About Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro

129 S. 13th St
Philadelphia, PA 19176
View Larger Map

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro is located in the Midtown Village neighborhood of center city. We offer over 60 wines by the glass and a French-American bistro menu perfect for dinner. There is always something new, with five seasonally-inspired dinner additions each day. Our menu is flexible enough for a three-course meal or snacks for the table with a price range of $5-$20. The wine list highlights grape varietals from around the world with daily wine specials and flights featured on the chalkboards. If you are not in the mood for wine, we also have about 25 beers and plenty of cocktails. Our kitchen is open until midnight everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 2:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sansom St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-3095

Website:
http://www.vintage-philadelphia.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in Midtown Village 1. Patriot Parking at the Holiday Inn Express- Sansom St between 13th & Juniper 2. Parkway- 12th St between Sansom & Walnut

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line: Walnut/Locust Station Market-Frankford Line: 13th St Station

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I thoroughly enjoyed the striped bass s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the striped bass special. The quantity was perfect for the light meal I had and the wine was perfectly complimentary.

Service was a bit lacking particularly as the restaurant counted me as a no show even though I arrived just before my time and they found my reservation in their book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Vintage Wine Bar - my husband and I have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Vintage Wine Bar - my husband and I have been here many times and we love the food, drink selection and the ambiance and great neighborhood. Our waiter was fantastic and a nice guy. We will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation and were seated rig ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated right away. Good first impression since the restaurant and bar were packed! We had a great time. The desserts were as good as the rest of the food. We loved the flights of wine we tried. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was excellent, friendly and i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was excellent, friendly and informed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was oddly loud considerin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The restaurant was oddly loud considering it was only half full. We were there with another couple and couldn't hear eachother across the table. The food was delicious, however the portions were extremely small. I ordered the scallop appetizer. There was only two scallops on the plate and they were petite. I might stop by there for a coctail at the bar, but I would not go back for a meal, especially i am trying to talk to someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food and wine choices are excellent. All ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and wine choices are excellent. All the staff are very personable. Our wait person was Brittain and he was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were dining pre-theater and it was a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were dining pre-theater and it was a beautiful evening but we opted to sit inside at a window table and enjoy the people watching. The restaurant was not very crowded. Our server did a nice job, nothing to rave about. Much like the food. Everything was fine. We tried the fig and gorgonzola bruschetta which was tasty and the fruits de mer which was a little too heavy on the tempura. The entrees were fine - the seared scallops were good and I went for the veal hanger mainly because it sounded different, which it was. The grilled peaches for dessert was not a great choice as the peaches did not have much taste to them. Coffee was just okay with no offer to refill (one of my Dad's pet peeves that has stuck with me since I was a kid). We're in no hurry to return, especially with so many other great offerings right in the same couple of blocks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Although the menu was limited, the food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Although the menu was limited, the food was very good. We chose to have many appetizers and found them to be quite tasty. Small tables were clearly indicative of a wine bar rather than a restaurant. A great place for a nice cocktail or glass of wine before heading somewhere else for dinner. Alternatively, have dinner somewhere else and then come by for a dessert - the Creme Brûlée was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent from start to finish. We start ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent from start to finish. We started with a cheese plate. All I can say is WOW! Our entrees were the Grill Salmon dish, which was prepared perfect, and the Grilled Flank Steak with a Potato puree, haricot vert, Bordelaise, which my wife loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wine selection is wonderful. Very frie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wine selection is wonderful. Very friendly and attentive staff. Extremely knowledgable in suggesting wine to go with meals. Would come back here on out next visit to Philly. There were no available seats outside so we sat inside which was fine. We shared the cheese plate which was perfect for two of us. I order snapper off the special board and my husband ordered salmon off the regular menu. Both dishes were excellent. The snapper was so tasty. It was served in a bed of greens tossed in a bacon vinaigrette - YUM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice wines and atmosphere

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great wine selection. IT was subdued on a Thurs eve. Food was pretty good, limited menu. Great place for trying new wines.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vintage Wine Bar

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I have been here a couple of times before and loved it and recommend it and will be back again. We love the food and sitting outside in the neighborhood and in nice weather!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server had excellent recommendations ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My server had excellent recommendations when it came to selecting our wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a great veal hanger but the rest w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I had a great veal hanger but the rest was just ok. And the portions were VERY small. The waiter was not friendly - almost contemptuous. Globally a fairly overrated and definitely over expensive place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Not what I expected

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I went to the vintage expecting a relaxing atmosphere tupical of my experience at other wine bars. Unfortunately the atmosphere was not relaxing, it was very loud. I also found the food selection limitted and disappointing. I ordered a brushetta and salad, both were less than exciting. The price was high for the quality and amount of food. I ordered a flight sample of wines and the pours were generous, I was only impressed by one of the wines the other two were just ok. While I cannot recommend the restaruant, if you are looking for a large selection of wine by the glass and not food to accompany this might be a good place for you, but don't expect dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great food. The seared duck was awesome. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food. The seared duck was awesome. Can't go wrong with the cheese board. Unique and very good cheeses. Love the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I've lived in Philly and New York, and other places, but Philly has always stuck out to be my favorite food town. I was back in Philly this past weekend and ate at Vintage Wine Bar because I had always meant to try it out when I lived there. I was not disappointed! My husband and I both had the specials of the day - Lamb Rib Chops and the Seared Rabbit dishes - they were both excellent and perfectly prepared. They have a large wine list but also a full bar. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine selections, good small plates ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great wine selections, good small plates, VERY LOUD music so VERY LOUD talking. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great dinner! The skirt steak i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We had a great dinner! The skirt steak is one of my favorites in the city simple but delicious! I understand it's a wine bar but the tables are just a little too small for 2 people to eat comfortably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not Whining about this Wine Bar

