About Virtu Honest Craft

3701 N Marshall Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Chef Gio Osso’s intimate gathering spot is tucked inside Old Town Scottsdale’s Bespoke Inn, where his menu features contemporary cuisine inspired by his Mediterranean roots and global influences. Simply dubbed "honest craft," Chef Gio's menu changes weekly, and is comprised of reliable and satisfying mainstays like homemade pastas, hearty meat dishes and superb seafood. Join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week or brunch on the weekends inside our cozy dining room for 30 guests, or enjoy a delightful Arizona evening on our beautifully lit patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Contemporary American, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd St & Marshall Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 946-3477

Website:
http://www.virtuscottsdale.com/

Catering:
Full-service catering is available; please call for information.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Marshall Way is available, as well as evening parking at Scottsdale Artists' School across the street. Overnight parking is not permitted at the school, but is permissible along Marshall way.

Public Transit:
Scottsdale's Loloma Station is just 50 yards north of Virt.

Executive Chef:
Gio Osso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Virtu Honest Craft Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
5 More
Best Food
Scottsdale
Best Service
Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Fit for Foodies
Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Fit for Foodies (63)
Special Occasion (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Romantic (41)
Great for Brunch (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for a Date (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was just okay, not memorable. Share ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was just okay, not memorable. Shared two appetizers, entrees and desserts and only the cod entree stood out. Perhaps my expectations were too high based on accolades from 2013 and 2014.

The outdoor patio is absolutely charming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Second time eating there while visiting ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Second time eating there while visiting Scottsdale, as expected a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening to celebrate our 35th an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Perfect evening to celebrate our 35th anniversary! Beautiful patio, quiet neighborhood. Clean, casual, not over the top! Food was outstanding! Very creative, very original menu. Kind of similar to Crudo but has a patio that Crudo doesn't have. Will definitively come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical ambiance. Sit outside if you can ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Magical ambiance. Sit outside if you can. Friendly service with attention to details such as black napkins for those who needed them. Small but tasty menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and better service. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and better service. The waiter was excellent. Recommend the lamb Ragu polenta board.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous food and friendly servic ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always fabulous food and friendly service, and a strong wine and cocktails list. It is noisy inside so best enjoyed during the patio season,

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My friend & I loved the ambience and fir ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

My friend & I loved the ambience and first 2 courses. Their signature roasted octopus is to die for! Pana cotta dessert with citrus sauce, perfect!

The entree of pork with thick tomato puree was very disappointing. Tasted like tomato paste & tough pork.

The server lamely asked if we wanted something else. By then, we did not care. Overall we were very happy with our dinner and would go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Inventive combinations that sometimes pl ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Inventive combinations that sometimes played well and other times did not. Everything in our meal was OK, but nothing stood out. No compelling reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Surprise with the Gorgonzola Cheesecake, ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Surprise with the Gorgonzola Cheesecake, disappointed with the size of the main courses. The food is good, but given the recommendations that I had and the reviews as was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We went because it was restaurant week. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We went because it was restaurant week. We were told the menu for the restaurant week will be part of their fall menu. The appetizers were bland the main courses were good. Love the outdoor ambience very romantic reminds me of Italy. The indoor part was too small and too loud. Our waiter was very friendly and the service was good. Will I come back again, I'm not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Unusual fare and good plating, but the f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Unusual fare and good plating, but the food needs to catch up to the pricing, perhaps with a lot less charring. The ahi tuna appetizer was excellent and while the octopus appetizer was good, it alternated between a bit mushy and chewy with a strong char. The duck entrée flavor was all but lost in the overpowering char and both ends of the cut,about a third of it, was fat and tough. The cod cheeks entrée was very nicely done with a light batter, but the 3 chicken-nugget-sized pieces were woefully less than one should get for $29. Two glasses of average red wine were $30, proving the point that you're a lot better off buying good wine by the bottle at the supermarket sales! On the plus side, our waiter Wesley was very knowledgeable and helpful in explaining the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was good, not spectacular. Present ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was good, not spectacular. Presentation and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Was better last year when we dined there ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Was better last year when we dined there; duck rillette had too much fig -- too sweet; short ribs were too chewy; dots of aioli on mullet plate hardly noticeable; peanut butter chocolate dessert had no peanut butter flavor; very short champagne pours; super noisy plus waiters kept hitting the back our chair making it really uncomfortable .... Disappointing $170 dinner ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I've said it before and I'll say it agai ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've said it before and I'll say it again, best classic crepe ever, especially when they get the edges crispy. The French toast and octopus also got raves as usual. Enjoy it all with an ice queen or two and I'm in heaven. The ricotta pancakes are amazing too but I never seem to have enough room left. So glad they are still consistently fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was a part of restaurant week. Burra ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a part of restaurant week.

