Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Virago

As an original pioneer of the blossoming Nashville restaurant & food scene, Virago is the gold standard for Asian fusion and Sushi. Virago continues to justify its national acclaim as amongst the nation’s best by satiating savvy diners with its artistic cuisine, creative mixology, and sixty label sake list.

Virago’s perennially awarded “Best Sushi” set in the “Best Interior Design” creates an exciting dining adventure that can only be experienced at Virago. And although Virago’s sushi is consistently regarded as the city’s best, its innovative menu of Asian-inspired culinary gems is recognized by insiders as the brightest star that shines on MStreet.
Above all, Virago is an experience.

1126 McGavock St
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Chef's Menu 5:00-11:00
Sushi Menu/Desserts 5:00-12:00
Bar 5:00-12:00
Reservations recommended, Walk-ins welcome

Cross Street:
12th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1902

Website:
http://mstreetnashville.com/virago

Executive Chef:
Andrew Whitney, Sushi Chef Himmi Vasquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? Accommodating up to 22 guests, the Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. The Lotus Room is also available for daytime private luncheons. Bring your business meeting or daytime event to Virago for three choices of four-course menu options. Call for reservations.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Do you have a momentous occasion approaching? Or perhaps you just want to enjoy a fantastic dinner with dear friends? A business presentation that requires A/V capabilities? The Lotus Room at Virago is the perfect venue of any gathering. Also available for daytime luncheons.

Virago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (57)
Creative Cuisine (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Romantic (40)
Hot Spot (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Fun (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Business Meals (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Bar Seating (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Scenic View (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
People Watching (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Casual (14)
Authentic (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Spicy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

air conditioning pathetic. again. not going to waste $300.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food! Excellent service! Our waiter, Michael, was patient and knowledgeable about every dish and drink. The Wasabi Martini is incredible! We were in town for the solar eclipse and our second visit to Nashville. We will be back to Virago next time for sure!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

We had outstanding service from the entire staff, and our waiter was knowledgeable and gave excellent recommendations. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and our visit to Virago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Virago serves the best sushi and sashimi in town, in a great atmosphere. One of our favorite places to eat at the bar

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Quick Bite, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Slow service for a server that only had 2 to 4 tables. Sushi was very good but the ramen was comparable to ramen noodles. Very unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved everything about this place. Easily the highlight of our Nashville trip.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Great Beer, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved the crispy beets! All of our food was good. I didn't love our table's location right next to the bar. But we had a great dining experience regardless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Best sushi in Nashville. The atmosphere is as great as the food

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The place was awesome and the service was wonderful. The server took very good care to make our occasion even special. The stone steak and the meat balls were amazing. I will definately go there for many more occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!! A must when in Nashville!!! Wait staff was amazing!!! One of our new favs..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The outside patio with a good breeze is still one of the highlights of Nashville happy hour dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This was our second visit and as we left we all said for a "special occasion" this is a great place given the cost. AND you need to really be in the mood for sushi and small plates. Their sushi is awesome and will be what ultimately takes me back there. The stone steak is fun and delicious. We tried different skewers - all were awesome. The coconut jasmine rice is good but make sure you like coconut as it is closer to a rice pudding than sticky rice which might be what you expect. The only thing that was just ok was the chicken. It was dry and not all that flavorful (compared to the other things we ate). The setting is awesome and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

As someone who lives right up the street, I visit Virago more weeks than not. It's always amazing! The service is so fast. The food is so great and the atmosphere is amazing. Moving from New York I was skeptical of quality sushi but Virago is at the top of my list. I highly recommend it. Their Maki Monday deals can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The sushi was excellent and the Monday half price sushi menu was quite the value.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We loved the food and our server was really knowledgable. It probably would have been our favorite meal in Nashville, but our 7:30PM reservation earned us a seat in the bar facing a television. We gave the restaurant a chance regardless, even spent a few hundred on omakase and sake. Really want to love this place but being sat in the bar area was the quickest way to turn our romantic date into a sports bar feel.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fun and innovative food. Sashimi was very fresh and we enjoyed some interesting sushi, the scallop sushi was our favorite. We will definitely be going back for more Sashimi and to try the hot rocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I loved the food and ambiance here! The waiter could have been a little friendlier, but overall it was an amazing pick!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great roof top ambiance . Nice lighting. Service great. Not a lot of noise

