About Vinue Wine Bar

2817 E. 3rd Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

An up scale contemporary bar that offers world cuisine gourmet small plates perfectly paired with a world wine tasting experience set in a warm inviting atmosphere, like one's own living room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner Only:
Sunday - Tuesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
3<sup>rd</sup> and Detroit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 287-1156

Website:
http://www.denverwinebar.net/

Parking Details:
Limited public parking behind the restaurant. Is on a first come first serve basis. Majority of parking is street parking.

Executive Chef:
Kevin King

Private Party Facilities:
Vinue host events ranging from birthday parties, charity events, private events to girls just wanting a night out! We host large corporate parties ranging from 20 people up to 70

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Austin: 7202871156

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Vinue Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Hot Spot
Denver
Notable Wine List
Denver
Best Restaurants in Cherry Creek ›

notable wine list (5)
romantic (4)
hot spot (4)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
special occasion (3)
late-night find (2)
good for groups (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
fit for foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
97 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We tried Venue for the first time this evening and loved it. The wine list and options to taste or get half/full servings makes it very easy to choose a wine you will like. I do think the cost to taste a wine, which equates to at least a few dollars for a few sips is a bit pricey, but the concept is great. Also, the food is really tasty. We ordered several food servings and their Colorado Sliders are the best I have ever had. They include melted cheese, bacon and a sauce that absolutely wowed me! We are already planning our next visit in a couple weeks with friends coming into town.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun wine bar

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was a fun and tasty experience. The wine selection was large and the concept of using a 'debit card' to have small tastes of wines in entertaining and interesting. The food was delicious. Our wait staff person was awesome; informed, checked back at the right times, had a good sense of humor and knew the menu very well without being overbearing about it. Definitely a place I will return to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical Evening

Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife just returned from a deployment round in Iraq the morning of our reservation and Vinue could not have made the evening any more special. Everything was perfection from the food to the wine to the atmosphere. We had a special request that they delivered beautifully, and the cheesecake was, no joke, the best I've ever had. An absolute must for anyone who enjoys wine, atmosphere and a lovely dining experience. Thanks so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine!

Dined on January 26, 2016

I liked it so much I went 2 nights in a row! The food and wine are great and the service was wonderful too!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was very helpful and professi ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

The server was very helpful and professional. You will like this place even if you don't know everything about wine. It was very romantic too.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for cocktails, wine and app ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Great place for cocktails, wine and appetizers.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on December 13, 2015

I'd repeat this experience many times. 100% recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for appetizers and sampling ...

vip
Dined on September 24, 2015

Great place for appetizers and sampling a variety of wine!

food4
ambience5
service5

Great venue. Hosts really know their win ...

Dined on August 21, 2015

Great venue. Hosts really know their wines. Great recommendations. Thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Tapas

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

I know it's odd to go to a wine tasting bar for a meal but we love the tapas and small plates at Vinue. The charcuterie tray and cheese tray are excellent. The hummus plate is fantastic. We have tried everything on the menu and it's all good. Just keep ordering small plates until you are full. The only problem is if you aren't drinking wine, your only other option is water. They have no iced tea or anything else to drink. And they have no coffee for after dinner. I would think it wouldn't be that hard for them to repair their coffee machine and to offer hot coffee and tea as well as some options for those not drinking.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty noms

Dined on August 13, 2015

Great service, and very knowledgeable service! The short ribs are probably my favorite thing on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Superb Wine List!

Dined on August 2, 2015

Vinue is a hot spot with a spectacular wine list. Great ambiance and menu. I have gone to Vinue both with friends and business partners. The only negatives I have about Vinue is it is a tad pricey and I have had very inconsistent service. Some of the waiters are great, while others are severely lacking in tact. Located in a great part in Cherry Creek, but parking at prime times can be a problem. Vinue is definitely a place to be seen, so be sure to dress up! My favorite menu items are the hummus, flatbreads and of course cheese plate. If you're still hungry after grabbing some vino and snacks at Vinue, head downstairs to Mechete and order some amazing street tacos (I have obviously done this before)!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server was attentive, made great foo ...

