About Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro

129 S. 13th St
Philadelphia, PA 19176
View Larger Map

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro is located in the Midtown Village neighborhood of center city. We offer over 60 wines by the glass and a French-American bistro menu perfect for dinner. There is always something new, with five seasonally-inspired dinner additions each day. Our menu is flexible enough for a three-course meal or snacks for the table with a price range of $5-$20. The wine list highlights grape varietals from around the world with daily wine specials and flights featured on the chalkboards. If you are not in the mood for wine, we also have about 25 beers and plenty of cocktails. Our kitchen is open until midnight everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 2:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sansom St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-3095

Website:
http://www.vintage-philadelphia.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in Midtown Village 1. Patriot Parking at the Holiday Inn Express- Sansom St between 13th & Juniper 2. Parkway- 12th St between Sansom & Walnut

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line: Walnut/Locust Station Market-Frankford Line: 13th St Station

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ok manager was stiff . We made reservati ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ok manager was stiff . We made reservations . There were two tables by the Windows , he said they were reserved for a four top. Stuck us in a cramped area.

When server came things got better.

Food was ok. Don't get the bruschetta, very skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was great.. waiter took too l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was great.. waiter took too long to get back to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I love Vintage and am there usually once ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

I love Vintage and am there usually once a week. I have recommended it to so many friends and co-workers. I usually have Jason as a server and he is so attentive, knows what we want before we even order. Vintage is my "Cheers".

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week for the first t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week for the first time. The decor and service were very good. The first course of appetizers were good. The next course was quail (over cooked and dry) and scallops (very good). Main course was the veal which was seasoned nicely but the temperature was luke warm at best. Had to send it back in order to heat it up some more. Also ordered the salmon which was good. Desserts were ok. Creme brulee was too sweet and the other desert that had chocolate and phyllo dough was too dry and too hot, needed more chocolate sauce. I unfortunately would not go back or recommend Vintage to my friends. Very disappointed, read a lot of good reviews about the place but we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Was not wowed by the food. It was resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Was not wowed by the food. It was restaurant week and they DID serve four courses, but it was bland to unimpressive at best. Potions were unbelievably small. My scallops were very small and not cleaned well. The garnish was boring and without taste. My veal was tasty but not spectacular. so to have to suffer through the host bragging about it being sous vide for 18 hours; a reputation it did not match, was a problem. My blueberry peach cobbler was a biscuit with with two kinds of rather bitter compotes. Even a simple ginger ale was watery and weak of taste. This was not worth my money. My two guests were equally unimpressed with tier meals as well. Our server was Awesome though. Very nice and attentive pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

It should be noted that I came here for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

It should be noted that I came here for restaurant week. Fig and Gorgonzola bruschetta, scallops for appetizers. Extremely tasty but very small portion size. Not sure if it's always like that or because it was restaurant week menu and the courses are ordered per person. For the entree I got the salmon and it was not great - overcooked. Portion size was better though. My companion got the veal tips and loved it. Very energetic atmosphere, cute space, great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for restaurant week, the veg/quoina ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Went for restaurant week, the veg/quoina app was awful and the salmon was seared but uncooked and actually cold inside. I sent it back and it seemed like it was nuked to try and correct the problem, it was awful. No apology and it took forever for it to be returned to me. I've had a few good meals here in the past but won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

I was there for restaurant week. The se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was there for restaurant week. The seared scallops were "melt in your mouth" and the veal was extremely tender and succulent. I will be back.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Historic, Late-night Find, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vintage was ridiculously noisy; they kep ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Vintage was ridiculously noisy; they kept turning the music up as the evening wore on, though there was no need, and combined with the atrociously slow service the experience really got to be painful. The food was good, the wine selection is good. But better to go on a pleasant evening when you can sit outside, it's less noisy on the street than in the restaurant!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

