Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Virago

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://mstreetnashville.com/virago

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Special Occasion (56)
Fit for Foodies (51)
See All
Creative Cuisine (49)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Fun (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Business Meals (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Modern Decor (24)
Tasting Menu (24)
Healthy (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Scenic View (13)
People Watching (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tapas (7)
Spicy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Private Room (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Treating my father to dinner for Father's Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

So accommodating and the best food ever

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great city views and really cool vibe. We went for a small bachelorette dinner, had a great spot in a booth/table outside on the rooftop deck, however, it was extremely HOT. Absolutely no air flow in the booth and many of us were sweating by the end of dinner, kind of ruined the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, in my opinion not good enough for prices. Reservations were for 6 pm. Hotesss asked if we would be done with dinner by 8 since they had another reservation. Not really my problem, but maybe that's normal to ask. Will not return but glad I gave it a try.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food, atmosphere and service was excellent! Server (Katie) was very attentive and surprised us with a Birthday dessert! Would recommend everyone to give it a try. You will not be disappointed!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

This is an outstanding restaurant. The service was terrific and the waiter was very attentive and explained the different entrees. The food was exceptional and this was a wonderful dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Rooftop deck has good view of downtown and Union Station. Have the lobster shooters!! They're red coconut curry with a bite of lobster. Delicious and unique. Bar tables are the best for enjoying the view of the modern interior and for people watching

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good overall experience. Nothing bad sticks out which means it was all good! From the movement I walked into the place I felt comfortable and at ease. The staff was friendly and attentive which always makes for a great dining experience. Too bad I don't live in Nashville or I'd go here a lot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Staff tried to rush us through our meal. Didn't go over specials for that evening (happy hour) when asked about it he said well you said you had been here before.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Inconsistent menu with some real finds

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our server Shawn (Sean) was excellent. This was the second time that we had him. Overall excellent experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Overall, I love Virago! Fabulous atmosphere and view! The sweet and spicy edemame is to die for and the miso soup is super good. I've honestly had better sushi, but it's still worth it. Make Sake Monday is the best, half off select sushi and 2-4-1 sake which is the best! If you like sake you'll love theirs! I think my favorite place to sit is the upstairs outdoor bar area. Definitely recommend that to sit for sure if you can make a preference. I would for sure recommend Virago to visitors and you'll see me there pretty much every Monday!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were on the rooftop and Jordan was our waiter. He was amazing and truly made our experience more fun and enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great atmosphere. Been here many times and it's been great. Not this time. Very disappointing. Some food great, some not good at all. Service very disappointing. Hopefully just a bad night for them.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The ninja bacon is my favorite! I look forward to at least one trip to viragos during my buainess trips.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Virago is my favorite place to get sushi! We were there for my birthday!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Sat outside and the view and ambiance was outstanding Service was great! We got waited on immediately, and Grant our waiter was very friendly and made sure our dining experience was exceptional. Food was wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Let me just say the waitresses there were damn beautiful. Are they single?

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best restaurant hands down. Get the wasabi martini and he salmon it was unreal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

amazing, the sushi was fantastic (Osihi Roll) and the Ramen was great also, we got the black pepper one. Phonemail.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Everything I had was good. By going early I didn't have to wait and was served quickly. Second time to go, and I would go again without hesitation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I absolutely adore this place. i like sushi but this place made me love it. Everything about this place is perfect.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went for the happy hour drinks and ordered sushi to share. We enjoyed everything we ordered. It was all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Monday Maki Saki 1/2 price sushi sake was great. Sushi and sake was excellent. Were sat in corner of restaurant next to fire alarm, perhaps due to last minute reservation. Server seemed knowledgeable and friendly but seemed busy and could have checked in a few more times. Would recommend going again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have been fans of virago for years. We love location, valet parking is very easy and convenient. The service was excellent and our server, josh, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We loved the maki saki Monday deals for food and drink. The beet appetizer was amazing and highly recommend it! As always, the sushi was delicious, and we enjoyed the hand crafted drinks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Portions were very small for what you were paying. Food was very good though.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Went for our 1st anniversary! Wanted a nice dinner in Nashville. It didn't disappoint. Honestly was delicious! Recommend the Crispy Rice w/ Tuna! The beets were AMAZING so simple but delicious. My husband had a Ramen bowl and I had a speciality roll. Really loved it!! So cute and chic and just good! Disappointed in the short ribs/skewers but that's okay - we were so full.

Loved the area too. Had a drink before at Fin & Pearl and after at Adeles!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. I will be back next time in town

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wonderful fresh sushi and good suggestions by the waitress. Service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been going to Virago for years and it's always amazing. We just went for our wedding anniversary and everything was top notch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was great. Good wine list. Our server was very polite and knowledgeable about the menu, but a little too much time between table visits. Otherwise, really enjoyable and would return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a great dining experience for Asian courses. The Sushi was spot on and everything in our meals were great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A unique experience -- feels like a hip place in New York City. Restaurant has a club-like feel. Food was outstanding. We had the Chef's tasting menu for two and there was more food than two of us could comfortably eat. Each dish was excellent. Service was not quite up to par. Too many different people dropping dishes off at the table with poor explanations. My husband got soaked when one employee knocked over and broke the glass water bottle. Waiter didn't even know about it. But, overall we enjoyed the dinner very much and will likely return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is an awesome place. I love coming here. The service is awesome.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful sushi. Service was fabulous and waiter was attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great experience on the patio at Virago! Our server was very helpful and accommodating to our party. We setup for a quick meal before the Predators playoff game and felt completely taken care of and comfortable in our Preds gear on the patio. The views are INCREDIBLE!! Thanks for allowing us.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Scenic View, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Enjoyed several specialty sushi plates to share and loved the White Dragon and Tempura Crab.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Best to go on Monday half price special. They atmosphere is edgy.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very nice spot - the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Service was great. I have a gluten allergy. Waiter made some excellent suggestions. Food is fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.