Burratta delicious, though bread a bit chewy. Meat choice also could have been a bit more tender. Flavorwise was lovely. Beautifully plated. Chose short ribs. Desert was ok, did not much like the blue cheese cheesecake, though it seems very popular. Pannacota was really good and welll balanced.

Had a super nice and knowledgeable waiter. Dined on patio.

Shall return as we have been before and it's an imaginative chef without becoming weird.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was very good. That said, the Friday 3-course special dinner menu was way too rich for a summer evening anywhere and especially in Scottsdale. The first course choices were duck rillette , polenta and lamb ragout, and other rich dishes. Second course was short ribs, pork, fish cheeks. And then there were rich deserts. The course combinations were too rich. There should have been a very simple, elegant green salad and maybe a watermelon salad in the 1st course selection. And simple fruit with a dollop of chant illy as a desert option would have been delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I found this place on my last visit to s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I found this place on my last visit to see family in Scottsdale. It's my favorite place here. Terrific, well prepared and presented, honest food. No gimmicks. Simply delicious and the staff are a team.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely small environment with absolute ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

A lovely small environment with absolutely delicious food. Each dish was distinctive, flavorful, and artfully created. One of the finest restaurants in Phoenix.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience. I did not know ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

What a great experience. I did not know where to eat, just visiting, so of course I checked my old stand by, Open Table and this restaurant pops up and it was within walking distance of the hotel. The entire staff was so friendly and the food was absolutely amazing. Great beer, wine and whiskey selection.

I will definitely be back to try something else. Tonight was octopus and asparagus, Yumm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always a treat. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is always a treat. The food is prepared with extreme care using the finest fresh ingredients.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every bite we ate was over the top good. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Every bite we ate was over the top good. VERY inventive food, which we love and is why we will eat there every time we visit Phoenix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

outstanding restaurant..will return soon ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

