About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Pot De Crème & Donuts - Virago
Tānto [Maki] - Virago
Ninja Bacon - Virago
Brisket Eggroll - Virago
Stone Wagyu Ribeye - Virago
Beef Brisket Udon - Virago
Bourbon Teriyaki Sweet Potatoes - Virago
Tempura Shitake Mushrooms - Virago
Thai Lobster Shots - Virago
Passion & Spice Cocktail - Virago
Crispy Brussels Sprout$ - Virago
Crazy Monkey : Maki - Virago
Rock Shrimp Tempura - Virago
Tānto Maki [Close-Up] - Virago
Sashimi - Virago
Yuzu Martini - Virago
Kurobata Belly : Maki - Virago
Katana Maki [Close-Up] - Virago
. Ninja Bacon . - Virago
The Bomb [Maki] - Virago
The Bomb Maki [Close-Up] - Virago
The Bomb : Maki - Virago
Fire Crunch : Maki - Virago
Katana [Maki] - Virago
Creme Pot And Doughnuts - Virago
Crazy Monkey Roll - Virago
Yasai Roll - Virago
Fiery Tuna Roll - Virago
Crunchy California Roll - Virago
Tuna Sashimi With Fresh Jalapeño - Virago
Lobster Shooters - Virago
Kanye Prime - Virago
Crunchy Brussels Sprouts - Virago
Thai Lobster Shooters - Virago
Katana Maki - Virago
Mixed Nigiri - Virago
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Virago
ikura nigiri - Virago
Hamachi Jalapeno - Virago
Peartini - Virago
Chocolate Tres Leches - Virago
House Salad - Virago
Mochi - Virago
Scottish Salmon - Virago
Spicy Strawberry Maki - Virago
Equador - Virago
Acai Honey Copa - Virago
Crispy Brussels Sprouts - Virago
Okra Tempura - Virago
Seaweed salad - Virago
Nigiri - Virago
Godzilla roll - Virago
Wok Charred Edamame - Virago
Filet Mignon - Virago
Mussels And Clams With XO Sauce - Virago
Salt & Pepper Shrimp Stir Fry - Virago
Ecuador Roll - Virago
Duck Springrolls - Virago
Sake Steamed Brussel Sprouts - Virago
Passionfruit Sake Cocktail - Virago
Wagyu Beef Sashimi - Virago
The Bomb Maki - Virago
The Dragon Maki - Virago
Mochi Mango - Virago
Rock N' Roll Sushi Roll, Crazy Monkey Roll - Virago
Crispy Rice With Spicy Salmon And Watermelon Poprocks - Virago
raspberry bellini - Virago
Coconut Jasmine Rice - Virago
Jasmine Coconut Rice - Virago
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Virago
Jerk Chicken Skewers - Virago

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
5 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Special Occasion (82)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Hot Spot (63)
See All
Romantic (61)
Good for Groups (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Scenic View (27)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Late-night Find (17)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (5)
Tapas (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I made the reservation for my boyfriend' ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

I made the reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. Service was prompt and I had entered special notes on OpenTable about the birthday. Our waitress immediately recognized our occasion and made it PERFECT!!! Food was presented beautifully and we always had drinks. We declined dessert (not thinking) she walked away and came back to see if we wanted the special dessert. We said yes immediately! So glad we did! Yum! I was very pleased as it was all a surprise to him! We enjoyed our meal and would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. One of the best ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was delicious. One of the best restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been I years since they moved fro ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Hadn't been I years since they moved from 21st area. We were there early but nice ambience, food was good but waitress didn't really go over the menu much with us, ended up missing the entire sushi menu which was we were in the mood for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food, nice atmosphere! Would go ag ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food, nice atmosphere! Would go again with friends or my husband.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant with fabulous foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with fabulous food! If you are a foodie - this is a must visit restaurant. Everything we had was incredible and the wait staff knowledge second to none!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good however the food wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was good however the food was quite average Asian-fusion. Their miso cauliflower did not taste like it had any miso on it and the crispy rice tuna was mostly rice and has very little fresh tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was very good. Service was fine. Ve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was very good. Service was fine. Very pleasant but somewhat inattentive server. Good atmosphere. However, we had a 7 pm reservation. We were running early so we arrived at 6:30 pm thinking maybe we could go ahead and be seated. The hostess was polite but very contrite that it would be 7 pm before we would be seated. As such we waited outside for 30 minutes. When they called us (at 7 pm on the dot) we walked in to see the restaurant only 1/3 full. Vast majority of tables were empty. It was very disappointing that they would make us wait for 30 minutes when the restaurant was less than half full. In addition, not good business for virago in that they could have seated us early and possibly turned our table even quicker thus meaning more dining business for them. Overall not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I have been here two times. The first on ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I have been here two times. The first one was with a couple of gfs having a nice happy hour. It was fantastic and delicious. It was loud and busy and a great atmosphere. The second time was for a date on a wed afternoon. It was a very very slow night. only one bar was open, there was no much music in the background and the waiting staff seemed a little bored. Never the less Richard made me and my date feel very comfortable and we enjoyed each others company.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was served cold, even though I arri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was served cold, even though I arrived an hour before they said they closed we were rushed out, lights were brightened at our table and it was really uncomfortable. Food was not worth the money at all. Dont go, lots of better places in Nashville. Get your s*** together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a nice place, and the service was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was a nice place, and the service was nice. The food was a little overpriced for what we got. The alcohol was probably the best of the meal. It wasn't anything too special. Maybe you have to order something on the chef's menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Food and service were excellent. Lookin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Looking forward to dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for sushi lovers to go with ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great place for sushi lovers to go with non sushi fans. High quality Waygu at a much better price than usually found.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing / fun Food ✔️ Will go back Rec ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing / fun

