Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro

4.5
183 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
  • Casual
Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro is located in the Midtown Village neighborhood of center city. We offer over 60 wines by the glass and a French-American bistro menu perfect for dinner. There is always something new, with five seasonally-inspired dinner additions each day. Our menu is flexible enough for a three-course meal or snacks for the table with a price range of $5-$20. The wine list highlights grape varietals from around the world with daily wine specials and flights featured on the chalkboards. If you are not in the mood for wine, we also have about 25 beers and plenty of cocktails. Our kitchen is open until midnight everyday.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Saturday & Sunday: 12:oopm - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 922-3095
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sansom St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking in Midtown Village
1. Patriot Parking at the Holiday Inn Express- Sansom St between 13th & Juniper
2. Parkway- 12th St between Sansom & Walnut
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Broad Street Line: Walnut/Locust Station
Market-Frankford Line: 13th St Station
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 183 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and friendly service from Seth. We come here often on Mondays before Speaker Series at The Kimmel. I had the roast chicken and shared a salad.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We arrived before 6pm on a warm Saturday in April and came for wine and food. Originally we had no reservation and were told no tables were available as all were reserved; we were not offered to wait or make a reservation for a later time. The reception was cool (to out it politely). We walked across the street for a drink and I popped up Open Table to see reservations were readily available (true story!). So we booked via the app and popped back over about a half hour after our first arrival.

Food was great—we had a cheese plate and charcuterie board with several fruits and cheeses and a nice selection of meet. We had a nice red Boudreaux which was a great complement to the light dinner. Nicely done!

Service was a bit slow (I think we shocked our waitress as she was the person who originally greeted us and noted no availability’). It seemed the place could have been staffed better, especially given the day of the week and time. Other than that staff was pleasant and folks who brought the food quite nice.

Overall a lovely place and would visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Menu options offered a variety of choices and the portions were ample and pricing was more than reasonable. Food taste and flavors were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The wine flights were a great way to try a variety of new recommended wines!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I felt the service was not very friendly, they were fast to take our plates with food still on them. I we waited very long to get a second glass of wine and our water glasses were empty. Some of the food was a bit over salted so we really did need that second drink. The only saving grace was that the dessert recommended was a great pairing for the wine we had chosen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

My husband and I enjoyed everything about our dinner. It was our first time there and we’re definitely going to return. We started with marinated olives that were heavenly. For our main dishes I had grilled shrimp with andouille and lentils, he had chicken with barley risotto and pea shoot salad. Our desert was a flight of three flavored creme brûlées - mocha, honey ginger and blood orange. Every bite of every dish was absolutely wonderful. My husband loved his stout beer from their tap. They have a large selection of wine and the chardonnay our waiter recommended was perfect. The atmosphere was very intimate and comfortable. The music even added to the environment - unique and not too loud. It was really nice to be able to have a conversation without shouting. Our waiter was absolutely great - very attentive, helpful and pleasant. Couldn’t ask for anything more.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We had a very disappointing experience with this restaurant. We visited it for the first time with higher expectations. The food was poor in quality in terms of preparation. For the shank dish we received a huge meatless bone and for the shrimp-lentil dish we got the food blackened and burned ( with drinks approx. $60 per person). There is not going to be a second time there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Service was excellent. But Vintage website did not notify customers that Restaurant Week did not start till 5 pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Malorie our server was absolutely phenomenal. Food was amazing, have to go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I could say if asked, some good, some quite bad. We were seated promptly, but the table wasn't set, and it took 20 minutes for anyone even to get us water and a napkin. Nice wine and beer list. Well priced by the glass and enough variety to please everyone in your party. The food was tasty but small portions of everything we ordered, and we are NOT big people. But the worst part was the service. Our waiter was friendly enough, but as noted by another guest in November I had practically yell at him to get his attention. He didn't check back on us except once in two hours. For a weekend away we were very disappointed in all our service in Philadelphia. It was overall poor everywhere we went, and ALL of the places were highly rated?! That just doesn't happen in others cities we visit. It was weird. Or just bad luck. But others in our party of 4 found similar issues around town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We went for restaurant week on a Friday night, and our reservation was pulled up immediately. The staff was friendly and the ambiance was great. It seemed like a great place to have a drink with some friends, and they had a very wide selection to choose from. The food was amazing! Everything was cooked perfectly and I enjoyed all four courses thoroughly. The only complaint I would have is that the servers are a little hard to flag down, but I liked that the restaurant was slow paced and gave plenty of time for conversation in between courses. I would definitely try this place at least once!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Great spot, not too busy on a Sunday night. Very cozy atmosphere and great food. Extensive wine list. Good place to hang out with a date or friend, would recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Food was very good. Wines were great. Staff didn't seem to know what any of the food dishes were.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and service! Definitely better for smaller groups, I would say 6 people max. Most of the tables are smaller, better for 2-4 people. I ordered the Salmon Risotto, a special that was delicious. Other guests had lamp chops & steak, and all the food received rave reviews. Waiter was attentive and friendly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Small cozy bar with great wine and good casual food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Very good food and great wine finds that will surprise you. Mark ups on some bottles were about 4x, so know what you are ordering...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Cozy pub with good bar food
We made a reservation for 3 on a busy Friday night and we were pleasantly surprised that we were immediately seated at a nice table. Drinks were good and bar food was excellent! My wife and I ordered steak frites ... perfectly prepare with really great French fries. Our friend ordered shrimp which he described as “good.” Noise level was energetic, but pleasantly so. Service was attentive. Nice place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Well-edited selection of wines by the glass and bottle. The restaurant also features 3-wine flight in tasting-sized portions. These also allow you the option to try different wines.

