Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro

4.6
195 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro is located in the Midtown Village neighborhood of center city. We offer over 60 wines by the glass and a French-American bistro menu perfect for dinner. There is always something new, with five seasonally-inspired dinner additions each day. Our menu is flexible enough for a three-course meal or snacks for the table with a price range of $5-$20. The wine list highlights grape varietals from around the world with daily wine specials and flights featured on the chalkboards. If you are not in the mood for wine, we also have about 25 beers and plenty of cocktails. Our kitchen is open until midnight everyday.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Saturday & Sunday: 12:oopm - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 922-3095
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sansom St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking in Midtown Village
1. Patriot Parking at the Holiday Inn Express- Sansom St between 13th & Juniper
2. Parkway- 12th St between Sansom & Walnut
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Broad Street Line: Walnut/Locust Station
Market-Frankford Line: 13th St Station
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 195 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Red wine flights were excellent, & we both enjoyed our food - a cheese plate & a phenomenal salad.

I’d definitely go back here!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wine selection is great. Food is just average. Not much taste.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great service, good menu, generous flights, everyone seemed to enjoy their meal. Go all in on the duck fat fries!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Went we arrived for our reservation, the hostess was extremely helpful when I asked for a gluten fee menu...they didn't have one.
However, the hostess made many suggestions about how to adapt items on the menu to make them GF and put me at ease stating that she was GF also. I didnt catch her name..wish I had but she took the time to pointing out the menu items she loved, one of which I had and it was truly yummy and the best part..worry free of getting sick from my allergy.
Thanks so much for veing wonderful , we'll be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

First time visiting and was hoping to get there early to make Happy Hour...well, traffic, parking got me there shortly afterwards. The server was great and offerred to honor first round on both wine and appetizer. $4 house wine was good and the mussels were fantastic! Ask for more bread or a spoon as the broth is worth consuming and not wasting! Tonight, softshell crabs were a special and they were excellent! Service, atmosphere and food were all great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our first time at Vintage. Our son, who lives in Philly, recommended it. A very warm and inviting atmosphere. Seating was limited, as the bar is the main focus, but we were lucky to get a cozy table for 2 facing the street, which is great for people watching. We started with the Gorgonzola and fig flatbread and poached shrimp. The flatbread was delicious but I wasn’t crazy about the poached shrimp. I thought it was flavorless but my husband enjoyed it. We also had the cheese board which was delicious but our waiter just dropped it off at the table without explaining the different cheeses, which I don’t care for. After that, we were a bit full but I did finish off with the French onion soup which was delicious. We’d definitely make a trip back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Well presented and well prepared food in a busy lively atmosphere. Just what you would expect mid town on a Friday night. Great positive atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Love love love Vintage! it’s my happy place. Staff is second to none!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

My daughter and I had a nice meal at the end of happy hour on Thursday. The server, Seth, was great. He did not rush us at all. Food was well-timed. I had app mussels and salad. Noise level near the bar was somewhat high; our table was in the front of the room, next to the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Wonderful!
Went there on a first date and had a wonderful time (the girl was awesome too)! Good ambiance, discrete service and excellent wine. No problem holding a conversation as the room was busy but not noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Everything is top notch. From the food to service to the decor.

The wait staff was great, the food and wine was great.

Also they have excellent pairings.

It was very relaxed environment I didn't feel rushed at all.

Everybody working there was friendly and inviting from the hostest to the wait staff and chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and amazing variety of wines.
Our only issue was that service was very RELAXED (i.e. food came out verrrrryyyy slowly).
We arrived around 6:20 and had a play a few blocks away and figured - no problem!
Yes problem! We finally at 7:35 asked to have them box up the food so we could leave for the play.
Not necessarily their fault, just do not make plans for after eating here unless they are MANY hours later!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Delicious food and friendly service from Seth. We come here often on Mondays before Speaker Series at The Kimmel. I had the roast chicken and shared a salad.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We arrived before 6pm on a warm Saturday in April and came for wine and food. Originally we had no reservation and were told no tables were available as all were reserved; we were not offered to wait or make a reservation for a later time. The reception was cool (to out it politely). We walked across the street for a drink and I popped up Open Table to see reservations were readily available (true story!). So we booked via the app and popped back over about a half hour after our first arrival.

