About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

fit for foodies (77)
special occasion (63)
hot spot (59)
See All
good for groups (58)
romantic (46)
vibrant bar scene (26)
neighborhood gem (23)
notable wine list (19)
great for outdoor dining (19)
scenic view (15)
late-night find (15)
great for lunch (5)
 (4)
 (4)
 (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. The Bomb ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service. The Bomb really is the bomb!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service from the entire staff ...

Dined 4 days ago

Impeccable Service from the entire staff at Virago. From reservation confirmation to departure, it was top notch.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great restaurant. Complimentar ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

This is a great restaurant. Complimentary valet parking. The food comes out within 15 mins of ordering. staff is friendly. setting is beautiful. What I would like to see add is gluten free options. I know the spicy sauce is not gluten free. So I was unable to truly enjoy the sushi. But sushi was great though. Some more vegetarian items as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really great food and excellent cold sak ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Really great food and excellent cold sake options. Price is a little harsh but the food and service compensate nicely if your pocketbook can stand the hit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is not easy to find vegetarian, let a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It is not easy to find vegetarian, let alone vegan options in a beautiful dining space in Nashville. This restaurant had all of that. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. It was a bit loud and not even close to being filled to capacity. I can't imagine what it's like when the restaurant is full. But it was fun and we will go again when we go back to Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious! Loved the Cri ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was delicious! Loved the Crispy Okra!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in town. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in town. Wish I could eat here everyday. Our waitress was incredible. Don't remember her name but she is from White House, TN

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always. Eating out has been ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fantastic as always. Eating out has been hard with so many trauma and disappointment we've just been extra careful to where we spend our money to eat. Virago is great. They have an amazing vegetarian sushi. Ask for the side of mushrooms sizzled in truffle and soy.

food3
ambience4
service4

Been here before and the first time was ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Been here before and the first time was amazing. This time was just ok. Dessert was off the chain but the sushi was so so. Been to some others in the area that have beat the quality lately

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fusion Asian Cuisine...well done!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Dinner at Virago's...my first time there. We decided to share so we could enjoy some of the different flavors. Ordered the Bacon Wrapped Scallops and the Stoned Steak Filet. Absolutely incredible meal and the Coconut Jasmine rice was the most delicious rice I have ever enjoyed. Wasn’t a fan of the sweet potatoes…was a bit bland. Service was great but thank goodness we had a reservation. They were pack for a Monday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Underwhelming, over-priced

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've had sushi all over America in every type of place, from the cheapest to the most expensive. I've never been to a place that charges so much and delivers so little as Virago. I will say their fish is high quality, but what their chefs do with it was unpalatable and strange. I've never been so turned off and disappointed by sushi rolls that cost so much money. And the same can be said for the sake and the appetizers. Strange, poor tasting, very expensive. I don't recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The place is gorgeous! And the food- OUT ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The place is gorgeous! And the food- OUTSTANDING! The sushi is fantastic (try the Bomb) and the steak was magnificent! Great wine list too!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous sushi!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Fabulous sushi!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience!!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Virago was recommended me by a coworker and it was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

Food was delicious and cooked perfectly. ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was delicious and cooked perfectly. Everyone at our table enjoyed their dishes. The decor and vibe were very zen like which we liked. The evening started out wonderful but declined as the evening continued. The restaurant and service were great but the noise level was almost unbearable . We had four women in our group which were of various ages and all left with our ears ringing!!! The acoustics were terrible. We did not stay for dessert as we were so uncomfortable.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite spots in Nashville! S ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Nashville! Shaun is awesome and is always accommodating. I'm not a fan of some of the hostesses. They aren't very friendly or accommodating. But that is my only complaint.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always amazing. Our server, Mary ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food is always amazing. Our server, Mary was super attentive and did a fantastic job!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food with interesting and unus ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Delicious food with interesting and unusual options. All good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

No longer living up to the hype

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had been here before years ago and it was amazing. This time, it was less than expected. The sushi variety was poor. All but two items either listed 'spicy' or 'jalapeño', sushi doesn't need heat to taste good. There was also a continual smell of smoke/burning food, and we were on the far side of the dining area away from the kitchen. The drinks were made very well and delicious. That was the sole highlight. It's extremely overpriced for such underwhelming food options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in town!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Virago is my go to for every special occasion, birthday, date night , girls nights , etc. We love the food, the vibe, and service! It is hands down the best sushi in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Very unprofessional host staff

