About Virago

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://viragonashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pot De Crème & Donuts - Virago, Nashville, TN
Tānto [Maki] - Virago, Nashville, TN
Thai Lobster Shots - Virago, Nashville, TN
Passion & Spice Cocktail - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crispy Brussels Sprout$ - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crazy Monkey : Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Rock Shrimp Tempura - Virago, Nashville, TN
Tānto Maki [Close-Up] - Virago, Nashville, TN
Sashimi - Virago, Nashville, TN
Yuzu Martini - Virago, Nashville, TN
Kurobata Belly : Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Katana Maki [Close-Up] - Virago, Nashville, TN
. Ninja Bacon . - Virago, Nashville, TN
Ninja Bacon - Virago, Nashville, TN
The Bomb [Maki] - Virago, Nashville, TN
The Bomb Maki [Close-Up] - Virago, Nashville, TN
The Bomb : Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Fire Crunch : Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Katana [Maki] - Virago, Nashville, TN
Creme Pot And Doughnuts - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crazy Monkey Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Yasai Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Fiery Tuna Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crunchy California Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Tuna Sashimi With Fresh Jalapeño - Virago, Nashville, TN
Lobster Shooters - Virago, Nashville, TN
Kanye Prime - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crunchy Brussels Sprouts - Virago, Nashville, TN
Thai Lobster Shooters - Virago, Nashville, TN
Katana Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Mixed Nigiri - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Virago, Nashville, TN
ikura nigiri - Virago, Nashville, TN
Hamachi Jalapeno - Virago, Nashville, TN
Peartini - Virago, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Tres Leches - Virago, Nashville, TN
House Salad - Virago, Nashville, TN
Mochi - Virago, Nashville, TN
Scottish Salmon - Virago, Nashville, TN
Beef Brisket Udon - Virago, Nashville, TN
Spicy Strawberry Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Equador - Virago, Nashville, TN
Acai Honey Copa - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crispy Brussels Sprouts - Virago, Nashville, TN
Okra Tempura - Virago, Nashville, TN
Seaweed salad - Virago, Nashville, TN
Nigiri - Virago, Nashville, TN
Godzilla roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Wok Charred Edamame - Virago, Nashville, TN
Brisket Eggroll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Bourbon Teriyaki Sweet Potatoes - Virago, Nashville, TN
Stone Wagyu Ribeye - Virago, Nashville, TN
Tempura Shitake Mushrooms - Virago, Nashville, TN
Filet Mignon - Virago, Nashville, TN
Mussels And Clams With XO Sauce - Virago, Nashville, TN
Salt & Pepper Shrimp Stir Fry - Virago, Nashville, TN
Ecuador Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Duck Springrolls - Virago, Nashville, TN
Sake Steamed Brussel Sprouts - Virago, Nashville, TN
Passionfruit Sake Cocktail - Virago, Nashville, TN
Wagyu Beef Sashimi - Virago, Nashville, TN
The Bomb Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
The Dragon Maki - Virago, Nashville, TN
Mochi Mango - Virago, Nashville, TN
Rock N' Roll Sushi Roll, Crazy Monkey Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Crispy Rice With Spicy Salmon And Watermelon Poprocks - Virago, Nashville, TN
raspberry bellini - Virago, Nashville, TN
Coconut Jasmine Rice - Virago, Nashville, TN
Jasmine Coconut Rice - Virago, Nashville, TN
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Virago, Nashville, TN
Jerk Chicken Skewers - Virago, Nashville, TN

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Romantic (33)
See All
Modern Decor (32)
Special Occasion (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Fun (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Scenic View (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Spicy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a great meal as usual. I have ne ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a great meal as usual. I have never had a meal here that I didn't love. One of my faves in Nashville.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sushi was absolutely delicious, and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The sushi was absolutely delicious, and the half price wine was a great deal. The service was a little spotty, especially from the hostess who really didn't Like the fact that I was a party of one. I would definitely go back – – especially on a Monday when some of the sushi rolls are half price during happy hour.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Absolutely great food!! Server could hav ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Absolutely great food!! Server could have been more involved but overall great experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best sushi. I love the crispy rice/s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The best sushi. I love the crispy rice/spicy tuna and lobster shooters!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing dinner with my husband. The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing dinner with my husband. The food was delicious. The menu was unique and fresh. There was a good balance between the delicate, absolutely perfect sashimi we tried first and the hearty, comforting ramen that I had for my main. The service was stellar. The restaurant's decor was beautiful. It's very trendy but warm and welcoming. We had a fantastic experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great service, but way ove ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food, great service, but way overpriced. Cheapest glass of wine is $11. BUT the food was amazing and a great place to go for a special occasion. Bill for two plus drinks was almost $150. I probably won't be back because we cannot afford this on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the perfect restaurant for New ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the perfect restaurant for New Year's Eve! The food was amazing and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always so pleased with the service and f ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always so pleased with the service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We just love the food here and it never ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We just love the food here and it never disappoints. The sushi is outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Loved everything we ordered ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food! Loved everything we ordered, especially the brussel sprouts. They were incredible! It got a little too loud and noisy for me though to talk with our company. Would have liked a quieter atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exec Summary: Sushi was great, table ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Exec Summary:

Sushi was great, table service was great, and you'll pay accordingly.

