About Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof

4545 Old Reliance Rd.
Bryan, TX 77808
View Larger Map

Dine in wine country elegance

Located on the Messina Hof Winery estate, The Vintage House offers the finest dining with particular attention to fresh vineyard cuisine. Each and every dish incorporates one of our award-winning wines. Linger over quiet conversation in the romantic Barrel Room or looking out upon our vineyards. Savor a wide variety of scrumptious appetizers, salads and entrees, all designed with wine in mind. Indulge in our decadent desserts, we even offer Bananas Foster flambéed tableside. We are here to serve you! Recognized by Sante" Magazine for our high standards of quality in Fine Dining and Wine Hospitality and rated one of the Most Romantic Restaurants in America by Open Table.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday-Friday:11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Earl Rudder Fwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(979) 599-7339

Website:
http://www.messinahof.com/

Entertainment:
Messina Hof Winery & Resort, a Texas vineyard established in 1977 by Paul and Merrill Bonarrigo, is rooted in the union of two family heritages.

Our 100-acre estate, of which 42 host the vineyard, is nestled in Bryan, Texas.
In addition to the winery, the estate is home to The Villa bed & breakfast, The Vintage House restaurant and the Winemaster's Room wine bar. Tours and wine tastings are offered seven days a week. Our calendar of events is packed with cooking classes, wine appreciation classes, food and wine pairing seminars, murder mystery and winemaker dinners, and more!

Catering:
No out side catering

Parking Details:
Paved parking lot

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Glenn Huggins

Private Party Facilities:
Event Venues
Your event is sure to be truly unique when set in one of our beautiful venues located here at the breathtaking 100-acre Messina Hof estate:
The Barrel Room
The Deck
The Gallery
The Gazebo
Lake Messina Hof
The Rose Garden
The Villa
The Vineyard Room
The Wine Bar and Lakeside Room

Weddings by Designer Events
"Make Yours The Perfect Wedding"
Imagine...your wedding in the natural beauty of a vineyard...or near a spring-fed lake on a private estate...or graced by a 19th Century chateau.


Imagine...this perfect venue...complete with hand-prepared gourmet cuisine.
Our Designer Events staff at Messina Hof has the creativity, knowledge, and expertise to help make your event exactly the way you want it....perfect and hassle-free.
"Let us create for you the uniquely designed wedding of your dreams. May you share many vintages together,"
- Merrill Bonarrigo

Private Party Contact:
Designer Events: 9797789463x234

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Premiere Dinner
New Years Eve Celebration
Spring Release Dinner
Harvest Dinners

Restaurant Photos

  • Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof
Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 5:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Central Texas
Most Booked
College Station / Bryan
Best Restaurants in Bryan ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (37)
See All
scenic view (36)
good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (17)
great for lunch (12)
great for brunch (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great place for good food and great wi ...

Dined 7 days ago

A great place for good food and great wine. Service is a little slow but recommend it for any occasion or just for fun. Wine bar is great.... Would like to see more casual foods but otherwise always a good selection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

The meal started off wonderfully. Good w ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The meal started off wonderfully. Good wine and fantastic appetizers. Cannot say enough about their bread and olive oil that is brought to the table. Fantastic. The calamari was also great. Then we got to the main course which was to say, in the least, disappointing. The biscuit in which the eggs Benedict was on was dry, the chicken carbonara was fried to a crisp and the sauce was lackluster. The penne pasta with marinara and shrimp tasted like the marinara sauce actually came out of a can. Thank goodness that we ordered the lemon bar for the dessert as it was fantastic.

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Overpriced - average food

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We visited on a quiet Friday afternoon. Only one other table was seated (and they looked as though they were selecting food for a wedding). Service was great and the staff was very friendly. My husband and I ordered the club sandwich, my daughter the margarita pizza (which is about 6" -- very small for an adult portion), and we tried the calamari as an app. Since this was a winery we tried one flight of red wines. They were out of one and provided a substitute. The total bill was over $60 (WAY TOO MUCH for a kids size cheese pizza and club sandwiches). The wine was quite bad too. It seems more like a banquet hall for weddings -- it was truly beautiful but the food was way overpriced for what we got.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Local Treasure

Dined on June 1, 2016

Messina Hof is our go to dining for special occasions! A Romantic restaurant nestled in the winery's own grape vinyards. Service & attention by the wait staff is second to none!! Wonderful winelist!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food. The staff was friendly and the entire visit was great.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It's ok if you want your second food choice