The coq au vin and cheese board were superb.

The service was outstanding. We were four family members getting together for a nice evening and the service was very well paced and unobtrusive. There was never a feeling of being rushed during the evening (and we were there almost 3 hours). The service and ambiance allowed us to have a great evening catching up over wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Dinner was fantastic. The service was terrific. My daughter and I went for her birthday and she went back the next evening with friends because it was so great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2017

I was expecting a lot more from this place seeing as it was well rated. The food was decent at best. My dish was on the salty side, but the dish was filling. They have an extensive wine menu. The wines I tasted were nothing to write home about. I personally wouldn't go back, but it was nice to go, to see what the restaurant is about.

If you're looking for a glass of wine, and tapas I recommend. If you're looking for a breathtaking dining experience, I'd say look elsewhere. I did like the reasonable prices, so I didn't walk away feeling betrayed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Great location to go out and have a meal and pair it with different wines. Enjoyed the baked Brie, chicken and mussels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Tried the Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro and really enjoyed it! Big wine selection but not overwhelming and our server suggested some great wines. The food was really good. My wife has been raving about the Coq au vin!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

In a word, "disappointing." The four of us dined pre-theater, which I communicated upon making the reservation on OpenTable. We arrived on time and were seated promptly and felt welcomed. Upon opening the the menu the emphasis is obvious; one page dedicated to food items and remaining however many pages were wine, beer and cocktails related. The food was good. The garlic soup was unique and tasty as was the fruits de mer. For entrees, two in our party tried the evening's special and found it to be very good. The veggie burger was unique and also was rated highly. My shrimp and sausage was different and also good. The issues we faced were consistent relative to service; to get any attention from our server we almost had to yell at him to get his attention. The runners did a nice job of filling some of the gaps and were certainly much more attentive and accommodating. Unbeknownst to me until we left the restaurant, my wife called to arrange a birthday dessert for me. Well, that never happened because we never sniffed dessert. It took so long to clear plates and get the bill settled we were never offered nor did we have time for dessert. We didn't leave until after 7:30 from a 5:45 PM reservation, giving us just enough time to get to the Academy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

I frequent here often. The food, service and wine are fantastic! Always get the cheese board and the charcuterie board. Never a disappointment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Great little wine bar with a good menu. We enjoyed the blackboard specials.
Try the regional wine tasting flights.
Decent background music, not too loud so you can talk without have to raise your voice.
Funky art and fixtures.
A good spot to visit on date night.
Reasonably priced for the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

I went for restaurant week dinner. The food was fabulous! Nothing left to take home. The duck confit was amazing. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 14, 2017

Went to Vintage for Philly Restaurant week special. It was a four course prix fixe menu at $35.
Food was just okay. Had the duck confit as the entree which could have been better. Service was great no complaints there. It was, however, very noisy. Could not have a decent conversation without saying Huh a couple of times. Would go back for a glass of wine but would not go out of my way for dinner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was unremarkable at best. The French fries and wine were the only good portions. The pate had no taste and the burgers were average but nothing special. The music was far too loud and you could barely hear the person across the table. The waiter all but ignored us and never bothered to ask how our food was or if we would like anything else, preferring to spend his time flirting and talking to other patrons. Overall it was not worth the money or your time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

Our favorite place in Center City Philadelphia. Wonderful, intimate.

We arrived at the end of Happy hour to bubbly.

The mussels are to die for and do not be embarrassed to ask for more bread. The broth is amazing:

We made a seamless transition to dinner where the special was duck. Absolutely wonderful.

The whole evening is made memorable by Britain who is the quintiessential host.

Every time in Philadelphia, we'll be right there. (Before happy hour ends!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2017

We went on a Friday night and it was extremely loud. It seemed like there were not enough servers. Dinner felt very rushed. We stayed for less than an hour.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 14, 2017

I was imagining this would be more restaurant than bar, but it seems better suited for happy hour or a late night wine flight. The food was OK - small portions and limited menu. Highlight was the baked brie. The servers were friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2017

Good food but we think they could use a little more variety on their food menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing service and super well curated wine list, while re.aining affordable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 20, 2017

Went here for happy hour. Great specials on both drinks and food. Service was awesome as well. Nice little spot. Will definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was tasty. We went here for a small bite to eat after going to a play at the Walnut St Theatre. Vintage is a very short walk away. Nice wine selection. Cheese plate was very good. We also had the Brie with Caramel and Berries dish. That was amazing!!! Would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2017

This is my favorite neighborhood gem. Everyone in the establishment wants to make sure your dining experience is superb. I always recommend Vintage to friends and colleagues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything was simply divine! Came here for dinner with my friend that I am Maid of Honor for since it is her favorite restaurant. Planning her bachelorette party dinner here, as well, and unintentionally had our coordinator, Britain, as our waiter. Had the most incredible time- service, food, atmosphere, the WINE! Perfection. We are so looking forward to having our event here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, great art, and a very knowledgeable and attentive staff. A tiny gem of a restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent all around. We shared the very tasty pate as an appetizer. My partner loved the trout, and the duck breast was wonderful. Attentive service. Good but pricey wine list. Great ambience. However, if you need a really quiet place you might want to go elsewhere (although the two of us had no problem carrying on a conversation). So glad we discovered this gem on our last night in Philly.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5