About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Romantic (39)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Modern Decor (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Hot Spot (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fun (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Business Meals (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Spicy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent in every way. Our server Kate was awesome, she really made this a great experience. Her knowledge of the menu and drink parings was outstanding. This is a great spot for date night, hanging with friends, or just grabbing some good food and drinks. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was excellent, but overall service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've never had a bad meal at Virago. My son was in town & wanted sushi so I brought him here. He loved it. The mochi for dessert was amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The scallops were the best we've ever had by a long shot...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We made reservations for our Valentine's Day weekend dinner. I was mistaken about the time. Virgo called me and told me my table was ready. I was 30 minutes away. They held the table for me. I was very pleased to walk in and be sitted immediately. This was very classy of them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Never disappointed and love this place! One of our Nashville faves

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I were visiting Nashville for her birthday and decided to bring some friends with us to Virago. We all had a phenomenal experience that we will remember years to come. Every time we come to Nashville we stop at Virago and every time is is amazing. From start to finish this is by far our favorite spot to dine in the city. Thanks again Virago for a memorable experience!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This will be my first restaurant when I come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Fabulous night! We were celebrating our granddaughter's college graduation. Even though we have white hair and a cane, we had excellent service from William. He was very attentive, polite, and patient. My husband's entree was not good, so William removed it and brought an entree that was higher quality than the original. We all had a wonderful time experimenting with Asian Fusion orders. All three of us really enjoyed this new-to-us food ( except the pork belly!). To summarize...great food, great service, great time. Our special thanks to William.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was fabulous!!!!! Service was excellent! The new menu you have to try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and great company made a great evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place! Nate was our waiter, he was as exceptional as our dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Knockout performance by Chef Andrew and the crew at Virago. Did the tasting menu for the wife's birthday and it did not disappoint.

Staff went out their way to make sure everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Absolutely love this place! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Virago was a fantastic experience. The food and cocktails were superb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I absolutely loved this restaurant!! The sushi rolls were to die for, especially the Tempura Crab and the Godzilla. Excellent and we had the sweetest waiter called Shaun. Beautiful modern decor.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We waited 30 minutes for a table when we had a reservation. We were told they would check on a table for us, but they never came back to seat us. 20 minutes later I went to the front desk to see what was going on and they had forgotten about us. Worst experience service wise I've ever had at Virago. The two girls working the front were unfriendly and downright dismissive of paying customers that had made reservations. They were not even apologetic for the wait or the fact that they had forgotten to seat us. I was bringing a friend who had never eaten at Virago and I was embarrassed for Virago due to the poor front desk service.

That said, the food was delicious as always and our server was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Top notch - food was wonderful service was on point just a little loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing service and good food. Good spot for family and friends gathering.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to Virago with my cousin and her husband who are from LA. They wanted to go to a good sushi place. I have heard so many good things about this place, I suggested we try it. On their flight to Nashville, people were recommending it to them. Sushi was awesome. Presentation and quality right on. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great ambiance. Food was delicious and felt modern.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food but terrible service! Half price Monday night sushi is awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a great meal as usual. I have never had a meal here that I didn't love. One of my faves in Nashville.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good experience with the exception that too many people had ordered the steak cooked on the rocks ... so the whole place was smokey, smelled like oil, and bothered our eyes! Our clothes all smelled like a diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The sushi was absolutely delicious, and the half price wine was a great deal. The service was a little spotty, especially from the hostess who really didn't Like the fact that I was a party of one. I would definitely go back – – especially on a Monday when some of the sushi rolls are half price during happy hour.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Absolutely great food!! Server could have been more involved but overall great experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The best sushi. I love the crispy rice/spicy tuna and lobster shooters!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing dinner with my husband. The food was delicious. The menu was unique and fresh. There was a good balance between the delicate, absolutely perfect sashimi we tried first and the hearty, comforting ramen that I had for my main. The service was stellar. The restaurant's decor was beautiful. It's very trendy but warm and welcoming. We had a fantastic experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food, great service, but way overpriced. Cheapest glass of wine is $11. BUT the food was amazing and a great place to go for a special occasion. Bill for two plus drinks was almost $150. I probably won't be back because we cannot afford this on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the perfect restaurant for New Year's Eve! The food was amazing and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always so pleased with the service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We just love the food here and it never disappoints. The sushi is outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food! Loved everything we ordered, especially the brussel sprouts. They were incredible! It got a little too loud and noisy for me though to talk with our company. Would have liked a quieter atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Exec Summary:

Sushi was great, table service was great, and you'll pay accordingly.

Note to Mgt:

We had to come early, around 5:30, and were the first and only table seated for the majority of the meal. The hostesses sat us at the very first table in the restaurant, which made us feel unwelcome. They need to balance whatever program they use to seat people with a little common sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had heard only the best about Virago and was met with the same experience I'd heard about. One of the best sushi meals I've ever had. Had a lot of fun with the stone cooking. Great wine selection as well. Edamame and stuffed shishito peppers were a huge hit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went on a Monday, not expecting the excellent meal & pricing on their 50% rolls! The food is excellent, and a bill of $20 between two people is even better.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place is so so good the food is off the hook good it's so freash and presented so well the service was so good we took our daughter that is in college in Nashville and she loved it .. if you like sushi you will love this place

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was good; the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Good spread of cuisines, provided by the two separate kitchens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Awesome experience out with my girlfriends for dinner! My only gripe was the bartender… She was incredibly rude and barely paid attention to us girls. She was definitely more concerned with the males at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very good service and excellent food! The Server did an excellent job taking care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Virago is always fantastic. We love taking our visiting friends here. The food is consistently amazing and their new cocktail menu is so much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great environment and incredible food. Cant believe the best sushi anywhere is in Nashville, Tn!!!!

Service selection and quality is unmatched. Great vibe and atmosphere too

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great food. Lovely restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The sushi tonight was the best I have ever had. Try the truffle futomaki, the complexity is indescribable!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

excellent and the service was wonderful. her recommendations were on point.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I LOVED this place for our date night! We will definitely be back! Great food and wonderful, attentive service without being annoying! Not one bad thing to say. So. Good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect variety of sushi and other dishes. Consistently great service and experience as all the times I've been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was great. Server was good but did not have a super warm personality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.