About Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro is located in the Midtown Village neighborhood of center city. We offer over 60 wines by the glass and a French-American bistro menu perfect for dinner. There is always something new, with five seasonally-inspired dinner additions each day. Our menu is flexible enough for a three-course meal or snacks for the table with a price range of $5-$20. The wine list highlights grape varietals from around the world with daily wine specials and flights featured on the chalkboards. If you are not in the mood for wine, we also have about 25 beers and plenty of cocktails. Our kitchen is open until midnight everyday.

129 S. 13th St
Philadelphia, PA 19176
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sansom St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-3095

Website:
http://www.vintage-philadelphia.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in Midtown Village
1. Patriot Parking at the Holiday Inn Express- Sansom St between 13th & Juniper
2. Parkway- 12th St between Sansom & Walnut

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line: Walnut/Locust Station
Market-Frankford Line: 13th St Station

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I was imagining this would be more restaurant than bar, but it seems better suited for happy hour or a late night wine flight. The food was OK - small portions and limited menu. Highlight was the baked brie. The servers were friendly and attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good food but we think they could use a little more variety on their food menu.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Went here for happy hour. Great specials on both drinks and food. Service was awesome as well. Nice little spot. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was tasty. We went here for a small bite to eat after going to a play at the Walnut St Theatre. Vintage is a very short walk away. Nice wine selection. Cheese plate was very good. We also had the Brie with Caramel and Berries dish. That was amazing!!! Would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is my favorite neighborhood gem. Everyone in the establishment wants to make sure your dining experience is superb. I always recommend Vintage to friends and colleagues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything was simply divine! Came here for dinner with my friend that I am Maid of Honor for since it is her favorite restaurant. Planning her bachelorette party dinner here, as well, and unintentionally had our coordinator, Britain, as our waiter. Had the most incredible time- service, food, atmosphere, the WINE! Perfection. We are so looking forward to having our event here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, great art, and a very knowledgeable and attentive staff. A tiny gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent all around. We shared the very tasty pate as an appetizer. My partner loved the trout, and the duck breast was wonderful. Attentive service. Good but pricey wine list. Great ambience. However, if you need a really quiet place you might want to go elsewhere (although the two of us had no problem carrying on a conversation). So glad we discovered this gem on our last night in Philly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We have been coming here for years. We are treated like family by the staff. I can't recommend this place enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I thought the service was good and the wine list good but the food wasn't very notable. The person in our group who ordered the special trout liked it and the fig and goat cheese appetizer was good but the fried dishes were not flavorful at all and could have been much better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The burger is excellent. My husband had purée bean soup that was incredible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had a great time and was the first out side sitting of the summer season on a beautiful day. We had champagne flights and a cheese plate to start, followed by one of the best burgers I have ever tried and mussels with the house Pinot Noir, all was amazing! Def going back soon! Great Happy Hour specials !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was outstanding - small but intimate setting. Great service super place for a business meal. Could talk and have a great meal at the same time. Client was very impressed as well and they were a native Philadelphian.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Waitress was outstanding, very friendly and attentive. Mussels, in my opinion, are THE BEST in town. Love going here to treat myself after a long day at work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was great and my husband and I and our friends loved it and have been there many times

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fabulous service, drinks, and food! Our first time visit was comfortable, friendly and all around fantastic. Can't wait to visit again.

Try the braised veal short ribs! And the juniper mist is refreshing and all around delightful to sip on while dining.

