Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Virago

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://mstreetnashville.com/virago

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (48)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Modern Decor (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Healthy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Scenic View (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Spicy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tapas (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a business dinner at Virago and everyone enjoyed it. AMAZING food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good but serving size for the cost is outrageous. I eat there a while back and the rolls were triple the size. $22 for a roll the size of my index finger is ridiculous. Shame on you Virago!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible service, terrible assistant manager. The service and treatment we received was disgraceful. Our waitress was pleasant but the assistant manager needs general customer service training. We we're appalled by her response to our inquiry on corking fees. Next she literally yelled at us for unscrewing a light bulb above our table when they turned all lights on, ruining any potential ambiance, instead of simply walking over to inform us the restaurant was closing. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Did the Chef's menu. Food was terrific and kept coming. Come hungry and still be prepared to bring some home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server, William I believe, was amazing and knowledgeable and made our 6 year anniversary beautiful and special! Virago is really amazing and I love their sushi!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great! Service and food exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service was great and the food was very good. Sushi rolls have really increased in price since the last time I dined there, food was good but not sure it's worth that price. Always a great vibe at that place though....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love Virago! It never disappoints...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is my daughters favorite place to eat. We took her and friend last Saturday for her birthday. Fantastic as usual.

Try the Brussels Sprouts! Amazing.
I had the Wagu skirt start. Full of rich flavor. The rest in our group had sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Started out with the pork belly and tuna tartare which were both wonderful. Followed up with a couple of delicious rolls. Wasabi martinis were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best birthday dinner ever!!! I had a girls dinner with my best friends and we sure did feel special!!! The service was wonderful and the food was delicious!!! Hands down my favorite place in Nashville!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food especially the filet mignon and coconut rice. Great sushi too. Great meal and overall ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

the food is usually good, sushi and saki. Kobe meat balls well under cooked and mushy not good at all, pork belly very salty, same as edamame. Sat outside while temperature was good the tables and chairs are cumbersome and uncomfortable. Eaten at many sushi places around the country, and sometimes is hit or miss here. It shouldn't be at this price point

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

One of the most inventive combinations of sushi and small Japanese plates you'll find anywhere in the US. And at a Nashville-sized price. Great patio and rooftop for gatherings. Outstanding knowledgeable wait staff. Impress anyone, a date or a colleague by taking them here. Cool cocktails too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The server was definitely not in a good mood. Other than that, Virago is a 10.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Make it here for the unique and delish sushi offerings!!! Great service too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Best Sushi in Nashville. Great service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

One of my favs in Nashville. Delicious food, great service and spectacular ambiance. Highly recommend- and I am a tough critic :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loud, expensive, inferior sushi mostly limited to lobster and shrimp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good variety of food. Very intricate and aesthetically pleasing decor. Pricey, but delicious. Food + wine presentation was on point. Good music + vibe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great sushi, definitely not just good. Cool vibe and clean layout, music fit the style perfectly and the lighting noise were also spot on. Good place to eat and relax.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was my first time at Virago with two great friends. The wine by the class list was impressive. I had the Beran red zin and it was delicious. We shared an assortment of sushi that was so good. Get the Bomb roll!! Yum!! The coconut rice was like a desert side dish!! Crazy good. Not far from downtown Nashville but definitely a hip vibe in this area.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

With reservation waited 1/2 hour for table. Front desk gal was as uncordial and inept as possible. Not sure why she would be hired as a hostess with her unfriendly and unwelcoming manner. Finally spoke to manager who was able to get us seated and take care of us. Nice ambience but overrated in every other aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and service was excellent Would go back to try more menu options.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very loud party made ambiance less than perfect. Had many at the bar and in booths turning around as they let out screams. Outside of that, food and service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Best place in Nashville!! Never disappoints. Amazing sushi and drinks!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Overrated. They are selling location and atmosphere, not good fish. I have high expectations for sushi, but every roll doesn't need tempura...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The ambiance was the best part. The food was good. The wine menu was great. I liked the meatballs. This place would be amazing if I liked sushi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

As always Virago delivered. Introduced 3 business partners to one of Nashville's best dining spots and they were impressed to say the least. Good and Service were spot on

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Lovely dinner at Virago.. as usual! Our server, Robert, was friendly and attentive, without hovering. We dined for our anniversary and once he found out, the manager brought us a special appetizer on the house. Our favorite sushi in Nashville by far! Always fresh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went to Virago for my boyfriend's 22nd birthday. I made reservations a month in advance (just in case). We did not enjoy the loud noise, dark lighting, and overpriced sushi. Don't get me wrong, the sushi was great, but not for the price. However, Virago has been a favorite of mine since I was a teen, but he was not as thrilled to dine there. It is not the same as I remember it being. It is still definitely a hot spot in Nashville. Decorated beautifully.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We heard about Virago through the Omni. We were pleasantly surprised about the choices and the waitress and entire staff we encountered went above and beyond. Loved the fact there were two kitchens and the presentation of the plates we spectacular. Definitely worth it and will indulge again when we come to Nashville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We really loved the food at Virago. Second time there. However, we had a 6 pm reservation and all our food was out with 20 minutes of arriving. It was hard not to feel rushed. It would have been nice to relax during courses. The sushi courses were wonderful but the Donburri bowl was not very good and hardly touched. I'm sure we'll go again but would stick with sushi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were looking for someplace different for our anniversary and chose Virago, we were no disappointed! The food was incredible and the service was amazing! I would recommend to anyone and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Always a superb meal when in Nashville!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A little pricey, but well-worth it.
Outstanding food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lots of menu options, everything was good. The stoned steak option was a unique experience. Not cheap, but I thought it was very reasonable compared to similar experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was fantastic. My service was even better. They were very accommodating and the entire evening flowed well. I'll definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal was fabulous - the sushi is the best we've ever eaten, and the stone steak must be eaten to be believed. Service was excellent - ambience perfect. We could not have been more delighted.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was spectacular and food was excellent. A little on the loud side but that might just have been the patrons that night.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.