Dined on May 29, 2016

They seen to be out of everything when I went to eat at 7:30 on a Saturday. The were out of Coke and Dr Pepper and certain foods.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another wonderful anniversary din ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had another wonderful anniversary dinner ! We were promptly seated at a very romantic table for two overlooking the wine vineyard. Out server Corine was awesome! She was very knowledgeable about the menu, wine, and never did we feel rushed during our meal. She was very attentive, friendly, genuinely personable, and she added warmth to our experience. The food was so tasty and was done quickly. My husband's pork chops was delicious and done with perfection. My filet mignon was superb and so devine! We loved how the menu has suggestions for wine pairing. We had attended the wine tour and tasting room prior to our dinner and learned of how the owner's wife prides herself in wine pairing on the menu at the restaurant. That made us super excited to learn more about the menu for dinner and what we were going to toast with! We saved some room for a one of a kind flambe dessert of bananas foster with a cup of coffee . we will definitely make it back one day for another fabulous experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making my graduation day special !

Dined on May 20, 2016

I invited my family and special friends to celebrate my college graduation at Messina Hof, and we had an amazing time!! The lunch was yummy, the wine delicious and the restaurant as well as winery grounds absolutely lovely. You truly made my special day even more special! Thank you so much!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a party of 9. 5 of us had a pasta ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a party of 9. 5 of us had a pasta dish. Everyone agreed there needed to be more sauce and or seasoning on the sauce. The chicken or shrimp in the pasta was fine. Service was friendly but a little slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Wait staff were very attentive and made ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Wait staff were very attentive and made us feel welcome.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was lovely, and the service excellent. The food was OK. I had a chicken dish that basically just tasted like sliced plain chicken-nothing more. My husband had a pasta dish that was pasta and nothing else-no sides served with it. Expensive for what you get-the food portions are small. I guess you are really paying for the ambiance

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was good, but not outstanding.

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went to the wine bar before dinner. The appetizer was very filling, but not so great. Prosciutto, goat cheese, fig preserves, and toasted bread. Wife had the almond sparkling wine and I had the Paolo red. The big serving of prosciutto was more like ham than italian prosciutto. After the wine bar we ate in the restaurant. Great table with a great view. Service was slow, but we were in no hurry. I had the petit filet, which was slightly overcooked. The wife had the pork, which she said was a bit salty. Salads were good and we skipped desert, given the too ample appetizers at the wine bar. We shared a bottle of the Paolo Burgundy Blend, but took half home. Overall experience was good, but not great. Would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Don't bother making the trip!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our experience was a complete disaster! What was intended to be a celebration turned into a complete nightmare. We were seated promptly and the waitress took our drink orders right away. Once the champagne was delivered and put on ice we placed our orders for food - three eggs Benedicts (not a difficult request). After patiently waiting almost 45 minutes we inquired as to what the problem was as the restaurant was not crowded. About 15 minutes later we were presented with cold plates - instead of creamy eggs they were of the hard boiled variety - not at all appealing or appetizing. While the manager offered to prepare something else for us, we declined, as we didn't want to spend another 45 minutes waiting..... The entire meal was a disaster!! Needless to say we will not be returning… Epic fail!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off the beaten path; well worth the trip.

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a charming treasure off the beaten path of the "herd followers". Pleasant, gracious, surrounding to stroll before your meal. While dining an unobstructed, relaxing view of the vineyards. The menu offerings are variety of tasty selections for the vegan, the meat lover and the fish appreciator. Each of us was extremely pleased with our selection and shared. Remarking on the excellence of each. My absolute favorite was the lamb chops. We have recommended to others and we will go again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Envie

Dined on May 1, 2016

The venue was great, service was great. The food was average, bot bad by any means, but not great.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Although we were seated at the time of o ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Although we were seated at the time of our reservations, the wait time for our entree and dessert took too long. Although the entrees were good-size servings, the side dishes were on the "skimpy" side, as were the dessert portions. The bread and wine were delicious.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Disappointing Visit

Dined on April 22, 2016

Having eaten here before, we were expecting an outstanding meal. Unfortunately, the kitchen must have had an off night. My wife had the Grilled Petite Filet. It had sinew and fat. Not a choice piece of beef and it wasn't well seasoned. The whipped potatoes were very salty. We didn't get what we paid for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Evening by the Vineyard

