About Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof

4545 Old Reliance Rd.
Bryan, TX 77808
View Larger Map

Dine in wine country elegance

Located on the Messina Hof Winery estate, The Vintage House offers the finest dining with particular attention to fresh vineyard cuisine. Each and every dish incorporates one of our award-winning wines. Linger over quiet conversation in the romantic Barrel Room or looking out upon our vineyards. Savor a wide variety of scrumptious appetizers, salads and entrees, all designed with wine in mind. Indulge in our decadent desserts, we even offer Bananas Foster flambéed tableside. We are here to serve you! Recognized by Sante" Magazine for our high standards of quality in Fine Dining and Wine Hospitality and rated one of the Most Romantic Restaurants in America by Open Table.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday-Friday:11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Earl Rudder Fwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(979) 599-7339

Website:
http://www.messinahof.com/

Entertainment:
Messina Hof Winery & Resort, a Texas vineyard established in 1977 by Paul and Merrill Bonarrigo, is rooted in the union of two family heritages.

Our 100-acre estate, of which 42 host the vineyard, is nestled in Bryan, Texas.
In addition to the winery, the estate is home to The Villa bed & breakfast, The Vintage House restaurant and the Winemaster's Room wine bar. Tours and wine tastings are offered seven days a week. Our calendar of events is packed with cooking classes, wine appreciation classes, food and wine pairing seminars, murder mystery and winemaker dinners, and more!

Catering:
No out side catering

Parking Details:
Paved parking lot

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepley

Private Party Facilities:
Event Venues
Your event is sure to be truly unique when set in one of our beautiful venues located here at the breathtaking 100-acre Messina Hof estate:
The Barrel Room
The Deck
The Gallery
The Gazebo
Lake Messina Hof
The Rose Garden
The Villa
The Vineyard Room
The Wine Bar and Lakeside Room

Weddings by Designer Events
"Make Yours The Perfect Wedding"
Imagine...your wedding in the natural beauty of a vineyard...or near a spring-fed lake on a private estate...or graced by a 19th Century chateau.


Imagine...this perfect venue...complete with hand-prepared gourmet cuisine.
Our Designer Events staff at Messina Hof has the creativity, knowledge, and expertise to help make your event exactly the way you want it....perfect and hassle-free.
"Let us create for you the uniquely designed wedding of your dreams. May you share many vintages together,"
- Merrill Bonarrigo

Private Party Contact:
Designer Events: 9797789463x234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Premiere Dinner
New Years Eve Celebration
Spring Release Dinner
Harvest Dinners

Restaurant Photos

  • Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof
Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 5:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Central Texas
Most Booked
College Station / Bryan
Best Restaurants in Bryan ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Scenic View (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I enjoyed a dinner date on S ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed a dinner date on Saturday night. Our server was friendly and attentive and the food was very good. I had the grilled black drum which was adequate; my wife had the chicken stuffed gorgonzola which was delicious. The portabella appetizer was savory and tasty but the bananas foster, prepared tableside was a showstopper as well as scrumptious. We enjoyed having Paul Bonarrigo stop to welcome us at our table. Even though it was our first visit, we plan to come back perhaps to stay at the inn!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for great food and wine. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent place for great food and wine. Took a group of 12 people and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a lovely place to dine. A little o ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It is a lovely place to dine. A little off of the beaten pathway and well worth the very little extra effort to get there. The food is always delicious and very fresh, the wine selection is terrific as are the winery wines! The people are kind and courteous and make one feel like a welcomed guest rather than, hurry up, we have to turn tables here ya know!

The only thing I wish the owers would change is the cobblestone walkways to the entrance. While they look nice, I've seen more than one person trip or stumble on them. Also, they are very difficult for the disabled who can walk to negotiate. Otherwise, the Vintage House remains a gem in my book.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Haley was a fantastic and very attentive ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Haley was a fantastic and very attentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great! There were 4 in our par ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great! There were 4 in our party and all had a wonderful lunch! The server was outstanding - she knew when she was needed and when to leave us alone. We had a leisurely lunch and were not pressured in any way to hurry. Great place - we will come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly good food quality and value ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Surprisingly good food quality and value for the dollar at lunch

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great service. good value. ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

great food, great service. good value. You need to clean your windows on the back side of the restaurant. Very distracting to have this a focal point and the windows were filthy. Chef is very creative, and both dishes we ordered were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

They had a reserves table for us in the ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They had a reserves table for us in the corner with a congratulations, it seemed like we had our own waitress and she was very friendly. The food was wonderful. Bananas Foster topped the meal off and I was in heaven!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had brunch with a friend here last week ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had brunch with a friend here last week and we both loved it. Our waitress was super nice and the food was fabulous. Will definitely come again if I'm in the area again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Nothing like you can ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was fantastic. Nothing like you can get anywhere else. Fresh local products and the wine is superb.