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food and the view on the roof are amazing but I had a very unpleasant experience with the reservations department and host staff. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone who is planning a get together for a large group. They will change your reservation time last minute then tell you that you need to get out by a certain time for another group, even if you book a month in advance.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

Sushi was pretty good. The curry lobster ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Sushi was pretty good. The curry lobster shooters were very good.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent sushi, steamed black grouper ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent sushi, steamed black grouper was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice bar area....nice atmosphere...uniqu ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Nice bar area....nice atmosphere...unique and delicious food....and top shelf service. We will be trying all of the M-Street concepts in the near future.

food5
ambience5
service4

The wagyu tataki was amazing as was the ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The wagyu tataki was amazing as was the V2 edamame and oishiki roll. The duck confit egg roll was delicious but perhaps too heavy.

food5
ambience5
service5

The crunchy rice was amazing! My group l ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The crunchy rice was amazing! My group loved every single thing that we ordered!! Great spot!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly Recommend

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent sushi options. Might have skipped the lobster shots at $4 a piece The chirachidon was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

I eat here at least twice a month and th ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

I eat here at least twice a month and this was the only time that the kitchen was super slow...or there was something going on with the server. After eating here this many times, I guess I was due. Best sushi ever!!

food5
ambience4
service4

We loved our first experience dining at ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We loved our first experience dining at Virago! We started with the Godzilla roll to split and it was amazing! For dinner, I ordered the Midori Crab Roll and nearly died it was so amazing! The other two guests ordered non-sushi meals and allowed me to try a bite - one ordered the bacon wrapped scallops (literally the biggest scallops ever and oh so good) and one ordered the ramen with pork belly (so flavorful)! I would recommend any and all of these meals. My only complaint was that our waitress was extremely attentive at the beginning but didn't get refills on our water from about mid-entree on. I will just chalk it up to being busy and pulled in too many directions. Overall, a great dining experience and we can't wait to go back!

food1
ambience5
service3
value1

The sushi was OK but nain course was terrible.

Dined on April 3, 2016

The sushi was not bad but ramen was over cooked and chicken in dunburi was flavor less and just tasted like it was boiled.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on March 29, 2016

I went to Virgo for the first time with 2 friends. We were overwhelmed by the menu but our patient waiter took time to give us pointers and lead us through the meal. It's a beautiful restaurant and we had plenty of time to visit. My only complaint is that the noise level was surprisingly high. It doesn't look like a space that would be loud, and we were there on a less than busy Tuesday, yet at times it was hard to talk over other conversations. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great happy hour on Monday! Pecan pie is ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Great happy hour on Monday! Pecan pie is an amazing dessert as well

food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi in Nashville. Great service

Dined on March 24, 2016

Best sushi in Nashville. Great service

food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing from start to finish!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

It was amazing from start to finish!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent as al ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food and service was excellent as always. I recommend you trust your server for ideas to try different things off the menu. It's easy to be the same wonderful things you always do. We ventured out of our comfort zone tonight based on what our server recommended and we loved it. Thank you virago.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and selection

Dined on March 14, 2016

This was one of the best, if not THE best, dining experience my wife and I have ever had, hands down. Our server was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations after listening to our preferences. We went through 4 of the best courses of dinner that left us wanting more. If you have not tried Virago for sushi or the Asian fusion cuisine, you have not lived. Highly recommended!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place, but expensive...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We arrived early and there were few people there that Sunday. Everything was great, food, ambiance, service, and a nice variety of foods that you won't find at other sushi spots. Katie our server was very friendly and helpful. The Jasmine Coconut Rice was out-of-this-world delicious! My only complaint, if any, was the cost. Sure it's less expensive than the same calibre of restaurant that you might find in New York, Miami, or LA, but hey, this is Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Wasabi martini. Amazing! Did the chef' ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Wasabi martini. Amazing! Did the chef's sushi tour. Great food and excellently prepared.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently Great

Dined on March 10, 2016

Virago has been consistently delicious for years. The crispy rice/tuna, yellowtail, wagu stone beef and drinks were all amazing. We even made it for happy hour, so we enjoyed $6 drinks and appetizers. Overall, I would definitely recommend Virago to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Food

Dined on March 10, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and food. The fried brussels sprouts and yellow tail sashimi were amazing. Atmosphere and service were top notch.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.