Dined on April 22, 2016

Brought my fiance here for a romantic birthday dinner and the Vintage Restaurant at Messina Hof did not disappoint. It was a quiet Thursday evening, and there were few people dining, but the quieter atmosphere was welcome and complimented the ambiance of the restaurant. While our service was a little slow at times, the staff were warm and friendly, and our waiter was willing to take us up the side stairs and take some photos of us overlooking the vineyard, which was very beautiful in April. I'm generally a picky eater, and was worried the food would be too fancy, but it was cooked perfectly. I had the herb basted chicken breast, and it was moist and the Chardonnay jus was delicious. I don't drink alcohol, but my fiance loves Messina Hof's wines and she was very happy with the drinks. For dessert, we ordered the bananas foster flambe, which was the first time I had witnessed this prepared. Our waiter put on a great show tableside preparing the dessert. I highly recommend trying it if you have not. The evening was a special memory for my fiance, and it was well worth the money spent. My thanks to the Vintage Restaurant staff for their good work!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Poor meal, worse service

Dined on April 15, 2016

We paid about $50 per person for bad food and non existent service. McDonald's would have been better. The restaurant is lovely and the wine was good. The menu describes gourmet dishes but when they arrived they were poorly prepared and tasted bland. The bread was good and we asked for another basket 3 times but it never came. We also asked for water 4 times, it finally arrived with the check. We would have complained about the food but the waitress never came back. I ordered coffee with desert but could never get a refill. By the time we left we were angry and felt that our evening had been ruined by the terrible experience. We will never return to Vintage House.

food4
ambience4
service4

Chateaubriand for 2 with cherries jubile ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Chateaubriand for 2 with cherries jubilee and one of their wonderful red wines was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Could have been a gem.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our first time here, My daughter and I were seated right away, but then clearly understaffed, we were never greeted by a waiter. Im extremely patient, and we had no where else to be....... but eventually I broke. I found the hostess and explained we'd been waiting over 20 minutes. She took our wine order and then after receiving our wine, we sat another 30 minutes before anyone came to take our order. Our meals came out promptly and we were both pleased with the food, the steak done perfectly, but don't bother with the pastas. I do have to say the complimentary almond champagne was yummy and nearly worth the wait. Ive worked in the restaurant business, and I understand there are times when things just happen, but honestly it was disappointing and I cant say that I would go back. Service really makes all the difference, hopefully management will take note.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Gem

Dined on April 9, 2016

We love dining at the Vintage House. We love the ability to make reservations . The service is always great and so friendly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

two hours later---

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Reservation at 8 pm- ordered dinner by 8:10 pm-- by 10 pm, after repeated inquiries, no food. Manager brought over a bottle of champagne; nice gesture, but FOOD would have been the better fix, even in appetizer form. Others in the dining room in the same circumstance-- all waiting on food. On busy evenings, STAFF UP, folks. Food was good, but overall experience really lacking.

food4
ambience5
service1

I never write reviews about restaurants ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I never write reviews about restaurants but this experience was too jarring to go unwritten. The wine was great, appetizers were good but my girlfriend and I didn't get our main course after waiting for over an hour. I paid for the appetizers and wine and left. I will not return to this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bluebonnet weekend

Dined on April 8, 2016

We eat there every year before a girls weekend. It is always good and very special.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

It was good but I expected better for the price.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was good but expected better for the price. The dining room is lovely and well appointed. Service was just ok. Don't think she had much experience. We had to ask for bread, when we saw other tables being served it. Again, expected better for the level of this restaurant. But you can't beat the view and we would come again. The wine was great!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good surprise. Food is good and served ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

A good surprise. Food is good and served well for brunch. A great time in the year. Good wine selection. Nice dining facilities. Sunroom dining gives good ambiance. Minor detail, i wish the nice big stained glass was smaller as it blocks the view of the vineyard. Otherwise for someone who just came in from napa valley the week before, i could not be happier we have messina hof here. We have something worth going to.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Special anniversary dinner. It was perf ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Special anniversary dinner. It was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best find in TX!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I've never stayed at a B & B before this! It was an awesome find! We stayed here while our son was visiting A & M and we had the best time! We stayed on a Thursday evening. We had a tour of the winery with wine tasting complementary, 2 glasses of wine and a cheese tray complimentary, then had a delicious dinner in the beautifully decorated onsite restaurant! We met Paul the owner and winemaker and even snapped a picture with him as we enjoyed a wine sampler with our dinner. My husband had the bone in ribeye and I had the Gorgonzola chicken and both meals were mouthwateringly delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Review

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was good. The server was very polite but was new and/or lacked training. We had to remind him to bring tea, wine, and refill water. The atmosphere was nice but not too formal for a Sunday lunch setting. I may have sampled a few wines if the server had been attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

Ordered the bone in ribeye , mine was under cooked an tough , hers was cooked properly but tough as well , service was slow and the need to turn up the music so loud you couldnt talk is very disturbing. For the money should have been much much better .

