Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Virago

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

*Closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day
*Open New Year's Eve and New Year's Day

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://mstreetnashville.com/virago

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (42)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Fun (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Romantic (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Healthy (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Cozy (13)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Spicy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Good fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Me and my girlfriend ordered the chefs special. With the price of the meal I was highly dissapointed with the food. The courses weren't balanced well at all. If I wanted two fried dishes brought to the table at once I would have gone to Kentucky fried chicken. It just seemed the dishes brought out were the quickest and cheapest on the menu, considering we were in and out in under an hour. Sorry virago, You've lost two customers.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We were eager to come here as we were told it was the best Sushi in Nashville. We are in big trouble if that is the case. We arrived 5 minutes prior to our reservation and were very easily dismissed to the bar and told they wouldn’t have a table until our reservation time . It was not until we checked back, 20 minutes later, after watching everyone immediately sat, that they got us a table. The only bright spot was our waiter, Richard. The food was mediocre at best. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Loved the service and enjoyed sharing dishes with friends. They all came out at different times so it was a lot of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

The food was phenomenal! A little expensive for sushi, but Mondays there are really a great deal. Will definitely be back! Already recommending it to all of my friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Gotta say these reviews are quite accurate.
We came on a Monday during their happy hour, half off makis, and buy 1 get 2 sake.

We ordered everything on the happy hour menu besides Hamachi, along with 2 orders of freshly grated wasabi table side.
Everything came rather quickly, and in the pictures they all looked mouthwateringly delicious.

But don't let the pictures fool ya, we are food instagrammers so naturally we like to make pictures of food look great, the flavors, on the other hand, did not quite meet the expectation. If you are going to charge more than $15 a maki, at a fancy restaurant, make the $15 seem worth it. The ingredients did not taste fresh, rice was luke warm, and none of the rolls, unfortunately had the wow factor in them, even the $25 lobster one that our server highly recommended.

With the half off, our total bill came out to be $64, i mean it was a lot of sushi, dont get me wrong, but for the flavors, the freshness of ingredients, I could only give that a OK.

This is the 3rd M street restaurant that my boyfriend and I have hit up since June, and gotta say besides Saint Anejo, the rest were all quite underwhelming. What a pity, with these beautiful interior, and great locations, I expected something more from them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious meal with the unexpected surprise of an edible "rose" as a consideration of our reservation notation that we were there to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely and delicious! We shared a copious salad and order of Crispy Brussels (sprouts) before receiving our entrees. I enjoyed the Dynamite Makimono sushi. The server was very kind about ensuring that my shellfish allergy wasn't going to be an issue with any of the food preparation elements. Hubby enjoyed a Rainbow Box which looked lovely and tasted great.
We were surprised at the noise level in the restaurant since we hadn't read much about that in the reviews. You are on notice: on a Friday night it is LOUD. It's not because of music, but that customers seem to only have one volume level - very loud.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Outstanding service and outstanding food. I can't believe Virago has been in Nashville for so long and we hadn't found it yet. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Always perfect. Perfect service, incredible food, perfectly matching drinks, and the best atmosphere. Why go anywhere else for sushi and special occasions?!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Nashville! I love all of the M Street places!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We have dined here on a variety of occasions, and been very pleased. The menu change, and lackluster food were are disappointment on our latest adventure.
It is highly unlikely that we will be back, at least for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Virago has an atmosphere that few can match in Nashville. You are met with an oxymoron, an upbeat and happening restaurant, yet you feel relaxed and alone at your table. Though the restaurant has a taste for presentation that isn't to say the food is not tasty, and that the servers are not nice and accommodating. I enjoyed being able to bring friends and family to this restaurant to have a great meal in a great place. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great sushi and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Great service and great food. We made reservation for our family of 7 with a toddler. The table was prepared in a secluded and nice area where we didn't have to worry if our young children would bother anyone. Everything was set up along with a high chair as requestedby the time we arrived. The sushi was fresh and approved by my wife, who is very sensitive to taste and smell. The service was very attentive without being overbearing. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Menu changed and new menu is not as enticing. Missed the mushrooms and chicken meatballs from old menu. Service was off and awkward. Food was exceptional for most of our party. Tried Merlot and it was okay. Friend got a cocktail that was awful and they did us a favor by not charging us is what they said. Very strange service since we've been there frequently and usually it's great. Going to take a break for awhile. Try it and see what you think!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very disappointed. The sushi was very overrated. I have had better sushi at many other restaurants. Had the bomb, it was very ordinary. Could hardly taste the shrimp tempura in it. We had a good waitress but I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We went to Virago because we had friends in town and loved it! I haven’t been in 10 years and it’s just as good as I remember it. The staff was very accommodating and the food was fantastic . We chose the sushi chef special and it was perfect for 4 people. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Always a great meal when we visit this place. We always order enough sushi for the whole table and share.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2017