Food was great—we had a cheese plate and charcuterie board with several fruits and cheeses and a nice selection of meet. We had a nice red Boudreaux which was a great complement to the light dinner. Nicely done!

Service was a bit slow (I think we shocked our waitress as she was the person who originally greeted us and noted no availability’). It seemed the place could have been staffed better, especially given the day of the week and time. Other than that staff was pleasant and folks who brought the food quite nice.

Overall a lovely place and would visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Menu options offered a variety of choices and the portions were ample and pricing was more than reasonable. Food taste and flavors were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The wine flights were a great way to try a variety of new recommended wines!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I felt the service was not very friendly, they were fast to take our plates with food still on them. I we waited very long to get a second glass of wine and our water glasses were empty. Some of the food was a bit over salted so we really did need that second drink. The only saving grace was that the dessert recommended was a great pairing for the wine we had chosen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

My husband and I enjoyed everything about our dinner. It was our first time there and we’re definitely going to return. We started with marinated olives that were heavenly. For our main dishes I had grilled shrimp with andouille and lentils, he had chicken with barley risotto and pea shoot salad. Our desert was a flight of three flavored creme brûlées - mocha, honey ginger and blood orange. Every bite of every dish was absolutely wonderful. My husband loved his stout beer from their tap. They have a large selection of wine and the chardonnay our waiter recommended was perfect. The atmosphere was very intimate and comfortable. The music even added to the environment - unique and not too loud. It was really nice to be able to have a conversation without shouting. Our waiter was absolutely great - very attentive, helpful and pleasant. Couldn’t ask for anything more.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We had a very disappointing experience with this restaurant. We visited it for the first time with higher expectations. The food was poor in quality in terms of preparation. For the shank dish we received a huge meatless bone and for the shrimp-lentil dish we got the food blackened and burned ( with drinks approx. $60 per person). There is not going to be a second time there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Service was excellent. But Vintage website did not notify customers that Restaurant Week did not start till 5 pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Malorie our server was absolutely phenomenal. Food was amazing, have to go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I could say if asked, some good, some quite bad. We were seated promptly, but the table wasn't set, and it took 20 minutes for anyone even to get us water and a napkin. Nice wine and beer list. Well priced by the glass and enough variety to please everyone in your party. The food was tasty but small portions of everything we ordered, and we are NOT big people. But the worst part was the service. Our waiter was friendly enough, but as noted by another guest in November I had practically yell at him to get his attention. He didn't check back on us except once in two hours. For a weekend away we were very disappointed in all our service in Philadelphia. It was overall poor everywhere we went, and ALL of the places were highly rated?! That just doesn't happen in others cities we visit. It was weird. Or just bad luck. But others in our party of 4 found similar issues around town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We went for restaurant week on a Friday night, and our reservation was pulled up immediately. The staff was friendly and the ambiance was great. It seemed like a great place to have a drink with some friends, and they had a very wide selection to choose from. The food was amazing! Everything was cooked perfectly and I enjoyed all four courses thoroughly. The only complaint I would have is that the servers are a little hard to flag down, but I liked that the restaurant was slow paced and gave plenty of time for conversation in between courses. I would definitely try this place at least once!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Great spot, not too busy on a Sunday night. Very cozy atmosphere and great food. Extensive wine list. Good place to hang out with a date or friend, would recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Food was very good. Wines were great. Staff didn't seem to know what any of the food dishes were.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and service! Definitely better for smaller groups, I would say 6 people max. Most of the tables are smaller, better for 2-4 people. I ordered the Salmon Risotto, a special that was delicious. Other guests had lamp chops & steak, and all the food received rave reviews. Waiter was attentive and friendly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Small cozy bar with great wine and good casual food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Very good food and great wine finds that will surprise you. Mark ups on some bottles were about 4x, so know what you are ordering...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Cozy pub with good bar food
We made a reservation for 3 on a busy Friday night and we were pleasantly surprised that we were immediately seated at a nice table. Drinks were good and bar food was excellent! My wife and I ordered steak frites ... perfectly prepare with really great French fries. Our friend ordered shrimp which he described as “good.” Noise level was energetic, but pleasantly so. Service was attentive. Nice place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Well-edited selection of wines by the glass and bottle. The restaurant also features 3-wine flight in tasting-sized portions. These also allow you the option to try different wines.