Will do again for sure

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Chateaubriand for two was worth ever ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Chateaubriand for two was worth every penny we paid. Our waiter, Justin, was wonderful! He was so charming and friendly and made what could have been a stuffy atmosphere very relaxed and welcoming! He was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service for our 25th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent meal and service for our 25th anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but our service was T ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was great but our service was TERRIBLE! Dirty plates left on table, drinks not refilled, we ordered a cherries jubilee and strawberry romanoff but the waiter had never prepared those desserts before. Maybe they are sunder staffed but it wasn't even that busy. We were very excited to have a nice meal out but we're pretty bummed the service was so bad.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food great wine! I enjoyed my visi ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food great wine! I enjoyed my visit there. Loved the dinner for two deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A great place for good food and great wi ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A great place for good food and great wine. Service is a little slow but recommend it for any occasion or just for fun. Wine bar is great.... Would like to see more casual foods but otherwise always a good selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal started off wonderfully. Good w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The meal started off wonderfully. Good wine and fantastic appetizers. Cannot say enough about their bread and olive oil that is brought to the table. Fantastic. The calamari was also great. Then we got to the main course which was to say, in the least, disappointing. The biscuit in which the eggs Benedict was on was dry, the chicken carbonara was fried to a crisp and the sauce was lackluster. The penne pasta with marinara and shrimp tasted like the marinara sauce actually came out of a can. Thank goodness that we ordered the lemon bar for the dessert as it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Overpriced - average food

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We visited on a quiet Friday afternoon. Only one other table was seated (and they looked as though they were selecting food for a wedding). Service was great and the staff was very friendly.

My husband and I ordered the club sandwich, my daughter the margarita pizza (which is about 6" -- very small for an adult portion), and we tried the calamari as an app. Since this was a winery we tried one flight of red wines. They were out of one and provided a substitute. The total bill was over $60 (WAY TOO MUCH for a kids size cheese pizza and club sandwiches). The wine was quite bad too.

It seems more like a banquet hall for weddings -- it was truly beautiful but the food was way overpriced for what we got.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

A Local Treasure

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Messina Hof is our go to dining for special occasions! A Romantic restaurant nestled in the winery's own grape vinyards. Service & attention by the wait staff is second to none!! Wonderful winelist!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food. The staff was friendly and the entire visit was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's ok if you want your second food choice

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

They seen to be out of everything when I went to eat at 7:30 on a Saturday. The were out of Coke and Dr Pepper and certain foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had another wonderful anniversary din ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had another wonderful anniversary dinner ! We were promptly seated at a very romantic table for two overlooking the wine vineyard. Out server Corine was awesome! She was very knowledgeable about the menu, wine, and never did we feel rushed during our meal. She was very attentive, friendly, genuinely personable, and she added warmth to our experience. The food was so tasty and was done quickly. My husband's pork chops was delicious and done with perfection. My filet mignon was superb and so devine! We loved how the menu has suggestions for wine pairing. We had attended the wine tour and tasting room prior to our dinner and learned of how the owner's wife prides herself in wine pairing on the menu at the restaurant. That made us super excited to learn more about the menu for dinner and what we were going to toast with! We saved some room for a one of a kind flambe dessert of bananas foster with a cup of coffee . we will definitely make it back one day for another fabulous experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making my graduation day special !

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I invited my family and special friends to celebrate my college graduation at Messina Hof, and we had an amazing time!! The lunch was yummy, the wine delicious and the restaurant as well as winery grounds absolutely lovely. You truly made my special day even more special! Thank you so much!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9. 5 of us had a pasta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a party of 9. 5 of us had a pasta dish. Everyone agreed there needed to be more sauce and or seasoning on the sauce. The chicken or shrimp in the pasta was fine. Service was friendly but a little slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wait staff were very attentive and made ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Wait staff were very attentive and made us feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was lovely, and the service excellent. The food was OK. I had a chicken dish that basically just tasted like sliced plain chicken-nothing more. My husband had a pasta dish that was pasta and nothing else-no sides served with it. Expensive for what you get-the food portions are small. I guess you are really paying for the ambiance

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good, but not outstanding.

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We went to the wine bar before dinner. The appetizer was very filling, but not so great. Prosciutto, goat cheese, fig preserves, and toasted bread. Wife had the almond sparkling wine and I had the Paolo red. The big serving of prosciutto was more like ham than italian prosciutto. After the wine bar we ate in the restaurant. Great table with a great view. Service was slow, but we were in no hurry. I had the petit filet, which was slightly overcooked. The wife had the pork, which she said was a bit salty. Salads were good and we skipped desert, given the too ample appetizers at the wine bar. We shared a bottle of the Paolo Burgundy Blend, but took half home. Overall experience was good, but not great. Would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Don't bother making the trip!