We were recommend to the restaurant while in Nashville. It was an easy walk from the Marriott at the Gulch. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful in deciding what to order. The meal , especially the cut of meat was delicious. They forgot to deliver our coconut rice, apologized, brought it late and did not charge us which was very professional. It was a good night out !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2017

We came with our little baby and they did an excellent job of placing us in a quiet area. Was disappointed though that they changed their menu so much. Wasn't the same and wasn't blown away with any of the new roles.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2017

This was the second time I have eaten here and was not impressed. The food, other than the Lobster Shots, was bland. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening out at Virago with out of town guests.
Great food cool atmosphere pleasant service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Fresh and delicious sushi with attentive service in a place quiet enough for a couple to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The main issue we had was the server recommended ordering all food at once, and they’d space out for a great dining experience. Which is how we like to eat sushi, as an experience. They literally brought all our food out at once, and the appetizer came after our food....we then had a table crammed with food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent service and a fun foodie menu. Started with the rock shrimp appetizer, amazing! Melt in your mouth! Ordered the hot rock hamachi, again, a winner! Accompanied my meal with the wasabi martini, not overpowering, but just right. Easy valet parking. Sundays are quiet with 1/2 price wine and saki bottles under $100.
It was a fun birthday dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent service, food, drinks and atmosphere!!! We enjoyed this wonderful place to dine And enjoy sushi!! Very unique and tasty dishes.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Very Disappointed that they got rid of Happy Hour. We were there specifically for that.

Really hope they bring it back. It was one of our favorites.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Virago is always a fabulous choice! Great food + a gorgeous setting :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Wonderful experience from start to finish. Great food and something on the menu for everyone. They also have a very knowledgeable and attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, People Watching, Cozy, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great restaurant and excellent service.
The sushi was wonderful and it was an interesting menu as well. We loved it!!

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Virago was wonderful. This is the second time we’ve been, and since we loved it so much the first time, we decided to celebrate our anniversary here. The sushi rose was an amazing touch. Great food as always. They have slimmed down the menu a bit, but there were several new items to try as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My wife and I were on a date night and wanting sushi. The food was tasty but the kitchen was a little dysfunctional. Three of the sushi rolls we ordered were wrong and had to be sent back multiple times to get right. One of the rolls was never made right but we ended up eating it because we were tired of complaining. The food is pricey for the quality. The service was great but Nashville has better sushi options for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Virago is one of our favorite spots to eat when we visit Nashville. The Scottish Salmon is some of the best I've had and the sushi never disappoints. Our server was especially great this time and went out of her way to accommodate us. I honestly receive some of the best service every time we come. We cannot wait to come back to Nashville just so we can dine at Virago. We hope that you will consider opening one in Chattanooga :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Menu has changed in the past 3 weeks but the quality is still there. Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

My husband booked this reservation for my birthday. We religiously book MStreet restaurants for birthdays and anniversaries. We both ordered the sushi tour. Mine was served 25 min before my husbands. I had to ask 4 times before his ever showed up. When we were done with our meal, we waited another 35 minutes before we ever saw a server or anyone else to ask for a check or dessert menu. By this point we were both so fed up that we just asked for the check, which took another 20 min. The server did ask if we wanted to share a dessert or coffee or anything else, even though they were perfectly apprised it was a special occasion. Horrible, poor experience, and from now on we will take our business elsewhere for special occasions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.