This was a great choice for my husband's ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a great choice for my husband's birthday dinner. I particularly loved the wine flights - a great way to taste many different wines. The food was also stellar, particularly dessert, and our server recommended a great dessert wine that paired beautifully with our creme brulee.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vintage Wine Bar is a great place, grea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Vintage Wine Bar is a great place, great food and great staff. We love that place and will be there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had dinner on a friday night with friend ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

had dinner on a friday night with friends who came to town, a bit too loud to catch up with friends, food was ok, ordered the fried chicken roulade which was a little dry and the salmon which was also ok, good selection of wine , got the peach cobbler for dessert, which was very dry

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I thoroughly enjoyed the striped bass s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the striped bass special. The quantity was perfect for the light meal I had and the wine was perfectly complimentary.

Service was a bit lacking particularly as the restaurant counted me as a no show even though I arrived just before my time and they found my reservation in their book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Vintage Wine Bar - my husband and I have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Vintage Wine Bar - my husband and I have been here many times and we love the food, drink selection and the ambiance and great neighborhood. Our waiter was fantastic and a nice guy. We will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation and were seated rig ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated right away. Good first impression since the restaurant and bar were packed! We had a great time. The desserts were as good as the rest of the food. We loved the flights of wine we tried. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was excellent, friendly and i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was excellent, friendly and informed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was oddly loud considerin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The restaurant was oddly loud considering it was only half full. We were there with another couple and couldn't hear eachother across the table. The food was delicious, however the portions were extremely small. I ordered the scallop appetizer. There was only two scallops on the plate and they were petite. I might stop by there for a coctail at the bar, but I would not go back for a meal, especially i am trying to talk to someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food and wine choices are excellent. All ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and wine choices are excellent. All the staff are very personable. Our wait person was Brittain and he was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were dining pre-theater and it was a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were dining pre-theater and it was a beautiful evening but we opted to sit inside at a window table and enjoy the people watching. The restaurant was not very crowded. Our server did a nice job, nothing to rave about. Much like the food. Everything was fine. We tried the fig and gorgonzola bruschetta which was tasty and the fruits de mer which was a little too heavy on the tempura. The entrees were fine - the seared scallops were good and I went for the veal hanger mainly because it sounded different, which it was. The grilled peaches for dessert was not a great choice as the peaches did not have much taste to them. Coffee was just okay with no offer to refill (one of my Dad's pet peeves that has stuck with me since I was a kid). We're in no hurry to return, especially with so many other great offerings right in the same couple of blocks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Although the menu was limited, the food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Although the menu was limited, the food was very good. We chose to have many appetizers and found them to be quite tasty. Small tables were clearly indicative of a wine bar rather than a restaurant. A great place for a nice cocktail or glass of wine before heading somewhere else for dinner. Alternatively, have dinner somewhere else and then come by for a dessert - the Creme Brûlée was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent from start to finish. We start ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent from start to finish. We started with a cheese plate. All I can say is WOW! Our entrees were the Grill Salmon dish, which was prepared perfect, and the Grilled Flank Steak with a Potato puree, haricot vert, Bordelaise, which my wife loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wine selection is wonderful. Very frie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wine selection is wonderful. Very friendly and attentive staff. Extremely knowledgable in suggesting wine to go with meals. Would come back here on out next visit to Philly. There were no available seats outside so we sat inside which was fine. We shared the cheese plate which was perfect for two of us. I order snapper off the special board and my husband ordered salmon off the regular menu. Both dishes were excellent. The snapper was so tasty. It was served in a bed of greens tossed in a bacon vinaigrette - YUM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice wines and atmosphere

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great wine selection. IT was subdued on a Thurs eve. Food was pretty good, limited menu. Great place for trying new wines.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vintage Wine Bar

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I have been here a couple of times before and loved it and recommend it and will be back again. We love the food and sitting outside in the neighborhood and in nice weather!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server had excellent recommendations ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My server had excellent recommendations when it came to selecting our wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a great veal hanger but the rest w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I had a great veal hanger but the rest was just ok. And the portions were VERY small. The waiter was not friendly - almost contemptuous. Globally a fairly overrated and definitely over expensive place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Not what I expected