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

There was mass confusion about the table we reserved for our anniversary. We were sent to the table only to be told it would be another hour and a half. Not willing to wait we just took a table. The staff was very apologetic and made sure the rest of the evening went without a hitch. They gave us a complimentary appetizer and dessert. I appreciate that as we eat there every year on our anniversary. We will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A large group on a Friday usually means trouble...not at Virago excellent service and food was creative and excellent. Keep in mind there are two kitchens, one for the hot menu and one for the Sushi menu so not everyone will eat at exactly the same time but it was not a problem at our table everyone truly enjoyed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great evening celebrating my wife's birthday! The staff at Virago is excellent. They know their food & how to describe it so you will not only understand but WANT what they are explaining. We enjoyed the patio with views of downtown Nashville. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here. We enjoyed the free sushi rose and everything else we ordered. The ramen was bland and could have been seasoned a little better, but all the sushi items we had were excellent. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food and service were great as per usual. It can get quite noisy so hard to hear your business guests at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Creative blend of menus, including the most unique and tasty Sushi options I have ever encountered. The signature meatballs are incredible as well are the brussel sprouts. It's a little tough to have a conversation because of the noise level but the food and service more than offsets this. I would will return over and over again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Overall the sushi was ok - nothing so special but the cost was very high. Our local sushi restaurant has far better quality tasting fish for a much better price. We sat at the bar and had fantastic service and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We really enjoyed this place. First time there. Hard to find because of lack of signage but once there it was great. The inside was laid out with several bar areas, sushi bar and various eating areas including outdoor seating. The waitress was very attentive and manager visited the table as well. Martini was on point and sushi was absolutely delicious. Rolls were great as well. There is nothing about this place that was not just perfect! Thank you and we will be back. This was a business dinner but going back with family next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Virago is always my favorite! I've never been disappointed there and have dined there more than anywhere else in Nashville. Service is always superb and they have the freshest sushi (imo)!! My out-of-town guest liked it as much as I expected. I will say, even though the view from the patio is one of the best in town, it's a little sweltering prior to sunset (in July).Obviously that's nothing the restaurant can help, just mentioning for other guests trying to decide on seating. Love! Love! Love! Love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very creative sushi rolls and cocktails. A little pricey, but worth it for good quality sushi.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Bartender was a little difficult to deal with and get drinks from. Felt like the gentleman made it a point to not make eye contact w/clients waiting to order drinks. Seem to stay at one end of the bar away from patrons waiting to order and was very short when we did order drinks. When we got to our table our waiter and waitress were incredible. They were friendly very knowledgeable on the sushi we had questions about and quick to help get rid of used plates as we had a larger group and order quite a bit of sushi. Overall experience was good, the wait for our table (with a reservation) was a bit longer than anticipated. Although it was a busy night w/a 2for1 special so that seemed understandable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Virago never disappoints. It has been my favorite hands down for years and that is saying a lot with all the newbies in town. Yum!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love it love it love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent Sushi and Apps as always. Great deal even if its not 2-4-1 Mondays.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great! Great! Great! Everything was great!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fantastic experience. The food, service, wine and experience were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

From the service to the food, it was all done very well...Bravo, bravo! There were three of us and we all came away very happy with the entire dining experience. If you like sushi, then this is the place for you.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was our favorite meal in Nashville! The staff was gave thorough explanations and great recommendations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

What a fabulous spot. Decor is lovely, without being pretentious. The sushi was amazing, each roll we had was fresh and delicious. Next time we are in Nashville we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sushi was great. Mushroom side excellent
The rest was average chicken meatballs were burnt so much we couldn't eat them. Told the server they left on the bill. Service was too informative and navigated every dish. No mention of the birthday we noted on reservation. Would not return with all of Nashville's options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Birthday celebration, food, service, atmosphere all perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.