The coq au vin and cheese board were superb.

The service was outstanding. We were four family members getting together for a nice evening and the service was very well paced and unobtrusive. There was never a feeling of being rushed during the evening (and we were there almost 3 hours). The service and ambiance allowed us to have a great evening catching up over wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Dinner was fantastic. The service was terrific. My daughter and I went for her birthday and she went back the next evening with friends because it was so great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2017

I was expecting a lot more from this place seeing as it was well rated. The food was decent at best. My dish was on the salty side, but the dish was filling. They have an extensive wine menu. The wines I tasted were nothing to write home about. I personally wouldn't go back, but it was nice to go, to see what the restaurant is about.

If you're looking for a glass of wine, and tapas I recommend. If you're looking for a breathtaking dining experience, I'd say look elsewhere. I did like the reasonable prices, so I didn't walk away feeling betrayed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Great location to go out and have a meal and pair it with different wines. Enjoyed the baked Brie, chicken and mussels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Tried the Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro and really enjoyed it! Big wine selection but not overwhelming and our server suggested some great wines. The food was really good. My wife has been raving about the Coq au vin!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

In a word, "disappointing." The four of us dined pre-theater, which I communicated upon making the reservation on OpenTable. We arrived on time and were seated promptly and felt welcomed. Upon opening the the menu the emphasis is obvious; one page dedicated to food items and remaining however many pages were wine, beer and cocktails related. The food was good. The garlic soup was unique and tasty as was the fruits de mer. For entrees, two in our party tried the evening's special and found it to be very good. The veggie burger was unique and also was rated highly. My shrimp and sausage was different and also good. The issues we faced were consistent relative to service; to get any attention from our server we almost had to yell at him to get his attention. The runners did a nice job of filling some of the gaps and were certainly much more attentive and accommodating. Unbeknownst to me until we left the restaurant, my wife called to arrange a birthday dessert for me. Well, that never happened because we never sniffed dessert. It took so long to clear plates and get the bill settled we were never offered nor did we have time for dessert. We didn't leave until after 7:30 from a 5:45 PM reservation, giving us just enough time to get to the Academy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

I frequent here often. The food, service and wine are fantastic! Always get the cheese board and the charcuterie board. Never a disappointment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Great little wine bar with a good menu. We enjoyed the blackboard specials.
Try the regional wine tasting flights.
Decent background music, not too loud so you can talk without have to raise your voice.
Funky art and fixtures.
A good spot to visit on date night.
Reasonably priced for the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

I went for restaurant week dinner. The food was fabulous! Nothing left to take home. The duck confit was amazing. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 14, 2017

Went to Vintage for Philly Restaurant week special. It was a four course prix fixe menu at $35.
Food was just okay. Had the duck confit as the entree which could have been better. Service was great no complaints there. It was, however, very noisy. Could not have a decent conversation without saying Huh a couple of times. Would go back for a glass of wine but would not go out of my way for dinner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was unremarkable at best. The French fries and wine were the only good portions. The pate had no taste and the burgers were average but nothing special. The music was far too loud and you could barely hear the person across the table. The waiter all but ignored us and never bothered to ask how our food was or if we would like anything else, preferring to spend his time flirting and talking to other patrons. Overall it was not worth the money or your time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Tweets by Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro