About Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro is located in the Midtown Village neighborhood of center city. We offer over 60 wines by the glass and a French-American bistro menu perfect for dinner. There is always something new, with five seasonally-inspired dinner additions each day. Our menu is flexible enough for a three-course meal or snacks for the table with a price range of $5-$20. The wine list highlights grape varietals from around the world with daily wine specials and flights featured on the chalkboards. If you are not in the mood for wine, we also have about 25 beers and plenty of cocktails. Our kitchen is open until midnight everyday.

129 S. 13th St
Philadelphia, PA 19176
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 2:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sansom St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-3095

Website:
http://www.vintage-philadelphia.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in Midtown Village 1. Patriot Parking at the Holiday Inn Express- Sansom St between 13th & Juniper 2. Parkway- 12th St between Sansom & Walnut

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line: Walnut/Locust Station Market-Frankford Line: 13th St Station

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
See All
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great and my husband and I and our friends loved it and have been there many times

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fabulous service, drinks, and food! Our first time visit was comfortable, friendly and all around fantastic. Can't wait to visit again.

Try the braised veal short ribs! And the juniper mist is refreshing and all around delightful to sip on while dining.

People are friendly and clearly love what they do. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time diner, Saturday night in downtown Philly, selected based on location and reviews on Open Table, walking down from Convention Center and Flower Show. We both like wine which was the deciding factor over other places as ,I saw in reviews they serve wine flights. Wife got white, I got one of the red options. Wine flights were nice way to get a few tastes of different wines, and the pours were 3 oz, three glasses, but the wine is pre-selected. Host was super flexible...first they let us push back arrival time via call, and then when we arrive earlier than expected, seated us right away. Music over sound system was louder than we prefer as we had to focus to hear each other at times. Service was solid, food didn't blow us away, but didn't disappoint either. Wife had chicken, I got beef special as recommended by server, and was pleased. As for portion sizes, they were exactly as one should expect and priced accurately for a large downtown restaurant. My guess is in other reviews folks who complained about that were not keeping that in mind and/or don't realize French style cuisine is about taste/quality, not quantity anyway. If you are looking to put on the feedbag and stuff yourself, go find a Cheesecake Factory . Most of the crowd appeared be from the city vice suburbanites like my wife and I; bar had some turnover where folks came in to get a glass of wine or two, no eating. Place stayed packed entire time we were there. All in all, good experience, and if in the mood for wine and/or bite to eat, good place to stop.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Efficient service. Food was good although I only had a drink and meat and cheese board. We were in and out in 1 hour and 15 min as a pre theater meal. A very happy place and sparkly environs.... great chandelier. I would recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a wonderful girls night! Great service by Britain, looking forward to wine week!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The ambiance was lovely but the food, not so. I had the shrimp crepes and they were quite dry and flavorless. The baked Brie was a bit better but it is difficult to get that wrong. Just stopping through Philly for the night but would not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Not the most romantic venue, but if you want great wine selection and a strong menu, you'll like it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Classy spot for wine and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Uncertain if it was simply for restaurant week, but food portions were a little modest. Mushroom truffle soup left a bit to be desired. Great wine list and dessert was amazing. Would give it another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely fantastic! My husband and I went for Restaurant Week, and the selections were awesome! You could also order anything off the RW menu a la carte if you wanted. The food was just delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time and I loved it. Will definitely come back. We were offered the restaurant week menu even though it was Saturday night. The food was delicious. They had a nice wine selection and our server was knowledgeable about the wines. I really liked the small, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Both my wife and I enjoyed our dinner. Staff was very knowledgeable about wine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal. Restaurant week 4 courses. Everything was delicious including the wine and beer. Our waitress was also lovely and helpful.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We attended the restaurant after a play. The food and service was excellent. We sat in Britain's section and he was fantastic. The bottle of wine he recommended was the best. I will definitely return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Their menu for Restaurant Week was amazing and a really good value. It has quite a large bar and the seating is high tops along the wall across from the bar. There also a limited regular seating towards the back. The food was innovative and the staff engaging. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and food. Good service and food. We missed the happy hour but would like to try it sometime.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Really great service, wine selection and food. Steak was incredible. Only complaint was hat French fries were too salty but other than that everything was perfect. Loved this place will def come back

