About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Pot De Crème & Donuts
Tānto [Maki]
Ninja Bacon
Stone Wagyu Ribeye
Brisket Eggroll
Beef Brisket Udon
Tempura Shitake Mushrooms
Bourbon Teriyaki Sweet Potatoes
. Ninja Bacon .
Passion & Spice Cocktail
The Bomb [Maki]
Katana [Maki]
Katana Maki [Close-Up]
The Bomb Maki [Close-Up]
Tānto Maki [Close-Up]
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Thai Lobster Shots
Crispy Brussels Sprout$
Crazy Monkey : Maki
Yuzu Martini
Sashimi
Kurobata Belly : Maki
The Bomb : Maki
Fire Crunch : Maki
Creme Pot And Doughnuts
Crazy Monkey Roll
Crunchy California Roll
Yasai Roll
Fiery Tuna Roll
Tuna Sashimi With Fresh Jalapeño
Lobster Shooters
Kanye Prime
Crunchy Brussels Sprouts
Katana Maki
Thai Lobster Shooters
Mixed Nigiri
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Hamachi Jalapeno
ikura nigiri
Peartini
Chocolate Tres Leches
House Salad
Mochi
Scottish Salmon
Spicy Strawberry Maki
Equador
Acai Honey Copa
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
Seaweed salad
Nigiri
Okra Tempura
Godzilla roll
Wok Charred Edamame
Filet Mignon
Mussels And Clams With XO Sauce
Duck Springrolls
Ecuador Roll
Salt & Pepper Shrimp Stir Fry
The Bomb Maki
Passionfruit Sake Cocktail
Mochi Mango
Wagyu Beef Sashimi
Sake Steamed Brussel Sprouts
The Dragon Maki
Rock N' Roll Sushi Roll, Crazy Monkey Roll
Crispy Rice With Spicy Salmon And Watermelon Poprocks
raspberry bellini
Coconut Jasmine Rice
Jasmine Coconut Rice
Jerk Chicken Skewers
Rainbow Sushi Roll

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
1 More
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

fit for foodies (86)
special occasion (83)
hot spot (72)
See All
good for groups (61)
romantic (53)
great for outdoor dining (38)
vibrant bar scene (37)
scenic view (29)
neighborhood gem (20)
notable wine list (20)
late-night find (16)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic as always

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS excellent in all ways. This is at ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

ALWAYS excellent in all ways. This is at least the 5th time I have been here in the past 2 years and the food, service and atmosphere are always top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi in Nashville? Yup. This place is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Sushi in Nashville? Yup. This place is on point. Creative selections. Attentive staff. Delicious. Make reservations! The place fills up fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The meal was superb as always, however o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The meal was superb as always, however our server was terrible and was rude to my friend about a drink she ordered that was made incorrectly, also did not take it off the ticket.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Everything was delicious and presented b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was delicious and presented beautifully . The service was wonderful and extremely helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were here for my daughters birthday. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were here for my daughters birthday. The rooftop dining was amazing and the service was outstanding. This place is a must do while in Nashville.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere! Sushi was excellent- ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome atmosphere! Sushi was excellent- very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my cousin's 21st birthday ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came here for my cousin's 21st birthday and it was awesome. The next day we were still talking about Virago and wanting to make it back soon. Highly recommend it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Sushi and wonderful service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing Sushi and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

sorry to say, maybe it's just me, but wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

sorry to say, maybe it's just me, but when I want sushi, i just want a simple Japanese restaurant on a trendy bar/social scene. Food was OK. nothing out of ordinary. Salad doused in dressing. Noise an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Michael is amazing. The entire experienc ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Michael is amazing. The entire experience here is amazing. Absolutely coming back. It's an absolute moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good so was service but I was r ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was good so was service but I was really disappointed to see they have changed the dress code. People were dressed way too casual for a place like that - including baseball hats on backwards. Not cool. Makes them look like they are hurting for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Virago used to be one of our favorites, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Virago used to be one of our favorites, but something has changed. And not for the better. The Brussel sprouts were way too salty. The pork belly came out lukewarm. When we pointed it out, they took care of it. Sushi was good. The bowl with egg on top was odd and bland. Won't be going back. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointing, though not busy We've ha ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Disappointing, though not busy

We've have a few visits to Virago and enjoyed it enough to come back on the fly. The place was virtually empty, but the staff seemed to struggle to keep up with our one table.