Food ✔️

Will go back

Recommend chefs choice ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at Virago several times and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have dined at Virago several times and have never been disappointed. The appetizers are especially delicious (Roasted Brussel Sprouts, Duck Confit Egg Roll, Rock Shrimp Tempura). Of course once you eat these there is not much room for an entree, but the sushi combinations are very good; "The Bomb" is amazing. If you have any room left, the desserts are great too. The restaurant has a very pretty decor, and has many intimate alcoves that makes it a nice choice for a romantic dinner, but it can also handle a large party for special occasions like a birthday or other celebration. The food is a little on the pricey side, but the portions are big, and great for sharing. I look forward to dining at Virago again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great job to our server Brandon! The vie ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great job to our server Brandon! The views from the upstairs patio, overlooking the city, are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virago sat us before our reservations pe ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Virago sat us before our reservations per request. Made reservations that day and got the rooftop as requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Service stared out great, ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was good. Service stared out great, but as night progressed the service started to suffer miserably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful dinner yet again!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful dinner yet again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful menu, delicious specialty sush ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful menu, delicious specialty sushi. Loved our server. We were a party of three, and with two glasses of wine each , one roll each and a shared entree our bill came to $200 plus gratuity - Virago isn't an option if you are on a budget but it's a great night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Marginal experience versus our last two ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Marginal experience versus our last two visits. Not sure what happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was great, but the service was the best part. We never felt the need to look for a water/waitress. This was a business meeting and everything was well received.

Thank you!

Kristen

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food! Crispy Brussel Sprout ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always great food! Crispy Brussel Sprouts and the Wasabi Martini are a must!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time dining here in t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is the second time dining here in three weeks . The first time was wonderful , the second disappointing . Our first course came out after our second and we were served so quickly we were out in an hour. It'll be some time before I return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent sushi, especially The Bomb rol ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent sushi, especially The Bomb roll. We had a fabulous server who explained the menu in detail, which really helped with placing our order. Unfortunately, we were seated at a table at the end of a row which was located next to a well lit totally empty room (tables were set up, but no diners), which made us feel as though we were dining in an empty restaurant. This lack of ambiance took away from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

One of our favorite places in Nashville! ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

One of our favorite places in Nashville! Every sushi roll we ordered was great! Especially The Bomb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Adult daughter has chosen Virago as birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Adult daughter has chosen Virago as birthday dinner choice for years and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on Monday for half price sushi, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went on Monday for half price sushi, and this was a GREAT value. There were also 2 for 1 drinks ($11 for two drinks was great). We were visiting Nashville and the half priced sushi caught my attention, very glad we went! The wasabi martini was amazing, as was all the sushi we ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a reservation but still took a minut ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had a reservation but still took a minute to get seated. Other than that my experience was great. Waitress and staff were tremendous. Food was delicious. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Definitely have had better sushi. The w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Definitely have had better sushi. The wagu tataki was veiny. The Bomb sushi roll was okay at best. Nice vibe. Unspectacular food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our best dining experiences of la ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of our best dining experiences of late. Creative sushi rolls, fabulous wagyu on stone, great service. Only minor complaint was gelato was not frozen, which they apologized for and comped when they served it. Memorable meal that earned a regular spot in our rotation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Indoor/Outdoor dining option at its fine ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Indoor/Outdoor dining option at its finest! My wife & I celebrated her birthday in downstairs in the main dining room and had impeccable service & delicious food. After dinner we had coffee & desert upstairs on the outdoor bar. Great service yet again and beautiful views of the Nashville skyline. Its gotta be one of the best bars in Nashville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! This is no surprise c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent service! This is no surprise coming from an MStreet restaurant. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only giving a 4 star because it was so v ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Only giving a 4 star because it was so very hot in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS excellent in all ways. This is at ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

ALWAYS excellent in all ways. This is at least the 5th time I have been here in the past 2 years and the food, service and atmosphere are always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi in Nashville? Yup. This place is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Sushi in Nashville? Yup. This place is on point. Creative selections. Attentive staff. Delicious. Make reservations! The place fills up fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The meal was superb as always, however o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The meal was superb as always, however our server was terrible and was rude to my friend about a drink she ordered that was made incorrectly, also did not take it off the ticket.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Everything was delicious and presented b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was delicious and presented beautifully . The service was wonderful and extremely helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were here for my daughters birthday. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were here for my daughters birthday. The rooftop dining was amazing and the service was outstanding. This place is a must do while in Nashville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere! Sushi was excellent- ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome atmosphere! Sushi was excellent- very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.