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We found the menu pretty limited. It was nice that it was open after a matinee at the Wilma and offers a discount. Pretty good but not great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I love this place. We've been here many times and will be back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love. Love. Love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This place had a great ambience and good food.. from the little I sampled. However, the staff were an atrocity. I was in town for a conference and got lucky enough to grab a seat at the bar with a friend. As soon as we got there, the waitress gave us attitude. The bartender ignored us as he socialized w staffers at the other end of the bar. When we got his attention, politely, it was clear that he was annoyed. From that point on, the attitude and his behavior was undeniably screaming that he did not like us and wanted us to leave.
The shame is, that from the one appetizer that we got (before we left due to discomfort) was delicious. I would have spent $200 on food and drink easily, and wanted to come back the next night. BUT the service made me grab my check and leave after the first 45 minutes. It's a shame. I hope for the owner's sake, he seek out more professional and welcoming staff.
*first time I ever felt I had to write a review on Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had the special pan seared trout. It was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Solid bistro food, good wine list with knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Met a friend here for a quick dinner prior to attending a performance. Although there is a sign that says please wait to be seated, there was no one there to seat me. A server eventually rushed by and said he would be back. Another 5 min later he arrived and seated me. Once my friend arrived, she literally was trying to place her drink order when he disappeared again without taking her order. He took a while to come back again to get our order finally in and also never came back after the food arrived to ask if everything was ok. On a similar note, it was difficult to get the check as well. It took us over an hour to get in and out simply eating bar food and drinks. Service overall was very in-attentive and slow despite the restaurant not being full. I will not be coming back here for dinner anytime soon, though I do appreciate their extensive wine list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Love the atmosphere. The bathrooms were very clean, the wine was amazing and the staff was so knowledgeable. The small plates were ideal for sharing as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Menu inflexible. Server not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great way to celebrate with old friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Went here before a show b/c it came with a discount if we showed our tickets. Pleasantly surprised! Their tempora fried seafood (fruits de mer) was perfectly fried and not greasy. Good mix of seafood, too. I'd go there again just to get that dish. Obviously a nice selection of wine and wine flights. Our waitress was friendly and patient.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Ok manager was stiff . We made reservations . There were two tables by the Windows , he said they were reserved for a four top. Stuck us in a cramped area.
When server came things got better.
Food was ok. Don't get the bruschetta, very skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was great.. waiter took too long to get back to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I love Vintage and am there usually once a week. I have recommended it to so many friends and co-workers. I usually have Jason as a server and he is so attentive, knows what we want before we even order. Vintage is my "Cheers".

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week for the first time. The decor and service were very good. The first course of appetizers were good. The next course was quail (over cooked and dry) and scallops (very good). Main course was the veal which was seasoned nicely but the temperature was luke warm at best. Had to send it back in order to heat it up some more. Also ordered the salmon which was good. Desserts were ok. Creme brulee was too sweet and the other desert that had chocolate and phyllo dough was too dry and too hot, needed more chocolate sauce. I unfortunately would not go back or recommend Vintage to my friends. Very disappointed, read a lot of good reviews about the place but we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Was not wowed by the food. It was restaurant week and they DID serve four courses, but it was bland to unimpressive at best. Potions were unbelievably small. My scallops were very small and not cleaned well. The garnish was boring and without taste. My veal was tasty but not spectacular. so to have to suffer through the host bragging about it being sous vide for 18 hours; a reputation it did not match, was a problem. My blueberry peach cobbler was a biscuit with with two kinds of rather bitter compotes. Even a simple ginger ale was watery and weak of taste. This was not worth my money. My two guests were equally unimpressed with tier meals as well. Our server was Awesome though. Very nice and attentive pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

It should be noted that I came here for restaurant week. Fig and Gorgonzola bruschetta, scallops for appetizers. Extremely tasty but very small portion size. Not sure if it's always like that or because it was restaurant week menu and the courses are ordered per person. For the entree I got the salmon and it was not great - overcooked. Portion size was better though. My companion got the veal tips and loved it. Very energetic atmosphere, cute space, great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Went for restaurant week, the veg/quoina app was awful and the salmon was seared but uncooked and actually cold inside. I sent it back and it seemed like it was nuked to try and correct the problem, it was awful. No apology and it took forever for it to be returned to me. I've had a few good meals here in the past but won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was there for restaurant week. The seared scallops were "melt in your mouth" and the veal was extremely tender and succulent. I will be back.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Historic, Late-night Find, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Vintage was ridiculously noisy; they kept turning the music up as the evening wore on, though there was no need, and combined with the atrociously slow service the experience really got to be painful. The food was good, the wine selection is good. But better to go on a pleasant evening when you can sit outside, it's less noisy on the street than in the restaurant!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a great choice for my husband's birthday dinner. I particularly loved the wine flights - a great way to taste many different wines. The food was also stellar, particularly dessert, and our server recommended a great dessert wine that paired beautifully with our creme brulee.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Vintage Wine Bar is a great place, great food and great staff. We love that place and will be there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

had dinner on a friday night with friends who came to town, a bit too loud to catch up with friends, food was ok, ordered the fried chicken roulade which was a little dry and the salmon which was also ok, good selection of wine , got the peach cobbler for dessert, which was very dry

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.