About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Pot De Crème & Donuts
Tānto [Maki]
Ninja Bacon
Brisket Eggroll
Stone Wagyu Ribeye
Beef Brisket Udon
Bourbon Teriyaki Sweet Potatoes
Tempura Shitake Mushrooms
. Ninja Bacon .
Passion & Spice Cocktail
The Bomb [Maki]
Katana [Maki]
Katana Maki [Close-Up]
The Bomb Maki [Close-Up]
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Tānto Maki [Close-Up]
Thai Lobster Shots
Crispy Brussels Sprout$
Crazy Monkey : Maki
Sashimi
Yuzu Martini
Kurobata Belly : Maki
The Bomb : Maki
Fire Crunch : Maki
Creme Pot And Doughnuts
Crazy Monkey Roll
Yasai Roll
Fiery Tuna Roll
Crunchy California Roll
Tuna Sashimi With Fresh Jalapeño
Lobster Shooters
Kanye Prime
Crunchy Brussels Sprouts
Thai Lobster Shooters
Katana Maki
Mixed Nigiri
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
ikura nigiri
Hamachi Jalapeno
Peartini
Chocolate Tres Leches
House Salad
Mochi
Scottish Salmon
Spicy Strawberry Maki
Equador
Acai Honey Copa
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
Okra Tempura
Seaweed salad
Nigiri
Godzilla roll
Wok Charred Edamame
Filet Mignon
Mussels And Clams With XO Sauce
Salt & Pepper Shrimp Stir Fry
Ecuador Roll
Duck Springrolls
Sake Steamed Brussel Sprouts
Passionfruit Sake Cocktail
Wagyu Beef Sashimi
The Bomb Maki
The Dragon Maki
Mochi Mango
Rock N' Roll Sushi Roll, Crazy Monkey Roll
Crispy Rice With Spicy Salmon And Watermelon Poprocks
raspberry bellini
Coconut Jasmine Rice
Jasmine Coconut Rice
Rainbow Sushi Roll
Jerk Chicken Skewers

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
3 More
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Special Occasion (92)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Hot Spot (78)
See All
Good for Groups (68)
Romantic (66)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Scenic View (30)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing / fun Food ✔️ Will go back Rec ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing / fun

Food ✔️

Will go back

Recommend chefs choice ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at Virago several times and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have dined at Virago several times and have never been disappointed. The appetizers are especially delicious (Roasted Brussel Sprouts, Duck Confit Egg Roll, Rock Shrimp Tempura). Of course once you eat these there is not much room for an entree, but the sushi combinations are very good; "The Bomb" is amazing. If you have any room left, the desserts are great too. The restaurant has a very pretty decor, and has many intimate alcoves that makes it a nice choice for a romantic dinner, but it can also handle a large party for special occasions like a birthday or other celebration. The food is a little on the pricey side, but the portions are big, and great for sharing. I look forward to dining at Virago again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great job to our server Brandon! The vie ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great job to our server Brandon! The views from the upstairs patio, overlooking the city, are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virago sat us before our reservations pe ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Virago sat us before our reservations per request. Made reservations that day and got the rooftop as requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner yet again!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful dinner yet again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful menu, delicious specialty sush ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful menu, delicious specialty sushi. Loved our server. We were a party of three, and with two glasses of wine each , one roll each and a shared entree our bill came to $200 plus gratuity - Virago isn't an option if you are on a budget but it's a great night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was great, but the service was the best part. We never felt the need to look for a water/waitress. This was a business meeting and everything was well received.

Thank you!

Kristen

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food! Crispy Brussel Sprout ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always great food! Crispy Brussel Sprouts and the Wasabi Martini are a must!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time dining here in t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is the second time dining here in three weeks . The first time was wonderful , the second disappointing . Our first course came out after our second and we were served so quickly we were out in an hour. It'll be some time before I return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent sushi, especially The Bomb rol ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent sushi, especially The Bomb roll. We had a fabulous server who explained the menu in detail, which really helped with placing our order. Unfortunately, we were seated at a table at the end of a row which was located next to a well lit totally empty room (tables were set up, but no diners), which made us feel as though we were dining in an empty restaurant. This lack of ambiance took away from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

One of our favorite places in Nashville! ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

