About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Pot De Crème & Donuts
Tānto [Maki]
Ninja Bacon
Stone Wagyu Ribeye
Brisket Eggroll
Beef Brisket Udon
Tempura Shitake Mushrooms
Bourbon Teriyaki Sweet Potatoes
. Ninja Bacon .
Passion & Spice Cocktail
The Bomb [Maki]
Katana [Maki]
Katana Maki [Close-Up]
The Bomb Maki [Close-Up]
Tānto Maki [Close-Up]
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Crazy Monkey Roll
Crunchy Brussels Sprouts
Crunchy California Roll
Yasai Roll
Kanye Prime
Fiery Tuna Roll
Thai Lobster Shots
Crispy Brussels Sprout$
Crazy Monkey : Maki
Yuzu Martini
Sashimi
Kurobata Belly : Maki
The Bomb : Maki
Fire Crunch : Maki
Creme Pot And Doughnuts
Tuna Sashimi With Fresh Jalapeño
Lobster Shooters
Katana Maki
Thai Lobster Shooters
Mixed Nigiri
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Hamachi Jalapeno
ikura nigiri
Peartini
Chocolate Tres Leches
House Salad
Mochi
Scottish Salmon
Spicy Strawberry Maki
Equador
Acai Honey Copa
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
Seaweed salad
Nigiri
Okra Tempura
Godzilla roll
Wok Charred Edamame
Filet Mignon
Mussels And Clams With XO Sauce
Duck Springrolls
Ecuador Roll
Salt & Pepper Shrimp Stir Fry
The Bomb Maki
Passionfruit Sake Cocktail
Mochi Mango
Wagyu Beef Sashimi
Sake Steamed Brussel Sprouts
The Dragon Maki
Rock N' Roll Sushi Roll, Crazy Monkey Roll
Crispy Rice With Spicy Salmon And Watermelon Poprocks
raspberry bellini
Coconut Jasmine Rice
Jasmine Coconut Rice
Jerk Chicken Skewers
Rainbow Sushi Roll

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

fit for foodies (83)
special occasion (74)
hot spot (62)
See All
good for groups (55)
romantic (47)
great for outdoor dining (32)
vibrant bar scene (30)
scenic view (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
notable wine list (20)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

It has been awhile, but I was,surprised ...

Dined 2 days ago

It has been awhile, but I was,surprised at the food. it was,just not that memorable and a bit heavy on the oil. the upstairs patio was lovely however.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! The duck confit spring rolls ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food! The duck confit spring rolls and the Brussels sprouts were fantastic. Love the Tanto roll too. Service is excellent. Quiet elegant dining spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has become my favorite restaurant i ...

Dined 4 days ago

This has become my favorite restaurant in Tennessee. Outstanding food and a lot of it. The chef's tasting menus were fantastic and could not believe the amount of food we received. Outstanding service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place with fantastic service a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful place with fantastic service and fun food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virago never fails to please. Always gre ...

Dined 4 days ago

Virago never fails to please. Always great service and superb service. A staple for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lots of interesting items on the menu an ...

Dined 5 days ago

Lots of interesting items on the menu and service was prompt, accurate, and consistent. Great place to start for a 1-1 romantic evening coupled with later night plans...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was spectacular. We had a large ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was spectacular. We had a large group and were very gracious on accommodating us.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places for a special ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite places for a special night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasabi martinis are the bomb and highly ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Wasabi martinis are the bomb and highly recommend maki saki Mondays.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Virago is a great restaurant!The service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Virago is a great restaurant!The service was excellent,the food was awesome,and the food was ready quickly and presentation was amazing.The atmosphere was great as well.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding as usual and servic ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was outstanding as usual and service was timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great food and friendly but not o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Really great food and friendly but not overbearing service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat before seeing a show. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great place to eat before seeing a show. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great wasabi guacamole, sushi and cocktails. Very attentive and helpful server. Cool place and ambiance, is pricey if you're looking for value.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Nice atmosphere (was a little dark, but ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice atmosphere (was a little dark, but not too bad) and food was good. There was a bachelorette party near us so the noise level was unacceptable as we could not talk around our table. I mentioned this to the server (who was EXCELLENT btw) and he said it was like that often on Friday and Saturday evenings so let the reader beware if planning to go at those times.

food5
ambience5
service5

The thai lobster shooters were incredibl ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The thai lobster shooters were incredible, the sushi was fresh and the portion were plentiful.

food3
ambience3
service4

Expected a lot more. Crispy Brussels spr ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Expected a lot more. Crispy Brussels sprouts not so crispy. Spicy tuna sushi mediocre at best. Mixed drink not made well. Sent it back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 31, 2016

Our server was delightful and very helpful as my husband has allergies . Our food was topnotch and served fast. A delightful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. The Bomb ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food and great service. The Bomb really is the bomb!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service from the entire staff ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Impeccable Service from the entire staff at Virago. From reservation confirmation to departure, it was top notch.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved everything about IT !