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time

Dined on February 25, 2016

We had a great time on Wednesday night with our family that was visiting from Brazil . We wanted to take them to a beautiful place with a good selection of food and wine, and the Vintage House offered all that! The experience exceeded our expectations and our guests were very impressed with the location, the atmosphere and decoration of the restaurant. The food was outstanding, and our waiter, Justin, did an excellent job suggesting the wine for the evening! We will definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Passable cuisine and wine marred by poor service

Dined on February 21, 2016

Really hopeful for a romantic evening at a well reviewed restaurant. However overall ambiance and service was extremely poor by any standards. I understand the restaurant business is difficult however most of these issues could be easily remedied by a good manager 1) Ambiance is awful - bright fluorescent lights shine right in your face. Raspy speakers played awkwardly loud pop romance music. Both servers were loudly conversational with tables nearby without regard for other guests. 2) Service is weird at best and poor at worst - Took servers 20 minutes and two requests on our part to get just napkins to table. Water glass went empty and no hint of any server able or willing to refill it. Servers had no understanding of wines available to pair or pairings This is literally a restaurant in a winery... Server requested steak bone for her dog. This is fine behind the curtain. I do not care. But Is this really something you want to talk about with your server during your 1 year anniversary? I work in hospitality and the answer is no! 3) tables - given a weird corner table that was not set for our evening right between two large groups. No candle, no napkins, not set. Had to ask for all these items. I would be almost entirely unable to recommend this restaurant .

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine's Day choice to take the wife to. The food was amazing. I didn't realize we had another chef of this high caliber in the area. Need to do more to promote the restaurant. Everyone knows about the wine but probably not about the restaurant and how good the food is.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Decent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Came for brunch on Valentine's Day and was put in the back room with a big party of girls acting like they just drank their first mimosa ever. Thought it would be romantic and nice but couldn't even hold a conversation it was so loud. Food was good and the waiter was alright. Didn't really see him much. The wine tasting next door and the pond out back made up for the less than wonderful brunch and made the day decent.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and a very friendly waitres ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome food and a very friendly waitress!

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We made reservations for February 13th a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made reservations for February 13th at Messina Hof for Valentine's Day. We visit often and are VIP members at the winery. The food was wonderful (as always), but the service was substandard. While we appreciate that it is a busy weekend, we expect to have decent service. We waited over 10 minutes before someone came to our table to take our order and our server was not attentive. The server never came to see if our food was good or if we needed more wine. They brought the entrees, left and then at the end of the evening we waited several minutes for our check. A 20% gratuity was automatically included with the 3-entree meal, so I guess the server didn't think they needed to earn their tip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The table had a single ref rose for each ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The table had a single ref rose for each female guest. The restaurant accommodated the addition of two more guests to our party. The staff were accomodating. The food was delicious. Overall a grand experience

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not the best

Dined on February 13, 2016

The meals were preprepared there was no authenticity in the meals. I went on Valentine's day with my girlfriend we both got the steak on their Valentine's Day menu. We both were disappointed. Save your money and go to salt grass. Also the dress code is too lenient I saw people walking around in shorts. If you are going to tell people to wear business casual clothing then mean what you say.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Not the meal we would have preferred!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We chose to dine at the vintage house for Valentine's Day for a change of pace from what we normally do. Reservations were made several weeks in advance and a confirmation call was made the morning of the reservation. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were quite surprised that they had a set menu, with very limited and poor choices. The value of the meal did include a bottle of wine, but the selection was not of our choosing. My husband chose the chicken dish, but was very disappointed in the fact that it was dark meat and not white meat. I chose the fillet, which was okay, not delicious, and not worth the price they charged for it. The vegetables they served with the dishes could've had better options. The dessert was really the only thing that I could say we enjoyed. And, our waitress! She was very pleasant and attentive! We had asked for a table near the window when we made the reservations. When we arrived we were told the tables were all booked, although several of those tables sat empty the whole time we were there. The table we were set at was a large table, could barely reach across the table to hold hands, and not at all intimate for this type of occasion. I think that the restaurant should do a better job of informing their guest, who make reservations, when they have a set menu. We would have chosen to go elsewhere.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.