Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Virago

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://mstreetnashville.com/virago

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Fun (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Scenic View (16)
Authentic (15)
Healthy (14)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Cozy (9)
Spicy (9)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We were happy to find that bottles of wine were 50% off for our Sunday celebration. We were able to order a nice sparkling wine for this birthday, and not break the bank. The food as always was great, except that the Crispy Brussel Sprouts were much saltier than we remembered. maybe a bit too much fish sauce. Service was very good and our server stayed in conversation with us as we added and took away menu choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Went here for our anniversary. We love eating sushi and virago did not disappoint. Some of the best we have had. I highly recommend the philly crunch and baked scallop roll.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Super restaurant! Went for a birthday dinner and
loved it! Friendly efficient staff and wonderful
food. Loved the fact it had a sushi menu as well
as a chef menu. Will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, outstanding food and service. Try things you normally would not.. may change your outlook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I am "almost" a Nashville native so I remember when Virago opened. It continues to be one of my favorites that is not jam packed by tourists or the "shiny penny" for foodies. I always bring out of town guests here and it is big enough that the reservations don't book up in advance. The food is tasty and it is still a beautiful place to eat - especially that patio. Claire (sp?) our server was fantastic. I don't often get to say that about servers in Nashville. What a nice surprise. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This place is always our go-to for special occasions. Great sushi!! Valet parking makes it so easy too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Jim Caden would not be happy if he ate what I ate. The meatballs were horrible. The wine and vodka were good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Loved! It was awesome sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The bomb roll and wasabi martini are a must! Great atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Exquisite meal! The food was amazing and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was amazing, as usual and the atmosphere is very hip. So many unique sushi rolls. They need to work on the dessert menu and I ordered a cappuccino that was lukewarm, the waiter said they are never hot and took it off the bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always fantastic experience. Customer service & food on point! We have taken our kids twice this month (early evening ) and Virago staff always accommodates their special requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Never disappoints -- always great food, new creative dishes and wonderful cocktails

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Delicious sushi and drinks! We will definitely return for another date!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Always one of my favorites! Upstairs patio is the best location!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

It was my son’s 17th birthday and it was awesome! Food was great and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. This is one of our favorite restaurants. Definitely our favorite for sushi. We love sitting on the rooftop when the weather is nice. Highly recommend. The service is always great. The food is very fresh. The saki is great too!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Virago never disappoints. I try to eat there at least once during my frequent trips to Nashville. They hit it out of the park on every level.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I had a business dinner for a client that was used to always being taken out to eat steak. I decided to throw him a curve and take him to Virago. He LOVED it and ended up being grateful it was not a steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My stinky gf ordered the mochi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful evening with my friends for my birthday. Virago handled a fairly large group and service and food was great! Thank you!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My husband and I came to Virago on a date night. We sat upstairs with a great view of the city. We started with the brussel sprouts and shared rolls for dinner - the fire crunch and the bomb were our favorites! We also finished with the cookie and gelato and loved it. We will come back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The fried beets are the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Fish was fresh, food was spectacular, cocktails yummy. Only draw back dessert was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Been a costumer for over 15 years and the sushi never disappoints.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a great night at Virago. Cool place with good food. The lobster shooter was delish :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Loved it. Had a late dinner after the Vandy ballgame. It was the perfect place, and the dishes were to everyone's liking. Wine list had just what we wanted. The waiter brought the wrong wine, but quickly brought the one we asked for, and then at the end, never came back to take the check. It was late and he was very nice, just perhaps a little too busy. Not a negative, just a comment.

I will go back, recommend it etc. Maybe not two nights in a row, there and at Kayne Prime since the starters are so similar, but on the other hand, we loved them both.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful- waitress was great! Very knowledgeable ! Great view!!

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Truly outstanding. We heard it was great and it went beyond our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Best restaurant we dined at in Nashville. We really liked the food. A real treat!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

GOOD SUSHI, FRIENDLY WAITER AND THE WASABI MARTINIS WERE DELICIOUS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great Service and Food. Service took time to make some recommendation since it was my wife's first time at the resturant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This food was great and so was the staff. Very friendly and helpfully without being pushy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food is always stellar at Virago. The service was excellent. Even with several very large parties our food was delivered in good order, hot and delicious. Mr. Goodman was a superior server who went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. A wonderful selection of drinks, food and special items made the evening a tremendous success.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food and service. Cool ambiance on the walkway in to the restaurant. Inside is not overly exciting compared to the food and service which was top notch. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Kristen who served us was a gift. We always live Virago. Great roof top bar, great menu and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was so incredibly good. Loved the environment. It was special occasion celebrating both a birthday and wedding anniversary. The wedding anniversary "gift" was a beautiful and delicious Rose made of the most sumptuous ahi tuna. The birthday"mochi" was equally and enthusiastically received. Kudos to the kitchen! There was a dish requested and although it wasn't part of the menu - they looked up the recipe and delivered a very good tofu dish. Will return soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

4 of us, who were visiting Nashville for the first time, dined at Virago. Food was good, but somewhat limited menu if you're not into sushi. Our waitress was great, but the hostess (who is the first impression of the restaurant) had a bit of an attitude. But overall, I would recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.