Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 48 times today

Virago

4.8
1339 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.

Above all, Virago is an experience.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 254-1902
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
12th Ave S & McGavock St
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

View Private Dining Details
What 1339 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The upstairs patio has an amazing view of the city of Nashville. The food was so fresh. I would love to come back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Always good. Worth the wait! Will definitely return on our next trip to Nashville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Loved different sushi menu and grilled items. Would recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing restaurant. Interesting take on mainly Japanese fare with great sauces. Many vegan options. Convenient valet parking, close to downtown area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food has definitely lost a step. Must try the Brussel sprouts. But my dynamite roll was Kroger quality.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The sushi was good with nice size pieces of fish. The maki roll menu needs more roll options without a pepper or spice added. The restaurant was too dark to easily see the menu. Service was attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Food and service was excellent as usual. A bit on the noisy side. When there are celebrations for graduation and birthdays I think we can overlook it and be happy with them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Came here on our last night in Nashville. Very cool looking place. We sat in the bar area which was not that crowded on a Sunday night. The sushi was very good with interesting special rolls.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This place been our favorite ever since we started coming here. The food was amazing especially sushi. Loved the wine and ambiance here. We would definitely wanna come back to this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Prom night sushi!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Wonderful service and great menu! Best sushi in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We were vacationing in Nashville and based on reviews, our love of sushi, and the menu, we booked a table at Virago and were delighted with the choice. Everything was fresh and delicious, service was excellent, and the restaurant itself was beautiful in a very zen way. We mentioned that it was our daughter's birthday and the restaurant very thoughtfully provided a mochi dessert with a candle. The White Dragon maki stood out but honestly, all of the food was spectacular -- tasty and beautifully presented. Will definitely make a point of going back to Virago the next time we're in Nashville.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The food was all excellent. I highly recommend the V2 edamame and the chirashi don. I ordered the kaiso bowl but was brought rice. I said it was no big deal as long as I wasn’t charged for it. The extra charge was still on my bill and it was a bit of an ordeal to get it taken off. Other than that-great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Perfect outing for our guest from Germany who loves Sushi! All food was delish. We were five very happy and full patrons.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Wonderful experience! A little pricey but you certainly get what you pay for. Perfect date night restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We were in town for a few days and wanted to have sushi. Seeing other reviews I decided that Virago looked like a interesting place to try. We were a little early so we sat at the bar for a drink. The bartender was friendly. We got the text that our table was ready right on time. The server was friendly and was able to answer all of our questions and make suggestions. We really enjoyed everything that we chose and would definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

It was my wife’s birthday. And it was our first date spot years ago.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Visiting my daughter who in college

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great food and wonderful service. It's has a very nice set up and ambiance was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

My wife and I are frequent guests at virago. This time we went to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. This time our experience was over the top. All the food was on point and service exceptional. They had a cake made by the pastry chef at Kayne and brought over for us by surprise. The cake was absolutely delicious and such an awesome gesture from everyone at the restaurant. Thank you for making our night special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Most fantastic food. Highest quality and excellent service. The place was absolute gorgeous!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

WE really enjoyed the food. However this is NOT a quiet place. With loud club type music playing and a centrally located LARGE bar area, don't expect to be able to have a quiet conversation with someone. It's lively place for sure! Great food though. The best sushi we've had in nashville by far.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I moved to Nashville from Chicago several months ago and haven't had any sushi since i moved here. Everyone I've asked has said that Nashville just doesn't have great sushi... Virago was AWESOME. I lived across the street from one of the best sushi places in Chicago and this place stands up to my expectations. All of the food was delicious, beautiful and fresh. We got the wagyu ishiyaki and it was amazing. For the price you pay, you get A LOT of meat and it was so tasty. We also got rock shrimp to start which was also very good. We ended up getting two sushi rolls and both were so delicious. I can't wait to go back.

Our server was very friendly and willing to answer any questions. They even brought out a special dessert on the house for my husband's birthday. If you're looking for delicious Japanese, go here. You won't be disappointed.

P.S. The weather was beautiful so we sat on the roof deck which I didn't even know they had. Great view of the city. Inside looked really cool too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My wife and I have been to Virago's many times in the past. It's one of our top two restaurants in Nashville! A MUST experience place!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Best sushi.Amazing view.Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food was delicious, and our server, Steven, was awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We had a party of three and had a really great time! The crispy Brussel Sprouts were amazing! The bomb roll was delicious too! Definitely a great experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food and sever were amazing.

Hostess section was a disgrace.

Had very specific request in my reservation. They didn’t even try to accommodate. Overheard hostesses saying “if someone doesn’t like where you seat them, just tell them it’s the best available” as I walked up. As if, they already knew why I was coming back to the hostess stand. And then that’s what they said. Very dismissively. I asked about non-bar/ out of TV view seating and they said here was none and corrected me saying I wasn’t in a bar area. Excuse me, if there are 5 TVs and an unmanned bar ... it’s a bar area.

1) don’t talk about a client when they’re in ear shot
2) don’t act surprised when they complain about something that you already know is wrong.
3) don’t lie to a client about seating availability. I have eyes and can see that my request could have totally have been accommodated. At least one preferable location was vacant for my entire meal.
4) apologize if you actually cannot accommodate a guest. Don’t tell them it’s the only option matter of factly and with a sense of arrogance and control.
5) Actually, on the note of service— if you aren’t accommodating my reservation request, tell me upon arroval BEFORE you take me to my seat.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Bad service and overpriced sushi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

My friends and I came for my birthday dinner! The food was great and the staff was wonderful. Fun atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Excellent service by Lee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Love it ! A very sentimental place for me..... We have been there at least 8-10 times.
We have a lot of fun there.
Great food and atmosphere.
Really love our favorite waiter, Rich !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

I drove from Atlanta to enjoy the sushi at Virago!!! Worth it, every single time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Amazing food, great sake, great time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

A visit with my nephew from the Philippines

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great salad and great sushi. Love the crispy California roll and white dragon roll

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great spot to go before going out with friends, for a date night or just for dinner. Consistently great service and food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Must have been an off night ...crispy brussels sprouts were salty and soggy and are usually excellent. Sweet potato was just deepfried yuck Miso soup was good. Oishi and dynamite were good But the lobster shots and midori crab roll not worth it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our waitress Bridget was incredibly patient and helpful with making our selections. We all had an incredible time celebrating my best friend’s marriage!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Haven't been here in a while, but it still has it going on. The sushi was outstanding for the area - with an absolutely beautiful presentation. Appetizers and drinks were also great, overall a superb value for what you get - great food + fantastic ambiance. I wish I could give a 4.5 stars, as I like to reserve 5 stars for the best of the best, but admittedly for Nashville, this is a very consistent and great restaurant, so - I'll round up.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34

Tweets by Virago