outstanding restaurant..will return soon and frequently

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 6:45 pm and were told tha ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We arrived at 6:45 pm and were told that we would have to eat outside (in >100 degrees) because they had given our indoor table away because they couldn't confirm the reservation by phone. [For an unclear reason in the last 2 weeks, OpenTable had appended a Nambia country code on my cell number] Anyway, ultimately they first sat us at the bar (NB: Stools are too high to get on them comfortably if you are <6' tall) and then agreed to let us sit at a table if we would be sure to finish by 8:15 so another party could be seated. You should take the above into consideration as you read the rest of this review since I was in a sour mood. That said, as to the meal, I was underwhelmed. The tomatoes in the Panzanella were bland and soft. The plain sprouts on the top provided nice color but no flavor. Crostini was still crisp (but needed to be cut with a steak knife). The squid ink pappardelle were an excellent consistency and color, they weren't fishy. The octopus and tomatoes were both excellently prepared. Unfortunately, the cherry peppers mixed throughout were so strong that they overpowered the otherwise subtle flavors. After the first bite, my girlfriend picked them out, & she likes spicy food. I had the fish which sounded lovely both on the menu and as described by our waiter. The fish skin was a bit too crispy (i.e., tough) but the fish itself was firm and flavorful (albeit two small bones sufficient to get stuck in an inattentive throat). All of the other elements were good individually (especially the seared greens underneath) but too me it all just didn't work well together. We'd had enough and so went elsewhere for desert. Once the restaurant filled mid meal, it was very noisy. The good news – we left our table in plenty of time for the couple with the 8:15 reservations. Overall, I think the prices are much too high for what you get & with the many choices in Scottsdale, there are better ways to spend an evening. So, if you are visiting from Nambia, skip Virtu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Good food and great ambiance. Very nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good food and great ambiance. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a mother-daughter Saturday br ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We enjoyed a mother-daughter Saturday brunch with several friends. The ambiance was lovely! Everyone ordered a different dish, so we tasted several things. The French toast, grilled octopus and ham crepe were amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My hubby and I visited Virtu before a co ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My hubby and I visited Virtu before a concert and has such a delicious and lovely dinner. Started with delicious cocktails...I have the G&T and he had the Amaro something. Both were perfect. We then had the charred octopus and asparagus w/duck egg small bites. We licked the plates clean. We then shared the turkey cannelloni and the fish (can't remember the name...one we hadn't heard of before). Again - perfection on the plate - rich, varied flavors. I had a glass of red wine recommended by our server that paired well with the two entrees. Shared the custard dessert which was light, refreshing, and the prefect ending to a wonderful dinner. Highly recommend and we will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reserved a table for 9 for my 30th birth ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Reserved a table for 9 for my 30th birthday. They were very accommodating! Great food and ambiance as usual :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, attentive staff, good wine a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food, attentive staff, good wine also. We will revisit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! Def one of the best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Def one of the best dinners we have had. Our waitress was outstanding .. Thanks for making our one year anniversary so special! Definitely will be visiting here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Make sure you get Mateo as the waiter. The other 2 waiters (man/woman) were not friendly, but Mateo was amazing. Get the octopus, gnocchi, duck, and sticky toffee cake.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. We let the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent dining experience. We let the chef know that we would have preferred a hot serving plate on which the food was served and that the short ribs should have been warmer. The suggestions were accepted with grace. Otherwise it was a beautiful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time to Vitru Honest Cafe in Scott ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

First time to Vitru Honest Cafe in Scottsdale. Had a lovely birthday dinner with superb service. The menu was interesting with a variety of uncommon selections, i.e., octopus, duck egg, duck, ocean trout tartar, Cornish game hens. Upon our early evening arrival on a Sunday, the dining room was virtually empty, but after 3 hours, the tables were filled with diners. Will try this restaurant again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The overall experience was not as good a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The overall experience was not as good as my previous visits. Saturday night and they did not have 3 or 4 items that were listed on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always great!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we have had since moving to Sc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best meal we have had since moving to Scottsdale! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and ambience are fantastic! We ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and ambience are fantastic! We enjoy the small feel, but can't wait till it's cool enough for patio dining. Our group enjoyed the evening so much, we didn't want to leave!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem! A must dining experience!

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A true gem! A must dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from the service, to the ambi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything from the service, to the ambience, to the food was perfection. One of the best meals I had. We had the asparagus and octopus app, and for entrees - the smoked duck, trout, bolognese, and cornish game hen. All were delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a friend's 77th birt ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 77th birthday, and we are so glad we decided to try Virtu for this occasion! We all loved the bistro atmosphere, the service was spectacular and the food marvelous! I cook a lot, but we all had entrees I could not have duplicated at home. The servings were a perfect size, and because of the birthday, they comped our order of the chocolate sticky cake, and was it ever yummy!!! We will be back and look forward to trying brunch there too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are few meals I have eaten that ch ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

There are few meals I have eaten that changed my standard for food, and this was one of them. The combinations of flavors and textures mixed with a perfect cook to complicated dishes is a must try for anyone in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.