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My reason for visiting Vintage was to experience Philly's Wine week without spending a fortune. The restaurant was having a special wine and cheese pairing for $25 and you definitely got more than you paid for! The pairings were really different than anything I've ever done as far as going out; usually I'll go to bar with friends and just drink the usual wine but these wines they recommended for the pairings were delicious. We ordered the French and Gouda pairing. Everything was excellent! I HIGHLY recommend coming to Vintage just to dine and sample wine. I'll be making stop back when the weather gets warmer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great happy hour and wine list!! It can ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great happy hour and wine list!! It can get a bit crowded and loud though, so best to make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Cute little spot for a good wine and food choices.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

A few short blocks from the Convention Center and downtown hotels. This was found on Yelp and recommended by our hotel staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Neighborhood gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

It's easy to miss this little treat given that it's surrounded by flashier neighbors. But, don't let the size and discrete profile fool you. First there's a solid wine-by-the glass selection. Add the small, but seasonalLy thoughtful menu and you realize you've found a great hideaway to meet friends or have a date. Everything is reasonably priced and you realize that cocktails don't have to be a $ killer. Vinage is a sweet little treat in the heart of it all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice spot

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

three of us were hungry and thirsty after roaming through the reading terminal market. Vintage bistro was just a few blocks away and worth the stroll. We ordered wine and appetizers. The cheese plate was yummy as was the pate. Our third dish was the fig and Gorgonzola bruschetta, not to be missed. The wine selection was decent and the service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good foodie wine bar

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The wine was excellent. The apps delish but a little teeny. The mussel entree good. The atmosphere was relaxed ellegence. Loved the wine bottle chandelier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server - Brit - made the evening

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our server - Brit - was very knowledgeable of the wine list and the menu. His recommendations were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a touch late getting there. So I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a touch late getting there. So I called ahead to make sure we didn't lose our reservation. The hostess could barely hear me and said it was loud. That gave me an indication that the restaurant was busy. Sure enough, it was tough to hear anyone seated across from you. We ordered the fig and gorgonzola bruschetta and burgers - both veggie and regular. Food was decent but not great. Cocktails were also decent but not great. The dessert, chocolate tort, lacked flavor but was of the right consistency. With so many other great restaurants in the vicinity to try, not sure we'll be going back there in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Server, Britain, was excellent and took ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Server, Britain, was excellent and took great care of us. Food was great. Wine selection fabulous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

yummy!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

great happy hour specials, would recommend for a group to catch up over drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great night out!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Service was great! Servers name was Britten (sp?)...very attentive and pleasant. Extensive wine list. The food was very good, except I wasn't a huge fan of the pâté. Great night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff knowledgeable and friendl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The wait staff knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for pre-theater dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This is a good bistro with great wine and beer selections. The food was excellent. All of us could find something delicious with the limited menu. The staff was helpful and served us at a nice pace but also so we could get to the theater on time. We were there around 6 pm, so the bar wasn't full yet and the noise level was not too loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Such a great choice!! So glad we went th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Such a great choice!! So glad we went there. Everything --- food, drink, service, atmosphere -- was spot on. Thank you, Brian, for an excellent evening and fantastic new years eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

I really loved this place, they don't have much food selection but their wine selection is phenomenal! I would recommend this place if you like tapas and wine

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Vintage. Our server was very knowledgeable about the extensive wine list, and we had fun sampling a couple of their well-selected flights. Many of the flavors were surprising! Our dinner was just as well conceived and delicious. If we lived in Philly or if Vintage were in DC we'd quickly become regulars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was very attentive and person ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Our waiter was very attentive and personable. Three of us had the trout which he recommended and it was really excellent. Very nice wine choices made our meal most delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fine, but nothing I'd go out of my way for

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

While on the way to a show, we looked for moderately priced restaurant in the area and found Vintage Wine Bar. Everyone was quite pleasant and did a great job explaining the wine list and menu. The service was pretty slow and it took a while to order and then get our soup and entrees. The French Onion soup was very disappointing and we didn't finish it. The veggie and beef burger were good and the wine and beer was great. I wouldn't not go back here, but the next time we are in the area, we will probably try another restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great dining experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Food was excellent, great wine selection, and the service was perhaps the best i have had in a long time. The server actually enjoyed what he does, which makes all the difference. Definitely recommend and will come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Little Gem

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Great wine selection - of course that is the restaurant focus. Lot's of wines by the glass, although we had a great bottle of Cabernet. I also had the duck breast for dinner on the recommendation of our waiter - was a great choice. My friend ordered a vegan dinner, not entirely on the menu, and they accommodated her request. Both dinners were excellent, our server was great and the atmosphere of the restaurant quite nice. Would come back here for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came in on time and got seated right ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

We came in on time and got seated right away but it took awhile for the server to come and when he did, he explained the menu and abruptly just left our table. We ordered our wine and food and the food took awhile. We ordered the cheese platter, the charcuterie and the fig bruschetta and they were all delish. We decided to get a bottle bc we thought it'd be cheaper but we realized after the fact that they over charged us! Be careful next time you order the bottle and ask how many glasses is in a bottle bc you're better off ordering by the glass. Overall, the food was good, service was disappointing.. I'd rather go to the Panorama for the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.