People are friendly and clearly love what they do. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time diner, Saturday night in downtown Philly, selected based on location and reviews on Open Table, walking down from Convention Center and Flower Show. We both like wine which was the deciding factor over other places as ,I saw in reviews they serve wine flights. Wife got white, I got one of the red options. Wine flights were nice way to get a few tastes of different wines, and the pours were 3 oz, three glasses, but the wine is pre-selected. Host was super flexible...first they let us push back arrival time via call, and then when we arrive earlier than expected, seated us right away. Music over sound system was louder than we prefer as we had to focus to hear each other at times. Service was solid, food didn't blow us away, but didn't disappoint either. Wife had chicken, I got beef special as recommended by server, and was pleased. As for portion sizes, they were exactly as one should expect and priced accurately for a large downtown restaurant. My guess is in other reviews folks who complained about that were not keeping that in mind and/or don't realize French style cuisine is about taste/quality, not quantity anyway. If you are looking to put on the feedbag and stuff yourself, go find a Cheesecake Factory . Most of the crowd appeared be from the city vice suburbanites like my wife and I; bar had some turnover where folks came in to get a glass of wine or two, no eating. Place stayed packed entire time we were there. All in all, good experience, and if in the mood for wine and/or bite to eat, good place to stop.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Efficient service. Food was good although I only had a drink and meat and cheese board. We were in and out in 1 hour and 15 min as a pre theater meal. A very happy place and sparkly environs.... great chandelier. I would recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a wonderful girls night! Great service by Britain, looking forward to wine week!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The ambiance was lovely but the food, not so. I had the shrimp crepes and they were quite dry and flavorless. The baked Brie was a bit better but it is difficult to get that wrong. Just stopping through Philly for the night but would not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Not the most romantic venue, but if you want great wine selection and a strong menu, you'll like it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Classy spot for wine and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Uncertain if it was simply for restaurant week, but food portions were a little modest. Mushroom truffle soup left a bit to be desired. Great wine list and dessert was amazing. Would give it another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely fantastic! My husband and I went for Restaurant Week, and the selections were awesome! You could also order anything off the RW menu a la carte if you wanted. The food was just delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my first time and I loved it. Will definitely come back. We were offered the restaurant week menu even though it was Saturday night. The food was delicious. They had a nice wine selection and our server was knowledgeable about the wines. I really liked the small, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal. Restaurant week 4 courses. Everything was delicious including the wine and beer. Our waitress was also lovely and helpful.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Both my wife and I enjoyed our dinner. Staff was very knowledgeable about wine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We attended the restaurant after a play. The food and service was excellent. We sat in Britain's section and he was fantastic. The bottle of wine he recommended was the best. I will definitely return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Their menu for Restaurant Week was amazing and a really good value. It has quite a large bar and the seating is high tops along the wall across from the bar. There also a limited regular seating towards the back. The food was innovative and the staff engaging. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and food. Good service and food. We missed the happy hour but would like to try it sometime.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Really great service, wine selection and food. Steak was incredible. Only complaint was hat French fries were too salty but other than that everything was perfect. Loved this place will def come back

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We found the menu pretty limited. It was nice that it was open after a matinee at the Wilma and offers a discount. Pretty good but not great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My husband and I love this place. We've been here many times and will be back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love. Love. Love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This place had a great ambience and good food.. from the little I sampled. However, the staff were an atrocity. I was in town for a conference and got lucky enough to grab a seat at the bar with a friend. As soon as we got there, the waitress gave us attitude. The bartender ignored us as he socialized w staffers at the other end of the bar. When we got his attention, politely, it was clear that he was annoyed. From that point on, the attitude and his behavior was undeniably screaming that he did not like us and wanted us to leave.
The shame is, that from the one appetizer that we got (before we left due to discomfort) was delicious. I would have spent $200 on food and drink easily, and wanted to come back the next night. BUT the service made me grab my check and leave after the first 45 minutes. It's a shame. I hope for the owner's sake, he seek out more professional and welcoming staff.
*first time I ever felt I had to write a review on Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had the special pan seared trout. It was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Solid bistro food, good wine list with knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Met a friend here for a quick dinner prior to attending a performance. Although there is a sign that says please wait to be seated, there was no one there to seat me. A server eventually rushed by and said he would be back. Another 5 min later he arrived and seated me. Once my friend arrived, she literally was trying to place her drink order when he disappeared again without taking her order. He took a while to come back again to get our order finally in and also never came back after the food arrived to ask if everything was ok. On a similar note, it was difficult to get the check as well. It took us over an hour to get in and out simply eating bar food and drinks. Service overall was very in-attentive and slow despite the restaurant not being full. I will not be coming back here for dinner anytime soon, though I do appreciate their extensive wine list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Love the atmosphere. The bathrooms were very clean, the wine was amazing and the staff was so knowledgeable. The small plates were ideal for sharing as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Menu inflexible. Server not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.