The food was uneven, with many offerings only so-so and not deserving of the 3 digit bill.

I'm afraid we won't be back, which is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

We went to view the fireworks away from ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went to view the fireworks away from the crowds and throughly enjoyed the Nashville skyline. The food and wasabi martinis were amazing. Definitely a fav of ours.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time at Virago, as always! We had ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great time at Virago, as always! We had a group at a large table on the roof. Service and food were both excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As my husband and I had dinner tonight ( ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As my husband and I had dinner tonight (7/7/16) at a local Atlanta restaurant, we discussed our evening at Virago. In my 45 years and in his 49 years of life, this was BY FAR the WORST dining experience EVER for both of us (and my husband never complains about anything)! The rooftop deck is beautiful and the food was actually very good (the rock shimp appetizer was amazing), but we will not be back due to the horrible waitress and management!!!! I will be sending a letter to the owner and leadership team of Mstreet restaurant group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

I had high expectations for my birthday ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had high expectations for my birthday dinner at Virago as a first time customer but I was wildly impressed. The food menu, drink menu, service, and server recommendations far exceeded my expectations! Delicious food. Crispy Rice/Spicy Tuna with the pop rocks was divine. The bacon wrapped scallops were cooked perfectly. The service was quick and awesome. Definitely be returning ASAP. Made my birthday dinner with out of town guests AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't miss by ordering the shrimp or ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

You can't miss by ordering the shrimp or steak if you're not a fan of sushi!! However, the sushi was great!!! The service was wonderful and such a great roof top dining experience!!!! Two thumbs up for the restaurant and to Katie (our server). She earned the nickname "giggles!"

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a bachelorette dinner and lo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went for a bachelorette dinner and loved our experience. The staff was awesome and so friendly and made sure we had a fun dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been awhile, but I was,surprised ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It has been awhile, but I was,surprised at the food. it was,just not that memorable and a bit heavy on the oil. the upstairs patio was lovely however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food! The duck confit spring rolls ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food! The duck confit spring rolls and the Brussels sprouts were fantastic. Love the Tanto roll too. Service is excellent. Quiet elegant dining spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This has become my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This has become my favorite restaurant in Tennessee. Outstanding food and a lot of it. The chef's tasting menus were fantastic and could not believe the amount of food we received. Outstanding service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place with fantastic service a ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Beautiful place with fantastic service and fun food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virago never fails to please. Always gre ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Virago never fails to please. Always great service and superb service. A staple for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of interesting items on the menu an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Lots of interesting items on the menu and service was prompt, accurate, and consistent. Great place to start for a 1-1 romantic evening coupled with later night plans...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was spectacular. We had a large ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was spectacular. We had a large group and were very gracious on accommodating us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of our favorite places for a special ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of our favorite places for a special night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wasabi martinis are the bomb and highly ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Wasabi martinis are the bomb and highly recommend maki saki Mondays.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virago is a great restaurant!The service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Virago is a great restaurant!The service was excellent,the food was awesome,and the food was ready quickly and presentation was amazing.The atmosphere was great as well.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding as usual and servic ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was outstanding as usual and service was timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food and friendly but not o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really great food and friendly but not overbearing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat before seeing a show. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great place to eat before seeing a show. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great wasabi guacamole, sushi and cocktails. Very attentive and helpful server. Cool place and ambiance, is pricey if you're looking for value.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere (was a little dark, but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice atmosphere (was a little dark, but not too bad) and food was good. There was a bachelorette party near us so the noise level was unacceptable as we could not talk around our table. I mentioned this to the server (who was EXCELLENT btw) and he said it was like that often on Friday and Saturday evenings so let the reader beware if planning to go at those times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The thai lobster shooters were incredibl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The thai lobster shooters were incredible, the sushi was fresh and the portion were plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expected a lot more. Crispy Brussels spr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Expected a lot more. Crispy Brussels sprouts not so crispy. Spicy tuna sushi mediocre at best. Mixed drink not made well. Sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Outstanding

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our server was delightful and very helpful as my husband has allergies . Our food was topnotch and served fast. A delightful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. The Bomb ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food and great service. The Bomb really is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable Service from the entire staff ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Impeccable Service from the entire staff at Virago. From reservation confirmation to departure, it was top notch.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.