectacular food. The appetizers, the entrees and the desserts were all incredible. I can't say enough. I took my girlfriend and my sister our for their birthdays and we had an evening to remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, impressed with the wine-by-t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great meal, impressed with the wine-by-the-glass menu

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Virtru, We s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was our second time at Virtru,

We started with a drink at the bar. The bartender made us great martinis, he was polite and had just the right amount of banter. We were waiting for our son and his fiancé, once they arrived we were seated and had a wonderful dinner. The meal was served leisurely and not rushed. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I highly recommend the octopus

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience mainly due to Sar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a great experience mainly due to Sarah, the bartender who also served our meal at the

bar. Sarah is very skilled, works very hard, is intelligent, kind, comfortable with strangers,

and overall just fun to be around. We had planned to move to an outdoor table but liked

Sarah so much we stayed at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to check out Virtu out for br ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We decided to check out Virtu out for brunch and because my husband loves grilled octopus. We were not disappointed and will have to go back because there were many other dishes on the menu we want to try. The outdoor dining space is wonderful and the creative food and drink menu require mutiple visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.