One of our favorite places in Nashville! Every sushi roll we ordered was great! Especially The Bomb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Adult daughter has chosen Virago as birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Adult daughter has chosen Virago as birthday dinner choice for years and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on Monday for half price sushi, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went on Monday for half price sushi, and this was a GREAT value. There were also 2 for 1 drinks ($11 for two drinks was great). We were visiting Nashville and the half priced sushi caught my attention, very glad we went! The wasabi martini was amazing, as was all the sushi we ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a reservation but still took a minut ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had a reservation but still took a minute to get seated. Other than that my experience was great. Waitress and staff were tremendous. Food was delicious. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Definitely have had better sushi. The w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Definitely have had better sushi. The wagu tataki was veiny. The Bomb sushi roll was okay at best. Nice vibe. Unspectacular food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our best dining experiences of la ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of our best dining experiences of late. Creative sushi rolls, fabulous wagyu on stone, great service. Only minor complaint was gelato was not frozen, which they apologized for and comped when they served it. Memorable meal that earned a regular spot in our rotation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Indoor/Outdoor dining option at its fine ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Indoor/Outdoor dining option at its finest! My wife & I celebrated her birthday in downstairs in the main dining room and had impeccable service & delicious food. After dinner we had coffee & desert upstairs on the outdoor bar. Great service yet again and beautiful views of the Nashville skyline. Its gotta be one of the best bars in Nashville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! This is no surprise c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent service! This is no surprise coming from an MStreet restaurant. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only giving a 4 star because it was so v ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Only giving a 4 star because it was so very hot in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS excellent in all ways. This is at ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

ALWAYS excellent in all ways. This is at least the 5th time I have been here in the past 2 years and the food, service and atmosphere are always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi in Nashville? Yup. This place is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Sushi in Nashville? Yup. This place is on point. Creative selections. Attentive staff. Delicious. Make reservations! The place fills up fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The meal was superb as always, however o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The meal was superb as always, however our server was terrible and was rude to my friend about a drink she ordered that was made incorrectly, also did not take it off the ticket.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Everything was delicious and presented b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was delicious and presented beautifully . The service was wonderful and extremely helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were here for my daughters birthday. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were here for my daughters birthday. The rooftop dining was amazing and the service was outstanding. This place is a must do while in Nashville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere! Sushi was excellent- ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome atmosphere! Sushi was excellent- very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my cousin's 21st birthday ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came here for my cousin's 21st birthday and it was awesome. The next day we were still talking about Virago and wanting to make it back soon. Highly recommend it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Sushi and wonderful service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing Sushi and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

sorry to say, maybe it's just me, but wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

sorry to say, maybe it's just me, but when I want sushi, i just want a simple Japanese restaurant on a trendy bar/social scene. Food was OK. nothing out of ordinary. Salad doused in dressing. Noise an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Michael is amazing. The entire experienc ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Michael is amazing. The entire experience here is amazing. Absolutely coming back. It's an absolute moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good so was service but I was r ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was good so was service but I was really disappointed to see they have changed the dress code. People were dressed way too casual for a place like that - including baseball hats on backwards. Not cool. Makes them look like they are hurting for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Virago used to be one of our favorites, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Virago used to be one of our favorites, but something has changed. And not for the better. The Brussel sprouts were way too salty. The pork belly came out lukewarm. When we pointed it out, they took care of it. Sushi was good. The bowl with egg on top was odd and bland. Won't be going back. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointing, though not busy We've ha ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Disappointing, though not busy

We've have a few visits to Virago and enjoyed it enough to come back on the fly. The place was virtually empty, but the staff seemed to struggle to keep up with our one table.

The food was uneven, with many offerings only so-so and not deserving of the 3 digit bill.

I'm afraid we won't be back, which is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

We went to view the fireworks away from ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went to view the fireworks away from the crowds and throughly enjoyed the Nashville skyline. The food and wasabi martinis were amazing. Definitely a fav of ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time at Virago, as always! We had ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great time at Virago, as always! We had a group at a large table on the roof. Service and food were both excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As my husband and I had dinner tonight ( ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As my husband and I had dinner tonight (7/7/16) at a local Atlanta restaurant, we discussed our evening at Virago. In my 45 years and in his 49 years of life, this was BY FAR the WORST dining experience EVER for both of us (and my husband never complains about anything)! The rooftop deck is beautiful and the food was actually very good (the rock shimp appetizer was amazing), but we will not be back due to the horrible waitress and management!!!! I will be sending a letter to the owner and leadership team of Mstreet restaurant group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

I had high expectations for my birthday ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had high expectations for my birthday dinner at Virago as a first time customer but I was wildly impressed. The food menu, drink menu, service, and server recommendations far exceeded my expectations! Delicious food. Crispy Rice/Spicy Tuna with the pop rocks was divine. The bacon wrapped scallops were cooked perfectly. The service was quick and awesome. Definitely be returning ASAP. Made my birthday dinner with out of town guests AMAZING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't miss by ordering the shrimp or ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

You can't miss by ordering the shrimp or steak if you're not a fan of sushi!! However, the sushi was great!!! The service was wonderful and such a great roof top dining experience!!!! Two thumbs up for the restaurant and to Katie (our server). She earned the nickname "giggles!"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a bachelorette dinner and lo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went for a bachelorette dinner and loved our experience. The staff was awesome and so friendly and made sure we had a fun dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been awhile, but I was,surprised ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It has been awhile, but I was,surprised at the food. it was,just not that memorable and a bit heavy on the oil. the upstairs patio was lovely however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.