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I went to the vintage expecting a relaxing atmosphere tupical of my experience at other wine bars. Unfortunately the atmosphere was not relaxing, it was very loud. I also found the food selection limitted and disappointing. I ordered a brushetta and salad, both were less than exciting. The price was high for the quality and amount of food. I ordered a flight sample of wines and the pours were generous, I was only impressed by one of the wines the other two were just ok. While I cannot recommend the restaruant, if you are looking for a large selection of wine by the glass and not food to accompany this might be a good place for you, but don't expect dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great food. The seared duck was awesome. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food. The seared duck was awesome. Can't go wrong with the cheese board. Unique and very good cheeses. Love the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I've lived in Philly and New York, and other places, but Philly has always stuck out to be my favorite food town. I was back in Philly this past weekend and ate at Vintage Wine Bar because I had always meant to try it out when I lived there. I was not disappointed! My husband and I both had the specials of the day - Lamb Rib Chops and the Seared Rabbit dishes - they were both excellent and perfectly prepared. They have a large wine list but also a full bar. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine selections, good small plates ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great wine selections, good small plates, VERY LOUD music so VERY LOUD talking. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great dinner! The skirt steak i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We had a great dinner! The skirt steak is one of my favorites in the city simple but delicious! I understand it's a wine bar but the tables are just a little too small for 2 people to eat comfortably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not Whining about this Wine Bar

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My reason for visiting Vintage was to experience Philly's Wine week without spending a fortune. The restaurant was having a special wine and cheese pairing for $25 and you definitely got more than you paid for! The pairings were really different than anything I've ever done as far as going out; usually I'll go to bar with friends and just drink the usual wine but these wines they recommended for the pairings were delicious. We ordered the French and Gouda pairing. Everything was excellent! I HIGHLY recommend coming to Vintage just to dine and sample wine. I'll be making stop back when the weather gets warmer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great happy hour and wine list!! It can ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great happy hour and wine list!! It can get a bit crowded and loud though, so best to make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Cute little spot for a good wine and food choices.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

A few short blocks from the Convention Center and downtown hotels. This was found on Yelp and recommended by our hotel staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Neighborhood gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

It's easy to miss this little treat given that it's surrounded by flashier neighbors. But, don't let the size and discrete profile fool you. First there's a solid wine-by-the glass selection. Add the small, but seasonalLy thoughtful menu and you realize you've found a great hideaway to meet friends or have a date. Everything is reasonably priced and you realize that cocktails don't have to be a $ killer. Vinage is a sweet little treat in the heart of it all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice spot

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

three of us were hungry and thirsty after roaming through the reading terminal market. Vintage bistro was just a few blocks away and worth the stroll. We ordered wine and appetizers. The cheese plate was yummy as was the pate. Our third dish was the fig and Gorgonzola bruschetta, not to be missed. The wine selection was decent and the service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good foodie wine bar

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The wine was excellent. The apps delish but a little teeny. The mussel entree good. The atmosphere was relaxed ellegence. Loved the wine bottle chandelier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server - Brit - made the evening

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our server - Brit - was very knowledgeable of the wine list and the menu. His recommendations were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a touch late getting there. So I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a touch late getting there. So I called ahead to make sure we didn't lose our reservation. The hostess could barely hear me and said it was loud. That gave me an indication that the restaurant was busy. Sure enough, it was tough to hear anyone seated across from you. We ordered the fig and gorgonzola bruschetta and burgers - both veggie and regular. Food was decent but not great. Cocktails were also decent but not great. The dessert, chocolate tort, lacked flavor but was of the right consistency. With so many other great restaurants in the vicinity to try, not sure we'll be going back there in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Server, Britain, was excellent and took ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Server, Britain, was excellent and took great care of us. Food was great. Wine selection fabulous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.