Dined on August 2, 2015

Our server was attentive, made great food and wine recommendations. It was our first visit and we will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Great wine selection!

Dined on July 6, 2015

The concept of a wine vending machine is great, and they have a great selection. However they were understaffed and had only 1 gal working the whole front end of the restaurant and tending bar. The food order was incorrect and the bill that was presented was incorrect. They happily and quickly remedied both situations. Great idea, but needed another employee!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Mehh

Dined on March 26, 2015

My date and I had a light meal "tapas" size servings of hummus, ceviche, and braised short-ribs. Our host was decent but distracted, and introduced the concept to us in a confusing way. The wine selection is decent, yet the single glass prices too high to sample much. I suppose the half glass is a better option but they're a price-wise gouge. The food was bland and we never finished the short-ribs as they tasted like they were under hot-lights all day (i.e., weirdly moist but dry). The ambiance was pleasant, but there's so many other places better than this.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

I enjoyed the food and the wine. The wai ...

Dined on March 13, 2015

I enjoyed the food and the wine. The waitress was very sweet and helpful. She did appear to be a bit overwhelmed by the amount of tables she was assigned. I certainly would return to Vinue. As well as recommned it to friends and family. This is also a great place to take a date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very nice place to go for wine tasting

Dined on March 12, 2015

Nice wine bar. good selection of wine to choose from Love the ability to walk around and choose wine from self serve wine dispensers Small & quaint place to have conservations with friends Nice selection of appetizers too Know where to park before going because parking is not the best especially with construction all around Cherry Creek

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Wine Selection!

Dined on March 11, 2015

I love this place! I had only been one other time and they recognized me when I came back in. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I love the setup, you can pre-load a card with however much money you want, then use the machines to get either a sample, half glass, or full glass. There are also descriptions in front of each wine and I like that you can see the bottles! So fun for a date, get together, or great place to take someone from out of town! Love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

great date place or place with friends

vip
Dined on March 1, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a fun date night sampling wine and tapas style plates. You have a choice of ordering wines by the glass or get a $ card that lets you sample about 40 wines. If you want a steak or a regular meal don't go here. If you are looking for a fun place for a casual date or place to go with friends and want to drink and eat tapas, this is a great choice.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place and so much fun, highly recommend.

Dined on February 22, 2015

We came to Denver for a work trip and of course it snowed like crazy the night of our reservation. Rebecca called to confirm reservation and we told her we might have to take a taxi because of the extreme weather, she said no problem I will come pick you up. I can tell you that no one has ever done that for us. The wine selection was great and the food was awesome. The service was spectacular and no one could do enough for us If we lived in Denver this would be one of out regular places. You won't be disappointed here. Th place is a real gem and the idea is wonderful. Thank you Vinue Wine Bar. We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

A good date night place!

Dined on February 21, 2015

I visited Vinue with my husband and we were both very happy with the service, the food, and the wines. The wines are a bit pricey (obviously!) but the experience of tasting differnt wines and dispensing it yourself was unique. The small plates are delicious, good quality, and actually surprisingly filling. The ambience is perfect for a date night. Overall very good place, be prepared to splurge between 80-100 for drinks and food for 2 people

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was friendly and good. Food was ...

Dined on February 21, 2015

Service was friendly and good. Food was good. Food and wine were reasonably priced for a Cherry Creek establishment. Lighted menus were a nice touch as it is very dark inside. Would recommend it for couples or small groups.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great happy hour place

Dined on February 14, 2015

Went here with a friend and we thought it was fun! Love all the wines! Food was in small portions which are great for an appetizer but not dinner! Overall it was a good place to go!

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Cool wine bar

Dined on February 8, 2015

The wine options were great and the tasting card seemed like an awesome option. I ordered cheesecake which came back freezer burned, but the staff quickly acknowledged, apologized, and fixed it with a new piece and complimentary dessert wine. They were super friendly and the atmosphere was cool. I would definitely go back again. This was a fun first time visit.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Great concept

Dined on February 3, 2015

We loved the wine bar. Patron's are given a credit card loaded with any amount you specify and then you are free to sample the wide variety of wines. Food is tapas style making this place perfect for Happy Hour or a light supper. Wait staff was not as available as we would have liked but overall a really fun place.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

The flatbread was tasty, service was slo ...