Note to Mgt:

We had to come early, around 5:30, and were the first and only table seated for the majority of the meal. The hostesses sat us at the very first table in the restaurant, which made us feel unwelcome. They need to balance whatever program they use to seat people with a little common sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Had heard only the best about Virago and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had heard only the best about Virago and was met with the same experience I'd heard about. One of the best sushi meals I've ever had. Had a lot of fun with the stone cooking. Great wine selection as well. Edamame and stuffed shishito peppers were a huge hit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Monday, not expecting the e ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went on a Monday, not expecting the excellent meal & pricing on their 50% rolls! The food is excellent, and a bill of $20 between two people is even better.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This place is so so good the food is off ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place is so so good the food is off the hook good it's so freash and presented so well the service was so good we took our daughter that is in college in Nashville and she loved it .. if you like sushi you will love this place

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good; the service was excel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was good; the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good spread of cuisines, provided by the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Good spread of cuisines, provided by the two separate kitchens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awesome experience out with my girlfrien ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Awesome experience out with my girlfriends for dinner! My only gripe was the bartender… She was incredibly rude and barely paid attention to us girls. She was definitely more concerned with the males at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Very good service and excellent food! T ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very good service and excellent food! The Server did an excellent job taking care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virago is always fantastic. We love taki ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Virago is always fantastic. We love taking our visiting friends here. The food is consistently amazing and their new cocktail menu is so much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment and incredible food. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great environment and incredible food. Cant believe the best sushi anywhere is in Nashville, Tn!!!!

Service selection and quality is unmatched. Great vibe and atmosphere too

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Lovely restaurant.

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great food. Lovely restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The sushi tonight was the best I have ev ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The sushi tonight was the best I have ever had. Try the truffle futomaki, the complexity is indescribable!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

excellent and the service was wonderful. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

excellent and the service was wonderful. her recommendations were on point.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I LOVED this place for ou ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I LOVED this place for our date night! We will definitely be back! Great food and wonderful, attentive service without being annoying! Not one bad thing to say. So. Good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect variety of sushi and other dishe ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect variety of sushi and other dishes. Consistently great service and experience as all the times I've been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Server was good but did ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was great. Server was good but did not have a super warm personality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great sushi! Love this place. It was per ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great sushi! Love this place. It was perfect for our 23rd wedding anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequently dine at Virago. The sushi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We frequently dine at Virago. The sushi is fresh, the dessert delightful, and the ambience perfect. Sit inside, or enjoy a skyline view from the rooftop. The wine list is lengthy, and the chef's creations are to be sampled.

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff was very attentive and accommodati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Staff was very attentive and accommodating. We were seated promptly in spite of the fact that I had made a mistake with the reservation. Our server was very friendly and quick to help us order with his recommendations. We thought that the food was very tasty with nice varieties. Ambiance was very comfortable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Virago is always good. It's been a while ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Virago is always good. It's been a while since I have been... and wowee! I don't remember it being this incredible! I brought some foodie first-timers with me who thought it was the best grub they've had in a long time! I'm not a brussels sprout fan, but omg we had the Crispy Brussels sprouts for an appetizer, and then two of us ordered them as a side dish with our meal -- how did the chef do that?! The Stoned Steak is always fun (you cook the thin sliced steak yourself on a hot salty rock right there at the table), but every entree at the table was excellent and the presentation was beautiful. We were in food heaven. And you haven't had coconut jasmine rice until you've had it a Virago -- if you forget to order it with your entree, order it for desert. It's amazing. I have to mention the Yuzu martini too. I'm actually going to find Yuzu (whatever it is) to try to replicate this at home -- loved it! Our waiter was A+ excellent too. H was very knowledgeable and his recommendations were spot on. Go to Virago - now! By the way, I've never written a food review before. I was that impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was fast and efficient! Food was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was fast and efficient! Food was amazing and the portion sizes were actually perfect. Definitely going on a date there again!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sushi Heaven This is a fabulous restaur ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Sushi Heaven

This is a fabulous restaurant conveniently located in the Gulch area. The service, food and atmosphere are wonderful. Order slowly - your eyes will want a lot of food! This is a regular place for my daughter to eat so being together there was a treat. Make this a definite stop if you love GREAT sushi.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I think Virago has the best sushi in Nas ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I think Virago has the best sushi in Nashville by far. One roll you have to try is the Honey Fire. It is incredible. Also the Godzilla.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very tasty but overpriced sushi. Good se ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very tasty but overpriced sushi. Good service in a trendy but loud environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful selection of sushi, great serv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful selection of sushi, great service from when we walked in the door till the time we left. A must for a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Claire was our server and she was great! ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Claire was our server and she was great! Very knowledgeable and friendly :) we had a great time celebrating my boyfriend's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your restaurant lived up to it's expecta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Your restaurant lived up to it's expectations! It's a very swanky environment, great pretty-people watching and loved the bar and couches. Ordered 3 rolls, very good but a bit small portions for the price, but still delicious. Michael, our waiter, was very attentive and helpful. Nice birthday celebration for my date!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was too noisy for us… the food was in ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was too noisy for us… the food was interesting, although found too many tempura items, and not enough health ones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Virago is the favorite of the Vanderbilt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Virago is the favorite of the Vanderbilt University students and their families! The food is always outstanding !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience! Our server was p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great experience! Our server was phenomenal made great recommendations and took great care of us. I highly recommend experiencing Virago if you live in Nashville or are visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.