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

I loved everything about IT !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great restaurant. Complimentar ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

This is a great restaurant. Complimentary valet parking. The food comes out within 15 mins of ordering. staff is friendly. setting is beautiful. What I would like to see add is gluten free options. I know the spicy sauce is not gluten free. So I was unable to truly enjoy the sushi. But sushi was great though. Some more vegetarian items as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really great food and excellent cold sak ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Really great food and excellent cold sake options. Price is a little harsh but the food and service compensate nicely if your pocketbook can stand the hit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is not easy to find vegetarian, let a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It is not easy to find vegetarian, let alone vegan options in a beautiful dining space in Nashville. This restaurant had all of that. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. It was a bit loud and not even close to being filled to capacity. I can't imagine what it's like when the restaurant is full. But it was fun and we will go again when we go back to Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious! Loved the Cri ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was delicious! Loved the Crispy Okra!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in town. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in town. Wish I could eat here everyday. Our waitress was incredible. Don't remember her name but she is from White House, TN

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always. Eating out has been ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fantastic as always. Eating out has been hard with so many trauma and disappointment we've just been extra careful to where we spend our money to eat. Virago is great. They have an amazing vegetarian sushi. Ask for the side of mushrooms sizzled in truffle and soy.

food3
ambience4
service4

Been here before and the first time was ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Been here before and the first time was amazing. This time was just ok. Dessert was off the chain but the sushi was so so. Been to some others in the area that have beat the quality lately

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fusion Asian Cuisine...well done!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Dinner at Virago's...my first time there. We decided to share so we could enjoy some of the different flavors. Ordered the Bacon Wrapped Scallops and the Stoned Steak Filet. Absolutely incredible meal and the Coconut Jasmine rice was the most delicious rice I have ever enjoyed. Wasn’t a fan of the sweet potatoes…was a bit bland. Service was great but thank goodness we had a reservation. They were pack for a Monday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Underwhelming, over-priced

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've had sushi all over America in every type of place, from the cheapest to the most expensive. I've never been to a place that charges so much and delivers so little as Virago. I will say their fish is high quality, but what their chefs do with it was unpalatable and strange. I've never been so turned off and disappointed by sushi rolls that cost so much money. And the same can be said for the sake and the appetizers. Strange, poor tasting, very expensive. I don't recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The place is gorgeous! And the food- OUT ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The place is gorgeous! And the food- OUTSTANDING! The sushi is fantastic (try the Bomb) and the steak was magnificent! Great wine list too!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous sushi!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Fabulous sushi!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience!!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Virago was recommended me by a coworker and it was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

Food was delicious and cooked perfectly. ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was delicious and cooked perfectly. Everyone at our table enjoyed their dishes. The decor and vibe were very zen like which we liked. The evening started out wonderful but declined as the evening continued. The restaurant and service were great but the noise level was almost unbearable . We had four women in our group which were of various ages and all left with our ears ringing!!! The acoustics were terrible. We did not stay for dessert as we were so uncomfortable.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite spots in Nashville! S ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Nashville! Shaun is awesome and is always accommodating. I'm not a fan of some of the hostesses. They aren't very friendly or accommodating. But that is my only complaint.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always amazing. Our server, Mary ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food is always amazing. Our server, Mary was super attentive and did a fantastic job!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food with interesting and unus ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Delicious food with interesting and unusual options. All good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

No longer living up to the hype

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had been here before years ago and it was amazing. This time, it was less than expected. The sushi variety was poor. All but two items either listed 'spicy' or 'jalapeño', sushi doesn't need heat to taste good. There was also a continual smell of smoke/burning food, and we were on the far side of the dining area away from the kitchen. The drinks were made very well and delicious. That was the sole highlight. It's extremely overpriced for such underwhelming food options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in town!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Virago is my go to for every special occasion, birthday, date night , girls nights , etc. We love the food, the vibe, and service! It is hands down the best sushi in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Very unprofessional host staff

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food and the view on the roof are amazing but I had a very unpleasant experience with the reservations department and host staff. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone who is planning a get together for a large group. They will change your reservation time last minute then tell you that you need to get out by a certain time for another group, even if you book a month in advance.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.