Dined on February 1, 2015

The flatbread was tasty, service was slow, couldn't find our server for a long time, and food took a while to come out. The pours seems small as well.

food3
ambience4
service3

Clever and classy

Dined on January 18, 2015

We went here recently on a double date and loved the classy "dave and busters" take on a wine bar. Only drawback is there was a fairly large party going on which made navigating the wines difficult. That being said we tried some wonderful wines and loved the ambiance. The food was decent but not outstanding. Two slides for $12/14... Should be outstanding. I would definitely return but probably more so for the wine then for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love, love, love

Dined on January 15, 2015

Second time there. Besides the awful parking situation in CC North (and this was a WED night), this place is perfect. Great ambiance, great food. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great venue for anyone looking ...

Dined on January 8, 2015

This is a great venue for anyone looking for a fun and delicious evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Service!!

Dined on December 21, 2014

We were at Vinue to celebrate friends' engagement. Vinue was very accommodating to a large group over our original reservation (very popular couple). Vinue provided a champagne toast to help us celebrate! A wonderful night! A great place for hanging out with friends and tasting great wines.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

just not that good

Dined on October 19, 2014

The service was horrible and they were not that busy. The waiter expressed irritation that we did not want to do the debit card, serve-yourself wine deal. We just wanted a couple glasses and knew what we wanted. The food was less than marginal but I saw some other dishes that did look good, but ours were not. Fantastic wine list and if you want to get to know wine, it would be a great place.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun Find

Dined on October 12, 2014

Our group of 5 tried two different bottles of wine and numerous appetizers. Great variety of both to choose from. Our server was very helpful with wine selections and tastes. Was a a little disappointed that the menu didn't offer flights, but then found out the restaurant had a different self service method that allows for something similar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for Happy Hour

Dined on October 6, 2014

We had the best waitress. Effecient, knowledgeable and friendly. What more can you ask! We sat at one of the booths. Some had commented that difficult to eat because table is low but if it's happy hour finger food, no problems. Tried lots on the happy hour menu and tasty. Well drinks were very reasonable. Would go again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

we loved the atmosphere and low noise le ...

Dined on September 21, 2014

we loved the atmosphere and low noise level. the movie on the wall, was a nice touch. Maybe a little more room between the tables on the east wall. Felt like we were having dinner with strangers and hard not to be a part of sometimes private conversations.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice, love this place

Dined on September 14, 2014

I have been to this place twice in the last few months and I really enjoy the menu and wine list. The wait staff are always attentive. I twice have gone with my girlfriends but I could see how this would also be a good "date night" place. This last time I went with friends we ordered the short ribs over mashed potatoes shared plate and the macaroni and cheese, they were both wonderful. The pinot I ordered nice and smooth. It was my birthday and they gave me a complimentary glass of Proseco, that was very nice. I really recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

enjoyed the wine

Dined on August 12, 2014

I enjoyed the wines. They had a great selection. The food and service was sparse. Go for the wine and then move on for better food and service at the many restaurants in cherry creek.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten free

Dined on July 25, 2014

One of our party is gluten free and the staff and the chef were so helpful! We were all able to have a wonderful meal!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great find!

Dined on July 12, 2014

Wonderful suggestions for wines, great small plate options!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on July 2, 2014

This is a fabulous place if you are looking for something fun and different. And an absolute must if you love wine! The atmosphere is fun, relaxed and people have a blast with the wine machines. Service is always outstanding. I've brought friends here for drinks as well as held a private event for approx. 50 clients. I received more positive feedback from clients on that event than any prior event I held; they just loved it! They want me to make it an annual event. Rebecca and her team are awesome!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

AMAZING FOOD

Dined on June 14, 2014

This is my second time here and every single time my experience gets better and better. The food is 5 star quality and definitely worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.