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our experience was a complete disaster! What was intended to be a celebration turned into a complete nightmare. We were seated promptly and the waitress took our drink orders right away. Once the champagne was delivered and put on ice we placed our orders for food - three eggs Benedicts (not a difficult request). After patiently waiting almost 45 minutes we inquired as to what the problem was as the restaurant was not crowded. About 15 minutes later we were presented with cold plates - instead of creamy eggs they were of the hard boiled variety - not at all appealing or appetizing. While the manager offered to prepare something else for us, we declined, as we didn't want to spend another 45 minutes waiting..... The entire meal was a disaster!! Needless to say we will not be returning…

Epic fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Off the beaten path; well worth the trip.

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a charming treasure off the beaten path of the "herd followers". Pleasant, gracious, surrounding to stroll before your meal. While dining an unobstructed, relaxing view of the vineyards. The menu offerings are variety of tasty selections for the vegan, the meat lover and the fish appreciator. Each of us was extremely pleased with our selection and shared. Remarking on the excellence of each. My absolute favorite was the lamb chops.

We have recommended to others and we will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Envie

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The venue was great, service was great. The food was average, bot bad by any means, but not great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we were seated at the time of o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Although we were seated at the time of our reservations, the wait time for our entree and dessert took too long. Although the entrees were good-size servings, the side dishes were on the "skimpy" side, as were the dessert portions. The bread and wine were delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointing Visit

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Having eaten here before, we were expecting an outstanding meal. Unfortunately, the kitchen must have had an off night. My wife had the Grilled Petite Filet. It had sinew and fat. Not a choice piece of beef and it wasn't well seasoned. The whipped potatoes were very salty. We didn't get what we paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Romantic Evening by the Vineyard

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Brought my fiance here for a romantic birthday dinner and the Vintage Restaurant at Messina Hof did not disappoint. It was a quiet Thursday evening, and there were few people dining, but the quieter atmosphere was welcome and complimented the ambiance of the restaurant. While our service was a little slow at times, the staff were warm and friendly, and our waiter was willing to take us up the side stairs and take some photos of us overlooking the vineyard, which was very beautiful in April. I'm generally a picky eater, and was worried the food would be too fancy, but it was cooked perfectly. I had the herb basted chicken breast, and it was moist and the Chardonnay jus was delicious. I don't drink alcohol, but my fiance loves Messina Hof's wines and she was very happy with the drinks. For dessert, we ordered the bananas foster flambe, which was the first time I had witnessed this prepared. Our waiter put on a great show tableside preparing the dessert. I highly recommend trying it if you have not. The evening was a special memory for my fiance, and it was well worth the money spent. My thanks to the Vintage Restaurant staff for their good work!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor meal, worse service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We paid about $50 per person for bad food and non existent service. McDonald's would have been better. The restaurant is lovely and the wine was good. The menu describes gourmet dishes but when they arrived they were poorly prepared and tasted bland. The bread was good and we asked for another basket 3 times but it never came. We also asked for water 4 times, it finally arrived with the check. We would have complained about the food but the waitress never came back. I ordered coffee with desert but could never get a refill. By the time we left we were angry and felt that our evening had been ruined by the terrible experience. We will never return to Vintage House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Chateaubriand for 2 with cherries jubile ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Chateaubriand for 2 with cherries jubilee and one of their wonderful red wines was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Could have been a gem.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Our first time here, My daughter and I were seated right away, but then clearly understaffed, we were never greeted by a waiter. Im extremely patient, and we had no where else to be....... but eventually I broke. I found the hostess and explained we'd been waiting over 20 minutes. She took our wine order and then after receiving our wine, we sat another 30 minutes before anyone came to take our order. Our meals came out promptly and we were both pleased with the food, the steak done perfectly, but don't bother with the pastas. I do have to say the complimentary almond champagne was yummy and nearly worth the wait.

Ive worked in the restaurant business, and I understand there are times when things just happen, but honestly it was disappointing and I cant say that I would go back.

Service really makes all the difference, hopefully management will take note.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Dining Gem

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We love dining at the Vintage House. We love the ability to make reservations . The service is always great and so friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

two hours later---

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Reservation at 8 pm- ordered dinner by 8:10 pm-- by 10 pm, after repeated inquiries, no food.

Manager brought over a bottle of champagne; nice gesture, but FOOD would have been the better fix, even in appetizer form.

Others in the dining room in the same circumstance-- all waiting on food.

On busy evenings, STAFF UP, folks.

Food was good, but overall experience really lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I never write reviews about restaurants ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I never write reviews about restaurants but this experience was too jarring to go unwritten. The wine was great, appetizers were good but my girlfriend and I didn't get our main course after waiting for over an hour. I paid for the appetizers and wine and left. I will not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Bluebonnet weekend

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We eat there every year before a girls weekend. It is always good and very special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was good but I expected better for the price.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was good but expected better for the price. The dining room is lovely and well appointed. Service was just ok. Don't think she had much experience. We had to ask for bread, when we saw other tables being served it. Again, expected better for the level of this restaurant. But you can't beat the view and we would come again. The wine was great!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.