Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Virago

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://mstreetnashville.com/virago

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (31)
Modern Decor (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Healthy (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (8)
People Watching (7)
Casual (7)
Spicy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
964 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely dinner at Virago.. as usual! Our server, Robert, was friendly and attentive, without hovering. We dined for our anniversary and once he found out, the manager brought us a special appetizer on the house. Our favorite sushi in Nashville by far! Always fresh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

We heard about Virago through the Omni. We were pleasantly surprised about the choices and the waitress and entire staff we encountered went above and beyond. Loved the fact there were two kitchens and the presentation of the plates we spectacular. Definitely worth it and will indulge again when we come to Nashville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We really loved the food at Virago. Second time there. However, we had a 6 pm reservation and all our food was out with 20 minutes of arriving. It was hard not to feel rushed. It would have been nice to relax during courses. The sushi courses were wonderful but the Donburri bowl was not very good and hardly touched. I'm sure we'll go again but would stick with sushi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

We were looking for someplace different for our anniversary and chose Virago, we were no disappointed! The food was incredible and the service was amazing! I would recommend to anyone and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Always a superb meal when in Nashville!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A little pricey, but well-worth it.
Outstanding food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lots of menu options, everything was good. The stoned steak option was a unique experience. Not cheap, but I thought it was very reasonable compared to similar experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was fantastic. My service was even better. They were very accommodating and the entire evening flowed well. I'll definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal was fabulous - the sushi is the best we've ever eaten, and the stone steak must be eaten to be believed. Service was excellent - ambience perfect. We could not have been more delighted.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was spectacular and food was excellent. A little on the loud side but that might just have been the patrons that night.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First visit to Virago was amazing! Food all excellent get the okra, Thai lobster shooters, and the ShoSho as an entree. Service was great as well. Drinks wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Terrible service...never brought my son's drink.
Brought dessert with no utensils to eat it.
Told us when we walked in that we needed to hurry because they needed out table in 1 hour and 45 min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was very good, our waiter William was outstanding. The atmosphere was very modern but nice. Two issues though the noise level was very high and the low bass booming made it hard to hear conversations. It was also very expensive for Japanese food even though it was very good quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was our first visit to Virago and we loved the food. We will go back again and recommend Virago's to my friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is one of the best sushi restaurants I have experienced. The food is fresh and you can taste the many different flavors from each dish. Great to do family style so every one can share. Service was on point. This was our first visit and we will be back when we take another trip to Nashville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tapas, Spicy, Hot Spot, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love this place, great food and drinks. I celebrated my birthday here, which was mentioned to the waiter. We ordered dessert and there was no candle :( I didn't want to ask or make a big deal, but most restaurants do something extra for special occasions. Writing happy birthday on the plate or a candle would have been nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server Jordan was phenomenal! It is rare that I am truly impressed by the quality of service, but he was fantastic! My sushi and wine were delicious, but the reason I am writing a review is because of the staff.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went there for a get together with friends. Was the perfect place for good food, good atmosphere and good conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It's been a while since I have been here but the service was amazing and friendly and we enjoyed our time here

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent in every way. Our server Kate was awesome, she really made this a great experience. Her knowledge of the menu and drink parings was outstanding. This is a great spot for date night, hanging with friends, or just grabbing some good food and drinks. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server was excellent, but overall service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've never had a bad meal at Virago. My son was in town & wanted sushi so I brought him here. He loved it. The mochi for dessert was amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The scallops were the best we've ever had by a long shot...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We made reservations for our Valentine's Day weekend dinner. I was mistaken about the time. Virgo called me and told me my table was ready. I was 30 minutes away. They held the table for me. I was very pleased to walk in and be sitted immediately. This was very classy of them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Never disappointed and love this place! One of our Nashville faves

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I were visiting Nashville for her birthday and decided to bring some friends with us to Virago. We all had a phenomenal experience that we will remember years to come. Every time we come to Nashville we stop at Virago and every time is is amazing. From start to finish this is by far our favorite spot to dine in the city. Thanks again Virago for a memorable experience!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a great vibe and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This will be my first restaurant when I come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Fabulous night! We were celebrating our granddaughter's college graduation. Even though we have white hair and a cane, we had excellent service from William. He was very attentive, polite, and patient. My husband's entree was not good, so William removed it and brought an entree that was higher quality than the original. We all had a wonderful time experimenting with Asian Fusion orders. All three of us really enjoyed this new-to-us food ( except the pork belly!). To summarize...great food, great service, great time. Our special thanks to William.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was fabulous!!!!! Service was excellent! The new menu you have to try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and great company made a great evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place! Nate was our waiter, he was as exceptional as our dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Knockout performance by Chef Andrew and the crew at Virago. Did the tasting menu for the wife's birthday and it did not disappoint.

Staff went out their way to make sure everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Absolutely love this place! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Virago was a fantastic experience. The food and cocktails were superb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I absolutely loved this restaurant!! The sushi rolls were to die for, especially the Tempura Crab and the Godzilla. Excellent and we had the sweetest waiter called Shaun. Beautiful modern decor.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We waited 30 minutes for a table when we had a reservation. We were told they would check on a table for us, but they never came back to seat us. 20 minutes later I went to the front desk to see what was going on and they had forgotten about us. Worst experience service wise I've ever had at Virago. The two girls working the front were unfriendly and downright dismissive of paying customers that had made reservations. They were not even apologetic for the wait or the fact that they had forgotten to seat us. I was bringing a friend who had never eaten at Virago and I was embarrassed for Virago due to the poor front desk service.

That said, the food was delicious as always and our server was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Top notch - food was wonderful service was on point just a little loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing service and good food. Good spot for family and friends gathering.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.